Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.10mi
  4. Distance: 0.12mi

About Flame Restaurant

Flame, a Modern Mountain Steakhouse, is the signature restaurant of Four Seasons Resort Vail. Flame’s focus will be “fun dining,” rather than fine dining, as guests enjoy an interactive experience. Prepared by Chef Kevin and his team you can enjoy perfectly seared prime steaks cooked on an 1800-degree grill carved tableside, like the 22 oz. dry-aged Tomahawk steak. And share communally served indulgent sides which are locally sourced and seasonally inspired.

One Vail Rd
Vail, CO 81657
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am

Dinner: Friday and Saturday: 6:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
S. Frontage Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 477-8650

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Public Transit:
Town of Vail and ECO Bus.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Erving

Private Party Facilities:
Out of Bounds can accommodate special events for up to 24 guests. Out of Bounds will also feature an illuminated wine wall and a beautiful private fireplace.

Private Party Contact:
Steven Teaver: (970) 477-8650

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Flame Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (15)
Special Occasion (12)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
See All
Cozy (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Romantic (6)
Business Meals (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Scenic View (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Casual (2)
Private Room (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
Authentic (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
389 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

We thought Flame was excellent. The wines were wonderful and the unique steak sauces were special.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Simply amazing! Steak was worth every dollar, service was great, all flavors top notch!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 20, 2017

I wanted to take my husband to a great steak restaurant ( his favorite) for his birthday while we vacationed in Vail. How glad I am that we chose Flame. Everything about our experience was outstanding-from the moment we were greeted, to the incredible service and of course the over the top food.
We started with the house made elk corn dogs-the meat is marinated overnight and the batter was light and perfectly crunchy-served with spicy Dijon and house made ketchup-such a delicious surprise. We ordered the 32 oz bone in Rib eye to share. The only other place we had such a perfect steak was in Paris! Cooked perfectly and served table-side on Himalayan salt block, with house-made potato chips, the steak was incredible. My husband was so happy! The meal was accompanied by two glasses of Bordeaux wine-recommended by our knowledgeable and very helpful waiter-and what a lovely wine! The only hitch was the grilled Brussels sprouts with Kimchi-too salty for our taste so we told our waiter. A few minutes later the manager returned with some very tasty cauliflower and apologized, saying we were right as he tasted the sprouts and knew what had gone wrong. How many restaurants will be that open and honest when a mistake is made! That only added to our positive experience. Finally-the over the top chocolate soufflé -also best we had ever tasted-made with dark chocolate. Thank you Flame for the best birthday dinner my husband has had in a long time!

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Just a little overpriced, particularly the wine list. They offer a number of sauces for the steaks which saved an otherwise average filet mignon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Without a doubt one of the finest steak dinners I have Ever had. Even my daughters children's menu selection of broiled salmon was delicious and perfectly prepared
Our waiter, Michael was superb and the restaurant is beautifull. Bravo chef and manager!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Just fantastic! My wife and I shred the Wagyu strip and we loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Overall, great dining experience. Food was good. They over cooked my steak and had to send it back. But the second try was excellent. The lobster mashed potatoes were to die for. Will return again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 18, 2017

One of the best steaks of all time. Try the 7x wagyu ribeye. You will not be disappointed...Outstanding service and cocktails. Manager is highly attentive to detail. One of the best all time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We dined here for Fathers' Day dinner and it was a spectacular treat. The service is impeccable. The food is unique, creative and divine. Drinks are excellent. A bit pricey but well worth it. Our waiter Jason was outstanding. All staff were particularly wonderful with our 9 year old grandson. Attentive without intrusive. Best filet mignon EVER! Best brownie sundae too!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Outstanding food and service. The wait staff was over the top!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Service was impeccable. Food was to die for. I have seldom been pleased with the culinary options in Vail, but this one far exceeded my expectations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Exceptional service, steaks were cooked perfectly. Staff was very pleasant and informative.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Delicious anniversary dinner. Delicious steak and sides. Would have liked a little more variety to the menu, but we thoroughly enjoyed what we ordered

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Celebrated my birthday at Four seasons and looked forward to dinner at Flame. Totally exceeded my expectations. Cameron, our server, was wonderful. Must get the lamb chops. Pricey but well worth it!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Culinary perfection, if you seek excellent steak go here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Salads, filets, and lobster mashed potatoes were exceptional! Our waiter was excellent with our small child as well. Fantastic all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had the best experience from the moment we arrived. The service was phenomenal and the steak was possibly the best we have ever eaten. The cocktails were unique but very fun to try. The restaurant itself was stunning. I'd recommend this restaurant many times over, can't wait to dine here again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

