About Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines

150 South Jordan Creek Pkwy
Des Moines, IA 50266
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 457-2916

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ia/west-des-moines

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Iowa
Notable Wine List
Iowa
Steak
Iowa
6 More
Best Overall
Des Moines
Best Food
Des Moines
Best Service
Des Moines
Best Ambiance
Des Moines
Romantic
Des Moines
Special Occasion
Des Moines
Best Restaurants in West Des Moines ›

special occasion (35)
notable wine list (28)
romantic (26)
See All
fit for foodies (16)
good for groups (9)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for outdoor dining (3)
hot spot (3)
late-night find (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
scenic view (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
200 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Fleming's is a top ten steakhouse. The s ...

Dined 6 days ago

Fleming's is a top ten steakhouse. The staff was exceptional in every aspect. From the hostesses to the manager everyone was polite courteous and extremely professional. Our server, Barbara was absolutely outstanding. The cocktails were top notch and the food was beyond compare. Fleming's made my wife's birthday an absolute delight. A must go for anyone that enjoys great food and great service.

food4
ambience4
service5

I was at Fleming's with a group of 6. F ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

I was at Fleming's with a group of 6. Food was very good. I had the prime New York strip and while it was very good it wasn't great. We also had some sides including the green beans which were terrific. Cost of the meal was expensive, not as high as Manny's in Minneapolis but not far away. They had a nice card and box of truffles for my daughter who just graduated from college. Service was very attentive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a good bet!

vip
Dined on April 26, 2016

The food at Flemings never disappoints. It is more expensive than some other options but it is worth the extra. The service is excellent and the staff is attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

A LOT OF DOUGH FOR NOT MUCH

Dined on April 25, 2016

disappointing. the steak was nothing to write about. the martini was insipid. at $110 per person, you expect something better.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Service

Dined on April 16, 2016

We had a wonderful evening with friends that we meet once a year in Des Moines. The evening was made even better by the great service we got from Chase, the lovely atmosphere conducive to visiting and the fabulous food. We have made this our annual dinner location.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, always very well done

Dined on April 16, 2016

Excellent food, always very well done

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic

Dined on April 7, 2016

We loved being able to make reservations online so easily. The food was delicious and the service was great! We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always good

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Our meal was great and our service was wonderful. I had the sea bass which I highly recommend

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Evening out with friends.

Dined on March 19, 2016

It was a nice experience, would go again for a special occassion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for my son's birthday. Service w ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

We went for my son's birthday. Service was great. The meats were prepared perfectly. Always have had great service here.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic food and service!

Dined on March 14, 2016

We went to Fleming's to celebrate our anniversary - on a Monday night. It was fantastic - they made our night special with complimentary champagne. Our waiter had great recommendations for the menu and was attentive, but never intrusive. At the end he brought us a box of truffles (which we had to take home -too full!). We had an amazing meal and really enjoyed our evening - can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome place to eat

Dined on March 13, 2016

Awesome service food and atmosphere. The noise was slightly loud but overall a great evening.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic

Dined on March 6, 2016

Wonderful food with exceptional service. Pricey so I would only visit it for a special occasion. The decor is warm and very classy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Pricey but good

Dined on March 6, 2016

The service was excellent the food flavor was very good and so many choices for those who like to try different things. It is just too expensive for any regular visits definitely a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience management and server ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Amazing experience management and servers went above and beyond to have a great experience. Would definitely recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best meals ever had at Fleming's

Dined on February 14, 2016

Amazing stupendous fantastic wonderful. Brandon best waiter ever. Steve knocked it out of the park. Their customer service is what dinning out should be like. Amazing staff, food was off the hook. Mmmmm Mmmmm good.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Chipotle Mac and cheese is amazing!!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Chipotle Mac and cheese is amazing!!

food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Fantastic!

Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a great experience dining at Flemings. Superb steak at a higher price point. Totally worth it

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wowsier

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food: delicious Service: perfect Prices: dinner- what I expected: champagne - rediculously $$$

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Not as good as the first visit

Dined on February 13, 2016

Went for Valentine's Day. Seated promptly, and greeted very nicely at a nice table. The server overall was good, just seemed a little over-taxed. Both of us ordered our steaks medium-medium well, with sides of mashed potatoes and green beans. My wife's steak was well done, while mine was medium rare. The individual serving the steak should take the time to ensure the doneness was correct, rather than making a customer wait 20+ minutes to get a recooked steak, which by the way cooked away the $5 rub I ordered. Meanwhile, my $20 in sides were getting cold, my wife had to wait for me to get my steak, and the manager, who stopped by knowing my steak wasn't done correctly, simply asked if we needed more drinks, which of course, we were also charged for. Yes, the steak was good, but the overall ambiance/experience was sub-par, which was not even recognized by a free beverage, to say the least. Will consider alternative DSM locations which provide equal food quality/service for a better value next time.

food5
ambience5
service5

Sat in bar area and the server was great ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

Sat in bar area and the server was great.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great steaks

Dined on January 31, 2016

I had the prime New York strip and girlfriend had the main fillet and as always it was great!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Our server, Jenna Kuiper, which we have ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Our server, Jenna Kuiper, which we have had the good fortune of getting twice in two months is incredible. We will definitely request her for all our visits.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience

