About Fleming's Steakhouse - San Diego

380 K Street
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 237-1155

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/san-diego

Parking Details:
Off street parking is metered, two parking structures within three blocks of the restaurant, plus Valet directly in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Trolly & Train

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Prime Rib Dinner With Flemings Potato
Seafood Tower
Fleming's Prime Burger
Widmer Hefeweizen
Blue Cheese Wedge Salad
Prime Bone-In Ribeye
Bone-in Rib Eye
Fresh Berries And Chantilly Cream
Prime Rib
Prime Bone In Ribeye
Peach Cobbler
Barbecued Wild Salmon
Prime New York Strip Steak
Lava Cake

Promotions

Taste the Season Prix Fixe - Starting at $55.95*

Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Promotions

Taste the Season Prix Fixe - Starting at $55.95*

Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Details

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
San Diego
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Diego
Best Overall
San Diego
2 More
Steak
San Diego
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Gaslamp ›

special occasion (48)
romantic (30)
notable wine list (26)
See All
fit for foodies (20)
good for groups (18)
neighborhood gem (12)
hot spot (8)
vibrant bar scene (7)
late-night find (3)
great for lunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
kid-friendly (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
672 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was of exceptional quality. Eve ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was of exceptional quality. Everything was delicious. The mushrooms and mashed potatoes were surprisingly tasty. The dry aged ribeye was deeply rich and flavorful. I have worked in a number of high end steak houses and I was impressed. The service was excellent , helpful and attentive without being chummy or intrusive. It was very expensive but actually worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My wife and I had dinner. She had the pr ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

My wife and I had dinner. She had the prime rib, which she really liked.

I had a pre fix meal which had a rib eye.

I don't know what the deal was, but after I cut away the fat I did not have much left.

I will not get that again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

First time I've been back to this restau ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

First time I've been back to this restaurant in a year and it's really gone downhill. Service was terrible. We each only got one or two drinks because we could never find our server. Also, we got the 3 course meal and our server brought us the check without ever getting our third course. Furthermore, some lady came in and started screaming "meat is murder" in the middle of dinner with a guy filming the whole incident. I will never be coming back here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1

Where to start, Our waiter Patrick is, ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Where to start, Our waiter Patrick is, I'm sure ,a very nice person, but I don't believe a waiter at a high end restaurant is his calling, or any restaurant for that matter. Upon arriving at our table he kept dropping things (pen, menus) oh well happens, but things just got weirder as eve progressed. Ordered cocktails, forgot them as he was reading them back. We just hoped for the best. When they finally arrived, we all had a sip of each and looked at each other, they were profoundly watered down (this, of course was no fault of Patrick, only the fact they arrived room temp instead of chilled). When we explained to Patrick they were very watered down (something I have never experienced here before on any of my several visits) he just looked at us blinking. Now if we had been rational we would have just sent them back, but instead we ordered two shots of vodka. So now we had a tolerable, warm and obscenely priced cocktail.

We told Patrick we would be ordering a bottle of wine with dinner, he recommended the Pinot noir on special and offered a taste. Great. A few moments later he comes back and starts removing all the wine glasses, tasters and regular. I reminded him that we were ordering wine, he puts them back and says most people want these out of the way. Meanwhile, the waiter over at the next section was busy chugging down the wine left by his departed patrons. Hey, I worked in restaurants, I'm all for polishing off the fine wine left in the bottle by a table, but jeez, not in the dining room in front of guests.

Unlike other visits, no manager came around, never saw one even as we were leaving.

My mother in law likes Flemings for the atmosphere, but never again, there are too many places downtown. Food was good, but crazy wait staff and watered alcohol at these prices, and frankly at any price, is unacceptable. Expensive lesson learned. So much more that will not fit in this space happened - truly a bizarre evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

The food was excellent although pricey. ...

 
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food was excellent although pricey. Our waiter was helpful and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

We've eaten here quite a few times but t ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We've eaten here quite a few times but this trip was noisy....mostly because of the All star game was this weekend and the fans were excited. The food is always on point and the wine list is very broad. Overall a good time, we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great steaks - a real favourite of ours. ...

 
 (Surrey)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great steaks - a real favourite of ours. Consistent quality from start to finish. Can't wait to return again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All-star food and service on the MLB All ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

All-star food and service on the MLB All-Star weekend! Couldn't have asked for a better way to spend our anniversary! Our server, Massimo, and the management team were attentive and professional. Food was wonderful (fillets) and three sides (mushrooms, asparagus, and Fleming potatoes) were just enough to be perfectly satisfying meal!

What could have been a rushed, noisy evening because of the Big Game in town, was beautifully handled the Flemings team and these customers will be back more more anniversary dinners !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Flemings was good but not as GREAT as I ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Flemings was good but not as GREAT as I expected. The mussels I ordered were a mixture of crunchy and some really good. Trying to get the mussel out of the shell was kind of messy and got black (I think from being grilled maybe) on my fingers. The lobster also was a mixture of crunchy and some of it soft. The crunchy again maybe from being grilled. My husbands Filet Mignon was good. His salad on the prix fixed menu was very good. The potatoes were ok. The desert very good. The service very good. The wine very nice.

I would try it again but for $175.00 I thought it should have been a "wow". It was not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We came here for our 26th Anniversary an ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We came here for our 26th Anniversary and we felt welcomed and pampered from the minute we walked in until we left. David S is the server to have - warm, knowledgeable and gracious.

Thanks to all who helped make this evening such a special night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent quality of food and service, h ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Excellent quality of food and service, highly recommended.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter, Jason was sprectacular. As a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Our waiter, Jason was sprectacular.

