About Fleming's Steakhouse - Birmingham MI

323 N Old Woodward Avenue
Birmingham, MI 48009
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Oakland Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 723-0134

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/mi/birmingham

Parking Details:
Valet is available for a nominal fee. There is a parking structure north of the entrance. The first two hours of parking are complimentary.

Public Transit:
The restaurant is located across the street from a public transportation post.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Onion Rings - Fleming's Steakhouse - Birmingham MI, Birmingham, MI
  • Prime Steak Burger - Fleming's Steakhouse - Birmingham MI, Birmingham, MI
  • Pinot Noir Vina Leyda, Chile - Fleming's Steakhouse - Birmingham MI, Birmingham, MI
  • Lobster Tempura - Fleming's Steakhouse - Birmingham MI, Birmingham, MI
  • Potato Chips - Fleming's Steakhouse - Birmingham MI, Birmingham, MI

Report a photo problem

Onion Rings - Fleming's Steakhouse - Birmingham MI, Birmingham, MI
Prime Steak Burger - Fleming's Steakhouse - Birmingham MI, Birmingham, MI
Pinot Noir Vina Leyda, Chile - Fleming's Steakhouse - Birmingham MI, Birmingham, MI
Lobster Tempura - Fleming's Steakhouse - Birmingham MI, Birmingham, MI
Potato Chips - Fleming's Steakhouse - Birmingham MI, Birmingham, MI

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate Valentine's Week with us from February 10 - February 19. Enjoy a 3-course dinner featuring a Filet Mignon paired with your choice of New Zealand Salmon or an Australian Lobster Tail.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Birmingham MI Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (14)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Romantic (9)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Notable Wine List (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Cozy (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Private Room (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Casual (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Authentic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fun (1)
People Watching (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
588 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food and very good service. Bone i ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food and very good service. Bone in Ribeye was outstanding. We will be back in the near future...

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

entrees were great. one of the salads wa ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

entrees were great. one of the salads was overdressed, and too tangy to be good. manager took it off the bill, a nice touch.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Steak was over cooked twice. Service was ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Steak was over cooked twice. Service was terrible. I have always been a fan of flemings, but probably won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

We come to Flemings all the time. This i ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We come to Flemings all the time. This is the worst experience we have had. The waiter was not attentive at all. Waters were never filled, he did not ask us for drinks, and really did not pay much attention to our table. The food was outstanding as usual. The food is always good, but the service usually matches the food. That is what makes this particular flemings location so good. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

Always amazing. Pricey but consistently ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always amazing. Pricey but consistently perfect. A great place for a special occasion or celebration. Food is perfect and the flemings potatoes are not to be missed. Their desserts are decadent- the lava cake is a must have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it! We will definitely be back!

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Loved it! We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Steaks were very good! Twin lobster tai ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Steaks were very good! Twin lobster tails were small!

Our server, Kelly, was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was very expensive but worth it my fr ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

It was very expensive but worth it my friend and I had one drink each a meal and appetizer and our bill was $190

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Another great dining experience. My wife ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Another great dining experience. My wife and I had reservations at 7:00PM, were promptly greeted and seated immediately. Our service, wine, and food were excellent. We had a bottle of Charles & Charles, shared a bone-in ribeye which was prepared perfectly. For starters my wife had a Caesars salad and I had a wedge (Both were great). We shared the Flemings potatoes and the Brussel sprouts which were delicious. We love Flemings and will continue to come back and recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The waitress was GREAT. The employee's c ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The waitress was GREAT. The employee's customers service was GREAT. I like the fact that everyone made you feel like you were welcome. From the host to the person servicing water and bread. The husband and I will be back again for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I couldn't believe that the servers aren ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I couldn't believe that the servers aren't trained better. The waitress several times laid our hands on the shoulders one of our guests. Unfortunately it was someone who physically can't deal with it. We won't be coming back again. Too bad the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

The food and service were fantastic. Our ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food and service were fantastic. Our waiter Chris was very informative, friendly and attentive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremely slow service. We waited for ov ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Extremely slow service. We waited for over an hour for our entrees to show up and about 30 minutes just for our two salads. I don't know why a basic salad would that that long. Either our waitress forgot to put the orders in or someone in the kitchen messed up. Either way the service that night was terrible. It was a late dinner too, so it wasn't very busy that night.

Our waitress was newer and you could tell. She also smelled like smoke after she was missing for 20 minutes. That is very unprofessional to be doing on your break.

The food was just OK considering the price. Other rival steakhouses have better tasting food and don't cost as much. Our steaks tasted bland and one of the steaks wasn't cooked as we had ordered. So it had to be sent back.

We have a multitude of steakhouses in the area so we will be passing on Fleming's in the future.

I will admit their Happy Hour specials are great if you sit in the bar area. We did that a week prior to this visit and had a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

The food was excellent as was the wait s ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The food was excellent as was the wait staff. Tables are far enough apart that you can enjoy the conversation at your own table and you don't feel cramped.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Experience was tarnished by the fact tha ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Experience was tarnished by the fact that two of the four dinners served had to be sent back. We also did not receive all of our order at once the sides arrived late and were cold. Usually we have good experience at Flemings so we will try them again

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was great, service was a little on ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food was great, service was a little on the slow side in regards to beverages

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great idea for Thanksgiving dinner with ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great idea for Thanksgiving dinner with smaller family. We had a great time and the food was more than sufficient. Every dish is tasty.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific thanksgiving menu. Outstanding! ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Terrific thanksgiving menu. Outstanding! Enjoyed the experience. Wonderful ambience and the entire staff was fantastic.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Thanksgiving meal! Great service! ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great Thanksgiving meal! Great service! We will be back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my 6th time dining here. What I ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This is my 6th time dining here. What I've noticed is the food is inconsistent. Sometimes it's amazing sometimes it's not.

