About Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar - Memphis

39 South Main Street
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

Flight Restaurant and Wine Bar is a full service restaurant with multiple dining selections for a guest to enjoy in a single dining experience. The service style of the restaurant is the finest service featuring a knowledgeable wait staff from which guests can gain valuable insight to enhance their dining experience.
Flight offers several distinct dining options: On the main floor, there is the hustle and bustle of
friends and business people gathering together. The bar is a welcoming place for those dining alone
to meet friends yet unmet, or for those who want a quick bite. On the balcony level, the booths and small tables, some overlooking Main Street, offer more privacy and an opportunity for romance.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
• Monday – Friday Lunch - Available for Private and Corporate Functions.

• Monday – Thursday Dinner Service - 4:45 pm - 10:30 pm

• Friday – Saturday 4:45 pm - 11:30 pm

• Sunday Brunch 10:45 am – 3:00 pm
• Sunday 3:00 pm – 4:00 pm Bar Open
• Sunday 4:00 pm – 4:45 pm Appetizer Menu Available
• Sunday Dinner Service 4:45 pm – 10:00 pm

• The bar stays open an hour later Monday – Saturday.

• Dinner menu hours extended evenings special events held at the Orpheum and FedEx Forum.

Cross Street:
Monroe

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 521-8005

Website:
http://www.flightmemphis.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet offered seven nights a week.

Public Transit:
Flight is located on Main Street along the trolley line.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine, Wine Bar

Private Dining

Flight Restaurant, located in the heart of downtown Memphis, is the perfect setting for your rehearsal dinner, banquet dinner, birthday celebration, anniversary, or corporate function. The fine dining restaurant is also available for private luncheons.

Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
17 More
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Fit for Foodies
Memphis
Notable Wine List
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Most Booked
Memphis
Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Fit for Foodies
Memphis
Notable Wine List
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Most Booked
Memphis
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (348)
fit for foodies (299)
romantic (253)
See All
notable wine list (251)
hot spot (148)
neighborhood gem (117)
good for groups (115)
great for outdoor dining (90)
great for brunch (64)
scenic view (62)
late-night find (60)
vibrant bar scene (56)
great for lunch (40)
kid-friendly (6)
business meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3004 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Flight never disappoints. I believe it' ...

Dined 5 days ago

Flight never disappoints. I believe it's the best dining experience you can get in Memphis.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The overall experience at this restauran ...

Dined 6 days ago

The overall experience at this restaurant was great. The staff were friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is sophisticated and warm. The unique feature is the availability of all the entrees as small plates in groupings or "flights" as well as wines in flights. The prices on the small plates seperately were reasonable and for anyone who does not want a typical full size restaurant meal they make for a great entree option.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, wine and service were all grea ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food, wine and service were all great. We really enjoyed the meal and loved the wine and desert list too.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Free valet parking, very friendly staff, ...

Dined 6 days ago

Free valet parking, very friendly staff, good food, loved the small plates. Made it a very enjoyable anniversary dinner. Would go early, it filled up a Monday!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2

Food was just ok for the price. Out of c ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Food was just ok for the price. Out of crab-cakes out of gumbo. Smh Tastiest thing was sauce from Shrimp on the trio appetizer other than that, food was bland no taste.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the best experience at your esta ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We had the best experience at your establishment! My fiance's birthday dinner was outstanding! The food, service, and ambience was exceptional! Thank you for making the day so special!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my second time to eat at Flight ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This was my second time to eat at Flight. Service was excellent. And the entrees could not have been better! Such a great restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and staff were amazing. Between ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The food and staff were amazing. Between my wife and I, we had salad flight, fish flight, steak flight, desert flight and a few wine flights. Many wonderful tastes and textures. Not a single bad bite or sip. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had a reservation but arrived a littl ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

We had a reservation but arrived a little early. We were seated 15 minutes early, which was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful(this was our first Flight experience.) We went right to the entree flight. My Steak Flight was awesome....especially the elk and bison. Both were ultra tender and tasty. My wife enjoyed the Seafood Flight but plans to try the Steak or Fish Flight next time. For our Desert Flight we chose the Chocolate Flight and it was great! We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Flight was a real find for a small group ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Flight was a real find for a small group on a business trip. The menu, with "flights," small plates and regular sizes allowed various options. The food and service were spectacular. I recommend with enthusiasm.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Friendly service staff. Varied choice o ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Friendly service staff. Varied choice of wines to create a flight of choice. Shrimp appetizer was rubbery as if previously frozen, crab claw was fine. However, rest of meal was outstanding - Harvest Salad was large enough for two people to share. The Louisiana Redfish was moist and well seasoned.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my second trip to Flight, and i ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

