About Fleming's Steakhouse - San Antonio

255 East Basse Road
Suite 200
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Jones Maltsberger Road

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 824-9463

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/tx/san-antonio

Parking Details:
Parking at or near the restaurant Complimentary Valet service available.

Public Transit:
Bus stops on Jones-Maltsberger Road as well as Basse Road.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - San Antonio Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
See All
Good for a Date (18)
Romantic (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Business Meals (12)
Worth the Drive (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Fun (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Cozy (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Private Room (3)
Casual (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Seasonal (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Authentic (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
599 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

Flemings came way short of my expectations. We went there because we got a gift certificate for $100. The meal plus tip still cost me another $100 and that's with only 3 drinks and no desert. For two people.

It's the little things that this restaurant is not paying attention to. Unattentive service. When I say medium, I mean pink throughout, not just the center. It's bringing out the guy with the breadcrumb stick for wiping out the breadcrumbs. Maybe even explaining any specials without my asking. Just mediocre all around.

If I compare this experience vs. say Truluck's Steak and Stone Crab in Austin (and elsewhere), there is just no comparison. It would have been a better experience at a lower price. And it would have included desert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

First table we sat at wobbled really bad so we asked to be moved. Went to booth and it was fine. Food came out and they had our steaks on the wrong plates and the lobster was so overdone we couldn't eat it. My wife had a hair in her food as well. I hate to give a bad review and they did credit us our dinners but this Flemings needs an upgrade bad. Furniture is worn out and kitchen needs an upgrade in staff. Drinks were fine so I could recommend for that. I am in sales and eat out 130 days per year and know a good restaurant. Usually these are pretty good.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great service and atmosphere. Steak was good at best for a Prime Dry-aged ribeye. Lacking in flavor and tenderness. Great wines. My real "beef" is with the lack of some type of dress code. Majority of folks were in sport coats/suits as was I. Several people in ball caps(while seated and eating) looked like they just got off lake after day of fishing. Kind of a mood killer, especially on Valentines Day.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Normally, the food and service is excellent. My husband and I selected Fleming's for our Valentine's Day dinner. We have attempted to go here on a busy holiday in the past and were also disappointed. I suppose I was hopeful.

We will definitely return but never again on a busy occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The Fleming in Dayton Ohio is amazing, we just had a bad experience at the SA location. Our steaks were overcooked and chard. The Fleming potatoes we always get and typically LOVE were very bland and undercooked. Definitely disappointed this time around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food. Asked for sautéed spinach which was not on the menu. It was out of this world!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great as always. Stephanie was a superb server with great wine recommendations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Went for our 15th anniversary and they absolutely rolled out the red carpet. The service is top notch and they are friendly as hell. The food is outstanding, you can beat the bone in rib eye.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Overall, the service was great, but the food was mediocre. My steak, a ribeye, was very thin and a bit over cooked. Probably it was the worst steak I have had at a premium steakhouse ever. They were very busy and my guess is they were running low on steaks and served one that on any other night would not make the cut.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The staff at the restaurant was incredible, very knowledgeable about everything on the menu and wine list. I also had the opportunity to speak with the manager, he was walking around talking with everyone in the restaurant. They have a great team over there, stop by and have some great food as well as enjoying the great service.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was my first time and I would definitely go back! We enjoyed the food and the ambiance.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I have dined at Flemings on many occasions, for many years. Unfortunately, this time it was sub par. Food, drink service times, service not very attentive. No wonder the place was only half full on a Friday night at 8 pm. Something has changed. Maybe management?? don't know.

There are to many other very nice steakhouses in SA. May not go back. Sad I live very close.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The hostess was super-patient with me- my friend had an hour away from work so we pre-ordered the food which arrived promptly when he did. Our waitress Kimberly was friendly and never batted and eye when I wanted extra ground pepper, lemons for my tea, blue cheese dressing on the side of my salad and she didn't bat-an-eye when I ordered my friend's steak at medium temperature. Then they surprised us w delicious truffles as we signed the check. What a lovely, affordable, delicious and quick dinner!! Thanks so much!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Outstanding service not only from our main waitress but the neighboring waitstaff as well.

Definitely pricey, but hard to argue with the quality of the experience that you pay for.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 30, 2017

My husband and I love going to Fleming on our date nights. The food and the service is outstanding and we love the ambiance. It makes our date night special and we enjoy the time we spend there. We are not rushed and can relax and enjoy out time together.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 30, 2017

I've enjoyed Fleming's on many occasions and always find the cuisine quite good. This evening we were celebrating 2 birthdays and the manager helped to make the evening special. My only complaint was the quality of the filets were not the typical standard I've become accustomed to . The meat seemed tougher and less flavorful and perhaps less aged

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great steak and Pinot Noir

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Amazing dinner great menu, staff made it really special for us for my fiancée birthday! Our waiter was excellent and the manager was great as well!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Outstanding food and service. I was really impressed with the attentiveness shown and in every single detail, too! Offered me a black napkin after seating us, so I wouldn't get white lint on my black dress... Very impressed with their attention to detail and that was by far the best aged rib eye I've ever tasted! Perfection!!!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food was excellent it was well worth the cost. I will definitely be visiting them again.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 18, 2017

It was great and will be going there again soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was good, but I bristle at the need to pay extra for a salad and sides to my entree. If I did not have gift cards I would have gone somewhere less expensive but just as good.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Jordan provided exceptional service. Abraham was very attentive. Hosts were pleasant and welcoming.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was my first time there. The food was amazing. Our waitress, Jordan was great! She was knowledgeable and recommended a great wine for my meal!

