Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Five O'Clock Steakhouse

Rich in tradition and free of trends, the Five O’Clock Steakhouse is nothing short of timeless. Family-owned & independently operated. Five O'Clock specializes in serving the finest steaks paired with a notable wine list, classic cocktails, as well as outstanding, personalized service.

Five O’Clock has been named “One of America’s Best Steakhouses” by TV host Rachel Ray, described as a "Classic Super-Club Setting" by TravelandLeisure.com and was featured on The Travel Channel’s “Steak Paradise 3.” Five O'Clock was voted "#1 Steakhouse in Milwaukee" by Shepherd Express & Milwaukee Magazine. We were also named among the top steakhouses in Milwaukee by OnMilwaukee.com.

The Alley Cat Lounge at Five O'Clock Steakhouse features Milwaukee's best free live music weekly, classic cocktails and a 1940’s retro-lounge ambience.

You’re only a stranger once at the Five O’ Clock Steakhouse!

2416 W State St
Milwaukee, WI 53233
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 342-3553

Website:
http://www.fiveoclocksteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Free live music every Friday night in The Alley Cat Lounge at 8pm. Catch Milwaukee's best jazz, blues, funk, pop & rock. Visit www.FiveOClockSteakhouse.com for this month's live music schedule. The Alley Cat Lounge features a full bar, cocktail service, special events, promotions and no cover charge.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking in a secure lot. Street parking available.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

Available Tuesday through Friday, Five O’ Clock’s newly remodeled Alley Cat Lounge offers a private dining & event space perfect for a business meeting, networking event, social gathering, wedding, rehearsal dinner, or bachelor/bachelorette parties.

Five O'Clock Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (77)
Good for Anniversaries (59)
Good for a Date (59)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (55)
Good for Birthdays (50)
Worth the Drive (50)
Romantic (43)
Handcrafted Cocktails (40)
Authentic (39)
Business Meals (33)
Good for Groups (32)
Bar Seating (31)
Casual (29)
Fun (25)
Cozy (24)
Live Music (21)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Hot Spot (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Historic (13)
People Watching (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Family Style (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Great Beer (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Healthy (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
988 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

The steaks we ordered were cooked to perfection and tasted great. I really like the charred steaks. The baked potato and salad was as expected. The sautéed spinach was marginal. Carson's sauteed spinach taste much Better. The ambiance was great and live music helped the mood for my date and I. I would definitely return!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

I took a guest from out of town here and the food was fantastic. My only complaint was that the server was eager to clear our table and took away all of the salad, etc. while we still waited a while for our meal. Other than that, everything was great!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

Thanks for being a part of Open Table. Reservations were easy to make on a Monday.
The food isn't as good as in previous years or even a few months ago. I'm still recommending it for steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent steaks and food as usual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Never had a better filet than at the 5:00 Club. They set the bar on steak excellence years ago for us and have not let us down. When you can cut a filet with a fork you know its got to be great. Keep up the great work.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Excellent steaks, service, music, drinks, and ambiance! Stelio and crew came through for us with a great experience again.

Tags: Cozy, Live Music, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Always great steaks and good friendly service. Been going for years and will continue doing so for years to come.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great place. Martinis were great, the food eccellent. Totslly loved the music. I jigjly recommend tjis place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I did not like the fact that they did not offer an option to have your meat cooked well done. My husband and I could not really enjoy our meals because it was so pink. Some people may prefer that but we did not so it would have been nice to have that option. The strawberry martini was delicious though and the service was also pretty good.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Great food, interesting ambiance, great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Horrible. Been going to this place for 25 years. It was horrible tonight and we will not be back.

You destroyed a Milwaukee icon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The steak was great as usual.
The cost is now out of my price
range. The additional $5.00
for the bake potato was a bit
much.
I love the place,but not the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This was my first time at this restaurant , I had a wonderful experience ! Definitely will be going back. Food was awesome, I enjoyed the set up In the restaurant , and the staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Cozy, Comfort Food, Romantic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 27, 2017

This steakhouse has been a family tradition for probably 40 years. The food is phenomenal and the atmosphere is eclectic and heart-warming. We had a newer server this last visit and were surprised that our cocktail glasses remained empty as long as they did - she'll figure it out. We love making this a special visit when relatives come back to town. The steaks are just tremendous!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Our server, Alyx, was super! Took good care of us. The live music of Kirk Tatnall was superb and gave the whole restaurant a great vibe and feel. The steaks were done to perfection and very large portions. The old neon signs lighting through the curtains combined with the dated supper club feel is a must-do experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I have been here multiple times and it never disappoints. On this visit we had four couples so the bar and seating experience was a little bit different - we didn't order at the bar. Buffalo shrimp appetizer was awesome! Bartenders are friendly and are always consistent in their drink presentation. Steaks are consistently delicious. We'll be back on our next special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Five O'Clock Steak House never disappoints! Took a nephew there( for his birthday) because we knew he'd have a fabulous steak. He's from San Diego, so the "old supper club" ambiance hit the experience out of the ball park! Great dining for all involved. Service was very good, food was top notch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Authentic, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Always a wonderful experience. Our favorite steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 20, 2017

