Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.25mi
  2. Distance: 0.34mi
  3. Distance: 0.40mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Fleming's Steakhouse - Birmingham MI

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

323 N Old Woodward Avenue
Birmingham, MI 48009
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Oakland Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 723-0134

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/mi/birmingham

Parking Details:
Valet is available for a nominal fee. There is a parking structure north of the entrance. The first two hours of parking are complimentary.

Public Transit:
The restaurant is located across the street from a public transportation post.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Birmingham MI Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (25)
Good for a Date (25)
Special Occasion (23)
See All
Good for Birthdays (21)
Romantic (18)
Notable Wine List (16)
Business Meals (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Worth the Drive (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Private Room (4)
Casual (4)
People Watching (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Cozy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Historic (1)
Family Style (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Fun (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
642 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

It was nice. The food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We went to Flemings for my husband's birthday. There were 4 of us and we each had a different entree, 3 sides , a variety of the salads, and calamari for our appetizer. None of us loved our entrees, however, the calamari and string fried potatoes were very good. Our cocktails were fair. Considering the restaurant is very pricey and the food fair, we won't be going back. The best thing about the evening was our waiter. He was very friendly and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 13, 2017

delicioius filet mignon, salads and choc lava cake.
Our waitress, Julie, was extraordinary..friendly , helpful, down to earth….great service, delightful!
Manager was attentive , as well.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The service, the food, and the experience were outstanding. It was a busy Saturday night because of Mother's Day but we still received first class service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Every thing was wonderful. Staff and Food were great. I celebrated my birthday along with a friend and we both received a birthday card from the staff and a box of truffles. I really enjoyed dinner and the wine. Delicious!! Will definitely go back. It was a wonderful experience!! Thanks, Fleming's!!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our wait person was outstanding and everything about the evening perfect!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 6, 2017

overall the experience was fine. the food was flavorful and prepared to our request. service was very slow - I ordered a shrimp cocktail that took forever to arrive. and the time between salads and dinner was too long. Server was very nice. New wine list is also good

seems that prices have increased significantly over the past 5 years. For the money, I would prefer other steak houses.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Flemings has the most attentive and pleasant wait staff of any Michigan restaurant. The manager also floats around to ensure that each guest enjoys their dining experience. Outstanding!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Fleming's did an outstanding job, service and pace of meal were perfect. We were a party of 6, two of our guest commented that it was nice to be able to hear everyone at the table and the restaurant was quite full. The manager "Bob" stopped by to introduce himself with genuine appreciation for our compliments.

With so many steak houses to choose from in Birmingham this one sets it's self apart with a creative menu of steak and seafood.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Very accommodating for our 35th Anniversary..

Can't wait to go back... will drive right by Ruth's, Morton's, and Capital..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 18, 2017

A very enjoyable dining experience. It was a Birthday Celebration. At the end of the dinner, the Birthday Boy was presented with a 4 pc box of truffles and a $25 gift card. Our server was very attentive. The best grilled Brussel Sprouts!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Awesome place! Love it every time we go. Food is fantastic, and we look forward to the next time we are there.

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Looked forward to dining at Fleming's, but we will not return. Food was average, but what really was unexpected was that one of our entrees was served incorrectly: ordered a bone in Ribeye, and received a different steak. Instead of apologizing, the server told us that the steak we received was just as good! What? No manager stopped by to check in, or ask if we wanted the correct steak. We would have kept the steak we received so that we were able to dine together. But, for what I believe is an expensive price point, some acknowledgement from the manager would have been considerate. The area is full of wonderful restaurants, steakhouses included, which we will visit on our next trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We went back after a very bad experience bc the manager called and offered us a free meal. I appreciate that the waitress was aware of our precious bad experience and had already taken off part of the meal without us having to ask. The service was great this time (back to the level that it usually is at Flemings). Overall, the food was good and except that my steak (1 out of 5 steaks) was under cook but overall we had a good experience and glad we went back. Will go back again. Appreciate the manager convincing us to go back since Flemings is one of my favorite steak house, otherwise we would not have gone back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Everything was great from the food to our server. Kathy was very attentive and never tried to rush us as we wanted to enjoy our date night out. If I had to make a critique, I would say they need to update the decor. It feels a little dated.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Very consistent high quality food and impeccable service

