Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

About Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.

8970 University Center Lane
San Diego, CA 92122
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sonoma Sunday Brunch & Dinner : 11:00am-9pm

Cross Street:
Lebon Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 535-0078

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/la-jolla

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $7.00. 3 Hour Validation when parking at Hyatt Self Park Garage in Aventine

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Cinco de Mayo - Special Menus & Offers

Friday, May 5, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Cinco de Mayo - Special Menus & Offers

Friday, May 5, 2017

Details

Elevate your Cinco de Mayo celebration with the one-of-a-kind, Fleming's $100 Prime Margarita, prepared with premium tequila from Casa Herradura and served in a refined Baccarat crystal glass. Celebrate May 4-6.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Only the best for mom. Celebrate Mother's Day on Sunday, May 14 from 10AM to 3PM with our indulgent three-course brunch menu.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (45)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Good for a Date (39)
See All
Romantic (37)
Business Meals (29)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
Happy Hour (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Cozy (9)
Authentic (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Private Room (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Casual (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Fun (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Fireplace (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tapas (2)
Family Style (2)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Seasonal (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
857 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

We came to celebrate my daughters 24th Birthday. Everything was good overall but my filet with flight I ordered was supposed to be medium rare, it was a bit burnt on the outside and more medium on the inside. The only reason I didn't say anything was because of the special occasion with my daughter. I didn't want the occasion to become my displeasure of my steak. That was my only complaint. Ryan our server was super attentive along with the person who brought water and multiple bread servings. Thank you for making my daughters birthday specail!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Our server, Sarah M., was fantastic. She gave us great food suggestions, coupled with genuine conversation. Our food and drink selections were spot on. Also, the birthday card and truffle box really went above and beyond; we were not expecting this, so it was a pleasant surprise. Overall, we really enjoyed our evening and will return in the future.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was excellent service was excellent we felt really special on our anniversary they complimented us with champagne and a special little dessert .

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 5 days ago

Our business meeting over a great meal and service was a success. Highly recommend.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and service. Enjoyable atmosphere with very good management supervision.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We had a wonderful Easter meal. Celebrated a birthday. Good was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We came for Easter brunch and we're underwhelmed with the choices and value. The surf and turf eggs Benedict were less than impressive. The muffin was so tough it was almost inedible the filet was undersized and the crab tasted bad. Everything was dry, hardly any sauce. The service was average, less than would be expected. Based on the meals I have had there in the past this was completely unexpected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Best service! Forgot waitress name but she was amazing so we left a 35% tip which was well deserved! Because if the amazing service and happy hour menu we want to try, we'll be back soon!

Tags: Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 11, 2017

It's our second time here and we had a PHENOMENAL time. From the small details to the service and quality of food, this place rocked. The server called us by name from our OpenTable reservation and really made us feel super special. The complimentary was deliciously tempting and the steak right on point. Loved it and will certainly be going back with the lady.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Outstanding service and amazing food! I had the filet mignon w/ lump crab, side of asparagus, mac n cheese, and the lava cake w/ vanilla ice cream. Everything was delicious....and my steak was cooked to perfection! I would definitely come back and recommend to all my friends. Oh, I also had my 9 yr old daughter with me and she enjoyed it!

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Fireplace, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Food was cooked perfectly. Both the main filet steak and lobster tail were excellent.
Sides were LARGE. Loved the cream spinach and Fleming's potato special. The
appetizers, both mushroom ravioli and crab cakes were very tasty.

Very professional service provided by Ryan helped make for a highly
enjoyable Sunday evening. Noise level was low to moderate.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Food was excellent. Service wonderful. Extras for Anniversary, : champagne, truffels, desert.
Made our dinner very special. We had filet & lobster 3 course dinner for $49.95

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 3, 2017

We have been to Fleming's several times in the past few years! It is our "go to" place for our birthdays and anniversary. We have been there for a few times to celebrate a special event! We have never been disappointed! Service is amazing, food is spectacular! We love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The noise level put me off initially but the service brought a positive note and Megan gave us the needed time to pick a wine off the very extensive list. The bread was ok but the homemade burrata appetizer was absolutely stellar. From there on we had exceptional dishes, my husband having an excellent filet and loaded baked potato, with a fine house salad. I had a small plate - scallops and shrimp (nice quantity of food) and again it was a ten, and I'm not that easy to ring my bells. We would definitely go again and especially appreciated our servers Megan and Nathan who I would say were nothing short of remarkable, warm friendly helpful and made some excellent food into a memorable occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Rececca was a delightful server and we thoroughly enjoyed every element of our meal which included lobster tails, filet oscar-ish, calamari and the maple bacon, all of which were outstanding. Although, the calamari was pretty standard. We loved our dining experience and were more than pleased with the food and service quality.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent service. Excellent steak dinner. Excellent ambiance. Will be back soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Flemings made my husbands birthday celebration wonderful! Food, wine and service were all exceptional. Thank you so much!

