About Fleming's Steakhouse - Palo Alto

180 El Camino Real
Palo Alto, CA 94304
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00 - 11:00pm, Sonoma Sunday Brunch & Dinner: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 329-8457

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/palo-alto

Parking Details:
Lots of open parking

Public Transit:
Cal Train is located one block away at University Ave.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Palo Alto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Peninsula
Best Restaurants in Palo Alto ›

Special Occasion (65)
Notable Wine List (36)
Fit for Foodies (25)
See All
Romantic (24)
Good for Groups (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
668 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Not only was the atmosphere sophisticate ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

Not only was the atmosphere sophisticated, and the food excellent; our server (Anthony) was exceptional. Friendly, efficient, and knowledgeable about the menu, he took care of us and made us feel like we were his only table. I would not only recommend Fleming's (my petite filet and loaded baked potato were delicious), but I would also recommend asking to sit in Anthony's section. Oh, and make sure you try the F-17 Sauce, Fleming's own house-made steak sauce. It's tangy and sweet, and so much better than anything I ever poured out of a bottle. The only thing missing from the Fleming's experience is the opportunity to enjoy a great cigar after one's meal. This is the sort of meal that practically demands a fine cigar afterward.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated in a back room. We were ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We were seated in a back room. We were with two large parties . Groups of 8 and 10. I believe open table guests are not treated as well as direct reservation guests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

Awesome staff and service.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Awesome staff and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good ambiance and the service was very g ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Good ambiance and the service was very good, with pleasant staff. We ordered the Sunday prime rib special, which ended up being more like a choice rib special. The meat was only OK, certainly to prime grade. The side creamed spinach was OK, but the asparagus was overcooked and the tough ends were not trimmed. The dinner felt like a loss leader type of deal, which is too bad, b/c it is a nice restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Service and food was great!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Service and food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This was the first time the steak was ve ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This was the first time the steak was very well done. I ordered medium plus rare. I don't return food. I end up boxing it to take home. I guess it's time to look for another steak place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Decent steakhouse food. Service was rath ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Decent steakhouse food. Service was rather slow for a Wednesday night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

This is the second time in a row that I ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This is the second time in a row that I have ordered an 8oz filet mignon and been very disappointed. Very gristly. It's frustrating to spend $46 for an inferior piece of meat. Next time I will try seafood... The burata was sensational though. The sautéed mushrooms were tasteless. Great ambience but a disappointing evening overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Excellent. Our server chuck was terrific

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Excellent. Our server chuck was terrific

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was exceptional! It is a reall ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was exceptional! It is a really upscale restaurant, but preserves the "Silicon Valley casual" feel. We arrived just before closing, and were among the last diners to finish, but we got exceptional service from all the staff. We will definitely return to enjoy their food and service again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We normally love flemmings, but our serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We normally love flemmings, but our service that night was sub-optimal. Longer wait to order, to get our food. They also got a few items wrong in our item-- for example, brought the wrong wine.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Service was great. Food was tasty. All a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Service was great. Food was tasty. All as usual.

Did not like the sliced baked potato that came with the prixe fixed filet mignon meal (underdone but one of our party liked it that way).

Amazing experience as usual. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and wines were very good. The ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food and wines were very good. The staff was pleasant and friendly. It is a treat to eat at Flemings

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent service. Peppered NY Steak & ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Excellent service.

Peppered NY Steak & Flemings potatoes a must!

If you don't want to splurge on a fancy dinner, Happy Hour is a great option!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terribly slow staff. Maitre 'D came ove ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Terribly slow staff. Maitre 'D came over twice to help out because wait staff disappeared.

Steaks are amazing though!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Priced like a 5 start joint, but falls s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Priced like a 5 start joint, but falls short on all fronts. Food (delicious, but steaks arrived warm, not hot), service (attentive, but inconsistent and not entirely professional), pacing (took too long), attention (water refills and wine pours were too infrequent).

