About Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

150 South Jordan Creek Pkwy
Des Moines, IA 50266
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 457-2916

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ia/west-des-moines

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Cinco de Mayo - Special Menus & Offers

Friday, May 5, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Cinco de Mayo - Special Menus & Offers

Friday, May 5, 2017

Details

Elevate your Cinco de Mayo celebration with the one-of-a-kind, Fleming's $100 Prime Margarita, prepared with premium tequila from Casa Herradura and served in a refined Baccarat crystal glass. Celebrate May 4-6.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Only the best for mom. Celebrate Mother's Day on Sunday, May 14 from 10AM to 3PM with our indulgent three-course brunch menu.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (33)
Good for a Date (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
See All
Romantic (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Business Meals (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Cozy (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Casual (7)
Fun (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Private Room (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Authentic (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (2)
Seasonal (2)
Fireplace (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great Beer (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (0)
Sort By:
S
315 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 3 days ago

Great steaks as usual. Loved the corn and potatoes. Appreciate the consistency from one Flemings to the next in terms of selection and quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food, great drinks and great service from Chole!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great food. Carlos was awesome!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Always a treat to dine here. Service is excellent and very attentive. Food selection very good and it is presented well.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Barbara George took impeccable care of us for our daughters 25th Birthday! Wonderful food and service! Michelle Booth came by to also check on us and make sure all went well ! We really appreciated all the extra touches to make her night so special!!! We will be back!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Amazing food and great service from Brandon. The whole staff greeted us by name and made sure that our dinner was memorable. Best steak I have tasted and the wife really enjoyed the striped bass. Must get the lava cake with fresh cream.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great dinner with family that came in from out of town! Staff is very friendly and values serving & catering to you. Excellent service!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Family Style, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Wonderful food prepared to perfection. Service is top rated and friendly. Molten lava cake was a fantastic finish.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We had a wonderful evening. Thank you to Andres and his team. See you next month.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Very nice meal with colleagues while visiting Des Moines. The service at this location was very good and helped make the meal even better.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Have never had a bad meal at Fleming's. They do steaks right! It's our getaway place for special occasions, and business meals. Top notch all the way (including prices.)

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 2, 2017

It was our first year anniversary of being married. We were sent a 50 dollar coupon from there so that alone was very generous. Food was great but half of our order was cold!! We let our waiter know and they immediately came out with a fresh hot order in less than 5 minutes! Our waiter recommended the lava cake which was also delicious! We go maybe once or twice a year but only on special occasions! It's very expensive but well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 1, 2017

When you desire food to be a pleasurable experience you need to spend a little bit more. This is when Fleming's Steakhouse becomes your destination. Everything was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excellent food and service. Ordered the Sunday evening prime rib special. Everything met or exceeded our expectations.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Very good food ans service well worth the $$$.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Have dined here several times in the past, but this experience was one of the best from a culinary standpoint. I had the filet mignon and lobster special and they both were done to perfection. We got a side of the brussel sprouts which were prepared perfectly. My Caesar salad was very tasty, the fried capers were a nice touch. My only complaint was it was fairly noisy, to the point it was hard to understand our waiter at times. The other irritant were the `dufuses` who wore their baseball caps while dining. I know it would be hard to turn away paying customers, but I would think an establishment who might consider themselves a fine dining restaurant would kindly ask patrons to show a little bit of respect for others and the restaurant by removing their `ball caps`. Geez!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I got sick after eating there. I had only a bowl of cereal for breakfast prior to that so I know it wasn't that. Unfortunate really, great atmosphere. Great steak. I think it was the salad.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Fantastic food and service. Our favorite for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We waited 15 minutes to be seated but we went to the bar to enjoy while we waited for our table. The food portions are large. The crab cakes were amazing. We enjoyed our dinner. I will definitely be recommending this restaurant to others. One of the best restaurants we have ever eaten at. Our server was fun and friendly.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My daughter's meal and my meal came out incorrectly. I have some food allergies and I couldn't eat the food on my plate. Fleming's went above and beyond by not only correcting the meals, but also by taking care of it on the bill. It was very much appreciated and I will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 10, 2017

