Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

About Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.

8970 University Center Lane
San Diego, CA 92122
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sonoma Sunday Brunch & Dinner : 11:00am-9pm

Cross Street:
Lebon Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 535-0078

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/la-jolla

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $7.00. 3 Hour Validation when parking at Hyatt Self Park Garage in Aventine

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

A Summer of Love Prix Fixe

Special valid Jun 28, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

A Summer of Love Prix Fixe

Special valid Jun 28, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Steak and Wine are the perfect pair. This summer celebrate the love between steak and wine with our 3-course prix fixe menu. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 28, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (55)
Good for Anniversaries (47)
Good for a Date (35)
See All
Good for Birthdays (33)
Romantic (27)
Notable Wine List (20)
Business Meals (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Cozy (13)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Authentic (8)
Comfort Food (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Family Style (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Private Room (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Fun (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Casual (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tapas (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Healthy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
921 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous prime rib, best cut I have ever had with my 3 au jus' as requested!! Love prime rib sundays!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Our reservation was for 7:00 but when we arrived we were told it was 6:30 and had been cancelled for being more than 15 minutes late. I showed my Open table screen and email confirmation as proof but receptionist was adamant their system was correct. They were busy but mysteriously found us a table very quickly. It was our 3rd visit and first issue. Still her attitude makes wanting go return low on our list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Fleming's never disappoints with the food or the service, but sometimes the latter really shines, as it did this time, when our waitress was both personable and efficient.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Food was excellent, and the service was very good. However, the acoustics were not ideal for a quiet dinner. A large party near us was having a good time, but the acoustics seemed to amplify their noise to the point where we had a hard time hearing ourselves. This is the second time I came away thinking that the restaurant is somewhat loud, making it difficult to converse quietly. Other than that, it's a great place for a fine dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 9, 2017

My favorite restaurant for the 10 years I've lived here. Service and food are always great. Outside "happy hour" is always fun. ( try the calamari and cheesburger)

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We finished golfing in Carlsbad and drove back to La Jolla to have a scotch and steak. Awesome service and great food. Close to our hotel.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Forty six dollars and fifty cents for just a (eight ounce filet) piece of meat, plus extra charge for each side dish. RIDICULOUS! They should be ashamed of themselves. Went because we had gift cards.

Cowboy Star is a far superior restaurant, and you do not get nickeled and dimed on the side dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great food & service. Celebrated our birthdays and had a wonderful time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 7, 2017

My husband and I went to celbrate four years of marriage. From the moment we walked in the door, everyone was exceptionally nice and accomodating. April Dixon was out server and a great balance of warm and professional. We received two complimentary glasses of wine when the Manager could tell the large party next to us was really loud. We will absolutely be back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Great value with Primary Rib Special. Highly Recommended!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Celebrating a birthday with Great food and good value. Good happy hour.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Pre theater early seating was no porblem. Food was 5 star but service had some gaps. Ovearall a fine meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 26, 2017

It is a upscale steakhouse. And service top notch. A bill for 2 will easily hit $200 plus. The only draw back is they allow people with shorts, T shirts, and flip flops. Management should draw the line.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Rebecca was awesome.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 25, 2017

