About Flame Restaurant

One Vail Rd
Vail, CO 81657
View Larger Map

Flame, a Modern Mountain Steakhouse, is the signature restaurant of Four Seasons Resort Vail. Flame’s focus will be “fun dining,” rather than fine dining, as guests enjoy an interactive experience. Prepared by Chef Kevin and his team you can enjoy perfectly seared prime steaks cooked on an 1800-degree grill carved tableside, like the 22 oz. dry-aged Tomahawk steak. And share communally served indulgent sides which are locally sourced and seasonally inspired.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am

Dinner: Friday and Saturday: 6:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
S. Frontage Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 477-8650

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Public Transit:
Town of Vail and ECO Bus.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Erving

Private Party Facilities:
Out of Bounds can accommodate special events for up to 24 guests. Out of Bounds will also feature an illuminated wine wall and a beautiful private fireplace.

Private Party Contact:
Steven Teaver: (970) 477-8650

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Flame Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Good for a Date (17)
See All
Fit for Foodies (16)
Romantic (14)
Cozy (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Business Meals (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Fireplace (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Authentic (7)
Scenic View (6)
Family Style (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Casual (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
People Watching (4)
Private Room (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Healthy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Fun (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Seasonal (2)
Spicy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
344 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 21 hours ago

Fantastic food and our sever Cameron from New Zealand just Super Super fabulous. Less book a table here and ask for him. The bison ribeye was so good and the trio special jus as good. The Brussel sprouts and Gouda Mac ad cheese just unbelievable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

This was our fifth time to the Flame and it was as good as always. Impeccable service, great food and ambience. Nicolas was our waiter and he is truly one of a kind and the best! A very special night was had by all.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fireplace, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food. Everything we ordered was perfect. From the steaks, ribs, seafood and dessert. Our favorite waiter and waitress. Cameron and Lisa did an outstanding job as always. For your dining pleasure this restaurant is NOT TO BE MISSED.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Casual, Cozy, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fireplace, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

This is my favorite steakhouse in the World! Some excellent hi-end steaks for sharing. The NY Strip was amazing, but the Wagyu Strip was even better! Huge portions. Great flavor. Love the choice of rubs or sauces (which they brought us complimentary), but the steaks are so good they don't anything! Great atmosphere & service too. Highly highly recommend this place!!!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Fabulous steaks! Don't miss the elk corn dog appetizer. We'll definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Awesome! Everything was just spectacular. Best meal we had in Vail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Un lugar bonito, con buen ambiente. La comida muy buena. Variedad de vinos.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Beautiful restaurant on the lower level of the Four Seasons serving mostly steak at mostly outrageous prices, as well as expensive add-on sides. The elk corndogs sound intriguing, but are quite bland. The squash risotto is outstanding. Service very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Meal was fantastic. Great steak. Pricey, but acceptable for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Excellent steak. Remarkable service. We loved it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

great steak and amazing service but even for vail a bit too pricey for what u get

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I thought it was good but not great. It's as good as the next chain good steakhouse in the US. The service has a ton to improve, it seemed as they wanted us out of there. Very expensive for what we got. Limited menu, limited and expensive wine list. We ordered two bottles of wine and never even saw the sommelier anywhere near our table. Didn't open the bottles properly nor clean the cups as supposed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Wonderful experience. Good drinks, meet spectacular and very attentive and pleasant service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Outstanding food and service, just pricey.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great food and service, location on different floor than main lobby a bit out of way

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cambridge)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great elk corn dog. Restaurant a bit somber for us. Lovely rack of lamb. Don't order crispy sprouts. Inedible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Had the wagyu. Amazing! Waiter was knowledgeable and friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had an amazing time celebrating an anniversary. The entire staff was very pleasant and professional. Our server Javier had a great knowledge of the menu and the wine offerings. On of the best dining experiences in Vail.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Fantastic steak with great service. We went early (6pm) on a Saturday and beat the crowds, so very quiet. I ordered the Bison Bone-In Rib-Eye and several sides. Everything was to perfection. Our third trip to Flame - each has been great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Drove in from Breckenridge for dinner and show up an hour early. They were nice enough to seat us early and the service was excellent from there. Ordered the Wagyu New York strip and Wagyu filet, both were excellent. Great steakhouse.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2017

beautiful elegant setting. Wonderfully prepared cuts of beef. Our waiter, Javier, was not only extremely knowledgeable as far as the menu, but went well beyond the call of duty to make sure our evening was enjoyable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The menu is not as interesting as it was in past years but it's still the best steak in Vail.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was good except out steak was way undercooked.

Service was confusing.

Took a long time. Most were nice but disorganized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We started with the corn dogs and the lobster bisque. Both were delicious. The corn dogs were very good and fun to eat, small skewers to dip in sauces. The NY Strip steak was also exceptional. It was cooked perfectly. A variety of sauces are provided but the seasonings on the steak were just right for me. Unfortunately, we had no room left for dessert!

