About Fleming's Steakhouse - Palo Alto

180 El Camino Real
Palo Alto, CA 94304
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00 - 11:00pm, Sonoma Sunday Brunch & Dinner: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 329-8457

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/palo-alto

Parking Details:
Lots of open parking

Public Transit:
Cal Train is located one block away at University Ave.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Palo Alto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (37)
Good for a Date (30)
Good for Birthdays (28)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Romantic (19)
Notable Wine List (17)
Business Meals (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Bar Seating (11)
Fun (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Private Room (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Casual (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Family Style (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
People Watching (4)
Cozy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Fireplace (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Authentic (2)
Healthy (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Live Sports (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
797 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a nice time but were slower than ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a nice time but were slower than the wait staff was expecting. We were enjoying our conversation. Overall very good food.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

For me, the best way to gauge the qualit ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

For me, the best way to gauge the quality of a restaurant is how well they cook their steaks. I asked for a medium rare ribeye, and I got medium well on the outside and rare throughout. The creamed spinach had way too much mayonnaise in it. The service was great, but I didn't feel it was anywhere near worth the price. Probably won't come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Everything about it was amazing. The ser ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything about it was amazing. The service. The food. The wine. Every course was perfection. If it weren't for the cost, we'd be there every month. For now, it's a great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had reserved it for a double date on V ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

I had reserved it for a double date on Valentine night and they had marked our V night sooo bad .

The salad in valentine menu supposedly need to be pretty and nice and appetitive .. but instead was o posit by far . Worse salad I had ever ever in my whole life ...bunch of old lettuce was throw in the place which I took picture of its

Also Valentine menu had fillet which I had order medium and came soooooo dry ...

anyway people don't waste ur time and money .. if u r planning going to steak house choose a good one . Like Alexander, By the sea, Sundance...,

Also we ordered 2 cocktails . It was a only surgery juice . No vodka and nothing .. when we asked to add a vodka shot they said they will charge again ..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

We had a wonderful time. It was my wife ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a wonderful time. It was my wife's 70th Birthday. Service was exceptional. Thank you for a wonderful evening.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great looking room for a steakhouse. Ap ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great looking room for a steakhouse. Appetizers nice, nothing too special. However the prime aged beef was not that great. Had prime aged sirloin strip, rare, that was excessively tough and lacked flavor. Rather disappointing since the price point demanded much better.

Sides of vegetables were good in flavor and quantity. Wine list is extensive with few value choices.

Overall a very nice atmosphere but not a true steak aficionados place.

Tags: Modern Decor, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

The service was exceptional which was no ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The service was exceptional which was not expected on such a busy night. The fillet was cooked exactly to order ("rare plus") but not quite as flavorful as usual. I think next time I will try an added rub. I have not done that in past visits. The sliced fillet was perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Kevin, the manager was hands on, droppin ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Kevin, the manager was hands on, dropping by the table twice to see that our steaks were done properly and that we enjoyed our meal. Filet mignon with bernaise sauce on the side, sautéed Brussel sprouts with bacon, and creamed spinach were delicious. Highly recommend a red wine called Predator from Lodi. An old Vine Zinfandel that is full-bodied and complex plus it's only $40 a bottle ! Also by the glass !

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Healthy, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Private Room, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Headed to Fleming's for creative drinks ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Headed to Fleming's for creative drinks and appies with friends. First of all, you can actually HEAR in the bar/restaurant. BIG PLUS. Secondly, our server, Anthony K., was fabulous...delightful and loaded with great recommendations. The drinks and food were delicious. We'll be back very soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came for the Sonoma Sunday brunch- resta ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Came for the Sonoma Sunday brunch- restaurant was not full as it was 1:45. We were seated right away and then waiting about 10 minutes for a server to approach us. She asked if we would like their complimentary mimosas so said yes. They were a passionfruit mimosa which tasted nice- not very much champagne but it was free so can't complain. We both ordered the prime rib dip. Our busboy was very nice and actually we saw him more than the server. After about another 20 minute delay we got our food. Not sure why it took so long as the restaurant was not crowded. The first thing we noticed is there wasn't a side of au jus which is traditional for a french dip. It seemed like the prime rib had been dipped in it and then put on the roll. The meat was medium well and several fatty pieces. Just ok- not much flavor. Fries were good though. Just expected it to have more flavor and not so fatty. Slow service and just ok food- I really was expecting it to be a better "brunch".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Always a good place to grab a nice dinne ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Always a good place to grab a nice dinner. Steak temperatures could be better regulated but quality is great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Just a terrific restaurant. Fabulous foo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Just a terrific restaurant. Fabulous food, service and ambience. Expensive but worth it for special night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Server made great recommnedations on foo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Server made great recommnedations on food and wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

