Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

About Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.

8970 University Center Lane
San Diego, CA 92122
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sonoma Sunday Brunch & Dinner : 11:00am-9pm

Cross Street:
Lebon Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 535-0078

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/la-jolla

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $7.00. 3 Hour Validation when parking at Hyatt Self Park Garage in Aventine

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $49.95

Special valid Aug 30, 2017 - Oct 17, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $49.95

Special valid Aug 30, 2017 - Oct 17, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $49.95. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 30, 2017 - Oct 17, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (51)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Good for a Date (30)
See All
Good for Birthdays (30)
Business Meals (22)
Romantic (19)
Notable Wine List (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Cozy (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Casual (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Authentic (3)
Fun (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
963 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great service. Friendly and good costumer service. Food was excellent. Nice and romantic. At fist I was too cold inside the restaurant and the mananger turn the AC down for me so that oncould have a good time.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Date night at Flemings, our favorite steak house in San Diego. Awesome drinks, wine and steaks!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service, delicious food . The fish was melting in our palette. Had great night !!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Always a great choice. Have been to Flemings before in other cities. This one in San Diego was no exception. Great service. Great food! Thanks!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We enjoy coming here went specifically for a special which apparently ended but still had a great time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 8, 2017

This place is simply cash. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a great steak and awesome cocktail selection.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2017

I had the Wedge Salad and the 14oz (normal) Ribeye. Both were ok, but nothing to write home about.

The ribeye was pretty gristly, and overly salted. I have had better ribeyes at non-steakhouses for about half the price. The steak was thin instead of thick. Ribeyes can be thick, and I don't expect at 3/4-inch thick steak from a top steakhouse—I can get those at the grocery store. Finally, despite their 1600 F grilling temperature, the steak had only light browning over much of its surface.

The carrot was excellent, with great frosting. Big enough for two.

The big wine-by-the-glass pour seemed barely larger than a normal pour at other restaurants.

Service was attentive. They try, but the kitchen let them down.

Overall, dramatically overpriced for the quality of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Fleming's is always consistent in serving good meals. It's a good value.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Top Notch Service and food! Awesome spot for a kid-free date night!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Predictably good with exceptional service. Wedge salad was a bIt underwhelming, yet seafood and steak were perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Our food was great, the service was outstanding, and our waiter was able to provide an excellent wine pairing for my meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 2, 2017

An amazing dinner to celebrate our anniversary. We both had fillets, one bone in. Cooked perfectly. We both had the wedge. Very generous portion. Would recommend splitting. The Flemings potatoes were ordered as a side. Delish!! We ended the evening with the signature lava cake. Baked perfectly served with ice cream and a bowl of whipped cream on the side. The wait staff was very attentive. Kudos to all. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 1, 2017

My carnivorous 19 year really appreciates a good steak so Flemings is our go-to local spot when we are having a special occasion dinner. The steaks are top quality and the service is attentive without being obtrusive. There is a good selection of sides that are a very decent size for sharing with our family of 4 and the options for non-red-meat-eaters are decent enough to keep our 15 year old satisfied. The way the sun light pours into the dimly lit restaurant if you're dining early in the evening kind of messes up the ambiance but not to level that can't be tolerated. Replacing our appetizer forks with a chilled fork for salads seemed a bit silly as did the waitress leaving us a business card at the end of our meal but again, these are pretty minor things and we'll continue to have celebration dinners there.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Great food and exceptional service! Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Expect a little bit of a price increase at the La Jolla location.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Wonderful meal. Best ribeye we've had in a while. Everything was perfect. We were seated in the "back room" however and would have probably preferred the main dining room. Took off one star for that. We will be back though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Flemings is always the bestGreat food amazing service and a fun ambiance. The bar is tops. You can't go wrong

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

We had a lovely experience at Fleming's for a birthday celebration. The service was outstanding, as was the food - and we selected both steak and seafood options. We'll be returning to Fleming's.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Our "fine dining" server was lack-luster, but his server assistant was top notch. Food was yummy. Thank you for acknowledging our wedding anniversary!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Our favorite steak house. The food never disappoints and the wine list is great.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Seriously, it was Way Too Loud Inside to enjoy our meal together. Next time, I now know they offer an outdoor patio on the valet parking area where at least it's quieter. We enjoyed the food, service, reasonable wine bottle prices, but seriously couldn't hear ourselves think.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Always great service and food at Flemings. We went for brunch for the first time and it was wonderful. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Always amazing food and service. This is our favorite location and always at the top of our list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 13, 2017

