About Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla

8970 University Center Lane
San Diego, CA 92122
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sonoma Sunday Brunch & Dinner : 11:00am-9pm

Cross Street:
Lebon Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 535-0078

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/la-jolla

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $7.00. 3 Hour Validation when parking at Hyatt Self Park Garage in Aventine

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Filet Mignon Eggs Benedict - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Walnut Turtle Pie - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Steakhouse Filet Mignon Cobb    - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
White Chocolate Bread Pudding - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Potatoes O'Brien - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Sauteed Green Beans - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Lobster Bisque - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Blood Orange Mimosa - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Grilled Portabello - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Kobe Beef Carpacio - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Seared Ahi Tuna - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Salad with Mustard Glaze - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Surf & Turf - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
carpaccio - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
The Prime Burger - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Mushroom ravioli in cream sauce - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Main filet mignon - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Fresh Berries And Chantilly Cream - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Wedge Salad - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Caesar Salad - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Fried Calamari - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Shrimp Plate - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Beef Tenderloin Carpaccio - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Pan Crisped Pork Belly - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Sweet Chile Calamari - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Bone In Ribeye - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
French Quarter Barbecue Shrimp - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
loaded baked potato - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Steakhouse - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Dessert - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Crab Stuffed Shrimp - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA
Small Plates - Background:  Filet Mignon Bites Over Risitto; Mid Ground: Lobster Tempura; Foreground:  Mini Lamb Lollipops - Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla, San Diego, CA

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate Valentine's Week with us from February 10 - February 19. Enjoy a 3-course dinner featuring a Filet Mignon paired with your choice of New Zealand Salmon or an Australian Lobster Tail.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Good for a Date (22)
Notable Wine List (20)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Business Meals (15)
Romantic (15)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Private Room (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Cozy (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Casual (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Fun (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Authentic (3)
Seasonal (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Fireplace (2)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
787 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I've had much better steakhouse meals, i ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I've had much better steakhouse meals, including at other Flemings. The steaks were not excellent, but they were very good. However, at well over $40 per steak (a la carte) you'd expect something transcendent. The sides were average at best and the salads were fair at best. The lettuce in the wedge salads were not crisp, instead of bacon they used pork belly, while trendy, it's not a good substitute when the salad is already fatty and rich with blue cheese. The blue cheese dressing was bland and covered everything. The roast cherry tomatoes were placid when they should have added a crisp tart accent. Service was very good and attentive.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We got to the restaurant at 730 for a 74 ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We got to the restaurant at 730 for a 745 reservation. We were told we would be seated closer to 745 but were not seated until about 810, so about 25 min later from our reservation time and took us having to go up to the hostess to inquire to speed the process. The service was slow and not as good as expected for an expensive restaurant. We ordered wine which waiter brought right away but he also told us he would bring us water and bread. He brought water no bread, followed by our appetizer. We asked him later for bread . It was brought to us by someone else but without plates for the bread, they were taken away earlier after we finished our appetizer. On the plus side, my husband raved about his prime rib dinner, Cesar salad and the side of mashed potatoes he ordered. I ordered the sliced filet mignon small plate, and wedge salad. It was pretty good but I have had better.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Awesome service, fantastic food. Price i ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Awesome service, fantastic food. Price is high, but worth the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was very good taste wise but ...

vip
 (México)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Everything was very good taste wise but we order the New York Streep and it was full a

Of fat!!! Almost not eatable and something most have been bad because the next day I was sick to my stomach

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Went there for my husband's birthday - t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Went there for my husband's birthday - they NEVER acknowledge this. They do not

put candle in your dessert (even though we ordered a Lava Cake). They do NOT offer a

complimentary dessert. They do bring you a box with 4 chocolates at the end of the meal...and I mean END as we were given the check - and the receipt brought back to us, I had to ask for the chocolates. It was VERY disappointing for a restaurant of this caliber.

When it comes to Fine Dining, there are many other restaurants including those next door to Flemings that are far superior.

Service at a fine dining restaurant, should be equal to the excellent food. Our food was acceptable - our service was not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

New Years great evening.

