Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.07mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Five Horses Tavern - South End

Five Horses Tavern is conveniently located on Columbus Avenue in Boston's
historic South End, walking distance of the Orange Line, Back Bay Station,
Symphony Hall, Northeastern University, Boston Medical Center and
Prudential Center.

Our mission is to serve modern American comfort food, incorporating locally
sourced ingredients, with many vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options.
Our friendly staff will make a memorable experience whether you join us for
lunch, dinner or our highly acclaimed weekend brunch.

Our bar offers a wide variety of craft beers from around the world,
boasting 40 draft beers, 60 bottles, signature cocktails and a thoughtfully
selected wine list. Guests can enjoy dinning on one of the largest patios
in the South End.

535 Columbus Ave
Boston, MA 02118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday: 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Saturday & Sunday: 10:00AM-12:00AM

Cross Street:
Claremont Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 936-3930

Website:
http://fivehorsestavern.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Five Horses Tavern - South End Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (28)
Great Beer (26)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
See All
Comfort Food (20)
Fun (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Great for Brunch (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Cozy (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Live Sports (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Authentic (4)
Vegan (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (3)
Family Style (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Business Meals (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Spicy (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Historic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Organic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
234 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Great neighborhood and atmosphere. We arrived late for a reservation and were seated right away. Employees are very friendly and helpful. Everything including restrooms were very clean. We thought the food was delicious and reasonably priced.

Tags: Healthy, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great for a bite to eat with friends! Service was kind of awkward but food was great and big drink menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I had heard amazing things about this place so I was excited to celebrate my birthday over brunch. We arrived at 10:45AM. We were greeted and taken to a lovely table near the patio. It took 10 minutes before we got our menus and another 20 minutes before our waitress came by to take our orders. Already perturbed, I was hoping the food would come out sooner. It took an hour and 5 minutes before our food arrived from when we sat down. I'm usually pretty patient but no one should not be waiting over an hour to get a simple brunch item that can be made at home in 10 minutes. Also, keep in mind that during this whole time, we have not eaten anything and our waitress ignores our table the entire time, tending to other tables without batting an eye at us. Luckily, a different waiter came to refill our water twice so we weren't dehydrated. From my seat, I watched as 2 girls who got a table at the patio area 20 minutes after we arrived got their menus and orders taken within a matter of 5 minutes. They also got their food a lot faster than us and were paying the bill around the time we got our food. Perhaps patio people get better service because they're closer to the front. Perhaps we were hidden and forgotten in the back. In any case, it was frustrating. Someone who I assume was the general manager came by to apologize for the kitchen being backed up and I informed him we had been waiting an hour. He apologized and came back to say my entree would be deducted. That was a very nice decision which made me less annoyed. Our waitress wasn't aware of this so she brought the check with all items on it; she had the check fixed. In all, the food was decent, the service was subpar, and the outright disregard for our hunger was fully experienced. I tipped 20% because I understand they were probably understaffed but it's Saturday! During brunch time! You should have planned accordingly or at least make a comprehensive sweep of your tables rather than choosing a few to tend to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for Mother's day dinner, and chose this place because of the beer list and the fact that it had some vegetarian options. We sat in the bar section of the restaurant. It was so generic and had no style or decor whatsoever. There was nothing special about it. My vegetarian daughter loved her Kale Salad, my son got the mac and cheese and it was a very small portion. My husband's burger was large, but he ordered it without the "dirty cheese" and the mayo on the side. I ordered the scallop risotto, again pricey, but the scallops were cooked very nicely. My youngest ordered the potato tacos and they were greasy and had a clump of bean puree plopped in the middle and it wasn't very appetizing. Our server was fine, he was being trained, but didn't offer us the dessert menu, so I can't comment on that. We have been to the Davis Square location and enjoyed it, so we were a little bit disappointed with this visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Always pleasantly surprised with the number of vegan options at 5 horses. The hummus plate with half bread half veggies is to die for! They also carry Fiddlehead IPA which is amazing! Thank you for being a great brunch spot for vegans & meat eaters alike :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Great Beer, Vegan, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great Sunday night dinner. The Brussel Sprouts were the standout. Also, great Tacos.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

My first time at the restaurant and my friend and I decided to check out their brunch. We were both impressed by the service, the friendly environment and the food. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Hostess was really rude, place is too small to accommodate people, drink and food orders kept being delivered to wrong tables. Much better places to go in Boston. Food mediocre, beers on tap good.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Service was extremely slow. Waitress seemed to have kept forgetting our table. Took forever to get desserts. It was my graduation lunch and was hoping for a much better experience. Also vegetarian food options need a revamp, a lot of them have unbalanced taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Thanks so much for accommodating for our large party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The burger was exceptional, high quality meat. Best tater tots ever

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Food was just OK this time. Beer selections are fantastic. Tacos with fish were partly ice cold in an odd, unpleasant way, though apparently this was the way they intended to serve them based on the response when I commented to the server. Great place for a drink, but I will not be back for a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

I had a kale salad which was really healthy and delicious. I'd go back just for this. The ambiance is fun!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We had a wonderful birthday dinner for my friend. Food and drinks were delicious, very accommodating of a celiac/gluten allergy. And our waiter was really great!

