About Fleming's Steakhouse - Madison

750 N Midvale Blvd
Madison, WI 53705
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
University Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 233-9550

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/wi/madison

Parking Details:
Ample self parking. No valet.

Public Transit:
There is a bus stop right outside of our patio, on the corner of University & Midvale

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Madison Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

69% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Madison
Best Restaurants in Madison ›

Special Occasion (23)
Notable Wine List (12)
Fit for Foodies (7)
See All
Romantic (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Great for Brunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
224 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was good but food mediocre. Shri ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 3 days ago

Service was good but food mediocre. Shrimp cocktail a step above cardboard and overpriced. Lettuce wedge okay but average. Nothing special. It's all about the wine at high prices. In contrast to say, Fresco and Sardine, who know their stuff and deserve the prices they charge, we rate Fleming's as a corporate chain restaurant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

We have always enjoyed the dining at Fle ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We have always enjoyed the dining at Flemings,great restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a great time at Fleming's ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We always have a great time at Fleming's--great food, excellent wine, and good company (because it's always a special occasion). But even with all the superlatives, to me it's the service that stands out--the wait staff is truly among the best I've experienced anywhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Our service and food were excellent as a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our service and food were excellent as always. Unfortunately there was a table near us with very loud drunk patrons that made our experience less than stellar. We mentioned it to the manager and was happy to see she took our bar bill off the tab.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

We use to love going to Flemings but the ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We use to love going to Flemings but they are getting overpriced compared to the other fine steak restaurants in the Madison area.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

My wife had a great lemon drop at the b ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

My wife had a great lemon drop at the bar and the pre fix meal was good. I had a great steak with sautéed mushroom. Quiet booth was a nice setting.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent service, very quiet and wonder ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent service, very quiet and wonderful food. Even though the food was VERY good quality and well-prepared, I'd have to say it was a bit high priced. I am by no means cheap when it comes to dining, but I have had just as good for the same price or less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

To begin with a positive, our server wa ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

To begin with a positive, our server was excellent, attentive and knowledgeable (and it was his first night!) - Was very thankful for his help and he absolutely enhanced our dining experience. However, the food itself at this chain is notoriously overpriced, so I probably don't have to say that, but it's a bit ridiculous. The steak and sides are OK to good. But so overpriced it's not worth it - nothing else makes up for this differential between here and other steakhouses in town (the ambiance is boring, there's no energy in the dining room or bar (this was a Friday night)), it's in a shopping mall complex. Local favorites such as Tornado Room & Delmonico's are both more reasonably priced and more fun, more romantic, more *anything* you are looking for in a night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

It was a pleasant atmosphere and the sta ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

It was a pleasant atmosphere and the staff was mostly attentive. The food was fine but for the cost of the meal one would expect a better quality and quantity. There are better steak houses in Madison.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

This was my first time dinning here. I l ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This was my first time dinning here. I loved it. I will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were very disappointed ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband and I were very disappointed in our experience at Flemings. The food was ok but not great for the price. The wine was way over priced. The server kept trying to up sell at every opportunity. It was not a relaxing event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

My petite filet mignon was amazing! Cook ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My petite filet mignon was amazing! Cooked just right!!! So tender it could melt in my mouth!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Not worth the $

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Far too money for what you get. Go to Delmicos....much better value with food that is just as good. My wife and I each had two drinks, our dinner and a side for each. Our bill (after tip) was over $205.00. The food was goio, but not worth $55.00 for a steak with no sides. Good service with decent ambience, but it really felt like a chain with high prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We went for a special occasion. While t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We went for a special occasion. While the food was good, the prices were way more than they needed to be.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Honestly the best steak I've ever had in my life!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I went there this past weekend for my graduation dinner and ordered their wagyu strip. Steak was perfectly cooked and seasoned, sides and appetizers were amazing. With their price point, they are definitely not an everyday dinner place, better for special occasions but the food is worth the price. Also, since it was my graduation dinner they gave me a card congratulating me on my accomplishment and gave me a box of handmade chocolate truffles which was greatly appreciated (and delicious). They really went the extra mile to make the occasion special and I loved it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A double is 2 ounces. At their prices, ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

A double is 2 ounces. At their prices, give me a break!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

What a treasure! We so enjoyed our grad ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

What a treasure! We so enjoyed our graduation celebration with our family. The food was so fabulous, the service excellent, and the experience memorable. We'll try to return often.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day brunch at Flemings: good, not great.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went for Mother's Day brunch, our first non-dinner meal at Flemings. The food was good and the service, as usual, was excellent. Value was a bit more questionable. Entree portions were a bit skimpy, a rarity at Flemings. A $40 brunch should have included coffee and probably juice, if not necessarily an alcoholic beverage. Noise levels were very high--I can't remember a similarly noisy dinner meal, including on special occasions. We are fans of Flemings, especially for their specials. This was a bit disappointing.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Moms day brunch

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The selection was excellent and I liked it much better than a buffet. The 3 choices for each of the 3 courses were nicely varied and all special.

