About Five O'Clock Steakhouse

2416 W State St
Milwaukee, WI 53233
View Larger Map

Rich in tradition and free of trends, the Five O’Clock Steakhouse is nothing short of timeless. Family-owned & independently operated. Five O'Clock specializes in serving the finest steaks paired with a notable wine list, classic cocktails, as well as outstanding, personalized service.

Five O’Clock has been named “One of America’s Best Steakhouses” by TV host Rachel Ray, described as a "Classic Super-Club Setting" by TravelandLeisure.com and was featured on The Travel Channel’s “Steak Paradise 3.” Five O'Clock was voted "#1 Steakhouse in Milwaukee" by Shepherd Express & Milwaukee Magazine. We were also named among the top steakhouses in Milwaukee by OnMilwaukee.com.

The Alley Cat Lounge at Five O'Clock Steakhouse features Milwaukee's best free live music weekly, classic cocktails and a 1940’s retro-lounge ambience.

You’re only a stranger once at the Five O’ Clock Steakhouse!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 342-3553

Website:
http://www.fiveoclocksteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Free live music every Friday night in The Alley Cat Lounge at 8pm. Catch Milwaukee's best jazz, blues, funk, pop & rock. Visit www.FiveOClockSteakhouse.com for this month's live music schedule. The Alley Cat Lounge features a full bar, cocktail service, special events, promotions and no cover charge.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking in a secure lot. Street parking available.

Private Party Facilities:
The Alley Cat Lounge is the Perfect Location for Your Next Meeting, Networking or Social Event. The Lounge Features Full HD A.V. Capabilities & Projection Screen, Complimentary Wi-Fi, Private Bar, Customizable Menu Options, Complimentary Valet Parking in a Secure Lot & Is Conveniently Located Less Than 5 Miles From Most Downtown Milwaukee Companies. Call 414-342-3553 or Email dine@FiveOClockSteakhouse.com To Learn More About Meeting & Event Options or to Set Up a Tour.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Five O'Clock Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Wisconsin
Steakhouse
Milwaukee
Most Booked
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

Special Occasion (81)
Good for a Date (67)
Good for Anniversaries (62)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Worth the Drive (48)
Good for Birthdays (47)
Handcrafted Cocktails (42)
Historic (42)
Authentic (41)
Romantic (41)
Business Meals (30)
Bar Seating (26)
Casual (26)
Fun (25)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Cozy (23)
Comfort Food (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Notable Wine List (18)
Live Music (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Hot Spot (10)
People Watching (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Family Style (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Private Room (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
721 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Experience a WI Steakhouse with our son ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Experience a WI Steakhouse with our son and his wife after moving to Whitefish Bay

Excellent quality prepared spot on

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic steaks, great vibe! Authentic ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic steaks, great vibe! Authentic supper club with focus on food and drink. Truly a Milwaukee gem!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have eaten here so many times. this p ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

I have eaten here so many times. this place has the best steaks that I know of. This place just keeps you coming back again and again. You just got to love this place. the best way that I can put is this place is like a Lays potato chips. You can't just eat one. you visit once you will be back again.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steaks were incredible, they melt in ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

The steaks were incredible, they melt in your mouth. It was the first time I've been there in years but was everything I remembered. Also was a little pricey but worth it. It won't be as long till I eat there again the food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and the service are phenomenal ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

The food and the service are phenomenal . Best steakhouse in Milwaukee .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the experience of a Wisc. supper c ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Loved the experience of a Wisc. supper club, but to have to pay $12 to split a steak is greedy on the part of management. Should have just ordered a soup and split it ourselves.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

It was my first time at five o clock and ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 30, 2016

It was my first time at five o clock and my first time using open table! Awesome experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been going to Five O'clock for 30 ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I have been going to Five O'clock for 30+ years. Steaks smaller, salads mostly lettuce, baked potato now optional and prices have shot up. Not as good as it was, but still better than most. I keep the place on my rotation because its still good...just not great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I love going to 5 Oclock Steak house eve ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I love going to 5 Oclock Steak house every time I'm in Milwaukee. Loyal out of state customer. Milwaukee will always be home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The steaks were delicious and the servic ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The steaks were delicious and the service was spectacular as always!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time here. Steaks were great. Was ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 26, 2016

First time here. Steaks were great. Was greeted right away. Staff were polite and happy that there was valet parking available.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very disappointed with the steak D ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 26, 2016

