About Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines

150 South Jordan Creek Pkwy
Des Moines, IA 50266
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 457-2916

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ia/west-des-moines

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Chocolate Truffles
  • Braised New Zealand Lamb With Fresh Tomato Sauce
  • Sliced Filet Mignon Over Mushroom Risotto
  • French Fries And Onion Rings
Chocolate Truffles
Braised New Zealand Lamb With Fresh Tomato Sauce
Sliced Filet Mignon Over Mushroom Risotto
French Fries And Onion Rings

Promotions

Taste the Season Prix Fixe - Starting at $55.95*

Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Promotions

Taste the Season Prix Fixe - Starting at $55.95*

Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM

Details
Our limited-time three-course menu features a Filet Mignon paired with your favorite summer seafood selection—shrimp, Alaskan king crab or North Atlantic lobster. We add a spinach salad & a salted caramel gelato sandwich to complete the gathering. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jun 24, 2016 - Aug 31, 2016 all week from 12:00 AM - 12:00 AM.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Iowa
Best Food
Iowa
Best Service
Iowa
7 More
Best Ambiance
Iowa
Notable Wine List
Iowa
Best Overall
Des Moines
Best Food
Des Moines
Best Service
Des Moines
Best Ambiance
Des Moines
Romantic
Des Moines
Best Restaurants in West Des Moines ›

special occasion (21)
notable wine list (17)
romantic (16)
See All
fit for foodies (13)
good for groups (5)
great for outdoor dining (3)
neighborhood gem (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
212 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Carlos was are server and he was awesome ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Carlos was are server and he was awesome ! Food was good! We really enjoyed being able to try two of the wine tasting for that evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The waitress did an excellent job. Very ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The waitress did an excellent job. Very caring. Great service and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We had to wait 30 minutes for a table de ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We had to wait 30 minutes for a table despite having an Open Table reservation which the restaurant acknowledged as having been made.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

It was our anniversary and after they as ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

It was our anniversary and after they asked us when we checked in if it was a special occasion, we said yes. They brought a card to our table signed by staff. It was a very nice gesture! The new managing partner is a real gem as well! She (Michelle) made the rounds and was delightful to visit with! I think she will be a perfect addition there.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I appreciate the fact they accommodated ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I appreciate the fact they accommodated us with our table request.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional!!

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Exceptional!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, service. A little price ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Excellent food, service. A little pricey, but worth it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Sat outside on the patio. Just a perfect ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Sat outside on the patio. Just a perfect night with fantastic food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For a great night out with clients, a fa ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

For a great night out with clients, a family celebration or romantic dinner, you can't beat Fleming's. Insider tip - try the blueberry-lemon drop martini. So refreshing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A couple got engaged, so that was cool. ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

A couple got engaged, so that was cool. Probably shouldn't have worn (even nice) jeans. Extraordinary steak, and smoothest martini I've ever had.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service and food. Louder than pre ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Great service and food. Louder than previous visits most likely due to the large tables we were told were in for a conference.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great evening! Our waiter was exceptiona ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Great evening! Our waiter was exceptional and the food was great. Easily made substitutions for a gluten free diet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fleming's is a top ten steakhouse. The s ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Fleming's is a top ten steakhouse. The staff was exceptional in every aspect. From the hostesses to the manager everyone was polite courteous and extremely professional. Our server, Barbara was absolutely outstanding. The cocktails were top notch and the food was beyond compare. Fleming's made my wife's birthday an absolute delight. A must go for anyone that enjoys great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I was at Fleming's with a group of 6. F ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I was at Fleming's with a group of 6. Food was very good. I had the prime New York strip and while it was very good it wasn't great. We also had some sides including the green beans which were terrific. Cost of the meal was expensive, not as high as Manny's in Minneapolis but not far away. They had a nice card and box of truffles for my daughter who just graduated from college. Service was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Always a good bet!

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

The food at Flemings never disappoints. It is more expensive than some other options but it is worth the extra. The service is excellent and the staff is attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A LOT OF DOUGH FOR NOT MUCH

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

disappointing. the steak was nothing to write about. the martini was insipid. at $110 per person, you expect something better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Fabulous Service

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We had a wonderful evening with friends that we meet once a year in Des Moines. The evening was made even better by the great service we got from Chase, the lovely atmosphere conducive to visiting and the fabulous food. We have made this our annual dinner location.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, always very well done

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Excellent food, always very well done

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

We loved being able to make reservations online so easily. The food was delicious and the service was great! We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good

vip
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Our meal was great and our service was wonderful. I had the sea bass which I highly recommend

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Evening out with friends.

