About Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines

150 South Jordan Creek Pkwy
Des Moines, IA 50266
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 457-2916

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ia/west-des-moines

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Chocolate Truffles - Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
  • Braised New Zealand Lamb With Fresh Tomato Sauce - Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
  • Sliced Filet Mignon Over Mushroom Risotto - Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
  • French Fries And Onion Rings - Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
Chocolate Truffles - Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
Braised New Zealand Lamb With Fresh Tomato Sauce - Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
Sliced Filet Mignon Over Mushroom Risotto - Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
French Fries And Onion Rings - Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines, Des Moines, IA

Specials

Gifts to give, presents to keep.

Special valid Nov 29, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Gifts to give, presents to keep.

Special valid Nov 29, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

It’s the best season to give and receive. In the spirit of the holidays, we’re offering a $20 Bonus Card for every $100 purchased in Gift Cards. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Nov 29, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Iowa
Best Food
Iowa
Best Service
Iowa
7 More
Best Ambiance
Iowa
Steak
Iowa
Best Overall
Des Moines
Best Food
Des Moines
Best Service
Des Moines
Best Ambiance
Des Moines
Special Occasion
Des Moines
Best Restaurants in West Des Moines ›

Special Occasion (22)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for a Date (15)
See All
Notable Wine List (13)
Romantic (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Business Meals (8)
Cozy (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Fun (3)
Happy Hour (3)
People Watching (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Casual (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
240 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was one of the most enjoyable dining ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 5 days ago

It was one of the most enjoyable dining experiences we have had in the past year. This food was outstanding, but on the pricy side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fantastic food and experience.

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Fantastic food and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was impeccable and food was grea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Service was impeccable and food was great. We really enjoyed celebrating my birthday there and hope to go again soon. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food & service - as Flemings alway ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Great food & service - as Flemings always delivers.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant was very nice, staff was ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The restaurant was very nice, staff was great and food was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prime rib special was delicious and a gr ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Prime rib special was delicious and a great value. Service over the top and a great way to begin the week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We eat at this Flemmings every time we a ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We eat at this Flemmings every time we are in Des Moines. Great steaks and side dishes. We love it.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for a special occasion! The ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great place for a special occasion! The four of us had a wonderful time! Definitely try the Lava Cake for desert!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The server was very good however, the se ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The server was very good however, the service was not! We had a table of 5. No one ordered anything difficult . We were pleased to have our table paid for and for that reason we will be back . Thank you

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

The service was great, but the steak was ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The service was great, but the steak was unevenly cooked. We asked for it to be medium well and it was at the ends, but it was closer to medium raw at the center. Also the noise level is too high to be able to carry a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Fleming's is always a safe bet when taki ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Fleming's is always a safe bet when taking business prospects out to dinner. Our waitress this time was rather insistent to get food on our table we felt rushed, not a typical experience at most Fleming's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

My friend and I went to Flemings on a Su ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2016

My friend and I went to Flemings on a Sunday night so it was not crowded. We have both been to Flemings before in other cities. Our server Barbara was pleasant and knowledgeable about the menu and wines. She recommended the NY strip wagyu steak and it did not disappoint. Just as she said it would be, almost as tender as a filet but lots more flavor. She also recommended the Flemings potatoes which were excellent. Flemings is building a new restaurant in my hometown of Pasadena CA so I am looking forward to eating there soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was perfect! Awesome food! Th ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Everything was perfect! Awesome food!

The wait staff was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our mother her to celebrate her ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We took our mother her to celebrate her birthday. The staff was very attentive and accommodating to her needs. The food and service was excellent. I only gave service 4 stars because i felt our server was a bit standoffish. Would definitely recommend and will go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was excellent, the service was ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 15, 2016

The food was excellent, the service was top-notch, and I have absolutely no complaints. My wife our nine-year old son, I went for my wife's birthday, and we couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fleming's is a very nice steakhouse, goo ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Fleming's is a very nice steakhouse, good ambience, reasonably quiet. Lots of customers. Dress was casual, ranged from levis thru suits. My wife had a medium rare filet mignon and I had a blue one. Both were cooked to perfection. The sides including the baked potato were very good and are truly sharable. The staff is attentive but not intrusive. Fleming's is an excellent choice if you're in the mood for some really good food.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Flemings is pricey for us but we enjoy g ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Flemings is pricey for us but we enjoy going there for special occasions. This was our 39th anniversary and everything was perfect!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a wonderful anniversary dinner with ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Had a wonderful anniversary dinner with my husband. We started with the Seafood Tower ($25 per person) which came with lobster, crab legs & claws, and shrimp. It was fantastic. I ordered the Main Filet medium-rare charred and my husband ordered the Bone-in Ribeye medium rare charred. No sides. My filet was juicy and a little too pink so the waiter graciously took it back to the kitchen & when it was returned to me it was perfect. Next time I'll order my steak broiled, just a personal preference. My husband's steak was cooked to his preference - he had no complaints. For dessert we ordered the Chocolate Lava Cake with cappuccinos. Next time we'll split a lava cake. Aside from the delicious food, we loved the cozy booth with the personal Happy Anniversary card we found when we were seated. And at the end of the meal, we were served glasses of champagne, given a box of house-made truffles and a $25 gift card for a future use. Outstanding! This is definitely the place to come for special occasions. They treated us like royalty!