I was very disappointed with the steak Diane, I did tell the waitress that it was tough and that gravy was just too thick but they chose to ignore it and not address the issue.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

Amazing steaks with delicious side dishe ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Amazing steaks with delicious side dishes. I had heard that the old fashioned drink was a must try and it definitely lived up to the hype!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Best steak I ever had. Bartender and wai ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Best steak I ever had. Bartender and waitress both great. Very attentive and personable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a reservation for 4:30, but they ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We had a reservation for 4:30, but they do not open until 5:00 so we waited for a little while, had nice conversation with bartender and other help, great conversation. When we went to our table everything was there except the main entre wonderful salad. wonderfully good blue cheese dressing and relish dish, and nice touch the honey for the bread great, the steaks came were done just right, but food was luke warm. nice touch with the spice candies on the way out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went on a Wednesday night so the plac ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went on a Wednesday night so the place wasn't too packed. We had a reservation so the combination of those two things got us back to our seats quickly; a big plus compared to reviews from weekend nights. Even though the restaurant was (less than) half full, it was still pretty loud. My main problem was the food. The preparation was fine, but the quality of food they started with was lacking. I honestly could have gotten a better meal for 1/3 the price by going to a chain steakhouse (Texas Roadhouse, Outback).

While not bad, it was most definitely not worth the prices they charged.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

if no one has ever been there before, it ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 23, 2016

if no one has ever been there before, it would be great to be greeted. we seem to standing in the doorway and no one greeted us

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

The steaks were awesome & delicious! The ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The steaks were awesome & delicious! The cocktail drinks made by the bartender were very good!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The best steaks in Milwaukee, and great ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The best steaks in Milwaukee, and great live music. We enjoyed Gabriel Sanchez after our steak dinners!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We saw the restaurant on Food Paradise a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We saw the restaurant on Food Paradise and had to try it. It did not disappoint. Everything was great the service, drinks, food and the restaurant itself. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Historic, Cozy, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent food. We really enjoyed ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Always excellent food. We really enjoyed our meals and the waitstaff is outstanding!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I didn't thing I was going to like this ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I didn't thing I was going to like this place was my first impression. Tough part of town, old building that's very cramped as you enter. But I let the staff do their jobs and they were great...especially Courtney. Thank you for a nice evening. I travel in my job and have eaten at some of the most lauded steakhouses in the country. This steak however, the larger filet, may have been the best I have ever eaten.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

This is really an excellent old style su ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 17, 2016

This is really an excellent old style supper club with outstanding food and service. It is an old school place with really great steaks. There are a lot of great places to eat in Milwaukee but this is a place to make sure you try. I would absolutely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come here about once a month and toda ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We come here about once a month and today we brought some friends to try our favorite place. Our steaks were ordered medium well and our friends, well done. They all came out pretty much raw. They were sent back to be cooked more, so they were cooked to how we ordered them. By the time the steaks came cooked correctly, our sides were cold. I was very disappointed when our bill came and they didn't offer anything, not even an apology. We rave about this place and it was disappointing how they responded. After asking, was told we could get a free dessert. I just wish they would've acknowledged the screw up, apologized or offered something more than a free dessert. Maybe comp the appetizers that were ice cold while waiting for our steaks to cook??? We didn't want a dessert in the first place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent food, service, and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Excellent food, service, and atmosphere. My wife and I celebrated our anniversary there Saturday night. Would recommend this place to anyone looking for the best steak in the milwaukee area. And our server April was awesome too. Thanks 5 o'clock club for an awesome evening.

PS thanks for the key lime pie

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent, thank you Alexand ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service was excellent, thank you Alexandrea!; food was delicious - a perfect evening for a special birthday! Prices are high and noise level is up there but it is all part of the wonderful experience. I would recommend the Five O'clock Steakhouse to everyone! My son suggested we make this a family tradition!

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoy this typically Milwaukee experi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We enjoy this typically Milwaukee experience. The steaks and other selections are excellent and the service is friendly and efficient. The host makes you feel appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

5 O'Clock Steakhouse is a classic master ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 12, 2016

5 O'Clock Steakhouse is a classic masterpiece. Food and service were both excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Five O'Clock Steakhouse provides a t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The Five O'Clock Steakhouse provides a trip to yesteryear when the supper club was a destination, not just a place to eat. The Alley Cat Lounge upstairs provides a perfect ending to a fine dining experience. The bartenders are second to none and can make any cocktail perfectly. The owners visit each table to ensure that the meal and beverages are to your liking. Overall, a superior place for great food and a greater ambience in today's "rush through it" world.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Certainly the feeling of a 1940's supper ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Certainly the feeling of a 1940's supper club.

