About Fleming's Steakhouse - Madison

750 N Midvale Blvd
Madison, WI 53705
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
University Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 233-9550

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/wi/madison

Parking Details:
Ample self parking. No valet.

Public Transit:
There is a bus stop right outside of our patio, on the corner of University & Midvale

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Promotions

Taste the Season Prix Fixe - Starting at $55.95*

Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Promotions

Taste the Season Prix Fixe - Starting at $55.95*

Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Details
Our limited-time three-course menu features a Filet Mignon paired with your favorite summer seafood selection—shrimp, Alaskan king crab or North Atlantic lobster. We add a spinach salad & a salted caramel gelato sandwich to complete the gathering. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Madison Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Madison
Best Restaurants in Madison ›

special occasion (22)
romantic (14)
notable wine list (11)
See All
fit for foodies (9)
good for groups (5)
great for outdoor dining (3)
hot spot (3)
late-night find (3)
great for brunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for lunch (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
215 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time dinning here. I l ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

This was my first time dinning here. I loved it. I will definitely return.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

My husband and I were very disappointed ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband and I were very disappointed in our experience at Flemings. The food was ok but not great for the price. The wine was way over priced. The server kept trying to up sell at every opportunity. It was not a relaxing event.

food4
ambience5
service5

My petite filet mignon was amazing! Cook ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

My petite filet mignon was amazing! Cooked just right!!! So tender it could melt in my mouth!

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Not worth the $

Dined on May 22, 2016

Far too money for what you get. Go to Delmicos....much better value with food that is just as good. My wife and I each had two drinks, our dinner and a side for each. Our bill (after tip) was over $205.00. The food was goio, but not worth $55.00 for a steak with no sides. Good service with decent ambience, but it really felt like a chain with high prices.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

We went for a special occasion. While t ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We went for a special occasion. While the food was good, the prices were way more than they needed to be.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Honestly the best steak I've ever had in my life!

Dined on May 14, 2016

I went there this past weekend for my graduation dinner and ordered their wagyu strip. Steak was perfectly cooked and seasoned, sides and appetizers were amazing. With their price point, they are definitely not an everyday dinner place, better for special occasions but the food is worth the price. Also, since it was my graduation dinner they gave me a card congratulating me on my accomplishment and gave me a box of handmade chocolate truffles which was greatly appreciated (and delicious). They really went the extra mile to make the occasion special and I loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

A double is 2 ounces. At their prices, ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

A double is 2 ounces. At their prices, give me a break!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a treasure! We so enjoyed our grad ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

What a treasure! We so enjoyed our graduation celebration with our family. The food was so fabulous, the service excellent, and the experience memorable. We'll try to return often.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Mother's Day brunch at Flemings: good, not great.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for Mother's Day brunch, our first non-dinner meal at Flemings. The food was good and the service, as usual, was excellent. Value was a bit more questionable. Entree portions were a bit skimpy, a rarity at Flemings. A $40 brunch should have included coffee and probably juice, if not necessarily an alcoholic beverage. Noise levels were very high--I can't remember a similarly noisy dinner meal, including on special occasions. We are fans of Flemings, especially for their specials. This was a bit disappointing.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Moms day brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

The selection was excellent and I liked it much better than a buffet. The 3 choices for each of the 3 courses were nicely varied and all special. The service was exceptional and food delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Our server, Trevor provided the perfect ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our server, Trevor provided the perfect service. He had great timing in asking if we needed anything (like when we just decide on what to order), but wasn't too overbearing. He told us what the specials were and warned us that there was only one last dry-aged ribeye (which we promptly got). He gave us recommendations on which sauces match with which steak, and even let us try some wines before we ordered a bottle. The food was prefect, the filet mignon was extremely tender, wagyu strip was juicy, and the dry-aged steak was extremely flavorful, if not a tiny bit dry on one side (the fatty side just melts in your mouth). Overall, it was pretty great. Perfect amount of dessert too.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Tasty but Expensive

Dined on April 17, 2016

This was my husband and my first visit to Flemings. We knew that it was quite expensive before visiting but had received a gift card for a visit. We were not disappointed with the experience. Our waiter was friendly and attentive. The food was excellent. I had the crab legs and my husband had the bone in rib-eye. Both were delicious. We were stunned by the cost of the "sides to share", one baked potato to share for $10.95! The asparagus, although delicious, was also ridiculously expensive. The complimentary bread was very good but I think that at least one side should be included with the entree. There are other expensive, very nice restaurants in Madison that we have visited previously that have had better value for the money and I believe we will return to one of those before visiting Flemings again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak is tasty

