Five Horses Tavern - South End

4.5
354 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Casual
  • Great Beer
Five Horses Tavern is conveniently located on Columbus Avenue in Boston's
historic South End, walking distance of the Orange Line, Back Bay Station,
Symphony Hall, Northeastern University, Boston Medical Center and
Prudential Center.

Our mission is to serve modern American comfort food, incorporating locally
sourced ingredients, with many vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options.
Our friendly staff will make a memorable experience whether you join us for
lunch, dinner or our highly acclaimed weekend brunch.

Our bar offers a wide variety of craft beers from around the world,
boasting 40 draft beers, 60 bottles, signature cocktails and a thoughtfully
selected wine list. Guests can enjoy dinning on one of the largest patios
in the South End.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, American, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday-Friday: 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Saturday & Sunday: 10:00AM-12:00AM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(617) 936-3930
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Claremont Park
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 354 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
94% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

We had a late dinner here on Sunday evening, sitting outside. This place is a family (my milleniel sons and me, sometimes their friends) favourite. We have had very satisfying food experiences here - having tried quite a few of the menu items by now - there is a great beer selection, and the atmosphere is chill. It was terrific to sit outside - felt urban but not too noisy. We will certainly be back; I recommend this place highly with no caveats.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 5 days ago

Great food and atmosphere, but service is always subpar. We usually have multiple servers who don’t do a very good job.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 12, 2018

Five Horses Tavern always delivers great food, friendly service and a great beer. It’s my go to place to meet friends, grab a quick bite and feel welcome every visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

My favorite neighborhood spot!
Whether its a cosy date, drinks with friends, long weekend brunches or late evening meals.. FHT is always my default goto choice! Its about time I sign up for a loyalty card ;)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Went for brunch with some friends on a sunny Saturday afternoon and we all enjoyed the mimosa flights! Really nice outdoor seating area for any group size - highly recommend their fried chicken salad!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Service wasn't great. No spoon for coffee. Server although nice;not very attentive. Cornbread was delicious

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Had a amazing brunch prior to Saturday's Pride parade! We had an amazing server, great greats, delicious bites, and overall a great time.

Get the french toast sticks!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Nice place.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Anniversary and birthdsy

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Great service and great food. We had a reservation for 9, and when we got there, we got right in. They have a really good selection of food and drinks, and everything was delicious.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 19, 2018

We were there for a Birthday and six out of six of the people wouldn’t go back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

We were in Boston for the weekend for our nephew’s graduation and my husband found this gem of a restaurant. The location was walking distance to Copley Place and the atmosphere was very upbeat and friendly yet also
Upscale. The service was great and the food was very good!! Would go often if we lived in Boston!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mac & cheese had absolutely no flavor of any kind (not even salt or cheese flavor), chicken tenders were overly breaded and over cooked. Server did not seem to notice or ask about how food was. Would not return here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Excellent brunch and staff!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

This was our first time and we were very happy to have decided to try lunch here after or daughter's graduation. It was a perfect day for lunch outside. The host and wait staff were very friendly. The generous pitcher of sangria was refreshing. All of our food was prepared well and delicious. All in all it was a perfect lunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Great place and the food was delish. A little difficult to park so take public transportation or Uber

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Good cornbread. Very loud and hard to carry on a conversation.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The staff is always nice

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

I LOVE Five Horses - South End! The service is always fantastic every time I go, and the food is to die for. It's the kind of brunch that fills you up for the rest of the day, and definitely indulgent.
For lunch or dinner, get the Cornbread - you won't regret it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

The vegetarian options were bland. Noise level was too high.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Service was awful. When we asked to sit on the patio the manager told us the wait was too long and we better just take the table inside. The waitress walked by us multiple times before she greeted us finally after ten minutes. She was not friendly at all. She slammed down our appetizer plates like we were inconveniencing her. My steak was ordered medium but came out extremely rare. We were not offered coffee or dessert. Our check was dropped without the waitress saying a word. We were in town at a ball game. I come to Boston quite often. Never again will I be finding at this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

