About Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar

Celebrating its 13th year, Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar continues to fly high! Located in The Glen Town Center and considered one of the North Shore’s most popular eateries, Flight will take your senses to greater heights. Offering an extensive wine list featuring 35 wines by the glass from every corner of the globe, a fully stocked bar, and a menu best described as American Contemporary Comfort food, Flight offers a first-class dining experience that is sure to please. Customer favorites include the Duck Mac & Cheese, Beef Tenderloin, Skirt Steak, our signature Flight Burger and our Cedar Plank Salmon. Save room for dessert…the Chocolate Fondue and our homemade donuts served with a salted caramel and sugar cream sauce are made to order and simply mouthwatering. A children’s menu is available for kids 12 and under. Looking for a special wine to stock your personal cellar? We have VERY competitive pricing and Our in-house wine director, Greg Poulos is always happy to assist you!

1820 Tower Dr
Glenview, IL 60026
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Flight's kitchen is open Monday - Wednesday from 5 pm to 10 pm, Thursday from 5pm - 11pm, Friday and Saturday from 5 pm to midnight and Sunday from 5pm - 10pm

Flights Bar is open Monday-Wednesday until Midnight, Thursday and Friday until 1am, Saturday until 2am and Sunday until 11pm

Cross Street:
Chestnut & Patriot

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 729-9463

Website:
http://www.flightwinebar.com/

Catering:
Our catering menu is available upon request. We would be happy to help you plan your special event!

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking is available on the street, as well as in nearby parking garages directly behind the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Cunningham

Private Party Facilities:
Restaurant Buy Out

Private Party Contact:
Events: (847) 729-9463

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Flight offers a variety of wine tastings throughout the year and also features a WINE CLUB for those interested in learning more about wine or who would like to build their personal wine cellar. For more information, please visit our website.

Specials

Happy Hour Special

Thursdays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Half Price Snacks and Apps

Thursdays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Specials

Happy Hour Special

Thursdays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Half price snacks and apps. Excludes Tax and Tip. Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 16, 2017 - Apr 13, 2017 on Thursdays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Half Price Snacks and Apps

Thursdays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Half price snacks and apps. Excludes Tax and Tip. Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays and Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 16, 2017 - Apr 13, 2017 on Thursdays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (17)
Notable Wine List (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
See All
Quiet Conversation (9)
Cozy (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Casual (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Fun (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Fireplace (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Romantic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Authentic (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Tapas (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
426 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was a very nice restaurant very welco ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

It was a very nice restaurant very welcoming I wish you would've sat in the bar in my reservation I asked them too but I guess they were really busy but otherwise I had a great time great food and great service

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great appetizers!! Well worth going duri ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Great appetizers!! Well worth going during happy hour!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service. Special to ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and great service. Special touch of handing out roses to every lady on Valentine's Day!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an outstanding meal and experienc ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

We had an outstanding meal and experience at Flight. Great service and excellent food! The specials were very good--my wife had the sea bass and I had the shrimp/crab linguine. The dessert was incredible--the mini doughnuts. We have been to Flight a number of times and always have an excellent experience.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Hot food was served hot...I mean really ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Hot food was served hot...I mean really hot! No leaving it on the counter to cool off!

Our water glasses were kept filled throughout the meal.

