About Five Horses Tavern - South End

Five Horses Tavern is conveniently located on Columbus Avenue in Boston's
historic South End, walking distance of the Orange Line, Back Bay Station,
Symphony Hall, Northeastern University, Boston Medical Center and
Prudential Center.

Our mission is to serve modern American comfort food, incorporating locally
sourced ingredients, with many vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options.
Our friendly staff will make a memorable experience whether you join us for
lunch, dinner or our highly acclaimed weekend brunch.

Our bar offers a wide variety of craft beers from around the world,
boasting 40 draft beers, 60 bottles, signature cocktails and a thoughtfully
selected wine list. Guests can enjoy dinning on one of the largest patios
in the South End.

535 Columbus Ave
Boston, MA 02118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday: 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Saturday & Sunday: 10:00AM-12:00AM

Cross Street:
Claremont Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 936-3930

Website:
http://fivehorsestavern.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Five Horses Tavern - South End Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (23)
Comfort Food (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
See All
Great Beer (17)
Cozy (16)
Fun (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Good for a Date (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Seasonal (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Vegan (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Family Style (3)
People Watching (3)
Authentic (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Sports (2)
Business Meals (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Organic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tapas (1)
Historic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Private Room (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
188 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was very good, but the price of ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was very good, but the price of my dish ($23 for 3 scallops with risotto) seemed a bit steep to me.

My biggest complaint was the noise level.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Pleasant enjoyable place. Good, interest ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Pleasant enjoyable place. Good, interesting, creative food mixed with comfort food. Great beer and cocktail options. Reasonably priced, fun.

Tags: , Casual, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Live Sports, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fun, Cozy, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is a favorite of everyone in our of ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 21, 2016

This is a favorite of everyone in our office so we went for a holiday team lunch. We always love the cornbread, but the loaded tots are becoming a close contender. All the staff are terrific and friendly. Food never fails to impress even the most discerning. Yet another great experience there!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for brunch. The atmosphere was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We went for brunch. The atmosphere was nice. Our previous dinner experience there was better so we think dinner is their sweet spot. The food was good. Service was good. Neither met our expectations though we were t disappointed. We will stick with their dinner menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Stopped in for a late-evening dinner wit ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Stopped in for a late-evening dinner with our kids. The service was friendly and accommodating as usual. Also, the food is always solid, but the menu continues to feel limited. Our kids enjoy it even though the place is really more of an adult hangout.

Tags: Great Beer, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We recently discovered this little gem i ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We recently discovered this little gem in the south end after years of struggling with boylston street crowds prior to performances at symphony hall. Great food, good service and and a comfortable atmosphere. Reservations seem to be must during "prime time" but worth the planning.

Highly recommend the tavern chili!

Tags: Quick Bite, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I picked this place as an alternative to ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I picked this place as an alternative to my usual mid-week business dinner. Not disappointed! The food is "interesting" with lots of vege choices. I go gluten free, and the waitperson was able to tailor my choices seamlessly. This is a feel-good place for people who like to feel good and be served with cheery helpful people. I will go back anytime I just want a dependably good place to eat that I don't have to bother raving about or acting like a food critic to rate. You will not be disappointed. Plus the cost is below market. What's not to like?

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Great local spot- incredible brew select ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Great local spot- incredible brew selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

My first visit I loved this place. The ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 13, 2016

My first visit I loved this place. The second visit was disappointing. I was looking forward to the chili which was fantastic on my first visit but lukewarm and just not the same on the second. Also very surprised that the only red wine they had was Pinot Noir which I wasn't in the mood for. Will probably give it another try though. Hope it was just an off night.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Friendly, attentive staff. Excellent fo ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Friendly, attentive staff. Excellent food. They were very accommodating that we were in a bit of a hurry to make a show, guiding us toward choices that could be served quickly. Very nice experience.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious and great service. I had the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Delicious and great service. I had the french toast and very much enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food! It was crowded, but the ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Excellent food! It was crowded, but the service was great. Definitely make a reservation!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We asked the waitress twice for separate ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We asked the waitress twice for separate checks, but when we changed waiter/waitress the new person did not know about the change. Which lead to partial confusion when the bill came out.

