About Five O'Clock Steakhouse

2416 W State St
Milwaukee, WI 53233
View Larger Map

Rich in tradition and free of trends, the Five O’Clock Steakhouse is nothing short of timeless. Family-owned & independently operated. Five O'Clock specializes in serving the finest steaks paired with a notable wine list, classic cocktails, as well as outstanding, personalized service.

Five O’Clock has been named “One of America’s Best Steakhouses” by TV host Rachel Ray, described as a "Classic Super-Club Setting" by TravelandLeisure.com and was featured on The Travel Channel’s “Steak Paradise 3.” Five O'Clock was voted "#1 Steakhouse in Milwaukee" by Shepherd Express & Milwaukee Magazine. We were also named among the top steakhouses in Milwaukee by OnMilwaukee.com.

The Alley Cat Lounge at Five O'Clock Steakhouse features Milwaukee's best free live music weekly, classic cocktails and a 1940’s retro-lounge ambience.

You’re only a stranger once at the Five O’ Clock Steakhouse!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 342-3553

Website:
http://www.fiveoclocksteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Free live music every Friday night in The Alley Cat Lounge at 8pm. Catch Milwaukee's best jazz, blues, funk, pop & rock. Visit www.FiveOClockSteakhouse.com for this month's live music schedule. The Alley Cat Lounge features a full bar, cocktail service, special events, promotions and no cover charge.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking in a secure lot. Street parking available.

Private Party Facilities:
The Alley Cat Lounge is the Perfect Location for Your Next Meeting, Networking or Social Event. The Lounge Features Full HD A.V. Capabilities & Projection Screen, Complimentary Wi-Fi, Private Bar, Customizable Menu Options, Complimentary Valet Parking in a Secure Lot & Is Conveniently Located Less Than 5 Miles From Most Downtown Milwaukee Companies. Call 414-342-3553 or Email dine@FiveOClockSteakhouse.com To Learn More About Meeting & Event Options or to Set Up a Tour.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Five O'Clock Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Wisconsin
Steakhouse
Wisconsin
Best Food
Milwaukee
2 More
Special Occasion
Milwaukee
Steakhouse
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

Special Occasion (121)
Neighborhood Gem (67)
Romantic (61)
See All
Fit for Foodies (47)
Good for Groups (42)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Hot Spot (13)
Notable Wine List (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Lunch (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fun (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
583 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best Steaks around! A little pricey, but ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 4 days ago

Best Steaks around! A little pricey, but worth it for those special occasions.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This place was amazing! The old fashione ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 5 days ago

This place was amazing! The old fashioneds were made right and were one of the best I've ever had. The filet mignon was done exactly how I wanted and tasted great. For a 16 oz filet, the price was perfect. Highly recommend it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been there before, but were disapp ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 5 days ago

We've been there before, but were disappointed. We love the throwback atmosphere and untouched ambiance. However, the steaks were so-so. My ribeye was thin, so hard to tell if it was medium rare or medium. It was floating in a gravy that splashed with every bite. Dessert (key lime) was bland.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Ordered the bone in filet... AMAZING, on ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 7 days ago

Ordered the bone in filet... AMAZING, one of the most tender and flavorful steaks I have ever had, greatly enjoyed every bit of my meal and so did my date ;-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very expensive. Good steak but rest of t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 7 days ago

Very expensive. Good steak but rest of the meal was- mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value1

Filet was terrible - steak tastes burnt ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Filet was terrible - steak tastes burnt on outside and not cooked appropriately

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

Filet was stringy inside. Price too hig ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Filet was stringy inside. Price too high. potatoes and veggies, you pay extra. Really?? For a $48 steak??!!! Poor salad--a bowl of lettuce and 1 little tomato. Crowded, servers bumping me at my table. $1.50 surcharge for Southern Comfort in old-fashioned drink. Way too noisy, caused frustration. Didn't see diners smiling and enjoying the experience. Bad neighborhood, they should move elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

5 o'clock steakhouse was recommended to ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

5 o'clock steakhouse was recommended to me and I was more than blown away by the service and food. Faye was wonderful and my mouthwatering steak was cooked to perfection. I couldn't have asked for a better dining experience. Comfortable and vintage.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time @ 5 o'clock and ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This was our first time @ 5 o'clock and it came highly recommended and they did not disappoint in anyway. The atmosphere was great and service was fantastic. Our server explained the menu in good detail pointing out how the steaks were prepared which helped us as first time guests. We've already talked about making plans for another visit and traveling an hour to have dinner here is well worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bar and table service was excellent. The ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Bar and table service was excellent. The corner seating was so dark were almost unable to see our food. Steak was prepared well but warm at best. We should've sent it back.

We were regulars years ago, started going to Milwaukee Steak House but wanted to try 5 again.