The service was exceptional and food delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Trevor provided the perfect ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Our server, Trevor provided the perfect service. He had great timing in asking if we needed anything (like when we just decide on what to order), but wasn't too overbearing. He told us what the specials were and warned us that there was only one last dry-aged ribeye (which we promptly got). He gave us recommendations on which sauces match with which steak, and even let us try some wines before we ordered a bottle. The food was prefect, the filet mignon was extremely tender, wagyu strip was juicy, and the dry-aged steak was extremely flavorful, if not a tiny bit dry on one side (the fatty side just melts in your mouth). Overall, it was pretty great. Perfect amount of dessert too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Tasty but Expensive

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

This was my husband and my first visit to Flemings. We knew that it was quite expensive before visiting but had received a gift card for a visit. We were not disappointed with the experience. Our waiter was friendly and attentive. The food was excellent. I had the crab legs and my husband had the bone in rib-eye. Both were delicious. We were stunned by the cost of the "sides to share", one baked potato to share for $10.95! The asparagus, although delicious, was also ridiculously expensive. The complimentary bread was very good but I think that at least one side should be included with the entree. There are other expensive, very nice restaurants in Madison that we have visited previously that have had better value for the money and I believe we will return to one of those before visiting Flemings again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Steak is tasty

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Steak is tasty. Price is too high for the sides. Tornado steak house gives me the sides for free while I have to pay 9 bucks here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dependably good

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Never disappointed in the food and service from Flemings. Always look forward to eating there when we have a little extra to spend.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great deals from time to time

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Fleming's is expensive for regular dining, but it has periodic specials that are very attractive, particularly for prime rib nights. The food is ample and delicious, the service is usually excellent, and the ambience is lovely. During the season, one can eat outdoors on their patio. On these special nights, the experience is hard to beat. That was our experience this weekend--everything was great. I use a wheelchair, and the restaurant was, as usual, very accommodating to my needs.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Steakhouse

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

The food is divine and the waitstaff are cordial, engaging and we'll versed in the me u items.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal and service

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

Excellent meal and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Valentines Day Brunch

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great service, requested a rose for the table and they delivered. Great gluten free menu for my wife. Wait staff was very knowledgeable and attentive to our every need. Management checked in and spoke to every patron personally when lighting was adjusted. Great time cant wait to return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great birthday celebration

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

We went to this restaurant on Monday to celebrate my birthday.

We enjoyed pretty much everything. I had one of the best stakes in my life. The service was very good. They accommodated all our dietary restrictions and gave made us feel welcome.

We ate in this restaurant before several times, but this time was special. Maybe they have changed something, or maybe we were just lucky.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Graet Time at Flemings!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

Our latest meal at Flemings was everything we expected and more. We went in a little early for a cocktail and the bartender was very good. She introduced herself and helped with a few selections on the drink menu. Our table was ready right on time and the choice of either a white or black napkin is a simple but elegant touch.

We had a great waiter (Trevor) and he was on our leisurely pace, not the fast in and out we have experienced at other places. We ordered a steak and lobster special and everything was delicious and perfectly cooked.

I highly recommend Flemings for just cocktails and appetizers to a great dinner!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Disappointing Experience

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

First, I would like to mention that the wait staff was outstanding. Our waitress was personable, friendly, and attentive. We had an opportunity to chat with the manager, and had an delightful and interesting conversation. The problem I have with this restaurant is the quality of the food in relationship to Fleming's pricing. My wife's filet mignon had no char to it, and looked as though it came from a microwave, the quantity of mashed potatoes had to be no more than two tablespoons at $39.95. My NY strip at $50.95 was just okay, but far below the quality one would expect at $50.95. Disappointing in that the food spoiled what could have been an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

not what I was expecting

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

we came to Flemings for a first date on New Years Eve and left pretty disappointed. We both got the filet and the steaks had very little flavor and were extremely chewy ! Certainly not worth $40 per steak that is for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

This place is amazing!!! A bit pricy b ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

This place is amazing!!! A bit pricy but worth twice what they charge.

A clear top 5 in Madison!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice but pricy

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on December 16, 2015

This is an excellent restaurant. The food was exceptional and service was great. Guess that you get what you pay for the bill for four of us was over $400 with about $120 for wine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Everything!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on December 1, 2015

Excellent Everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another wonderful dining experience at Fleming's

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on December 1, 2015

Whenever my son comes into town, we make it a special occasion by having "our dinner" at Fleming's. He always orders the large filet and the creamed spinach. His favorites. We share the wedge salad, which is the best in town. We both love Calamari and Fleming's is very unique, absolutely delicious. I often enjoy a small plate or two.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Top Shelf Service

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

This was our first visit. The service exceptional, from the time we walked in until we left two hours later. The server was extremely well-versed and helpful when discussing our preferences for wine and dinner accompaniments. We had calamari - great taste, the calamari was a bit tough. I had the New York Strip - done perfectly, but lacked the "wow" in the first bite that I get at steakhouses. My dining partners had the tenderloin (with lobster and crab topping choices) and they said it was " fine". For the high-end price, I felt that the steaks were sub-par. However, I loved the spicy Thai green beans and Fleming potatoes for sides. The ambiance was lovely and comfortable.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service and dinner experience!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on November 25, 2015

Fantastic service and dinner experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, very relaxing. The staf ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on November 22, 2015

Excellent food, very relaxing. The staff made our celebration very special.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A little pricy but worth twice what they ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on November 6, 2015

A little pricy but worth twice what they charge. This place is amazing, a Madison top 5 pick!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were top notch.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

The food and service were top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.