About Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston

2405 W Alabama Street
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Argonne Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 520-5959

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/tx/houston

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Beef Tenderloin Carpaccio - Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Pan Crisped Pork Belly - Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Prime Burger - Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Onion Rings - Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Braised Short Rib Empanadas - Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Chocolate Lava Milkshake - Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Blueberry Lemon Drop Martini - Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Cedar Roasted Mushroom And Artichoke Flatbread - Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Filet Mignon Flatbread - Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Chipotle Cheddar Macaroni and Cheese - Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Porterhouse For Two - Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Porterhouse - Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Truffle Parsley Mashed Potatoes - Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Chocolate Lava Cake - Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Lobster Lettuce Wraps - Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Sweet Chile Calamari - Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Roasted Mushroom Ravioli - Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Housemade Burrata - Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Baked Brie - Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Fleming's Potatoes - Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Dry Aged Ribeye - Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Creme Brulee - Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Roasted Mushroom Ravoli - Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Salt & Pepper Shrimp - Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
The Prime Burger - Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Tenderloin carpaccio - Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Baked Brie In Puff Pastry - Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX
Bread - Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston, Houston, TX

Specials

Gifts to give, presents to keep.

Special valid Nov 29, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Gifts to give, presents to keep.

Special valid Nov 29, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

It’s the best season to give and receive. In the spirit of the holidays, we’re offering a $20 Bonus Card for every $100 purchased in Gift Cards. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 29, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (28)
Romantic (18)
Good for a Date (17)
See All
Notable Wine List (16)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Business Meals (6)
Cozy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Fun (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Private Room (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
People Watching (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Casual (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Authentic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
721 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Upscale Steakhouse with nicely portioned ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Upscale Steakhouse with nicely portioned serving sizes. I visited this restaurant for my mom's birthday (party of 6) and everyone enjoyed the experience. Our server was very busy however the support staff did a good job during the evening. The restaurant called in advance to confirm the birthday and warmly welcomed us upon arrival. I would visit this restaurant again and recommend the Chocolate lava cake for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Lovely Thanksgiving Day meal. I ordered ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Lovely Thanksgiving Day meal. I ordered from the regular menu and the steak was one of the best I have ever eaten -- expensive, but very, very good. My husband had the Thanksgiving meal and it was lovely as well. Service was friendly, informed, and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving Dinner ! ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving Dinner !

Thank you for the delicious food ,great service , festive feel , we will be back !!

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was the best thanksgiving lunch/dinne ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

It was the best thanksgiving lunch/dinner ever--I've been telling everyone---what a wonderful time my mother and I had!!!!

Thank you for making our holiday easy and enjoyable!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I referred my son and his fiancée there. ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I referred my son and his fiancée there. They were so happy. Thank you Sam and Staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good service along with good, con ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Really good service along with good, consistent food.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best experience in dining ever. !!!!!! ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Best experience in dining ever. !!!!!! Highly recommend Flemings !! Exceptional. Superb. My most important guests were so happy !!!!! Thank you Sam. Your team is amazing. !!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, service good, value is no ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was good, service good, value is not there, a 300% markup on wine is just not acceptable anymore, maybe in the old days, it's not like they need to make up for very affordable steak, with a decent steak costing $60 a pop. There are many more places in town for great steak at a much better value point.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value1

Great food and service.Be sure to get on ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Great food and service.Be sure to get on their email list to get notified of the specials!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a nice quiet place to visit with ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

It was a nice quiet place to visit with my son from out of town.

Anne Meltzer

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, a great time and great food lik ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Overall, a great time and great food like always. Yet, the music was a little strange for the venue. Love this place, but would love some classical music.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good food, good service. The $29.95 3-c ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Good food, good service. The $29.95 3-course prime rib dinner special was GREAT!

