Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Five O'Clock Steakhouse

Rich in tradition and free of trends, the Five O’Clock Steakhouse is nothing short of timeless. A family-owned & independently operated Supper Club, the Five O'Clock specializes in serving the finest steaks paired with a notable wine list, classic cocktails, as well as outstanding, personalized service.

Five O’Clock has been named “One of America’s Best Steakhouses” by TV host Rachel Ray, described as a "Classic Supper-Club Setting" by TravelandLeisure.com and was featured on The Travel Channel’s “Steak Paradise 3.” Five O'Clock was voted "#1 Steakhouse in Milwaukee" by Shepherd Express & Milwaukee Magazine. We were also named among the top steakhouses in Milwaukee by OnMilwaukee.com.

The Alley Cat Lounge at Five O'Clock Steakhouse features Milwaukee's best free live music weekly, classic cocktails and a 1940’s retro-lounge ambience.

You’re only a stranger once at the Five O’ Clock Steakhouse!

2416 W State St
Milwaukee, WI 53233
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 342-3553

Website:
http://www.fiveoclocksteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Free live music every Friday night in The Alley Cat Lounge at 8pm. Catch Milwaukee's best jazz, blues, funk, pop & rock. Visit www.FiveOClockSteakhouse.com for this month's live music schedule. The Alley Cat Lounge features a full bar, cocktail service, special events, promotions and no cover charge.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking in a secure lot. Street parking available.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

Milwaukee's most unique private dining room is available Tuesday through Friday. Five O’ Clock’s newly remodeled Alley Cat Lounge offers a private dining & event space perfect for a business meeting, networking event, social gathering, wedding, rehearsal dinner, or bachelor/bachelorette parties.

Five O'Clock Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (75)
Good for a Date (68)
Good for Anniversaries (56)
See All
Good for Birthdays (51)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Worth the Drive (42)
Authentic (39)
Handcrafted Cocktails (39)
Romantic (38)
Business Meals (35)
Bar Seating (29)
Fun (28)
Casual (28)
Good for Groups (26)
Cozy (25)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Comfort Food (19)
Live Music (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (16)
Happy Hour (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Tasting Menu (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
People Watching (8)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Great Beer (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1052 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Went to Five O'clock Steakhouse as I love Supper Clubs. It is dark, but some people were dressed up and that was fun to see. The neighborhood is a little iffy, but it is right off the expressway just a few blocks. It has a valet parking lot. There were a lot of people and kids outside making noise and it was a tiny bit disconcerting. I had steak medallions and shrimp. It was good, but not the best I've had. Fresh bread with honey and butter was good. Key lime pie was delicious. It is pretty pricey. I usually get steak and lobster when I go out, but this time the price was around $68.00 so I passed on it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Pricey, but very good! Good portion sizes, would highly recommend!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 3 days ago

Nothing short of amazing. The service is great, food is outstanding as always.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

Have been here many times, and this was a fantastic meal and experience as always. You'll slow down here, have a drink or two before dinner at the bar, place your order while at the bar, and be taken to your seat when the table is ready. Old fashioneds were on-point. Ribeye excellent. Relish tray, bread, and salad are always great. Went back to the bar after dinner (this is a supper club after all) and enjoyed a solid Brandy Alexander and some interesting recommendations. The ribeye is getting pricey at $46, but it's as good as anyone's in town. Beware there is a pretty heavy char on the steaks - super flavorful, a little tough to cut, but the steak is tender beneath. Also beware a very retro and casual environment, some people in button-downs and some in T-shirts (please, no hats). This place is a lot of fun.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

First time there n had the best time of my life n my wife was surprised I took her there n she always wanted to go. Had the best waiter n had the owner came by to see if everything was good n said yes. If use never been here in your life you have to n you will fall in love.

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

Long process for an ok experience. You are forced to start you dining experience in the bar where they take your meal order. This way they can "prep" your table. I couldn't see anything unique about our table. I think it is more of a way to get you to order drinks from the bar which you must close-up before moving into the dining room.
I felt exceptionally bad because I was at a business dinner with 2 people I didn't really know. What if one of them was trying to quit drinking and now I had just thrust them into this situation where they are corralled in a bar? There should be the option to move ahead or not.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

I was very disappointed. I got the rib eye steak, and it has gristle through out. I could hardly cut through it. My wife had the filet mignon, which was very good. The salad left a lot to be desired.
You get a much nicer salad at The Texas Roadhouse. Enjoyed the cocktails.

It is not what I remembered. I will not return. It was my birthday, and I was really looking forward to it.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great Place! Will be back! The food was amazing and nice portions! Also the Lemon drop martini was tasty as well!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I was in Milwaukee for the first time with friends. Always like to go where the locals go and was not disappointed. The staff were knowledgeable and friendly. Definitely like the supper club experience. Great job!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Faye our server did a great job and was very helpful, courteous and freindly

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 16, 2017

This place is amazing. My husband and I have been coming here for years. There is no way this place could ever in any way disapoint you. The food and drinks and desserts are all amazing. Staff is very friendly and knowledgeable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

3rd visit but our 1st time disappointed with quality of the steaks :( Our bone-in Ribeye was difficult to cut, chew, or enjoy because of tendon that snaked through the steak. The NY Strip also had an untrimmed tendon along one edge that once cut away left us with a very enjoyable steak.