As always the food was outstanding

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food Got right in on a busy night ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great food

Got right in on a busy night thanks to open table

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The truffle mashed potatoes were good, d ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The truffle mashed potatoes were good, definitely could taste the truffle. I've only ever eaten prime rib prepared one way and here they served it pan grilled on each side. I didn't care for that preparation. On a high note the service was excellent from the moment we walked in the door until we left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

We enjoyed our dining experience at Flem ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We enjoyed our dining experience at Fleming's. Jason, our server, was delightful. The lobster tails and filet was amazing. We've yet to have a bad experience at any one of the Fleming's locations.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My son was in town and we went to Flemin ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

My son was in town and we went to Fleming's.

We had a fantastic meal.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very weird support staff. They didn't cl ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Very weird support staff. They didn't clear our appetizers before bringing our salads so we had this crazy thing where they couldn't put plates down unless we all held our dirty plates in our hands while they served.My mixed green salad was iceberg lettuce with four pieces of other greens.The weird thing was that the manager kept asking us how everything was even though we didn't eat four of the dishes and had explained to the waiter why.We generally don't complain about service as long as the food is good but neither were up to par.We had ordered a salad to go when we ordered our meal and they brought it in the middle of our meal in a huge bag and put it right in the middle of the table.We left without touching our desserts even though we paid for them.Maybe they were good but we wanted out of there so bad we never found out.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

Steak was not the best, a little tough. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Steak was not the best, a little tough. Bacon salad dressing was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Great service and food. Everything came ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great service and food. Everything came out cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice waitress

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Nice waitress

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food! Service was fast and frien ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Amazing food! Service was fast and friendly. I will definitely be going back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the best dining experience. We ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was the best dining experience. We could not have picked a better place to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent steaks and vegetable side dish ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent steaks and vegetable side dishes. Great service. Nice wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Always good food, nice ambiance and its ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Always good food, nice ambiance and its nice to walk downtown before or after dinning

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We have been to Fleming's downtown sever ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We have been to Fleming's downtown several times since moving back to San Diego, we've never been disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Flemings is my favorite of the major Ste ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Flemings is my favorite of the major Steakhouse Chains for many reasons including that each one is somewhat unique, that their menu is always evolving and offers a lot more choices than just steak. The downtown Flemings is a classic and the service is a tribute to its' local management

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Meal

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

My wife and I had their prime rib dinner, which was very good

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Usually outstanding, this time just good

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We have been in here before, and usually the food is outstanding, this time, it was just regular, we assumed that was the case because there were too many people celebrating "graduation", anyhow we will try again some other day, the ambiance is worth it!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Always dependably elegant and delicious. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Always dependably elegant and delicious. So sweet how they have a birthday card signed by staff. And especially appreciated was the gift certificate and chocolates! Great place to celebrate a birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

We've been to Fleming's in other cities but this was our first visit to Fleming's San Diego. The food and service were top-notch, as we have come to expect. My only concern was that there were a lot of tables in the dining area and some of them were quite close together. We were fortunate enough to be in a booth but the table area was really crowded and the servers were having trouble getting from here to there.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great experience as always...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Great experience as always...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Only the best.

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Flemings Steakhouse is the best steakhouse in the city! The tasty, perfectly cooked steaks are melt in your mouth great. Their side dishes are unbelievable. Salads are always made so fresh you can tell it is local grown. Desserts, my second favorite thing, is varied and scrumptious.

The service at Flemings Steakhouse is beyond compare. It is nice to feel like family and everyone is honestly friendly. Some places try, but Flemings succeeds in making you feel great. Never pretentious and never fake. Thank you Jason.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent prime rib

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

The prime rib was cooked as ordered and with the included salad, side dish and dessert large enough to serve two. We did split the meal and the server was accommodating in extra plates.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fleming's Steakhouse was a delightfully ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Fleming's Steakhouse was a delightfully delicious experience !! Very courtesy staff, made us feel very pampered for our anniversary ; ) The food was very tasty and the atmosphere was very calm and luxurious !!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service are always excellen ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

The food and service are always excellent. They know how to do our steaks black and blue! Highly recommend the carpaccio, and picking at least one vegetable side.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good experience. My prime rib was a bit ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Good experience. My prime rib was a bit fatty, end cut but good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We had the pork belly and calamari to st ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We had the pork belly and calamari to start with. Pork belly was good but really enjoy calamari and we all had different steaks for entre and all were really good, sides were mac n cheese n mashed potatoes both were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

27th Anniversary celebration

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

This Flemings was great on service and Chris the manager was amazing along with Rebecca the Bar waitress! we ordered two lobster tails, both were overdone and crispy! Not good, but Chris did comp them and offered several other options including cooking them again, but we refused based upon we just we plain full after eating snacks in the bar for 1.5 hrs!! (Rebecca was great!) Hopes this helps Flemings get better in the Kitchen since we love to celebrate our anniversary at Flemings every year and have been doing so for 11 straight so far.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

The Price of Excellence

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

My wife and I used to live by the Fleming's in La Jolla and have never been disappointed with the service or the food, whether during happy hour at their bar or for a full meal in their main room. This time, was no exception. We had the French onion soup, a salad, short rib, creamed spinach, and filet mignon. As a married couple, we share all the plates. I usually wind up eating a slightly larger portion because my wife can't eat quite as much. Nonetheless, we savored each and every bite. Our waiter treated us like royalty.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Had 2 dinners at Fleming's. First one wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Had 2 dinners at Fleming's. First one was awful - overcooked steak, 1 hour waiting for a new one, etc. My next experience was better, but not as good as I expected (I gave them another chance). The short rib was just ok. The wagyu ribeye was nice, but sometimes hard to chew.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.