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Family Style, Fun, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The New Year's Eve dinner special, with a stuffed crab meat wedge salad , a bone-in filet and lobster tail, Flemings potatoes and choice of dessert, was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our server, Tony, is one of the main reasons we dine at Fleming's. Food is good, but the service and rapport we have with Tony is great!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Overall we were very pleased with our visit. Just a couple of minor things: We were not offered bread and a carafe for our wine.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Made a reservation and was told we had to wait while they seated two other parties ahead of us (what's the point of a reservation). Service was top notch, and food was good. Lobster tail was underdone, but they quickly replaced it. I would eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 27, 2016

My wife and I have dined here on several occasions. Always pleased with experience except for this time. Steak was very dry which was unusual. Other than that service and wine were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

As always, Fleming's was extraordinary in every way. The service was beyond outstanding and the rare filets were perfect. Overall, an excellent evening and kudos to the staff at Fleming's for a wonderful dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very disappointed. My soup was tasty, but lukewarm. Took forever to get our entries. They served my husband crab cakes when he ordered crab legs. My steak was seriously undercooked and barely warm. They took it back to cook when they brought my husband's correct entry, then offered me a new, hot baked potato AFTER they brought my new steak. This was our Christmas Eve celebration, so very disappointing. We won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very attentive, helpful service. Steaks perfectly done. LOVED, LOVED, LOVED the brussels sprouts! Disappointed in the lobster bisque - delicious flavor, but the tepid temperature distracted from enjoying it as much as the full potential if it had been piping hot.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Seven of us enjoyed an excellent meal on Christmas eve. a very busy evening. Our food was

served hot and in a timely manner, thanks to our waiter. Louis. We'll be back.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Mark is a great waiter! He has waited on us several times and always makes it pleasurable!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Flemings never disappoints! Always top notch service and food quality! Our favorite date nice/special occasion restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Excellent - We can't wait to return! I have already recommended this restaurant to friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Steaks were super average - any time you have to add a lot of butter on top of a $58 ribeye I'm skeptical - proven correct. The meat quality has gone WAY DOWN over the past few years at Flemings. Cuts are too thin.

Per usual, however, the service was impeccable and the ambiance is terrific. I wish the steaks were thicker be more closely resemble mine at home on the grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Server was amazing but did spend a good 30 min at the end of the meal doing side work. My Pork Chop was supposed to be medium but came out well done (still delicious), my boyfriends ribeye was supposed to be medium rare and came out medium well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Truffeled mash potatoes were great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Great date night venue. Great service, pleasant ambiance, awesome martinis, terrific food! We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Very good not as good as last time.Service was a little slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I always enjoy a dining experience at Fleming's. The food is always excellent, service is always great.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Been going there for years sometimes better than others. Depends on staff in kitchen

and how busy they are doing the evening. Other than that will continue to eat there.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Had a GREAT Thanksgiving menu - loved the food and the service was outstanding! Can't wait to go back for one of their steaks!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went for Thanksgiving, reserved table for two at 2:15, arrived at 2:20, seated at 2:40 (understandable for large lunch crowd). Great waiter.. Andreas took and delivered orders promptly. Wife had small plate shrimp and sea scalloops with an au gratin potato side. I had a 12 oz Filet Mignon with a peppercorn rub and shoestring potatoes. Both meals delivered quickly and hot, steak was done per order, but missing the rub, which was corrected quickly by Andreas. Steak was a bit stringy in texture and lacked a seasoned taste throughout the cut and had some char on the edges. Shoestring potatoes quickly lost heat, so within a few minutes became cold and crunchy. Greeted by the manager and presented with a discount card for next month. We ordered deserts to go (walnut/pecan pie and carrot cake). Upon opening at home, portions were very small for the price paid (the pie was perhaps a 1/16th slice of a pie, the cake slightly better). Ambience is stately décor of wood panels throughout, low lighting, and comfortable booths. Perhaps food prep would be better when not so busy with holiday traffic. We have had better food at similarly priced restaurants (Kirbys or Bohanans)...Fleming's was OK for a one-time experiment, but not for a repeat one.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Excellent food and service. Calamari appetizer was exceptional. Pricey but perfect for a special occasion.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Excellent experience for celebrating our 48th wedding anniversary. Good Food and Excellent Service and we will go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent dinner. The staff was amazing. Definitely will come back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I have been to this Flemming's a number of times and had great experiences most of the time. This time was just a miss. I was there with 6 people and most steaks came out cold and 4 were undercooked. The sides were not up to the standard I have had at the restaurant in the past. The wine was good and the service was great. Friendly, helpful waiter. However, when I am going to drop that much on a meal, I expect the quality of the food to be much higher. I didn't go for the wine & waiter. I went for a great steak. Unfortunately, it was not the night to go. Not sure the next time I will return since there are comparable priced steakhouses that do not disappoint.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.