About Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla

8970 University Center Lane
San Diego, CA 92122
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sonoma Sunday Brunch & Dinner : 11:00am-9pm

Cross Street:
Lebon Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 535-0078

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/la-jolla

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $7.00. 3 Hour Validation when parking at Hyatt Self Park Garage in Aventine

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Filet Mignon Eggs Benedict - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Walnut Turtle Pie - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Steakhouse Filet Mignon Cobb    - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
White Chocolate Bread Pudding - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Potatoes O'Brien - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Sauteed Green Beans - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Lobster Bisque - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Blood Orange Mimosa - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Grilled Portabello - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Kobe Beef Carpacio - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Seared Ahi Tuna - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Salad with Mustard Glaze - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Surf & Turf - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
carpaccio - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
The Prime Burger - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Mushroom ravioli in cream sauce - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Main filet mignon - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Fresh Berries And Chantilly Cream - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Wedge Salad - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Caesar Salad - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Fried Calamari - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Shrimp Plate - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Beef Tenderloin Carpaccio - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Pan Crisped Pork Belly - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Sweet Chile Calamari - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Bone In Ribeye - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
French Quarter Barbecue Shrimp - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
loaded baked potato - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Steakhouse - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Dessert - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Crab Stuffed Shrimp - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Small Plates - Background:  Filet Mignon Bites Over Risitto; Mid Ground: Lobster Tempura; Foreground:  Mini Lamb Lollipops - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA

Specials

Gifts to give, presents to keep.

Special valid Nov 29, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Gifts to give, presents to keep.

Special valid Nov 29, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

It’s the best season to give and receive. In the spirit of the holidays, we’re offering a $20 Bonus Card for every $100 purchased in Gift Cards. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 29, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (39)
Good for a Date (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Business Meals (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Romantic (17)
Good for Groups (12)
Private Room (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Cozy (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Casual (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Fun (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Authentic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Healthy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
736 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food & wines. Be careful that lobs ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food & wines. Be careful that lobster is not overcooked. Do not ask for dessert to go with utensils ($13 charge for utensils only).

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

The place is really inconsistent. The ti ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The place is really inconsistent. The time before this the food was awesome and the time before that just so so. This time I couldn't even eat my steak it was so bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

I have to say I was disappointed with th ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 1, 2016

I have to say I was disappointed with this visit to Flemings. I've been here a quite few times but the last two times I have visited I have to say I wasn't very satisfied. The rib eye steak I ordered was gristly and the searing of the meat actually resulted in it being burned on the outside. The service was just OK. We ordered a bottle of wine for dinner. The server did pour it into a decanter to allow it breathe while we waited for the dinner to be served. However, that was the last of him on the wine pour until we were ready to leave when an at that point emptied the bottle into our glasses. Considering for two folks we spent close to $300 on dinner, I would have expected the food and service to be outstanding and it wasn't. Flemings had been one of our "go to" steak restaurants over the past couple years but at this time I think we may search for another venue to enjoy this type of gourmet meal. I will say the Chipshot I had at the end of the night was one of the best I ever tasted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Our steaks were perfectly cooked and del ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Our steaks were perfectly cooked and delicious. Two of us ordered salads that were drenched in dressings. Next time I'll order dressing on the side. We were seated at a table in the middle of the room where it was very difficult to hear our conversation.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great ambiance! Great service! Steven ou ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great ambiance! Great service! Steven our server was great but the food was overpriced compared to other steak houses , a 20 oz steak did not look 20 oz at all , with porcine mushroom that you don't even see at all and they charged and they say it was glazed to the steak ! Feel cheated !! But our server was great !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

First thing, our table was by the hallwa ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 26, 2016

First thing, our table was by the hallway, close to wine cellar. The problem was that it was the gathering spot for the employees to talk.

The second issue was with my meal. My filet was not cooked the way I had ordered it. I mentioned it to my waiter and he offered me a new one which I refused, I didn't want to wait for it and eat alone. My husband was enjoying his meal. Our waiter asked for one of the managers to stop by (a lady)our table. The manager was very apologetic and offered us dessert and when we declined, she said she will make some changes to the bill but we didn't get any discount on our bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic. Loved our waiter Justin!

