About Fleming's Steakhouse - Palo Alto

180 El Camino Real
Palo Alto, CA 94304
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00 - 11:00pm, Sonoma Sunday Brunch & Dinner: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 329-8457

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/palo-alto

Parking Details:
Lots of open parking

Public Transit:
Cal Train is located one block away at University Ave.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Promotions

Taste the Season Prix Fixe - Starting at $55.95*

Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Promotions

Taste the Season Prix Fixe - Starting at $55.95*

Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Details

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Palo Alto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Francisco Bay Area
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in Palo Alto ›

special occasion (61)
notable wine list (33)
romantic (23)
See All
fit for foodies (22)
good for groups (21)
vibrant bar scene (15)
neighborhood gem (14)
great for outdoor dining (9)
kid-friendly (8)
great for lunch (6)
great for brunch (6)
hot spot (4)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
655 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was delicious. Servers are awesome. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was delicious. Servers are awesome. We love Flemings!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terribly slow staff. Maitre 'D came ove ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Terribly slow staff. Maitre 'D came over twice to help out because wait staff disappeared.

Steaks are amazing though!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Priced like a 5 start joint, but falls s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Priced like a 5 start joint, but falls short on all fronts. Food (delicious, but steaks arrived warm, not hot), service (attentive, but inconsistent and not entirely professional), pacing (took too long), attention (water refills and wine pours were too infrequent).

The restaurant is beautiful, but they need to up their game for me to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I had a Wagyu NY strip steak. It was exc ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I had a Wagyu NY strip steak. It was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service and food. Server, Sergio, ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great service and food. Server, Sergio, was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They do a really good job on their food ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

They do a really good job on their food and customer service

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

great service. love the specials (had a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

great service. love the specials (had an American Express dining credit)

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

overpriced and steak not as good as expe ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

overpriced and steak not as good as expected and it was overcooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The food is ok for the price, Alexander' ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The food is ok for the price, Alexander's steakhouse is better I think. Great service and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Dessert took over 30 minutes to come out ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Dessert took over 30 minutes to come out (lava cake) due to multiple people ordering it and the kitchen being backed up. Other than that, the prime rib was fantastic! Would have preferred larger asparagus (these were miniature). Onion rings were great and creamed spinach was better the 2nd day (more creamy).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

As always, the service was excellent. Th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

As always, the service was excellent. The food was amazing!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time. We were seated ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was our first time. We were seated next to a family with very loud kids- not the restaurants fault. The burrata was graining and salty- not great. The steak was too rare but they took it back and cooked it to the correct temperature. Lobster was great. Asparagus was not worth $11+.

Service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a marvelous anniversary celebrati ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had a marvelous anniversary celebration. We were greeted with warmth and attentiveness. We were encouraged to taste test some wines. We were given a card and a special treat for our anniversary. The special treat was there own made truffles - they did test good but felt they truly were not truffles. It's the thought that counts. We did enjoy ourselves.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We love the patio! And our waiter Mike i ...

 
 (Monterrey)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We love the patio! And our waiter Mike is the best. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was great. Our waiter Ste ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The atmosphere was great. Our waiter Steve was knowledgable about the food and wine. He was extremely attentive. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came here to celebrate my dad's birthday ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Came here to celebrate my dad's birthday and it was an amazing first experience! My family came on a Sunday so we were able to order the prime rib dinner - SO WORTH IT. It comes with a salad, prime rib, and dessert of your choosing :) My dad ordered the filet mignon and he loved it. Because it was his birthday, they had a little surprise (chocolates) at the end. Overall, the service as amazing, wine and food was amazing. Awesome experience :D

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservations here due to positive r ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Made reservations here due to positive reviews from others who had dined there and were not disappointed for our anniversary. Food was great as was the service. Definitely on the high side price wise, but worth it. The only potential issue is that the ambient noise is on the high side but it did not interfere with conversation at normal levels.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Flemings is really one of the best steak ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Flemings is really one of the best steak houses around. Their steak preparation exceeds most steak places, they have great sides and terrific desserts.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very surprised on our entrees. The file ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very surprised on our entrees. The filet mignon was cooked just right but quite a few chewy parts to it. Had plenty of flavor but was not tender. The asparagus was also stringy. The ends were not cut/trim, therefore it made for very stringy asparagus.

This was our first time to Flemings in Palo Alto. It was a disappointment to drive across the bay to have meals that were not up to its normal goodness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

So nice; such great food; made our son's ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

So nice; such great food; made our son's birthday very special!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fleming's used to be a special place to ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Fleming's used to be a special place to dine. Special occasion or when you just wanted to splurge. Now it seems to have lost its elegance, attracting a noisy, very casually dressed clientele. Also the quality of the ribeye seems to have slipped a bit. There was a bit of sticker shock over the $16 martini, and table service could hardly be called personal or attentive anymore. With sadness, I will start looking for a new steakhouse in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Just an outstanding experience. Wonderfu ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Just an outstanding experience. Wonderful staff, great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was, as always, spectacular. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The service was, as always, spectacular. It's the only place we go in the area where I feel like I'm dealing with professional, career waitstaff.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Prime rib meal was perfect.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Prime rib meal was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Very limited on salad offerings.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

They must be afraid someone will only order a salad and skip the red meat order. My wife does not eat beef since mad cow disease and she was disappointed in the small, overly simple and small salad offered. We will be waiting for the menu to add larger salad choices.

