About Fleming's Steakhouse - Palo Alto

180 El Camino Real
Palo Alto, CA 94304
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 5:00 - 11:00pm, Sonoma Sunday Brunch & Dinner: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(650) 329-8457

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/palo-alto

Parking Details:
Lots of open parking

Public Transit:
Cal Train is located one block away at University Ave.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Promotions

Taste the Season Prix Fixe - Starting at $55.95*

Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Promotions

Taste the Season Prix Fixe - Starting at $55.95*

Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Details
Our limited-time three-course menu features a Filet Mignon paired with your favorite summer seafood selection—shrimp, Alaskan king crab or North Atlantic lobster. We add a spinach salad & a salted caramel gelato sandwich to complete the gathering. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Palo Alto Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (48)
notable wine list (24)
fit for foodies (20)
See All
good for groups (17)
romantic (14)
vibrant bar scene (12)
neighborhood gem (11)
kid-friendly (7)
great for brunch (5)
great for lunch (5)
hot spot (5)
great for outdoor dining (5)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
640 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere was great. Our waiter Ste ...

Dined 2 days ago

The atmosphere was great. Our waiter Steve was knowledgable about the food and wine. He was extremely attentive. Great experience.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Made reservations here due to positive r ...

Dined 5 days ago

Made reservations here due to positive reviews from others who had dined there and were not disappointed for our anniversary. Food was great as was the service. Definitely on the high side price wise, but worth it. The only potential issue is that the ambient noise is on the high side but it did not interfere with conversation at normal levels.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Flemings is really one of the best steak ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Flemings is really one of the best steak houses around. Their steak preparation exceeds most steak places, they have great sides and terrific desserts.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Very surprised on our entrees. The file ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Very surprised on our entrees. The filet mignon was cooked just right but quite a few chewy parts to it. Had plenty of flavor but was not tender. The asparagus was also stringy. The ends were not cut/trim, therefore it made for very stringy asparagus. This was our first time to Flemings in Palo Alto. It was a disappointment to drive across the bay to have meals that were not up to its normal goodness.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So nice; such great food; made our son's ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

So nice; such great food; made our son's birthday very special!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Fleming's used to be a special place to ...

vip
Dined on June 22, 2016

Fleming's used to be a special place to dine. Special occasion or when you just wanted to splurge. Now it seems to have lost its elegance, attracting a noisy, very casually dressed clientele. Also the quality of the ribeye seems to have slipped a bit. There was a bit of sticker shock over the $16 martini, and table service could hardly be called personal or attentive anymore. With sadness, I will start looking for a new steakhouse in the area.

food5
ambience5
service5

Just an outstanding experience. Wonderfu ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

Just an outstanding experience. Wonderful staff, great food.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was, as always, spectacular. ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

The service was, as always, spectacular. It's the only place we go in the area where I feel like I'm dealing with professional, career waitstaff.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Prime rib meal was perfect.

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Prime rib meal was perfect.

food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Very limited on salad offerings.

Dined on May 27, 2016

They must be afraid someone will only order a salad and skip the red meat order. My wife does not eat beef since mad cow disease and she was disappointed in the small, overly simple and small salad offered. We will be waiting for the menu to add larger salad choices.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2

It took Fleming's FOUR (shocking, I know ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

It took Fleming's FOUR (shocking, I know!) to get not only the right fairness on the steak, but they also brought out a flat sirloin when I ordered Filet Mignon. The managers were less than professional. What a FLOP on my husband's birthday! We'll stick with a real steakhouse, Los Altos Grille.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent but you pay for it

Dined on May 24, 2016

No doubt about it, this will be a $250-$300 meal for two. We began with cocktails, I had a blueberry lemon martini and it was delicious, innovative and I'd have another, please. My husband had a Manhattan, very good too. We had caesar salads, well dressed. I had an 8 oz. filet which was delicious, $46.50 for 8 oz. of beef. There was nothing else on the plate. My husband had sea bass, beautifully prepared, delicious broth, he was very pleased. We ordered a glass of wine with dinner...and finished with a shared Creme Brulle, with a large dollop of whipped cream on the side. We loved our dinner and enjoyed the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was good but not exceptional. Unfor ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Food was good but not exceptional. Unfortunately I bit into a piece of plastic wrapping? on bottom of short rib. Manager apologized still unacceptable for restaurants like this.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

