Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Five Horses Tavern - South End

Five Horses Tavern is conveniently located on Columbus Avenue in Boston's
historic South End, walking distance of the Orange Line, Back Bay Station,
Symphony Hall, Northeastern University, Boston Medical Center and
Prudential Center.

Our mission is to serve modern American comfort food, incorporating locally
sourced ingredients, with many vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options.
Our friendly staff will make a memorable experience whether you join us for
lunch, dinner or our highly acclaimed weekend brunch.

Our bar offers a wide variety of craft beers from around the world,
boasting 40 draft beers, 60 bottles, signature cocktails and a thoughtfully
selected wine list. Guests can enjoy dinning on one of the largest patios
in the South End.

535 Columbus Ave
Boston, MA 02118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday: 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Saturday & Sunday: 10:00AM-12:00AM

Cross Street:
Claremont Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 936-3930

Website:
http://fivehorsestavern.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Five Horses Tavern - South End Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (33)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Great Beer (19)
See All
Good for a Date (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Fun (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Cozy (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
People Watching (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Authentic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Live Sports (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Vegan (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Spicy (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Business Meals (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sort By:
S
253 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Been here a few times. Usually good but this visit meals were disappointing. Menu choices limited which usually isn't an issue but just not feeling it anymore. Great beer selection and good for a burger or brunch but wouldn't go again for dinner. Service good and good casual atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 16, 2017

couldnt get anything without meat. Wanted the chilaquiles without the chicken - but the chicken is cooked into the sauce. ordered the chimichanga without beans - its PRE ROLLED so they cant take any ingredients out. (not to mention thats just gross). had to settle with two eggs toast and potatoes for $11.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 13, 2017

The place was too noisy - need acoustic panels or similar. Food was tasty. Menu was innovative. However grilled squid was somewhat chewy. Soup and other entrees were not sufficiently warm.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Great burger and pan fried chicken entree. Very reasonably priced. Sit outside if weather is nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 28, 2017

All of my past experiences with this restaurant were great. However, our recent visit included service or that was extremely slow taking nearly an hour on a business lunch to receive our food while all other smaller parties were served. The restaurant was not crowded. Do not go here if your group is large and gratuity is built in unless you are okay with slow and frankly quite rude service.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We are always willing to meet friends in the South End if it means we can go to Five Horses. They have an incredible menu (try the fried chicken sammie), and great bar selection.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Food was really good (tuna tacos, Cajun fish taco, mac and cheese with bacon and sweet potatoes, brussel sprouts with bacon and the haus pretzel) . Waitress was friendly. Made reservations so we had no wait. All in all very happy with our visit and would definitely go back.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food was amazing, highly recommend the corn bread for appetizer! We had a poor server but the waiters & waitresses who had tables near us helped us out and took our orders when they noticed we were waiting too long which made up for it. Can't go wrong with anything on the menu, especially for the price. The drinks were amazing as well!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Great local spot. Excellent selection of beers on tap. The tacos were phenomenal - we got the grilled avocado and the fried fish. The burger was standard. The salad with tofu on it was quite good.

Tags: People Watching, Great Beer, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 20, 2017

The food was good, although they did not have my favorite brand of vodka. The creme brulee was ok, although I prefer the typical vanilla rather than chocolate flavored. The problem was parking. I was coming in from the suburbs to meet a colleague for dinner and there is no place to park. I wound up parking at the Prudential Center and had to (1) walk over and (2) pay $42 to park.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great service and quaint atmosphere. Locally sourced food and clever takes on traditional brunch favorites. We would highly recommend!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Outside seating was very nice on a cool evening. Davis Square location has fuller bar options and is a more beautiful atmosphere. Menu seems limited, although my meal was tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 10, 2017

food choices were limited but what they offered was prepared well and was quality. The seating is tight but surprising quiet. Wait staff did an excellent job.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great place with a menu that fit everyone's taste (pizza, burger, interesting tacos)

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Great food, allowed to bring dogs on patio which is always a plus!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 3, 2017

There were some ups and downs. Definitely prefer the Davis Square location. The food was very good, but they have a bizarre liquor license and only have beer, wine, and liqueur. We told them we were celebrating a birthday at the start of the meal, and they said they would bring a small cake. It took 30 minutes from the time they cleared our plates to the time the cake came out and we told them we were in a rush. It was delicious but not worth the 30 minute wait and they didn't even put a candle in it. Food is very good and very well priced but the delay left us frustrated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 31, 2017

It was flat out awful. Food stunk. No non-flavored vodka. Overpriced for sub par bar snacks and mediocre service. 3 apps and 2 drinks, $100...at a "tavern"??! Crazy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great neighborhood and atmosphere. We arrived late for a reservation and were seated right away. Employees are very friendly and helpful. Everything including restrooms were very clean. We thought the food was delicious and reasonably priced.

