Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi

About Fleming's Steakhouse - Madison

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

750 N Midvale Blvd
Madison, WI 53705
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
University Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 233-9550

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/wi/madison

Parking Details:
Ample self parking. No valet.

Public Transit:
There is a bus stop right outside of our patio, on the corner of University & Midvale

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

A Summer of Love Prix Fixe

Special valid Jun 28, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

A Summer of Love Prix Fixe

Special valid Jun 28, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Steak and Wine are the perfect pair. This summer celebrate the love between steak and wine with our 3-course prix fixe menu. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 28, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Madison Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Good for a Date (19)
See All
Romantic (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Business Meals (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Bar Seating (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Fun (5)
Authentic (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Cozy (4)
Casual (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
324 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

Prime rib was just the way we like it - rare and tender. Dessert was yummy. Salads were excellent. Service was excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Let's face it, we cannot grill steak at home like Flemings. So when a special treat is in order, make it Flemings. Melt in your mouth steak, delicious Flemings potatoes, yummy new brussel sprouts and superb carrot cake to top it all off. And don't forget the extensive wine list! We will be back....

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Terrific dinner, great staff, wine list was fabulous, pairings to meals and fun facts involved with the wines themselves. Overall my wife and I had a terrific, quiet date night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Omaha)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great food and wine as always with Flemings. We appreciated the accommodation of our children (ages 8 and 10). They provided a children's pre fixe menu that was great. All around a great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Excellent staff! Food was great and so was service!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Authentic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Overall nice experience. The price is a little high for what you get, wine in particular is over priced, but overall an okay experience. Steaks are good, not great, but good.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Wonderful dinner with friends that had never been there before. Laura took very good care of us. Flemings is our new "go to" restaurant for special occasions. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Both Ruth and I were delighted with our dining, especially the food and the fine details to make it a wonderful evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

We usually have outstanding experiences at Fleming's, however this location left much to be desired. Our server seemed annoyed to be there and could not handle the amount of tables he was assigned. I don't think he cracked a smile once. Each course took a long time to come out and then we sat with dirty plates in front of us as we waited quite a while for them to be cleared. The manager did notice the shortcomings and apologized, but did nothing to rectify the situation. This was a very disappointing anniversary dinner. Stay clear of this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Very nicely decorated, ample parking, ample space between tables (so you don't have to hear everything going on at other tables), great steaks. Service was pleasant but rather slow for me. 2 hours from placing order, round of cocktails, salad, entrée & dessert to getting the bill.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 23, 2017

My wife and I, along with another couple, enjoy coming to Flemings for the prime rib special. Every time we have eaten at Flemings the meal has been outstanding. Last Sunday's meal was less than satisfactory. To begin with, my French onion soup was basically tasteless. My wife ordered her prime rib rare, It came back medium. I ordered my prime rib medium, it came back medium well. It tasted fine but it was not what we ordered. My dessert was 1/3 of the size it was the last time I ate at Flemings. I asked the waiter about it and he said he would check into it. As it turned out, I received the portion that was designated for restaurant week. The waiter did bring me another small slice of dessert, but I don't think it was equal to what I should have received. The service was great,especially the waiter.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Comfort Food, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Fleming's is always good and consistent. We don't live in Madison but we lucked into restaurant week. A good value.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 16, 2017

This visit was for a special occasion and it delivered! Party of 6, treated with special attention to detail. Most of us had the prime rib prix fix special and it was delicious and properly prepared. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner in an atmosphere that is both polished and yet casual. It is definitely also a romantic place. The booths are comfortable and the tables are not squeezed in for maximum seating. I have eaten here several times, both in the bar and in the dining room and have never been disappointed. Their desserts are all spectacular; but my favorite is the chocolate lava cake served with a scoop of ice cream, a sprinkling of pistachios and two crispy cookies artfully served. Even though it is a franchise, I have never felt as though the staff is ho hum about their service; the manager is present and friendly, greeting and visiting each table.

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

140.00 bill for a salad, steak, potato dish, baked potato, vegetable plate, coke, and a glass of wine. Includes tip. Each item was priced as ala carte. In most restaurants these would not be separate costs but considered a part of an entree. As a result one really has to think about how much you want to spend. Most budgets today could not afford Flemings.
In addition, there were no tap beers which was a disappointment, especially considering the persona of Flemings.
The waitress was very nice and took wonderful care of us. A special surprise was the gift card and truffles as a way of congratulating us on our anniversary. To bad we could not have used it right away as we do not see ourselves returning. Too expensive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Amazing steak and calamari! Definitely recommend to anyone who appreciates a perfectly cooked steak. Moscato was very good as well. *

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The 3 course Prime Rib special on Sundays and special nights is a very good value. A very enjoyable & delicious evening

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Food was excellent. Service was excellent. We always enjoy dining at Flemings.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 20, 2017

I ordered the 14 oz ribeye. It was cooked perfectly. The sides (creamed spinach & specialty potatoes) have far better tasting at other Flemings (Arlington Va & Richmond Va).

