About Flatiron Hall

38 West 26th
New York, NY 10010
View Larger Map

Inspired by the historic Student Art League of New York, Flatiron Hall's decor features original paintings and sketches from another era. Guests enter past a wall of old elevator doors to enter a dining room with furnishings and artifacts dating back 100 years. With seating for 125 and a 35’ antique bar dating from 1870 in our upstairs dining room, the downstairs Beer Hall seats 150 guests at communal tables. Our Beer Hall features a requisite 8’ television screen which rolls down for big games.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Gastro Pub, Brewery

Cross Street:
Between 6th & Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(646) 790-3200

Website:
http://www.flatironhall.com/

Public Transit:
1, 6, N, R, F, M

Executive Chef:
Richard Pietromamco

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

One of NYC's newest Beer Halls located in the heart of NoMad.

Flatiron Hall Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
See All
Fit for Foodies (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
55 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

healthy eats. great pencil drawings on ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

healthy eats. great pencil drawings on the wall. friendly staff. nice portions. thank you. for you beer and burger lovers, they have a $12 mon-friday, 12-4, $12 special, beer and a burger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not what I expected

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The pictures and other reviews made this place sound fantastic. Unfortunately, we found it to be anything but fantastic. The food was OK and fairly priced. The atmosphere was smelly and our waiter was hurried, pushy and rude. The place wasn't crowded, which was nice, but that's about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

It smells a little funny but the experie ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

It smells a little funny but the experience was overall good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Flat Iron Lunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Flat Iron Hall is my go-to neighborhood lunch place.

Easy to get a seat at lunch and casual fun atmosphere.

Highly recommend for a local working lunch or drink after work.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Appetizers were all awesome!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Appetizers were all awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Average; many more places to get great burger/brew

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

My wife's steak sandwich was great; my burger, however, the reason we were drawn here in the first place, was almost raw (I ordered it medium). The service was uneven. It's a cool place but nothing special; you can do better.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

It was a quiet Sunday and we had the Mea ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

It was a quiet Sunday and we had the Meat and cheese plate plus the tikka masala pot stickers which were excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Rude and Pushy Waitress

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

We made a 6pm reservation and from the moment we sat down, our waitress was incredibly rude. Beginning at 6:40 our waitress began rushing us out, claiming there is another reservation waiting. Last I checked, a dinner reservation typically takes longer than 40 minutes. We ordered 8 appetizers and 3 rounds of drinks, but our waitress continued to press us on "if we are ordering dinner." The appetizers and the entrees are all within the same price range, averaging ~ $15.00. Does 8 appetizers and 3 rounds of drinks not count as dinner? After a few times of her pushing us to finish up, we approached the hostess, who let us know the next reservation at our table was not until 8:30, so as long as we are done by 8:20 it would be fine. At this point it was only about 7:15. It was extremely unnecessary for our waitress to pester us about leaving multiple times when we had over an hour until our time slot was up. I will not be making another reservation at Flatiron hall.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Loud, slow service, go there to drink no ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

Loud, slow service, go there to drink not eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

So dark and noisy - granted we went for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

So dark and noisy - granted we went for dinner on a Saturday evening, but there wasn't much separation from those there day drinking and those attempting to chat over dinner. Not much you can do in a place set up like that but should be noted to not go here for dinner if you'd like a quiet experience/to catch up. Also extremely dark - had to use phone flashlight to read menu! Food was great though - lots of options and fun spins on traditional bar dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Don't expect service

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

I had to ask the same question at least 4 times. I got the same 'yes' answer every time but it was next to impossible to actually get the behavior accomplished. Over rated place to grab a beer and watch the game.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Fun, energetic bar with good food and beer

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 6, 2016

Flatiron Hall is a local favorite for going out with people from work and taking friends. Can get loud and the bar can get tight. So, timing and reservations are required to get good seating or standing space. Food is tasty.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great find, really wonderful food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