Varied and interesting menu.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The menu had a number of dishes that if ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The menu had a number of dishes that if successful would have made this as prime dinner spot. Unfortunately, the two dishes we tried (surf & turf, and pork belly risotto) had problems. The surf and turf was supposed to come with lobster mashed potatoes, but the mashed potatoes were bland and lobster-free. The risotto might have been good if the chef had stuck to the basics - a risotto cooked with cubed pork belly and Parmesan is hard to beat. Alas, the chef at Flight inexplicably cooked the risotto with sweet pickles instead (maybe Gardena) and added a slab of pork belly on top (not really part of the risotto). The result was a mess of flavors that just don't belong together and may be the worst risotto I have ever had. Appetizers and desserts were high points. Highly recommend the donuts on the desert menu. For entree, I would recommend sticking to burgers and fries.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Friday night, it was busy and full, but ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Friday night, it was busy and full, but not too loud as we could still talk at a comfortable level. Food was really good, great drink selection and taste, and service was good paced- not too rushed or too long. Will be back.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We really enjoyed our experience at Flig ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We really enjoyed our experience at Flight! The drinks are fantastic, the food is very good and the service was outstanding. I will definitely go back to Flight again, maybe for brunch next time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Recently dined at Flight again. First ti ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Recently dined at Flight again. First time we had a great experience. This time - still good, but not great. We shared a number of appetizers and each had wine. Loved that appetizers were 1/2 off until 7pm on Tuesday! Herbed fries with sauces were very good - nice flavor and texture. Tuna tacos were good but need a bit more kick. Hummus plate was good but not that special. Warm brussels sprout salad was different and very good. Great wine selection. Friendly, helpful server. Not as great as our first visit, but the menu is interesting enough and service is great, so we'll be back.

Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We were seated promptly when we arrived. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We were seated promptly when we arrived. Our waitress started using off with great cocktail and wine recommendations. The menu was varied, my Chicken Francaise was delicious. Everyone in our party enjoyed their entrées, which were of similar high quality. We were surprised when the waitress brought out a serving of beignets with dipping icing to help celebrate hubby's birthday. We'Lloyd definitely be back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went with my husband and best friend f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I went with my husband and best friend for my birthday. The service was outstanding. There was a short of a wait despite having made a reservation, however the manager, Steve, went above and beyond to make up for it. The food was fantastic, the wine was delicious and the entire staff was superb. I truly could not have asked for a better experience for my birthday and will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cheese platter and wine was excellent. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Cheese platter and wine was excellent. Waitress was also friendly, witty, and didn't rush us. We will definitely be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always great service!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Always great service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a really excellent dinner. Wine ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a really excellent dinner. Wine flights, delicious food (highly recommend the eggplant flatbread, poke tuna and fries). Excellent service in a fun, bustling atmosphere.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food great people.....love Flight

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

great food great people.....love Flight

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great!! And service was outstan ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was great!! And service was outstanding!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service! Had to wait a little for ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great service! Had to wait a little for our table and so the bartender gave us a free round of drinks! Very accommodating and awesome food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a group of 5 to celebrate a birth ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We had a group of 5 to celebrate a birthday, and Flight turned out to be the perfect spot!

The menu has so many options, that it makes it fun to order many appetizers to share, and then order salads or main entrees, depending on appetites. The food was delicious, the flights of wine add a fun element, but even more memorable was the service. Our waiter, Anthony, was very attentive, and went way beyond our expectations to provide a festive birthday dinner. We all agreed that Flight is a restaurant we will return to soon!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm a regular here. This was the first t ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I'm a regular here. This was the first time I had the Flight Burger. Excellent choice if you're looking for a good burger instead of a full entree. As always, service and ambience were good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unfortunately, this was not the best exp ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Unfortunately, this was not the best experience I had at flight.

We were ignored for approximately 10 minutes when we walked in, then sat at the bar, where we were ignored for another 10 minutes. Finally seated, we placed an order for a dish, and 20 minutes later were told that it was suddenly unavailable, and the flatbread pizza we had instead with inedible.

They did remove the flatbread from our bill, and we hope our next visit will be better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

This is our go to restaurant. We like to ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This is our go to restaurant. We like to sit at one of the tables in the bar. Great food, great service, great ambiance and great happy hour pricing. What is not to love? This is a great restaurant for couples.

Tags: Seasonal, Fireplace, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent as always. Great pla ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food was excellent as always. Great place for dinner or just a drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was quite good. Nice ambiance. Wh ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was quite good. Nice ambiance. When I told my server that my salmon wasn't cooked as I requested, not only did they bring me another full plate, with salmon cooked to order, they also comped my glass of wine -- very class act.

