About Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar - Memphis

39 South Main Street
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

Flight Restaurant and Wine Bar is a full service restaurant with multiple dining selections for a guest to enjoy in a single dining experience. The service style of the restaurant is the finest service featuring a knowledgeable wait staff from which guests can gain valuable insight to enhance their dining experience.
Flight offers several distinct dining options: On the main floor, there is the hustle and bustle of
friends and business people gathering together. The bar is a welcoming place for those dining alone
to meet friends yet unmet, or for those who want a quick bite. On the balcony level, the booths and small tables, some overlooking Main Street, offer more privacy and an opportunity for romance.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
• Monday – Friday Lunch - Available for Private and Corporate Functions.

• Monday – Thursday Dinner Service - 4:45 pm - 10:30 pm

• Friday – Saturday 4:45 pm - 11:30 pm

• Sunday Brunch 10:45 am – 3:00 pm
• Sunday 3:00 pm – 4:00 pm Bar Open
• Sunday 4:00 pm – 4:45 pm Appetizer Menu Available
• Sunday Dinner Service 4:45 pm – 10:00 pm

• The bar stays open an hour later Monday – Saturday.

• Dinner menu hours extended evenings special events held at the Orpheum and FedEx Forum.

Cross Street:
Monroe

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 521-8005

Website:
http://www.flightmemphis.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet offered seven nights a week.

Public Transit:
Flight is located on Main Street along the trolley line.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine

Private Dining

Flight Restaurant, located in the heart of downtown Memphis, is the perfect setting for your rehearsal dinner, banquet dinner, birthday celebration, anniversary, or corporate function. The fine dining restaurant is also available for private luncheons.

Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
17 More
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Fit for Foodies
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
American
Memphis
Most Booked
Memphis
Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Fit for Foodies
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
American
Memphis
Most Booked
Memphis
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (287)
Romantic (207)
Fit for Foodies (199)
See All
Notable Wine List (168)
Hot Spot (99)
Neighborhood Gem (92)
Good for Groups (75)
Great for Outdoor Dining (67)
Great for Brunch (50)
Good for a Date (49)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Vibrant Bar Scene (37)
Tasting Menu (34)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Scenic View (31)
Late-night Find (31)
Worth the Drive (31)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Great for Lunch (24)
Business Meals (23)
Cozy (21)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Modern Decor (20)
Fun (18)
Quiet Conversation (16)
People Watching (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Casual (10)
Authentic (9)
Tapas (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Healthy (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Seasonal (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Historic (3)
Great Beer (3)
Private Room (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Fireplace (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Family Style (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Waterfront (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3221 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was the best dining experience I've ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 3 days ago

This was the best dining experience I've had in years. I love the concept. So often I'm disappointed with my dinner choice. Here you make up your meal and wine selection. I love the "mix and match" menu. The crab cake was the best I've ever eaten--no fillers. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who enjoys creativity in fine dining. I wish Flight would come to Atlanta. We have nothing like it. It also wasn't noisy. We could enjoy our friends' conversation. Service was lovely. Well trained staff with a team approach. If it weren't 6 hrs. Away, I'd come back tomorrow night.

Tags: Modern Decor, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Unfortunately our Open Table reservation ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 3 days ago

Unfortunately our Open Table reservation did not go through! Since it was a special occasion, we called that afternoon to be sure and they did not have the reservation. Thankfully it was a Sunday evening and they were able to still reserve us a table at our preferred time, but I do not trust Open Table!

We had a great time at Flight. The bill was higher than we expected and in hindsight we realized that if you mix small plates instead of going with a pre-decided "flight", you pay significantly more, as you are charged a different "small plate" amount. This applies to wine flights as well. Stick to the prescribed flights for the best value, price for small plates was not worth the meal quality in my opinion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Each time once a year I come to Memphis, ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 3 days ago

Each time once a year I come to Memphis, I eat at Flight. Each time it is miraculous and seems (if that is possible) to get better each visit. This last time was about the 14th or 15th time I have eaten there over the last 8 years. However, this one was different in that it was the first time my wife had been with me on this business trip. She was enthralled. We had a wonderful private and intimate table for two on the second floor over in the far corner by the window overlooking the building whose lights continually change color (Table 83/1?). Our waiter's name was Joseph and he was superlative - taking particular care to introduce the restaurant to my wife and to ensure she was well served. We split the Brie for starters along with 3 oysters for me which were delectable. Following that, she had the Lobster Gnocchi and I had The Sea Bass, Quail and Lamb Flight accompanied by a Chardonnay, Pinot Noir and a Malbec Flight. My wife doesn't drink but they made her a Cranberry Juice cocktail with lime. As usual, I overflow at the mouth when talking about your restaurant but it is always just "incroyable."

