Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.56mi
  3. Distance: 0.59mi
  4. Distance: 0.81mi

About Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.

8970 University Center Lane
San Diego, CA 92122
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday : 5:00pm -9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lebon Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 535-0078

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/la-jolla

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $7.00. 3 Hour Validation when parking at Hyatt Self Park Garage in Aventine

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

On November 23 starting at 11AM, enjoy a Thanksgiving Prix Fixe featuring an amuse-bouche for the table to share, choice of soup or salad, a main course with all the trimmings and a seasonal dessert. Our table. Your Thanksgiving. Children's menu also available.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Good for a Date (23)
See All
Good for Birthdays (23)
Business Meals (19)
Romantic (14)
Notable Wine List (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Cozy (7)
Bar Seating (5)
Casual (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Fun (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Authentic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort by
S
989 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 2 days ago

Great time.....great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

The best Filet Mignon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

Got there 5 minutes before the reservation time. Almost 30 minutes later, we were taken to a small room in the back corner with 4 tables, only 1 of which was occupied. Room had 4 plain walls. Like sitting in a large closet. Food was good but expensive, service was OK. We'll stick with Ruth's Chris in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

 
·Dined 5 days ago

My only 2 complaints, a restaurant should not run out of water glasses in which it took almost ten minutes from seated position to get water. ALSO a restaurant at this level should not be so cheap with alcohol. Cranberry and Vodka, you should be able to taste some Vodka.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

The food is wonderful as is the service. The price is steep but every once in a while it is worth it especially for a special occasion. Our steaks had so much flavor. The Fleming's potatoes had the jalapeno flavor without being spicy. Leftover reheated spicier for some reason. It was a memorable dinner and evening!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 17, 2017

Great food & service. FLEMINGS never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 16, 2017

we have gone to flemings for our anniversary for several years. the steaks are outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 12, 2017

We had the tuna poke which was very well prepared and presented. Big soft chunks of tuna in a tangy sauce to go with some crispy wontons. Very good quality tuna. Also had the fillet mignon, also highly recommended. Everything was to our satisfaction.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 11, 2017

The standard for steak has been raised for us. We will now always compare it to this place. Definitely a 5/5 and we’ll be eating there again. The service was great, the manager was so friendly with everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Waited half to get wine once ordered, waitress just said bar was backed up, really?
Three of us ordered 12 oz Filet, heavily peppered and no flavor. At over $50 each expected a flavorful steak, no flavor and not tender, Overall a bad dinner at over $200 would not return,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Great food with service to match! A little noisy but worth it

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 31, 2017

The food was delicious, but the service was quite spotty. The restaurant was not super busy and so it was annoying. Left a nice tip, but probably shouldn’t have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on October 30, 2017

Our dinner was wonderful. The portions were perfect and the meal, truly mouthwatering. The service was great too! The experience was exactly what we expected, we will definitely return.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 30, 2017

I had the Sunday special prime rib and it was excellent food and reasonably priced.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Another wonderful evening of fine dining at Flemings!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

Everything was exceptional. Our service was wonderful. The food was outstanding. I think I had the best salmon I have ever had! No complaints at all.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 27, 2017

The steaks are consistently excellent. That said, they also are consistently too expensive. This place aims at the expense account business diner or the well-heeled tourist, not the typical diner. The server was a bit inexperienced, and one would think at these prices, they would have excellent servers. In addition, the waitstaff all seemed to be female- another nod to the outdated traditional concept of a "business man's dinner".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 22, 2017

Ever a treat, Fleming's really outdid themselves this time with the prime rib, which was among my personal top three EVER. Wish they had it other days, not just Sunday, but I suppose then it wouldn't be quite as special...

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Always dependably excellent food and service with the most perfect oceanfront seating. Can’t be beat!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Service was phenomenal, and the atomsphere was great. Definitely a little pricey, but totally worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 8, 2017

It’s Fleming’s right. Always an amazing meal. Cason was a rock star server along with his support team. Sean and Elizabeth (two managers) checked in several times. Great dinner date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 2, 2017

Bread was nice, staff were slightly slower on getting bread but extremely quick with refilling beverages, and were very friendly. When I sat down however, I was asked, "Is this the Qin party" even thought we already confirmed our reservations earlier. It also sounded like the waitress was asking "Is this the kid party" which is pretty insulting. We were young, but I don't think that should be a question you ask the people at the table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Very fine dining, especially impressed with the service--perhaps the best we two 75-yr. olds have EVER experienced! Worst aspect -- was very loud

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Steak was perfectly cooked to my liking! Staff are very attentive, welcoming and nice! I really enjoyed my visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great service. Friendly and good costumer service. Food was excellent. Nice and romantic. At fist I was too cold inside the restaurant and the mananger turn the AC down for me so that oncould have a good time.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Date night at Flemings, our favorite steak house in San Diego. Awesome drinks, wine and steaks!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Excellent service, delicious food . The fish was melting in our palette. Had great night !!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Always a great choice. Have been to Flemings before in other cities. This one in San Diego was no exception. Great service. Great food! Thanks!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We enjoy coming here went specifically for a special which apparently ended but still had a great time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 8, 2017

This place is simply cash. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a great steak and awesome cocktail selection.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 7, 2017

I had the Wedge Salad and the 14oz (normal) Ribeye. Both were ok, but nothing to write home about.

The ribeye was pretty gristly, and overly salted. I have had better ribeyes at non-steakhouses for about half the price. The steak was thin instead of thick. Ribeyes can be thick, and I don't expect at 3/4-inch thick steak from a top steakhouse—I can get those at the grocery store. Finally, despite their 1600 F grilling temperature, the steak had only light browning over much of its surface.

The carrot was excellent, with great frosting. Big enough for two.

The big wine-by-the-glass pour seemed barely larger than a normal pour at other restaurants.

Service was attentive. They try, but the kitchen let them down.

Overall, dramatically overpriced for the quality of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Fleming's is always consistent in serving good meals. It's a good value.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Top Notch Service and food! Awesome spot for a kid-free date night!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Predictably good with exceptional service. Wedge salad was a bIt underwhelming, yet seafood and steak were perfect.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Wonderful food. They went the extra mile for my wife, who has food sensitivity issues. Unforgettable anniversary dining experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Our food was great, the service was outstanding, and our waiter was able to provide an excellent wine pairing for my meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 2, 2017

An amazing dinner to celebrate our anniversary. We both had fillets, one bone in. Cooked perfectly. We both had the wedge. Very generous portion. Would recommend splitting. The Flemings potatoes were ordered as a side. Delish!! We ended the evening with the signature lava cake. Baked perfectly served with ice cream and a bowl of whipped cream on the side. The wait staff was very attentive. Kudos to all. We will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 1, 2017

My carnivorous 19 year really appreciates a good steak so Flemings is our go-to local spot when we are having a special occasion dinner. The steaks are top quality and the service is attentive without being obtrusive. There is a good selection of sides that are a very decent size for sharing with our family of 4 and the options for non-red-meat-eaters are decent enough to keep our 15 year old satisfied. The way the sun light pours into the dimly lit restaurant if you're dining early in the evening kind of messes up the ambiance but not to level that can't be tolerated. Replacing our appetizer forks with a chilled fork for salads seemed a bit silly as did the waitress leaving us a business card at the end of our meal but again, these are pretty minor things and we'll continue to have celebration dinners there.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Great food and exceptional service! Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Expect a little bit of a price increase at the La Jolla location.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.