About Five O'Clock Steakhouse

2416 W State St
Milwaukee, WI 53233
View Larger Map

Rich in tradition and free of trends, the Five O’Clock Steakhouse is nothing short of timeless. Family-owned & independently operated. Five O'Clock specializes in serving the finest steaks paired with a notable wine list, classic cocktails, as well as outstanding, personalized service.

Five O’Clock has been named “One of America’s Best Steakhouses” by TV host Rachel Ray, described as a "Classic Super-Club Setting" by TravelandLeisure.com and was featured on The Travel Channel’s “Steak Paradise 3.” Five O'Clock was voted "#1 Steakhouse in Milwaukee" by Shepherd Express & Milwaukee Magazine. We were also named among the top steakhouses in Milwaukee by OnMilwaukee.com.

The Alley Cat Lounge at Five O'Clock Steakhouse features Milwaukee's best free live music weekly, classic cocktails and a 1940’s retro-lounge ambience.

You’re only a stranger once at the Five O’ Clock Steakhouse!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 342-3553

Website:
http://www.fiveoclocksteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Free live music every Friday night in The Alley Cat Lounge at 8pm. Catch Milwaukee's best jazz, blues, funk, pop & rock. Visit www.FiveOClockSteakhouse.com for this month's live music schedule. The Alley Cat Lounge features a full bar, cocktail service, special events, promotions and no cover charge.

Parking Details:
Complimentary valet parking in a secure lot. Street parking available.

Private Party Facilities:
The Alley Cat Lounge is the Perfect Location for Your Next Meeting, Networking or Social Event. The Lounge Features Full HD A.V. Capabilities & Projection Screen, Complimentary Wi-Fi, Private Bar, Customizable Menu Options, Complimentary Valet Parking in a Secure Lot & Is Conveniently Located Less Than 5 Miles From Most Downtown Milwaukee Companies. Call 414-342-3553 or Email dine@FiveOClockSteakhouse.com To Learn More About Meeting & Event Options or to Set Up a Tour.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Private Room, Wine

Five O'Clock Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
Wisconsin
Special Occasion
Milwaukee
Steakhouse
Milwaukee
Best Restaurants in Milwaukee ›

special occasion (128)
neighborhood gem (73)
romantic (65)
See All
fit for foodies (59)
good for groups (47)
hot spot (20)
vibrant bar scene (18)
notable wine list (15)
late-night find (12)
kid-friendly (4)
great for lunch (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
559 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was really good.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Delicious steaks. You won't leave hungry ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious steaks. You won't leave hungry!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

At times it was a little loud and crampe ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

At times it was a little loud and cramped, but the food was great.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Each of the 3 times we've chosen 5 O'Clo ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Each of the 3 times we've chosen 5 O'Clock it has been everything we hoped for. Top quality food well prepared and with excellent service --- plus the ambience of an old-fashioned supper club. Not fancy, but still exquisite if you know what I mean.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding food and will continue to pa ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Outstanding food and will continue to patronize. Would highly recommend to everyone! You can never go wrong with one of the absolute best steaks in greater Milwaukee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Wonderful experience

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Wonderful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome, old school steakhouse. Have wor ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Awesome, old school steakhouse. Have worked at a five-star steakhouse for years and was the best steak I have ever had. very quirky way of ordering: order drink at the bar, take order at the bar, then sit down at your table when all of the food is ready.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My hubby took me there last Friday for m ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

My hubby took me there last Friday for my birthday & it was Absolutely Yummolicious!!

