About Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla

8970 University Center Lane
San Diego, CA 92122
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sonoma Sunday Brunch & Dinner : 11:00am-9pm

Cross Street:
Lebon Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 535-0078

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/la-jolla

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $7.00. 3 Hour Validation when parking at Hyatt Self Park Garage in Aventine

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Walnut Turtle Pie
Filet Mignon Eggs Benedict
White Chocolate Bread Pudding
Potatoes O'Brien
Steakhouse Filet Mignon Cobb
Sauteed Green Beans
Lobster Bisque
Blood Orange Mimosa
Grilled Portabello
Seared Ahi Tuna
Kobe Beef Carpacio
Salad with Mustard Glaze
Surf & Turf
Mushroom ravioli in cream sauce
carpaccio
The Prime Burger
Main filet mignon
Fresh Berries And Chantilly Cream
Caesar Salad
Wedge Salad
Shrimp Plate
Beef Tenderloin Carpaccio
Fried Calamari
loaded baked potato
French Quarter Barbecue Shrimp
Sweet Chile Calamari
Pan Crisped Pork Belly
Bone In Ribeye
Steakhouse
Dessert
Small Plates - Background:  Filet Mignon Bites Over Risitto; Mid Ground: Lobster Tempura; Foreground:  Mini Lamb Lollipops
Crab Stuffed Shrimp

Promotions

Taste the Season Prix Fixe - Starting at $55.95*

Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Promotions

Taste the Season Prix Fixe - Starting at $55.95*

Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Details

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Diego
Steak
San Diego
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
San Diego

special occasion (45)
fit for foodies (23)
romantic (21)
See All
notable wine list (21)
good for groups (17)
vibrant bar scene (8)
hot spot (7)
neighborhood gem (6)
kid-friendly (5)
great for brunch (4)
late-night find (4)
great for lunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
658 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always fine at Flemings the food is grea ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Always fine at Flemings the food is great and people r fantastic great service too

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing dinner at Fleming's t ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very disappointing dinner at Fleming's tonight. Service was so-so, prices very high, and food not up to par. I had to send back my filet mignon, as it was not medium rare as ordered. Not what you'd expect at a steak house! (Maitre d' comp'd it, however.) Also, when I asked for a recommendation for a certain type of wine, the server suggested the most expensive option. Service overall was mediocre. Our last visit my husband ordered the Wagyu steak, the most expensive menu item, and found it unexceptional and certainly not worth the money. he mentioned it but nothing was done about it. (To be fair, we had a $50 gift card as AmEx cardholders.) That visit the service was great and we had a pleasant experience. After this time, we won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

A lovely night for our 36th wedding anni ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

A lovely night for our 36th wedding anniversary! Everything was perfect! The food choices were exceptional and had a great selection of steak, seafood and sides! Will definitely go back and not just once per year!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious prime rib three course meal!! ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Delicious prime rib three course meal!! Service was fabulous except I had to ask for the same thing twice, and it came out as the wrong request. Other then that it was a fabulous Sunday date night!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The staff were professional and the serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The staff were professional and the server was excellently pleasing esp we have our 3 year old with us for a dinner date.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. We had a booth b ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was excellent. We had a booth by the kitchen. Which was a little quieter.

Like looking to see what was going on in the kitchen.

Our waiter, Peter, was excellent as well.

Brought our own wine. $25. Corkage which is a little high. But we like to bring our own wine.

The cork was bad, Peter did his best and even filtered it twice for us.

I had a prix fix dinner that I would recommend. My husband had steak.

We had a very nice evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is high-priced but excellent. ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food is high-priced but excellent. Service was a little slower than we had wanted. Generally

very good dinner with my son who lives in Olympia, Washington, and was visiting with me and family.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Very good experience. Waiter could have ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Very good experience. Waiter could have been a little more personal than feels like pushing a sale. Great experience overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Service was slow and disjointed. Sides c ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Service was slow and disjointed. Sides came too long after entrees were served. French fries were soggy and oily. Waitress didn't know how to pour wine, or take care of aged wine. Usually have a much better experience at Flemings, food is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

We had been to Fleming's before and had ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We had been to Fleming's before and had an excellent dinner. However, this time the service was still very good but my dinner was disappointing. My husband enjoyed his filet , shrimp and spinach salad. My prime rib dinner, which is only served on Sunday, looked picture perfect but was very difficult to chew. The side order of asparagus was "woody" and not cooked quite enough. The Fleming salad dressing was not to my liking either -- a little on the sour side. I am a very easy person to please and not a complainer but I thought the dinner was not up to par for the price you have to pay. I did not complain to the waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Great place for dinner!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great place for dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Despite the ambience it was VERY noisy a ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Despite the ambience it was VERY noisy and every time the door was opened blinding sun came in. Also, there should be SOME kind of dresscode. The family next to us were dressed in T-shirts, ratty shorts and flip flops and the father wore his stupid ball cap all through the meal, never taking it off. At least long pants or shirts with collars should be expected for men and flip-flops discouraged.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food and service. We can't wait ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Amazing food and service. We can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good good. Not so much with the service. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good good. Not so much with the service. Our water was empty for a while that I have to do sips to make it last. The beverage that my brother ordered didn't come in until towards the end of his meal. Also, when the server tried to correct the wrong by offering my brothe a refill, we were charged twice thinking it was a complimentary -- something I had to point out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Great place to go to celebrate a special ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great place to go to celebrate a special occasion! Food is great , service is seamless and just a short ride from home!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I ordered med rare it came very rare in ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I ordered med rare it came very rare in center and medium well on the sides it was tough too too chewy service was very good though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best meals we have ever had!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Everything was outstanding, from the carpaccio appetizer and lobster bisque at the start, through the ribeye steak and creamed spinach, up to the berries-and-cream dessert and coffee. It was my birthday and they treated us like royalty.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Will come back!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Excellent Service. Manager stopped by to check in on us. Gave us a gift card to return since we were celebrating a birthday. Awesome wine list. Lava cake is to die for.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service was outstanding. T ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The food and service was outstanding.

