Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Fri, 5/25
Time
7:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 68 times today
Special offers available. See details

Fleming's Steakhouse - Palo Alto

4.4
1065 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steak
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Good for Birthdays
Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00 - 11:00pm, Sonoma Sunday Brunch & Dinner: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(650) 329-8457
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Lots of open parking
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Cal Train is located one block away at University Ave.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

View Private Dining Details

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Father's Day is June 17. Celebrate Dad all weekend long at Fleming's Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar with a three-course menu featuring the 35 oz. Prime Tomahawk and a premium bourbon tasting. If Dad prefers Sliced Filet Mignon Eggs Benedict, Fleming's is opening early at 10AM on June 17 for brunch.

Sunday, June 17, 2018

What 1065 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
78% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

I felt the food was cooked amazingly. The sides we chose to share were great compliments to the steaks we all had. Their selection of wine was very good and for a high end restaurant very affordable. This is my third visit to Fleming's in Palo Alto and I have never been disappointed

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

I like the way they make you feel special every time I was disappointed that the bacon wrapped shrimp were no longer on the menu, but everything I had was tasty

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I celebrated our 1st wedding anniversary and Fleming’s staff was amazing. Best experience. Anthony was our server and he was the best. Very personable and knowledgeable about wines.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Outstanding in every way. Elegant. Highest level of service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

We used the cocktail patio for a birthday party. It was so perfect for a post SoulCycle get together. They have a pretty good wine menu and couches outside. The staff was incredible and treated us so well. Sometimes you want the steak but you don’t want to sit down formally to do so. Luckily at Fleming’s Stanford you can do either.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Mother’s Day dining was a delight, very busy but was NOT neglected, wonderful table service and excellent drinks

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2018

I know it was Mother's Day but it was dinner not brunch, and it was still crazy busy! It was our first time to this restaurant. We were seated at a good sized table in the main dining room. Our server quickly offered to guide us with menu selections so that he could get our orders in as fast as possible to minimize the wait for our toddlers. We ordered the tomahawk and asked of its preparation but our server didn't share that it was on the bone, so we felt it was not of good value though it was cooked to our preference and tasty. We ordered grilled asparagus, creamed spinach and their signature potatoes as sides. The spinach was fine, the potatoes were somewhat bland and the asparagus were not prepped to remove of extra fiber so ended up rather tough to chew. Wines by the glass were served cellar temp and went really well with our steaks. We opted for ice cream and sorbet for a light ending. It seemed odd that the sides were intended to be shared family style while appetizers and proteins were intended by the individual portion. Overall, the food was good, not great, and rather pricey for the quality. This place is better for the business expense account.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We went for the Mother's Day celebration. The special brunch menu was excellent, though a bit on the pricey side and too big of a portion (20% less on price & serving would be perfect for brunch).

Enjoy the setting and the ambiance, would definitely come back and try dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

My girlfriend and I along with both sets of our parents enjoyed the Mother's Day Brunch menu. The menu had excellent selections. Both my mother and I made a mistake reading the menu thinking that we had ordered a filet mignon eggs benedict. When they arrived one of the eggs was over crabmeat. Two of the parents ordered the Steak and eggs and the filet mignon meat looked amazing! I wish that it was the same meat that was used for my meal. The service was outstanding! Everything else on the menu was wonderful!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

What a wonderful mother's day lunch. Very nice staff and service. But as expected very busy. The meal for all 3 of is tasted delicious. The soup, steak, egg benedict and dessert all tasted delicious. Definitely a nice place. Just be aware, this place is not cheap, but worth it for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Great food, great service—thanks Steve for the outstanding service. Paul

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Excellent steak - ours were cooked to perfection. I prefer fillet and it was perfect. Husband prefers New York cut and he said it was the best he had had in ages. He also like the wine selection. Service was friendly and server was very knowledgeable on menu. Only minus was "bearnaise" or "horseradish" sauces on the side are not really sauces, but flavored butter. Did not care for that - would have preferred the real sauces as I do not care to dip my $50 steak in melted butter. Yuck. Everything else, including sides was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

We had the New York Steak. It was cooked perfectly. We each had a different glass of wine. We enjoyed the food and the service. We always wanted to try this restaurant. We will come back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Always amazing!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 7, 2018

While the service was excellent, the food quality has taken a definite downward turn. One of our diners steaks was cooked medium well instead of medium rare. Even though our server promptly returned it to the kitchen, everyone else had finished before the new
steak arrived. The Caesar salad was completely dry and flavorless. Both of the sides appeared to have been cooked in advance and simply reheated. The only saving grace was the dessert course.
Overall, the price does not justify the marginal food quality and it’s disappointing to see a former top notch restaurant lose it’s edge.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