Tags: Healthy, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Still as good as it has always been! Sangria is terrific!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great for a bite to eat with friends! Service was kind of awkward but food was great and big drink menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I had heard amazing things about this place so I was excited to celebrate my birthday over brunch. We arrived at 10:45AM. We were greeted and taken to a lovely table near the patio. It took 10 minutes before we got our menus and another 20 minutes before our waitress came by to take our orders. Already perturbed, I was hoping the food would come out sooner. It took an hour and 5 minutes before our food arrived from when we sat down. I'm usually pretty patient but no one should not be waiting over an hour to get a simple brunch item that can be made at home in 10 minutes. Also, keep in mind that during this whole time, we have not eaten anything and our waitress ignores our table the entire time, tending to other tables without batting an eye at us. Luckily, a different waiter came to refill our water twice so we weren't dehydrated. From my seat, I watched as 2 girls who got a table at the patio area 20 minutes after we arrived got their menus and orders taken within a matter of 5 minutes. They also got their food a lot faster than us and were paying the bill around the time we got our food. Perhaps patio people get better service because they're closer to the front. Perhaps we were hidden and forgotten in the back. In any case, it was frustrating. Someone who I assume was the general manager came by to apologize for the kitchen being backed up and I informed him we had been waiting an hour. He apologized and came back to say my entree would be deducted. That was a very nice decision which made me less annoyed. Our waitress wasn't aware of this so she brought the check with all items on it; she had the check fixed. In all, the food was decent, the service was subpar, and the outright disregard for our hunger was fully experienced. I tipped 20% because I understand they were probably understaffed but it's Saturday! During brunch time! You should have planned accordingly or at least make a comprehensive sweep of your tables rather than choosing a few to tend to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for Mother's day dinner, and chose this place because of the beer list and the fact that it had some vegetarian options. We sat in the bar section of the restaurant. It was so generic and had no style or decor whatsoever. There was nothing special about it. My vegetarian daughter loved her Kale Salad, my son got the mac and cheese and it was a very small portion. My husband's burger was large, but he ordered it without the "dirty cheese" and the mayo on the side. I ordered the scallop risotto, again pricey, but the scallops were cooked very nicely. My youngest ordered the potato tacos and they were greasy and had a clump of bean puree plopped in the middle and it wasn't very appetizing. Our server was fine, he was being trained, but didn't offer us the dessert menu, so I can't comment on that. We have been to the Davis Square location and enjoyed it, so we were a little bit disappointed with this visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Always pleasantly surprised with the number of vegan options at 5 horses. The hummus plate with half bread half veggies is to die for! They also carry Fiddlehead IPA which is amazing! Thank you for being a great brunch spot for vegans & meat eaters alike :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Great Beer, Vegan, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great Sunday night dinner. The Brussel Sprouts were the standout. Also, great Tacos.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My first time at the restaurant and my friend and I decided to check out their brunch. We were both impressed by the service, the friendly environment and the food. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Hostess was really rude, place is too small to accommodate people, drink and food orders kept being delivered to wrong tables. Much better places to go in Boston. Food mediocre, beers on tap good.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Service was extremely slow. Waitress seemed to have kept forgetting our table. Took forever to get desserts. It was my graduation lunch and was hoping for a much better experience. Also vegetarian food options need a revamp, a lot of them have unbalanced taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Thanks so much for accommodating for our large party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The burger was exceptional, high quality meat. Best tater tots ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food was just OK this time. Beer selections are fantastic. Tacos with fish were partly ice cold in an odd, unpleasant way, though apparently this was the way they intended to serve them based on the response when I commented to the server. Great place for a drink, but I will not be back for a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I had a kale salad which was really healthy and delicious. I'd go back just for this. The ambiance is fun!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We had a wonderful birthday dinner for my friend. Food and drinks were delicious, very accommodating of a celiac/gluten allergy. And our waiter was really great!

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food a little loud but fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The wait staff is friendly! The food service is slow and the plate sizes and small and overpriced. Good food though!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Terrible service both at the host stand, while waiting and at the table.

there was never anyone at the host stand. when there was, i reminded her a few times that we had a reservation and she still couldn't seat us but sat several other parties that arrived later than us. When I went back in to ask about our table she said another 20 min - i told her that's unacceptable since we had a reservation. she did then begin to find us a table but we were sat 30 min late after our originally reserved time. and there were other tables so still unclear what happened.
we got a lackluster, quick "sorry for the wait" then we never saw the host again, our server came by and was more friendly. he did mix up the order and the beers took forever to arrive.

when we got the bill there was zero acknowledgment or compensation for all the issues. instead of getting back into a debate we paid and left. we won't be going back.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Seated at 6:40 for a 5:45 reservation, but we were comped a round of drinks.

We were seated by the side door on a cold night (40 degrees) while they were coming in and out serving outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Caught a bite before the symphony. Within walking distance. Huge list of beers. Great food.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our lunch started out on a very good note with our friendly server. Unfortunately she left midway through our meal without any notice. Our main entrees were delivered by someone different...not too surprising. We asked him for another round of drinks. Shortly after that, a different server came and asked for our drink order. From that point on, we assumed he was our server and he was efficient and nice enough but nothing more. The food...Mac n cheese was lukewarm and should have been sent back but we didn't. Tacos were ok...a little too salty but the cornbread was to die for!!! We would go back and try again...food was worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

People visiting

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Within Walking Distance of Symphony/ DecentTavern-Bar Food.
We spotted this reataurant a few times and decided to give it a try. They accept reservations which we find helpful when going to a show or concert. Very busy atmosphere with a cozy, neighborhood feeling. Seemed to attract the 30 something crowd.

Pleasant music,but overall noisy which can make conversation challenging. The waitress was friendly and helpful. Met us with a smile and checked in a few times to see if we were doing fine or needed anything.

Just two of us dining. I ordered the salmon which came with carrots and brown rice. Perfectly cooked medium and a good sized serving. Overall, the meal was quite good and I was able to take a doggie bag home. My husband went for the chicken sandwich and tator tots. He was satisfied, but it was not anything special in flavor or presentation. His choice was partly guided by a somewhat limited menu. Probably not bad for a local tavern, but not offering many entrees.

Prices were quite fair. For instance, my dinner was $19.

The convenience was the real benefit. We might try it again, but can't say for our preferences we would rush back. They will do fine with the neighborhood crowd.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.