About Fleming's Steakhouse - Austin

320 E 2nd Street
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Fleming’s Prime Steakhouse & Wine Bar pairs a passion for service and seasonal ingredients
with the finest USDA Prime beef. Every dish is meticulously made from scratch and served by our
attentive staff. You’ll also discover the perfect wine for every mood with the Fleming’s 100®, our
award-winning list of 100 wines by the glass. Our wine list features top-rated vineyards from
around the world. We also offer Private Dining Rooms and a personal Private Dining Director who
will craft the perfect occasion for any group size or budget. At Fleming’s, every visit is filled with
indulgent possibilities.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
San Jacinto Blvd.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 457-1500

Website:
http://www.flemingssteakhouse.com/locations/tx/austin

Parking Details:
Valet parking available every evening in front of restaurant for $6.00 charge (gratuity not included). Valet parking can be contracted for group breakfast or luncheon events. City owned Convention Center high-rise parking available one block away at all times.

Public Transit:
Both public light rail & public bus system stop two blocks away by the Convention Center & the Hilton Hotel. Amtrak stops ten blocks away near Whole Foods headquarters.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Onion Rings
Carrot Cake
Bacon Wrapped Scallops
Chocolate Lava Cake
New York Strip
French Quarter Barbecue Shrimp
Mixed Berries
Creamed Spinach
Chipotle Cheddar Macaroni and Cheese
Iceberg Wedge Salad
Shrimp Cocktail
Ahi tuna
Red Velvet Cake
Flourless Chocolate Torte
Seared Ahi Tuna
Filet Mignon W/ Prawns
Prime Bone-In Ribeye
The New Wedge
Lump Crab Louis Wraps
Bikinitini
Tenderloin carpaccio
Fleming's Prime Burger
Chilled Seafood Tower
Sliced Filet Mignon
Molten Chocolate Lava Cake
Caesar Salad

Private Dining

Private Dining has never been so personal. Our Private Dining Directors coordinate with you to create a one-of-a-kind experience, customized to your group size.

Fleming's Steakhouse - Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Austin
Steak
Austin
Best Service
Austin
1 More
Steak
Austin
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (18)
Notable Wine List (15)
Romantic (15)
See All
Good for Groups (8)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Great for Brunch (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
319 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This place is nice. I took my wife there ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This place is nice. I took my wife there for our anniversary. The service and food were outstanding. It was quite noisy, but I think that was unusual and due to the large group that happened to be there for a convention. We will be back!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our dinner at Flemings was everything yo ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Our dinner at Flemings was everything you could want at the end of an unusually hectic day--peaceful, friendly, and attractive, with great food and service. I came in knowing exactly what I wanted without opening the menu, and they happened to be out of it (!), but the waiter kindly made some wonderful substitutions. We left not only well fed but well taken care of.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Husband and I were atending a conference ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Husband and I were atending a conference in Austin. We chose Flemings based on the menu and it was excellent. Service was impeccable.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very knowledge staff in food and wine s ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Very knowledge staff in food and wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fleming's was exceptionally quiet for a ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Fleming's was exceptionally quiet for a summer night in Austin. Dry aged rib eye's were cooked to order, served hot and very tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was our 31st Wedding Anniversary and ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

It was our 31st Wedding Anniversary and we chose Flemings after reading all nicest reviews from Open Table. We were not disappointed, it's the best 31st wedding anniversary dinner experience. Thank you Mr Brock (Manager) for that sweet greeting card. Our servers Todd and Darryl are the cream of your crop, very attentive to our needs and made sure we had a great time. The food is very delicious, lobster tails and filet mignon almost melt in our mouths. Awesome drinks, my farmers daughter cocktail and hubby's peach Bellini are absolutely great. We are coming back soon. Thank you Flemings.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent. It felt like our 'regular' F ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent. It felt like our 'regular' Fleming's in The Woodlands, Tx.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite steakhouse in Austin. The f ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Our favorite steakhouse in Austin. The food is always very consistent. The personnel there is exceptional, from the hostesses, to the wait people. The General Manager, T. J., is a very engaging fellow and makes sure everything is always up to Fleming's standards.