My birthday meal of Petite Surf & Turf was On Point tonight. My petite 8 oz. filet just melted in my mouth & my 7 oz. lobster tail was also very tasty & cooked to perfection!! Couldn't ask for or find a better meal in the city of Milwaukee & we have tried just about every Steak house there is. My husband was also very Pleased with his 21 oz. Bone in Ribeye & gladly took the owners suggestion of dipping his left over baked potato skin in the Au Jus & thought it was fantastic! Crystal was a great server & hope to have her as our server again when we return. Next time I'll have to save some room for dessert. Thanks again Five O'Clock Steakhouse for a very EnJoYable Birthday dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Amazing as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Found this on a whim and decided to make ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Found this on a whim and decided to make a reservation. We were going to be in for a show and thought this sounded like a good place. It was better than good it was fantastic!! Great atmosphere great drinks and the steaks were amazing!! Highly recommended!!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

5'Oclock club is our favorite steak rest ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

5'Oclock club is our favorite steak restaurant. The atmosphere takes you back to another time. The steaks are the best we have ever had. It is not your cheap steak joint. You have to go!! My husband always gets the 16oz filet. The steaks are so tender you could cut them with a butter knife.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The 5 O'Clock Club is my favorite restau ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The 5 O'Clock Club is my favorite restaurant, great food, staff, and atmosphere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and very good food. Very g ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great service and very good food. Very good waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent old-style Wisconsin supper clu ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent old-style Wisconsin supper club. Awesome!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great classic steak house.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great classic steak house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Once again, best steak in Milwaukee. I c ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Once again, best steak in Milwaukee. I come back often as a result. I would recommend this to everyone. Beware of no free soft drink refills

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

This place is not what it used to be at ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This place is not what it used to be at all. Loud , trashy, no class. food was mediocre

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

The place was very cool. My wife and I ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The place was very cool. My wife and I loved how you were escorted directly to the bar, placed your order there and were taken to our table when everything was set up with the bread, salad and relish tray. The food was great, with very large portions and the service was excellent. It was expensive, but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

It's not that anything was really horrib ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

It's not that anything was really horrible, but for the prices we expected a lot more. We were very underwhelmed and disappointed that we had spent so much money only to have a mediocre experience at best. The first bartender who served us (Mike I believe) was very pleasant, but not the second one (Joe I think). Our server, Susie, was very nice, and was apologetic when the kitchen got our order wrong. That was excusable though. Just being disappointed with the food, especially at such high prices, was what really bothered us. Also, they try to fit too many tables into a very small room and we felt like we were right on top on other tables, and felt like we were "in the way" when other servers were trying to get to their tables. We will not be back and will recommend to others not to bother either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Wonderful restaurant and service - it's ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Wonderful restaurant and service - it's like stepping back in time. Food is wonderful, great wine list and is reasonably priced. When we return to Milwaukee we will definitely come again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to the Five O'Clock Steakho ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We have been to the Five O'Clock Steakhouse on several occasions and we enjoy the food, ambience and service. The steaks are excellent and the atmosphere is just like it used to be in local restaurants in the 1940's, 50's and 60's. It is like stepping back in time to a wonderful entertaining, dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! I was nervous about ordering ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great food! I was nervous about ordering at the bar that the food would come way too quick once you sat down but they still spaced it out nicely. My only dissapointment was that I let them know that we were there for a birthday and they did not do anything for it...would have thought for a $200 dinner that they could have brought out a desert as a surprise for him.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Going to Coerper's (as 5 O'clock Steakho ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Going to Coerper's (as 5 O'clock Steakhouse is formerly known) back in 1999 was my first exposure to great steak and in my mind it always retained a legendary status and I told everyone who would listen about it.

Now, 17 years later, we are on a cross-country trip from Atlanta to Portland, and we had a chance to visit this restaurant I have told my wife of 8 years so much about. We've had some pretty good steaks in those 8 years because of anniversary dinners at a steakhouse close by where we lived, so my wife had her doubts.

And truth to be told, the steak wasn't as legendary as I remembered. However, this is not to say that it is bad. Far from it. 5 O'clock steakhouse makes a pretty good steak, nothing to turn your nose up for. They still offer the Ladies' and King's Cuts and the Filet Mignon can be done any way, except Well Done, which, also according to their menu, is an abomination!

The interior of the restaurant is a wonderful throwback to the roaring 70s, the wait staff is pleasant, knowledgeable and only visible when you need them. Our waiter Alix was courteous, helpful and on point.

I was surprised to see the owner, Stelio, make the rounds through the restaurant. After finishing our dinner he came over to our table, asked how dinner was and then asked our 7-year old son if he could give a thumbs up to the Crab Mac & Cheese he ate. Travis gave an enthusiastic thumbs up which prompted Stelio to offer him an ice cream, a very nice & wonderful gesture.

