About Five O'Clock Steakhouse

2416 W State St
Milwaukee, WI 53233
View Larger Map

Rich in tradition and free of trends, the Five O’Clock Steakhouse is nothing short of timeless. Family-owned & independently operated. Five O'Clock specializes in serving the finest steaks paired with a notable wine list, classic cocktails, as well as outstanding, personalized service.

Five O’Clock has been named “One of America’s Best Steakhouses” by TV host Rachel Ray, described as a "Classic Super-Club Setting" by TravelandLeisure.com and was featured on The Travel Channel’s “Steak Paradise 3.” Five O'Clock was voted "#1 Steakhouse in Milwaukee" by Shepherd Express & Milwaukee Magazine. We were also named among the top steakhouses in Milwaukee by OnMilwaukee.com.

The Alley Cat Lounge at Five O'Clock Steakhouse features Milwaukee's best free live music weekly, classic cocktails and a 1940’s retro-lounge ambience.

You’re only a stranger once at the Five O’ Clock Steakhouse!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 342-3553

Website:
http://www.fiveoclocksteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Free live music every Friday night in The Alley Cat Lounge at 8pm. Catch Milwaukee's best jazz, blues, funk, pop & rock. Visit www.FiveOClockSteakhouse.com for this month's live music schedule. The Alley Cat Lounge features a full bar, cocktail service, special events, promotions and no cover charge.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking in a secure lot. Street parking available.

Private Party Facilities:
The Alley Cat Lounge is the Perfect Location for Your Next Meeting, Networking or Social Event. The Lounge Features Full HD A.V. Capabilities & Projection Screen, Complimentary Wi-Fi, Private Bar, Customizable Menu Options, Complimentary Valet Parking in a Secure Lot & Is Conveniently Located Less Than 5 Miles From Most Downtown Milwaukee Companies. Call 414-342-3553 or Email dine@FiveOClockSteakhouse.com To Learn More About Meeting & Event Options or to Set Up a Tour.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Join us Valentine's Day and experience the highest rated steakhouse in Milwaukee!!
Celebrate Valentine's Weekend with us !! Friday February 10th, the first 20 couples will receive a $20 promo certificate good for a future visit. (Restrictions Apply)

Five O'Clock Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (90)
Good for a Date (70)
Good for Anniversaries (68)
See All
Good for Birthdays (51)
Worth the Drive (47)
Historic (46)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Handcrafted Cocktails (41)
Authentic (41)
Business Meals (39)
Romantic (33)
Bar Seating (28)
Cozy (27)
Casual (27)
Fun (26)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Comfort Food (22)
Notable Wine List (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Live Music (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Hot Spot (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
People Watching (10)
Family Style (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Outstanding Value (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Private Room (2)
Dancing (1)
Healthy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Fireplace (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
783 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Old school dining experience.. steaks co ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Old school dining experience.. steaks cooked at 1800 degrees.. delicious char, au jus and mushrooms.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect steaks and atmosphere! It's an i ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 2 days ago

Perfect steaks and atmosphere! It's an iconic restaurant that does an amazing job fulfilling my steak craving!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were so excited for our anniversary. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

We were so excited for our anniversary. We made reservations week's in advance. When we got there we couldn't even move their were so many people. Apparently there was a Marquette game. We were patient but then they tried to shove us in a crappy table where by we couldn't move by the entrance to the dining room, then offered us another scrappy table in the corridor of service. When we were finally seated it was so loud we could barely talk. Getting a drink took 20 minutes. I felt bad for our server who was trying so hard to accommodate us. The food was good but we vowed to never go here again on a weekend. The owner is right there making sure everyone is happy. That says a lot. Ambience horrible that night. We couldn't wait to get out of there and have a cocktail attorney home to chill out from that.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Wonderfull food and service as usual. No ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderfull food and service as usual. Noise level on a Saturday night was distracting. None the less a great place.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I have been going here fo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My husband and I have been going here for years and have never had anything but a fantastic time, phenomenal food and great service.

Truly a classic steakhouse that has not compromised quality or eccentricity for 'modernization'. So grateful they continue to thrive and make people so happy while doing so.

Don't ever change, 5 O'Clock!!

