About Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla

8970 University Center Lane
San Diego, CA 92122
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sonoma Sunday Brunch & Dinner : 11:00am-9pm

Cross Street:
Lebon Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 535-0078

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/la-jolla

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $7.00. 3 Hour Validation when parking at Hyatt Self Park Garage in Aventine

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Filet Mignon Eggs Benedict
Walnut Turtle Pie
Steakhouse Filet Mignon Cobb
White Chocolate Bread Pudding
Potatoes O'Brien
Sauteed Green Beans
Lobster Bisque
Blood Orange Mimosa
Grilled Portabello
Kobe Beef Carpacio
Seared Ahi Tuna
Salad with Mustard Glaze
Surf & Turf
carpaccio
The Prime Burger
Mushroom ravioli in cream sauce
Main filet mignon
Fresh Berries And Chantilly Cream
Wedge Salad
Caesar Salad
Fried Calamari
Shrimp Plate
Beef Tenderloin Carpaccio
Pan Crisped Pork Belly
Sweet Chile Calamari
Bone In Ribeye
French Quarter Barbecue Shrimp
loaded baked potato
Steakhouse
Dessert
Crab Stuffed Shrimp
Small Plates - Background:  Filet Mignon Bites Over Risitto; Mid Ground: Lobster Tempura; Foreground:  Mini Lamb Lollipops

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (50)
Romantic (25)
Notable Wine List (25)
See All
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for Groups (18)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Brunch (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Sort By:
Newest
674 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We ordered Prime New York But its not t ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined 3 days ago

We ordered Prime New York

But its not the first time that the cut is not good.. Looks like the serve the end of the piece of the cut,, full of nerve and fat..

Make sure you ask for the center cut of the piece..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Service was good but the kitchen needs t ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined 4 days ago

Service was good but the kitchen needs to learn how cook steaks

Both our steaks had multiple levels of doneness from rare to well despite our requests for medium

It is unfortunate for a steakhouse not to know how to cook a steak to a consistent level of doneness

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

As always Flemings is outstanding. We ha ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

As always Flemings is outstanding. We had gone to church and then went there for brunch. Food was amazing and the staff was wonderful. Would be great for more discount to customers we come a lot

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The filets were the best we have had in ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The filets were the best we have had in years.....their potatoes are delicious....I also liked their lemon drop and my husband liked the beer on tap. We will definitely go again and I have already recommended it to friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We waited about 10-15 min before anyone ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We waited about 10-15 min before anyone greeted us at our table our server was not attentive at all our drinks were empty many times the lobster bisque was served with shrimp not lobster, the prime rib was the worse I had ever had. The wedge salad spinach and soup was the only good part of our meal.

They threw our left overs away which was a side of Mac N Cheese so they remade is a 1/2 order to go which was really watery.

A manger came over and apologized but that was it.

We frequent Flemings and have never had such horrible food and service with them before

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Every one including the Manager was very ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Every one including the Manager was very professional and very accomodating I had no complaints. The attention my wife and I got for our special Anniversary on 8/14/16 was great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An incredible experience. Great food and ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

An incredible experience. Great food and service. Perfect for special events!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak ever! Had a visit from the re ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Best steak ever! Had a visit from the regional corporate chef at our table to assure we were happy with the way our meal was prepared!

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was excellent except no one r ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Everything was excellent except no one refilled our water glasses. So, we had to grab a water pitcher of our own since no one else would do it. We even had our hands up and people walked buy with tunnel vision. How can you be aware of your tables with tunnel vision? Our server was not one of the tunnel vision crew. She finally had time to spend with us write before dropping off the bill.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Celebrated a birthday. Good was excellen ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Celebrated a birthday. Good was excellent as well as the service from all the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Staff, food and evening was perfect! Th ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Staff, food and evening was perfect! They make you feel special and take their time, don't rush you out!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

my wife and i both ordered steaks medium ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

my wife and i both ordered steaks medium well (filet mignon). mine was medium rare and my wife's was very well done/dry/charred. she commented on her steak to the server and she took it off our bill. thank you. i didn't say anything about mine. she ordered baked potato without cheese or sour cream. i ordered a loaded baked potato. both baked potatoes had very little butter, no chives or bacon. very little sour cream. i requested more butter and sour cream and server brought a very small container of each. finally, we ordered the pork belly appetizer, having had it elsewhere and really liking it. our order of pork belly was all fat and no meat. the other times we've had it there was more meat than fat. we were kind of surprised that the meal was so substandard. we had a good experience last time we went.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Loved the experience. Made my 21st wedd ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Loved the experience. Made my 21st wedding anniversary very special.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak and mashed potatoes were outstandi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Steak and mashed potatoes were outstanding. Spicy Thai green beans were good(menu should have plain green beans without sauce). We had Happy Hour in the bar, when they came to seat us we were told that we could not take our remaining drinks into the dining area. Bar tender said, "finish them in the bar or leave them". TOTALLY RIDICULOUS!!! Another problem is we could NOT find self parking and had to pay $9 valet plus $2 tip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Been here several times. The food is alw ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Been here several times. The food is always top quality. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Had a wonderful time. It was my wife's ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Had a wonderful time. It was my wife's birthday and the staff went out of their way to make sure our dining experience was the best. Our food was fantastic and cooked to perfection and presentation excellent. We particularly appreciated the small box of Truffles and the $20.00 discount towards brunch at a future date. All and all it was by far the best dining experience we have ever had. Better than Ruth's Chris and much better than Donovan's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always fine at Flemings the food is grea ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always fine at Flemings the food is great and people r fantastic great service too