Food was unpretentious and straight forward.

Perfect cook on steak (and everything else).

Had Filet. Cut of meat was disappointing. That deducts a star. Relish tray was outstanding; bread, salad, and creme brûlée was so so. My water was never filled (2nd deduction).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Fantastic, classic Wisconsin supper club ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Fantastic, classic Wisconsin supper club. It has a "Sinatra" like feel--excellent customer service, very generous portions and everything was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

From the "free" valet parking, to the am ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

From the "free" valet parking, to the amazing food, this place is what's up!!! Love it.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife took me to 5 O' Clock Steakhouse ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

My wife took me to 5 O' Clock Steakhouse for my birthday. It was like going back in time. The way supper clubs used to be. They were super busy. The wait staff really works hard and they keep moving. I'm surprised they don't crash into one another. My wife had the prime rib and I had the rib eye, with a side of asparagus. Both portions were HUGE. That rib eye, was THE most tender steak, that I have ever had. The prime rib, was also very tender and both were delicious. They bring a HUGE bowl of salad along with a relish tray and sourdough bread. We had the Greek dressing for our salad and it was very good.

I didn't know what to expect in regards to their famous "CHAR." I sort of expected a somewhat crunchy, burnt taste, but it wasn't. It is unique in how they do that. We were both very pleased with our dinner and our server, I believe her name was Faye, was wonderful. Very attentive and explained the menu and portion sizes.

We will definitely return. It's about fifty miles from our home, but it is very much worth the drive.

PS; The owner came to our table, a few times, to welcome us and to see how we enjoyed our visit.

PPS: Had the strawberry cheese cake. Can't say enough good things about it!!!! :-{)}

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my wife, our son, first time goin ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

It was my wife, our son, first time going to Five O' Clock Steakhouse. While we thought some of the food was good very good (steaks and side dishes). One complaint was the lobster tails, they came out cold. Why would lobster at the price we paid come out of the kitchen cold? Another issue was we were jammed in the back next to 12 men and the end person nearest to us was loud and a very big man. When we got to our table, this man had put his table's half eaten salad bowl on our table and had taken the one we were suppose to get. Then the waitress said to the man that salad is not yours, so he handed it back to us with his thumb in the salad. The waitress was fairly attentive (April), but the long and short of it, we probably won't be back, I know of other places where I can drop $300 and be better taken care of.

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The food is outstanding but sometimes I ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food is outstanding but sometimes I don't want to cocktail prior to dinner. We were told to wait at the bar, where we ordered soda, & then waited for about 20 mins or so for the waitress to take our order because they had a waitress meeting when they were open. Too much waiting. I seen plenty of people get seated with menus , which I would of preferred that. I waitressed for many years & never had the pleasure of moving at that slow of a pace . We waited for awhile for our main meal to come but wow, it was fantastic! I understand it is a supper club but some people just want to eat & not waste money at the bar.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Best steak in Milwaukee, Wisconsin! Wai ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Best steak in Milwaukee, Wisconsin! Waitress was fantastic. Owner walked around to see how we liked the food. Would definitely come back again!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best steakhouse in Milwaukee and qui ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 4, 2016

The best steakhouse in Milwaukee and quite possibly the Midwest, period. The King Cut Filet is my favorite dish, I highly recommend it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perhaps my favorite restaurant in Milwau ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Perhaps my favorite restaurant in Milwaukee. Always top notch on all levels!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Historic, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great steak place in Milwaukee. I ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 30, 2016

What a great steak place in Milwaukee. I go to a lot of restaurants and eat a lot of great food all over the U.S. Let me say that this place is right up there when it comes to steak. I had the bone in filet (can't find it everywhere) and it was amazing. The char on the steaks is what makes it unique and adds a ton of flavor. I'm not a "char" person, but this isn't overdone and doesn't taste burnt like it can. You do feel a little packed in (tables are close together), but once you get to your table you feel like your in your own little world. A true gem for Wisconsin. Enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Bar was great , server (Stephanie) was ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Bar was great , server (Stephanie) was great had not been here in 15 years flavor of steak was a bit different and was not impressed with it . Overall was good but to me is not worth the price

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.