About Five Sails Restaurant

Located on R level Pan Pacific Hotel, 999 Canada Place
Vancouver, BC V6C 3E1
View Larger Map

Proprietors, Chef Ernst Dorfler and Gerry Sayers invite you to experience their unforgettable combination of breathtaking views of Vancouver, fresh and fabulous 4 Diamond award winning cuisine and gracious hospitality in their beautiful, private restaurant located inside the Pan Pacific Vancouver.




The Five Sails features world class dining in an unmatched setting with stunning views of the water, mountains, and Stanley Park. There is an intimate private dining room for up to 20 guests, a chic bar/lounge area with modern fireplace and the addition of cozy, elevated booths for more relaxed dining.



Proprietors, Chef Ernst Dorfler and his wife Gerry Sayers offer their hands on attention to detail with beautifully presented continental cuisine on their seasonal a la carte menu, vegetarian menu & Chef's Tasting menu with wine pairings selected by Sommelier, Ramon Fresneda.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, French, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Last seating for dinner is @ 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Howe Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 844-2855

Website:
http://www.fivesails.ca/

Parking Details:
Public parking is available at Canada Place and valet services are offered based on availability at the Pan Pacific Hotel entrance. Flat fees for parking apply after 6:00pm.

Public Transit:
The closest bus stop is located at the Sea Bus Terminal at the North end of Granville Street and Cordova Street.

Executive Chef:
Ernst Dorfler

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $50.00

Special valid May 27, 2016 - Jun 30, 2016 all week from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $50.00

Special valid May 27, 2016 - Jun 30, 2016 all week from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Details
Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $50.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. * As available each evening. Special valid May 27, 2016 - Jun 30, 2016 all week from 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM.

Private Dining

From 10 - 140 guests, the Five Sails offers AAA Four Diamond award cuisine and service for the ultimate private event experience, all with a spectacular natural backdrop and views of Vancouver's inner harbour & coastal mountains. The Five Sails private dining room accommodates from 10-20 guests

Five Sails Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Vancouver
Best Food
Vancouver
Best Ambiance
Vancouver
3 More
Romantic
Vancouver
Scenic View
Vancouver
Special Occasion
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Coal Harbour ›

scenic view (77)
special occasion (77)
romantic (61)
See All
fit for foodies (52)
notable wine list (39)
good for groups (15)
neighborhood gem (6)
hot spot (4)
great for lunch (3)
kid-friendly (3)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (1)
great for brunch (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1218 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience1
service1
value3

This was a big disappointment despite th ...

Dined 7 days ago

This was a big disappointment despite the great location and superb views. The food was good. Everything else was mediocre for a restaurant in this price range. It gave off the feeling of "giving up" competitively. The restaurant had only a few customers there; and yet I seemed to always have to look for someone in order to ask a question or even ask for another glass of wine. The restaurant lacks colour and elegance compared to most of the competition. In a word it is "flat" Not much of an experience in any way - other than disappointing . From a service perspective, the owners should dine at Miku. They could learn a lot about quality service. Or also Hawkesworth. To be fair, no one was rude. One waiter in particular was friendlier than the others. Mostly though the team seemed to be just going through the motions . I suspect some sincere, positive coaching could make a big difference. On last observation: We had been asked if this was a special occasion. We advised that this was an anniversary. In recognition of that we got a tiny piece of cake 1 inch by 1 inch by 1 inch and a wafer thin piece of chocolate saying Happy Anniversary. A nice gesture? Sure but without a doubt the cheapest most meaningless "gesture" we have ever had! EVER!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I booked this restaurant for the 19th bi ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I booked this restaurant for the 19th birthday of my son. On arrival, the staff greeted him "Happy Birthday" which caught him by surprise, a pleasant one though. Throughout the evening, we were treated to a very friendly and welcoming dining experience. Then there was the fantastic view of the harbour, too bad it was a rather cloudy day which took some shine out of the majestic setting. Nevertheless, it was beautiful! We ordered all seafood dishes which turn out to be great. I had Catch, the lobster is done just to my liking and very well presented with the sides. Perhaps the ambient made us all more forgiving as I did not find any shortcoming.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

White asparagus soup, beef tartare and t ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

White asparagus soup, beef tartare and the foie gras were amazing. Our server offered wine pairing. Wine selection is great.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fantastic. It was great the own ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Food was fantastic. It was great the owner rounded on the tables and ensured her guests had what they needed! Excellent wine list! Overall, extremely enjoyable!!

food4
ambience5
service4
value2

One of the best views in Vancouver, food ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

One of the best views in Vancouver, food and service excellent ...consistant with the highest prices in the city. Had a celebration business dinner here on 5/19/16. Everything was great BUT the wine markup was actually offensive. $13USD bottle of memoi pinot at BC liquor store $23 - $80+ at restaurant. Bottle of joseph phelps current year marked up $400. I can understand double but marginal bottles you would buy for less than 30 are marked up 100/bottle or more. Would not return only because of this. Not worth drinking mediocre quality wine to not add $500 markup to the bill over every other first class restaurant in the city. Cioppinos used to have the highest markup.....now is in second place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five Sails dining was an extraordinary e ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Five Sails dining was an extraordinary experience. We were welcomed by very gracious hosts and the background music made us feel very relaxed. I did not expect to be treated as a real special guest. The seasonal spotted prawns appetizer was very yummy. We also got surprise complimentary appie and desserts and they were oh, so delectable! My husband, my friend and I had a very lovely evening at the restaurant. I would love to go back there again... a wonderful place to catch up with long friends or have a business meeting.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Friday night

