About Fleming's Steakhouse - Madison

750 N Midvale Blvd
Madison, WI 53705
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
University Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 233-9550

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/wi/madison

Parking Details:
Ample self parking. No valet.

Public Transit:
There is a bus stop right outside of our patio, on the corner of University & Midvale

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate Valentine's Week with us from February 10 - February 19. Enjoy a 3-course dinner featuring a Filet Mignon paired with your choice of New Zealand Salmon or an Australian Lobster Tail.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Madison Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (18)
Special Occasion (16)
Good for Birthdays (13)
See All
Romantic (11)
Business Meals (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Private Room (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Fun (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Authentic (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Cozy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
261 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding service and food. Many in st ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding service and food. Many in staff greeted us by name and made us feel special.

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Private Room, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ordered 12oz filet. Steak was an inch th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Ordered 12oz filet. Steak was an inch thick. Table next to me seemed to have ordered same thing yet their filet was 2+ inches, which is what I would expect. For $50, I wasn't blown away at all. Tornado better value as you get a side and a salad.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

This is an excellent steakhouse. It is p ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This is an excellent steakhouse. It is probably the most expensive dinner I have eaten in Madison, and thankfully we had gift cards for about half of the cost. However, the food was amazing and it was a very nice occasional meal.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Well prepared, fresh, tastefully seasone ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Well prepared, fresh, tastefully seasoned traditional food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Terrific food and service. The noise le ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Terrific food and service. The noise level is pretty high however.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service were excellent! The onl ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Food and service were excellent! The only complaint we had was that our reservations were for 8:00 pm; and we were seated at 8:20 pm. We were seated in an area of the restaurant which had a narrow walkway for servers and patrons to pass. We got bumped into quite a bit. They should have removed the 2 extra chairs that were blocking the walkway so people did not have to bump into the back of our chairs.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The night before Christmas Eve, we joine ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The night before Christmas Eve, we joined our best friends for an evening out at Flemings. The ambience is lovely, but the food is overpriced, to put it mildly, especially since all sides, appetizers, desserts, etc. are a la carte. Members of our party who ordered steaks were pleased with their choice, but I ordered the sea bass, normally one of my favorite meals, and found it to be so fishy tasting I sent it back.

Our original waiter may have been in training as we sat for long periods of time before being served. Eventually another two wait staff helped us out and service improved.

Dessert was delicious (crème brule.) so we ended our disappointing evening on a high note.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Very nice evening and excellent food and ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Very nice evening and excellent food and service. Just an FYI that with each course separate, it would be hard to spend less than $100 per person with a glass of wine. Great ambience for a special romantic night!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best restaurants that we went ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 18, 2016

One of the best restaurants that we went to in the past 2 years. Everything was great, nothing left on the table so the portions are right sized. The menu is pricy but worth it and there is something for every tastes. Wait staff was attentive and fun! Our new favorite restaurant in Madison

Tags: Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sliced Filet Mignon is their best small ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Sliced Filet Mignon is their best small plate dish! Glad it's back. Flemings potatoes is good especially paired with steak, but nothing to write home about. Steaks are what is best here as expected: great quality and perfectly cooked to order. Wonderful wine selection, they have everything you need. Fantastic service too. Great place to go for a special occasion. I will be going t back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Laura was our waitress and she was excel ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Laura was our waitress and she was excellent. In addition to Laura, 4 or 5 additional staff came to our table in a team effort bringing food, clearing dishes, etc. While we felt well attended, we also were able to enjoy conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 16, 2016

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes. – We loved the steaks. Service was well-timed and friendly, drinks are a bit pricey

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our second visit and our guests ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was our second visit and our guests were very impressed; the ambiance was comfortable and friendly. The food was excellent and our drinks were fantastic.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special occasion place or just for a gre ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Special occasion place or just for a great meal. Nice wine list with many options. Not inexpensive, but with service and food to make it worthwhile. For a slightly more casual feel and menu, the bar is great, too.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This is the perfect special occasion ste ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This is the perfect special occasion steakhouse but extremely pricey for everyday dining. Manager and staff were friendly and attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Went here for my anniversary. They made ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Went here for my anniversary. They made a mistake on the salad so it was free! They also gave us a free $25 gift card, a box of chocolate, and a very nice card for our anniversary. Spent $28 including the 6 dollar tip we left and had enough food to fill both of us! Such a great place -- definitely will return.

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent!