The meal was delicious! We ordered two tomato soups - simple, authentic and delicious. I order the special - a pork (thin and fried) sandwich in a soft bun with bacon lettuce tomato and an apple chutney. I loved it! A great flavor combination I hadn’t had on a sandwich. Grandma orders the fried chicken salad and enjoyed it. Simple but satisfying. Service was great, noise level good for conversation for a pub type atmosphere.
Would definitely recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Beer list is great. Choices better

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Had a wonderful time. The corn bread was to die for and the IPA was some of the best I’ve ever had. Definitely recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

We called an audible last minute and are beyond happy we came here! The food was top notch with a huge beer menu to boot. Would definitely come back next time we are in Boston.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

This was a team lunch to celebrate someone passing an exam. Great menu- something for everyone. Always excellent service. And oh that cornbread!!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Foodwas excellent. Great beer list. Service was slow. We ordered salads and a bunch of appetizers for our meal and everything was brought out at the same time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Great beer selection though they are more expensive than the food. Yummy pretzel app. Good tacos, duck rice bowl good, but not great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Food absolutely outstanding. KFCGH was delicious with jalapeño mashed and pork belly mac n chs. Service was outstanding too. 8 of us sat comfortably at a high top. Cool vibe, great tunes and just darn good. Will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Came with a group of 7. Our table was ready and waiter was great. Food was excellent (think basics but with a twist and with great quality). Beer and cider a winner too. Cannot go wrong here.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Great food.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 16, 2018

It was raining and we were told to leave our umbrellas at the door, then upon leaving we found that one of our umbrellas was stolen—and they couldn’t care less.

I ordered a martini and the glass arrived half empty—a total rip off. And everyone else’s drinks were weak.

Service was with an attitude.

The food, however, was delicious, and it was reason I went there.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Brilliant as always.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 10, 2018

The waitress was friendly and the tacos were as good as usual. Lovely casual dining for the evening. Of course they always have their great selection of beers.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 10, 2018

We were very excited to visit here, based on the reviews it sounded great. Quite the opposite for us. It is a great looking neighborhood bar, and would be a perfect place to get a beer at the bar. Dining there is not recommended. The server we had was very hard to find as he went completely missing for 30 minutes at a time. It took us at least that time to place an order. As the dinner went on we seemingly had 3 different people serve us, each one knowing less about our orders than the next. The food was less than mediocre. We finally saw our server after the dinner when he dropped the check. No thank you, no good night, nothing. Just dropped the check and walked away.
Go there for a beer at the bar. Nothing more

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We love 5 Horses! We live a few blocks away, and they always have a great selection of beers, wines and/or cocktails (extensive whiskey list as well!), great burgers and I am totally addicted to their kfcgh which always last me 2 meals, so I can take some to work the next day. Their staff is always pleasant and easygoing. They are one of the few restaurants that allows you to sit at the bar while waiting for your table then charges you for drinks on your dinner tab, so convenient! This particular night there was a large bachelor party adjacent to us so a little noisy but fun and polite and apologetic. We’ve all been there! 😉

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The food was great and service was good. I didn’t like the table we were given, felt extremely squished, but overall good experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Hostess incredibly rude; couple before us left after dealing w her. We were late for our reservation & unable to contact 5 Horses until we arrived. Mattered not to hostess who did everything short of telling us to leave. Huge disappointment as we ate here in January and enjoyed the experience so much we came back (or tried to). Also disappointing was the pretzel - huge homemade pretzel in January, covered the plate, and oh so delicious - one we received this trip was a sad, small substitute. Power plate in January was superb, this trip was mushy.
It felt as if once 5 Horses decided to (reluctantly) accommodate us it was to ensure we wouldn't be returning...
Sad - as we travel to Boston frequently and we are loyal regulars (big tippers) at the places we frequent at home (Venice/Santa Monica).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Great food. Great beer selection.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Awesome as always!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
9

Tweets by Five Horses Tavern - South End