About Flaming Torch Restaurant

737 Octavia Street
New Orleans, LA 70115
View Larger Map

“No matter where you are in the New Orleans area, come enjoy the delicious French cuisine menu that native New Orleanians and visitors love.
Just off world-famous Magazine Street, stop in for an afternoon lunch or cocktail, then walk down Magazine Street to shop in the eclectic stores.

Our evening menu has earned us the Top 20 New Orleans restaurants in the renowned Gambit Weekly. We are honored to be part of the reason many people visit New Orleans, the food!!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm;
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
Magazine

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 895-0900

Website:
http://www.flamingtorchnola.com/

Executive Chef:
Patrick James King

Private Party Facilities:
The Flaming Torch restaurant is a soon-to-be favorite venue for private parties and wedding receptions. Privacy, service and excellent food will be enjoyed by all.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Flaming Torch Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (7)
Romantic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
See All
Authentic (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Cozy (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Casual (2)
Fun (2)
Business Meals (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
519 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a deliciously prepared meal. I h ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had a deliciously prepared meal. I had the Lamb and my friend had the Red Fish entree. Our server was wonderful. We had been there once before a few years ago. I'm gld we went back. It was a nice experience.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

An excellent night all around. The servi ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 28, 2017

An excellent night all around. The service, the food, and the atmosphere were just right. A nice, cozy place. Not too loud. The service was friendly, sharp, and not overbearing. The owner works the room herself and she is a delight. The food was excellent. I had a hard time deciding what to order. I'll definitely be back to try some of the other items on the menu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The rack of lamb with chicory coffee sau ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The rack of lamb with chicory coffee sauce was delicious as well as the Chambord duck! Great atmosphere and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The grouper with tumeric crab sauce was ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 25, 2017

The grouper with tumeric crab sauce was outstanding as well as the French onion soup! Ali is an amazing server and bartender. He made two delicious cognac Sazerac for us!! I'm a little shocked though there was only a couple tables tonight but we will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful little gem! We ordered the red ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Beautiful little gem! We ordered the redfish with shrimp ettoufee sauce as well as the French onion soup that our server recommended, and we were surely not disappointed. Our waiter was such a nice and caring person. It's a very beautiful place for a date. Will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a beautiful atmosphere as well as t ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 23, 2017

What a beautiful atmosphere as well as the French Onion Soup. Will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With very few restaurants open on Christ ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on December 26, 2016

With very few restaurants open on Christmas Day we made reservations at the Flaming Torch. This is a delightful French restaurant with authentic French food and ambience. The service was adequate despite the fact that our waiter was covering a lot of tables single-handedly. Both our duck and fish were carefully prepared and delicious. The ambience upstairs (where we ate) was perfect for a romantic evening. Good value, too. Note: the restaurant is a good 15 minutes drive from the center of NO, in a quiet neighborhood, so it's not like you can walk from Bourbon Street. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

It was the holiday menu, maybe they just ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It was the holiday menu, maybe they just were thrown off by not cooking their usual fare... but it was pretty bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

We had the ABSOLUTE best french onion so ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had the ABSOLUTE best french onion soup ever! Better than anywhere we had in France. The rest of our meals were fabulous as well......I think we all ordered something different. The owner herself took the time to recognize my 60th birthday and make the evening special! She and her family are lovely! We will definitely be back again.....a hidden gem off Magazine St.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The duck breast and lamb chops were ok, ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The duck breast and lamb chops were ok, but average. I did not think it was up to the the ratings I had heard. One odd thing, the waiter asked how we wanted the duck breast cooked: rare, etc. Have never heard that questions when ordering fowl.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Thanksgiving dinner - starting to become ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Thanksgiving dinner - starting to become a tradition for us at Flaming Torch. A truly lovely evening. As usual.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here for an early Thanksgiving ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I've been here for an early Thanksgiving dinner for several years in a row, and it never disappoints. It's small, quaint, with a great ambiance. We appreciate them being open and providing a great family-run meal for our adult groups!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful restaurant, food, and delightf ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Wonderful restaurant, food, and delightful owner/staff. Will happily go back when we're in New Orleans again! Thank you for showing us your art! xoxo

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, , Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The chef was apparently off that night a ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The chef was apparently off that night and the owner cooked. The food was inedible. Our waiter was new and not trained. Our waiter informed the owner about our complaints but she did not ever come to our table although she did spend most of the night talking to the only other occupied table in the restaurant. After wasting $345 we went down the street and ate a proper dinner with much better food from an award winning chef and at a lesser price. I see no reason to ever go back when there are much better restaurants nearby!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Awesome place for some delicious mussels ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Awesome place for some delicious mussels and New York strip steak! The service was on point and the drinks were amazing. Thank you for a great experience. I'll be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came here on a date, and it was superb ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 17, 2016

I came here on a date, and it was superb! The ambience was great as well as both the food and service. We ordered the redfish with crawfish cream sauce, and it was so divine. Will return!

