About Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines

150 South Jordan Creek Pkwy
Des Moines, IA 50266
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 457-2916

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ia/west-des-moines

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Chocolate Truffles
  • Braised New Zealand Lamb With Fresh Tomato Sauce
  • Sliced Filet Mignon Over Mushroom Risotto
  • French Fries And Onion Rings
Chocolate Truffles
Braised New Zealand Lamb With Fresh Tomato Sauce
Sliced Filet Mignon Over Mushroom Risotto
French Fries And Onion Rings

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Iowa
Best Food
Iowa
Best Service
Iowa
5 More
Best Ambiance
Iowa
Best Overall
Des Moines
Best Food
Des Moines
Best Service
Des Moines
Best Ambiance
Des Moines
Best Restaurants in West Des Moines ›

Special Occasion (20)
Romantic (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
See All
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Scenic View (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
221 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service and atmosphere were outstand ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 3 days ago

The service and atmosphere were outstanding! Our server was really knowledgeable and patient with all my questions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and great food!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great service and great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I love Flemings! Always ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

My husband and I love Flemings! Always a treat when we dine there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is excellent. I've never h ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food here is excellent. I've never had anything that wasn't delicious. The steaks are amazing and always cooked perfectly. Their wine list is extensive and their craft cocktails are delicious. The ambiance is better than other steak houses in town and the service isn't pretentious. The service this visit was on the slow side. We didn't see our server as much as we would've liked and getting drinks took a ridiculously long time. Our service previous times was just amazing as the food so we'll chalk this one up as a fluke.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

From the time we arrived to the time we ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

From the time we arrived to the time we left, we were treated to impeccable service and hospitality. Very personal! The food was delicious and well explained by our waiter. There was no rushed feeling as we lingered over the menu and appetizer. We are definitely keeping Flemmings on our list of wonderful dining experiences!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not our first time at a Flemings but th ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Not our first time at a Flemings but the first time in Des Moines. The food was excellent, the wine list offering a good selection, the service was perfect and my cocktail was great. They acknowledged the birthday with a card and a desert which is now kind of standard but appreciated anyway. We will continue to dine at Flemings.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the experience was lovely the wa ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Overall the experience was lovely the waiter helped me select a wine that went well with my food,the atmosphere is always great.the management is amazing as well as the restorest of the staff!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

great service, small mix up in order tak ...

 
 (Nebraska)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

great service, small mix up in order taken care of quickly and easily. Food great

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love this restaurant chain. It's not ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We love this restaurant chain. It's not cheap but if you want a great steak, you have to pay a lot these days. Our server was amazing; so helpful without being overwhelming. The wine is list is impressive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Carlos was are server and he was awesome ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Carlos was are server and he was awesome ! Food was good! We really enjoyed being able to try two of the wine tasting for that evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The waitress did an excellent job. Very ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The waitress did an excellent job. Very caring. Great service and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We had to wait 30 minutes for a table de ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had to wait 30 minutes for a table despite having an Open Table reservation which the restaurant acknowledged as having been made.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

It was our anniversary and after they as ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It was our anniversary and after they asked us when we checked in if it was a special occasion, we said yes. They brought a card to our table signed by staff. It was a very nice gesture! The new managing partner is a real gem as well! She (Michelle) made the rounds and was delightful to visit with! I think she will be a perfect addition there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I appreciate the fact they accommodated ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I appreciate the fact they accommodated us with our table request.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional!!

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Exceptional!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service. A little price ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Excellent food, service. A little pricey, but worth it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Sat outside on the patio. Just a perfect ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Sat outside on the patio. Just a perfect night with fantastic food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For a great night out with clients, a fa ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

For a great night out with clients, a family celebration or romantic dinner, you can't beat Fleming's. Insider tip - try the blueberry-lemon drop martini. So refreshing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A couple got engaged, so that was cool. ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

A couple got engaged, so that was cool. Probably shouldn't have worn (even nice) jeans. Extraordinary steak, and smoothest martini I've ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service and food. Louder than pre ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Great service and food. Louder than previous visits most likely due to the large tables we were told were in for a conference.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great evening! Our waiter was exceptiona ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Great evening! Our waiter was exceptional and the food was great. Easily made substitutions for a gluten free diet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fleming's is a top ten steakhouse. The s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Fleming's is a top ten steakhouse. The staff was exceptional in every aspect. From the hostesses to the manager everyone was polite courteous and extremely professional. Our server, Barbara was absolutely outstanding. The cocktails were top notch and the food was beyond compare. Fleming's made my wife's birthday an absolute delight. A must go for anyone that enjoys great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was at Fleming's with a group of 6. F ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I was at Fleming's with a group of 6. Food was very good. I had the prime New York strip and while it was very good it wasn't great. We also had some sides including the green beans which were terrific. Cost of the meal was expensive, not as high as Manny's in Minneapolis but not far away. They had a nice card and box of truffles for my daughter who just graduated from college. Service was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always a good bet!

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

The food at Flemings never disappoints. It is more expensive than some other options but it is worth the extra. The service is excellent and the staff is attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A LOT OF DOUGH FOR NOT MUCH

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

disappointing. the steak was nothing to write about. the martini was insipid. at $110 per person, you expect something better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Fabulous Service

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We had a wonderful evening with friends that we meet once a year in Des Moines. The evening was made even better by the great service we got from Chase, the lovely atmosphere conducive to visiting and the fabulous food. We have made this our annual dinner location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, always very well done

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Excellent food, always very well done

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

We loved being able to make reservations online so easily. The food was delicious and the service was great! We'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good

vip
 (Iowa)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Our meal was great and our service was wonderful. I had the sea bass which I highly recommend

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Evening out with friends.

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

It was a nice experience, would go again for a special occassion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We went for my son's birthday. Service w ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

We went for my son's birthday. Service was great. The meats were prepared perfectly. Always have had great service here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and service!

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

We went to Fleming's to celebrate our anniversary - on a Monday night. It was fantastic - they made our night special with complimentary champagne. Our waiter had great recommendations for the menu and was attentive, but never intrusive. At the end he brought us a box of truffles (which we had to take home -too full!). We had an amazing meal and really enjoyed our evening - can't wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome place to eat

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Awesome service food and atmosphere. The noise was slightly loud but overall a great evening.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Wonderful food with exceptional service. Pricey so I would only visit it for a special occasion.

The decor is warm and very classy.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pricey but good

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

The service was excellent the food flavor was very good and so many choices for those who like to try different things. It is just too expensive for any regular visits definitely a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing experience management and server ...

vip
 (Iowa)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Amazing experience management and servers went above and beyond to have a great experience. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best meals ever had at Fleming's

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Amazing stupendous fantastic wonderful. Brandon best waiter ever. Steve knocked it out of the park. Their customer service is what dinning out should be like. Amazing staff, food was off the hook. Mmmmm Mmmmm good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chipotle Mac and cheese is amazing!!

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Chipotle Mac and cheese is amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic!

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a great experience dining at Flemings. Superb steak at a higher price point. Totally worth it

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Wowsier

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food: delicious

Service: perfect

Prices: dinner- what I expected: champagne - rediculously $$$

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.