Fleming's Steakhouse - Madison

4.6
384 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steak
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Good for a Date
Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(608) 233-9550
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
University Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Ample self parking. No valet.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
There is a bus stop right outside of our patio, on the corner of University & Midvale
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

View Private Dining Details
What 384 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.7
service
4.5
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
96% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Amazing diner. Always love Flemings for special occasions. The filet was perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Wonderful for Mothers' Day brunch and graduation celebration. Truly felt pampered. Delicious food with good variety of menu choices.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Great meal for our daughter's graduation. Service is very good, attentive but not rushed. Everything from appetizers, salads, and steaks was timed perfectly. Crab cakes were very good. The best wagyu steak we have ever had!! Great spot.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Wonderful dining experience, food, wine, service and ambience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Could use a few more vegetarian friendly items, but the filet was amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Excellent service, great food
Noisy by a party room divider left open

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Fleming’s is consistently a good choice. As a full service steakhouse we expect superior service and they deliver. Everyone on the team who served us, from the greeter to our waitress to the manager, were kind and attentive to our needs. We both had NY strip and lobster. I have my steak medium rare and I’m not afraid to send it back if it is overdone. Not necessary at Fleming’s; it was perfect! And a word about the cheesecake- simply wonderful. Many places load up on sugar because they think people want sweets for dessert. This was more creamy than sugary. We loved it. It’s true that Fleming’s is pricey but you get what you pay for. If you want quick and cheap there are places for that. If you want elegant and top notch food, go to Fleming’s.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Fleming’s is such a great spot for steak. Four of us met up for a movie at Hilldale followed by dinner at Fleming’s and it was a terrific experience. I can’t til the patio opens. Til then? The dining room will do just fine.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Found it pricey for an average steak with no extras. My steak was half fat. Have previously had their restaurant week fare. That was good and included sides etc.. This was our first time ordering from the regular menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

We were celebrating my mother's 75th birthday. Our steaks were cooked to perfection. She ordered a gorgonzola cream sauce with hers that was wonderful. I ordered the diablo shrimp topper and it was spicier than usual (which I like). The meal highlight was actually the roasted brussels sprouts with bacon. They were crispy and carmelized and a complete taste sensation. I would return just to order these in the bar area... Her Fleming's potatoes were excellent, as usual.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Food was excellent right along with the service! Our server Trevor was always there asking if we needed anything else and it was my daughters Birthday and he was gracious with bringing us the cake too our table that we brought along and adding candles too it and offering too cut it and serve it! And throughout dinner their were always filling our water glasses etc - couldn’t of asked for better service or food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Food and service were excellent. Pricey for everyday dining but would definitely recommend for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

As usual we had a wonderful dinner. I was a little disappointed in the ahi tuna appetizer as the sauce overwhelmed the taste of the tuna, which was sparse. The appetizers were over priced. The noise from the bar can be a little much. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Waiter was excellent. Food was very good. Wine selection was good; however, way overpriced. Great place for special occasion and if money is not an issue - quite expensive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Excellent spot for business, family or romantic dining. Large open area for seating. Good ambiance. Pricey, but good service and food. Overall worth the extra price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

It’s always a remarkable dining experience at Fleming’s. The food was great and so was our server, Adrienne, who was very polite and attentive. We always enjoy going there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2018

We’re not new to Fleming’s because it’s a great place to celebrate a special occasion. I like that they will split a salad so you can have a smaller portion. As a group of women, we generally order the small plates and have a good variety to choose from , as the menu changes often. I tried the lamb chops, but I would not recommend them. One of my friends chose the ahi tuna that she said “melted in your mouth.” We’ll be back, of course, because the food is usually great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Steaks were delicious as well as the salad. We loved the desserts too!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

The steaks, drinks and dessert were outstanding and staff was very attentive.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Another great meal here - angus ribeye topped with broiled lobster. Wife had lobster tempura (small plate) which was excellent and sufficiently sized. We always get the fried calimari, which comes with a moderately spicy pepper relish. They are back to paper menus for wine list, so if you liked/didn't like the tablets, now you know. Gracious service as always, a gift of chocolate for our anniversary, and a $25 gift certificate.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Another special occasion with my badger! Best place in Madison to treat yourself and your student.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2018

