About Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar

1820 Tower Dr
Glenview, IL 60026
View Larger Map

Celebrating its 8th year, Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar continues to fly high! Located in The Glen Town Center and considered one of the North Shore’s most popular eateries, Flight will take your senses to greater heights. Offering an extensive wine list featuring 35 wines by the glass from every corner of the globe, a fully stocked bar, and a menu best described as American Contemporary Comfort food, Flight offers a first-class dining experience that is sure to please. Customer favorites include the Duck Mac & Cheese, Pan Seared Scallops, Beef Tenderloin, Skirt Steak, and the Flight Burger served with Tuscan Fries cooked to perfection with parmesan cheese, herbs and garlic. Save room for dessert…the Chocolate Fondue paired with a Ruby Port is a must! A children’s menu is available for kids 12 and under. Looking for a special wine to stock your personal cellar? Our in-house wine director, Adam Bloom, is happy to assist you!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Comfort Food, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Flight's kitchen is open Monday - Thursday from 5 pm to 10 pm and Friday and Saturday from 5 pm to midnight. Last call in the wine bar is as late as 12:30 am Monday through Friday and as late as 1:30 am on Saturday. The restaurant is closed on Sunday.

Cross Street:
Chestnut & Patriot

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(847) 729-9463

Website:
http://www.flightwinebar.com/

Catering:
Our catering menu is available upon request. We would be happy to help you plan your special event!

Parking Details:
Complimentary parking is available on the street, as well as in nearby parking garages directly behind the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Cunningham

Private Party Facilities:
Restaurant Buy Out

Private Party Contact:
Events: 8477299463

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Flight offers a variety of wine tastings throughout the year and also features a WINE CLUB for those interested in learning more about wine or who would like to build their personal wine cellar. For more information, please visit our website.

Restaurant Photos

Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar
Flatbreads
Flight Burger
Queso Fundido
Tuscan Penne
Tokyo Black Porter
gin and tonic
Crab Cakes
Iced tea
Champagne
Scallops
Raspberry Almond Cake
Bread Pudding
Ahi tuna
Wine Flights
Whiskey

Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
North Suburbs
Best Value
North Suburbs
Notable Wine List
North Suburbs
1 More
Contemporary American
North Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Glenview ›

notable wine list (18)
fit for foodies (15)
neighborhood gem (12)
See All
good for groups (9)
special occasion (7)
hot spot (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
romantic (6)
late-night find (5)
great for outdoor dining (5)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (3)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
359 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had the pulled pork flatbread, bang bang ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Had the pulled pork flatbread, bang bang shrimp and rib appetizers and they were great tasting. Had the tex mex skirt steak and it had really good flavor. The salmon was excellent also. Will definitely go back for more.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great service team, great food, very sol ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

great service team, great food, very solid wine list. Always a great meal and a good timer at Flight

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were disappointed in the size and amb ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We were disappointed in the size and ambiance of the restaurant, but the service was excellent, we were reseated to a window table after being seated by the kitchen. The food was very good.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We sat @ the bar area and had some appet ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We sat @ the bar area and had some appetizers and wine. Food was delicious and the amounts just right. We had not been back for a few months and it did not disappoint. Never does!!!!!.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my third time, and all the item ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

This was my third time, and all the items I've tried have been delicious! This time we had the crab cakes, diver sea scallops, and shared the duck Mac (my favorite!). We each had had a flight as well - mine was the sparkling flight and my friend had the summer whites which he loved. I only wish they were also open for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Birthday Dinner w/ Girlfriends

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We absolutely loved the food. We split the roasted beet salad ... it is to die for! We each had a different entree and recommend them all: Chicken Pesto Penne, Cedar Plank Roasted Salmon, Pork Belly Risotto and Sesame BBQ Chicken Noodles. Great food, great wine, great location! Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Every food item we had was delicious! Th ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Every food item we had was delicious! The scallops were my favorite, and the tuna was great as well. My husband also had the wings and they were the biggest wings I've seen served. We can't wait to go back and try full entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came here to celebrate an anniversary an ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Came here to celebrate an anniversary and new job -- had amazing food, amazing service, and loved every second. Would highly recommend this place, especially if you are a wine-o!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Its a pleasant surprise!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We picked the restaurant because it was right next to the theatre we were watching a movie at. We were pleasantly surprised by how amazing it is. The food was incredible. It was innovative and delicious. The price was good. The wine was fun, they have these flights of wine. you can try three different wines for $13-16. I love it.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wine Bar with great Food!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Flight has the best wines, and of course you can get flights for tasting! The food here is delicious and there is a great variety! The chef changes the menu pretty often, so there is always something new to try. They added about fifty new dishes in the past year so you can

order what you are in the mood for. The appetizers are especially delicious. The atmosphere is cozy and sophisticated, and the service is fantastic. Great food and wine is always a given here!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place to dine

