Flame Restaurant

4.7
495 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Good for a Date
  • Notable Wine List
  • Romantic
Flame, a Modern Mountain Steakhouse, is the signature restaurant of Four Seasons Resort Vail. Flame’s focus is “fun dining,” rather than fine dining, as guests enjoy an interactive experience. Chef Kevin and his team perfectly sear prime steaks over a 1800 degree grill and carve their masterpieces tableside. Indulge in our communally served sides which are locally sourced and seasonally inspired.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Meat, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am
Dinner: Nightly: 6:00pm - 9:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(970) 477-8650
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Kevin Erving
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Out of Bounds can accommodate special events for up to 24 guests. Out of Bounds will also feature an illuminated wine wall and a beautiful private fireplace.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Steven Teaver: (970) 477-8650
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
S. Frontage Road
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary valet parking.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Town of Vail and ECO Bus.
Additional
Banquet, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 495 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Awesome meal and service...prepare to be impressed!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

Brought the kids out for a nice dinner while in Vail. The service was great and the food perfect. I was very happy with the entire experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Excellent food, service and ambience. Also, excellent craft cocktails.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Fantastic!!! Food was delicious, service was impeccable. Highly recommend!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 8, 2018

We went with our family for my husband’s special birthday. He wanted to go back to Flame because he loved it the April before. We had the same waiter who while in 2017 gave us good service and we also shared Cub fan commonality with him. We recognized him- he didn’t remember us- no big deal. Although the restaurant was basically empty, the service was horrible. The waiter hardly paid attention to us and the service was slow. We told him we were celebrating my husbands birthday and we chose Flame because my husband loved it. The waiter basically told us we were one of his last tables and then he was out of there. He could have cared less about us. The desserts came- with no birthday candles. The bill came. The waiter dropped the bill with my husband’s credit card on my head and hardly apologized. We also couldn’t believe a birthday dessert wasn’t comped! It was a very disappointing meal especially that we are Four Seasons fans having had our daughter’s wedding at the Four Seasons in Chicago. We have traveled all over and stayed at Four Seasons both in the US and abroad and we have never been treated so poorly at either the restaurants or hotels. The Flame management may want to consider that the preceding nights we were at La Bottega and White Bison. Both of these restaurants were packed and bustling while Flame was empty and quiet. My husband spoke to the manager who said when he went to speak to him that you should call me next year when you come back and I’ll take care of you. Seriously?! My husband left a message for the manager who has never returned the call. We would never go back there! It is a waste of time and money and definitely a black mark on the Four Seasons.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Todo de la mejor calidad en un ambiente muy tranquilo

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Great menu selection, table presentation and the everything we had was delicious. Recommend trying the Bacon donuts for dessert.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

The food was amazing as usual - I had the filet and my fiancé the bone-in ribeye - both cooked to perfection. The Maine lobster mashed potatoes were well worth the splurge and we loved the garlic-chili broccolini. The maple bacon donuts with praline ice cream were incredible (and probably not necessary with the delightful little birthday tray of sweets)!! Finally, What put this meal over the top was the absolutely exceptional service by Monika - what a gem!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Flame mat be the BEST STEAK HOUSE in the country! 3rd time there, always exceptional! My other favorites are DelFrisco's & Capital Grill, but this beats 'em both! Better than any high-end steakhouse in Vegas. The Wagyu strip was out of this world! Great service, dining room, and ambiance too. The prices are expensive but on par with most hi-end steak restaurants. Wish there were other locations outside of Vail.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Host/Maitre d’e seated us right away at a lovely table. Asked about the occasion and we explained celebrating college acceptance.

We ordered the desert and it came with congratulations in icing along the edge.

Food was great. Everything prepared correctly.

