Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

About Fleming's Steakhouse - Palo Alto

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.

180 El Camino Real
Palo Alto, CA 94304
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00 - 11:00pm, Sonoma Sunday Brunch & Dinner: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 329-8457

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/palo-alto

Parking Details:
Lots of open parking

Public Transit:
Cal Train is located one block away at University Ave.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

A Summer of Love Prix Fixe

Special valid Jun 28, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

A Summer of Love Prix Fixe

Special valid Jun 28, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Steak and Wine are the perfect pair. This summer celebrate the love between steak and wine with our 3-course prix fixe menu. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 28, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Palo Alto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
See All
Good for a Date (24)
Romantic (19)
Bar Seating (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Business Meals (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Great for Brunch (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Cozy (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Casual (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Authentic (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Fun (4)
Private Room (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Live Sports (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Family Style (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fireplace (0)
Sort By:
S
873 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

This is a steak house, and in that respect it is first-class. I had the dry aged ribeye-amazing. Also, the Sapphire Martini-very good. However, we eat here regularly and order the "Wedge Salad". It has been cheapened since our last visit. No longer is a thick slice of succulent bacon part of the salad. Now there are just a couple of strips of regular bacon. Also, there are no longer "Small Plates".

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Good food, as usual. Frustrated to wait 20+ minutes after our reservation time for our table.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Heavenly food and superb service! Loved, loved it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Great place been coming for years but the prices are way too high for what you get. Plenty of other nicer restaurants for that kind of money. Had dinner at Madera at Rosewood for the same price and that's a Michelin star restaurant. For the money I'll. E going there from now on

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

It was a Saturday evening dinner and it was all we needed, anticipated and received. Brooke , our server was superb!!! We loved the food and whole experience. A fine dining meal!!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Celebrating with my family about a new job in the area and we were not disappointed! We were seated in Michael's section and he was amazing! His service was very attentive (but not annoying, an important distinction) and the food was all perfectly cooked. The crab cakes are great, but the dry age strip steak is even better! I would definitely recommend flemmings to anyone looking for a great steak dinner or to celebrate a special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Somehow we missed this establishment so far, and took the opportunity to celebrate a birthday. The total experience was great. The restaurant provides a great service, keeping a good distance from "posh". Prices were comparable to other top-notch steakhouses.
Quite noisy though - if you are looking for a quite place - that may not be your best choice.
The food was great, steaks made to perfection, and served at the right temperature.
No sommelier in the area, the waitress was left to recommended a pinot noir that proved to be a great choice. All in all very good experience - definitely recommended.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The steak is tasty and side dishes are excellent.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Got together with a group of friends to celebrate a birthday. There was a signed card at the table waiting for us! The birthday boy really enjoyed the attention, especially since it was not over the top.

Food was great and our server was on top of it!

Cant wait to celebrate another birthday here

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Went to celebrate my mother in laws 84th birthday. They made her feel really special. Treated us well and the Miso Glaze Chilean Sea Bass was fantastic!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Having been to Fleming's before we knew the restaurant and great service, but the food and service this time was way off even though the waiter was making an effort. Upon seating with two kids, needed to ask for kid's menus twice which should've automatically come as we were sat by the hostess (?). Drink order was late and minus one, and appetizer was forgotten and later served with dinner (w/ apologies and comp'd). The medium requested prime ribs were well passed done, and cheerfully replaced with a ribeye as the kitchen was out (which may explain the dry gray primes we got as the last of the lot). The mushrooms and brussels as a side were passable, but underdone nonetheless. Desserts were more than 20 minutes after their order (and cheerfully added with two more to comp the lateness). Coffee was strong/bitter and had to ask for a second pour that had to be brewed (this was noted as I seemed to need to approve the brewing?) It was an amazing variety of misses and apologies right down to the candle not lit on the table of 6 while all the others around us were. Even with two well behaved kids, it was 2.5hrs of time for not a lot of top notch expected experience. Maybe skip a Sunday night . . .

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

good food--good atmosphere---enjoyable dining-----have been back many times since 1st visit in New Port Ca

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We always have a great meal with great service for all our special evenings. A must try is the rib eye steak and loaded potato. The lave cake is a real favorite. We always look forward for our next visit.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on June 11, 2017

The food, service and ambience were all outstanding. We were there early so noise level was okay. Meals are on the expensive side but for a special occasion it is a good choice. The steaks and lamb chops were very good as would be expected but I had the shrimp and scallops this time and would definitely order that again. Would also recommend the spinach salad which is large enough for 2 or 3 diners.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

First time at Fleming's (for our anniversary). Wonderful service with special treats for the anniversary. All the food was wonderful, especially the bread and spreads and the Fleming's potatoes. Pricey, but worth it for a special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

My 1st time at Flemings for a friends birthday dinner. Glad we decided to go here. I've been to quite a few steakhouses but none of them match the service & food quality I got at Flemings. Ribeye was to die for. Lobster tempura was amazing. Special sides for the night (lobster Mac & cheese, Lobster mash were incredible as well). From the second I stepped through the door they took care of my friend and I. Manager's name was Kevin I believe? Didn't get the waiter's name. Nonetheless, I will be back. It's not so common to receive such incredible service. Thank You.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Excellent food. Great venue for business meals and functions.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 6, 2017

My wife and I ordered Prime rib cooked rare-plus, it came cooked medium. We did not complain because we didn't want to spoil our friends' experience. Also, disappointed that the Palo Alto location did not honor "special pricing".