The atmosphere is very romantic yet upbeat. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and will return the next time we are at Vail.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 17, 2017

As good or better than any fine steakhouse! My favoriteis Del Friscos, followed by Mortons & Capital Grill. This place beats those last two, and rivals and in some ways exceeds Dels! More choices of high end meats and large steaks meant to be shared. We had 3 NY Strips and they were all cooked perfect and tasted incredible, even better with the rubs. The filet mignon was melt in your mouth delicious. Looking forward to going back to try (and share) the 18oz Wagyu Strip and 40oz Porterhouse. Nice touch showing the steaks before serving to help gauge what you're orderring. I also like that they bring all the steak sauces they offer, which one guy in my party polished off and declared the best thing! Its pricey, but on par with everyone else. Elways used to be my go-to in Vail, but this place has more choices and better meats. The scene is not as happening as Elways, and the meats are on par, but this place is better overall with more selection!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Was a nice atmosphere- very ski lodg-y but not the best meal-nothing really wrong about the meal but it definitely wasn't spectacular- just average. too many other restaurants that are better in Vail- I would skip this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Very nice place, good food but not outstanding, lady waiter rude and bad modals for this kind of restaurant.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The ambiance of The Flame was comfortable. Our server was very attentive. The food and presentation was excellent! It was the end of a fabulous ski trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

His was my first experience at Flame and it was not disappointing! The sides are great and the steaks were fantastic! We did family style so we could get a sample of as much as possible. The sides tasted fresh and came out in their own little Dutch oven preheated dish to keep them warm. The desserts were good as well. Great atmosphere and food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Steaks, salads, sides and desserts are fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 14, 2017

This is one of our go to restaurants. We always have a wonderful dinner.

This time we took friends who live in Georgia. They had never been before and enjoyed the new restaurant. They will be returning frequently for what is considered the BEST Steaks in the Vail Valley.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent food and service but very pricey. Everything is ala carte so with wine, quite an expensive meal

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Ordered the strip steak. Prepared exactly as requested. Loved the presentation with the various sauces. Only reason I didn't give 5 stars was that the food was a little over salted for my preference.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Fantastic steaks, great service, cool atmosphere.

Would come back here in a heartbeat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Delicioso el restaurant! Volveríamos a ir . El lugar me encantó, los meseros muy amables , las botanas Deliciosas , excelente todo

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Whole dining experience was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent menu and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Early evening table with children so was perfect for family group, server was excellent with the children.

Steaks were perfectly cooked

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Authentic, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

All was fantastic but the Maître D' was a complete jerk. The restaurant called us to tell us our table was ready and would be our table for the evening (9:30 pm) reservations. Our party scurried to get there early being considerate of the work staff only to be told our table (one of 2 booths) was just given away. All I asked was for acknowledgment for the mishap and the pompous guy who has been there for years disregarded the whole ordeal.

The general service manager was a complete professional and gentleman, fortunately. Without further ado, he comped a delicious array of desserts for our entire table.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

A solid reliable, if a touch of expensive, choice on the edge of Vail Village

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was amazing and service impeccable. Would highly recommend to any steak lover!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

From the service to the steaks my family all said give this place 5 Stars. And you have to order the chocolate soufflé or your missing an experience especially if your a chocoholic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 19, 2016

For supposedly specializing in cooking meats, they did a very poor job with ours. We sent one filet back for being way too bloody, and it came back 15 minutes later, and it was still too rare, and burnt on the exterior. Our $125 porterhouse was cooked unevenly and was mealy. Our waiter insisted on calling us by our surname, but pronounced it differently ever time she addressed us. She also was rather smug. Our dinner was $400+ and a complete disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 15, 2016

El NY Strip que ordene. Lo cocinaron de más well done en vez de Medio. Tardaron mucho en traer el cocido correctamente, cuando por fin llego, estuvo muy bueno.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 14, 2016

As our first time dining here, Flame was a very nice surprise inside the Four Seasons Hotel. Nicolas was a very professional, friendly and attentive server with excellent suggestions for steaks andMy husband ordered the Flat Iron steak, medium rare. It was tender and cooked to perfection! Fame has an wide selection of wines,steaks, rubs and sauces My filet mignon was a perfect medium, tender and good It had a mushroom rub that was good, but I would d order it without a rub next time. There were 6 different sauces brought to the table to try with steaks. Flame had a great special on dinner: $81 for an appetizer, 2 entrees and a side. We chose Creamy Parmesan Sauteed Spinach which was very good and a large serving.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 12, 2016

This place is great, serves a wide variety of steaks ranging from standard pricing to high end 7x cuts which run $8 /oz. (22oz will run $175 for a 7x ribeye, which is not listed on the menu). Overall, it's a very special place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Beautiful room, nice romantic sift lighting. Attentive service. Nice French speaking waiter. Steak was good but not juicy like Ruths Chris steaks. (We shall compare tonight to Elways steak house in Vail.) Good, huge, pumpkin carrot cake dessert.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Wonderful food and ambiance. Beautiful restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great off season specials. The food was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had a fun waiter that made the evening enjoyable and he made very good suggestions on the menu. My steak was excellent and the chocolate soufflé was well worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.