This was my second trip to Flight, and it has become one of my very favorite restaurants. I do not plan to ever visit Memphis without a stop at Flight. I love the concept of the "flights" of entrees, soups, salads, desserts, and cocktails. I love the ability to mix and match small portions of delicious foods. When you can't decide between several items on the menu, Flight has the smaller portions so you can sample each. Want a fish, seafood, and beef entree? Get a small plate of each! This last trip, I had a "flight" of seafood with a small plate each of lobster gnocchi, shrimp & grits, and scallop Benedict. All three were so delicious! Everything I have eaten at Flight has been exceptional. Also, coincidentally, I had the same server both visits...Chris (Adams?). He was perfect: knowledgeable, efficient, quick, eager...but subtle. He was always there when we needed him, but didn't hover at all.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This is a great establishment! I enjoyed ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

This is a great establishment! I enjoyed my food and the service I received from Morgan! She was awesome and very informative!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

It was a great meal. The service was ex ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

It was a great meal. The service was excellent. The only problem was the time it took to get the food to the table after ordering. It was a 6:15 reservation and we did not get home until 9:45. The ambience was great. They just need to work on plating the food faster. We definitely will go back again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Was a great experience except for the mu ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Was a great experience except for the music being slightly loud.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came here for brunch on my birthday, d ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I came here for brunch on my birthday, during a weekend trip to Memphis, and was thrilled with the experience! Everything my sister and I ordered was amazing. I liked the versatility of being able to order groups of items (flights) to get a small taste of everything - great value. I highly recommend this place!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun Concept - flights of Food!

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Lovely restaurant with spectacular service. Fun concept.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Very lovely evening. Good service, good ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Very lovely evening. Good service, good food. Strongly recommended.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great service and great food.

Dined on June 10, 2016

The food is delightful. Service was super. Each course was presented shortly after we had the table cleared from the previous course. The presentation was perfect. Each course had a delightful unique taste. Best restaurant in Memphis.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find in Memphis!

Dined on June 10, 2016

My husband and I found this restaurant online, not knowing anything about it. I had read many reviews which were all very good! You never know when you visit in person if all of the reviews will be accurate and match up to your expectations . In this case, we were thrilled that our expectations were met and exceeded with great food and service! Chris, our waiter, was excellent and so attentive! We started with the deviled egg appetizer, which was outstanding, then had both a Caesar and a spinach salad which were also fabulous. My husband had the bison filet, which he said was SO great, and I had the sea bass ... Yummy! Incredibly, we made room for a flight of desserts (lemon sorbet, chocolate turtle and cream brûlée) which were all amazing! We would definitely visit Flight again when we travel to Memphis in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service

Dined on June 10, 2016

Enjoyed a fabulous dinner with the best service. Ellen was our waitress and she treated us like royalty. Everything was cooked perfect and I was too full for dessert which really upset me. Great value for the amount of food you get.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I was on business and dining alone and I ...

vip
Dined on June 9, 2016

I was on business and dining alone and I still felt very comfortable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My sister and I visited Flight Restauran ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

My sister and I visited Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar on the day of her birthday. Since it was her birthday, I wanted to do something special for her by taking her to an upscale restaurant that neither of us had visited before. Our reservation was at 8PM but we were not seated until 8:30PM. However, the staff made every effort on their parts to make sure that we were well taken care of even before being shown to our table. The gentleman, who handles the reservations upon arrival, was not only professional but he was also very apologetic for our wait. He was even thoughtful enough to bring my sister and I complimentary glasses of wine while we waited. As we were shown to our seats, the members of their staff smiled warmly at us and greeted the both of us. Our server, Julianne, was absolutely phenomenal. She was genuinely friendly and open to answer our questions that we had regarding the menu. Even the staff members who helped her tend to our table we are very friendly which helped add to our dining experience. Shortly after we finished with dinner, my sister was brought out a bowl of Creme Brulee with a candle in it and wished a Happy Birthday. We both enjoyed every dish that we ordered and were pleasantly stuffed beyond capacity upon leaving for the night. I felt like I gained 2.5lbs and consumed 10,000 in the two hours that we were there but it was well worth the wait as well as the price. We will definitely visit Flight again very soon!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Flight is always impeccable!

Dined on June 8, 2016

Had a great dinner sitting outside on the patio. Food was excellent and our server Katie was very attentive and delightful. Always a great place to take out of town friends and business colleagues.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A New Favorite in Memphis

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

My wife and I picked Flight in Memphis from Open Table reviews. Wow! it is all of what the best reviews say. The food quality and presentation is gourmet level. We both selected items from several flights rather than the recommended selections. All six dishes were equally well prepared with exceptional flavoring. We chose our wine flights the same way and complete satisfaction again. Our waitress, Laura, was very professional and well versed in the food and wine offerings. Flight is an obviously well managed eatery. No small wonder that it was filled with patrons the whole evening. Be sure to reserve!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Anniversary Dinner!

