About Flame Restaurant

One Vail Rd
Vail, CO 81657
View Larger Map

Flame, a Modern Mountain Steakhouse, is the signature restaurant of Four Seasons Resort Vail. Flame’s focus will be “fun dining,” rather than fine dining, as guests enjoy an interactive experience. Prepared by Chef Kevin and his team you can enjoy perfectly seared prime steaks cooked on an 1800-degree grill carved tableside, like the 22 oz. dry-aged Tomahawk steak. And share communally served indulgent sides which are locally sourced and seasonally inspired.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am

Dinner: Friday and Saturday: 6:00pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
S. Frontage Road

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(970) 477-8650

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking.

Public Transit:
Town of Vail and ECO Bus.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Erving

Private Party Facilities:
Out of Bounds can accommodate special events for up to 24 guests. Out of Bounds will also feature an illuminated wine wall and a beautiful private fireplace.

Private Party Contact:
Steven Teaver: 9704778650x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Black Forest cake –chocolate flourless cake, dark cherry mousse, Tahitian vanilla bean ice cream
Crispy kimchi Brussels sprouts
Dry-aged Rosen Farms lamb chops
Pork belly sliders – black pepper relish, slaw, green onions
Spicy tuna huarache – ahi tuna, sriracha aioli, pickled jalapeño, corn masa crisp
Strawberry rhubarb crisp, warmed compote, oatmeal crumble, Cassia cinnamon ice cream
Sauces (clockwise top right) – Charleston truffle BBQ, salsa verde, Nagano cream, F-1 steak sauce, black pepper love, garden chimichurri
Pickled Vegetables
Back of the House Chicken & Waffle Burger
Mushroom Chowder
Meringue Mushrooms With Pretzel Marshmallow Fudge
Hashbrown Fritters
Chilled Soup Ajo Blanco, Marcona Almonds & Mission Figs
Dry Aged Steak
Chocolate Souffle
The Flying Pig Donut: Bacon with Maple Icing
Wagyu For Two
Chocolate Cake

Flame Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

5.0

service

5.0

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Denver / Colorado
Best Food
Mountains
Best Service
Mountains
1 More
Steakhouse
Mountains
Best Restaurants in Vail ›

fit for foodies (8)
good for groups (6)
special occasion (5)
See All
scenic view (4)
romantic (4)
hot spot (4)
kid-friendly (3)
notable wine list (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
great for brunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
263 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful experience the food was delici ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Wonderful experience the food was delicious waiter was superb

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food and service is world class, you wil ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Food and service is world class, you will not be disappointed!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Service is not up to a Four Seassons hot ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service is not up to a Four Seassons hotel. took over an hour to get the entree

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Always great steaks but the seafood is e ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Always great steaks but the seafood is excellent as well. We always enjoy Flame!

The valet parking is nice too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our food was wonderful - waitstaff was a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Our food was wonderful - waitstaff was amazing.

Our son has celiac disease - they went above & beyond to make sure his food was safe.

Highly recommend - top notch food & service!

The Jarvis Family

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were 4 people. We had the wedge salad ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We were 4 people. We had the wedge salad: excellent, the lamb was extraordinary, the others had sirloin and filet mignon and we all thought they cooked it to perfection! The service was so good that they deserve more stars than are available! The only item that was not at the level of all else was the chocolate soufflé. Nevertheless it was the best meal we've had at Vail!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Flame is one of our favorites in the Vail Valley

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We love Flame and have gone several times for special occasions. We typically wait for a deal (thanks for providing them) as it is not easy on the wallet but we have never had a bad thing on the menu so at least we feel we get a great meal and great service in a location where you can actually hear each other speak! Tables are spread out enough to have your own private discussion, unlike many in the valley. The wait staff has also always been friendly, helpful and knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantastic Dinner

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Appetizers, Steaks, Seafood, Sides and Dessert. EVERYTHING WAS AND ALWAYS IS FANTASTIC!

This is one of our favorite restaurants. We have never not been pleased. Cameron, our waiter made sure that everything was perfect. Looking forward to this next week to eat there again. If your looking for a wonderful restaurant that has and does it all this is it. Thank you everyone!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service and food. Se love the pork ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Great Service and food.

Se love the pork belly and the bison.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful experience

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We had a wonderful romantic and delicious meal here. Everything was perfect--the service, the food, the atmosphere. I am quite a restaurant snob, accustomed to eating at the best restaurants in the world, so this is saying something. I cannot recommend it highly enough, especially for a special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Excellent Vail Treat

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We have been to Flame several times, and the experience has always been excellent. The steaks are stunning and the wine list is excellent. Service is always knowledgable and accommodating. This may be the best restaurant at Vail.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over the Top

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Food and Service were excellent. Our waiter Joey, was terrific and met our needs almost as fast as we could ask for it.

My Wife and I shared everything from the salad to the Steak...even the French press coffee. It was all outstanding and delicious. Don't forget the wine..the Four Seasons Iconclast was excellent and price right.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just slid in as my #1

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

What a great restaurant to celebrate my wife's 40th Birthday! The staff were very friendly and very accommodating of her allergy. They went above and beyond to make sure that everything was perfect.

The food was terrific. We thoroughly enjoyed the Bison Ribeye, Kobe Burger, and sides.