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Good service. Great food. The ambiance was elegant but not stuffy . Very comfortable. The manager was very attentive. This was a birthday celebration and he went out of his way to make it special.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Definitely the best bone in steak I have ever had! Must say the atmosphere was great and the service was as well, but really REALLY think that a $50 steak could at least come with a side salad- maybe I'm not used to fine dining but I thought that was quite ridiculous. I'm a steak and potato kind of guy, but if I'm not going to get a potato, any accompanying veggie would do...

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 2, 2017

As a frequent patron to Flemings we went to celebrate my fathers 75th Birthday. The food, wine, and service were top notch once again. We started off with 2 Caesar salads along with a chopped wedge - All very tasty. For our entrees my father had a 12 oz. filet prepared rare and cooked to perfection. My wife and I split a 14 oz. ribeye prepared medium plus, cooked to perfection, and split for us in the kitchen. We still had steak leftover despite sharing. Our sides consisted of Fleming's potatoes, sautéed mushrooms, and creamed spinach which were all delicious. For dessert we shared a chocolate lava cake and all ordered a coffee. Overall a fantastic dining experience!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 2, 2017

In the past, Flemings of Birmingham has been one of my "go-to" places, but after this most recent visit I am reconsidering. We had a party of 4 and 2 of my guests' dinners were sub-standard. Mine was OK, nothing great, and one other person's was good. That makes about a 25% satisfaction rating, which isn't quite a record.
The steak came dry, tough, and too well done, when the request was "medium well". The Carpacio was adequate but nothing to write about - very disappointing - as was stated - for the price. The small plate shrimp/scallop was OK. Scallops were cold but tasty. Finally the sea bass was good.
Our waitress was "overly attentive" almost borderline intrusive.
Not sure I will return for the prices being asked!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We choose Fleming's for our special anniversary celebration. Wow!!! The staff and team did a great job.

We had short ribss as a small plate/appetizer that were tasty, lean and flavorful.

We had a Seabass that was outstanding. It was flaky and flavorful with a Mandarin orange sauce.

The NY strip was incredible with bearnaise sauce and truffle mashed potatoes. The potatoes were well balanced. The lava cake for dessert was sinfully delicious.

The wine list was expansive and desirable.

As a function of our anniversary, the staff surprised us with a card signed by all the staff, a gift card for a future purchase and a box of four truffles. What a huge unexpected surprise. Our server and hosts were warm and welcoming.

We can't wait to go back and celebrate with them.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 24, 2017

While the steak was exceptionally good, the others meals were not acceptable. The crab legs were tasteless, combined with being difficult to crack as the legs were not cracked in the kitchen. The service was slow which added to the frustration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Amazing experience! They really pull out all the stops and make you feel special! Service was beyond excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The food was excellent as usual. Fleming's never disappoints!

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My fiancé took me to a new place we expected to be great. It was NOT. I felt terrible because I didnt like anything besides the soup and even then we had to switch bowls because mine was over cooked. The entire experience was upsetting to say the least. My steak was undercooked..sent it back ..they reheated the same plate with sides and all then gave me the plate so hot it burned me to touch it. It was so charged I couldn't eat it so they replaced it with another steak undercooked. Bottom line NOT WORTH the PRICE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Horrible service. Waiter was way too busy in other things, would not offer refills, would not check on the food, would not remove plates - just could not care less. Will never get back, especially when there is a comparable place around the corner with great service.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food. Good drinks. Service could have been a bit attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Beautiful restaurant and excellent service Staff is very friendly and happy make your experience delightful.
High quality food is served on wonderful clean tableware
Overall great night