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I was somewhat apprehensive because of s ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I was somewhat apprehensive because of some negative comments about the service but we were pleasantly surprised. The food was unbelievably excellent and the service was excellent as well. The dry aged rib eye was very tender and cooked to perfection and I coupled the steak with a side of mushrooms, excellent together. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very consistent food quality and great s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very consistent food quality and great service. Strongly recommend to ask for Jamil.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excelente restaurante

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excelente restaurante

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Not our normal experience. Steaks wee fa ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Not our normal experience. Steaks wee fatty and tasted bland. Not a good meal for the price and size of our group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

We have our table 20 minutes after our r ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We have our table 20 minutes after our reservation time.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good steakhouse. Great service. Enjoyed ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Good steakhouse. Great service. Enjoyed our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Back to Donavans for me. The food and ex ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Back to Donavans for me. The food and experience just isnt worth the price. We had a problem with the way one steak was cooked. The manager was on top of it. She took the steak which had already been cur in to pieces back to the kitchen. After the third attempt it was like little pieces of charcoal. Why they didn't make a whole new steak is beyond me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

Very disappointed. The servers did not k ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Very disappointed. The servers did not know who ordered which entree. This was the third time in the last three visits where I feel the food and service had gone downhill. They were aggressively pushing the seafood tower on us. I think we will give up on Fleming's. It's too bad because it used to be a high end steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Dined at Fleming's on a Thursday night ( ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Dined at Fleming's on a Thursday night (December 15, 2016) to celebrate a birthday. The food, as always, is very good at Fleming's but, truth be told, it is not good enough to warrant the prices charged. That said, one does not go to Fleming's if one is on a budget so my point about relative value is an observation rather than a criticism. We have been there three times in the last year because others have invited us to an occasion where the location had already been selected. There are many other places where the food is as good or better, the prices the same or slightly lower and the ambiance more desirable (Roy's, Pamplemousse, Vintana, Market, etc.). On the 15th the noise was so loud that four of us could not carry on a conversation without raising our voices to be heard above the din. We had not experienced that noise level before and attribute that criticism to it being the holidays.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Great food & wines. Be careful that lobs ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Great food & wines. Be careful that lobster is not overcooked. Do not ask for dessert to go with utensils ($13 charge for utensils only).

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

The place is really inconsistent. The ti ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The place is really inconsistent. The time before this the food was awesome and the time before that just so so. This time I couldn't even eat my steak it was so bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

I have to say I was disappointed with th ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 1, 2016

I have to say I was disappointed with this visit to Flemings. I've been here a quite few times but the last two times I have visited I have to say I wasn't very satisfied. The rib eye steak I ordered was gristly and the searing of the meat actually resulted in it being burned on the outside. The service was just OK. We ordered a bottle of wine for dinner. The server did pour it into a decanter to allow it breathe while we waited for the dinner to be served. However, that was the last of him on the wine pour until we were ready to leave when an at that point emptied the bottle into our glasses. Considering for two folks we spent close to $300 on dinner, I would have expected the food and service to be outstanding and it wasn't. Flemings had been one of our "go to" steak restaurants over the past couple years but at this time I think we may search for another venue to enjoy this type of gourmet meal. I will say the Chipshot I had at the end of the night was one of the best I ever tasted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Our steaks were perfectly cooked and del ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Our steaks were perfectly cooked and delicious. Two of us ordered salads that were drenched in dressings. Next time I'll order dressing on the side. We were seated at a table in the middle of the room where it was very difficult to hear our conversation.

Tags: Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great ambiance! Great service! Steven ou ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great ambiance! Great service! Steven our server was great but the food was overpriced compared to other steak houses , a 20 oz steak did not look 20 oz at all , with porcine mushroom that you don't even see at all and they charged and they say it was glazed to the steak ! Feel cheated !! But our server was great !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

First thing, our table was by the hallwa ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 26, 2016

First thing, our table was by the hallway, close to wine cellar. The problem was that it was the gathering spot for the employees to talk.

The second issue was with my meal. My filet was not cooked the way I had ordered it. I mentioned it to my waiter and he offered me a new one which I refused, I didn't want to wait for it and eat alone. My husband was enjoying his meal. Our waiter asked for one of the managers to stop by (a lady)our table. The manager was very apologetic and offered us dessert and when we declined, she said she will make some changes to the bill but we didn't get any discount on our bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic. Loved our waiter Justin!