First, my wife and I are always looking for a steak house that rivals Ruth Chris for rib eyes, and Flemings certainly did, great dry aged rib eye. We have tried other national and local steak houses, and most fail.
Second, I have had Chilean Sea Bass dozens of times and this was the best. Miso glazed and came out perfectly crusted, moist in the center and perfect temperature.
Third, very good and attentive service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We went to Fleming’s to celebrate our daughter’s good college grades! The service we received from our waiter, John Maynard was excellent as was our meal.
Wonderful evening thanks to John!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Look, I wasn’t expecting a Michelin experience but there is an elevated expectation when you order a $60 steak on a plate. I ordered NY Strip rare. It came out, at best, med-well. My dining companion’s steak was cooked how he ordered it. Server came by -who was lovely- and I told her the steak was overdone. She grabs a towel (the plate’s so hot it can’t be handled bare-handed. We’ll get to that later on) and takes the steak back, assuring me the kitchen would redo it. Problem: my guest was now uncomfortable eating while my place setting remained empty. I insisted he ate, as he should enjoy it hot...including both sides. After about 15 minutes, a manager (I assume this was his role based solely on his attire, not for his attempt at basic hospitality) comes out with another steak and cautions me that the plate is extremely hot. Never acknowledged the failed first attempt, never came by the table during the wait for the redo. Instead, puts the impossibly hot plate in front of me, asks to cut into it to verify temp and then leaves. Never checks back. I’m perplexed why a restaurant would serve a steak on a plate that is continuing to sear and cook the meat! Ever heard of carryover cooking? This is cooking 101. I grabbed my napkin (to protect my fingers) and slid the 16oz (as I recall) steak on my small bread plate and ate the remainder of the now-cold sides. For the record, we had the mushrooms and the Fleming’s potatoes and they were fantastic...when they were hot. They did end up comping my steak but all I wanted was to sit down, enjoy dinner *together* and happily pay for it. Instead, we ate at separate times, I dined off of a bread plate and ate cold sides. Come on.
*Manager should have come and acknowledged the shortcoming.
*He should have checked in mid-way, offering a salad or something quick so my guest didn’t awkwardly have to dine alone.
*Stop the insanely hot plates. Even if it comes out rare, it’ll be over cooked halfway through.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

tender, tasty filet mignon. Delish salads. Outstanding service. Recommended a great wine by the glass.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Awesome food and cocktails. Service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Excellent food (Both steaks and seafood) Filet Mignons were cooked to perfection. Chilean Sea Bass was very moist and tasty. Our server Mike was the best waiter ever. Very attentive and courteous. Because of him, we rate Flemings as the best steakhouse in Palo Alto/Menlo Park area.
We have been to others: Sundance, LB Steakhouse, etc. where the food might be just as comparable but the service is definitely A-One at Flemings.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

We had our wedding anniversary lunch here with our son and you did not disappoint! We were touched by the card and greeting on our dessert plate. The steak was so tender and the salmon and chicken were delicious as well. Our server Christina was awesome ! She checked on us often and so did the other staff members. We love coming here for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Food was great, however this the service received was below what I expected. Once the steaks were delivered the waitress never even came by to ask if the temperature was correct, which is the least they should do at a steakhouse.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Our steak was over cooked and the waiter didn't check back with us until after we were finished with our meal

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Service was slow, and we were not served bread until asked for. The food was mediocre, far below what one would expect at this price point. The asparagus was old and stringy, and our filet was nothing special. Overall, there is far better value at this price point out there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Fleming's really knows how to do meat! Our waiter was there just enough without being overbearing or absent. We started with crab cakes which were moist and delicious. I had the rib eye cooked to medium rare plus which was perfect and succulent! My wife had the Chilean sea bass which was tasty and nicely done but I would admit it wasn't the best Chilean sea bass I've ever had. It was a little more tough than the ones I've been used to, but maybe they're over fished. We also had a side of Brussels sprouts caramelized with red onions to perfection. I've never enjoyed Brussels sprouts that much! Even the steak that I took home for leftovers two nights later was still tasty even microwaved. Definitely worth it for a special occasion!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We always enjoy a great steak and cocktails. This seems to be our go-to place for this. They seemed short-staffed. Service was friendly, but uneven. One of us got a cocktail before all of the drink orders were taken. Had to flag down our server a few times.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Another special occasion, this time our 55th anniversary, at Fleming's. We had a wonderful dinner and evening. I needed a 'lobster fix' and was not disappointed. This was last Friday night and the place was really jumping when we arrived. Fortunately the noise level dropped a bit about half way through our meal. Everyone was super-nice and helpful. John M. has waited on us several times and always does a great job. We look forward to returning again and again.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Steak was not as flavorful as usual and was over cooked. The manager bought us dinner and dessert, good service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Consistent every time. Amazing service. Best steak!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 9, 2018

The waiter was short tempered and not friendly. This may be one of the reasons the customer ratings are not consistent and all over the map.
When asked to repeat the special items for the night, he became impatient and short tempered. This is not what we expect at a restaurant like Fleming's.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 8, 2018

The server was no where to be found most of the night.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Menu has been downgraded. No more steak rubs! Baked potato was small and the server did not put fixings on the potato. Instead there were small cups of serve-yourself fixings which were not enough. We have eaten here many times, but I doubt we will return. Very disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 2, 2018

Great food and service. Check the website before you go as they have great special offers (such as "three course filet and lobster prix fixe menu for $50) as the waiter/waiteress won't mention the information.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Our Easter Brunch experience was superb from the food options to the attentive service. We selected the Easter Brunch pre-fix menu which was not only delicious but plentiful and good deal ($50 per person).

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We went for the Easter brunch. While the food was very good and a reasonable value, the service was painfully slow.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The occasion was my wife's birthday. She had fish and I had steak. Both dishes were very well prepared. Good wine list and the Fleming potatoes are excellent. The noise level is a bit high but the service was top notch. They did screw up our bill but I caught the error and our server was very apologetic and quickly fixed the mistake.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Fleming’s does birthdays very well! Love the service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Many others offer better quality steaks at a lower prices.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 26, 2018

The Highs:
food was good and cook
great value for the prix fix menu
great ambiance
nice touch on birthday truffle in a box

The Lows:
waiter did not check on us (only came for ordering and collecting the check)
bus boy did not refill our bread basket when asked

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
27