About Fleming's Steakhouse - Greensboro

3342 W Friendly Avenue
Greensboro, NC 27410
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Steakhouse is the ultimate steakhouse destination for people seeking a stylish, lively and contemporary dining experience. Nationally renowned for our USDA Prime beef and steakhouse fare, Fleming's is equally celebrated for the ‘Fleming’s 100’, our award-winning wine list that features 100 wines by-the-glass, many available at $10 or less. While Prime beef reigns supreme, other flavorful dishes offered include chops, freshly grilled fish and poultry, generous salads and side orders. Whether you're enjoying a casual bite and glass of wine in our bar or an evening of indulgent dining, our goal at Fleming's is to provide an ongoing celebration of exceptional food and wine, to be enjoyed in the company of friends and family. We look forward to the pleasure of your company.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(336) 294-7790

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/nc/greensboro

Public Transit:
GTA weekdays every 1.5 hours between 5:43 am - 12:08 am & weekends every 1 hour between 6:38 am - 10:38 pm with in 1/4 mile of the center

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Greensboro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Food
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Service
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
6 More
Notable Wine List
Greensboro / Winston Salem / Highpoint
Best Overall
Greensboro
Best Food
Greensboro
Best Service
Greensboro
Best Ambiance
Greensboro
Most Booked
Greensboro
Best Restaurants in Greensboro ›

special occasion (53)
notable wine list (43)
romantic (32)
See All
fit for foodies (22)
good for groups (22)
hot spot (9)
vibrant bar scene (9)
neighborhood gem (6)
late-night find (6)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (3)
kid-friendly (2)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
348 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Dinner was superb. Steaks were perfectio ...

Dined 5 days ago

Dinner was superb. Steaks were perfection. Service was fantastic. Loved the Chipotle Mac & Cheese too.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Sunday night dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

We stopped in to celebrate mother's day. We all decided to go with the prime rib dinner offered only on Sunday night. I had no idea the meat would be sliced so thinly. This is the thinnest piece of prime rib I've ever seen. Maybe a 1/4 inch thick. If I had known it was like that I would have ordered a steak instead. All the sides were great as was the carrot cake for dessert.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Mother's Day

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We dine at Fleming's at least once every other month....sometimes special occasion and sometimes just because we prefer to, even though we live 30 miles away. This occasion was Mother's Day and they were very busy and the service was a bit slow. Folks who rarely or never dine there come in to impress someone. To us, that greatly takes away from the value....the price at that point is not worth the show service. The same thing happened on Valentine's Day and it was nearly impossible to find a parking space. Any other time, I highly recommend, but we will avoid the high volume days going forward.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fantastic food and service - a knockout brunch!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great Mother's Day Brunch treat with a special menu, hours and regular menu available. While they commented several times that "brunch" was not their regular service level, they did an outstanding job! The prime rib and filet were cooked to perfection and the courses came out perfectly timed. The service was top notch as always expected.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

They tried....but failed!

Dined on May 6, 2016

Took my mother her for her birthday/mothers day. They gave us a waiter trainee...guess they thought we weren't discerning enough for a full waiter. Took an extremely long time to bring main course. Steak was ordered medium well...parts were medium to medium rare. The head waiter asked if everything was ok but I didn't want to complain and spoil the special occasion. This was my second time here. My first time here was much better. Oh well. Bill came to $156 would have had a better time with a meal that cost $80

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The entire experience was flawless! From ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

The entire experience was flawless! From the warm welcome to the chocolate truffle send-off, it was clear that Fleming's knows how to spoil and enchant customers.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable Birthday Meal

Dined on April 30, 2016

This was a birthday celebration for our college-aged son who requested a good steak dinner (something not offered in the dining hall). The service was professional, attentive, and friendly. The food and wine were exceptional. We love the positive energy of Fleming's which creates an excellent dining experience without stuffiness or pretense. My son's steak was undercooked but the manager and staff more than made up for any inconvenience caused by the extra cooking. We will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Birthday dinner at Flemming

Dined on April 30, 2016

My wife and I celebrated her birthday at Flemings on Saturday night. The restaurant is geared toward special occasions. Dark with a lot of wood and low lighting. All nicely done. The service was very good, our waiter was helpful and pleasant. The wine list is extensive, not many bargains on the list, but to be expected of a Steak house of this caliber. Our food was prepared as we ordered it and was very tasty. The chocolate volcano cake (ordered as our entre was delivered) was a worthwhile treat.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We are regulars here and enjoy the food ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

We are regulars here and enjoy the food and wait staff. Great place for a special occasion or the small plate menu makes it affordable to have a quick dinner.

food5
ambience5
service5

Really wonderful restaurant, will go bac ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Really wonderful restaurant, will go back next time in Greensboro

food2
ambience4
service5
value1

What a let down

Dined on April 15, 2016

Steak flavors was subpar at best. Highly dissppointed considering the cost.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Always excellent steaks