overbooked & understaffed. Had to wait even though we had a reservation. No manager interaction.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Celebrate my birthday here almost every year with their Prime Rib special. Delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The food and service doesn't get any better than this.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We love Fleming's. The food is just that good....yum!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Excellent steakhouse with great service and ambience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Only thing less than outstanding was the noise level. Great food, great service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had the prime rib special, and it was excellent as always. Our waiter, Michael, was competent and personable. My martini was just right. I hope to return soon.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Valet parking was not available at 12:30 p.m. on Father's Day. Walking up the stairway from the parking garage was difficult for us. Otherwise, everything was excellent, as usual.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Disappointing. Setup as a "high end" steak house. Tables are too small, everything packed in tight, cramped at our booth with only 3 people. Steaks were not worth the prices charged - and I am very experienced with good quality meat. Service was very attentive, but the server seemed young and less experienced. Total tab was very high, and only worth about half or less what we spent. I won't be returning here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We have visited Fleming's many times and have always been happy with the food and service, which we expect to be excellent. This visit was marred by an entree that had to be returned, but the staff bent over backwards to make it right. Nobody's perfect, stuff happens, and it's the handling of that stuff that makes or breaks the experience. So, overall, five stars were earned. We'll go back again and again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The service was very welcoming and good. Food was definitely on point.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We came here for our Anniversary and it was a delightful evening. Steaks were delicious and perfectly cooked. We were a half hour late because we were stuck in traffic. I called to let them know. They still had our table ready when we arrived. Everyone was very pleasant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Even though we reserved through OpenTable and showed up 5 minutes before our time. We had to wait 45 minutes before seating. They were very busy Sunday night. The manager comped us a free appetizer for taking so long to be seated. The food was great, but it's not really a meal. It's just a plate with a steak. The sides are extra. Service was also great. It is pricey, but that's expected.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Everthing was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Staff was very accommodating and service was timely. Food always delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Won't be back unfortunate the wait staff wasn't good on a slow night and the music was blaring way too loud

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 4, 2017

My wife and I enjoy eating here. The food and the service are always very good. On this occasion, we realized that were running late to go to a play nearby. When we told our waiter about this, he quickly packed our leftovers and the desserts we had ordered, and he brought our check right away so we could leave. It was still a very enjoyable dinner and we managed to get to the theatre without a minute to spare.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Excellent experience. The Manager, Sean, and our waitress, Angela, were outstanding! Food was delicious, and the Sunday Prime Rib Special is a great deal!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We always enjoy this Flemings because of their service, attention to details and the quality of the food. Manager Elizabeth is warm and friendly and on top of everything going on regarding the service and food preparation. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Everything is delicious, waiters are attentive, great ambient, good wine and cocktail list. Make sure you order the lava cake for dessert!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Love it that I can always find something wonderful on the Fleming's menu! We made a meal for the two of us from several small plates, including a few I hadn't tried before: the lobster tempura and the lamb chops. Can't recall if I'd ever had the clam chowder before, but it was sure worth revisiting if so!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 31, 2017

WAY TOO NOISY FOR $100 PER PLATE! I made a reservation online and asked for a quiet spot in the restaurant. They have accommodated me in the past. I called to update the time and asked again about a quiet spot because i have a hearing disability and one of my friends is challenged as well. The female on the phone assured me they had a quiet spot for us.

We arrived and I again told the hostess I needed a quiet spot. She checked with the male nearby. He gave her a spot and she took us to the middle of the main dining room which was very noisy and unacceptable.

The fellow then ultimately found a spot by the kitchen. Tired of the delay, we agreed to be seated. The spot was so loud that we had trouble conversing across the table.

I called the next day and asked for the manager because I had a complaint. The fellow on the phone said, "that's me." What was the problem? I repeated my story. He said "oh that was me, I seated you." He said he did the best he could and was unapologetic about the effort and the fact that I had been assured on the phone that they had a quiet spot for us. There are a few quiet spots in the restaurant, I have been seated there before.

I would not recommend this spot for a business lunch because you could not convey your ideas or sell anything. I would not recommend for a friends get together because you could not chat. I would not recommend it for a romantic dinner unless your date sits on your lap. I would not recommend it because the management does not care about pleasing you, even at $100 per plate.

I don't know whether all of Flemings are operated in this way. This is the only one I have been too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Everything was fine....or so we thought!! My husband has Celiac & must be gluten free. He ordered from the gluten free menu & yet he still got very sick during the night. Very disappointing!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 26, 2017

As always, Flemings never disappoints. We both got the petite filet with the truffle poached lobster and it was delicious - cooked to perfection. The brussel sprouts were also amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great service. Our waiter Michael was friendly (but not overly), attentive and very knowledgeable. Food was amazing!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 22, 2017

They have absolutely amazing lemon drops & the food is to die for !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.