About Fleming's Steakhouse - Sarasota

2001 Siesta Drive
Sarasota, FL 34239
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
South Tamiami Trail

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(941) 358-9463

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/fl/sarasota

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet parking, there is also plenty of self parking behind the Center for Endoscopy & Surgery & Bank of America Buildings next door

Public Transit:
SCTA buses stop near the restaurant. There are stops on both Siesta Drive & Tamiami Trail (Hwy 41).

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Turn your special occasion into memorable times at Fleming's. Whether you're hosting a small social gathering or large business function, Fleming's will custom-tailor an event worthy of the occasion.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Sarasota Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (29)
Special Occasion (23)
Good for a Date (17)
See All
Notable Wine List (17)
Business Meals (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Romantic (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Private Room (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Cozy (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Casual (5)
Open Kitchen (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Authentic (3)
Healthy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tapas (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
633 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I think the prices were very high for th ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

I think the prices were very high for the quality of the steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

This was our second time at Flemings. T ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

This was our second time at Flemings. This time the meal was so so. My wife's lobster tail was served barely warm. Did not feel the whole experience was worth $250.00 for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Both ribeyes we ordered were under-cooke ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 4 days ago

Both ribeyes we ordered were under-cooked (cool red center for a medium rare) and had too much gristle and fat for a steak at a place like this. Everything alse was as expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Omg worst experience ever. Our sever "Jo ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Omg worst experience ever. Our sever "Joe L" that I only know from our receipt was really terrible! My steak was ok, over cooked and dry. I would have complained but I never saw our waiter. My husband had to get our round of drinks at the bar!! Dennis' steak was good, sides were good and the bread was awesome. That is so PATHETIC for what they charge. I know it's a "holiday" but they need to learn how to find a real server or find a better manager because I will never be back OR refer anyone. There are soooo many better places in Sarasota!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

This was the worst evening ever that I e ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

This was the worst evening ever that I ever had at this Fleming's. They usually do a good job there but on that special they fell way short. We left even before having our main course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

My steak was dry and unfavorable my wife ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

My steak was dry and unfavorable my wife's was under cooked even after a return to the kitchen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Valentines Day

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Valentines Day

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Thank you for accommodating such a large ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 7 days ago

Thank you for accommodating such a large group. Staff was friendly, knowledgeable and we all had a great time and enjoyed everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The dining experience was superb and the ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The dining experience was superb and the ambiance was romantic. We had a wonderful meal with plenty of attention from a myriad of waiting staff.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, service

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great food, service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is very good here and the clien ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The food is very good here and the client's love this place, because of the food and the proximity to their condo. However, the waitress should listen to see what is being talked about at the table before just butting in and beginning to talk. One time she just walked up to the table and began talking about specials while one of my clients was telling a story. She interrupted us and I asked her to wait until the client was done talking.

That and the noise level is very high.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent in all ways.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Excellent in all ways.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Flemings is not only our "just about eve ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Flemings is not only our "just about every week restaurant, it is also our SpeciaL Occasion restaurant. They always make us feel special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We always look forward to our dining exp ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We always look forward to our dining experience at Fleming's.

Thanks to our server Erin who was outstanding along with her assistant Ramon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. Sliced Filet was ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Service was excellent. Sliced Filet was over cooked & chewy.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great hospitality service, Amy is an out ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great hospitality service, Amy is an outstanding service oriented waitress. All staff that approached our table were truly all delivering a great experience. Nice classic steakhouse ambiance feel good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fleming's never disappoints. It has a p ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Fleming's never disappoints. It has a professional wait staff and well-prepared food. We sat in the side room which I highly recommend as it is much quieter.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Prime Rib dinner at such a great ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Awesome Prime Rib dinner at such a great price. Food was delicious. Great bottle of wine!

Love Flemings!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Flemings again provided a great dinner i ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Flemings again provided a great dinner in a quiet, elegant setting ( The Ringling Room). Marcos Hanech provided an excellent, knowledgeable service experience! My friends , my wife and I enjoyed our evening very much. SidneyM

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, , Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always one of our favorite restaurants w ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Always one of our favorite restaurants when we visit Sarasota!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent we love the prime rib on Sunda ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent we love the prime rib on Sunday's! The staff is trained and professional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful anniversary dinner. Our ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Had a wonderful anniversary dinner. Our waitress was outstanding.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have had the pleasure of eating at man ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

I have had the pleasure of eating at many steakhouses in the Midwest and find Flemings in Florida to be on the lowest level of a such a restaurant.

The service and decor were right in line with my expectations.

The food, however, is where the experience quickly turns direction.

The appetizer, chilled seafood platter for two, was delicious in its simplicity. This was the exception to the meal.

The sides we ordered were Mushrooms, Asparagus, and Brussel Sprouts. The mushrooms were fair and cooked well. Nothing to say against them - or for them. The Brussel Sprouts were cooked with bacon (so what could possibly be wrong with them, right?) but the balsamic was too strong and left the dish tasting rushed and careless in its preparation. The staple of any steakhouse is Asparagus. This is something that serves two purposes in a heavy steak meal. The first is that helps to reduce the bloating that comes with a big meal. The second is that it assists with the digestion of heavy protein (meat) meals. To mess up a side that is so important to a meal is a culinary crime.

