About Five O'Clock Steakhouse

2416 W State St
Milwaukee, WI 53233
View Larger Map

Rich in tradition and free of trends, the Five O’Clock Steakhouse is nothing short of timeless. Family-owned & independently operated. Five O'Clock specializes in serving the finest steaks paired with a notable wine list, classic cocktails, as well as outstanding, personalized service.

Five O’Clock has been named “One of America’s Best Steakhouses” by TV host Rachel Ray, described as a "Classic Super-Club Setting" by TravelandLeisure.com and was featured on The Travel Channel’s “Steak Paradise 3.” Five O'Clock was voted "#1 Steakhouse in Milwaukee" by Shepherd Express & Milwaukee Magazine. We were also named among the top steakhouses in Milwaukee by OnMilwaukee.com.

The Alley Cat Lounge at Five O'Clock Steakhouse features Milwaukee's best free live music weekly, classic cocktails and a 1940’s retro-lounge ambience.

You’re only a stranger once at the Five O’ Clock Steakhouse!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 342-3553

Website:
http://www.fiveoclocksteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Free live music every Friday night in The Alley Cat Lounge at 8pm. Catch Milwaukee's best jazz, blues, funk, pop & rock. Visit www.FiveOClockSteakhouse.com for this month's live music schedule. The Alley Cat Lounge features a full bar, cocktail service, special events, promotions and no cover charge.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking in a secure lot. Street parking available.

Private Party Facilities:
The Alley Cat Lounge is the Perfect Location for Your Next Meeting, Networking or Social Event. The Lounge Features Full HD A.V. Capabilities & Projection Screen, Complimentary Wi-Fi, Private Bar, Customizable Menu Options, Complimentary Valet Parking in a Secure Lot & Is Conveniently Located Less Than 5 Miles From Most Downtown Milwaukee Companies. Call 414-342-3553 or Email dine@FiveOClockSteakhouse.com To Learn More About Meeting & Event Options or to Set Up a Tour.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Five O'Clock Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Wisconsin
Steakhouse
Milwaukee
Most Booked
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

Special Occasion (92)
Neighborhood Gem (55)
Romantic (50)
See All
Fit for Foodies (34)
Good for Groups (29)
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Historic (14)
Authentic (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Hot Spot (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Cozy (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Fun (9)
Business Meals (7)
Casual (7)
Live Music (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Comfort Food (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
People Watching (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Private Room (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
623 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was great and the food was outst ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 4 days ago

Service was great and the food was outstanding. Best steakhouse in Milwaukee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unbelievable experience. I may have been ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Unbelievable experience. I may have been over hyped from friends and co workers on how great this place is but it was a wonderful date night experience to say the least.

My girlfriend had a beautiful looking Filet Oscar while I went with the Bone In Ribeye. I felt it was same quality steak as many others around town which was quite good, but again I felt I was over hyped on how amazing it was.

I loved the Old Fashioneds at the bar and the 2 piece band that did some great R&B favorites on a Saturday night. The ambience and service was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Stelio really knows how to make people f ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Stelio really knows how to make people feel at home. we are treated as his special guests and recognized for being one of his "regular" customers. we don't get the opportunity to go there as often as we would like; at the same time we get there as often as we can. while the decor is outdated, it does add a little to the authentic feel of the place. it is 70 years old after all and a nice refreshing change from the chic and more expensive restaurants competing for the same audience. they sear the steaks; yet i can still get a rare steak that comes out perfectly every time. the bartenders are knowledgeable and the waitstaff friendly. i'm not one who likes the waitstaff to entertain me or keep me company. this is the perfect example of service and food quality that can make your dining experience one of the best you can ever have.

