Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Five O'Clock Steakhouse

Rich in tradition and free of trends, the Five O’Clock Steakhouse is nothing short of timeless. Family-owned & independently operated. Five O'Clock specializes in serving the finest steaks paired with a notable wine list, classic cocktails, as well as outstanding, personalized service.

Five O’Clock has been named “One of America’s Best Steakhouses” by TV host Rachel Ray, described as a "Classic Super-Club Setting" by TravelandLeisure.com and was featured on The Travel Channel’s “Steak Paradise 3.” Five O'Clock was voted "#1 Steakhouse in Milwaukee" by Shepherd Express & Milwaukee Magazine. We were also named among the top steakhouses in Milwaukee by OnMilwaukee.com.

The Alley Cat Lounge at Five O'Clock Steakhouse features Milwaukee's best free live music weekly, classic cocktails and a 1940’s retro-lounge ambience.

You’re only a stranger once at the Five O’ Clock Steakhouse!

2416 W State St
Milwaukee, WI 53233
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 342-3553

Website:
http://www.fiveoclocksteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Free live music every Friday night in The Alley Cat Lounge at 8pm. Catch Milwaukee's best jazz, blues, funk, pop & rock. Visit www.FiveOClockSteakhouse.com for this month's live music schedule. The Alley Cat Lounge features a full bar, cocktail service, special events, promotions and no cover charge.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking in a secure lot. Street parking available.

Private Party Facilities:
The Alley Cat Lounge is the Perfect Location for Your Next Meeting, Networking or Social Event. The Lounge Features Full HD A.V. Capabilities & Projection Screen, Complimentary Wi-Fi, Private Bar, Customizable Menu Options, Complimentary Valet Parking in a Secure Lot & Is Conveniently Located Less Than 5 Miles From Most Downtown Milwaukee Companies. Call 414-342-3553 or Email dine@FiveOClockSteakhouse.com To Learn More About Meeting & Event Options or to Set Up a Tour.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Specials

Cinco de Mayo - Special Menus & Offers

Friday, May 5, 2017

Specials

Cinco de Mayo - Special Menus & Offers

Friday, May 5, 2017

Details

Come enjoy the highest rated steakhouse in Milwaukee and sip on our premium selection of tequilas !

Five O'Clock Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (88)
Good for a Date (77)
Good for Anniversaries (67)
See All
Historic (52)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Business Meals (47)
Romantic (46)
Handcrafted Cocktails (40)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Authentic (38)
Worth the Drive (38)
Fun (32)
Cozy (31)
Good for Groups (28)
Bar Seating (28)
Casual (28)
Live Music (23)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Outstanding Value (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
People Watching (13)
Family Style (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Late-night Find (8)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Private Room (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great Beer (4)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Dancing (2)
Live Sports (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
858 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service, excellent quality of the meat. I am a fan of salt crusted steaks, so the lack of added flavor was a disappointment. That being said, the pure steak flavor might be the best I've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

We were not seated at our Open Table reservation time and told we must sit in bar until our table was ready. That is fine but if you have a reservation and their are open tables it would be nice to be seated promptly. The ribeye is always my favorite at 5 O'Clock club and it was tasty but it was easily 30 percent smaller than it used to be as was my colleagues. Flavor is great but for $45 for the steak I was surprised it had shrunk in size. STill great flavor and au jus but lacked the wow factor I am used to for this restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

An excellent menu, and a little pricey...but the high quality of the food made it well worthwhile.
We were in there on a Tuesday night and the packed house/noise level was very high...it made it difficult for us to carry on our conversation.
However, we will be going back...and taking some friends with us!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Authentic supper club with great steaks. Free valet parking. Very busy and loud. Service was average. Food and presentation was outstanding. Drinks and wine were reasonable. Huge portions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 18, 2017

As usual, Milwaukee's Iconic 5 O'Clock Steakhouse never disappoints. We arrived a little early with dinner reservations at 6:00 to make our 8:00 show. We were sat immediately in a booth in the bar (quieter than the big dining room) . We had the typical impeccable service and our dinners were delicious as always. Only complaint was that I ordered my filet medium-rare, my husband ordered his medium and somehow, the cook on the two steaks got flipped. But no complaints - we ate every bit anyway! LOVE this place for steaks, service and that "back in time" atmosphere.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 17, 2017

My wife and I absolutely love the 5 O'clock Steakhouse. It's just a great place to come, have a great time and enjoy an excellent steak, huge baked potato, salad, relish tray and wonderful cocktails, beers, waters, sodas, etc. April, our waitress was wonderful and funny, the bartenders were super, the valet was professional and courteous, but my favorite part is when the owner comes by to see how you're doing. He's friendly, interesting and interested in your whole restaurant experience there, very professional but down to earth. I just love the place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Disabled Access, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Historic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Excellent steak and the ribs were even good too! The filet was the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Long time customer, impressed as always with food quality but our server left something to be desired... lacking carsima, personality and eye contact. But, Love this place always, best steak in Milwaukee.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 16, 2017

It's been a few years since eating here and the food and decor has not changed a bit. I hope they never change. The relish tray and fresh bread are an old school supper club staple and the steaks were cooked perfectly. Thanks for a great business meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Having been here in the past I was truly disappointed with my return. Worst martini ever, service iffy at best, when I complained to the maître d' I was bought another bad martini. Somehow, a second bad martini didn't quite make up for the disappointment when you're eating a $50 steak.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We felt rush to get in and out quickly. Drinks order at Bar--food ready at table etc. Not the experience for the price we expected. In addition our table was so close to other we could not carry on a private conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

They burn their steaks up and charge you 40 and up for burnt char meat a waste of steak if you ask me I thought it was a upscale fancy restaurant before I went there and found out it's basic high priced for no reason with over charred meat never again

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This place is the only place I will go for steak. I always get the Queen filet, it melts in your mouth. I also love the parmesan peppercorn dressing on the huge salad you get, along with the warm sourdough bread.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

In general, very good with some missteps. Shrimp weren't full cleaned in the shrimp cocktail - at $4 per shrimp, that's not ok. Prime rib was a bit gristly.

