About Fleming's Steakhouse - Newport Beach

455 Newport Center Drive
Newport Beach, CA 92660
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sonoma Sunday Brunch & Dinner : 11:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
San Miguel

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 720-9633

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/newport-beach

Parking Details:
Valet Parking - $6.00. Fashion Island parking lots open in front of restaurant

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Blueberry Pancakes with Blueberry syrup - Fleming's Steakhouse - Newport Beach
Peppercorn Steak - Fleming's Steakhouse - Newport Beach
Cheesecake - Fleming's Steakhouse - Newport Beach
Shrimp & Lobster Mashed Potatoes - Fleming's Steakhouse - Newport Beach
Filet Mignon Skewers - Fleming's Steakhouse - Newport Beach
Prime New York Strip Steak - Fleming's Steakhouse - Newport Beach
Shrimp Cocktail - Fleming's Steakhouse - Newport Beach
Jumbo Shrimp Scampi Skewers - Fleming's Steakhouse - Newport Beach
Beef Carpaccio - Fleming's Steakhouse - Newport Beach
Fresh Summer Greens - Fleming's Steakhouse - Newport Beach
Crab Mashed Potatoes - Fleming's Steakhouse - Newport Beach
Chocolate Lava Cake - Fleming's Steakhouse - Newport Beach
Tomahawk Chop - Fleming's Steakhouse - Newport Beach
Prime Rib - Fleming's Steakhouse - Newport Beach
Filet Mignon - Fleming's Steakhouse - Newport Beach
Fleming's Lobster Tempura - Fleming's Steakhouse - Newport Beach
Main Filet Mignon with White Truffled Poached Lobster & Caviar - Fleming's Steakhouse - Newport Beach
Prime Bone-In Ribeye with Spiced Diablo Shrimp - Fleming's Steakhouse - Newport Beach
Newport Filet Mignon Special - Fleming's Steakhouse - Newport Beach
Baked Brioche French Toast - Fleming's Steakhouse - Newport Beach
Lemon Ricotta Pancakes With Blueberries - Fleming's Steakhouse - Newport Beach
Pan-crisped Pork Belly And Poached Eggs - Fleming's Steakhouse - Newport Beach
Dry-Aged Prime New York Strip with Herb Butter-Braised King Crab and Caviar - Fleming's Steakhouse - Newport Beach
Lemon Ricotta Pancakes - Fleming's Steakhouse - Newport Beach
Hamburger - Fleming's Steakhouse - Newport Beach

Specials

Celebrate Thanksgiving With Us

Thursday Nov 24, 2016 from 11:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Specials

Celebrate Thanksgiving With Us

Thursday Nov 24, 2016 from 11:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Details

On November 24 starting at 11AM, enjoy a four-course meal featuring an amuse-bouche for the table to share, choice of soup or salad, a main course with all the trimmings and a seasonal dessert. Our table. Your Thanksgiving. $39.95 per guest. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid on Thursday Nov 24, 2016 from 11:00 AM - 8:00 PM.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Newport Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
South Orange County
Best Restaurants in Newport Beach ›

Special Occasion (73)
Notable Wine List (43)
Romantic (38)
See All
Fit for Foodies (36)
Good for Groups (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Hot Spot (19)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Good for a Date (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Business Meals (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Casual (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
People Watching (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Private Room (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Fun (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Cozy (1)
Authentic (1)
Family Style (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1122 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I used to be a fan of this restaurant bu ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

I used to be a fan of this restaurant but not so much any more. I think it has become a victim of its own success. The place is busy there is no doubt but the pace is frenetic and a good deal is of the atmosphere is from the staff. The waiter was over the top with efficiency, asking every few minutes how we were doing, moving our table items around, pouring water, wine, etc. asking us way too many times if we needed anything.

I like a leisurely meal when I can talk to my companions without being interrupted excessively. That was not the case the other night.

At one point the manager came over to ask us if we needed anything, moving our table items around, pouring our water and letting us know she was the manager with a very efficient smile.

At the end of dinner it was the same routine with the busboys, clearing items, pouring water, asking us if we needed anything else.

I know, having worked as waitstaff that it is important to turn tables as often as possible, but slow down guys, let your customers enjoy their meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

Fleming's always has great food and grea ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Fleming's always has great food and great service. Our server, Simone, went out of her way to modify various things the way we wanted them prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for the steak & they didn't disa ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

We went for the steak & they didn't disappoint in the least. Worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love, love,love...always dependable. Alw ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Love, love,love...always dependable. Always excellent service, great food, great wine list. Always do a great job of making a special occasion just that. Being sent home with a box full of truffles and a card from Flemings expressing Congrats or Happy Birthday, makes this our "go to" spot for celebrations. Thank you Flemings! They are doing something right as it is always packed. Easy to make reservations on "Open Table" so that is never an issue though!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fun, Private Room, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Greeted at the door by staff. We were s ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Greeted at the door by staff. We were seated promptly. Service was excellent through out the entire meal. Excellent Rib eye steak that was full of flavor and cooked to requested medium rare. One person had shrimp and scallops and said cooked perfectly.