This is where Flemings feel flat on its face. The asparagus was old, small, and improperly cooked. The normal thick asparagus cooked to a perfect al dente with no fibrous sections had been replaced with a nasty version. The kind that gives asparagus the "I don't want to eat that" faces at the family dinner table.

I don't want to go into deals with the quality of the meat, but I will say that it was cooked as ordered. That is a strong positive for Flemings and the cook should be commended for getting it right.

One note on all the food that is OUTSTANDING. Flemings does not use a heavy hand with the salt. Something that I have promoted to all restaurants to frequent. This allows the subtle flavors of food to be explored and enjoyed. They nailed the seasoning in this regard.

I am a foodie, so this is strongly biased on my preference and extensive experience with quality steakhouses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Great service and great food

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great service and great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We used to love the wedge salad, but tha ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We used to love the wedge salad, but that was before they recently changed it. Instead of a piece of crispy bacon, you get a piece of half-cooked rubbery meat, not sure what it was. And the little slab of blue cheese--gone. Don't order the French fries as you'll be disappointed in them--now they are "shoe string" and crunchy. We used to order 1/2 onion rings and 1/2 French fries as a side we could share, but we were all four disappointed when the server brought the skimpy portion to our table and they were cold and hard and crunchy. We had the crab legs, they were good, but I feel there was no need to heat up our plate it was served on and it was super hot (I could see that for a steak) but not for the crab legs. We were disappointed with dinner. It will be a long time before we return, if we do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Amazing server! Even better experience t ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Amazing server! Even better experience than the last time. He was a very polite sweet gentleman, very attentive and made us feel spoiled and special! Thank you Devin!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was impeccable as always! W ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The service was impeccable as always! We were allowed to enjoy our cocktails before our food was brought out. Steaks done perfectly!

Tags: , Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been there many times. This was an ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Have been there many times. This was an off night. Service was not good. Water spilled on table and not cleaned up. Did not feel we were treated like we were in a fine dining establishment. Food was just ok. Not the special night I was hoping for.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Very nice restaurant for special occasio ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very nice restaurant for special occasions with excellent food. Seemed very loud and would like to see additional vegetable selections such as broccoli.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

this is an example of a well-executed co ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

this is an example of a well-executed corporate restaurant chain. Elegant, excellent service, thought-out menu (smaller dishes available, unusual for a steakhouse) excellent wine list and specials, nice ambience, etc., but, sadly, the food just doesn't live up to it. The steak (at least the non-special $52 NY strip) is a notch below in flavor than other chains like Ruth Chris, the Palm and Morton's. I have eaten here about 4 times and each time I wish the food was better. A very nice place to go, but...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Great meal with impeccable service. Very ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great meal with impeccable service. Very attentive but not intrusive. Filets were both cooked to perfection. Wine recommendation was on the spot. We had 6:00pm reservations for an 8:00pm show at the Van Wezel and it was no problem at all. Table was in a more private and quiet area of the restaurant which is what was requested. Price wise a little on the high side but overall it was an outstanding experience and meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was decent, but way too expensi ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was decent, but way too expensive for the overall quality of the food served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

The service offered is excellent - from ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

The service offered is excellent - from the complimentary valet parking to the hostess to the servers and the clean-up staff. Friendly and professional staff. While the menu is a la cart, such that everything is priced individually, the apps are excellent as are the entries. The sides are sufficiently large to enable sharing (as we did with our Potatoes Flemmings) and they were absolutely delicious. I had the double chicken breast and the food was amazing - best chicken that I have had. My wife had the pork chop and she was still talking about how good it was the following day. This is a fine dining establishment, so the food and wine list is priced accordingly. Still, it is our favorite restaurant in Sarasota.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food, great service, fine ambi ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent food, great service, fine ambiance make this a "special occasion" restaurant. Very good bar menu with reduced price food and drinks.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dinner, Sunday prime rib speci ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful dinner, Sunday prime rib special which is always an exceptional value. Lovely atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great time...with the New Year and the g ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great time...with the New Year and the great meal and service I give them * without a doubt... We have been coming to Fleming's every year for over 6 years.. and I would want it to continue. Thank you,

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

👎👎 I got the sea bass , basically it ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

👎👎 I got the sea bass , basically it was out the freezer to the plate Raw... I got sick in my stomach. And for my guests (6)there steaks was way under cooked . We order desert Creme brûlée, and chocolate Lava cake , it took 25 minutes for the waitress to bring the chocolate lava cake . And then she informed us that there out of the creme brûlée. They were not buzy when we got there ! Ruin our evening .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Everything about New Years Eve at Flemin ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everything about New Years Eve at Flemings was great, however, I had a "Main Filet Mignon" and my wife had a Rib Eye. Both steaks were surprisingly slightly tough, for lack of a better word. We have had your steaks before and the quality was excellent. A little unusual for Flemings I thought

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

New year eve

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New year eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

New Year's Eve

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.