About Fleming's Steakhouse - Birmingham MI

323 N Old Woodward Avenue
Birmingham, MI 48009
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Oakland Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 723-0134

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/mi/birmingham

Parking Details:
Valet is available for a nominal fee. There is a parking structure north of the entrance. The first two hours of parking are complimentary.

Public Transit:
The restaurant is located across the street from a public transportation post.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Onion Rings
  • Prime Steak Burger
  • Pinot Noir Vina Leyda, Chile
  • Lobster Tempura
  • Potato Chips
Onion Rings
Prime Steak Burger
Pinot Noir Vina Leyda, Chile
Lobster Tempura
Potato Chips

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Birmingham MI Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Steak
Detroit / Eastern Michigan
Best Service
Detroit
1 More
Steak
Detroit
Best Restaurants in Birmingham ›

Special Occasion (29)
Notable Wine List (21)
Romantic (19)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Great for Brunch (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Business Meals (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
530 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dinner was fabulous, service excellent a ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 3 days ago

Dinner was fabulous, service excellent and all staff very nice. Our friend enjoyed the birthday gifts too :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

very expensive wine is crazy advertise ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

very expensive wine is crazy advertise 13.00 for a glass then the waitress asks

if you want a 6 or 9 oz turns out to be a 20.00 glass of wine

just very expensive

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Awesome, awesome Ribeye and crab cakes! ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Awesome, awesome Ribeye and crab cakes! Waited too long for bread. All else was perfect. We will be back😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Food, staff, and overall generosity.

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food, staff, and overall generosity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food. Had a business ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great service and food. Had a business dinner with six people and atmosphere was just right. Would recommend this restaurant for those who want good quality food, detailed service attention within a comfortable environment

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rhett B was the server. Pretty bland in ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Rhett B was the server. Pretty bland individual and not too excited about his job. He asked if we had been there and then proceed in a monotone to read his spiel on the offerings. Even my wife who is usually very forgiving could not believe his attitude.

The meal itself was really nothing special. Had a filet and a bacon app altho we enjoyed the bacon app much more than the filet. No taste.

Sorry, just being honest!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Nasty smell when you walk in & food ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Nasty smell when you walk in & food and beverages very over priced.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Great service and food. So much classier ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great service and food. So much classier than Livonia Flemings.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was impeccable. Food was del ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The service was impeccable. Food was delicious. Staff was amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service, excellent food and ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Outstanding service, excellent food and great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place got a family celebration. Th ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great place got a family celebration. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were at Fleming's to celebrate our da ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We were at Fleming's to celebrate our daughters 28th birthday. Everything was great, the food the people and our waiter made sure everyone was happy. We enjoy coming to Fleming's and we use it whenever the occasion calls for it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had great service and really enjoyed ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We had great service and really enjoyed the ambiance. The food is what you'd expect from a chain restaurant. The value for the cost is average. You will probably be content with the meal but it's certainly not a "wow" joint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

From the moment we walked in we felt wel ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

From the moment we walked in we felt welcomed. We are a young couple walking into an expense place so we are always worried about how people with judge or serve us and we did not have to worry here. We got excellent 100% service from James and they went above and beyond to make us feel comfortable and enjoy our anniversary dinner date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent and service too! ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

The food was excellent and service too! The servers and manger was very friendly and truly genuine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoy eating at Fleming's. The food ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We enjoy eating at Fleming's. The food and service are always top notch! There is always a manager that comes by the table to make sure that everything is right. It is always clean and the atmosphere is always just the way it should be.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a wonderful experience as my husban ...

vip
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Such a wonderful experience as my husband & I took our 10yr old granddaughter to celebrate her 10th B'day.. I mentioned in our reservation about our "date" with our oldest grand.. Flemings went the extra starting when we walked in by greeting "M" with happy birthday.. Beautiful flowers on the table, server acknowledged HB & the beaming on our grandadughter's face was priceless! She had her Shirley Temple & then her steak dinner with fries & we all shared salads & broccoli... Of course the special chocolate lava cake, candle & singing, along with a birthday card ( signed by the staff), included with a $25. gift card has us returning asap. Out dining experience was a home run!!!!

Thank you Fleming's....

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, Excellent steaks, fo ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Excellent service, Excellent steaks, food is good but not very creative. Good choice for steak lover but for the price can find other choices with broader menu.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The overall experience was incredible. I ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The overall experience was incredible. I had mentioned in my reservation that we were celebrating a birthday, and my date was wished a happy birthday on many occasions. We were sat immediately, greeted almost immediately, and were given appropriate time to decide on drinks, meals, etc. At no point did we feel rushed. The food was outstanding both of our steaks were cooked perfectly according to our requests. After our meal, a manager approached us politely, wishing my date a happy birthday and treating her to an$25 dining card and a box of chocolate truffles. I will recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food! I enjoyed the crab cakes and ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great Food! I enjoyed the crab cakes and bone in ribeye! Jillian was a great waitress! I don't like how dimly lit the restaurant is however I will return...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The atmosphere was not bad. The booth ta ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The atmosphere was not bad. The booth tables weren't very comfortable at all being that the table was way higher than the seating area and I'm not short. The food overall wasnt bad, but for the price it was not worth it. Capital Grill by comparison has similar pricing, however their food is superior in every respect from the appetizers to the main course to the service. The biggest disappointment was the Wagyu NewYork steak I ordered! Was not very tender, the center marbleing that is supposed melt in your mouth was like tearing through rubber. I have ordered prime steaks from many premium steaks houses and this was by and far the worst. The 60 bucks I paid for just this steak was very regretable. In hindsight I should have sent it back, oh well. Ruth's Chris regularly prime puts this one to shame!! My girlfriend filet on the otherhand was very good, go figure. Maybe it was a bad cut who knows.

