About Five Horses Tavern - South End

535 Columbus Ave
Boston, MA 02118
View Larger Map

Our second location! Five Horses Tavern is built on craft beers from around the world. Offering 40 rotating drafts and 50 bottles. Our kitchen serves locally sourced modern American comfort food with many vegetarian options.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday: 11:30AM - 12:00AM
Saturday & Sunday: 10:00AM-12:00AM

Cross Street:
Claremont Park

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 936-3930

Website:
http://fivehorsestavern.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Five Horses Tavern - South End Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

neighborhood gem (54)
fit for foodies (43)
good for groups (42)
See All
great for outdoor dining (41)
great for brunch (41)
great for lunch (30)
vibrant bar scene (18)
hot spot (18)
special occasion (12)
kid-friendly (10)
late-night find (6)
notable wine list (5)
romantic (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
123 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

This is my second visit to Five Horses, ...

Dined 4 days ago

This is my second visit to Five Horses, but first to South End and first for dinner. My prior experience was brunch in Davis Square and that was amazing!! However, my most recent visit for dinner in the South End was just ok. I found the corn bread to be soggy, almost undercooked; the pretzel somewhat bland; and the pork belly and cajun fish tacos just ok. The pork belly was a little hard to chew through. The service and vibe are very good, so I will probably give it another chance for dinner and will definitely go back for brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five Horses South End has been a favorit ...

Dined 5 days ago

Five Horses South End has been a favorite of mine for dinner or drinks for awhile, but I finally made it to brunch and I'm sold!! It had something for everyone, all of which was fantastic, the drinks so creative and good, and the price is reasonable. We were able to sit for over 2 hours and not feel rushed. Such a lovely visit!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food. Great outdoor seating ar ...

Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food. Great outdoor seating area.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to be with family and friend ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Great place to be with family and friends! Beer menu is awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

They do it right. Creative approaches t ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

They do it right. Creative approaches to favorite dishes. Quality ingedients. Prepared exquisitly. Flawless service. The way every dining experience should be.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

Interestingly, we planned our business m ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Interestingly, we planned our business meeting at 4 PM on a Saturday, thinking that it would be relatively quiet and we could engage in business discussions. Big mistake - not by Five Horses as I would definitely return because it is a great bar but because of the ambient noise. It was very difficult to hear all of the 16 participants and the wait staff was definitely not accustomed to business meetings (interuptive, irritated by our requests). Nonetheless, it was our mistake to suggest this venue for a business meeting. For a tavern, we are there!

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I've eaten there about 5 times in the pa ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

I've eaten there about 5 times in the past two years and once at the Somerville location. Food is unique and quite good, bar ( for beer drinkers ) is great, wine choices OK. Loud and a bit cramped. Easy to get to by T and usually can find parking on Columbus.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I made a reservation as a surprise party ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

I made a reservation as a surprise party for my partner's birthday. The staff was incredibly supportive of our needs and helped make it a great surprise.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent corn bread and crabcakes. Serv ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Excellent corn bread and crabcakes. Service just right. No rush perfect for a small get other.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice surprise on a local's suggestion

Dined on June 3, 2016

We must have looked lost because a stranger asked if we needed directions. I told him we were trying to find a spot to get a drink and a little bite to eat before the Boston Pop's. He recommended Five Horses Tavern, and we were delightfully surprised! We're crab cake snobs and think they have the best. Oh, and the cornbread is a MUST GET! A few night later we went again before the Sox played. Just as good and the waitress remembered us.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Tots!

Dined on May 29, 2016

The tots were absolutely amazing! My friends warned me about them but I wasn't prepared. And then I didn't want to stop eating them. But watch out! When they say Cajun or blackened, they really mean it! I had to send my fish taco back cause I couldn't take the heat!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great location. Wait staff was very frie ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Great location. Wait staff was very friendly & accommodating. They quickly noted when glasses needed refilling or plates need to be removed. Food was very good. Appetizers arrived in reasonable time. Entrees seemed a bit slow to arrive, especially given they were not particularly busy yet, and we ordered basic fare. Overall, solid, after work, de-stressing experience!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

South End's bar/restaurant down the street

Dined on May 19, 2016

The sangria cannot be beat, and the pitcher of sangria is even better!!!!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great lunch spot for GF and Vegetarians.