Outstanding Steak house restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing and the service was ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food was amazing and the service was great!!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always GREAT FFOD BUT THE NOISE IS TO HG ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

always GREAT FFOD BUT THE NOISE IS TO HGH MOST OF THE TIME.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Lisa was awesome

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Lisa was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed a wonderful meal. It's not i ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful meal. It's not inexpensive, but it is worth every penny. The food was superb and the wine was very tasty, too. The service was impeccable.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our first experience at Fleming ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This was our first experience at Fleming's. Our meals were great with the exception of the temperature on one steak being well done when it should have been medium-well. However, just mentioning it to the waiter without really complaining because that really is not my style at all, he agreed and was actually a little appalled for us. He had the manager come right over who agreed as well that the steak was indeed overdone. They brought out a new one with their compliments and treated us to a chocolate lava cake. The food... YUM! We all enjoyed our steaks immensely. The bone in New York was phenomenal, the Thai green beans wonderful! The waiter... fantastic! He made great suggestions for us with both cocktails and meals. The manager... friendly and apologetic and a problem solver. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The service was the BEST!!! We love goin ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The service was the BEST!!! We love going to Fleming's Steakhouse. Celebrated a birthday and the server was engaging and attentive. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are 45 yr. + residents of Newport Bea ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We are 45 yr. + residents of Newport Beach and our experience was fantastic in all ways. Great table, food, lively ambiance, packed and energetic and the service from our particular server was absolutely the best. This was a 20th anniversary for our son and his wife so it was special that we could have such a great experience for the 5 of us at dinner that evening. The restaurant is wonderful for us "locals" as well as those visiting our city for business or pleasure.....the high energy and great food and service can be equally enjoyed by all.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were pushed into a small cold room, n ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We were pushed into a small cold room, never had this happen before. We had booked months in advance for a birthday and we felt like second class dinners.

We we rethink celebrating events here in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

We had a great time celebrating our son ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We had a great time celebrating our son and daughter-in-laws 15th wedding anniversary. The food and drinks were excellent . Our waiter was not very attentive. The manager for the area we were seated in filled in for the server and mad the night very enjoyable. We will return soon.

Tags: Modern Decor, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Flemings is our go to restaurant for any ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Flemings is our go to restaurant for anything beef. Five of us had the prime rib special and one, a vegetarian, was delights that the menu had a good selection of non meat items. The servers are great and the ambience is nice too. Overall one of our favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our friends to dinner and we tho ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We took our friends to dinner and we thoroughly enjoyed the food, wait staff, ambience & menu, this is not our first time here but it was for our friends, good times

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Private Room, Good for a Date, Casual, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

For a place that is known for steaks, yo ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

For a place that is known for steaks, you would expect a better quality of meat. We were not impressed. The lobster macaroni and cheese was runny. I don't recommend spending your hard earned money here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

The best service in our book! The server ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The best service in our book! The servers and assistants were friendly and impressively attentive, efficient, and extremely professional. Although the restaurant was very busy and loud, our fabulous server maintained a calm manner, making us feel comfortable, unrushed, and absolutely important.

Their great promotion -- the 3-course prime rib dinner -- lured us in; their food and fine service have us longing to return.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I celebrated our 15 wedding ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 15 wedding anniversary. It had been a difficult day for my wife as she lost her Grandmother earlier in the day but the food, service and evening we well done by the staff.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had the filet and lobster and the foo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had the filet and lobster and the food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Went for dinner with our family. Food wa ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Went for dinner with our family. Food was good. They accommodated our child with a special meal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and service were amazing. Only cri ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Food and service were amazing. Only criticism is that the tables in our area were very close together. We felt that we had to keep our chairs scooted close to the table to allow for traffic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent prime r ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our recent prime rib dinners at Flemming's. We were immediately greeted upon our entry and quickly seated. Our food was delicious, as it was expected to be. During our dinner, however, we especially appreciated the attention shown us by our waiter Clint, but also by two of the restaurant's managers, all of which made us feel like celebrities when we are only ordinary, unpretentious people. This was our third visit to this Flemming's site and it was the best so far, and the other times were pretty darn good in and of themselves. The only thing we really did not like, for which there would be no real solution, was the noise level. There is a vibrancy with the open bar on one side and the open, active kitchen on the other side of the dining room, which magnifies the noise level. Still, our overall experience was terrific enough to discount that one less than favorable element.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I did have to wait 15 min after reservat ...

