About Fleming's Steakhouse - Newport Beach

455 Newport Center Drive
Newport Beach, CA 92660
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sonoma Sunday Brunch & Dinner : 11:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
San Miguel

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 720-9633

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/newport-beach

Parking Details:
Valet Parking - $6.00. Fashion Island parking lots open in front of restaurant

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Blueberry Pancakes with Blueberry syrup
Peppercorn Steak
Cheesecake
Shrimp & Lobster Mashed Potatoes
Filet Mignon Skewers
Prime New York Strip Steak
Shrimp Cocktail
Jumbo Shrimp Scampi Skewers
Beef Carpaccio
Fresh Summer Greens
Crab Mashed Potatoes
Chocolate Lava Cake
Tomahawk Chop
Prime Rib
Fleming's Lobster Tempura
Filet Mignon
Prime Bone-In Ribeye with Spiced Diablo Shrimp
Main Filet Mignon with White Truffled Poached Lobster & Caviar
Newport Filet Mignon Special
Pan-crisped Pork Belly And Poached Eggs
Baked Brioche French Toast
Lemon Ricotta Pancakes
Lemon Ricotta Pancakes With Blueberries
Dry-Aged Prime New York Strip with Herb Butter-Braised King Crab and Caviar
Hamburger

Promotions

Taste the Season Prix Fixe - Starting at $55.95*

Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Promotions

Taste the Season Prix Fixe - Starting at $55.95*

Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Details

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Newport Beach Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
Orange County
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Orange County
Steak
South Orange County
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
South Orange County
Best Restaurants in Newport Beach ›

special occasion (85)
fit for foodies (50)
notable wine list (46)
See All
romantic (34)
good for groups (31)
vibrant bar scene (24)
hot spot (20)
neighborhood gem (17)
great for brunch (16)
great for lunch (7)
late-night find (4)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1048 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Haven't been to Flemings in a long time, ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined a day ago

Haven't been to Flemings in a long time, the last time was not as memorable and this time as well. First, our wine had a bug in it, the waiter gladly replaced it. We order the Filet special with lobster and bone in Ribeye. Gotta say for a place that is a well known for steakhouse, this place is really lacking. The Ribeye was super tough and overly salted. I normally like salt, but this was pretty salty. We ordered french fries, it came out mushy. How can you mess up french fries? We also got the filet with lobster special. First off, the spinach salad was soggy and overdressed. Flemings, If you plan to put burrata on filet maybe you should think twice... It's so odd to have this cold cheese over a steak when you want your steak hot! Burrata cheese does not go with steak, it should be remained as part of an appetizer or salad. The sliced stacked potatoes were raw in the inside, but the outside was super hard. The dessert came with a cookie ice cream, the cookie sandwich was hard, when you took a bite out of it, all the ice cream just comes oozing out of the cookie. Seriously, it was quite a disappointing meal. I had a gift card here that I was using or else I would not come back. I have dined a quite a few places, but for a steakhouse, I'm sad that flemings did not live up to it.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

I chose this place based on recommendati ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 3 days ago

I chose this place based on recommendation of open table and other websites. It's definitely one of the best steakhouses in Newport Beach area. The meat is of high quality and the service is great. We had a booking for 6 but they made us wait for 30 minutes to get the table ready.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Lobster tails had a strong ammonia taste ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 4 days ago

Lobster tails had a strong ammonia taste. They replaced one which still had a slight ammonia taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We all got the Filet Mignon special with ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined 4 days ago

We all got the Filet Mignon special with either crab or lobster. The food was just okay. I have had much better steaks from Flemings than what they served this time. My wife thought the dessert cookie thing with the special was not good at all. Since I am diabetic, I did not try it, but if she said it was not good, I trust her judgment.

Overall, it was a good meal, just not up to the usual Fleming's standard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

There's a reason that Fleming's has been ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined 5 days ago

There's a reason that Fleming's has been so poular in the highly competitive Newport Beach restaurant scene for a lot of years. They deliver with great food, exceptional service and the wine choices are amazing. We'd had not been in for their famous prime rib dinner which is one of the best values in OC. A couple of times a year they do a special price on this and for $35 or so each we had an incredible three course dinner with sides.