Dined on March 31, 2016

Steak is tasty. Price is too high for the sides. Tornado steak house gives me the sides for free while I have to pay 9 bucks here.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Dependably good

Dined on March 27, 2016

Never disappointed in the food and service from Flemings. Always look forward to eating there when we have a little extra to spend.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great deals from time to time

Dined on March 18, 2016

Fleming's is expensive for regular dining, but it has periodic specials that are very attractive, particularly for prime rib nights. The food is ample and delicious, the service is usually excellent, and the ambience is lovely. During the season, one can eat outdoors on their patio. On these special nights, the experience is hard to beat. That was our experience this weekend--everything was great. I use a wheelchair, and the restaurant was, as usual, very accommodating to my needs.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Steakhouse

vip
Dined on February 25, 2016

The food is divine and the waitstaff are cordial, engaging and we'll versed in the me u items.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal and service

Dined on February 17, 2016

Excellent meal and service

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Valentines Day Brunch

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great service, requested a rose for the table and they delivered. Great gluten free menu for my wife. Wait staff was very knowledgeable and attentive to our every need. Management checked in and spoke to every patron personally when lighting was adjusted. Great time cant wait to return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great birthday celebration

Dined on January 18, 2016

We went to this restaurant on Monday to celebrate my birthday. We enjoyed pretty much everything. I had one of the best stakes in my life. The service was very good. They accommodated all our dietary restrictions and gave made us feel welcome. We ate in this restaurant before several times, but this time was special. Maybe they have changed something, or maybe we were just lucky.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Graet Time at Flemings!

Dined on January 10, 2016

Our latest meal at Flemings was everything we expected and more. We went in a little early for a cocktail and the bartender was very good. She introduced herself and helped with a few selections on the drink menu. Our table was ready right on time and the choice of either a white or black napkin is a simple but elegant touch. We had a great waiter (Trevor) and he was on our leisurely pace, not the fast in and out we have experienced at other places. We ordered a steak and lobster special and everything was delicious and perfectly cooked. I highly recommend Flemings for just cocktails and appetizers to a great dinner!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Disappointing Experience

vip
Dined on January 2, 2016

First, I would like to mention that the wait staff was outstanding. Our waitress was personable, friendly, and attentive. We had an opportunity to chat with the manager, and had an delightful and interesting conversation. The problem I have with this restaurant is the quality of the food in relationship to Fleming's pricing. My wife's filet mignon had no char to it, and looked as though it came from a microwave, the quantity of mashed potatoes had to be no more than two tablespoons at $39.95. My NY strip at $50.95 was just okay, but far below the quality one would expect at $50.95. Disappointing in that the food spoiled what could have been an enjoyable experience.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

not what I was expecting

Dined on January 1, 2016

we came to Flemings for a first date on New Years Eve and left pretty disappointed. We both got the filet and the steaks had very little flavor and were extremely chewy ! Certainly not worth $40 per steak that is for sure!

food5
ambience5
service5

This place is amazing!!! A bit pricy b ...

Dined on December 23, 2015

This place is amazing!!! A bit pricy but worth twice what they charge. A clear top 5 in Madison!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice but pricy

Dined on December 16, 2015

This is an excellent restaurant. The food was exceptional and service was great. Guess that you get what you pay for the bill for four of us was over $400 with about $120 for wine.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Everything!

Dined on December 1, 2015

Excellent Everything!

food5
ambience5
service5

Another wonderful dining experience at Fleming's

Dined on December 1, 2015

Whenever my son comes into town, we make it a special occasion by having "our dinner" at Fleming's. He always orders the large filet and the creamed spinach. His favorites. We share the wedge salad, which is the best in town. We both love Calamari and Fleming's is very unique, absolutely delicious. I often enjoy a small plate or two.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Top Shelf Service

Dined on November 29, 2015

This was our first visit. The service exceptional, from the time we walked in until we left two hours later. The server was extremely well-versed and helpful when discussing our preferences for wine and dinner accompaniments. We had calamari - great taste, the calamari was a bit tough. I had the New York Strip - done perfectly, but lacked the "wow" in the first bite that I get at steakhouses. My dining partners had the tenderloin (with lobster and crab topping choices) and they said it was " fine". For the high-end price, I felt that the steaks were sub-par. However, I loved the spicy Thai green beans and Fleming potatoes for sides. The ambiance was lovely and comfortable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service and dinner experience!