The most delicious steak I have ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for our wedding anniversary. They w ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Went for our wedding anniversary. They were great and made it a special night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another Outstanding dinner at Flemings

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Outstanding food and outstanding service. That really says it all. Our waitress was one of the best we've ever had at Flemings and every one we have ever had has been great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent filet mignon and wedge salad. ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Excellent filet mignon and wedge salad. The two type of spreads with the bread were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Our food was amazing. The pork chop was ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Our food was amazing. The pork chop was presented beautifully.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was absolutely delicious. I ha ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious. I had the Newport Filet with potatoes and my hubby had the seabass. We both remarked how the food was way better than "RC" Steak House. Only negative was that the restaurant had a very noticeable musty smell, I think from the carpet, but definitely in the air. Trust the Yelp reviews and order the Flemming's Potatoes, also order the crab cakes, yum yum yum.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We ordered the lobster tempura, seared s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We ordered the lobster tempura, seared steaks with spinach, braised spare ribs, and filet mignon. Everything we ordered was delicious. You have to order the chocolate lava cake after dinner. Super fancy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great to get awesome meal

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Of course we know that with Fleming's you are in for an awesome high class meal. The steaks here are always greatly prepared. The Lobster mac and cheese stole the show this time. I highly suggest taking anyone here you wish to spoil with good food and a great setting to just enjoy a meal!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and amazing food!

 
 (México)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent service and amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Almost perfect

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Other than a very high noise level lasting until most of the dining room emptied, and a long wait for my turn for valet parking to get my car, the mal was outstanding. Superb steaks, properly cooked coupled with attentive and knowledgeable staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

over priced for a Steak with no accompan ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

over priced for a Steak with no accompany item. I Steak for 50.00 and not even a vegetable that might cost them a dollar a serving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Steaks are a poor value and taste bad

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

I was shocked at the $50 + steak that was served to me. I order the prime ribeye ( I was told it was prime but there is no way) was such an inferior cut of meat. I've eaten at many high end steak houses from LA, NY, Miami and many more. I've eaten at the good chains like Ruth's Chris, Capital Grill, Lowry's etc. but I have never felt more ripped off for a tough (I ordered medium rare) thin low quality steak in my life. I've had better steaks at golden coral. I have no idea what this place thinks is a "prime" but the one they gave me sure was not. I will not be back and won't recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Our server (Megan) was absolutely wonder ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Our server (Megan) was absolutely wonderful! She was attentive, friendly, knowledgeable, and fun to interact with. All staff members we interacted with were very complimentary and made us feel extremely welcomed. Overall, the experience was top-notch!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was good not great. I was expe ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

The food was good not great. I was expecting great food for the price point. Our server only check on once during our meal and never came back to take our second cocktail order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

We had a great time. We celebrated our f ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a great time. We celebrated our first year wedding anniversary and also my spouse birthday and we notified them in the reservation. Since we got there they were very nice and made our celebration extra special, had a card for us and even the manager came to wish us a happy anniversary and birthday. It was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful dinner at Fleming's. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Fleming's. Food, service and ambience all as expected from Fleming's. Staff are very friendly and attentive. We dined late night and our server was able to score a dessert martini for me even after the bar had closed. 😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food But not as great as their pr ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Great Food

But not as great as their prices suggest!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The seafood tower here is excellent. Ser ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The seafood tower here is excellent. Service this time around is absent. Skip the turtle cake. The crust is super hard and chewy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Best food and service ever

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Best food and service ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Way too expensive for what you get...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

This is a traditional steak house that offers primarily steaks with no accompaniments unless you order sides. The steaks run from the mid-forties to the mid-fifties, and the sides are around $11 each. So, one would expect a very good steak, salad and side. Not so much. The salad was small and mediocre. The steak was cooked properly, but a prime ribeye should not be tough or over salted. The creamed spinach was OK if you like horseradish in your spinach. My dining partner had to ask for a new dipping sauce since his was so salty, he couldn't eat it, and he loves salt! All in all, an expensive disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Server was great and the right amount of ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Server was great and the right amount of attentive. Heather did a great job of checking in and ensuring we had a great experience. She couldn't deliver an off menu request but I know she tried and that is valuable and appreciated.

Great experience. Consistent service, food and overall satisfaction- that's why we are regulars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Long time customer gets let down

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

I first started coming to Fleming's in 2009 - I came back for the lovingly grilled steak and impeccable service. Hadn't been back in about 2 years and was there for a reunion with a colleague and friend for whom Fleming's had been a regular stop. A couple little nagging details stood out

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.