Tags: Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Still one of my most favorite places. Steaks are the best period.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Another great meal at Fleming's. Thank you! A fun and delicious way to celebrate a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 23, 2017

This is my go-to Steakhouse. The beef is always fabulous and perfectly prepared. Their wait staff is infallibly informed polite and attentive. They have a superb wine list, and many good wines are available by the glass. The sides are always perfectly prepared. keep an eye out for their secret specials, they are worth getting. For example they currently are running a filet mignon and lobster special that is a real deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Food was ok. Service was outstanding but I wasn't super impressed by the food. For the price you pay I expected more.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Anniversary celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 19, 2017

My companion's salmon was excellent but my sea bass with miso glaze was salty and unpleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Pricey but great steaks. Sides and wine list were very good. Sub par beer selection, but people aren't dining here for the beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 16, 2017

My Husband and I decided on Fleming for our 2year wedding anniversary dinner. It was our first time there and it was perfect. We were greeted with warm faces and lovely card. Our server Dylan recommended some delicious wine and mentioned our anniversary twice to us with well wishes. The manager Jim surprised us with a incredible champagne toast. Very classy.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Normally this restaurant is a 5 for me but I had never sat in the front room which was just too busy. Our server had several really big tables so was stretched too thin to watch over us. Previously I have had a much better table in the far back room and it had more of the 'intimate steak house' experience. Mire price appropriate. Food was fabulous we had the Alaskan crab legs and petite filet small plate with risotto I would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

A Sunday visit to Fleming's is always a treat because of the prime rib dinner—such a deal!—and because they're open earlier than usual, so we can manage the dinner-and-a-show trick without having to hurry. Besides the prime rib, we had two small plates (shrimp and scallops and the braised short ribs), all of which proved to be so generous a serving size that we went home with many, many containers for later deliciousness. Another fine meal, Fleming's!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Good food....but over priced. I would say expensive very basic preparations.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Disappointing. The food wasn't that great, my date's steak was burned on the outside and overcooked, and mine was so-so. Not a great value for the price.

Service was good, and the manager offered to buy us desert, and didn't charge us for the burned steak. Our server was attentive, and provided good service.

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We ended a business trip here. Ordered a white Burgundy only to find out it was out of stock. Our server, Meaghan, persevered, and we unexpectedly got a bottle from the manager's private stock. That alone made the evening. The half plate entree was perfect for my wife while I opted for the aged 16 oz ribeye--it was delicious in its natural state. Our server Meagan added a nice personal touch with her personal conversations. We felt at home at Flemings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We received a $40 coupon in the mail and decided to take advantage. Steaks are always great (a bit pricey but delicious).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Awesome service! Thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Received a gift for Fleming and went for our 41st wedding anniversary. Was not disappointed, but the prices are a bit high.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Flemings is always very good, expensive but great food and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 5, 2017

we chose Flemings to celebrate our anniversary as my wife had been there before and loved it, and I never had been there but she knew that I would...she was right! hands down the best steak I have ever had in my life...I got the bone in rib eye and she got the prime rib, butterflied. so juicy and well seasoned that I can literally taste it now...sides were huge too...drinks set the meal off, hand crafted just right, and awesome had some wine from the extensive collection, Service was well timed and they were personable and engaged us when we wanted and gave us privacy when they could tell we were talking..the only thing I would say to improve on was that I requested a special table for our anniversary, and they seated us in a room off the main dining room which was less crowded and quiet so that was good, but the table they gave us had bright lights on us like we were in a police interrogation. Not romantic at all! so not sure if they read the request or not..but when we asked to move to the table besides ours that had lower lighting they accommodated us immediately, no questions..all in all an awesome experience and would recommend it it to all!

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Sports, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food is excellent, like all the times

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent service and good! The sea bass was the best I have ever had!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 3, 2017

good food cooked perfect relaxing meal highly recommended

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 28, 2017

For the price this place was extremely underwhelming. Looking at the menu you would expect top notch cuisine. Visually the food looked wonderful, but the taste and texture were bland and forgettable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I am here several times a year, always good. Service and server where a little off tonight. Server seemed distracted and not to the normal standard of Flemings. Was a bit off putting when we where asked at the end of the meal if we wanted to see the dessert menu or we where done. We just asked for the check. Will still be back because every one can have a off night. Still recommend this Flemings.

Tags: Seasonal, Private Room, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.