Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

About Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.

8970 University Center Lane
San Diego, CA 92122
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday : 5:00pm -9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lebon Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 535-0078

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/la-jolla

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $7.00. 3 Hour Validation when parking at Hyatt Self Park Garage in Aventine

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Good for Birthdays (23)
Romantic (18)
Business Meals (18)
Notable Wine List (15)
Worth the Drive (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Authentic (5)
Casual (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fun (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Great for Brunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Seasonal (2)
Cozy (2)
Healthy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort by
S
1027 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place to celebrate events, very nice experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Always love coming back to Flemings for the steak n seafood and of course anything on the menu. Great atmosphere as well

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Awesome dinner and amazing service. They gave a small gift as we were celebrating finding out about our first child! A very memorable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 12, 2018

Sure the steaks are fabulous, the salad and starters are fit for foodies, but the secret might just be the pork chop with a shared side of Fleming potatoes. Wow.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 11, 2018

Service was great, food was amazing. Great for a date night. Drinks list had a lot of variety and the menu is well crafted with variety and taste.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 4, 2018

Wonderful dining experience at Fleming’s steakhouse La Jolla. Valet parking is $9

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 3, 2018

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 3, 2018

What a disappointment!!! We have been here several times in the past and the last two times we have been there the food was not prepared correctly and the $50 something dollar steak was tough! The lava cake was cooked all the way through and the ice cream it was served with was half melted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2018

We had reservations for 7:45pm and they didn’t seat us until 8:15pm. The prime rib was gross. It had no flavor and even the au jus didn’t help. It took forever to get our check, so we were at the restaurant in total for 3 hours. I love Fleming’s, and have been to quite a few locations, but I will not visit this location again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Wonderful dining experience with amazing servers and "Manny" went above and beyond to make our table feel special.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

I thought the service from the server was friendly. However, she had to be reminded a couple of times to bring specific items that were requested. The other restaurant personnel were also nice and friendly.
I was disappointed that there were many customers who looked like they were homeless, as many were wearing dirty and too casual clothing for the restaurant; or at least as I had experienced in the past. It used to feel like a very nice place to eat, but the atmosphere has changed to a too casual place, in my opinion. I feel that a dress code should be encouraged for dinner dining.
The food was very good; the dry aged steak was excellent. However, if Donovan's is their competition, Fleming's is certainly not up to Donovan's.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 28, 2017

The food at Fleming's was great. We started at the bar were Steven the bartender made us the best drinks we have ever had. His personality and his attention to detail made our group feel comfortable and ready to have a great dinner. We were seated at our table by one of the most friendliest waitress. Her name, I think was Naden or something like that. She was on top of everything we ordered. She kept checking on us and if we needed anything she got it right away. The steaks at Fleming's are great. We will definitely come back to this place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2017

I am not one to write reviews but this time I must. Our experience at Fleming's on Christmas Eve was terrible and very upsetting to our family. I made reservations weeks in advance for a 7pm reservation for 4 adults. We arrived 5 minutes early and found the restaurant and waiting area to be packed - the restaurant had clearly overbooked. We waited 45 minutes. But what made this experience terrible was how we were treated. Our evening was ruined when the restaurant manager clearly and blatantly discriminated against us by attempting to seat us in a back room in the restaurant when there was an obvious 4-person table available. The manager walked us right by the table and headed towards a back room in another part of the restaurant. We declined the backroom and noticed that the table that we walked past in the main dining room was instead offered to another 4-person group. We know this other group arrived to the restaurant after us and had a later reservation time because we were waiting right next to the hostess area. We confronted the manager about this and he clearly knew he was WRONG for doing this. He offered no explanation. Needless to say, we were INSULTED and UPSET and know this was racial DISCRIMINATION. The manager eventually secured us a table in the main dining room and provided a discount on our check. But, the damage was already done. You can't treat people that way. I will not go back to this restaurant and will make sure my friends and family don't either. Shame on Fleming's for hiring employees like this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Wonderful dinner and delicious prime rib dinner!!! Kate, if I am remembering her name correctly, was fabulous!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 24, 2017

All great including server, time to update decor, bit of an 80’s look.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 24, 2017

OK, it was my wife's birthday (five adults with two young children and an infant). It was a holiday weekend, but the folks accommodated our request for special seating. Yes, we selected the earliest seating. While the children are not rambunctious, they could disturb others with their revelry. The restaurant staff arranged our table in a quiet area of the restaurant, off the beaten path. Superb!
= = = =
The crafted drinks were quiet tasty.
The appetizers ( ordered four to share) were nicely done. These included: HOUSEMADE BURRATA, TENDERLOIN CARPACCIO, MAPLE GLAZED SLAB-CUT BACON, SWEET CHILE CALAMARI. Kudos.
The dinners were excellent and just as we ordered. These included: PETITE FILLET WITH TRUFFLE LOBSTER, FILET WITH BONE-IN, MAIN FILLET WITH TRUFFLE LOBSTER, SLICED FILET MIGNON.
There were SALADS & some MAC N' CHEESE for the children.
A delightful bottle of Mulderbosch accompanied the dinner.
The service staff was excellent, attentive, but not overbearing. Rebecca was the elad server.
Yup, we'll be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Food is great. Service is good. Price is reasonable.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 21, 2017

