About Five Restaurant

1110 E. Champlain Ave, Suite 101
Fresno, CA 93720
View Larger Map

Five is an exquisite blend of contemporary italian and californian cuisine. Join us for a romantic dinner or a night out drinking wine with your friends. Come and experience the engaging atmosphere and energetic ambiance of five.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
E Perrin Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(559) 434-5553

Website:
http://www.5restaurant.com/

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Five Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Food
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Service
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
5 More
Best Value
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Fit for Foodies
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Neighborhood Gem
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Most Booked
Fresno
Best Restaurants in Fresno ›

Special Occasion (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
See All
Good for Groups (17)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Romantic (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Good for a Date (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
People Watching (2)
Fun (2)
Family Style (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Seasonal (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Cozy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Scenic View (1)
Private Room (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Authentic (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
332 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and service. It was a lon ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service. It was a long day of driving and we weren't sure of this new spot for us. It exceeded expectations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a great local spot, Pat is an amazi ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined 5 days ago

What a great local spot, Pat is an amazing host. Thanks for the experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

As I previously indicated, we love this ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

As I previously indicated, we love this restaurant. One of our favorites. Have known the owner for some time and everything he does is exceptional.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Spicy, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints! Food was great and se ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Never disappoints! Food was great and service was super!! Always a great dinner date choice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Our food and service were excellent as a ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Our food and service were excellent as always. My halibut and salmon duo were cooked to perfection. The Egg Plant Parmesan is second to none...

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The atmosphere was great! The food was c ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The atmosphere was great! The food was cold and the bread was stale, but the waiter gave excellent service!

Tags: People Watching, Seasonal, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Excellent RIbeye, everytime! The rest ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent RIbeye, everytime! The rest of the menu pretty good too. Great place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, but much too loud. My family ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Good food, but much too loud. My family could not have a conversation and my kids were plugging their ears.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Amazing service with great food :)

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Amazing service with great food :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food. The gnocchi was very sim ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Excellent food. The gnocchi was very similar to the gnocchi I had in Venice Italy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The owner of this restaurant is a long t ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The owner of this restaurant is a long time local restaurant owner and is very respected and loved by the community. Very involved with day to day operations and I believe that is what has made him such a success. He always goes above and beyond your expectations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first vist here..I made rese ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This was my first vist here..I made reservations for 2 at 7. arrived a few mins late. And we were first taken to a table in back of the restaurant ,in the corner. Lots of other tables available thru out. We asked for another table and were given a small table, right next to a loud table of guests, asked to move over a few ...Food was good. Service was attentive, my displeasure was that we have not even finished our meal and were visited by the busboy, server, another busboy that kept asking if they could wrap up meal, to the point that it was very annoying ..there were other customers and they were not closed. Even if they were , I had thought from the style of the restaurant , that had a little more class then they presented that night....Will not revisit there..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Excellent as always...my filet was cooke ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Excellent as always...my filet was cooked to perfection!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinners were delicious and the servi ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our dinners were delicious and the service was impeccable. We had a very senior citizen and 2 teen aged boys. The servers were extremely patient and kind. The celebration was for my birthday and it could not have been nicer.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So far it is our favorite restaurant in ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

So far it is our favorite restaurant in Fresno. Prices are good. We have been twice food and service are consistent. We will back and try other dishes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Our server, Jason, was very polite, professional and knowledgeable. The food was outstanding, as always!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Five!!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This is our go to place! We have never had a bad meal! Love their food, drinks and wine choices! The banana fosters is amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Last minute and fabulous

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

It was great! I am a real estate agent and was out showing property late. I went on to the Open Table App and made the reservations as soon as we finished showing property and took my clients to dinner and we were seated immediately. I was so glad they were on the open table app. It was so convenient. To me that is extremely important when you are working and hadn't made plans where we were going to eat and it made it look like I had it all under control and had it all planned out.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time diners

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

This was the first time we had tried Five. Staff was very friendly and professional. Food was excellent except the shrimp was a little fishy. We would recommend this restaurant to our friends and will definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We have known the owner of the restaurant for years and his service and quality of food has always been outstanding. He is a hands on guy and welcomes everyone when they come in. Can't say enough good about Pat and Five. One of very short list of favorite places.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal, we asked for and got a table ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Great meal, we asked for and got a table on their large patio, which made it easier to hear one another. We'll go again!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Favorite Dinning

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

From San Diego and I always dine at the Five when I'm in town. Great food, service and the wine list is excellent!

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Back for more!

