About Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston

2405 W Alabama Street
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Argonne Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 520-5959

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/tx/houston

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (47)
notable wine list (40)
romantic (31)
See All
good for groups (13)
fit for foodies (13)
vibrant bar scene (9)
neighborhood gem (6)
great for brunch (5)
late-night find (5)
great for lunch (4)
hot spot (4)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
647 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, solid value

Dined 5 days ago

Excellent for a date night. Filet mignon was delicious as was the red snapper special of the day. Creamed spinach is one of the best in the city. Service was perfect.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

We always like Flemings. The steak was ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

We always like Flemings. The steak was good but I did not like the green beans with the spicy Asian sause. It was too much and not what I like with a Steak I did not like the asparagus with the red bell pepper. Bell peppers overwhelm any dish. I would rather taste just the asparagus. It seems like Flemings is so afraid to let their vegetables stand on their own. The chocolate cake is very good. Very good service from Nester.

food5
ambience5
service5

Flemings Mgmt in W Alabama location know ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Flemings Mgmt in W Alabama location knows what they are doing. Sam and his team are incredible. My wife was indeed happy to have our three kids there BUT the service and great food made it complete. Can't say more. Thank you Flemings.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mothers Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Fantastic place to take your wife for a quite get away. Perfect portions for a mid day meal.F

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great restaurant.

Dined on May 2, 2016

We eat a lot at Ruths Chris back home. This was much better. The steak was flavorful, the portions big, the wine list extensive and the server was professional and fun. Go there.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Very enjoyable.

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

Very enjoyable.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great anniversary meal

Dined on April 23, 2016

My wife and I went to Fleming's to have a special meal for our 11th anniversary and that is what we got. From the start the experience was very special. At the hostess desk we were warmly greeted by name and given congratulations for our milestone. At our table there was a complimentary flower display and a thoughtful card from the manager (Mandy, who stopped by the table to give her personal congratulations). Our server was excellent and very helpful. He guided us through the menu including a - can't go wroing - choice of dessert (all sounded delicious, but we had the Lava cake... and it was.... delicious). Our meals were cooked to our liking, my wife had the seabass and I had the 12 oz filet, both delicious. If all hat wasn't enough for a great meal (and it was), our server brought us a $25 gift card to entice us to come back.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was excellent service was outstandi ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

Food was excellent service was outstanding

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful experience.

Dined on April 17, 2016

We had a wonderful experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a Winner

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

We are never disappointed with Fleming's. It is my beef-lover husband's favorite steak spot, and I love the steaks, and fish. They have a newish dish that I have had twice, a Chilean Sea Bass with a broth and veggies that is my new favorite. We go to Flemings for special occasions and date nights when we want to have a wonderful and relaxing meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good Meat

Dined on April 9, 2016

Very good steaks -- nicely cured, delicately seasoned, and cooked to a perfect medium rare. Service was attentive but not intrusive. Creamed spinach was lovely.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent!!! We highly recommend Flemin ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Excellent!!! We highly recommend Flemings Steakhouse on Alabama. Sam Governale and his team are top notch. We had an absolutely wonderful meal and evening. Thank you, thank you, thank you! Well be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best service ever!

Dined on April 2, 2016

This was our first tie to visit Fleming's and we loved it! The food was exceptional and the service was outstanding! We were referred by good friends and will definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a fabulous treat to have dinner h ...

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Always a fabulous treat to have dinner here. The food was incredible and the wine recommendation from a previous visit worked well with our selections

food4
ambience3
service4

The prime rib special is the reason we a ...

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

The prime rib special is the reason we always return to Fleming's - oh and the Fleming's potatoes and warm turtle cake. Their other steaks are acceptable but better versions of those are available at other steakhouses around town. However the prime rib can't be beat anywhere else in Houston (not even Laurenzo's).

food5
ambience5
service5

Perfection!!! Enjoyed the Easter Brunch ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Perfection!!! Enjoyed the Easter Brunch on 3/27

food5
ambience5
service5

Always love the prime rib and the bluebe ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Always love the prime rib and the blueberry lemon drop martini is the best I've ever had.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had an amazing time and an amazing ex ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

We had an amazing time and an amazing experience. We went for my birthday for the second year in a row. Food and service were second to none. The manager came by and gave us great wine suggestions. Mussel appetizer was very good. My new favorite place in Houston.

food5
ambience5
service5

Please go there if you want to enjoy a g ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Please go there if you want to enjoy a great evening !! Food is awesome. Try the chili calamari wrapped bacon scallops Yummy !!! Normally I never write a review. But this one is a must.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Prime Rib

Dined on March 20, 2016

The prime Rib special is terrific. Everything was delicious and you can't beat the price! No matter what I order, it is good.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The prime rib special was excellent!

vip
Dined on March 17, 2016

The prime rib special was excellent!

food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Bad birthday.

