Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

About Fleming's Steakhouse - Palo Alto

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.

180 El Camino Real
Palo Alto, CA 94304
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00 - 11:00pm, Sonoma Sunday Brunch & Dinner: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 329-8457

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/palo-alto

Parking Details:
Lots of open parking

Public Transit:
Cal Train is located one block away at University Ave.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $49.95

Special valid Aug 30, 2017 - Oct 17, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $49.95

Special valid Aug 30, 2017 - Oct 17, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $49.95. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 30, 2017 - Oct 17, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Palo Alto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (37)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Good for a Date (30)
See All
Good for Birthdays (30)
Business Meals (25)
Good for Groups (21)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Notable Wine List (16)
Worth the Drive (13)
Romantic (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Casual (6)
Fun (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Authentic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Cozy (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Live Sports (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
928 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Our server was charming and otherwise good, but REALLY dropped the ball on creating a sense of celebration for my father's 80th birthday. It was a shame because the rest of the night was lovely. When it came to desert time, there was no acknowledgement--i.e. a candle on the cake or sense of celebration. And yes, the restaurant knew about his birthday.

It could be that we didn't pay for a desert, but if so there was no, "this in on the house in celebration of your birthday.

It was awkward. A classic bummer. And when my sister in law whispered a request for a candle, ultimately one was brought to my father's side of the table and presented with, "do you still want a candle?"

Three days later I still feel the disappointment. Otherwise, I liked the place.

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a fabulous meal at Flemings. The service is amazing and the food is always delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 11, 2017

One of the steaks we ordered was oversalted and the other steak was not cooked to our order. The butter served with the bread before dinner was terrible. The salad was mediocre and our side dish of brussel sprouts was burned. Overall the experience was very poor for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 11, 2017

I was very pleased that they accommodated us w/ 4 little kids. This is probably the only high-end steakhouse with a kids menu. Each hostess behind the counter made eye contact and greeted our family. The decor was modern and clean. I would say i come to this location quarterly because i do live about 40 miles away.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Anthony was our server and he was fantastic! He truly made our anniversary celebration amazing and memorable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Amazing food and service! Can't wait to come back.went there for my husbands birthday. He loved his steak and I'm still craving the seabass, yum! The sides were delicious and the dessert was the best!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Birthday/Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Love the food and the experience. Great staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Excellent service with Jessica. Attentive. Food was great. Definitely a go to place.

Great total dining experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Good food with great service. The selection of drinks impressed me.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Best steak in all the area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Meeting family members from far away. Food was great but noise level made it difficult to hear each other

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Great service from our waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Everything on the menu is Ala Carte unless you go with the fixed-price menu. I found it to be overpriced for what you get. We were sitting at a table in the corner right by the front door, so the ambience was not good or very private for an anniversary celebration.

Having said that, our filet mignon was cooked to perfection and our waiter was very attentive..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Food was subpar, salads were overdressed and not fresh

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Glasgow)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The best steakhouse I have ever visited. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to family and friends. I feel it really is the jewel in the Palo Alto's crown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

We went to celebrate my boyfriends birthday and from the moment we came in the staff was super friendly and welcoming. We had never been to this steakhouse and the whole experience was incredible. They printed a picture of us, had a little happy birthday card on the table and even gave him truffles as a gift. The food was delicious, our steaks were perfect and the service was fast and efficient. Thank you for making our first time there memorable, we will definitely come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The food was fine. But for the cost, I would dine elsewhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 15, 2017

This visit was a bit disappointing, but nevertheless we are a fan of Fleming's

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great Sunday brunch! Went there for the prime rib dinner but it wasn't available until after 4 pm. Disappointed we couldn't have the prime rib but the brunch was delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We had a wonderful experience and meal. From the hostess to the bus boy, the entire staff was welcoming and professional. The place was busy in a good vibrant way. I called ahead to confirm they had a kids menu for my 10 year old, which they did. Our steaks were cooked perfectly and delicious. The kids don't love eating in high end restaurants that feel stuffy, but this had a great vibe and the kids felt very welcomed. Valet parking was a great touch. Fransisco was exceptional, very personable and efficient.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food was amazing. The staff gos out of their way for everyone. Must try it a day be amazed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The waiter was excellent, as was the food. It was just a little noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Delicious, perfectly-prepared and nicely presented appetizers, salads, entrees and sides. If I'd had Fleming's creamed spinach for dinner when I was a child, I would not have gone without dessert so often for not eating my vegetables.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Fleming's continues to prove they're just as good or better than an independent high end steak house. Excellent food and service and still the best desserts around.

Tags: Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great service from the moment we arrived and they acknowledge it was our anniversary dinner from the hostess, host, waiter and manager. Tasty food, pricey but you are buying the name and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2017

They dry-aged ribeye prepared "charred-rare" is pricey but outstanding. Small version is enough for sharing. Service was excellent.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Have been here twice and it is fantastic. The menu is broad enough to have something for nearly everyone.

