Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

About Fleming's Steakhouse - Palo Alto

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.

180 El Camino Real
Palo Alto, CA 94304
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00 - 11:00pm, Sonoma Sunday Brunch & Dinner: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 329-8457

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/palo-alto

Parking Details:
Lots of open parking

Public Transit:
Cal Train is located one block away at University Ave.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

A Summer of Love Prix Fixe

Special valid Jun 28, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

A Summer of Love Prix Fixe

Special valid Jun 28, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Steak and Wine are the perfect pair. This summer celebrate the love between steak and wine with our 3-course prix fixe menu. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 28, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Palo Alto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
See All
Good for a Date (25)
Good for Groups (19)
Bar Seating (19)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Romantic (17)
Business Meals (16)
Great for Brunch (12)
Worth the Drive (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Cozy (8)
Great for Lunch (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Casual (7)
Authentic (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Fun (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Live Sports (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Private Room (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fireplace (0)
Sort By:
S
898 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

My wife and I went for an early dinner and we were seated right away. I got the prime rib special and I enjoyed the meal. The only down side was that my meat was slightly overcooked. I like a true medium rare and mine was medium at best. My wife's steak was ever so slightly over cooked, also. Everything else was excellent. Our salads were both good and the desserts were excellent. The sides were outstanding as well. Service was exceptional as well. Brooke was our waitress.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 3 days ago

We were properly greeted by the receptionist from the front. Service was good until the food arrives. The server delivered our food seemed to be in a rush and put our food down without confirming who ordered what. The Medium prime Rib we ordered came out close to well done. The rib eye and filet Mignon were great. Servers seem to forgot about our table half way through our dinner. Towards the ends, i was asked 3 times within 10 mins that if I've finished with my plat of food. Guess they were in a hurry to close out the dining area? It was about 30 mins before the closing time. They rushed to pick up our plates after we were done, the waitress even spilled a lot of water on the table and onto my pants while she was filling up my water from across the table. Overall the food was decent but service was bad.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Fleming's is our favorite steak restaurant in the Bay Area. We've been consistently impressed by the bar, the desserts, the service, and most of all, the steaks. The staff has always been exceptional on our visits. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

It was VERY loud ... We could barely hear each other talking. Food was good. Service was okay but not exceptional like one would expect at an establishment of it's caliber.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

for $65,00 steak I was expecting, a nice and tender steak, it was Chuy and with a lot of fat on the side. very dispointing.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent Excellent Excellent Excellent Excellent Excellent Excellent

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2017

The NY Strip steak I ordered was pretty good, best of the ones I have tried.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Although I got an email stating a three course prime rib special on Sundays and Mondays with no coupon needed for $29.95, I was asked for a printed prove. It caught me by surprise since most restaurants honor their advertisement. There was no advertisement of it in their menu either. To make a story short the waitress told me that at their restaurant it was $34.95 and the $29.95 was for all other locations.
When I got home I checked the email and there is nothing specifying at what locations the $29.95 was for; therefore, it is assumed that it covers all locations.
Although the difference was only five dollars I am very disappointed with the outcome because I've eaten there several times and usually the staff has been very accommodating.
I realized that the restaurant in Palo Alto seems to have a good clientele whenever I've been there before in the past, not to honor or acknowledge corporate advertisement leaves a lot to be desired .

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

It was my first visit to the restaurant.

I came for the Sunday Prime Rib Special. I usually like to order the caesar salad, but I did not do so because of the description: hearts of romaine, parmesan, fried capers, crisp prosciutto chips. For me THAT IS NO A CAESAR SALAD! So instead I ordered the least offensive THE NEW WEDGE (seasoned bacon, tomatoes, crumbled gorgonzola, onions, danish blue cheese dressing). The "seasoned bacon" was whole slices of bacon with A LOT OF HOT PEPPER. Even my companion, who likes hot food, did not eat her bacon. My medium prime rib looked like an old piece of meat; it was flaccid, thin and not flavorful. The three sauces that came with it was not presented, as noted. They did two of the spiced ones, and one horseradish , so I didn't get the the au juice. For my side I ordered the GRILLED HIGH COUNTRY ASPARAGUS. For a restaurant of "that caliber" I would have expected to have the asparagus trimmed so that no hard chewy part was left. Sadly, the was not the case:( Dessert was good. I had the berries.

