About Five Horses Tavern - South End

535 Columbus Ave
Boston, MA 02118
View Larger Map

Five Horses Tavern is conveniently located on Columbus Avenue in Boston's
historic South End, walking distance of the Orange Line, Back Bay Station,
Symphony Hall, Northeastern University, Boston Medical Center and
Prudential Center.

Our mission is to serve modern American comfort food, incorporating locally
sourced ingredients, with many vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options.
Our friendly staff will make a memorable experience whether you join us for
lunch, dinner or our highly acclaimed weekend brunch.

Our bar offers a wide variety of craft beers from around the world,
boasting 40 draft beers, 60 bottles, signature cocktails and a thoughtfully
selected wine list. Guests can enjoy dinning on one of the largest patios
in the South End.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday: 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Saturday & Sunday: 10:00AM-12:00AM

Cross Street:
Claremont Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 936-3930

Website:
http://fivehorsestavern.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Five Horses Tavern - South End Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (21)
Casual (19)
Bar Seating (14)
See All
Great Beer (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Great for Lunch (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Cozy (11)
Fun (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Happy Hour (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Authentic (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Seasonal (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
People Watching (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Family Style (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vegan (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Business Meals (2)
Healthy (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Romantic (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Private Room (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Historic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
175 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We asked the waitress twice for separate ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

We asked the waitress twice for separate checks, but when we changed waiter/waitress the new person did not know about the change. Which lead to partial confusion when the bill came out.

It was fixed but it would be better if sorted from the start so parties don't have to split tips because drink orders are wrong etc. Beers where a bit pricey too. All it all it was a good experience though.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great vegetarian and vegan options. Kids ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Great vegetarian and vegan options. Kids friendly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

An excellent little tavern in the south ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 26, 2016

An excellent little tavern in the south end. A definite new favorite, off the crowded boylston corridor but an easy walk from the more congested eateries in that area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The atmosphere was very cozy. The music ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The atmosphere was very cozy. The music was a touch loud, but the songs playing were a nice, relaxed mood. It was very busy on a Saturday night, so reservations are a must. I loved the food - very unique and well balanced flavors (I had the pesce sandwich, which had a mango element to it, a very good sweet/savory idea). The dessert was wonderfully rich. Service was friendly and prompt. A little more than I usually spend on dinner, but the overall experience was lovely and definitely worth the splurge.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Five Horses Tavern offered a fine locale ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Five Horses Tavern offered a fine locale for a reunion/date with an old friend before moving on to the B.U. Theater/Huntington Theater Company, a relatively short walk away, a convenient South End location. The food was adequate, nothing special. The service was friendly and attentive. A decent experience.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Charming, cozy tavern. Reasonable prices ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Charming, cozy tavern. Reasonable prices for excellent food and very friendly service.

Tags: Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was yummy and portions were great. ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Food was yummy and portions were great. We even took leftovers home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have two major allergies, gluten and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I have two major allergies, gluten and dairy so it's extremely hard for me to go out to eat and find something on the menu. As soon as I told the waiter he knew exactly what I could eat and what changes could be made to certain dishes so that I could have as many options as possible. When I asked for dressing for a side he knew off the top of his head which ones I could have, no need to refer to a special allergen list here! Also when he went back and spoke with the chef about the meal I order to make sure it'd be okay, the chef came out to make sure that that accommodations were going to be okay or if I'd want to order something different. I'm from out of town so this type of service was amazing and if I lived closer I'd be going here regularly!

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have been here 5 times now and enjoy it ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Have been here 5 times now and enjoy it as much or more each time. Food is creative, good value and really tasty. Love the beer slection and the atmosphere is really cool.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great service. Friendly and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food. Great service. Friendly and attentive staff.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Five Horses - except maybe on a F ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I love Five Horses - except maybe on a Friday night. It was so crowded and so noisy, we ended up leaving! Broke my heart. But no one wanted to end the night having lost their voice from screaming.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value4

Tends to be loud but food choices are co ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Tends to be loud but food choices are comfortable and good value. Seating outdoors on Columbus Ave very nice when weather permits. Service good.

