Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Five Horses Tavern - South End

Five Horses Tavern is conveniently located on Columbus Avenue in Boston's
historic South End, walking distance of the Orange Line, Back Bay Station,
Symphony Hall, Northeastern University, Boston Medical Center and
Prudential Center.

Our mission is to serve modern American comfort food, incorporating locally
sourced ingredients, with many vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options.
Our friendly staff will make a memorable experience whether you join us for
lunch, dinner or our highly acclaimed weekend brunch.

Our bar offers a wide variety of craft beers from around the world,
boasting 40 draft beers, 60 bottles, signature cocktails and a thoughtfully
selected wine list. Guests can enjoy dinning on one of the largest patios
in the South End.

535 Columbus Ave
Boston, MA 02118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday: 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Saturday & Sunday: 10:00AM-12:00AM

Cross Street:
Claremont Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 936-3930

Website:
http://fivehorsestavern.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Five Horses Tavern - South End Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (23)
Great Beer (21)
Casual (18)
See All
Fun (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Cozy (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Family Style (3)
Business Meals (3)
Authentic (3)
Vegan (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Live Sports (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Historic (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
213 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Within Walking Distance of Symphony/ DecentTavern-Bar Food.
We spotted this reataurant a few times and decided to give it a try. They accept reservations which we find helpful when going to a show or concert. Very busy atmosphere with a cozy, neighborhood feeling. Seemed to attract the 30 something crowd.

Pleasant music,but overall noisy which can make conversation challenging. The waitress was friendly and helpful. Met us with a smile and checked in a few times to see if we were doing fine or needed anything.

Just two of us dining. I ordered the salmon which came with carrots and brown rice. Perfectly cooked medium and a good sized serving. Overall, the meal was quite good and I was able to take a doggie bag home. My husband went for the chicken sandwich and tator tots. He was satisfied, but it was not anything special in flavor or presentation. His choice was partly guided by a somewhat limited menu. Probably not bad for a local tavern, but not offering many entrees.

Prices were quite fair. For instance, my dinner was $19.

The convenience was the real benefit. We might try it again, but can't say for our preferences we would rush back. They will do fine with the neighborhood crowd.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Hadn't been here for awhile and so glad I went back. Fantastic time and our waiter Michael was the best!

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We went on a weeknight with my friend's 4-year-old daughter, the staff was so kind to make some plain mac n' cheese for her and they were so patient. Also, our food was delicious! Highly recommend.

Tags: Bar Seating, Family Style, Happy Hour, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

It was a fun evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Had a great time except waitress brought one wrong entree. Decided to keep it. It was delicious, just not what was ordered

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The music was too loud . Could not have any meaningful conversation.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a very nice visit for Sunday Brunch. Two of us have been before & always look forward to a return visit. Our friend loved it & loved her Brunch pizza. The tacos are amazing as was the veggie burger and our wine. Great service, very friendly and helpful. Love the atmosphere of this place.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Organic, Fun, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Decided on dinner close by with friends. Ordered the tots which were very good, just a little cold. I ordered the steak and cheese and the mashed as a side, it definitely hit the spot. The service was very speedy and always around when needed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Five Horses is a solid neighborhood bar and restaurant. No airs, good comfort food, great beer list, friendly staff. We'll be back!

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Always great food, drinks, service and staff! The Brussels sprouts will change your life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised after a noon time lunch at the tavern. Clean and comfortable, it was even warm enough the open up the large windows that look out onto Columbus Ave. Many people took advantage of the sun streaming in and sat at the hightops near the open windows. My Tavern chili was excellent - some of the best chili I have ever had! My buddy had a cod sandwich and said it was also delicious. I can't wait ti go back!

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Music much too loud in dining area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I've been to Five Horses multiple time and to both locations, unfortunately, I was very disappointed with my latest brunch there. The last two times the service has been less than stellar and on Sunday we were virtually ignored. I like the location, ambiance etc., but the food this time was almost unedible.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food! We ordered steak and cheese sandwich, fish sandwich, tacos and the veggie burger. All were excellent! Our server was terrific too. But the noise level on a Saturday night was intense. Not the place for quiet conversations.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went here for Galentines Day! Food was great and the Sangria was a crowd pleaser!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was awesome, service was good. Pleasant, friendly server. Would definitely go back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great beer selection, food was good (tacos were excellent), could accommodate a party of 9.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Hadn't been in a while and pleasantly surprised. The food and service were great. Loved the tacos.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was OK. Pulled pork sandwich with chimichurri sauce was literally that: pork, sauce, roll. They forgot to put in our pretzel order as starter. When we pointed that out, they were apologetic, comped us the pretzel, claimed they were slammed. But it was 5pm on a Sunday and the place was only half full. It wasn't bad, but it was a pretty 'meh' experience. Not worth going out of your way for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Was underwhelmed. Servers were friendly, but food was very average. It was not horrible, but I will not go out of my way to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Plenty of vegetarian options and a few vegan options as well. Good food at an affordable price. Great for Brunch.

