About Flame Restaurant

One Vail Rd
Vail, CO 81657
View Larger Map

Flame, a Modern Mountain Steakhouse, is the signature restaurant of Four Seasons Resort Vail. Flame’s focus will be “fun dining,” rather than fine dining, as guests enjoy an interactive experience. Prepared by Chef Kevin and his team you can enjoy perfectly seared prime steaks cooked on an 1800-degree grill carved tableside, like the 22 oz. dry-aged Tomahawk steak. And share communally served indulgent sides which are locally sourced and seasonally inspired.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am

Dinner: Friday and Saturday: 6:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
S. Frontage Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 477-8650

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Public Transit:
Town of Vail and ECO Bus.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Erving

Private Party Facilities:
Out of Bounds can accommodate special events for up to 24 guests. Out of Bounds will also feature an illuminated wine wall and a beautiful private fireplace.

Private Party Contact:
Steven Teaver: (970) 477-8650

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Crispy kimchi Brussels sprouts - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Black Forest cake –chocolate flourless cake, dark cherry mousse, Tahitian vanilla bean ice cream - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Dry-aged Rosen Farms lamb chops - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Pork belly sliders – black pepper relish, slaw, green onions - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Spicy tuna huarache – ahi tuna, sriracha aioli, pickled jalapeño, corn masa crisp - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Strawberry rhubarb crisp, warmed compote, oatmeal crumble, Cassia cinnamon ice cream - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Sauces (clockwise top right) – Charleston truffle BBQ, salsa verde, Nagano cream, F-1 steak sauce, black pepper love, garden chimichurri - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Back of the House Chicken & Waffle Burger  - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Pickled Vegetables - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Mushroom Chowder - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Hashbrown Fritters - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Chilled Soup Ajo Blanco, Marcona Almonds & Mission Figs - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Meringue Mushrooms With Pretzel Marshmallow Fudge - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Dry Aged Steak - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Chocolate Souffle - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
The Flying Pig Donut: Bacon with Maple Icing - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Chocolate Cake - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO
Wagyu For Two - Flame Restaurant, Vail, CO

Flame Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
See All
Romantic (8)
Cozy (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Family Style (5)
Business Meals (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Scenic View (4)
Authentic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Casual (4)
Private Room (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Healthy (2)
Fireplace (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (2)
Fun (1)
People Watching (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
320 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As good or better than any fine steakhou ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

As good or better than any fine steakhouse! My favoriteis Del Friscos, followed by Mortons & Capital Grill. This place beats those last two, and rivals and in some ways exceeds Dels! More choices of high end meats and large steaks meant to be shared. We had 3 NY Strips and they were all cooked perfect and tasted incredible, even better with the rubs. The filet mignon was melt in your mouth delicious. Looking forward to going back to try (and share) the 18oz Wagyu Strip and 40oz Porterhouse. Nice touch showing the steaks before serving to help gauge what you're orderring. I also like that they bring all the steak sauces they offer, which one guy in my party polished off and declared the best thing! Its pricey, but on par with everyone else. Elways used to be my go-to in Vail, but this place has more choices and better meats. The scene is not as happening as Elways, and the meats are on par, but this place is better overall with more selection!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Was a nice atmosphere- very ski lodg-y b ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Was a nice atmosphere- very ski lodg-y but not the best meal-nothing really wrong about the meal but it definitely wasn't spectacular- just average. too many other restaurants that are better in Vail- I would skip this one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Very nice place, good food but not outst ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Very nice place, good food but not outstanding, lady waiter rude and bad modals for this kind of restaurant.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The ambiance of The Flame was comfortabl ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

The ambiance of The Flame was comfortable. Our server was very attentive. The food and presentation was excellent! It was the end of a fabulous ski trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

His was my first experience at Flame and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

His was my first experience at Flame and it was not disappointing! The sides are great and the steaks were fantastic! We did family style so we could get a sample of as much as possible. The sides tasted fresh and came out in their own little Dutch oven preheated dish to keep them warm. The desserts were good as well. Great atmosphere and food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steaks, salads, sides and desserts are f ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Steaks, salads, sides and desserts are fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

This is one of our go to restaurants. We ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

This is one of our go to restaurants. We always have a wonderful dinner.