The best place to sit I think are the booths and tables behind the reception stand. They are set up a bit higher so you have a nice view but it's a more mellow. A server who seems to work that station is named Brian and his service is exceptional. Totally professional but warm and you feel you are in good hands. Started with a couple of glasses of ABC pinot noir which we enjoyed. I'm a fan of Wedge salads and I think Fleming's is the best by far. Great dressing. The prime rib was very delicious and well seasoned on the outside with an herb crust but cooked perfectly to med-rare. The au jus and creamed horseradish sauces go well. They offer several potato dishes but the Fleming's potatoes are excellent--sort of a scalloped potato but they put little bits of jalapeno in it. We had the turtle pie and the carrot cake for dessert. Both so delicious--not overly sweet and made in-house which is impressive for a busy restaurant. And...there are plenty of leftovers to take home. The restaurant was packed on a Monday night and it was not a surprise. We will be back to enjoy another dinner with Brian soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service. Tad bit loud ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great food, great service. Tad bit loud as they have a full bar off onto the side but as I mentioned I was celebrating an anniversary they sat us in a more secluded area in the back. Nice spot for friends and coworkers, can't say I recommend for a romantic night out.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. The onion r ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Excellent food and service. The onion rings are the best on the planet!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent services, Brian was the best ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Excellent services, Brian was the best server! Steaks are perfect although they are very pricy, I wished the dining room was more spacious

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been to Fleming's about five tim ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We have been to Fleming's about five times now and this was the first bad experience we have had. One of the managers suggested we try the Sunday Brunch and it was a little bid of a disaster. Things we were suppose to get we did not, the breading on the chicken was raw and the desert was wrong. But it was taken care of by the manager he bought the brunch and we decided to give it another try in a couple of weeks.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Amazing Lobster Mac n Cheese!!! Loved th ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Amazing Lobster Mac n Cheese!!! Loved the wine cellar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a great anniversary dinner at Flemin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Had a great anniversary dinner at Flemings on Sat evening! Great service from Mike Toporco and the crew. The food was excellent-Seafood tower, filet mignon, wagyu NY strip, lava cake and a nice bottle of red wine. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The steaks are excellent but the shrimp ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The steaks are excellent but the shrimp cocktail and sea bass tasted on the fishy side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Great steak as usual! Our Server was gre ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great steak as usual!

Our Server was great!

Miss the side of cream corn.

Overall it is still a great restaurant.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

It was quiet, food was great, and our se ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It was quiet, food was great, and our server was nice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant caters to an upbeat crowd ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The restaurant caters to an upbeat crowd with extreme professionalism and ease. They have a very capable staff including our waiter for the past 2 visits, Ken Chang. He was not only efficient but friendly as well. The food was delicious and served...I'm sure as soon as it came off the grill!!

Open Table worked well.

Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service. Tasty food. Good for a sp ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great service. Tasty food. Good for a special night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a birthday celebration for two ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This was a birthday celebration for two of us. We were a large party and had a lovely table downstairs, and an attentive waiter. Unfortunately the food did not meet expectations. One of our party had a bad stomach for 24 hours after his meal.They got the steak orders mixed up, and forgot on of our parties meal. I was also ill, but for a different reason. I asked for plain fish and steamed vegetables with sauce on the side. My vegetables were coated with a nasty tasting oil, and underneath them were huge dollops of sriracha or chili. Totally unexpected, totally ruined my dinner and left me in pain for 2 days. We have dined at Flemings for many years, but this food was by far the worst. It ended up at $130 a head, and definitely not good value. Also the menu has been changed and it is NOT an improvement. I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Our special night was anything but. We ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our special night was anything but. We waited over25 min after our salad and when our steaks came it was warm and so was the sides.Not what we expect for Fleming's so disappointed :(

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

While I found the quality of the food an ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

While I found the quality of the food and table service to still be quite high, I was disappointed by the lack of professionalism by our encounter checking in and being taken to our table. Despite having a reservation, we had to wait a good 15-20 mins to be seated. Then we were directed through an obstacle course of too many tables, squeezing past other diners only to be taken to the very back of the restaurant and left standing in front of the restrooms until our table was actually ready! Our romantic table-for-two was just adjoining a large family with a stroller in the middle of the aisle, kids sleeping on chairs. Why are children in restaurants at 9:30pm? That was not our desired outcome for a romantic evening! While it is understood that the restaurant needs to admit all patrons, I think this particular Flemings would be well served if a different layout of the dining room ensues. Put families and large groups away from the smaller tables.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

