Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi
  1. Distance: 0.09mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.44mi

About Fleming's Steakhouse - Palo Alto

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.

180 El Camino Real
Palo Alto, CA 94304
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00 - 11:00pm, Sonoma Sunday Brunch & Dinner: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 329-8457

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/palo-alto

Parking Details:
Lots of open parking

Public Transit:
Cal Train is located one block away at University Ave.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Palo Alto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
See All
Good for a Date (23)
Romantic (21)
Business Meals (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Casual (6)
Private Room (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Cozy (5)
Fun (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Family Style (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
People Watching (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Authentic (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (0)
Sort By:
S
848 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service and solid recommendation on specials

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

One of our favorite places! Always great service! Flemings potatoes a must!

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place to have dinner if you like hearty beef meals, tasty fresh vegetables and wines. Service is great as well

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed the food a lot. Everything was pretty pricey but the portions were large, and the food was extremely well prepared. Everyone enjoyed their salads. I was impressed that my request for gluten-free options, conveyed through Open Table, was taken seriously - the restaurant provided me with a gluten-free menu when I arrived, without my asking. The only problem was that the service did not seem to live up to this standard. For example, my mother-in-law ordered the lobster tails with melted butter, and they never brought the melted butter until we had asked three times and the lobster was getting cold. That really marred it for her.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

The prime rib dinner was amazing. Get this Sunday only special sometime. The wine was excellent and the Fleming's potatos are legendary. The only way it could get better is with sorbet and creme brulee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We were there for 2 1/2 hours! I guess there was something wrong in the kitchen- but they didn't give us any explanation... They gave us complimentary desserts (which were delicious). But a horrible experience, and very poor communication from the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We booked this for Mother's Day brunch (three course prix fixe). Kind of weird venue for a brunch, but we just felt like a change. The portions were generous (too generous -- so much food) and the quality of the food and the service were superb. Good choices for vegetarians as well, so that was a really nice surprise. I also liked that it was pretty quiet. Even though it was very busy, we could easily have a conversation and actually hear each other. We might have to make this a Mother's Day tradition.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Friendly staff. Food was very good, we had the Filet Mignon Flatbread appetizer, Dry aged RibEye and Dry aged NY Strip - all very good and tasty. The onions rings where done just right and stacked high. The only blemish was the Crispy Brussel Sprouts, they were too sweet, BUT the waitress removed it off our bill when we told her later that is was a little too sweet for us. For dessert we had the Creme Brulee.

It was a birthday dinner and everyone including the manager came over and wished my guest a Happy Birthday. They took a picture of us and printed and put it in a frame AND gave him a little gift at the end. We decided to open it when we got home. WHat a surpise - inside were 4 good size chocolate truffles!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Worst experience ever! Treated like we did not exist. Service was horrible. Food is over rated. Unless you are white or oriental you will not be treated well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great! New manager and new chef make a big difference! Coming back next week with the fam!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Excellent service...

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Everything was outstanding! We had a lovely lunch. Great food and service! Reasonable for lunch. Can't ask for anything more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Brunch is very nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Date night with my husband. We were seated in the "annex", i.e. The function room to the right when entering. No candle on table, cold fraught, filthy iPad wine menu (didn't want to touch it), and a terrible waitress. She was slow, inattentive and clearly bored. I had no knife when my steak arrived, asked, nothing, so got up to hunt for a knife myself. At these prices, it wasn't the service I expected.

We arrived at 8pm and found a toddler was crying her heart out. Not what we look for when dining.

Starter: wedge. I've eaten better at Town.
Mains: filet mignon with over priced sides of Brussels ($13) and onion rings ($13). I've eaten better from Whole Foods.

It's a miss for us. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We came to celebrate our 43rd wedding anniversary. Great food & wine, but on the pricey side.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

My husband took me for my birthday we enjoyed our meal and will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a delicious prime rib brunch today.Our sever Brooke was outstanding.The carrot cake was the best I have had.Great french wine by the glass.will be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a very disappointing experience at Fleming's on Sunday. We canceled our brunch reservation at a different restaurant because Fleming's was open a bit earlier, which aligned better with our timing. First, we were not made aware, via the website or any other channel, that the regular weekly brunch menu was made completely unavailable for Easter. Instead, only a $50 pre fixe brunch option was made available that day. When we asked the server if we could order off of the a la carte brunch menu, we were told, "No." Some of the food, namely the lobster bisque and salads, was fine. However, two members of our party ordered the eggs benedict, which was served on room temperature, dense, dry English muffins, and with a Hollandaise sauce that was so poorly made that you could easily see the solids separating from the liquid/oil parts of the sauce. The sauce also didn't taste very good. My martini was poorly made and only came with one olive. There was no sign of vermouth or any other ingredient, and there were ice cubes floating around in it. It was basically a straight vodka on the rocks, with one olive. Desserts and sides were fine. Total bill was around $250 for 4 people. Would not return for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The main course' filet mignon were not top rated meats, with buttery textures. The sauce béarnaise had was watery consistency, lacking any flavor at all. The lobster macaroni were mediocre at best. The colossal shrimp were unimpressive, and the filet flight's sauces (mole, and barbecue) were complete disasters.

Both filets lacked technique in cooking. Overseared on the outside, way to cooked through. Temperature not delivered correctly.


Double cut French fries were a limpy mass, even McDonald's does a better job at this.
I actually are well versed in cooking myself. This amateurish ultra high priced restaurant needs severe cooking training.

