About Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla

8970 University Center Lane
San Diego, CA 92122
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sonoma Sunday Brunch & Dinner : 11:00am-9pm

Cross Street:
Lebon Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 535-0078

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/la-jolla

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $7.00. 3 Hour Validation when parking at Hyatt Self Park Garage in Aventine

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
San Diego

special occasion (59)
fit for foodies (37)
notable wine list (32)
See All
romantic (29)
good for groups (23)
hot spot (11)
vibrant bar scene (10)
neighborhood gem (9)
kid-friendly (7)
great for outdoor dining (5)
great for brunch (5)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (2)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
634 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Our food was amazing. The pork chop was ...

Dined 6 days ago

Our food was amazing. The pork chop was presented beautifully.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was absolutely delicious. I ha ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food was absolutely delicious. I had the Newport Filet with potatoes and my hubby had the seabass. We both remarked how the food was way better than "RC" Steak House. Only negative was that the restaurant had a very noticeable musty smell, I think from the carpet, but definitely in the air. Trust the Yelp reviews and order the Flemming's Potatoes, also order the crab cakes, yum yum yum.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered the lobster tempura, seared s ...

Dined 6 days ago

We ordered the lobster tempura, seared steaks with spinach, braised spare ribs, and filet mignon. Everything we ordered was delicious. You have to order the chocolate lava cake after dinner. Super fancy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great to get awesome meal

Dined on May 21, 2016

Of course we know that with Fleming's you are in for an awesome high class meal. The steaks here are always greatly prepared. The Lobster mac and cheese stole the show this time. I highly suggest taking anyone here you wish to spoil with good food and a great setting to just enjoy a meal!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and amazing food!

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent service and amazing food!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Almost perfect

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Other than a very high noise level lasting until most of the dining room emptied, and a long wait for my turn for valet parking to get my car, the mal was outstanding. Superb steaks, properly cooked coupled with attentive and knowledgeable staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

over priced for a Steak with no accompan ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

over priced for a Steak with no accompany item. I Steak for 50.00 and not even a vegetable that might cost them a dollar a serving.

food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Steaks are a poor value and taste bad

Dined on May 13, 2016

I was shocked at the $50 + steak that was served to me. I order the prime ribeye ( I was told it was prime but there is no way) was such an inferior cut of meat. I've eaten at many high end steak houses from LA, NY, Miami and many more. I've eaten at the good chains like Ruth's Chris, Capital Grill, Lowry's etc. but I have never felt more ripped off for a tough (I ordered medium rare) thin low quality steak in my life. I've had better steaks at golden coral. I have no idea what this place thinks is a "prime" but the one they gave me sure was not. I will not be back and won't recommend this place to anyone.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server (Megan) was absolutely wonder ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Our server (Megan) was absolutely wonderful! She was attentive, friendly, knowledgeable, and fun to interact with. All staff members we interacted with were very complimentary and made us feel extremely welcomed. Overall, the experience was top-notch!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2

The food was good not great. I was expe ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

The food was good not great. I was expecting great food for the price point. Our server only check on once during our meal and never came back to take our second cocktail order.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great time. We celebrated our f ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a great time. We celebrated our first year wedding anniversary and also my spouse birthday and we notified them in the reservation. Since we got there they were very nice and made our celebration extra special, had a card for us and even the manager came to wish us a happy anniversary and birthday. It was great!

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful dinner at Fleming's. ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Fleming's. Food, service and ambience all as expected from Fleming's. Staff are very friendly and attentive. We dined late night and our server was able to score a dessert martini for me even after the bar had closed. 😊

food4
ambience4
service5

Great Food But not as great as their pr ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Great Food But not as great as their prices suggest!

food4
ambience2
service1

The seafood tower here is excellent. Ser ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

The seafood tower here is excellent. Service this time around is absent. Skip the turtle cake. The crust is super hard and chewy.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best food and service ever

Dined on April 24, 2016

Best food and service ever

food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Way too expensive for what you get...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

This is a traditional steak house that offers primarily steaks with no accompaniments unless you order sides. The steaks run from the mid-forties to the mid-fifties, and the sides are around $11 each. So, one would expect a very good steak, salad and side. Not so much. The salad was small and mediocre. The steak was cooked properly, but a prime ribeye should not be tough or over salted. The creamed spinach was OK if you like horseradish in your spinach. My dining partner had to ask for a new dipping sauce since his was so salty, he couldn't eat it, and he loves salt! All in all, an expensive disappointment.

food5
ambience5
service5

Server was great and the right amount of ...

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Server was great and the right amount of attentive. Heather did a great job of checking in and ensuring we had a great experience. She couldn't deliver an off menu request but I know she tried and that is valuable and appreciated. Great experience. Consistent service, food and overall satisfaction- that's why we are regulars.

food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Long time customer gets let down

Dined on April 11, 2016

I first started coming to Fleming's in 2009 - I came back for the lovingly grilled steak and impeccable service. Hadn't been back in about 2 years and was there for a reunion with a colleague and friend for whom Fleming's had been a regular stop. A couple little nagging details stood out

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

ALWAYS A TREAT AND EXTRAORDINARY EVENING

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Outstanding service, quality food, wonderful experience, as always.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing night!

Dined on April 7, 2016

The food was beyond delicious, the ambiance can't be beat, and the service was fantastic. All of this combined to give us such a memorable night as we were celebrating a special occasion. The perfect choice for anyone who is looking for a wonderful meal and a special night!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A birthday treat

Dined on April 7, 2016

I was treated very special here for my birthday. Everybody said Happy Birthday to me and then someone came and brought be a $25 gift certificate and truffles. We order filet mignon and it was superb! The lobster mashed potatoes were awesome as was the Caesar salad. It was a memorable experience for me.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I love this place.

