About Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar - Memphis

39 South Main Street
Memphis, TN 38103
View Larger Map

Flight Restaurant and Wine Bar is a full service restaurant with multiple dining selections for a guest to enjoy in a single dining experience. Flight offers the finest service featuring a knowledgeable wait staff from which guests can gain valuable insight to enhance their dining experience.

Flight offers several distinct dining options: On the main floor, there is the hustle and bustle of friends and business people gathering together. The bar is a welcoming place for those dining alone to meet friends yet unmet, or for those who want a quick bite. On the balcony level, the booths and small tables, some overlooking Main Street, offer more privacy for business or a romantic date night.

The Wine Cellar at Flight is perfect for rehearsal dinners and private events for up to 100 guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, International

Hours of Operation:
• Flight is open 365 days a year so, you can spend special holiday dinners with family and friends and enjoy.

• Monday – Friday Lunch - Available for Private and Corporate Functions.

• Monday – Thursday Dinner Service - 4:45 pm - 10:30 pm

• Friday – Saturday 4:45 pm - 11:30 pm

• Sunday Brunch 9:30 am – 2:30 pm
• Sunday 3:00 pm – 4:00 pm Bar Open
• Sunday 4:00 pm – 4:45 pm Appetizer Menu Available
• Sunday Dinner Service 4:45 pm – 10:00 pm

• The bar stays open an hour later Monday – Saturday.

• Dinner menu hours extended evenings special events held at the Orpheum and FedEx Forum.

Cross Street:
Monroe

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(901) 521-8005

Website:
http://www.flightmemphis.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet offered seven nights a week.

Public Transit:
Flight is located on Main Street along the trolley line.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Flight offers private dining in the Wine Cellar, that can accommodate up to 100 guests for a sit down dinner.

Private Dining

Flight Restaurant, located in the heart of downtown Memphis, is the perfect setting for your rehearsal dinner, banquet dinner, birthday celebration, anniversary, or corporate function. The fine dining restaurant is also available for private luncheons.

Flight Restaurant & Wine Bar - Memphis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (149)
Good for Anniversaries (146)
Special Occasion (135)
See All
Romantic (125)
Creative Cuisine (114)
Fit for Foodies (96)
Notable Wine List (95)
Good for Birthdays (86)
Worth the Drive (80)
Tasting Menu (75)
Pre/post Theatre (64)
Fun (57)
Cozy (56)
Business Meals (55)
Quiet Conversation (54)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Authentic (45)
Hot Spot (45)
People Watching (43)
Great for Brunch (35)
Modern Decor (33)
Sunday Lunch (32)
Bar Seating (31)
Good for Groups (28)
Scenic View (27)
Casual (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Tapas (20)
Happy Hour (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Outstanding Value (17)
Comfort Food (15)
Local Ingredients (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Healthy (11)
Seasonal (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Family Style (7)
Private Room (7)
Historic (5)
Great Beer (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Live Sports (2)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Waterfront (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
3681 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

What a unique concept! As someone who likes to try different dishes in one sitting, it was perfect for me. Our server Wesley was very knowledgeable not only about how to order, but described the dishes and wine pairings like a pro. We will definitely return on our next visit to Memphis.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Travel a lot for business. I never leave without dining at Flight when I'm Memphis. One of the best restaurants in the country!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 4 days ago

We took our son and daughter in law for his birthday and it was hands down the best meal we all have had for quite some time.

Amazing flavors, great wine choices, desserts to die for! Service was exceptional.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 5 days ago

We decided to celebrate our 1st anniversary at Flight and the Food and service was excellent! Only tip I have is to make sure you don't get the table by the kitchen doors and stairs (they did asked if we had a preference on where we sat and we said no... so I guess it was our mistake) It was so busy and loud with servers going back and forth through the doors and up the steps that it was hard for my husband and I to have a conversation. We will definitely go back but we will have a preference on where we sit next time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 6 days ago

it was fire 10/10 would highly recommend

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined 6 days ago

The steak flight was amazing I would for sure order that again. However, the fish flight was underwhelming not much flavor or color, that flight could use an overhaul and update.

