About Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

150 South Jordan Creek Pkwy
Des Moines, IA 50266
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 457-2916

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ia/west-des-moines

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $49.95

Special valid Aug 30, 2017 - Oct 17, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Napa Valley Wine Harvest

Special valid Oct 3, 2017 - Nov 22, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 23, 2017

Details

On November 23 starting at 11AM, enjoy a Thanksgiving Prix Fixe featuring an amuse-bouche for the table to share, choice of soup or salad, a main course with all the trimmings and a seasonal dessert. Our table. Your Thanksgiving. Children's menu also available.

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $49.95

Special valid Aug 30, 2017 - Oct 17, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $49.95. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 30, 2017 - Oct 17, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Napa Valley Wine Harvest

Special valid Oct 3, 2017 - Nov 22, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Taste your way through Napa Valley with our three-course menu that masterfully pairs four of Napa's finest wines with dishes that complement their flavors and celebrate the California Wine Harvest. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Oct 3, 2017 - Nov 22, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Business Meals (13)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Romantic (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Cozy (4)
Fun (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Waterfront (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
375 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Fleming's always provides a wonderful meal in a lovely dining room. An easy restaurant choice for consistent service and quality.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 6 days ago

It was a great dinner, excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Service was horrible, waited twenty minutes for a glass of water. It never came we left and went to 801 chophouse. Complete waste of time, don't care if the food is good, bad, or in between if the service is bad the experience is bad. Will never return and I will steer everyone clear. I only gave it one star because I didn't have the choice to give it none.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

Fleming just gets it right! Exceptional service by entire team; fabulous food prepared to perfection; and always a special little "extra" to exceed even my highest expectations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

We will return for sure. Food and service were great. As normal in the US the portions were oversized. Dominique and Michelle were attentive and made the meal that much more pleasant

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Service excelled from hostess to servers. Food at or above expectation at the price point. Good first experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 28, 2017

Enjoyed the visit except for the lighting.
I could not see the menu.
To dark.
All in all a very nice Restaurant / Bar.
Food was very good.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Overall pretty good but not pleased that some specials weren’t offered to us but were to other tables. Why would a $50 filet & lobster special be a secret

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Excellent food, friendly and knowledgeable staff. Steaks were awesome! So tender and perfectly cooked. Filet was perfect, ribeye a little too much fat, but good taste. Chocolate lava cake best we ever had . Only negative is extremely overpriced. But all in all an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Very disappointed in the filet and the Fleming's potatoes. Hardly any taste om either one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Winston is a great server and our meals were delicious (and the wine too!)

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Food took a long time to be delivered to table but service otherwise was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Food was amazing and our server, Winston, was simply the best. Cannot wait to make a return trip!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Service vey bad and slow. Dirty dishes left on the table during entire dinner. Never brought cocktail napkins, did not bring bread until we asked. Waitress disappeared for long periods of time, it took over 2 hours for entire meal. Diminished my view of Flemings as a fine dining establishment.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 1, 2017

This is with out a doubt the best food we have had in Des Moines! The service was way beyond expectation and the personal touch wss incredible.
I have eaten at many well known and top of the line restaurants across the country including Las Vegas... Fleming's was as good or better than any of them.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Filet had to be re-cooked twice. Third time was better but then over cooked so I just ate it after waiting for food for almost 45 minutes.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 23, 2017

We celebrated a birthday here! We let them know of the celebration and they made our evening one never to forget! Michelle Booth made our evening very special! You must go here for an evening drink on the patio and a wonderful dinner with your special loved ones!

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Food and service are absolutely wonderful here. Both my husband and I enjoy visiting this establishment and it even more special celebrating our wedding anniversary here. The staff is incredible and very attentive. I recommend Flemings to all our friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

Had a fantastic experience at Fleming’s, the food was excellent and the service was too. My wife and I went there for our anniversary and it could not have been better. Highly recommend.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The restaurant staff went out of their way to make my husband and I feel special and acknowledge our anniversary. They paid attention to special details and their staff was excellent. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone for a dinner or special event.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 31, 2017

excellent service, great timing in terms of courses and food was delicious

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Tonight we attended a special event hosted by managing partner Michelle Booth and her staff. The event was amazing and the details were taken care of right down to the wine selection.
I can't say enough about the people that made the evening so very special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Food was delicious! We had the Tomahawk Ribeye and the Ahi Tuna. Our steak was grilled just right, while still being juicy on the inside. Even more, our server was superb. She was very diligent and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Excellent service, our waiter was awesome! He was detail oriented and very attentive! The food was great as always! We got there a little earlier than the rest of our party to have drinks and appetizers during happy hour and had a reservation in the dining room, which we had to push back since the rest our our party was running late. The hostess was very understanding and held our table and told us not to worry. It was a great way to spend my birthday with family and Fleming's doesn't disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I find this to be among Des Moines, top tier, dinner establishments. Not a meal for the novice diner. One must understand, the PPA(per person average), they set is $100 per head. So, in order to reach that mark. Servers are willing to sacrifice your experience. i.e. not telling you they offer "half sides," hiding discounted menus, discouraging sharing enormous entrees, overselling, in general, being an impolite menu tour guide. Great service is a dialogue, not a monologue. Important for both parties to remember and practice. Dining is an art, as well as serving.

WHAT some "servers" don't realize is that four-dollars here, and six-dollars there, equates to $2 more of an EXPECTED 20%. Personally, I don't think it is worth sacrificing the "guest" experience and leaving them focused on the bill, rather than excellent food, drink, service, ambiance, conversation. Do not sell your "guests" experience for a potential, extra ten spot. Understand that its repeat guests', and not exposing the uninformed, that builds your pocketbook and the establishments bottom-line.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Fleming's can't be beat on attentive service and consistently, great food. The Wedge Salad is one of the best in the area as is the chocolate lave cake. And who can beat the Fleming Potatoes?

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

I recommend joining the loyalty program and saving $40 on every third visit. We dine at the other restaurants (like Bonefish) and then use our rewards points to treat ourselves to a wonderful night out at Flemings! The savings basically covers the gratuity if we have 2 dinner entries with cocktails and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I was amazed at the way we were treated. I felt like royalty. I can honestly say I have never been treated better at restaurant. The staff and food was amazing. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food and the staff were amazing! They made a big deal out of my wife's birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Another great meal with wonderful food, great wine, and excellent service.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Awesome as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great first experience! One of our new favorites. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Always a very pleasant experience. We sat outside on the patio this last visit, and the food, service and ambience could not have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Service very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 18, 2017

As usual, our server Barbara was great. The food is always superb.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Delicious! The staff was super friendly! Our waitee went above and beyond to make sure we were taken care of.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Our server Sarah was one of the best. Attentive, fun, and sensitive to our conversation time. We would love to have her serve us again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Once again Michele and her staff made an evening out to dinner an amazing evening!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great food, amazing service! Never disappointed here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.