About Five Restaurant

1110 E. Champlain Ave, Suite 101
Fresno, CA 93720
View Larger Map

Five is an exquisite blend of contemporary italian and californian cuisine. Join us for a romantic dinner or a night out drinking wine with your friends. Come and experience the engaging atmosphere and energetic ambiance of five.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
E Perrin Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(559) 434-5553

Website:
http://www.5restaurant.com/

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Five Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Service
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Value
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
6 More
Most Booked
Fresno / San Joaquin Valley
Best Overall
Fresno
Best Service
Fresno
Best Ambiance
Fresno
Special Occasion
Fresno
Most Booked
Fresno
Best Restaurants in Fresno ›

special occasion (29)
vibrant bar scene (24)
fit for foodies (22)
See All
hot spot (21)
good for groups (20)
neighborhood gem (20)
notable wine list (16)
romantic (13)
great for outdoor dining (9)
late-night find (7)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
313 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined 4 days ago

We have known the owner of the restaurant for years and his service and quality of food has always been outstanding. He is a hands on guy and welcomes everyone when they come in. Can't say enough good about Pat and Five. One of very short list of favorite places.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great meal, we asked for and got a table ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Great meal, we asked for and got a table on their large patio, which made it easier to hear one another. We'll go again!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Dinning

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

From San Diego and I always dine at the Five when I'm in town. Great food, service and the wine list is excellent!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Back for more!

Dined on May 2, 2016

When we first moved to Fresno, we were concerned by the lack of good quality, locally owned restaurants. It seemed as if everything was chain food and chain fed. But our experiences at a few local restaurants, including Five, have been outstanding. We had the pistachio-crusted halibut special with jalepeno rice (so good) and the on-menu rack of lamb the other night. How dos the chef get the polenta SOOOO creamy?

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5

The service was absolutely amazing. Fant ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

The service was absolutely amazing. Fantastic job from everyone from hostess to bus boy. It was our anniversary and the only thing that wasn't fun was how loud it was. Unfortunately, we couldn't hear each other talk :-(

food4
ambience2
service3
value2

I had to leave and have my meal brought ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

I had to leave and have my meal brought to me. If you like noise..this is the place

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Restaurant!

Dined on April 24, 2016

We had such a wonderful time! The food was amazing, the drinks delicious and the service was perfect.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Fresno Find

Dined on April 10, 2016

Great staff, very attentive. They tried really hard to accommodate the special dietary needs of my elderly uncle, and commemorated his and my aunt's birthdays very thoughtfully with tiramisu. Thank you!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our first time dining there and w ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

It was our first time dining there and we were celebrating our 46th wedding anniversary. For a Monday evening it was very busy and the noise level was high but we enjoyed the food very much. Our waiter was very attentive and helpful with our questions regarding specials and certain entrees. We will be returning for sure!

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was perfection as usual! Ordered th ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Food was perfection as usual! Ordered the special tonight- halibut with mascarpone risotto. It was delicious! Hubby had the lamb chops- which he loved. Never had a bad meal here! Best lasagna in town!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Food and Service!

Dined on March 30, 2016

Tuscan Tower is a must!. No corkage fee on Tuesday night....yeah!!! The young lady who served my wife and I was SUPERB!! She was helpful, friendly and attentive....all of the qualities that we appreciate when dining out. The only minor complaint would be the noise coming from the bar area...obviously, patrons were having a good time. Outstanding experience, the same that we have experienced on previous visits. Tuesday nights will be date-night out as long as the Rombauer Zin holds out.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place. The noise level is a bit high.

Dined on March 12, 2016

We really enjoyed our time there the food was great and the service was outstanding. The only complaint we had was the noise level but that won't prevent us from going back. Outside the noise level everything else was perfect.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous dining experience

Dined on March 9, 2016

Our first time to FIVE was for my birthday. It was just my husband and I and we couldn't have asked for better service! Between our waitress and the "bus boy" , who constantly made sure our water glasses were full and if there was anything we needed, we felt like royalty. I had the lobster ravioli that was to die for! Can't remember what my husband ordered thanks to the fabulous glasses of Justin cab and Rombauer Zin 😉. It definitely was noisy, so wouldn't necessarily say to go there if you wanted a quiet romantic dinner, but otherwise everything else was terrific! Thanks Five and we will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Service

Dined on March 6, 2016

This place has the most excellent service ! You are always welcomed . Staff goes way out and over for you. Most friendliest place !