Tags: Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I celebrated our 12-year anniversary at Flight. This was our first visit, but it will not be our last. We absolutely enjoyed every minute of it. From the delicious food to the friendly, professional servers, we cannot wait for the next opportunity to dine at Flight.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 7 days ago

The experience was amazing! Our server, Drew, was very courteous and knowledgeable in helping us navigate the menu. The New Orleans BBQ shrimp is a must. We will definitely dine there again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Late-night Find, Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic food and wine, and Haley is a great server! This was my second time there, and I would definitely recommend.

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 7 days ago

A repeat "Perfect" performance. Nothing to gripe about other than free refills on our favorite dishes..!!😉 And Courtney provided exemplary service to our table. Hands down the best dining experience in Memphis. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Fun, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent dining experience! Great food and atmosphere. Would definitely recommend Flight to my friends.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Amazing food and excellent services!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Except for Beef Wellington, -not their best dish, all else was fantastic. Duck and bison phenomenal. Service great as always.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Flight never disappoints! We celebrated my 26th birthday. The food was excellent, food phenomenal, and overall another amazing evening. We always come to flight for the ambiance and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great atmosphere and food. Would definitely return.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was absoluley wonderful. It was different from the norm, and good enough to come back. The service was wonderful as well as the steak I had. The short ribs were amazing to according to my wife.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food, but mark up was too high for Valentine's Day. We have been to Flight before, but we're blown away at the price difference for Valentine's day.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

One of the best meals I have had anywhere in North America. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Cozy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Amazing! The food was delicious-- particularly the harvest salad and the chicken and waffles.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Excellent food and excellent service. It's a great place for an occasional indulgence.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The service was great from the time we dropped our car off out front until the time we left. The waiter was knowledgeable and attentive. The food was excellent, and worth the price. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food is uninspired, lazy and overpriced. The recipes had no depth or subtlety. Have eaten at Flight 4 times now and won't ever be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This was our second time dining at Flight. We had a wonderful experience. The staff is friendly the food is amazing. We had entrees and opted for dessert instead of salad because we don't eat that much. Also we had one of their signature cocktails which was delicious as well. Definitely a destination spot in Memphis

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Food, service, atmosphere all fabulous. loved the lobster stuff ravioli, butternut squash and goat cheese appetizer, Louisiana redfish with cheese grits.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The concept of this restaurant is outstanding and worthy of the value paid. The free valet parking, the hostess staff, the servers and the food are top-notch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very nice, romantic dinner. The staff is trained well and do a great job!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

went for valentines dinner it was outstanding, service was impeccable , all the different foods were great and tasteful . will recommend it highly to all my friends.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was great and the service was even better. We made reservations and asked for a booth. We were seated promptly but there was a wait on the booth, so we had to settle for a table. Due to our inconvenience, they gave us a complimentary glass of champagne. But shortly after we were seated a booth did become available so they immediately accommodated our request. The customer service was excellent and they made sure we were happy. Will definitely be going back soon!

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Always outstanding! Enjoyed for years- too popular not to get a reservation now- the secret is definitely out!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always exceptional....My husband and I try to get a reservation every time we are downtown.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Tapas, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Sea bass is to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This is an amazing place to have dinner! We celebrated my husbands birthday with two other couples and could not have had a better time! The food was delicious and the service could not have been better! (Thank you Robert) .... highly recommend Flight to anyone looking for a delicious and fun dining experience!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very great experience. Best I've ever had! The food was amazing and the wine was great as well! Chicken and waffle was delicious!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Exceptional! My wife and I were in Memphis for a quick little Valentine's trip. Flight has always been recommended by friends, but we just had never gotten around to trying it. We are sorely disappointed we haven't been here sooner. If you are like us and just haven't gotten around to it I urge you to make it your next date night. Pretty much everything can be served as a "flight" (meaning small portion). That means wines, salads, soup, entrees, & desserts. The cuisine is exceptional and the wait staff is personable and willing to go over the menu and the concept, as well as make suggestions and small talk. Already anticipating our next visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fun, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Everything is always so terrific in every aspect, that there is really nothing more to say :)

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

What a wonderful place that came highly recommended by many friends. The flights of food were great and gives the opportunity to try many different things. We will definitely eat here again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 5, 2017

This is a unique restaurant, and we have dined in a lot of world cities. The concept of small dishes organized into "flights", 3 choices covering virtually the gastronomic spectrum is truly one-of-a-kind.

