About Five Sails Restaurant

Located on R level Pan Pacific Hotel, 999 Canada Place
Vancouver, BC V6C 3E1
View Larger Map

Proprietors, Chef Ernst Dorfler and Gerry Sayers invite you to experience their unforgettable combination of breathtaking views of Vancouver, fresh and fabulous 4 Diamond award winning cuisine and gracious hospitality in their beautiful, private restaurant located inside the Pan Pacific Vancouver.




The Five Sails features world class dining in an unmatched setting with stunning views of the water, mountains, and Stanley Park. There is an intimate private dining room for up to 20 guests, a chic bar/lounge area with modern fireplace and the addition of cozy, elevated booths for more relaxed dining.



Proprietors, Chef Ernst Dorfler and his wife Gerry Sayers offer their hands on attention to detail with beautifully presented continental cuisine on their seasonal a la carte menu, vegetarian menu & Chef's Tasting menu with wine pairings selected by Sommelier, Ramon Fresneda.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Continental, French, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Last seating for dinner is @ 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Howe Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(604) 844-2855

Website:
http://www.fivesails.ca/

Parking Details:
Public parking is available at Canada Place and valet services are offered based on availability at the Pan Pacific Hotel entrance. Flat fees for parking apply after 6:00pm.

Public Transit:
The closest bus stop is located at the Sea Bus Terminal at the North end of Granville Street and Cordova Street.

Executive Chef:
Ernst Dorfler

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Five Sails Restaurant
Lobsters and Scallops
A Tasting Of Chilled Seafood
Baked alaska
Silky porcini mushroom soup grilled brioche crouton
Lobster Bisque
Honey glazed smoked breast of duck
Crispy Sea Bass
Honey Glazed Smoked Fraser Valley Duck
Golden delicious warm apple strudel & chilled apple tarte homemade pistachio ice cream
Amuse Bouche
Chocolate Ahhh!
Luxe Lemon Mille-Feuilles
Slowly Braised Boneless Wagyu Beef Short Ribs
Soy Glazed Marinated Sable Fish
Large Homemade Ravioli With Steelhead Salmon And Dungeness Crab With Silky Lobster Emulsion

Private Dining

From 10 - 140 guests, the Five Sails offers AAA Four Diamond award cuisine and service for the ultimate private event experience, all with a spectacular natural backdrop and views of Vancouver's inner harbour & coastal mountains. The Five Sails private dining room accommodates from 10-20 guests

Five Sails Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Food
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Service
Vancouver / British Columbia
9 More
Best Ambiance
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Value
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Vancouver
Best Food
Vancouver
Best Service
Vancouver
Best Ambiance
Vancouver
Best Value
Vancouver
Romantic
Vancouver
Special Occasion
Vancouver
Best Restaurants in Coal Harbour ›

Scenic View (97)
Special Occasion (86)
Romantic (73)
See All
Fit for Foodies (52)
Notable Wine List (36)
Good for Groups (12)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1273 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

very nice duck!fresh and delicious

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 3 days ago

very nice duck!fresh and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We went here for an anniversary dinner. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 5 days ago

We went here for an anniversary dinner. We wanted a beautiful place to have a dinner that offered great service and Wonderful food. We could not have been happier with our choice. Amazing views were the added touch

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious. The service was ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was delicious. The service was not.....I found the waiters to be very pretentious. We had just come from a tour and we where dressed like typical tuorist. We did not have enough time to change into our evening wear. We were not dressed bad but we did not have cocktail clothing. It was very noticeable that our waiters had an impression that we did not have money. I would not recommend or go back even though the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Ahi Tuna Sashimi is very tasty. It is t ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Ahi Tuna Sashimi is very tasty. It is the most creative Tuna dish I have ever ate in the past 10 years after tried many Michelin restaurant in Paris, Hong Kong , Japan & USA. The embarrassed thing was they did not allow us to change the table to seat by window even no more guest was coming & two window tables were empty already before our dishes came.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Outstanding view of the harbor and a gre ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Outstanding view of the harbor and a great chef made this a memorable dining experience on our 40th wedding anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you are looking for something special ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

If you are looking for something special in beautiful Vancouver, B.C. this is the place to book. We were lucky to have a beautiful evening, clear and sunny, the view was spectacular. From Stanley Park to the 2nd Narrows Bridge with the North Shore mountains standing out and iconic "Lions" mountains standing out! Boats coming and going, cruise ships going out to sea, this is as good as it gets in Vancouver. The restaurant is well appointed, we were lucky to score a window table, and the service and food matched the view. We will return on our next visit to Vancouver. No doubt about that.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening for our last night in ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Wonderful evening for our last night in Vacouver after a tour of the Pacific North West! Beautiful restaurant with wonderful friendly attentive staff.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was mostly the same as when I w ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The menu was mostly the same as when I went one year ago.. Would've been great to be able to try some new dishes..