Dined on March 17, 2016

The only thing good were the sides. Steak was dry and tasteless. Waiter tried to upsell everything. Have had much better meals at Saltgrass!! This will be our last trip to Flemings

food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Disappointing food

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

Have always loved Fleming's but had not been in a while. The food has changed and was not as good as it once was. Maybe it was an off night for the chef. Had to send back the crab cakes as the taste was off or they seemed past their serving time. The lobster tempura appetizer which has always been a favorite was very greasy. There are too many other choices in Houston for great food!

food5
ambience5
service5

It was great.

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

It was great.

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Loved it!

Dined on March 12, 2016

My husband and I have been here several times. We made the mistake of trying a different well known steakhouse last year and it was the worst experience. Flemings is the place to go for great tasting food and service. Steaks were perfect and the sides were exceptional. The chipolte mac & cheese has good flavor and it's very creamy with just enough of a bread crumb topping. The Flemings potatoes were so good with a hint of jalepenos. It's their version of a scalloped potatoes. We had left overs because we wanted to leave room for another favorite, chocolate lava cake. The hostess checked in to make sure we were getting good service, which we were. It's seemed to be a high priority.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience!

Dined on March 12, 2016

We greatly enjoyed our dinner at Fleming's. They had a surf and turf special, with filet and lobster, that was beautiful and delicious. The lava cake was a wonderful dessert. Service was especially pleasant and good, starting with being greeted by name at the front door and being well taken care of throughout the evening. Our only quibble: as the restaurant filled up, the noise level rose; we didn't have to shout, but the quiet conversation we started earlier in the evening became tougher to maintain. Still, a particularly good experience overall. There are a lot of good steakhouses in Houston, yet we always seem to find ourselves commenting on how pleasant our visits to Fleming's have been and how much we've enjoyed them. We look forward to returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

I'm a regular at Fleming's and the food ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

I'm a regular at Fleming's and the food and service is usually very good. Unfortunately, our server was in the weeds, so we didn't get the wine menu when it was requested, so our meals went without wine. He didn't return until ten minutes after we were done eating. He apologized for not coming back and said he got slammed, so I didn't mention the wine or dessert that we wanted to order.

food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely fabulous !! I totally recomm ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Absolutely fabulous !! I totally recommend Flemings on W Alabama.

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Disappointing visit

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

We had not been to this neighborhood location for a while and thought we'd go back for a celebration dinner. The steak was not cooked correctly and under seasoned. The French fries were terrible. The best part of the meal was the cocktails, Caesar salad and wine. Very disappointed and will not be back or recommend.

food4
ambience4
service5

The food was delicious and it was great ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

The food was delicious and it was great to have the chef walking around to greet guests.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a Great Meal!

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

We are never disappointed when we dine at Flemings. I was extra happy with a new fish dish on the menu that was out of this world. My husband had his usual New York strip and felt it was the sure fire hit he is always happy with. Service was excellent!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service2

Temporary folding tables u can't fit und ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Temporary folding tables u can't fit under, signature dessert not available by 8pm, waiter forgot appetizer, 1 of 2 steaks cooked wrong. Unacceptable for a $300 holiday dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fleming's in Houston was excellent

Dined on February 15, 2016

Excellent food, wine list, and service! Made Valentine's day very special!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another excellent dining experience at Fleming's

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

We have been to Fleming's Steakhouse on Alabama Street many times, particularly for special occasions and it never fails to please. This time was no exception. We consider Fleming's Steakhouse to be one of the finest steakhouses in Houston.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent, prompt peronalized service by ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent, prompt peronalized service by waiter and wait staff - consistently excellent service on every visit. My daughter loved the birthday gift.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing, selection of wine ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was amazing, selection of wine was incredible and the server had great knowledge. And the food stood out with its presentation and flavor. Servers were attentive as you finish your plates. As is was super busy we still had great service.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful experience

Dined on February 13, 2016

Ambiance was perfect for a romantic dinner. The entire staff provided outstanding service, especially our waitress Becky. The Managing partner; without intruding, came by to make sure everything was perfect. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible evening. They had it all read ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Incredible evening. They had it all ready for my special one and guests. They are incredibly service oriented, oh wait, food was spectacular. Steaks and seafood. WOW!!!

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

wAGU BEEF OVER RATED - MORE GRISTLE AND ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

wAGU BEEF OVER RATED - MORE GRISTLE AND FAT THAN EXPECTED

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Oh Wow, it was great. They had it all re ...

vip
Dined on February 11, 2016

Oh Wow, it was great. They had it all ready for me and my buddies that I invited. We had appetizers of top quality at the bar and I have to tell you that when they pour you a glass of wine they don't skirt you either they just pour as if you own the place. The lady at the reception/host was incredible and Manager came to say hello. I highly recommend Flemings on W Alabama. I go there often and I feel like it's family.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.