About Fleming's Steakhouse - Richmond

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

9200 Stony Point Parkway
Suite 131
Richmond, VA 23235
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(804) 272-7755

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/va/richmond

Parking Details:
Parking in mall lot adjacent to the restaurant.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Richmond Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for Birthdays (15)
See All
Good for a Date (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Romantic (10)
Business Meals (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Private Room (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Casual (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Cozy (3)
Fun (3)
Authentic (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Family Style (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Scenic View (1)
People Watching (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
501 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 4 days ago

Our table was ready and awaiting our arrival. Our waitress was very good, French Onion soup was superb as was our Molten Lava cake. I wasnt really hungry, so ordered the Lobster Tempura. It was very, very salty as was our side potatoes. I felt parched the rest of the evening. Also, there was a large party, laughing so loud the WHOLE ttime we were there. We couldnt hear what each other was saying the whole meal!! So disturbing. Really ruined our night!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Busy Valentine night but they were well prepared with many managers and waitstaff working. Waitress was there at the table immediately upon us being seated, she was well versed in the menu and wine selection, our glasses were never empty. Overall great experience!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Staff was nice..we had new server training but he seemed to pick up things rather quickly..food was GREAT as usual..great vibe.. my better half enjoyed everything...

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Both steaks were inedible: my husband ordered rare and received well done; my steak was 1/3 fat.

His was sent back to kitchen and new steak arrived 20 minutes later, properly cooked but so covered with pepper it was terrible.

Boxed up his steak and took it home so that he could wipe pepper off and eat for lunch.

Manager comped my steak but would never go back. Poor execution of a very simple meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Husband's prime rib, although tasty, was fattier than what he expected from this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great atmosphere and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food. But....there was a mix up in the kitchen which resulted in an hour wait for our food. And he staff did not even try to give us some kind of peace offering. Will try again but not for a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Not up to standard I thought it would be. TwoMeals came out cold and had to be sent back. Disappointed for a birthday dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent as always. Service is the best in town for sure

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Absolutely the best service and food experience we have had at Flemings or maybe anywhere else in Richmond. Our waiter, Chris Miller, did an incrediable job. The steak was perfect, the wine was excellent and the dessert was wonderful. The dining room was packed resulting in a fairly high but acceptable noise level. We usually try to get there very early in the evening before the crowd.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Wow !- What a steak - very good meal- Thad our server had great suggestions

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We have eaten there many times without problems. This time I was there for dinner with my son. I ordered the dry aged ribeye which was tough and without flavor. My son had a NY strip that was good. I ultimately sent mine back and asked for the strip. My son was finished eating while we waited for my strip. It was tender but without flavor. The waiter did a good job but the manger never came to apologize until I asked for him. Very bad experience for $150 (including drinks). After I asked they took my steak off the bill but I gave an equal amount in tip to the waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Amazing food and service, but at a price... BUT, instead of points or things like that- we were given gift cards good for 2 months to return with... that was a nice surprise.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 22, 2017

First try dining at Flemings. Ordered 4 of the dry aged ribeye's. One was clearly a different cut. They also got the serving temperatures mixed up so we had to cut all the steaks and figure it out for ourselves.

Overpriced chain. Next time I will go back to Buckheads. That is always an A+ dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We enjoyed the food and drink at the bar during happy hour. The calamari was amazing. The meal in the dining room was highly overpriced. We waited a long time for our steak and porkchop. My filet was very salty but otherwise well cooked. The Fleming potatoes were not very plentiful and also salty. $150 for a less than memorable meal is disappointing.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great staff. Quality wine list. Good non beef selections too. Great for husband's birthday celebration. He loved it. Truffles as a gift was nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Good to be back at RVA Flemings.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The bone in filet was very good. The crab claw option was underwhelming (for the price). Appetizers and drink options were very good as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Would not recommend to anyone. Over priced!! We also ordered something with no bacon due to allergies and they said the oysters had no bacon and we bit into it and it had ALOT of bacon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was excellent but to make the whole experience perfect we had a wonderful server.

The next time we visit we will be asking for David Friend to take care of us again.

