Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi
  1. Distance: 0.26mi
  2. Distance: 0.35mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.66mi

About Fleming's Steakhouse - Madison

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

750 N Midvale Blvd
Madison, WI 53705
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Friday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
University Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 233-9550

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/wi/madison

Parking Details:
Ample self parking. No valet.

Public Transit:
There is a bus stop right outside of our patio, on the corner of University & Midvale

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Madison Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Anniversaries (19)
GoodForDates (18)
SpecialOccasions (16)
See All
Romance (15)
NotableWineList (15)
BusinessMeals (10)
QuietConversation (8)
Birthdays (7)
Foodies (7)
Cozy (6)
PrePostTheatre (6)
Groups (6)
HappyHour (5)
PrivateRoom (3)
GlutenFree (3)
ModernDecor (3)
Fun (3)
BarSeating (3)
DisabledAccess (2)
TastingMenu (2)
HandcraftedCocktails (2)
ComfortFood (2)
Casual (2)
Seasonal (2)
FamilyStyle (2)
WorthTheDrive (2)
MolecularGastronomy (1)
Healthy (1)
NeighborhoodGem (1)
OpenKitchen (1)
CreativeCuisine (1)
Brunch (1)
HotSpot (1)
ChildFriendly (1)
Sort By:
S
307 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 6 days ago

I ordered the 14 oz ribeye. It was cooked perfectly. The sides (creamed spinach & specialty potatoes) have far better tasting at other Flemings (Arlington Va & Richmond Va).

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Beautiful decor, Outstanding food, and Excellent service. That's why Flemings is still the best steak place in town. Fresh baked bread, Lobster bisque, Prime Rib with home-made steak sauce and from-scratch creamy horseradish, Chipotle Cheddar Mac and Cheese, Carrot Cake

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great wine selection and steaks but brunch leaves much to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 12, 2017

I used to put Fleming's and Ruth's Chris in the same category, but due to the noise level and the "pretty good" service, I would place Ruth's Chris way above Fleming's. They kindly gave us a chocolate dessert and $25 gift card for our anniversary (and a card for our table) but it was just too noisy and the service didn't blow us away like at Ruth's. Still, VERY nice place.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The food was fantastic. They catered to my needs without hesitation. I proposed to my girlfriend of 3 years and they helped me pull off the perfect proposal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Awesome. We had never been. We will be back. Great server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Our new favorite steakhouse in town. Excellent meat, perfect temps and professional wait staff. Great ambiance - not sleazy like some other places in town - and noise level was non-intrusive. Really enjoyed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We had two different Rib Eyes-the aged and the not aged. The aged was much better and worth the extra $10. We had leftovers for brunch the next day! The food is PRICEY! I haven't paid that much for a meal in a long time, but we had a gift card that covered half. We were unsure what wine we wanted, so the waiter brought us three glasses to "blind" test. We chose one from those and it was a delicious Malbec (hard to find around Madison at restaurants). I wear hearing aids and they gave us a booth off to the side, so even though I can see it getting loud in the restaurant, I didn't have any problem hearing my date.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Service was excellent. Food was good; steak had to be sent back to cook a bit more. Music was pop; didn't set the mood for elegant dining. Very expensive, making us question if we'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food, Se4rvice... all very good. Mothers' Day brunch must have had a few extra tables set out since it seemed a bit crowded. Overall nice meal, not cheap.

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for brunch on Mother's Day. It could not have been better. The food was delic, the service was great, and the atmosphere was perfect for young and old family members! Can't wait to try it out for dinner! Highly recommended.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went to celebrate our son's Law School graduation with family. Although the noise level was high that evening due to many people there celebrating graduations as well, the quality of the food and great service more than made up for that.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

top notch food and wine, and service to match.......not cheap, but you will have an excellent meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Excellent evening and dinner. Excellent wait staff - truly appreciated.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We've been to Fleming's's several times for excellent food, cozy ambience, friendly and attentive staff and manager. We'll continue to dine at Fleming's. I wish they'd put the wagyu steak back on their menu. Or maybe add Kobe steak.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Casual, Cozy, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 30, 2017

My wife and I recently dined at Flemings after not having been there for some time. After being seated and given the menu's we were somewhat surprised at the cost of the entrees but thought if the quality of the food was worth the price it wasn't a big deal. However we soon found out the quality of the food wasn't what we expected. My wife and I both ordered a Fleming's salad which I remember costing $10.95 apiece and it was basically iceberg lettuce. We've dined at restaurants throughout the country and have never paid $10.95 for iceberg lettuce. My wife ordered the petite filet which was $44.95 and I ordered one of the nightly specials which consisted of a steak with 3 shrimp for $46.95. When we took our first bites we both felt the meat wasn't as tender as it should have been and we felt the meats weren't prime cuts but were both choice cuts. If that's true the entrees were overpriced. We did however receive great service. Our server was very good, very attentive, and provided the service we would have expected and if the quality of the food was as good as the service we were provided this review would be much better. All in all we were both disappointed and we won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We have gone here for anniversary dinners and birthdays. Not really a date place for most people.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We had a large group of 15 & the service & food was top notch. Beautiful ambiance as well.

