About Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

150 South Jordan Creek Pkwy
Des Moines, IA 50266
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 457-2916

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ia/west-des-moines

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (29)
Special Occasion (28)
Good for a Date (26)
See All
Business Meals (20)
Romantic (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Bar Seating (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Cozy (8)
Casual (6)
Fun (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Private Room (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Authentic (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
People Watching (2)
Fireplace (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
291 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food served by attentive and skilled staff. Always enjoyable.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great as always! Staff helps make the experience. They are top notch and go above and beyond. Fantastic meals everytime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Most Excellent experience. Solid food done with perfection.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Service was excellent. Food was average at best. King crab legs appeared to be brought in cracked and frozen. They did not have much taste and were somewhat dried out. I can get much better crab legs elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Upon entering the lighting instantly set a wonderful mood for my wife and I. The noise level was louder then we would have liked but it was a Saturday night before Valentine's day so it's mostly to be expected. The original order of drinks and bread came out quick enough, however I did wait almost 15 minutes before my second drink showed up. The steak I ordered was extremely undercooked to the point of almost raw. They did a solid by taking it back and cooking it correctly and taking care of the steak. My wifes meal was wonderful and the Fleming's potatoes were amazing! Overall a nice experience albeit a bit slow on the service. The manager apologized in person which was a nice touch!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Ordered a bottle of champagne and it was served in a red wine glass. It never got any better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Highlight of meal for me was not the steak, which was very, very good, but the onion soup, which was exceptional. Only negative was the coffee, which while very hot and a generous portion, was to my taste very weak. All in all the meal was excellent and so was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything was awesome. Service was over the top. Food was phenomenal.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Dinner was fabulous! Went for a birthday celebration. Make sure you tell your waiter that it's a birthday celebration for a special treat.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Excellent food and attentive service staff. Wonderful overall experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Upon our arrival our family was warmly greeted. Our servers were very knowledgeable & friendly. Our food was excellent. Cooked to perfection. The servers were very attentive & took care of our every need. The desert was the perfect top to a wonderful meal. I highly recommend Flemings.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hampshire)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The ambience that greets you when you arrive is carried right the way through to your table and the whole of your evening; our anniversary celebration evening was off to a great start. Alec our waiter ensured we had a fanatastic evening, with the continued support of the whole restaurant staff on the dining floor, no detail was overlooked. Flemings menu offered us a selection of food options, Alecs knowledge and expertise on each menu item we enquired on made them come alive, so selection was easy. Then it was the chefs turn to live up to their billing, which they did with aplomb and style, served to our table in a timely manner, on hot plates.

The food was delicious from the first bite to the very last, with waiters being attentive;enough, as we had come to expect.

With a starter and main course consumed we were unable to take on a desert, it would have just been to much food and spoilt an excellent meal; so we finished with coffees and settled the bill.

For us Flemings is very expensive and as good as the service and food was in our opinion it didn't warrant such high prices. Paying for sides is not a new comcept, but mushrooms are only mushrooms, so we would you please consider charging reasonable prices for sides.

Whilst the price would not detract from a fabulous evening, it will deter us from making it a regular dining venue, maybe once every couple of years for a special occasion.

If you've never been to Flemings please give it a try, your will not be disappointed, just be prepared to pay the premium.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always a fantastic steak, wine and all around great food! Highly recommend it!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Wonderful food wonderful service will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

As a frequent diner at this Fleming's location, I appreciate the fact that our loyalty is almost always acknowledged by hosting staff and managers. However the tendency of wait staff to up-sell has become increasingly annoying. No doubt your servers are coached to drive sales higher, I get that. But the push on bottled Evian seems silly; and I'm put off by the overt reminder that wines are available by the bottle; the suggestion that ordering appetizers is a forgone conclusion; or that I necessarily want to add lobster to by steak entree every time. Please, coach your severs--especially those who are newer and overly eager to demonstrate their influence at the table--to back off a bit. Subtle suggestion is one thing. Feeling "pushed" tarnishes the dining experience.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Amazing! The service was first class! We were impressed and pleased. We had a delightful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This restaurant is very quiet and allows a couple to converse freely. The prices are well within reason for a date night out or for a special occasion. The waitstaff and other staff members are very knowledgeable about the food. The restaurant is semi low lighting providing a romantic type atmosphere

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Awesome as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My husband said his steak was the best he had ever eaten when eating out. I appreciated the half plates as it was enough food for me.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great service. Great drinks. Small plates. What's not to like?

