About Five O'Clock Steakhouse

2416 W State St
Milwaukee, WI 53233
View Larger Map

Rich in tradition and free of trends, the Five O’Clock Steakhouse is nothing short of timeless. Family-owned & independently operated. Five O'Clock specializes in serving the finest steaks paired with a notable wine list, classic cocktails, as well as outstanding, personalized service.

Five O’Clock has been named “One of America’s Best Steakhouses” by TV host Rachel Ray, described as a "Classic Super-Club Setting" by TravelandLeisure.com and was featured on The Travel Channel’s “Steak Paradise 3.” Five O'Clock was voted "#1 Steakhouse in Milwaukee" by Shepherd Express & Milwaukee Magazine. We were also named among the top steakhouses in Milwaukee by OnMilwaukee.com.

The Alley Cat Lounge at Five O'Clock Steakhouse features Milwaukee's best free live music weekly, classic cocktails and a 1940’s retro-lounge ambience.

You’re only a stranger once at the Five O’ Clock Steakhouse!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 342-3553

Website:
http://www.fiveoclocksteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Free live music every Friday night in The Alley Cat Lounge at 8pm. Catch Milwaukee's best jazz, blues, funk, pop & rock. Visit www.FiveOClockSteakhouse.com for this month's live music schedule. The Alley Cat Lounge features a full bar, cocktail service, special events, promotions and no cover charge.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking in a secure lot. Street parking available.

Private Party Facilities:
The Alley Cat Lounge is the Perfect Location for Your Next Meeting, Networking or Social Event. The Lounge Features Full HD A.V. Capabilities & Projection Screen, Complimentary Wi-Fi, Private Bar, Customizable Menu Options, Complimentary Valet Parking in a Secure Lot & Is Conveniently Located Less Than 5 Miles From Most Downtown Milwaukee Companies. Call 414-342-3553 or Email dine@FiveOClockSteakhouse.com To Learn More About Meeting & Event Options or to Set Up a Tour.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Five O'Clock Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (87)
Good for a Date (78)
Good for Anniversaries (64)
See All
Good for Birthdays (54)
Historic (51)
Handcrafted Cocktails (41)
Romantic (41)
Business Meals (40)
Worth the Drive (40)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Authentic (37)
Cozy (31)
Bar Seating (30)
Fun (27)
Casual (23)
Live Music (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for Groups (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Outstanding Value (13)
People Watching (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Family Style (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Seasonal (5)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Private Room (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Healthy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Live Sports (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dancing (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
828 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was very slow and not so good. O ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was very slow and not so good. One of our steaks was grossly under cooked and when brought back was not good. We didn't not receive anything off for the ruined steak just a "sorry". For the kind of money we paid we expected a lot more. We would not go back.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

This is one of my favorite restaurants h ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

This is one of my favorite restaurants however my experience was terrible Saturday night for the first time in years. My waiter was new and boy could we tell, our food took forever to come out and I had to send my steak back because it was over cooked. The second steak was even worse, tasted like BURNT toast. The waiter tried to tell me what medium well was despite my husband ordering his steak the same way and they were very different not to mention this was literally my 20th visit to the place. I was told they have a new chef prior to leaving. Get him in line or we wont be coming back!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Great steak I wanted to pick up the bone ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

Great steak I wanted to pick up the bone and get every last bit of meat!!! Loved the setting and our waitress Alex was very very good!! I am going back for sure

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is delicious! Everything we hav ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

The food is delicious! Everything we have gotten is simply amazing and the steaks melt in your mouth. A truly unique experience, and their hand stuffed blue cheese olives are to die for!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My experience was extremely nice. We had ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

My experience was extremely nice. We had a 4:30 reservation and was seated upon arrivale about 15 minutes early. Our food was cooked to our liking.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steaks were delicious and huge. The ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

The steaks were delicious and huge. The perfect supper club experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Very good atmosphere.. Good food.. Great ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Very good atmosphere.. Good food.. Great price.. Would go there again

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This restaurant came highly recommended ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant came highly recommended and they did not disappoint. It has the feel of an old-school supper club. I got the ribs which was okay. My bf steak was very good. crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. It was pretty crowded because it was Valentine's Day, but overall the experience was nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been here twice now. Both times ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

We have been here twice now. Both times the food and services were great!! Would highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've always heard good things about Five ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I've always heard good things about Five O'Clock. Excellent service! Prices are reasonable for a great steak! Went on a Saturday and they had live entertainment that was awesome! I highly recommend!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding and the overall ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was outstanding and the overall experience was great!!! Only problem was we got there 30 minutes early for drinks and we had to wait 30 minutes past our reservation to get seated at our table. Our wait before food arrived was 1.5 hours after we ordered!!!

They compted our table with a desert which was good but would have liked a deduction in our bill or gift certificate for a future date!!!

Tags: Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent service, food and live enterta ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent service, food and live entertainment on Saturday evening. We had a marvelous time as usual. Highly recommend!