Tags: Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Fleming's has always been a favorite. We went for their Sunday Prime Rib dinner and it did not disappoint. Wait staff is superb and food delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Private Room, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went to celebrate New Year with family. Waitstaff very pleasant but not very professional., calling the male members in the party "Bro!" Began removing dishes before everyone had finished their food and asking people what they wanted for desert. The restaurant had many empty tables so it was not a time issue problem.

Seemed to have a problem with flies and had to ask for another two glasses of wine because there was flies doing backstroke in both glasses.

Food overpriced and mediocre, steak not cooked to request, when asking for medium and actually being well done as well as 3 orders being delivered to the wrong person. Have visited Mortons and Ruth Chris in the past. They both give you value for the money.

As it was New Year we was given a glass of bubbly wine at midnight but that was it! Other restaurants we have booked for that evening give hats, streamers etc to make it a little special. Just before midnight the staff congregated around the bar watching a small TV for the countdown to the New Year.

Disappointed to say the least, will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We made reservations online and received a follow up phone. We celebrated New Year's at Fleming. We had drinks and dinner. Our waiter was awesome. The food and environment was excellent. We left to visit some family and friends and return for drinks and conversations. The bartender did an amazing job with our martinis. This was my second visit to Fleming. Both were wonderfull experiences.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fun, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We actually both became sick about 5 hours after we dined there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Steak was undercooked at rare / medium rare (cold center), not medium as ordered. I asked them to cook the steak to medium but they returned the steak in the same condition. I did not request the staff to cook the steak more because it took so long for them to return the steak in the first place. However, I slice the steak and cooked it on the hot plate. To add insult to injury, they took my plate that had sides (including my son's fries that I moved off his plate temporarily) served but they returned the plate without any of sides. I did not complain again. I was annoyed and did not feel like dealing with the staff further. Poor service. I will not return. I will go to Ruth's Chris instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Fleming's has become our Christmas Eve tradition and we look forward to it each year. Our server Chris was very knowledgeable and courteous. We left happy and full. Thank you for adding to our Christmas!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We have always had excellent meals and service at Flemings.

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The service at our visit to Flemings was great! The bar staff were pleasant and prompt. The wait staff, once seated, were as well. However, the steak was far undercooked, the lamb chops over cooked, the few small bits of lump crab meat served with two asparagus spears (ala carte addition) was ridiculously overpriced. The same glass of wine was $7 on happy hour at the bar was $14 at the table. The total bill was $174 for two and didn't appear to worth anywhere near that . (We did not penalize the server's tip though it was plain the "C Team" was in the kitchen).

I have had many decent business dinners at this restaurant so I hope this mediocre dinner was an anomaly.

Tags: Private Room, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Everything was good but for the money I'd've preferred one of the area's unique local upscale places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very good food with great service. Also very pricey. Noise level was very high. We were there for a family Birthday and it was hard to talk across the table due to the noise level.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We love the Sunday Prime Rib special at Flemmings. It includes salad, prime rib, a side, and a dessert for $39.95.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Not as good as usual. Got there for 5pm reservation and still took forever for food - very slow service this time despite only like five other tables. Seafood tower was delicious as expected. Lamb chops not as good as expected. Short rob small plate was excellent as was the goat cheese grits

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Delays in our meal (about an hour for entree) were offset with comping of appetizer. The steaks were moderately tasty when arrived, the sides were great. Very noisy location and price of the drinks was a bit insane (I drink scotch and accustomed to doubles of single malt being pricey but wow, 6 for domestic beers and 1 double glenfiddich 12 = 60 bucks. Drink elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Perfect evening. Food and waitstaff were outstanding. Celebrated our son's 21st birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We felt that the food was very very expensive. The quality was good but not great for the price. We love Ruth Chris and were trying something different for a birthday. The staff was very nice but the big bill and just OK food sort of put a damper on our experience. We will go back to Ruth Chris when we are in the mood to splurge next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Everything is consistently great here. It's pricey but 100% worth it for a fine dining experience. Service is always on point as well. One of my favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Melt in your mouth steaks with outstanding flavor. Friendly, attentive service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The staff were very courteous, knowledgeable, and helpful. The food was good, but not worth the exorbitant prices. It's nice for a special occasion, but it's only for the wealthy on a regular basis.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The service and food was great. We mentioned a friend with us was celebrating his Birthday and he received a special package with a $25. Gift card for a future visit and fine chocolates. They also took a picture and printed it out for him. Lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 3, 2016

