About Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines

150 South Jordan Creek Pkwy
Des Moines, IA 50266
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 457-2916

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ia/west-des-moines

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Chocolate Truffles - Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
  • Braised New Zealand Lamb With Fresh Tomato Sauce - Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
  • Sliced Filet Mignon Over Mushroom Risotto - Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
  • French Fries And Onion Rings - Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines, Des Moines, IA

Report a photo problem

Chocolate Truffles - Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
Braised New Zealand Lamb With Fresh Tomato Sauce - Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
Sliced Filet Mignon Over Mushroom Risotto - Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines, Des Moines, IA
French Fries And Onion Rings - Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines, Des Moines, IA

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate Valentine's Week with us from February 10 - February 19. Enjoy a 3-course dinner featuring a Filet Mignon paired with your choice of New Zealand Salmon or an Australian Lobster Tail.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for a Date (18)
Business Meals (17)
See All
Special Occasion (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Worth the Drive (12)
Romantic (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Cozy (3)
Fun (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Private Room (3)
Casual (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
People Watching (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Authentic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
271 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service. Great drinks. Small pla ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined a day ago

Great service. Great drinks. Small plates. What's not to like?

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed a date night out with my amazing ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyed a date night out with my amazing husband and we both enjoyed the ribeye, Flemings potatoes and onion rings. Our waiter was personable and top notch service. Wine was excellent as well.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak was great. My wife loved her s ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 6 days ago

The steak was great. My wife loved her salmon dish. Sides were great, as was dessert. Wine was good. Service was excellent.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The vibe was very pretentious and stuffy ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The vibe was very pretentious and stuffy. Then they drop off an iPad at the table like it's Olive Garden. Once you get past that the s

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

erratic service. quick on selling effort ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

erratic service. quick on selling efforts but slow on delivery. waiter practically disappeared after main course was delivered. another waiter had to take away finished plates. waiter dropped my lobster which landed on my arm . he then just picked it up with bare hand and placed on my plate. I expected an offer for some free drink or have my wine taken off but that never happened. next time we saw the waiter was to get the bill. I expected much more for $300 on a dinner for 2 and choosing this place after travelling 4 hrs to this city. Just not how I wanted to bring the new year !!!

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

Food was very good. Cooked as ordered. ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was very good. Cooked as ordered. Service was excellent! The entire staff were great. They made you feel like you were special and they were happy that you were there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Carlos is the best!

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Carlos is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommend the seared ahi tuna. Gr ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Highly recommend the seared ahi tuna. Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always our "go-to" locations for special ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always our "go-to" locations for special events. Always top notch food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Favorite place in the area for special a ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Favorite place in the area for special and business occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was the best steak I have ever had, the ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Was the best steak I have ever had, the service was top notch

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was okay and the service was go ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was okay and the service was good but the noise level and prices were too high.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Overall a great experience

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Overall a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Always superb food, service and wine cho ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always superb food, service and wine choices. A tad bit loud this last time, but our server was attentive and made our special occasion worth the evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good. Eaten here in past and al ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Food was good. Eaten here in past and always better before. Although ordered prime ribeye. it was the toughest prime steak I've eaten. In fact I've had many Choice steaks at home that were more tender and flavorful. So dissapointing from that standpoint. The vegetables and salad were excellent. The wait staff also was disappointing -- broken English difficult to understand and tried pushing appetizers and desserts even when told we weren't interested. Price is always high but in past the food and service made it acceptable. Now feel the almost 60 dollar steak is unwarranted. May try again in future since I have had excellent experience in past.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

great meal celebrating daughters college ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 18, 2016

great meal celebrating daughters college graduation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great meal at Fleming's in West ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Another great meal at Fleming's in West Des Moines. Seafood tower was delicious and my steak was cooked to perfection. Orin Swift's Abstract was spectacular and the price point was attractive. Finished with a nice tawny port. Oh yea, The service was exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Private Room, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Superb service and attention. Great win ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Superb service and attention. Great wine list - all price points. Food was well prepared, and brilliantly served. Impressive all the way around. I had eaten at a Fleming's in Milwaukee, so I knew that I would not be disappointed in Des Moines.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food with wonderful service. We t ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great food with wonderful service. We thoroughly enjoyed the chef's special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service from welcoming greeting at ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great service from welcoming greeting at entry, initial seating, ordering and during meal to bill receipt and departure with a genuine expressed interest for us as guests. Food was exceptional in appearance, preparation to our desires and was fabulous tasting. Portions are generous and provided lunch the following day. Prices are high but not unreasonable considering the venue's attributes, attentive level of service, menu options and food quality. This is our favorite special occasion dining location made even better with periodic special offer selections; ours was the 14oz filet and lobster tail combination with choice of appetizer lobster bisque soup or generous crab meat wedge salad. Entree was accompanied by Fleming's special au gratin potatoes and culminated with choice of dessert. [ Another great menu choice is their Sunday Prime Rib special]. Thanks Flemings and a special appreciation to our server, Brandon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Private Room, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was one of the most enjoyable dining ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 27, 2016

It was one of the most enjoyable dining experiences we have had in the past year. This food was outstanding, but on the pricy side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fantastic food and experience.