Dined on April 4, 2016

Whenever hubby and I need a date night, we default to Fleming's La Jolla. It's close to home, the service is great, and the food is always delicious. Even when something's "not right", they fix it. Ex. He ordered his steak medium rare but it was definitely more on the rare side. They quickly took it back, rectified and we were happy. I love that they have specials but the menu doesn't change. We're creatures of habit and get the same thing every time. Me? Hanger Steak small plate w/ the chilaquiles and fennel slaw and a side of truffle mashed potatoes. He gets the filet mignon with a baked potato or the creamed spinach. The bread and special butters are delicious and this time we got the crab cake appetizer as well. The wine list is impressive. We always get good service as well.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food snd sevice. Exactly what ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Fabulous food snd sevice. Exactly what we hoped for.

food3
ambience3
service5

The server was outstanding. The steak wa ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

The server was outstanding. The steak was ok. Donovans is better by far for the same price. I won't be back

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Solid Steakhouse

Dined on April 3, 2016

Our waitress, Jennifer, was great. It's a very big restaurant and it feels big. We came here for the steak and it was great. The onion rings are fantastic too!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always good!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Always a good time here. Food is great and always prepared to our liking. Service is always good. Never had an issue. Great steaks!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great prime rib special

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Hadn't had prime rib in years.....theirs was very good. Great wine information on iPad and we enjoyed two new wines. We will be back, but make sure you don't get seated next to a large party in a small room. Hard to talk.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Flemings Steakhouse

Dined on March 24, 2016

Great service & great steaks. Mixed drinks were good. I wish their beer selection was a little larger. Overall excellent dining experience.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing!

Dined on March 23, 2016

I took my boyfriend here for a birthday dinner and trust me we were NOT disappointed! It was some of the best steak that I have ever had. The only gripe that I would say that I have was that everything is paid for separately, nothing comes with anything and the "lobster side" that I ordered was soooo small that even my 5 year old would be looking for more. However, with all of that being said the service was excellent and the food was absolutely superb. A bit pricey, but as they say you pay for quality.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Flemings never disappoints!

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Always love Flemings and especially when they have their filet and lobster tail specials!! Julie

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The steaks were cooked perfectly and the ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

The steaks were cooked perfectly and the lobster bisque and mashed potatoes were great. Service was on point. Wished it was a little quieter for a dinner for 2 at 5:30 but still an amazing experience. We will be returning

food1
ambience3
service3

Meh - I had the surf and turf with their ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Meh - I had the surf and turf with their empanada appetizer. All of it was pretty bland and boring. Inferior to Outback Steakhouse. Even the cheap steaks from Vons that we grill out on our own are way better. Keep in mind, my favorite steakhouse is Capital Grille which is also a chain but has WAY higher quality cuts than Flemings. Despite the fact that Flemings is charging Capital Grill prices. You're better off going to Trulucks which is still not as good as Capital Grill but far superior to Flemings. But at least Trulucks has a better atmosphere. If you're just looking for a good steak, stick with Outback.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Saturday night dinner

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

We very much enjoy this restaurant. Their drinks are good, and the steaks and prime rib are outsrmtanding. We eat here often and have never had a bad experience. Highly recommend as best steaks in La Jolla.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Steak was excellent as usual! We were wo ...

Dined on March 15, 2016

Steak was excellent as usual! We were worried our toddler would be a bit awkward dining at a nice steak house but everything turned out great! Good thing too because we were both craving a delicious steak. All the staff was extremely friendly, and one even brought us chop sticks and plastic silverware for my son to play with and be distracted. My hubby tried their Monday special... What a deal! Delicious too.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great for romantic celebrations

Dined on March 14, 2016

We came for our wedding anniversary and was immediately greeted with an anniversary card. Our server also gave us a box of chocolate at the end of the night which was very sweet of him. The food was excellent! the steaks were cooked perfectly and the mac and cheese was amazing. The crab cakes were a bit on the salty side, but still very good. the bread was fresh with 2 kinds of whipped butter which was just over and beyond!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5

Delicious food and great waiter. It was ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

Delicious food and great waiter. It was just a little too loud for my taste.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special evening

Dined on March 11, 2016

We chose Flemings to celebrate our anniversary. It was fabulous. Food was terrific, service great, and the management made us feel so special by providing a champagne toast for the occasion and truffles for dessert. We will be celebrating here for some time to come!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoyed how the bone-in ribeye was "fr ...

vip
Dined on March 8, 2016

I enjoyed how the bone-in ribeye was "frenched" in that it was cut away from the bone. Much easier to eat and great flavor. A wide by the glass wine selection offers something for everyone.

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Good food, mediocre value.

Dined on February 29, 2016

Food was good, although filet was under-seasoned, also, Chilean sea bass and asparagus were a bit overcooked. Mark-up of wine and booze is ridiculous; a glass of Kim Crawford Sauv Blanc is the same price as a bottle of it at the local grocer. Ambiance was nice, but not likely to return due to decent quality but overpriced.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We went there for our anniversary dinner ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

We went there for our anniversary dinner. The staff took a nice care of us with s nice table and a little sparkling wine to start things off. The food was excellent. Service was great. We topped of the evening with their chocolate lava dessert cake. Yummmmmmmy! I am already making plans to go back .

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.