About Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla

8970 University Center Lane
San Diego, CA 92122
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sonoma Sunday Brunch & Dinner : 11:00am-9pm

Cross Street:
Lebon Drive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 535-0078

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ca/la-jolla

Parking Details:
Valet Parking $7.00. 3 Hour Validation when parking at Hyatt Self Park Garage in Aventine

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Filet Mignon Eggs Benedict
Walnut Turtle Pie
Steakhouse Filet Mignon Cobb
White Chocolate Bread Pudding
Potatoes O'Brien
Sauteed Green Beans
Lobster Bisque
Blood Orange Mimosa
Grilled Portabello
Kobe Beef Carpacio
Seared Ahi Tuna
Salad with Mustard Glaze
Surf & Turf
carpaccio
The Prime Burger
Mushroom ravioli in cream sauce
Main filet mignon
Fresh Berries And Chantilly Cream
Wedge Salad
Caesar Salad
Fried Calamari
Shrimp Plate
Beef Tenderloin Carpaccio
Pan Crisped Pork Belly
Sweet Chile Calamari
Bone In Ribeye
French Quarter Barbecue Shrimp
loaded baked potato
Steakhouse
Dessert
Crab Stuffed Shrimp
Small Plates - Background:  Filet Mignon Bites Over Risitto; Mid Ground: Lobster Tempura; Foreground:  Mini Lamb Lollipops

Specials

Celebrate Thanksgiving With Us

Thursday Nov 24, 2016 from 11:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Specials

Celebrate Thanksgiving With Us

Thursday Nov 24, 2016 from 11:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Details

On November 24 starting at 11AM, enjoy a four-course meal featuring an amuse-bouche for the table to share, choice of soup or salad, a main course with all the trimmings and a seasonal dessert. Our table. Your Thanksgiving. $39.95 per guest. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid on Thursday Nov 24, 2016 from 11:00 AM - 8:00 PM.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - La Jolla Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Notable Wine List (30)
Romantic (23)
See All
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Business Meals (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Private Room (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Cozy (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Casual (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Authentic (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
Newest
692 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Ambience and food is always good but the ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Ambience and food is always good but the service always seems a bit off. It's the 2nd time I've eaten here in a couple of months and the managers, host and waitstaff all seem so snooty like we're bothering them. Maybe my $1,000+ bills aren't high enough to rate pleasant attitudes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

It was an awesome dinner! The server wa ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

It was an awesome dinner! The server was outstanding and the food preparations were TOP of their game. The entire meal from the greeting at the door to the water pours, everyone and everything was PERFECT.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Private Room, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our servers were excellent and very atte ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Our servers were excellent and very attentive. Very nice portions of food. And all was delicious. Two managers came by to make sure we enjoyed our meals and asked about our service, which we all enjoyed both. We all had the Sunday evening special, prime rib, and the meal included a delicious dessert which we could choose. We look forward to returning to Flemings.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I went to celebrate his b ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

My husband and I went to celebrate his birthday. We both had the prime rib dinner special and it was fabulous! We also had crab cakes as an appetizer..YUM!

Our service was great April did an amazing job and her busser was always right there to fill our waters and tea.

I had the molten cake for dessert and it was good, but there was a lot of cake and very little molten goodness.

We will be back and had a great dining experience!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Private Room, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prime rib special can't be beat - lots o ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Prime rib special can't be beat - lots of good food at a great price. Look forward to the next special.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

As always, an excellent, warm and friend ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

As always, an excellent, warm and friendly experience coupled with a great meal!

Tags: Happy Hour, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food / experience. Parking stinks ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food / experience. Parking stinks so valet is a must...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Making our way through the Fleming's men ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Making our way through the Fleming's menu, two dishes at a time—although it's hard not to order our favorites (like the pork belly) again and again… It was a delight to discover that yes, the polenta served with one dish could be readily subbed for an accompaniment in another one.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Private Room, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and food as always. Rememb ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Great service and food as always. Remember to save room for the lava cake.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

My last experience wasn't so great. Ther ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

My last experience wasn't so great. There were a few things wrong, and I wasn't too happy. This time, however, all was right on the beam. I judge any company for what they do when there are problems and how they correct issues. Flemming's gets a big happy face.