great food and service go there quite of ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 24, 2017

great food and service go there quite ofter, my son loved the steak and my husband had a great birthday.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took our son out for a special night be ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Took our son out for a special night before heading back to college. Reception was pleasant, waiter was knowledgeable and attentive. However food was only average and price was astronomical - if I get a $60 steak it should be perfect - mine was not even hot. Waiter said "be careful with the plate" because of temperature but it was luke warm. Had a soggy salad to start, food was OK for a mid level place but for the prices they charge no way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

It was my friend's birthday and the staf ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

It was my friend's birthday and the staff was amazing! Everyone greeted her happy birthday and they were so attentive. The meal was absolutely delicious! We will be returning here again soon!!!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Finally was able to dine after several c ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Finally was able to dine after several cancellations. Was able to accommodate us as requested on Open Table. Steaks were excellent and prepared as requested. Fleming's potato was too strong with the jalapeno flavor. Menu could be broader. Staff services were friendly and helpful. Had a nice dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, wonderful service and overal ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great food, wonderful service and overall a fantastic time at Fleming's!

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We absolutely love Fleming's! From the o ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We absolutely love Fleming's! From the out of this world porcini mushroom raviolis to the unique yet amazing Caesar salad, to the absolutely delicious steak with porcini rub, to the incredible Fleming's potatoes, to the decadent cheesecake, this play does not disappoint!! On top of all those amazing food items, the service is superb. If you get a chance to have Steve as your server, do it! He always makes us feel special. He goes above and beyond. He's not only the best server at Fleming's but one of the best we've EVER had! Definitely going again and again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fireplace, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Long delay in getting seated, almost an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Long delay in getting seated, almost an hour after our reservation. In fairness, we requested a table v. booth (which still wasn't available at our reservation time) which added some time.

Manager was sympathetic. We got some free appies. Seemed pretty pricey to me (given the a la carte deal) but it was packed so clearly people like this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Flemings had great service and super des ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Flemings had great service and super desserts and coffee!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Superb dinner! This was our first visit ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Superb dinner! This was our first visit to Fleming's. From the time we walked in to the end of the evening we were treated like royalty. The food, the service, and the ambiance was absolutely fantastic. We have eaten in many wonderful restaurants in the Bay Area. Fleming's is by far the best restaurant. The customer service and the wonderful interaction we had with the manager made the evening for us. The food is superb!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. Service lacking. Waited too ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Good food. Service lacking. Waited too long for dinner. Had to remind waitress of wine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

I've eaten at Flemings before and had a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

I've eaten at Flemings before and had a great experience all the way around food, staff, etc. This experience was completely the opposite. The staff was great but once food started arriving the thin cut fries were cold and soggy. One of our steaks were just okay. Everything seemed to be over salted. The lamb chops were the stand out dish cooked to perfection as well as the creamed spinach. Everything else tastes like it was a Sizzler or Outback entree but for an expensive price. If this was my only experience with Flemings, I would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was decent, but given prices ($ ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The food was decent, but given prices ($70) I expected top quality steaks cooked as requested, and it was not the case. Then I had to ask for wine twice because they were out of what I was asking for (twice, as if they did not have the means to update their wine list). They then offered a bottle that was twice the cost I was aiming for, and finally I gave up on wine - having almost finished my entree. They offered to pay for a glass of their choosing - which was not bad, but for a $400 dinner on New Year's Day - the quality of the food and the service were just not there.

Not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

New Year Eve

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A wonderful evening with exceptional ser ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

A wonderful evening with exceptional service and amazing food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service!

