About Five Sails Restaurant

Located on R level Pan Pacific Hotel, 999 Canada Place
Vancouver, BC V6C 3E1
View Larger Map

Proprietors, Chef Ernst Dorfler and Gerry Sayers invite you to experience their unforgettable combination of breathtaking views of Vancouver, fresh and fabulous 4 Diamond award winning cuisine and gracious hospitality in their beautiful, private restaurant located inside the Pan Pacific Vancouver.




The Five Sails features world class dining in an unmatched setting with stunning views of the water, mountains, and Stanley Park. There is an intimate private dining room for up to 20 guests, a chic bar/lounge area with modern fireplace and the addition of cozy, elevated booths for more relaxed dining.



Proprietors, Chef Ernst Dorfler and his wife Gerry Sayers offer their hands on attention to detail with beautifully presented cuisine featuring modern classics with European influences on their seasonal a la carte menu, vegetarian menu & Chef's Tasting menu with wine pairings selected by Sommelier, Ramon Fresneda.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, French, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Last seating for dinner is @ 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Howe Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 844-2855

Website:
http://www.fivesails.ca/

Parking Details:
Public parking is available at Canada Place and valet services are offered based on availability at the Pan Pacific Hotel entrance. Flat fees for parking apply after 6:00pm.

Public Transit:
The closest bus stop is located at the Sea Bus Terminal at the North end of Granville Street and Cordova Street.

Executive Chef:
Ernst Dorfler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
* The Five Sails will not be participating in Dine Out Vancouver 2017. We will be open and offering our regular menu only. Thank you!

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

We are featuring exclusively on February 14th - Chef Ernst Dorfler's set 4 Course Valentine's Day menu @ 100. pp + 18% service gratuity & 5% gst. We offer 2 seatings for 2 1/2 hours starting from 5:30pm. A vegetarian alternate is available upon request.

Private Dining

From 10 - 140 guests, the Five Sails offers AAA Four Diamond award cuisine and service for the ultimate private event experience, all with a spectacular natural backdrop and views of Vancouver's inner harbour & coastal mountains. The Five Sails private dining room accommodates from 10-20 guests

Five Sails Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (52)
Scenic View (51)
Special Occasion (47)
See All
Romantic (40)
Good for a Date (36)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Business Meals (19)
Tasting Menu (18)
Cozy (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Local Ingredients (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Private Room (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Seasonal (5)
Great for Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Authentic (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Healthy (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Casual (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fun (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Live Sports (1)
Live Music (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1442 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Beautiful setting on the water. Excellen ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 2 days ago

Beautiful setting on the water. Excellent food and location. Great restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous views from this restaurant and ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous views from this restaurant and we loved the entrees that we had (sea bass and sole). They take great care in food preparation and presentation. Impressive!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been here several times over the ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

We have been here several times over the last few years and is always good. This time we went with all fish - starters and main - still very good.

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu had lots of variety and was ver ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

The menu had lots of variety and was very much to our liking. There were 7 of us for a business dinner and everyone left very satisfied! Highly recommended. Portion sizes were respectable. It is quite pricy, but the food and service is top notch, and the ambiance is indeed impressive. Easily in the same class as Hawksworth, Chambar, Blue Water Cafe, and our recent favourite Cioppino's. we will return soon.

Tags: Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went there for New Years dinner. The foo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went there for New Years dinner. The food was great and worth the $110 set menu price. 3 appetizers, one main, dessert, then coffee with chocolate and cookies. Got to watch the fireworks from the restaurant which was a bonus. Highly recommended. Great experience. Good job five sails!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SERVICE WAS OUTSTANDING ,CARED ABOUT OUR ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

SERVICE WAS OUTSTANDING ,CARED ABOUT OUR NEEDS,DINNER WAS SO TASTY ,THE COMBINATION OF AND BLEND WAS PERFECT PLUS THE LIVE GUITAR MUSIC.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Casual, Scenic View, Healthy, Live Music, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

This is my my fifth visit to this restau ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is my my fifth visit to this restaurant and every time are leaving with satisfaction. I will definitely come again with another guess for the surprise dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five Sails offers a luxury experience, b ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Five Sails offers a luxury experience, but without feeling stuffy. Delicious meal, excellent service - and what a view! My partner is allergic to soy, so the kitchen happily subbed out the offending course from the tasting menu.

Not cheap, but the experience was well worth it. The staff was warm and knowledgeable.

Tags: Scenic View, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tasting menu. 5 courses. All excellent, ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Tasting menu. 5 courses. All excellent, portions were good size. Service was outstanding. Highly recommend

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful food on Christmas Day, great s ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Wonderful food on Christmas Day, great service, fine wine....all as usual, as this was our third Christmas Day dinner, and it has become our go-to place to celebrate special occasions.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was our first visit to Five Sails and ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

It was our first visit to Five Sails and we were very impressed. They treated us amazingly and as it was a anniversary they went out of their way to make it special. The people were fantastic and the food was one of the best meals that I have ever had, not one thing didn't taste incredible.