It was fixed but it would be better if sorted from the start so parties don't have to split tips because drink orders are wrong etc. Beers where a bit pricey too. All it all it was a good experience though.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great vegetarian and vegan options. Kids ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great vegetarian and vegan options. Kids friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

An excellent little tavern in the south ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 26, 2016

An excellent little tavern in the south end. A definite new favorite, off the crowded boylston corridor but an easy walk from the more congested eateries in that area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere was very cozy. The music ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The atmosphere was very cozy. The music was a touch loud, but the songs playing were a nice, relaxed mood. It was very busy on a Saturday night, so reservations are a must. I loved the food - very unique and well balanced flavors (I had the pesce sandwich, which had a mango element to it, a very good sweet/savory idea). The dessert was wonderfully rich. Service was friendly and prompt. A little more than I usually spend on dinner, but the overall experience was lovely and definitely worth the splurge.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Five Horses Tavern offered a fine locale ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Five Horses Tavern offered a fine locale for a reunion/date with an old friend before moving on to the B.U. Theater/Huntington Theater Company, a relatively short walk away, a convenient South End location. The food was adequate, nothing special. The service was friendly and attentive. A decent experience.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Charming, cozy tavern. Reasonable prices ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Charming, cozy tavern. Reasonable prices for excellent food and very friendly service.

Tags: Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Surprisingly good food though menu limit ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Surprisingly good food though menu limited

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Food was yummy and portions were great. ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Food was yummy and portions were great. We even took leftovers home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have two major allergies, gluten and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I have two major allergies, gluten and dairy so it's extremely hard for me to go out to eat and find something on the menu. As soon as I told the waiter he knew exactly what I could eat and what changes could be made to certain dishes so that I could have as many options as possible. When I asked for dressing for a side he knew off the top of his head which ones I could have, no need to refer to a special allergen list here! Also when he went back and spoke with the chef about the meal I order to make sure it'd be okay, the chef came out to make sure that that accommodations were going to be okay or if I'd want to order something different. I'm from out of town so this type of service was amazing and if I lived closer I'd be going here regularly!

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been here 5 times now and enjoy it ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Have been here 5 times now and enjoy it as much or more each time. Food is creative, good value and really tasty. Love the beer slection and the atmosphere is really cool.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great service. Friendly and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food. Great service. Friendly and attentive staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Five Horses - except maybe on a F ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I love Five Horses - except maybe on a Friday night. It was so crowded and so noisy, we ended up leaving! Broke my heart. But no one wanted to end the night having lost their voice from screaming.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value4

Tends to be loud but food choices are co ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Tends to be loud but food choices are comfortable and good value. Seating outdoors on Columbus Ave very nice when weather permits. Service good.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, , Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value4

Awesome variety of food and it's fantast ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Awesome variety of food and it's fantastic! Great ambiance with great drinks. Love sitting outside underneath the heaters and staff was super nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great food and service. From out of tow ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 28, 2016

great food and service. From out of town and found this while walking in the neighborhood we were staying at. highly recommend the risotto.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. The only reason that I k ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was great. The only reason that I knocked off a point on

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great little hole in the wall restaurant ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great little hole in the wall restaurant. The food was amazing! The chicken and waffle club was delicious and the presentation was great. The service was strange - it's as though there isn't one server assigned to your table so you have multiple people checking on you throughout the meal - I didn't love that and found it a touch disruptive and confusing. The parking is atrocious but in the South End it's about average. Overall it was a great brunch and I would definitely recommend and go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The menu accommodates everyone- love the ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The menu accommodates everyone- love the vegan selections!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Vegan, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Butternut squash rice balls not cooked t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Butternut squash rice balls not cooked through

Prices high for the tater tots

Mac and cheese yummy but small portion

Tavern burger is the way to go

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great service and food. We had a large g ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great service and food. We had a large group, and they were very accommodating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit; really good risotto, r ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 20, 2016

First time visit; really good risotto, really great hanger steak. Very interesting beer selection. We'll be back.

Tags: Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Went with a group of friends. I had 2 of ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Went with a group of friends. I had 2 of the tacos but wasn't that happy. I think I was the only one of our group that wasn't 100% happy with the food though. We had a good time here but I would definitely try something else next time.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great Beer, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good beer & wine menu. Nice variety of ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Good beer & wine menu. Nice variety of tavern food items for sharing. Staff very friendly.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great Beer, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, large drink menu, good fo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great service, large drink menu, good food (served promptly)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this restaurant. The brunch is amaz ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Love this restaurant. The brunch is amazing and there are so many vegetarian options. Highly recommend.

Tags: People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Vegan, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good bar basics upped a notch. SUPER CR ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Good bar basics upped a notch. SUPER CROWDED and weren't seated when we arrived a bit early. Decided to walk around the neighborhood. By the time we walked back (still ahead of our reservation), the hostess said she was about to give up our table if she hadn't found us. What?!

The food was nice - good brussels sprouts.

The drinks were delicious although they didn't have my first choice.

Will likely stick to Five Horses in Cambridge next time and choose another restaurant when in town.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great Sunday brunch with our son and fou ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great Sunday brunch with our son and four friends. Food was terrific. Atmosphere was great. Service was personal and attentive.

Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a fun place for a family dinner ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

This was a fun place for a family dinner. Casual, enticing decor. Interesting food but not fine dining. Servers and other personnel were extremely friendly and helpful.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.