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Fantastic. Loved our waiter Justin!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were there for Thanksgiving and the f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were there for Thanksgiving and the food and service was excellent if a bit rushed and crowded as was expected. Management had all hands on deck and servers were efficient and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our dining experience was good. However, ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Our dining experience was good. However, my husband ordered from the gluten free menu (he has celiac) & got very sick at 4 am....there must have been something on the gluten free menu that WASN'T gluten free!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The staff was friendly and went out of ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The staff was friendly and went out of their way to provide fine service but if you go to a stakehouse and they service you dry, over cooked meat, and charge you a premium for it, it is disappointing. The prime rib dinner, appetizers, and sides were great but the specials were very over cooked. I'm not sure we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and service. It was my bi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent food and service. It was my birthday so they gave us a great booth and Chocolate truffles !!

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Love the small plates. Service is always ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Love the small plates. Service is always excellent.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Vegan, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent tasting as was th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was excellent tasting as was the service. Every one is so helpful and there is a great wine list and we really love the Lava Cake as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was great and since I left a note ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Dinner was great and since I left a note saying it was for a birthday dinner they took great care and making sure they were aware of it. was a little confused on ordering for medium rare and wish my steak was a little less cooked but the mac n cheese was amazing. great experience overall

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our meal. A little slow on b ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We enjoyed our meal. A little slow on bringing the drinks, but service did improve! The food was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I chose to enjoy Flemings on ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 9, 2016

My wife and I chose to enjoy Flemings on our vacation to Carlsbad. It was a very enjoyable all-around experience, since we were looking a relaxed, yet special time, with dishes that we could savor in our time together. She ordered the Shrimp and Sea Scallops Small Plate entree, I ordered the petite filet mignon, and we shared a side of Crispy Brussels Sprouts. Both were prepared perfectly. I ordered the filet mignon medium rare, it it was perfect. Both of us enjoyed our dishes thoroughly, and the amount of food was just right, since we both tend to eat lightly. Our service was excellent and I so appreciated our server, Cason, who was warm and welcoming , and took the time to understand our likes and preferences in order to recommend the dishes we eventually ordered. He was very attentive and engaging. When we return to Carlsbad on vacation, we will return and request him for our server. We went on a Tuesday evening, so it was fairly quiet, which we thoroughly enjoyed. All in all, it was an experience we look forward to repeating on our next vacation there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It has been a while since I have been to ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

It has been a while since I have been to Fleming's because I usually go to Donovan's. I was reassured why on this visit. The server was great but disappeared for long periods of time. It took forever for our first course and then the steaks were almost immediately served. My medium rare was medium well but I was so hungry that I just ate it. The quality of meat is not on par with Donovan's. Actually, every time I eat at one of the chain restaurants (Fleming's, Ruth's Chris) I always have the same opinion on the meat. We went there with neighbors who chose the location. I will stick to Donovan's for steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Nice restaurant. Great service. Room tem ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Nice restaurant. Great service. Room temperature was too warm. Filet was great; however I ordered the aged ribeye and it did not meet my expectations.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

For the cost the meal was not up to par. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

For the cost the meal was not up to par. Server was slow to refill drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Amazing customer service. We went for a ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Amazing customer service. We went for a birthday and they were so attentive and wonderful. The food was incredible as well!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fleming's is our go to steakhouse! We to ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Fleming's is our go to steakhouse! We took advantage of the Prime Rib Special they had going. Always an amazing meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Jade, was very attentive and ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Our server, Jade, was very attentive and provided a lot of relevant information to describe the menu.

Desserts were mouth-watering. Adding the chantilly cream was a wonderful touch!

Lamb chops and steaks were delicious (exact level of preparation and tender).

Salads were dressed to perfection.

Even the spreads for the bread was delicious!

