About Fleming's Steakhouse - San Diego

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

380 K Street
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 237-1155

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/san-diego

Parking Details:
Off street parking is metered, two parking structures within three blocks of the restaurant, plus Valet directly in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Trolly & Train

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (41)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for a Date (33)
See All
Notable Wine List (33)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Business Meals (26)
Romantic (22)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Good for Groups (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Cozy (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Authentic (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Casual (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Healthy (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Private Room (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fun (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Waterfront (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Historic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
888 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

12 oz. filet mignon was good, not great. The price was comparable with Ruth's Chris but the quality did not compare favorably.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 12, 2017

The prime rib special on Sunday and Monday for the month of June is a great deal. The beef was unbelievably tender and the sides are excellent (and there are some healthy choices).

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Anniversary

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Every dinner we have had at Flemings San Diego has been excellent. The service and ambiance are always the best, and all the food is delicious!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Had a 6:45 pm reservation to dine alone while attending a medical conference and service was excellent. Had a glass of excellent Cabernet blend, recommended by my waiter, and their fillet done medium. Very slightly overdone, not to complain about. They have large portions of potatoes and vegetables so I asked if I could have a half order of each and he said, yes! That is good service. And the food was very good. It is pricey in line with its kind, but really no negatives. Recommended by me.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 6, 2017

The staff did an excellent job of "making it special," per my request, for our 35th wedding anniversary. Rose petals, champagne flutes, truffles, and excellent service all contributed to an outstanding experience. From server to Host and Manager, everyone did a fantastic job of making us feel welcome and appreciated. We WILL be back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 6, 2017

My wife and i both had the prime rib and it was really great.
As always, we had a great meal at Flemings

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Kyle was a terrific, professional server. Recommended a great wine (Dreaming Tree). Came for the Prime Rib Sunday special. Great meal. Wedge salads and Spinach Salads really did impress. Cheese spreads with the Bread were delicious.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Our waiter was excellent, however the kitchen undercooked my steak and my daughters. The waiter was great and took one of our steaks off the bill to make up for the mistake.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Celebrated my wife's birthday with family and friends. It was very special

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Guadalajara)·Dined on May 30, 2017

All the staff was great! And perfect food...specially the lava cake

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Great service and delicious steaks and salmon

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We went there for dinner after seeing The Buddy Holle Story nearby. The food and service were outstanding. We go to the La Jolla Fleming's more often for convenience, but we believe the downtown location has more character and ambience. I would highly recommend this location.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Delicious as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Excellent food and service. Great steaks, appetizers and desserts. We came for their $49 special of filet and lobster. Great deal for a fine mean.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Everything was very good. Only issue was my medium rare ribeye was more medium than rare. Maybe my fault for not clarifying. But it was still good. Just not as good as it could have been. My wife's medium rare filet turned out perfect! Also the $15 lobster that accompanied my steak was about the size of my thumb. Very good, but very small. The dinner was good all in all. We'll be back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Classic, club-like steakhouse with booth and table dining. Attentive servers (do not hover). Excellent lobster bisque and steaks (filet) done to perfection. Would return.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We took our daughter there for Mother's Day. Our favorite waiter Jason was not there, which disappointed us, since we had asked for him. The only item on the menu which was not ala carte was the prime rib. We found it to have very little flavor, not nearly as good as the one Black Angus sells for 1/3 the price. My husband told the waiter that his baked potato was not done, wasn't soft in the center. Instead of getting him one that was fully cooked, the waiter warmed it in the microwave and returned promptly with the same one. Service was very slow, but it was a holiday, so probably was unavoidable. We usually go when they have the steak and lobster special, and it has always been good. This is the 1st time that Fleming's has disappointed us, and we hope it was only a one-time experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

GREAT food- perfectly prepared steaks in particular. Delicious mac & cheese- salad very good, but not great...
Made our graduation celebration very special with a nice card & a lovely complimentary Creme Brûlée! Service was pleasant & everyone was very nice without being over the top😊Will definitely be back the next time we are in SD🎉

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We love coming here because the service and food is always fantastic!!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 8, 2017

My wife and i both had the prime rib and it was really good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

All Steak places are usually high end so be prepared to pay but worth it if you have the money. Great for a business meal, to discuss in nice quiet place. Service was excellent. Had hostess Maria who was super friendly and helpful.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The weitress took very long to take our orden She was gone a lot, The Soup was very hot like microwaved almost burned my toung , The crab legs not high quality, the salmon to greasy wont be going back soon, we prefere the oye in La Joya.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I have already given a 5 star review on Google maps, and spoke highly of the manager (Jim) for making our honeymoon visit that will be spoken about forever. Top that off with excellent meats cooked perfect to our liking and creative sides. The waiter (Roland) was helpful with any question or request that we had and made us feel welcomed. My wife would recommend the chocolate truffle martini to any chocolate or cocktail lover.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The Sunday Prime Rib prix fixe menu is a great deal as it includes a salad, side, prime rib dinner and dessert!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Friendly staff, great food, we enjoyed seating in a quieter area of the dining layout.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food was outstanding and service was truly amazing even when the restaurant was full of Prom couples.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Fleming's never disappoints! Great meal and great service!! Can't wait to go back!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 25, 2017

B day celebration. Our server Sam was excellent. I love how Fleming's server reaffirm my menu choices with a subtly said "excellent choice ". Everything was perfect.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The best!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great steaks! The ambience was superb. Food was incredible and our server was great. He was very attentive to our needs and did an incredible job explaining the menu to us.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Jason was great and he made it a memorable night for our family. Fantastic service and food was delicious. We will be back!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (México)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Muy buena comida y el servicio regular.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Excellent food and service. I have a few favorite places to meet and take friends/family and Fleming's is at the top of my list. I had the filet/crab cake and both were perfectly prepared. The other members of my party were as pleased as i was.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Healthy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My partner and I chose Flemings for my son's 30th birthday dinner and we were not disappointed. We each chose the surf n turf special for dinner and all of us agreed that every course tasted fabulous. Our waiter, David K., was friendly, knowledgeable and efficient as was Danielle, who ensured that our glasses were never empty. The staff presented my son with a signed birthday card (a nice touch) and the manager presented him with a small box with four delicious truffles (a very thoughtful gesture)! We'd highly recommend Flemings to anyone willing to spend a small chunk of change for a a great meal and a memorable dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very good customer service!! Friendly waitresses and servers.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We went here for our 10th anniversary dinner before our trip out of town. We go here quite a bit and it is my husband's favorite steakhouse...possibly his favorite restaurant. Management and service are spectacular! Thanks for always making us feel special!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great service and great food. The lobster bisque was the 2nd best I've had. I was with 4 other people and all meals were spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We had a fantastic dinner, great waiter, great dessert and cocktails. We love coming to Flemings, we were early for our reservation, went to the bar for a cocktail and they found us a table in the bar earlier than our reservation.
Love the service here, which is one of the reasons we love this place.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Disabled Access, Cozy, Family Style, Casual, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I am sure people know Flemings for there steak. They know how to do steak it is simply the best. The service is impeccable and the wine list is nothing short of spectacular.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.