About Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar

1820 Tower Dr
Glenview, IL 60026
View Larger Map

Celebrating its 8th year, Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar continues to fly high! Located in The Glen Town Center and considered one of the North Shore’s most popular eateries, Flight will take your senses to greater heights. Offering an extensive wine list featuring 35 wines by the glass from every corner of the globe, a fully stocked bar, and a menu best described as American Contemporary Comfort food, Flight offers a first-class dining experience that is sure to please. Customer favorites include the Duck Mac & Cheese, Pan Seared Scallops, Beef Tenderloin, Skirt Steak, and the Flight Burger served with Tuscan Fries cooked to perfection with parmesan cheese, herbs and garlic. Save room for dessert…the Chocolate Fondue paired with a Ruby Port is a must! A children’s menu is available for kids 12 and under. Looking for a special wine to stock your personal cellar? Our in-house wine director, Adam Bloom, is happy to assist you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Flight's kitchen is open Monday - Thursday from 5 pm to 10 pm and Friday and Saturday from 5 pm to midnight. Last call in the wine bar is as late as 12:30 am Monday through Friday and as late as 1:30 am on Saturday. The restaurant is closed on Sunday.

Cross Street:
Chestnut & Patriot

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 729-9463

Website:
http://www.flightwinebar.com/

Catering:
Our catering menu is available upon request. We would be happy to help you plan your special event!

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking is available on the street, as well as in nearby parking garages directly behind the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Cunningham

Private Party Facilities:
Restaurant Buy Out

Private Party Contact:
Events: 8477299463

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Flight offers a variety of wine tastings throughout the year and also features a WINE CLUB for those interested in learning more about wine or who would like to build their personal wine cellar. For more information, please visit our website.

Restaurant Photos

Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar, Glenview, IL
Flatbreads - Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar, Glenview, IL
Flight Burger - Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar, Glenview, IL
Queso Fundido - Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar, Glenview, IL
gin and tonic - Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar, Glenview, IL
Tokyo Black Porter - Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar, Glenview, IL
Tuscan Penne - Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar, Glenview, IL
Crab Cakes - Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar, Glenview, IL
Iced tea - Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar, Glenview, IL
Bread Pudding - Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar, Glenview, IL
Whiskey - Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar, Glenview, IL
Ahi tuna - Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar, Glenview, IL
Scallops - Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar, Glenview, IL
Wine Flights - Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar, Glenview, IL
Raspberry Almond Cake - Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar, Glenview, IL
Champagne - Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar, Glenview, IL

Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
North Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Glenview ›

Bar Seating (11)
Casual (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
See All
Special Occasion (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Fun (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Cozy (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Great Beer (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Romantic (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Tapas (3)
Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Authentic (3)
Fireplace (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Live Sports (2)
Family Style (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Business Meals (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
381 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I originally made a reservation for a pa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 29, 2016

I originally made a reservation for a party of 8 for a surprise wedding shower. I received last minute RSVPs, which changed my reservation to 14. I called the restaurant and they were very accommodating even though this was the day before the event. They gave us a nice spot in the back corner with plenty of space to mingle with everyone in our group. Our server was very attentive and provided such a pleasant experience. On top of that, the food was fantastic. We mainly ordered appetizers to share from the goat cheese to the bang bang shrimp. It was the perfect setting for a small work event. This was my first time dining at Flight and I will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife had the sea bass and I had short ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My wife had the sea bass and I had short ribs, both meals were delicious.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant was packed but our reservatio ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Restaurant was packed but our reservation was honored immediately. The food and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

👍🖒 you have to try the appetizers the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

👍🖒 you have to try the appetizers the blackened tuna tacos unbelievable but the best was bang bang shrimp entrees were really good the planked salmon is unbelievable great sauce healthy chicken alla vodka great the tables for two are quite small kinda reminded me of a coffee shop not ideal for a dinner but perfect for just casual small details but overall great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great place to go and the servers really ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Great place to go and the servers really have good suggestions about the wine and the beer.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was a bit overpriced but everything ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was a bit overpriced but everything was delicious so I didn't so much mind in the end. Wine was good and we'll priced. Good service too.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent food, excellent service!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Met some friends there for happy hour. H ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Met some friends there for happy hour. Half price appetizers from 5-7pm. Great deal. Big list of options. Most places have 3 or 4 options, they had about 15 or so. Good staff, very friendly.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very bland, hardly any tast ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The food was very bland, hardly any taste at all. I will not return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