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We always love to go to Flemming's, Great food great wine and drinks for any occasion

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Exelent place, food is great, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I would recommend this place to anyone. My wife and I are from a different state. So we had book reservations online. Once we did this there was a conformation email that came to me immediately. As I was looking over it. I noticed a third party flower place. So I ordered 100 dollars worth of flowers with a card for my wife. To have waiting at the table once we arrived. Well that didn't happen. We got there and no flowers at all. The restaurant manager realized the flowers hadn't arrived and went and bought us a dozen roses from his Own pocket. Needless to say that doesn't happen anywhere. Very very pleased with the service and food as well. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent drinks, food & service. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Steak and lobster special. Delicious food, steak was done to perfection, very tender and flavorful as ordered. Lobster tail was tasty with drawn butter, good ceasar salad starter, and a side of creamed spinach. Service was very good too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The Sunday prime rib special was a great value. But the steak itself was not Flemings quality.
Was disappointed. The Brussels sprouts where great. Just loved them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We were celebrating my mother's birthday, and the hostess, waitress and evening manager all acknowledged it to her. We especially enjoy the small plate menu which gives us more opportunity to try the sides. The creamed spinach was exceptionally good. A small box of truffles which ended the evening for my mom was a special touch.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 29, 2017

The food was superb and the service was great! I recommend this restaurant yo anyone looking for an awesome steak and some wine!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Pros: (1) Extraordinary services (2) Tasty food (3) a variety of wine collections
Cons: (1) A little over priced compared to food value

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Once again Fleming's impresses us. I had commented in our reservation that it was our anniversary and from the moment we arrived everyone treated us kindly and even more special. But make no mistake, Fleming's had done that very often in the past by providing excellent quality service. I'm a Quality Assurance Trainer and been in customer service for over 30 years. This was impressive. My partner had the rack of lamb, the tenderloin chili and the lobster mac-n-cheese. All were excellent. I had the main filet, Fleming's potatoes, Fleming salad and lobster. It was excellent also. While the food was excellent the service was impeccable. Our server, Adrienne had perfect timing. If you want to go someplace for excellent food and service, this is your place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fleming's is a classic steakhouse chain that does it as good as anyone else. I put it a notch below the very best family-owned establishments , but it is on par with the other top-end chains. Their steaks are prepared well and I like the shareable sides, which are ACTUALLY shareable (unlike some other places). This past visit I had a surf-and-turf combo special. The lobster was as good as the steak. And the wine list is appropriately extensive.

The one thing I dislike is the noise level. I prefer a more personal, quiet experience when paying this kind of bill. Fleming's unfortunately feels a lot like the lesser chains, essentially one big room with everyone's voice echoing throughout.

But ultimately, in spite of this, the experience is good here.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Came here for Vday with my girlfriend. We had the Vday special. Everything was amazing from the atmosphere to the food. Steak and Salmon pretty much melts in your mouth. Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The Flemings service team is truly world class, and the food is amazing. I've been going there for years, and I couldn't give a higher recommendation. The GM, Leno, never fails to make me feel like my party is the most important group in the room, but there is no doubt that he does this for all of his guests. I was in the week before and told him that I was bringing in the love of my life for Valentine's day, and the guy when out and bought roses for the table. You just don't get that kind of service anywhere else.

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere and service. So many wine choices, so I had the server choose for me and he did a wonderful job picking wines that matched my desired description.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service in the Bar and Dining Room were great. Steaks were cooked as requested. But just thought they lacked flavor or taste. Maybe a seasoning or rub would have helped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always a pleasure. They created non-gluten and dairy dishes for me, and presented them beautifully.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Amazing food as always.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The staff is always courteous and professional. The food is prepared as ordered and always delicious. We frequent this restaurant often and never disappointed.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Private Room, Bar Seating, Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent service from the moment we walked in the door and the waitress and the food was amazing!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our daughter flew in from Seattle to surprise us, so we wanted a special night. You easily accommodated your non-dairy restrictions - having the mushrooms and asparagus done in oil. The iron-singed steaks were fantastic!!!!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great food, ambience and friends. Jeff, our server, was absolutely fabulous!

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Oh my gosh! Dinner was fabulous! The striped tenderloin was cooked perfectly along side the Jalepeno flavored potatoes. We met our kids here for restaurant week. It was very busy but we could still enjoy great conversation. Winner, winner steak dinner!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.