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Spectacular food. Beautiful views. Ove ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Spectacular food. Beautiful views. Overall a wonderful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and food. Well prepar ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Excellent service and food. Well prepared, artfully presented and all very tasty.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant is a gem. The food, ambi ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

This restaurant is a gem. The food, ambience, scenary, and service were spectactular. We had one of the outstanding meals of our lives at Five Sails.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has great food but a ter ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

This restaurant has great food but a terrible wine list, really surprising under the circumstances

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Our favourite restaurant used to be (196 ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Our favourite restaurant used to be (1968 to its final year) the William Tell. Now it is the Sails! The food is spectacular (as is the view) and consistently of the highest quality. Almost anyone can cook a piece of meat; few can produce the sauces that mark a great restaurant. The Sails is such a place.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb! Amazing team, views, food and va ...

vip
 (Newcastle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Superb! Amazing team, views, food and value!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Knowledgeable, professional and friendly ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Knowledgeable, professional and friendly waiters and servers. My wife and I came here for a special night out, I noted on our reservation that she was a vegetarian and when they brought us a free appetizer with chef's compliments they made sure that she got a vegetarian option. The ambiance is quiet and elegant, the view is great and the food is amazing. Best fish I've ever had (Dover Sole)

Great for a special occasion or just some fine dining.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, wonderful view of the mounta ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great food, wonderful view of the mountains and Stanley Park and excellent service

Tags: Special Occasions, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romance
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food selection, preparation and presenta ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food selection, preparation and presentation was terrific. Service was excellent, attentive, knowledgable, welcoming and discreet. Wine list was good but overpriced.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great. Food was absolutely ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Service was great. Food was absolutely wonderful.... so often underwhelmed by food and service quality at high end dining establishments. Except for a cruise ship which was late departing that day and partially block view, was great venue. Prices are high, but is rated as $$$$ so was expected. Order the best and you will not be disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Having been to Five Sails for a business ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Having been to Five Sails for a business function I couldn't wait to share with my husband. So with our anniversary coming up it was a natural choice. My husband is quite the foody and Five Sails did not disappoint. The food is to die for, the service was superb mmmmmmmm! Too bad about the cruise ship blocking our view but that just means we will have to return.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent seafood. Unparalleled views.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Excellent seafood. Unparalleled views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

last night out for our family vacation. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

last night out for our family vacation. we voted this our FAVORITE spot. everything was perfect!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five Sails was by far the best meal we h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Five Sails was by far the best meal we had in Vancouver. It is a high end restaurant; they use the best local ingredients & fresh seafood. The preparation and presentation was as fine as any high end restaurant could be. Also, this restaurant is a few floors up in the Pan Pacific at Canada Place, overlooking the harbor which is great for a sunset dinner. Honestly, the food was so great I forgot about the view. Enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant -but markups on wine a ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Great restaurant -but markups on wine are excessive /offensive in all respects

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was amazing and beautiful view. The ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food was amazing and beautiful view. The halibut was the best I've ever had

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My friend and I celebrated 72 years of f ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My friend and I celebrated 72 years of friendship at Five Sails with our spouses and we were treated with excellent cuisine and great enthusiasm by all staff. Thank-you to all for making the special much more so.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time in the last year ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This is the second time in the last year or so I have been fortunate to dine at the Five Sails Restaurant. This second time was even better than the first. We were in town for a concert and thoroughly enjoyed our evening starting with the meal at Five Sails. The service, ambience wine list etc. - just first rate. I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The perfect place to celebrate a special ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The perfect place to celebrate a special occasion. We had the chef's tasting menu and were not disappointed. The food & wine were amazing (highly recommend the scallops), the view stunning and the staff super friendly, professional & accommodating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an experience dining experience. ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We had an experience dining experience. Great service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Five Sails Restaurant made sure to ackno ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Five Sails Restaurant made sure to acknowledge the special occasion that we were there for, even offered a small but complimentary dessert to help us celebrate it, which was a very nice touch. Window seat allowed us to enjoy the beautiful view. While the food is expensive, it is certainly well worth it -- though if it wasn't for a special occasion we wouldn't be able to justify the cost. There were so many items on the menu I would have liked to try, but I guess I will have to wait for my next visit (whenever that will be!). I highly recommend the ahi tuna tartare for appetizer and the duck breast for entree. Everything on the dessert menu seems way overpriced ($6.00 for a small cup of cappucino!). Our server was very well put together and very polite, though he didn't seem to want to converse with us too much.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

love this restaurant. Can't wait to go ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

love this restaurant. Can't wait to go there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a beautiful restaurant with one ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This is a beautiful restaurant with one of the most amazing views in Vancouver. Unfortunately the food quality was not what we expected for the prices we paid. The manager was quick to try to address by offering a different meal and made a fuss over my partner's birthday when dessert was served - so I do appreciate that. I might try this restaurant again in the future - because the view is spectacular and perhaps we were there on an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Quite possibly the most amazing dining e ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Quite possibly the most amazing dining experience I've ever had. The staff went above and beyond to make our evening absolutely amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service with a beautiful ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great food and service with a beautiful view of Vancouver's harbor.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing dining experience for our first ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Amazing dining experience for our first anniversary. Amazing food, super helpful team, great view. Will visit again.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional food and service. This was ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Exceptional food and service. This was our fist time to the restaurant and we found it outstanding. Great tasting food, great selection, very fresh. Awesome service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We both had the seafood medley which inc ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We both had the seafood medley which included large scallops and a lobster claw and tail, served in sauce probably containing lemon grass and kaffir lemon leaves. I thought the sauce was a bit strong for the lobster, although it certainly was delicious. The view was great, but ask for a table on the shady side if you go for dinner, otherwise the setting sun will get in your eyes and you will have to have the view blocked by the blind.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent in every respect - my wife ha ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Excellent in every respect - my wife had a filet and said that it was the best she has ever had, while my halibut dinner was tasty and perfect. Coupled with an outstanding view, this was a memorable occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful Spot! We got a nice table to c ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Beautiful Spot! We got a nice table to celebrate the occasion of my son's engagement. Lovely

food and great service! It was one of the most memorable meals! The server recommended

the caviar to share and certainly was great recommendation for the occasion. Views were

spectacular!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire dining experience was incredi ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The entire dining experience was incredible. The service was perfect and the food was some of the best I've ever had. On the expensive side but worth it!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were pleasantly surprised to have a s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised to have a superb Dover Sole at this attractive hotel restaurant

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.