About Fleming's Steakhouse - Palo Alto

180 El Camino Real
Palo Alto, CA 94304
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00 - 11:00pm, Sonoma Sunday Brunch & Dinner: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 329-8457

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/palo-alto

Parking Details:
Lots of open parking

Public Transit:
Cal Train is located one block away at University Ave.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Celebrate Thanksgiving With Us

Thursday Nov 24, 2016 from 11:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Specials

Celebrate Thanksgiving With Us

Thursday Nov 24, 2016 from 11:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Details

On November 24 starting at 11AM, enjoy a four-course meal featuring an amuse-bouche for the table to share, choice of soup or salad, a main course with all the trimmings and a seasonal dessert. Our table. Your Thanksgiving. $39.95 per guest. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid on Thursday Nov 24, 2016 from 11:00 AM - 8:00 PM.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Palo Alto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (60)
Notable Wine List (37)
Romantic (24)
See All
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Great for Brunch (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Business Meals (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Private Room (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Authentic (1)
Cozy (1)
Fun (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Casual (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
Newest
682 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It has always been a very good place to ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

It has always been a very good place to eat. Prices are good. Food is very good.

Service is and has always been impeccable. We had a little issue with one of the meals and the handled it in a manner that beats any place that I can think of.

Stuff happens sometimes and the handling of those moments is what makes a place good or bad.

Could not have asked for a better experience from all the staff

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. The service and the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The food was great. The service and the manager, Kevin, are exemplary.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went to Flemings to celebr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

My wife and I went to Flemings to celebrate our 23rd anniversary. In the past we use to go to Morton's for special occasions but after 2 consecutive disappointing meals, we thought we would give Flemings a try. Everything was wonderful . I ordered the 3 course lobster and fillet dinner and my wife had the prime rib. The food was delivered hot and as ordered. The service was attentive but not too much. One of the managers (Ashley) stopped by our table to make sure everything was perfect. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. I enjoyed my 8 oz s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food was great. I enjoyed my 8 oz steak. My parent thought her steak was a little too salty, so they replaced her steak at no charge and even threw in some desert. The service was wonderful. I highly recommend Fleming's for special occasions in life.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love the dim lighting for the dinner n ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

I love the dim lighting for the dinner night I planned. The table didn't have a candle that took up real estate on the table. Also the restaurant uses a tablet for drink/cocktail menu that also recommends drinks in different categories.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were given the worst table on a slow ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We were given the worst table on a slow night pretty sure it was because we booked through open table. Steak was okay, I have been to Flemmings in other cities and really liked the food and atmosphere, the Palo Alto location did not have a good vibe and the food was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Had been to the restaurant several times ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Had been to the restaurant several times but its been about a year. In the past we had great experiences but this time the service was bad and food subpar. Took 45+ mins to get our ravioli appetizer and the foods quality was really bad. Not worth the price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Please educate your staff on wine. Very ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Please educate your staff on wine. Very friendly servers who are clueless about one of your most important profit centers. Same experience on two visits. Investment in this area will pay off for everyone. Food was excellent,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

Excellent food. Anthony, our waiter, was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent food. Anthony, our waiter, was pleasant, knowledgeable about the menu and very friendly. He was awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As I wasn't very hungry, I ordered only ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

As I wasn't very hungry, I ordered only the shrimp cocktail. Several years ago I had this shrimp cocktail and it was absolutely outstanding! The shrimp were colossal size prawns from the Gulf of Mexico. Because I was so impressed then, I decided to order the same thing . Unfortunately, I was let down. This time the shrimp while large weren't jumbo in size. More importantly, they were hard, rubbery, and somewhat tasteless. They seemed like the frozen shrimp you can buy at a neighborhood supermarket. When I said something about my experience to a manager, he provided outstanding customer service by not only covering the charge for the shrimp cocktail, but giving me a gift certificate for future dining at Flemings.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Go for the steak! I had the best fillet ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Go for the steak! I had the best fillet mignon I have ever had. The waiter recommended it be cooked "rare-plus" which is charred lightly. (This is the way Gordon Ramsey says it must be prepared.) Of course the beef is prime and priced accordingly. The service was expert and amiable. The wine list is terrific, but the Beefeater Dry Martini was enough alcohol for me.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was great. The Prix Fixe was excell ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food was great. The Prix Fixe was excellent. The waiter was extremely attentive and professional. All the staff were excellent. The only negative was a loud crying baby for the last 30 minutes of our stay.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

It's really not a good idea to have an ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

It's really not a good idea to have an untrained and inexperienced Wait staff handle paying customers when you are charging more than average pricing for your quality of a restaurant.

At best our waitress was averaging a 2 out of a scale 1-10. What's worse she was ha delving at lease 5-6 tables with this same attitude.

Our salads we warm and wilted, the Lobster Tails were cold, ice cold and under cooked, the complimentary wine you offered at the beginning of our meal should not be offered. These are $2-3 bottles of wine from the local market.

We tried your restaurant once before 6 months ago and had a poor experience, after the second attempt I am confident we will not be returning to your location ever again.

I donated the comp cards you gave us to charity, hopefully they can get good use out of them.