This is a great special occasion restaurant. Food excellent, great staff and service team.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Very enjoyable meal, great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Fleming's is consistent for good value, food and service. We like to go their with friends because we always know what to expect.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service..this place was outstanding. The meat (prime aged ribeye) perfectly cooked and tasty. Special note for the bread and creamed cheese served at the begging.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great meal ( dry-aged NY like we used to get in San Francisco back in the 70s) wonderful service (ask for Chelsea) & quiet enough that we could easily chat. Enjoyed ourselves in every way. Loved those truffled mashed potatoes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Another awesome experience at Flemings. Coming here for years now. Right up there with the name steakhouses. Cannot say enough good things about this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Birthday for my friend Susan the waiters were all very very friendly and jovial

And she loved her box of something

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We enjoyed the limited time price fixe menu, a wine flight and a great ambiance. We always have a good time and enjoy our visit when we go!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Enjoyed the Prime Rib special with friends on Sunday and it was great. Food was great and in large quantity. This is not a special to miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 31, 2017

we ate at this restaurant as it was part of the Hyatt Regency complex. I habe to say that the kids menu was exceptional which was a surprise - the petite filet was good though a little too peppery for my taste. the prices were typical of steakhouse prices - which I always find silly -when I looked at the menu online -I must have been looking at the lunch menu because I remember thinking that it was surprisingly affordable -not the case!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great seafood tower. The price increases from $49 to $69 though in a year

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

In our opinion, Fleming's is the pinnacle of steakhouses! Everything is top notch: homemade bread, fillet mignon and bone-in ribeye, potatoes, and cocktails (especially the bourbon basil smash). The service is exceptional as well. Unbelievable restaurant!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 26, 2017

I was very disappointed in our last visit with a table of 10 on a Tuesday night. The restaurant was half full, and the time from ordering to delivery of food was about 45 minutes or more.
We had one child with us who wanted shrimp with pasta and butter. That is pretty typical for kids; however, Fleming's delivered a pasta/shrimp dish with cream and tomatoes. I should have returned it, but we had already waited so long; the 9 year old was too hungry to wait longer. They charged for a pasta dish and added charges for 2 sides of shrimp. Overpriced! They didn't even ask how many shrimp should go in the dish, so how did they come up with that formula? Myself, I ordered the 2 lobster tails; they were salty and slightly overcooked. The Brussels sprouts were overcooked and dry. The quality of Flemings La Jolla has declined, and I will find another steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Once we were seated in a quiet section of the restaurant all was well. In the main dining room the noise was positively deafening. Perhaps it doesn't matter if you don't wish to speak with your companion - but we three wanted to chat and fortunately we were able to do so!
Food was outstanding, prices on wine by the glass exorbitant, and service excellent.
I'd recommend this restaurant for special occasions or if you can write off any cost of the meal!

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The wait staff, specifically Dylen, were awesome! We appreciated so much the hospitality by everyone and how well we were taken care of. My wife and I had the opportunity to take out a great couple and were sat near the kitchen at the southeat side of the restaurant. Our table, Dylen, and the food were OUTSTANDING!!! I can't wait to go back and I hope that everyone has the same great experience we had.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Fleming's continues to be the best of the steakhouses. The aged ribeye was perfectly prepared, seared on the outside to lock in flavor and served sizzling. Minimal seasoning allowed the true flavor to be savored. Absolutely delicious. The Fleming's potatoes, as always, were the perfect accompaniment to the steak. This was also my first experience with the fresh chocolate lava cake (?). It was recommended by our server, Dylan, and I will now be recommending it. An excellent meal from start to finish.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 23, 2017

As always a good experience. I was however hoping to get another happy anniversary card from you guys like you gave us on our 11th. The waiter handed it to us when we sat down. That was cool. Maybe next time

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.