Delicious food and great service! Our waiter, Paul K, was super helpful and accommodating. We visited for lunch with two children and ordered the Deluxe Burger, sesame wings, tuna tacos, and reuben spring rolls. Everything was super delicious, we were really impressed. Only request would be more variety in non-alcoholic drinks: maybe homemade lemonade, apple cider, or a greater variety of sodas. But overall a wonderful afternoon, we will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pleasant surprise

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 23, 2015

Pleasantly surprised: although narrow beer selection, the Greenpoint beers were quite good. Kobe sliders were excellent. Large pretzel VG. Service was very friendly and professional. Nice large booth and overall space that accommodates 4+ very well. We live a few blocks away, so often large bistros/gastro-pubs have a tendency to make a local feel like you are a tourist in your own neighborhood. This place felt like a neighborhood spot despite it's size. Less and less easy to do these days.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had dinner and then moved downstairs ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

We had dinner and then moved downstairs to a private area to celebrate the surprise engagement of our daughter. The food is fairly typical bar food, but the service was warm, friendly and just wonderful. It is a pretty, cozy place with brick walls and great ambience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

nice, casual, comfortable, but loud.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

I've been to the Hall a few times and do recommend it. It is a loud place, so be aware. If you want to speak at a normal level and not strain to hear your friends, it may be frustrating for you, both upstairs at a table and downstairs in the beer hall. Food is definitely worth having. Be aware that if you reserve a table , when they confirm it, they will Then probably ask if you are having appetizers and drinks or dinner, and that if you say appetizers, you will probably get told that tables are only for dinner ordering dinner ( that is not asked when Making the reservation though). Several dinner options cost almost the same as the appetizers so, just say dinner. This may only be a thing at dinner time, but it Does matter if you don't want to stand or try for bar space with your friends. That said; it's a nice place, but loud - it is basically a beer hall so that could fairly be expected. We sat up front in the restaurant and had long, ginger-haired server lady who was very pleasant and approrpiately attentive, which was a plus.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Too noisy for an intimate catch-up

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

Came here with a girlfriend to catch-up. The crowd is boisterous and you need a reservation. The food did take a long time to come and the waiter messed up our order which took even longer. The good news is that the food was fresh and very good. I would recommend, but be prepared for the scene.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Maui tacos were great. Excellent beer se ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 3, 2015

Maui tacos were great. Excellent beer selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

High quality pub food with good atmosphere!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

Every time I walk by Flatiron Hall its crowded - I finally had dinner there with a group of friends and can see why: it was very good. Good beer selection, better than normal menu for a bar, lively crowd at the bar. The warm pretzel and fish tacos were outstanding. My friends and I all decided to put Flatiron Hall into our rotation for weekend nights.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Lot of potential

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2015

The appetizers pretzel tacos spring rolls and drinks were good. Ambiance was great. A very relax chill place with cool decor. The main courses were not good. Fish Tacos were chewy. Fish and Chips were average. Slider were boring and plain. The cheese on the grilled cheese wasn't even melted. Tuna burger needs a lot more flavor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Night out

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2015

The restaurant was quick to seat us and very attentive to our needs. The staff was both friendly and quick to serve. The food was good and reasonably priced for NYC. I would return and recommend it to others.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loud

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2015

Great place. It was just really really loud. There weren't that many people in the place so it felt like the bar was pumping in noise through speakers. Way to loud. Everything else was good.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

In the center of Flat Iron fun!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 30, 2015

Simple fare like fish and chips, burgers, salads, but they are prepared excellently. Fresh and satisfying. I had the skirt steak with Arugula salad that was just perfect. My husband had the recommended fish and chips and it was outstanding! Very nice waitress, fast service. Oh yes, I forgot, -- the beer is wonderful as were all the prepared drinks.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great fun...but LOUD

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2015

The drinks are excellent - craft beers and really creative cocktails. The bar and restaurant are pretty big, so tables turn quickly and it's a very festive atmosphere.... but know that it's LOUD. This is not the place to go if you're looking to catch up with a friend and have a chat.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great Beer Hall

