About Fleming's Steakhouse - Palo Alto

180 El Camino Real
Palo Alto, CA 94304
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00 - 11:00pm, Sonoma Sunday Brunch & Dinner: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 329-8457

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/palo-alto

Parking Details:
Lots of open parking

Public Transit:
Cal Train is located one block away at University Ave.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate Valentine's Week with us from February 10 - February 19. Enjoy a 3-course dinner featuring a Filet Mignon paired with your choice of New Zealand Salmon or an Australian Lobster Tail.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Palo Alto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (38)
Good for a Date (29)
Good for Birthdays (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Romantic (19)
Business Meals (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Worth the Drive (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Fun (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Casual (5)
Cozy (4)
People Watching (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Private Room (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Authentic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Live Sports (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Fireplace (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
782 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Took our son out for a special night be ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 13 hours ago

Took our son out for a special night before heading back to college. Reception was pleasant, waiter was knowledgeable and attentive. However food was only average and price was astronomical - if I get a $60 steak it should be perfect - mine was not even hot. Waiter said "be careful with the plate" because of temperature but it was luke warm. Had a soggy salad to start, food was OK for a mid level place but for the prices they charge no way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

It was my friend's birthday and the staf ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

It was my friend's birthday and the staff was amazing! Everyone greeted her happy birthday and they were so attentive. The meal was absolutely delicious! We will be returning here again soon!!!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Finally was able to dine after several c ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Finally was able to dine after several cancellations. Was able to accommodate us as requested on Open Table. Steaks were excellent and prepared as requested. Fleming's potato was too strong with the jalapeno flavor. Menu could be broader. Staff services were friendly and helpful. Had a nice dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, wonderful service and overal ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food, wonderful service and overall a fantastic time at Fleming's!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We absolutely love Fleming's! From the o ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We absolutely love Fleming's! From the out of this world porcini mushroom raviolis to the unique yet amazing Caesar salad, to the absolutely delicious steak with porcini rub, to the incredible Fleming's potatoes, to the decadent cheesecake, this play does not disappoint!! On top of all those amazing food items, the service is superb. If you get a chance to have Steve as your server, do it! He always makes us feel special. He goes above and beyond. He's not only the best server at Fleming's but one of the best we've EVER had! Definitely going again and again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Long delay in getting seated, almost an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Long delay in getting seated, almost an hour after our reservation. In fairness, we requested a table v. booth (which still wasn't available at our reservation time) which added some time.

Manager was sympathetic. We got some free appies. Seemed pretty pricey to me (given the a la carte deal) but it was packed so clearly people like this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Flemings had great service and super des ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Flemings had great service and super desserts and coffee!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Superb dinner! This was our first visit ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Superb dinner! This was our first visit to Fleming's. From the time we walked in to the end of the evening we were treated like royalty. The food, the service, and the ambiance was absolutely fantastic. We have eaten in many wonderful restaurants in the Bay Area. Fleming's is by far the best restaurant. The customer service and the wonderful interaction we had with the manager made the evening for us. The food is superb!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Service lacking. Waited too ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Good food. Service lacking. Waited too long for dinner. Had to remind waitress of wine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I've eaten at Flemings before and had a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

I've eaten at Flemings before and had a great experience all the way around food, staff, etc. This experience was completely the opposite. The staff was great but once food started arriving the thin cut fries were cold and soggy. One of our steaks were just okay. Everything seemed to be over salted. The lamb chops were the stand out dish cooked to perfection as well as the creamed spinach. Everything else tastes like it was a Sizzler or Outback entree but for an expensive price. If this was my only experience with Flemings, I would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was decent, but given prices ($ ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was decent, but given prices ($70) I expected top quality steaks cooked as requested, and it was not the case. Then I had to ask for wine twice because they were out of what I was asking for (twice, as if they did not have the means to update their wine list). They then offered a bottle that was twice the cost I was aiming for, and finally I gave up on wine - having almost finished my entree. They offered to pay for a glass of their choosing - which was not bad, but for a $400 dinner on New Year's Day - the quality of the food and the service were just not there.

Not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

New Year Eve

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A wonderful evening with exceptional ser ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A wonderful evening with exceptional service and amazing food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service!

