About Flaming Torch Restaurant

737 Octavia Street
New Orleans, LA 70115
View Larger Map

“No matter where you are in the New Orleans area, come enjoy the delicious French cuisine menu that native New Orleanians and visitors love.
Just off world-famous Magazine Street, stop in for an afternoon lunch or cocktail, then walk down Magazine Street to shop in the eclectic stores.

Our evening menu has earned us the Top 20 New Orleans restaurants in the renowned Gambit Weekly. We are honored to be part of the reason many people visit New Orleans, the food!!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Magazine

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 895-0900

Website:
http://www.flamingtorchnola.com/

Executive Chef:
Patrick James King

Private Party Facilities:
The Flaming Torch restaurant is a soon-to-be favorite venue for private parties and wedding receptions. Privacy, service and excellent food will be enjoyed by all.

Private Party Contact:
Zore: x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Bread Pudding - Flaming Torch Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
  • Grilled Salmon - Flaming Torch Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
  • House Salad - Flaming Torch Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
  • Chicken Marsala - Flaming Torch Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
  • Maine Diver Scallops W/ Chimichurri Sauce & Corn Hash - Flaming Torch Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
  • Filet Mignon, Mashed Potatos And Asparagus - Flaming Torch Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
  • French Onion Soup - Flaming Torch Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
  • Crevettes Bbq - Flaming Torch Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Bread Pudding - Flaming Torch Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Grilled Salmon - Flaming Torch Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
House Salad - Flaming Torch Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Chicken Marsala - Flaming Torch Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Maine Diver Scallops W/ Chimichurri Sauce & Corn Hash - Flaming Torch Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Filet Mignon, Mashed Potatos And Asparagus - Flaming Torch Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
French Onion Soup - Flaming Torch Restaurant, New Orleans, LA
Crevettes Bbq - Flaming Torch Restaurant, New Orleans, LA

Flaming Torch Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Service
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Ambiance
New Orleans / Louisiana
7 More
Best Value
New Orleans / Louisiana
Romantic
New Orleans / Louisiana
Best Overall
New Orleans
Best Service
New Orleans
Best Ambiance
New Orleans
Best Value
New Orleans
Romantic
New Orleans
Best Restaurants in Uptown ›

Romantic (13)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for a Date (10)
See All
Authentic (7)
Fun (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Family Style (5)
Cozy (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Scenic View (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Casual (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
S
484 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The duck breast and lamb chops were ok, ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

The duck breast and lamb chops were ok, but average. I did not think it was up to the the ratings I had heard. One odd thing, the waiter asked how we wanted the duck breast cooked: rare, etc. Have never heard that questions when ordering fowl.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Thanksgiving dinner - starting to become ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner - starting to become a tradition for us at Flaming Torch. A truly lovely evening. As usual.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful restaurant, food, and delightf ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Wonderful restaurant, food, and delightful owner/staff. Will happily go back when we're in New Orleans again! Thank you for showing us your art! xoxo

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome place for some delicious mussels ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Awesome place for some delicious mussels and New York strip steak! The service was on point and the drinks were amazing. Thank you for a great experience. I'll be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came here on a date, and it was superb ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 17, 2016

I came here on a date, and it was superb! The ambience was great as well as both the food and service. We ordered the redfish with crawfish cream sauce, and it was so divine. Will return!

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Flaming Torch is one of our favorite ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The Flaming Torch is one of our favorite restaurants. As Francophile food lovers, we feel gratified when we dine here. The plates are beautiful, the cuisine authentically French, the service attentive. The selection at the bar is limited, and occasionally menu items aren't available.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Super food and super service!!! No compl ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Super food and super service!!! No complaints at all!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great but there was a tab ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Everything was great but there was a table of 20 that probably demanded more attention so we were a little slowed by that but it would not deter me from going back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

I really enjoyed this place. Good was e ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 23, 2016

