Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Fleming's Steakhouse - Birmingham MI

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

323 N Old Woodward Avenue
Birmingham, MI 48009
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Oakland Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 723-0134

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/mi/birmingham

Parking Details:
Valet is available for a nominal fee. There is a parking structure north of the entrance. The first two hours of parking are complimentary.

Public Transit:
The restaurant is located across the street from a public transportation post.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $49.95

Special valid Aug 30, 2017 - Oct 17, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $49.95

Special valid Aug 30, 2017 - Oct 17, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $49.95. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 30, 2017 - Oct 17, 2017 all week from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM.

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Birmingham MI Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (14)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Romantic (10)
See All
Notable Wine List (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Business Meals (7)
Cozy (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Bar Seating (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Authentic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
667 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined a day ago

Excellent waitress

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 10, 2017

all 5 got prime rib -- not hot or juicy -- could have bought frozen and warmed at home -- only 2 out of 5 sent back to get hot -- other 3 said they didn't want to complain

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Outstanding! Mike, our server was amazing. The crab cakes were made of all crab. The 20oz bone-in ribeye was seasoned and cooked to perfection. Bob, co-owner, made sure everything was to our liking. This was an awesome experience for a birthday celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Hubby and I went to celebrate our anniversary. The food was delicious and they customized a veggie plate for me.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Another wonderful meal at Flemings. Everything was made just the way it should be .

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Great waitress. Awesome. Prime Rib Sunday special. Can't beat it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 21, 2017

You don't give an option for fabulous food. The Prime Rib is over the top good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 12, 2017

All was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 7, 2017

My wife took me to Flemings for my birthday. The food was great and the portions were very generous. Great place for a special occasion!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Seated quickly. Attentive server. Food came faster than usual. Had the prime rib, split the dinner. I was not really happy with the center round of the prime-rib, it was tough and chewy. Ironically, the outer edge of the steak were all the marbling is typically, was very good according to my father. I did not complain because everything else was at par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 6, 2017

My steak was too salty, although it was very tender. Prime rib entree special on Sunday is a great deal that comes with sides, and a desert. Otherwise, the vast majority of menu is ala carte. Service was excellent. Nice atmosphere with linen table cloths and candles on every table.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Kyle the manager was amazing ... loved him ... also liked my waitress a lot she made sure we were ok and the calamari is the best.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Went here for the Sunday Prime Rib special. Both of us ordered the special. Unfortunately both of our prime rib steaks were not up to par for what we have come to expect from Fleming's. When asked by the staff how our meals were neither of spoke up because neither of us wanted to sound like a complainer. After we left the restaurant is when we both shared with one another how we felt about our meals. Shame on both of us for not speaking up at that time. The rest of the food was excellent: salads, Fleming's potatoes, asparagus and dessert. We will not let this one incident stop us from returning as we have enjoyed the prime rib many times in the past.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

I was very disappointed, I've eaten a lot of ribeye steaks in my time. And order them medium rare, but this one had a cube of on melted butter on it, it was not seared. Then they took it back to cook up more and it came back with a cube of butter on it not seared very well , At the end of the day I did not eat that steak. It took it off my bill. Very disappointing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 15, 2017

As usual, the food was great. The steaks were cooked to perfection. With a party of 7, we were seated at a long table in the middle of the restaurant, it was loud a bit noisy making it difficult to include entire party in conversation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The steak did melt in our mouths but mine was swimming in oil/butter on my plate. The lobster tail was over-salted. Wait staff was tops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We went to Flemings to celebrate our first anniversary - the table was decorated nicely with flowers and a card from the staff. Our server, Chris, was very friendly and made some great suggestions from the menu. After dinner, the management came by to wish us a happy anniversary and gave us a small box of truffles to go.

Great experience overall, we will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We had dinner here on july 2nd. As this was right before the holiday, the restaurant aaas almost empty. Perhaps there were four tables occupied.They were running a Prime Rib special, we had been to Flemings before for the prime rib, and it was delicious. This time the prime rib was not good at all. It was cooked perfectly medium rare, as ordered, however the flavor was not good at all. My husband was very disappointed the edges of the p.r. which are usually well done and tender was " like leather". The salad was ok, some of the lettuce seemed old,but edible. The crispy brussels sprouts with bacon, had very little bacon, and the b.s. needed to be cooked more, as they were too hard. Dessert,chocolate lava cake, with ice cream was excellent! We said something to our server, who was excellent, and she had the manager come over. He was very nice, offered to bring us a different meal, but we were not hungry. He wanted us to be happy, and was very accommodating. In the end, he took one meal off our bill, which was helpful. I am not sure if I will be going back to Flemings again, or at least not for a long while. If you are featuring an item as a special, it should be GOOD! As I mentioned before, service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Great service by Malissa and great food by the chef! nice quite place to enjoy a fine meal

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fabulous Father's Day brunch! Great food and service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Good value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Good beverages.
Salmon good.
Chicken good
Good mints.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 10, 2017

They go above and beyond with the quality of the food and the service. Absolutely a great night

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 4, 2017

This review is long overdue. Fleming's in Birmingham Michigan is our go-to steakhouse, and there are at least 6 other excellent steakhouses in the immediate area. Come to think of it, we've been dining at Fleming's so long now that they're seeing our kids grow up right in front of them! :-) This is not a flash-in-the-pan restaurant with deconstructed foodie experiments utilizing beet foam and roasted amethyst bamboo salt that tries way too hard. This is a comfortable restaurant serving classic meals, prepared in expert fashion. Every single time we go, the steak is seasoned deliciously and cooked to perfect temperature. The sides are great, the desserts are wonderful, and the wine list... if you can't find a wine to like on their list, you don't like wine.