The food and service at this chain resta ...

vip
Dined on May 22, 2016

The food and service at this chain restaurant were outstanding...although in some respects the service was too fast, it seemed a bit rushed. Also, I was surprised at how very casually dressed everyone was, both guests and staff. The very high prices would suggest this is fine dining but the look and feel of the place would be more fitting for a casual bistro. Having said this, as long as your expectations are realistic, you'll have a great time. Like the people at the table next to ours who were incredibly noisy and raucous. Don't expect to have a quiet, romantic meal at this place.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2

Food was ok! Service was very slow..

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Food was ok! Service was very slow..

food4
ambience5
service3
value2

At these prices, the service should be b ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

At these prices, the service should be better. When one spends $50 on a steak, it would be nice for it to include veggies, starch or both. Plus, our water was served in a cracked glass, and they forgot to leave out the ice as we requested. At least the steak was very good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Summary: Fantastic menu, excellent servi ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Summary: Fantastic menu, excellent service, and a great location. Details: This is my first trip to Fleming's Prime Steakhouse. A friend recommended it for dinner, and I am glad she did. The food here was very good. The menu had a very good selection of choices in every category, from appetizers to main courses and side dishes. My choice was the 16oz. New York Strip prepared black and blue, and my dining companion had the 8oz Petite Filet mignon prepared medium rare, along with two reds: the Duckhorn Merlot and the Rutherford Ranch Cabernet Sauvignon. We shared three sides: truffle-parsley mashed potatoes, sautéed mushrooms, and spicy thai green beans. The meal was amazing, steak temps were dead-on, and the sides were the perfect accent to the meal. We both really wished we had room for dessert; perhaps next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

Overall, steaks were flavorful and sides ...

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

Overall, steaks were flavorful and sides of creamed spinach and fries also very good. Special occasion for us so we came for the prime rib special, but they were sold out at only 7:30, and out of cheesecake too. So they need to plan better for large crowds. Our waiter was great, but unfortunately kept asking us our dessert choice repeatedly while we were still eating dinner--must have asked about 4-5 times! Very nervewracking, and not something an experienced waiter would do, particularly at that price point.

food5
ambience4
service5

We have gone to Fleming's for several fa ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

We have gone to Fleming's for several family celebrations both locally and out of state. The service (thanks Chuck) and food have been outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Service!

Dined on May 8, 2016

I went there for Mother's Day and bday and the waiter made their night. Thanks Steve!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience4
service4

The service was great and so was the amb ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

The service was great and so was the ambience but I asked for my steak to be medium and got a very well-done steak. My coworker was dining with me only got quarter of her steak medium the rest was medium well. Along with my cocktail glass and water glass having cracks in them. Once the Manager was alerted to the cracked glass she handled the situation.

food4
ambience4
service4

Nice steakhouse in Palo Alto

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Nice steakhouse in Palo Alto

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Pricey, lacks consistency

Dined on April 23, 2016

Fleming's is now charging up to $60 for a steak (a la carte), but they still can't cook their meat consistently. We ordered 3 steaks -- a medium came rare, another medium came medium-rare, and a medium-rare that came medium-rare. Pretty weak for a steakhouse. For a top price, the food and prep should be perfect and these guys do not deliver.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent steakhouse

Dined on April 16, 2016

This was my first time at the restaurant and I can honestly say that I was not disappointed. Everything from the service to the meals were excellent. The only downside we experienced was that their distributor did not make a delivery with their beer offerings; people in my party had to pick and choose three separate times as the server and manager were finding out what they did and did not have in stock. However - this is minor and had been resolved. We were given a free appetizer for my brother's birthday and from there - service and food were all excellent. You would not know that this restaurant is within a shopping center. At night - the restaurant has that stand-alone feeling and - if the stores have not closed - you have time to walk around the outdoor mall. Word of caution - if you want to dine here during the day, parking can be tricky and challenging, particularly on the weekends. In all, you get what you pay for with this restaurant and this restaurant - while pricey and not cheap - is all excellent.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was absolutely delicious, just ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious, just as expected. What caught my attention the most was the excellent customer service we received from everyone. Our knowledgeable waiter, manager on duty who was walking the floor, and the other waiters who also checked in with us. Everyone was very friendly, caring, and knowledgeable.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice way to celebrate

