About Flame Restaurant

One Vail Rd
Vail, CO 81657
View Larger Map

Flame, a Modern Mountain Steakhouse, is the signature restaurant of Four Seasons Resort Vail. Flame’s focus will be “fun dining,” rather than fine dining, as guests enjoy an interactive experience. Prepared by Chef Kevin and his team you can enjoy perfectly seared prime steaks cooked on an 1800-degree grill carved tableside, like the 22 oz. dry-aged Tomahawk steak. And share communally served indulgent sides which are locally sourced and seasonally inspired.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am

Dinner: Friday and Saturday: 6:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
S. Frontage Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 477-8650

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Public Transit:
Town of Vail and ECO Bus.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Erving

Private Party Facilities:
Out of Bounds can accommodate special events for up to 24 guests. Out of Bounds will also feature an illuminated wine wall and a beautiful private fireplace.

Private Party Contact:
Steven Teaver: 9704778650x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Crispy kimchi Brussels sprouts - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Black Forest cake –chocolate flourless cake, dark cherry mousse, Tahitian vanilla bean ice cream - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Dry-aged Rosen Farms lamb chops - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Pork belly sliders – black pepper relish, slaw, green onions - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Spicy tuna huarache – ahi tuna, sriracha aioli, pickled jalapeño, corn masa crisp - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Strawberry rhubarb crisp, warmed compote, oatmeal crumble, Cassia cinnamon ice cream - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Sauces (clockwise top right) – Charleston truffle BBQ, salsa verde, Nagano cream, F-1 steak sauce, black pepper love, garden chimichurri - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Back of the House Chicken & Waffle Burger  - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Pickled Vegetables - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Mushroom Chowder - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Hashbrown Fritters - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Chilled Soup Ajo Blanco, Marcona Almonds & Mission Figs - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Meringue Mushrooms With Pretzel Marshmallow Fudge - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Dry Aged Steak - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Chocolate Souffle - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
The Flying Pig Donut: Bacon with Maple Icing - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Chocolate Cake - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Wagyu For Two - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO

Flame Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Mountains
Best Restaurants in Vail ›

Special Occasion (10)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
See All
Good for a Date (6)
Cozy (5)
Romantic (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Scenic View (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Authentic (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Business Meals (2)
Casual (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Fun (2)
Seasonal (2)
Healthy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Fireplace (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Spicy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Comfort Food (1)
People Watching (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
280 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful food and ambiance. Beautiful r ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Wonderful food and ambiance. Beautiful restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fun waiter that made the evenin ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had a fun waiter that made the evening enjoyable and he made very good suggestions on the menu. My steak was excellent and the chocolate soufflé was well worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My sister and I had a wonderful evening ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 18, 2016

My sister and I had a wonderful evening at Flame. We will be back next year!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here for my birthday dinner. Thi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We came here for my birthday dinner. This was our third time at this restaurant overall. The food was amazing all three times. However, the service this night was absolutely terrible! Our waiter probably only came to our table 4 times total including when he brought the check. He forgot to put our son's, who is 1 1/2, dinner in. We ordered it at the very beginning of the evening with our appetizers and told him how we needed his food to come out first because he gets really fussy when he's hungry. Kept asking him about it. He proceeded to lie to us and say he just walked past it and would go get it. 15 minutes later his food came out. AFTER our meal had already been out for 15 minutes. So not only did our son get upset when we got our food first and he didn't have his, our waiter didn't even apologize for it. Not just that - we ordered a bottle of wine he poured one glass then took off with the bottle. We had to grab another lady who worked there to get him for us. We weren't checked on, offered another drink or even apologized to for his mess up. We even asked him if he was having a bad night and that we felt like he forgot about us. You would have thought that would have made a difference in how he served us- Nope! Didn't even phase him. He acted like he didn't even care. On top of that - nothing was offered to try to make it right. Really hope next time we are here the service is better because this was outright terrible service for such an expensive restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Another wonderful meal. The food is alwa ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Another wonderful meal. The food is always superb. We have never had anything we did not like. Cameron was ours waiter again and did a great job. We never wanted for anything. Looking forward to our next dinner at 🔥.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Seasonal, Cozy, Spicy, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appetizers and sauces were outstanding. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Appetizers and sauces were outstanding. Thought the entree menu was slightly restricted, and they were good. Seating is a little odd. We sat in the booth area, which was little like sitting in a large hallway. At first seemed a little off the norm and was busy there, and we never saw the main dining room that was farther in. Everything was served quickly. Our server was outstanding.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Had a very nice dinner here. There was ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Had a very nice dinner here. There was a special that offered three courses which was a great value. The chef also made a special preparation of a Steak Diane sauce that was much better than any of the standard offering of six other sauces that come with your steak. The chocolate soufflé was delicious! We were in Vail during a slower season so no issue getting in but I suspect during high season it gets much busier. My only negative is the style and layout of the menu; not what I would have expected in such a nice restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was excellent. The cuts of meat ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 10, 2016

