About Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston

2405 W Alabama Street
Houston, TX 77098
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Argonne Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 520-5959

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/tx/houston

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Houston Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (25)
Special Occasion (23)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
See All
Romantic (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Business Meals (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
People Watching (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Casual (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Authentic (4)
Cozy (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Private Room (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Family Style (2)
Fun (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tapas (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
801 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Let me start by saying Fleming's is one of my favorite restaurants. We tend to eat there for special occasions. We had an amazing experience for our anniversary last June. This time, we went for a belated Valentines meal with our friends. The food was great as usual. However, the service was the worst I've had anywhere in a long time. This was solely due to our waiter. We got the bad luck of the draw. The other waiters around us seemed to be doing a great job. It all started as soon as we sat down. All I wanted was a glass of water. I was so thirsty. When I asked for it, the waiter acted like he was disappointed and told me he would bring it out in a couple minutes. He proceeded to show my friend the wine iPad and then walked away before even asking the guys what they wanted to drink. He comes back a few minutes later, no water, and then asks the table for drink orders. I remind him that I would love to have a glass of water because I'm dying of thirst, and get the same response as before. Finally a few minutes later, our drinks come out. I could continue with the way the rest of the meal went, but I don't have time to write a whole book. Let me just say this waiter was terrible. We had to ask for everything including the specials. He didn't come by after our food came. I had to flag him down to ask for sauce. A night that we wanted to relax and have a good time brought my mood down about 10 notches. I thought he redeemed himself in the end when he brought the girls boxes of chocolates until I opened them and found out they were half melted and obviously the old leftovers from Valentine's Day. I would love to give Fleming's another chance, but I have to convince my husband.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Staff was very polite, too dark in restaurant and noisy. Not very private for wanting a private dining experience. Food was good, prices high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

good service with good food. we had a very nice time and thanks

to waiter who was very friendly and professional to us. thanks

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Family Style, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Atmosphere is still the same after many years. Great place for a first impression. Service was impeccable as always.

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Mandy the manager was totally welcoming and amazing. Our waitress was very accommodating and knowledgeable. She even knew my lady was struggling with ordering because she was vegetarian so she assisted her with a veggie plate that absolutely delicious. Thanks Flemings for making our VDay great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Amazing evening. We were treated extremely well by the staff. A true treat of an evening. Enjoyed every moment of it.

Tags: Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The server forgot order, unorganized and kept rushing us we had to argue with him to give us desert. He kept telling us it will take too long. I have been to this restaurant a few times before and most of the time service is bad and I'm going to stop going there. Like they said even good food tastes bad with bad service. I would recommend some other choice, and he brought the appetizer Weasley for three times at the end of the entree when we were arguing to get desert. Really disappointing place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The lobster was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My wife and I went to Flemings for Valentines Day, knowing that it would probably be mobbed. We were correct, but we were seated right away. The restaurant added more tables for two which made the room a bit more crowded than normal, but they did a fantastic job in arranging the tables. Even though they had a special menu we ordered off the regular menu because I like my bone in filet, which the chef did perfectly. (It's hard to get it perfect when I order medium well with a char on the outside). We go back often and, even though our expectations were less for a holiday, they were still perfect.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great place to dine with friends, family, or just for fun! The food is always fanstatic! Try the grill snapper over spinach which melts in your mouth!

Tags: Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great dining experience! The wait staff and hostess worked together as a team to provide us great service. Everything was delicious from the Brie champagne spread to the dry- aged ribeye. We will definitely dine here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

expected better. food was average. service was average. ambience was disappointing - felt like I was sitting with the next table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Celebrated a 50th Birthday. Service was Awesome. The Manager personally came by our table, and thanked us for celebrating the occasion at Fleming's.

I highly recommend Fleming's.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Festive night at Flemings because it was Super Bowl weekend!

Despite the huge crowd, the service and food were still excellent as usual.

Always a good place to celebrate a special occassion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 5, 2017

This was to celebrate my husbands birthday! The table was perfect, and they even threw some cute decor on the table. The server was precious! She was so sweet and thoughtful. The food was delicious. They took very good care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 4, 2017

super bowl weekend, very busy, service excellent, food was great, steaks all prepared perfectly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Excellent as always. I come here regularly and I have never had a problem

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Overall excellent except one fleet was too rare twice

It was taken off our check

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Our 45th anniversary was wonderful. Prime rib special was great and the even had roses on our table. Flemings gave us a card and gift card and truffles!!! Wonderful evening! Thank you! Will be back soon!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We love this restaurant! The food was amazing. Very extensive wine list which I loved.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Our visits to Fleming's are usually very pleasing, and this weekend was no exception. Friendly hostesses, very attentive and professional waiter. The bone-in filet was a perfect medium rare, the crab legs steamed just right with the shells nicely pre-cut. Sommelier Melissa Lamb suggested a great new California red blend that drank way above its price. Just top-notch professionalism all the way around.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Would not return for prime rib. Do not recall ever being served prime rib in a fine dining restaurant, that was only 1/2 - 3/4" thick. Am used to having it sliced at least 1", so this was a definite inferior serving. Service was solid. Ambience is good. Side dishes & dessert excellent. Only the entrée was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We were there for a birthday celebration. Table was decorated with glitter and there was a card from the manager. Food was great! Pricey but great. Service was fabulous! It's loud so difficult to hear each other with a large table but it was fun. They sent truffles and a gift card for next time so highly recommend. Just be prepared to spend $100 per guest with wine, food, tax and tip. (you can pick up $100 gift cards for $80 at Costco which helps some).

