About Fleming's Steakhouse - Indianapolis

8487 Union Chapel Road
Ste120
Indianapolis, IN 46240
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 466-0175

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/in/indianapolis

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Castleton / Keystone Crossings ›

special occasion (59)
romantic (37)
notable wine list (35)
See All
fit for foodies (23)
good for groups (14)
neighborhood gem (13)
vibrant bar scene (6)
late-night find (6)
hot spot (5)
great for brunch (4)
great for lunch (2)
kid-friendly (2)
 (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
scenic view (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
565 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server Adam Englert "is" great. Ver ...

Dined 5 days ago

Our server Adam Englert "is" great. Very Cooperative. We were kinda celebrating birthday (4 days late) but they treated us anyways. Would recommend going there at least once and then I am sure you will be hooked. Caesars salad has Bruschetta on it so if you do not do Pork, ask. But they replaced it for us. Service is great. Nice Wine Selection.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Our reservation was late and we ended up ...

Dined 6 days ago

Our reservation was late and we ended up being the last party there, but the food and the service were still outstanding! The crab cakes are absolutely delicious! We took the desserts, creme brulee, to go, but even after we got it home it was still just as delicious as if we were eating it there. The staff was wonderful, and we didn't feel rushed at all though they were closing soon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good. We liked the sma ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food was very good. We liked the small plates. BUT, our waiter was fantastic! Very attentive!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4

Our server was great with the boys. Very ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Our server was great with the boys. Very accommodating. Not super fast, but solid.

food5
ambience5
service5

We love Flemings We celebrated our ann ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We love Flemings We celebrated our anniversary with surf and turf. The best in town. The best service in town.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Experience

Dined on May 12, 2016

Everything was great. I was oddly enough the only one who ordered steak, but the filet was excellent and the porcini crust and gorgonzola cream was very nice. Typical steakhouse prices, but you got what you paid for. I'd definitely return..you've got Fleming's, Sullivans, and Ocean Prime all within spitting distance of each other :).

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Joint BD Celebration

Dined on May 5, 2016

The food was excellent & my steak cooked & seasoned to perfection. This was a joint birthday celebration for all 4 of us and the entire staff made us feel special. I would definitely recommend Flemings to a friend & plan to return soon.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent Steak at Reasonable Price

Dined on May 3, 2016

I have been to many of the "named" steak houses, and Flemings is right up there in quality and probably a bit less expensive than most. The service was fine, the steak was cooked exactly to my specifications of medium rare +, and my accompanying Caesar salad was bountiful and delicious. The wine list is enormous including many by the glass at 6 or 9 ounces. I was too full to have dessert.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always good

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a great dinner. The food was very good but the service as always was outstanding. They make everyone feel like a regular. I highly recommend. Jonathan (server) is a pro.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

LOVE LOVE IT!

Dined on April 15, 2016

LOVE LOVE IT!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Restaurant

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

I don't think that there was anything that we did not enjoy at Fleming's. The Seafood Tower for an appetizer was delicious! The wine list is one of the best that you will find in the area. The steaks were cooked to perfection and the braised ribs were also enjoyed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fleming's Steakhouse never disappoints!

Dined on April 12, 2016

Fleming's Steakhouse has it down. The quiet ambiance, the excellent servers, the wine list and the scrumptious steaks, sides and alternatives for those not enamored by dry aged beef. Great desserts too as you would expect. They do it so well that others fall into the category of "pretenders " in my opinion - I'm not going to trash them, but if you have a choice, choose Fleming's - you won't be disappointed.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and attended to the needs ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Excellent food and attended to the needs with a gluten free menu. Also recognized a birthday with a special gift! Our waitress was outstanding! Very attentive without over-doing it. It would have been the perfect experience except they do not have gluten free bread.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Would Definitely Go Back

Dined on April 9, 2016

We asked for a booth, which we received, but unfortunately it was the first booth next to the entrance to the dining area. It was between the main aisle, where a majority of the patrons were taken to be seated, and the bar -- quite a busy place. The service was outstanding as was the food. A great place to go for a special occasion. As someone else's review stated, it was the best wedge salad I have ever had. The steak was pretty darn good also.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Food quality

Dined on March 27, 2016

The french onion soup was burnt yet I paid $12.50! I mentioned it to my waitress and yet she didn't take the cost off my bill. I had crab legs and she brought a container with butter with a candle underneat however because the container was brought late in the meal and because there was so much butter to be melted by such a small candle, the butter solid and I couldn't dip the crab legs. The steak was cool...not even warm.

food3
ambience4
service3

We went for Easter brunch as we have in ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

We went for Easter brunch as we have in past years. VERY disappointed. They got my husband's order wrong and neither tried to correct it nor offered anything in compensation. My prime rib was at least a third fat; so unusual for a premium steak place to have poor meat! It was just awful. This has been a favorite place of ours for years, but this meal was a total miss.

food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect food, perfect service.