It took a very long time to get our steaks, at least 45 minutes after our salad. When the steaks came they were overcooked, dry and the last few bites I couldn't eat. It basically didn't taste that good. Salad and dessert were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Another great meal at Flemings. When we asked our son where he wanted to go for his 17th birthday, he immediately said Flemings. I was happy to make the reservation - and even happier that our two teenage sons didn't mind putting on collared shirts and sitting in a dining room with their parents for an hour! We over-estimated our travel time and arrived very early for our reservation. The staff was gracious and quickly seated us. They made a special effort to wish our son a happy birthday, which was much appreciated. Our server James, and all of the wait staff, were friendly and professional. The meal, as always, was well-timed and delicious. Our sons ordered the filet mignon and NY Strip, my husband ordered the strip and I had the appetizer crabcakes. We all had salads, shared a calamari appetizer and (the most delicious) spinach side. While it's not the cheapest steak in town, I would rather pay for a well-executed and consistently high quality meal at Flemings than take my chances at just about any other chain restaurant. Kudos to the excellent staff - from the time we walked in until we walked out - for making our night out so enjoyable. My husband and I will be back in a couple of weeks to celebrate his birthday and our anniversary. We are looking forward to it!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 23, 2016

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary. It was a Sunday, and the menu had a special prime rib dinner with salad, side and dessert. It was a great value. The service was outstanding, the staff was friendly, the food delicious and portions were generous. My daughter had given my husband a $25 gift card earlier in the year. I did not realize the card had an expiration date. I was saving it for this occasion. The management was gracious in allowing us to use the card. I would certainly dine at Fleming's again and recommend to family and friends.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food at your Fleming's is always excellent.......but for some reason we found it especially tasty this visit. Filet was to die for, creamed spinach the best we've ever eaten anywhere. We wish we lived closer so we could come more often.

Tags: Healthy, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Always good, not outstanding. Steak was advertised as American Kobe beef. Hardly. Wish I had ordered a Ribeye.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Went to Flemngs to celebrate our 48th wedding anniversary. The evening was perfect. Great food and great service made it a special meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Our experience at Fleming's was not positive. The evening was intended as a celebration but was entirely derailed by slow, forgetful and inattentive service. The waiter had to be reminded regularly about things we had requested (bread, water, butter, a drink menu, a drink order), and failed to ask us if we wanted another drink (wine) when the glass sat empty. For one guest at our table her drink order never arrived, we weren't charged but stopped pressing the request after the 2nd time it was forgotten.

The waiter's demeanor was "retail nice" but forgetful and he was absent for long periods of time. Additionally, the service was incredibly slow, with the meal (appetizers & mains) lasting nearly 2.5 hours. While I'm all for a leisurely paced meal, this was ridiculous. As a departure from the waiter that served us, the support staff were friendly and great... providing water refills regularly, busing plates, and engaging us very genuinely (as people). FYI, the restaurant was about 80% full when we arrived (Sat 730pm) and about 20% full when we left (10pm) it was not busy enough to justify the slow wait time.

The food was good, with steaks cooked to the appropriate (ordered) temperatures, and apps/sides that were enjoyable.

The atmosphere was ok, with tight booths (for 4) and reminiscent of many upscale chain restaurants. The space is at a mall, and includes high wood clad ceilings and red leather booths. The noise was reasonable and you could enjoy a nice conversation with your table. There appeared to be a wide variety of dress allowed. While we opted for business casual (as advised online), there was no shortage of casual wear (shorts, flip flops, t-shirts, and more) mixed in throughout the restaurant.

The prices were expected but the value was low. For the same money you can visit the locally owned Buckheads, or another national chain that may serve you better (Ruth's Chris or Mortons).

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Service by Kathryn was outstanding. Manager came by for very brief check-in to see that things were going well. Both apps were terrific.; crab cakes and pork belly with grits.

Entrees were prepared to order. Sides were average. Creamed spinach needs some work with flavor profile. Green beans were just okay. Flemings signature scalloped potatoes were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Best steakhouse in Richmond. Rest oMenu excellent choices

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Good service and food was really good. Consistently a pleasurable place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Good food and great service. Nice restaurant that is Ideal for special occasions

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.