Tags: special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

It took Fleming's FOUR (shocking, I know ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

It took Fleming's FOUR (shocking, I know!) to get not only the right fairness on the steak, but they also brought out a flat sirloin when I ordered Filet Mignon.

The managers were less than professional.

What a FLOP on my husband's birthday!

We'll stick with a real steakhouse, Los Altos Grille.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Excellent but you pay for it

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

No doubt about it, this will be a $250-$300 meal for two. We began with cocktails, I had a blueberry lemon martini and it was delicious, innovative and I'd have another, please. My husband had a Manhattan, very good too. We had caesar salads, well dressed. I had an 8 oz. filet which was delicious, $46.50 for 8 oz. of beef. There was nothing else on the plate. My husband had sea bass, beautifully prepared, delicious broth, he was very pleased. We ordered a glass of wine with dinner...and finished with a shared Creme Brulle, with a large dollop of whipped cream on the side. We loved our dinner and enjoyed the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but not exceptional. Unfor ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Food was good but not exceptional. Unfortunately I bit into a piece of plastic wrapping? on bottom of short rib. Manager apologized still unacceptable for restaurants like this.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food and service at this chain resta ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food and service at this chain restaurant were outstanding...although in some respects the service was too fast, it seemed a bit rushed. Also, I was surprised at how very casually dressed everyone was, both guests and staff. The very high prices would suggest this is fine dining but the look and feel of the place would be more fitting for a casual bistro. Having said this, as long as your expectations are realistic, you'll have a great time. Like the people at the table next to ours who were incredibly noisy and raucous. Don't expect to have a quiet, romantic meal at this place.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Food was ok! Service was very slow..

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was ok! Service was very slow..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

At these prices, the service should be b ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

At these prices, the service should be better. When one spends $50 on a steak, it would be nice for it to include veggies, starch or both. Plus, our water was served in a cracked glass, and they forgot to leave out the ice as we requested. At least the steak was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

Summary: Fantastic menu, excellent servi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Summary: Fantastic menu, excellent service, and a great location.

Details: This is my first trip to Fleming's Prime Steakhouse. A friend recommended it for dinner, and I am glad she did. The food here was very good. The menu had a very good selection of choices in every category, from appetizers to main courses and side dishes. My choice was the 16oz. New York Strip prepared black and blue, and my dining companion had the 8oz Petite Filet mignon prepared medium rare, along with two reds: the Duckhorn Merlot and the Rutherford Ranch Cabernet Sauvignon. We shared three sides: truffle-parsley mashed potatoes, sautéed mushrooms, and spicy thai green beans.

The meal was amazing, steak temps were dead-on, and the sides were the perfect accent to the meal. We both really wished we had room for dessert; perhaps next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, steaks were flavorful and sides ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Overall, steaks were flavorful and sides of creamed spinach and fries also very good. Special occasion for us so we came for the prime rib special, but they were sold out at only 7:30, and out of cheesecake too. So they need to plan better for large crowds. Our waiter was great, but unfortunately kept asking us our dessert choice repeatedly while we were still eating dinner--must have asked about 4-5 times! Very nervewracking, and not something an experienced waiter would do, particularly at that price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

We have gone to Fleming's for several fa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

We have gone to Fleming's for several family celebrations both locally and out of state. The service (thanks Chuck) and food have been outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Service!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I went there for Mother's Day and bday and the waiter made their night. Thanks Steve!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The service was great and so was the amb ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The service was great and so was the ambience but I asked for my steak to be medium and got a very well-done steak. My coworker was dining with me only got quarter of her steak medium the rest was medium well. Along with my cocktail glass and water glass having cracks in them. Once the Manager was alerted to the cracked glass she handled the situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Nice steakhouse in Palo Alto

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Nice steakhouse in Palo Alto

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Pricey, lacks consistency

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Fleming's is now charging up to $60 for a steak (a la carte), but they still can't cook their meat consistently. We ordered 3 steaks -- a medium came rare, another medium came medium-rare, and a medium-rare that came medium-rare. Pretty weak for a steakhouse. For a top price, the food and prep should be perfect and these guys do not deliver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent steakhouse

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

This was my first time at the restaurant and I can honestly say that I was not disappointed. Everything from the service to the meals were excellent. The only downside we experienced was that their distributor did not make a delivery with their beer offerings; people in my party had to pick and choose three separate times as the server and manager were finding out what they did and did not have in stock. However - this is minor and had been resolved. We were given a free appetizer for my brother's birthday and from there - service and food were all excellent.

You would not know that this restaurant is within a shopping center. At night - the restaurant has that stand-alone feeling and - if the stores have not closed - you have time to walk around the outdoor mall. Word of caution - if you want to dine here during the day, parking can be tricky and challenging, particularly on the weekends.

In all, you get what you pay for with this restaurant and this restaurant - while pricey and not cheap - is all excellent.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was absolutely delicious, just ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious, just as expected. What caught my attention the most was the excellent customer service we received from everyone. Our knowledgeable waiter, manager on duty who was walking the floor, and the other waiters who also checked in with us. Everyone was very friendly, caring, and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.