About Fleming's Steakhouse - Providence

One West Exchange Street
Providence, RI 02903
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 4:30 - 11:00 pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Sabin Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(401) 533-9000

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ri/providence

Parking Details:
Host valet provided by the Westin hotel for a discounted rate of $9.00

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Providence Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Rhode Island
Best Restaurants in Providence ›

special occasion (55)
notable wine list (34)
romantic (31)
See All
fit for foodies (22)
good for groups (22)
vibrant bar scene (9)
hot spot (7)
neighborhood gem (6)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (3)
great for lunch (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
520 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Good but not exceptional

vip
Dined 3 days ago

We were celebrating a birthday dinner and unfortunately they were out of the aged rib eye steak for the birthday guy. :-( Dinner was good but for the price I was hoping for exceptionally delicious.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service3

Lots of mistakes Comped dessert and veg ...

Dined 3 days ago

Lots of mistakes Comped dessert and vegetable Little disappointed given price

food5
ambience4
service5

Great steak and great service.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great steak and great service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing restaurant and staff!!!

Dined on May 13, 2016

Amazing restaurant and staff!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I called ahead to inform the management ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

I called ahead to inform the management about a few special requests. I was assured they could and would be met, and that the wait staff would be aware. When we arrived, we were greeted respectfully and seated promptly. Everything at our table was the way we "needed" it to be. Our servers were courteous to our needs and all went well as intended. The food was absolutely delicious, especially the bone in rib eye. You must order the berries and cream, as it is to die for.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food. Went for the Wagu but they r ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Great food. Went for the Wagu but they ran out. Got the bone in ribeye which was very good. Waiter was below average. He seemed nervous. Lava cake is a must.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

My son and I took my wife to dinner for Mother's Day and true to our past experience, the food and service was excellent at Fleming's. The only downside to eating at this Fleming's is the cost to park your car. Across the street, the Capital Grille, perhaps the best restaurant in Providence, has complimentary valet parking. Fleming's has a deal with the Omni hotel for $9 (plus tip) to valet park.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service3

Had a 5pm reservation and got there 15 ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had a 5pm reservation and got there 15 minutes early but still had to wait and ended up being seated around 5:20pm... Service was good but slow. When the food arrived my daughters steak was way undercooked and I had to remind the server that a side dish was missing...Being a restaurant specializing in steaks there should never be an issue. The food is very expensive and even though your ticket for parking is "validated" you still have to pay the base rate.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bob from Dartmouth,Ma.

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was excellent!The service was attentive!We will go back!

Tags: special occasions
food5
ambience4
service4

Hard to hear

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

Hard to hear

food5
ambience5
service5

This experience was excellent. The seafo ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

This experience was excellent. The seafood tower was out of this world. The steak was delicious. Just leave your deep pocket pants at home lol.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Restaurant

Dined on April 16, 2016

We came here before a concert at PPAC. Wine selection was great. Food was excellent and service was top-notch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for Easter afternoon

Dined on March 27, 2016

Went after the fancy Easter Brunch with my wife and my 90 year old dad so it wasn't so crowded. It took a little while to sit down because we had to wait for the Brunch crowd to clear out but it was fine. We got a drink at the bar and I asked the bartender if we could put it on the food tab and she said sure - just let your waiter know. Wow that doesn't happen often - what a great idea. Once seated the service, food and drinks were all excellent. The choices of wines by the glass was superb and the coffee was exceptional. I've been wanting to try Fleming's for some time now and it was worth the wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

All food was very good

Dined on March 27, 2016

All food was very good

food5
ambience5
service5

Alwayas a fantastic meal, exceptional se ...

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Alwayas a fantastic meal, exceptional service and an overall terrific experience.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best steaks we've ever had

Dined on March 12, 2016

Classy décor and very professional and friendly hostess and our waitress Laurie was just the right amount of attentive. My boyfriend had the New York strip medium well and I had the petite filet medium rare, with the peppercorn sauce on the side. Both cuts were so delicious, albeit pricey, but they were worth it. I didn't need a steak knife for my filet, so tender! We split a baked potato and it was perfectly cooked as well. We will definitely be back for another special date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service great food

Dined on March 2, 2016

Excellent service great food

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch dining

Dined on February 28, 2016

We eat at Flemings about once a month. Always a pleasure to eat there. Service is always wonderful as is the food. The couple times we have had an issue it as been handled just as you would expect when you are paying this amount for a level of high quality food and service. Matt Barnes is hands down the best server I have ever encountered. He remembers who you are, what your preference is as far as food and drinks, even others in your party that have been with you one visit. Matt makes every penny we spend worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding experience all around!