They even treated her with a Banana Custard Cake to celebrate the big day. Great way to enjoy the night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was not what was expected at thi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Service was not what was expected at this price point. Water glasses were empty three times. No one was around to check on how we were doing. Saw entire wait staff in the kitchen having a toast with wine glasses for 5 minutes while we sat waiting for follow up and water. Food was good but had to have steak cooked more. Would not go back due to service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

All the meat were excellent the bison wa ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

All the meat were excellent the bison was very wood the texture and the flavor are different, it a good choose like a place of good atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

World class dining experience.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Best steak in Vail. First class service. Great ambiance. We are from Houston and know fine dining and good food. Flame is right there with the best of them. Highly recommend. We will be returning.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first meal at Flame. We enj ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

This was our first meal at Flame. We enjoyed our dinner very much- the steaks were beautifully prepared and served with a flourish. We were too full to have a dessert! Wish there could be slightly smaller portions for light eaters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Not worth it

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 8, 2016

We had terrible service. The short rib was 40% fat, the dessert was a big frozen cookie that er need a knife to eat. The worst part was terrible service. March 7th. Reservation under stephanie at 730. Dont go to flame!!! I have paid more for dinner so it's not the price. It's what we got for our money.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

exceeded expectations

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

This was probably one of our all time favorite meals ever! The food is absolutely amazing!! Our wonderful waitress recommended what to order and we were so glad we listened! I HIGHLY recommend the foie gras and the brussels sprouts in addition to any of the beef selections!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steaks! Excellent sides as well. ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Great steaks! Excellent sides as well. Brussel sprouts were delicious as was the lobster mashed potatoes. Cauliflower was only fair. Would definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was a little slow at the beginni ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Service was a little slow at the beginning but got better as the evening progressed. It was good but not a do over for us

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great meal

vip
 (Richmond)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

The steak was great. The bacon doughnuts were awesome. It is pricey! But, it's in Vail. Great service as well. Will return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Truly amazing and must stop for any visi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

Truly amazing and must stop for any visit to Vail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Amazing Steakhouse

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

One of my favorites in Vail -- a must try! From the great cuts of meat, to the interesting rubs and sauces, to the incredibly knowledgeable staff - it's a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not to be Missed

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

The Flame was an amazing part of our Vail experience. We were well attended to - the food was extraordinary - the steak was so delicious that it didn't need the great complimentary sauces. If you love lobster - get the lobster mashed potatoes!!!! The Chocolate Souffle for dessert was out of this world! Kudos to the whole staff!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best in Vail

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Have drinks upstairs in the beautiful bar then head down to an incredible dinner. You won't be on top of other diners. Beautiful but not stuffy. Service and food were fantastic. Share several plates.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Kobe steak is the best!!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

The Kobe steak is the best!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Definitely enjoyed it

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

It's hard to pick between Flame and Elway's but I give the nod to Flame after having been to both in the last few months. I like Elways' ambiance better as it is more energetic, but found the food to be a notch higher at Flame. Flame is a bit more formal, but also more quiet.

Really enjoyed the special hamachi appetizer. Steaks at both were great. Flame cooked both our steaks to perfection. I was slightly disappointed with the wine by the glass list at Flame - less extensive than I would have liked.

Service was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The service was flawless and the food wa ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

The service was flawless and the food was amazing, one of the best steakhouses I've been to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate here during our vacation to Vail ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 16, 2016

We ate here during our vacation to Vail and had a great meal! The restaurant is very comfortable and quiet without being stuffy. The food was excellent and all of the staff was attentive and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The welcoming staff was great! The wait ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The welcoming staff was great! The wait staff was gracious and until our order arrived substandard in so many ways, we were happy. Wow! What a disappointment. My husband's steak was ordered medium plus and it came rare plus. We never saw our waitress again until it was too late to complain. We will return but will never settle for such inadequate service. Sadly this was our 4th visit, we were recognized and then ignored once food was delivered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Amazing 1 word to describe this place. G ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Amazing 1 word to describe this place. Great wine list, steaks were amazing, I had the bone in Bison Ribeye (melts in your mouth!!), my wife had the Waygu New York Strip, carpeted table side (one of the best Waygu we have ever had. The service was great, wine service was great and overall atmosphere was awesome! We will be back for sure, this has quickly become our favorite restaurant in vail!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Some of the best food I've had in a long ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Some of the best food I've had in a long time. It's for sure expensive but totally worth every penny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not Quite Worth the Price

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

We've been to Flame several times and always enjoy it. However, this visit was not quite up to par. Our steaks, while good, simply didn't warrant the very expensive prices. My Bison ribeye was just OK, slightly overdone. My companion's beef ribeye was also good, but again, slightly overdone. Some of our group also had Salmon and they thought it was very good. The side dishes (roasted cauliflower and creamed spinach) were also good but not great. In summary, you can count on a good meal here but expect to pay more than it's worth.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Outstanding meal and even better service ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

Outstanding meal and even better service from Andy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

At these prices, everything should be perfect.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

Truly outrageous prices, even for Vail. Most galling is that the entrees come with NO SIDES. Everything is extra and the sides are "family style" servings. So if you want a side that no one else wants, too bad. You have to pay for a too-large portion. The food was mediocre at best. My duck was overcooked and boring and looked so stupid all by itself on the plate. The basement "view" is of lawn furniture draped in winter covers. The bright spot was the service -- outstanding. But we definitely would not go back. The restaurant was half-empty, and now we know why.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Always Good

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

Always great service and great food.. No doubt some of the best steaks in Vail.. Will go back again and again..

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Top Notch...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on January 26, 2016

Outstanding food and service. Certainly meets and exceeds Four Seasons quality and expectations. Not for the faint of wallet.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Just Ok

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

The appetizers were good, but the steaks were just OK. Not a good place for a true steak lover.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

AMAZING SERVICE AND HEAVENLY, DELECTABLE CUISINE!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on January 14, 2016

Absolutely a MUST DINE HERE for those w/ distinguished taste for Perfected and Flavorful Cuisine!! Delightful service and extremely attentive, exquisite fare perfectly prepared, and a wonderful ambient environment for a Romantic evening, a Special Affair, or an impressive Group ! This will be a traditional visit for us each time we are here in Vail!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.