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Food but Very Loud Bar

Dined on March 5, 2016

Went to Five Restaurant for my wife's birthday. We really enjoy the food and since this was Friday during Lent we were unable to have meat. Five offered some excellent options with seafood so everything was good. Service was excellent as always. Only negative is that the noise from the bar can be extremely loud when it is crowded. They also need to make the bar bigger as you cannot fit that many people in there during Happy Hour.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High 5

Dined on February 20, 2016

The food was excellent. Everyone in the party was impressed by the food and service. The server gave complimentary nachos to the birthday girl ae well. We thoroughly impressed and will enjoy their food again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite is the salmon and risotto... ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

My favorite is the salmon and risotto....so delicious! Plus the Tuesday wine special is nice.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Valentine's Day 2016

Dined on February 15, 2016

I made a reservation two weeks prior for Valentine's Day online. A day before they called to confirm. We were seated in a reasonable time. Since it was crowded with extra Valentine's Day guests the temporary seating kinda expected. It wasn't great seating. The food was great. The staff were pretty good. They ran out of Crème brûlée. Which really bummed me out. All in all it was a good experience. I recommend Five.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Our first time having issues

Dined on February 15, 2016

It was the first time I made reservations and they didn't do well. They forgot about us on Valentine's Day of all days. So we waited 30 minutes past our reserved time and then finally questioned why everyone walking in was being seated and we hadn't been. They sort of shrugged it off and seated us immediately. I wasn't impressed with that at all.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant

Dined on February 15, 2016

I absolutely love how charming this retaurant is! I went with my husband for Valentine's Day, and the food was amazing. The desserts were our favorites: I had tiramisu and he had the bananas foster. The staff was vey professional and courteous. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Way too crowded and loud

Dined on February 15, 2016

The restaurant was way too crowded. The noise level was way too high and impacted any possible conversation. The tables were very close together, some servers needed to squeeze through tables sideways. We were there for Valentines Day so I don't know if this is the norm. The food though, was GREAT!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Give it a try

Dined on February 7, 2016

My swordfish special was just right: moist, tasty. Accompanied by two large scallops, it outshined another known fish restaurant in northwest Fresno. My mate's veal wasn't as well received, but then, she's very picky. The wine list is worthy.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

Some seating areas, including ours, are ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Some seating areas, including ours, are too close to the bar/lounge which is extremely loud and some of the patrons were obnoxious with their language.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Service

Dined on January 31, 2016

Staff very friendly. Waiter was very professional and attentive

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Average food, really loud atmosphere

Dined on January 17, 2016

Our appetizer was good (bruschetta) but 5 small half slices of bread for $9 was way overpriced. The balsamic reduction was delicious, though. There was what we thought was pesto with the bread but it turned out to possibly be some sort of tapenade, and my companion is allergic to olives, and I am a vegetarian so neither of us were happy about it. I had said I was a vegetarian when I ordered and I am hoping it was not traditional tapenade with anchovies. I had the cheese ravioli which was very bland, though it was livened up by the watery and incredibly salty tomato sauce that was dumped on it. I ended up scraping off most of the "marinara" and eating it plain. My companion had the Rigatoni al Pollo which she had to ask to be warmed up because it was served cold (not room temperature actually cold like it had been refrigerated). The creme brulee was basic but decent, and I am glad we shared because the portion was huge for a single serving. The fruit on top was fresh, ripe, and delicious. Overall: good appetizer and dessert, chain restaurant entrees. It was also really, really loud. Conversation was impossible without yelling. Having to text one's companion who is across the table because you can't hear each other is annoying. The waitress (I don't recall her name, but a woman and slightly older than the other waitstaff) was very nice and tried to be attentive, but she had several disparate tables and we had to flag down other staff for food heating, drink refills, etc. I can't imagine eating there again.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice Dinner

Dined on January 17, 2016

Restaurant was a bit pricey but for a special occasion & great food this would be the place to go.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were disappointed that we could not b ...

