About Five Horses Tavern - South End

535 Columbus Ave
Boston, MA 02118
View Larger Map

Five Horses Tavern is conveniently located on Columbus Avenue in Boston's
historic South End, walking distance of the Orange Line, Back Bay Station,
Symphony Hall, Northeastern University, Boston Medical Center and
Prudential Center.

Our mission is to serve modern American comfort food, incorporating locally
sourced ingredients, with many vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options.
Our friendly staff will make a memorable experience whether you join us for
lunch, dinner or our highly acclaimed weekend brunch.

Our bar offers a wide variety of craft beers from around the world,
boasting 40 draft beers, 60 bottles, signature cocktails and a thoughtfully
selected wine list. Guests can enjoy dinning on one of the largest patios
in the South End.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday: 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Saturday & Sunday: 10:00AM-12:00AM

Cross Street:
Claremont Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 936-3930

Website:
http://fivehorsestavern.com/

Additional:
Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Five Horses Tavern - South End Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (45)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Good for Groups (31)
See All
Great for Brunch (28)
Great for Lunch (27)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Hot Spot (15)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Special Occasion (10)
Kid-friendly (8)
Late-night Find (6)
Notable Wine List (4)
Romantic (3)
Scenic View (2)
Sort By:
Newest
134 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Convenient walk from Mass Ave. T stop. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Convenient walk from Mass Ave. T stop. A bit smaller than the Davis Sq. location. Tacos were good, and at first I was thrown by the 6$ per taco price tag, but it was a sizeable taco on a flour tortilla. The ribs though. These were some of the saltiest ribs I've ever had. I don't know if this is the norm or just an off night, but I wouldn't order those again. It took a while for our server to notice we were waiting for the check, but otherwise service was good. Mainly because I don't like being checked in on too frequently during my meal so this was a good fit.

Tags: Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a great experience and will defin ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We had a great experience and will definitely be back soon!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bizarre... Our experience was bizarre. ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Bizarre... Our experience was bizarre. It ,is hard to describe. We arrived , thought the place looked great and really wanted to like it. We picked our appetizers, they arrived quickly with our drinks. No silverware or dishes to eat off- 10 Minutes to get them. . The apps were "dumped" at the end of the table. I'm a major rib fan. I asked the waiter about their ribs. " The are a house specialty and the portion is large" The ribs arrived. 4 end of the rack, small, burnt and chewed like rubber. 15 minutes late the waiter asked how are meal was. Politely I said " well I hate to say anything but I'm not impress with the ribs" His reply " That's too bad" He smiled then walked away. A few minutes later the table next to us had their ribs delivered. Huge difference in quality. Seems like a nice place, the portions are small in relationship to price and the staff all appear to be friendly and hard workers. I blame a lack of training in their service faux pas. It's the kinda place you want to really like and go back to again and again. We may......--

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

The food was excellent. They cheerfully ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food was excellent. They cheerfully accommodated our request to put the Sox game on the TV by our table.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The grass-fed burger is fantastic. I onl ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The grass-fed burger is fantastic. I only eat grass-fed beef so I only have burgers once every couple months. I often get my "special" burger at Five Horse since it has never disappointed me. The tater tots need an upgrade. Maybe offer sweet potato fries or regular fries since they don't have any fries on the menu. I love the beer list here and always get something different. Sitting outside is excellent and the waitstaff always takes care of us, including bringing a water bowl to our dog on the sidewalk. :)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great burgers. Best turkey burger I've e ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great burgers. Best turkey burger I've ever had in a restaurant. The Cajun tacos are really spicy, but still tasty. The pretzel appetizer was delicious! Great beer selection. Service was perfectly fine, not extraordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I tried three of the tacos. The duck ta ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I tried three of the tacos. The duck taco was excellent, best I've had anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

The food and variety of options was wond ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The food and variety of options was wonderful! Jessica, our server and all the other servers were Very attentive. Great spot and fun evening!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had brunch. Very tasty breakfast chimic ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Had brunch. Very tasty breakfast chimichanga!

