About Flaming Torch Restaurant

737 Octavia Street
New Orleans, LA 70115
View Larger Map

“No matter where you are in the New Orleans area, come enjoy the delicious French cuisine menu that native New Orleanians and visitors love. Just off world-famous Magazine Street, stop in for an afternoon lunch or cocktail, then walk down Magazine Street to shop in the eclectic stores. Our evening menu has earned us the Top 20 New Orleans restaurants in the renowned Gambit Weekly. We are honored to be part of the reason many people visit New Orleans, the food!!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Magazine

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 895-0900

Website:
http://www.flamingtorchnola.com/

Executive Chef:
Patrick James King

Private Party Facilities:
The Flaming Torch restaurant is a soon-to-be favorite venue for private parties and wedding receptions. Privacy, service and excellent food will be enjoyed by all.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Flaming Torch Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

romantic (17)
special occasion (17)
neighborhood gem (16)
See All
fit for foodies (6)
notable wine list (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
good for groups (4)
hot spot (4)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (4)
great for lunch (4)
kid-friendly (3)
great for outdoor dining (3)
great for brunch (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
451 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Lovely French Cuisine

Dined 3 days ago

Heard about this restaurant from a friend and couldn't believe we had never been. The owner was on site and just lovely. Everything we ordered was delicious but I only gave 4 stars as the duck was undercooked even for medium rare and the frois gras though tasty, not the traditional type one would expect. I would return to try some other items on the menu that caught my eye.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing experience with my fiancée at Th ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Amazing experience with my fiancée at The Flaming Torch. Their scallop appetizers were so good and the New York strip steak was cooked to perfection. Our server was very attentive and had a great personality. We will be back!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant! The grilled salmon wit ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Great restaurant! The grilled salmon with crab mango salmon was outstanding.

food5
ambience5
service5

The duck was cooked to perfection; it co ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

The duck was cooked to perfection; it complemented amazingly with the chambord sauce. Oh and the French onion soup was by far the best French onion I've ever had period. Be warned though that it's very cheesy!! Great little French restaurant on Magazine St. We'll be back!

food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Will not return

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food took forever (both courses), bisque served cold, table seated well after us received entrees before we did; when entrees finally did arrive, 3 of them arrived several minutes before the other 3. The worst aspect is that waiter did not once acknowledge the delays as he was too busy repeatedly and inappropriately interrupting our conversations -- utterly lacking in social skills. We were there for over 2.5 hours, seemed even longer. A real shame -- dining at The Flaming Torch in years past was delightful, especially in terms of service.

food2
ambience4
service2
value3

I hate to give this place a bad review. ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

I hate to give this place a bad review. It's an attractive restaurant with a great location. Also, I so admire the owner who took over as chef/ manager after her husband died suddenly. Our service was spotty at best-- he omitted to tell us the special soup of the day (eggplant) which was delivered at the next table. When I asked why he didn't mention , he said it was made "only for staff." My onion soup was not hot enough and had a huge blob of cheese that I could pick up with a fork (microwaved? Definitely not under the broiler). Escargot were disappointing, not enough flavor rubbery. Salad was ok The only solution I see for them is to a young innovative chef. There were only 6 customers on a Saturday night. I did see a fish go by that was HUGE. Maybe quantity is their goal

food5
ambience5
service5

Our go to place in New Orleans for celeb ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Our go to place in New Orleans for celebratory meal in New Orleans. Must I say more?

food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful place for a romantic dinner! T ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Beautiful place for a romantic dinner! The redfish was spectacular and the white chocolate bread pudding definitely hit the spot. Will return!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful French Restaurant!

