About Five Sails Restaurant

Located on R level Pan Pacific Hotel, 999 Canada Place
Vancouver, BC V6C 3E1
View Larger Map

Proprietors, Chef Ernst Dorfler and Gerry Sayers invite you to experience their unforgettable combination of breathtaking views of Vancouver, fresh and fabulous 4 Diamond award winning cuisine and gracious hospitality in their beautiful, private restaurant located inside the Pan Pacific Vancouver.




The Five Sails features world class dining in an unmatched setting with stunning views of the water, mountains, and Stanley Park. There is an intimate private dining room for up to 20 guests, a chic bar/lounge area with modern fireplace and the addition of cozy, elevated booths for more relaxed dining.



Proprietors, Chef Ernst Dorfler and his wife Gerry Sayers offer their hands on attention to detail with beautifully presented continental cuisine on their seasonal a la carte menu, vegetarian menu & Chef's Tasting menu with wine pairings selected by Sommelier, Ramon Fresneda.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, French, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Last seating for dinner is @ 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Howe Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 844-2855

Website:
http://www.fivesails.ca/

Parking Details:
Public parking is available at Canada Place and valet services are offered based on availability at the Pan Pacific Hotel entrance. Flat fees for parking apply after 6:00pm.

Public Transit:
The closest bus stop is located at the Sea Bus Terminal at the North end of Granville Street and Cordova Street.

Executive Chef:
Ernst Dorfler

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Five Sails Restaurant
Lobsters and Scallops
A Tasting Of Chilled Seafood
Baked alaska
Lobster Bisque
Silky porcini mushroom soup grilled brioche crouton
Honey glazed smoked breast of duck
Honey Glazed Smoked Fraser Valley Duck
Crispy Sea Bass
Golden delicious warm apple strudel & chilled apple tarte homemade pistachio ice cream
Amuse Bouche
Chocolate Ahhh!
Large Homemade Ravioli With Steelhead Salmon And Dungeness Crab With Silky Lobster Emulsion
Luxe Lemon Mille-Feuilles
Soy Glazed Marinated Sable Fish
Slowly Braised Boneless Wagyu Beef Short Ribs

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $50.00

Special valid May 27, 2016 - Jun 30, 2016 all week from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $50.00

Special valid May 27, 2016 - Jun 30, 2016 all week from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $50.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. * As available each evening. Special valid May 27, 2016 - Jun 30, 2016 all week from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM.

Private Dining

From 10 - 140 guests, the Five Sails offers AAA Four Diamond award cuisine and service for the ultimate private event experience, all with a spectacular natural backdrop and views of Vancouver's inner harbour & coastal mountains. The Five Sails private dining room accommodates from 10-20 guests

Five Sails Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Food
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Service
Vancouver / British Columbia
10 More
Best Ambiance
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Value
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Vancouver
Best Food
Vancouver
Best Service
Vancouver
Best Ambiance
Vancouver
Best Value
Vancouver
Romantic
Vancouver
Scenic View
Vancouver
Special Occasion
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Coal Harbour ›

scenic view (77)
special occasion (72)
romantic (59)
See All
fit for foodies (51)
notable wine list (36)
good for groups (10)
kid-friendly (5)
neighborhood gem (5)
hot spot (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1234 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The entire dining experience was incredi ...

Dined 6 days ago

The entire dining experience was incredible. The service was perfect and the food was some of the best I've ever had. On the expensive side but worth it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We were pleasantly surprised to have a s ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised to have a superb Dover Sole at this attractive hotel restaurant

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Every bite was fantastic as can be expec ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Every bite was fantastic as can be expected from Ernst who I have know since 88 and a Overall Gold Medal at the 92 culinary olympis. Sea bas burst with juice no hint of fishiness. The lamb was devine. Foie Gras Steller. Amuse Bouch yum! Wine from former Clould Bay winemaker perfection!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Pros: -3 course set menu is pretty worth ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Pros: -3 course set menu is pretty worth it for $50. - Service was great! - View was good! - Atmosphere was great - They take allergies very seriously! Cons: - View is only noticeable if you are near the window - Can be a bit hot depending on where you are sitting - Bread was a bit hard, expected better quality from a high class restraunt

Tags: romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful view of the harbor. Superior ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Wonderful view of the harbor. Superior customer service. Food is amazing. Well prepared. Artistically presented. A little pricey, but well worth every cent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific setting and location.Food was v ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Terrific setting and location.Food was very good. Not cheap, but worth the cost.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This had to be the best French Cuisine f ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

This had to be the best French Cuisine food we have ever tasted! The service was amazing and so was the view! We are definitely coming back!!!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Vancouver fine dining

Dined on June 7, 2016

Excellent in all respects. High spot of our yearly trips to Vancouver.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience

Dined on June 5, 2016

This was not our first time dining at the Five Sails nor will it be our last.The food,service and ambience of the Five Sails is memorable. Choose an evening when the weather is clear and sunny and it will be a night to remember.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We ordered the full tasting menu with wine pairing

Dined on May 29, 2016

The tasting menu was well thought out. The wines paired perfectly with each of the food items. Each of the items on the tasting menu was superbly prepared and elegantly presented. We will definitely return to try other items on the menu. We had a number of servers and they appeared knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Probably the best food in Vancouver!