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent service & great food! Love the "small plates" & great desserts / they made it very special for my daughters birthday

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Always enjoy our time at this location. Charles is a great server but so are others we have had. Always greeted with a smile at the door and the bartender walked us through how he makes his delicious peach mules!

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We wanted prime rib, but were told it was only available on certain days. Disappointed, but we did enjoy a good filet mignon.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Both food and service were very good.

The shimp cocktail was excellent, although very expensive.

All steaks were cooked to perfection and the cream spinach and

shoe string potatoes were very good sides.

Since the prices are very high, this place will be reserved

for only special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Great night out. The staff were not overly attentive which was great.

Flemings potatoes were delicious as were the Brussel sprouts. Aged ribeye was cooked to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We went to flemings for a date night. We prefer to dine early so we got there around 5:30p on a Saturday night. The food was great and so was the service. It is a pricey place but the food was cooked to perfection. Roasted Brussel sprouts were delicious with the salmon. My husband got the filet and some wine. The bread was served not only with butter but also a delicious smokey cheese spread. Loved it. Didn't need an appetizer or dessert.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Always a good meal and excellent service!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Steak did not taste very good. Potato was fine. Bread was good. I only came for the steak, so I was disappointed. Approximately $80 on a meal I did not enjoy. But the service was fantastic.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve dinner was fabulous. Steak and lobster. One of the best steaks I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We had the filet and the lamb. The food was cooked well and had good flavoring. The meat quality was very good. The service was outstanding. It was half empty due to the time of year so place was quiet and good for a conversation.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Food was ok. Was disappointed with service. Did not feel like price we paid for food/service was worth it. I would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 24, 2016

My first time at Flemings, me and my mom. They were out of a particular steak she ordered. I found this to be the beginning to a bad start. Next, I ordered my steak well done. Unfortunately I received a medium well steak. The waiter offered to cook it longer and that's exactly what occurred. I received a semi burnt steak as a final product. The manager came by and apologized but did not offer any additional recourse for my $50 burnt steak. I attempted to eat my sides but after receiving a dry and burnt recooked steak, I decided it was a wrap for me. Needless to say, my first and last time eating at Flemings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was good, as expected. The service was very poor for the price of this restaurant. The waitress was in a hurry all night. Maybe they were short handed. We ordered a cocktail to start the dinner and we were planning to order wine with the main dish but they brought the food before we were asked if we wanted wine so we ended having dinner without wine. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The food was superb and everyone we interacted with was nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Expensive but worth it. One of the better meals I've had in recent memory. Food was excellent, service attentive and friendly without being overbearing, wine list a little over priced but very thorough. They have some 'small plates' items that suited some of our companions well and the typical big steak options that will click with steak people. I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Always a favorite! Love the calamari and lava cake!! Prime rib special is a steal!!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Outstanding as always! Flemings never fails with its food and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Always been the best steak & side dishes. Beats all others & there is great competition.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Modern Decor, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 15, 2016

The food was awesome as usual and the waitress Becky was always there when we needed her and didn't have to ask.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Great experience. Sunday prime rib special was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 5, 2016

All the food was delicious and the service was very good. This is an expensive restaurant but there is usually a value item like prime rib on Sunday. Seasonal cocktail menu is a plus.

Tags: Private Room, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Good consistent steak house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We always have a great meal and wonderful service at Flemings. We are great fans of this location! Everyone is very friendly and helpful!

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Upscale Steakhouse with nicely portioned serving sizes. I visited this restaurant for my mom's birthday (party of 6) and everyone enjoyed the experience. Our server was very busy however the support staff did a good job during the evening. The restaurant called in advance to confirm the birthday and warmly welcomed us upon arrival. I would visit this restaurant again and recommend the Chocolate lava cake for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Lovely Thanksgiving Day meal. I ordered from the regular menu and the steak was one of the best I have ever eaten -- expensive, but very, very good. My husband had the Thanksgiving meal and it was lovely as well. Service was friendly, informed, and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a wonderful Thanksgiving Dinner !

Thank you for the delicious food ,great service , festive feel , we will be back !!

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We ate here for Thanksgiving, it was a very nice meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.