Dined on May 5, 2016

I came here with a friend and it was outstanding! The Eggplant soup with parmesan cheese was absolutely delicious and the Duck was prepped very well. Our wonderful server recommended us to try a pinot noir to complement the taste of the duck, and it was great! We will be back!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best French Onion Soup in the City!!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Wonderful little restaurant with amazing ambience and service. We enjoyed the french onion soups and the rack of lamb was sensational! We'll be back

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Misses outweigh the hits

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

I was curious about this restaurant for years but the sharp mix of reviews was confusing. Now I understand; it’s because of the mix of hits and misses. PROS: Tiny but comfortable dining room. Upscale table settings. Interesting décor and menu -- like taking a time machine to the 80’s which can be good if you want the change. Coffee crusted lamb rack was a generous portion and cooked exactly to temp requested; very good. Decent chance of booking here on a busy night in N.O. CONS: Salads were good except for what must have been bottled bacon bits instead of the real thing. Onion soup a bit thin. Fresh but bland starter bread you would expect at a Holiday Inn restaurant in Des Moines. Overpriced, all things considered. The reason I will not return was the service. Waiter was OK (well maybe officious) but even for a small room it was under-staffed: 1 waiter, 1 bus. Wait between courses was much too long.

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Is the Flame flickering out?

Dined on May 1, 2016

I have been to Flaming Torch quite a few times and it was always a good bet for quality and value but not anymore! The prices have gone way up, the food is not at the level it was prior and I was quite surprised! I don't know whether it is because of the ridiculous construction that I know has hampered their business for sure, or whether it was because of Jazz Fest Weekend but the prices were considerably higher, the food not as great and the service not the level I am used to eating there! It was a shame!

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this place! I enjoyed their Fren ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

I love this place! I enjoyed their French onion soup and the rack of lamb was simply out of this world. The service was fantastic as well as the artistic ambience. We will return!

food5
ambience5
service5

A good friend of mine recommended this p ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

A good friend of mine recommended this place to me so I decided to give it a shot. May I say that it was not a disappointment. Their French onion soup is the best I've ever tasted! The redfish with shrimp étouffée sauce was so delicious and it was a very good portion size. I will have to tell my friends about this elegant French restaurant. Two thumbs up

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUTSTANDING!

Dined on April 24, 2016

I came to The Flaming Torch with my husband for dinner and we loved it!! The french onion soup was amazing and the duck with chambord sauce was simply out of this world. The place provided great service and a wonderful atmosphere. We will be back!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu was small, but innovative. The ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The menu was small, but innovative. The portions were large. The flavors were fabulous!

food5
ambience5
service5

I came here a couple years ago and it wa ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

I came here a couple years ago and it was ok, but I decided to give it another chance. They have definitely made huge improvements there. The service was fantastic and the atmosphere was amazing. The redfish with shrimp étouffée sauce was one of the best entrees I have had in this city. The sauce was very rich and creamy. I will let my friends know about the big improvements. We will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5

We came in town for Jazz fest and wanted ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

We came in town for Jazz fest and wanted to go to a place away from downtown so we decided to come to the Flaming Torch. What a beautiful French Restaurant! I love the ambience and the mussels were outstanding. Our bartender made some great drinks including an old fashioned and his special drink, cognac sazerac. We had a fantastic server who was very active and optimistic. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous scallops, fabulous French onion ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Fabulous scallops, fabulous French onion soup, fabulous service, and fabulous artworks!

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing quality French creole food! We e ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Amazing quality French creole food! We enjoyed the redfish with shrimp étouffée sauce as well as the white chocolate bread pudding. Great place for a romantic dinner. We will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5

Love the French onion soup and the chamb ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Love the French onion soup and the chambord duck! Great service top it off with great ambience. Will return!

food5
ambience5
service5

Best Mussels I've ever had!!! I definite ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Best Mussels I've ever had!!! I definitely will be back

food4
ambience5
service5

Fantastic!!!

vip
Dined on April 5, 2016

Fantastic!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

I was recommended to come to The Flaming ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

I was recommended to come to The Flaming Torch and it didn't disappoint. We ordered the French onion soup, the best French onion soup I've ever eaten. We both ordered the Salmon with mango salsa and crabmeat and that was very tasty. The service was great as well as the ambience. We enjoyed the experience there, and we will be back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Scallops with great company! Will ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Great Scallops with great company! Will return

food5
ambience5
service5

What a beautiful restaurant on Magazine ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

What a beautiful restaurant on Magazine St! Their mango salsa crabmeat salmon was sensational and it complemented well with out wine that our server recommended. Great ambience and great quality food. We will definitely be back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Best French onion soup I've ever had!!! ...

