About Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla

8970 University Center Lane
San Diego, CA 92122
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sonoma Sunday Brunch & Dinner : 11:00am-9pm

Cross Street:
Lebon Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 535-0078

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/la-jolla

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $7.00. 3 Hour Validation when parking at Hyatt Self Park Garage in Aventine

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (37)
Good for a Date (31)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
See All
Notable Wine List (25)
Romantic (23)
Business Meals (20)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Casual (7)
Private Room (7)
Cozy (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Authentic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Fun (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
People Watching (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Seasonal (2)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
809 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent as always. Flemings never disa ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 11 hours ago

Excellent as always. Flemings never disappoints.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Fleming's for a 2 year anniversa ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Went to Fleming's for a 2 year anniversary with my boyfriend. We loved our meal and the sides (creamed spinach and mashed potatoes) were amazing! I would definitely love to come back for another special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I used to really like Flemings La Jolla ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

I used to really like Flemings La Jolla but when I told a friend my husband and I were going there to celebrate Valentine's she warned me that her steak had been overcooked the last few times she was there. Sure enough mine was more medium than medium rare. Fortunately, my husband traded with me. Besides the steak issue, the service was great and you can't beat the ambience.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

This visit was a starter before seeing F ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

This visit was a starter before seeing Freaky Friday at the La Jolla Playhouse. The service was outstanding and constant--we waited for nothing. The food was excellent and prepared as expected: my wife enjoyed the filet mignon and I savored the Chilean sea bass. A special surprise was a side of roasted Brussel sprouts--one of our favorite dishes no matter where we dine, and this one was spot on. The wine list, by the glass, is unreal. Literally 100 from all over the world. Fleming's gets a big shout out. The only qualifier is that Fleming's is not for economy class. Otherwise, indulge your palate, completely!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Flemings never disappoints. Consistent a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Flemings never disappoints. Consistent all over the country!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was wonderful. Food was great. A ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was wonderful. Food was great. Ambiance very pleasing. I love Flemings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was perfect for a wonderful c ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Everything was perfect for a wonderful celebration!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent steak house. Great drinks and ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Excellent steak house. Great drinks and good wine list. Prime rib tender and perfectly cooked. Potatoes su gratin with jalepenos was great. Desserts of mixed berries and molten chocolate cake were also perfectly done. My favorite steakhouse in La Jolla/San Diego

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place for an intimate dinner. Ex ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 13, 2017

A great place for an intimate dinner. Expensive but very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service. High quality ingredi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent service. High quality ingredients in traditional dishes.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Stopped in to use a birthday gift cert b ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Stopped in to use a birthday gift cert before it expired. Justin our waiter is great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another night of wonderful and attentive ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Another night of wonderful and attentive service, and delicious food. Thank you for making my husbands birthday dinner special!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food are great. Unfortunatel ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Service and food are great. Unfortunately the ambiance is severely lacking; the tables are super close together and you're packed in like sardines, we had a reservation for 6:30 but the hostess seemed surprised and sat us at the only open table... which was next to a large, loud table with a baby that was not pleased to be there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Great business casual ambiance. Food was ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great business casual ambiance. Food was perfectly prepared, high quality. The restaurant so thoughtfully presented my son with a box of chocolates to celebrate his accomplishment. Thank you Flemings!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, fantastic food and dr ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent service, fantastic food and drink, romantic ambiance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Super service. Very polite. Moved us whe ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Super service. Very polite. Moved us when our first table was a bit chilly. Fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Finally tried the prime rib (wish they h ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Finally tried the prime rib (wish they had it on the menu every day!), and found it every bit as good as you'd expect from a classic, classy steakhouse.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

For brunch is was very slow service. Too ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

For brunch is was very slow service. Took almost an hour to get our food. For the amount of tables filled (4 or 5) its was really unacceptable.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value5

Kudos to Chef Matt Cook...excellent meal ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Kudos to Chef Matt Cook...excellent meal and he is very consistent. Hats off also to our server Angela, and managers Ian and Rebecca and Casey...all made the evening very enjoyable...and we have been dining here for more than 10 years!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Considering their expensive prices, thou ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Considering their expensive prices, thought the food would taste a better, was a little on the salty side as far as the crab cakes, filet mignon & miso seabass. But their chocolate lava cake was to die for, best one I had to date. Also our waitresses April gave us exceptional service & attention, made my son's 11th birthday celebration!! Want to return here for my birthday lol.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Sorry got delayed but made the dinner an ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Sorry got delayed but made the dinner and was a good meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Loud, impersonal and a pretty standard b ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Loud, impersonal and a pretty standard boisterous chain restaurant. Was a shot in the dark, and the food was fine, but nothing special.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

