About Fleming's Steakhouse - Palo Alto

180 El Camino Real
Palo Alto, CA 94304
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00 - 11:00pm, Sonoma Sunday Brunch & Dinner: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 329-8457

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/palo-alto

Parking Details:
Lots of open parking

Public Transit:
Cal Train is located one block away at University Ave.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Gifts to give, presents to keep.

Special valid Nov 29, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Gifts to give, presents to keep.

Special valid Nov 29, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

It’s the best season to give and receive. In the spirit of the holidays, we’re offering a $20 Bonus Card for every $100 purchased in Gift Cards. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 29, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Palo Alto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Notable Wine List (24)
Good for a Date (22)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Romantic (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Business Meals (16)
Good for Groups (13)
Worth the Drive (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Fun (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Cozy (4)
Casual (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Authentic (4)
Private Room (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Live Sports (3)
People Watching (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Fireplace (1)
Seasonal (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
722 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wayyyy to expensive for meat and potatoe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Wayyyy to expensive for meat and potatoes. My gf's steak was supposed to be medium well and it wasn't even near that. Oh well, live and learn. We had a reservation for 9 and still waited had to wait for over a half an hour. Definitely not worth the price nor the time. The cocktails were insanely expensive as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Food was delicious. Service was very go ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was delicious. Service was very good. They kept water filled and checked in just the right amount. When we wanted to stay and chat after dinner (which was close to 9 pm) they let us know we were welcome to stay as long as we wanted. Overall, I would recommend this restaurant. They had a great system for making the reservation and sending reminders. They also sent a thank you email which was nice.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As a child growing up in Illinois, my au ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 29, 2016

As a child growing up in Illinois, my aunt and uncle owned a slaughter house and meat packing business. So I grew up on grass fed Angus beef. Your beef brought back the taste. Kudos!

Tags: Cozy, Disabled Access, Romantic, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We went for my wife's birthday dinner. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We went for my wife's birthday dinner. The service was great. We asked to move tables, no problem. Attentive service. Cocktails came quickly and were good. Specials explained well. We had bisque, spinach salad, and two "small plates". My Ahi was excellent. My wife's short ribs were soggy. No problem, they replaced hers with Filet small plate and COMPED them both. We were not expecting that. They also gave my wife a complimentary lava cake AND four hand-made truffles. I tasted the Filet and it was outstanding. We were very happy with the entire experience and will return. We have been there before and had steaks. They do a great job but are very pricey.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

We were celebrating my daughter's promo ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We were celebrating my daughter's promotion. Francisco was our server and brought out a beautiful dessert that said "congratulations." The manager, Ashley, made sure everything was great. We dine at Flemings on a regular basis. Happy hour is always good and always a pleasure when Olivia is working! Thanks for a memorable dinner!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was craving a good steak while staying ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 21, 2016

I was craving a good steak while staying in the peninsula. I had their filet mignon. It was properly aged, simply prepared (salt and pepper mostly) , and cooked perfectly (thin carmelized char outside). Service was good. Their mixed salad with lemon vinigarette was a bit bland for my taste. Their iceberg wedge is served with thick slabs of bacon which was too sweet and hard-have to bite it and cut it.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

all was fine just the hostess was very c ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

all was fine just the hostess was very confused put our friends who arrived first at a table than when we arrived put us at the other dining room we ended up waiting 15 minutes than they realized that we are waiting .. not great for organization actually never happened to me in any restaurant

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great, service was very uneven ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was great, service was very uneven with long periods of time between seeing our waiter. The manager was on the dining room floor helping out and he seemed to really be making an effort to fill in for a less than attentive waiter. We also waited an unusually long time for our main dish - we think they forgot about our order. Although we didn't complain about the less than attentive service by the waiter or the delay in the food, we were offered a free desert for the delayed food by the manager which was a nice touch. So overall not too bad an experience, however we expected a little more from a restaurant of this caliber. We probably won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

We were there on a Friday night. The bar ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We were there on a Friday night. The bar area was shear chaos during Happy Hour. No seats available so had to stand while we waited for our table. Table service was mixed. Servers went MIA for stretches. Food overall was very good but our ravioli appetizer arrived cold. Our server, however, was gracious enough to comp the dish. I am not sure I would spend that kind of monay again for a loud and chaotis restaurant with inconsistent service.

