About Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

150 South Jordan Creek Pkwy
Des Moines, IA 50266
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(515) 457-2916

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/ia/west-des-moines

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Des Moines Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (34)
Notable Wine List (27)
Good for a Date (26)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Romantic (24)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Cozy (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Business Meals (13)
Worth the Drive (12)
Bar Seating (10)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Happy Hour (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Private Room (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Fun (5)
Casual (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Authentic (4)
Seasonal (3)
People Watching (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great Beer (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
324 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

My daughter' 16th birthday. Our waiter was Carlos. He was very good and friendly. The card, desert, truffles and gift card were very generous and thoughtful .

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined 4 days ago

Always love our visits to Flemings! One of our very favorite places to eat in town!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined 7 days ago

Another fantastic meal and amazing service by our favorite server, Chloe!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I Was very impressed with the staff and team effort input for me to make it a special evening for my purposal on mother's day

Tags: Scenic View, Late-night Find, Cozy, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for my fiance's birthday. Was an amazing time. Thanks!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 10, 2017

gave us someone else's anniversary card - did not feel the value was worth staying for dinner - would rather go to 801 chophouse

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Our server, Matt, was excellent! I had amazing sea bass & my husband thought the yellow tuna was fantastic. This Flemings never disappoints!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This is one of our favorite places to eat in Des Moines.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great steaks as usual. Loved the corn and potatoes. Appreciate the consistency from one Flemings to the next in terms of selection and quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Great food, great drinks and great service from Chole!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Had a nice quiet dinner with my wife.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great food. Carlos was awesome!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Always a treat to dine here. Service is excellent and very attentive. Food selection very good and it is presented well.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Barbara George took impeccable care of us for our daughters 25th Birthday! Wonderful food and service! Michelle Booth came by to also check on us and make sure all went well ! We really appreciated all the extra touches to make her night so special!!! We will be back!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Amazing food and great service from Brandon. The whole staff greeted us by name and made sure that our dinner was memorable. Best steak I have tasted and the wife really enjoyed the striped bass. Must get the lava cake with fresh cream.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great dinner with family that came in from out of town! Staff is very friendly and values serving & catering to you. Excellent service!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Family Style, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Wonderful food prepared to perfection. Service is top rated and friendly. Molten lava cake was a fantastic finish.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 5, 2017

We had a wonderful evening. Thank you to Andres and his team. See you next month.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Very nice meal with colleagues while visiting Des Moines. The service at this location was very good and helped make the meal even better.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Have never had a bad meal at Fleming's. They do steaks right! It's our getaway place for special occasions, and business meals. Top notch all the way (including prices.)

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 2, 2017

It was our first year anniversary of being married. We were sent a 50 dollar coupon from there so that alone was very generous. Food was great but half of our order was cold!! We let our waiter know and they immediately came out with a fresh hot order in less than 5 minutes! Our waiter recommended the lava cake which was also delicious! We go maybe once or twice a year but only on special occasions! It's very expensive but well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on April 1, 2017

When you desire food to be a pleasurable experience you need to spend a little bit more. This is when Fleming's Steakhouse becomes your destination. Everything was top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excellent food and service. Ordered the Sunday evening prime rib special. Everything met or exceeded our expectations.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Very good food ans service well worth the $$$.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Have dined here several times in the past, but this experience was one of the best from a culinary standpoint. I had the filet mignon and lobster special and they both were done to perfection. We got a side of the brussel sprouts which were prepared perfectly. My Caesar salad was very tasty, the fried capers were a nice touch. My only complaint was it was fairly noisy, to the point it was hard to understand our waiter at times. The other irritant were the `dufuses` who wore their baseball caps while dining. I know it would be hard to turn away paying customers, but I would think an establishment who might consider themselves a fine dining restaurant would kindly ask patrons to show a little bit of respect for others and the restaurant by removing their `ball caps`. Geez!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I got sick after eating there. I had only a bowl of cereal for breakfast prior to that so I know it wasn't that. Unfortunate really, great atmosphere. Great steak. I think it was the salad.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Fantastic food and service. Our favorite for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We waited 15 minutes to be seated but we went to the bar to enjoy while we waited for our table. The food portions are large. The crab cakes were amazing. We enjoyed our dinner. I will definitely be recommending this restaurant to others. One of the best restaurants we have ever eaten at. Our server was fun and friendly.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My daughter's meal and my meal came out incorrectly. I have some food allergies and I couldn't eat the food on my plate. Fleming's went above and beyond by not only correcting the meals, but also by taking care of it on the bill. It was very much appreciated and I will go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 10, 2017

As always Fleming's rose to the occasion. Great food, great service and a great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 6, 2017

The food was excellent. Good ambiance & wonderful service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We are frequent diners at this Fleming's location. Response to a previous review is duly noted. Service this time was much better--from the same server with whom we did not click on a previous visit. Seems like she had been coached based on our feedback last time. Thanks for that, we see that as good management and a server who wants to learn and grow. We'll be back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Cozy, Private Room, Special Occasion, Authentic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent food served by attentive and skilled staff. Always enjoyable.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great as always! Staff helps make the experience. They are top notch and go above and beyond. Fantastic meals everytime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Most Excellent experience. Solid food done with perfection.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Service was excellent. Food was average at best. King crab legs appeared to be brought in cracked and frozen. They did not have much taste and were somewhat dried out. I can get much better crab legs elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Upon entering the lighting instantly set a wonderful mood for my wife and I. The noise level was louder then we would have liked but it was a Saturday night before Valentine's day so it's mostly to be expected. The original order of drinks and bread came out quick enough, however I did wait almost 15 minutes before my second drink showed up. The steak I ordered was extremely undercooked to the point of almost raw. They did a solid by taking it back and cooking it correctly and taking care of the steak. My wifes meal was wonderful and the Fleming's potatoes were amazing! Overall a nice experience albeit a bit slow on the service. The manager apologized in person which was a nice touch!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Ordered a bottle of champagne and it was served in a red wine glass. It never got any better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Highlight of meal for me was not the steak, which was very, very good, but the onion soup, which was exceptional. Only negative was the coffee, which while very hot and a generous portion, was to my taste very weak. All in all the meal was excellent and so was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.