While it can get very busy at peak times, the noise level hasn't been an issue. It's possible to have a normal conversation without raising your voice.

The service is excellent. Our servers have been friendly, knowledgeable about the menu and helpful in their recommendations.

The steaks are great. If you like salmon I can highly recommend their Barbecue New Zealand filet. Very nicely seasoned and a reasonably sized portion. All the sides we've tried here have been great, with the grilled asparagus and the double cut shoestring potatoes topping the list. Good selection of dessert choices as well.

It's definitely on the expensive side, but I still consider it good value considering the quality of the food and the overall experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Our server, Mike, was WONDERFUL! I was in town from Seattle and brought my niece in for dinner as she is at Stanford for a 3 week program for high school students and was feeling a little homesick. From the start, he was attentive, professional and made great recommendations for us. I had not dined at this location in a long time so it was nice to see that the quality and service I remembered were still consistent.
Please, thank Mike and the team for a wonderful night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 25, 2017

My wife and I went for an early dinner and we were seated right away. I got the prime rib special and I enjoyed the meal. The only down side was that my meat was slightly overcooked. I like a true medium rare and mine was medium at best. My wife's steak was ever so slightly over cooked, also. Everything else was excellent. Our salads were both good and the desserts were excellent. The sides were outstanding as well. Service was exceptional as well. Brooke was our waitress.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 24, 2017

We were properly greeted by the receptionist from the front. Service was good until the food arrives. The server delivered our food seemed to be in a rush and put our food down without confirming who ordered what. The Medium prime Rib we ordered came out close to well done. The rib eye and filet Mignon were great. Servers seem to forgot about our table half way through our dinner. Towards the ends, i was asked 3 times within 10 mins that if I've finished with my plat of food. Guess they were in a hurry to close out the dining area? It was about 30 mins before the closing time. They rushed to pick up our plates after we were done, the waitress even spilled a lot of water on the table and onto my pants while she was filling up my water from across the table. Overall the food was decent but service was bad.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Fleming's is our favorite steak restaurant in the Bay Area. We've been consistently impressed by the bar, the desserts, the service, and most of all, the steaks. The staff has always been exceptional on our visits. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

It was VERY loud ... We could barely hear each other talking. Food was good. Service was okay but not exceptional like one would expect at an establishment of it's caliber.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2017

My wife and I had a fantastic meal last Saturday evening at Fleming's. The steaks are grass fed and superb! This is our second time to Fleming's. The service is five stars. Are two waiters Chuk and Carlos were outstanding. We look forward to many more dinners at Fleming's. This is the best steak house on the Peninsula.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

for $65,00 steak I was expecting, a nice and tender steak, it was Chuy and with a lot of fat on the side. very dispointing.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Excellent Excellent Excellent Excellent Excellent Excellent Excellent

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2017

The NY Strip steak I ordered was pretty good, best of the ones I have tried.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Although I got an email stating a three course prime rib special on Sundays and Mondays with no coupon needed for $29.95, I was asked for a printed prove. It caught me by surprise since most restaurants honor their advertisement. There was no advertisement of it in their menu either. To make a story short the waitress told me that at their restaurant it was $34.95 and the $29.95 was for all other locations.
When I got home I checked the email and there is nothing specifying at what locations the $29.95 was for; therefore, it is assumed that it covers all locations.
Although the difference was only five dollars I am very disappointed with the outcome because I've eaten there several times and usually the staff has been very accommodating.
I realized that the restaurant in Palo Alto seems to have a good clientele whenever I've been there before in the past, not to honor or acknowledge corporate advertisement leaves a lot to be desired .

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

It was my first visit to the restaurant.

I came for the Sunday Prime Rib Special. I usually like to order the caesar salad, but I did not do so because of the description: hearts of romaine, parmesan, fried capers, crisp prosciutto chips. For me THAT IS NO A CAESAR SALAD! So instead I ordered the least offensive THE NEW WEDGE (seasoned bacon, tomatoes, crumbled gorgonzola, onions, danish blue cheese dressing). The "seasoned bacon" was whole slices of bacon with A LOT OF HOT PEPPER. Even my companion, who likes hot food, did not eat her bacon. My medium prime rib looked like an old piece of meat; it was flaccid, thin and not flavorful. The three sauces that came with it was not presented, as noted. They did two of the spiced ones, and one horseradish , so I didn't get the the au juice. For my side I ordered the GRILLED HIGH COUNTRY ASPARAGUS. For a restaurant of "that caliber" I would have expected to have the asparagus trimmed so that no hard chewy part was left. Sadly, the was not the case:( Dessert was good. I had the berries.

I had to take two doses of Tums that night.

As one would expect......it will be my last visit to the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Very good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.