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was awesome and the live ban ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The service was awesome and the live band was great too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had a wonderful meal however, the firs ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I had a wonderful meal however, the first table we were seated at was added I'm assuming because if was Valentine's Day weekend. It was tiny, and over crowded. I was bumped by staff at least 5 times before moving. Then, we were seated by the kitchen but that table was so small, the salad and bread barely fit. It was very cramped eating.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful!!! I brought my husband there ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful!!! I brought my husband there for his birthday. It was Valentines weekend and the place was busy, but the experience was wonderful! We had the prime rib(Friday and Saturday only) and it absolutely melted in my mouth. The wait staff was very attentive; the owner came out and talked with us, explaining the history of the place and that it was family owned. I would easily make the 100 mile trip again to eat here again!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated a birthday and the food, serv ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Celebrated a birthday and the food, service and ambiance were well worth the price paid - I hadn't been in many years and there will not be a long period of time from this visit and the next. Great steaks and the FRESHEST calamari that i've ever eaten - seasoned and prepared to perfection.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I frequent this restaurant at least 4 ti ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I frequent this restaurant at least 4 times a year. This time I brought my daughter & her husband, their first time. We had to wait at least 45 minutes for our table when we had a 7:00 Rez. They could've comped our drinks or given us a desert for the inconvenience.

The noise level was awful and our guests really didn't like that. It was very difficult to hold a conversation. The food was superb as always. But we had to wait a very long time to get it.

I know they are always busy here, but this was the worst ever. Our server was truly not friendly, it seemed as if we were an inconvenience to her. She never asked if we were there for a special occasion.I was embarrassed that it turned out this way.

I know my daughter and her husband will not go there again. I of course will return because the food is that superb. But not in the near future.

Trish Edwards

Tags: Historic, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Wonderful place with old fashioned decor ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful place with old fashioned decor and nice and cozy. Great food!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Classic old world Milwaukee steak house. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Classic old world Milwaukee steak house. Great Old Fashions and a wonderful steak menu, all of which are grilled to perfection.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time at this restaura ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This was our first time at this restaurant. The food was very good. We liked the fact that we got bread, salad and a relish tray, besides the main course. Staff was very attentive and polite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

the restaurant is splendid!! food is eve ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 8, 2017

the restaurant is splendid!! food is everything and staff is amazing. the owner is always greeting with a warm smile. I love it!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steak, good services. Just the dec ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great steak, good services. Just the decor may look bit dated but I guess that's the theme?

Tags: , Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Overall very positive experience - valet ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Overall very positive experience - valet parking a nice touch! The steaks were fantastic - sitting upstairs helped with the noise level, but it was very active. The size of the 'sharable' sides was well below par - more like an individual portion, but that is the only negative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Our dining experience was great! Steaks ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our dining experience was great! Steaks were outstanding along with everything else. Always a pleasure dining at 5 O clock club!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It had been awhile since we were at this ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It had been awhile since we were at this restaurant. We were pleased with the homey feel and outstanding steaks. The owner checked on our experience mid-dinner and talked to us as we were leaving. Nice to support a family business.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

As always the staff at Five O'clock Stea ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

As always the staff at Five O'clock Steakhouse took great care of us. April was our server this night and was there when we needed her. All of our steaks were excellent - The ribeye, filet oscar, bacon wrapped oscar and king's cut filet. They were all cooked to our liking and served nice and hot. We will definitely be back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good quality steaks but they need season ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Good quality steaks but they need seasoning Service is excellent

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual steaks were excellent. Waitres ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 2, 2017

As usual steaks were excellent. Waitress was easy to work with. She had a good personality.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had to sit upstairs, which was dirty. Th ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Had to sit upstairs, which was dirty. There was a used tissue and dirty towel on the speaker where a band must have played at some point. Our small table was right next to it. Not to mention the dirty glasses/old drinks on the shelf of the window. We had to wait for over an hour for our food to come out after the order was placed. To make matters worse, my steak was burned to a crisp and they tried to pass it off as char. I've been here many times and never had a problem....until now. I took my husband here for his birthday dinner, and he deserved better. We would have been better off at Applebee's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Always Awesome every time we eat here. W ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Always Awesome every time we eat here. Will definitely recommend it to family and friends.

Tags: Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, , Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old time supper club feel was great ,gre ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Old time supper club feel was great ,great staff food was great, as great of a place it is, it is hard to overcome how loud it was . Willing to try again, hopefully not as loud next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

Everything about The Five O'clock Steakh ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Everything about The Five O'clock Steakhouse was amazing! The food...I have no words. The steaks...mouthwatering! The calamari..the best I've had, the crab Mac n cheese..decadent! The ambiance was dark, romantic. Candle light at each table. Stellar service. Highly recommend to anyone who wants a memorable experience! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Authentic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Romantic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as usual. Atmosphere great. Serv ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Amazing as usual. Atmosphere great. Service great. Food amazing. Never a disappointment. Faye is the best!!

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, quick service. I had the ribs ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Good food, quick service. I had the ribs they were good but could of been warmer.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I really enjoyed myself and the food was ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I really enjoyed myself and the food was great, great service, i will be back

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steaks in town. Nice variety of en ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Best steaks in town. Nice variety of entrees for everyone. Supper club ambiance with shared salad, relish tray, fresh bread to accompany each meal. The perfect preparation of the high quality steaks remains my favorite reason to eat at Five O'Clock Steakhouse.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

classic. vintage. enduring. vital. up- t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 25, 2017

classic. vintage. enduring. vital. up- to- date. delicious food. great service. best steakhouse ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Timeless establishment with great food a ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Timeless establishment with great food and lively atmosphere

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable atmosphere with attentive staf ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Enjoyable atmosphere with attentive staff and hosts that take passion in your experience. Not to mention the steak melts in your mouth and leaves your tastebuds satisfied.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service. Food was really go ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Outstanding service. Food was really good. Price was right. Will definitely go back!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Family Style, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Live Sports, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, People Watching, , Authentic, Business Meals, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.