About Five Sails Restaurant

Located on R level Pan Pacific Hotel, 999 Canada Place
Vancouver, BC V6C 3E1
View Larger Map

Proprietors, Chef Ernst Dorfler and Gerry Sayers invite you to experience their unforgettable combination of breathtaking views of Vancouver, fresh and fabulous 4 Diamond award winning cuisine and gracious hospitality in their beautiful, private restaurant located inside the Pan Pacific Vancouver.




The Five Sails features world class dining in an unmatched setting with stunning views of the water, mountains, and Stanley Park. There is an intimate private dining room for up to 20 guests, a chic bar/lounge area with modern fireplace and the addition of cozy, elevated booths for more relaxed dining.



Proprietors, Chef Ernst Dorfler and his wife Gerry Sayers offer their hands on attention to detail with beautifully presented continental cuisine on their seasonal a la carte menu, vegetarian menu & Chef's Tasting menu with wine pairings selected by Sommelier, Ramon Fresneda.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, French, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Last seating for dinner is @ 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Howe Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 844-2855

Website:
http://www.fivesails.ca/

Parking Details:
Public parking is available at Canada Place and valet services are offered based on availability at the Pan Pacific Hotel entrance. Flat fees for parking apply after 6:00pm.

Public Transit:
The closest bus stop is located at the Sea Bus Terminal at the North end of Granville Street and Cordova Street.

Executive Chef:
Ernst Dorfler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Five Sails Restaurant
Lobsters and Scallops
A Tasting Of Chilled Seafood
Baked alaska
Silky porcini mushroom soup grilled brioche crouton
Lobster Bisque
Honey glazed smoked breast of duck
Crispy Sea Bass
Honey Glazed Smoked Fraser Valley Duck
Golden delicious warm apple strudel & chilled apple tarte homemade pistachio ice cream
Amuse Bouche
Chocolate Ahhh!
Luxe Lemon Mille-Feuilles
Slowly Braised Boneless Wagyu Beef Short Ribs
Soy Glazed Marinated Sable Fish
Large Homemade Ravioli With Steelhead Salmon And Dungeness Crab With Silky Lobster Emulsion

Private Dining

From 10 - 140 guests, the Five Sails offers AAA Four Diamond award cuisine and service for the ultimate private event experience, all with a spectacular natural backdrop and views of Vancouver's inner harbour & coastal mountains. The Five Sails private dining room accommodates from 10-20 guests

Five Sails Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Food
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Service
Vancouver / British Columbia
7 More
Best Ambiance
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Vancouver
Best Food
Vancouver
Best Service
Vancouver
Best Ambiance
Vancouver
Best Value
Vancouver
Romantic
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Coal Harbour ›

Scenic View (99)
Special Occasion (89)
Romantic (81)
See All
Fit for Foodies (50)
Notable Wine List (39)
Waterfront (23)
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Tasting Menu (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Business Meals (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Healthy (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Cozy (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Authentic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Comfort Food (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Casual (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1302 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was good, however they appea ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 5 days ago

The service was good, however they appeared to be understaffed. The food selection could be more inclusive for meat lovers. Quality of food was very good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Five Sails is located at The Pan Pacific ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined 7 days ago

Five Sails is located at The Pan Pacific Hotel. It offers outstanding views of the harbor. Food and service were beyond compare.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and ambiance was wonderful a ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The service and ambiance was wonderful and the food was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our third visit to Five Sails. ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This was our third visit to Five Sails. We love it for the view, the ambience, the service and the food (probably in that order). Expensive, but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent customer service. Warm welcome ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent customer service. Warm welcome. Lemon dessert to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good but not superb. Appertize ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Food was good but not superb. Appertizer goat cheese was incredible. Trout, local flare, was overcomes and dry. Dessert was great. My wife had the Thai curry veggie platter which was good not great. I used her Thai curry sauce to moisten my trout. Glad I wasn't dining alone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was excellent, the view of the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The food was excellent, the view of the harbor magnificent, service wonderful and nice, I would do this again the next time I'm in Vancouver, BC.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful meal ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