Dined on January 17, 2016

We took our daughter Alex to Fleming's to celebrate her 26th birthday. Even though we had not mentioned it, our server Brandon asked if we were there to celebrate a birthday. We had a wonderful meal and the ambiance was perfect. Alex felt very special. At the end of the meal Brandon brought Alex a small box of chocolates and a glass of champagne! It was a very nice way to end the evening. We will definitely return as Alex wants to make it a birthday tradition.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on January 16, 2016

We had Steak and other items. The food and wine was delicious. Flemings is one of the more expensive places to dine in the Des Moines Metro Area.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on January 6, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed yet another anniversary dinner at Flemings. I always make my reservations through Open Table, and have never been turned away. For our anniversary, once again, I brought a bouquet of flowers to the restaurant early, and asked that they be placed on our table. When we arrived, the table was ready, flowers on the table with a Happy Anniversary card from the staff and excellent service. More than one server, as well as the manager made note that the bouquet of Red, Pink and Yellow Roses brightened the atmosphere for the staff and other guests. My wife had the 8 oz Filet Mignon, and I had the 20 oz Bone-In Rib Eye. Our server suggested we get the meat seared in olive oil which sounded delicious and tasted even more wonderful than it sounded. We both said that these steaks had to be in the top 5 of any steak we had ever had at any restaurant. Our visit was wonderful, the staff was courteous and fast, and we had a magnificent bottle of wine from Tuscany.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4

Food was good. Did not care for the exce ...

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

Food was good. Did not care for the exceptionally small table.

food5
ambience2
service4

We had a party of 9 for Nee Year's Eve w ...

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

We had a party of 9 for Nee Year's Eve with a reservation at 8:00pm. When we arrived it was clear they over booked the evening. We waited until after 9:00pm before being seated. While the service was good and the food was excellent as usual the delay in being seated was very disappointing. I don't understand over booking so much that you can't possibly keep your commitment to your customers.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to eat. Give it a try.

Dined on January 1, 2016

Really loved the food. Both my wife and I were impressed with everything that we ordered. We plan on making another reservation soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service4

Not really impressed! The initial intera ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

Not really impressed! The initial interaction with the hostess stand was that I was ignored without so much as a "Good evening, I'll be right with you!" Then the individual that led us to out table barely spoke English, and spoke so softly she couldn't be heard unless you were 12" from her! Will stick with the competitor downtown in the future!

food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Great food. Overbearing waitress.

Dined on December 28, 2015

We went to Flemings after Christmas with my husband's mother and brother, who were visiting from Virginia. We have made it a tradition to eat at Flemings during their annual visit. The restaurant was busy, but not crowded. From the beginning our waitress was pleasant, but overly eager and chatty. The food was outstanding: burrata appetizer, salads and filets were all delicious. We did feel as if the main course took longer than necessary, and my husband's onion rings came late. The waitress could have given an update on when food was coming. We had to ask. Overall, a good meal. We just needed less fussiness by our waitress and more attention to a timely meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was beyond amazing!! It wasn' ...

vip
Dined on December 23, 2015

Everything was beyond amazing!! It wasn't really a celebration but we let the server know that it was my half birthday. So not only was our steaks and sides cooked to perfection but We were also served champagne on the house that was amazing. We ordered cheesecake for dessert and it was the best cheesecake we have had in our entire lives! I've frequented different steak houses all over the country and Flemings is by far my new favorite ! The icing on the cake was walking away from the restaurant with a box of truffle chocolates ALSO on the house. I was completely wowed during my visit there !! Thank you !!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Solid steakhouse

Dined on December 23, 2015

If you're looking for a solid steakhouse for a special occasion or business dinner, Fleming's fits the bill nicely. Their steaks and sides are tasty and well made. Wine list is solid at all price points. Service is attentive and professional, yet still friendly and not too fussy.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

You didn't have the regular ribeye

Dined on December 19, 2015

Do we ha a Crusted ribeye. Tough with lots of grizzle. Not good at all

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The chocolate lava cake is sublime!! It ...

Dined on December 9, 2015

The chocolate lava cake is sublime!! It was only eclipsed by the service and thoughtfulness.

food5
ambience5
service5

this visit was as good as always.

Dined on December 6, 2015

I found the food very well prepared and presented. The wines we had where very interesting that evening.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Special occasion made special

Dined on December 3, 2015

Birthday dinner for 17yr old a success with immediate birthday wishes from our very attentive server . Laser cut crab legs a plus and as always the incredibly thick steaks cooked to perfection. Busy Wednesday and unexpectedly loud, as we would normally sit in bar area which is not as loud.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service1

Poor service

Dined on November 29, 2015

We went to celebrate a birthday and were not acknowledged by the staff about the celebration. Typically a return $25 gift card is given with chocolates, but this visit we did not get this. Our steaks were cooked incorrectly and the server said he would recook them and take them off the bill. The food was remade but burnt and not taken off our bill. We were disappointed by our visit.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

fine dining and fine experience

vip
Dined on November 16, 2015

Went to Fleming's to celebrate my birthday. Food (prime rib) was excellent, wine was delicious, dessert (lava cake) was spectacular and the service was top notch. While the food is expensive the portions are so generous that my wife and I were able to share a dinner. I've eaten at this restaurant in the past and the experience has always been memorable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Excellent meal

Dined on October 24, 2015

Excellent meal

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.