About Fleming's Steakhouse - San Diego

380 K Street
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 237-1155

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/san-diego

Parking Details:
Off street parking is metered, two parking structures within three blocks of the restaurant, plus Valet directly in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Trolly & Train

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (55)
romantic (42)
notable wine list (37)
See All
fit for foodies (31)
good for groups (26)
neighborhood gem (11)
hot spot (11)
vibrant bar scene (9)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (3)
great for lunch (3)
scenic view (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
643 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great place

vip
Dined 6 days ago

We've been to Fleming's in other cities but this was our first visit to Fleming's San Diego. The food and service were top-notch, as we have come to expect. My only concern was that there were a lot of tables in the dining area and some of them were quite close together. We were fortunate enough to be in a booth but the table area was really crowded and the servers were having trouble getting from here to there.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience as always...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great experience as always...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only the best.

Dined on May 19, 2016

Flemings Steakhouse is the best steakhouse in the city! The tasty, perfectly cooked steaks are melt in your mouth great. Their side dishes are unbelievable. Salads are always made so fresh you can tell it is local grown. Desserts, my second favorite thing, is varied and scrumptious. The service at Flemings Steakhouse is beyond compare. It is nice to feel like family and everyone is honestly friendly. Some places try, but Flemings succeeds in making you feel great. Never pretentious and never fake. Thank you Jason.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent prime rib

Dined on May 16, 2016

The prime rib was cooked as ordered and with the included salad, side dish and dessert large enough to serve two. We did split the meal and the server was accommodating in extra plates.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fleming's Steakhouse was a delightfully ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Fleming's Steakhouse was a delightfully delicious experience !! Very courtesy staff, made us feel very pampered for our anniversary ; ) The food was very tasty and the atmosphere was very calm and luxurious !!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service are always excellen ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

The food and service are always excellent. They know how to do our steaks black and blue! Highly recommend the carpaccio, and picking at least one vegetable side.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service4

Good experience. My prime rib was a bit ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Good experience. My prime rib was a bit fatty, end cut but good

food5
ambience4
service4

We had the pork belly and calamari to st ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We had the pork belly and calamari to start with. Pork belly was good but really enjoy calamari and we all had different steaks for entre and all were really good, sides were mac n cheese n mashed potatoes both were good.

food2
ambience5
service5
value3

27th Anniversary celebration

Dined on April 30, 2016

This Flemings was great on service and Chris the manager was amazing along with Rebecca the Bar waitress! we ordered two lobster tails, both were overdone and crispy! Not good, but Chris did comp them and offered several other options including cooking them again, but we refused based upon we just we plain full after eating snacks in the bar for 1.5 hrs!! (Rebecca was great!) Hopes this helps Flemings get better in the Kitchen since we love to celebrate our anniversary at Flemings every year and have been doing so for 11 straight so far.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The Price of Excellence

Dined on April 28, 2016

My wife and I used to live by the Fleming's in La Jolla and have never been disappointed with the service or the food, whether during happy hour at their bar or for a full meal in their main room. This time, was no exception. We had the French onion soup, a salad, short rib, creamed spinach, and filet mignon. As a married couple, we share all the plates. I usually wind up eating a slightly larger portion because my wife can't eat quite as much. Nonetheless, we savored each and every bite. Our waiter treated us like royalty.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5

Had 2 dinners at Fleming's. First one wa ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Had 2 dinners at Fleming's. First one was awful - overcooked steak, 1 hour waiting for a new one, etc. My next experience was better, but not as good as I expected (I gave them another chance). The short rib was just ok. The wagyu ribeye was nice, but sometimes hard to chew.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Normally, we can always rely on Flemings ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Normally, we can always rely on Flemings for a great steak dinner. On this night, there were four of us and two of our steaks were brought out way overdone. It was too bad because it did not leave a good impression for this location. The staff was very generous with their apologies and offered to cook new steaks. Not wanting to be wasteful, we kept the steaks and the restaurant comped them instead. Everything else was wonderful- salads, Flemings potatoes and chocolate lava cake dessert!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place

Dined on April 14, 2016

My daughter and her husband went to celebrate his birthday. Our waitress Angela was very attentive. The food was great and we had a great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Alway Enjoy Flemings Downtown!

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Th food is always great, atmosphere is excellent, service good....one of my favorites

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Dinner

Dined on April 10, 2016

Had an early dinner so wasn't crowded. Really liked that you could look at the wines and get the descriptions of them on their tablet before ordering, it was very helpful in the ordering process. The service was excellent and the food was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Steak Night

Dined on April 10, 2016

My wife and I ordered a Filet and NY Strip. They were cooked perfectly and had an excellent taste. The NY Strip had what appeared to be just a little extra fat for this cut of meat, but the portion was generous, so even with cutting the fat off, there was a significant portion of meat that remained. The Flemming's potatos were excellent, as were the mushrooms. The Flemming's House Salad was good. The Caesar Salad was adequate, but in fairness, we're Caesar perfectionists. There was no room for desert, which is a testament to the portion sizes. Next time we'll eat a bit lighter so we can sample what the desert menu has to offer.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5

Thought the steak wasn't as good as it n ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Thought the steak wasn't as good as it normally is. Less of a sear than I usually see at Flemings.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always amazing

Dined on April 2, 2016

Always amazing

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

First Date at Flemings

Dined on March 26, 2016

I took a girl on a first date here and the overall experience was outstanding. The food was delicious, and came out right on time. Our waitress was kind and helpful. The two food items I recommend are the pork belly appetizer and for entrée, the braised short ribs. Melt in your mouth. The only problem I had that night was waiting for my second drink. It took forever for me to get it. I'm not sure if it was the waitress or the bar, but by the time I got it (after I asked for it again of course), my date had already finished her drink. Other than that we had a great time and wonderful meal

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Pricey but worth it

Dined on March 24, 2016

We started out with Seafood Tower (cold prawns, crab and coldwater lobster tail) it was excellent. My bride had a large filet with lobster topping and I had dry aged ribeye with lobster topping. Both were perfect medium rare, and seasoned just right. For sides we had asparagus and Flemings potatoes (au gratin with a touch of jalapeño); both were superb. We had the cheesecake for dessert....I have had cheesecake all over the world, and this was the best; incredibly light , creamy and not overly sweet. In short the perfect meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

David the waiter was awesome. Food was f ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

David the waiter was awesome. Food was fabulous.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

STEAK LOVERS PARADISE!

