Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Five Horses Tavern - South End

Five Horses Tavern is conveniently located on Columbus Avenue in Boston's
historic South End, walking distance of the Orange Line, Back Bay Station,
Symphony Hall, Northeastern University, Boston Medical Center and
Prudential Center.

Our mission is to serve modern American comfort food, incorporating locally
sourced ingredients, with many vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options.
Our friendly staff will make a memorable experience whether you join us for
lunch, dinner or our highly acclaimed weekend brunch.

Our bar offers a wide variety of craft beers from around the world,
boasting 40 draft beers, 60 bottles, signature cocktails and a thoughtfully
selected wine list. Guests can enjoy dinning on one of the largest patios
in the South End.

535 Columbus Ave
Boston, MA 02118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday: 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Saturday & Sunday: 10:00AM-12:00AM

Cross Street:
Claremont Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 936-3930

Website:
http://fivehorsestavern.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Five Horses Tavern - South End Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (20)
Casual (19)
Great Beer (19)
See All
Comfort Food (13)
Cozy (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Fun (11)
Good for a Date (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Authentic (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Business Meals (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
307 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Whenever we come to 5 Horses Tavern, the food is always outstanding!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Went there for a Valentine’s double date. Our waitress was excellent. All the appetizers were amazing and so were the drinks. I loved the Airborne. I had the duck special and it was very good. The ambiance was cozy and inviting. Parking was very difficult though and I almost thought we were going to have to cancel our reservation. Valet parking would be nice. We do hope to be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 11, 2018

Great neighborhood gem. Fantastic food and service. Nice beer and wine selection. Friendly!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2018

The overall experience was really good. I just didn’t appreciate being seated next to the stairs that lead to the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2018

Service was spotty with limited assistance on ordering. Best feature was the Beer selection. Disappointed with the Bourbon choices. Very noisy and we were seated at a table directly under a speaker so we had difficulty conversing across the table. Food was inconsistent - shrimp and Brussels sprouts were over cooked, salmon was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 7, 2018

Excellent Service, Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 3, 2018

Very hipster. Very hipster. The food was consistently good, and the service was commendable given the volume when we went.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 3, 2018

We were disappointed as most of the menu items we liked including salmon, steak and fish tacos were not available by the time we got there for a 5:45 reservation. This was upsetting and the available menu was very limited. Our waiter said they were running out because they were closing for renovations. We would not have gone there if we knew this ahead of time but had show reservations and no time to go elsewhere. The main reason we selected this restaurant was for the salmon as we dont eat pork or much of the available options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2018

The hot chocolate flight was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 1, 2018

some of our drinks were delicious and some were weak. the menu was impressive but the food was just ok. not bad, not excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 22, 2018

Reasonable price. Friendly. Good food and beer. Flights of beer.

Tags: Authentic, Great Beer, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Very busy and loud on a Saturday night. Reservations necessary. I enjoyed my scallop risotto entree. The bread pudding dessert was overwhelming but good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 20, 2018

We loved this place! We were with a very large group (20 people) and the staff were so accommodating and friendly. The food was amazing- true comfort food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Organic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 20, 2018

Love Five Horses, especially for brunch. Everything was tasty and the service could not have been better, but our doughnuts came out cool and not as crisped as the last time we ordered them, so that was a bit of a disappointment. I would still recommend it and especially the cheesy grits!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 18, 2018

Fun, easy, a bit too much fried food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 14, 2018

Mimosa flights are awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Had great dinner here with friends. Watched the Patriots game without a 'Sports Bar' feel. Excellent beer selection and the Tavern burger was delicious. Comfortable and cozy atmosphere in a classic Boston neighborhood. Will go back!

Tags: Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Late-night Find, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2017

We came here for the beer and were really pleasantly surprised on all fronts, ambience, food and of course, beer selections!

Tags: Great Beer, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 22, 2017

We ate at Five Horses prior to a concert at Symphony Hall. The location was very convenient, the food was tasty, and the service was a little slow but fine. Our daughter who adheres to a strict vegan diet was happy with her veggie burger although the Power bowl we went there for wasn't available. My husband's burger was great, I enjoyed my pizza, and my other kids enjoyed the pork tacos and pulled pork sandwich. This place worked out great for us.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2017

Extensive craft beer list on tap and in cans and bottles. Great simple, but tasty bar food

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 17, 2017

The food was excellent however they were trying to hurry us up so they could seat others at our table.

Tags: Tapas, Casual, Comfort Food, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Food and drinks were great. We felt a little rushed. If we didn't stretch it out, appetizer, drinks, and dinner would have taken 45 minutes. We like to enjoy the date nights without the kids! But would definitely go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 15, 2017

Gay Men’s Chorus concert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 8, 2017

Great before going to the Pops!! We were able to get an Uber for my elderly mom and it was a great night!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 5, 2017

We were moved to a different table halfway through our meal to accommodate another reservation- given a complimentary glass of wine though...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 1, 2017

One of my favorite spots in the city. Always a great time. Great food, drink, and atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 18, 2017

No parking made it difficult to keep our reservation time.
The wings were phenomenal as was the extensive beer selection. Very nice staff.