Overall, classic atmosphere but attention to detail could be better.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Authentic supper club. Amazing beef options. Great appetizers and sides to share. Key lime pie and cheesecake that leave you wanting to come back for just desert.
Definitely a milwaukee gem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Thee best steak I have ever had! I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who is looking for an amazing steak dinner.

Tags: Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 8, 2017

5 O'clock Steakhouse is always great . Tremendous tasting Filet Mignon none BETTER !! Drinks are never short poured. My family has been coming here since the 60's and have NEVER had a bad steak . Amazing !! The wait staff is always attentive to our needs, especially Faye our favorite waitress !! Well done 5 O'clock Steakhouse

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Love the place just very crowed sat at a small table which was not enough room to have our food and other items in the table

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The best beef filet in Milwaukee; perfectly prepared and seasoned, can almost cut it with a butter knife it's so tender. The sides are pretty basic and the presentation of the steak is just the steak in juice on a plate but the steak more than makes up for the so-so presentation!

Tags: Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Old school type steakhouse. You order at bar (fun and different) and are seated when your salad is ready. Steaks are good but not quite prime. Wish the steaks would have been hotter but they were jammed full and service struggled to keep up.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Dined here over 5 years ago and the food was spectacular. It is now managed by a new owner, and was concerned food and service would be not be as good as the last visit. I was very surprised to find both the food and the service was even better! Everyone at the table raved about the meal. This will become our special-occasion destination.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

For the prices the food was horrible. I ordered a well done steak twice and it was medium rare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great as usual! My mother has been coming here for 40 years for a reason. Thought this would be a great place to introduce her to my new lady friend. Unfortunately, they are besties now... But I got a great dinner, and leftovers for lunch, out of the deal. If you want to impress someone with great food in a unique atmosphere, this is the place.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Always the best steak in town but haven't been there in a while and at this visit realized that you now have to pay for your potato - outrageous!! In all the years that I have frequented this restaurant you received a fantastic steak, potato, salad, bread and vege platter for your order and now you have to pay an additional $5 for a potato. Ridiculous and will regretfully change my decision to come there again, especially since I can go to Milwaukee Steakhouse and get comparably the same steak including the potato for the same price. It is not like this restaurant is in the best location and dining atmosphere. The decision to charge for a potato should be looked at again. Especially since it was not done before.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

VERY PLEASANT SURPRISE, WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND AND WANT TO GO BACK.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

If you want the experience of a true Wisconsin supper club, atmosphere, friendly staff and ambience this is the place to be.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Absolutely love corpers . It's a Milwaukee tradition. The steak's are awesome!!!!

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Our experience was AMAZING! It was great for the price and food. Our waitstaff was amazing and very tentative for a busy Friday night. The experience of a supper club was amazing. We've never been to a place like this. My husband and I food was cooked to perfection and absolutely mouth watering. I had their signature filet mignon and my husband had the lamb osso bucco. We had a very great anniversary dinner. We will be coming back very soon.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Service was very slow and not so good. One of our steaks was grossly under cooked and when brought back was not good. We didn't not receive anything off for the ruined steak just a "sorry". For the kind of money we paid we expected a lot more. We would not go back.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants however my experience was terrible Saturday night for the first time in years. My waiter was new and boy could we tell, our food took forever to come out and I had to send my steak back because it was over cooked. The second steak was even worse, tasted like BURNT toast. The waiter tried to tell me what medium well was despite my husband ordering his steak the same way and they were very different not to mention this was literally my 20th visit to the place. I was told they have a new chef prior to leaving. Get him in line or we wont be coming back!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Personally, I won't return! Unfortunately, my mother and her party had to sit back in the kitchen area under the stairs. Reservations were made at least a month in advance, but we were told no other seats were available. Not true! I'm hoping this was not intentional, but I think it was. Working as a news reporter, I love to send reviews. I will be back as a reporter, not a customer. The receptionist (older lady with white hair) was rude every time we had contact with her. While the food was fine, the event was ruined by these other factors. Too bad!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great steak I wanted to pick up the bone and get every last bit of meat!!! Loved the setting and our waitress Alex was very very good!! I am going back for sure

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food is delicious! Everything we have gotten is simply amazing and the steaks melt in your mouth. A truly unique experience, and their hand stuffed blue cheese olives are to die for!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

My experience was extremely nice. We had a 4:30 reservation and was seated upon arrivale about 15 minutes early. Our food was cooked to our liking.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The steaks were delicious and huge. The perfect supper club experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Very good atmosphere.. Good food.. Great price.. Would go there again

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This restaurant came highly recommended and they did not disappoint. It has the feel of an old-school supper club. I got the ribs which was okay. My bf steak was very good. crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. It was pretty crowded because it was Valentine's Day, but overall the experience was nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have been here twice now. Both times the food and services were great!! Would highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I've always heard good things about Five O'Clock. Excellent service! Prices are reasonable for a great steak! Went on a Saturday and they had live entertainment that was awesome! I highly recommend!

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was outstanding and the overall experience was great!!! Only problem was we got there 30 minutes early for drinks and we had to wait 30 minutes past our reservation to get seated at our table. Our wait before food arrived was 1.5 hours after we ordered!!!

They compted our table with a desert which was good but would have liked a deduction in our bill or gift certificate for a future date!!!

Tags: Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.