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fun, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, , Notable Wine List, Live Music, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience as always. Great f ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent experience as always. Great food and good service as usual. Have dined here at least 15 times, never have been disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

It was really loud and had to sit close ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was really loud and had to sit close to everybody, but the service was top of the line! A real classy joint! The steaks are the reason we went voted best steak house in Milwaukee, I don't know if they are the best but... But the steaks were unbelievably amazing!!! We had the Porterhouse and the Ribeye

Delicious!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

If the tables weren't so close to each o ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

If the tables weren't so close to each other, I eould rate higher. My husband enjoyed his food but I couldn't because I felt that people were almost sitting on top of me. The servers had carts with food on them and had to work their way between the tables. When the hostess seated peopl, the table were so close that those being seated would bumped into me trying to get to their seat. I think of the owner would remove and rearrange some of the tables, they would still make money and the atmosphere would be so much better for their customers. It's a popular plar and the food is genetally great but this time tbe experience was not a good one file me. We did go to the Alley Cat Lounge upstairs after dinner. Enjoyed the band. A great addition to the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

The steak is great but the dining area i ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The steak is great but the dining area is loud, cramped and dark. We had to get out a flashlight to identify all of the different items on our cheese plate, my husband kept getting jostled by the man behind him, and the noise level meant that we had to yell multiple times in order for the waitstaff to understand us when we asked to have particular items wrapped up to go. The food is great, but for the price there are steakhouses in town with better ambiance. This was our second time giving 5 o'clock a chance. We will likely not be back for a third time.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

Best steakhouse in Milwaukee without a d ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Best steakhouse in Milwaukee without a doubt! Friendly bartenders who pour a great drink and the absolutely best steaks in the city. The price is right too. Whenever I try a new steakhouse in town I regret it and wish I would have gone to 5 O'Clock Club!

Tags: Dancing, Fun, Cozy, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've had filet in many restaurants domes ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I've had filet in many restaurants domestic/international and have never had beef like this! It takes my breath away!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Suzy our server, made this a membable ev ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Suzy our server, made this a membable evening. Porterhouse awesome, baked potato was spit with my wife all the food was perfectly well done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I went to 5 O'clock several years ago, a ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on January 13, 2017

I went to 5 O'clock several years ago, and remember being so, so impressed. This time, I came back with my girlfriend while we were in town for a wedding, and I was worried it wouldn't be as good as I remember. Turns out, I had nothing to worry about - it really is just as good as I thought. From the cocktails to the salad, crab cakes, and of course steaks, everything was absolutely on point.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this steakhouse. I have been to do ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Love this steakhouse. I have been to dozens of steakhouses around the country and nothing compares. Faye our waitress is great! The food and drinks are wonderful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Private Room, Historic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best piece of beaf in years! The steak ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Best piece of beaf in years! The steak and service were perfect.

Tags: Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Faye was such a treat. She was so nice a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Faye was such a treat. She was so nice and helpful. Loved the steak.. done as ordered..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Mmm mmm good. The king cut filet was jus ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Mmm mmm good. The king cut filet was just as amazing as every time I've had it there.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak I've ever had. Great bartende ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Best steak I've ever had. Great bartenders and manager was very nice.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

waitress was just a little slow and it w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

waitress was just a little slow and it was very noisy making it hard to have conversation.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Service and food were very good, I felt ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Service and food were very good, I felt like we were rushed in from the bar a bit and then 2 large groups of about 20 people were seated right next to us which it made it difficult to converse.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

This was a first trip to this iconic res ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This was a first trip to this iconic restaurant for everyone in our party. The service was excellent. The staff walked us through our evening while we enjoyed a cocktail. The Old Fashions were well prepared. Initially they sat us in a corner near the emergency exit which was cold on a very cold Friday evening but graciously moved us to another table. The relish tray, salad and bread were freshly prepared. Although the portions are extremely large, the steaks, prime rib and scallops were enjoyed by everyone in our party. The steaks were prepared just as we had ordered them. The only item that was slightly off was the cauliflower which arrived cold but was still very good. There was no room for dessert.

The atmosphere is dated but I guess that is part of the charm. There is not a lot of room between tables and when we first sat down we could have easily participated in the conversation of the table behind us. Overall it was a good experience. We won't hesitate to go back next time we are thinking about steak.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Outstanding steak, service, drinks, and ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Outstanding steak, service, drinks, and music! Stelio and crew did not disappoint!