Dined on February 20, 2016

My wife and I have been to Flemings Providence before and thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience. The service, food, drinks and vibe was perfect and made fir a great evening for our dear friends birthday celebration. The service from Jeff our waiter and attention and pleasnt greeting from Manny the Manager contribued to our wonderful time. Flemings in Providence is a must go if your looking for that perfect dining experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrating double birthdays and the nig ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Celebrating double birthdays and the night was great! Calamari, homemade Burrata, Steaks were outstanding selected a variety of ribeye, NY strip, filet with the coffee rub or porcini mushrooms. And the chocolate lava cakes were made to order and outstanding. Service was perfect - just enough when you need it. Loved the bday gift the restaurant gave to the guests of honor very nice touch !!

food5
ambience5
service5

Ask for Matt he is awesome! Excellent s ...

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

Ask for Matt he is awesome! Excellent service! Steak was a little over but the manager took care of us.

food4
ambience2
service2
value2

ran out of steak

Dined on February 15, 2016

busy valentines day, ordered after sitting for 30 mins. then 40 mins later i was told they were out of what i ordered. picked what they told me was left. then 30 mins later they told me they were out of that too and that our meal was free. took 2 plus hours to have a meal, was ridiculous. food is good but planning on their part was bad for a holiday weekend.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

was just ok

Dined on February 15, 2016

We arrived early and notified hostess. We were sat 10 minutes later than my reservation, No big deal. This was Valentines Day do I know its busy. We were presented our menus and waiter took our drink order . Place had a strange selection of music playing for a fine dining Restaurant. After deciding what would like for dinner we were told they were out of the Filet .????Really Valentines Day and your out? Also no mashed potatoes ,,wow. I ordered the Prime Rib. ordered it Medium ,it looked as though it was put on the grill. Greyish on the outside with seared ends. The meat itself was medium rare when cut into. Other than that, my wife had the petite Filet which she enjoyed. With all the high end steak houses out there, I doubt Flemings will get my business again

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Flemings

Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was delicious and service was wonderful. The warm bread and cheese spreads are to die for! And our ceasur salads had bacon, awesome. The wine was perfect. The meals and side also delicious. However for the price, the sides shoujld come with the meal. Very expensive restaurant and night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

not as expected

Dined on February 15, 2016

My wife and I have gone to Flemings for many years and always go on valentine’s day. This year to our surprise Flemings a steakhouse was out of Ribeye steaks, this is unacceptable in my book. The waiter recommended the craftsman Ribeye which they did have and to our surprise it was horrible and not at all what we expected. This was a disappointing experience and our last time going to Flemings.

food5
ambience5
service5

Service, food & wine were unbelievable! ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Service, food & wine were unbelievable! 5 star all the way! My first time there... We'll be back! Filet mignon & lobster tail!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a great meal...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

We have eaten here many times and always enjoy a great meal. It was notable that on Valentine's weekend, that our service was especially outstanding. Jeremy went above and beyond being a very observant server. Thanks for a great night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Steak! Great Service!

Dined on February 13, 2016

The occasion was to celebrate our son's birthday. Upon arrival the hostess was nice but did not make us welcomed at first. Our table was not ready and after standing for a few mintues not sure what was the issue, she stated why we were waiting and apologized. The waiter was great and the manager greeted everyone to make sure the customers experience was to their liking. My children, although teenagers were spoken to and treated the same, which is rare in some restaurants. The food was fantastic and everyone's steak was cooked to perfection.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2

The server totally did not want to be th ...

