About Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar - Memphis

39 South Main Street
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

Flight Restaurant and Wine Bar is a full service restaurant with multiple dining selections for a guest to enjoy in a single dining experience. The service style of the restaurant is the finest service featuring a knowledgeable wait staff from which guests can gain valuable insight to enhance their dining experience.
Flight offers several distinct dining options: On the main floor, there is the hustle and bustle of
friends and business people gathering together. The bar is a welcoming place for those dining alone
to meet friends yet unmet, or for those who want a quick bite. On the balcony level, the booths and small tables, some overlooking Main Street, offer more privacy and an opportunity for romance.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
• Monday – Friday Lunch - Available for Private and Corporate Functions.

• Monday – Thursday Dinner Service - 4:45 pm - 10:30 pm

• Friday – Saturday 4:45 pm - 11:30 pm

• Sunday Brunch 10:45 am – 3:00 pm
• Sunday 3:00 pm – 4:00 pm Bar Open
• Sunday 4:00 pm – 4:45 pm Appetizer Menu Available
• Sunday Dinner Service 4:45 pm – 10:00 pm

• The bar stays open an hour later Monday – Saturday.

• Dinner menu hours extended evenings special events held at the Orpheum and FedEx Forum.

Cross Street:
Monroe

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 521-8005

Website:
http://www.flightmemphis.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet offered seven nights a week.

Public Transit:
Flight is located on Main Street along the trolley line.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine, Wine Bar

Private Dining

Flight Restaurant, located in the heart of downtown Memphis, is the perfect setting for your banquet dinner, birthday celebration, anniversary party, corporate function, or rehearsal dinner party.

Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
17 More
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Fit for Foodies
Memphis
Notable Wine List
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Most Booked
Memphis
Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Fit for Foodies
Memphis
Notable Wine List
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Most Booked
Memphis
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (338)
fit for foodies (288)
romantic (263)
See All
notable wine list (255)
hot spot (148)
neighborhood gem (121)
good for groups (115)
great for outdoor dining (78)
scenic view (71)
great for brunch (67)
vibrant bar scene (63)
late-night find (60)
great for lunch (42)
kid-friendly (8)
 (8)
 (8)
 (7)
 (5)
 (5)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2959 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUTSTANDING

Dined 4 days ago

Our waitress Katie was nothing short of amazing, she exceeded what a good waitress is! The food was nothing like I've ever tasted, great service and aura. Will most certainly be back very very soon!!!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

It s not often that I am impressed by a ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

It s not often that I am impressed by a restaurant with high reviews but flight is definitely one of them. First the concept is better than a 5,6 or 7 course menu. For the quality the price is decent. We ordered lamb chops which were incredible. The seabass, elk and bison did not disappoint nor did there impressive dessert which was much bigger than expected. Great experience overall.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great evening

Dined 5 days ago

Birthday treat. Service was incredible. Food was remarkable. The idea behind the restaurant for food / wine flights was unique and wonderful. Great execution.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 3rd visit in less than one ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

This was our 3rd visit in less than one week during our vacation in Memphis. We were taken by the flight menu in all ways..both in food and drink. Appetizers are delicious, wine flights are fun to try and reasonably priced. Taylor was our server for a quick lunch before we took off for home. A great concept that really works because the food is top notch, as well as the service. A special thanks to both Amanda( who took care of us on our first 2 meals and knows everything there is to know about wine!!) and Taylor, both who put this experience over the top.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Top quality cooking

Dined 7 days ago

In Nashville for a couple of nights as part of a week long road trip. Mainly eat out in London. Flight would not be out of place as a top end restaurant there (or New York). I had the flight of sea food appetisers which was outstanding - particularly the crab cake - followed by a meat based entree flight. My partner had salads followed by meats and she enjoyed all of it as well. The wine list is reasonable. Prices are on the high side for Southern cooking but you are paying for something a little bit fancier so you would expect that. Highly recommended - take a big appetite

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Memphis must

Dined 7 days ago

Wow ! We were recommended this restaurant by friends who were recommended to eat here by their friends. All of us are from the UK - how the word spreads. When I booked I explained the occasion and we were definitely spoilt with champagne delivered by the manager. We were asked if we wanted the small appetisers and I'm so glad we did. They were amazing but if I had had a bowl and not a cup of corn chowder(amazing), I would not have enjoyed my steak flight. Our server, Amanda was amazing and should be promoted. Super efficient, polite and friendly. We will come back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Food,service and drinks were all excelle ...