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and atmosphere were outstand ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The service and atmosphere were outstanding! Our server was really knowledgeable and patient with all my questions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love this place, the food it deliciou ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We love this place, the food it delicious and the steak just melts in my mouth. We go there for special occasions and they know how to treat you right. We had the same server this time as we did the last time and Leslie remembered us (we had not been there for many months). She helped make our experience even better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and great food!

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I love Flemings! Always ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 21, 2016

My husband and I love Flemings! Always a treat when we dine there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is excellent. I've never h ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food here is excellent. I've never had anything that wasn't delicious. The steaks are amazing and always cooked perfectly. Their wine list is extensive and their craft cocktails are delicious. The ambiance is better than other steak houses in town and the service isn't pretentious. The service this visit was on the slow side. We didn't see our server as much as we would've liked and getting drinks took a ridiculously long time. Our service previous times was just amazing as the food so we'll chalk this one up as a fluke.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

From the time we arrived to the time we ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 19, 2016

From the time we arrived to the time we left, we were treated to impeccable service and hospitality. Very personal! The food was delicious and well explained by our waiter. There was no rushed feeling as we lingered over the menu and appetizer. We are definitely keeping Flemmings on our list of wonderful dining experiences!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not our first time at a Flemings but th ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Not our first time at a Flemings but the first time in Des Moines. The food was excellent, the wine list offering a good selection, the service was perfect and my cocktail was great. They acknowledged the birthday with a card and a desert which is now kind of standard but appreciated anyway. We will continue to dine at Flemings.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the experience was lovely the wa ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Overall the experience was lovely the waiter helped me select a wine that went well with my food,the atmosphere is always great.the management is amazing as well as the restorest of the staff!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

great service, small mix up in order tak ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 31, 2016

great service, small mix up in order taken care of quickly and easily. Food great

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love this restaurant chain. It's not ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 29, 2016

We love this restaurant chain. It's not cheap but if you want a great steak, you have to pay a lot these days. Our server was amazing; so helpful without being overwhelming. The wine is list is impressive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Carlos was are server and he was awesome ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Carlos was are server and he was awesome ! Food was good! We really enjoyed being able to try two of the wine tasting for that evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The waitress did an excellent job. Very ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 21, 2016

The waitress did an excellent job. Very caring. Great service and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We had to wait 30 minutes for a table de ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had to wait 30 minutes for a table despite having an Open Table reservation which the restaurant acknowledged as having been made.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

It was our anniversary and after they as ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 2, 2016

It was our anniversary and after they asked us when we checked in if it was a special occasion, we said yes. They brought a card to our table signed by staff. It was a very nice gesture! The new managing partner is a real gem as well! She (Michelle) made the rounds and was delightful to visit with! I think she will be a perfect addition there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I appreciate the fact they accommodated ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 2, 2016

I appreciate the fact they accommodated us with our table request.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional!!

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Exceptional!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service. A little price ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Excellent food, service. A little pricey, but worth it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Sat outside on the patio. Just a perfect ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Sat outside on the patio. Just a perfect night with fantastic food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For a great night out with clients, a fa ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 13, 2016

For a great night out with clients, a family celebration or romantic dinner, you can't beat Fleming's. Insider tip - try the blueberry-lemon drop martini. So refreshing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A couple got engaged, so that was cool. ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 11, 2016

A couple got engaged, so that was cool. Probably shouldn't have worn (even nice) jeans. Extraordinary steak, and smoothest martini I've ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service and food. Louder than pre ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Great service and food. Louder than previous visits most likely due to the large tables we were told were in for a conference.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great evening! Our waiter was exceptiona ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 25, 2016

Great evening! Our waiter was exceptional and the food was great. Easily made substitutions for a gluten free diet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.