About Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar - Memphis

39 South Main Street
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

Flight Restaurant and Wine Bar is a full service restaurant with multiple dining selections for a guest to enjoy in a single dining experience. The service style of the restaurant is the finest service featuring a knowledgeable wait staff from which guests can gain valuable insight to enhance their dining experience.
Flight offers several distinct dining options: On the main floor, there is the hustle and bustle of
friends and business people gathering together. The bar is a welcoming place for those dining alone
to meet friends yet unmet, or for those who want a quick bite. On the balcony level, the booths and small tables, some overlooking Main Street, offer more privacy and an opportunity for romance.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
• Monday – Friday Lunch - Available for Private and Corporate Functions.

• Monday – Thursday Dinner Service - 4:45 pm - 10:30 pm

• Friday – Saturday 4:45 pm - 11:30 pm

• Sunday Brunch 10:45 am – 3:00 pm
• Sunday 3:00 pm – 4:00 pm Bar Open
• Sunday 4:00 pm – 4:45 pm Appetizer Menu Available
• Sunday Dinner Service 4:45 pm – 10:00 pm

• The bar stays open an hour later Monday – Saturday.

• Dinner menu hours extended evenings special events held at the Orpheum and FedEx Forum.

Cross Street:
Monroe

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 521-8005

Website:
http://www.flightmemphis.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet offered seven nights a week.

Public Transit:
Flight is located on Main Street along the trolley line.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wine, Wine Bar

Private Dining

Flight Restaurant, located in the heart of downtown Memphis, is the perfect setting for your rehearsal dinner, banquet dinner, birthday celebration, anniversary, or corporate function. The fine dining restaurant is also available for private luncheons.

Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
15 More
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Fit for Foodies
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Most Booked
Memphis
Best Overall
Memphis
Best Food
Memphis
Best Service
Memphis
Best Ambiance
Memphis
Best Value
Memphis
Fit for Foodies
Memphis
Romantic
Memphis
Special Occasion
Memphis
Most Booked
Memphis
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (343)
fit for foodies (285)
romantic (252)
See All
notable wine list (242)
hot spot (133)
neighborhood gem (123)
good for groups (107)
great for outdoor dining (94)
great for brunch (58)
vibrant bar scene (54)
late-night find (48)
scenic view (48)
great for lunch (32)
kid-friendly (6)
business meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3080 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Incredible appetizers, salad, flight ent ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 3 days ago

Incredible appetizers, salad, flight entree, wine flight, Godiva

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great. We liked the fligh ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 5 days ago

Everything was great. We liked the flight menu. Our waitress was very helpful and sweet. The setting was unique and the food and drink was fantastic. We had a blast.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about this restaurant was out ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

Everything about this restaurant was outstanding. I loved the flights concept with your choice of 3 small plates paired with 3 glasses of wine. The food was divine...A Must Go when in Memphis!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous attention to details, great tas ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous attention to details, great taste, EXTREMELY ENJOYABLE EXPERIENCE

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service. It was a ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and great service. It was a little busy/noisy, but I enjoyed it very much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Amazing meal! Very tasty and the servic ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 7 days ago

Amazing meal! Very tasty and the service was exceptional! DID NOT DISAPPOINT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food were excellent as well as service, ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food were excellent as well as service, good location and possible to have dinnet outside. Noise levell in second gloor snit too high

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The best thing about this restaurant was ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 7 days ago

The best thing about this restaurant was the service. Danielle was energetic, informative, and a great server. The food did not live up to our expectations. We had read great reviews and that it would be great. The food wasn't bad, it was just okay. I would recommend for someone who hadn't been but I wouldn't go back.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

This was one of the best meals I've had ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

This was one of the best meals I've had in a long time and being from Chicago, I have access to really great restaurants. The server, Ellen, did a fabulous job of helping us to maneuver the broad menu options and helping us select what we might enjoy most. We tried three of the flights ( Ocean appetizers, seafood and butchers) and to call out our favorites, it would be the crab cake, the sea bass, the pork tenderloin and the lamb...all to die for! We also tried the wine flights and the Pinot line up was amazing! I just wish they had an outlet in Chicago as I would be there all the time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were sightseeing in Memphis and saw F ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

We were sightseeing in Memphis and saw Flight on the "Best Restaurants" list. We dine out 3-4 nights per week (Philadelphia residents) and this may be one of the best restaurants we have ever been to. The concept (flights of each course) is innovative; the portions were more than ample; the wine pairings were perfect; the food was five star; the service matched, or exceeded, the rest of the list.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Liked the restaurant and the flight of w ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Liked the restaurant and the flight of wine and food options. Food was very good but portions too big. Customer service was excellent.

