Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

About Fleming's Steakhouse - Palo Alto

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.

180 El Camino Real
Palo Alto, CA 94304
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00 - 11:00pm, Sonoma Sunday Brunch & Dinner: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 329-8457

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/palo-alto

Parking Details:
Lots of open parking

Public Transit:
Cal Train is located one block away at University Ave.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

A Summer of Love Prix Fixe

Special valid Jun 28, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

A Summer of Love Prix Fixe

Special valid Jun 28, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Steak and Wine are the perfect pair. This summer celebrate the love between steak and wine with our 3-course prix fixe menu. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 28, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Palo Alto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (41)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
See All
Good for a Date (29)
Business Meals (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Notable Wine List (15)
Romantic (14)
Worth the Drive (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Great for Lunch (9)
Casual (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Cozy (6)
Authentic (6)
Fun (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Live Sports (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Private Room (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
S
909 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

This visit was a bit disappointing, but nevertheless we are a fan of Fleming's

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Great Sunday brunch! Went there for the prime rib dinner but it wasn't available until after 4 pm. Disappointed we couldn't have the prime rib but the brunch was delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a wonderful experience and meal. From the hostess to the bus boy, the entire staff was welcoming and professional. The place was busy in a good vibrant way. I called ahead to confirm they had a kids menu for my 10 year old, which they did. Our steaks were cooked perfectly and delicious. The kids don't love eating in high end restaurants that feel stuffy, but this had a great vibe and the kids felt very welcomed. Valet parking was a great touch. Fransisco was exceptional, very personable and efficient.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was amazing. The staff gos out of their way for everyone. Must try it a day be amazed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The waiter was excellent, as was the food. It was just a little noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Delicious, perfectly-prepared and nicely presented appetizers, salads, entrees and sides. If I'd had Fleming's creamed spinach for dinner when I was a child, I would not have gone without dessert so often for not eating my vegetables.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Fleming's continues to prove they're just as good or better than an independent high end steak house. Excellent food and service and still the best desserts around.

Tags: Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great service from the moment we arrived and they acknowledge it was our anniversary dinner from the hostess, host, waiter and manager. Tasty food, pricey but you are buying the name and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 1, 2017

They dry-aged ribeye prepared "charred-rare" is pricey but outstanding. Small version is enough for sharing. Service was excellent.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Our server, Mike, was WONDERFUL! I was in town from Seattle and brought my niece in for dinner as she is at Stanford for a 3 week program for high school students and was feeling a little homesick. From the start, he was attentive, professional and made great recommendations for us. I had not dined at this location in a long time so it was nice to see that the quality and service I remembered were still consistent.
Please, thank Mike and the team for a wonderful night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 25, 2017

My wife and I went for an early dinner and we were seated right away. I got the prime rib special and I enjoyed the meal. The only down side was that my meat was slightly overcooked. I like a true medium rare and mine was medium at best. My wife's steak was ever so slightly over cooked, also. Everything else was excellent. Our salads were both good and the desserts were excellent. The sides were outstanding as well. Service was exceptional as well. Brooke was our waitress.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 24, 2017

We were properly greeted by the receptionist from the front. Service was good until the food arrives. The server delivered our food seemed to be in a rush and put our food down without confirming who ordered what. The Medium prime Rib we ordered came out close to well done. The rib eye and filet Mignon were great. Servers seem to forgot about our table half way through our dinner. Towards the ends, i was asked 3 times within 10 mins that if I've finished with my plat of food. Guess they were in a hurry to close out the dining area? It was about 30 mins before the closing time. They rushed to pick up our plates after we were done, the waitress even spilled a lot of water on the table and onto my pants while she was filling up my water from across the table. Overall the food was decent but service was bad.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Fleming's is our favorite steak restaurant in the Bay Area. We've been consistently impressed by the bar, the desserts, the service, and most of all, the steaks. The staff has always been exceptional on our visits. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2017

It was VERY loud ... We could barely hear each other talking. Food was good. Service was okay but not exceptional like one would expect at an establishment of it's caliber.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 23, 2017

My wife and I had a fantastic meal last Saturday evening at Fleming's. The steaks are grass fed and superb! This is our second time to Fleming's. The service is five stars. Are two waiters Chuk and Carlos were outstanding. We look forward to many more dinners at Fleming's. This is the best steak house on the Peninsula.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

for $65,00 steak I was expecting, a nice and tender steak, it was Chuy and with a lot of fat on the side. very dispointing.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Excellent Excellent Excellent Excellent Excellent Excellent Excellent

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2017

The NY Strip steak I ordered was pretty good, best of the ones I have tried.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Although I got an email stating a three course prime rib special on Sundays and Mondays with no coupon needed for $29.95, I was asked for a printed prove. It caught me by surprise since most restaurants honor their advertisement. There was no advertisement of it in their menu either. To make a story short the waitress told me that at their restaurant it was $34.95 and the $29.95 was for all other locations.
When I got home I checked the email and there is nothing specifying at what locations the $29.95 was for; therefore, it is assumed that it covers all locations.
Although the difference was only five dollars I am very disappointed with the outcome because I've eaten there several times and usually the staff has been very accommodating.
I realized that the restaurant in Palo Alto seems to have a good clientele whenever I've been there before in the past, not to honor or acknowledge corporate advertisement leaves a lot to be desired .

