About Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston

2405 W Alabama Street
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Argonne Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 520-5959

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/tx/houston

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Beef Tenderloin Carpaccio
Pan Crisped Pork Belly
Chocolate Lava Milkshake
Blueberry Lemon Drop Martini
Cedar Roasted Mushroom And Artichoke Flatbread
Prime Burger
Onion Rings
Braised Short Rib Empanadas
Chipotle Cheddar Macaroni and Cheese
Truffle Parsley Mashed Potatoes
Porterhouse For Two
Porterhouse
Filet Mignon Flatbread
Chocolate Lava Cake
Lobster Lettuce Wraps
Sweet Chile Calamari
Roasted Mushroom Ravioli
Housemade Burrata
Baked Brie
Fleming's Potatoes
Dry Aged Ribeye
Tenderloin carpaccio
Roasted Mushroom Ravoli
Salt & Pepper Shrimp
Creme Brulee
The Prime Burger
Baked Brie In Puff Pastry
Bread

Promotions

Taste the Season Prix Fixe - Starting at $55.95*

Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Promotions

Taste the Season Prix Fixe - Starting at $55.95*

Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Details

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Houston
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Houston
Best Restaurants in River Oaks ›

special occasion (40)
notable wine list (35)
romantic (22)
See All
good for groups (11)
fit for foodies (11)
neighborhood gem (9)
vibrant bar scene (8)
hot spot (6)
great for brunch (5)
great for lunch (3)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
668 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service and simply great good. ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service and simply great good... Fantastic crab cakes !!! A very nice place period.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure! The food and service ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always a pleasure! The food and service are always outstanding! A great steakhouse.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

excellent service; we love having Stacy ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

excellent service; we love having Stacy waiting on us.

we enjoy the prime special; very affordable at $29.95.

we will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jennifer - superb staff. Sam- brilliant ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Jennifer - superb staff.

Sam- brilliant manager.

Made our dining experience very special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great dining experience from th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Always a great dining experience from the initial greeting by the hostesses to the outstanding wait staff and of course the excellent food. My favorite restaurant in Houston.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful anniversary dinner . ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We had a wonderful anniversary dinner . Brittany took excellent care of us . The manager fixed my salad as it had bacon on it & I am vegetarian. Excellent food & customer service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'm a regular at Fleming's and have dine ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I'm a regular at Fleming's and have dined at 5 of your locations across the country. My wife and I go to the Houston River Oaks location at least once a month. I had the 12 oz prime rib for the first time and I was very disappointed..... It was FULL of fat (50% at least) and the steak lacked the quality and flavor that the other cuts of meat regularly have .

My wife had the 8 oz filet and it was excellent as usual, as were our sides (Au Gratin Potatoes + Sauteed Spinach), but the prime rib was a real letdown. The service, wedge salad, specialty cocktails and wine were excellent as always.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

As always, the service at Flemings was g ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

As always, the service at Flemings was great. The Waygu NY Strip was amazing. However, we got the mussels for an app and they were not good at all. Very fishy. I am a fan of mussels and eat them regularly and these were very foul smelling and tasting. But overall the experience was a good one. Will definitely go back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fleming's went all out for us for our an ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Fleming's went all out for us for our anniversary. I told them in my online reservation that it was our anniversary, and they were ready. They started with special flowers for the table. They also gave us a happy anniversary card that was hand signed by the staff.

We had a wine tasting and started with the pork belly appetizer that was divine. Our waiter Charles is also a sommelier who helped us pick fabulous wine. We shared the dry aged ribeye medium rare with truffle mashed potatoes and asparagus. The steak was perfect, tender and juicy. We finished with the lava cake.

There were a few other anniversary treats up their sleeve, but I won't ruin the surprise. New tradition, I believe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is clearly a high end steakhouse wi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

This is clearly a high end steakhouse with prices to match but you do get what you pay for.

Wine list is on an iPad which room a moment to understand but when I did it made finding the wine we wanted a lot easier.

The salads were delicious without being too heavily dressed. We ordered a bone in ribeye between us which came out with the whole rib attached which was slightly comedic but it was done perfectly. Medium rare, light char lines on the outside and perfectly rendered fat. Delicious. Paired it with mushrooms and Fleming's potatoes (version of daupinoise).

The most entertaining touch is that the waiter left us his card. I have to say that was a first for me!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent and our waiter ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service was excellent and our waiter was extremely attentive. The food wasn't as good as Eddie V's steak and potatoes or Del Frisco's. Some may love the place. We just aren't fans of bland food and it was a bit pricey for what we ordered in my opinion.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Very nice. Really enjoyed it.

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very nice. Really enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a fantastic place! Sam and his tea ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

What a fantastic place! Sam and his team always give top notch service that enhances the fabulous food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The prime rib special is a good value. O ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The prime rib special is a good value. Our server Jennifer was terrific, attentive and fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We love dining at Fleming's and this was ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We love dining at Fleming's and this was not our first (wont be our last). The food is very good yet the service is where they really beat all other steak places in Houston.

During this visit we discovered that they have outdoor seating (something that we constantly look for since we have a 11month old) and can't wait to go to Fleming's brunch to enjoy eating it out on their patio setup.

The warm bread and two spreads are to excellent. Like I said... We love it here !

