Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi
  1. Distance: 0.51mi
  2. Distance: 0.54mi
  3. Distance: 0.56mi
  4. Distance: 0.57mi

About Five O'Clock Steakhouse

Rich in tradition and free of trends, the Five O’Clock Steakhouse is nothing short of timeless. Family-owned & independently operated. Five O'Clock specializes in serving the finest steaks paired with a notable wine list, classic cocktails, as well as outstanding, personalized service.

Five O’Clock has been named “One of America’s Best Steakhouses” by TV host Rachel Ray, described as a "Classic Super-Club Setting" by TravelandLeisure.com and was featured on The Travel Channel’s “Steak Paradise 3.” Five O'Clock was voted "#1 Steakhouse in Milwaukee" by Shepherd Express & Milwaukee Magazine. We were also named among the top steakhouses in Milwaukee by OnMilwaukee.com.

The Alley Cat Lounge at Five O'Clock Steakhouse features Milwaukee's best free live music weekly, classic cocktails and a 1940’s retro-lounge ambience.

You’re only a stranger once at the Five O’ Clock Steakhouse!

2416 W State St
Milwaukee, WI 53233
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 342-3553

Website:
http://www.fiveoclocksteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Free live music every Friday night in The Alley Cat Lounge at 8pm. Catch Milwaukee's best jazz, blues, funk, pop & rock. Visit www.FiveOClockSteakhouse.com for this month's live music schedule. The Alley Cat Lounge features a full bar, cocktail service, special events, promotions and no cover charge.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking in a secure lot. Street parking available.

Private Party Facilities:
The Alley Cat Lounge is the Perfect Location for Your Next Meeting, Networking or Social Event. The Lounge Features Full HD A.V. Capabilities & Projection Screen, Complimentary Wi-Fi, Private Bar, Customizable Menu Options, Complimentary Valet Parking in a Secure Lot & Is Conveniently Located Less Than 5 Miles From Most Downtown Milwaukee Companies. Call 414-342-3553 or Email dine@FiveOClockSteakhouse.com To Learn More About Meeting & Event Options or to Set Up a Tour.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Five O'Clock Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (91)
Good for a Date (80)
Good for Anniversaries (71)
See All
Good for Birthdays (55)
Romantic (55)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Handcrafted Cocktails (47)
Business Meals (47)
Worth the Drive (46)
Historic (44)
Authentic (42)
Good for Groups (40)
Cozy (34)
Fun (33)
Casual (32)
Bar Seating (25)
Live Music (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Comfort Food (21)
Notable Wine List (18)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Family Style (17)
Outstanding Value (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
People Watching (14)
Tasting Menu (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Great Beer (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Private Room (3)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Dancing (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
935 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Best food around. Going for years. Would love a table in kitchen for special occasions. Great service great owner, best cocktails.

Love you guys

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Romantic, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 5 days ago

Best steak in town. Classic supper club look and feel. I normally don't care for Old Fashion's, but here they are made really well. Bring an appitite!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

We have been dining at the 5 O'Clock Club since 1985. This has been our first time here since the original owners sold (maybe 10-12 yrs or so ago). It was nice to see that nothing really changed in the service or quality of food (or ambiance). We really enjoyed our dining experience and hope to make it back soon!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Classic upscale supper club fair with unique charred steaks! Could use a little more lighting in the corners but overall excellent experience

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Graduation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Best Steak in town hands down!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We were excited to go for our first time. Disappointed to have a seat under the stairs with a live band above us and next to the kitchen. I don't really want to pay $50 for a steak and feel like Cinderlla! Maybe it was a bad night for them. Not sure if I would go back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I had heard how great the steaks were so for a special date we tried it. Yes, the steaks were good however what was once I am sure a classy steakhouse where you could have a conversation while you ate is no more! They pack you in and the noise level makes it hard to enjoy your expensive meal. This for me overpowers the quality of the food. If you're looking to eat only and not talk still bring ear plugs and you will be good!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Not as good as it used to be. Sat upstairs. Waiter was to busy and it took forever to get salad and bread. No salt and pepper or bread sticks on table. had to ask for everything. Steaks and prime rib a little tough. good flavor.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Never disappointed. Always our favorite spot to celebrate something really special.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Excellent Steakhouse recommended by the Food Network.
The filet mignon cooked to perfection , and had taste and flavor to match.
Wait staff were top notch , as they could not have served you better.
I would highly recommend to my friends, and I would definitely make a visit again here to savor another cut of steak.
Just hope it compares to my last visit!
4 star review !!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 16, 2017

