Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Five O'Clock Steakhouse

Rich in tradition and free of trends, the Five O’Clock Steakhouse is nothing short of timeless. A family-owned & independently operated Supper Club, the Five O'Clock specializes in serving the finest steaks paired with a notable wine list, classic cocktails, as well as outstanding, personalized service.

Five O’Clock has been named “One of America’s Best Steakhouses” by TV host Rachel Ray, described as a "Classic Supper-Club Setting" by TravelandLeisure.com and was featured on The Travel Channel’s “Steak Paradise 3.” Five O'Clock was voted "#1 Steakhouse in Milwaukee" by Shepherd Express & Milwaukee Magazine. We were also named among the top steakhouses in Milwaukee by OnMilwaukee.com.

The Alley Cat Lounge at Five O'Clock Steakhouse features Milwaukee's best free live music weekly, classic cocktails and a 1940’s retro-lounge ambience.

You’re only a stranger once at the Five O’ Clock Steakhouse!

2416 W State St
Milwaukee, WI 53233
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 342-3553

Website:
http://www.fiveoclocksteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Free live music every Friday night in The Alley Cat Lounge at 8pm. Catch Milwaukee's best jazz, blues, funk, pop & rock. Visit www.FiveOClockSteakhouse.com for this month's live music schedule. The Alley Cat Lounge features a full bar, cocktail service, special events, promotions and no cover charge.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking in a secure lot. Street parking available.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Private Dining

Milwaukee's most unique private dining room is available Tuesday through Friday. Five O’ Clock’s newly remodeled Alley Cat Lounge offers a private dining & event space perfect for a business meeting, networking event, social gathering, wedding, rehearsal dinner, or bachelor/bachelorette parties.

Five O'Clock Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (77)
Good for a Date (74)
Good for Anniversaries (63)
See All
Good for Birthdays (51)
Handcrafted Cocktails (49)
Business Meals (45)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Authentic (43)
Romantic (41)
Worth the Drive (41)
Cozy (33)
Good for Groups (32)
Casual (28)
Fun (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Bar Seating (22)
Live Music (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Comfort Food (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Hot Spot (16)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Happy Hour (10)
People Watching (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Great Beer (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort by
S
1109 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely amazing steak! I had the KC Strip. Top 10 of my all time favorite steaks. Our waitress, Crystal, was superb. Don't miss this place if you love to eat!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic night in all!!!!! Wonderful

Great date. Fantastic ambiance

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Yummy! Unfortunately, our waitress didn't get our drinks right, but the food was amazing and we were in a great place to chat. Never knew there was an upstairs!

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Always great. Food is always top notch. Bartenders that know how to mix a superb cocktail.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

My fiancée and I love to go to Five O’clock on our date nights. Steaks are always perfect, some of the best steaks I ever had. I would say as good or better than Peter Luger’s in Brooklyn.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

Totally disappointing. One steak had to be sent back because it was done medium well instead of medium rare - was a t-bone and not a porterhouse; the sirloin steak was tough and tasteless, and the bone-in ribeye had so much fat it was hard to eat. Way too much “sauce” on the meat - what is the point of touting an 1800 degree sear if it’s drowned in sauce and made soggy. Sorry to say we’ll be looking for a different steakhouse after all these years. Overpriced and mediocre quality. Our server, Catherine, was wonderful and pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful food great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Couple years since there last, current service was not good from waitstaff. Steaks not as good of quality and not done as specified, sides were small. Very loud & not in a good way.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 11, 2017

The Five O'Clock Steakhouse is my primary place to take out of town guests to give them a sense of the Wisconsin Northwoods in an urban setting. The steaks are the absolute best in the area. The bar is full service with bartenders that can make virtually any drink that you can name. The service is impeccable and friendly. I highly recommend this to anyone looking for an exceptional meal in a casual setting. Of course it is fine if you want to dress more formally!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

The 5 O’Clock Steakhouse, Formerly Coerpers 5 O’Clock Club (since 1948) has never disappointed in the 20 years I have been going there. It’s an old school supper club. If you know what that means you will be extremely satisfied. Stelio, the owner, will more than likely be on hand and the staff is great. The last time I was there I had to ask another staff for another round of drinks at our table but that’s the only time ever. Some of the BEST steaks and Prime Rib, PERIOD.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, People Watching, Live Music, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 10, 2017

It's just not what it used to be - our steaks were disappointing - they didn't have the blackened, crisp coating and they were overcooked. The ribs were delicious at least....and the bar service was great.....but we won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 9, 2017

The drinks and food were excellent. Value was terrific and service was 5 Star.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

