About Flaming Torch Restaurant

737 Octavia Street
New Orleans, LA 70115
View Larger Map

“No matter where you are in the New Orleans area, come enjoy the delicious French cuisine menu that native New Orleanians and visitors love. Just off world-famous Magazine Street, stop in for an afternoon lunch or cocktail, then walk down Magazine Street to shop in the eclectic stores. Our evening menu has earned us the Top 20 New Orleans restaurants in the renowned Gambit Weekly. We are honored to be part of the reason many people visit New Orleans, the food!!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 11:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Magazine

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 895-0900

Website:
http://www.flamingtorchnola.com/

Executive Chef:
Patrick James King

Private Party Facilities:
The Flaming Torch restaurant is a soon-to-be favorite venue for private parties and wedding receptions. Privacy, service and excellent food will be enjoyed by all.

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Bread Pudding
  • Grilled Salmon
  • House Salad
  • Chicken Marsala
  • Maine Diver Scallops W/ Chimichurri Sauce & Corn Hash
  • Filet Mignon, Mashed Potatos And Asparagus
  • French Onion Soup
  • Crevettes Bbq
Bread Pudding
Grilled Salmon
House Salad
Chicken Marsala
Maine Diver Scallops W/ Chimichurri Sauce & Corn Hash
Filet Mignon, Mashed Potatos And Asparagus
French Onion Soup
Crevettes Bbq

Flaming Torch Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.1

noise

Moderate

60% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (7)
Romantic (6)
Special Occasion (5)
See All
Fit for Foodies (3)
Scenic View (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
464 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was excellent, and the artworks ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was excellent, and the artworks placed all over the restaurant are unique and artistic. Great staff and overall experience. I'll see you guys again soon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The mussels frites were outstanding! It ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The mussels frites were outstanding! It was a quiet place which I like. Will return!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful Place! I enjoyed the French on ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Beautiful Place! I enjoyed the French onion soup as well as the crawfish sauce redfish on a rainy night. Will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A bit overpriced. Shows $$. But more l ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

A bit overpriced. Shows $$. But more like $$$$ for brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The waiter was amazing. Some of my party ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The waiter was amazing. Some of my party was a little late and he was so kind in holding our spot. The staff made special accommodations for the children in our party. Food was delicious and the atmosphere was Devine. Definitely recommend and will dine again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Mussels I've ever had in the city!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Best Mussels I've ever had in the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Escargot the best!!!

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Escargot the best!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For the quality of the food the prices a ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

For the quality of the food the prices are too high. We ordered the crab cakes as an appetizer and for the price I'd expect had formed cakes with jumbo lump crabmeat. The flavor was fair at best but the patties looked like something that came out of a frozen box, with shredded crabmeat and seasonings. Steaks were also fair at best but not priced like it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

The service was very good, and the kitch ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The service was very good, and the kitchen was very accommodating. The food was well prepared and was served promptly. We ordered the french onion soup- perfect!; the potato leek soup, also very good; the nightly fish special which was roasted salmon with a mango salsa, very delicious, perfectly seasoned and the salsa was light and fresh and an excellent compliment; and the rack of lamb, the lamb was good, but could've been more flavorful, although it was very well prepared, and tender. The wine list is small, and only a few beers are available. It was an enjoyable experience, but a bit over priced all things considered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great food and ambience!! The vichyssois ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Great food and ambience!! The vichyssoise soup was amazing and the grilled salmon with crab mango salsa was out of this world! We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were a party of four for Sunday brunc ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We were a party of four for Sunday brunch. The service was friendly and helpful, although the wait person seemed to have to go to the kitchen for information about the menu. The selections were excellent, and the chef was receptive to requests. The preparation for the liver was outstanding. We left wondering why we had not been back to this lovely place more often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Love this elegant little place! Great fo ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Love this elegant little place! Great food as well as service and ambience. Will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very beautiful uptown restaurant! Althou ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Very beautiful uptown restaurant! Although the weather is hot, the French onion soup is a must have and the mussels were so tasty. We ordered the grilled salmon with crab mango salsa, and that was by far the best entree I've had in a while. Great service as well as ambience. We will be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely French Cuisine

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Heard about this restaurant from a friend and couldn't believe we had never been. The owner was on site and just lovely. Everything we ordered was delicious but I only gave 4 stars as the duck was undercooked even for medium rare and the frois gras though tasty, not the traditional type one would expect. I would return to try some other items on the menu that caught my eye.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing experience with my fiancée at Th ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Amazing experience with my fiancée at The Flaming Torch. Their scallop appetizers were so good and the New York strip steak was cooked to perfection. Our server was very attentive and had a great personality. We will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant! The grilled salmon wit ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Great restaurant! The grilled salmon with crab mango salmon was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The duck was cooked to perfection; it co ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

The duck was cooked to perfection; it complemented amazingly with the chambord sauce. Oh and the French onion soup was by far the best French onion I've ever had period. Be warned though that it's very cheesy!! Great little French restaurant on Magazine St. We'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Will not return

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food took forever (both courses), bisque served cold, table seated well after us received entrees before we did; when entrees finally did arrive, 3 of them arrived several minutes before the other 3. The worst aspect is that waiter did not once acknowledge the delays as he was too busy repeatedly and inappropriately interrupting our conversations -- utterly lacking in social skills. We were there for over 2.5 hours, seemed even longer. A real shame -- dining at The Flaming Torch in years past was delightful, especially in terms of service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

I hate to give this place a bad review. ...

vip
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I hate to give this place a bad review. It's an attractive restaurant with a great location. Also, I so admire the owner who took over as chef/ manager after her husband died suddenly.

