About Flame Restaurant

One Vail Rd
Vail, CO 81657
View Larger Map

Flame, a Modern Mountain Steakhouse, is the signature restaurant of Four Seasons Resort Vail. Flame’s focus will be “fun dining,” rather than fine dining, as guests enjoy an interactive experience. Prepared by Chef Kevin and his team you can enjoy perfectly seared prime steaks cooked on an 1800-degree grill carved tableside, like the 22 oz. dry-aged Tomahawk steak. And share communally served indulgent sides which are locally sourced and seasonally inspired.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am

Dinner: Friday and Saturday: 6:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
S. Frontage Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 477-8650

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Public Transit:
Town of Vail and ECO Bus.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Erving

Private Party Facilities:
Out of Bounds can accommodate special events for up to 24 guests. Out of Bounds will also feature an illuminated wine wall and a beautiful private fireplace.

Private Party Contact:
Steven Teaver: 9704778650x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Black Forest cake –chocolate flourless cake, dark cherry mousse, Tahitian vanilla bean ice cream
Crispy kimchi Brussels sprouts
Dry-aged Rosen Farms lamb chops
Pork belly sliders – black pepper relish, slaw, green onions
Spicy tuna huarache – ahi tuna, sriracha aioli, pickled jalapeño, corn masa crisp
Strawberry rhubarb crisp, warmed compote, oatmeal crumble, Cassia cinnamon ice cream
Sauces (clockwise top right) – Charleston truffle BBQ, salsa verde, Nagano cream, F-1 steak sauce, black pepper love, garden chimichurri
Pickled Vegetables
Back of the House Chicken & Waffle Burger
Mushroom Chowder
Meringue Mushrooms With Pretzel Marshmallow Fudge
Hashbrown Fritters
Chilled Soup Ajo Blanco, Marcona Almonds & Mission Figs
Dry Aged Steak
Chocolate Souffle
The Flying Pig Donut: Bacon with Maple Icing
Wagyu For Two
Chocolate Cake

Flame Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Denver / Colorado
Best Food
Mountains
Steakhouse
Mountains
Best Restaurants in Vail ›

special occasion (15)
fit for foodies (14)
notable wine list (12)
See All
good for groups (9)
romantic (8)
scenic view (6)
kid-friendly (6)
hot spot (5)
neighborhood gem (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for brunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
258 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

We were 4 people. We had the wedge salad ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We were 4 people. We had the wedge salad: excellent, the lamb was extraordinary, the others had sirloin and filet mignon and we all thought they cooked it to perfection! The service was so good that they deserve more stars than are available! The only item that was not at the level of all else was the chocolate soufflé. Nevertheless it was the best meal we've had at Vail!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Flame is one of our favorites in the Vail Valley

Dined on June 5, 2016

We love Flame and have gone several times for special occasions. We typically wait for a deal (thanks for providing them) as it is not easy on the wallet but we have never had a bad thing on the menu so at least we feel we get a great meal and great service in a location where you can actually hear each other speak! Tables are spread out enough to have your own private discussion, unlike many in the valley. The wait staff has also always been friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Dinner

Dined on May 22, 2016

Appetizers, Steaks, Seafood, Sides and Dessert. EVERYTHING WAS AND ALWAYS IS FANTASTIC! This is one of our favorite restaurants. We have never not been pleased. Cameron, our waiter made sure that everything was perfect. Looking forward to this next week to eat there again. If your looking for a wonderful restaurant that has and does it all this is it. Thank you everyone!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Service and food. Se love the pork ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Great Service and food. Se love the pork belly and the bison.

food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Wonderful experience

Dined on March 27, 2016

We had a wonderful romantic and delicious meal here. Everything was perfect--the service, the food, the atmosphere. I am quite a restaurant snob, accustomed to eating at the best restaurants in the world, so this is saying something. I cannot recommend it highly enough, especially for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Vail Treat

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

We have been to Flame several times, and the experience has always been excellent. The steaks are stunning and the wine list is excellent. Service is always knowledgable and accommodating. This may be the best restaurant at Vail.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over the Top

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Food and Service were excellent. Our waiter Joey, was terrific and met our needs almost as fast as we could ask for it. My Wife and I shared everything from the salad to the Steak...even the French press coffee. It was all outstanding and delicious. Don't forget the wine..the Four Seasons Iconclast was excellent and price right.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just slid in as my #1

Dined on March 20, 2016

What a great restaurant to celebrate my wife's 40th Birthday! The staff were very friendly and very accommodating of her allergy. They went above and beyond to make sure that everything was perfect. The food was terrific. We thoroughly enjoyed the Bison Ribeye, Kobe Burger, and sides. They even treated her with a Banana Custard Cake to celebrate the big day. Great way to enjoy the night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2

Service was not what was expected at thi ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Service was not what was expected at this price point. Water glasses were empty three times. No one was around to check on how we were doing. Saw entire wait staff in the kitchen having a toast with wine glasses for 5 minutes while we sat waiting for follow up and water. Food was good but had to have steak cooked more. Would not go back due to service.

food5
ambience5
service5

All the meat were excellent the bison wa ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

All the meat were excellent the bison was very wood the texture and the flavor are different, it a good choose like a place of good atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

World class dining experience.