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place...great food and being a ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined 3 days ago

Love this place...great food and being able to have multiple tasting of the dishes is a treat. Service was excellent.

Tags: Tapas, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was great as usually. W ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food and service was great as usually. When 4 women that were lightly dressed asked the server to turn of the air those of us wearing suit where burning hot.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

We had a wonderful experience at flight. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a wonderful experience at flight. The food was delicious, and the wine pairings were right on!

Rebekah was a wonderful server who helped navigate this somewhat complicated concept restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of the best dining experiences. The ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

One of the best dining experiences. The food and service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We decided to give this place a try afte ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 6 days ago

We decided to give this place a try after reading great reviews. It lived up to everything that had been written and then some. The staff was top notch, attentive and very knowledgeable about not only the selections they offered but also the area, giving us ideas for activities that interested us. The food was very delicious and the dishes well balanced for color and flavors.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Friendly staff and delicious food. Spac ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Friendly staff and delicious food. Space is a little cramped and busy. Overall great experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I brought my girlfriend here to Flight f ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

I brought my girlfriend here to Flight for her birthday dinner and I am more than satisfied that I chose this restaurant. Our waiter Brian was everything. He really did a outstanding job making sure we got the meal we desired . The interior as well as the exterior deserves 5 stars . Thank you so much for giving us the perfect selection and experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I travel every week and Flight is WITHOU ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

I travel every week and Flight is WITHOUT QUESTION one of the best restaurants in the country!!!! Could eat here every night and never be tired of the menu!!!

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unusual and fun approach to upscale dini ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Unusual and fun approach to upscale dining: all the food and alcohol (except beer, oddly) is available in flights. A flight of wine, a flight of salads, a flight of seafood, etc. A flight consists of 3 small (but not tiny) servings, either in pre-selected groupings or your own selections. This gives you lots of choices and the ability to sample many items. Or you can order in the traditional way and get one small or full size serving. The food quality and quantity are good as they should be at this fairly high price point, and our waitress was great. The wines were ok, but not outstanding. The food was mixed: very good salads, excellent fish and meat, but the sauces were awful. Very heavy in texture and flavor. Much better to ask for all sauces/dressings on the side and then decide if you want to have them and how much. Still, we had a good time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Ryan our server is a trainer and was ama ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Ryan our server is a trainer and was amazing! The service from the valet to the hostess servers and managers was perfect!!! It was my moms 65th birthday and she was blown away.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant, Love salad Flight and ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great Restaurant, Love salad Flight and new brunch on Sundays

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful place to celebrate a special ...

 
 (Manchester)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

A wonderful place to celebrate a special occasion. The service and knowledge of the staff was first class.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved the variety of choices on the f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

We loved the variety of choices on the flight menu! Everything was really good!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We try to go to Flight every time we are ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

We try to go to Flight every time we are in Memphis. Love, Love this restaurant! The food and service never disappoints. What a great concept; a must try restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wine-excellent food and service

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great wine-excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

LOVE that you can get small plates and t ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

LOVE that you can get small plates and try different things! The food is delicious and the service is superb! Very friendly and helpful! Will enjoy going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service; great food. Everyone at ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great service; great food. Everyone at our table loved every dish. We will return.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great spot - excellent small plates and ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great spot - excellent small plates and wine tasting. Highly recommend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Molecular Gastronomy, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our first visit was very enjoyable. We ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our first visit was very enjoyable. We were celebrating one of our friend's retirement and they all were very pleased for choosing your place for the occasion.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Ate there on our way to see an Ole Miss ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Ate there on our way to see an Ole Miss game. Great ambience and service. Deviled egg with oysters appetizer was great. Did two of the three chef's flight-braised pork with brussel sprouts and halibut (although crawfish was on the menu). Braised pork was great. Halibut was not. My wife and I both had the elk, which was very nice. My wife also had the sea bass, and we both thought it was average. If you get the right plates, we are certain that the food is great. Just walked away a little disappointed based upon everything we had read. We will go back? Yes.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

