Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Five O'Clock Steakhouse

Rich in tradition and free of trends, the Five O’Clock Steakhouse is nothing short of timeless. Family-owned & independently operated. Five O'Clock specializes in serving the finest steaks paired with a notable wine list, classic cocktails, as well as outstanding, personalized service.

Five O’Clock has been named “One of America’s Best Steakhouses” by TV host Rachel Ray, described as a "Classic Super-Club Setting" by TravelandLeisure.com and was featured on The Travel Channel’s “Steak Paradise 3.” Five O'Clock was voted "#1 Steakhouse in Milwaukee" by Shepherd Express & Milwaukee Magazine. We were also named among the top steakhouses in Milwaukee by OnMilwaukee.com.

The Alley Cat Lounge at Five O'Clock Steakhouse features Milwaukee's best free live music weekly, classic cocktails and a 1940’s retro-lounge ambience.

You’re only a stranger once at the Five O’ Clock Steakhouse!

2416 W State St
Milwaukee, WI 53233
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 342-3553

Website:
http://www.fiveoclocksteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Free live music every Friday night in The Alley Cat Lounge at 8pm. Catch Milwaukee's best jazz, blues, funk, pop & rock. Visit www.FiveOClockSteakhouse.com for this month's live music schedule. The Alley Cat Lounge features a full bar, cocktail service, special events, promotions and no cover charge.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking in a secure lot. Street parking available.

Private Party Facilities:
The Alley Cat Lounge is the Perfect Location for Your Next Meeting, Networking or Social Event. The Lounge Features Full HD A.V. Capabilities & Projection Screen, Complimentary Wi-Fi, Private Bar, Customizable Menu Options, Complimentary Valet Parking in a Secure Lot & Is Conveniently Located Less Than 5 Miles From Most Downtown Milwaukee Companies. Call 414-342-3553 or Email dine@FiveOClockSteakhouse.com To Learn More About Meeting & Event Options or to Set Up a Tour.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Specials

Cinco de Mayo - Special Menus & Offers

Friday, May 5, 2017

Specials

Cinco de Mayo - Special Menus & Offers

Friday, May 5, 2017

Details

Come enjoy the highest rated steakhouse in Milwaukee and sip on our premium selection of tequilas !

Five O'Clock Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (94)
Good for a Date (84)
Good for Anniversaries (75)
See All
Good for Birthdays (61)
Historic (56)
Romantic (54)
Business Meals (51)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Handcrafted Cocktails (49)
Authentic (47)
Worth the Drive (41)
Good for Groups (35)
Fun (35)
Cozy (33)
Bar Seating (31)
Casual (27)
Live Music (27)
Notable Wine List (20)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Comfort Food (19)
Outstanding Value (19)
Family Style (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Hot Spot (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
People Watching (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Great Beer (6)
Private Room (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Dancing (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
898 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

Delicious as always. One of the best steaks in town, and by far the most authentic steakhouse in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was amazing as usual. Best steaks in town. Love the salad and warm bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

Me and my wife came there for her anniversary and had a very good time

Tags: Notable Wine List, Live Music, Paleo Friendly, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

It was our 1st time and friends had recommended. The food was amazing, we were very happy with service, food and overall experience. It is a great hidden gem! ❤️

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

The 5 o'clock Steakhouse is a treat from start to finish. They follow the rituals of a genuine supper club and everything flows smoothly from cocktails to dessert. Decor is retro, harkening back a half century or more. The bartender also takes you back to a time when they were gracious professionsal. Exceptional martini. The dining room wait staff were attentive, efficient, and courteous hosts. I love this place.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

It has been about 20 years since I have been to eat here. That was at a time that smoking was allowed in bars and restaurants. I remember that the food was AWESOME but it was so smoking with little ventilation. I always wanted to go back and tried to get reservations on Tuesdays at 11am, I think was the call in time. I never got through on the phone until there were no spots left. SO, it was really nice to reserve online. It was great that it's non-smoking now and dinner was phenomenal!!!! Best steak in Wisconsin hands down. Huge Steaks!!! SO good that even the leftover steak, that I took home for my hubby (that was warmed in the microwave) was delicious! I even got a second meal coming because my hubby can't wait to go there and eat a full steak!!! I was a little concerned with the area but it was nice that they have complimentary valet. The service was great and the owner or manager came over to see how our meal was. He also sent a piece of key lime pie to my sister for her birthday, which is what we were celebrating. Great ice cream drinks also!