Great evening

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Amazing! We had the best meal... first we had drinks at lobby bar - very fun - multiple tv's perfect for watching sports. We could see snow fall since the whole back wall of bar is windows. Great ambiance. Then went downstairs to Flame - superb steaks brought on chopping blocks and sliced table side. Sides were quite delicious - recommend the lobster mash!! Steaks as not greasy or buttery like they sometimes are in other restaurants. Second time we have been to Flame and it was as great as the first time!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 23, 2018

A very expensive porterhouse steak, and not even that filling! The piece of meat properly cooked, was probably of the described weight, but it wasn’t enough for 2 men. My lamb chops were a bit overcooked and overall not as good as expected.
The sauces accompanying the steak were interesting. The appetizers (soup) and the side dishes we ordered (mashed potatoes, Brussels sprouts, and creamed spinach), were extremely tasty. The dessert menu was disappointing, therefore we didn’t order anything.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Great food, great service, and a great selection done the Four Seasons way! My new favorite restaurant in Vail.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Monika provided excellent service for our family’s dinner. She made excellent recommendations for wine, appetizers and desserts. We enjoyed the octopus appetizer and all of our steaks were excellent and cooked as ordered. A great experience all around!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 15, 2018

The manager simply refused to change us to. Better table because there was a very loud group who were simply disgusting.
Would never come back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Great steak and service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Food was great and wait staff was also very helpful and attentive. We tasted a few wines as we selected the right pairing for our steaks.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 13, 2018

The food quality is equivalent to the cost. Food is good but too expensive, go to Sweetbasil or Elway’s instead.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Frame was exactly what you’d hope for in a steakhouse. Great service. Great menu. Phenomenal presentation and simply delicious. The chocolate soufflé dessert is a must!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Excellent dinner; highly recommended. very attentive service and great food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

The best steak in Vail. Salads and side orders to match! Impeccable service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Excelente, best ever

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 6, 2018

One of the best meat restaurante I ever been.
Great food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

Guys weekend in Vail ended with amazing steak dinner at Flame. Perfect end to great weekend

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Mussels were under cooked so I only ate half the dish. My husband ordered the halibut and a section was not cooked and very opaque which never should have left the kitchen.
A restaurant at the Four Seasons should be exceptional especially for the price you pay to stay here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

The steaks here were outstanding as well as the wine list. The side dishes we ordered were just alright. We were a bit disappointed in them but overall a terrific meal and great atmosphere. We will be back the next time we are in Vail.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Meal was fantastic, the Wagu options were amazing. We ordered a special 45oz tomahawk ribeye which was a little over cooked, but for the size of it they did a great job. The Bison bone in rib eye, wagu filet and lamb chops were spot on. Sides, apps and dessert (I think we ordered everything lol) we perfect companions for the meal. Pretty confident to say we ordered 3/4 of the menu and to only over cook the 45oz steak I was beyond impressed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Awesome service and the best guest experience in the valley.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 17, 2018

It was all very good. Service was the best. I’m not a big fan of the restaurant layout. Feels like a banquet hall. Also disappointed in the 3x wine markup which is above norm.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Four seasons does it again! Flame is so unbelievably delicious. Excellent quality meat and something for everyone even vegetarians. Loved it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Outstanding and worth the prices. Kids love the Elk dog appetizer!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

Our server, Andy, was very knowledgeable and personable. The food, 40oz porterhouse and lamb chops were prepared perfectly. It was a very enjoyable evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2018

Second year in a row! And looking forward for the next year.
We ordered for the table the wagyu selection. Amazing!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2018

Beautiful setting; excellent service; food and presentation were terrific.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2018

I have been to Flame every year since they opened and this was by far the best meal I’ve had there. Everything was cooked perfectly and the sommelier recommendation was perfect. A must go if you are in Vail.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Best steak and desert we had!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Todo espectacular!! El servicio, la comida , todo!! Eso si.. preparen la billetera porque es caro!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Hostess was very accommodating. Waiter was friendly but must have been over loaded. Never once asked about another drink or anything. Food was good especially the beef. Sides were so so. Very nice with our 3 year old.
Extremely Loud!!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 8, 2018

Amazing say to celebrate birthday

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 8, 2018

The service was what is to be expected at a Four Seasons hotel. My husband is gluten-free, and we were offered gluten-free bread to start. The waiter had many suggestions on how to make the varied menu items gluten-free, so that was very helpful. The kitchen is very accommodating and all want to see that one's meal is well-presented and prepared exceptionally well. It was a bit pricey for what we had (2 burgers with cheese, no bun, and a side salad for $70 including tip, water and the gluten free rolls as a starter), but the ambience was great. We came in around 5:30 for dinner so it was very quiet for a Thursday night. By the time we left, it got more busy but definitely the tables were spaced so that we were not distracted by a table of 8 behind us.

The hotel itself is gorgeous, and the staff are absolutely over the top accommodating.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
13

Tweets by Flame Restaurant