We took out three children for a Christmas celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Delicious steak dinner! Great flavors and well seasoned food! Pricey but worth it for a special occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 17, 2017

The parking situation was a little confusing, but I think that also had to do with the giant wedding the hotel was having. We followed some signs and ended up doing self parking, then got a little turned around inside the hotel. We got to the restaurant a little before our reservation and enjoyed a drink in the bar. The bar was small and crowded, but the service was good.

Our food:
Fleming's Salad: light and crisp, very tasty.
New York: Extremely flavorful, nice and medium, pink and warm all the way through without getting crunchy on the outside.
Fleming's Potatoes: They were good, nothing groundbreaking, but yummy. I think I'll try the shoestring potatoes next time.
Walnut Turtle Pie: Perfection, every single bite was delicious.

Overall we had a great time, the food was incredible, and the service was great. We live locally and will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 17, 2017

We celebrated two birthdays and the service we received was phenomenal. As for the meals. The steaks from Flemings are the best.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 13, 2017

Excellent restaurant with outstanding service. The food was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 11, 2017

Perhaps I shouldn't be allowed to write any more Fleming's reviews, because I am SUCH a biased fan. The food was excellent, as always—lobster bisque; prime rib dinner; shrimp & scallops and lamb chops small plates—but what really touched me was the lengths our personable waitress, Angie, went to in creating a small dessert that would meet my fussy specifications. I've never had bad service at Fleming's—quite the opposite—but she really went above and beyond.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 10, 2017

This was our first visit to Flemings, and it way exceeded our expectations. Every item we ordered was top quality with good flavor combinations and wise use of spices. Our steaks were cooked exactly as we requested and the waiter was very attentive and knew the menu well. Flemings may be our new go to spot for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Food and service was superb as usual . We always enjoy an evening at Flemings!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 10, 2017

Great value, good drink, good location with exception food and service. I'm never disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 8, 2017

The food and service is excellent as always. WE do lie going there on occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 7, 2017

The service was extremely slow from drinks all the way to getting the check. Seemed like the waiter just ignored us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on December 3, 2017

I've been to Fleming's Steak House several times over the years and it has been pretty good. My only real critique would be about the Lobster Bisque. It was one of the worst and most expensive I've ever had. It tasted like a cheap tomato soup instead of Bisque. Luckily they make a fantastic steak.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 30, 2017

Fantastic service! Excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 28, 2017

The food is always excellent at this restaurant, but the service is even better. April Dixon, who waited on us, is a true professional and one of the reasons I will come back to this restaurant

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 27, 2017

Excellent food and service as always. Wish they had a dress requirement. Sitting next to people in shorts, flip flops and a zip up hoodie takes away from the ambience.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 26, 2017

We arrived early so we hung out in the bar for a little while. Bartender was very attentative to my request for a good dark wine by the glass. He first gave a sample of an open dark, I said it was “Ok”, he gave a sample of something else and I said it was “Okay”, then he opened a bottle of something (took a pic of the bottle to remember name :-)) and it had great aroma/color and flavor was right on (Excellent). We were called to our table ordered 1st courses and entrees, both were good to very good. It is a big busy restaurant so although waiters do their best, it is somewhat noisy and they necessarily have to multi-task i.e. slight bit of patience required in getting their attention. Waiters are all very pleasant, professional and good at what they do. Less noise is on my wish list (maybe I try a different day of the week rather then Saturday :-))
Ed

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2017

It was Thanksgiving dinner and we did have to wait for half an hour for our table as the other group before us took longer than expected. However the staff were very apologetic and gave us free drinks while we waited and once we sat down the service was excellent. The food was as always very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 24, 2017

Since my cousin was unable to come home from UCSD for Thanksgiving we took her to celebrate the holiday at Fleming's instead. This was our first time dining here and it couldn't have been a more wonderful experience. We are chose the Thanksgiving menu and it was delicious. Beautifully presented and prepared and the service couldn't have been more attentive. We'll be back to try their regular menu next time we come to San Diego to visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 23, 2017

Friendly and attentive staff. Food always excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 23, 2017

It was a good over all time for the family. Great service and a very clean environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 22, 2017

Great time.....great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 21, 2017

The best Filet Mignon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 19, 2017

Got there 5 minutes before the reservation time. Almost 30 minutes later, we were taken to a small room in the back corner with 4 tables, only 1 of which was occupied. Room had 4 plain walls. Like sitting in a large closet. Food was good but expensive, service was OK. We'll stick with Ruth's Chris in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.