This time we took friends who live in Georgia. They had never been before and enjoyed the new restaurant. They will be returning frequently for what is considered the BEST Steaks in the Vail Valley.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service but very pric ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent food and service but very pricey. Everything is ala carte so with wine, quite an expensive meal

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Ordered the strip steak. Prepared exac ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Ordered the strip steak. Prepared exactly as requested. Loved the presentation with the various sauces. Only reason I didn't give 5 stars was that the food was a little over salted for my preference.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fantastic steaks, great service, cool at ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Fantastic steaks, great service, cool atmosphere.

Would come back here in a heartbeat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicioso el restaurant! Volveríamos a i ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Delicioso el restaurant! Volveríamos a ir . El lugar me encantó, los meseros muy amables , las botanas Deliciosas , excelente todo

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Whole dining experience was excellent!

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Whole dining experience was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent menu and service.

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent menu and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Early evening table with children so was ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Early evening table with children so was perfect for family group, server was excellent with the children.

Steaks were perfectly cooked

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Authentic, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

All was fantastic but the Maître D' was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

All was fantastic but the Maître D' was a complete jerk. The restaurant called us to tell us our table was ready and would be our table for the evening (9:30 pm) reservations. Our party scurried to get there early being considerate of the work staff only to be told our table (one of 2 booths) was just given away. All I asked was for acknowledgment for the mishap and the pompous guy who has been there for years disregarded the whole ordeal.

The general service manager was a complete professional and gentleman, fortunately. Without further ado, he comped a delicious array of desserts for our entire table.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

A solid reliable, if a touch of expensiv ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

A solid reliable, if a touch of expensive, choice on the edge of Vail Village

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing and service impecca ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was amazing and service impeccable. Would highly recommend to any steak lover!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

From the service to the steaks my family ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 27, 2016

From the service to the steaks my family all said give this place 5 Stars. And you have to order the chocolate soufflé or your missing an experience especially if your a chocoholic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For supposedly specializing in cooking m ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 19, 2016

For supposedly specializing in cooking meats, they did a very poor job with ours. We sent one filet back for being way too bloody, and it came back 15 minutes later, and it was still too rare, and burnt on the exterior. Our $125 porterhouse was cooked unevenly and was mealy. Our waiter insisted on calling us by our surname, but pronounced it differently ever time she addressed us. She also was rather smug. Our dinner was $400+ and a complete disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

El NY Strip que ordene. Lo cocinaron de ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 15, 2016

El NY Strip que ordene. Lo cocinaron de más well done en vez de Medio. Tardaron mucho en traer el cocido correctamente, cuando por fin llego, estuvo muy bueno.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

As our first time dining here, Flame was ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 14, 2016

As our first time dining here, Flame was a very nice surprise inside the Four Seasons Hotel. Nicolas was a very professional, friendly and attentive server with excellent suggestions for steaks andMy husband ordered the Flat Iron steak, medium rare. It was tender and cooked to perfection! Fame has an wide selection of wines,steaks, rubs and sauces My filet mignon was a perfect medium, tender and good It had a mushroom rub that was good, but I would d order it without a rub next time. There were 6 different sauces brought to the table to try with steaks. Flame had a great special on dinner: $81 for an appetizer, 2 entrees and a side. We chose Creamy Parmesan Sauteed Spinach which was very good and a large serving.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place is great, serves a wide varie ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 12, 2016

This place is great, serves a wide variety of steaks ranging from standard pricing to high end 7x cuts which run $8 /oz. (22oz will run $175 for a 7x ribeye, which is not listed on the menu). Overall, it's a very special place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful room, nice romantic sift light ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Beautiful room, nice romantic sift lighting. Attentive service. Nice French speaking waiter. Steak was good but not juicy like Ruths Chris steaks. (We shall compare tonight to Elways steak house in Vail.) Good, huge, pumpkin carrot cake dessert.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Wonderful food and ambiance. Beautiful r ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Wonderful food and ambiance. Beautiful restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great off season specials. The food was ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great off season specials. The food was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a fun waiter that made the evenin ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had a fun waiter that made the evening enjoyable and he made very good suggestions on the menu. My steak was excellent and the chocolate soufflé was well worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My sister and I had a wonderful evening ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 18, 2016