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals, Live Music, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steaks were good, but swimming in au jus ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Steaks were good, but swimming in au jus. Not my style, order without and should be perfect

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent Food, great service, great atm ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Excellent Food, great service, great atmosphere. My wife and I enjoy going there for special occasions!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They did very well dealing with the NYE ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 1, 2017

They did very well dealing with the NYE crowd. We had a reservation for 10:30 and were seated by 10:35. The food was exceptional as usual. Filet Oscar was perfect. Crab cakes were great. Crab Mac also A+.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This restaurant is a tradition in Milwau ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This restaurant is a tradition in Milwaukee and has been operating for 70 years. I live out of state but try to eat at this vintage steakhouse whenever possible when visiting. We dined on New Year's Eve. It was very busy when we arrived for our 9pm reservation. The food is consistently good and it is definitely "the place to go" for an excellent steak dinner. Cocktails at the bar are always good and the bartenders know what they are doing and are always friendly. I find the bar to be a comfortable place to relax, and have cocktails, even on evenings I do not intend to dine. The dining room staff is friendly, attentive, and does a nice job. Obviously, management does a nice job keeping things "flowing" even when the restaurant is packed with patrons. This restaurant has my high recommendation for great food and a fun night out. I will absolutely return.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was great but had to wait close ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was great but had to wait close to an hour for dinner.Had set up reservations a week prior and The only table they had available was across from the washrooms and right next to the hostess stand.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

The best steakhouse in America. Always a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The best steakhouse in America. Always a great meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was good over all - we love the a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Dinner was good over all - we love the ambiance. It was NYE so service was not good. Got seated upstairs, freezing cold, server was super rushed. We felt uncomfortable asking to refill drinks if she had the time. No offer of dessert or after dinner drinks. Rushed through everything - at one point I had to restate her description of menu to rest of table because no one heard her and she sped through it. We finally left after dinner thinking food was good but next year going to stay in and make dinner ourselves.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Fantastic!!!! Crystal was the best serv ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fantastic!!!! Crystal was the best server, owner checked to be sure we were taken care of...great time, steaks were best I've had anywhere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Loved this place! So old fashioned, but ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Loved this place! So old fashioned, but in a good way. Bartenders were knowledgeable and funny. Service was excellent and the steaks where huge!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our reservation was for 5:30 PM and we w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our reservation was for 5:30 PM and we were taken pretty much on time. While the prices were a little high the fillet and porterhouse steaks tasted great.

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The restaurant was excellent, traditiona ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The restaurant was excellent, traditional Wisconsin "supper club" style, the steak was phenomenal. Highly recommended for the food and atmosphere. Not necessarily modern, but cozy. Went there for anniversary.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Cozy, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Sevice excellent. The food is breath tak ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Sevice excellent. The food is breath taking. The climate is so comfortable. My family loved every essence of it and and has expressed nothing but love over the preparation of the food. We will be back soon to express our gratitude.

Tags: Family Style, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sooooo Good!!! You just can't beat the s ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Sooooo Good!!! You just can't beat the steaks here! I have been here at least 5 times and I have always been totally impressed! The king cut fillet is massive and you could cut it with a spoon. Baked potatoes are equally huge and good. I also enjoyed the hand muddled old fashions and the free valet parking. Courtney was our waitress and she was great!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was superb, as usual. However, ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The food was superb, as usual. However, the service and food delivery were much slower than what we've experienced in the past. The waitress was attentive. I just think the food was super super slow to receive and then not how it was ordered. It was rectified. It wouldn't keep us from going here again. Bring your wallet. It is expensive but considered a treat by us!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The service was great! The ambiance was ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The service was great! The ambiance was a bit more like a bar than dinner and it was a little crowded. I do like that it is a reservations only restaurant and your table is ready to go when you sit down. Our waitress was very nice, friendly, and prompt even with it being as busy as it was on a Tuesday night. The food was delicious! My fiancé does nothat like shrimp scampi but he liked the one I ordered! His steak was also very delicious!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still the best!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Still the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome dining experience food was outst ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Awesome dining experience food was outstanding never had a better steak We are semi regulars and are treated like family A truly special place with food second to no one We will continue to enjoy one of our all time favorites 👍🏼😍

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Cozy, Live Music, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent as always. My king filet was p ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent as always. My king filet was perfect, Salad great. My mom loved her prime rib & large baked potato

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.