Tags: Family Style, Late-night Find, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fun, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Always a good time, best steak in the city! If your looking for an old school feeling, this place is for you.

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food is wonderful, service great, ambiance fun. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 15, 2017

College friends came in town and Five O' Clock Steakhouse did not disappoint. The food was delicious and the service from the waitress and just overall was exceptional.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Two couples. Same day reservations. Loud and crowded (as expected). Seated at bar on time. Bartenders friendly, professional, attentive. Waitress a bit distant at first, but understandably so due to crowd. Once we began to engage her, she was fine. All the food was well above average except for asparagus, which was cold. Altogether excellent evening.

It is crowded and loud. Stop whining. Lighten up and eat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Enjoyed our dinner very much. We were celebrating my husbands birthday. Looking for a place we haven t been before.
Food was great. They were very busy so service was alittle slow but we relaxed and enjoyed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Awesome steaks and ambience

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Our reservation was honored right on time. Our bartender made some fantastic drinks and soon our order was taken for dinner, When we sat down our salad and relish tray was ready to eat. Not soon after our food was delivered to the table. Our food was not hot which was a disappointment. It was so dark we. Oils not tell if we had meat left on the bone. It was exceptionally dark. Our waitress was not overly friendly which didn't help. This place has always delivered but our last visit...not so much.

We might return for another special occassion but for now we don't plan any visits.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 9, 2017

First time there and we loved it! Susy especially made it an overall great experience.
Food tasting great was a plus

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It was great! Alexis was a great server!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My husband requested we go for his BIRTHDAY. He had been there once before and insisted on going again. The atmosphere was very relaxing however a little too dark to read the menu. Just seeibg the smile on my husband's face when the steak was brought to our table was enough satisfaction for me. Thank you for a creating a wonderful smile and Happy Birthday for him.

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Disappointed with the quality of the filet. It was choice meat and rather chewy. The salad, bread and aujus with mushrooms were very good. We're from Chicago and go to supper clubs like 5 o'clock and get PRIME meat for the same price and it also includes potato or vegetable.

The drinks were OK, but nothing special. I had my favorite martini (Side Car) and it tasted very sweet and not enough alcohol. I also tried a Old Fashioned but with same results.

Sorry Guys.

Tags: People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 8, 2017

It's been a numbers of years since I've been back to "Coerpers"! Still wonderful and I'm planning to return frequently! Love the 5 O'clock Club!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Best steak we ever had
The owner is an exceptional person.
Great staff.
Overall a ten star night

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 5, 2017

I have been to 5:00 many times but this time was a disappointment. We were celebrating my wife's birthday. I marked it on my reservation and also mentioned it when we checked in. My wife and I spent $200. The meal was good, as usual. We ordered desert but were not offered coffee. The owner made his rounds to the three tables around our table but ignored our table. The were at least two of those tables celebrating birthdays and the owner stopped at those tables and even bought a shot for one of the birthday celebrators. We were ignored. Just seemed like they didn't care that we were there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Was highly impressed by the ambiance of the restaurant. Loved relaxing at the bar with the music and friendly bartenders while waiting for meal to be served. Will definitely stop next time I am in town. Food was excellent as well as the upbeat spirit of our waitress. Over the top staff willing to accommodate customers!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Even though I had an reservation for 8:15 we were not seated until almost 9:30!!! and that was after we placed our order which took about 20-30 minutes. There were people coming in after us who were seated before us, not sure how that happened. Thank goodness for good company, but that's way too long to sit without anyone assuring us that we would be seated soon.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We hadn't been to 5 o'clock Steakhouse for about 1.5 years or so after raving about it to our friends, only to have a "miss" night when we finally met them out one night. Anyways, we went back to give it another chance, and we were so happy we did. Yes, our reservation was at 8pm, and yes, they seat you at the bar while you wait for a table, so I understand that some people get turned off by that. We were fine, being able to score seats at the bar, enjoy a cocktail, and watch the NCAA tournament on TV. Our waitress was fantastic (I forget her name) but she was very friendly and welcoming. Our steaks were great-perfectly cooked and seasoned. Wines are nicely priced. Compared to other steak places in MKE, 5 o'Clock is very competitively (and better) priced. We will be back, and we will bring our friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Celebrating a birthday. Food was excellent as usual and our server was friendly and attentive despite how crazy busy she was.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Delicious steaks! Took my parents here for our birthdays and the steaks and drinks were amazing. They gave us cheesecake with a candle to celebrate our birthdays. So fun! Typical Wisconsin supper club with perfectly cooked steaks.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 1, 2017