DO NOT WASTE YOUR TOME OR MONEY AT THIS RESTAURANT !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

We enjoyed our dinner. Service was great ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner. Service was great. No complaints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Not only was the atmosphere sophisticate ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Not only was the atmosphere sophisticated, and the food excellent; our server (Anthony) was exceptional. Friendly, efficient, and knowledgeable about the menu, he took care of us and made us feel like we were his only table. I would not only recommend Fleming's (my petite filet and loaded baked potato were delicious), but I would also recommend asking to sit in Anthony's section. Oh, and make sure you try the F-17 Sauce, Fleming's own house-made steak sauce. It's tangy and sweet, and so much better than anything I ever poured out of a bottle. The only thing missing from the Fleming's experience is the opportunity to enjoy a great cigar after one's meal. This is the sort of meal that practically demands a fine cigar afterward.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated in a back room. We were ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We were seated in a back room. We were with two large parties . Groups of 8 and 10. I believe open table guests are not treated as well as direct reservation guests.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value4

Awesome staff and service.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Awesome staff and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good ambiance and the service was very g ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Good ambiance and the service was very good, with pleasant staff. We ordered the Sunday prime rib special, which ended up being more like a choice rib special. The meat was only OK, certainly to prime grade. The side creamed spinach was OK, but the asparagus was overcooked and the tough ends were not trimmed. The dinner felt like a loss leader type of deal, which is too bad, b/c it is a nice restaurant.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Service and food was great!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Service and food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

This was the first time the steak was ve ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This was the first time the steak was very well done. I ordered medium plus rare. I don't return food. I end up boxing it to take home. I guess it's time to look for another steak place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Decent steakhouse food. Service was rath ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Decent steakhouse food. Service was rather slow for a Wednesday night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

This is the second time in a row that I ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This is the second time in a row that I have ordered an 8oz filet mignon and been very disappointed. Very gristly. It's frustrating to spend $46 for an inferior piece of meat. Next time I will try seafood... The burata was sensational though. The sautéed mushrooms were tasteless. Great ambience but a disappointing evening overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Excellent. Our server chuck was terrific

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Excellent. Our server chuck was terrific

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was exceptional! It is a reall ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was exceptional! It is a really upscale restaurant, but preserves the "Silicon Valley casual" feel. We arrived just before closing, and were among the last diners to finish, but we got exceptional service from all the staff. We will definitely return to enjoy their food and service again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We normally love flemmings, but our serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We normally love flemmings, but our service that night was sub-optimal. Longer wait to order, to get our food. They also got a few items wrong in our item-- for example, brought the wrong wine.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Service was great. Food was tasty. All a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Service was great. Food was tasty. All as usual.

Did not like the sliced baked potato that came with the prixe fixed filet mignon meal (underdone but one of our party liked it that way).

Amazing experience as usual. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and wines were very good. The ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food and wines were very good. The staff was pleasant and friendly. It is a treat to eat at Flemings

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent service. Peppered NY Steak & ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Excellent service.

Peppered NY Steak & Flemings potatoes a must!

If you don't want to splurge on a fancy dinner, Happy Hour is a great option!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Terribly slow staff. Maitre 'D came ove ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Terribly slow staff. Maitre 'D came over twice to help out because wait staff disappeared.

Steaks are amazing though!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Priced like a 5 start joint, but falls s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Priced like a 5 start joint, but falls short on all fronts. Food (delicious, but steaks arrived warm, not hot), service (attentive, but inconsistent and not entirely professional), pacing (took too long), attention (water refills and wine pours were too infrequent).

The restaurant is beautiful, but they need to up their game for me to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I had a Wagyu NY strip steak. It was exc ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I had a Wagyu NY strip steak. It was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service and food. Server, Sergio, ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great service and food. Server, Sergio, was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They do a really good job on their food ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

They do a really good job on their food and customer service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

great service. love the specials (had a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

great service. love the specials (had an American Express dining credit)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

overpriced and steak not as good as expe ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

overpriced and steak not as good as expected and it was overcooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The food is ok for the price, Alexander' ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The food is ok for the price, Alexander's steakhouse is better I think. Great service and ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Dessert took over 30 minutes to come out ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Dessert took over 30 minutes to come out (lava cake) due to multiple people ordering it and the kitchen being backed up. Other than that, the prime rib was fantastic! Would have preferred larger asparagus (these were miniature). Onion rings were great and creamed spinach was better the 2nd day (more creamy).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

As always, the service was excellent. Th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

As always, the service was excellent. The food was amazing!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time. We were seated ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was our first time. We were seated next to a family with very loud kids- not the restaurants fault. The burrata was graining and salty- not great. The steak was too rare but they took it back and cooked it to the correct temperature. Lobster was great. Asparagus was not worth $11+.

Service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We had a marvelous anniversary celebrati ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We had a marvelous anniversary celebration. We were greeted with warmth and attentiveness. We were encouraged to taste test some wines. We were given a card and a special treat for our anniversary. The special treat was there own made truffles - they did test good but felt they truly were not truffles. It's the thought that counts. We did enjoy ourselves.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.