As always Fleming's rose to the occasion. Great food, great service and a great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The food was excellent. Good ambiance & wonderful service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We are frequent diners at this Fleming's location. Response to a previous review is duly noted. Service this time was much better--from the same server with whom we did not click on a previous visit. Seems like she had been coached based on our feedback last time. Thanks for that, we see that as good management and a server who wants to learn and grow. We'll be back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Private Room, Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent food served by attentive and skilled staff. Always enjoyable.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great as always! Staff helps make the experience. They are top notch and go above and beyond. Fantastic meals everytime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Most Excellent experience. Solid food done with perfection.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Service was excellent. Food was average at best. King crab legs appeared to be brought in cracked and frozen. They did not have much taste and were somewhat dried out. I can get much better crab legs elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Upon entering the lighting instantly set a wonderful mood for my wife and I. The noise level was louder then we would have liked but it was a Saturday night before Valentine's day so it's mostly to be expected. The original order of drinks and bread came out quick enough, however I did wait almost 15 minutes before my second drink showed up. The steak I ordered was extremely undercooked to the point of almost raw. They did a solid by taking it back and cooking it correctly and taking care of the steak. My wifes meal was wonderful and the Fleming's potatoes were amazing! Overall a nice experience albeit a bit slow on the service. The manager apologized in person which was a nice touch!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Ordered a bottle of champagne and it was served in a red wine glass. It never got any better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Highlight of meal for me was not the steak, which was very, very good, but the onion soup, which was exceptional. Only negative was the coffee, which while very hot and a generous portion, was to my taste very weak. All in all the meal was excellent and so was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything was awesome. Service was over the top. Food was phenomenal.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Dinner was fabulous! Went for a birthday celebration. Make sure you tell your waiter that it's a birthday celebration for a special treat.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Excellent food and attentive service staff. Wonderful overall experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Upon our arrival our family was warmly greeted. Our servers were very knowledgeable & friendly. Our food was excellent. Cooked to perfection. The servers were very attentive & took care of our every need. The desert was the perfect top to a wonderful meal. I highly recommend Flemings.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hampshire)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The ambience that greets you when you arrive is carried right the way through to your table and the whole of your evening; our anniversary celebration evening was off to a great start. Alec our waiter ensured we had a fanatastic evening, with the continued support of the whole restaurant staff on the dining floor, no detail was overlooked. Flemings menu offered us a selection of food options, Alecs knowledge and expertise on each menu item we enquired on made them come alive, so selection was easy. Then it was the chefs turn to live up to their billing, which they did with aplomb and style, served to our table in a timely manner, on hot plates.

The food was delicious from the first bite to the very last, with waiters being attentive;enough, as we had come to expect.

With a starter and main course consumed we were unable to take on a desert, it would have just been to much food and spoilt an excellent meal; so we finished with coffees and settled the bill.

For us Flemings is very expensive and as good as the service and food was in our opinion it didn't warrant such high prices. Paying for sides is not a new comcept, but mushrooms are only mushrooms, so we would you please consider charging reasonable prices for sides.

Whilst the price would not detract from a fabulous evening, it will deter us from making it a regular dining venue, maybe once every couple of years for a special occasion.

If you've never been to Flemings please give it a try, your will not be disappointed, just be prepared to pay the premium.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always a fantastic steak, wine and all around great food! Highly recommend it!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Wonderful food wonderful service will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

As a frequent diner at this Fleming's location, I appreciate the fact that our loyalty is almost always acknowledged by hosting staff and managers. However the tendency of wait staff to up-sell has become increasingly annoying. No doubt your servers are coached to drive sales higher, I get that. But the push on bottled Evian seems silly; and I'm put off by the overt reminder that wines are available by the bottle; the suggestion that ordering appetizers is a forgone conclusion; or that I necessarily want to add lobster to by steak entree every time. Please, coach your severs--especially those who are newer and overly eager to demonstrate their influence at the table--to back off a bit. Subtle suggestion is one thing. Feeling "pushed" tarnishes the dining experience.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Amazing! The service was first class! We were impressed and pleased. We had a delightful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.