About Fleming's Steakhouse - Indianapolis

8487 Union Chapel Road
Ste120
Indianapolis, IN 46240
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 466-0175

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/in/indianapolis

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Romantic (25)
Notable Wine List (21)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Good for Groups (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
590 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One cannot go here with out getting the ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 5 days ago

One cannot go here with out getting the Wagu Steak.. This is by far the best New York strip I have ever put in my face. We try to go here at least once a quarter, although they are a bit pricey, the food and the service make up for it.. Ask for either Jonathan or Oscar, you will not be disappointed

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I have to begin by admitting I rarely fi ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined 5 days ago

I have to begin by admitting I rarely fill out comment cards. It doesn't matter if my experience is awful or amazing I usually keep my comments to myself. My experience is my own and so many factors can go into a personal experience. I should also state that this was not my first time using the Open Table App but was the first time I didn't research the restaurant, at least a little, before making a reservation.

That being said...... The staff and food at Fleming's Steakhouse was amazing. We were in town for a pig show at the Indiana State Fair. A group of us decided to go out to eat last minute while we were sitting in the pig barn. We didn't know what kind of food we wanted but we did know that we didn't want to wait for a table or drive around to unknown places with 6 people.

At 7:50 was able to reserve a table for 6 at 8:30 the same evening through my Open Table App. When I made the reservation I didn't look at the menu, prices or photos. I was only concerned about the type of food served (the group voted steaks or Italian), distance and seating for 6. We showed up at this very nice steakhouse in our smelly barn attire. We had a classic deer in the headlights look on our faces and almost walked out after opening the front door of the restaurant but we were starving, didn't have a backup plan and needed to get back to the fairgrounds to water and feed the pigs before heading to our hotel. The hostess was the first to greet us and she didn't even bat an eye and treated us like we were dressed and smelled like we were ready for a night on the town instead of the barn. The rest of the staff had the same poker face throughout our whole meal. Not one staff person made us feel like we needed to apologize for being there and for that we were grateful.

Thank you Fleming's Steakhouse staff in Indianapolis for making our meal wonderful. If nothing else, you had a good story to tell your family at your next friends and family meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first time at Flemings - loved the l ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our first time at Flemings - loved the layout - not as crowded as Sullivans. Hostess was pleasant and helpful - no wait on our table with a reservation through Open Table.

Bread came out with a pair of flavored butters. Both were great. We both chose the special - Filet with Shrimp and Scallops. Seafood was good, filet was not up to par. Manager stopped by and asked our opinion - we told him our disappointment in the filet. He apologized and had the Chef visit our table. The Chef - Aziz - explained that they would be changing their supplier for their meats and within a month would be cutting their own steaks. He asked us to try them again and gave me his card - so he can make us something special on our return trip.

We are very likely to return in a few months to see how / if the changes mentioned are implemented.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Fleming's provides excellent food and se ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 5 days ago

Fleming's provides excellent food and service! A wonderful restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We celebrated a birthday, ordered the ch ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We celebrated a birthday, ordered the chilled seafood tower which was delicious. My husband ordered the ribeye, the steak he got looked more like a filet mignon. He enjoyed the steak very much. I ordered a small plate, the shrimp and scallop on top of shredded vegetables. The shrimp was maybe a little over cooked, the sauce over the vegetables wasn't all that flavorful. We had salads that we both enjoyed a lot.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Very pleasant experience. Absolutely no ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Very pleasant experience. Absolutely no complaints except that prices were on the high side with everything being ala cart.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfectly modulated attentive hospitalit ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Perfectly modulated attentive hospitality/service. Salad, seafood, and steak came to table split on two plates as ordered. Nice chocolate truffles as birthday treat to take home

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two things First I need to change my e-m ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Two things

First I need to change my e-mail address on my account and cannot find where to do this.

Second We enjoyed this meal and the people we dealt with.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

They did exactly what I asked for my ann ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

They did exactly what I asked for my anniversary. Managers called and verified my instructions. They were tipped handsomely for their effort!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The service was exceptional, including t ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The service was exceptional, including the Waiter, his support and the management made our evening very enjoyable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Because of its pricing, Flemings is defi ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Because of its pricing, Flemings is definitely a special occasion restaurant. We had not been there for awhile but went for our anniversary. The calamari was as good as any I have ever had and the ribeye was also as good as any I have ever had anywhere. The sides are very good and large portions. Overall one of the best meals we have had in a long time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Service, Great Food! We will be b ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great Service, Great Food! We will be back. Thank you!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We hadn't been to Flemings in several mo ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We hadn't been to Flemings in several months, but friends of ours recommended we give it another try. Unfortunately, we were still disappointed. We split the steak and scallop entree. The steak was overcooked, dry and tough. The scallops were smaller than expected and almost tasteless. While the atmosphere is beautiful and it is close to our home, I don't think we'll go back again. For the prices, the food should be outstanding.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Awesome dining experience at Flemings! ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Awesome dining experience at Flemings! The crab cakes were among the best I have had. Their steaks are always cooked to perfection and the wine selection is great!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife's medium rare was medium well. ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

My wife's medium rare was medium well. The wedge salad had little flavor with an old bacon strip. In the positive my NY Strip was excellent. Also, it was a Friday night and no one was there. The restaurant needs help, no need to return. Too many other choices in Indy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

The waiter failed to deliver my salad & ...

vip
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The waiter failed to deliver my salad & was MIA most of the meal.

A manager had to jump in to provide basic service .

I eat at Flemings from time to time along with Ocean Prime & Ruth Chris.