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The prices were higher than the other high end steakhouses in the area and the selection wasn't as good. I wanted a Harvest Riesling. They had just a regular one and since I wanted something sweet, the waiter suggested something else. It was way too sweet and the waiter asked if I wanted a Riesling so I asked if I could have a sample which he brought me. The next thing I know, he brought me a full glass and set it down without asking if I wanted it. We were celebrating a birthday. They gave us a box of 4 truffles instead of free dessert as most do. Parking was inconvenient and valet was $8. I felt like they were pushing us to order more food since the place was more than half empty.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 28, 2017

All I can say is that we had outstanding service, our reservation and seating was on time, great food, great service and a great place to take someone special or even for a business meeting.

I would recommend this location to anyone that wants good food, good service and a great place to meet.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We were celebrating our 6 month anniversary and had a great time!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Once again a great experience. My wife & I went to Fleming's on a Saturday night as opposed to a weekday evening. We were immediately seated at our reservation time 7:15 and it was great to see the restaurant packed. We were in a back room which is typically used for events or parties. We started with a bottle of Tom Gore from the Fleming's Best 100 wines (A very nice reasonably priced wine). From there my wife ordered a Caesar salad and I ordered a wedge (Both very good). For dinner we split a Bone-In Ribeye prepared medium and cooked to perfection. Our sides included Brussel Sprouts & Flemings potatoes. It was a great meal as we still had leftovers and no room for dessert. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Delicious steaks and great service along with a relaxing atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 24, 2017

The food/ wine our waitress recommended was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 24, 2017

SUPERB STEAK and CARPACCIO!!!! Place never fails to provide excellence with regard to wondrous dining!

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 22, 2017

This location was the worst flemings experience I've ever had. You expect top notch service and food for a fine dining establishment like this. My wife and I usually go to flemings in LA and Newport Beach, CA about 4 times a year. For a Wednesday night around 7 pm, the Service was pretty slow. Not many tables in there at all. Seemed like it took a long time for being a slow night, to get our drinks served. I got an old fashioned and it was so weak and watered down. What a waste of $13.  Then the busboy spills a glass of water on the table. Good thing we had fast reaction Time otherwise  my wife and mom in law would have been soaked. Not sure the bus boy even apologized. Waitress offered us a table instead of another booth. We said we wanted a booth but they said none were available. I looked and there were 2 others curved booths available. So they changed our table cloths.
As for the food. I ordered the aged ribeye , medium rare. Came out medium and extra salty and pretty thin. Tasted like a 10 dollar steak I could have made at home easily. Very average at best. For a 60 dollar steak it should be the bomb . My wife ordered the sea bass but the cook burned it badly. The whole bottom was black. Father in law got the rack of lamb, medium. Came out rare plus, medium rare. After complaining, the waitress did send it back. Came back beyond medium. Kitchen was not getting much right. I think our table just didn't want to complain anymore as everything was just not right or go the way we had expected. It was getting late and we wanted to eat.
The manager never stopped by to check on us. Any other Flemings, the manager always stops by at least once, even on busy weekends.
My wife did mention about her fish but we had already finished. The waitress did apologize but did nothing for us on the bill. She apologized for having a new cook!!!! Well the new cook ruined a 300 dollar dinner for us.  

Overall , extremely disappointed. I would not go to this location again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Absolutely wonderful ... James is an excellent, professional waiter who took great care of us, the food was outstanding ... the lamb was cooked to perfection and the calamari was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 22, 2017

First parking is a pain in Birmingham, although Fleming's provides valet for a fee of $8. The service was good, but the value was not. Food portions were small and only a couple of the dishes had great flavor. Inside it is a beautiful place, but you pay for it in your drinks and food. A better alternative for the price would be RuthsChris or Mortons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Loved our dinner at Flemings. We are glad that the sliced filet is back on the menu! Well done!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Dinner was a very great experience from the moment we entered the building to the time we left. The food was delicious and the wine impeccable. The server upsold me on the wine but it was worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.