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We got to the restaurant just before 6:30 PM, so the discounted appetizers were still available. We had bang bang shrimp To start and they were perfect. My wife decided on fish tacos for dinner which were also off the appetizer menu. I had a gourmet hamburger and both dinners were awesome. For dessert we had bread pudding with caramel ice cream and it was also very good. We sat at the bar and the service was great. Our table was split between a couple of bartenders who made sure we never wanted for anything. Every employee of the restaurant was extremely friendly. This is a must for a nice evening with a date.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good ford - especially for where it was

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

You expect a restaurant like this, in the midst of some artificial architectural curiousity called "The Glen," to be a good bit underwhelming. In fact, from the time we sat down, the place was quite remarkably good. The waitress was very good, sounding just the right notes of presence. We stuck to appetizers almost as if they were tapas and it was the way to go. Plenty of food and a good sampling of some tasty little dishes. I liked the crab cake and ahi tuna; my date liked the tacos and goat cheese. I was unimpressed with wine selections which are supposed to featured in a place like this. The labels - and tastes -were pedestrian to say the least. But it was much better than expected and I would in fact recommend it to other to go there - once. Couldn't shake that "it's in the wretched new suburbs" feel and it did lack character. Nonetheless: a solid "B."

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

excellent wine and foody place

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

stylish and trendy/healthy food, prepared similar to much higher-end restaurants. great service with an enjoyable atmosphere. the two manager are very competent at what they do, and know their extensive wine list very well. Wines by both the glass and bottle, with specials on different days, they have some of the better-but-not-as well known wines such as Frank Family. good patio during the summer months, very enjoyable evening. the appetizers are so good, they can make an entire meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

All around good

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Hadn't been there in a while but it looks the same time and is still excellent

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, even better customer service.

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

I've been to Flight for drinks before, but went for dinner for the first time last weekend. Everything was absolutely delicious. I highly recommend the seas bass. Customer service is an A++. The staff was very attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as always!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

We love it here! Steve (GM) and staff always take good care of us. Keep up the good work.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Party

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

I had my birthday party here with a group of a total of 10 people. They were able to accommodate our group. It was easy to talk to each other and enjoy each other's company. We had wine and cocktails and everybody enjoyed their drink. They also have very good food! I love the environment where it's a little more upscale.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A so-so experience

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We came here to celebrate our 39th wedding anniversary. The ambiance was not really romantic. When my wife ordered the soup de jour which was tomato bisque, she got clam chowder instead, a definite no-no for someone who is allergic to shellfish. When we asked the waitress why the substitution was made without our knowledge she said they ran out of the bisque so she went ahead with the chowder. Expressing our concern, within a few minutes the manager arrived and he apologized for the error. We were comped with a free dessert, a fabulous creme brule.

We started off with two different red wine flights which were fantastic. We then had the baby back rib appetizer. the sauce was amazing. My wife had the duck mac which she said was so-so. I had the chicken with roasted vegetables and rice noodles. It was more like rice noodles with a few veggies and dry chicken breast. Pass.

We will come back for the wine flights and some appetizers or bugers but pass on the entrees.

Tags: late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great small plates and wine varieties

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

We went with friends and shared about 8 different small plates ... all were very good. They had never been here and really enjoyed it. It's a good place just for a drink, perhaps with a nibble or for a full meal. Very pleasant service ... attentive but not bothersome. We'll be back

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We've been going to flight for years for ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We've been going to flight for years for drinks. We finally tried to decide the food and were amazed. It's a new favorite, as we've been twice in the last month and have plans for another trip soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Flight Night

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Good food (great vegetarian options), good ambiance and good service. I would definitely come back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

If you are in this beautiful area, you c ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

If you are in this beautiful area, you cannot miss this place. Excellent choice of wines and the food is also excellent. The service is so good. I know wine and food parings pretty well but I learned a few things after visiting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent date night at Flight! My wife ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Excellent date night at Flight! My wife and I really enjoyed the food and the service was super. Very nice ambience makes for a great spot. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome experience!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

I took my friend to Flight to celebrate her birthday. Our server, Marcin, was great! He made excellent recommendations for both food and wine! The wine flights were awesome and I got to try multiple varietals that I never heard of before. Our entrees were delicious as well! But, our dessert was amazing...the chocolate fondue hit the spot along with a glass of dessert wine! Yum! Can't wait to go back again!! If you are looking for an outstanding food and wine pairing experience, Flight is the place to be!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good neighborhood find

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 30, 2016

Had not been back in a few years, enjoyed the evening.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice experienc

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

We were pleased we were able to get a reservation for a Saturday night at 8pm on short notice. We had not been to Flight in years and we wanted to try something new. The storefront restaurant at The Glenn is a little chilly but once inside the main dining area it became comfortable.