The meal was excellent. The cuts of meat were superb. Side dishes were a real treat. save room for the souffle.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another wonderful dinner. Cameron was ou ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Another wonderful dinner. Cameron was our server, again. He always does a perfect job. The food itself is and was again outstanding. We don't think you can find a better steak house in this valley.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Healthy, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice restaurant. Service was good. Pr ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Nice restaurant. Service was good. Pricing was too high. Was up-sold to an expensive steak ~ $100 not on the menu. A meal for 2 with wine($125)+tip $550

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

Always on the search for a good burger, ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Always on the search for a good burger, the 7X Farms Kobe Burger is not to be missed. The flavors of white cheddar and pork belly jelly combine with egg to create a creamy burst of flavors. The truffle fries and homemade ketchup are the perfect accompaniment. This is a full meal, but if you have room, try the Elk Corndogs. Lightly battered and fried bites of house made elk sausage-delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always one of our favorites in Vail, pos ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always one of our favorites in Vail, possibly our favorite. Quality of food and service is excellent. Would recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience; helpful waitsta ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great dining experience; helpful waitstaff, lot's of sampler options for large groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was delicious! One person got ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Everything was delicious!

One person got the burger👍👍👍

One got 8 oz filet 👍👍👍

One got strip 👍👍👍

One got the salmon👍👍👍

Brussels sprouts were awesome, wedge salad was perfect!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Expecting More from Four Seasons. Not be ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Expecting More from Four Seasons. Not being a snob, but that is why you go to a place like this. Expectation is great food and even better service. Service was lacking except for the water girl that came around very few minutes. I like when you order a single glass of wine and they pour it at the table. First time I have ever had someone pour a glass and empty the bottle and the fill was very light. Especially when he had already poured my wife's and hers was obviously more. At $21 per glass he should have got another bottle and come back and added to it. My steak was fair, definitely not bad, but again not Four Seasons quality. My wife's fish was served and was not hot. Third time we have eaten there and only went a second time because someone gave us a gift certificate. We will not go back as the Vail Valley is loaded with great places.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Great Steakhouse. The top in the area. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great Steakhouse. The top in the area. The meat is great and perfectly cooked to your liking every time. Served with 6 steak sauce that you do not need, because the flavor of the meat is amazing. All of them are great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Wonderful experience the food was delici ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Wonderful experience the food was delicious waiter was superb

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food and service is world class, you wil ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food and service is world class, you will not be disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Service is not up to a Four Seassons hot ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service is not up to a Four Seassons hotel. took over an hour to get the entree

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Always great steaks but the seafood is e ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Always great steaks but the seafood is excellent as well. We always enjoy Flame!

The valet parking is nice too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our food was wonderful - waitstaff was a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 27, 2016

Our food was wonderful - waitstaff was amazing.

Our son has celiac disease - they went above & beyond to make sure his food was safe.

Highly recommend - top notch food & service!

