About Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

150 South Jordan Creek Pkwy
Des Moines, IA 50266
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 457-2916

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ia/west-des-moines

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

A Summer of Love Prix Fixe

Special valid Jun 28, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

A Summer of Love Prix Fixe

Special valid Jun 28, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Steak and Wine are the perfect pair. This summer celebrate the love between steak and wine with our 3-course prix fixe menu. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 28, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Notable Wine List (25)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
See All
Good for a Date (18)
Romantic (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Business Meals (11)
Cozy (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Happy Hour (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Fun (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Authentic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Casual (2)
Private Room (2)
Family Style (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
People Watching (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
216 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Always a very pleasant experience. We sat outside on the patio this last visit, and the food, service and ambience could not have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Service very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 18, 2017

As usual, our server Barbara was great. The food is always superb.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Loved it! Always excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Proposed to my girflriend a few days ago, and our experience was stellar... Special Thanks to Michelle Booth for coordinating everything to perfection!

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Excellent food and service, and expensive. Good for a special occasion.
We were celebrating our 52nd anniversary and received complimentary champagne.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 3, 2017

The waiter could have used some improvements. Seemed annoyed when we didn't order dessert, and said we were short on time getting to a movie.
Didn't bother to tell us that our gift card (that we got there last week) showed no balance on it and just charged our card.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Found the meal good as always. The wine list is very long and well stocked. If you like the hard liquor well stocked as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 24, 2017

My daughter' 16th birthday. Our waiter was Carlos. He was very good and friendly. The card, desert, truffles and gift card were very generous and thoughtful .

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Always love our visits to Flemings! One of our very favorite places to eat in town!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Another fantastic meal and amazing service by our favorite server, Chloe!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 10, 2017

gave us someone else's anniversary card - did not feel the value was worth staying for dinner - would rather go to 801 chophouse

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This is one of our favorite places to eat in Des Moines.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great steaks as usual. Loved the corn and potatoes. Appreciate the consistency from one Flemings to the next in terms of selection and quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great food, great drinks and great service from Chole!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Had a nice quiet dinner with my wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great food. Carlos was awesome!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Always a treat to dine here. Service is excellent and very attentive. Food selection very good and it is presented well.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Barbara George took impeccable care of us for our daughters 25th Birthday! Wonderful food and service! Michelle Booth came by to also check on us and make sure all went well ! We really appreciated all the extra touches to make her night so special!!! We will be back!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Amazing food and great service from Brandon. The whole staff greeted us by name and made sure that our dinner was memorable. Best steak I have tasted and the wife really enjoyed the striped bass. Must get the lava cake with fresh cream.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great dinner with family that came in from out of town! Staff is very friendly and values serving & catering to you. Excellent service!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Family Style, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Wonderful food prepared to perfection. Service is top rated and friendly. Molten lava cake was a fantastic finish.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Have never had a bad meal at Fleming's. They do steaks right! It's our getaway place for special occasions, and business meals. Top notch all the way (including prices.)

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 2, 2017

It was our first year anniversary of being married. We were sent a 50 dollar coupon from there so that alone was very generous. Food was great but half of our order was cold!! We let our waiter know and they immediately came out with a fresh hot order in less than 5 minutes! Our waiter recommended the lava cake which was also delicious! We go maybe once or twice a year but only on special occasions! It's very expensive but well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 1, 2017

When you desire food to be a pleasurable experience you need to spend a little bit more. This is when Fleming's Steakhouse becomes your destination. Everything was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excellent food and service. Ordered the Sunday evening prime rib special. Everything met or exceeded our expectations.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Very good food ans service well worth the $$$.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We waited 15 minutes to be seated but we went to the bar to enjoy while we waited for our table. The food portions are large. The crab cakes were amazing. We enjoyed our dinner. I will definitely be recommending this restaurant to others. One of the best restaurants we have ever eaten at. Our server was fun and friendly.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My daughter's meal and my meal came out incorrectly. I have some food allergies and I couldn't eat the food on my plate. Fleming's went above and beyond by not only correcting the meals, but also by taking care of it on the bill. It was very much appreciated and I will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The food was excellent. Good ambiance & wonderful service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We are frequent diners at this Fleming's location. Response to a previous review is duly noted. Service this time was much better--from the same server with whom we did not click on a previous visit. Seems like she had been coached based on our feedback last time. Thanks for that, we see that as good management and a server who wants to learn and grow. We'll be back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Private Room, Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great as always! Staff helps make the experience. They are top notch and go above and beyond. Fantastic meals everytime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Upon entering the lighting instantly set a wonderful mood for my wife and I. The noise level was louder then we would have liked but it was a Saturday night before Valentine's day so it's mostly to be expected. The original order of drinks and bread came out quick enough, however I did wait almost 15 minutes before my second drink showed up. The steak I ordered was extremely undercooked to the point of almost raw. They did a solid by taking it back and cooking it correctly and taking care of the steak. My wifes meal was wonderful and the Fleming's potatoes were amazing! Overall a nice experience albeit a bit slow on the service. The manager apologized in person which was a nice touch!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Ordered a bottle of champagne and it was served in a red wine glass. It never got any better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Dinner was fabulous! Went for a birthday celebration. Make sure you tell your waiter that it's a birthday celebration for a special treat.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Excellent food and attentive service staff. Wonderful overall experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Upon our arrival our family was warmly greeted. Our servers were very knowledgeable & friendly. Our food was excellent. Cooked to perfection. The servers were very attentive & took care of our every need. The desert was the perfect top to a wonderful meal. I highly recommend Flemings.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hampshire)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The ambience that greets you when you arrive is carried right the way through to your table and the whole of your evening; our anniversary celebration evening was off to a great start. Alec our waiter ensured we had a fanatastic evening, with the continued support of the whole restaurant staff on the dining floor, no detail was overlooked. Flemings menu offered us a selection of food options, Alecs knowledge and expertise on each menu item we enquired on made them come alive, so selection was easy. Then it was the chefs turn to live up to their billing, which they did with aplomb and style, served to our table in a timely manner, on hot plates.

The food was delicious from the first bite to the very last, with waiters being attentive;enough, as we had come to expect.

With a starter and main course consumed we were unable to take on a desert, it would have just been to much food and spoilt an excellent meal; so we finished with coffees and settled the bill.

For us Flemings is very expensive and as good as the service and food was in our opinion it didn't warrant such high prices. Paying for sides is not a new comcept, but mushrooms are only mushrooms, so we would you please consider charging reasonable prices for sides.

Whilst the price would not detract from a fabulous evening, it will deter us from making it a regular dining venue, maybe once every couple of years for a special occasion.

If you've never been to Flemings please give it a try, your will not be disappointed, just be prepared to pay the premium.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always a fantastic steak, wine and all around great food! Highly recommend it!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Wonderful food wonderful service will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.