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Fantastic food and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was impeccable and food was grea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Service was impeccable and food was great. We really enjoyed celebrating my birthday there and hope to go again soon. Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food & service - as Flemings alway ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Great food & service - as Flemings always delivers.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant was very nice, staff was ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The restaurant was very nice, staff was great and food was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prime rib special was delicious and a gr ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Prime rib special was delicious and a great value. Service over the top and a great way to begin the week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We eat at this Flemmings every time we a ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We eat at this Flemmings every time we are in Des Moines. Great steaks and side dishes. We love it.

Tags: Business Meals, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place for a special occasion! The ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great place for a special occasion! The four of us had a wonderful time! Definitely try the Lava Cake for desert!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The server was very good however, the se ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The server was very good however, the service was not! We had a table of 5. No one ordered anything difficult . We were pleased to have our table paid for and for that reason we will be back . Thank you

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

The service was great, but the steak was ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The service was great, but the steak was unevenly cooked. We asked for it to be medium well and it was at the ends, but it was closer to medium raw at the center. Also the noise level is too high to be able to carry a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

Fleming's is always a safe bet when taki ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Fleming's is always a safe bet when taking business prospects out to dinner. Our waitress this time was rather insistent to get food on our table we felt rushed, not a typical experience at most Fleming's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

My friend and I went to Flemings on a Su ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2016

My friend and I went to Flemings on a Sunday night so it was not crowded. We have both been to Flemings before in other cities. Our server Barbara was pleasant and knowledgeable about the menu and wines. She recommended the NY strip wagyu steak and it did not disappoint. Just as she said it would be, almost as tender as a filet but lots more flavor. She also recommended the Flemings potatoes which were excellent. Flemings is building a new restaurant in my hometown of Pasadena CA so I am looking forward to eating there soon!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was perfect! Awesome food! Th ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Everything was perfect! Awesome food!

The wait staff was outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our mother her to celebrate her ...

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 16, 2016

We took our mother her to celebrate her birthday. The staff was very attentive and accommodating to her needs. The food and service was excellent. I only gave service 4 stars because i felt our server was a bit standoffish. Would definitely recommend and will go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was excellent, the service was ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 15, 2016

The food was excellent, the service was top-notch, and I have absolutely no complaints. My wife our nine-year old son, I went for my wife's birthday, and we couldn't have asked for a better experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fleming's is a very nice steakhouse, goo ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Fleming's is a very nice steakhouse, good ambience, reasonably quiet. Lots of customers. Dress was casual, ranged from levis thru suits. My wife had a medium rare filet mignon and I had a blue one. Both were cooked to perfection. The sides including the baked potato were very good and are truly sharable. The staff is attentive but not intrusive. Fleming's is an excellent choice if you're in the mood for some really good food.

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Flemings is pricey for us but we enjoy g ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Flemings is pricey for us but we enjoy going there for special occasions. This was our 39th anniversary and everything was perfect!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a wonderful anniversary dinner with ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Had a wonderful anniversary dinner with my husband. We started with the Seafood Tower ($25 per person) which came with lobster, crab legs & claws, and shrimp. It was fantastic. I ordered the Main Filet medium-rare charred and my husband ordered the Bone-in Ribeye medium rare charred. No sides. My filet was juicy and a little too pink so the waiter graciously took it back to the kitchen & when it was returned to me it was perfect. Next time I'll order my steak broiled, just a personal preference. My husband's steak was cooked to his preference - he had no complaints. For dessert we ordered the Chocolate Lava Cake with cappuccinos. Next time we'll split a lava cake. Aside from the delicious food, we loved the cozy booth with the personal Happy Anniversary card we found when we were seated. And at the end of the meal, we were served glasses of champagne, given a box of house-made truffles and a $25 gift card for a future use. Outstanding! This is definitely the place to come for special occasions. They treated us like royalty!

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and atmosphere were outstand ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The service and atmosphere were outstanding! Our server was really knowledgeable and patient with all my questions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love this place, the food it deliciou ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We love this place, the food it delicious and the steak just melts in my mouth. We go there for special occasions and they know how to treat you right. We had the same server this time as we did the last time and Leslie remembered us (we had not been there for many months). She helped make our experience even better.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, , Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.