About Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla

8970 University Center Lane
San Diego, CA 92122
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sonoma Sunday Brunch & Dinner : 11:00am-9pm

Cross Street:
Lebon Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 535-0078

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/la-jolla

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $7.00. 3 Hour Validation when parking at Hyatt Self Park Garage in Aventine

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Walnut Turtle Pie
Filet Mignon Eggs Benedict
White Chocolate Bread Pudding
Potatoes O'Brien
Steakhouse Filet Mignon Cobb
Sauteed Green Beans
Lobster Bisque
Blood Orange Mimosa
Grilled Portabello
Seared Ahi Tuna
Kobe Beef Carpacio
Salad with Mustard Glaze
Surf & Turf
Mushroom ravioli in cream sauce
carpaccio
The Prime Burger
Main filet mignon
Fresh Berries And Chantilly Cream
Caesar Salad
Wedge Salad
Shrimp Plate
Beef Tenderloin Carpaccio
Fried Calamari
loaded baked potato
French Quarter Barbecue Shrimp
Sweet Chile Calamari
Pan Crisped Pork Belly
Bone In Ribeye
Steakhouse
Dessert
Small Plates - Background:  Filet Mignon Bites Over Risitto; Mid Ground: Lobster Tempura; Foreground:  Mini Lamb Lollipops
Crab Stuffed Shrimp

Promotions

Taste the Season Prix Fixe - Starting at $55.95*

Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Promotions

Taste the Season Prix Fixe - Starting at $55.95*

Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Details
Our limited-time three-course menu features a Filet Mignon paired with your favorite summer seafood selection—shrimp, Alaskan king crab or North Atlantic lobster. We add a spinach salad & a salted caramel gelato sandwich to complete the gathering. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
San Diego

special occasion (51)
fit for foodies (29)
romantic (25)
See All
good for groups (23)
notable wine list (23)
vibrant bar scene (9)
neighborhood gem (7)
kid-friendly (6)
hot spot (6)
great for brunch (4)
late-night find (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (1)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
648 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for dinner!

Dined 6 days ago

Great place for dinner!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Despite the ambience it was VERY noisy a ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Despite the ambience it was VERY noisy and every time the door was opened blinding sun came in. Also, there should be SOME kind of dresscode. The family next to us were dressed in T-shirts, ratty shorts and flip flops and the father wore his stupid ball cap all through the meal, never taking it off. At least long pants or shirts with collars should be expected for men and flip-flops discouraged.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service. We can't wait ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Amazing food and service. We can't wait to go back!

food4
ambience4
service2

Good good. Not so much with the service. ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Good good. Not so much with the service. Our water was empty for a while that I have to do sips to make it last. The beverage that my brother ordered didn't come in until towards the end of his meal. Also, when the server tried to correct the wrong by offering my brothe a refill, we were charged twice thinking it was a complimentary -- something I had to point out.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place to go to celebrate a special ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great place to go to celebrate a special occasion! Food is great , service is seamless and just a short ride from home!

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

I ordered med rare it came very rare in ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I ordered med rare it came very rare in center and medium well on the sides it was tough too too chewy service was very good though

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals we have ever had!

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Everything was outstanding, from the carpaccio appetizer and lobster bisque at the start, through the ribeye steak and creamed spinach, up to the berries-and-cream dessert and coffee. It was my birthday and they treated us like royalty.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Will come back!

Dined on June 7, 2016

Excellent Service. Manager stopped by to check in on us. Gave us a gift card to return since we were celebrating a birthday. Awesome wine list. Lava cake is to die for.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was outstanding. T ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

The food and service was outstanding. The most delicious steak I have ever had!

food5
ambience5
service5

Went for our wedding anniversary. They w ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

Went for our wedding anniversary. They were great and made it a special night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Outstanding dinner at Flemings

Dined on May 30, 2016

Outstanding food and outstanding service. That really says it all. Our waitress was one of the best we've ever had at Flemings and every one we have ever had has been great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

Excellent filet mignon and wedge salad. ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Excellent filet mignon and wedge salad. The two type of spreads with the bread were outstanding.

food5
ambience4
service5

Our food was amazing. The pork chop was ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Our food was amazing. The pork chop was presented beautifully.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was absolutely delicious. I ha ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was absolutely delicious. I had the Newport Filet with potatoes and my hubby had the seabass. We both remarked how the food was way better than "RC" Steak House. Only negative was that the restaurant had a very noticeable musty smell, I think from the carpet, but definitely in the air. Trust the Yelp reviews and order the Flemming's Potatoes, also order the crab cakes, yum yum yum.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered the lobster tempura, seared s ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We ordered the lobster tempura, seared steaks with spinach, braised spare ribs, and filet mignon. Everything we ordered was delicious. You have to order the chocolate lava cake after dinner. Super fancy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great to get awesome meal

Dined on May 21, 2016

Of course we know that with Fleming's you are in for an awesome high class meal. The steaks here are always greatly prepared. The Lobster mac and cheese stole the show this time. I highly suggest taking anyone here you wish to spoil with good food and a great setting to just enjoy a meal!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and amazing food!