Everything from quality of the appetizers, the nice steak, to the chocolate lava cake was perfect Our server, Miss Meggan, was top shelf as well.

The entire night was perfect. We lacked for nothing. Honestly, this is what I would expect at a place of this caliber. We weren't disappointed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with grand daughters family. 4 had ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Went with grand daughters family. 4 had steak--strip, filet and rib eye were great. Lobster tails were generous but a bit dry. Overall great dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We ventured away from the steaks this ti ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We ventured away from the steaks this time (well, one of us did) and discovered that the smaller plates and appetizers, particularly the pork belly, are worth the visit as well. Good job, Fleming's!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As usual, Flemings delivers an outstandi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

As usual, Flemings delivers an outstanding experience. The food tasted excellent. The temperatures on the steaks were a little off from what we ordered (one under/one over), but the taste was still great, and we didn't want to wait for things to be re-fired.

Our server didn't seem to know about any of the specials. I receive regular emails and he was completely unaware of the offers, one of which both my husband and I both ordered. The filet and lobster prix fixe meal, was a great price and absolutely delicious. What a way to celebrate our anniversary!

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We liked everything about our meal excep ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We liked everything about our meal except that with six people no conversation could be heard across the table. The service, however, was outstanding. Our server accommodated all our needs and desires.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was absolutely delicious. I'm ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Everything was absolutely delicious. I'm a vegetarian and I love this place. The burrata salad and the Flemings potatoes are so yummy. The blueberry lemon drop and desserts are so wonderful. I love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ordered Prime New York But its not t ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We ordered Prime New York

But its not the first time that the cut is not good.. Looks like the serve the end of the piece of the cut,, full of nerve and fat..

Make sure you ask for the center cut of the piece..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Had a really nice dinner and service thi ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Had a really nice dinner and service this time around. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was good but the kitchen needs t ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Service was good but the kitchen needs to learn how cook steaks

Both our steaks had multiple levels of doneness from rare to well despite our requests for medium

It is unfortunate for a steakhouse not to know how to cook a steak to a consistent level of doneness

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Have not been here in awhile, welcomed m ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Have not been here in awhile, welcomed me back like family treated us like friends.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As always Flemings is outstanding. We ha ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

As always Flemings is outstanding. We had gone to church and then went there for brunch. Food was amazing and the staff was wonderful. Would be great for more discount to customers we come a lot

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The filets were the best we have had in ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The filets were the best we have had in years.....their potatoes are delicious....I also liked their lemon drop and my husband liked the beer on tap. We will definitely go again and I have already recommended it to friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We waited about 10-15 min before anyone ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We waited about 10-15 min before anyone greeted us at our table our server was not attentive at all our drinks were empty many times the lobster bisque was served with shrimp not lobster, the prime rib was the worse I had ever had. The wedge salad spinach and soup was the only good part of our meal.

They threw our left overs away which was a side of Mac N Cheese so they remade is a 1/2 order to go which was really watery.

A manger came over and apologized but that was it.

We frequent Flemings and have never had such horrible food and service with them before

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Every one including the Manager was very ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Every one including the Manager was very professional and very accomodating I had no complaints. The attention my wife and I got for our special Anniversary on 8/14/16 was great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An incredible experience. Great food and ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

An incredible experience. Great food and service. Perfect for special events!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak ever! Had a visit from the re ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Best steak ever! Had a visit from the regional corporate chef at our table to assure we were happy with the way our meal was prepared!