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

When we first moved to Fresno, we were concerned by the lack of good quality, locally owned restaurants. It seemed as if everything was chain food and chain fed. But our experiences at a few local restaurants, including Five, have been outstanding. We had the pistachio-crusted halibut special with jalepeno rice (so good) and the on-menu rack of lamb the other night. How dos the chef get the polenta SOOOO creamy?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The service was absolutely amazing. Fant ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The service was absolutely amazing. Fantastic job from everyone from hostess to bus boy. It was our anniversary and the only thing that wasn't fun was how loud it was. Unfortunately, we couldn't hear each other talk :-(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I had to leave and have my meal brought ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

I had to leave and have my meal brought to me. If you like noise..this is the place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Amazing Restaurant!

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We had such a wonderful time! The food was amazing, the drinks delicious and the service was perfect.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fresno Find

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Great staff, very attentive. They tried really hard to accommodate the special dietary needs of my elderly uncle, and commemorated his and my aunt's birthdays very thoughtfully with tiramisu. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

It was our first time dining there and w ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

It was our first time dining there and we were celebrating our 46th wedding anniversary. For a Monday evening it was very busy and the noise level was high but we enjoyed the food very much. Our waiter was very attentive and helpful with our questions regarding specials and certain entrees. We will be returning for sure!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was perfection as usual! Ordered th ...

vip
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Food was perfection as usual! Ordered the special tonight- halibut with mascarpone risotto. It was delicious! Hubby had the lamb chops- which he loved. Never had a bad meal here! Best lasagna in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food and Service!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

Tuscan Tower is a must!. No corkage fee on Tuesday night....yeah!!! The young lady who served my wife and I was SUPERB!! She was helpful, friendly and attentive....all of the qualities that we appreciate when dining out. The only minor complaint would be the noise coming from the bar area...obviously, patrons were having a good time. Outstanding experience, the same that we have experienced on previous visits. Tuesday nights will be date-night out as long as the Rombauer Zin holds out.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place. The noise level is a bit high.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

We really enjoyed our time there the food was great and the service was outstanding. The only complaint we had was the noise level but that won't prevent us from going back. Outside the noise level everything else was perfect.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous dining experience

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on March 9, 2016

Our first time to FIVE was for my birthday. It was just my husband and I and we couldn't have asked for better service! Between our waitress and the "bus boy" , who constantly made sure our water glasses were full and if there was anything we needed, we felt like royalty. I had the lobster ravioli that was to die for! Can't remember what my husband ordered thanks to the fabulous glasses of Justin cab and Rombauer Zin 😉. It definitely was noisy, so wouldn't necessarily say to go there if you wanted a quiet romantic dinner, but otherwise everything else was terrific! Thanks Five and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome Service

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

This place has the most excellent service !

You are always welcomed . Staff goes way out and over for you. Most friendliest place !

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good Food but Very Loud Bar

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

Went to Five Restaurant for my wife's birthday. We really enjoy the food and since this was Friday during Lent we were unable to have meat. Five offered some excellent options with seafood so everything was good. Service was excellent as always. Only negative is that the noise from the bar can be extremely loud when it is crowded. They also need to make the bar bigger as you cannot fit that many people in there during Happy Hour.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

High 5

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

The food was excellent. Everyone in the party was impressed by the food and service. The server gave complimentary nachos to the birthday girl ae well. We thoroughly impressed and will enjoy their food again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite is the salmon and risotto... ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

My favorite is the salmon and risotto....so delicious! Plus the Tuesday wine special is nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Valentine's Day 2016

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I made a reservation two weeks prior for Valentine's Day online. A day before they called to confirm. We were seated in a reasonable time. Since it was crowded with extra Valentine's Day guests the temporary seating kinda expected. It wasn't great seating. The food was great. The staff were pretty good. They ran out of Crème brûlée. Which really bummed me out. All in all it was a good experience. I recommend Five.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Our first time having issues

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

It was the first time I made reservations and they didn't do well. They forgot about us on Valentine's Day of all days. So we waited 30 minutes past our reserved time and then finally questioned why everyone walking in was being seated and we hadn't been. They sort of shrugged it off and seated us immediately. I wasn't impressed with that at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Beautiful restaurant

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

I absolutely love how charming this retaurant is! I went with my husband for Valentine's Day, and the food was amazing. The desserts were our favorites: I had tiramisu and he had the bananas foster. The staff was vey professional and courteous. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Way too crowded and loud

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The restaurant was way too crowded. The noise level was way too high and impacted any possible conversation. The tables were very close together, some servers needed to squeeze through tables sideways. We were there for Valentines Day so I don't know if this is the norm. The food though, was GREAT!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.