Dined on March 15, 2016

Best steak in Vail. First class service. Great ambiance. We are from Houston and know fine dining and good food. Flame is right there with the best of them. Highly recommend. We will be returning.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

This was our first meal at Flame. We enj ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

This was our first meal at Flame. We enjoyed our dinner very much- the steaks were beautifully prepared and served with a flourish. We were too full to have a dessert! Wish there could be slightly smaller portions for light eaters.

food1
ambience3
service2
value2

Not worth it

Dined on March 8, 2016

We had terrible service. The short rib was 40% fat, the dessert was a big frozen cookie that er need a knife to eat. The worst part was terrible service. March 7th. Reservation under stephanie at 730. Dont go to flame!!! I have paid more for dinner so it's not the price. It's what we got for our money.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

exceeded expectations

Dined on March 4, 2016

This was probably one of our all time favorite meals ever! The food is absolutely amazing!! Our wonderful waitress recommended what to order and we were so glad we listened! I HIGHLY recommend the foie gras and the brussels sprouts in addition to any of the beef selections!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great steaks! Excellent sides as well. ...

Dined on March 3, 2016

Great steaks! Excellent sides as well. Brussel sprouts were delicious as was the lobster mashed potatoes. Cauliflower was only fair. Would definitely go again.

food4
ambience4
service3

Service was a little slow at the beginni ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Service was a little slow at the beginning but got better as the evening progressed. It was good but not a do over for us

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great meal

vip
Dined on February 26, 2016

The steak was great. The bacon doughnuts were awesome. It is pricey! But, it's in Vail. Great service as well. Will return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Truly amazing and must stop for any visi ...

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

Truly amazing and must stop for any visit to Vail.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing Steakhouse

vip
Dined on February 22, 2016

One of my favorites in Vail -- a must try! From the great cuts of meat, to the interesting rubs and sauces, to the incredibly knowledgeable staff - it's a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not to be Missed

Dined on February 21, 2016

The Flame was an amazing part of our Vail experience. We were well attended to - the food was extraordinary - the steak was so delicious that it didn't need the great complimentary sauces. If you love lobster - get the lobster mashed potatoes!!!! The Chocolate Souffle for dessert was out of this world! Kudos to the whole staff!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best in Vail

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Have drinks upstairs in the beautiful bar then head down to an incredible dinner. You won't be on top of other diners. Beautiful but not stuffy. Service and food were fantastic. Share several plates.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

The Kobe steak is the best!!!

Dined on February 20, 2016

The Kobe steak is the best!!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Definitely enjoyed it

vip
Dined on February 19, 2016

It's hard to pick between Flame and Elway's but I give the nod to Flame after having been to both in the last few months. I like Elways' ambiance better as it is more energetic, but found the food to be a notch higher at Flame. Flame is a bit more formal, but also more quiet. Really enjoyed the special hamachi appetizer. Steaks at both were great. Flame cooked both our steaks to perfection. I was slightly disappointed with the wine by the glass list at Flame - less extensive than I would have liked. Service was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was flawless and the food wa ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

The service was flawless and the food was amazing, one of the best steakhouses I've been to.

food5
ambience5
service5

We ate here during our vacation to Vail ...

Dined on February 16, 2016

We ate here during our vacation to Vail and had a great meal! The restaurant is very comfortable and quiet without being stuffy. The food was excellent and all of the staff was attentive and friendly.

food5
ambience5
service3

The welcoming staff was great! The wait ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

The welcoming staff was great! The wait staff was gracious and until our order arrived substandard in so many ways, we were happy. Wow! What a disappointment. My husband's steak was ordered medium plus and it came rare plus. We never saw our waitress again until it was too late to complain. We will return but will never settle for such inadequate service. Sadly this was our 4th visit, we were recognized and then ignored once food was delivered.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing 1 word to describe this place. G ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Amazing 1 word to describe this place. Great wine list, steaks were amazing, I had the bone in Bison Ribeye (melts in your mouth!!), my wife had the Waygu New York Strip, carpeted table side (one of the best Waygu we have ever had. The service was great, wine service was great and overall atmosphere was awesome! We will be back for sure, this has quickly become our favorite restaurant in vail!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Some of the best food I've had in a long ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Some of the best food I've had in a long time. It's for sure expensive but totally worth every penny.

