About Fleming's Steakhouse - Birmingham MI

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with indulgent possibilities.

323 N Old Woodward Avenue
Birmingham, MI 48009
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Oakland Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(248) 723-0134

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/mi/birmingham

Parking Details:
Valet is available for a nominal fee. There is a parking structure north of the entrance. The first two hours of parking are complimentary.

Public Transit:
The restaurant is located across the street from a public transportation post.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Birmingham MI Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Romantic (13)
See All
Good for Birthdays (11)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Business Meals (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Cozy (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Private Room (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Bar Seating (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Casual (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fun (1)
Tapas (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
606 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 2 days ago

The food/ wine our waitress recommended was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

This location was the worst flemings experience I've ever had. You expect top notch service and food for a fine dining establishment like this. My wife and I usually go to flemings in LA and Newport Beach, CA about 4 times a year. For a Wednesday night around 7 pm, the Service was pretty slow. Not many tables in there at all. Seemed like it took a long time for being a slow night, to get our drinks served. I got an old fashioned and it was so weak and watered down. What a waste of $13. Then the busboy spills a glass of water on the table. Good thing we had fast reaction Time otherwise my wife and mom in law would have been soaked. Not sure the bus boy even apologized. Waitress offered us a table instead of another booth. We said we wanted a booth but they said none were available. I looked and there were 2 others curved booths available. So they changed our table cloths.

As for the food. I ordered the aged ribeye , medium rare. Came out medium and extra salty and pretty thin. Tasted like a 10 dollar steak I could have made at home easily. Very average at best. For a 60 dollar steak it should be the bomb . My wife ordered the sea bass but the cook burned it badly. The whole bottom was black. Father in law got the rack of lamb, medium. Came out rare plus, medium rare. After complaining, the waitress did send it back. Came back beyond medium. Kitchen was not getting much right. I think our table just didn't want to complain anymore as everything was just not right or go the way we had expected. It was getting late and we wanted to eat.

The manager never stopped by to check on us. Any other Flemings, the manager always stops by at least once, even on busy weekends.

My wife did mention about her fish but we had already finished. The waitress did apologize but did nothing for us on the bill. She apologized for having a new cook!!!! Well the new cook ruined a 300 dollar dinner for us.

Overall , extremely disappointed. I would not go to this location again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely wonderful ... James is an excellent, professional waiter who took great care of us, the food was outstanding ... the lamb was cooked to perfection and the calamari was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

First parking is a pain in Birmingham, although Fleming's provides valet for a fee of $8. The service was good, but the value was not. Food portions were small and only a couple of the dishes had great flavor. Inside it is a beautiful place, but you pay for it in your drinks and food. A better alternative for the price would be RuthsChris or Mortons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Dinner was a very great experience from the moment we entered the building to the time we left. The food was delicious and the wine impeccable. The server upsold me on the wine but it was worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food was great big portion so you acutely get for what you pay for service was ok not too fast but overall we are going to be there for most of our occasions

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Birthday and restaurant week

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Good food! Great ceaser salad and 16 oz bone in ribeye! The Flemings jalapeño potatoes are awesome!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 5, 2017

In my opinion you will never be let down when you eat at Flemings . The service is top notch and the food is just what you would expect.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I was very disappointed in the food. The steaks were not up to par. The prices were very high for such mediocre food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Spectacular service and perfect selection of classic steak cuts. All the right sides and options for an impressive meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This is a good strait forward steak house.

A little over priced for nothing special.

Menu is limited. If others in your party are vegans or vegitarians, they are out of luck.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Dinner and service were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food and service as always. My husband and I came here to celebrate my birthday. The manager gave me box of chocolate truffles and $25 gift card.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 20, 2017

My husband and I went here for a date night. The place is amazing! You will enjoy every moment from when you walk in the door, to the wine selections, to the staff encounters, to the perfectly cooked medium rare steaks, to the delicious sides! Everything was perfect! Love this place!!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food and very good service. Bone in Ribeye was outstanding. We will be back in the near future...

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

entrees were great. one of the salads was overdressed, and too tangy to be good. manager took it off the bill, a nice touch.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Steak was over cooked twice. Service was terrible. I have always been a fan of flemings, but probably won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We come to Flemings all the time. This is the worst experience we have had. The waiter was not attentive at all. Waters were never filled, he did not ask us for drinks, and really did not pay much attention to our table. The food was outstanding as usual. The food is always good, but the service usually matches the food. That is what makes this particular flemings location so good. Disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Always amazing. Pricey but consistently perfect. A great place for a special occasion or celebration. Food is perfect and the flemings potatoes are not to be missed. Their desserts are decadent- the lava cake is a must have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Loved it! We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Steaks were very good! Twin lobster tails were small!

Our server, Kelly, was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

It was very expensive but worth it my friend and I had one drink each a meal and appetizer and our bill was $190

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Another great dining experience. My wife and I had reservations at 7:00PM, were promptly greeted and seated immediately. Our service, wine, and food were excellent. We had a bottle of Charles & Charles, shared a bone-in ribeye which was prepared perfectly. For starters my wife had a Caesars salad and I had a wedge (Both were great). We shared the Flemings potatoes and the Brussel sprouts which were delicious. We love Flemings and will continue to come back and recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The waitress was GREAT. The employee's customers service was GREAT. I like the fact that everyone made you feel like you were welcome. From the host to the person servicing water and bread. The husband and I will be back again for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I couldn't believe that the servers aren't trained better. The waitress several times laid our hands on the shoulders one of our guests. Unfortunately it was someone who physically can't deal with it. We won't be coming back again. Too bad the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The food and service were fantastic. Our waiter Chris was very informative, friendly and attentive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Extremely slow service. We waited for over an hour for our entrees to show up and about 30 minutes just for our two salads. I don't know why a basic salad would that that long. Either our waitress forgot to put the orders in or someone in the kitchen messed up. Either way the service that night was terrible. It was a late dinner too, so it wasn't very busy that night.

