About Fleming's Steakhouse - Walnut Creek

1685 Mt. Diablo Boulevard
Walnut Creek, CA 94596
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sonoma Sunday Brunch & Dinner : 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
South California Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 287-0297

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/walnut-creek

Parking Details:
4 story self parking structure for free. Valet for $7.00

Public Transit:
1/4 mile from Walnut Creek Bart Station.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Gifts to give, presents to keep.

Special valid Nov 29, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Gifts to give, presents to keep.

Special valid Nov 29, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

It’s the best season to give and receive. In the spirit of the holidays, we’re offering a $20 Bonus Card for every $100 purchased in Gift Cards. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 29, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Walnut Creek Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (35)
Good for a Date (35)
Special Occasion (29)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Romantic (22)
Business Meals (21)
Notable Wine List (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Happy Hour (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Bar Seating (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Casual (6)
Private Room (6)
Cozy (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Authentic (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
People Watching (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Seasonal (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Fun (2)
Healthy (2)
Great Beer (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
982 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went there for my husband's birthday wit ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Went there for my husband's birthday with another couple, it was quite loud but the food was excellent and they went out of their way to acknowledge the birthday boy. Disappointed that they were out of the Pinot Noir I wanted and also two of the liquors we tried to order for after dinner drinks. But the quality of the food was excellent -- and my husband is very picky about his steaks. Jared was our waiter, he was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great experience, great service. We espe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Great experience, great service. We especially liked the special touch of presenting us with a surprise at the end of the meal since it was our anniversary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A++++++++++++++++Excellent Food and Serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

A++++++++++++++++Excellent Food and Service!! Thanks!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was very disappointed. Ambiance was lack ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Was very disappointed. Ambiance was lacking... very dark, no windows, almost a "dressed up" hotel ballroom feel. Just a large room with a bar at one end and kitchen at the other. It surprised me that such a large space would be so noisy. It made conversation very difficult.

As for the food, the filet was generous and tender, but both my wife's and mine were overcooked. The lobster tail was also sightly overcooked. The lobster bisque was fine, salad mediocre. My wife had the creme brulee which was OK, but I ordered the lava cake which was also overcooked, i.e. no lava, just cake.It came with a cookie & ice cream on the side that were better than the cake itself.

The brightest point of the evening was our waiter, who was friendly and attentive, but the overall experience was below par. For the price, I could have done better at any number of local restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

This is a steak house. Not a sea food ho ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

This is a steak house. Not a sea food house. The previous occassion the scallops were under cooked, returned to the kitchen and over cooked. Cassandra, the Manager apologized and gave me her card. When I returned on the next occassion, Cassandra took care of the entire bill. This is how it should be in a quality and expensive restaurant.

I know I will always be treated right here at Flemings.

I always take home half of the steak I order, so this time I tried the 'Small Plate' sliced filet along with a wedge salad. Both were most excellant.

Thank you Flemings, and Cassandra.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While the food was good I was underwhelm ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

While the food was good I was underwhelmed and disappointed by the table setting. My bread plate had stuck in cheese that wasn't washed throughly nor inspected before setting on the table. My husband and I ordered a bottle of sparkling wine and there again the flutes weren't throughly cleaned nor inspected by our host/waiter. There was unwashed orange pulp from the previous weeks champagne bunch is what our waiter told us???? Needless to say we weren't pleased to see this in our glasses. Perhaps Flemming's should have their team THROUGHLY inspected plate and glassware before placing on the table. Especially when playing close to $400.00 for a celebratory meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Flemings food & experience was superb. O ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Flemings food & experience was superb. Our waiter Jared totally took care of us & made my

boyfriends birthday very special. The food was out of this world. The dry aged ribeye was

cooked perfectly & melted in your mouth. The other entree we had was the miso glazed chilean

sea bass was the best fish I have ever had. It was so delicate & the flavor was wonderful. I would recommend this place to all my friends & family. It was definitely an awesome dining

experience.

Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server seemed like a trainee no pers ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The server seemed like a trainee no personality but was at least attentive. Ordered a $25 glass of wine and the foot of the glass was delivered dripping in wine. I had to ask them to wipe it so I didn't get red wine on me. For the prices they are charging the steaks should have been of a better quality. My ribeye was tasteless. I shouldn't have to salt a steak from a steak house, especially not a ribeye. Fleming potatoes were charred to a crisp. Brussel sprouts where burned and then doused in so much balsamic that they were inedible. Molten cake at dessert was tasteless as well. Dining room was packed but I don't get it.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Had the Filet Mignon ( cooked how the ch ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Had the Filet Mignon ( cooked how the chef liked it ) and the mac n cheese. Combination was perfection. Everything else tasted great also.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A big disappointment. Very poor value fo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

A big disappointment. Very poor value for $$$ spent. Probably our last time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Food was excellent and the servers were ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food was excellent and the servers were good but we felt very rushed from the moment we were seated. We understand that it's a busy night but this was our special celebration and we would have liked to enjoyed in a more relaxed way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Everything was great except the front de ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Everything was great except the front desk who seemed disorganized, confused and we stood there, with reservations and plenty of tables and help, for 10 minutes while they searched for our name, reservations and a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very poor experience. The hostess tried ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Very poor experience. The hostess tried to put us in a booth next to the kitchen when there 7 open booths in the room. The main meal came after our second bite of the salad. The short ribs were way overcooked and the ravioli small plate was awful. Other than our server, Minwa, the evening was a disaster. We will never return to walnut creek Flemings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Many people go out for Thanksgiving dinn ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Many people go out for Thanksgiving dinner. Flemings was well organized and ready for a pretty full house. Our appetizers arrived not long after we ordered. There were four of us so each of us had a deviled egg, and a cheese/salami. The others in my party had a salad, and I had the lobster bisque. Both very good.

When the entree arrived there were separate dishes for the mashed sweet potatoes, and green beans.

Each plate came with turkey, stuffing,

and cranberry sauce. The sides were very good however the turkey was a bit dry.

Dessert was delicious and service impeccable. It was a bit noisy however and hard for us to hear one another. Overall we did enjoy our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Pretty hard to mess up Thanksgiving Dinn ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Pretty hard to mess up Thanksgiving Dinner. Let me count the ways: Make the three of us wait 20 minutes when we arrive on time. Tell us it will be just a minute, and when asked 5 minutes later, tell us you are waiting for 4 tables to pay. 15 minutes later, walk us past two empty booths and seat the 3 of us in a center table with waiters running all around. Waiter does not tell us we can order off the main menu, only offers us the Prix Fixe turkey meal. He literally spends second(s) taking orders or dropping off food and bread, don't tell us what the two butters are or act like you want us there. Serve us the most bland turkey and dressing ever, and don't come by to ask how it is. Manager stands 15 feet from us for almost the entire meal, even walks by and ignores my look. Too busy pandering to a 50 year old woman with her daughter. CLEARLY, this place caters to a few regulars and the management does not have the precision that should come with a purported 5 star steakhouse. Not again, not ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Sorry, way over priced. Steak was cooke ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Sorry, way over priced. Steak was cooked to perfection, but everything from valet parking to the $11.50 baked potato was rediculous. Cocktails are watered down and small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value1

Amazing food and service! Love this plac ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Amazing food and service! Love this place it's one of my favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious and service excel ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The food was delicious and service excellent. I plan on returning soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome triple birthday dinner out for 7 ...

 
 (Cancún)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Awesome triple birthday dinner out for 7 of us. We dine here about every other year for special occasions like birthdays or anniversaries. Excellent food, ambiance, service, everything...

I love Fleming's and would recommend it to anyone looking for a local spot for a special event.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good but the entrees were n ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was good but the entrees were not worth the price, it was too dark, everyone was taking out their phones to use the flashlight apps. The noise level was very high, a conversation was a struggle. My guest had some diet restrictions and there was nothing that could work as far a a vegetable or potato dish. We left having only had entrees. We were quite disappointed.

If you are going, make sure you are going to share sides and that there is something for everyone otherwise skip it, there are many nice restaurants that can better accommodate. Would I go back, yes but with more people to share sides, it would have been nice if they could have accommodated better with the vegetables or potato dish. I usually look at the menu before I go, this was the one time I had not.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

Steaks were of a fair quality and were a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Steaks were of a fair quality and were all under cooked. Very much on the rare side of medium rare. Also the lettuce was brown. The quality of the food was very substandard for the money we were paying. We will not be returning to Flemings ever again.

I must say that our waiter made a great effort to help us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Outstanding! Brian B is our favorite ser ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Outstanding!