Tags: Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We celebrated our 41st anniversary at Fl ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We celebrated our 41st anniversary at Fleming's! Made a reservation and our table was waiting on us with fresh flowers and an Happy Anniversary card from Fleming. The food was better than excellent. We ordered our wine of choice. We ordered a salad for our appetizer and the Red Snapper with lump crab meat and cream spinach and a side of mash potatoes! To top that off we had the chocolate lava cake! Oh my goodness! It was a melt in your mouth meal! Hats off to the chef! Our waiter, Sir Charles was just what the night needed. He knew that menu backwards and forwards. He was very attentive without being overly attentive if you know what I mean. Fleming's also treated us to some complimentary truffolds and a $25 gift card off our next dining experience! I don't think we will wait for another special occasion to visit. I'm ready to go back now. The only thing bad but not too bad is the lightning could have been a bit brighter! Other than that it was the perfect place to celebrate with my spouse. If I could award 10 stars I would!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Flemings at W Alabama has the best Opera ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Flemings at W Alabama has the best Operating Partner in Sam G. His people do the best job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great prime rib special!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great prime rib special!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The hostess greeted us and very appropri ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The hostess greeted us and very appropriately wished my husband happy birthday. Sam G, managing partner, warm and welcoming. Server, Scott was excellent and never made us feel rushed. Chef Adam brought out a delightful scallop treat! We had a wonderful evening and look forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Except for the steak, our meal was very ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Except for the steak, our meal was very nice. My wife and I split a 16-oz dry-aged ribeye steak, only to find the steak not only too thin (slightly over 1/2" thick), but cooked well beyond the medium-rare plus specification to a point of being at least medium well to well-done. Everything else (baked potato, onion rings, creamed spinach and carrot cake) were excellent, but when a steakhouse can't get the steak done right, something's definitely wrong.

Nice choice of reasonably-priced wines, excellent, friendly service. Restaurant did offer to replace the steak, but we didn't want to wait on another one, especially after we saw how thin the steak was.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Fleming's is the best restaurant to cele ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Fleming's is the best restaurant to celebrate a family member's birthday! The steaks were exceptionally good. Had the bone-in filet and it was cooked perfectly and very flavorful. First time to try the"new wedge" and it was amazing. Love the bacon offerings spread throughout the menu. They do take care of birthday celebrations too!

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff was very friendly and awesome!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The staff was very friendly and awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great meal and great service!!! ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Always a great meal and great service!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was probably 67-68 degrees in the res ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 11, 2016

It was probably 67-68 degrees in the restaurant. People dining we're sitting in their hands it was so cold. When I asked I was told that it was a steakhouse (duh) and should be cold. The waitress kept calling us "guys" like it was a sports bar. Obviously she was commissioned as she kept hustling add ons and larger drink pours. And she had recommendations on wines that were obviously being pushed. This used to be one of the best steakhouses in the city. Food was good, everything else: meh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Normally I love Flemings-it is my place ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Normally I love Flemings-it is my place for steaks. But this visit was very bad. Reception was pleasant-host was pleasant. The waiter was at our table within a minute & after introducing himself (Anthony) he was basically pushed to the side by another waiter (I think his name was Charles or Chuck). The look on Anthony's face was shock as well-that was our response. This new waiter was quite abrupt in his posture and borderline aggressive. I ordered our wine (Pinot-Russian River Valley) and the waiter heard me but began to debate with my wine choice and laid what appeared to be an iPad on my place setting and told me I could order from it. I told him if they didn't have my preferred choice-we'd take an Argentinian Malbec & handed the iPad back. He left & when he brought back the bottle of wine-opened the seal-in the interim-my husband had a food question-the waiter rested the bottle on his arm with the exposed neck & top in his armpit. I told the waiter I didn't want that bottle (for obvious reasons) & when he left to get another-he laid the menu book on top of my dinnerware. He returned with a fresh bottle-poured properly-& I had to explain about the dinnerware.He took it all away & brought new. When My husband was ordering the ribeye-the waiter told him how they were doing away with that cut-& every subsequent choice we made-the waiter told us the negatives about it. It got to the point-when I looked at my husband & asked him "Why did we come here?". My husband said everything would be OK-that this waiter was just having a bad night-but it was making ours worse. I ordered the Chilean Sea Bass which was served in a weird stewed tomato base. Which would have been nice to know-considering I do not like tomatoes & ordered my salad without them.Any other waiter would have taken notice of that & informed me of the stewed tomato base. It was overall a bad experience. I've contacted the manager & feel confident that the next visit will be a positive one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

It was really great food and service.