Dined on November 25, 2015

Fantastic service and dinner experience!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, very relaxing. The staf ...

Dined on November 22, 2015

Excellent food, very relaxing. The staff made our celebration very special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A little pricy but worth twice what they ...

Dined on November 6, 2015

A little pricy but worth twice what they charge. This place is amazing, a Madison top 5 pick!

food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were top notch.

Dined on November 1, 2015

The food and service were top notch.

food5
ambience5
service5

Date night success

vip
Dined on October 25, 2015

Our visit was just for a date night. We were very please with the wine selection-- I especially enjoyed the "wine-pad" that offered more information than the menu about each wine available. The steaks were both incredibly well cooked; at a place like this, you expect medium rare and well done to be just as you ordered them. They were perfect. The asparagus were flavorful and al dente, as they should be. We loved it and will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We enjoyed delicious filet mignon and ah ...

vip
Dined on October 25, 2015

We enjoyed delicious filet mignon and ahi tuna, as well as tasty sautéed mushrooms, soups, wedge salad, and lava cakes. Momma enjoyed her Blueberry Lemondrop cocktail! Theresa is a charming server who tended to our every culinary want.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. Even though it ...

vip
Dined on October 9, 2015

The food was excellent. Even though it is a steak house I had the halibut which was moist and tender and cooked just right. The service was impeccable with the waitress coming back to my table to see how I was doing. This was my first trip to Madison and this restaurant didn't disappoint me.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

waitress saved the evening

Dined on October 6, 2015

My husband's b-day and we had a gift certificate, so we made reservations for a "quiet table." The bartender acting host put us in a table in the middle of traffic - even though there were plenty of empty spots. We asked to be moved and got a quiet booth in the corner. Enter Theresa. The best waitress we've had in a while. She was very informative and mentioned the Monday night menu - that the host failed to give us. Theresa's recommendations for wine and dishes were spot-on. And her non-rush attitude made for a very pleasant evening. She even put a candle in the cheesecake (delicious!) dessert for my husband. We both ordered steaks and the were cooked perfectly. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars across was the prices. You could get away with $50 per person meal if you skip the wine and eat only appetizers. But, heck, we were treated so well we even ordered after-dinner drinks.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Wabuya Steak was phenomenal!

Dined on September 10, 2015

Wabuya Steak was phenomenal!

food4
ambience5
service5

Long dinner, but great service

Dined on September 7, 2015

We've been to Flemings in Madison many times and have never really had a bad experience. The wait staff is always very attentive and helpful. It's not often that your glass is empty, and the recommendations they've made regarding food choices has never disappointed. I think the one thing worth mentioning is that if you go to Flemings, be prepared for a meal where you'll spend time between courses. I don't mean that in a bad way, it's just that the pace of the meals I've had a Flemings is generally a little slower and therefore dinner takes a bit longer. Still a great experience!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3

NIce dining experience

vip
Dined on September 6, 2015

Food was very good, great scallop appetizer, new wedge salad is a winner with bacon and blue cheese, and the au gratin potatoes are wonderful, but my steak was ordered medium rare, and the inside was barely warm, red, and almost too rare for my taste. I hesitate to send steaks back because then they usually come back way overdone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1

Exquisite food with outstanding service

Dined on September 3, 2015

My wife and I chose Flemings for a special celebration and ordered two different filets that melted in our mouths. Our server Ashley was one of the best we had ever experienced at "any" restaurant. She was very experienced and knowledgable while checking in at the right time without over doing it that made the evening perfect. The manager Ashley also stopped by the table to be sure everything was to our level of satisfaction.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Very good and it could be excellent

Dined on September 1, 2015

I ate here several times and I am sure I will be back. At the time of last visit that coincided with Epic's User Group event that draws large crowd to Mad Town so place was packed full and it was awfully loud. Odd as it is I always enjoyed serene atmosphere of this place so this was different experience. Can't do much about that I guess. We had group of 7 and eat mostly steaks ... Steaks were great although it seemed they arrived tad colder than what they should be. Hey, at least they let meat rest. Service was excellent as always. My fave is aged ribeye ... Excellent indeed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.