Dined on February 8, 2016

The server totally did not want to be there. We felt it. The food was okay, wasn't anything special. The kitchen you can see, but you just see the servers and manager hanging out. Wasn't very comforting. The host staff wasn't very friendly the closer hostess was more friendly then the one we first met.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good meal

Dined on January 31, 2016

We have eaten here before and feel as if the service and the quality moderately fell this visit. The steak was not cook to perfection and in fact was a little underdone and the french fries were way over done. The salads were both great and the cheesecake was fantastic. They seem to trying to squeeze as many tables as possible into the space which diminishes from the ambiance.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Lovely evening

Dined on January 30, 2016

We reserved at Flemings since it was part of the Omni hotel where we were staying and it was very convenient. We were seated immediately upon arrival even though we were a bit early for our reservation. This was our choice as the hostess asked us if we wanted to have a drink at the bar first but we chose not to do so. The restaurant was not really crowded. The service was a little slow but, that being said, our waiter Edgar was very good - very personable and knowledgeable. My husband had mushoom ravioli for his appetizer and loved it! Our entrees were excellent - I had seared ahi and my husband had the bone-in filet. We were both very happy with our choices. The only issue we had was that it took forever for my husband to get his first glass of wine. My mixed drink came and we waited a while for his glass of wine. His appetizer was finished by the time it came. He also ordered another different wine to accompany his dinner but we waited a very long time for that as well. Our waiter did finally come back and tell us that they did not have the wine hubby ordered and that they even went to the sister restaurant on the second floor to check to see if they had it. We appreciated the effort but wish he would have come and told us why it was taking so long. He suggested another similar wine which was brought fairly quickly but my husband was almost done with his dinner by that time. We had reservations for 5:45 and were done at 7:15 - a little longer than I had planned to be at dinner but not a real issue since our tickets to Cabaret were for 8 pm. Still out in plenty of time. When we left, the place was hopping so I guess later dinner reservations would have made it harder for us to catch the show. All in All, we would probably go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Fantastic pork belly, perfectly cooked s ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

Fantastic pork belly, perfectly cooked steak, but somewhat bland.

food5
ambience5
service4

Staff extremely attentive.

Dined on January 23, 2016

Staff extremely attentive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

superlative dinner

Dined on January 22, 2016

We brought my mother to Flemings for her 85th birthday celebration. The staff treated her and the entire party like royalty. Our waiter Ken was very attentive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a fantastic night out with friends! ...

Dined on January 22, 2016

What a fantastic night out with friends! We went for restaurant week so it wasn't too expensive and the food and service were awesome! The steak was delicious and sides were good, too!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Experience

Dined on January 18, 2016

We eat at Flemings several times a year. We have always had excellent servers, very good food and delightful wines. And, we do enjoy the follow- up emails thanking us for dining there.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Waiter not attentive. strip steak VERY fatty.

Dined on January 18, 2016

The waiter never checked in with me personally to see if my meal was good, cooked to satisfaction, etc. All of his questions and comments were addressed to my husband. Even my husband noticed this!!!! For the amount of $ we spent, we could've had 3 FABULOUS meals elsewhere.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Fleming's is a definite recommend for dinner

Dined on January 1, 2016

If you enjoy steak Fleming's is the best. We have eaten there twice this week and the food is delicious and consistent. Over the year's Fleming's gas become our go to restaurant not only for the amazing food but the wine list us outstanding. I would recommend attending one if their seasonal wine tasting events. They have quite,a large selection of fabulous wine and spirits. One evening we actually were with some out of town friends and my husband wanted B and B. At that time , for whatever reason they stopped carrying it. Chris Watson made a special trip over to the Omni hotel to get a glass of B and B for my husband. And now they carry it again at Fleming's. Now that's what I call exceeding g your customers expectations. I also would highly recommend the lobster tempura..it is by far the best small plate I have ever had anywhere. Thanks Fleming's for always being one of our favorite places to enjoy a fabulous meal and a great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious New Year

Dined on January 1, 2016

Despite having reservation, we had to wait about 40 min for a table. But the food was very tasty. Worth the wait.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Not quite as good this time.

Dined on January 1, 2016

I have been to Fleming's a couple of times before and it was outstanding. Very special in every way. I invited some family and friends this time, for New Year's eve. Dinner at 7:30. The NOISE was very loud. Impossibly so. Yes, it was packed. Normal for New Year's, of course. But we couldn't here any of our conversations across the table, the whole evening. As to the food, one of my guests said it was 'average'. Another ordered an accompaniment to their steak and it was 'ice cold'. It was promptly fixed, but shouldn't have been that way in the first place. Too, the service was prompt for drinks and 1st course, but the wait between the 1st and entrees was v-e-r-y long. The latter was the case the last time we were there as well. We would return, but not on a busy night like New Year's eve. For a birthday or something, yes.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.