Fleming's Steakhouse - Palo Alto

4.4
1083 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steak
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Business Meals
Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00 - 11:00pm, Sonoma Sunday Brunch & Dinner: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(650) 329-8457
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Lots of open parking
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Cal Train is located one block away at University Ave.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

View Private Dining Details
What 1083 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
78% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Great food, great service. One of my favorite spots!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Good food

Very loud

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Everyone enjoyed their dinners. Husband felt special on Father’s Day and kiddos tried and enjoyed new things. A win all around.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We came for the fathers day brunch. A lot of food not the best but it was good. I prefer small portions but tasteful then big portions and semi good. Super good service really made my husband feel special on his day! We'll give it s second chance and we'll come back to try the prime cuts another day.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Great night out with friends to start the weekend after a long week. Service was very good. They did make a mistake on our order but we were all impressed that they not only fixed the issue quickly they took responsibility for the issue which all we expected. To finish a wonderful night the manager extended complimentary dessert due to the mistake.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 7 days ago

Great steaks, great service. My only issue was the lighting in the restaurant was too dark.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 7 days ago

Do not like the menu changes. The poke is not as good as the seared tuna. The seasonal salad was boring and not worth the $ The corn side was tasty but 13$? Kids chic was too sweet. We have loved Flemings for years but the menu change is not for us. Positive note the steak was as expected delicious and our server Sequoia was excellent.
You are now competing with outback instead of Mastro’s.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

They were so sweet to us. I had my bridal shower at this location in April and my wedding was last week. They remembered us and surprised us with a champagne toast and an assortment of desserts. So lovely! Fabulous service and wonderful food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

While they do have a kids menu available, I'd say the setting of the place is appropriate for well-behaved children. So if your little one likes to wander around or can't sit still for the whole meal, it may not be the place for your family. Waiters don't have a lot of space between tables to go around so any kids in the aisles would definitely get in the way.

We waited until our kids were at least 10 years old before we celebrated Father's Day here. It was worth the wait. A special occasion to get a little dressed up for. We had a lovely dinner!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 7, 2018

I was impressed with the quality and Fleming's. It was my first experience and while it was more expensive then I was anticipating the quality and service made it worth while.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 4, 2018

Great Food, drinks, wine, and yea, steaks. Fleming's is a fine steakhouse. And they have all the fixings to satisfy everyone. It's one of my new favorites in the South Bay.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

The ambiance was not as nice as expected, especially for the price. Some people were dressed too casual. T shirts are out of place and lack class in an expensive restaurant but that may just be me. The service was top notch.

Food was very good but not exceptional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Great steaks and great service!! We were really impressed with the great service and speed in which every part of the meal came out.

Thank you for a great date night out!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 3, 2018

The service was terrible. The prices are very high given the quality of the food and the portions were small. Many of the wines are available at costco. I will definitely not return and am wondering why there were so many people there.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Food too expensive for what you get. Caesar salad was good. However $ 53 steak was a disappointment. Served on a plate without a garnish. Just a lump of beef. Tough too.
Had to ask for bearnaise sauce. Birthday celebration-just a card on the table. Other expensive restaurants include a small dessert. Service OK. Never again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Overall good but it seemed like they were short-handed. Had to look for our server to ask for something

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 27, 2018

We're fans of Flemings and it just didn't live up to the usual (very good-to-excellent experience. We arrived a few minutes early for our 7:45 reservations and, although they were able to seat us right away, the host wasn't particularly friendly or welcoming. We had noted that we were celebrating a special occasion and we weren't even given an option for a booth which I had requested in my online reservation. We were placed in an "over-flow" room and told our server would be right with us. We ate a loaf of bread and our waters and still no server. A server from the large event taking palce next door filled in and took our drink and appetizer order. He returned with our drinks and took our order and said our "regular server" would be taking over. Once our main course finally did arrive, my steak (media rare) was media-well; my wife's steak (medium) was well done. Finally our server came by (mind you we had been at the restaurant now for over an hour) and asked how our food was. I explained that the steak was very tasty but over cooked. He was very polite and offered to cook news one; however, we were half way finished with our steaks so declined. He ended up taking one of the steak's off the bill which was was nice of him, although appropriate. He was a nice guy, but it appears they simply weren't staffed properly which made for a bad experience. I'll return as I am a fan, but we were disappointed. I'd add that the manager usually pops by to introduce himself and ask about the meal/experience; no such introduction this time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Awesome service from Brooke and Michael

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

I felt the food was cooked amazingly. The sides we chose to share were great compliments to the steaks we all had. Their selection of wine was very good and for a high end restaurant very affordable. This is my third visit to Fleming's in Palo Alto and I have never been disappointed

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

I like the way they make you feel special every time I was disappointed that the bacon wrapped shrimp were no longer on the menu, but everything I had was tasty

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

My husband and I celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary and Fleming’s staff was amazing. Best experience. Anthony was our server and he was the best. Very personable and knowledgeable about wines.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Outstanding in every way. Elegant. Highest level of service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

We used the cocktail patio for a birthday party. It was so perfect for a post SoulCycle get together. They have a pretty good wine menu and couches outside. The staff was incredible and treated us so well. Sometimes you want the steak but you don’t want to sit down formally to do so. Luckily at Fleming’s Stanford you can do either.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Mother’s Day dining was a delight, very busy but was NOT neglected, wonderful table service and excellent drinks

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2018

I know it was Mother's Day but it was dinner not brunch, and it was still crazy busy! It was our first time to this restaurant. We were seated at a good sized table in the main dining room. Our server quickly offered to guide us with menu selections so that he could get our orders in as fast as possible to minimize the wait for our toddlers. We ordered the tomahawk and asked of its preparation but our server didn't share that it was on the bone, so we felt it was not of good value though it was cooked to our preference and tasty. We ordered grilled asparagus, creamed spinach and their signature potatoes as sides. The spinach was fine, the potatoes were somewhat bland and the asparagus were not prepped to remove of extra fiber so ended up rather tough to chew. Wines by the glass were served cellar temp and went really well with our steaks. We opted for ice cream and sorbet for a light ending. It seemed odd that the sides were intended to be shared family style while appetizers and proteins were intended by the individual portion. Overall, the food was good, not great, and rather pricey for the quality. This place is better for the business expense account.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We went for the Mother's Day celebration. The special brunch menu was excellent, though a bit on the pricey side and too big of a portion (20% less on price & serving would be perfect for brunch).