Dined on April 2, 2016

Love Flemings for their steaks. Always done perfectly and super flavorful. Better than most steak places I've frequented. Wine list is nice and the breads are excellent. Was disappointed this time by the usually good grilled asparagus (dry this time). Service was very good, not outstanding, but overall I will definitely continue to come back for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

11th Wedding Anniversary

Dined on April 2, 2016

Excellent ambiance!Excellent service! Excellent food! We were greeted with a Happy Anniversary card from Flemings' owner and seated immediately. Our waiter Chris knew what we we're celebrating and treated us like royalty. Ask for him when you find yourself at Flemings. The bone in Ribeye was delicious and served two individuals. The Mac and Cheese along with the Flemings potatoes were the best I've ever eaten! We were treated to Truffles and a $25 gift card for our next visit ! Chris also took a picture for us and had it encased to memorialize the occasion. The best food in Greensboro by far and the classiest place for miles around!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Didn't meet expectations

Dined on March 26, 2016

We have dined at other restaurants in the group and had expected a nice meal complimented by quality wait staff and impeccable customer service. Our drinks and food met our expectations; our server was very attentive and pleasant but the customer service was very disappointing. Mistakes in food preparation and charges are to be expected but the manager's response to these situations is what makes mistakes forgivable; not the case at this restaurant.

food5
ambience4
service4

Fleming potatoes were amazing Steaks we ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Fleming potatoes were amazing Steaks were excellent My wife had bbq salmon which was cooked perfectly

food5
ambience5
service5

Great. experience

Dined on March 22, 2016

Great. experience

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, Great Service

Dined on March 20, 2016

This is the second time I have dined at Flemings and both times have been fantastic. The food, service and ambiance are exceptional. This is my favorite "special occasion" restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Sunday evening

Dined on March 20, 2016

My wife and I are infrequent regulars at Fleming's. When they had their Prime rib special, we decided to partake of their fantastic offer. Eric, our server, took great care of us during the evening. Every course was delicious. We were never rushed and we had more than enough to eat that we took food home. Please don't miss Fleming's.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

ENJOYABLE!

Dined on March 12, 2016

Returned of birthday dinner with friends, everyone was very satisfied with their meal (had some left overs), wait staff was friendly & did good job; long wait for entrees!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Worth the Money

Dined on March 5, 2016

I only have a few complaints. Pushy servers. Pretty much, everyone knows if they would like to drink, how much they would like to drink and if they would like an appetizer or dessert. I feel the electronic ordering menu takes away from the class of the place AND make me feel like I am in Chili's or Applebee's. I really think this should be remodeled. It reminds me of the 70's and 80's steakhouses...I would rather feel comfortable and warm than like I'm a secret. There is a delicate line between upselling and suggesting and just being downright pushy. Asking if we would like dessert before we get our meal is a little much. Asking 4 times is WAY too much. I have seen multiple reviews on multiple sites talk about the same thing. Music. Everyone is NOT 90 who likes to dine here. Please have just generic nice classical music or nothing. The music is worse than elevator and very schizo in selection. Door staff. NOT warm like the dining room. NOT invested like the dining room...kind of like ho hum. These prices, you have to be top end service throughout, no ho hum. Steak. Extraordinary. I don't think it was organic but it was awesome. Have it crusted. Only. Salad used iceberg lettuce with brownish edges? Shocked. Scared to try more salads. Drinks were good, dessert was passable. NOT as extraordinary as promoted. Sides were WAY too small for what we were paying and really only good for one person in my opinion unlike other comparable steakhouses who have HUGE sides. Did NOT like the scalloped potatoes. Did like the beans and mac and cheese although the mac and cheese was cold. The other servers, and manager were attentive. I just thought our server was aggressive and that made this unpleasant. I WILL come again and come early to shop at the upscale and beautiful shops. Shoulders above anything in Winston Salem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Another delicious meal

Dined on February 27, 2016

My wife and I had not been on a date since the last time just the two of us went to Fleming's in October. They seated us in the booth we sat in the night after we got married, and our waiter was great. The food, as always, was awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Very pricey but my husband and I were ab ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

Very pricey but my husband and I were able to enjoy a full meal from the appetizer menu. We wanted the time together away from the kids in a nice adult setting, more than we were interested in food. However, the food was delicious. We had skirt steak, salads, crab cakes and of course wine! Wonderful date night out!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding Restaurant!