Great service but if not a steak eater, ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great service but if not a steak eater, it may not be the place for a special event if someone in your party is a fish or other lover.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

As expected, the food was excellent. Pr ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

As expected, the food was excellent. Probably the best rib-eye I have ever eaten. The Fleming's Potatoes were wonderful, I definitely recommend getting those with any steak.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have had many wonderful meals at Flem ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We have had many wonderful meals at Flemings in the past. This was not one of them. We were dining from the Sonoma Sunday menu. The food was very average at best. The meal was reminiscent of what any average chain might serve. Won't be going back. Can't recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Steak is too salty, side is okay... They ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Steak is too salty, side is okay... They put us downstairs. It was quite but then they seated a group people next to us, they are quit loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

We had exceptional service they went out ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We had exceptional service they went out of there way to make our anniversary special.great food!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately, this time dining at Flemi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Unfortunately, this time dining at Flemings was not a pleasurable scperience! The bar and our waitress while waiting for our table was great, but once we got seated in the dining room the service was not good! I explained to the waiter that I was dairy and egg allergic and that I wanted my steak with no butter, my steak came out pretty rare so I asked if he could take it back to cook it a little more! He brings back a complete different steak that was smothered in butter, I told them the manager also came over and apologized and said they needed to make me a whole new steak, which by the time that was done I wasn't hungry anymore because it took so long I had eaten all of my green beans!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The dinner was a birthday celebration fo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The dinner was a birthday celebration for my sister. Our server, Ashley was the best server we can wish for. She was very attentive but never overwhelming. The food was very good and we didn't have to wait long to be served. I asked to talk to the manager to commend Ashley's outstanding service and the great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The price and value do not match. Very ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The price and value do not match. Very expensive for amount of food you receive. We were placed in a corner and it was so dark we needed to use iPhone flash light to see menus and Bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Flemings is a great consistent standby f ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Flemings is a great consistent standby for a solid steakhouse type meal. Service at this location is exceptional. Especially Brittany!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had never been to flemmings before... ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We had never been to flemmings before...me and my husband got the same steak...cooked the same. Mine was really good but his was awful. Don't think we will be back...too expensive...but the service was really good

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We really like the shrimp on chips, Caes ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

We really like the shrimp on chips, Caesar and wedge salad, filet and green beans. The Sonoma Cutrere was lovely and we ate at one of our favorite spots in the bar and all of the servers were awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been there several times and service was ...

 
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Been there several times and service was not good. Waitress wasn't interested in service. Steak was undercooked and then overlooked when sent back. Birthday dinner for GF and extremely disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

First time, seems to be not quite the sa ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

First time, seems to be not quite the same. Ran out of prime rib, long wait at table, salad fair, potato hard. Used to be very special and always a treat, seems to have changed.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Happy heart and tummy!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Love having our special occasions at Flemmings! The staff is great and the food outstanding! WE have taken our small company there 2 years in a row for our holiday celebration as well as other special family celebrations. We never feel rushed and enjoy our time celebrating :)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect. Wonderful food ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Everything was perfect. Wonderful food and very attentive wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite steakhouse in OC. The vibe i ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My favorite steakhouse in OC. The vibe is loud and fun and the food is very good. The service is always top notch and they always make us feel special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fleming's Truly Exceeded Expectations

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

As a birthday celebration for my wife, we made the reservations on Open Table and found a few surprises. They seated my family in the downstairs wine cellar, a nice change from the usual dining.

Jana, the manager politely introduced her and her evening team. So impressed. We were treated wonderfully all night.

And the food was all first rate, with the steaks (and everything) cooked and presented first class.

Really enjoyed the evening.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall our dining experience was fair. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Overall our dining experience was fair. The prices for their steaks are outrageous and my angus rib eye had such a large piece of fat running down the middle that I could only eat a third. I should have complained but did not. My husband's prime new york was very good and I ordered wrong. They do have an extensive wine list and ordered 2 different glasses that were very satisfying.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Great dinner!!!! Wine prices were very h ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Great dinner!!!! Wine prices were very high. A bottle of Rodney Strong Was $56.00 and Total wine for $16.99. BEST waiter...... Amedeo Pernestino!!!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had apps and dinner and everything wa ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We had apps and dinner and everything was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding selection of steaks. The sid ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Outstanding selection of steaks. The sides are great too! Leave room for desert especially the apple crip very good. Overall with great service the experience was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.