About Five Sails Restaurant

Located on R level Pan Pacific Hotel, 999 Canada Place
Vancouver, BC V6C 3E1
View Larger Map

Proprietors, Chef Ernst Dorfler and Gerry Sayers invite you to experience their unforgettable combination of breathtaking views of Vancouver, fresh and fabulous 4 Diamond award winning cuisine and gracious hospitality in their beautiful, private restaurant located inside the Pan Pacific Vancouver.




The Five Sails features world class dining in an unmatched setting with stunning views of the water, mountains, and Stanley Park. There is an intimate private dining room for up to 20 guests, a chic bar/lounge area with modern fireplace and the addition of cozy, elevated booths for more relaxed dining.



Proprietors, Chef Ernst Dorfler and his wife Gerry Sayers offer their hands on attention to detail with beautifully presented continental cuisine on their seasonal a la carte menu, vegetarian menu & Chef's Tasting menu with wine pairings selected by Sommelier, Ramon Fresneda.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, French, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Last seating for dinner is @ 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Howe Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 844-2855

Website:
http://www.fivesails.ca/

Parking Details:
Public parking is available at Canada Place and valet services are offered based on availability at the Pan Pacific Hotel entrance. Flat fees for parking apply after 6:00pm.

Public Transit:
The closest bus stop is located at the Sea Bus Terminal at the North end of Granville Street and Cordova Street.

Executive Chef:
Ernst Dorfler

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Five Sails Restaurant
Lobsters and Scallops
A Tasting Of Chilled Seafood
Baked alaska
Lobster Bisque
Silky porcini mushroom soup grilled brioche crouton
Honey glazed smoked breast of duck
Honey Glazed Smoked Fraser Valley Duck
Crispy Sea Bass
Golden delicious warm apple strudel & chilled apple tarte homemade pistachio ice cream
Amuse Bouche
Chocolate Ahhh!
Large Homemade Ravioli With Steelhead Salmon And Dungeness Crab With Silky Lobster Emulsion
Luxe Lemon Mille-Feuilles
Soy Glazed Marinated Sable Fish
Slowly Braised Boneless Wagyu Beef Short Ribs

Private Dining

From 10 - 140 guests, the Five Sails offers AAA Four Diamond award cuisine and service for the ultimate private event experience, all with a spectacular natural backdrop and views of Vancouver's inner harbour & coastal mountains. The Five Sails private dining room accommodates from 10-20 guests

Five Sails Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Food
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Service
Vancouver / British Columbia
10 More
Best Ambiance
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Value
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Vancouver
Best Food
Vancouver
Best Service
Vancouver
Best Ambiance
Vancouver
Best Value
Vancouver
Romantic
Vancouver
Scenic View
Vancouver
Special Occasion
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Coal Harbour ›

scenic view (84)
special occasion (78)
romantic (62)
See All
fit for foodies (52)
notable wine list (34)
good for groups (12)
neighborhood gem (6)
hot spot (4)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
great for lunch (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1249 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My friend and I celebrated 72 years of f ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 4 days ago

My friend and I celebrated 72 years of friendship at Five Sails with our spouses and we were treated with excellent cuisine and great enthusiasm by all staff. Thank-you to all for making the special much more so.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time in the last year ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 5 days ago

This is the second time in the last year or so I have been fortunate to dine at the Five Sails Restaurant. This second time was even better than the first. We were in town for a concert and thoroughly enjoyed our evening starting with the meal at Five Sails. The service, ambience wine list etc. - just first rate. I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The perfect place to celebrate a special ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The perfect place to celebrate a special occasion. We had the chef's tasting menu and were not disappointed. The food & wine were amazing (highly recommend the scallops), the view stunning and the staff super friendly, professional & accommodating.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an experience dining experience. ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We had an experience dining experience. Great service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Five Sails Restaurant made sure to ackno ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Five Sails Restaurant made sure to acknowledge the special occasion that we were there for, even offered a small but complimentary dessert to help us celebrate it, which was a very nice touch. Window seat allowed us to enjoy the beautiful view. While the food is expensive, it is certainly well worth it -- though if it wasn't for a special occasion we wouldn't be able to justify the cost. There were so many items on the menu I would have liked to try, but I guess I will have to wait for my next visit (whenever that will be!). I highly recommend the ahi tuna tartare for appetizer and the duck breast for entree. Everything on the dessert menu seems way overpriced ($6.00 for a small cup of cappucino!). Our server was very well put together and very polite, though he didn't seem to want to converse with us too much.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

love this restaurant. Can't wait to go ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

