Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Five Sails Restaurant

Proprietors, Chef Ernst Dorfler and Gerry Sayers invite you to experience their unforgettable combination of breathtaking views of Vancouver, fresh and fabulous 4 Diamond award winning cuisine and gracious hospitality in their beautiful, private restaurant located inside the Pan Pacific Vancouver.




The Five Sails features world class dining in an unmatched setting with stunning views of the water, mountains, and Stanley Park. There is an intimate private dining room for up to 20 guests, a chic bar/lounge area with modern fireplace and the addition of cozy, elevated booths for more relaxed dining.



Proprietors, Chef Ernst Dorfler and his wife Gerry Sayers offer their hands on attention to detail with beautifully presented cuisine featuring modern classics with European influences on their seasonal a la carte menu, vegetarian menu & Chef's Tasting menu with wine pairings selected by Sommelier, Ramon Fresneda.

Located on R level Pan Pacific Hotel, 999 Canada Place
Vancouver, BC V6C 3E1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, French, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Last seating for dinner is @ 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Howe Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 844-2855

Website:
http://www.fivesails.ca/

Parking Details:
Public parking is available at Canada Place and valet services are offered based on availability at the Pan Pacific Hotel entrance. Flat fees for parking apply after 6:00pm.

Public Transit:
The closest bus stop is located at the Sea Bus Terminal at the North end of Granville Street and Cordova Street.

Executive Chef:
Ernst Dorfler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
* The Five Sails will not be participating in Dine Out Vancouver 2017. We will be open and offering our regular menu only. Thank you!

Private Dining

From 10 - 140 guests, the Five Sails offers AAA Four Diamond award cuisine and service for the ultimate private event experience, all with a spectacular natural backdrop and views of Vancouver's inner harbour & coastal mountains. The Five Sails private dining room accommodates from 10-20 guests

Five Sails Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (41)
Special Occasion (38)
Waterfront (37)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Romantic (30)
Good for a Date (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Tasting Menu (13)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Cozy (10)
Local Ingredients (8)
Business Meals (8)
Authentic (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Healthy (3)
Private Room (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Casual (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Seasonal (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Organic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Live Music (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Fun (1)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1482 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined a day ago

The food and wine was truly outstanding from start to finish. Appetizer was tuna tartare. What an amazing combination of flavours. The fish was clearly super high quality. The flavours would explode in your mouth. Mains were daily catch, salmon and the Pacific halibut. All the mains were truly outstanding. Very tender and fresh flavours. The sauces were a perfect match. The suggested wine was a perfect match. The service was excellent. They went out of their way to help with pictures as well. Needless to say, the views are amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Very disappointed and dissatisfied, poor service, they don't do cork cage, very rude service, not kind at all, the food is ok but the spot is too much for so quiet and unhappy restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Service was extremely slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

From start to finish our experience was spectacular. Hosts were pleasant, our table outstanding, service even better. The menu had many options and both our appetizers, mains and desserts were beyond expectations. The signature dessert- grand marnier soufflé is worth the wait

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Went to Five Sails Restaurant for the first time in our 2 year anniversary. Both me and my girlfriend ordered the 3 course seasonal menu. We had squash soup with pumpkin seed for the appetizer, then then we had slow poached salmon with whipped potatoes for the main course, and finally we had lemon curd tarte for our dessert. The waiter was aware of our anniversary and gave us a nice little chocolate mouse with candles on top just before we left. Overall the dining experience was excellent, and I would definitely recommend anyone to try at Five Sails who wants to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, or just have a fun time with a nice meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Fabulous , amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Incredible service, amazing food, and an amazing experience! The view from the restaurant was beautiful. We felt we were treated like special guests. It left my friend and I in awe.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 27, 2017

A total disappointment. The food was overpriced and with a limited menu. Food was plain, simple and without flavour. The view is nice but I went there to enjoy good food and and never came.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great service. Good food. Cozy view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The entire staff was very attentive. From the hostess, bartender, serving staff, and the manager. We were very impressed with how wonderful the food was and earth hour was a great touch to the beautiful ambiance that included a beautiful view of the city.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Top notch service!! And the food was amazing. We did the 5 course tasting w wine pairing and added a waygu beef. The views were beautiful. I highly recommend this place. Dress up and be ready to spend for great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The food was only exceeded by the ambiance and the service!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 21, 2017

We've been here before several times and enjoyed the food and service here. However, it was very different this time round.

We ordered Lobster bisque and foie gras to start. Bisque is probably one of the best ones in Vancouver.