True supper club style. You order your meal while seated at the bar sipping delicious craft cocktails. We had the best steaks of our life. I love the diversity of the crowd - I felt comfortable dressed up, but plenty of folks in casual clothes, which to me is the mark of a great Wisconsin steakhouse. Noise level might be a bit loud for some, but we loved the atmosphere. This will become a regular spot for us when we're celebrating special occasions or just want a great steak.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food was exceptional! The live music was also great entertainment. The service was nice as well. I will definitely be going back!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Attentive staff and great steaks! We will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Business dinner with 2 colleagues - great experience. We will be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 28, 2017

I have lived in Milwaukee for 43 years and have always looked for that perfect steak. To be honest, I had pretty much given up on eating steak. There was no flavor...it was my sons birthday. On the previous birthday we went to MO's steak house. I won't go there again. Overpriced and no flavor. We were very dissatisfied. I like many do not mind the price if it's something I can't reproduce at home, and the flavor is there. I won't kid you the price was high but the quality was the best I have ever known. I will go back and have already shared my experience with co workers. The staff was great, wait staff, bartenders and valet Parker which was free. Yes all were tipped . I love this place.. by the way we went on a teusday night and it was packed. That to me says a lot about a specialty restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 28, 2017

We had been to 5’oclock a few times before and were craving a good steak.

However, this time didn’t live up to previous visits.

The bartender was the best part of the evening as he recommended a fun, sweet, fruity drink. It was delicious. He and his partner behind the bar were quite fun.

We ordered the filet and the NY strip. Both were just OK. Both steaks were served floating in a salty beef stock that didn’t let the flavor of the meat thru - which should be a clue to the quality of the meat. The NY seemed a bit fatty. They filet was a bit chewy. The crustiness of the broiled NY detracted from the overall steak experience. The filet was ordered medium, but was served more medium well.

Our server was nice at the beginning and thru the meal, but seemed upset when I asked for a to-go box for the portions I didn’t eat. They wrap the leftovers at the table, so maybe that set her off.

They’re ranked as one of the best steakhouses in the midwest. With that kind of pressure - maybe they had an off night. However, they’ve dropped to the bottom of our list and we’ll be exploring other options.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food is the absolute best. We go for the king crab legs and filet !!! Their deserts are amazing!!!

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 25, 2017

My husband has wanted to try 5 o'clock Steakhose for a while. I decided to take him there for his birthday. Overall the experience would have been ok if the food was okay. It's really disappointing to pay $38 for a steak that is over done, $8 for cold asparagus, and $8 for cold onion rings. Our server apologized for the wait, but it was clear that our food had "died in the window ". I'm not sure if they were waiting on steak knives to be cleaned because they were very warm. The best part about dinner was the valet parking.

I will not go back, nor would I recommend this to anyone that I know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Awesome as always! . . ...................................

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Everything was excellent...when my daughter and I first arrived we were greeted promptly and asked to please have a seat at the bar because there was a private party going on it it was almost over. We agreed and were taken to the bar...the bartender was VERY friendly and made a excellent pama martini. It was my daughter's first time...all of our food was delicious..the salad was very fresh and crisp the bread was got and fresh the relish tray was excellent...we tried olives and banana peppers for the first time...loved em! Our prime rib was to die for! VERY tender and flavorful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Romantic, People Watching, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great service, excellent quality of the meat. I am a fan of salt crusted steaks, so the lack of added flavor was a disappointment. That being said, the pure steak flavor might be the best I've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We were not seated at our Open Table reservation time and told we must sit in bar until our table was ready. That is fine but if you have a reservation and their are open tables it would be nice to be seated promptly. The ribeye is always my favorite at 5 O'Clock club and it was tasty but it was easily 30 percent smaller than it used to be as was my colleagues. Flavor is great but for $45 for the steak I was surprised it had shrunk in size. STill great flavor and au jus but lacked the wow factor I am used to for this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 23, 2017

I love this place.... so distinctly different with incredible decor and ambiance-- great service and good traditional menu with a few surprising items...

Tags: Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Believe the hype, this place has one of the best steaks I've ever eaten

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Very disappointing. Putting leftovers in a plastic bag was the deal breaker for us. That was the epitome of "taking the dog a bone!"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.