My sister and I had a wonderful evening at Flame. We will be back next year!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here for my birthday dinner. Thi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We came here for my birthday dinner. This was our third time at this restaurant overall. The food was amazing all three times. However, the service this night was absolutely terrible! Our waiter probably only came to our table 4 times total including when he brought the check. He forgot to put our son's, who is 1 1/2, dinner in. We ordered it at the very beginning of the evening with our appetizers and told him how we needed his food to come out first because he gets really fussy when he's hungry. Kept asking him about it. He proceeded to lie to us and say he just walked past it and would go get it. 15 minutes later his food came out. AFTER our meal had already been out for 15 minutes. So not only did our son get upset when we got our food first and he didn't have his, our waiter didn't even apologize for it. Not just that - we ordered a bottle of wine he poured one glass then took off with the bottle. We had to grab another lady who worked there to get him for us. We weren't checked on, offered another drink or even apologized to for his mess up. We even asked him if he was having a bad night and that we felt like he forgot about us. You would have thought that would have made a difference in how he served us- Nope! Didn't even phase him. He acted like he didn't even care. On top of that - nothing was offered to try to make it right. Really hope next time we are here the service is better because this was outright terrible service for such an expensive restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Another wonderful meal. The food is alwa ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Another wonderful meal. The food is always superb. We have never had anything we did not like. Cameron was ours waiter again and did a great job. We never wanted for anything. Looking forward to our next dinner at 🔥.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Seasonal, Cozy, Spicy, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appetizers and sauces were outstanding. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Appetizers and sauces were outstanding. Thought the entree menu was slightly restricted, and they were good. Seating is a little odd. We sat in the booth area, which was little like sitting in a large hallway. At first seemed a little off the norm and was busy there, and we never saw the main dining room that was farther in. Everything was served quickly. Our server was outstanding.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Had a very nice dinner here. There was ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Had a very nice dinner here. There was a special that offered three courses which was a great value. The chef also made a special preparation of a Steak Diane sauce that was much better than any of the standard offering of six other sauces that come with your steak. The chocolate soufflé was delicious! We were in Vail during a slower season so no issue getting in but I suspect during high season it gets much busier. My only negative is the style and layout of the menu; not what I would have expected in such a nice restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The meal was excellent. The cuts of meat ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 10, 2016

The meal was excellent. The cuts of meat were superb. Side dishes were a real treat. save room for the souffle.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another wonderful dinner. Cameron was ou ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Another wonderful dinner. Cameron was our server, again. He always does a perfect job. The food itself is and was again outstanding. We don't think you can find a better steak house in this valley.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Healthy, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice restaurant. Service was good. Pr ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Nice restaurant. Service was good. Pricing was too high. Was up-sold to an expensive steak ~ $100 not on the menu. A meal for 2 with wine($125)+tip $550

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

Always on the search for a good burger, ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Always on the search for a good burger, the 7X Farms Kobe Burger is not to be missed. The flavors of white cheddar and pork belly jelly combine with egg to create a creamy burst of flavors. The truffle fries and homemade ketchup are the perfect accompaniment. This is a full meal, but if you have room, try the Elk Corndogs. Lightly battered and fried bites of house made elk sausage-delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always one of our favorites in Vail, pos ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always one of our favorites in Vail, possibly our favorite. Quality of food and service is excellent. Would recommend.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience; helpful waitsta ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great dining experience; helpful waitstaff, lot's of sampler options for large groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything was delicious! One person got ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Everything was delicious!

One person got the burger👍👍👍

One got 8 oz filet 👍👍👍

One got strip 👍👍👍

One got the salmon👍👍👍

Brussels sprouts were awesome, wedge salad was perfect!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Expecting More from Four Seasons. Not be ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Expecting More from Four Seasons. Not being a snob, but that is why you go to a place like this. Expectation is great food and even better service. Service was lacking except for the water girl that came around very few minutes. I like when you order a single glass of wine and they pour it at the table. First time I have ever had someone pour a glass and empty the bottle and the fill was very light. Especially when he had already poured my wife's and hers was obviously more. At $21 per glass he should have got another bottle and come back and added to it. My steak was fair, definitely not bad, but again not Four Seasons quality. My wife's fish was served and was not hot. Third time we have eaten there and only went a second time because someone gave us a gift certificate. We will not go back as the Vail Valley is loaded with great places.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

Great Steakhouse. The top in the area. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great Steakhouse. The top in the area. The meat is great and perfectly cooked to your liking every time. Served with 6 steak sauce that you do not need, because the flavor of the meat is amazing. All of them are great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.