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My fiance and I decided to dine at Flemi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

My fiance and I decided to dine at Flemimgs to celebrate our anniversary. The food was good; however, the noise level was ridiculous. We had trouble hearing each other and the waitor. Flemings is best suited for a business lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Food was not very good. So loud we had ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Food was not very good. So loud we had to move

Service was ok

Will not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

Wonderful Experience

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We decided to use a gift card given to us by a friend that we have held onto for quite awhile. From the moment we arrived, we felt welcomed. The Hostesses were very friendly and seated us quickly. Our server, Terrance, was fantastic. He arrived immediately and made sure we took a look at the drink menu (they have a really nifty app for drinks that is so much fun to look at), and truly exceeded our expectations. His recommendations were spot on, and timed our food and drinks perfectly. The drinks were delicious, the food was fantastic, and the dessert was decadent. We ordered calamari for an appetizer (absolutely amazing), my husband ordered a steak that he devoured, and I ordered the red snapper (the special for the evening), and we shared the molten chocolate cake... which by that time we were so full, but it felt like a crime if we did not finish. The manager visited us, and she was absolutely one of the most kind individuals you could meet. Truly, a fantastic experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old and Stayed

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Time for a remake of this venerable establishment. While food is still good, ambience is out dated and prices a bit steep for this greying establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Requests not honored; bad service

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

I have been a regular at Fleming's River Oaks since it opened, frequently hosting business dinners and special occasions for friends. My most recent visit (and probably my last) was very disappointing. I was entertaining business clients, and we were on a very short timeframe for dinner. I specifically called the restaurant ahead of time and requested that our waiter not offer us any dessert, coffee, etc. following the entrees. However, during the meal, our waiter not only pushed the chocolate lava cake on us, but he then pushed dessert and even presented each guest with a dessert menu. All of this on top of bringing me the wrong salad at the start of the meal. I'm not surprised that the dining room is not as crowded as it once was. Disappointing all around on service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Great food, solid value

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Excellent for a date night. Filet mignon was delicious as was the red snapper special of the day. Creamed spinach is one of the best in the city. Service was perfect.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We always like Flemings. The steak was ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

We always like Flemings. The steak was good but I did not like the green beans with the spicy Asian sause. It was too much and not what I like with a Steak

I did not like the asparagus with the red bell pepper. Bell peppers overwhelm any dish. I would rather taste just the asparagus. It seems like Flemings is so afraid to let their vegetables stand on their own. The chocolate cake is very good. Very good service from Nester.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Flemings Mgmt in W Alabama location know ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Flemings Mgmt in W Alabama location knows what they are doing. Sam and his team are incredible. My wife was indeed happy to have our three kids there BUT the service and great food made it complete. Can't say more. Thank you Flemings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Mothers Day Brunch

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Fantastic place to take your wife for a quite get away. Perfect portions for a mid day meal.F

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a great restaurant.

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

We eat a lot at Ruths Chris back home. This was much better. The steak was flavorful, the portions big, the wine list extensive and the server was professional and fun.

Go there.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable.

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

Very enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great anniversary meal

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

My wife and I went to Fleming's to have a special meal for our 11th anniversary and that is what we got.

From the start the experience was very special. At the hostess desk we were warmly greeted by name and given congratulations for our milestone. At our table there was a complimentary flower display and a thoughtful card from the manager (Mandy, who stopped by the table to give her personal congratulations). Our server was excellent and very helpful. He guided us through the menu including a - can't go wroing - choice of dessert (all sounded delicious, but we had the Lava cake... and it was.... delicious). Our meals were cooked to our liking, my wife had the seabass and I had the 12 oz filet, both delicious. If all hat wasn't enough for a great meal (and it was), our server brought us a $25 gift card to entice us to come back.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent service was outstandi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was excellent service was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a wonderful experience.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We had a wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a Winner

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We are never disappointed with Fleming's. It is my beef-lover husband's favorite steak spot, and I love the steaks, and fish. They have a newish dish that I have had twice, a Chilean Sea Bass with a broth and veggies that is my new favorite. We go to Flemings for special occasions and date nights when we want to have a wonderful and relaxing meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Meat

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Very good steaks -- nicely cured, delicately seasoned, and cooked to a perfect medium rare. Service was attentive but not intrusive. Creamed spinach was lovely.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent!!! We highly recommend Flemin ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Excellent!!! We highly recommend Flemings Steakhouse on Alabama. Sam Governale and his team are top notch. We had an absolutely wonderful meal and evening. Thank you, thank you, thank you! Well be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best service ever!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

This was our first tie to visit Fleming's and we loved it! The food was exceptional and the service was outstanding! We were referred by good friends and will definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a fabulous treat to have dinner h ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Always a fabulous treat to have dinner here. The food was incredible and the wine recommendation from a previous visit worked well with our selections

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The prime rib special is the reason we a ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

The prime rib special is the reason we always return to Fleming's - oh and the Fleming's potatoes and warm turtle cake.

Their other steaks are acceptable but better versions of those are available at other steakhouses around town.

However the prime rib can't be beat anywhere else in Houston (not even Laurenzo's).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Perfection!!! Enjoyed the Easter Brunch ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Perfection!!! Enjoyed the Easter Brunch on 3/27

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always love the prime rib and the bluebe ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Always love the prime rib and the blueberry lemon drop martini is the best I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an amazing time and an amazing ex ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We had an amazing time and an amazing experience. We went for my birthday for the second year in a row. Food and service were second to none. The manager came by and gave us great wine suggestions. Mussel appetizer was very good. My new favorite place in Houston.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Please go there if you want to enjoy a g ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Please go there if you want to enjoy a great evening !! Food is awesome. Try the chili calamari wrapped bacon scallops Yummy !!! Normally I never write a review. But this one is a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Prime Rib

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The prime Rib special is terrific. Everything was delicious and you can't beat the price! No matter what I order, it is good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.