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Beautiful decor, Outstanding food, and Excellent service. That's why Flemings is still the best steak place in town. Fresh baked bread, Lobster bisque, Prime Rib with home-made steak sauce and from-scratch creamy horseradish, Chipotle Cheddar Mac and Cheese, Carrot Cake

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great wine selection and steaks but brunch leaves much to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 12, 2017

I used to put Fleming's and Ruth's Chris in the same category, but due to the noise level and the "pretty good" service, I would place Ruth's Chris way above Fleming's. They kindly gave us a chocolate dessert and $25 gift card for our anniversary (and a card for our table) but it was just too noisy and the service didn't blow us away like at Ruth's. Still, VERY nice place.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The food was fantastic. They catered to my needs without hesitation. I proposed to my girlfriend of 3 years and they helped me pull off the perfect proposal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Awesome. We had never been. We will be back. Great server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Our new favorite steakhouse in town. Excellent meat, perfect temps and professional wait staff. Great ambiance - not sleazy like some other places in town - and noise level was non-intrusive. Really enjoyed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We had two different Rib Eyes-the aged and the not aged. The aged was much better and worth the extra $10. We had leftovers for brunch the next day! The food is PRICEY! I haven't paid that much for a meal in a long time, but we had a gift card that covered half. We were unsure what wine we wanted, so the waiter brought us three glasses to "blind" test. We chose one from those and it was a delicious Malbec (hard to find around Madison at restaurants). I wear hearing aids and they gave us a booth off to the side, so even though I can see it getting loud in the restaurant, I didn't have any problem hearing my date.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was excellent. Food was good; steak had to be sent back to cook a bit more. Music was pop; didn't set the mood for elegant dining. Very expensive, making us question if we'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food, Se4rvice... all very good. Mothers' Day brunch must have had a few extra tables set out since it seemed a bit crowded. Overall nice meal, not cheap.

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for brunch on Mother's Day. It could not have been better. The food was delic, the service was great, and the atmosphere was perfect for young and old family members! Can't wait to try it out for dinner! Highly recommended.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Went to celebrate our son's Law School graduation with family. Although the noise level was high that evening due to many people there celebrating graduations as well, the quality of the food and great service more than made up for that.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

top notch food and wine, and service to match.......not cheap, but you will have an excellent meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Excellent evening and dinner. Excellent wait staff - truly appreciated.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We've been to Fleming's's several times for excellent food, cozy ambience, friendly and attentive staff and manager. We'll continue to dine at Fleming's. I wish they'd put the wagyu steak back on their menu. Or maybe add Kobe steak.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual, Cozy, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

My wife and I recently dined at Flemings after not having been there for some time. After being seated and given the menu's we were somewhat surprised at the cost of the entrees but thought if the quality of the food was worth the price it wasn't a big deal. However we soon found out the quality of the food wasn't what we expected. My wife and I both ordered a Fleming's salad which I remember costing $10.95 apiece and it was basically iceberg lettuce. We've dined at restaurants throughout the country and have never paid $10.95 for iceberg lettuce. My wife ordered the petite filet which was $44.95 and I ordered one of the nightly specials which consisted of a steak with 3 shrimp for $46.95. When we took our first bites we both felt the meat wasn't as tender as it should have been and we felt the meats weren't prime cuts but were both choice cuts. If that's true the entrees were overpriced. We did however receive great service. Our server was very good, very attentive, and provided the service we would have expected and if the quality of the food was as good as the service we were provided this review would be much better. All in all we were both disappointed and we won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We have gone here for anniversary dinners and birthdays. Not really a date place for most people.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had a large group of 15 & the service & food was top notch. Beautiful ambiance as well.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We always love to go to Flemming's, Great food great wine and drinks for any occasion

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Exelent place, food is great, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I would recommend this place to anyone. My wife and I are from a different state. So we had book reservations online. Once we did this there was a conformation email that came to me immediately. As I was looking over it. I noticed a third party flower place. So I ordered 100 dollars worth of flowers with a card for my wife. To have waiting at the table once we arrived. Well that didn't happen. We got there and no flowers at all. The restaurant manager realized the flowers hadn't arrived and went and bought us a dozen roses from his Own pocket. Needless to say that doesn't happen anywhere. Very very pleased with the service and food as well. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent drinks, food & service. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Steak and lobster special. Delicious food, steak was done to perfection, very tender and flavorful as ordered. Lobster tail was tasty with drawn butter, good ceasar salad starter, and a side of creamed spinach. Service was very good too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.