Tags: Seasonal, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value4

Awesome variety of food and it's fantast ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Awesome variety of food and it's fantastic! Great ambiance with great drinks. Love sitting outside underneath the heaters and staff was super nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great food and service. From out of tow ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 28, 2016

great food and service. From out of town and found this while walking in the neighborhood we were staying at. highly recommend the risotto.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. The only reason that I k ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was great. The only reason that I knocked off a point on

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The menu accommodates everyone- love the ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The menu accommodates everyone- love the vegan selections!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Vegan, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great little hole in the wall restaurant ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great little hole in the wall restaurant. The food was amazing! The chicken and waffle club was delicious and the presentation was great. The service was strange - it's as though there isn't one server assigned to your table so you have multiple people checking on you throughout the meal - I didn't love that and found it a touch disruptive and confusing. The parking is atrocious but in the South End it's about average. Overall it was a great brunch and I would definitely recommend and go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Butternut squash rice balls not cooked t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Butternut squash rice balls not cooked through

Prices high for the tater tots

Mac and cheese yummy but small portion

Tavern burger is the way to go

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great service and food. We had a large g ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great service and food. We had a large group, and they were very accommodating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit; really good risotto, r ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 20, 2016

First time visit; really good risotto, really great hanger steak. Very interesting beer selection. We'll be back.

Tags: Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Went with a group of friends. I had 2 of ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Went with a group of friends. I had 2 of the tacos but wasn't that happy. I think I was the only one of our group that wasn't 100% happy with the food though. We had a good time here but I would definitely try something else next time.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great Beer, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good beer & wine menu. Nice variety of ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Good beer & wine menu. Nice variety of tavern food items for sharing. Staff very friendly.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great Beer, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, large drink menu, good fo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great service, large drink menu, good food (served promptly)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this restaurant. The brunch is amaz ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Love this restaurant. The brunch is amazing and there are so many vegetarian options. Highly recommend.

Tags: People Watching, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Vegan, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good bar basics upped a notch. SUPER CR ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Good bar basics upped a notch. SUPER CROWDED and weren't seated when we arrived a bit early. Decided to walk around the neighborhood. By the time we walked back (still ahead of our reservation), the hostess said she was about to give up our table if she hadn't found us. What?!

The food was nice - good brussels sprouts.

The drinks were delicious although they didn't have my first choice.

Will likely stick to Five Horses in Cambridge next time and choose another restaurant when in town.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great Sunday brunch with our son and fou ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great Sunday brunch with our son and four friends. Food was terrific. Atmosphere was great. Service was personal and attentive.

Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a fun place for a family dinner ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

This was a fun place for a family dinner. Casual, enticing decor. Interesting food but not fine dining. Servers and other personnel were extremely friendly and helpful.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The appetizers were outstanding-roasted ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The appetizers were outstanding-roasted Brussels sprouts and curried cauliflower. The wait staff were very attentive and mindful of the young children when had along.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

had a great time, good food, good friend ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

had a great time, good food, good friends and excellent service, couldn't ask for more.

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Really noisy group of ladies at the bar ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Really noisy group of ladies at the bar spoiled the evening. Would go back for a quick informal dinner, hoping they are not there every night...

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We came with a party of 10 girls for a b ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We came with a party of 10 girls for a bachelorette brunch. Our morning started off great. We were greeted by friendly hostesses and were sat right away at a spacious round table. This was about the only positive experience I can write about. Our day quickly started on a descent when we were given an extremely inexperienced, poorly trained waitress. (For a party of 10). We sat down at 11:00 and ordered our first round of drinks-Mimosas for the table and a VIRGIN extra spicy Bloody Mary with bacon (listed under their non alcoholic bevs). Drinks came, food was ordered, waitress disappears for nearly 45 minutes. When another server comes by to ask if we needed anything...food was our only response...also some more drinks and water too. After About an hour, the waitress reappears telling us somethings off the menu that they were out of...as a table full of ladies who WORK in a restaurant ...this was a red flag that she had waited about 45 minutes just to put our food in. Food finally comes. Our GF DF friend got served whole milk with her coffee when she requested almond milk and regular toast. Orders around the table were messed up and tots were Luke warm. Irritated and hungry...we eat whatever was placed in front of us regardless of the order or not. Finally the bill comes (that we had to go through and separate the orders ourselves even though we had asked for separate checks). First thing we notice....one virgin bloody..and one alcoholic Bloody Mary. Our initial thoughts as we saw this was that if the bartender received an order ticket for a regular Bloody Mary..then that was what he made. Immediately we went to the bartender to ask him if he made 2 Virgin bloodys or one for the table. His response...that the first Bloody Mary was a regular bloody....served to the PREGNANT WOMAN...who drank the entire thing. That would be me. Initially when called the owner was only going to compensate my $15 meal. This was unacceptable for us and he took care of our entire tab.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