I had to take two doses of Tums that night.

As one would expect......it will be my last visit to the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Very good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Slow to get your food from the kitchen. Cleared the table while some people were still eating.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

This is a cookie cutter skeakhouse with 2x pricing.
Nothing original on the menu.
Would satisfy anyone who doesn't want to be surprised and dreams of a steak with a lobster tail and mash potatoes.
Very loud inside. Staff was nice and gave us a quiet place on the patio.
I had a good evening with my wife, because of the company.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Awesome birthday experience. Thx!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Good not great. Food was good, service and noise level not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

A little on the expensive side. The food was good, no doubt. But I could get an equal steak for maybe 15-25% less in other places. Ambiance was nice but service came by a bit slow. Little improvements here and there can be made but an overall still strong place as far as steakhouses go.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food was very good, however It was over-priced. I have dined at other "al carte" type restaurants, but Fleming's prices were $10 - $15 higher.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great food and service, but be sure to bring cash for the valet parking!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We went to Flemings in its new location for the first time - so it's been over a year since we were last there. It is much more open and inviting than the previous location and the food is even more memorable. We started with fried calamari which was lightly breaded and crispy served with a mild sweet chili dipping sauce. Then we each had the petite filet - at 8 oz still a generous amount of meat without being artery-clogging. We like ours slightly pink throughout, which is 'medium' and was perfectly fork tender and seasoned just right. We ordered the truffled mashed potatoes and crispy brussels sprouts as sides - both excellent. The sprouts are sautéed with bacon, which is an unusual preparation for us but we enjoyed it. The only negative to the food on any level at all was that the sprouts were still way too hot when they got to our table; we needed to let them cool down to eat. One of our party had the fresh tomato bisque soup which I tasted - I could taste the freshness of the tomatoes and the basil. For dessert we shared a piece of carrot cake which was also delicious. Our pre-dinner martinis were just as we'd ordered and I enjoyed a glass of Duckhorn merlot which the waiter recommended. The service deserves a special note - it was a birthday celebration for my husband, which I had mentioned to the restaurant at the time of reservation, and the restaurant responded beautifully. There was a birthday card to welcome him at the table and a small box of truffles with a candle when dessert was served, and there were no unwelcome singers at the side of the table. Our waiter was outstanding, attentive without hovering, friendly without being overly chummy. Altogether we had a great experience and my husband of 37 years told me later it was one of the nicest birthdays he's ever had (and he's had a lot!). We'll go back again when we want a treat!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 4, 2017

The temperatures on the meat were incorrect all entrees were cooked over requested temperature. This has been the case in our previous visits to the restaurant. For the price of each entree the cooks should learn how to properly take a temperature

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Wonderful Sunday get-together with friends. Loved the prime rib and all that came with it. Anthony Kirklin was our server and took great care to meet all of our needs and more. So glad we chose to dine there and certainly will again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Fine dining at reasonable (for fine dining) prices!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 26, 2017

This is a steak house, and in that respect it is first-class. I had the dry aged ribeye-amazing. Also, the Sapphire Martini-very good. However, we eat here regularly and order the "Wedge Salad". It has been cheapened since our last visit. No longer is a thick slice of succulent bacon part of the salad. Now there are just a couple of strips of regular bacon. Also, there are no longer "Small Plates".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Good food, as usual. Frustrated to wait 20+ minutes after our reservation time for our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2017

All of my friends ordered Prime Rib, which is available only on Sunday. I had two out of town friends and one local. They all love their Prime Ribs. Too bad it is on on their daily menu. Really great foods and the service was great.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Heavenly food and superb service! Loved, loved it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 23, 2017