Tags: Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was excellent except no one r ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Everything was excellent except no one refilled our water glasses. So, we had to grab a water pitcher of our own since no one else would do it. We even had our hands up and people walked buy with tunnel vision. How can you be aware of your tables with tunnel vision? Our server was not one of the tunnel vision crew. She finally had time to spend with us write before dropping off the bill.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Brunch & the complimentary mimosa were d ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Brunch & the complimentary mimosa were delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Celebrated a birthday. Good was excellen ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Celebrated a birthday. Good was excellent as well as the service from all the staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Staff, food and evening was perfect! Th ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Staff, food and evening was perfect! They make you feel special and take their time, don't rush you out!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

my wife and i both ordered steaks medium ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

my wife and i both ordered steaks medium well (filet mignon). mine was medium rare and my wife's was very well done/dry/charred. she commented on her steak to the server and she took it off our bill. thank you. i didn't say anything about mine. she ordered baked potato without cheese or sour cream. i ordered a loaded baked potato. both baked potatoes had very little butter, no chives or bacon. very little sour cream. i requested more butter and sour cream and server brought a very small container of each. finally, we ordered the pork belly appetizer, having had it elsewhere and really liking it. our order of pork belly was all fat and no meat. the other times we've had it there was more meat than fat. we were kind of surprised that the meal was so substandard. we had a good experience last time we went.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

Loved the experience. Made my 21st wedd ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Loved the experience. Made my 21st wedding anniversary very special.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steak and mashed potatoes were outstandi ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Steak and mashed potatoes were outstanding. Spicy Thai green beans were good(menu should have plain green beans without sauce). We had Happy Hour in the bar, when they came to seat us we were told that we could not take our remaining drinks into the dining area. Bar tender said, "finish them in the bar or leave them". TOTALLY RIDICULOUS!!! Another problem is we could NOT find self parking and had to pay $9 valet plus $2 tip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Been here several times. The food is alw ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Been here several times. The food is always top quality. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Had a wonderful time. It was my wife's ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Had a wonderful time. It was my wife's birthday and the staff went out of their way to make sure our dining experience was the best. Our food was fantastic and cooked to perfection and presentation excellent. We particularly appreciated the small box of Truffles and the $20.00 discount towards brunch at a future date. All and all it was by far the best dining experience we have ever had. Better than Ruth's Chris and much better than Donovan's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always fine at Flemings the food is grea ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always fine at Flemings the food is great and people r fantastic great service too

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing dinner at Fleming's t ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Very disappointing dinner at Fleming's tonight. Service was so-so, prices very high, and food not up to par. I had to send back my filet mignon, as it was not medium rare as ordered. Not what you'd expect at a steak house! (Maitre d' comp'd it, however.) Also, when I asked for a recommendation for a certain type of wine, the server suggested the most expensive option. Service overall was mediocre. Our last visit my husband ordered the Wagyu steak, the most expensive menu item, and found it unexceptional and certainly not worth the money. he mentioned it but nothing was done about it. (To be fair, we had a $50 gift card as AmEx cardholders.) That visit the service was great and we had a pleasant experience. After this time, we won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

A lovely night for our 36th wedding anni ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

A lovely night for our 36th wedding anniversary! Everything was perfect! The food choices were exceptional and had a great selection of steak, seafood and sides! Will definitely go back and not just once per year!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious prime rib three course meal!! ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Delicious prime rib three course meal!! Service was fabulous except I had to ask for the same thing twice, and it came out as the wrong request. Other then that it was a fabulous Sunday date night!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The staff were professional and the serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The staff were professional and the server was excellently pleasing esp we have our 3 year old with us for a dinner date.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. We had a booth b ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was excellent. We had a booth by the kitchen. Which was a little quieter.

Like looking to see what was going on in the kitchen.

Our waiter, Peter, was excellent as well.

Brought our own wine. $25. Corkage which is a little high. But we like to bring our own wine.

The cork was bad, Peter did his best and even filtered it twice for us.

I had a prix fix dinner that I would recommend. My husband had steak.

We had a very nice evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.