About Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston

2405 W Alabama Street
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Argonne Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 520-5959

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/tx/houston

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Beef Tenderloin Carpaccio
Pan Crisped Pork Belly
Chocolate Lava Milkshake
Blueberry Lemon Drop Martini
Cedar Roasted Mushroom And Artichoke Flatbread
Prime Burger
Onion Rings
Braised Short Rib Empanadas
Filet Mignon Flatbread
Chipotle Cheddar Macaroni and Cheese
Porterhouse For Two
Porterhouse
Truffle Parsley Mashed Potatoes
Chocolate Lava Cake
Lobster Lettuce Wraps
Sweet Chile Calamari
Roasted Mushroom Ravioli
Housemade Burrata
Baked Brie
Fleming's Potatoes
Dry Aged Ribeye
Creme Brulee
Roasted Mushroom Ravoli
Salt & Pepper Shrimp
The Prime Burger
Tenderloin carpaccio
Baked Brie In Puff Pastry
Bread

Specials

Celebrate Thanksgiving With Us

Thursday Nov 24, 2016 from 11:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Specials

Celebrate Thanksgiving With Us

Thursday Nov 24, 2016 from 11:00 AM - 8:00 PM

Details

On November 24 starting at 11AM, enjoy a four-course meal featuring an amuse-bouche for the table to share, choice of soup or salad, a main course with all the trimmings and a seasonal dessert. Our table. Your Thanksgiving. $39.95 per guest. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid on Thursday Nov 24, 2016 from 11:00 AM - 8:00 PM.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Houston
Notable Wine List
Houston
Best Restaurants in River Oaks ›

Special Occasion (45)
Notable Wine List (34)
Romantic (29)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Cozy (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Business Meals (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Scenic View (2)
Fun (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
People Watching (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Casual (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great Beer (1)
Private Room (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
Newest
696 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food and service was fantastic!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 2 days ago

Food and service was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Chilean sea bass was over cooked & d ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

The Chilean sea bass was over cooked & dry. The filet was medium rare. Requested medium. Food was dropped off at table & nobody checked on us until we finished eating. That's when we explained the condition of our meals. A $25 Flemings gift card was given to us but we were told we couldn't use it for this meal. It required us to return for another visit. I thought that was poor customer service. Oh well. I'm not returning. The food was nothing special unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

A friend and I went to Flemings for a ni ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

A friend and I went to Flemings for a night out on the town. We arrived around 6:30 PM with reservations the main dining was not crowded and the waitress we had was fantastic and very helpful on helping us decide on entrees. We got the 1/2 plate of petite beef with fleming potates and the 3 course steak entree. The steaks were juicy and we had them cooked Medium and well. The coffee crusted steaks had a nice mild flavor. The side of thai green beans were good and not spicy as they may sound. The manager came over to make sure everything was OK. The waitress was very attentive, the water bearer was constantly looking for glasses to fill.

A very nice atmosphere, delicious food and great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go to Flemings 10-12 times a year but th ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Go to Flemings 10-12 times a year but this might be the end of that. For the third visit in a row, my ribeye had no flavor and the sides were not much better, either. My date had the tuna and enjoyed it but there are too many options to keep going back knowing it will underwhelm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

American wagyu strip was superlative!!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

American wagyu strip was superlative!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for my B-day Sunday evening, great ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Went for my B-day Sunday evening, great bartenders, wine selection, meal was cooked perfect, not my first choice for a Steak House, but I was pleasantly surprised.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service, and wine list. ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Excellent food, service, and wine list. Always a top place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fleming's is always a great experience!!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Fleming's is always a great experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed this latest visit, for ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

I really enjoyed this latest visit, for a father-son birthday dinner. Food and service were Flemings-typical (great), and the restaurant did a great job of making the kid feel special, topping off the meal with a box of chocolates and a gift card for his next visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Private Room, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Becky was a great waitress as was the re ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Becky was a great waitress as was the rest of the staff, made my b-day special.....thanks

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Seafood entrees were excellently prepare ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Seafood entrees were excellently prepared. One was from the restaurant week menu & the other (shrimp & scallop small plate) from the regular menu. Will return soon & often to try more selections at the bar. Very vibrant scene during happy hour.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal at Fleming's. Our wa ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Another great meal at Fleming's. Our waiter was outstanding (think his name was Charles) and really made our date night a nice one. We will be back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Flemings for Houston Restaura ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We went to Flemings for Houston Restaurant Weeks and it was amazing. The steak was delicious, the staff was super friendly and attentive, and the complimentary bread and cheese spread they served at the table were so good we had to take some home.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The management and our waitress Brittney ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The management and our waitress Brittney was amazing!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Charles offered excellent, unrushed, cla ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Charles offered excellent, unrushed, classy service. Warm and charming, Charles had an extensive knowledge of the menu. Wine list was varied, beer selection had some nuance but no local breweries. Good bourbon selection. I mentioned my wife's birthday in the open table notes and she was congratulated when we walked in and multiple times in the evening.

We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were 3 people, They charged us for 4 ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

We were 3 people,

They charged us for 4 people.

Had to talk to several people at the restaurant to get it resolved.