Dined 7 days ago

Food,service and drinks were all excellent. Great place to wind up your Memphis experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second visit during our sta ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

This was our second visit during our stay in Memphis. We enjoyed a lighter meal as it was late and we happy to see our favorite server Angela who recommended a custom wine flight. The 2 appetizers we shared were enough to satisfy our hunger and the wine was delicious. Going to Flight for the 2nd time was just as special as the first. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first night of 3 that we di ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

This was our first night of 3 that we dined at Flight while visiting in Memphis. There is an option to sit upstairs in a more intimate space or on the main floor where there is a bar, and more energetic and noisy. We chose to sit upstairs in a cozy and intimate booth. Amanda, our server introduced herself and the restaurant flight concept. We received a food menu and a separate wine menu. We choose an appetizer that we shared, the flight of fish for a main course and a flight for dessert. Food was original, delicious and fun to share. Amanda gave us a wonderful education in the wine flights and couldn't do enough for us. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience, because of the food, the flights and the incredible Amanda!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

romantic splurge

Dined on May 22, 2016

My husband and I have made this our go to place for celebrating our wedding anniversary. We love the flights of food, apps, desserts and especially the wine! It makes for such a special evening and is one that I look forward to every year. They give us the VIP treatment every time and they gave us a champagne toast and complimentary dessert to add to our celebration! What a special treat!! The staff is so friendly and welcoming. Every server and bus boy even wishes us a happy anniversary. It is just an amazing experience and I can't say enough about how much we love it there! It is by far the best dining experience that we have ever had and no place comes close to touching the Flight experience. I tell everyone I know to pick a special occasion and book a table at Flight. I already can't wait to go back and experience it all over again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

5 star

Dined on May 22, 2016

Love it! Best restaurant in Memphis! I've been 4x and never been disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were delighted to have such fine serv ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We were delighted to have such fine service and excellent food. The noise level was intense to say the least, however the food came out perfectly. Could not ask for a nicer evening

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very impressed with this restauran ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I was very impressed with this restaurant! Not only was the food and wine amazing but the service was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A totally different take on a meal as yo ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

A totally different take on a meal as you can taste 3 items in a category which equals a whole serving. Great for those who find so many things on a menu that they wish they could try. The food was wonderful, the presentation beautiful and the service was outstanding, which adds up to a great dining experience. Just wish that this restraurant would come to our home town!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ENTREE FLIGHTS - THE TIME HAS COME!

Dined on May 21, 2016

Why everyone doesn't do this I don't know. Flight does it and does it to perfection! We all know how pleasant it is to purchase a wine flight and have the opportunity to taste 3 different wines with different foods. Flight takes this to the MAX by offering you your entrees served the same way. No trying to decide between 3 wonderful dishes. GET THEM ALL!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We started off with the Lobster Claw app ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We started off with the Lobster Claw appetizer and it just got better! I chose the Salad Flight which was very fresh and tasty. I individually picked out my Entrée Flight and every dish was very good. I paired a wine flight that matched each entrée and the wines were delicious. We will be coming back!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent dining experience

Dined on May 20, 2016

We reserved a time on a busy Friday night, arrived early and were seated in a choice location to people watch. The valet parking was professional and our server arrived promply with a great attitude. We ordered and within minutes had our first flight. You can't beat just narrowing your food choices without regretably missing an option. It was our anniversary and the manager dropped by our table bringing complimentary champagne which made it more fun! By the time we got to our dessert flight we were full. Flight is a true southern dining experience so when a diner in the table next to you asks about your food choices just remember your southern neighborly manners and enjoy the friendliness. On the way out the manager even thanked us by name! Flight is our number one restaurant in Memphis for a fun, exquisite dining adventure.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waitress was outstanding. We dined on t ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Waitress was outstanding. We dined on the patio and it was pleasant. Group had Redfish or Red Snapper and both were grilled perfectly. Best Redfish outside of New Orleans. Flight deserts were outstanding. Nice choices on the wine list. Staff from valet to manager were friendly and welcoming.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very Impressed!

Dined on May 19, 2016

Absolutely incredible food and service. Anniversary dinner could not have been better.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I came to Memphis for Bar-B- ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

My wife and I came to Memphis for Bar-B-Q but also wanted at least one "other" dining experience. Based on reviews, we chose Flight. We had no idea how special this place is. We chose their "flight" meal and enjoyed six different entrées. All were delicious and the waitress paired terrific wines with my three meals. My wife is gluten free and a second waitress assisted her with gluten free options. I have already recommended Flight to several other hotel guests here in Memphis. We consider this restaurant to be among our top three of all time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

The small plates / wine flights concept ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The small plates / wine flights concept works well. Everything we tried pairing was good to great. The rabbit and filet were exceptional. Wine selection nicely varied. The service was very, very good. Attentive and helpful. Would recommend highly !!!

food3
ambience1
service4
value1

I was on a business trip with my boss an ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I was on a business trip with my boss and his niece who's birthday was that day. The bartender couldn't make a classic Old Fashion, the food was lukewarm and the atmosphere was extremely too loud.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