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I had not been to Fleming's since they built the new facility at Stanford. The main dining room was quite loud; we were seated in the adjacent area. The cocktails, food and service were outstanding, and I will return for other special-occasion meals.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2017

second time we have been to this one. and our last ..Not so much the restaurant itself. just how the chain has changed.It used to be our favorite in La Jolla. They had great lighting, they served you the toppings for your baked potato in the silver holder, and did it for you. Now you get little plastic cups. It feels like a tiny up from Black Angus. Our bill was over 200.00 for two. there are other places to go where I don't have to look at basketball, be rushed, not have glarey light(someone really needs to fix their LEDS and put some sort of covering over the windows) and little fake candles on the table(my personal pet peeve).If I were to ever have to go here again I would ask for the back dining room..

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 29, 2017

My primary reason for marking them down was they were 45 min late with our reservation. They seated us in the outdoor area, which was ok, but left us a bit with the feeling we second class. They tried to make up with a couple of appetizers, which was appreciated, but frankly my mood was already ruined. Service was good once we were seated.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Hubby & I enjoyed our dinning experience. They made our wedding anniversary celebration more special. I highly recommend Flemings .

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

I like a good, high end steak house, and this certainly fits the bill. However, there are at least three other places I would recommend over Flemming's and they are all slightly less expensive. Flemming's has an impressive wine list, including a large by-the-glass selection. Bottom line...good, not great

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Awesome meal and service. It was my first time there, and I would definitely go back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Excellent service and solid recommendation on specials

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2017

One of our favorite places! Always great service! Flemings potatoes a must!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Great place to have dinner if you like hearty beef meals, tasty fresh vegetables and wines. Service is great as well

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We enjoyed the food a lot. Everything was pretty pricey but the portions were large, and the food was extremely well prepared. Everyone enjoyed their salads. I was impressed that my request for gluten-free options, conveyed through Open Table, was taken seriously - the restaurant provided me with a gluten-free menu when I arrived, without my asking. The only problem was that the service did not seem to live up to this standard. For example, my mother-in-law ordered the lobster tails with melted butter, and they never brought the melted butter until we had asked three times and the lobster was getting cold. That really marred it for her.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The prime rib dinner was amazing. Get this Sunday only special sometime. The wine was excellent and the Fleming's potatos are legendary. The only way it could get better is with sorbet and creme brulee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We were there for 2 1/2 hours! I guess there was something wrong in the kitchen- but they didn't give us any explanation... They gave us complimentary desserts (which were delicious). But a horrible experience, and very poor communication from the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We went there for dinner on mother's day. Had a reservation and got the table right away. Our server was very friendly and provided excellent service. We ordered bone in Rib Eye, the steak was not as juicy as expected or as I have had at other high end steak house, but it wasn't that bad. Maybe I had higher expectations coming from Texas where there are some great steakhouses.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We booked this for Mother's Day brunch (three course prix fixe). Kind of weird venue for a brunch, but we just felt like a change. The portions were generous (too generous -- so much food) and the quality of the food and the service were superb. Good choices for vegetarians as well, so that was a really nice surprise. I also liked that it was pretty quiet. Even though it was very busy, we could easily have a conversation and actually hear each other. We might have to make this a Mother's Day tradition.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Friendly staff. Food was very good, we had the Filet Mignon Flatbread appetizer, Dry aged RibEye and Dry aged NY Strip - all very good and tasty. The onions rings where done just right and stacked high. The only blemish was the Crispy Brussel Sprouts, they were too sweet, BUT the waitress removed it off our bill when we told her later that is was a little too sweet for us. For dessert we had the Creme Brulee.

It was a birthday dinner and everyone including the manager came over and wished my guest a Happy Birthday. They took a picture of us and printed and put it in a frame AND gave him a little gift at the end. We decided to open it when we got home. WHat a surpise - inside were 4 good size chocolate truffles!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Worst experience ever! Treated like we did not exist. Service was horrible. Food is over rated. Unless you are white or oriental you will not be treated well.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great! New manager and new chef make a big difference! Coming back next week with the fam!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Excellent service...

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Everything was outstanding! We had a lovely lunch. Great food and service! Reasonable for lunch. Can't ask for anything more.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Brunch is very nice!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Date night with my husband. We were seated in the "annex", i.e. The function room to the right when entering. No candle on table, cold fraught, filthy iPad wine menu (didn't want to touch it), and a terrible waitress. She was slow, inattentive and clearly bored. I had no knife when my steak arrived, asked, nothing, so got up to hunt for a knife myself. At these prices, it wasn't the service I expected.

We arrived at 8pm and found a toddler was crying her heart out. Not what we look for when dining.

Starter: wedge. I've eaten better at Town.
Mains: filet mignon with over priced sides of Brussels ($13) and onion rings ($13). I've eaten better from Whole Foods.

It's a miss for us. Never again.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We came to celebrate our 43rd wedding anniversary. Great food & wine, but on the pricey side.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.