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Spectacular place for a nice dinner out ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Spectacular place for a nice dinner out for a special occasion

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I was contacted by Fleming's after leavi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I was contacted by Fleming's after leaving my last review, where I criticized the bar service. We had a frank and honest conversation and I appreciated their candor. They invited my wife and me to try them again and in the spirit of Christmas I took them up on it (Costco has Fleming's gift cards for 20% off the face value!).

We did a little shopping and headed over for drinks and dinner. The bar is still challenged but we enjoyed sitting at a high top and having a cocktail.

Whatever challenges the bar has are overwhelmed by the outstanding table service. There are few restaurants on the Peninsula that can match the level of service Fleming's offers. The food was consistent with my last visit, excellent, and the plating was simple and elegant. I ordered the dry aged ribeye, and without accoutrements busying the plate, the steak really came forward in the meal. You may ask why I rate Fleming's 3 stars for value and the answer is that this is an expensive steakhouse, value is not a consideration in choosing to eat here.

We enjoyed an excellent experience a few days before Christmas, which was a welcome departure from the hustle-and-bustle of the season.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We ordered New York they brought out rib ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We ordered New York they brought out rib eye

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

I have noticed a drop off in service sin ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I have noticed a drop off in service since the new restaurant opened but was VERY pleased with our service from Tia tonight. She is very natural with people and has a delightful personality. She will make me consider returning more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I really want to like this restaurant mo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I really want to like this restaurant more than I do. The mid-Peninsula is bereft of good steakhouses and Flemings, unfortunately, does little to resolve that inequity.

The bar service is absolutely terrible, and it always has been going back to the old location. I don't know why they can't get this right, but there are too few servers working the bar, the drinks are good but after you wait for them you are just thankful to get a drink. I suspect that this bar serves the table business almost exclusively and with that dynamic, there is little incentive to just do the basics.

The table service, on the other hand, is excellent. The servers are experienced and pay attention to details. If that were not enough, our server was cheerful and very pleasant in addition to professional.

Food quality is high but the presentation is substandard. I had lobster and filet, and the lobster was on one side of the plate with the filet on the other and 3 small bowls with sauce and, I assume black salt, shoved in the middle. There was little thought to the style of dinnerware selected, how the food was organized, and what accompanied the two core elements. I would be remiss if I didn't point out that the food itself was quite enjoyable... but for what is effectively a $70 entree, the reality is that the food itself is just one part of the experience.

People will go to this restaurant because the location is optimal for everything from a nice dinner with your spouse to a business event, and it's a steakhouse in an area that has few steakhouses. My review won't dent the appeal, I get that, but the reality remains that if my wife and I are going to spend $250 for dinner, we're more likely to go to Madera, Village Pub, or any of the premium options in downtown Palo Alto than come here. The poor bar service just kills it for us, and while the food is good it is not a cherished part of the experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

The main problem is that the steak wasn' ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The main problem is that the steak wasn't cooked at the right temperature. This has happened many times. They fix the problem but I've never been to a steakhouse where they can't seem to cook steak properly on a frequent basis. I mean 70% of the time we go there it's not cooked right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Jessica was awesome!! Food was amazing!!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Jessica was awesome!! Food was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was off the charts .

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Service was off the charts .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our first time having the Sonoma ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This is our first time having the Sonoma Sunday brunch. There are many great options! I would definitely visit Fleming's again for this brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We were so disappointed. First of all we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We were so disappointed. First of all we had a reservation and it was 30 min or more until we actually were seated. Then my boyfriend ordered a prime steak and it had so much gristle. It definitely wasn't the level of prime I have had before. I would not recommend going. It was way overpriced for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

My Friends and I do a yearly dinner and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 7, 2016

My Friends and I do a yearly dinner and find different restaurants to have a really nice dinner.