So while the steak may not have been as legendary as I hoped, still please visit the 5 O'clock Steakhouse if you find yourself in the Milwaukee area for good food by good people in an interesting place!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Never disappointed when I dine here. Lo ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Never disappointed when I dine here. Love the old school atmosphere. Cocktails are top notch and the steaks are superb. I had the bone-in ribeye and my friend had the porterhouse - both cooked to perfection. Thanks for another great experience -- I'll definitely be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They don't cook steaks well done. Stea ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

They don't cook steaks well done.

Steak was good, but I prefer mine well done.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great evening food and surrounding ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Had a great evening food and surrounding was fantastic!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

WE always look forward to that first bit ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

WE always look forward to that first bite and how it melts in our mouth. The steak was cooked perfectly, but was not seasoned as in the past. The juice we use to soak up into our steak was very watered down.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food. We prefer being seated at a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Good food. We prefer being seated at a table rather then forced to occupy a seat in the bar before ordering.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I have always enjoyed everything about d ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

I have always enjoyed everything about dining at your restaurant. Alas my companion loved the steaks but not the neighborhood or atmosphere. I chocked that up to male macho ego. Everyone that I have taken has loved every bit of it without reserve. Guess there has to be one sour apple in the bunch. Still love you. Virginia

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We celebrated a wedding anniversary at t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We celebrated a wedding anniversary at the five o clock steakhouse on Saturday june 11th. we had a wonderful time and everyone was so very friendly and made us feel like regulars even though it was our first time eating at the restaurant. thank you for the extraordinary dining experience!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Really great food; comfortable surroundi ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Really great food; comfortable surroundings and great service. Owners came by several times to chat and see how we were doing. It's our new favorite restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great steak, great price, Christopher pr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great steak, great price, Christopher project was fantastic entertainment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I were very excited to eat a ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

My wife and I were very excited to eat at the restaurant. The salad and appetizers were very good but the Steaks were very disappointing. They were swimming in a dark brown juice that looked like Kitchen Bouquet diluted with beef bullion. I ordered the Classic Rib Eye, my favorite, and my wife ordered the steak and crab cakes. Her impression was the same, the steak was swimming in brown fluid and not much flavor. We are true foodies and love great food and we are very sorry that we could not give you a better review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Loved this place!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

It has the feel of one of the old clubs that Frank Sinatra or Dean Martin would play. It would appear that nothing has changed in the dining room for 50+ years. The food was excellent and the staff was friendly and efficient. It is not cheap but worth every penny that you would spend on one of the best steak dinners that you will find anywhere!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Everything was fantastic! Would highly recommend for anyone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Ever

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I have been to steak houses all over the country and 5 O'clock is absolutely the best. The filet is like butter and the flavor is soon good!! Hasn't changed in the 20 years I've been going there and I'm so glad!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing meal!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Amazing meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Steaks Ever!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

This restaurant holds a special place in the hearts of my family! The steaks are fantastic, and the owner, Selio is super kind and generous! Always feel welcome there!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Top Notch

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

From the greeting at the door to the post dinner cognac everything was excellent

Will visit again for sure

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bit of a let down

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The experience started off well with a funny hostess and good bar service. The server takes your order in the bar and then your salads are waiting for you at your table.

We told the server that it was our first time there. I assumed that she would go over the menu, maybe make recommendations- instead, she just dropped the menu and came back a couple of minutes later to get our order like we were at IHOP.

Then our appetizers came right out before we had more than a couple of bites of our salad and she sat the appetizer halfway down on the table because there was no more room. I saw her a couple of minutes later and asked her to keep the appetizer warm until our salads were cleared.

We had the crab cakes which were good. I ordered the Bone in Filet rare + and it was excellent. My girlfriend ordered the ribeye rare + and it was over cooked. The asparagus was basic but good while the crab Mac n cheese was weird.

Afterwards, we went up stairs and enjoyed watching Joe Richter perform.

The service was the worst part for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.