Dined on May 28, 2016

We ate here for my girlfriends birthday and had duck confit, beef tartar, fois grais, lamb loin, and topped it off with wine and chocolate opera cake for desert. Hands down the most amazing cuisine in the city. Not a single dish was less than perfect. I will be returning again and again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing view, wonderful service and nice ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Amazing view, wonderful service and nicest staff anywhere. My first time to Vancouver and the first meal while there. From the amuse bouche to the complimentary chocolate served with the bill, Five Sails set a high bar for the meals during our stay. Kudos! We sincerely appreciated our five star dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Five Sails is Top Notch!

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

We stayed at Pan Pacific prior to a cruise, and based on the reviews of Five Sails, decided to have a pre-cruise dinner there. Food is excellent and view spectacular. Highly recommended.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

This was a big disappointment despite th ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

This was a big disappointment despite the great location and superb views. The food was good. Everything else was mediocre for a restaurant in this price range. It gave off the feeling of "giving up" competitively. The restaurant had only a few customers there; and yet I seemed to always have to look for someone in order to ask a question or even ask for another glass of wine. The restaurant lacks colour and elegance compared to most of the competition. In a word it is "flat" Not much of an experience in any way - other than disappointing . From a service perspective, the owners should dine at Miku. They could learn a lot about quality service. Or also Hawkesworth. To be fair, no one was rude. One waiter in particular was friendlier than the others. Mostly though the team seemed to be just going through the motions . I suspect some sincere, positive coaching could make a big difference. On last observation: We had been asked if this was a special occasion. We advised that this was an anniversary. In recognition of that we got a tiny piece of cake 1 inch by 1 inch by 1 inch and a wafer thin piece of chocolate saying Happy Anniversary. A nice gesture? Sure but without a doubt the cheapest most meaningless "gesture" we have ever had! EVER!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I booked this restaurant for the 19th bi ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I booked this restaurant for the 19th birthday of my son. On arrival, the staff greeted him "Happy Birthday" which caught him by surprise, a pleasant one though. Throughout the evening, we were treated to a very friendly and welcoming dining experience. Then there was the fantastic view of the harbour, too bad it was a rather cloudy day which took some shine out of the majestic setting. Nevertheless, it was beautiful! We ordered all seafood dishes which turn out to be great. I had Catch, the lobster is done just to my liking and very well presented with the sides. Perhaps the ambient made us all more forgiving as I did not find any shortcoming.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

White asparagus soup, beef tartare and t ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

White asparagus soup, beef tartare and the foie gras were amazing. Our server offered wine pairing. Wine selection is great.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fantastic. It was great the own ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Food was fantastic. It was great the owner rounded on the tables and ensured her guests had what they needed! Excellent wine list! Overall, extremely enjoyable!!

food4
ambience5
service4
value2

One of the best views in Vancouver, food ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

One of the best views in Vancouver, food and service excellent ...consistant with the highest prices in the city. Had a celebration business dinner here on 5/19/16. Everything was great BUT the wine markup was actually offensive. $13USD bottle of memoi pinot at BC liquor store $23 - $80+ at restaurant. Bottle of joseph phelps current year marked up $400. I can understand double but marginal bottles you would buy for less than 30 are marked up 100/bottle or more. Would not return only because of this. Not worth drinking mediocre quality wine to not add $500 markup to the bill over every other first class restaurant in the city. Cioppinos used to have the highest markup.....now is in second place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five Sails dining was an extraordinary e ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Five Sails dining was an extraordinary experience. We were welcomed by very gracious hosts and the background music made us feel very relaxed. I did not expect to be treated as a real special guest. The seasonal spotted prawns appetizer was very yummy. We also got surprise complimentary appie and desserts and they were oh, so delectable! My husband, my friend and I had a very lovely evening at the restaurant. I would love to go back there again... a wonderful place to catch up with long friends or have a business meeting.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Friday night

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Wanted to have a nice Friday date with my spouse after working a long week. Sunny evening with a clear view of the mountains and water. Warmly greeted by Gerry, and shown to our table with a view to the park and water. Great food! Dover sole done just a little differently from the usual, but so flavourful and unique. We will have to do it again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Failure of expectations

Dined on May 13, 2016

An exciting menu with an emphasis on quality, hard to find ingredients was defeated by over complexity in presentation. Significant errors in the final bill did not help.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Weekend Getaway

Dined on May 8, 2016

I came here with a good friend of mine while on a weekend getaway to Vancouver. This restaurant is definitely something special. The food was exceptional, the service outstanding, and the view remarkable. Our check was higher than expected but it was completely worth the cost. Whoever the chef is has a gift, not a talent, with food preparation - it was the most delicious, mouth-watering dinner I've ever had. Furthermore, our waiter was simply the cherry on top of the cake - he was funny, charismatic and just so skillfully delightful. Everything about this restaurant was spectacular and I would definitely recommend it to anyone coming into Vancouver.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter really went out of his way to ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our waiter really went out of his way to make sure that we enjoyed our meal. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was lovely. We'll be back the next time we're in Vancouver.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service excellent.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food and service excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We Love It!