Nice historic feel to the tavern - warm and cozy. Recommended.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Brussels sprouts looked like they ha ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The Brussels sprouts looked like they had been burnt! Turned out to taste great! Served in a sauce of pork belly, mushrooms and pickled apples! Yum !The chicken entrée was moist and nicely flavored! Hangar steak was good! Got the jalapeño mashed potatoes to go with it! Great choice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Just happened by one afternoon for lunch ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Just happened by one afternoon for lunch and came across your great selection of draft beers and a very knowledgeable bartender. Great lunch....Came back for dinner next night and service and staff again were great. Chef had some very unique and delicious ideas. Love the place, unfortunately I'm in Pennsylvania and probably won't be able to come back for a while.

But I will be back and will tell everyone I know about you guys.

Thanks again,

Joe

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my second visit to Five Horses, ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

This is my second visit to Five Horses, but first to South End and first for dinner. My prior experience was brunch in Davis Square and that was amazing!! However, my most recent visit for dinner in the South End was just ok. I found the corn bread to be soggy, almost undercooked; the pretzel somewhat bland; and the pork belly and cajun fish tacos just ok. The pork belly was a little hard to chew through. The service and vibe are very good, so I will probably give it another chance for dinner and will definitely go back for brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Five Horses South End has been a favorit ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Five Horses South End has been a favorite of mine for dinner or drinks for awhile, but I finally made it to brunch and I'm sold!! It had something for everyone, all of which was fantastic, the drinks so creative and good, and the price is reasonable. We were able to sit for over 2 hours and not feel rushed. Such a lovely visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food. Great outdoor seating ar ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Delicious food. Great outdoor seating area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to be with family and friend ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Great place to be with family and friends! Beer menu is awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They do it right. Creative approaches t ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

They do it right. Creative approaches to favorite dishes. Quality ingedients. Prepared exquisitly. Flawless service. The way every dining experience should be.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Interestingly, we planned our business m ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Interestingly, we planned our business meeting at 4 PM on a Saturday, thinking that it would be relatively quiet and we could engage in business discussions. Big mistake - not by Five Horses as I would definitely return because it is a great bar but because of the ambient noise. It was very difficult to hear all of the 16 participants and the wait staff was definitely not accustomed to business meetings (interuptive, irritated by our requests). Nonetheless, it was our mistake to suggest this venue for a business meeting. For a tavern, we are there!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

I've eaten there about 5 times in the pa ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

I've eaten there about 5 times in the past two years and once at the Somerville location. Food is unique and quite good, bar ( for beer drinkers ) is great, wine choices OK. Loud and a bit cramped. Easy to get to by T and usually can find parking on Columbus.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I made a reservation as a surprise party ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

I made a reservation as a surprise party for my partner's birthday. The staff was incredibly supportive of our needs and helped make it a great surprise.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent corn bread and crabcakes. Serv ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Excellent corn bread and crabcakes. Service just right. No rush perfect for a small get other.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice surprise on a local's suggestion

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We must have looked lost because a stranger asked if we needed directions. I told him we were trying to find a spot to get a drink and a little bite to eat before the Boston Pop's. He recommended Five Horses Tavern, and we were delightfully surprised! We're crab cake snobs and think they have the best. Oh, and the cornbread is a MUST GET! A few night later we went again before the Sox played. Just as good and the waitress remembered us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tots!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The tots were absolutely amazing! My friends warned me about them but I wasn't prepared. And then I didn't want to stop eating them.

But watch out! When they say Cajun or blackened, they really mean it! I had to send my fish taco back cause I couldn't take the heat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great location. Wait staff was very frie ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Great location. Wait staff was very friendly & accommodating. They quickly noted when glasses needed refilling or plates need to be removed. Food was very good. Appetizers arrived in reasonable time. Entrees seemed a bit slow to arrive, especially given they were not particularly busy yet, and we ordered basic fare. Overall, solid, after work, de-stressing experience!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

South End's bar/restaurant down the street

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

The sangria cannot be beat, and the pitcher of sangria is even better!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch spot for GF and Vegetarians.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Had a wonderful lunch here with a coworker and friend. Service was amazing - both the hostess and our server were helpful with recommendations and checking on us. Plenty of gluten free and vegetarian options - perfect spot for a relaxed lunch. We'll come back for the beer and wine lists as well!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous burger