We went in for a small bite to eat. Had ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We went in for a small bite to eat. Had not been there in around 1 year. Ordered a brussell sprout salad. It arrived, as a warm salad. It was not listed to be warm, and didn't enjoy it that much. We also ordered to share the Tuna appetizer. Not only was the tuna tasteless, there was no flavor in anything on the plate. We used to come here often and disappointing how different the food has become.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

well prepared food with fresh ingredient ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2016

well prepared food with fresh ingredients. well rounded menu with a lot of good alternative dishes. the appetizers are really well conceived and incredibly tasty. During happy hour are 1/2 priced. cant beat the taste and value. very comfortable place with excellent service and friendly staff.

the wines are certainly one of primary values. extremely large list at very low prices. quite a few boutique wineries that are hard to find, even at liquor stores. they know their wines well.

highly recommended

Tags: Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Fun, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the first time we went to Flight ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This is the first time we went to Flight. Loved the menu! We had the hummus, bang bang shrimp, sage sausage flatbread, 5 cheeses/meats. Would reorder them all except for the bang bang shrimp which was not well presented and not good value. We look forward to coming back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We ate outside and it worked out perfect ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 7, 2016

We ate outside and it worked out perfectly! Good pacing of the meal and extra glasses of j e brought to the table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We ate the salmon and pork belly risotto ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 5, 2016

We ate the salmon and pork belly risotto entrées. They were both very delicious! The fruity bubbles drink is champagne flavored by a sugar cube in the glass. It both unique and refreshing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was good, however it took foreve ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Service was good, however it took forever for our food to come out, which isn't the servers fault. We ordered some meats and cheese that took over 30 min to come out and then our entrees came within 5 min of our appetizer, which left us scrambling. They were pretty busy so I can understand things happen.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I thought it was understood when I booke ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2016

I thought it was understood when I booked it was date night. We arrived and restaurant was more than half empty but we were seated in the very back where one person has to look at a wall. We were the only ones back there until a women and I child was seated next to us. She reprimanded the child and then he pulled out a phone game. Hardly a date night setting. The place had plenty of other places they could have set us. I requested another seat and they were gracious about it but why would I have had to ask in the first place. Very annoyed indeed !

Tags: Happy Hour
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

WE visit often and it's always a great f ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2016

WE visit often and it's always a great food and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Family Style, Romantic, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great menu and even better service. Flig ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2016

great menu and even better service.

Flight rocks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and the dining experience is ex ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 1, 2016

The food and the dining experience is excellent. This is our second time at Flight. We love love love love it. The scallops is exceptional with the nutty veggies sitting under it. Child love the sliders and the cheese curds. The potbelly tacos yum. The desserts are fantastic. I have to say... the chicken penne is a bit too oily for me.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, People Watching, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice interior and table setup; server wa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Nice interior and table setup; server was especially attentive and knowledgeable.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

A very nice and easy evening. Very good ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2016

A very nice and easy evening. Very good food for all 3, generous service and location convenient to the theater. Just right!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We were early enough to take advantage o ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 22, 2016

We were early enough to take advantage of the Happy Hour even though we had not planned to. The food was very good and the service was on point. Even checked back right before Happy Hour ended to see if we wanted anything else from that menu. Very nice and appreciated. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Had the pulled pork flatbread, bang bang ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Had the pulled pork flatbread, bang bang shrimp and rib appetizers and they were great tasting. Had the tex mex skirt steak and it had really good flavor. The salmon was excellent also. Will definitely go back for more.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great service team, great food, very sol ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2016

great service team, great food, very solid wine list. Always a great meal and a good timer at Flight

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were disappointed in the size and amb ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 2, 2016

We were disappointed in the size and ambiance of the restaurant, but the service was excellent, we were reseated to a window table after being seated by the kitchen. The food was very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We sat @ the bar area and had some appet ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 9, 2016

We sat @ the bar area and had some appetizers and wine. Food was delicious and the amounts just right. We had not been back for a few months and it did not disappoint. Never does!!!!!.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my third time, and all the item ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 8, 2016

This was my third time, and all the items I've tried have been delicious! This time we had the crab cakes, diver sea scallops, and shared the duck Mac (my favorite!). We each had had a flight as well - mine was the sparkling flight and my friend had the summer whites which he loved. I only wish they were also open for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Birthday Dinner w/ Girlfriends