Our service was spotty at best-- he omitted to tell us the special soup of the day (eggplant) which was delivered at the next table. When I asked why he didn't mention , he said it was made "only for staff." My onion soup was not hot enough and had a huge blob of cheese that I could pick up with a fork (microwaved? Definitely not under the broiler). Escargot were disappointing, not enough flavor rubbery. Salad was ok

The only solution I see for them is to a young innovative chef. There were only 6 customers on a Saturday night.

I did see a fish go by that was HUGE. Maybe quantity is their goal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

Our go to place in New Orleans for celeb ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Our go to place in New Orleans for celebratory meal in New Orleans. Must I say more?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful place for a romantic dinner! T ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Beautiful place for a romantic dinner! The redfish was spectacular and the white chocolate bread pudding definitely hit the spot. Will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful French Restaurant!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

I came here with a friend and it was outstanding! The Eggplant soup with parmesan cheese was absolutely delicious and the Duck was prepped very well. Our wonderful server recommended us to try a pinot noir to complement the taste of the duck, and it was great! We will be back!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best French Onion Soup in the City!!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Wonderful little restaurant with amazing ambience and service. We enjoyed the french onion soups and the rack of lamb was sensational! We'll be back

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Misses outweigh the hits

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

I was curious about this restaurant for years but the sharp mix of reviews was confusing. Now I understand; it’s because of the mix of hits and misses.

PROS: Tiny but comfortable dining room. Upscale table settings. Interesting décor and menu -- like taking a time machine to the 80’s which can be good if you want the change. Coffee crusted lamb rack was a generous portion and cooked exactly to temp requested; very good. Decent chance of booking here on a busy night in N.O.

CONS: Salads were good except for what must have been bottled bacon bits instead of the real thing. Onion soup a bit thin. Fresh but bland starter bread you would expect at a Holiday Inn restaurant in Des Moines. Overpriced, all things considered.

The reason I will not return was the service. Waiter was OK (well maybe officious) but even for a small room it was under-staffed: 1 waiter, 1 bus. Wait between courses was much too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Is the Flame flickering out?

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

I have been to Flaming Torch quite a few times and it was always a good bet for quality and value but not anymore! The prices have gone way up, the food is not at the level it was prior and I was quite surprised! I don't know whether it is because of the ridiculous construction that I know has hampered their business for sure, or whether it was because of Jazz Fest Weekend but the prices were considerably higher, the food not as great and the service not the level I am used to eating there! It was a shame!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

I love this place! I enjoyed their Fren ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I love this place! I enjoyed their French onion soup and the rack of lamb was simply out of this world. The service was fantastic as well as the artistic ambience. We will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A good friend of mine recommended this p ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

A good friend of mine recommended this place to me so I decided to give it a shot. May I say that it was not a disappointment. Their French onion soup is the best I've ever tasted! The redfish with shrimp étouffée sauce was so delicious and it was a very good portion size. I will have to tell my friends about this elegant French restaurant. Two thumbs up

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

OUTSTANDING!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

I came to The Flaming Torch with my husband for dinner and we loved it!! The french onion soup was amazing and the duck with chambord sauce was simply out of this world. The place provided great service and a wonderful atmosphere. We will be back!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was small, but innovative. The ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The menu was small, but innovative. The portions were large. The flavors were fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I came here a couple years ago and it wa ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

I came here a couple years ago and it was ok, but I decided to give it another chance. They have definitely made huge improvements there. The service was fantastic and the atmosphere was amazing. The redfish with shrimp étouffée sauce was one of the best entrees I have had in this city. The sauce was very rich and creamy. I will let my friends know about the big improvements. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We came in town for Jazz fest and wanted ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We came in town for Jazz fest and wanted to go to a place away from downtown so we decided to come to the Flaming Torch. What a beautiful French Restaurant! I love the ambience and the mussels were outstanding. Our bartender made some great drinks including an old fashioned and his special drink, cognac sazerac. We had a fantastic server who was very active and optimistic. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous scallops, fabulous French onion ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Fabulous scallops, fabulous French onion soup, fabulous service, and fabulous artworks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing quality French creole food! We e ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Amazing quality French creole food! We enjoyed the redfish with shrimp étouffée sauce as well as the white chocolate bread pudding. Great place for a romantic dinner. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the French onion soup and the chamb ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Love the French onion soup and the chambord duck! Great service top it off with great ambience. Will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Mussels I've ever had!!! I definite ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Best Mussels I've ever had!!! I definitely will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic!!!

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Fantastic!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I was recommended to come to The Flaming ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

I was recommended to come to The Flaming Torch and it didn't disappoint. We ordered the French onion soup, the best French onion soup I've ever eaten. We both ordered the Salmon with mango salsa and crabmeat and that was very tasty. The service was great as well as the ambience. We enjoyed the experience there, and we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Scallops with great company! Will ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Great Scallops with great company! Will return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a beautiful restaurant on Magazine ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

What a beautiful restaurant on Magazine St! Their mango salsa crabmeat salmon was sensational and it complemented well with out wine that our server recommended. Great ambience and great quality food. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best French onion soup I've ever had!!! ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Best French onion soup I've ever had!!! Romantic/ beautiful place overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.