About Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

150 South Jordan Creek Pkwy
Des Moines, IA 50266
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 457-2916

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ia/west-des-moines

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

A Summer of Love Prix Fixe

Special valid Jun 28, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

A Summer of Love Prix Fixe

Special valid Jun 28, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Steak and Wine are the perfect pair. This summer celebrate the love between steak and wine with our 3-course prix fixe menu. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 28, 2017 - Aug 31, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (22)
Special Occasion (18)
Notable Wine List (16)
See All
Romantic (14)
Good for a Date (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Business Meals (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Cozy (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Fun (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Waterfront (2)
Scenic View (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Authentic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Family Style (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
People Watching (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
356 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 4 days ago

Food and service are absolutely wonderful here. Both my husband and I enjoy visiting this establishment and it even more special celebrating our wedding anniversary here. The staff is incredible and very attentive. I recommend Flemings to all our friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Had a fantastic experience at Fleming’s, the food was excellent and the service was too. My wife and I went there for our anniversary and it could not have been better. Highly recommend.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

The restaurant staff went out of their way to make my husband and I feel special and acknowledge our anniversary. They paid attention to special details and their staff was excellent. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone for a dinner or special event.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 31, 2017

excellent service, great timing in terms of courses and food was delicious

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Tonight we attended a special event hosted by managing partner Michelle Booth and her staff. The event was amazing and the details were taken care of right down to the wine selection.
I can't say enough about the people that made the evening so very special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Food was delicious! We had the Tomahawk Ribeye and the Ahi Tuna. Our steak was grilled just right, while still being juicy on the inside. Even more, our server was superb. She was very diligent and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Excellent service, our waiter was awesome! He was detail oriented and very attentive! The food was great as always! We got there a little earlier than the rest of our party to have drinks and appetizers during happy hour and had a reservation in the dining room, which we had to push back since the rest our our party was running late. The hostess was very understanding and held our table and told us not to worry. It was a great way to spend my birthday with family and Fleming's doesn't disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 16, 2017

I find this to be among Des Moines, top tier, dinner establishments. Not a meal for the novice diner. One must understand, the PPA(per person average), they set is $100 per head. So, in order to reach that mark. Servers are willing to sacrifice your experience. i.e. not telling you they offer "half sides," hiding discounted menus, discouraging sharing enormous entrees, overselling, in general, being an impolite menu tour guide. Great service is a dialogue, not a monologue. Important for both parties to remember and practice. Dining is an art, as well as serving.

WHAT some "servers" don't realize is that four-dollars here, and six-dollars there, equates to $2 more of an EXPECTED 20%. Personally, I don't think it is worth sacrificing the "guest" experience and leaving them focused on the bill, rather than excellent food, drink, service, ambiance, conversation. Do not sell your "guests" experience for a potential, extra ten spot. Understand that its repeat guests', and not exposing the uninformed, that builds your pocketbook and the establishments bottom-line.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Fleming's can't be beat on attentive service and consistently, great food. The Wedge Salad is one of the best in the area as is the chocolate lave cake. And who can beat the Fleming Potatoes?

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 9, 2017

I recommend joining the loyalty program and saving $40 on every third visit. We dine at the other restaurants (like Bonefish) and then use our rewards points to treat ourselves to a wonderful night out at Flemings! The savings basically covers the gratuity if we have 2 dinner entries with cocktails and wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I was amazed at the way we were treated. I felt like royalty. I can honestly say I have never been treated better at restaurant. The staff and food was amazing. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food and the staff were amazing! They made a big deal out of my wife's birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Another great meal with wonderful food, great wine, and excellent service.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Awesome as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great first experience! One of our new favorites. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Always a very pleasant experience. We sat outside on the patio this last visit, and the food, service and ambience could not have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Service very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 18, 2017

As usual, our server Barbara was great. The food is always superb.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Delicious! The staff was super friendly! Our waitee went above and beyond to make sure we were taken care of.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Our server Sarah was one of the best. Attentive, fun, and sensitive to our conversation time. We would love to have her serve us again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Once again Michele and her staff made an evening out to dinner an amazing evening!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great food, amazing service! Never disappointed here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We've been to Flemings before and knew what to expect. It's a good, comfortable dining experience. The food is always very good. I had the Sea Bass and my wife had the fillet. We each had a wedge salad plus a side of brussel sprouts. Everything was cooked to perfection. The staff were warm and friendly and very knowledgeable. Always a good experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Loved it! Always excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Proposed to my girflriend a few days ago, and our experience was stellar... Special Thanks to Michelle Booth for coordinating everything to perfection!

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Excellent food and service, and expensive. Good for a special occasion.
We were celebrating our 52nd anniversary and received complimentary champagne.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The waiter could have used some improvements. Seemed annoyed when we didn't order dessert, and said we were short on time getting to a movie.
Didn't bother to tell us that our gift card (that we got there last week) showed no balance on it and just charged our card.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Found the meal good as always. The wine list is very long and well stocked. If you like the hard liquor well stocked as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Winston was our server and it was a disappointing dinner. Service was not up to the level we experienced in prior visits. Everything seemed just off- no menus privided, drinks forgotten, napkins request forgotten, a modification to an order which has been accommodated in the past was not available, with no good rationale, and coffee was requested but someone in the kitchen turned off the coffee pots ( and it was 8:30 ish) resulting in a below average experience
given our bill was near $700 for three people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 24, 2017

My daughter' 16th birthday. Our waiter was Carlos. He was very good and friendly. The card, desert, truffles and gift card were very generous and thoughtful .

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Always love our visits to Flemings! One of our very favorite places to eat in town!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Another fantastic meal and amazing service by our favorite server, Chloe!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Fathers birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I Was very impressed with the staff and team effort input for me to make it a special evening for my purposal on mother's day

Tags: Scenic View, Late-night Find, Cozy, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Chloe was amazing and they treated me like royalty on Mother's Day! Everybody was fantastic and the drinks and meal were wonderful.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for my fiance's birthday. Was an amazing time. Thanks!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 10, 2017

gave us someone else's anniversary card - did not feel the value was worth staying for dinner - would rather go to 801 chophouse

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Our server, Matt, was excellent! I had amazing sea bass & my husband thought the yellow tuna was fantastic. This Flemings never disappoints!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This is one of our favorite places to eat in Des Moines.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.