Dined on March 19, 2016

Perfect food, perfect service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Start to a great weekend

Dined on March 18, 2016

We always like eating at Flemings due its consistency. When I say consistency I mean from the greeting when walking in to have a nice evening when you are leaving. Everything was fabulous great waiter and service staff. Drinks were refreshing and very much needed after tiring week in business. Food was fantastic. Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious food on the North Side

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

I recently brought friends with me to Fleming's for their first dining experience with the restaurant. We were seated in a timely manner and given our menus and wine/cocktail lists. There seemed to be some delay in getting the promotional menus for "Devour Northside" as the waitress checked on the availability of a specific brand of scotch. But once we got all the information, the service seemed much more timely and consistent. The appetizer (bread course) was quite delicious with a couple cheese based spreads available. The Fleming Salads were very tasty and the porcini ravioli was given high marks by my friend. The entrees were also delicious and came with potato (scalloped?) and green bean (Thai) sides. And the dessert (bread pudding with blueberry sauce) was tasty too. My only negative comment would be that I was surprised that the lady of the table was served last instead of first. That may sound old-fashioned, but it happened at each course and was noticed.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The entire experience was amazing. Dined ...

Dined on March 14, 2016

The entire experience was amazing. Dined there for Northside Nights. Server Jonathan was excellent. He was very professional. The manager that sat us was very nice and personable. The server came at the perfect intervals to check on us. My date didn't realize how small the portion was for the braised short rib portion (he's a big guy) and they let him keep it no charge and also gave him his new request . Treated his birthday quite special. Beautiful evening. Thanks

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Wonderful Evening

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Hosted a private party on a Sunday evening. The food and wine exceeded expectations. For dessert, the creme brulee is a must!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Party Sean to get lost in the shuffle.

Dined on March 13, 2016

Party Sean to get lost in the shuffle.

food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Your steak was just OK Did you chan ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Your steak was just OK Did you change vendors? we ate at Ocean Prime and there steak was excellent

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another fabulous experience!

Dined on March 12, 2016

We had company in from out of town and decided to return to Flemings. We had been there with them the last time they were here. It happened to be during Devour Northside, and we made our Saturday night reservations before the DN menu came out. We were SO thrilled with the incredible value and the quality of the food we got! None of us "needed" the dessert, but we all finished the incredible multi-layer carrot cake. It has become our favorite place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4

Experience here wasn't what I expected. ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Experience here wasn't what I expected. I received a call confirming my reservation for 5pm. When I corrected the time and said I reserved for 4:30 she said open table shouldn't have Let me reserve for 4:30 since they don't open till 5pm. No apology on the mix up or anything. We get there 10 mins early and we are the first to arrive. We wait over at the bar chatting when I look up, notice it's 5pm and they have already sat 3 tables ahead of us. The bartender noticed at the same time I did and for us taken care of. I could go on but I don't have time. Food was good..not the best but the server Justin was awesome. Other than Justin and the bartender the attitude was not welcoming. Doubt I'll go back. Carrot cake was really good though

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great dinner - special occasion

Dined on March 9, 2016

We had a great steak dinner with Fleming Potatoes (outstanding). Service was impeccable. We will return soon for the Sunday Prime Rib special.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply Great!

Dined on February 28, 2016

What a great night out! Fleming's differentiates itself from its comparable counterparts by serving up an eclectic array of offerings (spicy/seafood) not normally found at such restaurants- highly recommended! The Sunday-night special was well worth the money!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Night Out!

