About Fleming's Steakhouse - San Diego

380 K Street
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 237-1155

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/san-diego

Parking Details:
Off street parking is metered, two parking structures within three blocks of the restaurant, plus Valet directly in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Trolly & Train

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Prime Rib Dinner With Flemings Potato
Seafood Tower
Fleming's Prime Burger
Widmer Hefeweizen
Blue Cheese Wedge Salad
Prime Bone-In Ribeye
Prime Bone In Ribeye
Peach Cobbler
Prime Rib
Bone-in Rib Eye
Fresh Berries And Chantilly Cream
Lava Cake
Prime New York Strip Steak
Barbecued Wild Salmon

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
San Diego
Steak
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Gaslamp ›

Special Occasion (50)
Romantic (33)
Notable Wine List (31)
See All
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for Groups (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Hot Spot (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
693 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Steaks were over cooked. Aside from that ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined 3 days ago

Steaks were over cooked. Aside from that, everything else was fine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent food and service!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was a little disappointing to have to wa ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined 3 days ago

Was a little disappointing to have to wait 40mins to be seated when we had a 730pm reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was wonderful. Service food a ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was wonderful. Service food and wine was the best

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our two waiters David and Jim were great ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our two waiters David and Jim were great. Thanks!👍

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I spent our 27th Anniversary ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My wife and I spent our 27th Anniversary Weekend in the Gaslamp - I dine regularly for work but I have had some bad luck when taking my wife out to "Very Nice" dinners in SD. The minute we walked into Fleming's we were greeted as if they were expecting us and "Welcomed for our Anniversary". We were seated at our table which had a personalized card, flute for complimentary Champagne toast, a smaller "sampler" glass for some of their featured wines. Our waiter, Jason, is a Top-Notch Server!!! He was Welcoming, engaging with Wine selections but not at all a Wine Snob. I asked his opinion on some Duckhorn and he said it was very good, and that if I didn't like it he would add to their "wine-by-the-glass" and I could order something else. It was tasty enough that we ordered 2 of them. Jason was there when we needed him but allowed my wife and I to enjoy a few hours and not feel rushed by any means...it was our table! The Crab cakes, Ahi and Steaks were all Great! The Manager, Chris even bought us a Creme Brulee and thanked us for Celebrating with them!! This evening "Exceeded our Expectations" and I would recommend Fleming's - Downtown for a great evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Maria is outstanding!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Maria is outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Flemings accommodated my large work grou ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Flemings accommodated my large work group in a semi private room, which was outstanding. What wasn't outstanding was the food. Unfortunately the main entrees appeared to have been kept under heat lamps and arrived over done. Wine list was good, service was pleasant, efficient, and polite. I just wasn't impressed with the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Our waiter Patrick G. was amazing. Had ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Our waiter Patrick G. was amazing. Had the prime rib dinner and it was excellent. Still full.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Flemings for my friends birth ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We went to Flemings for my friends birthday. This was my first time there. My friend and I split the 12 oz Fillet. She wanted it medium (pink in the middle), but it came out a bit on the rare side (which was fine for me). It was tender and seasoned nicely. We also had the asparagus. Again, she asked for it al dente but it came out crunchy. Fine for me, but not to her liking. It was a bit noisy, but then again it was a Saturday night. The couple in the table across from us were having a fight, cussing and name calling, loud enough for all to hear. It was inappropriate for a restaurant. A little overpriced for what we got. We enjoyed it though.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Our experience here was perfect! The foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our experience here was perfect! The food was amazing, the drinks were great, and our server was the best I've had in a long time at a restaurant! I recommend Fleming's 1000%!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The customer service was only outshone b ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The customer service was only outshone by the quality of steak, and the drinks were amazing. A great dimly lit romantic restaurant with great steaks and drinks. The truffle poached lobster added on to the steak was delicious and the complimentary peppercorn sauce made everything come together nicely

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved having our wedding anniversary ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We loved having our wedding anniversary dinner here! Service and food surpass our expectations. Will be back for sure.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great restaurant for a special occasio ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

A great restaurant for a special occasion. Great food - particularly the steaks, greet wine list, and really nice service and ambience. Highly recommended. A+

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, great steak (of course!) ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Delicious food, great steak (of course!) Fleming's potatoes are a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My go to. Never miss

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

My go to. Never miss

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

OUTSTANDING steaks... yummy salads and t ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

OUTSTANDING steaks... yummy salads and the mac and cheese was delish, as well. Jason, our server was a hoot and a really personable guy. Nice & fun to chat with, without over-stepping. Flemings always has top notch service, but a really great waiter is really helpful and makes the whole dining experience that much better. Our dessert got a little goofed-up, and the alternate dessert we chose, was on the house... can't beat that. Would most definitely recommend!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Its Fleming's. You know you are going t ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Its Fleming's. You know you are going to enjoy the meal, but most could not afford Fleming's on a daily basis. Our wait person Maria was awesome. If you score one of the deals (ie, Prime Rib Special), you get good bang for buck.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The noise level is just too much for the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The noise level is just too much for the lovely setting and fantastic food. Particularly when seated in front of the open kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Flemings is always a treat. It was prett ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Flemings is always a treat. It was pretty busy and loud due to having soooooo many people in the area that night. The service was excellent. The steaks were not as tender as I've had in the past but other than that, great evening there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was of exceptional quality. Eve ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food was of exceptional quality. Everything was delicious. The mushrooms and mashed potatoes were surprisingly tasty. The dry aged ribeye was deeply rich and flavorful. I have worked in a number of high end steak houses and I was impressed. The service was excellent , helpful and attentive without being chummy or intrusive. It was very expensive but actually worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My wife and I had dinner. She had the pr ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

My wife and I had dinner. She had the prime rib, which she really liked.

