Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Five Sails Restaurant

Proprietors, Chef Ernst Dorfler and Gerry Sayers invite you to experience their unforgettable combination of breathtaking views of Vancouver, fresh and fabulous 4 Diamond award winning cuisine and gracious hospitality in their beautiful, private restaurant located inside the Pan Pacific Vancouver.




The Five Sails features world class dining in an unmatched setting with stunning views of the water, mountains, and Stanley Park. There is an intimate private dining room for up to 20 guests, a chic bar/lounge area with modern fireplace and the addition of cozy, elevated booths for more relaxed dining.



Proprietors, Chef Ernst Dorfler and his wife Gerry Sayers offer their hands on attention to detail with beautifully presented cuisine featuring modern classics with European influences on their seasonal a la carte menu, vegetarian menu & Chef's Tasting menu with wine pairings selected by Sommelier, Ramon Fresneda.

Located on R level Pan Pacific Hotel, 999 Canada Place
Vancouver, BC V6C 3E1
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, French, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Last seating for dinner is @ 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Howe Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 844-2855

Website:
http://www.fivesails.ca/

Parking Details:
Public parking is available at Canada Place and valet services are offered based on availability at the Pan Pacific Hotel entrance. Flat fees for parking apply after 6:00pm.

Public Transit:
The closest bus stop is located at the Sea Bus Terminal at the North end of Granville Street and Cordova Street.

Executive Chef:
Ernst Dorfler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
* The Five Sails will not be participating in Dine Out Vancouver 2017. We will be open and offering our regular menu only. Thank you!

Private Dining

From 10 - 140 guests, the Five Sails offers AAA Four Diamond award cuisine and service for the ultimate private event experience, all with a spectacular natural backdrop and views of Vancouver's inner harbour & coastal mountains. The Five Sails private dining room accommodates from 10-20 guests

Five Sails Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (38)
Special Occasion (37)
Scenic View (33)
See All
Romantic (32)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Good for a Date (26)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Tasting Menu (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Business Meals (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Cozy (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Healthy (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Seasonal (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Authentic (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Private Room (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Vegan (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
People Watching (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1521 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing is the best word for this special restaurant! The couple who run this restaurant obviously have a passion for food and service as I would rate both an A+! From the amuse bouche all the way through dessert, the four of us oooh'ed and aaaah'ed over evry morsel. Highly recommend!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 5 days ago

Great wait staff, very friendly and professional. Beautiful view. Had out best photos of the year taken by our waitress. She really knows how to take great photos with an iPhone. The food tasted great and cooked to perfection. I would recommend Five Sails for someone wanting to celebrate a special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service and super food and very helpful staff. Credit to all who run the restaurant

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 7 days ago

Just perfect! Still our favourite Vancouver restaurant!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Five Sails has a spectacular view, great food and great service. We couldn't have asked for a better meal.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food, service and views even though it wasn't the best weather outside that evening.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 14, 2017

A great evening with excellent food and service, with a fantastic view.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Fabulous in every way.
Scallops melted in our mouth.
Halibut was as good as it gets.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Healthy, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We had a great experience: excellent food and service. My mom is happy, too.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The food and service was great! I've definitely recommended this to my friends for a date night or a special occasion, the view was spectacular and I couldn't have asked for anything better.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Romantic, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Simply the best restaurant in Vancouver, food wise, service wise, view wise.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Awesome view from window. I guess it is expensive but this was expected for fine dining restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Birthday celebration, enjoy the food and view very much! Very romantic & pleasant dining experience! Highly recommended!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Excellent restaurant, the service and the food were really nice. I recommend this adresse if you're looking for a place were you can speak quietly.
I will probably do it again for my next travel !

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Great food and service best dinner we had in five days in Vancouver. Service was outstanding the view and ambience were wonderful. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, People Watching, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Graduation