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Fantastic. Loved our waiter Justin!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were there for Thanksgiving and the f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We were there for Thanksgiving and the food and service was excellent if a bit rushed and crowded as was expected. Management had all hands on deck and servers were efficient and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our dining experience was good. However, ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Our dining experience was good. However, my husband ordered from the gluten free menu (he has celiac) & got very sick at 4 am....there must have been something on the gluten free menu that WASN'T gluten free!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The staff was friendly and went out of ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The staff was friendly and went out of their way to provide fine service but if you go to a stakehouse and they service you dry, over cooked meat, and charge you a premium for it, it is disappointing. The prime rib dinner, appetizers, and sides were great but the specials were very over cooked. I'm not sure we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

Excellent food and service. It was my bi ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent food and service. It was my birthday so they gave us a great booth and Chocolate truffles !!

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Love the small plates. Service is always ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Love the small plates. Service is always excellent.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Vegan, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent tasting as was th ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was excellent tasting as was the service. Every one is so helpful and there is a great wine list and we really love the Lava Cake as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great evening

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was great and since I left a note ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Dinner was great and since I left a note saying it was for a birthday dinner they took great care and making sure they were aware of it. was a little confused on ordering for medium rare and wish my steak was a little less cooked but the mac n cheese was amazing. great experience overall

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our meal. A little slow on b ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 9, 2016

We enjoyed our meal. A little slow on bringing the drinks, but service did improve! The food was delicious!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I chose to enjoy Flemings on ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 9, 2016

My wife and I chose to enjoy Flemings on our vacation to Carlsbad. It was a very enjoyable all-around experience, since we were looking a relaxed, yet special time, with dishes that we could savor in our time together. She ordered the Shrimp and Sea Scallops Small Plate entree, I ordered the petite filet mignon, and we shared a side of Crispy Brussels Sprouts. Both were prepared perfectly. I ordered the filet mignon medium rare, it it was perfect. Both of us enjoyed our dishes thoroughly, and the amount of food was just right, since we both tend to eat lightly. Our service was excellent and I so appreciated our server, Cason, who was warm and welcoming , and took the time to understand our likes and preferences in order to recommend the dishes we eventually ordered. He was very attentive and engaging. When we return to Carlsbad on vacation, we will return and request him for our server. We went on a Tuesday evening, so it was fairly quiet, which we thoroughly enjoyed. All in all, it was an experience we look forward to repeating on our next vacation there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It has been a while since I have been to ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

It has been a while since I have been to Fleming's because I usually go to Donovan's. I was reassured why on this visit. The server was great but disappeared for long periods of time. It took forever for our first course and then the steaks were almost immediately served. My medium rare was medium well but I was so hungry that I just ate it. The quality of meat is not on par with Donovan's. Actually, every time I eat at one of the chain restaurants (Fleming's, Ruth's Chris) I always have the same opinion on the meat. We went there with neighbors who chose the location. I will stick to Donovan's for steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Nice restaurant. Great service. Room tem ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Nice restaurant. Great service. Room temperature was too warm. Filet was great; however I ordered the aged ribeye and it did not meet my expectations.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

For the cost the meal was not up to par. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

For the cost the meal was not up to par. Server was slow to refill drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Amazing customer service. We went for a ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Amazing customer service. We went for a birthday and they were so attentive and wonderful. The food was incredible as well!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fleming's is our go to steakhouse! We to ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Fleming's is our go to steakhouse! We took advantage of the Prime Rib Special they had going. Always an amazing meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server, Jade, was very attentive and ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Our server, Jade, was very attentive and provided a lot of relevant information to describe the menu.

Desserts were mouth-watering. Adding the chantilly cream was a wonderful touch!

Lamb chops and steaks were delicious (exact level of preparation and tender).

Salads were dressed to perfection.

Even the spreads for the bread was delicious!

We spent 2.5h for dinner without even realizing so much time had passed because we enjoyed the meal so much!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We love the prime rib special on Sunday ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We love the prime rib special on Sunday nights. $42 includes great salad choice, generous prime rib with 3 sauces, choice of side, AND choice of delicious desserts. Best kept secret. Great wine list. Service is very attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent fillets as usual, prepared to ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent fillets as usual, prepared to perfection. Chocolate lava cake to die for!!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.