 
 (Baja California)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I did have to wait 15 min after reservation time to be seated. I also had to repeated check in with the hostess instead of them coming to give us an update.

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous food, classic atmosphere, good ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Fabulous food, classic atmosphere, good service, will return!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the favorite place for great stea ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Always the favorite place for great steaks and prime rib (sun-Mon), good apps selection, excellent service- efficient,friendly wait staff and cordial management. We love coming here for dinner, always have had a very enjoyable experience.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tables were too close to other tables an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Tables were too close to other tables and extremely noisy and difficult to have a conversation with your guests ....crazy busy....all servers rushing around. If you like that kind of vibe than you'll like this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Great way to spend our 30th anniversary ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great way to spend our 30th anniversary celebration. Chilean sea bass melted in your mouth -delicious !

Tags: Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Been a local for 20 years...been to the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Been a local for 20 years...been to the restaurant as long as its been opened..

Our waiter Edgar was great, the manager on hand not so much. We had an unpleasent run with other guests next to us that resulted in the crazy lady throwing a napkin in my face before she left the restaurant, ruinning our 250 dollars dinner for 3...

All we heard from the manager was sorry I'll make a note of their name for next time...

Are you kidding me? How is that going to help me for this time and ruining my dinner...

The restaurant needs to hire well-trained sophisticated managers ,instead of young people who have no idea what they are doing...

Night was ruined, and we ended up paying a bill after being abused by other guests...

Extremely disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value1

Overall disappointing. Started out, had ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Overall disappointing. Started out, had a long wait for our table. We had reservations. Then they were "out" of the wine we ordered. The substitute wine that we were served was undrinkable. We sent it back. The prime rib was bland and tasteless. The side dish of mushrooms were delicious. Unfortunately, the mash potatoes were cold and lumpy. They apologized and brought us asparagus, but we were finished with the meal by the time the asparagus arrived. The chocolate level cake was over cooked and the dark chocolate center was solid, not molten. Overall, the worst anniversary dinner we have had. But, the waiter as good and spent the night apologizing and telling us the food was normally better. His apology did not make up for the awful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

There has NEVER been a time when we have ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

There has NEVER been a time when we have been disappointed. We had another fabulous evening. Our server Christy was phenomenal and she made the evening all the more special! Our food was delicious, we got sat in a quieter booth which was GREAT as my husband doesn't hear well. We had a delightful evening and look forward to returning hopefully soon! We find Flemings to be among the VERY best places in the area. The attention and is unbeatable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The three course Sunday evening prime ri ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The three course Sunday evening prime rib dinner is very nice.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was very good as usual. We were sat ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Food was very good as usual. We were sat at the VERY back of the restaurant in what looked like a very small private dining area. Service was very slow, but our waiter was very nice. Even when things took a long time no one said anything. Very strange.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

This is a nice restaurant that I have at ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

This is a nice restaurant that I have attended over the last 20 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

My favorite steakhouse. However, this wa ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My favorite steakhouse. However, this was my first time being seated in the basement! Looks like a room usually reserved for private parties, but on this evening it was used for overflow in my opinion. Not the same experience, was missing the vibrant atmosphere one enjoys and expects in the main dining room at Flemings. But even worse, myself and entire family felt the service was not the same downstairs as upstairs, wasn't definitely up to snuff from what we expect and have always experienced at Flemings. So my advice, Flemings is great, just don't sit downstairs, unless you don't mind less attentive service and atmosphere that is more laid-back and less elegant than the main dining room; truly felt like we were at a office banquet as opposed to a fine dinner out with the family!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Fleming's Newport Beach never fails... i ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Fleming's Newport Beach never fails... it's a fantastic experience each and every time. From hostess to bartenders to wait staff, this restaurant is first class all the way. General Manager Stephen Blevens has done an amazing job of making sure your evening is an eventful one. Jeffrey was our waiter this time and he was superb. My fiancé's Sea Bass was phenomenal, as was my Bone-in New York Steak. Looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I picked this for my anniversary. Bad ca ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I picked this for my anniversary. Bad call. The service was slow, cocktails were off, steaks were over salted. Dessert was good. Go to Outback for a better experience at a third the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

We had a wonderful time - Michael was ou ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had a wonderful time - Michael was our server and he was terrific - the manager came by and made us feel very special - it was an exceptionally good evening

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The steaks were good however there are o ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The steaks were good however there are other steakhouses I would rather dine at than Flemming's . (More value for the money)We ordered a drink at the bar and was disappointed by the size of the bloody Mary's and absence of olives, celery, and other veggies that other restaurants provide for LESS money! The waiter said that he would have put in the veggies if we would have asked for them😳Really???

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Jeffrey is an outstanding server!!! He' ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Jeffrey is an outstanding server!!! He's the reason I keep going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.