The food at five horses was fantastic. W ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 14, 2016

The food at five horses was fantastic. We split a soft pretzel and mac and cheese to start- both were delicious. I had two tacos per the waiter's recommendation: seared tuna, which was flavorful and crunchy, and duck, which had a sweet sauce to complement the richness wonderfully. My friends enjoyed the salmon and the bbq sandwich (a place that serves tater tots as a side instead of fries? my kind of place). The food was contrasted by the service, however, which was slow. We had to repeatedly ask for items and remind the server multiple times of what we requested. We tried to get the bill for probably 20 minutes before our server finally caught my eye. I'll definitely be back, as the service could have been off that day and the food was worth it.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

A group of friends met here for a pre-th ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 13, 2016

A group of friends met here for a pre-theatre dinner. I had been to their sister restaurant in Davis Sq, so recommended we get the cornbread, which is freshly baked in its own skillet. It was sooooo yummy, and I don't even normally like cornbread! We also had the roasted brussels sprouts which were similarly awesome. We had a variety of entrees, mostly the tacos or salads. The amount of filling in the tacos varied a bit, but all tasted good. The salads looked good too - I had a bite of the fried chicken one had added and that was excellent.

Our server was very good about checking with the kitchen on a food allergy that was of concern to one of the party.

On the dessert menu they have a skillet-baked chocolate cake which we didn't have room to try, but we're definitely going to have it next time!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Well worth a visit. We will keep this o ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Well worth a visit. We will keep this on our list for places to go in Boston.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Every dish was unbelievable... Brussel S ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Every dish was unbelievable... Brussel Sprouts appetizer should not be passed by.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My son flew in from San Diego late after ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 30, 2016

My son flew in from San Diego late afternoon so we came for a bite to eat while waiting for traffic to ease up. My daughter and I have been before for Brunch, lunch & dinner. Great place! The Grilled Avocado & Bean Salad my daughter had was excellent & good size. Would love to try myself. My son & I had the tacos. We both had the Tuna Taco - so good!! We both enjoyed that one. I also had the Cajun Fish taco which had just enough of a good bite to it & very tasty, while he had the Mighty Duck Taco. He enjoyed that one as well. Great beer & wine too. Will definitely be back again. More food to try! Always good food & love sitting on patio.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, People Watching, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went for brunch on a Saturday. Five Ho ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I went for brunch on a Saturday. Five Horses serves from both the brunch and luncheon menus. The service here is excellent and one of the wait persons even suggested a selection for the next time I return for dinner. I had the Southern breakfast which is fried chicken, a fried egg, and thyme biscuits with a side of sausage gravy. Don't hesitate about the gravy, it was smooth, not salty and a perfect compliment for the biscuits. There is a lovely patio which I will look forward to for a future visit in the cool of the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a party of 10 and had an amazing ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We had a party of 10 and had an amazing time! We loved the giant round table which allowed for open conversation. Our waiter was great, especially considering all the food and drinks we ordered. I have already recommended to friends and I would definitely go again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a hit with their food and beer of ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Always a hit with their food and beer offerings!! Tacos are excellent, and you can't miss with their beer selection.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and great beer selectio ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great atmosphere and great beer selection. The Cajun fish tacos were amazing as were the calamari rings. Our server Jenn was very friendly and prompt as were the supporting food deliverers and busboy. I highly recommend Five Horses Tavern - South End.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Great Beer, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Healthy, Bar Seating, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.