This restaurant remains one of the best steakhouses in the country. While the atmosphere is eclectic, the food and service are top notch.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Old school traditional steak house that does it right. First they seat you at the bar to have a cocktail. There you order your meal, then you are escorted to your table for a fantastic steak dinner.
Looking forward to getting back in town for another 5 o'clock meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Awesome place...always feels like a throwback. We make a special stop there and have really good memories of being there

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This was the noisiest restaurant I have been in maybe ever! Table too close together. The noise level was so loud you would see people sitting at tables not conversing because they couldn't be heard. To add insult to injury they had live music come on to add to the misery. This is not a hot new trendy place, it is old style and tacky. My steak was full of gristle and they had put some type of au ju over it that had a canned flavor. The waitress saw that it was inedible and gave some type of credit but not enough to save the meal. Definitely a one time adventure. Steak was also dramatically overprice for location and clientele.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Overall, it was an amazing experience. The pre-dinner drinks at the bar were very relaxing and stayed true to the supper club process I grew up on. The service was spectacular. No other word to describe it. Friendly, accommodating and very attentive. The only thing I would knock them down a star for is my father (on his Father's Day celebration dinner) ordered a NY Strip that was very tough and had way too much fat on it. For a steak that pricey, the preparation and quality was lacking.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 17, 2017

A great old fashion, neighborhood steakhouse. It's nice but not fancy, great cocktails, wine list was good, family style salad and relish tray, steakea prepared perfectly. I had a terrific time with an old friend. Love the way you start in the bar, very unique. If you are looking for a new age romantic restaurant this is not your place. This is not a knock, this place is old school and I liked it. I enjoy old fashion, authentic places and this was one of those restusturants. If I get back to Milwaukee I will definitely go back. We went on US Open weekend but I get the sense it gets busy, so would recommend reservations.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

What a unique place! I wasn't familiar with the 'supper club' approach to dining and it was a blast. Unbelievable service from Stacey, love the bar team, and the food was great. Not sure I've seen a 16oz. filet on menu before and it was cooked perfectly! Definitely highly recommend and definitely will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Unique restaurant. Carnivores welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Overrated don't waste your time here! Capital Grill is the answer =)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

I love the steak and salad - old school and delicious! great service, and the make a fine old fashioned.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 16, 2017

The ambiance and style of this steak house is a pleasure to be a part of. The server will give you your menus and introduce themselves while you sit at the bar. You order at the bar, then when you are ready to sit down, you arrive at your table with full bread basket, garnish tray, and salad ready for you-pure dining enjoyment! The steaks are top notch prime quality. I'll look forward to my next visit.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Amazimg ambiance. Felt like a movie set from the 50's. this is where classic learns how to be classic

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Loved the atmosphere and the 'supper club' style dining. Steaks were great as were the after-dinner frozen drinks - our dessert! Great service. We had a ball.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Came here for an anniversary. It was a good experience. I'm not sure how I feel about being offered drinks and being billed separately as we sat by the bar area waiting to be seated. Also, although very nice and friendly, our waitress wasn't very attentive. We were done already for a little while when another waitress was kind enough to notice and asked us if we were done and started packing our leftovers, then our waitress saw and came to finish up. It would've been nice if the other girl was our waitress so our tip would go to her. Overall, the food was great. This was our second visit, and the steak did not disappoint once again. We will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 10, 2017

A very nice place. Enjoyed celebrating my girlfriends birthday with a great meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We were looking for somewhere different to spend our anniversary and chose 5 o'clock steakhouse. The experience was very different but we loved it. You aren't rushed to your table right away instead you sit at the bar, have a drink and look over the menu before your server comes over and takes your order. The steaks we ordered were cooked perfect and were amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Enjoyed the food and fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Joanie was an amazing server definetely made it a memorable night.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Food was Wonderful ! Service was Fantastic ! Bathroom could use and update and paint! Fruit Flies were a bit of a problem. Price was Great for the Value !
Alex our Server was Awesome!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Awesome as always. Won't find a better steak than here.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Absolutely the best steak I have ever had! Friendly professionally and very accommodating.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.