Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Five Horses Tavern - South End

Five Horses Tavern is conveniently located on Columbus Avenue in Boston's
historic South End, walking distance of the Orange Line, Back Bay Station,
Symphony Hall, Northeastern University, Boston Medical Center and
Prudential Center.

Our mission is to serve modern American comfort food, incorporating locally
sourced ingredients, with many vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options.
Our friendly staff will make a memorable experience whether you join us for
lunch, dinner or our highly acclaimed weekend brunch.

Our bar offers a wide variety of craft beers from around the world,
boasting 40 draft beers, 60 bottles, signature cocktails and a thoughtfully
selected wine list. Guests can enjoy dinning on one of the largest patios
in the South End.

535 Columbus Ave
Boston, MA 02118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday: 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Saturday & Sunday: 10:00AM-12:00AM

Cross Street:
Claremont Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 936-3930

Website:
http://fivehorsestavern.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Five Horses Tavern - South End Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (21)
Great Beer (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
See All
Comfort Food (16)
Bar Seating (11)
Fun (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Good for a Date (8)
Good for Groups (8)
People Watching (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Cozy (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Authentic (2)
Live Sports (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vegan (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
269 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Great meal. Great beer selection. Server didn't check in much with us. Would recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Great value and delicious food... but it was 5:30 and they had run out of two types of lettuce and other menu items

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Waitress wasn't very attentive to our table, didn't order appetizer either that we asked for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Friendly, gastro-pub in the South End / Symphony area. Staff were welcoming and attentive, and there's a great beer selection, both draught and bottled. Unfortunately the food was just OK. Two dishes were not cooked to order (burger overdone, hangar steak underdone). They were gracious and prompt in remedying it, but even when cooked properly, the dishes were fine, not great.

If I lived in the neighborhood I could see this being a reliable place for a drink, but would not go back for the food.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Sunday brunch for us was very delightful. The food was delicious and the presentation was very attractive.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food was very tasty and the service was friendly and accommodating. We will definitely come back!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Vegan, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Made a reservation at 5 Horses to grab dinner pre-concert with my significant other and our families. I've been many times in the pst and it's always been a great spot for tasty food, a wide variety of beers/ciders, and overall fun atmosphere. This experience was not up to par. Service was slow and we had to flag down the waiter more than once. The food, when it finally arrived, was lukewarm at best. Dessert, which was ordered with the meal to allow for prep time, came out 25 minutes after our plates were cleared and was overdone and dry. Not sure if management has changed but it was very underwhelming this time around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Enjoyed this neighborhood gem, although they were out of the burrito that my husband and son wanted to order. Loved my belgian beer, but my son was a little disappointed that there weren't enough options he was interested in a flight. Great fried chicken sandwich and salad.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

The beer selection was outstanding! The apps were delicious - we had the pretzel and cornbread. It was a busy Tuesday night, and the service was a bit slow. A friend ordered a beer and it never came - her food came out first and she was halfway through the meal before we grabbed who we could find to check on it - turns out they were out of what she ordered but they never let us know. Our main dishes were not very good - my scallop risotto was undercooked. The pizza at the table over looked delicious and my husband's mashed potatoes were heavenly. I loved the diverse food and drink menus but there is room for improvement with service. Overall a fun night with a few hiccups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

I always love going to the Five Horses Tavern - South End! I appreciate how there are vegan options, however I wish there were more. In fact, when I viewed the online menu, I recall it saying that the 'Smoked Mozzarella Pie' was vegan, as it had a 'vg' symbol next to it. When I got to the restaurant that was not a vegan option that I was led to believe. Overall, it was great and I cannot wait to go another time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fun, People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 6, 2017

I met an old roommate for brunch and we loved it! Boston isn't great for brunch, but Five Horses was delicious AND offered mimosa flights.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We had a terrific meal and enjoyed sitting outside. Service was excellent as all the staff is very outgoing and friendly.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Very hit-or-miss place. The beer list is great, the food is usually good, and there's a great variety of vegan and meat-filled dishes (so there's something for everyone). But if you have the misfortune of being seated in the back room (as we did on our most recent visit) you end up in a very unpleasant atmosphere-- crowded, noisy, excessively air-conditioned, and a bit too cramped around the mini service station there where frantic waiters are clanking around. Service was also lack-luster on this recent visit, with the waiter completely neglecting several aspects of our order and not seeming to understand or be able to respond to our menu questions. Took my in-laws here while they were in town for the night and felt embarrassed to have selected the place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vegan, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Little loud to take a first date. Food and service were amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We went for lunch and unfortunately it took so long that we had to get it to go. What appeared to be a take out order was also going out the door at the same time (however the restaurant wasn't busy). Our server was nice and they took two beers off of tab to apologize for the delay. I'd go back, food was good, but not if I wanted a quick lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 25, 2017

We really enjoyed our dinner here. All the food was excellent, the servers were friendly, and I liked the neighborhood pub atmosphere a lot. It's a lively place, but not so noisy that you can't have a conversation. Looking forward to a repeat visit.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Been here a few times. Usually good but this visit meals were disappointing. Menu choices limited which usually isn't an issue but just not feeling it anymore. Great beer selection and good for a burger or brunch but wouldn't go again for dinner. Service good and good casual atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 16, 2017

couldnt get anything without meat. Wanted the chilaquiles without the chicken - but the chicken is cooked into the sauce. ordered the chimichanga without beans - its PRE ROLLED so they cant take any ingredients out. (not to mention thats just gross). had to settle with two eggs toast and potatoes for $11.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The place was too noisy - need acoustic panels or similar. Food was tasty. Menu was innovative. However grilled squid was somewhat chewy. Soup and other entrees were not sufficiently warm.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great burger and pan fried chicken entree. Very reasonably priced. Sit outside if weather is nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 28, 2017

