About Fleming's Steakhouse - San Diego

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

380 K Street
San Diego, CA 92101
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
4th Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 237-1155

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/san-diego

Parking Details:
Off street parking is metered, two parking structures within three blocks of the restaurant, plus Valet directly in front of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Trolly & Train

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Good for a Date (38)
Notable Wine List (37)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Romantic (28)
Business Meals (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Good for Groups (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Authentic (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Cozy (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Casual (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Private Room (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Healthy (3)
Waterfront (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fun (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Historic (2)
People Watching (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
876 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service and delicious steaks and salmon

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Delicious as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Excellent food and service. Great steaks, appetizers and desserts. We came for their $49 special of filet and lobster. Great deal for a fine mean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Everything was very good. Only issue was my medium rare ribeye was more medium than rare. Maybe my fault for not clarifying. But it was still good. Just not as good as it could have been. My wife's medium rare filet turned out perfect! Also the $15 lobster that accompanied my steak was about the size of my thumb. Very good, but very small. The dinner was good all in all. We'll be back.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Classic, club-like steakhouse with booth and table dining. Attentive servers (do not hover). Excellent lobster bisque and steaks (filet) done to perfection. Would return.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We took our daughter there for Mother's Day. Our favorite waiter Jason was not there, which disappointed us, since we had asked for him. The only item on the menu which was not ala carte was the prime rib. We found it to have very little flavor, not nearly as good as the one Black Angus sells for 1/3 the price. My husband told the waiter that his baked potato was not done, wasn't soft in the center. Instead of getting him one that was fully cooked, the waiter warmed it in the microwave and returned promptly with the same one. Service was very slow, but it was a holiday, so probably was unavoidable. We usually go when they have the steak and lobster special, and it has always been good. This is the 1st time that Fleming's has disappointed us, and we hope it was only a one-time experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

GREAT food- perfectly prepared steaks in particular. Delicious mac & cheese- salad very good, but not great...
Made our graduation celebration very special with a nice card & a lovely complimentary Creme Brûlée! Service was pleasant & everyone was very nice without being over the top😊Will definitely be back the next time we are in SD🎉

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We love coming here because the service and food is always fantastic!!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 8, 2017

My wife and i both had the prime rib and it was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

All Steak places are usually high end so be prepared to pay but worth it if you have the money. Great for a business meal, to discuss in nice quiet place. Service was excellent. Had hostess Maria who was super friendly and helpful.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The weitress took very long to take our orden She was gone a lot, The Soup was very hot like microwaved almost burned my toung , The crab legs not high quality, the salmon to greasy wont be going back soon, we prefere the oye in La Joya.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

I have already given a 5 star review on Google maps, and spoke highly of the manager (Jim) for making our honeymoon visit that will be spoken about forever. Top that off with excellent meats cooked perfect to our liking and creative sides. The waiter (Roland) was helpful with any question or request that we had and made us feel welcomed. My wife would recommend the chocolate truffle martini to any chocolate or cocktail lover.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The Sunday Prime Rib prix fixe menu is a great deal as it includes a salad, side, prime rib dinner and dessert!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Friendly staff, great food, we enjoyed seating in a quieter area of the dining layout.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Food was outstanding and service was truly amazing even when the restaurant was full of Prom couples.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Fleming's never disappoints! Great meal and great service!! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 25, 2017

B day celebration. Our server Sam was excellent. I love how Fleming's server reaffirm my menu choices with a subtly said "excellent choice ". Everything was perfect.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 24, 2017