I really enjoyed this place. Good was excellent!!!!! Great waiter.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful place uptown! The crab avocado ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Beautiful place uptown! The crab avocado salad provides great portion size for the price, but more importantly, it taste amazing. The White chocolate bread pudding was a great way to end our lunch. Will be back next week for dinner!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the Redfish with crawfish étouffée ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Love the Redfish with crawfish étouffée sauce! It complemented well with the wine our waiter recommended. Will return!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Hot Spot, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Apparently they put up the persian menu ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Apparently they put up the persian menu this week, so I decided to try it out The Persian trio appetizer is amazing! I hope they put the Roasted eggplant as its own appetizer instead of part of the trio because that was my favorite. The chicken kabob was great, and it complemented well with the pita bread. Great idea for the restaurant to add another cultural taste. Will be back!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the ambience and the crabmeat avoca ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Love the ambience and the crabmeat avocado salad was absolutely delicious. Definitely a great lunch option. I will come in next time to try out the persian food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Lunch! We actually were here to ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Amazing Lunch! We actually were here to try the french onion soup, but they mentioned about the persian food they just added, so I decided to give it a go. They had one persian appetizer in the menu, but it consisted of variety of small dishes such as roasted eggplant , salad, and yogurt. It was absolutely delicious. I actually skipped the french onion soup, and went for the Coq Au Vin entree from the regular menu, and that was a great way to end my lunch. I like the options they have now whether you want to have french style meal or a persian meal. Great service and a very beautiful atmosphere! I will definitely return with some co workers of mine.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came here to try the Persian menu they ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 13, 2016

I came here to try the Persian menu they just added this week. My friend ordered the chicken kabab and enjoyed it, but we love the Persian appetizer. The roasted Eggplant with the roasted garlic was phenomenal. It also had the yogurt seasoning and a salad with dice tomatoes, cucumbers and onions. The presentation was very nice. We will be back, but this time I will try the Kabob!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful Restaurant! The Grilled salmon ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Beautiful Restaurant! The Grilled salmon with crab mango salsa was simply out of this world. Will return next week!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What really stood out to me was not just ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 9, 2016

What really stood out to me was not just the amazing quality food they served ( French Onion and Mussels) but the ambience. The place displays strong elegance and beauty. The artworks painted by the owner are beautiful! I will definitely bring my artistic friend to this place later this week. Great neighborhood restaurant!!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice meal. Pretty pricey though. Service ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Nice meal. Pretty pricey though. Service was impeccable!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was completely empty. The ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 7, 2016

The restaurant was completely empty. The A/C was out on the first floor, but the seating on the 2nd floor was nice. The French onion soup was great, the duck was tender and delicious, but they were out of scallops which is what I would've chosen.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

From the moment we stepped inside, the s ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 26, 2016

From the moment we stepped inside, the service was amazing. The environment was warm and the food was fantastic. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent, and the artworks ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was excellent, and the artworks placed all over the restaurant are unique and artistic. Great staff and overall experience. I'll see you guys again soon

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The mussels frites were outstanding! It ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The mussels frites were outstanding! It was a quiet place which I like. Will return!!

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful Place! I enjoyed the French on ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Beautiful Place! I enjoyed the French onion soup as well as the crawfish sauce redfish on a rainy night. Will return!

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A bit overpriced. Shows $$. But more l ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 31, 2016

A bit overpriced. Shows $$. But more like $$$$ for brunch

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The waiter was amazing. Some of my party ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The waiter was amazing. Some of my party was a little late and he was so kind in holding our spot. The staff made special accommodations for the children in our party. Food was delicious and the atmosphere was Devine. Definitely recommend and will dine again soon.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Mussels I've ever had in the city!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 5, 2016

Best Mussels I've ever had in the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Escargot the best!!!