Dined on March 12, 2016

Food and wine was fantastic - bread was this foodie's favorite with the cheese spreads - YUM! Service was awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic filet. Great flavor and tender ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

Fantastic filet. Great flavor and tender. Cooked to perfect. I'm usually a Ruth Chris guy and this place is just as good.

food3
ambience4
service3

Steak was ok but not impressive. The hou ...

Dined on February 25, 2016

Steak was ok but not impressive. The house potato dish was great.

food5
ambience5
service5

Well we visited several restaurants duri ...

Dined on February 25, 2016

Well we visited several restaurants during our 4day stay in San Diego. Flemings was by far our favorite. If you visit try and request David Kachigian as your waiter. He aside from the food made it an awesome night.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Almost great

Dined on February 23, 2016

Service was outstanding! The Food was great, however the salad was not good at all which took the experience down level. What you pay deserves the best and this time it failed. I marked I would recommend it but have reservations.

food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Anniversary dinner

Dined on February 22, 2016

We were disappointed in the noise level. We were there for our 29th wedding anniversay. We had a couple with a child behind us that was using his utensil to hit the plate and we had a couple of younger people across from us that had been drinking and were very loud. My husband's prime rib (his favorite cut of meat) was okay, not what we expected from Flemings. He has had better. The staff went above and beyond and we were very impressed by that.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Meal

vip
Dined on February 22, 2016

We had the Prime Rib that they offered Sunday, i a few dollars more expensive. We had a good meal. They were out of onion rings as a side., which is suprising.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

my only complaint was having to wait abo ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

my only complaint was having to wait about 30 minutes for my reservation after my arrival, in which was already 5 minutes late.

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Noisy and rushed

Dined on February 20, 2016

The expensive food was good, but the environment in the restaurant was noisy, packed, and felt pushed to clear our table for the next group. Lots of other fine steak houses in San Diego to go to first.

food4
ambience4
service4

Petite filet minion was excellent!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Petite filet minion was excellent!

food5
ambience3
service4

Service was good and the food was excell ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Service was good and the food was excellent. I wished that opened table communicated the special notes that I made when I made the reservation.

food2
ambience1
service2
value1

My first time at Flemings

Dined on February 15, 2016

Worst valentine's dinner date ever ! Although this is what is considered one of San Diego's best steak houses it was horrible! My wife's Filet with lobster ordered medium came late as well as extremely well done ! Had to refire the steak then after 16 min. came back this time rare. My beautiful wife ate around the edges where it was palatable and even after talking to the Manager I left with a $300 + bill.

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Don't go on 'holidays'.

Dined on February 15, 2016

Although we love Fleming's, we found it to not be up to the high quality standards of our previous visits. We DID go on Valentine's day, which happens to be a Birthday for one of our family members. After dinner we all decided it's not the place to go when there is a holiday involved. I found our meal (Prime Rib) to be just 'okay'. My slice was HUGE while another person's was average. (We traded). One member had the 'special' which included Salmon. To them the Salmon was dry. We had a long wait for our meal and even longer wait for dessert. Another interesting note is that the 'Sunday' special (Prime Rib, side, salad, dessert) was a good $10 more this time than it had been the previous month. We will return, just not on a holiday, as we feel Fleming's over-books at those times and really can't accommodate the extra crowd.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience2
service2

Flemings is one of our favorite restaura ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Flemings is one of our favorite restaurants but do not recommend for Valentine's Day, service super slow & they ran out of ribeye steaks. Our reservation was at 3:30 & food made it to our table at 5pm, very bad experience. Extremely disappointed.

food4
ambience4
service4

Very traditional!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Very traditional!

food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Poor Customer Service

Dined on February 14, 2016

I booked a reservation to dine a week in advance. When I arrived I was told that they were running about 35 mins behind. I made my way to the bar where my date and I had to squeeze into 2 bar stools stuck in the corner. Why the stools are there is crazy you have to pull the stools all the way out to the isle because the space is so narrow. After waiting for half an hour for a table we were seated right next to the bar so we could bumped into throughout the entire meal. Not the best atmosphere to have a romantic dinner. For the price it would have been nice to at least be allowed to enjoy the steak.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Still one of my favorite steak houses!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Like I said still one place that does not disappoint. I know that when I have a need for a steak that is medium, I will get medium. Delicious flavor and marbling on the steak. The sides have always been really tasty as well. The wine list is enormous and should have one for every wine connoisseur. When Christmas or my birthday comes around a Flemings gift card is the easiest and satisfying gift to get me. Thank you Flemings for being a first class-dependable restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service

Dined on February 13, 2016

The server was great, very polite. Manager came over to greet us and even gave us a 25 dollar gift card. Food quality was great. I will return.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Staff was amazing and very accommodating ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

Staff was amazing and very accommodating for our group. As usual the food was superb.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.