It was good

Dined on May 15, 2016

It was good

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The portions were much larger than we ex ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The portions were much larger than we expected. We ordered a couple apps, plus got 3 small dishes each, and we all brought home leftovers. Wonderful food, but we could have ordered less.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food and service were truly outstanding. We got a great table on the mezzanine level with a good view of the streets. Chris, our server, was very knowledgeable and courteous. We enjoyed the 'flight' concept and got to try out many samples of appetizers, entrees and desserts. Will definitely go back again for a special occassion.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful tasting menu, small plate opti ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Wonderful tasting menu, small plate options, or get the full meal. Soup flight was outstanding and the fish flight was cooked perfectly, all 3 pieces. Would definately visit again!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and amazing wine. Our servi ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Amazing food and amazing wine. Our service was wonderful. We couldn't have been happier or more impressed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my fourth visit to Flight and I ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

This was my fourth visit to Flight and I have yet to be disappointed. The flight/small-dish concept is unique and works very well. Service, menu,. and food were all excellent. A reservation is a must and dress is casual. Highly recommended when in downtown Memphis.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The concept is unique - flights! Everyt ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

The concept is unique - flights! Everything I had was better than the last. You can order a la carte, but I suggest going with the flights. I especially loved the salad flight - great to share and as a starter - wish other restaurants would adopt this. Great chance to share, and enjoy many things. The service was outstanding, the food and wine excellent. My only complaint is I found the place to be noisy. Loved this place though and would definitely visit again!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Excellent as Always

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

The food was phenomenal but the waiter needed some more training.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5

Definitely need reservations as it's lik ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Definitely need reservations as it's likely to be packed most nights. Service was excellent. Food flights are very generous, including dessert. We couldn't finish our dessert and we split a flight. We highly recommend the elk chops. They have a good wine list and offer a nice selection for their wine flights. Noise level is a bit high due to number of people and high ceilings. They have a balcony area and an outside seating area. We asked for a quiet booth and they were able to accommodate that request and a food allergy. They even gave us a complementary creme brulé for our anniversary!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My fiancée and I love Flight and always ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

My fiancée and I love Flight and always have a great experience! The wait staff is attentive but not overbearing and every bit as professional as expected from a restaurant with Flight's reputation. The food is some of the best in Memphis and dessert is not to be skipped! We can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4

Very good dinner. The oyster and deviled ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Very good dinner. The oyster and deviled egg appetizer was excellent and my wife loved the snapper. My lamb was way undercooked or rating would have been a 5. When our waiter became aware of it he immediately committed to take it off the bill.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing!

Dined on May 9, 2016

The best meal of our entire vacation. As soon as we walked in we were warmly greeted and brought promptly to our table. It was in a nice spot with a good view of the rest of the restaurant. Everything was seemless and we truly enjoyed our food. The service was outstanding. We would highly recommend Flight to anyone visiting Memphis!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Never disappointed!!

Dined on May 9, 2016

Probably the 4th or 5th time I have eaten here in the past year or two. Never disappointed. The food is always good and interesting. There is enough variety that you could eat here several times without eating the same thing twice (assuming you choose entrees and not a flight), and still be very happy. This time I had rabbit tenderloin and it was excellent. My wife had the seafood flight and loved it, and my friend was blown away by the chicken and waffles (I've had those before and they are great, and as an entree, substantial!). In the past I've done the steak flight which is also great, and any of those would be great entrees. The service was prompt and pleasant, the wine excellent, the food plentiful. This place is popular and it was really crowded. My only complaint was we got stuck at a table near a hallway and an exit door upstairs, one of my pet peeves, but we actually got seated a bit early so I didn't complain (and seriously, you should attend to these matters by making a phone reservation and requesting the seating you want), and in the end, this was not disruptive even if it was not one of the better seatings near the windows, where we've sat before, both downstairs and upstairs. Is Flight trendy? Yes, but is it tasty? Decidedly so, and that's what matters.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

My son and I dined here for Mother's Day. It was wonderful from the time we used valet to the time we walked out of the restaurant. The staff was so very friendly and gracious. The food delicious! We are originally from the Baltimore area where crabs dishes shine. One of the flights contained soft shell crab entree, I was reluctant to order but thought I would give it a try. It was by far the best soft shell crab I have ever had. The fried oyster and deviled eggs were amazing. Over the course of the evening we tried the chicken/waffles, duck, rabbit, lamb and short rib. Not to mention the desserts. I couldn't find fault in any of the dishes! Cant wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious. And the service ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was delicious. And the service was fantastic.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Brunch was fantastic! Starting with the world-class Bloody Mary's and ending with a fantastic Creme Brulee everything we ate was delicious. Great service by Tori topped off a great experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first time to Flight for brunch and ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our first time to Flight for brunch and it was fantastic! A perfect Mother's Day with the family.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to flight by recommendation of a ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We came to flight by recommendation of a co-worker back home (New Orleans). This was quite possibly the best food I'd ever eaten! What a knowledgeable waitress, incredible food and I was surprised at the value as well. Very much an all around win that helped make our trip to Memphis awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.