Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

About Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.

8970 University Center Lane
San Diego, CA 92122
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sonoma Sunday Brunch & Dinner : 11:00am-9pm

Cross Street:
Lebon Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 535-0078

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/la-jolla

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $7.00. 3 Hour Validation when parking at Hyatt Self Park Garage in Aventine

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (47)
Good for a Date (43)
Good for Anniversaries (42)
See All
Romantic (39)
Business Meals (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Notable Wine List (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Happy Hour (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Authentic (11)
Cozy (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Private Room (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Fun (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Casual (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Family Style (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Live Sports (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
881 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 10 hours ago

Great service. Our waiter Michael was friendly (but not overly), attentive and very knowledgeable. Food was amazing!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

The waitress (and table helper) provided us with an amazing service that made our anniversary date an unforgettable one.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Fabulous filet and lobster dinner - great flavors and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

The service is excellent. Every staff member that we encountered was warm and very welcoming. Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Always a great place to dine

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I have enjoyed the Manhattan Beach/El Segundo and Downtown San Diego Fleming's for happy hours (several occasions). I have enjoyed the Fleming's for dinner here in La Jolla California. Great location, wonderful service. Delicious appetizers, food (steak, prime rib, crab cake, salad and sides) and cocktails!

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Fleming's is one of our go-to places for great steak and service. We went for Mother's Day brunch this time and the staff was overwhelmed. Though we had a reservation, it took 25 minutes past our reservation to be seated. Food also took a while to get out. We did the pre-fixe brunch menu and it was not bad. We also substituted a chocolate molten lava cake as one of the dessert choices, as that is our favorite chocolate molten lava cake out of all of the other restaurants we frequent because it is cooked properly and the chocolate gushes out when cut in to and the cake itself is moist. This time through, it was overcooked and the chocolate inside was hardened and set itself with the cake. Other than that, we will be back, but not for Mother's Day.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day Brunch

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

On Mother's Day, we were seated in the middle of the restaurant which was better than in the corner away from everyone. It was very tight between the table but the waiters managed it. The wait staff was perfect. The filet and the salad was perfect but the crime brûlée was cold. Unfortunately the dessert was anticipated most and now remembered the strongest.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We frequent Flemings several times a year
We usually come on Easter for the prefix menu and have never been disappointed. This time the food was not up to par for the Mothers Day celebration. French toast was burned, Eggs Benedict was dry, there was no starter on menu that went with breakfast choices. Dessert was excellent. But having paid 250 dollars for 4 persons, and did not feel we got value for our dollars this time. Service was the high light, as always excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I don't really know how unfortunate the people were who gave this restaurant three stars or under. I found it to be worth five stars for the fact that the service was down to earth and friendly. The food was exceptionally delicious and the atmosphere was quaint. If you really want to go all out for a meal this is the restaurant you would want to go to. I want to thank the staff and the cooks for making this a night to remember.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was excellent. Great atmosphere for any occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent service and high quality food. (Server Nadine was great and we appreciate the Manager checking in on us to ensure all was well).
For extra value we use "Flemings Coupons" purchased at Costco.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Healthy, Romantic, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Service was very good, both in the bar and the dining room!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Quiet surroundings, great food & wine

Tags: Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Fleming's has the best steaks. Hands down. We had a wonderful server whose name was Dylan and he took great care of us. Along with the sizzling steaks we had the most wonderful wine. Bartenders in the lounge are super!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Fantastic Food & atmosphere!
We had a great dinner (bone in ribeye steak with coffee rub) and a couple of sides.
Wine offerings were wide and well thought out.
Meggan was a great server. Knowledgeable, friendly and not too invasive. We'd highly recommend you ask for her.

Highly recommeded! Go and you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Thanks for actually reading the notes on my reservation. You made my wife and I feel extra special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on May 5, 2017

The food was great , the service was great--Megan made the night special for me and my guests.
I will definitely be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 3, 2017

This was the WORST MEAL that I've had in a long time. The meat was worth only $10 but actually cost $65! It had gristle & fat and was not tender or tasty (and there was no evidence of a "mushroom rub"). I WILL NEVER RETURN!! (The next day I had a fabulous meal at BJ Pizza for only $15.) I was giving Fleming's a LAST chance because several years ago my daughter and I both had rock hard steak—major failure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Excellent service, great food, although they made a mistake in our stake, we asked medium-well, but when the stake came it was more like medium-rare, we send the stake back and they fixed it perfectly. The server and the manager were very apologetic after that and made us feel comfortable and satisfied with our food. Most importantly the service was outstanding. Thank you

