Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Five Sails Restaurant

Proprietors, Chef Ernst Dorfler and Gerry Sayers invite you to experience their unforgettable combination of breathtaking views of Vancouver, fresh and fabulous 4 Diamond award winning cuisine and gracious hospitality in their beautiful, private restaurant located inside the Pan Pacific Vancouver.




The Five Sails features world class dining in an unmatched setting with stunning views of the water, mountains, and Stanley Park. There is an intimate private dining room for up to 20 guests, a chic bar/lounge area with modern fireplace and the addition of cozy, elevated booths for more relaxed dining.



Proprietors, Chef Ernst Dorfler and his wife Gerry Sayers offer their hands on attention to detail with beautifully presented cuisine featuring modern classics with European influences on their seasonal a la carte menu, vegetarian menu & Chef's Tasting menu with wine pairings selected by Sommelier, Ramon Fresneda.

Located on R level Pan Pacific Hotel, 999 Canada Place
Vancouver, BC V6C 3E1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, French, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Last seating for dinner is @ 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Howe Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 844-2855

Website:
http://www.fivesails.ca/

Parking Details:
Public parking is available at Canada Place and valet services are offered based on availability at the Pan Pacific Hotel entrance. Flat fees for parking apply after 6:00pm.

Public Transit:
The closest bus stop is located at the Sea Bus Terminal at the North end of Granville Street and Cordova Street.

Executive Chef:
Ernst Dorfler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
* The Five Sails will not be participating in Dine Out Vancouver 2017. We will be open and offering our regular menu only. Thank you!

Five Sails Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (80)
Waterfront (67)
Special Occasion (59)
See All
Romantic (54)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Good for a Date (43)
Quiet Conversation (35)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Business Meals (25)
Tasting Menu (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Cozy (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Authentic (8)
Seasonal (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Healthy (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Fun (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Casual (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
People Watching (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1628 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Our server was very attentive and helpful
Very delightful to have her as our server. But i was surpise to see our wagyu came with fries

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

Consistently the best!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We wanted something special to celebrate our first wedding anniversary, we picked Five Sails off of the reviews we read. It did not disappoint. The food was exceptional, the service was professional (there really is a difference), the atmosphere was lovely, the whole experience was well worth it.
The best food and wine we have had in a very long time! Would recommend to anyone looking for a romantic setting with phenominal food, great views, and a one of a kind experience in dining.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

Me and my friend had dinner following the opera matinee. Still light, from our table by the window we enjoyed a wonderful water view. The service was attentive and very well timed. My venison dinner was delicious. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Outstanding food and service. We discovered 1 hour before our expected reservation that we had reserved on the wrong day. Gerry was very accommodating when I called to make a change. We had the 5 course tasting menu with the wine pairings. Everything was well balanced and the wine selections just right. We had a table right by the window which added to the experience. We’ve been fortunate enough to eat at some of the best places around the world and this reminded us of some of those wonderful experiences.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

We satisfied with food patet of foigrat is excellent, but service level is not so good

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 9, 2017

The Chef's choice menu is totally not worth its $58 price tag. Consider it carefully when it is your first visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Wonderful way to celebrate my birthday! Attentive but discrete and wonderful food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Views , service and food are all top notch! We enjoyed a drink before dinner at the bar wth Orin. You can't go wrong at Five Sails!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2017

View from a table at the window at sunset was spectacular. Service was friendly, and adequate, but hardly attentive at a 4 or 5 star level. The featured desert requires 35 minutes but we were not told about it until it was time to order desert...a missed opportunity for us and them. No specials were described to us, although an adjacent table with a different waiter did have a conversation. I had to refill my own wine glass 3 Times and, I was presented with the wrong check at the end.

The food was flawless, a cold appetizer of scallop ceviche , crab stuffed avocado, etc. was superb. Halibut and sea bass main dishes were beyond reproach, good food well presented. The ability to order a half liter of wine from a nice, if limited, selection was very much appreciated.

A nice, if pricey, experience. With a little more attentive service it would be worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Truly a wonderful evening. Great menu and an absolutely amazing view. Truly memorable. The service was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2017

great choice for birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great place. Limited choices. Great server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

One of the best dining experiences I've ever had! I booked Five Sails for my mom's bday dinner and can't be happier. From when we arrived at the restaurant to the time we left, everybody made my mom (and all of us) feel very special. Everyone greeted my mom a happy birthday. They were very attentive and warm towards us. The food is excellent, the service top-notch, this is one of the rare times I feel the restaurant should have charged me more. We were just blown away! Thank you Five Sails!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

One of the most memorable dining experiences we've had anywhere in the world. It is unusual to find extraordinary views exceeded by the quality of the fare and attentiveness of the staff. It is expensive and darned well worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Beautiful restaurant with a view and excellent food.

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on September 20, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed a wonderful meal, with a great view and very good service. There was absolutely nothing wrong with the experience.The only reason I did not give it a higher rating is that it is up against tough competition in Vancouver. The other two nights we ate at Le Crocodile and Blue Water Café both of which just hit it out of the park.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

Absolutely phenomenal from start to finish......arrive at 5:30 opening if you wish a window table. Recommend the full tasting menu along with the wine tasting menu - every aspect was perfect. Impeccable service.....each course was almost too beautiful to eat - but we did!!!
A perfect evening.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I booked on OpenTable and made a special request (a window table because both my wife and I were celebrating our birthdays). We arrived and they acknowledged our birthday and accommodated our request with a beautiful view. My wife has chosen a gluten free lifestyle (I know I know) and the restaurant was respectful, and completely on top of it. No issues (they even customized the tuna tar tar for her). The menu is actually very GF friendly FYI. This was our 3rd time there and we will keep coming. Food was amazing and very reasonably priced for a fine dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 15, 2017

My wife & I had dinner at Five Sails on a visit to Vancouver in mid September. The food and service were very good. The view is awesome!