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Wanted to have a nice Friday date with my spouse after working a long week. Sunny evening with a clear view of the mountains and water. Warmly greeted by Gerry, and shown to our table with a view to the park and water. Great food! Dover sole done just a little differently from the usual, but so flavourful and unique. We will have to do it again soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Failure of expectations

Dined on May 13, 2016

An exciting menu with an emphasis on quality, hard to find ingredients was defeated by over complexity in presentation. Significant errors in the final bill did not help.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Weekend Getaway

Dined on May 8, 2016

I came here with a good friend of mine while on a weekend getaway to Vancouver. This restaurant is definitely something special. The food was exceptional, the service outstanding, and the view remarkable. Our check was higher than expected but it was completely worth the cost. Whoever the chef is has a gift, not a talent, with food preparation - it was the most delicious, mouth-watering dinner I've ever had. Furthermore, our waiter was simply the cherry on top of the cake - he was funny, charismatic and just so skillfully delightful. Everything about this restaurant was spectacular and I would definitely recommend it to anyone coming into Vancouver.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter really went out of his way to ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our waiter really went out of his way to make sure that we enjoyed our meal. The food was delicious and the atmosphere was lovely. We'll be back the next time we're in Vancouver.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service excellent.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food and service excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We Love It!

Dined on May 7, 2016

We came here to celebrate the Mother's Day. My parents love it and we enjoyed the time a lot! Not just the food is excellent, the service is fantastic. Thank you Chef for the freebies like vegie soup and cute dessert! It was a nice experience at the Five Sails! We'll come again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sailing sailing!

Dined on May 2, 2016

Great restaurant and great service to celebrate my wife's birthday. I would highly recommend to all.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Maybe a Bad Evening?

Dined on May 2, 2016

Everyone has an off moment. This may have been the restaurant's time. The restaurant did accommodate our change of time for our reservation for which we were greatful. The decided to put us at the only table set on the inside of the floor layout away from the window seating that had been requested. We ordered appetizers first. Two scallops for $20! The Steak Tartare was very appealing visually but was not at its best when eaten. The AHI TUNA SASHIMI came to the table looking like ketchup soup and the taste was unfortunately, not much better. The main courses we ordered were the CATCH (lobster and swordfish) and BAKED SABLE FISH. The lobster was very rubbery and the swordfish oily. The Sable fish was also very oily. This restaurant has many rave reviews. WE left disappointed but will try it again some day assuming it was just an off night.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Post Opera Dinner

Dined on May 2, 2016

This was an outstanding experience. I thought the service more than matched that of the finest restaurants I have dined at - and I eat out a lot! The food was excellent if a little on the sparse side. The restaurant was quiet and the view really beautiful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent seafood

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

The service was good, with some staff being more standout than others. A few took a more casual approach while others were very respectful and stood back a bit more. I prefer the latter while my husband likes the former, so this was perfectly fine. We enjoyed the beautiful scenery but most of all the food, which without exception was excellent. Best seafood we have had in Vancouver, which in no small part could be attributed to the perfect sauces used on every dish. Chose not to drink too much as the food was so enjoyable I didn't want to dull the experience in the slightest. Great for a special occasion and not crowded, highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

wedding anniversary dinner

Dined on April 24, 2016

We booked this restuarant based on its great reviews as we wanted somewhere very special to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were seated at a table at the window which had a great view. We both went with the tasting menu and enjoyed the food and interesting dishes. But with the high price tag I think we were expecting to be blown away and it fell a little short. that said service was excellent and we had a lovely time.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, display,display, services,view

Dined on April 18, 2016

Enjoy a elegant, romantic, spiritual dinner with Vancouver spectacular waterfront view with warm and classy services. Outstanding food with traditional and creative touch menu. A place you can go a million times and feel good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made for a very, very special night

Dined on April 16, 2016

My girlfriend was visiting from overseas and I wanted to take her somewhere nice. I didn't expect the overall service and experience to be so good. The waiters were great at reading the mood and the owner was extremely nice. The food also tasted excellent. Thanks for such a good memory.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Restaurant!