Dined on February 15, 2016

The food was as expected- top notch!! The steaks are as good as any in town! Highly recommend if you are looking for quality meal and classy environment. The service was as good as the food!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Flemings, Indy Northside

Dined on February 15, 2016

This was my second time at a Flemings Steakhouse and again, I wasn't disappointed. Probably one the best steaks I've had. The restaurant menu is a little pricey for the everyday diner, but this is definitely a place to treat that special person in your life to dinner. If you have a client that is impressed with great food, take them. If the client is on the frugal side, I wouldn't.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great dinner.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food, great dinner.

food3
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent! The cocktails ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The service was excellent! The cocktails....the cocktails were neat and delicious. My wife and i had an amazing experience.

food5
ambience4
service5

Had never been before but the strip mall ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Had never been before but the strip mall location hides a little gem of a restaurant.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Very good

Dined on February 14, 2016

Overall it was a good experience. The blueberry/lemon martinis were excellent, the potatoes and the dessert were also top notch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Nice Valentine's dinner

Dined on February 13, 2016

Had reservations for Valentine's dinner. We were a few minutes late and were seated immediately. The food was outstanding. I had filet and lobster and bacon wrapped shrimp for appetizer. My wife had a filet. Both steaks were cooked perfectly and juicy. The shrimp was very good. The Fleming potatoes are an outstanding side. The man that brings the wine to the table was very friendly and knowledgeable that you can't help but smile while he is at your table. Since it was Valentine's weekend, it appears that extra tables were placed in between the normal seating, so it was a little crowded and a little more conversation noise than some of the other similar style steak houses. Our server was a very nice young man. I think he may be a little new or was just very busy. He never did bring out any bread and he brought the drawn butter for the lobster about 4 minutes after the dinner was brought out. The butter was not warm until the last couple of bites of the lobster. I also had creme brulee for dessert. I get this at every place that I can. I will say that Flemings ranks in the top 2 that I have had. The food was great and warrants repeat trips.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Overpriced food that just wasn't that great

Dined on February 13, 2016

This was our third time here and we were disappointed with the food and the service. Our server was nice but rarely came back to refill our drinks. If we wanted anything we had to try to flag her down. My husband ordered lobster tails and he said they were very dry. I had the Portobello mushroom ravioli and there were only three small raviolis - much smaller than this dish used to be - and the cost was $13.95. Based on the cost of our meals $90 (and we had no alcoholic beverages or dessert, we won't return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great steaks

Dined on February 12, 2016

My 8 oz. filet was truly spectacular on this night which is why I am submitting a review. My companion really enjoyed her small plate hangar steak too and it was ample food. The service was excellent and we had a nice table (not close to the bar with its visible-from-the-dining-room TVs).

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

very good food. great service from management

Dined on February 7, 2016

great service from management, who helped when steak was not done enough. good advice from server on side dishes. dessert was just right

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Filet can't be beat, and always get maca ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Filet can't be beat, and always get macaroni and cheese. My husband and I make sure we save room for the amazing chocolate molten cake.

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Disappointing for the high prices

Dined on February 6, 2016

This is my first review of a restaurant, and I appreciate OpenTable giving me the opportunity to share more about our experience. My husband and I ate dinner at Fleming's in Indianapolis last weekend after receiving a gift card for Christmas. We enjoy eating out at nice restaurants, and it is always a treat for us. We were underwhelmed with both the food and service at Fleming's. (We have been to the location in Sarasota, FL before and loved it!). We were told right away that we would have two different servers for the night, which overall worked out alright. It did seem like that they didn't communicate with one another and one often stopped by right after the other waiter did to ask us the same question. We also had an error on our bill (charged for a drink we didn't order) and the waiter originally blamed it on the other server. He did take care of it after apologizing and removed it from our total. The food was the most disappointing. We both ordered cocktails which were below average for the $15 price tag. Instead of spending $50 on a steak (we often grill at home), we opted to try a few appetizers and small plates. The small portion of calamari ($18) was tough and the sauce did not stay on the breading. My husband and I commented that it was some of the worst calamari we have had at a restaurant. We did enjoy the crab cakes ($18) and the side of Fleming's potatoes ($11) that we ordered. They were worth the money. We also had the braised short rib ($23) and it was terrible. I mean this in the nicest way possible, but it was like a tough cut of beef that I cooked in my crockpot. Our bill was over $120, and if not for the $100 gift card, we would have been very upset that we spent this money on a disappointing meal. My husband I made the comment to each other that when we want a nice meal out at prices comparable to Fleming's, we will always choose to go to Ocean Prime across the street. I hope someone else finds this review helpful.

food3
ambience4
service4

The food was good. Two of our groups got ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

The food was good. Two of our groups got steaks and they were very happy with the choice. One child got a cheeseburger and they were very happy with it. Another in our party had crab legs which were excellent. Only thing that wasn't above average was the chicken that one of our party ordered. Great sides especially the green beans which had a little kick. Flemings potatoes and the chocolate soufflé were both excellent. As good a high end restaurant as there is on the north side probably as good as there is in town. This place can go toe to toe with Elmo's or any other top restaurant in Indy.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.