We spent 2.5h for dinner without even realizing so much time had passed because we enjoyed the meal so much!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We love the prime rib special on Sunday ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We love the prime rib special on Sunday nights. $42 includes great salad choice, generous prime rib with 3 sauces, choice of side, AND choice of delicious desserts. Best kept secret. Great wine list. Service is very attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent fillets as usual, prepared to ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent fillets as usual, prepared to perfection. Chocolate lava cake to die for!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The prime rib is delicious and the mac a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The prime rib is delicious and the mac and cheese is fantastic!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

This evening just like other dinners, we ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 29, 2016

This evening just like other dinners, we enjoyed great service, food and as always the feeling that they want our business. Definitely would recommend Fleming's in La Jolla, and we are planning to give their brunch a try as well. Always feel content and relaxed when we leave after an evening at Fleming's

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service-they spoiled Grammy on ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wonderful service-they spoiled Grammy on her 95th. Would recommend to anyone, especially for a special event. The entire staff was very aware and committed to providing us an excellent time!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was awesome as usua ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food and service was awesome as usual, and our server Dillan was very attentive. As expected, Flemings exceeded our expectations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Prices have increased. Corkage $25? Vale ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Prices have increased. Corkage $25? Valet $9. Cook eating in kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

This remains one of our go-to restaurant ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

This remains one of our go-to restaurants when we want to feel pampered. We made a meal out of several of the small plates and appetizers, and left nicely full and with lots of leftovers!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ordered the aged RibEye ($59) and found ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Ordered the aged RibEye ($59) and found it tasteless, and very thin. Lobster Mac N Cheese was below average. Strongly recommend that the Chef "try" some of his food. Will stick to Donovan's from now on.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Always eating Fleming's! Staff is aweso ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Always eating Fleming's! Staff is awesome the is excellent. One of my favorite places to eat!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Fireplace, Fun, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When we got there we were seated in the ...

vip
 (México)·Dined on October 16, 2016

When we got there we were seated in the dining room in the back and we requested to be moved to the main dinning room since there were about 5 tables for 4 available , we were told they had reservations for those tables but when we left more than 11/2 hours later the tables were still empty, we thought it was very rude of them to not move us there.

Won't go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We celebrated my daughter's birthday and ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 13, 2016

We celebrated my daughter's birthday and it was perfect. Lively.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The last two times I have been to thins ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 11, 2016

The last two times I have been to thins flemings the steak has had no taste. The lobster mac and chesse same.. super bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

great service with Meagan. enjoyed all a ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 10, 2016

great service with Meagan. enjoyed all aspects of our meal. sure to be an continued diner and have recommended to friends and family. DrW

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place was just excellent! Incredible ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The place was just excellent! Incredible food and well worth it for a special occasion. I would have not traded it for anything else for my girlfriends birthday!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Had a wonderful time except for the wait ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Had a wonderful time except for the waitress. She was not very personable, wasn't very accommodating, did not explain the specials even though I knew what they were but we invited friends with us and she did not offer any extra information. I had to give them all the details as to what to order etc. when I asked her to repeat the specials she just said steak three different cuts did not go into details, specials or dinner options.It took her a long time to take our order, and when I asked for her assistance she put us on hold for a while before she came back to our table and left very quickly before we are finished with our questions. My husband had to get up and asked her to come back to the table because he wasn't finished asking her something. My experience this time was terrible compared to previous times. I almost asked for different waitress but didn't want to embarrass my guests

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

The dining experience at Fleming's is co ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The dining experience at Fleming's is consistently delicious meals with a sophisticated ambience. My reservation through OpenTable was honored instantly and no waiting revealed a great table with a great interior view. The manager checked on us twice, and we never had to ask for water or any other details that are otherwise overlooked in most restaurants of this level. Our waiter was knowledgeable and helpful in helping decide our meals (great meal descriptions and suggestions). True to the recommendations- our meal was as anticipated and a flawlessly grilled steak and Sea Bass were delivered. The La Jolla Fleming's delivers the great experience I have grown accustomed to expect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.