Overall a really fine dining experience again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loud and hectic

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

This restaurant was very loud with a lot of hectic activity, Not the relaxing birthday meal we were hoping for. We had the rib-eye steaks that were done as requested with good flavor, Not the best in town but they were good. The service was good, not exemplary but good. For our available choices in this price range we feel that others have done a better job overall. Our biggest disappointment was with the noise level and ambiance.

they need to step up their game a bit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Pleasant birthday dinner

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

The staff were attentive and helpful. There is only one chicken item on the menu, and it is delicious. The filet mignon was overdone, probably because the plate was so hot that it kept cooking the meat after it was removed from the grill. The meat was tender and tasty. Our Thai green beans were tasty, but the Fleming's potatoes weren't all that. The bread spreads were interesting and good. It was a very nice dining experience, but it is expensive so be sure not to overorder.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

An excellent restaurant for a special oc ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

An excellent restaurant for a special occasion. Definitely a winner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Anniversary at Flemmings

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Flemmings is our go-to restaurant for most all special ocassions.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience. Thanks!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I've never had a chance to have a dinner at Fleming's before. Having the cravings for a really amazing steak in downtown Austin, there was a choice between Fleming's and another notable steakhouse who's initals are CR. I ultimately decided on Fleming's since it was a steakhouse I had not been to. The service was amazing and steak was amazingly delicious. Even though I ordered it medium rare, I received the steak cooked medium...it didn't bother me that much but that would've elevated things to 5 stars. Ultimately, everything was well-timed when to put in the dessert so no complains about service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The filet mignon and the Lava Cake are g ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 26, 2016

The filet mignon and the Lava Cake are great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Best dinner experience in a while.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Cut to the chase, best steak I've ever had. Ordered the Wagyu strip, medium rare. Literally melted in my mouth with a crispy outside. Went for my birthday and requested to sit outside. There seemed to not to be sever for the patio section because rain was on the way. For the server that picked up our table and did an excellent job was rewarded for her service. GREAT place for and occasion, with my current financial situation Flemings is special treat. Will definitely be back and will recommend to anyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good steak, but not as good as Bob' ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Very good steak, but not as good as Bob's Steak & Chophouse, which is my standard for judging steaks in TX.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Well worth it.

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We are more familiar with the Fleming's at CityCenter but we felt right at home here. All was excellent (our waiter Ed was a clone of our waiter Dan in Houston) and everyone was friendly without being obtrusive. Great experience. Many compliments. And the food was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Would return but would watch for specials -pricey

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Caesar salad weak along with cream spinach steak was excellent but pricey atmosphere was excellent Ome of the manager(female) was very sharp would like to hire

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent Austin downtown steak

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Outstanding steak. So good I went there twice in four days. The $25 off survey from the fist time helped this decision and was well worth it. Nice quiet atmosphere to escape to from the noise of 6th street and all the bands playing at most other places.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always gotta this Flemings location in A ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Always gotta this Flemings location in Austin Downtown... Staff are super friendly .... helpful ... food is outstanding ... some weeks go more than once.... why chance it ?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Annoying, obsequious service

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

For some reason, Austin, Tx. waiters think you've never dined before. So they preemptively tell you their favorite things on the menu. And they describe what are normal things to anyone who is a restaurant-goer. That was very true at Flemmings. It was beyond annoying, and I found myself rudely interrupting our waiter so that he'd shut up. He handed me the wine list, and then proceeded to read the titles to me..."here we have the Reds, like Pinot Noir, and here he have the Reds, like Cabernet Sauvignon." Yes, I said, I can read that. Then he told us all the things he likes on the menu. None of us had asked his opinion. We just wanted to mull our choices on our own. We finally had to tell him that so he'd leave us in peace.

The food was fine. Not incredible, just fine.it is priced like any steak house, so no surprise. I don't think I'd race back, given the cloying service and average cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Flemmings Best Restaurant in Austin

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

When other restaurants purposefully block peak dinner hours on Open Table it is more than irritating. Who eats dinner at 4:30 p.m. or 10:30 p.m. ? I have never had that experience when booking a reservation with Flemming's That is why we choose Flemming's over every other steakhouse in Austin every time we have friends in town. Oh, and not to mention the excellent service and incredibly prepared food, and wine selection.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food very good; expensive. "Rare" st ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

Food very good; expensive. "Rare" steak arrived med-well , exchanged, but the 15 min. spent replacing my entrée disrupted the entire flow of the dinner for me and my companion, whose dinner was served at same time. No offers, such as an extra pour of wine, a complementary dessert, or after dinner drink were made to compensate for flawed presentation. Inexcusable at this price.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Always a fantastic experience. We come e ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