We will go back to Milw Steak House.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value3

Always a great meal! We always make a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Always a great meal! We always make an effort to eat there when we're in town!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and overall experience! The b ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great food and overall experience! The best hands down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was our 48th anniversary dinner. My ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

It was our 48th anniversary dinner. My wife had one drink at the bar and I had 2 Gimlets (one rail and one Chopin) The bar tab with tip was $27. We then proceeded to our table. My wife ordered steak Diane, and I had a bone-in Rib Eye. My wife was dissatisfied with the Steak Diane, and they replaced it with Jumbo Fried Shrimp, which she enjoyed. I was not impressed with the quality of the meat of the Rib Eye, nor the serving method. The steak was floating in a half inch of AU Ju, which was like black swamp water. My wife had an after-dinner drink which was ok and we had 2 decafs, which were instant. The dinner bill was $145 with tip. Overall, the meal was ordinary at best, the place is somewhat dark and noisy with old paneling. We were not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Food was great!! We got there a 5 for a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Food was great!! We got there a 5 for a 530 dinner reservation to have a cocktail. Best old fashion ever !!

We just wish they didn't rush us to order at the bar right away. Other than that, it was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent steakhouse from beginning to e ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Excellent steakhouse from beginning to end. Classic cocktails, delicious appetizers and entree. Wait staff is attentive but not intrusive. Private parking lot with complimentary valet service. Valet even knows the history of the restaurant!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Five O'Clock Steakhouse never disappoint ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Five O'Clock Steakhouse never disappoints! The service is impeccable, the food exquisite and the ambiance divine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Every time we dine at the 5, it's a grea ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Every time we dine at the 5, it's a great experience! I had the bone Filet and it was actually even tastier then the King Cut Filet.

If you get the chance to dine here, Do IT!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

Everything was very good! The only compl ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Everything was very good! The only complaint would be the cost of the after dinner Irish-cream, the cost was a bit high and then there was an extra charge for no ice.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Love the atmosphere, excellent food whic ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Love the atmosphere, excellent food which is very fullfilling. Would definitely recommend the place for all occasions. Very pleasant service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a great place to eat and have a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This is a great place to eat and have a cocktail . Yes, this is an old school supper club! Someone greats you at the door, escorts you to the bar, have a few drinks, your waiter comes to the bar and takes your order, Then when your dinner is ready they escort you to your table. If your in Milwaukee you need to stop by but make sure you have a reservation!! Oh, there is also an outside PATIO!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a table for 6 and I had a hard ti ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had a table for 6 and I had a hard time hearing what other people at the other end of the table were saying.

The entertainment on Saturday night added NO value to the dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Just like it used to be, well done and n ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Just like it used to be, well done and not as crowded as it once was.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Throw back to the 1960's, delicious food ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Throw back to the 1960's, delicious food. a bit noisy but well organized. We had a party of 6 and the table was ready and the food was prompt and great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was really good.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

The food was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Incredible meal. Joe was great at the b ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Incredible meal. Joe was great at the bar. Love the authenticity of the ambiance. unreal food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious steaks. You won't leave hungry ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Delicious steaks. You won't leave hungry!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

At times it was a little loud and crampe ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

At times it was a little loud and cramped, but the food was great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Each of the 3 times we've chosen 5 O'Clo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Each of the 3 times we've chosen 5 O'Clock it has been everything we hoped for. Top quality food well prepared and with excellent service --- plus the ambience of an old-fashioned supper club. Not fancy, but still exquisite if you know what I mean.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding food and will continue to pa ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Outstanding food and will continue to patronize. Would highly recommend to everyone! You can never go wrong with one of the absolute best steaks in greater Milwaukee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Wonderful experience

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Wonderful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome, old school steakhouse. Have wor ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Awesome, old school steakhouse. Have worked at a five-star steakhouse for years and was the best steak I have ever had. very quirky way of ordering: order drink at the bar, take order at the bar, then sit down at your table when all of the food is ready.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My hubby took me there last Friday for m ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

My hubby took me there last Friday for my birthday & it was Absolutely Yummolicious!!

My birthday meal of Petite Surf & Turf was On Point tonight. My petite 8 oz. filet just melted in my mouth & my 7 oz. lobster tail was also very tasty & cooked to perfection!! Couldn't ask for or find a better meal in the city of Milwaukee & we have tried just about every Steak house there is. My husband was also very Pleased with his 21 oz. Bone in Ribeye & gladly took the owners suggestion of dipping his left over baked potato skin in the Au Jus & thought it was fantastic! Crystal was a great server & hope to have her as our server again when we return. Next time I'll have to save some room for dessert. Thanks again Five O'Clock Steakhouse for a very EnJoYable Birthday dining experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Amazing as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Found this on a whim and decided to make ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Found this on a whim and decided to make a reservation. We were going to be in for a show and thought this sounded like a good place. It was better than good it was fantastic!! Great atmosphere great drinks and the steaks were amazing!! Highly recommended!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

5'Oclock club is our favorite steak rest ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

5'Oclock club is our favorite steak restaurant. The atmosphere takes you back to another time. The steaks are the best we have ever had. It is not your cheap steak joint. You have to go!! My husband always gets the 16oz filet. The steaks are so tender you could cut them with a butter knife.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The 5 O'Clock Club is my favorite restau ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The 5 O'Clock Club is my favorite restaurant, great food, staff, and atmosphere.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and very good food. Very g ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great service and very good food. Very good waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent old-style Wisconsin supper clu ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent old-style Wisconsin supper club. Awesome!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great classic steak house.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great classic steak house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Once again, best steak in Milwaukee. I c ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Once again, best steak in Milwaukee. I come back often as a result. I would recommend this to everyone. Beware of no free soft drink refills

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.