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Surprise ruined! It was for a special birthday dinner and I preordered a dessert with a customized message. After our meal, I expected them to get us the dessert I preordered, but instead, they gave us dessert menu to order. When I asked about the preordered dessert, they didn't know about it, then came back later and said they got it. When the dessert did come, it was a poorly written message on a piece of chocolate, put in front of tiny slice of cake on a tiny plate, instead of the actual dessert I preordered!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 12, 2017

very delicious food, good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Excellent food. Excellent service. Excellent view. 5 stars!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This was a tourist restaurant. The C$290 meal for 2 people (no extravagant wines or food) was not commensurate with the taste and preparation of the food or service - it was more expected from a B restaurant that might charge less than C$70. We were promised the amuse bouche, however, it had been forgotten only after we mentioned it - it was brought after the starter; a tuna sashimi that was not fresh - it didn't even taste or look like tuna. The woman who served us was very likely good at many things, however, one of them wasn't service. We were hoping to have a cocktail then a glass of wine with our meal. By the time she got around to taking our order and bringing us the wine, we were nearly through with our mains. In addition, she was not a friendly host that we'd come to expect of the restaurants typical of Vancouver.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Beautiful space, amazing staff, attentive owner. Fantastic experience. Have the veal and the seafood trio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 6, 2017

We were celebrating our youngest son and his wife's first wedding anniversary, her birthday and my birthday. The Five Sails made all spectacular. The food was beautiful and tasted superb. The service was efficient, informative and helpful without being conspicuous. Thank you Five Sails, once again for celebrating with us our special moments and making them more so.
Peggy

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

Went to restaurant for a business meal, Food was very good, service was good. View of water was nice.

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Creative dinner menu, great presentation and good taste. Will try again for lunch soon.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 4, 2017

We were celebrating a wedding anniversary and a birthday on September 3 @ 730pm. We were greeted with a "Happy Anniversary" by the Maitre'd. That really impressed us and got the evening off to a good start. We had a table overlooking the Harbour where we could watch both the setting sun and the 5 sails light up. Our waiter Ben got the message when we said we were in no hurry and preferred to enjoy our martini before ordering dinner. He provided excellent service and knowledgeable suggestions.
What a nice surprise when we were treated to a tasty amuse bouche - piping hot celeriac soup and a bite of fresh tuna. Thank you.
We spent some time looking at the menu and finally decided on Dover sole for myself and Sea bass for my husband. Oh my goodness - what a fabulous choice we both made! Cooked to perfection and bursting with flavour.... beyond what we had anticipated.
We were advised to preorder the Grande Marnier soufflé. Served with home made run ice cream, it was the perfect ending to our dinner.
Prices were what we expected and we topped up the dinner with a nice Sauvignon Blanc Semillon - perfect with our seafood. Glasses were kept topped up.
The atmosphere and music were gentle, we felt comfortable throughout the meal and all service attendants knew the menu well and were able to answer our questions. We are definitely returning to the 5 Sails. Reservations recommended even on a Sunday night. Thank you again for making our celebrations one to remember. - Linda & Bill

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Made a reservation for an anniversary and a secondary celebration and was blown away by the service and the amount of knowledge my waiter had on wine and overall service. Gave great recommendations for which wines goes well with which foods. The staff catered to my nights need, window placement was a bonus , the views are amazing! Planning on going back for a second night of dining.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Fun, Authentic, Romantic, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Great meal to end a holiday, three children were looked after with real attention. Top restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Amazing food and great service, and and beautiful views!!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raum Frankfurt)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Wir sind aufgrund einer Empfehlung in dieses Lokal gegangen und waren begeistert. Wenn auch nicht wirklich preisgünstig, stimmt doch das Preis-/Leistungsverhältnis. Sehr netter Empfang, leckeres Essen und eine wunderschöne Sicht. Umbedingt weiterzuempfehlen in Vancouver!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

Exelent! The food and place were perfect. Amazing view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Went for the view expecting the food to be typical hotel dining fare. We were very pleasantly surprised. Despite being in the Pan Asian hotel this was unlike any other hotel dining experience. From awesome food to attentive and gracious service and an outstanding view of Vancouver's harbor this was a first rate experience. If we lived there we would definitely go again and again.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Amazing food with an amazing view. This is a fantastic restaurant that is well managed and run. It is in a beautiful building. Highly recommended, especially for a special occasion. Likely the best restaurant in Vancouver - a well kept secret.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The start of the evening was great staff was welcoming and the view is lovely. Waiters were slow to bring water to the table and didnt do so until the entire table arrived which was too bad. The food was good however the waiter got my order wrong and brought the wrong appetizer. Wine selection is also good. All that said, I had high expectations, this being my first time at five sails, and I'm now happy I didn't go to five sails sooner! At the price point of the meal there are restaurants in Vancouver that will provide much better service and dining experience as well as have a similar style of cuisine that is prepared much better. Five sails does have the advantage of the view. But for my money I would go to blue water first every time.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We were celebrating a birthday, unfortunately, there was a boisterous group nearby and we asked to change seats and the hostess was quite haughty about it. Anyhow the rest of the meal was good. The food was cooked to perfection, drinks and wait staff was awesome. Tip: If you want window seat ask during the reservation itself. Bit on the pricey side but great for celebrations!

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Spectacular Waterview. Food was very artistically presented. Seabass was exceptional. Good waitstaff.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Execellent food and great service was beyond our expectations.
And beautiful view from dinner table was another benefit to us.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.