They were really focus on service. Our server was excellent. Just the right amount of attention. The busboys made sure that our water was always full and plates were removed when we had finished. During the course of our meal we had two different managers stop by to make sure everything was fine. This was my first time at this location and I was happy to see that the exceptional service I have always experienced at The Destin Fl location has been duplicated here in Palo Alto. We will be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Great place been coming for years but the prices are way too high for what you get. Plenty of other nicer restaurants for that kind of money. Had dinner at Madera at Rosewood for the same price and that's a Michelin star restaurant. For the money I'll. E going there from now on

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

It was a Saturday evening dinner and it was all we needed, anticipated and received. Brooke , our server was superb!!! We loved the food and whole experience. A fine dining meal!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Celebrating with my family about a new job in the area and we were not disappointed! We were seated in Michael's section and he was amazing! His service was very attentive (but not annoying, an important distinction) and the food was all perfectly cooked. The crab cakes are great, but the dry age strip steak is even better! I would definitely recommend flemmings to anyone looking for a great steak dinner or to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Somehow we missed this establishment so far, and took the opportunity to celebrate a birthday. The total experience was great. The restaurant provides a great service, keeping a good distance from "posh". Prices were comparable to other top-notch steakhouses.
Quite noisy though - if you are looking for a quite place - that may not be your best choice.
The food was great, steaks made to perfection, and served at the right temperature.
No sommelier in the area, the waitress was left to recommended a pinot noir that proved to be a great choice. All in all very good experience - definitely recommended.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The steak is tasty and side dishes are excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Got together with a group of friends to celebrate a birthday. There was a signed card at the table waiting for us! The birthday boy really enjoyed the attention, especially since it was not over the top.

Food was great and our server was on top of it!

Cant wait to celebrate another birthday here

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Went to celebrate my mother in laws 84th birthday. They made her feel really special. Treated us well and the Miso Glaze Chilean Sea Bass was fantastic!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Having been to Fleming's before we knew the restaurant and great service, but the food and service this time was way off even though the waiter was making an effort. Upon seating with two kids, needed to ask for kid's menus twice which should've automatically come as we were sat by the hostess (?). Drink order was late and minus one, and appetizer was forgotten and later served with dinner (w/ apologies and comp'd). The medium requested prime ribs were well passed done, and cheerfully replaced with a ribeye as the kitchen was out (which may explain the dry gray primes we got as the last of the lot). The mushrooms and brussels as a side were passable, but underdone nonetheless. Desserts were more than 20 minutes after their order (and cheerfully added with two more to comp the lateness). Coffee was strong/bitter and had to ask for a second pour that had to be brewed (this was noted as I seemed to need to approve the brewing?) It was an amazing variety of misses and apologies right down to the candle not lit on the table of 6 while all the others around us were. Even with two well behaved kids, it was 2.5hrs of time for not a lot of top notch expected experience. Maybe skip a Sunday night . . .

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

good food--good atmosphere---enjoyable dining-----have been back many times since 1st visit in New Port Ca

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We always have a great meal with great service for all our special evenings. A must try is the rib eye steak and loaded potato. The lave cake is a real favorite. We always look forward for our next visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food, service and ambience were all outstanding. We were there early so noise level was okay. Meals are on the expensive side but for a special occasion it is a good choice. The steaks and lamb chops were very good as would be expected but I had the shrimp and scallops this time and would definitely order that again. Would also recommend the spinach salad which is large enough for 2 or 3 diners.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

First time at Fleming's (for our anniversary). Wonderful service with special treats for the anniversary. All the food was wonderful, especially the bread and spreads and the Fleming's potatoes. Pricey, but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 8, 2017

My 1st time at Flemings for a friends birthday dinner. Glad we decided to go here. I've been to quite a few steakhouses but none of them match the service & food quality I got at Flemings. Ribeye was to die for. Lobster tempura was amazing. Special sides for the night (lobster Mac & cheese, Lobster mash were incredible as well). From the second I stepped through the door they took care of my friend and I. Manager's name was Kevin I believe? Didn't get the waiter's name. Nonetheless, I will be back. It's not so common to receive such incredible service. Thank You.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.