love this restaurant. Can't wait to go there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a beautiful restaurant with one ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This is a beautiful restaurant with one of the most amazing views in Vancouver. Unfortunately the food quality was not what we expected for the prices we paid. The manager was quick to try to address by offering a different meal and made a fuss over my partner's birthday when dessert was served - so I do appreciate that. I might try this restaurant again in the future - because the view is spectacular and perhaps we were there on an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Quite possibly the most amazing dining e ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Quite possibly the most amazing dining experience I've ever had. The staff went above and beyond to make our evening absolutely amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service with a beautiful ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great food and service with a beautiful view of Vancouver's harbor.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dining experience for our first ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Amazing dining experience for our first anniversary. Amazing food, super helpful team, great view. Will visit again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional food and service. This was ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Exceptional food and service. This was our fist time to the restaurant and we found it outstanding. Great tasting food, great selection, very fresh. Awesome service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We both had the seafood medley which inc ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We both had the seafood medley which included large scallops and a lobster claw and tail, served in sauce probably containing lemon grass and kaffir lemon leaves. I thought the sauce was a bit strong for the lobster, although it certainly was delicious. The view was great, but ask for a table on the shady side if you go for dinner, otherwise the setting sun will get in your eyes and you will have to have the view blocked by the blind.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in every respect - my wife ha ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Excellent in every respect - my wife had a filet and said that it was the best she has ever had, while my halibut dinner was tasty and perfect. Coupled with an outstanding view, this was a memorable occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful Spot! We got a nice table to c ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Beautiful Spot! We got a nice table to celebrate the occasion of my son's engagement. Lovely

food and great service! It was one of the most memorable meals! The server recommended

the caviar to share and certainly was great recommendation for the occasion. Views were

spectacular!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire dining experience was incredi ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The entire dining experience was incredible. The service was perfect and the food was some of the best I've ever had. On the expensive side but worth it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were pleasantly surprised to have a s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised to have a superb Dover Sole at this attractive hotel restaurant

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our favorite restaurant to visit when we ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our favorite restaurant to visit when we're in Vancouver. We always have a great meal with good value and a superb venue to treat and impress our dining guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every bite was fantastic as can be expec ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Every bite was fantastic as can be expected from Ernst who I have know since 88 and a Overall Gold Medal at the 92 culinary olympis. Sea bas burst with juice no hint of fishiness. The lamb was devine. Foie Gras Steller. Amuse Bouch yum! Wine from former Clould Bay winemaker perfection!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Pros: -3 course set menu is pretty worth ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Pros:

-3 course set menu is pretty worth it for $50.

- Service was great!

- View was good!

- Atmosphere was great

- They take allergies very seriously!

Cons:

- View is only noticeable if you are near the window

- Can be a bit hot depending on where you are sitting

- Bread was a bit hard, expected better quality from a high class restraunt

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful view of the harbor. Superior ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Wonderful view of the harbor. Superior customer service. Food is amazing. Well prepared. Artistically presented. A little pricey, but well worth every cent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific setting and location.Food was v ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Terrific setting and location.Food was very good. Not cheap, but worth the cost.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This had to be the best French Cuisine f ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

This had to be the best French Cuisine food we have ever tasted! The service was amazing and so was the view! We are definitely coming back!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vancouver fine dining

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Excellent in all respects. High spot of our yearly trips to Vancouver.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This was not our first time dining at the Five Sails nor will it be our last.The food,service and ambience of the Five Sails is memorable. Choose an evening when the weather is clear and sunny and it will be a night to remember.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered the full tasting menu with wine pairing

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The tasting menu was well thought out. The wines paired perfectly with each of the food items. Each of the items on the tasting menu was superbly prepared and elegantly presented. We will definitely return to try other items on the menu. We had a number of servers and they appeared knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Probably the best food in Vancouver!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We ate here for my girlfriends birthday and had duck confit, beef tartar, fois grais, lamb loin, and topped it off with wine and chocolate opera cake for desert. Hands down the most amazing cuisine in the city. Not a single dish was less than perfect. I will be returning again and again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing view, wonderful service and nice ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Amazing view, wonderful service and nicest staff anywhere. My first time to Vancouver and the first meal while there. From the amuse bouche to the complimentary chocolate served with the bill, Five Sails set a high bar for the meals during our stay. Kudos! We sincerely appreciated our five star dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five Sails is Top Notch!