Always a fantastic experience. We come every time for our special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

special occasion

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

Food was good even though my medium well steak was still very red in the middle but our waiter did offer to have it cooked more. Service was excellent. The food came out on time as promised and staff frequently came by the table to check on us. The value didn't seem that great given that we did not drink any wine and ordered the six ounce steaks for a total with tip of $150 for two people. It seems some specials similar to what was offered on valentines day would add value to the menu for those of us desiring to dine out in a nice restaurant on a more regular basis. Overall, it was a very enjoyable experience and we will go back (ie, pending the next special.) A big thank you to our server Heather and the valet as they were both excellent. My apology for not leaving a better tip.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Best Evening Ever!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful evening at Flemings. The blueberry lemon drops are the absolute best cocktail. No other restaurant can compete. The dinner was yummy and we topped it off with the lava cake. Can't be beat

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overpriced and average food.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Overpriced and average food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Great food!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We really enjoyed our Valentines date at Flemings. The food was amazing, service was great and romantic atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding time at Flemings!!!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

In Austin for a conference. Group of 9 of us dined at Flemings. Most of us chose steak / filet but several others chose seafood. Everyone was very happy with the dinner as well as the appetizers and sides. The pork belly appetizer was amazing. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to others. Service was great as the wait staff did a fantastic job with our larger group.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Dining Experience

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We had a great dinner, enjoyed every bit of it. Herman was a fantastic waiter, and we will request him next time we go there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

best steak in town

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on February 11, 2016

i've hit all the major steak houses in austin and the 12 oz filet at Flemings is the best hands down. the sides are phenomenal as well, try the mac and cheese, you won't be disappointed, i promise! a great atmosphere and friendly waitstaff. i will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love. Love. Love.

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

Love. Love. Love.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice Restaurant

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

I've been hearing about Fleming's for quite some time now. It definitely lived up to its expectation. Everything taste wonderful and I will definitely be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Food and Amazing Staff

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 5, 2016

Food is always on point and the specials always change. The bar menu is a great deal, and the Staff is awesome. Great patio.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent location for fine dining

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Great location for great food when in downtown Austin

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Ruined NYE sinnwr

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

Only gave 1 star on everything bc I had to in order to review. I would have given it ZERO!!

Showed up for dinner and was told they could not park our vehicle with valet. It was packed downtown and NO street parking, & truck too tall for garages, so valet was out only option. Even though other vehicles were double parked out front "waiting" to be moved, they denied us. Manager went to talk to valet& nothing was resolved after waiting for 10 minutes. Manager NEVER spoke with us and we were forced to leave with nothing more than a "hope this doesn't ruin your evening" from the hostess. Yes. We had dinner reservations for New Years eve& now can't eat dinner bc your valet doesn't want to park our vehicle. Unacceptable!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Happy New Year!

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Our group of 8 had a great time! Excellent food and service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice Evening

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

My sister and her husband enjoyed the evening with my husband and me. The service was excellent. The food was very good. The only thing that was not perfect was the mashed potatoes were not hot and that was disappointing. I had never tried the carrot cake before. I usually order the the chocolate cake, but after tasting the carrot cake it would be a hard choice. The carrot cake was delicious. The food is a little expensive, but it is good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is excellent

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on December 15, 2015

Each of us (6) had a something different and not one of us was disappointed. The steaks are outstanding, cooked to perfection, and melts in your mouth. The soup, salads and side dishes follow suit, as well as the desserts. There's nothing I have to complain about. And the service was impeccable. I was particularly impressed with their attention to gluten free considerations.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great End for a Business Conference

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

After a hectic week long conference where meetings were scheduled back to back and everyone is expected to participate and not just listen; our boss took us here for a celebratory dinner that we would remember. AMAZING! We began with the seafood tower, then I had the wedge (wedge of lettuce, blue cheese dressing on it and a block of exquisite Rockford cheese) and for the entrée was the bone in ribeye (I like mine between medium rare and medium - the server immediately stated, "no problem, we call that medium rare plus"). Finished it off with the carrot cake (whole pieces of fruit - reminded me of my mother's home made carrot cake!). The boss stated that if we keep up the great work, we'll be at Flemings again and again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.