Tags: Live Sports, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Steaks cooked to perfection! Large salad ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Steaks cooked to perfection! Large salad and sides. Would have preferred a soft-bread dinner loaf to the crunchy crust. Service was terrific and no hints from the staff that they wanted to turn over the table (my date and I were there 4hrs!), seems that is built into the pricing.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We have always been created with a smile ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We have always been created with a smile. Anthony is a great waiter and the food was fantastic.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a nice Sunday prime rib special dinn ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Had a nice Sunday prime rib special dinner, couldn't be a better deal. Included in the special was a choice of salad, one side, prime rib and dessert. More than one could possibly eat. All were quality dishes and the service was perfect.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Another awesome birthday celebration at ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Another awesome birthday celebration at Fleming's for my sons! The staff was very accommodating with a special nod to Anthony our server, and the food was perfect. The steaks were each cooked to perfection and our sides of creamed spinach and brussel sprouts were delicious! We enjoyed a leisurely time even though is was a busy Saturday night; we were never rushed. We will definitely be back again for the next special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Server did not bring soup that was order ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Server did not bring soup that was ordered, actually forgot! Waited over 40 minutes for food and it was over priced. This is the second time we have been here and both times food was forgotten and order took long to arrive. We have been to many many quality restaurants and this one is off our list and we won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Service was perfect very attentive kept ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Service was perfect very attentive kept checking back but not hovering, Angel was exceptional as a waiter loved the food perfect delicious hot and no long waits. Great dining experience! Definitely recommend. 2 managers checked on us. We felt like VIPs .

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

everything was tasty and our waiter was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

everything was tasty and our waiter was attentive, the manager came over to check in on us, all very very great. will come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fleming's is always consistent. They hav ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Fleming's is always consistent. They have a professional wait staff that provide the service you would expect for a high end steakhouse. From appetizers to dessert, the team paces the arrival of your courses so that you can really relax and enjoy a great meal. Worth the price for a nice meal out.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've dined at Fleming's many times...al ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We've dined at Fleming's many times...always pleased with the service and quality of food. The crab cakes were fresh and loaded with crab, not filled with bread/breadcrumbs. The chopped wedge salad was a generous portion and perfectly dressed. Our steaks were cooked as ordered and the quality of the meat was excellent! The creme brulee was perfectly toasted to a light golden brown and was sooo good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Although Flemings is on the expensive si ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Although Flemings is on the expensive side, it is well worth it! Each course was delicious and cooked to our exact specifications.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. We ordered appetizers a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was great. We ordered appetizers and took our time in ordering our dinner. When we did, it came pretty quickly. The steaks were huge and so as the side dishes, which would have been enough for 4 people, especially the Flemings au-gratin potatoes. The dinner entrees are priced high but that's most fancy steakhouses are. I ordered the scallops and shrimps over grits as a small serving, which was perfect. Otherwise, I would not have been able to finish it. The grits was creamy. Overall, we enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fireplace, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My husband and I came here for a weekly ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 29, 2016

My husband and I came here for a weekly date night. The service, from start to finish, was very good. Our food was delicious and the atmosphere relaxed, if not totally cozy. This makes it better for business meetings and work related gatherings - the dining room was busy but not crowded - so you could have a conversation.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food above average. Service pretty bad. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food above average. Service pretty bad. Don't sit in John's section. There are better waiters. Lobster and steak good. Lava cake exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Went to Flemings to celebrate a birthday ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Went to Flemings to celebrate a birthday dinner party with several friends. Had reservations and was seated immediately. The place has a very modern decor and would be appropriate for any anniversary, birthday, or other celebration. It would also be THE PLACE for a fancy business lunch or dinner in Palo Alto. The food is upscale and there is an extensive wine list for the wine lovers. I have been to Flemings several times before and have always had good food and great service there. It is also probably the best happy hour place in the entire South Bay.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wife and I enjoyed our experience at thi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Wife and I enjoyed our experience at this modern space venue at flemings. Steaks were top notch and the side dishes were an indulgent addition. Lobster mac and cheese! Will definitely come back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Might go again just to have a drink at t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Might go again just to have a drink at the lively bar. However, Fleming's has the worst steak I've ever had at any steakhouse. I returned the bone-in ribeye that was so full of sinew it was inedible. The New York strip was not much better, and lacked flavor. How a place can call themselves a "prime" steakhouse is beyond reason with such poor quality meat. Head to Alexander's if you want a great steak, and void Flemings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

