Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 23 times today

Five Horses Tavern - South End

4.5
330 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Perfect For:
  • Casual
  • Fun
  • Great Beer
Five Horses Tavern is conveniently located on Columbus Avenue in Boston's
historic South End, walking distance of the Orange Line, Back Bay Station,
Symphony Hall, Northeastern University, Boston Medical Center and
Prudential Center.

Our mission is to serve modern American comfort food, incorporating locally
sourced ingredients, with many vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options.
Our friendly staff will make a memorable experience whether you join us for
lunch, dinner or our highly acclaimed weekend brunch.

Our bar offers a wide variety of craft beers from around the world,
boasting 40 draft beers, 60 bottles, signature cocktails and a thoughtfully
selected wine list. Guests can enjoy dinning on one of the largest patios
in the South End.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, American, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Monday-Friday: 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Saturday & Sunday: 10:00AM-12:00AM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(617) 936-3930
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Claremont Park
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 330 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

We called an audible last minute and are beyond happy we came here! The food was top notch with a huge beer menu to boot. Would definitely come back next time we are in Boston.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

This was a team lunch to celebrate someone passing an exam. Great menu- something for everyone. Always excellent service. And oh that cornbread!!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 5 days ago

Foodwas excellent. Great beer list. Service was slow. We ordered salads and a bunch of appetizers for our meal and everything was brought out at the same time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Great beer selection though they are more expensive than the food. Yummy pretzel app. Good tacos, duck rice bowl good, but not great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Food absolutely outstanding. KFCGH was delicious with jalapeño mashed and pork belly mac n chs. Service was outstanding too. 8 of us sat comfortably at a high top. Cool vibe, great tunes and just darn good. Will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

Came with a group of 7. Our table was ready and waiter was great. Food was excellent (think basics but with a twist and with great quality). Beer and cider a winner too. Cannot go wrong here.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 7 days ago

Great food.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 16, 2018

It was raining and we were told to leave our umbrellas at the door, then upon leaving we found that one of our umbrellas was stolen—and they couldn’t care less.

I ordered a martini and the glass arrived half empty—a total rip off. And everyone else’s drinks were weak.

Service was with an attitude.

The food, however, was delicious, and it was reason I went there.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2018

Brilliant as always.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 10, 2018

The waitress was friendly and the tacos were as good as usual. Lovely casual dining for the evening. Of course they always have their great selection of beers.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 10, 2018

We were very excited to visit here, based on the reviews it sounded great. Quite the opposite for us. It is a great looking neighborhood bar, and would be a perfect place to get a beer at the bar. Dining there is not recommended. The server we had was very hard to find as he went completely missing for 30 minutes at a time. It took us at least that time to place an order. As the dinner went on we seemingly had 3 different people serve us, each one knowing less about our orders than the next. The food was less than mediocre. We finally saw our server after the dinner when he dropped the check. No thank you, no good night, nothing. Just dropped the check and walked away.
Go there for a beer at the bar. Nothing more

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

We love 5 Horses! We live a few blocks away, and they always have a great selection of beers, wines and/or cocktails (extensive whiskey list as well!), great burgers and I am totally addicted to their kfcgh which always last me 2 meals, so I can take some to work the next day. Their staff is always pleasant and easygoing. They are one of the few restaurants that allows you to sit at the bar while waiting for your table then charges you for drinks on your dinner tab, so convenient! This particular night there was a large bachelor party adjacent to us so a little noisy but fun and polite and apologetic. We’ve all been there! 😉

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The food was great and service was good. I didn’t like the table we were given, felt extremely squished, but overall good experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Hostess incredibly rude; couple before us left after dealing w her. We were late for our reservation & unable to contact 5 Horses until we arrived. Mattered not to hostess who did everything short of telling us to leave. Huge disappointment as we ate here in January and enjoyed the experience so much we came back (or tried to). Also disappointing was the pretzel - huge homemade pretzel in January, covered the plate, and oh so delicious - one we received this trip was a sad, small substitute. Power plate in January was superb, this trip was mushy.
It felt as if once 5 Horses decided to (reluctantly) accommodate us it was to ensure we wouldn't be returning...
Sad - as we travel to Boston frequently and we are loyal regulars (big tippers) at the places we frequent at home (Venice/Santa Monica).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Great food. Great beer selection.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Awesome as always!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