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Malcolm was a fabulous server! And great ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Malcolm was a fabulous server! And great meals, too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

food was excellent except for the cheese ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 20, 2016

food was excellent except for the cheesecake, it was over cooked and very dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Far exceeded our expectations and we go ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Far exceeded our expectations and we go to plenty of nice restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Our experience at Flemings has always be ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Our experience at Flemings has always been outstanding!

Our server Theresa was very attentive and delightful.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good. The group I was with ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The food was good. The group I was with were a little floored by the price, considering vegetables had to be ordered separately, didn't come with the meal.

For me it would be a specially occasion venue and that is driven by the price vs atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

The service is great, the servers are al ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 6, 2016

The service is great, the servers are all genuinely friendly and personable, and they ask each person how they would like their steak cooked. They know the menu and explain it very well. The food is great and served with a smile. Only drawback is that the food is pricey. We use this restaurant only for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love Fleming's Madison - their steak ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We love Fleming's Madison - their steak is by far the best in Madison and the service is gracious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great service

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Service was good but food mediocre. Shri ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Service was good but food mediocre. Shrimp cocktail a step above cardboard and overpriced. Lettuce wedge okay but average. Nothing special. It's all about the wine at high prices. In contrast to say, Fresco and Sardine, who know their stuff and deserve the prices they charge, we rate Fleming's as a corporate chain restaurant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

We have always enjoyed the dining at Fle ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 12, 2016

We have always enjoyed the dining at Flemings,great restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a great time at Fleming's ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 5, 2016

We always have a great time at Fleming's--great food, excellent wine, and good company (because it's always a special occasion). But even with all the superlatives, to me it's the service that stands out--the wait staff is truly among the best I've experienced anywhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Our service and food were excellent as a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our service and food were excellent as always. Unfortunately there was a table near us with very loud drunk patrons that made our experience less than stellar. We mentioned it to the manager and was happy to see she took our bar bill off the tab.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

We use to love going to Flemings but the ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 23, 2016

We use to love going to Flemings but they are getting overpriced compared to the other fine steak restaurants in the Madison area.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

My wife had a great lemon drop at the b ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 15, 2016

My wife had a great lemon drop at the bar and the pre fix meal was good. I had a great steak with sautéed mushroom. Quiet booth was a nice setting.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent service, very quiet and wonder ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent service, very quiet and wonderful food. Even though the food was VERY good quality and well-prepared, I'd have to say it was a bit high priced. I am by no means cheap when it comes to dining, but I have had just as good for the same price or less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

To begin with a positive, our server wa ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 3, 2016

To begin with a positive, our server was excellent, attentive and knowledgeable (and it was his first night!) - Was very thankful for his help and he absolutely enhanced our dining experience. However, the food itself at this chain is notoriously overpriced, so I probably don't have to say that, but it's a bit ridiculous. The steak and sides are OK to good. But so overpriced it's not worth it - nothing else makes up for this differential between here and other steakhouses in town (the ambiance is boring, there's no energy in the dining room or bar (this was a Friday night)), it's in a shopping mall complex. Local favorites such as Tornado Room & Delmonico's are both more reasonably priced and more fun, more romantic, more anything you are looking for in a night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

It was a pleasant atmosphere and the sta ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 25, 2016

It was a pleasant atmosphere and the staff was mostly attentive. The food was fine but for the cost of the meal one would expect a better quality and quantity. There are better steak houses in Madison.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

This was my first time dinning here. I l ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was my first time dinning here. I loved it. I will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were very disappointed ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband and I were very disappointed in our experience at Flemings. The food was ok but not great for the price. The wine was way over priced. The server kept trying to up sell at every opportunity. It was not a relaxing event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

My petite filet mignon was amazing! Cook ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 22, 2016

My petite filet mignon was amazing! Cooked just right!!! So tender it could melt in my mouth!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Not worth the $

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Far too money for what you get. Go to Delmicos....much better value with food that is just as good. My wife and I each had two drinks, our dinner and a side for each. Our bill (after tip) was over $205.00. The food was goio, but not worth $55.00 for a steak with no sides. Good service with decent ambience, but it really felt like a chain with high prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We went for a special occasion. While t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 21, 2016

We went for a special occasion. While the food was good, the prices were way more than they needed to be.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Honestly the best steak I've ever had in my life!

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2016

I went there this past weekend for my graduation dinner and ordered their wagyu strip. Steak was perfectly cooked and seasoned, sides and appetizers were amazing. With their price point, they are definitely not an everyday dinner place, better for special occasions but the food is worth the price. Also, since it was my graduation dinner they gave me a card congratulating me on my accomplishment and gave me a box of handmade chocolate truffles which was greatly appreciated (and delicious). They really went the extra mile to make the occasion special and I loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.