Dined on May 7, 2016

We came here to celebrate the Mother's Day. My parents love it and we enjoyed the time a lot! Not just the food is excellent, the service is fantastic. Thank you Chef for the freebies like vegie soup and cute dessert! It was a nice experience at the Five Sails! We'll come again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sailing sailing!

Dined on May 2, 2016

Great restaurant and great service to celebrate my wife's birthday. I would highly recommend to all.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Maybe a Bad Evening?

Dined on May 2, 2016

Everyone has an off moment. This may have been the restaurant's time. The restaurant did accommodate our change of time for our reservation for which we were greatful. The decided to put us at the only table set on the inside of the floor layout away from the window seating that had been requested. We ordered appetizers first. Two scallops for $20! The Steak Tartare was very appealing visually but was not at its best when eaten. The AHI TUNA SASHIMI came to the table looking like ketchup soup and the taste was unfortunately, not much better. The main courses we ordered were the CATCH (lobster and swordfish) and BAKED SABLE FISH. The lobster was very rubbery and the swordfish oily. The Sable fish was also very oily. This restaurant has many rave reviews. WE left disappointed but will try it again some day assuming it was just an off night.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Post Opera Dinner

Dined on May 2, 2016

This was an outstanding experience. I thought the service more than matched that of the finest restaurants I have dined at - and I eat out a lot! The food was excellent if a little on the sparse side. The restaurant was quiet and the view really beautiful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent seafood

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

The service was good, with some staff being more standout than others. A few took a more casual approach while others were very respectful and stood back a bit more. I prefer the latter while my husband likes the former, so this was perfectly fine. We enjoyed the beautiful scenery but most of all the food, which without exception was excellent. Best seafood we have had in Vancouver, which in no small part could be attributed to the perfect sauces used on every dish. Chose not to drink too much as the food was so enjoyable I didn't want to dull the experience in the slightest. Great for a special occasion and not crowded, highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

wedding anniversary dinner

Dined on April 24, 2016

We booked this restuarant based on its great reviews as we wanted somewhere very special to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were seated at a table at the window which had a great view. We both went with the tasting menu and enjoyed the food and interesting dishes. But with the high price tag I think we were expecting to be blown away and it fell a little short. that said service was excellent and we had a lovely time.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, display,display, services,view

Dined on April 18, 2016

Enjoy a elegant, romantic, spiritual dinner with Vancouver spectacular waterfront view with warm and classy services. Outstanding food with traditional and creative touch menu. A place you can go a million times and feel good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made for a very, very special night

Dined on April 16, 2016

My girlfriend was visiting from overseas and I wanted to take her somewhere nice. I didn't expect the overall service and experience to be so good. The waiters were great at reading the mood and the owner was extremely nice. The food also tasted excellent. Thanks for such a good memory.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant!

Dined on March 27, 2016

I would highly recommend this restaurant. Our sever was great! The food was fantastic! The view was wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Food was ok! Restaurant was practically ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Food was ok! Restaurant was practically empty but still took so long for food. Our drinks we ordered were so bad but no attempt to offer us a replacement.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely evening

Dined on March 21, 2016

Great food, great service, wonderful view, who could ask for more? This is our go-to special occasion restaurant and it never disappoints.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent view and food

Dined on March 11, 2016

The owner she is so kind and change the seats for our guest.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

One of the best settings for a five-star ...

vip
Dined on March 8, 2016

One of the best settings for a five-star restaurant in Vancouver.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A memorable dinner

Dined on March 7, 2016

Our first visit to the Five Sails restaurant was memorable. It was an elegant dining experience, but with relaxed, friendly service. The duck breast was tender and the fois gras melted in my mouth. The sea bass and scallops were just right, not over-cooked. We had no difficulty choosing wines from the generous selection. As we were celebrating a special birthday, the extra touches recognizing that occasion were appreciated. The only slight improvement for me would have been a larger dessert menu that had a few more desserts that didn't involve ice cream or frozen layers. Still, we would certainly go back with friends to sample more of the dishes in this lovely restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food great venue

Dined on March 3, 2016

If you want good food and wine in a great location this is the place to come

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Chef's tasting menu is a memorable experience

Dined on February 28, 2016

I loved this restaurant -food and the wine are as good as the view. I usually avoid hotel restaurants but this one is to be embraced - not avoided. The tasting menu was wonderful - ahi tuna and foie gras worked beautifully. The optional scallop was cooked perfectly and I used the wonderful bread to "sop" every delicious drop of the sauce. My favorite course was the lamb cooked perfectly and the seasonings and sauce were divine - really. The sommelier was wonderful - his choice of the taste blends were perfect. The only real criticism I had was that,due to a busy night, the delivery of the courses a bit improperly paced. The food and service were excellent and the view over the harbor was magnificent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.