Dined on March 27, 2016

I would highly recommend this restaurant. Our sever was great! The food was fantastic! The view was wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Food was ok! Restaurant was practically ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Food was ok! Restaurant was practically empty but still took so long for food. Our drinks we ordered were so bad but no attempt to offer us a replacement.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely evening

Dined on March 21, 2016

Great food, great service, wonderful view, who could ask for more? This is our go-to special occasion restaurant and it never disappoints.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent view and food

Dined on March 11, 2016

The owner she is so kind and change the seats for our guest.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A memorable dinner

Dined on March 7, 2016

Our first visit to the Five Sails restaurant was memorable. It was an elegant dining experience, but with relaxed, friendly service. The duck breast was tender and the fois gras melted in my mouth. The sea bass and scallops were just right, not over-cooked. We had no difficulty choosing wines from the generous selection. As we were celebrating a special birthday, the extra touches recognizing that occasion were appreciated. The only slight improvement for me would have been a larger dessert menu that had a few more desserts that didn't involve ice cream or frozen layers. Still, we would certainly go back with friends to sample more of the dishes in this lovely restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food great venue

Dined on March 3, 2016

If you want good food and wine in a great location this is the place to come

Tags: fit for foodies, romance, special occasions, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Chef's tasting menu is a memorable experience

Dined on February 28, 2016

I loved this restaurant -food and the wine are as good as the view. I usually avoid hotel restaurants but this one is to be embraced - not avoided. The tasting menu was wonderful - ahi tuna and foie gras worked beautifully. The optional scallop was cooked perfectly and I used the wonderful bread to "sop" every delicious drop of the sauce. My favorite course was the lamb cooked perfectly and the seasonings and sauce were divine - really. The sommelier was wonderful - his choice of the taste blends were perfect. The only real criticism I had was that,due to a busy night, the delivery of the courses a bit improperly paced. The food and service were excellent and the view over the harbor was magnificent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Menu had so many great choices! Absolutely great

Dined on February 27, 2016

What can I say. They made our birthdays wonderful. My sister and I both celebrated, hers very early and mine just a couple weeks, but the certainly accommodated. Would suggest this restaurant to my other friends who will be soon travelling to Vancouver.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent service!

Dined on February 25, 2016

The food was great but the service was excellent. The staff were very friendly and made the experience even better.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular service

Dined on February 22, 2016

Went to Five Sails to celebrate mom's 70th birthday. We had a memorable dinner with good food and extremely good service. Everyone who served us had very good manner and all the tiny details they put for celebrating my mom's birthday had made the dinner remarlable. We've purposedly delivered the flower bouquet in advance to kindly ask the waiter to deliver it to my mom after her arrival. Not only they keep the flower in the fridge to keep it fresh, they asked for my mom's name. Shortly after my mom's arrival, they presented the flower and congrats her by her name. As we have 2 young children, though there were no children menu, they were able to cook 2 small plates of pasta, just the right portions for my children. The food they served was fantastic, very fresh and taste good. The kitchen wrongfully made my husband's main course but immediately rectified by cooking the original main course he ordered. Ended up we had the wrongfully made dish for free. As they knew the dinner was to celebrate mom's 70th birthday, they purposedly made a chocolate plate with her name on it and this made her felt very special. For the price we paid for the view and the service is definitely considered as great value for a special occassion like this.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

My wife and I really enjoyed the food and the view

Dined on February 21, 2016

The view, amazing. The food, awesome. Portions were small, as to be expected from the class of establishment. However, we loved our experience and would highly recommend.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great view ,excellent service ,great food

Dined on February 15, 2016

Excellent service a wonderful atmosphere and exquisitely prepared dinner, could not have asked for more.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent with dependable quality of foo ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent with dependable quality of food and scenic view

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Made out night!

Dined on February 13, 2016

A wonderfully romantic spot to celebrate our anniversary! Service was outstanding and the food was incredible. Will defiantly return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Amazing water view from our table by the ...

Dined on February 13, 2016

Amazing water view from our table by the window.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome place for special occasions!

Dined on February 11, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants in Vancouver! The food quality are top-notched and the staff are so friendly. Will definitely come back again!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent menu selection. We went there ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

Excellent menu selection. We went there specially for the Souffle. They have the best Souffle in town. I had the Beef tartare as appetizer, it was awesome, served with tiger prawn. I had the Veal Tenderloin as my Entree, and it was excellent as well served with Lobster. Very nice ingredient and nicely presented and put together. I'm craving to go back after writing this now.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We both had different appetizers and tri ...

Dined on February 2, 2016

We both had different appetizers and tried each other's... Both impressive. Main courses -we ordered duck and venison... Both were cooked perfect. Desserts were absolutely delicious. Everything was presented beautifully and really fantastic service. We were so impressed. Definitely a great place to celebrate any occasion.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

5 Sails Review

Dined on February 1, 2016

Delicious food, loved that there was a little soup taster at the beginning, and warm delicious bread. The foie gras terrine was delicious, as was the meal. The staff were very polite and over all this was the best dine out experience. However, I was not a huge fan of the dessert options this year.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Good Dineout experience - Great food

Dined on January 31, 2016

Duck breast is excellent ! Terrific lemon mille-feuilles . Service good. I will come back on special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

We went for the dine out experience in J ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

We went for the dine out experience in January. Me and my friends were a bit late for our reservation. But we did find it was a little rude for the hostess to tell us to order faster because we were late. Even if we were late for 30mins, we still have 1hr30mins for our reservation. And even later that night, there were tables opening up and no one waiting for a table. So there is no reason for her to say that especially at such a fine dining restaurant. However, our server was super nice and friendly. He was very attentive with the water and wine. Food was amazing. It was definitely one of the best from the dine out restaurants.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.