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 30, 2017

A foody vacation in Vancouver took us to five of the city's top restaurants: Market, Bishop's, Five Sails, Blue Water Cafe and Hawksworth. All were exceptional dining experiences, but here is how they broke down: The longstanding icon of the culinary scene, Bishop's, topped the charts with the most personable and attentive service and with incredible flavor profiles. From appetizers through dessert every course was memorable. Five Sails and Market were close behind. Few restaurants in any city can top Five Sails amazing harbor view, but the food was also beautifully presented and well prepared. We can recommend the tuna and beef tartares, the chilled seafood appetizers, the sea bass and the Catch. Market provided the most knowledgeable services with enticing descriptions of the food backed up with a deep understanding of the wines and the ingredients. The food was also strong; we especially enjoyed the pea soup, the octopus, and the sable fish. Blue Water boasted the best seafood and certainly lived up to its reputation with delectable ceviche, crustaceans, sable fish, halibut and more. Hawksworth was the clear winner on the cocktail scene with its many inventive offerings, but the food was disappointing on this occasion with both the halibut and duck overcooked. One could not go wrong with any of these restaurants and they certainly confirm that Vancouver is a city with magnificent dining experiences.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Very terrific meal. Thanks for great service and great food!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 28, 2017

One of the best dinners we've been to...anywhere! The food, view and personal service made for a special night/)

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great experience at the restaurant and the service was excellent. I love the foie gras, aaa beef tartare and lobster soup. The main course I ordered the halibut which was really delicious. Definitely a good place for special occasion.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 26, 2017

My family came to visit me for graduation and I took them to this restaurant cos they love seafood and ocean view. The restaurant provided super good services and my family feel very comfortable and great for their experiences and times during our dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Food was amazing. Beautiful views. This is a quality restaurant and I know what I am talking about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Excellent for whatever occasion! Loved the scenery, the service, food, virgin drinks and ambiance!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Had dinner there the night before our cruise left. It was spectacular. The food, the service, the view...just perfect.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 20, 2017

The view was gorgeous and the food, service, and staff were wonderful. Would definitely go back again

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dorset)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The best restaurant in the world. Amazing food, excellent service and amazing views. We've eaten here every time we've visited Vancouver and suggest you do too!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

1. When arriving earlier than the reservation and there's space, don't make your guests wait for no reason.
2. When request a gluten free meal, it should be complemented with a gluten free bread. Comes frozen, easily stored but goes a long way to your guests.
3. Get your coffee right but hot...
4. Good chef good food!
5. Staff tries hard.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Wanted a romantic dinner with a view to mark our honeymoon and new husbands birthday. Food was outstanding, service was very attentive.
Thoroughly recommended.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Delicious lobster bisque and sea bass. Watched the sea planes taking off and landing

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Amazing experience. The staff was more than accommodating. The food was outstanding. Raves all around from my entire group of 8. I highly recommend it. The view is also spectacular.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Amazing! Not that we were surprised as it always is. But dinner was spectacular!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Excellent menu; all dishes prepared to perfection and not overdone in any way. Service team on point; welcoming, friendly, professional, and knowledgeable. Highly recommend!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (神奈川)·Dined on May 3, 2017

今回は初めての利用です。Webで調べて一番近くで、シーフードが美味しい店で検索したらこちらの店だったので、このサイトから予約していきました。
行ってみると、港とノースバンクーバーの山々が一望できる席でとてもいい席でした。
また、食事は日本人シェフ?のアレンジか、日本のような細かい仕事が感じられる食事で、素材はもちろん地元の食材をたくさん使っているようで素晴らしく美味しかったです。
デザートワインとして、おすすめのアイスワインも堪能し、素晴らしいバンクーバーの夜になりました。
また、機会があれば来たいレストランです。

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 1, 2017

This has been the second time my fiancée and I have been here together and both times we've left feeling content and completely satisfied. The food is delicious, and the service is great. The staff at Five Sails always make you feel welcome and are very knowledgeable in what they offer. The special little anniversary cake that we've gotten on both our visits is always a welcomed surprise.

Will definitely be coming back, over and over again.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Late-night Find, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Beautiful food and exquisite food!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The service was superb. My lobster was one of the best I have ever had. Everything was tasty and beautifully presented.
I would recommend without hesitation.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Celebrate my wife birthday

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wonderful dining experience for our anniversary. Great food and attention from the staff was amazing, not to mention the wonderful view.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The food and wine was truly outstanding from start to finish. Appetizer was tuna tartare. What an amazing combination of flavours. The fish was clearly super high quality. The flavours would explode in your mouth. Mains were daily catch, salmon and the Pacific halibut. All the mains were truly outstanding. Very tender and fresh flavours. The sauces were a perfect match. The suggested wine was a perfect match. The service was excellent. They went out of their way to help with pictures as well. Needless to say, the views are amazing.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Very disappointed and dissatisfied, poor service, they don't do cork cage, very rude service, not kind at all, the food is ok but the spot is too much for so quiet and unhappy restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.