The restaurant is beautiful, but they need to up their game for me to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I had a Wagyu NY strip steak. It was exc ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I had a Wagyu NY strip steak. It was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service and food. Server, Sergio, ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great service and food. Server, Sergio, was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They do a really good job on their food ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

They do a really good job on their food and customer service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

great service. love the specials (had a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

great service. love the specials (had an American Express dining credit)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

overpriced and steak not as good as expe ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

overpriced and steak not as good as expected and it was overcooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The food is ok for the price, Alexander' ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The food is ok for the price, Alexander's steakhouse is better I think. Great service and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Dessert took over 30 minutes to come out ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Dessert took over 30 minutes to come out (lava cake) due to multiple people ordering it and the kitchen being backed up. Other than that, the prime rib was fantastic! Would have preferred larger asparagus (these were miniature). Onion rings were great and creamed spinach was better the 2nd day (more creamy).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

As always, the service was excellent. Th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

As always, the service was excellent. The food was amazing!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time. We were seated ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was our first time. We were seated next to a family with very loud kids- not the restaurants fault. The burrata was graining and salty- not great. The steak was too rare but they took it back and cooked it to the correct temperature. Lobster was great. Asparagus was not worth $11+.

Service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a marvelous anniversary celebrati ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had a marvelous anniversary celebration. We were greeted with warmth and attentiveness. We were encouraged to taste test some wines. We were given a card and a special treat for our anniversary. The special treat was there own made truffles - they did test good but felt they truly were not truffles. It's the thought that counts. We did enjoy ourselves.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We love the patio! And our waiter Mike i ...

 
 (Monterrey)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We love the patio! And our waiter Mike is the best. Looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was great. Our waiter Ste ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The atmosphere was great. Our waiter Steve was knowledgable about the food and wine. He was extremely attentive. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came here to celebrate my dad's birthday ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Came here to celebrate my dad's birthday and it was an amazing first experience! My family came on a Sunday so we were able to order the prime rib dinner - SO WORTH IT. It comes with a salad, prime rib, and dessert of your choosing :) My dad ordered the filet mignon and he loved it. Because it was his birthday, they had a little surprise (chocolates) at the end. Overall, the service as amazing, wine and food was amazing. Awesome experience :D

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservations here due to positive r ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Made reservations here due to positive reviews from others who had dined there and were not disappointed for our anniversary. Food was great as was the service. Definitely on the high side price wise, but worth it. The only potential issue is that the ambient noise is on the high side but it did not interfere with conversation at normal levels.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Flemings is really one of the best steak ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Flemings is really one of the best steak houses around. Their steak preparation exceeds most steak places, they have great sides and terrific desserts.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Very surprised on our entrees. The file ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Very surprised on our entrees. The filet mignon was cooked just right but quite a few chewy parts to it. Had plenty of flavor but was not tender. The asparagus was also stringy. The ends were not cut/trim, therefore it made for very stringy asparagus.

This was our first time to Flemings in Palo Alto. It was a disappointment to drive across the bay to have meals that were not up to its normal goodness.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

So nice; such great food; made our son's ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

So nice; such great food; made our son's birthday very special!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fleming's used to be a special place to ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Fleming's used to be a special place to dine. Special occasion or when you just wanted to splurge. Now it seems to have lost its elegance, attracting a noisy, very casually dressed clientele. Also the quality of the ribeye seems to have slipped a bit. There was a bit of sticker shock over the $16 martini, and table service could hardly be called personal or attentive anymore. With sadness, I will start looking for a new steakhouse in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Just an outstanding experience. Wonderfu ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Just an outstanding experience. Wonderful staff, great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was, as always, spectacular. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

The service was, as always, spectacular. It's the only place we go in the area where I feel like I'm dealing with professional, career waitstaff.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Prime rib meal was perfect.

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Prime rib meal was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Very limited on salad offerings.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

They must be afraid someone will only order a salad and skip the red meat order. My wife does not eat beef since mad cow disease and she was disappointed in the small, overly simple and small salad offered. We will be waiting for the menu to add larger salad choices.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

It took Fleming's FOUR (shocking, I know ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

It took Fleming's FOUR (shocking, I know!) to get not only the right fairness on the steak, but they also brought out a flat sirloin when I ordered Filet Mignon.

The managers were less than professional.

What a FLOP on my husband's birthday!

We'll stick with a real steakhouse, Los Altos Grille.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Excellent but you pay for it

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

No doubt about it, this will be a $250-$300 meal for two. We began with cocktails, I had a blueberry lemon martini and it was delicious, innovative and I'd have another, please. My husband had a Manhattan, very good too. We had caesar salads, well dressed. I had an 8 oz. filet which was delicious, $46.50 for 8 oz. of beef. There was nothing else on the plate. My husband had sea bass, beautifully prepared, delicious broth, he was very pleased. We ordered a glass of wine with dinner...and finished with a shared Creme Brulle, with a large dollop of whipped cream on the side. We loved our dinner and enjoyed the evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.