We are from Michigan and whenever we visit Milwaukee this is a special go to restaurant. However, there is good news and bad news for this visit. First the bad, I ordered the Delmonico and crab cakes. I was so looking forward a great fatty, tasty steak. What I received was a tasteless impossible to chew piece of meat. I have no idea what cut of meat this was but is could not have been a Delmonico. I literally could not chew it enough to get it down. I mentioned this to the server who offered another steak of my choice but I decided to pass. She then offered to reduce the bill which I accepted. That's the good news. She attempted to do everything that she could to make it right and that was appreciated. We will be back in a few weeks for a wedding and I have mentioned to many people coming from Michigan that they have to try this place but now I am a little nervous about doing this. I would hate to have them have the same experience.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 4, 2017

If someone were to ask me what my favorite restaurant is, the answer is easy...5 o'clock! Probably one of the best steaks i have ever had. Always cooked to perfection!
The food is one thing, but the service is excellent! Good service is hard to come by these days. Starting with the Hostess who is always so friendly and also seems excited to see us. The bartenders are so friendly and welcoming and can make a mean grasshopper! :-)
The wait staff is amazing but our favorite is Fay, if you are lucky enough to get Fay you are in excellent sevice!
Can not wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 4, 2017

The crab legs were 98 dollars and came on a tiny platter. The legs were small and overcooked. This used to be the go to place for crab legs in the city. I will likely not go back again.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 2, 2017

A true super club. You enter and immediately have a seat at the bar. The friendly, long time bartender serves you up your drink of choice. You're at a WI super club-I recommend a brandy old fashion or a brandy old fashion sweet. They are delicious! The wait staff brings you your menu and you order your dinner at the bar. Then they take you to your table and bring heavenly fresh baked bread, a fresh/crisp salad bowl and of course-an over flowing relish tray. Its a great time to have a second drink. The bone in rib eye/medium rare is made to perfection. A nice glass of cab goes well with it. The sides are made for sharing. I love the asparagus or the onion rings go well with your steak. The food is some of the best around. The ambiance is original to the 1940s and really fun. But the best part is the staff. Very friendly. Attentive without being over bearing. The host is like everyone's favorite relative. The best wait staff anywhere. Its my all time favorite place to eat and I couldn't recommend them more.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 1, 2017

Outstanding meal and venue. Took out customers and we had one of the best experiences ever! After checking in they save you a spot at the bar to order drinks prior to dinner! Bartender was awesome and every aspect of the meal start to finish was delicious. Would highly recommend and can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 31, 2017

Best steakhouse in the entire area! Great food, excellent service and pleasing atmosphere. Steaks are cooked to perfection. Excellent value. Lives up to its reputation! Everyone (hostess, server, bartender) were friendly, professional and helpful. Made our anniversary truly enjoyable and memorable!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 29, 2017

My wife and I went there for our anniversary. It was my first time. My wife had been there several times and raced over the food. We had a great time!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

We made reservations early enough. I was a little disappointed that we were seated by the kitchen and stairs instead of in the dining room

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Steaks were great, but very disappointed with the salad.Definately not enough for 4 people. When we asked if we could have more salad, the waitress said there would be an extra charge. At the price of the entrees, they could give you enough salad. We think we had the same amount in the bowl for 4 people that we had when there was only 2 of us! They need to correct this issue!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

Have not been here for years. Enjoyed the food as always. Great cocktails. The waitress was very friendly but didnt come to visit our table much. Prices are a little high but over i would come back and recommend to my friends .

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 28, 2017

The filet was done to perfection, green beans delicious, and the baked potato huge and hot. No complaints about the food! Service was good as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 28, 2017

The steak was amazing as well as the service! All around excellent! This was my first time there and my brother and I went for my 40th birthday and we couldn't have chosen a better place!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Fun, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Love this place more every time we come! It is always fun to take people new to the experience and watch their response. The meal and wine never disappoint!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 26, 2017

I actually ordered Lamb Chops but got Pork Chops. They were good, but I usually eat the Lamb Chops because I rarely eat lamb. The other diners got what they wanted. I chose to eat what was put in front of me (mother's term not mine) as well as keep the dining experience going.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 26, 2017

New York strip is the best around!
Great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 25, 2017

We went to celebrate our 19th Anniversary. What a BIG mistake. I was so disappointed and sad that we wasted $200 of our hard earned money there. Extremely overpriced to have bread sticks standing in a water glass and PAPER place mats and a plastic honey bear on our table. I ordered my steak Medium - it came Medium RARE. I will say that I did not send it back as of the horror stories I have heard what they do to your food when you do. I ate around the outside of my steak and brought the rest home (figuring once I microwaved it - it would be cooked properly). As far as the "family" style sides that feed more then two. That would be a farce. We received approximates 6 stalks of asparagus, and the baked potato was really big enough for my husband only. My husband actually ate when we got home as he was still hungry. Our waitress asked if I would like my dinner wrapped up to which I said yes. I was shocked when I saw they put my food in individual plastic (yes I said plastic) bags and then into a brown paper bag. Like I said, extremely overpriced to have my $200 meal put into a brown paper bag like an elementary school lunch. After my meal was "bagged" up the waitress comes back and and says I hear it is your anniversary (no kidding as on my reservations I specifically listed it). They brought us a thin slice of key lime pie with two strawberries. I will say the waitress heard me say to my husband since I don't eat key lime and you do I am going to eat the strawberries ok. She brought me a plate with two more. She was the nice thing about the experience there.
We will NEVER go back - will NOT be recommending.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 24, 2017