Dined on February 16, 2016

Fleming's is one of Greensboro's finest restaurants.The steaks are among the absolute best. Their seafood is equally notable. My companion and I shared a bowl of PEI mussels and they were otstanding. We ordered extra bread to dip in the broth it was so wonderful. Jan's entree was lobster tempura while I ha tenderloin carpaccio. Dessert was complements of the house...chocolate truffles. Outstanding romantic Valentine's dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Valentine's Day 2016

Dined on February 14, 2016

The place was packed - as you might expect - even for our 5pm table. However, the service was it's usual quality - from both the front of house team and our server (Sebastien - who was knowledgeable, engaging, and professional). The food was not quite up to the usual standard as, clearly, the kitchen team were running flat out to service a full dining room and I feel they might have been a little rushed. That said, the Chocolate Lava Cake (I have yet to find its equal in any restaurant - including some Michelin starred ones - that I've visited around the globe) was its usual superb self and finished off the meal on a very high note. We'll be back there again for the next special occasion.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I always have great service. I never hav ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

I always have great service. I never have any complaints about the food expect the fact they no longer have lamb on the menu. I always enjoy happy hour and dinner.

food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding meal and service. Top notch. ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Outstanding meal and service. Top notch. Our server was great. Food was great

food3
ambience2
service3

Surprisingly... The steak was not that g ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

Surprisingly... The steak was not that good. It was a bad cut of meat. For $60 for the steak alone (sides were a la carte), you except more (at least not to quietly spit out inedible piece into your napkin). I do have to rave about the creamed spinach and blueberry lemon drop. But the bill being over $200 (1 appetizer, 1 soup, 2 steaks, 2 sides to split, 1 dessert), you except decent food/service.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great for birthday celebration

Dined on February 7, 2016

Our food was wonderful. The staff did a great job acknowledging my husband's birthday. The atmosphere was a little loud, but the place was packed.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server Cassie made our night very sp ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

Our server Cassie made our night very special! Food was wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife had the salmon and I enjoyed an ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

My wife had the salmon and I enjoyed an awesome NY Strip. Perfection from start to finish.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had an awesome server this evening on ...

Dined on January 24, 2016

We had an awesome server this evening on a messy winter's night. He was vrry informative and made sure we had all that we needed in abundance. The manager came by to check on us and everyone was very accommodating.

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent Food but....

Dined on January 17, 2016

The prime rib was absolutely top notch and when they have it on special , simply should not be passed on!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

New Year's Eve Dinner

Dined on January 1, 2016

My wife and I have eaten at Flemings many times. I understand that given the large crowd and the occasion, dining at Flemings on New Year's Eve would probably bring about a drop-off in the quality of service and product: fair enough. So, having said that I'll overlook the poor service we had (our waiter was pushy, arrogant, loud and didn't listen). I'll also overlook the sloppy and unattractive manner in which my meal was served. Yeah, I could have sent it back, but I really didn't want to engage my waiter. I just wanted to eat and leave. Perhaps next time we'll skip New Year's Eve and try again for some mundane Tuesday in March.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect Evening

Dined on December 25, 2015

A delightful Christmas evening. The food was excellent, service superb. Could not have had a better evening. Will go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Peter

Dined on December 25, 2015

I found the restaurant to be extremely overpriced. The food was good, but definitely not worth the cost. Our waiter missed ordering one guest's salad and another's request for steak sauce. I was particularly upset when I later checked the retail price of the wine I had ordered and found that they had tripled the retail cost. It's bad enough when restaurants double it. I also asked for the single malt scotch list and got one without prices, like they were hiding something. I found out why when I saw my bill.

food5
ambience4
service5
value2

expensive but delicious

Dined on December 13, 2015

We had a party of ten and we were well attended to and the food was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service1

Shrimp cocktail served in boat filled wi ...

vip
Dined on December 11, 2015

Shrimp cocktail served in boat filled with ice so full that ice went all over table every time tried to get one out. Waiter was worst we have had in some time. We wanted to take time going through wine list, he kept trying to show us what he recommended and how to use the pad. Finally told him we had used this many times and he just said, " I can get you through it an easier way". Bread was so hard we couldn't eat it. Didn't get the points stated from open table . Too many other places to get better food.

food3
ambience4
service5

Dinner with a Friend

vip
Dined on December 10, 2015

I had dinner at Flemings one night this week to catch up with an old friend. We love a good steakhouse and red wine. The service on this evening was wonderful. The food was fair, but certainly fell short of my expectations for a meal at this price point ($100 per person). My filet was overcooked (medium well rather than medium). The accompanying mashed potatoes were scorched by the hot plate, making them crispy rather than creamy. In the past, I've had better food quality at Flemings. At least the atmosphere and service were good.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Another enjoyable experience.

Dined on November 22, 2015

Another enjoyable experience.

food4
ambience3
service5

Great for Steak!!

Dined on November 15, 2015

The service was attentive and knowledgeable. The food was very fine, particularly the steak choices. Noise level was a little high but that just reflects the vibrancy of the venue. We usually go to the bar, but the dining room was great too.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.