After this experience it'll be a while before I'm back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Our server was slow and seemed inexperie ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Our server was slow and seemed inexperienced. Our steals were over-cooked. For the price I expected a lot better

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

Anniversary Dinner. Movie ended early s ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Anniversary Dinner. Movie ended early so we arrived 45 mintues early. They welcomed us and sat is right away. We had appetizer , salad main course and desert. (colossal shrimp, cesear salad, sea bass and sirloin stake, turtle cake, Tawney port and a nice Malbec). All were prepared with care and just right. Staff was friendly and personable, clearly working hard to find out what our questions were and match them with suggestions and options. Very clearly knew her stuff and knew when to check in. Music is a bit upbeat for the Steak Restaurant vibe but it did not detract... just a different take on Steak. They also gave us a box of chocolate truffles and a @25 gift card to boot. My wife and I thought it was really special and enjoyed it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Appetizers were over cooked and stingy o ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Appetizers were over cooked and stingy on sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Understaffed and overwhelmed..... Grante ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Understaffed and overwhelmed.....

Granted it was a holiday weekend, but its no excuse for a high end chain

Truly Disappointed

Steak came out wrong temp!!!

Wont be returning anytime soon

In the city that has so many steak options restaurants, they can't afford this kind of service!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Very good evening. this was an anniversa ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Very good evening. this was an anniversary but we enjoy Flemings other times.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding seafood/fish..not just steak!

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Although we think of Flemings as a Steakhouse, we enjoyed a perfectly prepared sea bass and shrimp and scallops. outstanding service too

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dry aged prime rid

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Dry aged prime rid

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

500 Feast

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Went on the Saturday before the race. Very busy and staff a bit strained, but overall, as usual, a wonderful experience. Butter tender to the fork filet, great sides and appetizers and a very good glass of cab for $8.50, which was clearly the best deal in the house!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wine Price

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

We had an issue with the wine price and I thought it could have been recovered better than it was. We were correct, and I thought they could have handled it better than they did. They corrected it, but I thought it could have been handled better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Our server Adam Englert "is" great. Ver ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Our server Adam Englert "is" great. Very Cooperative. We were kinda celebrating birthday (4 days late) but they treated us anyways. Would recommend going there at least once and then I am sure you will be hooked. Caesars salad has Bruschetta on it so if you do not do Pork, ask. But they replaced it for us. Service is great. Nice Wine Selection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our reservation was late and we ended up ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Our reservation was late and we ended up being the last party there, but the food and the service were still outstanding! The crab cakes are absolutely delicious! We took the desserts, creme brulee, to go, but even after we got it home it was still just as delicious as if we were eating it there. The staff was wonderful, and we didn't feel rushed at all though they were closing soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good. We liked the sma ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

The food was very good. We liked the small plates. BUT, our waiter was fantastic! Very attentive!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was great with the boys. Very ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Our server was great with the boys. Very accommodating. Not super fast, but solid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We love Flemings We celebrated our ann ...

 
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We love Flemings We celebrated our anniversary with surf and turf. The best in town. The best service in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Experience

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Everything was great. I was oddly enough the only one who ordered steak, but the filet was excellent and the porcini crust and gorgonzola cream was very nice. Typical steakhouse prices, but you got what you paid for. I'd definitely return..you've got Fleming's, Sullivans, and Ocean Prime all within spitting distance of each other :).

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Joint BD Celebration

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

The food was excellent & my steak cooked & seasoned to perfection. This was a joint birthday celebration for all 4 of us and the entire staff made us feel special. I would definitely recommend Flemings to a friend & plan to return soon.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Steak at Reasonable Price

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

I have been to many of the "named" steak houses, and Flemings is right up there in quality and probably a bit less expensive than most. The service was fine, the steak was cooked exactly to my specifications of medium rare +, and my accompanying Caesar salad was bountiful and delicious. The wine list is enormous including many by the glass at 6 or 9 ounces. I was too full to have dessert.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Always good

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a great dinner.

The food was very good but the service as always was outstanding. They make everyone feel like a regular.

I highly recommend. Jonathan (server) is a pro.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

LOVE LOVE IT!

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

LOVE LOVE IT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Restaurant

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

I don't think that there was anything that we did not enjoy at Fleming's. The Seafood Tower for an appetizer was delicious! The wine list is one of the best that you will find in the area. The steaks were cooked to perfection and the braised ribs were also enjoyed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fleming's Steakhouse never disappoints!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Fleming's Steakhouse has it down. The quiet ambiance, the excellent servers, the wine list and the scrumptious steaks, sides and alternatives for those not enamored by dry aged beef. Great desserts too as you would expect. They do it so well that others fall into the category of "pretenders " in my opinion - I'm not going to trash them, but if you have a choice, choose Fleming's - you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and attended to the needs ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Excellent food and attended to the needs with a gluten free menu. Also recognized a birthday with a special gift! Our waitress was outstanding! Very attentive without over-doing it. It would have been the perfect experience except they do not have gluten free bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Would Definitely Go Back

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We asked for a booth, which we received, but unfortunately it was the first booth next to the entrance to the dining area. It was between the main aisle, where a majority of the patrons were taken to be seated, and the bar -- quite a busy place. The service was outstanding as was the food. A great place to go for a special occasion. As someone else's review stated, it was the best wedge salad I have ever had. The steak was pretty darn good also.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Food quality

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

The french onion soup was burnt yet I paid $12.50! I mentioned it to my waitress and yet she didn't take the cost off my bill. I had crab legs and she brought a container with butter with a candle underneat however because the container was brought late in the meal and because there was so much butter to be melted by such a small candle, the butter solid and I couldn't dip the crab legs. The steak was cool...not even warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.