About Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

150 South Jordan Creek Pkwy
Des Moines, IA 50266
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 457-2916

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ia/west-des-moines

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $49.95

Special valid Mar 15, 2017 - Apr 15, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Celebrate your Easter Sunday with our special 3-course Brunch menu, featuring delectable choices like our Signature Eggs Benedict and Cinnamon Apple Brioche French Toast. We’re offering a special children’s menu, so we invite the whole family to celebrate.

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $49.95

Special valid Mar 15, 2017 - Apr 15, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $49.95. Excludes Tax and Tip. Featuring an 8 oz. North Atlantic Lobster Tail paired with an 8 oz. Filet Mignon. Special valid Mar 15, 2017 - Apr 15, 2017 all week from 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Good for a Date (26)
See All
Notable Wine List (22)
Romantic (20)
Business Meals (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Bar Seating (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Cozy (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Casual (6)
Private Room (6)
Fun (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Modern Decor (4)
Authentic (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
People Watching (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Fireplace (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great Beer (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
300 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 4 days ago

Very good food ans service well worth the $$$.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined 6 days ago

Have dined here several times in the past, but this experience was one of the best from a culinary standpoint. I had the filet mignon and lobster special and they both were done to perfection. We got a side of the brussel sprouts which were prepared perfectly. My Caesar salad was very tasty, the fried capers were a nice touch. My only complaint was it was fairly noisy, to the point it was hard to understand our waiter at times. The other irritant were the `dufuses` who wore their baseball caps while dining. I know it would be hard to turn away paying customers, but I would think an establishment who might consider themselves a fine dining restaurant would kindly ask patrons to show a little bit of respect for others and the restaurant by removing their `ball caps`. Geez!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

I got sick after eating there. I had only a bowl of cereal for breakfast prior to that so I know it wasn't that. Unfortunate really, great atmosphere. Great steak. I think it was the salad.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Fantastic food and service. Our favorite for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We waited 15 minutes to be seated but we went to the bar to enjoy while we waited for our table. The food portions are large. The crab cakes were amazing. We enjoyed our dinner. I will definitely be recommending this restaurant to others. One of the best restaurants we have ever eaten at. Our server was fun and friendly.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My daughter's meal and my meal came out incorrectly. I have some food allergies and I couldn't eat the food on my plate. Fleming's went above and beyond by not only correcting the meals, but also by taking care of it on the bill. It was very much appreciated and I will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 10, 2017

As always Fleming's rose to the occasion. Great food, great service and a great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The food was excellent. Good ambiance & wonderful service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We are frequent diners at this Fleming's location. Response to a previous review is duly noted. Service this time was much better--from the same server with whom we did not click on a previous visit. Seems like she had been coached based on our feedback last time. Thanks for that, we see that as good management and a server who wants to learn and grow. We'll be back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Private Room, Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent food served by attentive and skilled staff. Always enjoyable.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great as always! Staff helps make the experience. They are top notch and go above and beyond. Fantastic meals everytime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Most Excellent experience. Solid food done with perfection.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Service was excellent. Food was average at best. King crab legs appeared to be brought in cracked and frozen. They did not have much taste and were somewhat dried out. I can get much better crab legs elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Upon entering the lighting instantly set a wonderful mood for my wife and I. The noise level was louder then we would have liked but it was a Saturday night before Valentine's day so it's mostly to be expected. The original order of drinks and bread came out quick enough, however I did wait almost 15 minutes before my second drink showed up. The steak I ordered was extremely undercooked to the point of almost raw. They did a solid by taking it back and cooking it correctly and taking care of the steak. My wifes meal was wonderful and the Fleming's potatoes were amazing! Overall a nice experience albeit a bit slow on the service. The manager apologized in person which was a nice touch!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Ordered a bottle of champagne and it was served in a red wine glass. It never got any better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Highlight of meal for me was not the steak, which was very, very good, but the onion soup, which was exceptional. Only negative was the coffee, which while very hot and a generous portion, was to my taste very weak. All in all the meal was excellent and so was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Everything was awesome. Service was over the top. Food was phenomenal.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Dinner was fabulous! Went for a birthday celebration. Make sure you tell your waiter that it's a birthday celebration for a special treat.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Excellent food and attentive service staff. Wonderful overall experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Upon our arrival our family was warmly greeted. Our servers were very knowledgeable & friendly. Our food was excellent. Cooked to perfection. The servers were very attentive & took care of our every need. The desert was the perfect top to a wonderful meal. I highly recommend Flemings.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hampshire)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The ambience that greets you when you arrive is carried right the way through to your table and the whole of your evening; our anniversary celebration evening was off to a great start. Alec our waiter ensured we had a fanatastic evening, with the continued support of the whole restaurant staff on the dining floor, no detail was overlooked. Flemings menu offered us a selection of food options, Alecs knowledge and expertise on each menu item we enquired on made them come alive, so selection was easy. Then it was the chefs turn to live up to their billing, which they did with aplomb and style, served to our table in a timely manner, on hot plates.

