Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Five Sails Restaurant

Proprietors, Chef Ernst Dorfler and Gerry Sayers invite you to experience their unforgettable combination of breathtaking views of Vancouver, fresh and fabulous 4 Diamond award winning cuisine and gracious hospitality in their beautiful, private restaurant located inside the Pan Pacific Vancouver.




The Five Sails features world class dining in an unmatched setting with stunning views of the water, mountains, and Stanley Park. There is an intimate private dining room for up to 20 guests, a chic bar/lounge area with modern fireplace and the addition of cozy, elevated booths for more relaxed dining.



Proprietors, Chef Ernst Dorfler and his wife Gerry Sayers offer their hands on attention to detail with beautifully presented cuisine featuring modern classics with European influences on their seasonal a la carte menu, vegetarian menu & Chef's Tasting menu with wine pairings selected by Sommelier, Ramon Fresneda.

Located on R level Pan Pacific Hotel, 999 Canada Place
Vancouver, BC V6C 3E1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, French, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Last seating for dinner is @ 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Howe Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 844-2855

Website:
http://www.fivesails.ca/

Parking Details:
Public parking is available at Canada Place and valet services are offered based on availability at the Pan Pacific Hotel entrance. Flat fees for parking apply after 6:00pm.

Public Transit:
The closest bus stop is located at the Sea Bus Terminal at the North end of Granville Street and Cordova Street.

Executive Chef:
Ernst Dorfler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
* The Five Sails will not be participating in Dine Out Vancouver 2017. We will be open and offering our regular menu only. Thank you!

Five Sails Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (74)
Waterfront (66)
Special Occasion (55)
See All
Romantic (55)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Good for a Date (42)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Business Meals (25)
Cozy (21)
Notable Wine List (21)
Local Ingredients (20)
Tasting Menu (18)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Groups (11)
Seasonal (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Authentic (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Casual (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Fun (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Vegan (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1584 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary. Great service. Fantastic food. Amazing views. We loved it and will tell everyone about Five Sails!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

My wife & I celebrated our 25th Wedding anniversary there this week & really enjoyed the food, the wine, the service, the ambiance and the beautiful view. It was nice to have the manager come over & say hi. Of all the wonderful restaurants in Vancouver to choose from to celebrate our silver anniversary, we are glad we chose The Five Sails. Every thing and every one there made our evening truly a memorable one. Five Sails deserves a Five Star rating. :-)

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on August 15, 2017

This an ultra modern food restaurant. My wife loved it. I did not. I prefer traditional food.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Awesome food and incredible service. Best Halibut I have ever eaten. A very special dinner our first night in Vancouver .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Restaurant with a great view & special service. We think this is a good place for a special occasion event. Somewhat pricey.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

口コミを見て良い評価だったので、予約して、行きました。
期待しすぎてとても残念でした、料理が美味しくないです。味濃いめです。
景色はいいけど、窓際ではなかったので全然意味なかったです。

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

A lot of promise, but underwhelming on delivery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Amazing view and excellent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Super friendly personal service accompanied by great food of excellent quality and lovely views. The staff were especially attentive to the children without being overbearing. All in all a splendid experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Excellent overall but the baby crying loudly and steadily ruined the end of dinner. Noise level ranked low for the single baby crying and the staff seemed oblivious to the noise or the comfort of other diners. Probably wouldn't return because of that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We dine here whenever we are in Vancouver. The food is always excellent and service is wonderful. The view is outstanding over looking the harbor.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Very nice place with beautiful views and fantastic venue.
Very caring and interested properitors
Kitchen good, but lack of tastes
Good winelist, but more local wines please, specially bubbles, why not?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 5, 2017

A fantastic end to our honeymoon! Everything was perfect, the only problem was the smoke from the wild fires obscuring the view. Everything was great inside the restaurant though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Food was excellent but service was sub par for a restaurant of this caliber. Had to ask to have water glasses refilled. Dessert timing was the worst I have had at a restaurant in this class. We indicated we would have a soufflé early due to the 25 min prep time. It comes out before dinner plates were removed and before others in our party had a chance to order dessert. So rather than have it go cold we ate it while others in party waited for their dessert to arrive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 4, 2017

2017-08-03: Dinner was at 1900 at Five Sails Restaurant, across the street from our hotel. We selected the Chef’s Tasting Menu (96) with wine pairings (59). First came an amuse-bouche of carrot soup with a bit of ahi tuna. The first course was Chilled Quebec foie gras terrine infused with port and red wine and asparagus “mimosa” accompanied by a glass of Mumm Brut Prestige, Napa. The second course consisted of Dungeness crab and avocado with crème fraiche, apple and citrus, accompanied by a glass of Black Hills “Alibi” 2015, Black Sage Bench, B.C. The third course was Honey glazed smoked Brome Lake Duck with caramelized mango, pink peppercorns and huckleberry sauce served with a glass of 1st R.O.W Estate “Big Red” 2013. Fraser V. B.C. The fourth course was Roast milk fed tenderloin wrapped in pancetta with crispy veal sweet breads, crab and herb ravioli, morels in a silky Port wine sauce served with a glass of Torres “Ibericos” Crianza 2012/13, Rioja, Spain. Finally, dessert was Luxe lemon mille-feullies delicate layers of crisp phyllo pastry with chilled lemon cream & parfait garnished with pearls of orange “caviar” fresh berry puree served with a glass of Ch Armajandee Ormes 2010, Sauterne, France.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 2, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing! Best wine I had on my trip to Canada too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 2, 2017