Our waitress was newer and you could tell. She also smelled like smoke after she was missing for 20 minutes. That is very unprofessional to be doing on your break.

The food was just OK considering the price. Other rival steakhouses have better tasting food and don't cost as much. Our steaks tasted bland and one of the steaks wasn't cooked as we had ordered. So it had to be sent back.

We have a multitude of steakhouses in the area so we will be passing on Fleming's in the future.

I will admit their Happy Hour specials are great if you sit in the bar area. We did that a week prior to this visit and had a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 6, 2016

The food was excellent as was the wait staff. Tables are far enough apart that you can enjoy the conversation at your own table and you don't feel cramped.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Experience was tarnished by the fact that two of the four dinners served had to be sent back. We also did not receive all of our order at once the sides arrived late and were cold. Usually we have good experience at Flemings so we will try them again

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food was great, service was a little on the slow side in regards to beverages

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great idea for Thanksgiving dinner with smaller family. We had a great time and the food was more than sufficient. Every dish is tasty.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Terrific thanksgiving menu. Outstanding! Enjoyed the experience. Wonderful ambience and the entire staff was fantastic.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great Thanksgiving meal! Great service! We will be back!

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This is my 6th time dining here. What I've noticed is the food is inconsistent. Sometimes it's amazing sometimes it's not.

Crab cakes this time were a little undercooked(mushy inside), my bloomsdale spinach salad was missing the fried cheese, my jalapeno potatoes were over cooked (lots of burnt cheese edges and bottom) and lastly the 20 oz bone in ribeye was super fatty throughout. I only eat ribeye and this one was the worst with fat and not as seasoned as usual.

I don't like the inconsistency-for the price I would like it good every time.

Lastly the bill was messed up-the waitress was apologetic...but once I got home I saw my credit card was charged 4 different times.

Hopefully it will be fixed before I call them on Monday-get it together PLEASE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Last time we were here we enjoyed the Happy Hour - great choice for both food and drink. This time we were a four-some and were seated in the dining room. One of our party really did not like his steak and ate very little of it. An order of shoe string fries were really 'regular' sized fries and very greasy. My steak ordered medium was under cooked. So overally, not that great. It was not a crowded night so not sure why the food was so inconsistent.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Service was OK. The place and ambiance was classy and pretty good. My steak was NOT up to expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Well managed facility. Waiter, James was very professional and familiar with the menu details.

Solid wine selection. Steaks were terrific! Nice location for an after dinner walk through town. Suggest valet parking verses parking decks.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We are frequent diners at Fleming's and enjoy our experience whether it's a special occasion or just a nice dinner out. The bar has some wonderful Happy Hour specials as well. The food and drink are consistently excellent as well as the service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Great service and a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 10, 2016

The porkchop meal we got in PrimeMonday list of menu is not good. My hubby barely touched the porkchop.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Awful, awful meal. Did not receive things we ordered even after we reminded the waitress, Nicole. Waited forever for simple items. Waitress seemed to be a zombie. Couldn't wait to get out of there but stuck there for almost two hours. Nothing taken off the bill or even offered because of the delays, missing items or uncooked food. While we ate, waitress was more concerned with selling the deserts than correcting the screw ups. Total let down and waste of money. Could not tip more than $15.00 on a $115.00 tab and I hated myself for tipping that much. Over rated, wont go back to what used to be one of my favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Give it a miss. First filet cold, second filet undercooked. Plenty of other places to spend $50 on a good steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Had an amazing time at Flemings! I went to celebrate my Birthday and I'all most definitely be back soon!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary and wanted to go out somewhere we wouldn't usually go with the kids. Enter Flemings. Service was amazing. Food was good. Loved my salad and steak was cooked as I ordered it. Side of mushrooms was plenty to share. It was a bit hard to hear my husband (we are young) as it was quite noisy and perhaps the building material or pitch of the ceiling just didn't help (certainly no expert but I felt like I had to ask him to repeat himself often and that's just not common for us).

Servers very knowledgeable and friendly. Entire staff wished us a happy anniversary and we were given truffles and a gift card to return, which we will.

I found prices a tad bit on the high side for value, but nothing obnoxious or completely out of the ballpark.

Many wine by the glass options, which is nice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Fleming's Steakhouse NEVER disappoints. The food is always delicious and the staff are very friendly. I highly recommend!!!!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Very nice ambiance. Good service. Will come again

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2016

It was our anniversary celebration. We were greeted by the hostess with Happy Anniversary. Then the same by our server. There was a card signed by the serving team! Our waiter was attentive and interactive. The manager?/owner? stopped by with anniversary wishes. Then they presented us with a wonderful parting gift. It was a fantastic experience. Will go again fur sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Our service and food was beyond exceptional as usual! I love this place !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The evening, was relaxing & enjoyable for all of us. We will be back for more.

Lee, Elaine, Norb, Janet.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.