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

It was my first visit to the restaurant.

I came for the Sunday Prime Rib Special. I usually like to order the caesar salad, but I did not do so because of the description: hearts of romaine, parmesan, fried capers, crisp prosciutto chips. For me THAT IS NO A CAESAR SALAD! So instead I ordered the least offensive THE NEW WEDGE (seasoned bacon, tomatoes, crumbled gorgonzola, onions, danish blue cheese dressing). The "seasoned bacon" was whole slices of bacon with A LOT OF HOT PEPPER. Even my companion, who likes hot food, did not eat her bacon. My medium prime rib looked like an old piece of meat; it was flaccid, thin and not flavorful. The three sauces that came with it was not presented, as noted. They did two of the spiced ones, and one horseradish , so I didn't get the the au juice. For my side I ordered the GRILLED HIGH COUNTRY ASPARAGUS. For a restaurant of "that caliber" I would have expected to have the asparagus trimmed so that no hard chewy part was left. Sadly, the was not the case:( Dessert was good. I had the berries.

I had to take two doses of Tums that night.

As one would expect......it will be my last visit to the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Very good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Slow to get your food from the kitchen. Cleared the table while some people were still eating.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

This is a cookie cutter skeakhouse with 2x pricing.
Nothing original on the menu.
Would satisfy anyone who doesn't want to be surprised and dreams of a steak with a lobster tail and mash potatoes.
Very loud inside. Staff was nice and gave us a quiet place on the patio.
I had a good evening with my wife, because of the company.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Awesome birthday experience. Thx!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Good not great. Food was good, service and noise level not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

A little on the expensive side. The food was good, no doubt. But I could get an equal steak for maybe 15-25% less in other places. Ambiance was nice but service came by a bit slow. Little improvements here and there can be made but an overall still strong place as far as steakhouses go.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food was very good, however It was over-priced. I have dined at other "al carte" type restaurants, but Fleming's prices were $10 - $15 higher.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great food and service, but be sure to bring cash for the valet parking!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We went to Flemings in its new location for the first time - so it's been over a year since we were last there. It is much more open and inviting than the previous location and the food is even more memorable. We started with fried calamari which was lightly breaded and crispy served with a mild sweet chili dipping sauce. Then we each had the petite filet - at 8 oz still a generous amount of meat without being artery-clogging. We like ours slightly pink throughout, which is 'medium' and was perfectly fork tender and seasoned just right. We ordered the truffled mashed potatoes and crispy brussels sprouts as sides - both excellent. The sprouts are sautéed with bacon, which is an unusual preparation for us but we enjoyed it. The only negative to the food on any level at all was that the sprouts were still way too hot when they got to our table; we needed to let them cool down to eat. One of our party had the fresh tomato bisque soup which I tasted - I could taste the freshness of the tomatoes and the basil. For dessert we shared a piece of carrot cake which was also delicious. Our pre-dinner martinis were just as we'd ordered and I enjoyed a glass of Duckhorn merlot which the waiter recommended. The service deserves a special note - it was a birthday celebration for my husband, which I had mentioned to the restaurant at the time of reservation, and the restaurant responded beautifully. There was a birthday card to welcome him at the table and a small box of truffles with a candle when dessert was served, and there were no unwelcome singers at the side of the table. Our waiter was outstanding, attentive without hovering, friendly without being overly chummy. Altogether we had a great experience and my husband of 37 years told me later it was one of the nicest birthdays he's ever had (and he's had a lot!). We'll go back again when we want a treat!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 4, 2017

The temperatures on the meat were incorrect all entrees were cooked over requested temperature. This has been the case in our previous visits to the restaurant. For the price of each entree the cooks should learn how to properly take a temperature

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Wonderful Sunday get-together with friends. Loved the prime rib and all that came with it. Anthony Kirklin was our server and took great care to meet all of our needs and more. So glad we chose to dine there and certainly will again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Fine dining at reasonable (for fine dining) prices!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 26, 2017

This is a steak house, and in that respect it is first-class. I had the dry aged ribeye-amazing. Also, the Sapphire Martini-very good. However, we eat here regularly and order the "Wedge Salad". It has been cheapened since our last visit. No longer is a thick slice of succulent bacon part of the salad. Now there are just a couple of strips of regular bacon. Also, there are no longer "Small Plates".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Good food, as usual. Frustrated to wait 20+ minutes after our reservation time for our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2017

All of my friends ordered Prime Rib, which is available only on Sunday. I had two out of town friends and one local. They all love their Prime Ribs. Too bad it is on on their daily menu. Really great foods and the service was great.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Heavenly food and superb service! Loved, loved it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

They were really focus on service. Our server was excellent. Just the right amount of attention. The busboys made sure that our water was always full and plates were removed when we had finished. During the course of our meal we had two different managers stop by to make sure everything was fine. This was my first time at this location and I was happy to see that the exceptional service I have always experienced at The Destin Fl location has been duplicated here in Palo Alto. We will be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Great place been coming for years but the prices are way too high for what you get. Plenty of other nicer restaurants for that kind of money. Had dinner at Madera at Rosewood for the same price and that's a Michelin star restaurant. For the money I'll. E going there from now on

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

It was a Saturday evening dinner and it was all we needed, anticipated and received. Brooke , our server was superb!!! We loved the food and whole experience. A fine dining meal!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.