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Spectacular place for a nice dinner out ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Spectacular place for a nice dinner out for a special occasion

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I was contacted by Fleming's after leavi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I was contacted by Fleming's after leaving my last review, where I criticized the bar service. We had a frank and honest conversation and I appreciated their candor. They invited my wife and me to try them again and in the spirit of Christmas I took them up on it (Costco has Fleming's gift cards for 20% off the face value!).

We did a little shopping and headed over for drinks and dinner. The bar is still challenged but we enjoyed sitting at a high top and having a cocktail.

Whatever challenges the bar has are overwhelmed by the outstanding table service. There are few restaurants on the Peninsula that can match the level of service Fleming's offers. The food was consistent with my last visit, excellent, and the plating was simple and elegant. I ordered the dry aged ribeye, and without accoutrements busying the plate, the steak really came forward in the meal. You may ask why I rate Fleming's 3 stars for value and the answer is that this is an expensive steakhouse, value is not a consideration in choosing to eat here.

We enjoyed an excellent experience a few days before Christmas, which was a welcome departure from the hustle-and-bustle of the season.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We ordered New York they brought out rib ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We ordered New York they brought out rib eye

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

I have noticed a drop off in service sin ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I have noticed a drop off in service since the new restaurant opened but was VERY pleased with our service from Tia tonight. She is very natural with people and has a delightful personality. She will make me consider returning more often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I really want to like this restaurant mo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I really want to like this restaurant more than I do. The mid-Peninsula is bereft of good steakhouses and Flemings, unfortunately, does little to resolve that inequity.

The bar service is absolutely terrible, and it always has been going back to the old location. I don't know why they can't get this right, but there are too few servers working the bar, the drinks are good but after you wait for them you are just thankful to get a drink. I suspect that this bar serves the table business almost exclusively and with that dynamic, there is little incentive to just do the basics.

The table service, on the other hand, is excellent. The servers are experienced and pay attention to details. If that were not enough, our server was cheerful and very pleasant in addition to professional.

Food quality is high but the presentation is substandard. I had lobster and filet, and the lobster was on one side of the plate with the filet on the other and 3 small bowls with sauce and, I assume black salt, shoved in the middle. There was little thought to the style of dinnerware selected, how the food was organized, and what accompanied the two core elements. I would be remiss if I didn't point out that the food itself was quite enjoyable... but for what is effectively a $70 entree, the reality is that the food itself is just one part of the experience.

People will go to this restaurant because the location is optimal for everything from a nice dinner with your spouse to a business event, and it's a steakhouse in an area that has few steakhouses. My review won't dent the appeal, I get that, but the reality remains that if my wife and I are going to spend $250 for dinner, we're more likely to go to Madera, Village Pub, or any of the premium options in downtown Palo Alto than come here. The poor bar service just kills it for us, and while the food is good it is not a cherished part of the experience.

Tags: Happy Hour, Open Kitchen, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

The main problem is that the steak wasn' ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

The main problem is that the steak wasn't cooked at the right temperature. This has happened many times. They fix the problem but I've never been to a steakhouse where they can't seem to cook steak properly on a frequent basis. I mean 70% of the time we go there it's not cooked right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Jessica was awesome!! Food was amazing!!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Jessica was awesome!! Food was amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was off the charts .

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Service was off the charts .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our first time having the Sonoma ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This is our first time having the Sonoma Sunday brunch. There are many great options! I would definitely visit Fleming's again for this brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We were so disappointed. First of all we ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We were so disappointed. First of all we had a reservation and it was 30 min or more until we actually were seated. Then my boyfriend ordered a prime steak and it had so much gristle. It definitely wasn't the level of prime I have had before. I would not recommend going. It was way overpriced for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

My Friends and I do a yearly dinner and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 7, 2016

My Friends and I do a yearly dinner and find different restaurants to have a really nice dinner.

So this time I choose Fleming's at Stanford Palo Alto. The people were nice the food was good. The only problem we had was the noise level was loud and the temp change often. The temp changes may have been based on where we had been seated.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Anthony was the best server of life!! Be ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Anthony was the best server of life!! Best service, food and drinks. We are now obsessed. Anthony made my mothers birthday a success!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.