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 5, 2016

It was really great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has been my second time visiting, b ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 5, 2016

This has been my second time visiting, but a different location. So far it has not let me down and it happened to be the ideal place for the occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the steak and lobster dinner, the ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Loved the steak and lobster dinner, the meal came with Wedge salad & appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food and service was fantastic!

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Food and service was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Chilean sea bass was over cooked & d ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The Chilean sea bass was over cooked & dry. The filet was medium rare. Requested medium. Food was dropped off at table & nobody checked on us until we finished eating. That's when we explained the condition of our meals. A $25 Flemings gift card was given to us but we were told we couldn't use it for this meal. It required us to return for another visit. I thought that was poor customer service. Oh well. I'm not returning. The food was nothing special unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

A friend and I went to Flemings for a ni ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 24, 2016

A friend and I went to Flemings for a night out on the town. We arrived around 6:30 PM with reservations the main dining was not crowded and the waitress we had was fantastic and very helpful on helping us decide on entrees. We got the 1/2 plate of petite beef with fleming potates and the 3 course steak entree. The steaks were juicy and we had them cooked Medium and well. The coffee crusted steaks had a nice mild flavor. The side of thai green beans were good and not spicy as they may sound. The manager came over to make sure everything was OK. The waitress was very attentive, the water bearer was constantly looking for glasses to fill.

A very nice atmosphere, delicious food and great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go to Flemings 10-12 times a year but th ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Go to Flemings 10-12 times a year but this might be the end of that. For the third visit in a row, my ribeye had no flavor and the sides were not much better, either. My date had the tuna and enjoyed it but there are too many options to keep going back knowing it will underwhelm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

American wagyu strip was superlative!!

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

American wagyu strip was superlative!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went for my B-day Sunday evening, great ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 12, 2016

Went for my B-day Sunday evening, great bartenders, wine selection, meal was cooked perfect, not my first choice for a Steak House, but I was pleasantly surprised.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service, and wine list. ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Excellent food, service, and wine list. Always a top place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fleming's is always a great experience!!

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Fleming's is always a great experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed this latest visit, for ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I really enjoyed this latest visit, for a father-son birthday dinner. Food and service were Flemings-typical (great), and the restaurant did a great job of making the kid feel special, topping off the meal with a box of chocolates and a gift card for his next visit.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Private Room, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Becky was a great waitress as was the re ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Becky was a great waitress as was the rest of the staff, made my b-day special.....thanks

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Seafood entrees were excellently prepare ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Seafood entrees were excellently prepared. One was from the restaurant week menu & the other (shrimp & scallop small plate) from the regular menu. Will return soon & often to try more selections at the bar. Very vibrant scene during happy hour.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal at Fleming's. Our wa ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Another great meal at Fleming's. Our waiter was outstanding (think his name was Charles) and really made our date night a nice one. We will be back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Flemings for Houston Restaura ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We went to Flemings for Houston Restaurant Weeks and it was amazing. The steak was delicious, the staff was super friendly and attentive, and the complimentary bread and cheese spread they served at the table were so good we had to take some home.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The management and our waitress Brittney ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The management and our waitress Brittney was amazing!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Charles offered excellent, unrushed, cla ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Charles offered excellent, unrushed, classy service. Warm and charming, Charles had an extensive knowledge of the menu. Wine list was varied, beer selection had some nuance but no local breweries. Good bourbon selection. I mentioned my wife's birthday in the open table notes and she was congratulated when we walked in and multiple times in the evening.

We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.