Entree - In our party, we ordered Lamb Rack, Venison, Duck Breast and Sable Fish. It took 30 minutes for the entrees to arrive. First the fish...both of my friends tried the fish, and the sauce was way too salty. And the mushrooms were too. It was way too salty to have a second bite. My friends sent their dishes back. Manager came to apologize, like any restaurant would do. However, we were expecting a little bit more responsiveness from a restaurant as such. Manager offer my friends the sea bass. It was clear from their contemplation that they didn't want to substitute with the sea bass but he stood there without offering another option. In the end, both my friends decided not to order any entree. It was to my surprise that the manager was not able to resolve the issue by asking a few more questions to address the needs of my friends. He could've offered the same fish with a different sauce or grilled veggies instead of mushrooms! It will for sure look very bad on an high end restaurant if they tell their circle of influence "we left hungry". We were just looking for a bit more from the manager.
I had the duck breast and my boyfriend had the venison. I've had duck breast at Five Sails before and i loved it so much that I had to order it again this time. The plating has changed. This time, much more busy. There were 6-7 different components to my dish. The duck was cooked to order. Flavour of the Puree was just right. But with so many components on such a small plate, it was difficult to taste everything. My palette was bombarded with too many flavors at once. The venison plate was similar. Too much noise.
Overall, i think food and service has just declined in just a few months span. Hope to see an improvement.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

One of the best dining experiences we've had. Service, quality, ambiance were all exceptional. View was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My boyfriend and I celebrated our anniversary here. They treated us well from the start - hostess hanging up our coats and getting our table set up. Our waiter was also quite professional and they gave us a complimentary mini appetizer and dessert. Their service made our special occasion even better! Would definitely come back again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

:The service is great. Chaddy always does a good job. We don't appreciate being pushed out the
door by the chef stating he has to know the whole order at 9:00

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Great menu, special the chef's menu with appetizer, entree and desert

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Very long wait for the main course

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Views of Cole Harbor are spectacular. Looking at the sea plain takeoff area.
We had a very good dinner and best local Okanagan Wines.
Great service and place for a special dinner.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Went here for a special celebration. Our lasting impression was that when the waitress noticed my signifant other and I weren't big spenders compared to the other patrons we completely lost her attention. We had to flag the bussers and other waiters for assistance multiple times. Oir original waitress only engaged eith us to deliver the check. They provided fine service (after about 40 minutes) but it was inconsistent, and seemed like a recovery effort by that point.

Disappointing overall because of the price and the praise. The food is really delicious, but the service we experienced could have been outmatched at a similar restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Hong Kong)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We had a very good dinner, best fish in my life!
Gerry was very kind to call and make the arrangmets for us!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Wife and I came here for our anniversary dinner and ordered the tasting menu. The service was fabulous as well as the food.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food, we both had fish, wonderful view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Excellent food with an wonderful view. Staff was very attentive and make you feel welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Amazing dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was a bit on the salty side that evening. Otherwise, everything else was excellent. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

5 stars service! an excellent north shore view! you will not feel disappointed.
to some people it may be a bit more than they want to spend for a dinner but if you want to experience a true fine dining experience, five sails is highly recommended!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Authentic, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Second time to the restaurant. First time was our first year anniversary and this time was for my birthday. Food was amazing, beautiful waterfront view and very attentive staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent views, well laid out dining room, great service. Food timing was slow and meats were a tad too dry but tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food is delicious and beautifully presented, the service excellent and the view is wonderful. It is always a treat to dine at the Five Sails.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great service with a well balanced atmosphere . Me and my girlfriend was in the private room area. We both had the chefs choice 6 course meal and it was a great sample of what the chef chooses as their top dish. Will come again - great service with great food!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This is the second time we have dined at the Sails restaurant. Both times the food ,steak (first visit) and Sea Bass (2nd) has been done to perfection . The service was flawless. I would definitely recommend to anyone with a discerning palate .

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very good, excellent presentation, high praise for the chef!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We enjoyed our meal and service at Five Sails - very memorable

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was very good, taste and presentation. Our waitress was impatient and it felt as we were rushed to order although the restaurant was not full. The rest of the servers and the front desk were great. Over all we enjoyed our time

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

outstanding food and service.truly a jewel in Vanouver

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Food portions very small and therefore not worth the high cost

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Chinese New Year

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fireplace, Family Style, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Food is just fantastic and well seasoned, but it takes a little long time to wait for the dish~

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Beautiful setting on the water. Excellent food and location. Great restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.