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We stayed at Pan Pacific prior to a cruise, and based on the reviews of Five Sails, decided to have a pre-cruise dinner there. Food is excellent and view spectacular. Highly recommended.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was a big disappointment despite th ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

This was a big disappointment despite the great location and superb views. The food was good. Everything else was mediocre for a restaurant in this price range. It gave off the feeling of "giving up" competitively. The restaurant had only a few customers there; and yet I seemed to always have to look for someone in order to ask a question or even ask for another glass of wine. The restaurant lacks colour and elegance compared to most of the competition. In a word it is "flat" Not much of an experience in any way - other than disappointing .

From a service perspective, the owners should dine at Miku. They could learn a lot about quality service. Or also Hawkesworth.

To be fair, no one was rude. One waiter in particular was friendlier than the others. Mostly though the team seemed to be just going through the motions . I suspect some sincere, positive coaching could make a big difference.

On last observation: We had been asked if this was a special occasion. We advised that this was an anniversary. In recognition of that we got a tiny piece of cake 1 inch by 1 inch by 1 inch and a wafer thin piece of chocolate saying Happy Anniversary. A nice gesture? Sure but without a doubt the cheapest most meaningless "gesture" we have ever had! EVER!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

I booked this restaurant for the 19th bi ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I booked this restaurant for the 19th birthday of my son. On arrival, the staff greeted him "Happy Birthday" which caught him by surprise, a pleasant one though.

Throughout the evening, we were treated to a very friendly and welcoming dining experience. Then there was the fantastic view of the harbour, too bad it was a rather cloudy day which took some shine out of the majestic setting. Nevertheless, it was beautiful!

We ordered all seafood dishes which turn out to be great. I had Catch, the lobster is done just to my liking and very well presented with the sides. Perhaps the ambient made us all more forgiving as I did not find any shortcoming.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

White asparagus soup, beef tartare and t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

White asparagus soup, beef tartare and the foie gras were amazing. Our server offered wine pairing. Wine selection is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fantastic. It was great the own ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Food was fantastic. It was great the owner rounded on the tables and ensured her guests had what they needed! Excellent wine list! Overall, extremely enjoyable!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best views in Vancouver, food ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

One of the best views in Vancouver, food and service excellent ...consistant with the highest prices in the city. Had a celebration business dinner here on 5/19/16. Everything was great BUT the wine markup was actually offensive. $13USD bottle of memoi pinot at BC liquor store $23 - $80+ at restaurant. Bottle of joseph phelps current year marked up $400. I can understand double but marginal bottles you would buy for less than 30 are marked up 100/bottle or more. Would not return only because of this. Not worth drinking mediocre quality wine to not add $500 markup to the bill over every other first class restaurant in the city. Cioppinos used to have the highest markup.....now is in second place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

Five Sails dining was an extraordinary e ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Five Sails dining was an extraordinary experience. We were welcomed by very gracious hosts and the background music made us feel very relaxed. I did not expect to be treated as a real special guest. The seasonal spotted prawns appetizer was very yummy. We also got surprise complimentary appie and desserts and they were oh, so delectable! My husband, my friend and I had a very lovely evening at the restaurant. I would love to go back there again... a wonderful place to catch up with long friends or have a business meeting.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Friday night

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Wanted to have a nice Friday date with my spouse after working a long week. Sunny evening with a clear view of the mountains and water. Warmly greeted by Gerry, and shown to our table with a view to the park and water. Great food! Dover sole done just a little differently from the usual, but so flavourful and unique. We will have to do it again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Failure of expectations

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

An exciting menu with an emphasis on quality, hard to find ingredients was defeated by over complexity in presentation. Significant errors in the final bill did not help.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Weekend Getaway

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I came here with a good friend of mine while on a weekend getaway to Vancouver. This restaurant is definitely something special. The food was exceptional, the service outstanding, and the view remarkable. Our check was higher than expected but it was completely worth the cost. Whoever the chef is has a gift, not a talent, with food preparation - it was the most delicious, mouth-watering dinner I've ever had. Furthermore, our waiter was simply the cherry on top of the cake - he was funny, charismatic and just so skillfully delightful. Everything about this restaurant was spectacular and I would definitely recommend it to anyone coming into Vancouver.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter really went out of his way to ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our waiter really went out of his way to make sure that we enjoyed our meal. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was lovely. We'll be back the next time we're in Vancouver.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and service excellent.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Food and service excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We Love It!

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We came here to celebrate the Mother's Day. My parents love it and we enjoyed the time a lot! Not just the food is excellent, the service is fantastic. Thank you Chef for the freebies like vegie soup and cute dessert! It was a nice experience at the Five Sails! We'll come again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.