Crab cakes this time were a little undercooked(mushy inside), my bloomsdale spinach salad was missing the fried cheese, my jalapeno potatoes were over cooked (lots of burnt cheese edges and bottom) and lastly the 20 oz bone in ribeye was super fatty throughout. I only eat ribeye and this one was the worst with fat and not as seasoned as usual.

I don't like the inconsistency-for the price I would like it good every time.

Lastly the bill was messed up-the waitress was apologetic...but once I got home I saw my credit card was charged 4 different times.

Hopefully it will be fixed before I call them on Monday-get it together PLEASE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Last time we were here we enjoyed the Ha ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Last time we were here we enjoyed the Happy Hour - great choice for both food and drink. This time we were a four-some and were seated in the dining room. One of our party really did not like his steak and ate very little of it. An order of shoe string fries were really 'regular' sized fries and very greasy. My steak ordered medium was under cooked. So overally, not that great. It was not a crowded night so not sure why the food was so inconsistent.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Service was OK. The place and ambiance ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Service was OK. The place and ambiance was classy and pretty good. My steak was NOT up to expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Well managed facility. Waiter, James ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Well managed facility. Waiter, James was very professional and familiar with the menu details.

Solid wine selection. Steaks were terrific! Nice location for an after dinner walk through town. Suggest valet parking verses parking decks.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We are frequent diners at Fleming's and ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We are frequent diners at Fleming's and enjoy our experience whether it's a special occasion or just a nice dinner out. The bar has some wonderful Happy Hour specials as well. The food and drink are consistently excellent as well as the service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and a great meal.

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Great service and a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The porkchop meal we got in PrimeMonday ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 10, 2016

The porkchop meal we got in PrimeMonday list of menu is not good. My hubby barely touched the porkchop.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Awful, awful meal. Did not receive thing ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Awful, awful meal. Did not receive things we ordered even after we reminded the waitress, Nicole. Waited forever for simple items. Waitress seemed to be a zombie. Couldn't wait to get out of there but stuck there for almost two hours. Nothing taken off the bill or even offered because of the delays, missing items or uncooked food. While we ate, waitress was more concerned with selling the deserts than correcting the screw ups. Total let down and waste of money. Could not tip more than $15.00 on a $115.00 tab and I hated myself for tipping that much. Over rated, wont go back to what used to be one of my favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Give it a miss. First filet cold, second ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Give it a miss. First filet cold, second filet undercooked. Plenty of other places to spend $50 on a good steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Had an amazing time at Flemings! I went ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Had an amazing time at Flemings! I went to celebrate my Birthday and I'all most definitely be back soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our anniversary and ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and wanted to go out somewhere we wouldn't usually go with the kids. Enter Flemings. Service was amazing. Food was good. Loved my salad and steak was cooked as I ordered it. Side of mushrooms was plenty to share. It was a bit hard to hear my husband (we are young) as it was quite noisy and perhaps the building material or pitch of the ceiling just didn't help (certainly no expert but I felt like I had to ask him to repeat himself often and that's just not common for us).

Servers very knowledgeable and friendly. Entire staff wished us a happy anniversary and we were given truffles and a gift card to return, which we will.

I found prices a tad bit on the high side for value, but nothing obnoxious or completely out of the ballpark.

Many wine by the glass options, which is nice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Fleming's Steakhouse NEVER disappoints. ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Fleming's Steakhouse NEVER disappoints. The food is always delicious and the staff are very friendly. I highly recommend!!!!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice ambiance. Good service. Will ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Very nice ambiance. Good service. Will come again

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was our anniversary celebration. We w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

It was our anniversary celebration. We were greeted by the hostess with Happy Anniversary. Then the same by our server. There was a card signed by the serving team! Our waiter was attentive and interactive. The manager?/owner? stopped by with anniversary wishes. Then they presented us with a wonderful parting gift. It was a fantastic experience. Will go again fur sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service and food was beyond exceptio ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Our service and food was beyond exceptional as usual! I love this place !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The evening, was relaxing & enjoyable f ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The evening, was relaxing & enjoyable for all of us. We will be back for more.

Lee, Elaine, Norb, Janet.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been at the Flemings in Birmingha ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 5, 2016

I have been at the Flemings in Birmingham, MI many times. Service is attentive, food is good, prices are appropriate and the restaurant is consistent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was AWSOME! My girlfriend & ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Everything was AWSOME! My girlfriend & I hadn't gotten together in FOREVER and it was perfect! You treated us like the Queens that we are:) that was her first time and she LOVED it as I knew she would!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We met our long time friends for dinner ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We met our long time friends for dinner at Fleming's for dinner. We all enjoyed our dinner and were very well taken care of. We were able to talk as the background noise wasn't bad. The food was just as good as it always is and we will be back for many more dinners!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was fabulous, service excellent a ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Dinner was fabulous, service excellent and all staff very nice. Our friend enjoyed the birthday gifts too :)

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

very expensive wine is crazy advertise ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 27, 2016

very expensive wine is crazy advertise 13.00 for a glass then the waitress asks

if you want a 6 or 9 oz turns out to be a 20.00 glass of wine

just very expensive

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.