All of my past experiences with this restaurant were great. However, our recent visit included service or that was extremely slow taking nearly an hour on a business lunch to receive our food while all other smaller parties were served. The restaurant was not crowded. Do not go here if your group is large and gratuity is built in unless you are okay with slow and frankly quite rude service.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We are always willing to meet friends in the South End if it means we can go to Five Horses. They have an incredible menu (try the fried chicken sammie), and great bar selection.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food was really good (tuna tacos, Cajun fish taco, mac and cheese with bacon and sweet potatoes, brussel sprouts with bacon and the haus pretzel) . Waitress was friendly. Made reservations so we had no wait. All in all very happy with our visit and would definitely go back.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food was amazing, highly recommend the corn bread for appetizer! We had a poor server but the waiters & waitresses who had tables near us helped us out and took our orders when they noticed we were waiting too long which made up for it. Can't go wrong with anything on the menu, especially for the price. The drinks were amazing as well!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great local spot. Excellent selection of beers on tap. The tacos were phenomenal - we got the grilled avocado and the fried fish. The burger was standard. The salad with tofu on it was quite good.

Tags: People Watching, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The food was good, although they did not have my favorite brand of vodka. The creme brulee was ok, although I prefer the typical vanilla rather than chocolate flavored. The problem was parking. I was coming in from the suburbs to meet a colleague for dinner and there is no place to park. I wound up parking at the Prudential Center and had to (1) walk over and (2) pay $42 to park.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great service and quaint atmosphere. Locally sourced food and clever takes on traditional brunch favorites. We would highly recommend!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Outside seating was very nice on a cool evening. Davis Square location has fuller bar options and is a more beautiful atmosphere. Menu seems limited, although my meal was tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 10, 2017

food choices were limited but what they offered was prepared well and was quality. The seating is tight but surprising quiet. Wait staff did an excellent job.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great place with a menu that fit everyone's taste (pizza, burger, interesting tacos)

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Great food, allowed to bring dogs on patio which is always a plus!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 3, 2017

There were some ups and downs. Definitely prefer the Davis Square location. The food was very good, but they have a bizarre liquor license and only have beer, wine, and liqueur. We told them we were celebrating a birthday at the start of the meal, and they said they would bring a small cake. It took 30 minutes from the time they cleared our plates to the time the cake came out and we told them we were in a rush. It was delicious but not worth the 30 minute wait and they didn't even put a candle in it. Food is very good and very well priced but the delay left us frustrated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 31, 2017

It was flat out awful. Food stunk. No non-flavored vodka. Overpriced for sub par bar snacks and mediocre service. 3 apps and 2 drinks, $100...at a "tavern"??! Crazy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great neighborhood and atmosphere. We arrived late for a reservation and were seated right away. Employees are very friendly and helpful. Everything including restrooms were very clean. We thought the food was delicious and reasonably priced.

Tags: Healthy, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Still as good as it has always been! Sangria is terrific!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great for a bite to eat with friends! Service was kind of awkward but food was great and big drink menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I had heard amazing things about this place so I was excited to celebrate my birthday over brunch. We arrived at 10:45AM. We were greeted and taken to a lovely table near the patio. It took 10 minutes before we got our menus and another 20 minutes before our waitress came by to take our orders. Already perturbed, I was hoping the food would come out sooner. It took an hour and 5 minutes before our food arrived from when we sat down. I'm usually pretty patient but no one should not be waiting over an hour to get a simple brunch item that can be made at home in 10 minutes. Also, keep in mind that during this whole time, we have not eaten anything and our waitress ignores our table the entire time, tending to other tables without batting an eye at us. Luckily, a different waiter came to refill our water twice so we weren't dehydrated. From my seat, I watched as 2 girls who got a table at the patio area 20 minutes after we arrived got their menus and orders taken within a matter of 5 minutes. They also got their food a lot faster than us and were paying the bill around the time we got our food. Perhaps patio people get better service because they're closer to the front. Perhaps we were hidden and forgotten in the back. In any case, it was frustrating. Someone who I assume was the general manager came by to apologize for the kitchen being backed up and I informed him we had been waiting an hour. He apologized and came back to say my entree would be deducted. That was a very nice decision which made me less annoyed. Our waitress wasn't aware of this so she brought the check with all items on it; she had the check fixed. In all, the food was decent, the service was subpar, and the outright disregard for our hunger was fully experienced. I tipped 20% because I understand they were probably understaffed but it's Saturday! During brunch time! You should have planned accordingly or at least make a comprehensive sweep of your tables rather than choosing a few to tend to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for Mother's day dinner, and chose this place because of the beer list and the fact that it had some vegetarian options. We sat in the bar section of the restaurant. It was so generic and had no style or decor whatsoever. There was nothing special about it. My vegetarian daughter loved her Kale Salad, my son got the mac and cheese and it was a very small portion. My husband's burger was large, but he ordered it without the "dirty cheese" and the mayo on the side. I ordered the scallop risotto, again pricey, but the scallops were cooked very nicely. My youngest ordered the potato tacos and they were greasy and had a clump of bean puree plopped in the middle and it wasn't very appetizing. Our server was fine, he was being trained, but didn't offer us the dessert menu, so I can't comment on that. We have been to the Davis Square location and enjoyed it, so we were a little bit disappointed with this visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Always pleasantly surprised with the number of vegan options at 5 horses. The hummus plate with half bread half veggies is to die for! They also carry Fiddlehead IPA which is amazing! Thank you for being a great brunch spot for vegans & meat eaters alike :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Great Beer, Vegan, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great Sunday night dinner. The Brussel Sprouts were the standout. Also, great Tacos.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.