Brian B is our favorite server and takes really good care of us and knows his stuff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went Saturday night was seating in a cor ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Went Saturday night was seating in a corner, didn't have anymore lamb chops and was told 20 min after I ordered.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Food was excellent. Service was terribl ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was terrible. We were celebrating our anniversary and I asked for a quiet table and they sat us at the table outside the kitchen. Our server was horrible. Had it not been for the outstanding food, I would have complained.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value3

Music was too loud and inappropriate for ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Music was too loud and inappropriate for fine dining. And since the food was only so-so, this is a way overpriced place to dine. There are many nicer places to eat in the Bay Area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

Love the Holiday $34.95 4 course Prime R ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Love the Holiday $34.95 4 course Prime Rib deal - so worth it - amazing spinach salad, amazing sides, amazing creme brûlée

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love love love flemings! The steak is ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

I love love love flemings! The steak is always cooked to perfection and the staff and wait service is amazing! I will definitely be going back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Busy evening and had exceptional service ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Busy evening and had exceptional service despite it. Chris Murphy is the quintessential server!

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you are looking for a great steak and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

If you are looking for a great steak and chop house you can't find any thing better than Flemings. Great food, great service and a wonderful atmosphere. Prices are not cheap but the food and experience is worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food and service, good recommendat ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great food and service, good recommendation of wine, and dessert. Front desk needs a little attention.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Disappointed with the size of the cockta ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Disappointed with the size of the cocktails. My lemon drop was half full. The house potatoes were under cooked and did not meet my expectations. The best was the lava cake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We have always been big fans of Fleming' ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We have always been big fans of Fleming's so looked forward to our visit for dinner recently. Much to our dismay, this restaurant has taken a turn for the worse. Service was still friendly, but waiters were rushing around our table and running into each other which was very distracting. The noise level in the middle of the room was deafening and we could barely hear each other speak. If you must eat here request one of the smaller rooms. Stressed out waiters and noise could have all been forgiven if the food made up for it. However, it was a huge disappointment given the prices which have inflated from a year ago. The expensive bar drinks were weak, my wife's martini was mostly two big olives, without them the martini glass would have been 1/3 full. We cook steaks a lot at home so really enjoy and know a good steak when we have one. Our steaks were presented on a bare plate with not even a sprig of parsley. That could easily be forgiven if they were delicious, but another disappointment. They were cooked as requested, but flavor and marbling were unbelievably lacking for a $60 a la carte steak! Ordered scalloped potatoes and could not believe the presentation. Potatoes were simply piled with globs of melted Cheddar cheese on top instead of layered in between the potatoes. One might expect such a presentation at a greasy spoon restaurant. We regret that we will be required to drive over the crowded Bay Bridge to Harris's in San Francisco the next time we want a good steak dinner in a fine dining atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

My husband took me here for my birthday, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

My husband took me here for my birthday, and the meal was fantastic. The steaks were cooked to perfection. The homemade burrata was amazing with the fire roasted tomatoes, arugula and toased crostini. When the kitchen ran out of creme brulee (the only gluten free dessert option for my husband) the waiter brought truffles with a candle to celebrate my birthday!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service my party received was above ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The service my party received was above and beyond. Everyone we came in contact with was pleasant, had a smile on their face, and was extremely helpful. The service alone would have me coming back to this restaurant. The food too was very good, steaks cooked to perfection! No complaints other than it is a bit expensive, but my entire group enjoyed themselves very much!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very noisy - difficult to conduct a conv ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Very noisy - difficult to conduct a conversation with a table of 6

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Luxury setting good food albeit very pri ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Luxury setting good food albeit very pricey. Service is only average. Music is loud and bad. Not what you would expect from an upscale luxury setting.

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value1

Crab legs were terrific. wine list needs ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Crab legs were terrific. wine list needs work but prices have definately improved.

Great for a nice meal

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Lava cake for dessert was worth the shor ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Lava cake for dessert was worth the short 15 minute wait. Steaks and lamb chops were done to perfection. Only disappointment was my wife and friend had order the surf and turf special and felt the lobster was not fully up to par - probably frozen at one time and recooked.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Well . . . it's a nice place but my food ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Well . . . it's a nice place but my food didn't match their prices. We ordered the 14oz ribeyes--they were cooked as we ordered--rare and medium rare but the flavor was missing. They were good, but not good enough to warrant the $50 price tag for the steak only. And $24 for a short shot of Macallan 12? (When you can buy a whole bottle for less than $60?) I doubt that I will be returning to Flemings--there are too many quality restaurants in the bay area.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

We come to Fleming's as often as we can. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We come to Fleming's as often as we can. The food is really good, especially their Fleming's Potatoes. It's definitely a place to come for a special occasion. And they have a gluten-free menu too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.