This was my husband and I 4 yr annivers ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This was my husband and I 4 yr anniversary!! This was recommended by a co-worker and WOW what an awesome pick for US. We recommend to friends and would go back again...for a special occasion. Great romantic place!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great experience to eat at Flig ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

It was a great experience to eat at Flight. My friends and I had never been there but we will certainly go back and recommend it to others. The food was excellent and service was very good too. Valet parking a plus for me.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Flight but a ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

This was our first visit to Flight but after our awesome meal it will not be our last! We requested a more private seating and the host took us upstairs to a table for two in the most perfect place. We had an awesome view of Monroe street as we watched the passersby. It was out of the way and lended itself to a more romantic experience. Much thanks to the staff for granting our wish:) Our waitress was amazing in every way. She made us feel like it was her privilege to serve us! We ordered the appetizer flight of lobster, crab cake, and shrimp. It was all top shelf and did not disappoint. We also ordered an entree flight of pork tenderloin, filet, and sea bass. The were all DELICIOUS and worth repeating!! To top off our meal we couldn't resist the dessert flight ( since we shared the other courses) we ordered the southern belle pie, chocolate torte, and the walnut apple crisp!!! All I can say is YUM to the enth degree. If you are thinking of trying this place out go ahead and make plans. You will be glad you did! I truly can't wait to go back and take my boys too:)

Tags: Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were excellent Great va ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Food and service were excellent

Great variety on the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is a fantastic idea, especially for ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

This is a fantastic idea, especially for those who want to try different foods and dishes without dipping their fork into their companion's plate! It is a unique concept - one which I wish were closer to home! The culinary creations are fantastic, and the portions for the three tastings are larger than expected. I ate there two nights in a row...that's how great the experience was!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and drink. I highly recommen ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great food and drink. I highly recommend!'

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was great. The Flight concept ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The food was great. The Flight concept of 3 items per menu order is interesting and makes for variety.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is excellent overall. The side ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The food is excellent overall. The sides are always warm at best.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The place was one of the only ones that ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

The place was one of the only ones that had special food and selection .The food was very good.

It was also close to where we were staying.

It's a bit noisy upstairs and downstairs as well.

The waitress did not inform us of the chefs specials or desserts.

I happen to overhear another server.

All in all I would go back if I ever go to Memphis.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food, drinks and staff were amazing. ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The food, drinks and staff were amazing. It was my friend's birthday and she had an wonderful time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time there. Awesome experience!

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Second time there. Awesome experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've dined at Flight twice and both time ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

I've dined at Flight twice and both times it was absolutely wonderful. The best food, service , and ambience anywhere. Definitely a five star restaurant!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My experience was absolutely wonderful! ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

My experience was absolutely wonderful! James did a fantastic job of serving and explaining a few of the selections I had questions about. The food was delicious and the presentation outstanding. A great dining experience and whenever I get back to Memphis, I will be certain to return. Also, I celebrated a b'day and the complimentary dessert, complete with candle, was much appreciated.

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this restaurant. not for the faint ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Love this restaurant. not for the faint of wallet but well worth it, always delicious, and service is always outstanding

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter, Jonathan, was one of the bes ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our waiter, Jonathan, was one of the best waiters I've ever had! He was knowledgeable about the menu and very friendly and engaging! I think our meal, while amazing, was made better by Jonathan! To start, you have to try the deviled eggs! Two words - bacon marmalade! The flights of wine and then food were equally delicious and fun! If I lived in Memphis, I would go back again and again!! Definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lobster ravioli was amazing. They we ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The lobster ravioli was amazing. They were out of a couple things we wanted so I would suggest to the restaurant that they be better about ordering and keeping in what they put on their menu, but other than that I would suggest this place to anyone staying in the downtown Memphis area or those who want a nice place to go for dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent service; from valet to the hos ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Excellent service; from valet to the hostess opening the front door, attentive wait staff, engaged management and awesome brunch flights!!!! We will be back; they made an ordinary day, with ordinary people feel extraordinary....felt like a valued customer❤️💯

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.