The best!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great steaks! The ambience was superb. Food was incredible and our server was great. He was very attentive to our needs and did an incredible job explaining the menu to us.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Jason was great and he made it a memorable night for our family. Fantastic service and food was delicious. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (México)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Muy buena comida y el servicio regular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Excellent food and service. I have a few favorite places to meet and take friends/family and Fleming's is at the top of my list. I had the filet/crab cake and both were perfectly prepared. The other members of my party were as pleased as i was.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Healthy, Romantic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My partner and I chose Flemings for my son's 30th birthday dinner and we were not disappointed. We each chose the surf n turf special for dinner and all of us agreed that every course tasted fabulous. Our waiter, David K., was friendly, knowledgeable and efficient as was Danielle, who ensured that our glasses were never empty. The staff presented my son with a signed birthday card (a nice touch) and the manager presented him with a small box with four delicious truffles (a very thoughtful gesture)! We'd highly recommend Flemings to anyone willing to spend a small chunk of change for a a great meal and a memorable dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very good customer service!! Friendly waitresses and servers.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We went here for our 10th anniversary dinner before our trip out of town. We go here quite a bit and it is my husband's favorite steakhouse...possibly his favorite restaurant. Management and service are spectacular! Thanks for always making us feel special!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great service and great food. The lobster bisque was the 2nd best I've had. I was with 4 other people and all meals were spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We had a fantastic dinner, great waiter, great dessert and cocktails. We love coming to Flemings, we were early for our reservation, went to the bar for a cocktail and they found us a table in the bar earlier than our reservation.
Love the service here, which is one of the reasons we love this place.

Tags: Disabled Access, Cozy, Family Style, Casual, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I am sure people know Flemings for there steak. They know how to do steak it is simply the best. The service is impeccable and the wine list is nothing short of spectacular.

Tags: Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I visit SD a couple times a year and always manage a great dinner at Flemings as they routinely deliver a superior dinner experience, from the food- we all had the filet and lobster tail, to the wine - Duckhorn and Goldeneye, to the great service it's pretty much perfect. Absolutely no complaints, I will be back, again and again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great meal

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great service, on time reservations, made seating accommodations, waiter explained menu specials, Great Service all around

Tags: Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

First time to Fleming's downtown. We went for a pre-theatre meal. The service was good although not on par with Mr. O's. The bone in rib eye with wht/blk peppercorn dry rub was perfectly cooked as was the lobster tail and grilled asparagus. Wine selection is solid, but pay attention. The best wines, selected for this location, appear separately following the meal menu (its not on page one with the Fleming's general list). That is where the good vintage lays.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Just an overall great place for a nice dinner. Wonderful service and the food was cooked perfectly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 31, 2017

The famously and usually delicious onion soup was extremely salty which brought me embarrassment since I touted it to my guests. Management kindly took it off the bill and apologized, but the damage was done. Since the soup has been good other times, I may try it again when I return. The steaks were delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Had a great dinner overall. Service and ambiance were top notch... especially from David K. Steaks were great, as expected at a steakhouse :-) Also, we appreciated the perfect pacing of the entire meal, not slow and not rushed... just right!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 26, 2017

My family and I ate here twice on recent trip to San Diego. Have had outstanding meals at Fleming's on past visits. First night, my rib eye steak was ordered medium rare. When the steak arrived it was so under cooked that I am not sure it would have qualified as being rare and was so tough I could not chew it. Others in our party had under cooked steak as well. We decided to eat there again a few nights later as we thought Fleming's may have had an off night, as we all can have. Fooled my twice, my fault!. Same story as first night, except this time our service was terrible. The waiter disappeared for long periods of time and was not at all friendly when he did finally show up. I don't think we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Over the top service by Pete the waiter. Nice touch by Heather and management made it a memorable dinner. Pricey but I will go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Definitely had a great steak (petite filet mignon) and the barbecue Scottish Salmon was amazing. I did however, add the truffle Poached lobster to my steak but it didn't even have the caviar that it described on the menu and I couldn't taste any truffle (I totally forgot till I saw a pic of it and looked at menu again)...so that seemed like a waste of $15 for a few small bites of lobster. But the overall service made up for it. David K was a great waiter and we received a personalized card signed by the staff for our Anniversary along with two glasses of champagne, and chocolate truffles. Thanks for a memorable dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Outstanding and friendly service. Food preparation was superb and taste was excellent, from seafood tower to steaks to cheesecake.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Maria H. was our server. She was fantastic. She knew what we needed/wanted and took great care of us.
We had the best wine recommendations and Maria kept everything coming quickly and perfectly cooked.

We were greeted by management and had a chance to meet the wonderful chef Didi.

Dessert was delicious and the entire evening was perfect. We will come back to Fleming's again soon and will recommend the restaurant to anyone looking for great service and food while in Downtown San Diego! Thanks Maria and Flemings staff.

We appreciated everything and loved the special touches that made our dining experience perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.