Tags: Vegan, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Best spot near Northeastern. I don't go anywhere else!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Afternoon Coffee, Historic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Fun, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 19, 2017

My daughter had the plain Mac and cheese and chicken fingers, I had the Brussels sprouts and cauliflower.

The mac and cheese was the only thing that was good, her buttermilk chicken was so over cooked it was a deep brown and dried out. My Brussels sprouts were literally burned to a crisp as was the cauliflower .

The servers pretty much ignored us and asked how things were going as they briskly walked past our table indicating they didn't care - overall this was a very poor choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Dropped in on a cold rainy evening and enjoyed the warm ambiance and friendly service. Definitely recommend reservations...even on a Tuesday night, the traffic was steady. Had the chili, cornbread and just couldn't resist the Brussels sprouts too. Topped it off with a great beer. Perfect.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Comfort Food, Authentic, Great Beer, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Love Sunday brunch! The menu and the Bloody Mary selection is super creative

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The food was very good, but the price of my dish ($23 for 3 scallops with risotto) seemed a bit steep to me.
My biggest complaint was the noise level.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Pleasant enjoyable place. Good, interesting, creative food mixed with comfort food. Great beer and cocktail options. Reasonably priced, fun.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Casual, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Live Sports, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fun, Cozy, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 21, 2016

This is a favorite of everyone in our office so we went for a holiday team lunch. We always love the cornbread, but the loaded tots are becoming a close contender. All the staff are terrific and friendly. Food never fails to impress even the most discerning. Yet another great experience there!!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We went for brunch. The atmosphere was nice. Our previous dinner experience there was better so we think dinner is their sweet spot. The food was good. Service was good. Neither met our expectations though we were t disappointed. We will stick with their dinner menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Stopped in for a late-evening dinner with our kids. The service was friendly and accommodating as usual. Also, the food is always solid, but the menu continues to feel limited. Our kids enjoy it even though the place is really more of an adult hangout.

Tags: Great Beer, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We recently discovered this little gem in the south end after years of struggling with boylston street crowds prior to performances at symphony hall. Great food, good service and and a comfortable atmosphere. Reservations seem to be must during "prime time" but worth the planning.
Highly recommend the tavern chili!

Tags: Quick Bite, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I picked this place as an alternative to my usual mid-week business dinner. Not disappointed! The food is "interesting" with lots of vege choices. I go gluten free, and the waitperson was able to tailor my choices seamlessly. This is a feel-good place for people who like to feel good and be served with cheery helpful people. I will go back anytime I just want a dependably good place to eat that I don't have to bother raving about or acting like a food critic to rate. You will not be disappointed. Plus the cost is below market. What's not to like?

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Great local spot- incredible brew selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 13, 2016

My first visit I loved this place. The second visit was disappointing. I was looking forward to the chili which was fantastic on my first visit but lukewarm and just not the same on the second. Also very surprised that the only red wine they had was Pinot Noir which I wasn't in the mood for. Will probably give it another try though. Hope it was just an off night.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Friendly, attentive staff. Excellent food. They were very accommodating that we were in a bit of a hurry to make a show, guiding us toward choices that could be served quickly. Very nice experience.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Delicious and great service. I had the french toast and very much enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Excellent food! It was crowded, but the service was great. Definitely make a reservation!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We asked the waitress twice for separate checks, but when we changed waiter/waitress the new person did not know about the change. Which lead to partial confusion when the bill came out.
It was fixed but it would be better if sorted from the start so parties don't have to split tips because drink orders are wrong etc. Beers where a bit pricey too. All it all it was a good experience though.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great vegetarian and vegan options. Kids friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 26, 2016

An excellent little tavern in the south end. A definite new favorite, off the crowded boylston corridor but an easy walk from the more congested eateries in that area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.