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

It was a nice experience, would go again for a special occassion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We went for my son's birthday. Service w ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

We went for my son's birthday. Service was great. The meats were prepared perfectly. Always have had great service here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and service!

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

We went to Fleming's to celebrate our anniversary - on a Monday night. It was fantastic - they made our night special with complimentary champagne. Our waiter had great recommendations for the menu and was attentive, but never intrusive. At the end he brought us a box of truffles (which we had to take home -too full!). We had an amazing meal and really enjoyed our evening - can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome place to eat

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Awesome service food and atmosphere. The noise was slightly loud but overall a great evening.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantic

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Wonderful food with exceptional service. Pricey so I would only visit it for a special occasion.

The decor is warm and very classy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pricey but good

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

The service was excellent the food flavor was very good and so many choices for those who like to try different things. It is just too expensive for any regular visits definitely a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing experience management and server ...

vip
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Amazing experience management and servers went above and beyond to have a great experience. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best meals ever had at Fleming's

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Amazing stupendous fantastic wonderful. Brandon best waiter ever. Steve knocked it out of the park. Their customer service is what dinning out should be like. Amazing staff, food was off the hook. Mmmmm Mmmmm good.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chipotle Mac and cheese is amazing!!

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Chipotle Mac and cheese is amazing!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic!

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a great experience dining at Flemings. Superb steak at a higher price point. Totally worth it

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Wowsier

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Food: delicious

Service: perfect

Prices: dinner- what I expected: champagne - rediculously $$$

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Not as good as the first visit

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Went for Valentine's Day. Seated promptly, and greeted very nicely at a nice table. The server overall was good, just seemed a little over-taxed. Both of us ordered our steaks medium-medium well, with sides of mashed potatoes and green beans. My wife's steak was well done, while mine was medium rare. The individual serving the steak should take the time to ensure the doneness was correct, rather than making a customer wait 20+ minutes to get a recooked steak, which by the way cooked away the $5 rub I ordered. Meanwhile, my $20 in sides were getting cold, my wife had to wait for me to get my steak, and the manager, who stopped by knowing my steak wasn't done correctly, simply asked if we needed more drinks, which of course, we were also charged for. Yes, the steak was good, but the overall ambiance/experience was sub-par, which was not even recognized by a free beverage, to say the least. Will consider alternative DSM locations which provide equal food quality/service for a better value next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Sat in bar area and the server was great ...

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

Sat in bar area and the server was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great steaks

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

I had the prime New York strip and girlfriend had the main fillet and as always it was great!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server, Jenna Kuiper, which we have ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

Our server, Jenna Kuiper, which we have had the good fortune of getting twice in two months is incredible. We will definitely request her for all our visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful experience

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

We took our daughter Alex to Fleming's to celebrate her 26th birthday. Even though we had not mentioned it, our server Brandon asked if we were there to celebrate a birthday. We had a wonderful meal and the ambiance was perfect. Alex felt very special. At the end of the meal Brandon brought Alex a small box of chocolates and a glass of champagne! It was a very nice way to end the evening. We will definitely return as Alex wants to make it a birthday tradition.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

We had Steak and other items. The food and wine was delicious. Flemings is one of the more expensive places to dine in the Des Moines Metro Area.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on January 6, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed yet another anniversary dinner at Flemings. I always make my reservations through Open Table, and have never been turned away. For our anniversary, once again, I brought a bouquet of flowers to the restaurant early, and asked that they be placed on our table.

When we arrived, the table was ready, flowers on the table with a Happy Anniversary card from the staff and excellent service. More than one server, as well as the manager made note that the bouquet of Red, Pink and Yellow Roses brightened the atmosphere for the staff and other guests.

My wife had the 8 oz Filet Mignon, and I had the 20 oz Bone-In Rib Eye. Our server suggested we get the meat seared in olive oil which sounded delicious and tasted even more wonderful than it sounded. We both said that these steaks had to be in the top 5 of any steak we had ever had at any restaurant.

Our visit was wonderful, the staff was courteous and fast, and we had a magnificent bottle of wine from Tuscany.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good. Did not care for the exce ...

vip
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Food was good. Did not care for the exceptionally small table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

We had a party of 9 for Nee Year's Eve w ...

vip
 (Des Moines)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We had a party of 9 for Nee Year's Eve with a reservation at 8:00pm. When we arrived it was clear they over booked the evening. We waited until after 9:00pm before being seated. While the service was good and the food was excellent as usual the delay in being seated was very disappointing. I don't understand over booking so much that you can't possibly keep your commitment to your customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.