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 22, 2016

We absolutely loved the food. We split the roasted beet salad ... it is to die for! We each had a different entree and recommend them all: Chicken Pesto Penne, Cedar Plank Roasted Salmon, Pork Belly Risotto and Sesame BBQ Chicken Noodles. Great food, great wine, great location! Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Every food item we had was delicious! Th ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Every food item we had was delicious! The scallops were my favorite, and the tuna was great as well. My husband also had the wings and they were the biggest wings I've seen served. We can't wait to go back and try full entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came here to celebrate an anniversary an ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Came here to celebrate an anniversary and new job -- had amazing food, amazing service, and loved every second. Would highly recommend this place, especially if you are a wine-o!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Its a pleasant surprise!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We picked the restaurant because it was right next to the theatre we were watching a movie at. We were pleasantly surprised by how amazing it is. The food was incredible. It was innovative and delicious. The price was good. The wine was fun, they have these flights of wine. you can try three different wines for $13-16. I love it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wine Bar with great Food!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 1, 2016

Flight has the best wines, and of course you can get flights for tasting! The food here is delicious and there is a great variety! The chef changes the menu pretty often, so there is always something new to try. They added about fifty new dishes in the past year so you can

order what you are in the mood for. The appetizers are especially delicious. The atmosphere is cozy and sophisticated, and the service is fantastic. Great food and wine is always a given here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place to dine

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2016

We got to the restaurant just before 6:30 PM, so the discounted appetizers were still available. We had bang bang shrimp To start and they were perfect. My wife decided on fish tacos for dinner which were also off the appetizer menu. I had a gourmet hamburger and both dinners were awesome. For dessert we had bread pudding with caramel ice cream and it was also very good. We sat at the bar and the service was great. Our table was split between a couple of bartenders who made sure we never wanted for anything. Every employee of the restaurant was extremely friendly. This is a must for a nice evening with a date.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good ford - especially for where it was

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2016

You expect a restaurant like this, in the midst of some artificial architectural curiousity called "The Glen," to be a good bit underwhelming. In fact, from the time we sat down, the place was quite remarkably good. The waitress was very good, sounding just the right notes of presence. We stuck to appetizers almost as if they were tapas and it was the way to go. Plenty of food and a good sampling of some tasty little dishes. I liked the crab cake and ahi tuna; my date liked the tacos and goat cheese. I was unimpressed with wine selections which are supposed to featured in a place like this. The labels - and tastes -were pedestrian to say the least. But it was much better than expected and I would in fact recommend it to other to go there - once. Couldn't shake that "it's in the wretched new suburbs" feel and it did lack character. Nonetheless: a solid "B."

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

excellent wine and foody place

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 25, 2016

stylish and trendy/healthy food, prepared similar to much higher-end restaurants. great service with an enjoyable atmosphere. the two manager are very competent at what they do, and know their extensive wine list very well. Wines by both the glass and bottle, with specials on different days, they have some of the better-but-not-as well known wines such as Frank Family. good patio during the summer months, very enjoyable evening. the appetizers are so good, they can make an entire meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

All around good

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 23, 2016

Hadn't been there in a while but it looks the same time and is still excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, even better customer service.

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 20, 2016

I've been to Flight for drinks before, but went for dinner for the first time last weekend. Everything was absolutely delicious. I highly recommend the seas bass. Customer service is an A++. The staff was very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as always!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2016

We love it here! Steve (GM) and staff always take good care of us. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Party

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 28, 2016

I had my birthday party here with a group of a total of 10 people. They were able to accommodate our group. It was easy to talk to each other and enjoy each other's company. We had wine and cocktails and everybody enjoyed their drink. They also have very good food! I love the environment where it's a little more upscale.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A so-so experience

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 21, 2016

We came here to celebrate our 39th wedding anniversary. The ambiance was not really romantic. When my wife ordered the soup de jour which was tomato bisque, she got clam chowder instead, a definite no-no for someone who is allergic to shellfish. When we asked the waitress why the substitution was made without our knowledge she said they ran out of the bisque so she went ahead with the chowder. Expressing our concern, within a few minutes the manager arrived and he apologized for the error. We were comped with a free dessert, a fabulous creme brule.

We started off with two different red wine flights which were fantastic. We then had the baby back rib appetizer. the sauce was amazing. My wife had the duck mac which she said was so-so. I had the chicken with roasted vegetables and rice noodles. It was more like rice noodles with a few veggies and dry chicken breast. Pass.

We will come back for the wine flights and some appetizers or bugers but pass on the entrees.

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.