Keep in mind that a restaurant that serves great food but has terrible service is not a place one wishes to revisit. Fleming's Birmingham does not have that problem. Everyone will bend over backwards to make your experience perfect. If, in the rare instance, your experience is less than optimal, Operating Partner Robert Loomis and his crew will make it right. In the more likely event that everything is going better than expected, Mr. Loomis will still be making the rounds, inquiring whether he can do more to improve your time spent at their establishment.

We've been to several different Fleming's across the country, and can say with certainty that we are fortunate to have the best one right in our backyard! I could go on and on about this place, but writing this review is making me hungry. I'll have to stop now since I want to make a reservation for my family's next dinner at Fleming's Birmingham!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Dinner at Flemings was great! The service was attentive, but unobtrusive. The food was delicious and well-prepared. The staff was friendly and accommodating. This was a special occasion, with my wife retiring from her job. I requested that champagne be waiting for us and--voila!--there it was at our table. James our server was helpful with questions and gave us as much time as we needed to decide on dinner, along with a couple of pours to help decide on wine. The filets were delicious and perfectly cooked, and given high praise by my gal from Texas. I'm sure we'll be back for another special occasion.

Expensive, but terrific!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 21, 2017

It was nice. The food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We went to Flemings for my husband's birthday. There were 4 of us and we each had a different entree, 3 sides , a variety of the salads, and calamari for our appetizer. None of us loved our entrees, however, the calamari and string fried potatoes were very good. Our cocktails were fair. Considering the restaurant is very pricey and the food fair, we won't be going back. The best thing about the evening was our waiter. He was very friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 13, 2017

delicioius filet mignon, salads and choc lava cake.
Our waitress, Julie, was extraordinary..friendly , helpful, down to earth….great service, delightful!
Manager was attentive , as well.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The service, the food, and the experience were outstanding. It was a busy Saturday night because of Mother's Day but we still received first class service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Every thing was wonderful. Staff and Food were great. I celebrated my birthday along with a friend and we both received a birthday card from the staff and a box of truffles. I really enjoyed dinner and the wine. Delicious!! Will definitely go back. It was a wonderful experience!! Thanks, Fleming's!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our wait person was outstanding and everything about the evening perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

overall the experience was fine. the food was flavorful and prepared to our request. service was very slow - I ordered a shrimp cocktail that took forever to arrive. and the time between salads and dinner was too long. Server was very nice. New wine list is also good

seems that prices have increased significantly over the past 5 years. For the money, I would prefer other steak houses.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Flemings has the most attentive and pleasant wait staff of any Michigan restaurant. The manager also floats around to ensure that each guest enjoys their dining experience. Outstanding!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Fleming's did an outstanding job, service and pace of meal were perfect. We were a party of 6, two of our guest commented that it was nice to be able to hear everyone at the table and the restaurant was quite full. The manager "Bob" stopped by to introduce himself with genuine appreciation for our compliments.

With so many steak houses to choose from in Birmingham this one sets it's self apart with a creative menu of steak and seafood.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Very accommodating for our 35th Anniversary..

Can't wait to go back... will drive right by Ruth's, Morton's, and Capital..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 18, 2017

A very enjoyable dining experience. It was a Birthday Celebration. At the end of the dinner, the Birthday Boy was presented with a 4 pc box of truffles and a $25 gift card. Our server was very attentive. The best grilled Brussel Sprouts!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Awesome place! Love it every time we go. Food is fantastic, and we look forward to the next time we are there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Looked forward to dining at Fleming's, but we will not return. Food was average, but what really was unexpected was that one of our entrees was served incorrectly: ordered a bone in Ribeye, and received a different steak. Instead of apologizing, the server told us that the steak we received was just as good! What? No manager stopped by to check in, or ask if we wanted the correct steak. We would have kept the steak we received so that we were able to dine together. But, for what I believe is an expensive price point, some acknowledgement from the manager would have been considerate. The area is full of wonderful restaurants, steakhouses included, which we will visit on our next trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We went back after a very bad experience bc the manager called and offered us a free meal. I appreciate that the waitress was aware of our precious bad experience and had already taken off part of the meal without us having to ask. The service was great this time (back to the level that it usually is at Flemings). Overall, the food was good and except that my steak (1 out of 5 steaks) was under cook but overall we had a good experience and glad we went back. Will go back again. Appreciate the manager convincing us to go back since Flemings is one of my favorite steak house, otherwise we would not have gone back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Everything was great from the food to our server. Kathy was very attentive and never tried to rush us as we wanted to enjoy our date night out. If I had to make a critique, I would say they need to update the decor. It feels a little dated.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.