Tags: Cozy, Private Room, Authentic, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, great service.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a post theatre dinner with friend ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had a post theatre dinner with friends and everyone enjoyed the food. The old school, supper club atmosphere appeals to us. We also like the warm, homemade bread, the relish plate and the attentive service. Keep up the good work.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Historic, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Romantic, Live Music, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great and the salad and ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The service was great and the salad and relish tray were very good. The baked potateo was not completely baked, about 2/3 was edible. The prime rib was tender but lacked real flavor and the bone in rib eye was prepared very nicely but the cut was stringy and grisly. Overall the meals dib not meet expectations or live up to the restaurant's reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Amazing food, ambience, and service.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Amazing food, ambience, and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My friend and I came for dinner on a Fri ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My friend and I came for dinner on a Friday night. We hadn't been here in several years. We both ordered filets, mine was great. She likes hers medium well and it was under cooked. She sent it back once, they fileted it and it was still under done. She did not want to send it back again, nor did she eat it. The server was less than apologetic. At least the whiskey old fashiondes were awesome.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Can't beat the ambiance and the traditio ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Can't beat the ambiance and the tradition of this classic supper club. Drinks were strong and delicious and service was for the most part, warm and welcoming. Steaks were large but unfortunately gristly with patches of silverskin and slightly overcooked. She didn't care for the au jus (too much like Worcestershire sauce) but I enjoyed it. Would love to try another WI supper club for comparison.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Awesome steaks! The best old fashioned e ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Awesome steaks! The best old fashioned ever! Great date night!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great except: The server ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Everything was great except:

The servers have metal carts which they use for clearing plates from the tables.

They dump all of the dishes in there and it makes A LOT of noise.

Our table was right in the middle of the room, and the cart was right behind my chair.

So that spot was the clearing house for the whole room.

The noise made it had to talk to/hear my companion and that made it hard for me to enjoy my meal.

The food was great.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Once again, the appetizers and dinner w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Once again, the appetizers and dinner was outstanding. I am never disappoints when I visit. The staff is outstanding. This is the home of the best steak I have ever ate and that includes just about every steakhouse listed as the best steakhouses in America. I would rank this as the best.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Steak was delicious. Our server wasn't t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Steak was delicious. Our server wasn't too helpful. She didn't stop at our table once. The only time she spoke to us was when we were done with our meal and she asked if we wanted desert. They were busy... I get it, but the table behind us their server checked on them several times. For a meal that's going to cost me over $100 I expected more from our server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

There's usually a wee wait for your tabl ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

There's usually a wee wait for your table, so we sat at the bar and chit chatted until the table was ready. Our server continuously checked on us to keep us up to date in the table and she made sure that we didn't need anything.

They had a live musician that night who kept us all entertained.

Overall, it was an extremely pleasant experience....as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The steak that I had was excellent! The ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The steak that I had was excellent! The wait for it was quite long, however. Those in my party who had seafood were not as excited. We ALL loved our steaks however. Place has a 60s décor so could use an update. Bathrooms are in the middle of everything. I would go again just for the steak but not on a Saturday night. It was too loud to converse.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

Had a good time , love the live band The ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Had a good time , love the live band The Waitresses really nice I would recommend this restaurant .

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This place is the best! My wife and I fo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This place is the best! My wife and I found it about 20-25 years ago. The best steakhouse in America, with a baked potato to die for. They are celebrating their 70th anniversary and there is no doubt in my mind that they will be there long after me.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual the best place in Milwaukee for ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

As usual the best place in Milwaukee for steak. Server made us feel special for our anniversary. When we do go our for a exceptional dinner this is the only place we go.

Tags: Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First, I have been coming to the Five O' ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

First, I have been coming to the Five O'clock steak house (Coerpers) for over 15 years. The food has been suffering every year since.

My suggestions: If you recommend using honey and butter on the house baked sourdough, maybe stock the table with some local delicious honey and not the cheap generic "honey bear" bottle that is processed in NY. Same with the relish tray. Wisconsin has some of the best local produce and pickling farms anywhere. Just upgrading these two things will greatly increase the experience. We could go into the tacky neons some other day. Please start with quality ingredients first. From scratch is a bit more labor intensive, but its actually cheaper in the long run. Take it easy on the butter doused steak as well. A few easy changes that will go a long way.

-Jeff, Loyal customer

Tags: Live Music, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Best place in a terrible neighborhood. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Best place in a terrible neighborhood. Free valet parking, just pull up and they take care of it! Food is absolutely top notch, and service is second to none. Be sure to make a reservation, check in when you get there, then relax at the bar. The place is old (historic), and run like an old fashioned lounge type supper club. You will leave stuffed with the best comfort food (steak) you can get. Its not a fancy schmancy type cuisine, just a nice slab of meat, cooked to perfection.. Or fish or that other stuff. Saturday night is crowded and noisy though, since the place is so small. Takes away the romantic part.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Historic, Comfort Food, Cozy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

What a fabulous time we had, not to men ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

What a fabulous time we had, not to mention the food,drinks and staff were outstanding !Saw the 5 o'clock on the food channel,glad we decided to make Milwaukee a little over nite getaway and made reservations!We'll be back.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic Porterhouse steak, crab stuffe ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Fantastic Porterhouse steak, crab stuffed mushroom caps, and lamb chops! All cooked to perfection!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak ever! I love this place, but ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Best steak ever! I love this place, but it used to be impossible to get a reservation. Open Table has solved that problem.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our service and food was great. Somethin ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our service and food was great. Something we have to save for special occasions but worth the wait.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed Five O'clock Steakhouse very ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We enjoyed Five O'clock Steakhouse very much. The service was exceptional! The steaks were the best we have ever had! A very great experience on our 11th Wedding Anniversary!