The food was delicious from the first bite to the very last, with waiters being attentive;enough, as we had come to expect.

With a starter and main course consumed we were unable to take on a desert, it would have just been to much food and spoilt an excellent meal; so we finished with coffees and settled the bill.

For us Flemings is very expensive and as good as the service and food was in our opinion it didn't warrant such high prices. Paying for sides is not a new comcept, but mushrooms are only mushrooms, so we would you please consider charging reasonable prices for sides.

Whilst the price would not detract from a fabulous evening, it will deter us from making it a regular dining venue, maybe once every couple of years for a special occasion.

If you've never been to Flemings please give it a try, your will not be disappointed, just be prepared to pay the premium.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always a fantastic steak, wine and all around great food! Highly recommend it!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Wonderful food wonderful service will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 3, 2017

As a frequent diner at this Fleming's location, I appreciate the fact that our loyalty is almost always acknowledged by hosting staff and managers. However the tendency of wait staff to up-sell has become increasingly annoying. No doubt your servers are coached to drive sales higher, I get that. But the push on bottled Evian seems silly; and I'm put off by the overt reminder that wines are available by the bottle; the suggestion that ordering appetizers is a forgone conclusion; or that I necessarily want to add lobster to by steak entree every time. Please, coach your severs--especially those who are newer and overly eager to demonstrate their influence at the table--to back off a bit. Subtle suggestion is one thing. Feeling "pushed" tarnishes the dining experience.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Amazing! The service was first class! We were impressed and pleased. We had a delightful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This restaurant is very quiet and allows a couple to converse freely. The prices are well within reason for a date night out or for a special occasion. The waitstaff and other staff members are very knowledgeable about the food. The restaurant is semi low lighting providing a romantic type atmosphere

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Awesome as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My husband said his steak was the best he had ever eaten when eating out. I appreciated the half plates as it was enough food for me.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Great service. Great drinks. Small plates. What's not to like?

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Enjoyed a date night out with my amazing husband and we both enjoyed the ribeye, Flemings potatoes and onion rings. Our waiter was personable and top notch service. Wine was excellent as well.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The steak was great. My wife loved her salmon dish. Sides were great, as was dessert. Wine was good. Service was excellent.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The vibe was very pretentious and stuffy. Then they drop off an iPad at the table like it's Olive Garden. Once you get past that the s

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

erratic service. quick on selling efforts but slow on delivery. waiter practically disappeared after main course was delivered. another waiter had to take away finished plates. waiter dropped my lobster which landed on my arm . he then just picked it up with bare hand and placed on my plate. I expected an offer for some free drink or have my wine taken off but that never happened. next time we saw the waiter was to get the bill. I expected much more for $300 on a dinner for 2 and choosing this place after travelling 4 hrs to this city. Just not how I wanted to bring the new year !!!

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was very good. Cooked as ordered. Service was excellent! The entire staff were great. They made you feel like you were special and they were happy that you were there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Carlos is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Highly recommend the seared ahi tuna. Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always our "go-to" locations for special events. Always top notch food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Favorite place in the area for special and business occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Was the best steak I have ever had, the service was top notch

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The food was okay and the service was good but the noise level and prices were too high.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.