My girlfriend and I had a wonderful meal. Food was absolutely exquisite. Certainly a pricier restaurant, so reserve it for special occasions if you're not wealthy.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great service and delicious food with ex ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great service and delicious food with excellent wine matches recommended by the sommelier Grump walk in was handled well by Maitre D as fully booked

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Lovely ambiance...right by the water. Fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Lovely ambiance...right by the water. Food was delicious. Wait staff very friendly and attentive. Definitely worth going to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pros: I really enjoyed our meal. The foo ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Pros:

I really enjoyed our meal. The food was worth the cost, the service was the best I've had and the view was spectacular. Seafood is difficult to cook properly and everything from the huge scallops to the lobster to the salmon was done to perfection. The fresh blueberry dessert was also fantastic. The chef sent over a small tasting at no additional charge which made us feel special and also elevated the meal to an even more memorable experience.

I enjoyed watching helicopters and float planes landing during the meal. The view is just great.

Cons:

The menu asks that you refrain from taking out your phone to take pictures. While I understand wanting the ambience to be preserved I was disappointed to not have a photo to remember the occasion/view.

I was surprised at the end of the meal that they could not validate my parking stub because the restaurant is not connected to the restaurant. We parked using the hotel vallet and were then worried how steep parking was going to run. We were happy to learn that it only ended up being $18 plus tip. Which I think was reasonable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view and wonderful food! Our waite ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great view and wonderful food! Our waiter was very attentive, and the food looked as good as it tasted!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable dinner and very courteous ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Very enjoyable dinner and very courteous and efficient service.

Tags: Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Simply the best dining experience possib ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Simply the best dining experience possible. Everything was outstanding as always at this top restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was divine, the service charmin ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our food was divine, the service charming and upbeat. The ambiance is very restful and easy on the eye. You can hear each other talk! What a relief.

This is one of Vancouver's top restaurants. We love it and know you will too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Seasonal, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What better place to see the sunset over ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

What better place to see the sunset over the Northshore mountains than having a beautifully orchestrated dinner in a restaurant with impeccable service . It is rare in Vancouver to find a restaurant which showcases West coast cuisine with tastes which outshines the view. Whether a special occasion or just to have a very nice evening out with your loved ones. Its casual elegance makes it one of the best restaurants in vancouver. Don't miss talking to Ramon the sommelier about his extensive knowledge of Spanish wines.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fairly good. Some food over seasoned an ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

fairly good. Some food over seasoned and some lacking flavour.

The grand marnier souffle tasted of scrambled eggs! not a hint of grand manier.

steak was good

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The view is spectacular. Foie gras appet ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

The view is spectacular. Foie gras appetizer, paired with a sauterne as recommended by our server was excellent. The service was outstanding. The main course was average, and the wine list was surprisingly limited. All in all, not in the top ten of Vancouver restaurants.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Another year,another great anniversary d ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Another year,another great anniversary dinner. The service from start to finish is gracious and efficient with our duo wait team having been there almost 60 years, non pretentious and knowledgeable. Lovely bus girl. Generous with breads and refills, water glasses never empty but barely aware of refilling.The whole staff is first class.

Although moderately costly, we still consider high value because the quality and creativity of the food is superb. There are nice complimentary touches such as very tasty and artful amuse Bouche and end of meal tiny sweet tray plus a nice mini anniversary cake and chocolate. Not overwhelming but nice wine list, including by the glass.

A waterfront table with panaramic harbor views adds to the experience. Very comfortable noise level with most tables occupied.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were promptly seated by the window wi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

We were promptly seated by the window with a great view. Food was excellent. Our soufflé was running late so they gave us a tasting dessert. Great way to recover from a small issue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent location and easy access for p ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Excellent location and easy access for parking. The view is one of the best in Vancouver and every table has a view. The service was outstanding - but more so was the food. We enjoyed both the Halibut and the Dover Sole - and cooked to perfection!! This is a favorite romantic, quiet place and I highly recommend it. It is expensive but worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I went to this restaurant to ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

My wife and I went to this restaurant to celebrate our honeymoon and we could not have been happier. We had the chef's tasting menu with the recommended accompanying wines and were delighted. The food was amazing and the wines were perfectly paired. The service, from beginning to end, was perfect; it was attentive but unobtrusive. The view's not bad either.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to five sails on a date night. Was ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Went to five sails on a date night. Was not disappointed. Five sails was a great experience from the tasty mouth water food and the amazing service staff. Hands down one of the top restaurants in Vancouver!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The most amazing food we've ever tasted; ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The most amazing food we've ever tasted; with warm, friendly staff to really top it off.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful view, great service and good f ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Beautiful view, great service and good food, certainly would return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This stunning restaurant was highly reco ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

This stunning restaurant was highly recommended and did mot disappoint. The food was inventive and very tasty. The servers were all outstanding...but not intrusive...