We were 6 people, all guests of the hotel. We arrived on time for reservation but had difficulty getting service. We waited for water, waited for our cocktails, waited for our wine order - worked with sommelier who was very helpful but waiter did not attend to us to pour when needed, had to ask passing bus person or sommelier to pour. Waiter did not take our order in a timely fashion nor did he explain pre-order for special soufle for dessert. When we questioned him after dinner about dessert, he just shrugged when we said we would have liked to order the souffle but it was too late. Food was excellent, service was awful. Waiter did not explain dishes well and interrupted our time to order by leaving and attending another table. Very poor. We all felt the same after the meal. Food A+ but wait staff D.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on August 2, 2017

The evening was very relaxing after a hectic week - with excellent food, service and ambience ( no rushing to seat the next reservation - they treat everyone like a valued guest). I definitely recommend Five Sails - especially for a special evening out at Vancouver's harbourfront.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Cozy, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Organic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 30, 2017

food was very good, although one of our dishes arrived cold (unexpected in a restaurant of this calibre) and that disrupted the flow of the meal. they seemed only mildly apologetic. given the prices, I expected more.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent restaurant! Well above any other restaurant in the area! View was incredible! Food presentation, flavors, variety of choices, wine list excellent, service above average, and taste...OMG! Grand Marnier Soufflé was the best I have ever tasted. Sea bass, Catch, lamb, steak, lobster (out of the shell) were all prepared to perfection! Foie gras was extradionary! Ostera caviar was fresh and served beautifully. I could go on and on about the food, service, and wine but you will have to go and enjoy your selves. Perfect evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Service and food were excellent, and the view was even better. A bit expensive, but worth it, especially for special occasions. Highly recommend and reservations are a must. Only drawback was parking was crowded and could be expensive, depending on when you arrive.

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 27, 2017

I came with my girlfriend who had never been and have always wanted to go. But she does not have money like that so I treat her to only the best fine dining , since I've eaten here before I know the food is 👍

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Every course of the meal was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Loved this restaurant! My family and I were on a trip to Vancouver and we ate here on our last day! The food is amazing and the view is spectacular! I would definitely recommend to a friend!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 23, 2017

I enjoyed an excellent meal with picturesque presentation. The chef served complimentary appetizers to the dining guests on the day of my visit. There are two points that should be noted that kept this restaurant from receiving my highest rating: (1) a dining guest should never have to ask to have to ask to have their water glass refilled in an acclaimed 5-star restaurant; and (2) when ordering a desert in an acclaimed 5-star restaurant that has an ice cream accompaniment, a guest should never receive melting ice cream. Overall, the ambiance was complemented by the great view of Coal Harbour.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Beautiful setting at the harbor in Vancouver. Excellent food, very good service. Extensive wine list. Great for special occasions. Pricey but hard to complain since the food and service were so good. Plus we were able to linger over our meal without feeling rushed. Eating here is always a special treat when visiting Vancouver

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Phenomenal meal offered as as a pris fix was huge value. Good selection of quality BC wines among others. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. View is unbeatable. Went twice on our trip! A must do.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Wonderful restaurant with incredible views! Service is flawless and waters and bread basket were always filled. Price is extravagant for portion size but everything we had was well cooked and flavourful. For me, it's a special occasion only restaurant but it's well worth it for an event. Order the soufflé!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2017

The view is out of this world, and the food as well. We were a party of six and every single dish was outstanding ! Love the great experience.
I hope to return again Soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Our dinners were excellent and the atmosphere quiet and calming, with a lovely panoramic view of Vancouver's Coal Harbor. Lisa, our charming server, was very attentive and helpful. The chef adapted some of our selections to meet non-dairy requirements. Truly a terrific choice for a delicious dinner in a special setting!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The staff were attentive but not intrusive. Fixed three part menu was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Excellent seafood restaurant with a great view of the waterfront in Vancouver. Classy setting, attentive service - I would recommend Five Sails for any special occasion.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Nothing to dislike here. Thought it was great value for what you were getting.

Great service. If you like to cook -get a seat near the pass. It's mesmerising

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Lovely spot for a dinner date. The food, service and ambiance are very good, but the selling point is the spectacular harbor view.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 14, 2017

Consistently top notch food and service! Will definitely visit again.

My daughter is also very surprised that every staff addressed her by name. It's her birthday dinner.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 13, 2017

This is the best restaurant I have been to for the quality of the food and the amazing view!

Tags: Healthy, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 12, 2017

By far the best meal we had in Vancouver, and hardly mentioned on the various websites I went on to find it.

Beautiful food, service and views. Highly recommend

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Great place, great staff, great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.