I had a pre fix meal which had a rib eye.

I don't know what the deal was, but after I cut away the fat I did not have much left.

I will not get that again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

First time I've been back to this restau ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

First time I've been back to this restaurant in a year and it's really gone downhill. Service was terrible. We each only got one or two drinks because we could never find our server. Also, we got the 3 course meal and our server brought us the check without ever getting our third course. Furthermore, some lady came in and started screaming "meat is murder" in the middle of dinner with a guy filming the whole incident. I will never be coming back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

Where to start, Our waiter Patrick is, ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Where to start, Our waiter Patrick is, I'm sure ,a very nice person, but I don't believe a waiter at a high end restaurant is his calling, or any restaurant for that matter. Upon arriving at our table he kept dropping things (pen, menus) oh well happens, but things just got weirder as eve progressed. Ordered cocktails, forgot them as he was reading them back. We just hoped for the best. When they finally arrived, we all had a sip of each and looked at each other, they were profoundly watered down (this, of course was no fault of Patrick, only the fact they arrived room temp instead of chilled). When we explained to Patrick they were very watered down (something I have never experienced here before on any of my several visits) he just looked at us blinking. Now if we had been rational we would have just sent them back, but instead we ordered two shots of vodka. So now we had a tolerable, warm and obscenely priced cocktail.

We told Patrick we would be ordering a bottle of wine with dinner, he recommended the Pinot noir on special and offered a taste. Great. A few moments later he comes back and starts removing all the wine glasses, tasters and regular. I reminded him that we were ordering wine, he puts them back and says most people want these out of the way. Meanwhile, the waiter over at the next section was busy chugging down the wine left by his departed patrons. Hey, I worked in restaurants, I'm all for polishing off the fine wine left in the bottle by a table, but jeez, not in the dining room in front of guests.

Unlike other visits, no manager came around, never saw one even as we were leaving.

My mother in law likes Flemings for the atmosphere, but never again, there are too many places downtown. Food was good, but crazy wait staff and watered alcohol at these prices, and frankly at any price, is unacceptable. Expensive lesson learned. So much more that will not fit in this space happened - truly a bizarre evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

The food was excellent although pricey. ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was excellent although pricey. Our waiter was helpful and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We've eaten here quite a few times but t ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We've eaten here quite a few times but this trip was noisy....mostly because of the All star game was this weekend and the fans were excited. The food is always on point and the wine list is very broad. Overall a good time, we will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great steaks - a real favourite of ours. ...

 
 (Surrey)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great steaks - a real favourite of ours. Consistent quality from start to finish. Can't wait to return again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All-star food and service on the MLB All ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

All-star food and service on the MLB All-Star weekend! Couldn't have asked for a better way to spend our anniversary! Our server, Massimo, and the management team were attentive and professional. Food was wonderful (fillets) and three sides (mushrooms, asparagus, and Fleming potatoes) were just enough to be perfectly satisfying meal!

What could have been a rushed, noisy evening because of the Big Game in town, was beautifully handled the Flemings team and these customers will be back more more anniversary dinners !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Flemings was good but not as GREAT as I ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Flemings was good but not as GREAT as I expected. The mussels I ordered were a mixture of crunchy and some really good. Trying to get the mussel out of the shell was kind of messy and got black (I think from being grilled maybe) on my fingers. The lobster also was a mixture of crunchy and some of it soft. The crunchy again maybe from being grilled. My husbands Filet Mignon was good. His salad on the prix fixed menu was very good. The potatoes were ok. The desert very good. The service very good. The wine very nice.

I would try it again but for $175.00 I thought it should have been a "wow". It was not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We came here for our 26th Anniversary an ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We came here for our 26th Anniversary and we felt welcomed and pampered from the minute we walked in until we left. David S is the server to have - warm, knowledgeable and gracious.

Thanks to all who helped make this evening such a special night!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent quality of food and service, h ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Excellent quality of food and service, highly recommended.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter, Jason was sprectacular. As a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Our waiter, Jason was sprectacular.

As always the food was outstanding

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food Got right in on a busy night ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great food

Got right in on a busy night thanks to open table

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The truffle mashed potatoes were good, d ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The truffle mashed potatoes were good, definitely could taste the truffle. I've only ever eaten prime rib prepared one way and here they served it pan grilled on each side. I didn't care for that preparation. On a high note the service was excellent from the moment we walked in the door until we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

We enjoyed our dining experience at Flem ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We enjoyed our dining experience at Fleming's. Jason, our server, was delightful. The lobster tails and filet was amazing. We've yet to have a bad experience at any one of the Fleming's locations.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My son was in town and we went to Flemin ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

My son was in town and we went to Fleming's.

We had a fantastic meal.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very weird support staff. They didn't cl ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Very weird support staff. They didn't clear our appetizers before bringing our salads so we had this crazy thing where they couldn't put plates down unless we all held our dirty plates in our hands while they served.My mixed green salad was iceberg lettuce with four pieces of other greens.The weird thing was that the manager kept asking us how everything was even though we didn't eat four of the dishes and had explained to the waiter why.We generally don't complain about service as long as the food is good but neither were up to par.We had ordered a salad to go when we ordered our meal and they brought it in the middle of our meal in a huge bag and put it right in the middle of the table.We left without touching our desserts even though we paid for them.Maybe they were good but we wanted out of there so bad we never found out.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

Best steak around! The servers are knowl ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Best steak around! The servers are knowledgeable and friendly, the bar delivers great drinks as well as provides an extensive wine list.

Overall a great place to celebrate what ever it is your celebrating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak was not the best, a little tough. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Steak was not the best, a little tough. Bacon salad dressing was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Great service and food. Everything came ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great service and food. Everything came out cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.