Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

About Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.

8970 University Center Lane
San Diego, CA 92122
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sonoma Sunday Brunch & Dinner : 11:00am-9pm

Cross Street:
Lebon Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 535-0078

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/la-jolla

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $7.00. 3 Hour Validation when parking at Hyatt Self Park Garage in Aventine

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $49.95

Special valid Mar 15, 2017 - Apr 15, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Celebrate your Easter Sunday with our special 3-course Brunch menu, featuring delectable choices like our Signature Eggs Benedict and Cinnamon Apple Brioche French Toast. We’re offering a special children’s menu, so we invite the whole family to celebrate.

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $49.95

Special valid Mar 15, 2017 - Apr 15, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $49.95. Excludes Tax and Tip. Featuring an 8 oz. North Atlantic Lobster Tail paired with an 8 oz. Filet Mignon. Special valid Mar 15, 2017 - Apr 15, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Good for a Date (36)
See All
Romantic (31)
Business Meals (26)
Notable Wine List (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Happy Hour (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Cozy (7)
Authentic (7)
Casual (6)
Private Room (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Fun (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Family Style (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Seasonal (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
835 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Another great meal at Fleming's. Thank you! A fun and delicious way to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Food was ok. Service was outstanding but I wasn't super impressed by the food. For the price you pay I expected more.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Anniversary celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 19, 2017

My companion's salmon was excellent but my sea bass with miso glaze was salty and unpleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Pricey but great steaks. Sides and wine list were very good. Sub par beer selection, but people aren't dining here for the beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 16, 2017

My Husband and I decided on Fleming for our 2year wedding anniversary dinner. It was our first time there and it was perfect. We were greeted with warm faces and lovely card. Our server Dylan recommended some delicious wine and mentioned our anniversary twice to us with well wishes. The manager Jim surprised us with a incredible champagne toast. Very classy.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

A Sunday visit to Fleming's is always a treat because of the prime rib dinner—such a deal!—and because they're open earlier than usual, so we can manage the dinner-and-a-show trick without having to hurry. Besides the prime rib, we had two small plates (shrimp and scallops and the braised short ribs), all of which proved to be so generous a serving size that we went home with many, many containers for later deliciousness. Another fine meal, Fleming's!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Good food....but over priced. I would say expensive very basic preparations.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Disappointing. The food wasn't that great, my date's steak was burned on the outside and overcooked, and mine was so-so. Not a great value for the price.

Service was good, and the manager offered to buy us desert, and didn't charge us for the burned steak. Our server was attentive, and provided good service.

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We ended a business trip here. Ordered a white Burgundy only to find out it was out of stock. Our server, Meaghan, persevered, and we unexpectedly got a bottle from the manager's private stock. That alone made the evening. The half plate entree was perfect for my wife while I opted for the aged 16 oz ribeye--it was delicious in its natural state. Our server Meagan added a nice personal touch with her personal conversations. We felt at home at Flemings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We received a $40 coupon in the mail and decided to take advantage. Steaks are always great (a bit pricey but delicious).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Awesome service! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Received a gift for Fleming and went for our 41st wedding anniversary. Was not disappointed, but the prices are a bit high.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Flemings is always very good, expensive but great food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

we chose Flemings to celebrate our anniversary as my wife had been there before and loved it, and I never had been there but she knew that I would...she was right! hands down the best steak I have ever had in my life...I got the bone in rib eye and she got the prime rib, butterflied. so juicy and well seasoned that I can literally taste it now...sides were huge too...drinks set the meal off, hand crafted just right, and awesome had some wine from the extensive collection, Service was well timed and they were personable and engaged us when we wanted and gave us privacy when they could tell we were talking..the only thing I would say to improve on was that I requested a special table for our anniversary, and they seated us in a room off the main dining room which was less crowded and quiet so that was good, but the table they gave us had bright lights on us like we were in a police interrogation. Not romantic at all! so not sure if they read the request or not..but when we asked to move to the table besides ours that had lower lighting they accommodated us immediately, no questions..all in all an awesome experience and would recommend it it to all!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food is excellent, like all the times

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent service and good! The sea bass was the best I have ever had!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 3, 2017

good food cooked perfect relaxing meal highly recommended

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 28, 2017

For the price this place was extremely underwhelming. Looking at the menu you would expect top notch cuisine. Visually the food looked wonderful, but the taste and texture were bland and forgettable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I am here several times a year, always good. Service and server where a little off tonight. Server seemed distracted and not to the normal standard of Flemings. Was a bit off putting when we where asked at the end of the meal if we wanted to see the dessert menu or we where done. We just asked for the check. Will still be back because every one can have a off night. Still recommend this Flemings.