So this time I choose Fleming's at Stanford Palo Alto. The people were nice the food was good. The only problem we had was the noise level was loud and the temp change often. The temp changes may have been based on where we had been seated.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Anthony was the best server of life!! Be ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Anthony was the best server of life!! Best service, food and drinks. We are now obsessed. Anthony made my mothers birthday a success!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wayyyy to expensive for meat and potatoe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Wayyyy to expensive for meat and potatoes. My gf's steak was supposed to be medium well and it wasn't even near that. Oh well, live and learn. We had a reservation for 9 and still waited had to wait for over a half an hour. Definitely not worth the price nor the time. The cocktails were insanely expensive as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Food was delicious. Service was very go ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Food was delicious. Service was very good. They kept water filled and checked in just the right amount. When we wanted to stay and chat after dinner (which was close to 9 pm) they let us know we were welcome to stay as long as we wanted. Overall, I would recommend this restaurant. They had a great system for making the reservation and sending reminders. They also sent a thank you email which was nice.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a child growing up in Illinois, my au ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 29, 2016

As a child growing up in Illinois, my aunt and uncle owned a slaughter house and meat packing business. So I grew up on grass fed Angus beef. Your beef brought back the taste. Kudos!

Tags: Cozy, Disabled Access, Romantic, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went for my wife's birthday dinner. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We went for my wife's birthday dinner. The service was great. We asked to move tables, no problem. Attentive service. Cocktails came quickly and were good. Specials explained well. We had bisque, spinach salad, and two "small plates". My Ahi was excellent. My wife's short ribs were soggy. No problem, they replaced hers with Filet small plate and COMPED them both. We were not expecting that. They also gave my wife a complimentary lava cake AND four hand-made truffles. I tasted the Filet and it was outstanding. We were very happy with the entire experience and will return. We have been there before and had steaks. They do a great job but are very pricey.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

I always like Flemings. This time was a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I always like Flemings. This time was a birthday dinner (though we kept that hush hush because that's how I am), and we brought our 5yo son. They have a good children's menu. We all had a really good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We were celebrating my daughter's promo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We were celebrating my daughter's promotion. Francisco was our server and brought out a beautiful dessert that said "congratulations." The manager, Ashley, made sure everything was great. We dine at Flemings on a regular basis. Happy hour is always good and always a pleasure when Olivia is working! Thanks for a memorable dinner!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant but more expensive than ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great restaurant but more expensive than it used to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I was craving a good steak while staying ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 21, 2016

I was craving a good steak while staying in the peninsula. I had their filet mignon. It was properly aged, simply prepared (salt and pepper mostly) , and cooked perfectly (thin carmelized char outside). Service was good. Their mixed salad with lemon vinigarette was a bit bland for my taste. Their iceberg wedge is served with thick slabs of bacon which was too sweet and hard-have to bite it and cut it.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

all was fine just the hostess was very c ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

all was fine just the hostess was very confused put our friends who arrived first at a table than when we arrived put us at the other dining room we ended up waiting 15 minutes than they realized that we are waiting .. not great for organization actually never happened to me in any restaurant

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great, service was very uneven ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was great, service was very uneven with long periods of time between seeing our waiter. The manager was on the dining room floor helping out and he seemed to really be making an effort to fill in for a less than attentive waiter. We also waited an unusually long time for our main dish - we think they forgot about our order. Although we didn't complain about the less than attentive service by the waiter or the delay in the food, we were offered a free desert for the delayed food by the manager which was a nice touch. So overall not too bad an experience, however we expected a little more from a restaurant of this caliber. We probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

We were there on a Friday night. The bar ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We were there on a Friday night. The bar area was shear chaos during Happy Hour. No seats available so had to stand while we waited for our table. Table service was mixed. Servers went MIA for stretches. Food overall was very good but our ravioli appetizer arrived cold. Our server, however, was gracious enough to comp the dish. I am not sure I would spend that kind of monay again for a loud and chaotis restaurant with inconsistent service.

Tags: Live Sports, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Steaks cooked to perfection! Large salad ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Steaks cooked to perfection! Large salad and sides. Would have preferred a soft-bread dinner loaf to the crunchy crust. Service was terrific and no hints from the staff that they wanted to turn over the table (my date and I were there 4hrs!), seems that is built into the pricing.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We have always been created with a smile ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We have always been created with a smile. Anthony is a great waiter and the food was fantastic.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a nice Sunday prime rib special dinn ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Had a nice Sunday prime rib special dinner, couldn't be a better deal. Included in the special was a choice of salad, one side, prime rib and dessert. More than one could possibly eat. All were quality dishes and the service was perfect.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.