The Jarvis Family

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were 4 people. We had the wedge salad ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 11, 2016

We were 4 people. We had the wedge salad: excellent, the lamb was extraordinary, the others had sirloin and filet mignon and we all thought they cooked it to perfection! The service was so good that they deserve more stars than are available! The only item that was not at the level of all else was the chocolate soufflé. Nevertheless it was the best meal we've had at Vail!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Flame is one of our favorites in the Vail Valley

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 5, 2016

We love Flame and have gone several times for special occasions. We typically wait for a deal (thanks for providing them) as it is not easy on the wallet but we have never had a bad thing on the menu so at least we feel we get a great meal and great service in a location where you can actually hear each other speak! Tables are spread out enough to have your own private discussion, unlike many in the valley. The wait staff has also always been friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic Dinner

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Appetizers, Steaks, Seafood, Sides and Dessert. EVERYTHING WAS AND ALWAYS IS FANTASTIC!

This is one of our favorite restaurants. We have never not been pleased. Cameron, our waiter made sure that everything was perfect. Looking forward to this next week to eat there again. If your looking for a wonderful restaurant that has and does it all this is it. Thank you everyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service and food. Se love the pork ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great Service and food.

Se love the pork belly and the bison.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful experience

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2016

We had a wonderful romantic and delicious meal here. Everything was perfect--the service, the food, the atmosphere. I am quite a restaurant snob, accustomed to eating at the best restaurants in the world, so this is saying something. I cannot recommend it highly enough, especially for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Excellent Vail Treat

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2016

We have been to Flame several times, and the experience has always been excellent. The steaks are stunning and the wine list is excellent. Service is always knowledgable and accommodating. This may be the best restaurant at Vail.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over the Top

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 25, 2016

Food and Service were excellent. Our waiter Joey, was terrific and met our needs almost as fast as we could ask for it.

My Wife and I shared everything from the salad to the Steak...even the French press coffee. It was all outstanding and delicious. Don't forget the wine..the Four Seasons Iconclast was excellent and price right.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just slid in as my #1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 20, 2016

What a great restaurant to celebrate my wife's 40th Birthday! The staff were very friendly and very accommodating of her allergy. They went above and beyond to make sure that everything was perfect.

The food was terrific. We thoroughly enjoyed the Bison Ribeye, Kobe Burger, and sides.

They even treated her with a Banana Custard Cake to celebrate the big day. Great way to enjoy the night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was not what was expected at thi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 18, 2016

Service was not what was expected at this price point. Water glasses were empty three times. No one was around to check on how we were doing. Saw entire wait staff in the kitchen having a toast with wine glasses for 5 minutes while we sat waiting for follow up and water. Food was good but had to have steak cooked more. Would not go back due to service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

All the meat were excellent the bison wa ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 16, 2016

All the meat were excellent the bison was very wood the texture and the flavor are different, it a good choose like a place of good atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

World class dining experience.

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 15, 2016

Best steak in Vail. First class service. Great ambiance. We are from Houston and know fine dining and good food. Flame is right there with the best of them. Highly recommend. We will be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first meal at Flame. We enj ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2016

This was our first meal at Flame. We enjoyed our dinner very much- the steaks were beautifully prepared and served with a flourish. We were too full to have a dessert! Wish there could be slightly smaller portions for light eaters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Not worth it

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 8, 2016

We had terrible service. The short rib was 40% fat, the dessert was a big frozen cookie that er need a knife to eat. The worst part was terrible service. March 7th. Reservation under stephanie at 730. Dont go to flame!!! I have paid more for dinner so it's not the price. It's what we got for our money.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

exceeded expectations

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2016

This was probably one of our all time favorite meals ever! The food is absolutely amazing!! Our wonderful waitress recommended what to order and we were so glad we listened! I HIGHLY recommend the foie gras and the brussels sprouts in addition to any of the beef selections!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steaks! Excellent sides as well. ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 3, 2016

Great steaks! Excellent sides as well. Brussel sprouts were delicious as was the lobster mashed potatoes. Cauliflower was only fair. Would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was a little slow at the beginni ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Service was a little slow at the beginning but got better as the evening progressed. It was good but not a do over for us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great meal

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2016

The steak was great. The bacon doughnuts were awesome. It is pricey! But, it's in Vail. Great service as well. Will return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Truly amazing and must stop for any visi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 23, 2016

Truly amazing and must stop for any visit to Vail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Amazing Steakhouse

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 22, 2016

One of my favorites in Vail -- a must try! From the great cuts of meat, to the interesting rubs and sauces, to the incredibly knowledgeable staff - it's a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.