Dined on January 14, 2016

We were disappointed that we could not be seated until our entire party arrived. We waited about 45 minutes to be seated. I will not book large parties here again. The manager finally allowed us to be seated when 9 of the 10 were present. Thank you We were hungry and frustrated.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service! Great food! Very acco ...

Dined on January 3, 2016

Excellent service! Great food! Very accommodating! Overall a Fantastic Experience!!!

food5
ambience1
service3
value1

Would not recommend for a quiet romantic evening.

Dined on January 3, 2016

If you have ANY expectation of having a quiet romantic evening I would suggest a different restaurant. If you are going to make a reservation I would request a booth. The food was great but as I stated the ambient noise was so loud we could barely understand each other. Sitting at individual tables that are right next to other patrons can be very uncomfortable as out experience was. On on side was an arguing mother and son and the other a couple who wanted to partake in conversation when we didn't.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great dinner, great service

Dined on December 24, 2015

We always enjoy going to FIVE. The food is always good and the staff friendly. We did book on Open Table which usually we get in right away once we arrive but due to the holiday parties going on we did have to wait 30 minutes. Understaffed but our waiter once we were seated was pleasant and took his time with us. Very nice and we felt that we were given exceptional service for them being under staffed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Just okay

Dined on December 19, 2015

Food was just okay. My husband and I went we spent over a hundred dollars on two meals and a drink each and the drink tasted the best.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We prefer to support local restaurants.. ...

Dined on November 30, 2015

We prefer to support local restaurants... Five has great ambiance, fine food and great friendly service.

food3
ambience1
service1

Poor table location and noise overshadow meal

Dined on November 28, 2015

On my recent visit with my family to eat at Five, the terrible location of the table, excessive noise and inattentive server overshadowed the very good food and drinks. We were seated at a table in the middle of the restaurant near the entrance to the banquet room which was in use that night. From the moment we sat down guests in the banquet and servers were entering and exiting the doors which were less than 4 feet from the end of our table. On the other side was an additional walkway so there was constant activity surrounding the table. The noise level was very high and our waitress was not attentive. It took over 10 minutes for her to take out drink order. The food was good but the other factors, especially the location of our table made the experience un-enjoyable. I would suggest that when there is a banquet, Five should not utilize the table right outside the doors for the evening.

food4
ambience2
service3

excellent food

Dined on November 28, 2015

Place is on the noisy side so not ideal for a romantic dinner. Service is slow so don't be on a time schedule. Otherwise the staff is very polite and food is excellent.

Tags: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service4

Meh

Dined on November 28, 2015

Food was not good at all. Place was very cold inside, uncomfortable, tables butted up one another etc.

food5
ambience5
service5

Daughters birthday and she loved the experiance.

Dined on November 15, 2015

My daughter wanted to experience the 5. 1. The greeting. 2. The service 3. The ambiance. 4. The food and 5. A ever lasting experience of a GREAT time.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Loved the Linguine Alle Vongole...so goo ...

Dined on November 15, 2015

Loved the Linguine Alle Vongole...so good! Great service!

food2
ambience3
service3

Restaurant should change name to "Two and a Half"

Dined on November 8, 2015

The food is on par with most Italian restaurants in Fresno, yet they are listed as one of the top. Their cocktails are among the worst we have had in the area. The Margaritas reek of lime juice, and their ice tea cocktail was abysmal. On a Saturday night, despite having reservations through Open Table, we had to wait over half an hour for our 7 pm reservation. Though we requested a booth for a birthday celebration, we were given a table crowded very close to 2 adjoining tables. They forgot our birthday request, so other tables received complimentary birthday desserts, while we had to make another request to get ours, and it wasn't very special.

food5
ambience5
service5

Five for FIVE

Dined on October 31, 2015

Superb food and beautiful environment. Loved the dessert menu! Warm and friendly staff. Five star SERVICE experience. Excellent wine selection. Love at first sight!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely loved this restaurant!

Dined on October 29, 2015

I had the salmon with white wine risotto and was not at all disappointed. The calamari was good, though nothing insanely special. The chocolate bread pudding was pretty darn good and it was more like chocolate chip bread pudding (less chocolate than I was expecting, which I was pleased with). The pomegranate martinis were really good and the service was absolutely excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.