An extensive wine cellar, with small glasses of wine choices also available in flights completes the theme and allows pairings for the appetizer and entree dishes.

We shared the salad flight, 3 small plates of different greens and then while I had the suggested sea and air flight (duck confite, pork tenderloin and veal), my wife mixed-and-matched the dishes from several suggested flights.

Excellent service, good ambiance, we would go again, in fact we came back for Sunday brunch before leaving Memphis.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellent food and setup. The food was great. We will be back just so we can try the items that we did not get to try on this trip.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Wonderful experience at Flight! Fantastic service (we were treated to champagne when we arrived as our table wasn't quite ready, which wasn't necessary but a very nice touch) and the food was amazing, especially the dessert flights. Top notch all around and a very special treat!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

It was good as always. Pork tenderloin was cold though and Wine list not that great with wines I drink. Pretty pricey on wines I would drink. I love apothic red. Not on menu but our server drew was very good. Atmosphere and concept wonderful. We will visit again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I've been going to this restaurant every time I am in Memphis (annually or more), and I have yet to have a poor dish or service in the last 11 years. The staff are friendly, pleasant, skilled and obviously well trained. Enjoy yourself!

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Private Room, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great time again. Server was even considerate to bring bday creme Brule for my wife! Look forward to next time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Overall the experience was fantastic. However, I ordered the chef flight and ordered the beef Wellington medium rare. It came out a touch under well done and was completely unappetizing. I just boxed it up and fed it to our dog. We were on time constraints for the concert so we did not mention it. Otherwise everything was cooked to perfect temperature and amazing. Will be back. Just not ever ordering or recommending the Wellington.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 2, 2017

We were pressed for time so we did not order every course. Unfortunately, our order went to another table. The restaurant provided extra drinks and two flights of desserts complementary. There is valet parking on Monroe Avenue that is complementary. We are planning on going back when we have more time. The food was delicious especially the elk and the Lobster Benedict.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Definitely a spot to return to. The ambiance is great. The wait staff are all very friendly and very professional. The food was phenomenal! We will be returning again and again just to try each item on the menu. WORTH THE DRIVE FROM ANYWHERE!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Flight never fails to impress...we often take guests visiting Memphis, and they always want to return to the restaurant when in the city again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We had dinner at Flight to celebrate my husband's Wednesday birthday. I thought it might be a more intimate dinner but the restaurant was packed and very loud, and our table was tightly tucked away along a back wall without any ambiance at all. The food and wine choices are always excellent. My flight included sea bass and a short rib special that were outstanding. The boursin-stuffed filet was cooked to medium rare but it was not hot. Very room temperature actually. This has happened twice so I can only imagine that the smaller portion is not cooked very long so maybe it never gets hot? Whatever the reason, I will not order again in the flight portion. This was my least favorite visit to Flight but it will probably not be our last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 2, 2017

This was our first visit to Flight and the rumors are true, it's amazing! I love how they pull together upscale dining in a way that still allows you to try several different items with our breaking the bank. In a "flight" you get three different items. So for example, you get to try three different wines, or 3 different entrees.

To top it off, James, our waiter was superb!!! Best service in town. We'll be back!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

This place has an incredible approach to food. You can mix and match small entrees and try many different foods. Everything we ate was 5 star. In addition, they do the same for the wines. You can get a "Flight" of three wines to taste. We went for the 2012, 2013, and 2014 Caymus. Ended up getting more of the 2014 Caymus. Wow! Don't miss this experience when in Memphis. It's worth every dollar.

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Awesome!!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.