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2015

This is a great place to find good food and beer. It's a nice place to have lunch with co-workers and a great after work spot to grab a beer. Would recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

LOUD...... food & service was very good

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 21, 2015

Met out of town friends hear at 6pm on a Thursday night. The bar was very loud, it was hard to talk but the food and the service was good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Went with 6 people, great service, great food!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 9, 2015

Food was great, beers excellent - one of the guys couldn't decide between the lager and pilsner - the waitress offered a taste of each right away. Food very good - everyone in the group commented that they enjoyed dinner (and dessert). Dinner ranged from fish/chips, smoked ribeye sand, seared ahi. Service excellent - went on a Sat night at about 7:00 p.m. - not overly crowded and not empty either - would go back again and would recommend..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfect spot for any occasion; meeting f ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 7, 2015

Perfect spot for any occasion; meeting friends for after work drinks or a hot date. The ambiance is nice (doesn't feel like a dingy bar) Drinks and food are reasonably priced too. They make delicious whiskey gingers!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Not a B Flat kinda place

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 26, 2015

I love that this place is around the corner, but I also love the vibe and decor. Its steampunk midcentury kinda decoration. Plus the food is always on point. We had the pretzel which was enough for two and I ordered the mac and cheese with bacon. It was ok but i feel like the sauce could have been creamier. Overall great place to grab a drink on a week night.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Good but Loud

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 14, 2015

If you want to yell to your dining companion come here. The food was excellent, but it was VERY loud!

The beers are all on tap, lots of options from Greenpoint! Excellent choices. We will probably be back, but at a quieter time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Beer and pretzels!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 7, 2015

Stopped in for dinner before a black box production at a studio nearby and loved it! Delicious pretzel and reuben spring rolls to start, followed by yummy rib eye sandwich, burgers…fun atmosphere, novel food, great prices. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great Beer Hall, Goid Food

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 6, 2015

Great place for some really good beer and above average bar/pub food. Been here several times, good portions n very reasonable prices. And great beer seledtion. Good place to come for drinks with friends and if you are hungry - plenty of options on the menu

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Fun Atmosphere

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 28, 2015

I brought my parents to Flatiron Hall for dinner on a Saturday night. The place was lively, and the food and beer were great. We shared the spicy homemade chips, which were fantastic. My only complaint is that I wish they gave you more blue cheese dipping sauce. The deluxe burger and chicken sandwich were both delicious. I definitely plan to return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

great service, love the atmosphere

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 27, 2015

My friend and I went here for an early dinner and had a great experience. The beer list was amazing, and our server was so lovely. She checked on us the perfect amount, and our drinks and food came out so quickly. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

good food, very nice decoration

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 24, 2015

We had dinner at this place with a group of 4 friends. The food was good, they serve very good beer, and the service was timely and satisfactory. The most remarkable feature was perhaps the old timey decoration! I would recommend this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Good for the energy.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 21, 2015

The place is interesting in that it looks like it has been there forever. The crowd is very energetic and loud. So loud that I almost left. However the service and the food quickly made up for the noise level and it ended up being a decent dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great location, venue, staff and beer!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 12, 2015

Not much more you could ask for of this place! We were late for our reservation and the manager STILL went above and beyond to accommodate us! Great service... delish food... and a great beer and cocktail list! Try the giant pretzel, tots and mac and cheese! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Comfort food For the 20 something crowd

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on January 16, 2015

Packed to the ceiling with suburban 20 somethings, this neighborhood beer hall actually has extremely tasty comfort food that is worth the effort and sure to please. Be sure to order the hot pretzel (overpriced but so good). The burger is great, and the mac and cheese can be the best in the city.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great experience!

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on December 23, 2014

Great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Energetic Weeknight Scene

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 17, 2014

I went here for dinner on a Tuesday night with two girlfriends. The service was great, and we enjoyed the beer and cocktail selection. We ordered the spicy chips and cheese and meat platter, which were outstanding. We each also ordered a sandwich, which we enjoyed.

I would definitely return and would recommend to friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.