We had a wonderful meal there. Everythi ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We had a wonderful meal there. Everything was cooked perfectly and tasted excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely service, completely marred by the ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Lovely service, completely marred by the deafening noise.

Food is okay, but nothing which begins to justify the price.

Service was lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Sunday brunch was outstanding and servic ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Sunday brunch was outstanding and service was very good.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I had been to Flemings for special event ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

I had been to Flemings for special events with big groups, and I decided to take my gal pals for the new brunch on Sunday. it was very nice and the food was good. the Sonoma Sparkler was a nice change from the mimosas with the orange juice, wine and passion fruit flavor. the service was attentive and very helpful as we had some guests with food allergies. our group of 7 had a lovely oval table and we enjoyed our afternoon greatly. we had all the desserts and enjoyed several starters but the main entrees were a treat with the filet benedict, beef hash, sea bass, chicken and waffles, custom omelets. Big YUM!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good food. The service was attentiv ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Very good food. The service was attentive at first, pretty slow at the end. We waited 15 minutes after our meal to be offered dessert. Then the restaurant could not process our credit card. Glad we had cash!

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The service and ambiance is great. Howe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 12, 2016

The service and ambiance is great. However, there are a couple of things that we weren't satisfied with. The chicken tenders for the children, the batter they used, had way TOO much pepper in it, so my children stated it was too spicy for them. When I had a bite of their chicken tenders, the batter was also way too spicy for me - how can they expect the children to consume their chicken tenders this way? I asked for my steak to be medium well/well done, with a slight line of pink in the middle. My steak came out all pink with almost red juices coming out. I was not happy with my steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The staff outstanding! The lava cake to ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The staff outstanding! The lava cake to die for!! A must try!!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We were looking for a small meal so we s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We were looking for a small meal so we split the wedge salad, a filet and a cheese potato dish. It was delicious, very tender steak and just the right amount for us. I also liked that you could order a small or large glass of wine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fabulous as always. Great steaks and th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Fabulous as always. Great steaks and the creamed spinach is to die for.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Delicious filter mignon and lobster tail ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Delicious filter mignon and lobster tail combination. Large wedge salad can be shared. All the desserts were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I went for Sunday brunch. The filet Min ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I went for Sunday brunch. The filet Ming on, prime burger were great. The only issue was the sausage that came with the lemon ricotta pancakes were over cooked making it hard. Drinks were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I've had better service and food there b ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I've had better service and food there before. This was an off night. We even got forgot about so I wasn't able to talk to the waiter about my dish.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

We treated our son to dinner at Flemings ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We treated our son to dinner at Flemings for his 12th birthday and it was an evening he'll never forget. From the moment we arrived, everyone at the restaurant worked to make him feel special. Service was extraordinary. The food was fantastic and the ambiance is lovely. We did have a bit of sticker shock when the bill came. It's easy to run up a large tab since everything is a la carte. But in the end, we felt it was a special treat that was worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is always very consisten ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

This restaurant is always very consistent, the ingredients are good and everything is cooked to perfection. If you like meat, this is heaven on earth, but the other offerings are excellent as well. The service is friendly and timed just right and even the kids enjoy it. Since it is on the pricier side it is great mostly for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

It has always been a very good place to ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2016

It has always been a very good place to eat. Prices are good. Food is very good.

Service is and has always been impeccable. We had a little issue with one of the meals and the handled it in a manner that beats any place that I can think of.

Stuff happens sometimes and the handling of those moments is what makes a place good or bad.

Could not have asked for a better experience from all the staff

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.