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great as always. Love their steaks and Fleming Potatoes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 24, 2017

As always, Flemings does not disappoint. I am a very PICKY medium rare tenderloin lover, and mine came out hot and perfectly broiled. We were there for a birthday dinner and my companion's dinner was perfect as well. However, that is all to be expected. The real gem this time was our server, Jade, who made sure our every wish was promptly attended to. We have been to Fleming's locations all over the US and she was the best server we have ever had. All in all a very memorable visit!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We came to celebrate my daughters 24th Birthday. Everything was good overall but my filet with flight I ordered was supposed to be medium rare, it was a bit burnt on the outside and more medium on the inside. The only reason I didn't say anything was because of the special occasion with my daughter. I didn't want the occasion to become my displeasure of my steak. That was my only complaint. Ryan our server was super attentive along with the person who brought water and multiple bread servings. Thank you for making my daughters birthday specail!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our server, Sarah M., was fantastic. She gave us great food suggestions, coupled with genuine conversation. Our food and drink selections were spot on. Also, the birthday card and truffle box really went above and beyond; we were not expecting this, so it was a pleasant surprise. Overall, we really enjoyed our evening and will return in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food was excellent service was excellent we felt really special on our anniversary they complimented us with champagne and a special little dessert .

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Our business meeting over a great meal and service was a success. Highly recommend.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Excellent food and service. Enjoyable atmosphere with very good management supervision.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a wonderful Easter meal. Celebrated a birthday. Good was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We came for Easter brunch and we're underwhelmed with the choices and value. The surf and turf eggs Benedict were less than impressive. The muffin was so tough it was almost inedible the filet was undersized and the crab tasted bad. Everything was dry, hardly any sauce. The service was average, less than would be expected. Based on the meals I have had there in the past this was completely unexpected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Best service! Forgot waitress name but she was amazing so we left a 35% tip which was well deserved! Because if the amazing service and happy hour menu we want to try, we'll be back soon!

Tags: Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 11, 2017

It's our second time here and we had a PHENOMENAL time. From the small details to the service and quality of food, this place rocked. The server called us by name from our OpenTable reservation and really made us feel super special. The complimentary was deliciously tempting and the steak right on point. Loved it and will certainly be going back with the lady.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Outstanding service and amazing food! I had the filet mignon w/ lump crab, side of asparagus, mac n cheese, and the lava cake w/ vanilla ice cream. Everything was delicious....and my steak was cooked to perfection! I would definitely come back and recommend to all my friends. Oh, I also had my 9 yr old daughter with me and she enjoyed it!

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Food was cooked perfectly. Both the main filet steak and lobster tail were excellent.
Sides were LARGE. Loved the cream spinach and Fleming's potato special. The
appetizers, both mushroom ravioli and crab cakes were very tasty.

Very professional service provided by Ryan helped make for a highly
enjoyable Sunday evening. Noise level was low to moderate.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Food was excellent. Service wonderful. Extras for Anniversary, : champagne, truffels, desert.
Made our dinner very special. We had filet & lobster 3 course dinner for $49.95

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 3, 2017

We have been to Fleming's several times in the past few years! It is our "go to" place for our birthdays and anniversary. We have been there for a few times to celebrate a special event! We have never been disappointed! Service is amazing, food is spectacular! We love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The noise level put me off initially but the service brought a positive note and Megan gave us the needed time to pick a wine off the very extensive list. The bread was ok but the homemade burrata appetizer was absolutely stellar. From there on we had exceptional dishes, my husband having an excellent filet and loaded baked potato, with a fine house salad. I had a small plate - scallops and shrimp (nice quantity of food) and again it was a ten, and I'm not that easy to ring my bells. We would definitely go again and especially appreciated our servers Megan and Nathan who I would say were nothing short of remarkable, warm friendly helpful and made some excellent food into a memorable occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Rececca was a delightful server and we thoroughly enjoyed every element of our meal which included lobster tails, filet oscar-ish, calamari and the maple bacon, all of which were outstanding. Although, the calamari was pretty standard. We loved our dining experience and were more than pleased with the food and service quality.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent service. Excellent steak dinner. Excellent ambiance. Will be back soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Flemings made my husbands birthday celebration wonderful! Food, wine and service were all exceptional. Thank you so much!

Tags: Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.