Super disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I have been to Fleming's many times over the years for both personal and business reasons. This latest experience was awful. It is the worst experience I have ever had at this Fleming's and feel that the staff fell far below what they should have done to make our experience feel as though it was worthwhile. I took my best friend there for her birthday, as she loves it. But even she was shocked at how bad it was, especially since we were among the first people seated.
- food came out VERY late and our server seemed much more focused on the larger tables than our 2 person table; The food was delicious, though, minus the potato issue (below)
- bussing of tables was sub par except for the guy who was great about topping off our water, e.g. our server put utensils on crumbs and food for our final course before cleaning off the table cloth
- some knives were dirty at the table we were seated
- the baked potatoes were very small and holes were dug out in the halves to remove a large dark spot!!! It was tacky and classless. This is not what a restaurant of this level should ever do, as guests do pay for a high level of food prep/quality, AND service, so this was completely unacceptable!
- there was a lot of apologizing, but only a free dessert offered, which we really didn't want but accepted. However, what they should have done is given us a substantial discount!!! I still managed to pay >$200 for a meal for two, which is considered cheap at this establishment. However, it is still is a lot of money and I do not think the management or staff did right by us.

I am appalled at how poorly our experience went. This is uncharacteristic for Fleming's and a new low in my experience. Even after 3+ days, I am still very upset that my friend's birthday experience was ruined.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Private Room, Live Sports, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

A bit pricey, but great place for a special occasion. The service was outstanding!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We continually have a wonderful dining experience at Palo Alto Flemings

Tags: Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 5, 2017

All my guests only tried less than 50% their steak, not even wanted box it. Too chewy, my side check felt sore even next day.

Lots room to screen out unqualify meat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Outstanding value on prime rib prix fixe, outstanding service from staff for our son's birthday!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Mike Alvarez is an amazingly attentive server. Him and the entire wait crew was very warm and focused, serving fantastic food and surprises to us. What a terrific dining experience! Awesome quality steaks, soups, desert, warm atmosphere, friendly service by many. A great location for any occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Flemings is our favorite restaurant, hands down! It's a little pricey, but well worth every penny. The customer service is phenomenal and it's a great spot for a special occasion or night out on the town. Thank you flemings for an amazing anniversary dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 23, 2017

The service was excellent and the food cooked just the way we requested.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 23, 2017

A great Fleming's experience. Attentive waiter. Beautifully cooked steak. A burrata cheese appetizer that was out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Our server, I think his name was John, was fantastic. Very attentive, not pushy, kept a great flow to the dinner. Overall the food was simply overpriced. My husband and I both ordered the aged ribeye at $61.95 each. For this price I would expect an AMAZING piece of meat. The meat did not have a nice sear on the outside and actually had a bit of a steamed texture to it and the flavor was good, but not worthy of the price tag. We each also had a salad, also good but over dressed.

I have been here for Happy Hour and the experience was very different, the service was pretty bad, we sat at the bar and the bartender had no personality what-so-ever. The food and drinks were well priced, flavorful and the variety was great. I would come back for Happy Hour

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Celebrated a birthday. Service was excellent, food presentation was nice. The timing was paced to enjoy and did not feel rushed. Booth by the entrance was remarkably quiet. Great place for a special occasion.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Stopped by while the Filet and Lobster Tail special was available. Very friendly service and a lot of hospitable attention. The filet was tender enough to make deli-slice cuts, and the salt flight lava salt made a great pairing. Great meal for the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Our waiter was John Maynard he was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Bad experience which is very disappointing given their good history and their pricing. Shrimp cocktail appetizer was not edible (chewy and no taste), Salad was limp and dry, and food came out in stages. Not happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

While the food was good, I felt that is was very overpriced for the service and quality of food. Everything is an extra charge, including adding a rub onto your steak. Shouldn't the seasoning be included in the price? I ordered a glass of wine and was asked if I wanted a 6 or 9 oz pour, for presumably more money for a bigger pour. At an upscale steakhouse it does not seem to be appropriate for them to be nickel and dime you. For the prices I expected a better level of service and a more refined experience.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Entrees and appetizers were good, the carrot cake was somehow not as good as how I remembered it. The waitress took care of that for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was good but the service made us forget about the food. Our server Christina P. made us feel extremely rushed it was so uncomfortable! She never asked if we wanted to hear the specials we over heard another server talking about the lobster Mac and cheese which was pretty good as well. We ordered the cheesecake for dessert which she brought out along with the check we all took a bite of the cheesecake and she came asking if we were ready to pay. We will not be going back I'd rather continue to drive further out then to get treated the way we did!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Love Flemings, it's our go to date night out. It's pricey but the quality of food is excellent. I just wish they would bring back the jalapeño cream corn!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Restaurant was overbooked. With advanced reservation waiting time was about 15 minutes. Thanks to friendly and attentive management style combined with exceptional food I still would recommend this place for a special occasion dinner or lunch

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Streak was good although we ordered one steak medium and it came to us well done. Also baked potato and asparagus was over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I came here with my friend to celebrate and told our waiter Anthony C. The worst part about our dining experience, once the server brought out our steaks, he asked us to immediately cut down the center so he could see if it was cooked right. I refused and let my steak rest. Also, once Anthony opened our bottle of wine, he never poured for us when our glasses were empty as he stood next to the wine bottle asking us how were were doing. We never received water refills until after the check was dropped off. I already knew I wanted the lava cake but he never gave us advanced warning like how all the other servers usually do so we waited with nothing on the table for 20 minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.