Dined on June 5, 2016

Last Saturday, my fiance and I took our family as a surprise to Flight to celebrate the beginning of their vacation and their 20th wedding anniversary. The service was wonderful right from the beginning. They were welcomed with a champagne toast even! Our server Wesley was kind, patient and very accommodating to all our questions and requests. The food was spectacular, the wine and beer was delightful. If we lived closer - it would be a regular hang out for us! But this one time meal was a special one and we are so glad to have shared it with Flight. Thank you team!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You gotta go!

Dined on June 4, 2016

We had a great time in celebrating our anniversary! Looking forward to the next time!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on June 4, 2016

Superb meal. Excellent menu selection and I loved the Flight options - perfect for the indecisive or those that simply want to try more than one item on the extensive menu! I had the salad flight to start, followed by the fish flight, both of which were incredibly tasty, having a variety of flavors and textures. Our server was very attentive with a detailed knowledge of the menu and wine selections, as well as the gluten-free options, of which there were many. I will certainly be seeking out a table at Flight next time I am in Memphis. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and very good food

Dined on June 3, 2016

This is one of those places you hear about or see on TV. Flight is is its own class. Not snuffy or jacket/ tie required but you can dress up if you wish. The servers are on point and the food is also perfect. I cannot say anything bad about my experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always fun to try new things.

Dined on June 2, 2016

I love the opportunity for trying new things whilst knowing that if I dont like it I still will not be leaving hungry! Service is always spectacular.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved it!

Dined on June 2, 2016

Loved that you can get flights of food and wine. The mushroom ravioli, the stuffed filet, and the shrimp and grits were our faves!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were in Memphis for only 2 days so wa ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

We were in Memphis for only 2 days so wanted to make sure we sampled the best that was on offer. We found Flight on Tripadvisor and booked a table through OpenTable - easy!! We arrived on time but had a wait of about 30 mins for our table which wasn't a great start and we weren't offered a drink either. However, the service could not be faulted once we sat down. The format is unusual and entirely flexible and gave you the opportunity to sample a number of different dishes without being over-full. They offer a selection of "Flights" which is essentially 3 small plates. You can choose from the list of suggested Flights or create your own. We chose a main course Flight selection each (we skipped starters) and this was more than enough for us - we're not big eaters. We had a wine Flight each and they were all excellent. We shared a dessert Flight which was absolute delicious and finished off the meal nicely. ALL of the food was very special - some wonderful taste combinations which exploded in the mouth. Our favorite dish was the shrimp and grits. We paid about $170 incl tip so not a cheap meal but perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, romance, special occasions, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great find

Dined on June 1, 2016

We enjoyed everything. Food,service,atmosphere. We will go back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fun concept

Dined on June 1, 2016

Flight was a great meal on our way through Memphis. The concept is fun, although it takes a bit of explaining by the very friendly and interested staff. Once you decide if you are doing a flight of wine, you next need to pick your flight of food! I would highly recommend sharing the Flight of Salads, really large and the flight of desserts (outstanding). For Dinner our party of 4 was impressed with all our choices, including the flight of Fish with the Seabass standing out as an excellent selection. Enjoyed our adventure in Flight.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A dining experience truly unique

Dined on June 1, 2016

We were looking for something different that was within walking distance of the Peabody and Beale St. Fully recommend it. The "concept" is pairing of 3 similar small plates (i had elk chop, cheese stuffed tenderloin, and bison rib eye), with other pairing of fish dishes, etc. Wine was also available as a triple pairing as was the desert and for me, after dinner scotch. Fun, tasty, different. Surely would go back the next time we are in Memphis.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely A Fabulous Find

Dined on June 1, 2016

Most incredible selection of fine food! Service Outstanding, and knowledgeable! Preparation of food superb! A must try by anyone looking for excellence

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining

Dined on May 29, 2016

Flight is absolutely fantastic. Try the seafood flight and the fish flight. Outstanding wine list and wonderful desserts. The dinner was as good as any upscale restaurant in New York or DC, or better. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding Sunday Brunch

Dined on May 29, 2016

We have been to Flight several times over the years, and have never been disappointed. This was our first visit for brunch, but it will not be our last. The food was outstanding and the service was top notch as always. The Filet Benedict was a can't miss, but the real star was the cinnamon roll skillet that we had as an appetizer. Flight is not the place to go every week, but when you feel like a splurge it is the place to go.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

I was very impressed by the wait staff a ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

I was very impressed by the wait staff at flight. Katie did a wonderful job and really made our meal an experience. It's not often that a server is that knowledgable and helpful. It was quite a treat and I will be back again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome

Dined on May 29, 2016

Took the family here for wife's birthday dinner. Food was excellent. Service was outstanding. Couldn't have been happier with our choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.