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent service and amazing food!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Almost perfect

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Other than a very high noise level lasting until most of the dining room emptied, and a long wait for my turn for valet parking to get my car, the mal was outstanding. Superb steaks, properly cooked coupled with attentive and knowledgeable staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

over priced for a Steak with no accompan ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

over priced for a Steak with no accompany item. I Steak for 50.00 and not even a vegetable that might cost them a dollar a serving.

food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Steaks are a poor value and taste bad

Dined on May 13, 2016

I was shocked at the $50 + steak that was served to me. I order the prime ribeye ( I was told it was prime but there is no way) was such an inferior cut of meat. I've eaten at many high end steak houses from LA, NY, Miami and many more. I've eaten at the good chains like Ruth's Chris, Capital Grill, Lowry's etc. but I have never felt more ripped off for a tough (I ordered medium rare) thin low quality steak in my life. I've had better steaks at golden coral. I have no idea what this place thinks is a "prime" but the one they gave me sure was not. I will not be back and won't recommend this place to anyone.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server (Megan) was absolutely wonder ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Our server (Megan) was absolutely wonderful! She was attentive, friendly, knowledgeable, and fun to interact with. All staff members we interacted with were very complimentary and made us feel extremely welcomed. Overall, the experience was top-notch!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2

The food was good not great. I was expe ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

The food was good not great. I was expecting great food for the price point. Our server only check on once during our meal and never came back to take our second cocktail order.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great time. We celebrated our f ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

We had a great time. We celebrated our first year wedding anniversary and also my spouse birthday and we notified them in the reservation. Since we got there they were very nice and made our celebration extra special, had a card for us and even the manager came to wish us a happy anniversary and birthday. It was great!

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful dinner at Fleming's. ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner at Fleming's. Food, service and ambience all as expected from Fleming's. Staff are very friendly and attentive. We dined late night and our server was able to score a dessert martini for me even after the bar had closed. 😊

food4
ambience4
service5

Great Food But not as great as their pr ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Great Food But not as great as their prices suggest!

food4
ambience2
service1

The seafood tower here is excellent. Ser ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

The seafood tower here is excellent. Service this time around is absent. Skip the turtle cake. The crust is super hard and chewy.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best food and service ever

Dined on April 24, 2016

Best food and service ever

food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Way too expensive for what you get...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

This is a traditional steak house that offers primarily steaks with no accompaniments unless you order sides. The steaks run from the mid-forties to the mid-fifties, and the sides are around $11 each. So, one would expect a very good steak, salad and side. Not so much. The salad was small and mediocre. The steak was cooked properly, but a prime ribeye should not be tough or over salted. The creamed spinach was OK if you like horseradish in your spinach. My dining partner had to ask for a new dipping sauce since his was so salty, he couldn't eat it, and he loves salt! All in all, an expensive disappointment.

food5
ambience5
service5

Server was great and the right amount of ...

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Server was great and the right amount of attentive. Heather did a great job of checking in and ensuring we had a great experience. She couldn't deliver an off menu request but I know she tried and that is valuable and appreciated. Great experience. Consistent service, food and overall satisfaction- that's why we are regulars.

food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Long time customer gets let down

Dined on April 11, 2016

I first started coming to Fleming's in 2009 - I came back for the lovingly grilled steak and impeccable service. Hadn't been back in about 2 years and was there for a reunion with a colleague and friend for whom Fleming's had been a regular stop. A couple little nagging details stood out

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

ALWAYS A TREAT AND EXTRAORDINARY EVENING

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Outstanding service, quality food, wonderful experience, as always.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing night!

Dined on April 7, 2016

The food was beyond delicious, the ambiance can't be beat, and the service was fantastic. All of this combined to give us such a memorable night as we were celebrating a special occasion. The perfect choice for anyone who is looking for a wonderful meal and a special night!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A birthday treat

Dined on April 7, 2016

I was treated very special here for my birthday. Everybody said Happy Birthday to me and then someone came and brought be a $25 gift certificate and truffles. We order filet mignon and it was superb! The lobster mashed potatoes were awesome as was the Caesar salad. It was a memorable experience for me.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I love this place.

Dined on April 4, 2016

Whenever hubby and I need a date night, we default to Fleming's La Jolla. It's close to home, the service is great, and the food is always delicious. Even when something's "not right", they fix it. Ex. He ordered his steak medium rare but it was definitely more on the rare side. They quickly took it back, rectified and we were happy. I love that they have specials but the menu doesn't change. We're creatures of habit and get the same thing every time. Me? Hanger Steak small plate w/ the chilaquiles and fennel slaw and a side of truffle mashed potatoes. He gets the filet mignon with a baked potato or the creamed spinach. The bread and special butters are delicious and this time we got the crab cake appetizer as well. The wine list is impressive. We always get good service as well.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous food snd sevice. Exactly what ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Fabulous food snd sevice. Exactly what we hoped for.

food3
ambience3
service5

The server was outstanding. The steak wa ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

The server was outstanding. The steak was ok. Donovans is better by far for the same price. I won't be back

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Solid Steakhouse

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Our waitress, Jennifer, was great. It's a very big restaurant and it feels big. We came here for the steak and it was great. The onion rings are fantastic too!

food3
ambience5
service5

The food was over salted but the service ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

The food was over salted but the service and ambiance was awesome

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always good!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Always a good time here. Food is great and always prepared to our liking. Service is always good. Never had an issue. Great steaks!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great prime rib special

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Hadn't had prime rib in years.....theirs was very good. Great wine information on iPad and we enjoyed two new wines. We will be back, but make sure you don't get seated next to a large party in a small room. Hard to talk.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.