If I could give more than 5 stars I definitely would. EVERYTHING about the experience of dining here is above and beyond. Beginning with the service and including the food. The service has been spot on every time we've dined here and the food will not disappoint. The utmost attention is given to every detail in both service and the food. I HIGHLY recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Mom’s weekend

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Wedge salads are spectacular! The calamari was a bit overcooked and lukewarm, we've eaten it here before and it was good but not great this time. The steak/ risotto small plate was also spectacular!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

The Valentine's day specials were fantastic. Salmon or filet paired with collosal shrimp or crab legs, beet salad and a scallop appetizer. Service was great. Very romantic setting.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Value just isn’t there. Plenty of other good steak houses in Madison for 1/2 the cost. & better service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Great food and service. Always a great time

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 1, 2018

The wait service, and our food was very good, we split a first course salad, our filet steaks were done to order and with the roasted brussel sprouts side was all very tasty. That said, everything is à-la-carte these days here so you can expect to spend some bucks for a nice evening out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 24, 2018

We dined here during Restaurant Week. It was a delightful surprise to see options to enhance the entrees (for an additional cost), and tempting as they were, we stayed with the advertised menu. No regrets; our meals were delicious and the service was superb. We will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 23, 2018

My boyfriend and I visited during restaurant week. Neither of us had been to Fleming’s before so it was the perfect excuse to go. Our food was delicious, as were the drinks, and the dessert was delectable! The staff were all very knowledgeable of the menu and made great suggestions. We will definitely be back again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 22, 2018

We went for Restaurant Week because we had never been there for dinner and wanted to give it a try. My husband had the salmon and he said it was the best salmon he had ever had. My steak was good and the Caesar Salad was delicious. Trevor was our server and he was outstanding. The staff all seemed really happy to have people come for Restaurant Week (this isn't always the case). We will definitely be back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 20, 2018

My fiance and I truly enjoyed our experience at Flemings. Absolutely the best Filets we have ever had. Very friendly, professional staff. Thank you so much for an amazing evening

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Food and service was excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2018

Quiet date night for my husband and I. Food was good. I loved the scallops and shrimp was just ok. Husband had the special rib eye and was good as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 12, 2018

Our server, Adrian, was excellent. She made a couple great wine recommendations and we ordered a fantastic bottle. She was attentive throughout, as were other service staff. The steak was great, the roasted Brussels sprouts excellent, and we had a lava cake to split 3 ways. Great evening out!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 6, 2018

To me, the entrees are over priced and definitely not tasty enough for the price tag. My husband had the New York strip and I had the chicken. We split the shoe string potatoes (best part of meal) and asparagus. The potatoes were delicious, everything else was just okay.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 26, 2017

We have eaten at this Fleming's many times and it's almost always very good. Food wise, this was one of the best experiences we have had at this location to date; the service was very good, but not quite excellent as it has been in the past. The kid's meal is a bargain for what you get - we love to go here with the entire family whenever the grandparents are in town. The chocolate lava cake never disappoints (it's the main reason my kids keep asking to go back to Fleming's rather than our favorite local/independent steakhouse when everyone is craving steak). If not everyone in your party is in the mood for steak, I would recommend going to the Tornado Steak House instead, as their non-steak menu items are far better in my opinion, but if you're on the west side of Madison and with a bunch of steak lovers (and willing to spend $$), Fleming's almost always delivers an excellent experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 24, 2017

Overall our dining experience was very nice. Would have liked some vegetarian options. We did not realize how expensive it was or we probably would not have gone there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 22, 2017

We are regular customers and as always it was absolutely perfect and amazing and delicious. The service was second to none, and it truly was just phenomenal

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 16, 2017

The food was outstanding. I had the porkchop. It was as good as I have ever had. Top shelf tequila Don Julio 1942 was exquisite. My first comment to my spouse was it is so nice to have a tequila other than Patron...that seemingly is the standard in most Madison bars and eateries. Staff was attentive and helpful.

Our one mild dislike was the overall level of noise. Maybe we are old fashioned and the younger generations like the increased noise. We would think twice about returning for a more intimate or larger party gathering. Again, not because of prices, food preparation and quality, staff attentiveness, physical setting but because there was, again our humble opinion, too much invasive noise from other parts of the total facility. That said, we will still be back!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
10