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My husband and I were visiting Milwaukee ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My husband and I were visiting Milwaukee for the LSU football game in Green Bay and made reservations after seeing the restaurant on the internet. We like to try places that people from the area eat not just the very touristy places. And this looked like a good local place to eat. We were very pleased with our experience - when we arrived we were a little surprised by how the seating and ordering was done - you have a seat at the bar (we ordered drinks while we waited because we were a little bit early) and your server gives you the menu and you order while at the bar. The server then places the order and prepares your table (with silverware and water etc.) and when the table is ready you are brought to the table. It was a little unusual but we really enjoyed the whole experience and it worked very well. We did not feel rushed and the server explained everything and answered all of our questions. The food was very good and hot when it arrived at the table. Overall it was a very good experience and we enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Steaks were delicious as usual. Service ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Steaks were delicious as usual. Service was awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The steaks were really good. The only p ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

The steaks were really good. The only problem we had was that the steak fries were really more like French fries and no way was the serving sharable, as we were told by the waitress.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Haven't been there in 20 years! Even wit ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Haven't been there in 20 years! Even with a new owner it doesn't seem to have 'missed a beat'! I came in from Dallas and to my surprise even a couple of the locals I had dinner with had never heard of it or been there. They were impressed. I will be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steaks here are delicious. If you'r ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The steaks here are delicious. If you're looking for a total supper club experience this is the place, right down to the relish tray before dinner. The decor is straight out of the 50s which gives the place its charm.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Recently voted best steakhouse in Milwau ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Recently voted best steakhouse in Milwaukee. I agree. The food is absolutely delicious. The decor is original and thus classic super club. But hands down the best part is the staff. Super friendly, attentive, knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Your suggestions for recommendation are ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Your suggestions for recommendation are somewhat limited, another choice I would make is ; excellent food. You can pick any number of reasons to have dinner and/or a drink, fine dining,

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This has become one of our favorite rest ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This has become one of our favorite restaurants for a special night out! Great, fantastic food and a fun atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were able to take shuttle from our ho ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We were able to take shuttle from our hotel & arrived an hour earlier than expected. We were told it is customary to order drink at bar and then place your food order before being seated. Since we arrived early they were very accommodating to seat us immediately with no wait. We were not rushed. The steaks were incredible. They were presented exactly as ordered. After dinner we ordered an after dinner drink and enjoyed on their small outdoor patio. We would highly recommend this great supper club.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was mediocre at best. Lobster was t ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Food was mediocre at best. Lobster was tough and tasteless. The steak did not seem like a good cut of meat and was overcooked. Very disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

The food is amazing. It is unique in the ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food is amazing. It is unique in the way they take your order while you get a drink at the bar and then seat you. It was a little loud and hard to talk/hear the person/people you are with. Overall I would definitely go back for special occasions. It was a little pricey for me to go more often.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food. Amazing atmosphere. Love co ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great food. Amazing atmosphere. Love coming here. Best steaks I've ever had.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The biggest steak you can ever imagine! ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The biggest steak you can ever imagine! It was quiet, the service was amazing and the food was great. Our steaks came out a little under prepared than what we asked, which was a little disappointing for a steakhouse, but the staff was quick to fix that. Overall, still highly recommended!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My friends and I have been celebrating v ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

My friends and I have been celebrating various birthdays as well as the odd-ball happenstances. That night we were celebrating a good colon test. Which was the reason we handle to cancel the week before. The friend was still recuperating from the drugs he had been given and was warned not to drive. Each of us ordered something different and enjoyed the mean. The service was from a young waiter who kept us in food, water and other drinks. We look forward to the next occasion. The atmosphere (music, conversations from other tables, etc.) did not distract us from hearing each other. We will be returned.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Steaks around! A little pricey, but ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Best Steaks around! A little pricey, but worth it for those special occasions.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.