food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Not Quite Worth the Price

vip
Dined on February 9, 2016

We've been to Flame several times and always enjoy it. However, this visit was not quite up to par. Our steaks, while good, simply didn't warrant the very expensive prices. My Bison ribeye was just OK, slightly overdone. My companion's beef ribeye was also good, but again, slightly overdone. Some of our group also had Salmon and they thought it was very good. The side dishes (roasted cauliflower and creamed spinach) were also good but not great. In summary, you can count on a good meal here but expect to pay more than it's worth.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding meal and even better service ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Outstanding meal and even better service from Andy.

food2
ambience2
service5
value1

At these prices, everything should be perfect.

Dined on February 4, 2016

Truly outrageous prices, even for Vail. Most galling is that the entrees come with NO SIDES. Everything is extra and the sides are "family style" servings. So if you want a side that no one else wants, too bad. You have to pay for a too-large portion. The food was mediocre at best. My duck was overcooked and boring and looked so stupid all by itself on the plate. The basement "view" is of lawn furniture draped in winter covers. The bright spot was the service -- outstanding. But we definitely would not go back. The restaurant was half-empty, and now we know why.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always Good

vip
Dined on January 27, 2016

Always great service and great food.. No doubt some of the best steaks in Vail.. Will go back again and again..

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Top Notch...

vip
Dined on January 26, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Certainly meets and exceeds Four Seasons quality and expectations. Not for the faint of wallet.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Just Ok

vip
Dined on January 24, 2016

The appetizers were good, but the steaks were just OK. Not a good place for a true steak lover.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING SERVICE AND HEAVENLY, DELECTABLE CUISINE!

Dined on January 14, 2016

Absolutely a MUST DINE HERE for those w/ distinguished taste for Perfected and Flavorful Cuisine!! Delightful service and extremely attentive, exquisite fare perfectly prepared, and a wonderful ambient environment for a Romantic evening, a Special Affair, or an impressive Group ! This will be a traditional visit for us each time we are here in Vail!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply Superb

vip
Dined on January 10, 2016

I have rarely been disappointed with a meal at Four Seasons, but Flames was simply superb -- on every level -- so much so, I went twice on my three day trip to Vail. This place has it all: a hostess who is incredibly warm and welcoming, a great menu and wine list, great service and most importantly beautifully prepared and delicious food. I highly recommend any of the steaks or chops -- they are really something special -- and the smoked gouda mac n cheese. Save room for dessert, the maple donuts and chocolate soufflé are excellent. It is apparent that Flames is extremely well managed -- in the kitchen and front of the house.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

best bone in rib eyes

vip
Dined on January 6, 2016

We had a tad late start but from there the service and food was perfect. It was our first time but we definitely be back

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great resturant

Dined on December 27, 2015

Great place , 5 stars all the way food and service were as expected

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Christmas dinner

Dined on December 26, 2015

During our trip Flame was our only disappointment that we booked. It was also the only restaurant that called months ahead to obtain credit card information. First we were unaware that our meal was buffet. Having two members of our party that only eat fish, this presented a problem. Red meat and turkey were the main courses. Fish was in a risotto We were a table of 4 at $85 a head. With wine and two beers were charged 20 % service charge for a buffet totaling a $75.00 tip for water and our drinks. Will not dine again at Flame

food4
ambience3
service5

OK but not great

vip
Dined on December 14, 2015

My husband started with the scallops which he enjoyed. I did not have an appetizer because I usually enjoy some nice bread but the bread basket was a BIG disappointment. The rolls tasted like they came from a prepackaged big box store that were not very good or fresh. A restaurant at this price point and caliber should be serving fresh/gourmet type of bread. I asked the waiter if he would recommend the Kobe burger and he did--saying it is the best burger in Vail. I am from NYC so we have great burgers this one was not. I thought it was a bit dry--the amount was fine but it was on the thinner side--maybe if it was smaller and thicker it would have been a bit more juicy. Also the bun had a sriracha sauce on it that was a bit sharp and was not to my liking (granted-I do not like spicy food--so for others that maybe OK). My husband had the ribeye which was delicious. For dessert we had the chocolate soufflé which was one of the best I have ever had--and I am a chocolate lover. The manager was very nice and treated us to dessert to make up for my disappointment, and the next day the chef called to ask me personally about what it was that I didn't like--this was very nice and as he said he likes to get the feedback so he can improve--I have never had that happen before and I thought it was a great that he did that.

Tags: fit for foodies

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.