Dined on April 7, 2016

We all enjoyed our food the only minus was I wanted a recommendation for wine and pointed to the waiter the price point I was looking at which was around $80 to $90 and he suggested a bottle I said sure when the bill came it was a bad surprise $$175 wow that was really unexpected ! I will not use him again.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The servers are always very polite. The ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

The servers are always very polite. The service is chaotic. There can be long gaps in the service and some follow up may be required. Better management oversight of the dining room would help.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

3 of the meals were excellent and 2 were mediocre

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

They seem to be having a consistency issue. One meal was perfectly cooked but completely unseasoned. The other meal was a medium filet that arrived oddly crudely butterflied. It seemed to be an end piece of meat with connective tissue making part of it inedible.

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was not as good as before....

Dined on March 28, 2016

We had been here a couple times a year, however, this time was worse, where we felt the foods is not worth its price.

Tags: group bookings
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

worth to go

Dined on March 28, 2016

This is my return visit. I had good experience at the 1st visit and decided to go back. I also had a very good experience on my 2nd visit. The food is good. The special lobster and filet was good with best valve. It comes with appetizer and salad for $44.95. You cant beat that at this type of higher end of restaurant. The desert is good but they ran out of some choices. Other than that, the overall was very good.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2

Easter Brunch was a terrible experience. ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Easter Brunch was a terrible experience. Poor service, warm not cold mimosas, dessert shortage, lack of coordination.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Easter Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

We loved our Easter Brunch. Food, service top-rate. The guys loved the prime rib. My fillet mignon was perfect, My friend loved the eggs Benedict. And notably it was the best value I could find for Easter Brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Populat but...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Vibrant, obviously a popular spot, with attentive, friendly service. However...kitchen was slow and inconsistent. I ordered a lobster and salmon mix and got a fillet and two pieces of salmon, with no lobster. That went back to the kitchen and I ended up with an undercooked lobster tail but beautifully cooked salmon. One of our party had an overcooked lobster tail and a dry fillet. Wedge Salad was excellent, crisp and nicely dressed. But we had to wait at least 15 -20 minutes between courses. A bit long. Service was helpful and friendly which compensated for the inconsistent food.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fabulous dinner the other night.

Dined on March 25, 2016

This is the best. Everything is perfect and server was wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, superior service, elegant place!

Dined on March 23, 2016

One of the best restaurants we've ever been to...loved everything about it! Service was amazing! (Our server was named Steve.) The food and sauces were so delicious...what a fantastic cook they have! Easy parking and very elegant place. They also have specials occasionally....great deals!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Great service, a little

Dined on March 13, 2016

My wife and I went for my birthday. She ordered the filet. I ordered the dry aged ribeye. The filet was great. Tender and flavorful. The ribeye was tough, bland, and just not a good piece of meat. We brought our concern to the staff. The manager came over and was really great. We just wanted them to know that it was not as good as we have had before. She offered to buy us dessert and apologized. Then our waiter, Chuk, came over and apologized. They were all great. They even removed the steak from the bill, which was unexpected. While we were unhappy with the steak, we were very pleased with the service. We will definitely return.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Bad pacing and service

Dined on March 8, 2016

While the food was expensive as anticipated, the service did not make it worth the cost. We were greeted immediately, but then waited 15 minutes until anyone came back. When we did order, the salad came within a minute and steak was about 10 after that. I assume for a restaurant of this level that someone would pay attention to pacing. It sounds silly but was quite noticeable and made for an unpleasant dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food!!! Great service. My lady a ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Amazing food!!! Great service. My lady and I went for our anniversary. They gave us a nice box of truffles in honor of our anniversary. We are definitely going back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service and phenomenal food! ...

vip
Dined on February 29, 2016

Outstanding service and phenomenal food! Excellent choice of wine!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Expensive, but worth it

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Food is excellent -- whether a steak, seafood entree or side dish. Service is also excellent. Relatively new location that has ample space and is quite beautiful. We went with a party of 8 for a family birthday celebration and could not have been happier with the experience. We brought our own wine and as an added bonus our server waived $40 in corkage fees.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.