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Escargot the best!!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For the quality of the food the prices a ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 24, 2016

For the quality of the food the prices are too high. We ordered the crab cakes as an appetizer and for the price I'd expect had formed cakes with jumbo lump crabmeat. The flavor was fair at best but the patties looked like something that came out of a frozen box, with shredded crabmeat and seasonings. Steaks were also fair at best but not priced like it.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

The service was very good, and the kitch ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 20, 2016

The service was very good, and the kitchen was very accommodating. The food was well prepared and was served promptly. We ordered the french onion soup- perfect!; the potato leek soup, also very good; the nightly fish special which was roasted salmon with a mango salsa, very delicious, perfectly seasoned and the salsa was light and fresh and an excellent compliment; and the rack of lamb, the lamb was good, but could've been more flavorful, although it was very well prepared, and tender. The wine list is small, and only a few beers are available. It was an enjoyable experience, but a bit over priced all things considered.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great food and ambience!! The vichyssois ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food and ambience!! The vichyssoise soup was amazing and the grilled salmon with crab mango salsa was out of this world! We'll be back!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were a party of four for Sunday brunc ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 12, 2016

We were a party of four for Sunday brunch. The service was friendly and helpful, although the wait person seemed to have to go to the kitchen for information about the menu. The selections were excellent, and the chef was receptive to requests. The preparation for the liver was outstanding. We left wondering why we had not been back to this lovely place more often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Love this elegant little place! Great fo ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 10, 2016

Love this elegant little place! Great food as well as service and ambience. Will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very beautiful uptown restaurant! Althou ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 9, 2016

Very beautiful uptown restaurant! Although the weather is hot, the French onion soup is a must have and the mussels were so tasty. We ordered the grilled salmon with crab mango salsa, and that was by far the best entree I've had in a while. Great service as well as ambience. We will be back!!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely French Cuisine

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 28, 2016

Heard about this restaurant from a friend and couldn't believe we had never been. The owner was on site and just lovely. Everything we ordered was delicious but I only gave 4 stars as the duck was undercooked even for medium rare and the frois gras though tasty, not the traditional type one would expect. I would return to try some other items on the menu that caught my eye.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing experience with my fiancée at Th ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 19, 2016

Amazing experience with my fiancée at The Flaming Torch. Their scallop appetizers were so good and the New York strip steak was cooked to perfection. Our server was very attentive and had a great personality. We will be back!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant! The grilled salmon wit ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 17, 2016

Great restaurant! The grilled salmon with crab mango salmon was outstanding.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The duck was cooked to perfection; it co ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 16, 2016

The duck was cooked to perfection; it complemented amazingly with the chambord sauce. Oh and the French onion soup was by far the best French onion I've ever had period. Be warned though that it's very cheesy!! Great little French restaurant on Magazine St. We'll be back!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Will not return

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food took forever (both courses), bisque served cold, table seated well after us received entrees before we did; when entrees finally did arrive, 3 of them arrived several minutes before the other 3. The worst aspect is that waiter did not once acknowledge the delays as he was too busy repeatedly and inappropriately interrupting our conversations -- utterly lacking in social skills. We were there for over 2.5 hours, seemed even longer. A real shame -- dining at The Flaming Torch in years past was delightful, especially in terms of service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

I hate to give this place a bad review. ...

vip
 (Little Rock)·Dined on May 8, 2016

I hate to give this place a bad review. It's an attractive restaurant with a great location. Also, I so admire the owner who took over as chef/ manager after her husband died suddenly.

Our service was spotty at best-- he omitted to tell us the special soup of the day (eggplant) which was delivered at the next table. When I asked why he didn't mention , he said it was made "only for staff." My onion soup was not hot enough and had a huge blob of cheese that I could pick up with a fork (microwaved? Definitely not under the broiler). Escargot were disappointing, not enough flavor rubbery. Salad was ok

The only solution I see for them is to a young innovative chef. There were only 6 customers on a Saturday night.

I did see a fish go by that was HUGE. Maybe quantity is their goal

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Our go to place in New Orleans for celeb ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Our go to place in New Orleans for celebratory meal in New Orleans. Must I say more?

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.