I would totally recommend this for a romantic evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Christmas tradition is to come here wi ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on December 21, 2016

A Christmas tradition is to come here with family for dinner. Incredible service. You have the table for the evening. Food is the BEST, expensive but worth it. Fantastic view. Great wine list.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service from beginning to end. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Excellent service from beginning to end. And, the food was amazingly delicious with good portion sizes.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire evening was wonderful. Beauti ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The entire evening was wonderful. Beautiful setting, very good food, and extremely attentive service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great! Servers were very attend ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food was great! Servers were very attendant, excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful setting on the water in the lu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Beautiful setting on the water in the luxury Pan Pacific. Menu is traditional with a flair and features seafood and a variety of meats, including venison. Service is wonderful. A lovely night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our party of five had an excellent exper ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Our party of five had an excellent experience at Five Sails Restaurant. The menu provided lots of options for our diverse group and we had lovely views of the harbor. Service was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was decent enough, my duck brea ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The food was decent enough, my duck breast was a little dry. It just didn't blow me away. Good selection of wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

As always, the service and food was exc ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

As always, the service and food was excellent! And how can the view be beat!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I spent a beautiful Sunday dinner with m ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 21, 2016

I spent a beautiful Sunday dinner with my partner for my birthday and I'm so glad that we picked the right restaurant. Beautiful view, clean & modern look, kind staff and very tasty food. Not too crowded but definitely not empty either. Would recommended it for any special occasion or just casual dining.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Fun, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

One of our favourite restaurants that co ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

One of our favourite restaurants that consistently delivers. Gerry, Chef Ernst and their very capable team make sure every little detail is there. I love knowing that Dover sole is available year round and the 3-course seasonal alternative is always enticing. My guests enjoyed the 3-course and stated that they have not had salmon that tender. The plating and presentation is beautiful whether it's the appetizers, full entrees or the Prix-Fixe. Great wine list as well.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the tasting menu. Food was excell ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We had the tasting menu. Food was excellent. Very nice wine pairings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful service and dining for newcome ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Wonderful service and dining for newcomers to Vancouver. Would return next trip!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A perfect meal, impeccably presented, am ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 15, 2016

A perfect meal, impeccably presented, amazing ambience. Wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Several friends got together from across ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Several friends got together from across the US for a weekend in Vancouver. A great restaurant to end our weekend. Food was terrific, very attentive waiter, and the view is beautiful.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Five sails was simply outstanding - the ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Five sails was simply outstanding - the service was very personal and friendly and the views spectacular.

The scallops were the perfect entree and others had the lobster bisque and the quail which were both amazing

The venison was beautiful as was the beef and the wine list was exceptional too

It was a fabulous last meal in Vancouver before returning to Australia

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting Vancouver from the Seat ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We were visiting Vancouver from the Seattle area and wanted to take in the local favorites. Five Sails had great reviews on line so it was our choice for a Birthday dinner on Saturday night. The staff was extremely warm and friendly and the food was fantastic. We started with Ahi Tuna Tartare and the “SCHLUTZKRAPFEN” Austrian-Style Ravioli then moved onto the Rack of Lamb. The flavors of each dish were fantastic! And if the food wasn't enough then the view made it even more spectacular, with a beautiful view of the water. I would highly recommend Five Sails to anyone!

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The reviews I read were all very good, b ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The reviews I read were all very good, but our experience was probably even better. The seafood we had was excellent, even the steaks were good--the best we had in Vancouver. Can't beat the location and the staff was very accommodating. Expect to pay a lot for wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good place for view and service!

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Good place for view and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our hostess was nice and offered us a co ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Our hostess was nice and offered us a coat check. At the table, the server was attentive at first and the after we ordered our wine, the attentiveness went south. The server could not answer the wine question and had to ask. We waited and she finally came back with the answer and took our order. I cannot believe that a place that serves food at this prices will not even have pepper at the table. The shaker were empty and we had to wait 5-7 minutes before we could flag down a server to get some. Rather than apologizing for the missing pepper, we get a response of "Oh!" from a different server. We tried to flag down our main server when we needed pepper, but she was too busy helping other and we felt ignored. The manager of the restaurant asked us about our experience and food. That was a nice touch.

We had the seafood plater for the appetizer which was amazing in taste and preparation. The seafood was very fresh and delicious. We had a bottle of white wine. We went with the prefix menu and all the courses of food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Exceptional food and service. Beautiful ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Exceptional food and service. Beautiful harbor view, even at night. Superb service including co-owner and host table visit. Charming lady.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, beautiful view. Prices are ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food, beautiful view. Prices are on the top end, so plan your budget ahead of time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Birthday dinner. Great embience. Nice vi ...

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Birthday dinner. Great embience. Nice view. Good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We were thrilled with the food, wine and ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We were thrilled with the food, wine and service. The table by the window to enjoy the fabulous scenery was unexpected but very much appreciated. I would thoroughly recommend this restaurant and if we had time would visit again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our first anniversary here ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We celebrated our first anniversary here. The service was exceptional as well as the food. Highly recommended!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The very best in every possible way..... ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The very best in every possible way.......food, service, ambiance,!

Have dined at The Five Sails many times & never fails to disappoint.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, service, and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Fantastic food, service, and atmosphere. I highly recommend Five Sails!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We started with a beet salad with goat c ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We started with a beet salad with goat cheese. Ordinarily I am not wild about beets or goat cheese. The beets were lightly pickled and the goat cheese tasted smoked and very mild. It was just delicious. The main course was the sablefish and was prepared perfectly and was served with vegetables that were not over cooked. The service was very efficient. I recommend Five Sails for seafood.

Tags: Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great services....greatfood...likethe du ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Great services....greatfood...likethe duck and lobster reallymuch......just happen to run into a loud group besides us but that is not the resturant fault. The dessertisgrrattdessertisgrrattooalthough doent

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful place for dinner in Vancouver ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Beautiful place for dinner in Vancouver BC , food ,bar tender, servers where all wonderful

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.