Enjoy the setting and the ambiance, would definitely come back and try dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

My girlfriend and I along with both sets of our parents enjoyed the Mother's Day Brunch menu. The menu had excellent selections. Both my mother and I made a mistake reading the menu thinking that we had ordered a filet mignon eggs benedict. When they arrived one of the eggs was over crabmeat. Two of the parents ordered the Steak and eggs and the filet mignon meat looked amazing! I wish that it was the same meat that was used for my meal. The service was outstanding! Everything else on the menu was wonderful!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

What a wonderful mother's day lunch. Very nice staff and service. But as expected very busy. The meal for all 3 of is tasted delicious. The soup, steak, egg benedict and dessert all tasted delicious. Definitely a nice place. Just be aware, this place is not cheap, but worth it for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Great food, great service—thanks Steve for the outstanding service. Paul

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Excellent steak - ours were cooked to perfection. I prefer fillet and it was perfect. Husband prefers New York cut and he said it was the best he had had in ages. He also like the wine selection. Service was friendly and server was very knowledgeable on menu. Only minus was "bearnaise" or "horseradish" sauces on the side are not really sauces, but flavored butter. Did not care for that - would have preferred the real sauces as I do not care to dip my $50 steak in melted butter. Yuck. Everything else, including sides was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

We had the New York Steak. It was cooked perfectly. We each had a different glass of wine. We enjoyed the food and the service. We always wanted to try this restaurant. We will come back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Always amazing!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 7, 2018

While the service was excellent, the food quality has taken a definite downward turn. One of our diners steaks was cooked medium well instead of medium rare. Even though our server promptly returned it to the kitchen, everyone else had finished before the new
steak arrived. The Caesar salad was completely dry and flavorless. Both of the sides appeared to have been cooked in advance and simply reheated. The only saving grace was the dessert course.
Overall, the price does not justify the marginal food quality and it’s disappointing to see a former top notch restaurant lose it’s edge.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

First, my wife and I are always looking for a steak house that rivals Ruth Chris for rib eyes, and Flemings certainly did, great dry aged rib eye. We have tried other national and local steak houses, and most fail.
Second, I have had Chilean Sea Bass dozens of times and this was the best. Miso glazed and came out perfectly crusted, moist in the center and perfect temperature.
Third, very good and attentive service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We went to Fleming’s to celebrate our daughter’s good college grades! The service we received from our waiter, John Maynard was excellent as was our meal.
Wonderful evening thanks to John!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Look, I wasn’t expecting a Michelin experience but there is an elevated expectation when you order a $60 steak on a plate. I ordered NY Strip rare. It came out, at best, med-well. My dining companion’s steak was cooked how he ordered it. Server came by -who was lovely- and I told her the steak was overdone. She grabs a towel (the plate’s so hot it can’t be handled bare-handed. We’ll get to that later on) and takes the steak back, assuring me the kitchen would redo it. Problem: my guest was now uncomfortable eating while my place setting remained empty. I insisted he ate, as he should enjoy it hot...including both sides. After about 15 minutes, a manager (I assume this was his role based solely on his attire, not for his attempt at basic hospitality) comes out with another steak and cautions me that the plate is extremely hot. Never acknowledged the failed first attempt, never came by the table during the wait for the redo. Instead, puts the impossibly hot plate in front of me, asks to cut into it to verify temp and then leaves. Never checks back. I’m perplexed why a restaurant would serve a steak on a plate that is continuing to sear and cook the meat! Ever heard of carryover cooking? This is cooking 101. I grabbed my napkin (to protect my fingers) and slid the 16oz (as I recall) steak on my small bread plate and ate the remainder of the now-cold sides. For the record, we had the mushrooms and the Fleming’s potatoes and they were fantastic...when they were hot. They did end up comping my steak but all I wanted was to sit down, enjoy dinner *together* and happily pay for it. Instead, we ate at separate times, I dined off of a bread plate and ate cold sides. Come on.
*Manager should have come and acknowledged the shortcoming.
*He should have checked in mid-way, offering a salad or something quick so my guest didn’t awkwardly have to dine alone.
*Stop the insanely hot plates. Even if it comes out rare, it’ll be over cooked halfway through.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Awesome food and cocktails. Service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

tender, tasty filet mignon. Delish salads. Outstanding service. Recommended a great wine by the glass.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Excellent food (Both steaks and seafood) Filet Mignons were cooked to perfection. Chilean Sea Bass was very moist and tasty. Our server Mike was the best waiter ever. Very attentive and courteous. Because of him, we rate Flemings as the best steakhouse in Palo Alto/Menlo Park area.
We have been to others: Sundance, LB Steakhouse, etc. where the food might be just as comparable but the service is definitely A-One at Flemings.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

We had our wedding anniversary lunch here with our son and you did not disappoint! We were touched by the card and greeting on our dessert plate. The steak was so tender and the salmon and chicken were delicious as well. Our server Christina was awesome ! She checked on us often and so did the other staff members. We love coming here for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
28