The bill made this a special visit only, but we did enjoy it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My wife and I celebrated our 41st weddin ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 41st wedding anniversary at the 5 Sails.

We were shown to our table overlooking Coal Harbour and its spectacular view.

We were not familiar with the menu and spent a bit of time selecting. Our server was very helpful in answering the few questions we had and we settled on a 5or 6 course sampler menu and opted for the extra course of scallops which may have been the best tasting of all- but hard to definitively say because they all exceeded our expectations.

Each course was appropriately spaced and obviously just freshly prepared. Each was artistically presented with the swirls of this or that on the plate and some were stacked on interesting combinations of taste and texture which enhanced the experience. For instance, the tuna tartar was on a bed of 3 things including wontons. Who would have thought of that combination? Very tasty and interesting texture in the mouth.

We highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

very nice duck!fresh and delicious

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

very nice duck!fresh and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We came up to Vancouver from Seattle for ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We came up to Vancouver from Seattle for a weekend and for the 2nd year in a row we celebrated our Anniversary at Five Sails. If anything, the food and ambiance were even more impressive than we had remembered it! The atmosphere is quiet and elegant, with a stunning view of the bay. The food is top-notch. - everything on the plate is full of flavor. The service was well-informed and professional.

Tags: Seasonal, Waterfront, Healthy, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here for an anniversary dinner. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

We went here for an anniversary dinner. We wanted a beautiful place to have a dinner that offered great service and Wonderful food. We could not have been happier with our choice. Amazing views were the added touch

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I had a great dinner at the ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My wife and I had a great dinner at the Five Sails Restaurant. The menu was outstanding. Very delicious and creative. The view on the mountains was also great. Very good Service. Nothing to complain about.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was delicious. The service was ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was delicious. The service was not.....I found the waiters to be very pretentious. We had just come from a tour and we where dressed like typical tuorist. We did not have enough time to change into our evening wear. We were not dressed bad but we did not have cocktail clothing. It was very noticeable that our waiters had an impression that we did not have money. I would not recommend or go back even though the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Ahi Tuna Sashimi is very tasty. It is t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Ahi Tuna Sashimi is very tasty. It is the most creative Tuna dish I have ever ate in the past 10 years after tried many Michelin restaurant in Paris, Hong Kong , Japan & USA. The embarrassed thing was they did not allow us to change the table to seat by window even no more guest was coming & two window tables were empty already before our dishes came.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Outstanding view of the harbor and a gre ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Outstanding view of the harbor and a great chef made this a memorable dining experience on our 40th wedding anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you are looking for something special ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

If you are looking for something special in beautiful Vancouver, B.C. this is the place to book. We were lucky to have a beautiful evening, clear and sunny, the view was spectacular. From Stanley Park to the 2nd Narrows Bridge with the North Shore mountains standing out and iconic "Lions" mountains standing out! Boats coming and going, cruise ships going out to sea, this is as good as it gets in Vancouver. The restaurant is well appointed, we were lucky to score a window table, and the service and food matched the view. We will return on our next visit to Vancouver. No doubt about that.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening for our last night in ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Wonderful evening for our last night in Vacouver after a tour of the Pacific North West! Beautiful restaurant with wonderful friendly attentive staff.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was mostly the same as when I w ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The menu was mostly the same as when I went one year ago.. Would've been great to be able to try some new dishes..

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Spectacular food. Beautiful views. Ove ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Spectacular food. Beautiful views. Overall a wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food. Well prepar ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent service and food. Well prepared, artfully presented and all very tasty.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is a gem. The food, ambi ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

This restaurant is a gem. The food, ambience, scenary, and service were spectactular. We had one of the outstanding meals of our lives at Five Sails.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.