It took 3 days to get the credit account straitened up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Food was delicious! Really enjoyed the ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Food was delicious! Really enjoyed the Restaurant Weeks menu.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wine tasting is a must. Sam and the staf ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Wine tasting is a must. Sam and the staff are awesome and offer a wide variety of wines. The seasonal menu is a much better offer than Houston restaurant week menu.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

My friends who met me here showed up alm ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My friends who met me here showed up almost an hour late, but the staff at Flemings were still very accommodating and understanding and made sure I was taken care of while waiting and jumped right in the groove once they arrived. The food was good and the service was stellar :-)

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Flemings on W Alabama is one of my favor ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Flemings on W Alabama is one of my favorite restaurants in Houston! The food and service is always excellent. I strongly recommend it for anything for a special occasion to just last minute dining out! You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the prime rib special is our favorite; ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

the prime rib special is our

favorite; Stacy our server was the best.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I went there to celebrate my ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My wife and I went there to celebrate my birthday and the meal was outstanding. All service personnel from the valet, to the hostess, to the waiter (and bus man) were VERY friendly and professional. the food was exactly what we were hoping, my wife had the Chilean sea bass and I had the 12 oz. filet mignon, both were prepared per our liking and both combined really well with the fleming's mash potatoes. We tried the wines suggested by the waitress (friendly and competent) and both went really well with our meal.

to top it off, the restaurant provided a card and chocolates to mark my b-day (and a discount card for our next visit). It was a really nice meal. we will be coming back

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistent, high quality, dining experie ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Consistent, high quality, dining experience. Service is good and personal. Will go back regularly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really enjoyed it.

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Really enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Only issue was noise level which because ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Only issue was noise level which because there wasn't stable available made it impossible to talk at times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an amazing engagement celebration ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had an amazing engagement celebration, they went above and beyond and it was better than we could have hoped for. Mandy Patteraon was so sweet and just took very good care of us on our special night., and Jennifer our waitress was excellent! As always, from the moment we arrived, from getting congratulations from the hostesses to the special attention to detail we will never forget our night. Thank you to Mandy and Jennifer and the entire Fleming's staff from the bartenders to the bus boys and food runners. Outstanding service. This is why I always come back and it is my favorite restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fleming's is one of our favorite spots. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Fleming's is one of our favorite spots. Food is always outstanding and the service is prompt and courteous . Highly recommend the rib eye and mac & cheese.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and simply great good. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent service and simply great good... Fantastic crab cakes !!! A very nice place period.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure! The food and service ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always a pleasure! The food and service are always outstanding! A great steakhouse.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good restorant, is the second time we go ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Good restorant, is the second time we go and is always perfect.

I wil put ligth a litle bit higher.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

excellent service; we love having Stacy ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

excellent service; we love having Stacy waiting on us.

we enjoy the prime special; very affordable at $29.95.

we will be back.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jennifer - superb staff. Sam- brilliant ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Jennifer - superb staff.

Sam- brilliant manager.

Made our dining experience very special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great dining experience from th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Always a great dining experience from the initial greeting by the hostesses to the outstanding wait staff and of course the excellent food. My favorite restaurant in Houston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful anniversary dinner . ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We had a wonderful anniversary dinner . Brittany took excellent care of us . The manager fixed my salad as it had bacon on it & I am vegetarian. Excellent food & customer service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'm a regular at Fleming's and have dine ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I'm a regular at Fleming's and have dined at 5 of your locations across the country. My wife and I go to the Houston River Oaks location at least once a month. I had the 12 oz prime rib for the first time and I was very disappointed..... It was FULL of fat (50% at least) and the steak lacked the quality and flavor that the other cuts of meat regularly have .

My wife had the 8 oz filet and it was excellent as usual, as were our sides (Au Gratin Potatoes + Sauteed Spinach), but the prime rib was a real letdown. The service, wedge salad, specialty cocktails and wine were excellent as always.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

As always, the service at Flemings was g ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

As always, the service at Flemings was great. The Waygu NY Strip was amazing. However, we got the mussels for an app and they were not good at all. Very fishy. I am a fan of mussels and eat them regularly and these were very foul smelling and tasting. But overall the experience was a good one. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fleming's went all out for us for our an ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Fleming's went all out for us for our anniversary. I told them in my online reservation that it was our anniversary, and they were ready. They started with special flowers for the table. They also gave us a happy anniversary card that was hand signed by the staff.

We had a wine tasting and started with the pork belly appetizer that was divine. Our waiter Charles is also a sommelier who helped us pick fabulous wine. We shared the dry aged ribeye medium rare with truffle mashed potatoes and asparagus. The steak was perfect, tender and juicy. We finished with the lava cake.

There were a few other anniversary treats up their sleeve, but I won't ruin the surprise. New tradition, I believe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is clearly a high end steakhouse wi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

This is clearly a high end steakhouse with prices to match but you do get what you pay for.

Wine list is on an iPad which room a moment to understand but when I did it made finding the wine we wanted a lot easier.

The salads were delicious without being too heavily dressed. We ordered a bone in ribeye between us which came out with the whole rib attached which was slightly comedic but it was done perfectly. Medium rare, light char lines on the outside and perfectly rendered fat. Delicious. Paired it with mushrooms and Fleming's potatoes (version of daupinoise).

The most entertaining touch is that the waiter left us his card. I have to say that was a first for me!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent and our waiter ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was excellent and our waiter was extremely attentive. The food wasn't as good as Eddie V's steak and potatoes or Del Frisco's. Some may love the place. We just aren't fans of bland food and it was a bit pricey for what we ordered in my opinion.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Very nice. Really enjoyed it.

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very nice. Really enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.