Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 23 times today

Five O'Clock Steakhouse

4.6
1364 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for a Date
  • Good for Anniversaries
Rich in tradition and free of trends, the Five O’Clock Steakhouse is nothing short of timeless. A family-owned & independently operated Supper Club, the Five O'Clock specializes in serving the finest steaks paired with a notable wine list, classic cocktails, as well as outstanding, personalized service.

Five O’Clock has been named “One of America’s Best Steakhouses” by TV host Rachel Ray, described as a "Classic Supper-Club Setting" by TravelandLeisure.com and was featured on The Travel Channel’s “Steak Paradise 3.” Five O'Clock was voted "#1 Steakhouse in Milwaukee" by Shepherd Express & Milwaukee Magazine. We were also named among the top steakhouses in Milwaukee by OnMilwaukee.com.

The Alley Cat Lounge at Five O'Clock Steakhouse features Milwaukee's best free live music weekly, classic cocktails and a 1940’s retro-lounge ambience.

You’re only a stranger once at the Five O’ Clock Steakhouse!
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Steak, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(414) 342-3553
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary valet parking in a secure lot. Street parking available.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Free live music every Friday night in The Alley Cat Lounge at 8pm. Catch Milwaukee's best jazz, blues, funk, pop & rock. Visit www.FiveOClockSteakhouse.com for this month's live music schedule. The Alley Cat Lounge features a full bar, cocktail service, special events, promotions and no cover charge.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

Milwaukee's most unique private dining room is available Tuesday through Friday. Five O’ Clock’s newly remodeled Alley Cat Lounge offers a private dining & event space perfect for a business meeting, networking event, social gathering, wedding, rehearsal dinner, or bachelor/bachelorette parties.

View Private Dining Details
What 1364 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding bone in filet and service. Always a special night out.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Seated almost immediately. Pluses - food was excellent with large portions. Wait staff was good overall. Ambiance somewhat dated/dark. Negative - Bartender gave wrong garnish, coffee came after dessert already finished. Had to wait on 2nd drink quite a long time for waitress to notice finished. Food cooked perfectly. Leftovers sent home in brown paper bag? That seemed somewhat odd.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Going to this restaurant was like stepping back in time to better, simpler days. There is no pretense here, just great food - and big portions at reasonable prices for a quality steakhouse. We were lucky enough to be there on a day they had prime rib - the queen cut was giant, bigger than the king cut at most restaurants.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

2nd time I was there in 2 weeks, never was upstairs before. I loved it. Was nice having Eric as my server both times. He brought smiles to everyone's faces. I will always recommend it here, best reason and primarily, I've never had a bad experience here. Thank you All!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Decided I wanted to go to 5 o’clock for my 50th birthday, having always wanting to go there. Invited our friends and made a reservation four 4 at 7:30 on a Saturday night. Valet was great. Walked it to tha bar that must have been 80 degrees. Hectic and full was fine, but the temp was ridiculous.
Service for drinks was ok at the table in the bar.
Once seated, at a booth near the bathroom, that was clearly meant for two, the temp was high, and atmosphere was dismal. All 4 of us sweated through our mediocre meal, while trying to make room at our table for the incoming food.
To say my experience was disappointing is an understatement. I was so excited for the experience and was so disappointed. It got to the point of our table pointing out the bathroom to other customers. To the credit of the chef, all of our steaks were done perfectly, and the jus w/mushrooms was incredible.
I will likely not go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Brought our whole family for a special occasion. Fabulous food and drinks!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

At first eveything was fine but after having our salad plates removed it seemed our waiter forgot about us. We waited approximately 15 minutes for our food, and we believe that was only due to our waiter glancing our way and realizing we were just sitting there with nothing to eat. He hastily went to the kitchen and retrieved our food. Everytime he did come to our table, he would explain what he was doing i.e. "I am now removing the crumbs from your table". We do not need to know this, just do it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Always enjoy the food at 5 O'Clock. Great steaks. Plenty of food. Great Service. Only complaint it is very loud in this place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

As always, great service, great food. My top choice in MKE.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

First time here, celebrated wife’s birthday, nice touch bringing out a piece of pie for her birthday (very much appreciated). Service, atmosphere and food was top notch. Cool experience, definitely worth the visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Our service was wonderful and the atmosphere was fun and busy. I will be going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Mothers Day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Eric was an excellent, attentive waiter. Food and drinks were spectacular and reasonably priced. Great 1st visit, will be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

This place is amazing! Such a cool atmosphere and the filet is mouth-watering! Would highly recommend!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

This is a steakhouse, and so that is the heart of the menu. I found the steak to be good, but I wouldn't call it exceptional. One aspect is that, as pricey as the meals are -- you have to pay for everything except the relish dish! -- there is plenty of it, and you can certainly take some home. The service was great ... staff are very friendly. This is the place to go if you want to impress somebody.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Our only issue with our experience was that it took a very long time to get our entrees.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Excellent food, and ev better service! Go for the supperb steaks and enjoy the old fashioned ambience! What a night!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We wanted good steak and heard this was the place to go. We heard right! Ordered filet and it was delicious. Stephanie was great also.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Great family night out, food was delicious. Fun time