I've had much better steakhouse meals, i ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I've had much better steakhouse meals, including at other Flemings. The steaks were not excellent, but they were very good. However, at well over $40 per steak (a la carte) you'd expect something transcendent. The sides were average at best and the salads were fair at best. The lettuce in the wedge salads were not crisp, instead of bacon they used pork belly, while trendy, it's not a good substitute when the salad is already fatty and rich with blue cheese. The blue cheese dressing was bland and covered everything. The roast cherry tomatoes were placid when they should have added a crisp tart accent. Service was very good and attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We got to the restaurant at 730 for a 74 ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We got to the restaurant at 730 for a 745 reservation. We were told we would be seated closer to 745 but were not seated until about 810, so about 25 min later from our reservation time and took us having to go up to the hostess to inquire to speed the process. The service was slow and not as good as expected for an expensive restaurant. We ordered wine which waiter brought right away but he also told us he would bring us water and bread. He brought water no bread, followed by our appetizer. We asked him later for bread . It was brought to us by someone else but without plates for the bread, they were taken away earlier after we finished our appetizer. On the plus side, my husband raved about his prime rib dinner, Cesar salad and the side of mashed potatoes he ordered. I ordered the sliced filet mignon small plate, and wedge salad. It was pretty good but I have had better.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Awesome service, fantastic food. Price i ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Awesome service, fantastic food. Price is high, but worth the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was very good taste wise but ...

vip
 (México)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Everything was very good taste wise but we order the New York Streep and it was full a

Of fat!!! Almost not eatable and something most have been bad because the next day I was sick to my stomach

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Went there for my husband's birthday - t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Went there for my husband's birthday - they NEVER acknowledge this. They do not

put candle in your dessert (even though we ordered a Lava Cake). They do NOT offer a

complimentary dessert. They do bring you a box with 4 chocolates at the end of the meal...and I mean END as we were given the check - and the receipt brought back to us, I had to ask for the chocolates. It was VERY disappointing for a restaurant of this caliber.

When it comes to Fine Dining, there are many other restaurants including those next door to Flemings that are far superior.

Service at a fine dining restaurant, should be equal to the excellent food. Our food was acceptable - our service was not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

New Years great evening.

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I was somewhat apprehensive because of s ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I was somewhat apprehensive because of some negative comments about the service but we were pleasantly surprised. The food was unbelievably excellent and the service was excellent as well. The dry aged rib eye was very tender and cooked to perfection and I coupled the steak with a side of mushrooms, excellent together. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very consistent food quality and great s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very consistent food quality and great service. Strongly recommend to ask for Jamil.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excelente restaurante

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excelente restaurante

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Not our normal experience. Steaks wee fa ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Not our normal experience. Steaks wee fatty and tasted bland. Not a good meal for the price and size of our group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

We have our table 20 minutes after our r ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We have our table 20 minutes after our reservation time.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good steakhouse. Great service. Enjoyed ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Good steakhouse. Great service. Enjoyed our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Back to Donavans for me. The food and ex ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Back to Donavans for me. The food and experience just isnt worth the price. We had a problem with the way one steak was cooked. The manager was on top of it. She took the steak which had already been cur in to pieces back to the kitchen. After the third attempt it was like little pieces of charcoal. Why they didn't make a whole new steak is beyond me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Very disappointed. The servers did not k ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Very disappointed. The servers did not know who ordered which entree. This was the third time in the last three visits where I feel the food and service had gone downhill. They were aggressively pushing the seafood tower on us. I think we will give up on Fleming's. It's too bad because it used to be a high end steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Dined at Fleming's on a Thursday night ( ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Dined at Fleming's on a Thursday night (December 15, 2016) to celebrate a birthday. The food, as always, is very good at Fleming's but, truth be told, it is not good enough to warrant the prices charged. That said, one does not go to Fleming's if one is on a budget so my point about relative value is an observation rather than a criticism. We have been there three times in the last year because others have invited us to an occasion where the location had already been selected. There are many other places where the food is as good or better, the prices the same or slightly lower and the ambiance more desirable (Roy's, Pamplemousse, Vintana, Market, etc.). On the 15th the noise was so loud that four of us could not carry on a conversation without raising our voices to be heard above the din. We had not experienced that noise level before and attribute that criticism to it being the holidays.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Great food & wines. Be careful that lobs ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great food & wines. Be careful that lobster is not overcooked. Do not ask for dessert to go with utensils ($13 charge for utensils only).

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

The place is really inconsistent. The ti ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The place is really inconsistent. The time before this the food was awesome and the time before that just so so. This time I couldn't even eat my steak it was so bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

I have to say I was disappointed with th ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 1, 2016

I have to say I was disappointed with this visit to Flemings. I've been here a quite few times but the last two times I have visited I have to say I wasn't very satisfied. The rib eye steak I ordered was gristly and the searing of the meat actually resulted in it being burned on the outside. The service was just OK. We ordered a bottle of wine for dinner. The server did pour it into a decanter to allow it breathe while we waited for the dinner to be served. However, that was the last of him on the wine pour until we were ready to leave when an at that point emptied the bottle into our glasses. Considering for two folks we spent close to $300 on dinner, I would have expected the food and service to be outstanding and it wasn't. Flemings had been one of our "go to" steak restaurants over the past couple years but at this time I think we may search for another venue to enjoy this type of gourmet meal. I will say the Chipshot I had at the end of the night was one of the best I ever tasted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.