Tags: group bookings, lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb service and food with a great con ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Superb service and food with a great concept in dining. "Flights"of wine and food selections offer a great way to sample excellent cuisine and small plate portions. Would recommend and go there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Chris was awesome!! He was he ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Our server Chris was awesome!! He was helpful but wasn't pushy. Having dinner at Flight made my Birthday special! I'll definitely will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Memphis! Staff is we ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Best restaurant in Memphis! Staff is well trained, friendly and attentive. Salad flight is delicious! Eat here every time I'm in Memphis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unbelievable food and service

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Unbelievable food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were in Memphis for 2 nights on a roa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We were in Memphis for 2 nights on a road trip thorough the area, my sister recommended we go here. James was our waiter, but by the end of the evening we felt like we had made a friend. He explained exactly how the dinner worked and made sure we enjoyed all of the flights. The food was amazing and we loved the fact that you could order everything in a flight so we could experience many different things, so if you were torn between 2 things you can have both, what a wonderful idea to be able to experience many things. Great evening we would return.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No room for waiting. We were in everyon ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

No room for waiting. We were in everyone's path. Had made reservations but still had to wait about 20 mins. They delivered complimentary appetizers to our table. I thought that was very nice. We had a very delightful dinner despite the wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

From the moment we pulled up to park the ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

From the moment we pulled up to park the experience was nothing less than Fabulous! Together we shared six different dishes and they all were top notch, my compliments to the chef.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and great food.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Great service and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An outstanding dining experience in ever ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

An outstanding dining experience in every respect. I really like the mix-and-match "flight" concept as it was applied to our brunch. Each of the flights was very tasty. And that Bloody Mary! An appetizer in itself!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We celebrated our 35th anniversary at Fl ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We celebrated our 35th anniversary at Flight tonight. Dallas was our server, and she was absolutely wonderful! She was very personable and attentive. The restaurant manager, Matt, stopped by our table with complimentary champagne, and wished us a happy anniversary. The food was awesome! We will definitely visit again. Dallas, Matt, and Chef, thank you for making our anniversary so special!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time. Other than being a ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We had a great time. Other than being a little pricy, it was a great experience.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was outstanding. The Lobster Gnocch ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was outstanding. The Lobster Gnocchi was one of the best dishes I've had. Our only complaint was the pace. We had finished our appetizer course and entree in an hour. Way to much food to quickly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Wonderfully unique dining experience. W ...

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wonderfully unique dining experience. Wish the restaurant was in my home town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Liked the "flights" concept that provide ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Liked the "flights" concept that provided the opportunity to sample different foods and wines. I tried the northern exposure white wine flight -- three 2 oz. glasses of Washington State wines fitted on a wooden serving board. Two of us shared the "Ocean Flight 24" appetizer including New Orleans BBQ shrimp (tasty), butter poached lobster (overcooked), and crab cake (delicious). Then each had two "small plates" (half the size of large plate entrée size). Louisiana redfish was quite good, sea bass was dry, boursin-stuffed beef filet and beef shank both excellent. Waitress was wonderful. Décor was clean, sleek, and modern.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic dining experience -- food, ser ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Fantastic dining experience -- food, service, ambience, were all first-rate!! Every choice entire table made from main course thru dessert was perfectly prepared and paired with sides -- dessert flights were large portions enough to share!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The concept of flights of food using sma ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The concept of flights of food using small plates of 3 items at a time is terrific for those of us who like to sample interesting menu items. So 2 people can savor 6 items, which is pretty neat! Service was great - Malachi definitely deserves a shout out for his attentiveness and knowledge. Overall, a terrific experience.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Go. Just go. Ever order a flight of bee ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Go. Just go. Ever order a flight of beer or whiskey? Flight does this with everything. You don't have to order a flight, of course. You can order standard size portions of anything. But the suggested pairings are intriguing and delicious together. (A fight here is three, so "pairings" doesn't give the right picture, but how else can I say it?) My husband and I shared a flight of appetizers, we each ordered a small portion of an entree, and we shared a flight of desserts. It was perfect. The wait staff was remarkable for their knowledge and friendliness. Book ahead if you can. We booked mid afternoon on a weekday and got one of two remaining evening slots.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great food, great service, great wine. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

great food, great service, great wine. A must if you are in Memphis.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Try to have a table down stairs instead ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Try to have a table down stairs instead of up stairs, less noise