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 5, 2018

I came here 4 years ago before I got married and it was great. I told my now husband how wonderful a time I had, so I brought him. I was furious from the time we walked in, we were shuffled to a corner of the bar that was so crowded we had to constantly apologize to people that were sitting behind us. It was warm and muggy, the waitress was rude she laid a menu on the bar and walked away ,then came back 10 minutes later ran thru the menu choices and told us to follow her. Seated us then told us she'd be back , after 20 minutes she came back and said our food was on the way. She took our drink order and came back with the wrong drink for me. The bartender brought me the right drink. Our food finally came, my husband ordered prime rib well done it was bloody, i ordered filet Oscar medium well and it too was bloody. She asked if we wanted her to have it re-cooked ,we said NO!! We will pay for what we have and leave.Needless to say not a good experience!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We had a fantastic time. We loved the old supper club feel and the food was outstanding! There was jazz and old R&B musicians playing which really made it even better than it was! This is definitely our new favorite place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Our server Erik did an outstanding job. We were there for my birthday and to hear the live music of Christopher's Project. The bartenders were very knowledgeable and friendly. The steaks were cooked perfectly with wonderful flavor.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

We love the way they have kept the true supper club feel. The free valet parking is another great perk.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Have always loved this restaurant. Lived in the neighborhood years ago. Good then and now. Food is always excellent and the quantities are good. Some times it is noisy and crowded making it hard to talk to table mates but we were there for the food. I would recommend it to anyone.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Our waitress was Crystal, and she was EXCELLENT!!!!

I had a Sidecar, and hubby had a Cosmopolitan at the bar while we looked at the menu. Drinks were BIG and good.

My husband and I had Rib Eyes medium rare done to perfection. The huge salad that was waiting for us when we arrived at our table was super fresh and delicious. It was fun being able to pick 3 salad dressings that we could "play" with, and there was a cute little relish tray also. The baked potatoes were HUGE. My husband and I shared 1\2 of a potato and took the other 1\2 home along with the steaks that we couldn't finish (they were 21oz. each). My husband liked the mushrooms that were stuffed with crab (I'm not a fan of crab). We both were a little disappointed with the asparagus- a little to crunchy for us.

This was our first time here even though I am 69yrs. and hubby is 76yrs. and has wanted to go there for years. When you enter, there is a sign that says to check in at the hostess desk. It is not obvious where this is, especially since the bar is immediately at the entrance filled with people and there is wait staff every where taking orders from the customers at the bar. You have to squeeze between those at the bar in order to get to the Hostess Desk which is not well marked.

There is lots of noise, so those hard of hearing will need some help.

We will go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Great food! Crystal was our server and she is awesome

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Excellent old school super club atmosphere. Very good food. Bottle wine prices were reasonable. Our first visit and we will be back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Food was very good as usual, but all dinners were not hot when served, warm at best. My guess was server was distracted with other things. Not good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

The best steak we have had in a very long time. Joe the bartender made a fantastic old fashioned made the supper club way. Fantastic.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Everything was great as usual. Lots of large groups dining in the area increased the noise level around us. Not enough to ruin the evening, but made communicating a little difficult.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Great food and drinks, as is always the case at this steakhouse. Tonight our service was not the same caliber as we've had in the past. Our waitress seemed a bit impatient or possibly having a not so good day, and our food was very rushed. We were hurried from the bar to our dinner table after only two sips of our cocktails, had barely started to eat our salads, relish tray, and bread when the entrees arrived. We put our still full salad plates to the side to make room for the entrees and our waitress wanted to removed all of the salad items. We told her to please leave them as we would like to finish our salads eventually. This is truly a rare occasion for us to be displeased with service and it won't stop us from returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

The food was absolutely delicious and our server crystal was so attentive to our needs.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

To start the steaks were outstanding. Mussel appetizer was just OK. Service was a little off.

As is their custom we were sat at the bar to order. I know some people don't like this, but that is their thing and it is not going to change. I don't mind it because I always get a before dinner drink so I don't really feel like I am being pressured. We had the thinner bartender with facial hair, sorry did not get his name, and he was great. Our waiter was good but seemed like he was some what distracted. Got our app and salads fine, but then there was a bit of a wait. When he came out next he asked if we wanted dessert. We said we would probably like our steaks first and he apologized and went off back to the kitchen and brought them. He said the kitchen did not notify him, which could be true, but as our waiter I would assume he would be on the lookout for his customers entrees.

Overall I would go back. The Steaks are really great. The Bacon Wrapped Filet was prepared perfectly and the Parmesan Cream Sauce was really flavorful. The King filet was perfect both that night and a couple of days later when we finished it. Even with the little hiccups it was a good meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

A Classic in Milwaukee! Great Steaks! Great Service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The Filet, Porterhouse and Onion Rings were all excellent. For whatever reason the service was slower than previous visits. Our reservations were for 6 PM, our order was taken @ about 6:10 & we were seated at that time. Our food didn't arrive until almost. 7 PM.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Awesome food and service! Great place to celebrate a birthday dinner for my bestie!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Food was delicious and service was outstanding. We had a very nice evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Excellent service and great food!
1940s-50s style Supper Club atsmosphere , Steaks cooked to perfection and FRESH seafood.👍🏼

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

You can have a relish tray, and not be a supper club, but you cannot be a supper club without the relish tray.

In a nice twist, you are presented with menus at the bar, and order while enjoying your brandy old fashioned.

Once you get to the table, your food begins arriving immediately.

Delicious wine, salads, and steaks. The best prime rib (Friday and Saturday) I’ve had in quite some time. Free valet parking which you should use as the neighborhood is not the best.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Party of five and we all agreed this place by far serves the most tender, juicy steaks in Wisconsin!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
35

Tweets by Five O'Clock Steakhouse