Tags: Seasonal, Private Room, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Amazing food, amazing service...
The ravioli appetizer was superb, the cheese tha comes with Bread... Oh my.. just that for dinner would be great... the short ribs was amazing too...

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Not worth the $55 maybe $35-39
Mashed potatoes were just mashed potatoes

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I came in for my birthday with a small group of friends and we had a fantastic experience. Our server, Avery, did an amazing job as she was extremely knowledgable and super friendly. All the food was on point, cheers to the kitchen staff! The only downside was that I had a hankering for the classic wedge salad, which I feel is superior to the New Wedge, oh well still pretty tasty. Tell Fleming he will see us again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I hadn't been to Flemmings for years, but it didn't disappoint. We took my mother there for her 88th birthday and she was thrilled. They treated her like a queen with, even a little gift at the end of the evening. The service was top notch including out delightful waitress and all her busboys and servers. They have decent bottles of wine in all price ranges. We all had the same Filet special with 4 different toppings and split 3 side dishes, asparagus, brussel sprouts and the truffled mashed potatoes - all were delicious. And you can tell they use only the highest quality meat and know how to cook it. I can't say enough good things about the evening at Flemmings.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 24, 2017

April was a fantastic waitress. Our group of 12 was looked after very carefully. We had an excellent meal and first class presentation. The evening was a big success.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Excellent as always. Flemings never disappoints.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Showed up 10 minutes prior to reservation time and still did not get seated until 15 minutes after scheduled time. Did not receive our main course until 55 minutes after we were seated. Scarfed down our food in 15 just to be on time to a scheduled reservation two hours after our reservation at flemings. My wife ordered her steak medium well and was only given one piece that was done right, the rest was rare. Sent the plate away. They took the plate off the bill but that's besides the fact she didn't want to eat after. We went to eat a nice meal and enjoy the ambiance. Best part of the meal was her nicely made drink. My meal was ok. A little tuff for a filet if you ask me but the salmon was on point. Was very displeased with this flemings. I have eaten at other flemings frequently and by far this was not to standards. The only reason I give it two stars was because our server was very courteous and helpful.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Went to Fleming's for a 2 year anniversary with my boyfriend. We loved our meal and the sides (creamed spinach and mashed potatoes) were amazing! I would definitely love to come back for another special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I used to really like Flemings La Jolla but when I told a friend my husband and I were going there to celebrate Valentine's she warned me that her steak had been overcooked the last few times she was there. Sure enough mine was more medium than medium rare. Fortunately, my husband traded with me. Besides the steak issue, the service was great and you can't beat the ambience.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This visit was a starter before seeing Freaky Friday at the La Jolla Playhouse. The service was outstanding and constant--we waited for nothing. The food was excellent and prepared as expected: my wife enjoyed the filet mignon and I savored the Chilean sea bass. A special surprise was a side of roasted Brussel sprouts--one of our favorite dishes no matter where we dine, and this one was spot on. The wine list, by the glass, is unreal. Literally 100 from all over the world. Fleming's gets a big shout out. The only qualifier is that Fleming's is not for economy class. Otherwise, indulge your palate, completely!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Flemings never disappoints. Consistent all over the country!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was wonderful. Food was great. Ambiance very pleasing. I love Flemings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Everything was perfect for a wonderful celebration!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Excellent steak house. Great drinks and good wine list. Prime rib tender and perfectly cooked. Potatoes su gratin with jalepenos was great. Desserts of mixed berries and molten chocolate cake were also perfectly done. My favorite steakhouse in La Jolla/San Diego

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 13, 2017

A great place for an intimate dinner. Expensive but very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent service. High quality ingredients in traditional dishes.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Stopped in to use a birthday gift cert before it expired. Justin our waiter is great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Another night of wonderful and attentive service, and delicious food. Thank you for making my husbands birthday dinner special!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Service and food are great. Unfortunately the ambiance is severely lacking; the tables are super close together and you're packed in like sardines, we had a reservation for 6:30 but the hostess seemed surprised and sat us at the only open table... which was next to a large, loud table with a baby that was not pleased to be there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great business casual ambiance. Food was perfectly prepared, high quality. The restaurant so thoughtfully presented my son with a box of chocolates to celebrate his accomplishment. Thank you Flemings!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.