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This place is a foodies' dream! The stuf ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This place is a foodies' dream! The stuffed eggs w/oysters were my favorite. My only complaint is that the "tastings" are a but large, especially the desserts...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner at Flight. We ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Flight. We made reservations for 5 and were seated immediately well before our reserved time. Our server Dallas did an amazing job in meeting all our needs. While my food was a mere few minutes compared to the rest of the table, the manager kindly waived my meal at no cost. Wow! Amazing service, food, and experience at Flight. Proud to have Flight in Memphis!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful concept - you get three dishes ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Wonderful concept - you get three dishes for each course. You can go with their selections or substitute your own. Our food was well prepared and the dishes were tasty. We were visiting Nashville and went to Flight on a recommendation. The portions are generous but the prices are proportionate. So, for example, the three dishes which make up a flight for an entree are more food than a normal single entree but they cost approximately 50% more that entrees usually do at this level of restaurant. Would definitely go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is a true gem in downtown Memphis! ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This is a true gem in downtown Memphis! Food was amazing and left the taste buds wanting more! Each dish was well thought out with new flavors in every bite. The service was out of this world! This is the awesome new standard in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome brunch once again! And special t ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Awesome brunch once again! And special thanks to the restaurant for accommodating our well-behaved 4 year old.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food format. The pancakes in the F ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food format. The pancakes in the Flight Breakfast were surprisingly mediocre. The breakfast scramble was tasty, but the cold, chopped raw bell peppers did not do well in there.

Other items were tasty.

Service was attentive and professional, yet interestingly impersonal.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

This was our first trip to Memphis and F ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was our first trip to Memphis and Flights was the restaurant we decided on from all those we researched. We have traveled quite a bit around the US, Europe and the Middle East. Hands down, one of 'the best' restaurants we have enjoyed. So good that we went back two more times during our weekend in Memphis, one more dinner and for Sunday brunch. Other then quick lunches and morning snack, Flights had what my wife and I wanted for a special weekend. What we wanted was creative cuisine with top notch ingredients from talented chefs expertly served in a friendly atmosphere with vitality. We found all that. Though you can have normal 'full' servings, we really liked the concept of small plates that you could have by themselves, or just two or in a flight of three. We did this with the salads, main dishes and desserts. Each time we asked the staff to custom match wine to the dishes we selected. They have set flight of wine and food that we could have selected from, but we decided to mix and match. On our second night I had four wonderful fresh raw oysters and my wife one small salad plate for starters. The first night we focused on just seafood and white wine. This second night was red wine and meats. The elk chop with Kahlua based glaze was exceptional. For brunch I started with their over-the-top special house Bloody Mary and the Delta Moon Farm Eggs topped with Cornmeal Dusted Oysters & Bacon Marmalade. Amazing! Then we did a flight that included their take on chicken and waffles, and one with duck confit on sweet potato hash topped with a fried egg. Our server Ellen was not only nicely attentive, but competent on the Flights' menu and wine pairing. Ellen brought it all together. What a high note for a wonderful visit to Memphis!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had to wait for our table due to the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We had to wait for our table due to the patio closing from the rain. However, Matt at the front took care of us and we didn't even notice the wait. Really unique dining experience with the flights of food and wine. 3 dishes in 1. It was really special. Definitely recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My meal was excellent! Everything was t ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My meal was excellent! Everything was to my satisfaction especially the elk.

My appetizer was deviled egg with fried oyster on top- the sauce or chutney like preserves on top were succulent. Enjoyed myself and our waitresss was adorable as was everybody upstairs.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

made reservations and received courtesy ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

made reservations and received courtesy confirmation. Absolutely the best food, wine and service!! Our #1 go to spot for a great night of food and ambience

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.