A great meal and service for our anniversary. Your traditional Wisconsin supper club experience. Drinks first at the bar where they take your order. Their brandy old-fashioneds are done old school and great. Once your table is ready they come get you and take you to your table where a relish tray, fresh bread and salad bowl with dressings are waiting for you. Porterhouse was fantastic! Exactly as I ordered, medium rare. My wife's jumbo shrimp were just that, JUMBO and 8 of them. Those were great, as well. Brandy Alexander and Grasshopper ice cream drinks after dinner were just as good as dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Best bone in rib eye steak and the Sides are so good. Don't forget the homemade salad dressings. Couldn't just have one. I tried them all Delicious yum!

Tags: Romantic, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The place was just like I remembered, and the steaks were outstanding. A overall great place for a dinner date.

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Wife and I visited Milwaukee for a weekend getaway celebrating my birthday and Mother's Day for her. After doing a little cell phone research we decided that Five O'Clock Steakhouse was the steakhouse that I deserved to be treated to for my birthday. We had 8 pm reservations and arrived 10 minutes early only to be told that to be seated in the main dining room would take about 40 minutes. After a brief exchange about our reservations and why would it take so long we relented and was seated upstairs in a smaller and seemingly detached secondary dining area that dampened our excitement about experiencing the true ambience of this long revered Milwaukee mainstay. We tried to stay upbeat and look beyond that initial disappointment, but then they seated us at the tiniest of all the tables on the second floor propped right up on the staircase railing. So as staff and guests walked up and down the stairs, they literally were right next to us. It was a total distraction and mood killer. Eventually as appetizers were being brought out, we asked to be moved to an available larger table that was still empty and our waiter obliged. Things got markedly better at that point. The food including the salad were on point! Her ribeye and my NY Strip were dee-licious! I will go back for the steaks!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

At this time I would not recommend. It will be some time before we get brave. Besides sitting down 1/2 hour after our reservation, waitress was constantly gone. Ordered Prime Rib medium rare came well done,tenderloin came luke warm. I could not eat the Prime rib. The manager did come over snd knew before I told him.He had that taken off the bill which definitely helped.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food and service was exceptional! Will definitely go back soon.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I went here when it was Coerper's back in the day... probably a little over 10 years ago.
While the food was excellent, I felt like the service was really lacking. We made a reservation but still had to wait quite awhile for our table, even though the restaurant wasn't that full. Our waitress forgot my wine and wasn't very warm or attentive. I would compare the service to what you would expect in a diner, not when your spending a fair amount of $$ on a steak dinner.
It just seems to have lost it's attention to details, which was part of what made it so great long ago.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

What a great place to enjoy company and steak/prime rib, the shrimp scampi was awesome and rib appetizer was finger licking good.

Tags: Family Style, Historic, Business Meals, Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was my first visit to this place. The food was great. The people were very friendly.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Seated us by kitchen entrance which killed ambiance some but great food and service by Susie.

Tags: Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great Steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Never disappoints I have been here numerous times and the steak is 2nd to none!!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Stuck in the past.

From the reviews we thought this would be a great little spot to have some good ole fashion steak house food. We were pleasantly surprised from the get to. Good live music, albeit a bit loud, warm greetings, and great service.

We were seated in what seemed to be a time capsule to the 70s-80s. Mirrors, christmas lights, dim lighting, dark decor.