Tags: Great Beer, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

I originally made a reservation for a pa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 29, 2016

I originally made a reservation for a party of 8 for a surprise wedding shower. I received last minute RSVPs, which changed my reservation to 14. I called the restaurant and they were very accommodating even though this was the day before the event. They gave us a nice spot in the back corner with plenty of space to mingle with everyone in our group. Our server was very attentive and provided such a pleasant experience. On top of that, the food was fantastic. We mainly ordered appetizers to share from the goat cheese to the bang bang shrimp. It was the perfect setting for a small work event. This was my first time dining at Flight and I will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife had the sea bass and I had short ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My wife had the sea bass and I had short ribs, both meals were delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was packed but our reservatio ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Restaurant was packed but our reservation was honored immediately. The food and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

👍🖒 you have to try the appetizers the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

👍🖒 you have to try the appetizers the blackened tuna tacos unbelievable but the best was bang bang shrimp entrees were really good the planked salmon is unbelievable great sauce healthy chicken alla vodka great the tables for two are quite small kinda reminded me of a coffee shop not ideal for a dinner but perfect for just casual small details but overall great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great place to go and the servers really ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great place to go and the servers really have good suggestions about the wine and the beer.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was a bit overpriced but everything ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was a bit overpriced but everything was delicious so I didn't so much mind in the end. Wine was good and we'll priced. Good service too.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent food, excellent service!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Met some friends there for happy hour. H ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Met some friends there for happy hour. Half price appetizers from 5-7pm. Great deal. Big list of options. Most places have 3 or 4 options, they had about 15 or so. Good staff, very friendly.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very bland, hardly any tast ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The food was very bland, hardly any taste at all. I will not return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

We went in for a small bite to eat. Had ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We went in for a small bite to eat. Had not been there in around 1 year. Ordered a brussell sprout salad. It arrived, as a warm salad. It was not listed to be warm, and didn't enjoy it that much. We also ordered to share the Tuna appetizer. Not only was the tuna tasteless, there was no flavor in anything on the plate. We used to come here often and disappointing how different the food has become.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

well prepared food with fresh ingredient ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2016

well prepared food with fresh ingredients. well rounded menu with a lot of good alternative dishes. the appetizers are really well conceived and incredibly tasty. During happy hour are 1/2 priced. cant beat the taste and value. very comfortable place with excellent service and friendly staff.

the wines are certainly one of primary values. extremely large list at very low prices. quite a few boutique wineries that are hard to find, even at liquor stores. they know their wines well.

highly recommended

Tags: , Open Kitchen, Fun, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the first time we went to Flight ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This is the first time we went to Flight. Loved the menu! We had the hummus, bang bang shrimp, sage sausage flatbread, 5 cheeses/meats. Would reorder them all except for the bang bang shrimp which was not well presented and not good value. We look forward to coming back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We ate outside and it worked out perfect ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 7, 2016

We ate outside and it worked out perfectly! Good pacing of the meal and extra glasses of j e brought to the table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We ate the salmon and pork belly risotto ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 5, 2016

We ate the salmon and pork belly risotto entrées. They were both very delicious! The fruity bubbles drink is champagne flavored by a sugar cube in the glass. It both unique and refreshing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was good, however it took foreve ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Service was good, however it took forever for our food to come out, which isn't the servers fault. We ordered some meats and cheese that took over 30 min to come out and then our entrees came within 5 min of our appetizer, which left us scrambling. They were pretty busy so I can understand things happen.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

WE visit often and it's always a great f ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2016

WE visit often and it's always a great food and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Family Style, Romantic, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I thought it was understood when I booke ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2016

I thought it was understood when I booked it was date night. We arrived and restaurant was more than half empty but we were seated in the very back where one person has to look at a wall. We were the only ones back there until a women and I child was seated next to us. She reprimanded the child and then he pulled out a phone game. Hardly a date night setting. The place had plenty of other places they could have set us. I requested another seat and they were gracious about it but why would I have had to ask in the first place. Very annoyed indeed !

Tags: Happy Hour
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.