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Enjoyed a date night out with my amazing husband and we both enjoyed the ribeye, Flemings potatoes and onion rings. Our waiter was personable and top notch service. Wine was excellent as well.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The steak was great. My wife loved her salmon dish. Sides were great, as was dessert. Wine was good. Service was excellent.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The vibe was very pretentious and stuffy. Then they drop off an iPad at the table like it's Olive Garden. Once you get past that the s

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

erratic service. quick on selling efforts but slow on delivery. waiter practically disappeared after main course was delivered. another waiter had to take away finished plates. waiter dropped my lobster which landed on my arm . he then just picked it up with bare hand and placed on my plate. I expected an offer for some free drink or have my wine taken off but that never happened. next time we saw the waiter was to get the bill. I expected much more for $300 on a dinner for 2 and choosing this place after travelling 4 hrs to this city. Just not how I wanted to bring the new year !!!

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was very good. Cooked as ordered. Service was excellent! The entire staff were great. They made you feel like you were special and they were happy that you were there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Carlos is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Highly recommend the seared ahi tuna. Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always our "go-to" locations for special events. Always top notch food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Favorite place in the area for special and business occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Was the best steak I have ever had, the service was top notch

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was okay and the service was good but the noise level and prices were too high.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Overall a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always superb food, service and wine choices. A tad bit loud this last time, but our server was attentive and made our special occasion worth the evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Food was good. Eaten here in past and always better before. Although ordered prime ribeye. it was the toughest prime steak I've eaten. In fact I've had many Choice steaks at home that were more tender and flavorful. So dissapointing from that standpoint. The vegetables and salad were excellent. The wait staff also was disappointing -- broken English difficult to understand and tried pushing appetizers and desserts even when told we weren't interested. Price is always high but in past the food and service made it acceptable. Now feel the almost 60 dollar steak is unwarranted. May try again in future since I have had excellent experience in past.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 18, 2016

great meal celebrating daughters college graduation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Another great meal at Fleming's in West Des Moines. Seafood tower was delicious and my steak was cooked to perfection. Orin Swift's Abstract was spectacular and the price point was attractive. Finished with a nice tawny port. Oh yea, The service was exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Superb service and attention. Great wine list - all price points. Food was well prepared, and brilliantly served. Impressive all the way around. I had eaten at a Fleming's in Milwaukee, so I knew that I would not be disappointed in Des Moines.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great food with wonderful service. We thoroughly enjoyed the chef's special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great service from welcoming greeting at entry, initial seating, ordering and during meal to bill receipt and departure with a genuine expressed interest for us as guests. Food was exceptional in appearance, preparation to our desires and was fabulous tasting. Portions are generous and provided lunch the following day. Prices are high but not unreasonable considering the venue's attributes, attentive level of service, menu options and food quality. This is our favorite special occasion dining location made even better with periodic special offer selections; ours was the 14oz filet and lobster tail combination with choice of appetizer lobster bisque soup or generous crab meat wedge salad. Entree was accompanied by Fleming's special au gratin potatoes and culminated with choice of dessert. [ Another great menu choice is their Sunday Prime Rib special]. Thanks Flemings and a special appreciation to our server, Brandon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Private Room, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 27, 2016

It was one of the most enjoyable dining experiences we have had in the past year. This food was outstanding, but on the pricy side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Fantastic food and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Service was impeccable and food was great. We really enjoyed celebrating my birthday there and hope to go again soon. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Great food & service - as Flemings always delivers.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The restaurant was very nice, staff was great and food was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Prime rib special was delicious and a great value. Service over the top and a great way to begin the week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We eat at this Flemmings every time we are in Des Moines. Great steaks and side dishes. We love it.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great place for a special occasion! The four of us had a wonderful time! Definitely try the Lava Cake for desert!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The server was very good however, the service was not! We had a table of 5. No one ordered anything difficult . We were pleased to have our table paid for and for that reason we will be back . Thank you

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The service was great, but the steak was unevenly cooked. We asked for it to be medium well and it was at the ends, but it was closer to medium raw at the center. Also the noise level is too high to be able to carry a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Fleming's is always a safe bet when taking business prospects out to dinner. Our waitress this time was rather insistent to get food on our table we felt rushed, not a typical experience at most Fleming's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.