A lot of the menu is shareable apps which was perfect for what we were looking for. Most wines can be had by flight, large glass half or full bottle. Prices were reasonable.

Only issue we had was our main course "got lost". We were sitting enjoying our wine and were not in a huge hurry. The server came by and noticed we didn't have our food yet. The manager came by and apologized and comped us a dessert -not necessary but nice.

Bottom line -we will probably put Flight into our dinner out rotation in the Northbrook/Glenview area.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Greatness

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

great food, great service, always consistent and a great time

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great neighborhood restaurant

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

When you want to drink wine and have smaller portions, Flight is great. They have a lot of great appetizers and during happy hour, they are half priced so a fairly good value. It can get expensive otherwise but the quieter ambiance, ability to get half glasses of wine and not feeling rushed is often worth it. My favorites are the Chicken Sliders, Ahi Tuna and flat breads. The herb fries, when not over fried, are also wonderful with the truffle mayonnaise.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Limited menu

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

Not happy with our entrees and menu was limited. Both couples were not impressed with the menu or their food

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Good night except...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

First time here and was seated promptly. Server was attentive and gave great recommendations. Seats are very close to one another and unfortunately we were seated next to a party of three. The one young lady felt the need to scream and laugh very loudly which disturbed several patrons and made us want to get out of there as quickly as possible. Enjoyed our meals (duck Mac and cheese and a flatbread), bread pudding was fabulous but not the environment.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Wonderful Date Night

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

My Husband and I went to Flight on a Friday night and had a great date night! We each had a flight of wines and then a glass of wine for dinner. We were quite happy with the wine list, great variety from across the world, they even had one of our favorite Napa wines by the glass! We shared a charcuterie plate while we enjoyed our wine flights which made for a very nicely paced dinner. Our entrees were delicious and we plan to come back because everything on the menu sounded wonderful! Seemed to be the perfect sized menu - not too many options to overwhelm but just enough that I think pretty much anyone could find something to eat here! The ambiance was nice. The Hawks game was on and it was a little loud in the restaurant but we never had trouble hearing each other. Would definitely recommend for a nice date nice!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Service attentive, but we had to wait 10 ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

Service attentive, but we had to wait 10 minutes for a table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Consistently good!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

We have gone to Flight a number of times and have always been extremely happy! The food is always hot, fresh and tasty! The salads are crisp and flavorful and the bread pudding w/bananas foster sauce is our fave for dessert!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Food & Service

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

This was my first time at Flight and it didn't disappoint. My friend has a number of diet issues and the server and kitchen staff were very helpful, which is sincerely appreciated. The server was friendly and responsive and the food was excellent.

We will be back.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Local Gem!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Always love going here. Great ambiance. Wonderful on a cold night with the fireplace going. Always something delicious on the menu and love that they change it up, but will make your favorites of you ask. Can't miss with this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant...we always enjoy our d ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

Great restaurant...we always enjoy our dinning experience.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really great place

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

I met a friend here for dinner. It was my first visit. The ambiance was great and the menu was even nicer. I was very pleased and will go back with my husband,

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was good and enjoyable. Only ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

Everything was good and enjoyable. Only complaint is that when we asked for a little more fruit to finish our chocolate fondue we were denied, having to waste half the chocolate. A banana costs about .25, don't think it was too much to ask.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Another great meal! The shrimp appetizer ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

Another great meal! The shrimp appetizer and beef sliders were great for the half price apps- they have that till 7pm! Main course I had the blackened Ahi Tuna which I've had before and is fabulous with spicy green beans. My husband had the skirt steak which had a Tex mex seasoning and was very flavorful with mashed potatoes! To end the meal we had a chocolate bread pudding with bananas foster and ice cream- believe me, that was incredible. Service was fantastic- what more could you ask for except for perfectly made martinis. Ha! We had those too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service, food &wine great as well.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

My wife and I always enjoy dining at the restaurant. We are always welcomed as a return guest.

The service is outstanding!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.