Dined on April 1, 2016

Best French onion soup I've ever had!!! Romantic/ beautiful place overall

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good Find

Dined on March 26, 2016

Just trying out new spots and this was a gem It was quiet which scared me because I became hesitant about the food BUT what a great surprise EVERYTHING was fresh and delicious Owner was on site and extremely personable Great Lunch A Definite return

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Mussels I've had in a while! Lovely ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

Best Mussels I've had in a while! Lovely ambience with an addition of great service. I definitely will return

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Delightful Surprise!!

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

My husband and I decided to give Flaming Torch a try and we're glad we did!! It's a quaint little place in the uptown area. Very NOLA!!! I had already scoped out the reviews and knew that I had to try the French Onion Soup......it definitely lived up to its reputation!! Wow, it was really that good!! My husband had a fantastic Roquefort Salad which had grape tomatoes, applewood smoked bacon, Roquefort cheese, and romaine lettuce tossed in a light Roquefort dressing. Delish!!!! For my entree I enjoyed the Chambord seared Duck Breast with cherry brown butter compound and my husband had the chicory coffee crusted lamb rack with red wine butter. Oh wow, both were really yummo!!! Topped this awesome dinner off with a chocolate pot de creme!! Rich and delightful. Our server was very sweet and very accommodating. .We'll be back!!!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

We won't go back

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Haven't been in a few years because the way the place is ran...it's extremely understaffed,thus making service poor. Servers themselves aren't bad,just very overwhelmed. Food has always been very good. We were hopeful it has changed since the last visit,but nothing has changed. Left after we ordered drinks,as it was obvious things wouldn't be going well for a meal. Asking for a drink to be made seemed a tall order.

food5
ambience5
service5

Their chambord duck and the scallops wer ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Their chambord duck and the scallops were simply out of this world. Lovely atmosphere!

food4
ambience5
service5

I highly recommend the seafood here; the ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

I highly recommend the seafood here; the red fish is to die for and the scallops are fabulous!

food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was wonderful. Got there befo ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Everything was wonderful. Got there before they were busy. Everything was excellent!!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Made my nerve raking drive worth it!

Dined on March 4, 2016

Although I was nearly an hour late for my reservation, due to horrible traffic, they held my table. The service, ambiance and food more than made up for the nerve raking 2 1/2 hour drive. From the moment of arrival from the waitress, bar tender, and the chef they went out of their way to help my party forget the drive and celebrate the dining experience. It was just that, a dining experience of quality service, warm atmosphere and wonderful food, without rushing. Everyone agreed it wouldn't be our last visit. It is well worth every moment and bite!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I Had a lovely romantic dinner with my ...

Dined on February 29, 2016

I Had a lovely romantic dinner with my husband. We both ordered the French onion soup and it was simply divine. Their bouillabaisse was out of this world, containing mussels, scallops, fish, shrimp, and clams. I couldn't even finish it; their were a lot of seafood in the bowl. It provided great atmosphere and the service was amazing. We will be back

food5
ambience5
service5

Their French onion soup is the best I've ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Their French onion soup is the best I've ever had! Great service and ambience. We will return

food5
ambience5
service5

What a romantic find on uptown. We order ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

What a romantic find on uptown. We ordered the mussels for appetizers and it was outstanding. Their white wine sauce made the mussels taste amazing. The ducks that we ordered for entree was the best part of our dining experience. Their chambord sauce was sweet and worked very well with the duck. Thank you for a wonderful experience. We will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful, succulent filet mignon, cooke ...

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

Wonderful, succulent filet mignon, cooked exactly to order and one of the best fish dishes I've ever had. Also notable is the delicious French onion soup.

food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Pricey But Good

vip
Dined on February 22, 2016

A decent blend of traditional French preparation with local Louisiana ingredients. Meats were seasoned well but all overcooked (steak and duck) and it seems later reservations lose out on the more popular items and there were several substitutions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.