Our expectations were very high given the Five O'Clocks reputation and our previous two experiences. But all in all you should have high expectations for $50 steaks. I have to assume this was a brief slip in quality and a statistical fluke that two steaks with problems would be delivered to the same table. We'll be back but only after checking for addition reviews.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Heard great things about the place and lived up to it all I heard.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We started our night with hand crafted cocktails, very good. Pretty cool to see of the 'older cocktails' on the menu. We were seated for dinner and served our salad (very good with a variety of fresh vegetables), the relish tray and warm bread. The steaks were literally out of this world, so so good. We split a baked potato which was huge, thanks for the tip from the waitress. Overall, an excellent experience. I haven't been there in over 10 years and I definitely was not disappointed and neither was my date.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 12, 2017

We had a delicious dinner. The steaks were incredible, and the service was very attentive and professional.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

My expectations were definitely set too high for this place. I went here for an anniversary and I was under the impression this was an upscale restaurant. Actuality was only the price per plate was upscale. It was extremely noisy and people were dressed in bummy jeans along with raggedy shirts. The greeter was not friendly. Although our waitress was pleasant and helpful, our orders were incorrect. I was greatly disappointed and will not return. I did not experience the romantic dinner I planned.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant. The service is always great and the food is exceptional. The manager, Stelio, is welcoming and attentive to the guests. The bar has a great selection of cocktails. I recommend this for anyone who loves a great steak or seafood.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Best steaks in Milwaukee! We did have the prime rib, and it was good, but their steaks are something special and unique. Everyone thought the King cut filet was the best thing at the table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 8, 2017

i have heard about this restaurant for 45 years but never stopped till fri nite w/ a dear friend whom i wanted to treat after he had done a job well.
it is a very folksy place, true milwaukee!
the server, alex, was exactly what we like--friendly, attentive, efficient!
the steaks were to die for; king cut filet mignon and prime rib---
i lliked that there wasn't an overwhelming display of food (i lose my appetite)--
salad bowl excellent, onion rings ho-made, relish tray so supper clubbish and retro satisfaction....even the vaet parking guy was happy and friendly. Ane, BEST OFF ALL, I slightly warmed the leftovers tonite and they were bettern the first time around....i will be back w/ a new friend when i wanna splurge---thanks alot!

Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 6, 2017

I found this place on Google under restaurants in the Milwaukee area and I'm glad I did. Great food the bartender newest stuff very friendly enjoyed my time I'd recommend it to anyone visiting Milwaukee.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Interesting how it works, sit at table in the bar, order your drinks then you order your dinner. After about 15 min, they will seat you at your table. Food is very good and the service is exceptional!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 3, 2017

very good steaks with delicious sauce. fun, supper club ish vibe.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Steaks were cooked perfectly!
Great salad and baked potato!
Large portions !
Authentic original 40s/50s Supper Club atmosphere. Make a reservation! Well worth it !!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Authentic, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Steaks, salad and drinks were very good. The sides left a much to desire (cold asparagus with absolutely no flavor and bake potato that was slightly hard still). To spend this kind of money on a meal the WHOLE meal should wow, not just the steaks.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Parents 36th year anniversary dinner that we're visiting from out of town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

a few things were a miss I could find no reglar beverge list on line nore was there a desert menue valet parking and what types of credit cards you exept should be front page on your web site also a cleare dress code should also be stated I saw many pairs of tinnis shoes and very causal clothing being warn by other costmers I was disapointed to see this over all it was a very nice night and the food and service was AAA+++ it was a bit dark this is one thing ajustable liting might mate it more enjoyable and also easer to take good pics of the event thank you

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Excellent food excellent service very happy with all aspects. Bartender made the best cosmo I've ever had. Steaks very tender. huge baked potato. A bit pricey but well worth it. Our waitress was very helpful and attentive

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Excellent "old school" supper club scene/vibe that I grew up with and loved. My son is attending Marquette law school and this will definitely be the "steak place" that we frequent when visiting! I can't say enough about the excellent food & service! It is a little cramped, tables close together, and it did get pretty noisy but well worth it for the tasty food!

Thank you!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Absolutely the best steak you will ever have

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

The Char Flavoring was overbearing to Taste. We couldn't Taste the Juices from our Steaks, Lamb Chops and Filet. We spend a lot of Dining Time on Steak Restaurants and this was a big Disappointment, especially, we've come from out of Town to try it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

This is a great place! Great food and good service. I liked the fact that you have to go to the bar. And order your food there, then they your server comes and get you and brings you to your table.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Live Music, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Great experience. A little loud. I would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 24, 2017

I loved my steak. One of the best filet mignon I have ever had.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Outstanding everything my friends said it would be and more

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 19, 2017

As always exceptional:))! Eric is a great new asset to the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Our "go to" steak place when we get back to MKE ! It's a "special occasion" spot for us.
Bartenders & their potions are first-rate! The brandy old fashions were great! Steaks did not disappoint either. We got a rib-eye, filet oscar & filet medallions. The sides ( huge baked potatoes ; steak fries)and bleu cheese French dressing for the salads were great.
Owner visited tables and was solicitous about our experience...and most appreciative of our business! We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 17, 2017

As always, the steaks were excellent and service was Great. I always tell people 5 o clock steakhouse has the best Steaks and brandy old fashioned drinks... HANDS DOWN.. Thanks again for your hospitality and great food. Maurice

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Excellent drinks. The steaks were done to our perfection. Our server Fay was wonderful, would ask for her the next time we go. Very friendly and attentive to our requests. Always with a smile. Worth the money and definitely would go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

You have never experienced the real flavor of a steak until you have dined at the 5 O'clock! The experience of an authentic supper club is priceless. You experience the bar while your table is set up, then you go back to the bar After your dinner for your after dinner drink and experience the great live music. Definitely plan on a relaxing evening. Truly one of Milwaukee's best with service and friendly staff and exceptional food.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This was, as always, one of our favorite meals while we were in Milwaukee. We just love this place! From the crudités on the table to the perfectly cooked steak - this place is always amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.