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 17, 2017

I went out to dinner with my twin sister and our friend for our birthday and absolutely loved it! Great ambiance, service and food. Such yummy appetizers and drinks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Our family of four which included our 9 yr old grandson celebrated with dinner and wine. The staff were very accommodating and moved us to another area of the restaurant where it was easier for my husband to hear. Our server also changed the TV monitor in our new area so our grandson could watch his favorite team. Our waitress Stephanie was best! Very friendly and competent!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Sports, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2017

I met my sister here for dinner. We were both sold when we saw the cornbread appetizer and turkey dinner special. Although it was a bit pricey, it was worth it. We both thoroughly enjoyed our food and the ambiance. The staff was very attentive and was helpful in making sure my choices were allergen free. Definitely plan on returning!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2017

We had a 10:30 Sunday brunch reservation and were seated right on time. I hate to be critical, but the waitress was very slow (maybe they were short staffed, but she never apologized or offered a reason for the delays throughout the entire time my husband and I were there). I don't recall the time we ordered, but there was a considerable delay prior to ordering and after ordering, and our food (we only ordered main courses; no starters) wasn't brought to the table until 11:15. She was also very slow to refill the water glasses. The food was satisfactory (Tavern Chili and Tavern Breakfast). Maybe if we had both ordered something fancier, we would have enjoyed it more. We had the champagne flight, which had 4 different flavored mimosas. I need Gluten Free and Dairy Free, and they were able to accommodate both requirements. Overall, I really liked the atmosphere and the food was good, so I would give it another try on a future Boston trip, but only after I’ve tried several new places first.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Horrible service. We arrived at 5:15 and ordered appetizers and drinks, which arrived without incident. But then we ordered dinner at 6:15, and they completely forgot about us. Around 7:10 I asked about our order, and they said oops, it would be another 15 to 20 minutes. We had to wolf down our food when it came and barely made it to the theater in time. And all they did in return was knock a couple of appetizers off the bill -- about $20 on a $200 order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Loved it. It was the perfect spot to have dinner before heading to Symphony Hall. Can't wait to go back and try other things on the menu. Tacos were GREAT!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on October 8, 2017

I can't actually comment but n the food because we never got any!! We arrived on a weekend night at 7 and they were out of two of the three starters we ordered. We figured no big deal . Then we were informed they were out of two of the main courses. My son gave up and resorted to chicken fingers only to be told they were out of that! It was almost comical. In the end we had to leave because it was a special occasion and there was just nothing interesting to eat. Sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Solid choice for wings pizza and apps. Decent wine list and lots of craft beers. Can be loud and hard to hear.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Met at Five Horses when visiting my son. Excellent South End experience. Nice tavern feel, but food was top notch. Chicken was excellent and extremely generous portion. Very nice beer selection. Would also recommend the tater tots. Yes, tater tots. Fantastic evening, would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 28, 2017

We made a reservation for 6 and one of the guests (my client from out of town) arrived before I did and the host put her at a table for 4. I told them we needed a table for 6 and they left us standing in the middle of the restaurant for 15+ minutes. While we stood there, the host set the nice 1/2 booth table right in front of us for 6 with waters and menus and then told us we couldn't have it. Why would they set a table right in front of us and not put us at it? They said they would need to move tables around to accommodate us. It was poor planning to leave us in the middle of the floor (in everyone's way) and and set someone else's table. I asked why we couldn't have that half booth that they SET for 6 and one employee said that it was reserved. I said "we have a reservation." Another employee said "part of their party is at the bar." I said "our entire party is here -standing in the middle of the restaurant."
When I asked again about sitting, another employee said "that guest was already at the table and is in the bathroom." The table had been empty since we got there 20 minutes earlier. My coworker said, "you better check on her because we've been standing here for 20 minutes and we haven't seen her!"
They put us at 3 deuces. Fine. The table was fine but I would have expected a manager or SOMEONE besides the lovely server from another section to acknowledge us... The food was ok and the service was inconsistent. I ordered a bottle of wine for the table (red) and a glass of white for me and my boss ordered a beer. Each beverage came out with a different server at a different time.
The drunken wings were tasty but I probably won't be back and certainly not with clients.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (London)·Dined on September 26, 2017

The food was atrocious. The substitutes for hard liquor are not drinkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great meal. Great beer selection. Server didn't check in much with us. Would recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Great value and delicious food... but it was 5:30 and they had run out of two types of lettuce and other menu items

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.