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Fabulous burger

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

The meatloaf sandwich was a bit heavy, b ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

The meatloaf sandwich was a bit heavy, but delicious. Impressive beer/wine selection, and delicious cocktails. Crab cake appetizer was a little small but was cooked well and tasted great. Fast service, never had to flag down a waiter/waitress for a drink refill, they were ready just as the glass was being finished. Amazing quality for the relative low-cost compared to other restaurants in the area. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Family Dinner before Pops Concert

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Great spot, easy walking distance to Mass Ave and Huntington Ave. Fantastic beer selections. Service was great and everyone enjoyed their meals. Placed was packed with waiting line outside so recommend making reservations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find, great beer, great food.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Not knowing the area, we took a shot in the dark at this place due it's proximity to the symphony hall. It was a good find! I would go back again when in that part of town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We both wanted the Hangar steak and they ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

We both wanted the Hangar steak and they were out of it @ 6 PM on a Thursday. The cod I had was OK, but nothing to write home about. My husband had the ribs and they did not come off the bone so assume under cooked. Burgers looked great so we think that we will try those next time! Staff is great as always and if your into beer they have an extensive list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Get the cornbread!!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

I was there on a Thursday at 5:30 with a group of nine. The place isn't very big, and it was kind of busy so I think that if we didn't have a reservation it would have been hard to get all of us seated. It is a cozy place but I did not feel crowded or cramped even with the large party. The service was great. Everyone was friendly and attentive. The food got mixed reviews. A few people ordered the ribs and shared some around, I didn't try them myself but, all six people who did said that they were too salty. No one was able to finish the whole plate of them. Most of the food was fine but nothing special. But there were a few exceptions. Everyone liked the haus pretzel. And the corn bread was a big hit. We were all talking about how good it was the next day. The phrase 'best corn bread I've ever had' was used more than once. I think the secret is butter. If you go, definitely get some. I don't think I would go back here for dinner but it would be a good place to go for drinks and appetizers with friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Five Horses was a Great Find

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Went for a mid-week dinner. We are new to the neighborhood and wanted to start trying out places close to us. The restaurant was hopping and noisy, but that did not detract from our meal. Five H. had 40 beers on tap. The waitress was great at making a recommendation after I described the type of beer I enjoyed. The Trillium Fort Point Pale Ale was a winner, as was my pan-roasted chicken breast with great vegetables. My friend had the Kentucky-fried Cornish game hen - also wonderful. Service was well-paced and pleasant. We'll be back.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, lots of draft beer choices a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Great food, lots of draft beer choices and great atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best brunch discovery in Boston

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

I've had dinner at the Five Horses Tavern, but never brunch. For Easter Sunday I was able to get a reservation which was a pleasant surprise. The service was amazing, the Bloody Mary was spicy and delicious and the food was outstanding. We were a party of 4 and we all shared our very different dishes. Each had distinct ingredients and flavors and all were delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best beer selection around!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

I am a beer geek and this is the best selection I am aware of in the area. The food is always great and they always have an interesting spin on traditional plates. Service is excellent. The space is small, so it can be tough to get in. The noise level can get high on weekends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Brunch

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

I appreciate the vegan options, great beer selection!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My second time here and once again our s ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 7, 2016

My second time here and once again our server was funny, attentive and knowledgeable. The food is fantastic (you want the fresh baked pretzel!) and definitely affordable. I mean apps entrees and drinks for 2 people well under $100 what's not to like? So glad this place was recommended. Can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not an impressive brunch

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

I went to Five Horses Tavern for brunch, and was unpleased with the meal selections. They were all very heavy for brunch, and the menu lacked lighter options. They didn't have any omelets, which is a brunch staple for many. A lot of the meals included fried food, also a tough go for brunch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

A great pub. Excellent beer on tap and g ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 4, 2016

A great pub. Excellent beer on tap and good casual fare. Service is relaxed when the place is busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The loaded tots were awesome - only slig ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

The loaded tots were awesome - only slightly over baked but delicious all the same!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.