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing dinner at Fleming's t ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very disappointing dinner at Fleming's tonight. Service was so-so, prices very high, and food not up to par. I had to send back my filet mignon, as it was not medium rare as ordered. Not what you'd expect at a steak house! (Maitre d' comp'd it, however.) Also, when I asked for a recommendation for a certain type of wine, the server suggested the most expensive option. Service overall was mediocre. Our last visit my husband ordered the Wagyu steak, the most expensive menu item, and found it unexceptional and certainly not worth the money. he mentioned it but nothing was done about it. (To be fair, we had a $50 gift card as AmEx cardholders.) That visit the service was great and we had a pleasant experience. After this time, we won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

A lovely night for our 36th wedding anni ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

A lovely night for our 36th wedding anniversary! Everything was perfect! The food choices were exceptional and had a great selection of steak, seafood and sides! Will definitely go back and not just once per year!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious prime rib three course meal!! ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Delicious prime rib three course meal!! Service was fabulous except I had to ask for the same thing twice, and it came out as the wrong request. Other then that it was a fabulous Sunday date night!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The staff were professional and the serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The staff were professional and the server was excellently pleasing esp we have our 3 year old with us for a dinner date.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. We had a booth b ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was excellent. We had a booth by the kitchen. Which was a little quieter.

Like looking to see what was going on in the kitchen.

Our waiter, Peter, was excellent as well.

Brought our own wine. $25. Corkage which is a little high. But we like to bring our own wine.

The cork was bad, Peter did his best and even filtered it twice for us.

I had a prix fix dinner that I would recommend. My husband had steak.

We had a very nice evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is high-priced but excellent. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food is high-priced but excellent. Service was a little slower than we had wanted. Generally

very good dinner with my son who lives in Olympia, Washington, and was visiting with me and family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Very good experience. Waiter could have ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Very good experience. Waiter could have been a little more personal than feels like pushing a sale. Great experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Service was slow and disjointed. Sides c ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Service was slow and disjointed. Sides came too long after entrees were served. French fries were soggy and oily. Waitress didn't know how to pour wine, or take care of aged wine. Usually have a much better experience at Flemings, food is good.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

We had been to Fleming's before and had ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We had been to Fleming's before and had an excellent dinner. However, this time the service was still very good but my dinner was disappointing. My husband enjoyed his filet , shrimp and spinach salad. My prime rib dinner, which is only served on Sunday, looked picture perfect but was very difficult to chew. The side order of asparagus was "woody" and not cooked quite enough. The Fleming salad dressing was not to my liking either -- a little on the sour side. I am a very easy person to please and not a complainer but I thought the dinner was not up to par for the price you have to pay. I did not complain to the waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Great place for dinner!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great place for dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Despite the ambience it was VERY noisy a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Despite the ambience it was VERY noisy and every time the door was opened blinding sun came in. Also, there should be SOME kind of dresscode. The family next to us were dressed in T-shirts, ratty shorts and flip flops and the father wore his stupid ball cap all through the meal, never taking it off. At least long pants or shirts with collars should be expected for men and flip-flops discouraged.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food and service. We can't wait ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Amazing food and service. We can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good good. Not so much with the service. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good good. Not so much with the service. Our water was empty for a while that I have to do sips to make it last. The beverage that my brother ordered didn't come in until towards the end of his meal. Also, when the server tried to correct the wrong by offering my brothe a refill, we were charged twice thinking it was a complimentary -- something I had to point out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Great place to go to celebrate a special ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great place to go to celebrate a special occasion! Food is great , service is seamless and just a short ride from home!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I ordered med rare it came very rare in ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I ordered med rare it came very rare in center and medium well on the sides it was tough too too chewy service was very good though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best meals we have ever had!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Everything was outstanding, from the carpaccio appetizer and lobster bisque at the start, through the ribeye steak and creamed spinach, up to the berries-and-cream dessert and coffee. It was my birthday and they treated us like royalty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will come back!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Excellent Service. Manager stopped by to check in on us. Gave us a gift card to return since we were celebrating a birthday. Awesome wine list. Lava cake is to die for.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service was outstanding. T ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The food and service was outstanding.

The most delicious steak I have ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for our wedding anniversary. They w ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Went for our wedding anniversary. They were great and made it a special night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another Outstanding dinner at Flemings

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Outstanding food and outstanding service. That really says it all. Our waitress was one of the best we've ever had at Flemings and every one we have ever had has been great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent filet mignon and wedge salad. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Excellent filet mignon and wedge salad. The two type of spreads with the bread were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Our food was amazing. The pork chop was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Our food was amazing. The pork chop was presented beautifully.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was absolutely delicious. I ha ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious. I had the Newport Filet with potatoes and my hubby had the seabass. We both remarked how the food was way better than "RC" Steak House. Only negative was that the restaurant had a very noticeable musty smell, I think from the carpet, but definitely in the air. Trust the Yelp reviews and order the Flemming's Potatoes, also order the crab cakes, yum yum yum.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.