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Flaming Torch is one of our favorite ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The Flaming Torch is one of our favorite restaurants. As Francophile food lovers, we feel gratified when we dine here. The plates are beautiful, the cuisine authentically French, the service attentive. The selection at the bar is limited, and occasionally menu items aren't available.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Super food and super service!!! No compl ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Super food and super service!!! No complaints at all!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was great but there was a tab ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Everything was great but there was a table of 20 that probably demanded more attention so we were a little slowed by that but it would not deter me from going back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

I really enjoyed this place. Good was e ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 23, 2016

I really enjoyed this place. Good was excellent!!!!! Great waiter.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful place uptown! The crab avocado ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Beautiful place uptown! The crab avocado salad provides great portion size for the price, but more importantly, it taste amazing. The White chocolate bread pudding was a great way to end our lunch. Will be back next week for dinner!

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the Redfish with crawfish étouffée ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Love the Redfish with crawfish étouffée sauce! It complemented well with the wine our waiter recommended. Will return!

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Hot Spot, Family Style, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Apparently they put up the persian menu ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Apparently they put up the persian menu this week, so I decided to try it out The Persian trio appetizer is amazing! I hope they put the Roasted eggplant as its own appetizer instead of part of the trio because that was my favorite. The chicken kabob was great, and it complemented well with the pita bread. Great idea for the restaurant to add another cultural taste. Will be back!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Local Ingredients
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the ambience and the crabmeat avoca ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Love the ambience and the crabmeat avocado salad was absolutely delicious. Definitely a great lunch option. I will come in next time to try out the persian food!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Lunch! We actually were here to ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Amazing Lunch! We actually were here to try the french onion soup, but they mentioned about the persian food they just added, so I decided to give it a go. They had one persian appetizer in the menu, but it consisted of variety of small dishes such as roasted eggplant , salad, and yogurt. It was absolutely delicious. I actually skipped the french onion soup, and went for the Coq Au Vin entree from the regular menu, and that was a great way to end my lunch. I like the options they have now whether you want to have french style meal or a persian meal. Great service and a very beautiful atmosphere! I will definitely return with some co workers of mine.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came here to try the Persian menu they ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 13, 2016

I came here to try the Persian menu they just added this week. My friend ordered the chicken kabab and enjoyed it, but we love the Persian appetizer. The roasted Eggplant with the roasted garlic was phenomenal. It also had the yogurt seasoning and a salad with dice tomatoes, cucumbers and onions. The presentation was very nice. We will be back, but this time I will try the Kabob!

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful Restaurant! The Grilled salmon ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Beautiful Restaurant! The Grilled salmon with crab mango salsa was simply out of this world. Will return next week!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What really stood out to me was not just ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 9, 2016

What really stood out to me was not just the amazing quality food they served ( French Onion and Mussels) but the ambience. The place displays strong elegance and beauty. The artworks painted by the owner are beautiful! I will definitely bring my artistic friend to this place later this week. Great neighborhood restaurant!!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice meal. Pretty pricey though. Service ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Nice meal. Pretty pricey though. Service was impeccable!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was completely empty. The ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 7, 2016

The restaurant was completely empty. The A/C was out on the first floor, but the seating on the 2nd floor was nice. The French onion soup was great, the duck was tender and delicious, but they were out of scallops which is what I would've chosen.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

From the moment we stepped inside, the s ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 26, 2016

From the moment we stepped inside, the service was amazing. The environment was warm and the food was fantastic. We will definitely be going back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea
2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent, and the artworks ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was excellent, and the artworks placed all over the restaurant are unique and artistic. Great staff and overall experience. I'll see you guys again soon

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The mussels frites were outstanding! It ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The mussels frites were outstanding! It was a quiet place which I like. Will return!!

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful Place! I enjoyed the French on ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Beautiful Place! I enjoyed the French onion soup as well as the crawfish sauce redfish on a rainy night. Will return!

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A bit overpriced. Shows $$. But more l ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 31, 2016

A bit overpriced. Shows $$. But more like $$$$ for brunch

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The waiter was amazing. Some of my party ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The waiter was amazing. Some of my party was a little late and he was so kind in holding our spot. The staff made special accommodations for the children in our party. Food was delicious and the atmosphere was Devine. Definitely recommend and will dine again soon.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Mussels I've ever had in the city!

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 5, 2016

Best Mussels I've ever had in the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Escargot the best!!!

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Escargot the best!!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For the quality of the food the prices a ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 24, 2016

For the quality of the food the prices are too high. We ordered the crab cakes as an appetizer and for the price I'd expect had formed cakes with jumbo lump crabmeat. The flavor was fair at best but the patties looked like something that came out of a frozen box, with shredded crabmeat and seasonings. Steaks were also fair at best but not priced like it.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

The service was very good, and the kitch ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 20, 2016

The service was very good, and the kitchen was very accommodating. The food was well prepared and was served promptly. We ordered the french onion soup- perfect!; the potato leek soup, also very good; the nightly fish special which was roasted salmon with a mango salsa, very delicious, perfectly seasoned and the salsa was light and fresh and an excellent compliment; and the rack of lamb, the lamb was good, but could've been more flavorful, although it was very well prepared, and tender. The wine list is small, and only a few beers are available. It was an enjoyable experience, but a bit over priced all things considered.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.