About Five Restaurant

Five is an exquisite blend of contemporary italian and californian cuisine. Join us for a romantic dinner or a night out drinking wine with your friends. Come and experience the engaging atmosphere and energetic ambiance of five.

1110 E. Champlain Ave, Suite 101
Fresno, CA 93720
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
E Perrin Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(559) 434-5553

Website:
http://www.5restaurant.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Five Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for a Date (12)
See All
Good for Groups (11)
Special Occasion (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Romantic (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Business Meals (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Authentic (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
People Watching (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Cozy (3)
Fun (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Family Style (2)
Casual (2)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Private Room (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Dancing (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
378 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have been to "5" before, and always ha ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined 3 days ago

I have been to "5" before, and always had a great time. But, this time they knocked it outta the park.

Some associates from out of town requested a bussiness meal with some of our clients, I recommended "5". I made reservations for 10, letting "5" knowing the circumstances. From the time we arrived, to the moment we left, everything was perfect!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made reservations ahead of time. Got stu ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Made reservations ahead of time. Got stuck in the extra bar area seating that was extremely cramped, loud, and HOT under heaters that could only be turned on or off. I would have rather gone somewhere else if I knew we were being seated in the "overflow" area. Guess I will ask next time. I love the food and they have a great wine selection, it's the reason I keep trying and come back. Service needs a little polishing. Is it too much to ask for a clean fork for the entree? It makes for awkward service trying to "save" our dirty forks and knives after appetizers and salads. Our bill was well over $300, I don't think that's too much to ask. Bottom line, food is great and worth it if you don't mind a busy place with poor parking and mediocre service.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Food was AMAZING !! Desert AMAZING !!

 
 (Orange County)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was AMAZING !! Desert AMAZING !!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Extremely loud @5:30 on a Friday night! ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Extremely loud @5:30 on a Friday night! Good lasagna, annoying ambiance. Request a booth here, tables are way too close together for our comfort.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Food was over cooked and tasteless. Not ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was over cooked and tasteless. Not worth the high prices. Once was enough at this place.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

Good food and service.

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, excellent service

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fine other than the steak ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Everything was fine other than the steaks we ordered. They were very fatty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Excellent as always

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Excellent as always

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a reservation at 9:15 and arrived ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had a reservation at 9:15 and arrived about 10 minutes early. We were told by the host that we could have a drink at the bar and someone would get us when the table was ready. At 9:30 my husband checked in with them, and they had forgotten about us. To accommodate us, they squeezed a 2-top table between 2 large parties. We had to shout at each other to be able to hear anything. Understandably, it was a Friday night, but we would have preferred to wait for an actual table than to squeeze into that situation.

Other than the start of the evening and the ridiculously loud ambiance, the food was delicious, and the service was surprisingly fast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The food was very good. The restaurant ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The food was very good. The restaurant and bar were both extremely loud and noisy.

The waiter rushed us and the meals were brought with salads only barely touched.

The waiter did apologize for this however.

I would not recommend this restaurant if you want to see an old friend and catch up as

we were practically yelling at each other to be heard over the din.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Our first time here and we will definite ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Our first time here and we will definitely be going back. Loved the food, service, and ambiance. Perfect for a special occasion, date night, or out to dinner with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite restaurants ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants in fresno. Have never been disappointed . Had the sword fish with scallops special. Amazingly good. Wanted to return again the next night.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at Five is outstanding and wort ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 11, 2016

The food at Five is outstanding and worth every penny (pricey). But I have now made 2 reservations in advance and had to wait 20 and 30 mins to be seated. The hostess/greeting staff on both occasions were not friendly and never apologize for the delay. they do not seem organized in their seating at all......but once you get seated the food is incredible.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Loud banging coming from Bar and lightin ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Loud banging coming from Bar and lighting was a bit too dim.

Waitress was Great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Noisy bar. Couldn't hear to converse. Di ...

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Noisy bar. Couldn't hear to converse. Dining room too close to bar. Out of town guests for me. I was embarrassed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

My wife and I really enjoy this restaura ...

vip
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 30, 2016

My wife and I really enjoy this restaurant and our server Jason is always great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is s great place all around. Very ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This is s great place all around. Very courteous staff, great food and nice ambiance. Perfect for a romantic evening!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the new specials, and would recomm ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Loved the new specials, and would recommend the italian chop salad.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Fantastic service. Would de ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great food. Fantastic service. Would definitely recommend it to family and friends.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Great Beer, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Dancing, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

superb as usual - wanted special meal af ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

superb as usual - wanted special meal after the theatre - superior food/service/ambiance.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you to 5 restaurant for a great ev ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Thank you to 5 restaurant for a great evening! Our server was exceptional!

She went above and beyond to ensure our evening was great, from start to finish.

Food is always good a 5!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Tapas, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were a party of 12 celebrating an eng ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We were a party of 12 celebrating an engagement. Everything was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was a surprise birthday party for my ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 20, 2016

It was a surprise birthday party for my husband and the staff really went out of their way to make this a great evening for us and our friends. Our waiter was spectacular!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, great service. Ryan was an e ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great food, great service. Ryan was an excellent waiter. Will go back for sure.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Special Occasion, Authentic, Modern Decor, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Simply outstanding! The staff was all ov ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Simply outstanding! The staff was all over taking care of us and the food was off the hook! Highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was awesome! Very friendly an ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Our waiter was awesome! Very friendly and personable. Young, dark hair guy with a little pony tail on top of his head.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. It was a lon ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Excellent food and service. It was a long day of driving and we weren't sure of this new spot for us. It exceeded expectations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great local spot, Pat is an amazi ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on September 22, 2016

What a great local spot, Pat is an amazing host. Thanks for the experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

As I previously indicated, we love this ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 28, 2016

As I previously indicated, we love this restaurant. One of our favorites. Have known the owner for some time and everything he does is exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Spicy, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints! Food was great and se ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Never disappoints! Food was great and service was super!! Always a great dinner date choice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Our food and service were excellent as a ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Our food and service were excellent as always. My halibut and salmon duo were cooked to perfection. The Egg Plant Parmesan is second to none...

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was great! The food was c ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 21, 2016

The atmosphere was great! The food was cold and the bread was stale, but the waiter gave excellent service!

Tags: People Watching, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Excellent RIbeye, everytime! The rest ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent RIbeye, everytime! The rest of the menu pretty good too. Great place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, but much too loud. My family ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Good food, but much too loud. My family could not have a conversation and my kids were plugging their ears.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Amazing service with great food :)

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Amazing service with great food :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. The gnocchi was very sim ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent food. The gnocchi was very similar to the gnocchi I had in Venice Italy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The owner of this restaurant is a long t ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 24, 2016

The owner of this restaurant is a long time local restaurant owner and is very respected and loved by the community. Very involved with day to day operations and I believe that is what has made him such a success. He always goes above and beyond your expectations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first vist here..I made rese ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 22, 2016

This was my first vist here..I made reservations for 2 at 7. arrived a few mins late. And we were first taken to a table in back of the restaurant ,in the corner. Lots of other tables available thru out. We asked for another table and were given a small table, right next to a loud table of guests, asked to move over a few ...Food was good. Service was attentive, my displeasure was that we have not even finished our meal and were visited by the busboy, server, another busboy that kept asking if they could wrap up meal, to the point that it was very annoying ..there were other customers and they were not closed. Even if they were , I had thought from the style of the restaurant , that had a little more class then they presented that night....Will not revisit there..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent as always...my filet was cooke ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Excellent as always...my filet was cooked to perfection!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.