I have been to Five Horses Tavern twice now, and both times have been great! I went with my family (husband and 2 daughters, 17 yrs. and 21 yrs.) and we all enjoyed the food, drinks and atmosphere. I love getting a beer flight, and the tacos are awesome! I love the lively vibe and cozy atmosphere. I will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 28, 2018

My friends and I went for dinner before a show. The place has a great neighborhood vibe. The staff was fun. They made great beer recommendations. The food was just OK. I would go back for beer and appetizers but if I wanted a nice meal I'd go elsewhere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Get the Ice Box, great drink!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

I love the food here - they have a skillet cornbread that I can never pass up. The only issue was a heavily inebriated table that spent the whole time yelling and swearing. Great service and beer list.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Very creative and tasty menu selections that are an excellent value. Service was exceptional. Very fun atmosphere, but it is a pub and so is VERY loud. Very challenging to have a conversation, even across a small table. Would definitely go back though, for the food and service. It's also convenient to Jordan Hall, Huntington Theater, and the BSO.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 19, 2018

A special occasion dinner with 2 other people. Our food was hit or miss, what was good was great, what was bad was disappointing. Service was nice but the server seemed rushed. Wine and beer list are both long with many great options. Would go back for apps and drinks nothing more.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Had a wonderful brunch! Great cocktails and mimosa flights!! The food and service was wonderful! Had a hard time trying to pick just one thing! Will def. be back again!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Whenever we come to 5 Horses Tavern, the food is always outstanding!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Went there for a Valentine’s double date. Our waitress was excellent. All the appetizers were amazing and so were the drinks. I loved the Airborne. I had the duck special and it was very good. The ambiance was cozy and inviting. Parking was very difficult though and I almost thought we were going to have to cancel our reservation. Valet parking would be nice. We do hope to be back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2018

Great neighborhood gem. Fantastic food and service. Nice beer and wine selection. Friendly!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 10, 2018

The overall experience was really good. I just didn’t appreciate being seated next to the stairs that lead to the kitchen.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Service was spotty with limited assistance on ordering. Best feature was the Beer selection. Disappointed with the Bourbon choices. Very noisy and we were seated at a table directly under a speaker so we had difficulty conversing across the table. Food was inconsistent - shrimp and Brussels sprouts were over cooked, salmon was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 7, 2018

Excellent Service, Thank you.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Very hipster. Very hipster. The food was consistently good, and the service was commendable given the volume when we went.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 3, 2018

We were disappointed as most of the menu items we liked including salmon, steak and fish tacos were not available by the time we got there for a 5:45 reservation. This was upsetting and the available menu was very limited. Our waiter said they were running out because they were closing for renovations. We would not have gone there if we knew this ahead of time but had show reservations and no time to go elsewhere. The main reason we selected this restaurant was for the salmon as we dont eat pork or much of the available options.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 2, 2018

The hot chocolate flight was delicious.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 1, 2018

some of our drinks were delicious and some were weak. the menu was impressive but the food was just ok. not bad, not excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 22, 2018

Reasonable price. Friendly. Good food and beer. Flights of beer.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Very busy and loud on a Saturday night. Reservations necessary. I enjoyed my scallop risotto entree. The bread pudding dessert was overwhelming but good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

We loved this place! We were with a very large group (20 people) and the staff were so accommodating and friendly. The food was amazing- true comfort food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Love Five Horses, especially for brunch. Everything was tasty and the service could not have been better, but our doughnuts came out cool and not as crisped as the last time we ordered them, so that was a bit of a disappointment. I would still recommend it and especially the cheesy grits!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 18, 2018

Fun, easy, a bit too much fried food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2018

Mimosa flights are awesome!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Had great dinner here with friends. Watched the Patriots game without a 'Sports Bar' feel. Excellent beer selection and the Tavern burger was delicious. Comfortable and cozy atmosphere in a classic Boston neighborhood. Will go back!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
9

Tweets by Five Horses Tavern - South End