My filet was cooked to perfection and I really enjoyed all the sauces they brought to the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on May 6, 2017

This changed my mind about Four Seasons dining (the Four Season's in Jackson Hole is not exceptional). The service was impeccable and the food was out of this world. Hands down one of our best dining experiences in Vail.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Very disappointing overall. Was a client dinner for 10. Those that order Wagyu steaks thought they were great, but the dry aged Ribeyes were terrible. My clients ate less than a 1/4 of them and just couldn't eat any more . Our waiter was terrible. When he picked up all the obviously uneaten steaks, he didn't even ask if they were ok. Service was slow (3.5 hours). Drinks were continually empty. We had another event to go to that we were now late for and our waiter had disappeared. My clients had all left already to get to the event and I was walking around the restaurant looking for our waiter. I had to get another Flame employee to go find our waiter so I could pay the bill and then catch up with my clients. I had taken clients to Flame before and it was great. This time.. not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Just one more outstanding meal with great service!! Meats were out of this world, sides rocked.....and thank you, Andy, for great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Didn't realize part if 4 seasons hotel till we got there. The meal lived up to it. My wife had the filet while I had the 20 ounce ribeye w bone in. That is the best ribeye I have ever had, bar none.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 31, 2017

ONE OF THE BEST STEAK HOUSES IN THE VAIL VALLEY. GRASS FED, DRY AGED AND WAGYU OPTIONS WITH GREAT APPETIZER AND VEGETABLE CHOICES. CONSISTENT AND REASONABLE WITH ATTENTIVE SERVICE.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Service was great... Nicholas our waiter was very attentive. Absolutely the best steak for 100 miles around... and the lobster mash potatoes are a must.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 22, 2017

The food was fantastic and the service was very friendly. Both of our dinners where very well prepared and the lobster mashed potatoes were amazing.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Awesome spot for the meat-lover when visiting Vail. The American Wagyu is absolutely to die for! Two of us split the Wagyu strip and ordered a couple of the unique and flavorful side dishes and it was more than enough food. I can honestly say that I have been to some of the best steak houses in the US and this is the best steak I have ever ordered. Melts in your mouth it is that good. We also had the truffle beef carpaccio as an appetizer and it was off the charts good. Not a cheap date by any means, but I would absolutely go back to this place every time I am in Vail! A+++

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Monterrey)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Best wagyu steak in town! It's really worth it!!!!

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Although this restaurant is pricey, the food was outstanding and the service was impeccable. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for an excellent steakhouse in Vail village. We will definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Nice but not best steak ever, or anywhere near it. Should a $200 steak be served on a cold plate? Probably not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great food and presentation, nice location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Lugar especial y si te sientas frente a la oficina la gran chimenea y al fondo las montañas nevadas un espectáculo, el filete mignon de suavidad increíble y el bison midiun rare fenomenal.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Have been to Flame several times. Consistently Good. Prices are on par for a Steak joint of this caliber. Service is great and decor is mountain modern. Highly recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Flame is in a 4 seasons hotel... which in my opinion has the best restaurants of any hotel chain. Flame was outstanding and I would strongly recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The 20 0Z Rib Eye was amazing. I have to say, it was the most beautiful bone in steak that I've ever eaten. The sauces were really nice, but not needed. The flavor of the steak was perfect. It was cooked to the perfect temperature. Nice ambiance. Good for families too. The bacon wrapped asparagus was a nice side. I had really hoped to try the chocolate soufle, but was way too full from dinner. The Caesar salad could be improved-

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The food and service were excellent. Definitely a place to go for a special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Food was amazing as always!
Everybody loved the fois gras and scallops . Bison and T bone too.
The doughnuts with bacon are a must

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Amazing food.
Risotto outstanding!
7x wagyu recommended!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 4, 2017

From our waiter to the food, it was an excellent dining experience. So many good meat options. Everything was cooked to perfection and the drinks were great. Definitely going to dine again here on our next trip to Vail.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Truly exceptional. I've dined at several two and three Michelin starred restaurants and this was certainly in the same league. Among the best steaks I've ever had and the service was friendly, welcoming, and excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Great place for meat lovers.
Would not recommend ordering the Salmon, not worth the price...

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.