My wife wanted a steak for our 35th Anniv dinner and being that she does eat meat very often anymore there was no where else to go but Five O'Clock Steakhouse. There was no disappointment as the steak, service and drinks from the bar were all outstanding. A very nice touch was the special Key Lime Pie w/ a candle for our special night. So glad we came back to a family favorite and had a terrific experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 22, 2017

This is our favorite place to dine. We have been coming for over 25 years and have not had a comperable experience or quality of food anywhere. Love the atmosphere, staff all so friendly, great bartenders and drinks. Recommend to all of our friends. Thanks for an awesome dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Sports, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Frequent visitor...LOVE this place because the steaks are amazing. There are a couple things though that I think would bring it to the top.
Small details..hand pack your blue cheese olives don't buy them
Expand wine list...if your by the glass offerings have been corked for more than three days ..dump them.your making enough per glass to cover the bottle cost and then some.
More veggies in salad mix... two tomatoes and three cucumber slices ,two pieces of cauliflower..cmon..
Saw my server three times. Order,deliver meal, wrap it up.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 21, 2017

This place is awesome! The food is great and the atmosphere is better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 20, 2017

The restaurant was just okay. We expected old school supper club feel, which it had in the bar area, including ordering at the bar, but actually eating was more cafeteria feel. The bar staff was great and our drinks were top notch. The positives of the restaurant stopped once we left the bar area. The tables were very close together causing us to get bumped by the waitstaff and other patrons multiple times when they were just moving about in a normal fashion. The food being brought out by carts is fine, but the amount of au jus on the plates, coupled with the cart movement made the plates very messy upon arrival at our table. The au jus that is puddled on each plate overwhelms the flavor of the steaks (and causes a clothing mishap waiting to happen as the au jus splashes as the meat falls while cutting). The steak fries were, without a better word, just bad. They were cut unevenly, undercooked because of the thick to thin cut on the same fry and were nearly tasteless, well, unless you like the taste of undercooked potato. Overall, we were very underwhelmed by the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 18, 2017

This is Milwaukee old school. If you remain among the red meat eaters you will love this place. The staff has worked there for many years --they are attentive and friendly ---and if you are on a date--your companion will think you are a foodie and will look forward to the next opportunity to go to dinner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 17, 2017

For a true Milwaukee experience you can't beat this place. Drinks - great. Steaks - amazing. Environment - great if you like an old-time Milwaukee experience. My guests and I had a great meal with tons of leftovers to savor later on

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 17, 2017

A Milwaukee mainstay! If you love a supper club make a reservation and take a seat at the bar. Your evening will start with 2 of the best bartenders around! The toughest thing is deciding whether to devour every bite in front of you or save room for dessert! Ask which members of the family are in and get the history of the restaurant. These guys are wonderful hosts!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Casual, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

It has become a tradition to dine here during the Milwaukee snow show and every year it does not disappoint. Staff is very friendly and professional. Well worth the prices and the 5 hour drive!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Typically go for steaks, but just wanted ribs tonight and boy do they have some delicious fall off the bone ribs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Stopped here with my dad on our way to the airport from a Badgers game in Madison. Looked good from the reviews, but had no idea what to expect otherwise. Overall atmosphere is very cool if you are into retro, speakeasy, everyone should be wearing suits and fedoras, kind of places. While it worked very well, the process of seating you initially at the bar (traditional Supper Club style), then taking your order and then seating you at your table is a unique experience. But the drinks were good, the bartenders were knowledgable, talented and a great selection of liquor and wine to choose from.

Once seated, we started with the salad and bread that was waiting for us at the table. Very shortly after, our steaks arrived and were both superb. I had the 21oz Ribeye and my dad opted for the 16oz Prime Rib. The one surprise was the apparent look of char (I blame the mood lighting) on the outside of the ribeye as a result of the 1800 degree (per our waitress) cooking process. But it was not char at all, just a nice flavorful sear surrounding a perfectly cooked (medium rare for me) steak with tons of flavor and nice and juicy to boot. During the dinner our waitress was perfectly attentive, not too much and not too little.

Recommended for sure and if I am ever in the Milwaukee area again, I will be back, 3piece suit, fedora and all.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Great supper club! Steaks are melt in your mouth, salad is crisp with choice of dressings, relish tray and side options. This place is old school. Order at the bar and when your salad is on the table, you are then seated.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.