The starting salad was actually very good and so was the large portion of warm sourdough bread. Sadly it went a bit downhill from there. My girlfriend ordered the special seafood combo and I ordered the bone in ribeye. My order of medium rare was spot on, which was pleasing. The seasoning was ok, but overall the flavor of the meat was masked when I'd prefer a simpler salt and pepper mix with perhaps some garlic. This seasoning profile was a contrast I really didn't like.

My girlfriends seafood combo consisted of some well sized shrimp and scallops, but a fairly meager piece of what I remember to be grouper. The grouper was dry, bland. The scallops were mildly tough and obviously frozen. The shrimp were cooked well and tasted as expected.

The food alone cost over $100 for two people and sadly the salad and the bread were the tastiest part of the meal.

As a little background I've traveled quite a bit and used to be a chef myself. My girlfriend and I have experienced far better steak and seafood at much lower prices in and around the midwest. Fresher ingredients, a modern approach to seasoning and styling would definitely be welcomed to this establishment.

I know it may sound like everything was horrible but it was mostly the expectations that were ruined by the price for flavor. It was decent. Just not worth the expense when I could have easily out cooked the meals and brought out flavors that weren't so bland.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Not as great as it once was. 8 of us ordered steaks and were disappointed in the delivered meal. This was our celebration restaurant for 20+ years. We will now go elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Good food, interesting concept ordering before being seated! Disappointed to be seated at small table in middle of room and close to other large tables with loud conversations! Table so small the waiter could barely fit salad bowl, cheese tray(app) bread board and entrees!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great experience, have not ate here since the ownership change, same or better quality and service overall, and will be be back.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 5, 2017

I read mixed reviews, mostly very good, but I had never been there myself. I was not disappointed and do not agree with any negative comments I read. Given the volume of people I'd say the only possible recommendation I'd make would be to add waitresses. Our waitress was handling her tables, but she was hustling the whole time and did a good job given the number of people. I did not feel there was any waiting long for anything (a comment I read was they had to wait 15 minutes - then go to McD's). It's a bit pricey, but once your food arrives, you aren't thinking about that. Big portions even for smaller cuts; and go online to view the menu, and no surprises then. So worth it in taste!

The steak was absolutely one of the best I've ever had (the other was in Tampa, FL, at Bern's). I'm so pleased I finally had dinner at Five O'Clock and only wish I had gone many times before. I will definitely recommend and certainly will go back as soon, and often, as I can!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Very good food. Service was awesome, seems like there was one waiter for every table. A little pricey, but for the service and food was well worth it. Overall, would recommend to people, especially for anniversaries which is what we were there for.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I remember taking my parents to this "Old School"---Steakhouse ,reminding us of the late 50,s atmosphere.The steaks at that time were A-1. So I returned and found the atmosphere the same. However, the steaks we ordered were not the same and were just mediocre, for what we paid the value was not there!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We waited for our table for 15 mins! Even tough I had reservations. The staff were running around like chickens with their heads cut off. My steak was black! Not worth the money at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

A classic supper club with delicious steaks. My dad loved the experience, the drinks and the food. It reminded him of dinners out with his family when he was younger. To me, it was just a steak joint, but watching my dad reminisce was well worth the visit.

Tags: Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The food here is second to none. We always go here for a great meal and get one. But this time we ran into a waitress that was rude, uncaring, and surely didn't want to be there to serve people. Alexandria?

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Always great food and service. Try the king cut fillet. It's huge!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Love this place. Ambiance, food, etc. The prices have come up a bit, so it is more in line with the downtown steak houses (which is a bit of a bummer), but otherwise I like everything about it.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Historic, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I have been going here for 20 years, the best steak. There is no one that can match quality. Mark Kranski

Tags: Family Style, Historic, Authentic, Casual, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Delicious as always. One of the best steaks in town, and by far the most authentic steakhouse in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Food was amazing as usual. Best steaks in town. Love the salad and warm bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Me and my wife came there for her anniversary and had a very good time

Tags: Notable Wine List, Live Music, Paleo Friendly, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 19, 2017

It was our 1st time and friends had recommended. The food was amazing, we were very happy with service, food and overall experience. It is a great hidden gem! ❤️

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.