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great food a little loud but fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The wait staff is friendly! The food service is slow and the plate sizes and small and overpriced. Good food though!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Terrible service both at the host stand, while waiting and at the table.

there was never anyone at the host stand. when there was, i reminded her a few times that we had a reservation and she still couldn't seat us but sat several other parties that arrived later than us. When I went back in to ask about our table she said another 20 min - i told her that's unacceptable since we had a reservation. she did then begin to find us a table but we were sat 30 min late after our originally reserved time. and there were other tables so still unclear what happened.
we got a lackluster, quick "sorry for the wait" then we never saw the host again, our server came by and was more friendly. he did mix up the order and the beers took forever to arrive.

when we got the bill there was zero acknowledgment or compensation for all the issues. instead of getting back into a debate we paid and left. we won't be going back.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Caught a bite before the symphony. Within walking distance. Huge list of beers. Great food.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Seated at 6:40 for a 5:45 reservation, but we were comped a round of drinks.

We were seated by the side door on a cold night (40 degrees) while they were coming in and out serving outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our lunch started out on a very good note with our friendly server. Unfortunately she left midway through our meal without any notice. Our main entrees were delivered by someone different...not too surprising. We asked him for another round of drinks. Shortly after that, a different server came and asked for our drink order. From that point on, we assumed he was our server and he was efficient and nice enough but nothing more. The food...Mac n cheese was lukewarm and should have been sent back but we didn't. Tacos were ok...a little too salty but the cornbread was to die for!!! We would go back and try again...food was worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 8, 2017

People visiting

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Within Walking Distance of Symphony/ DecentTavern-Bar Food.
We spotted this reataurant a few times and decided to give it a try. They accept reservations which we find helpful when going to a show or concert. Very busy atmosphere with a cozy, neighborhood feeling. Seemed to attract the 30 something crowd.

Pleasant music,but overall noisy which can make conversation challenging. The waitress was friendly and helpful. Met us with a smile and checked in a few times to see if we were doing fine or needed anything.

Just two of us dining. I ordered the salmon which came with carrots and brown rice. Perfectly cooked medium and a good sized serving. Overall, the meal was quite good and I was able to take a doggie bag home. My husband went for the chicken sandwich and tator tots. He was satisfied, but it was not anything special in flavor or presentation. His choice was partly guided by a somewhat limited menu. Probably not bad for a local tavern, but not offering many entrees.

Prices were quite fair. For instance, my dinner was $19.

The convenience was the real benefit. We might try it again, but can't say for our preferences we would rush back. They will do fine with the neighborhood crowd.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Hadn't been here for awhile and so glad I went back. Fantastic time and our waiter Michael was the best!

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We went on a weeknight with my friend's 4-year-old daughter, the staff was so kind to make some plain mac n' cheese for her and they were so patient. Also, our food was delicious! Highly recommend.

Tags: Bar Seating, Family Style, Happy Hour, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

It was a fun evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Had a great time except waitress brought one wrong entree. Decided to keep it. It was delicious, just not what was ordered

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The music was too loud . Could not have any meaningful conversation.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a very nice visit for Sunday Brunch. Two of us have been before & always look forward to a return visit. Our friend loved it & loved her Brunch pizza. The tacos are amazing as was the veggie burger and our wine. Great service, very friendly and helpful. Love the atmosphere of this place.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Organic, Fun, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Decided on dinner close by with friends. Ordered the tots which were very good, just a little cold. I ordered the steak and cheese and the mashed as a side, it definitely hit the spot. The service was very speedy and always around when needed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Five Horses is a solid neighborhood bar and restaurant. No airs, good comfort food, great beer list, friendly staff. We'll be back!

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Always great food, drinks, service and staff! The Brussels sprouts will change your life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 23, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised after a noon time lunch at the tavern. Clean and comfortable, it was even warm enough the open up the large windows that look out onto Columbus Ave. Many people took advantage of the sun streaming in and sat at the hightops near the open windows. My Tavern chili was excellent - some of the best chili I have ever had! My buddy had a cod sandwich and said it was also delicious. I can't wait ti go back!

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Music much too loud in dining area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 19, 2017

I've been to Five Horses multiple time and to both locations, unfortunately, I was very disappointed with my latest brunch there. The last two times the service has been less than stellar and on Sunday we were virtually ignored. I like the location, ambiance etc., but the food this time was almost unedible.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great food! We ordered steak and cheese sandwich, fish sandwich, tacos and the veggie burger. All were excellent! Our server was terrific too. But the noise level on a Saturday night was intense. Not the place for quiet conversations.

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went here for Galentines Day! Food was great and the Sangria was a crowd pleaser!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was awesome, service was good. Pleasant, friendly server. Would definitely go back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great beer selection, food was good (tacos were excellent), could accommodate a party of 9.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Casual, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Hadn't been in a while and pleasantly surprised. The food and service were great. Loved the tacos.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was OK. Pulled pork sandwich with chimichurri sauce was literally that: pork, sauce, roll. They forgot to put in our pretzel order as starter. When we pointed that out, they were apologetic, comped us the pretzel, claimed they were slammed. But it was 5pm on a Sunday and the place was only half full. It wasn't bad, but it was a pretty 'meh' experience. Not worth going out of your way for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.