The scotch I ordered was half a pinky finger full, like c'mon!! The second round I ordered was as bad as the first; a very lousy .75oz pour if that. The waiter was rushing us the whole way through and not very patient. Surprising considering the restaurant had maybe 5 tables full max!!?? I don't think I have given a steak house such a poor rating. Maybe it was a bad day. Maybe I will give it another shot, being as that all my friends were very surprised at the lack service and lack of quality that I received that night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

The service was absolutely outstanding. ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The service was absolutely outstanding. Although we were full after our wonderful dinner and had no room for dessert, our waiter Jerry sent us home with complimentary truffles for later. They were also very accommodating in making me a vegetarian entrée. It was our first time dining here, but we will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

100 Wines by the Glass is a nice feature

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Extensive wine list permits sampling of different varietals without committing to an entire bottle. Nice ambiance, very relaxing, service was generally attentive but hit and miss when needed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good but not great

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

There was confusion at the hostess stand. Despite our reservation, the hostess took us to a table that was already sat. Then she walked us back to the hostess stand while her and the other 2 hostesses figured out that they would put us in the back room. That pretty much ruined it for me, especially since there was a large open booth in the main room that was vacant on our way to the table and on our way out of the restaurant after dining. The service and food was good but unfortunately it was not spectacular. I would say that the competition in Troy edges them out when ranking on overall experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

A lovely Saturday evening dinner at Flemmings

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

On Saturday May 28th my wife and I enjoyed a lovely dinner at the Birmingham Flemming's. The service was great and the food was beyond our expectations. No detail was allowed to be missed. Everything we ordered was prepared just the way we like it! I can not think of anything that could have been done to make it any better. We always enjoy eating at this location and look forward to our next visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience. I was pleasant ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Great dining experience. I was pleasantly surprised given that it is a chain!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

NY Strip was great, properly cooked; Sal ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

NY Strip was great, properly cooked; Salmon was good; hamburger was nothing special at all. Prices reasonable for a high-end steakhouse, but I'm still undecided if there's any advantage over the home BBQ. The one impressive thing was the wine list. Huge, quite comprehensive, with many international and domestic varietals. Great spread of prices on wines, too.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Everything wa great. Except

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

For the crying baby the entire time who was seated across the room. We were there for the first time for our anniversary. There were other younger couples there. As well as businessmen. It was very annoying. You should have a policy regarding children. If people can afford dinner at your restaurant. Then they can afford a babysitter for a couple of hours.

This child should have been home in bed.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great place! Not only are the steaks awe ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great place! Not only are the steaks awesome but the seafood is just as great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Anniversary Dinner

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary with our parents and had a wonderful evening. The service was great and all of our food was delicious. The steaks were cooked to perfection. Everyone from the valet to the hostess to our waiter helped keep a special cake a surprise until dessert. We had no idea until it was brought out. Thanks for helping to make our evening special!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We frequent Flemings usually once a mont ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We frequent Flemings usually once a month. It is always excellent. Food is cooked well and tasty. Our server, James, is undoubtedly one of the best servers in the country. Other than the noise level, there is nothing to complain about. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Too high on the hog

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The food was good but not worth the very high cost for the ala carte menu. Good for special occasions. Our server, Kathy, was very accommodating and made the dining experience special.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Always a nice place. For a steakhouse t ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Always a nice place. For a steakhouse though- they should get the steaks right... And they haven't the last 2 times we went.

Still good though! Prices are high but expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Good food and good atmosphere

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

This Flemings appears to be well managed and is located in the heart of toni Birmingham, Michigan. The atmosphere is upscale yet warm and comfortable. Food is of high quality and preparation is excellent. Only negative is, as is typical of all Flemings restaurants, the wines are way overpriced (a particular selection is almost always 25-30% higher than that same selection at comparable restaurants).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The dinner was cooked and presented perf ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

The dinner was cooked and presented perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great times with good friends and Flemin ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Great times with good friends and Flemings didn't disappoint on any level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The steak and lobster combo was phenomen ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

The steak and lobster combo was phenomenal. Matched with a great red wine, and friendly service... I'm all in. It can't get any better than that. Second time at Fleming's and as always, stellar restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, good services

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Delicious food, good services

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding treatment for birthday...I l ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Outstanding treatment for birthday...I loved how my husband's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

This place is a gem! Food and excellent! ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

This place is a gem! Food and excellent! Service was beyond amazing. Best place for a date!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.