Dined on May 18, 2016

Had a wonderful lunch here with a coworker and friend. Service was amazing - both the hostess and our server were helpful with recommendations and checking on us. Plenty of gluten free and vegetarian options - perfect spot for a relaxed lunch. We'll come back for the beer and wine lists as well!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4

Fabulous burger

Dined on May 16, 2016

Fabulous burger

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The meatloaf sandwich was a bit heavy, b ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The meatloaf sandwich was a bit heavy, but delicious. Impressive beer/wine selection, and delicious cocktails. Crab cake appetizer was a little small but was cooked well and tasted great. Fast service, never had to flag down a waiter/waitress for a drink refill, they were ready just as the glass was being finished. Amazing quality for the relative low-cost compared to other restaurants in the area. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family Dinner before Pops Concert

Dined on May 6, 2016

Great spot, easy walking distance to Mass Ave and Huntington Ave. Fantastic beer selections. Service was great and everyone enjoyed their meals. Placed was packed with waiting line outside so recommend making reservations.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great find, great beer, great food.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Not knowing the area, we took a shot in the dark at this place due it's proximity to the symphony hall. It was a good find! I would go back again when in that part of town.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We both wanted the Hangar steak and they ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

We both wanted the Hangar steak and they were out of it @ 6 PM on a Thursday. The cod I had was OK, but nothing to write home about. My husband had the ribs and they did not come off the bone so assume under cooked. Burgers looked great so we think that we will try those next time! Staff is great as always and if your into beer they have an extensive list.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Get the cornbread!!

Dined on May 5, 2016

I was there on a Thursday at 5:30 with a group of nine. The place isn't very big, and it was kind of busy so I think that if we didn't have a reservation it would have been hard to get all of us seated. It is a cozy place but I did not feel crowded or cramped even with the large party. The service was great. Everyone was friendly and attentive. The food got mixed reviews. A few people ordered the ribs and shared some around, I didn't try them myself but, all six people who did said that they were too salty. No one was able to finish the whole plate of them. Most of the food was fine but nothing special. But there were a few exceptions. Everyone liked the haus pretzel. And the corn bread was a big hit. We were all talking about how good it was the next day. The phrase 'best corn bread I've ever had' was used more than once. I think the secret is butter. If you go, definitely get some. I don't think I would go back here for dinner but it would be a good place to go for drinks and appetizers with friends.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Five Horses was a Great Find

Dined on April 20, 2016

Went for a mid-week dinner. We are new to the neighborhood and wanted to start trying out places close to us. The restaurant was hopping and noisy, but that did not detract from our meal. Five H. had 40 beers on tap. The waitress was great at making a recommendation after I described the type of beer I enjoyed. The Trillium Fort Point Pale Ale was a winner, as was my pan-roasted chicken breast with great vegetables. My friend had the Kentucky-fried Cornish game hen - also wonderful. Service was well-paced and pleasant. We'll be back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, lots of draft beer choices a ...

Dined on April 6, 2016

Great food, lots of draft beer choices and great atmosphere!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best brunch discovery in Boston

Dined on March 27, 2016

I've had dinner at the Five Horses Tavern, but never brunch. For Easter Sunday I was able to get a reservation which was a pleasant surprise. The service was amazing, the Bloody Mary was spicy and delicious and the food was outstanding. We were a party of 4 and we all shared our very different dishes. Each had distinct ingredients and flavors and all were delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Best beer selection around!

Dined on March 18, 2016

I am a beer geek and this is the best selection I am aware of in the area. The food is always great and they always have an interesting spin on traditional plates. Service is excellent. The space is small, so it can be tough to get in. The noise level can get high on weekends.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Brunch

Dined on March 13, 2016

I appreciate the vegan options, great beer selection!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

My second time here and once again our s ...

Dined on March 7, 2016

My second time here and once again our server was funny, attentive and knowledgeable. The food is fantastic (you want the fresh baked pretzel!) and definitely affordable. I mean apps entrees and drinks for 2 people well under $100 what's not to like? So glad this place was recommended. Can't wait to go back!

food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Not an impressive brunch

Dined on March 6, 2016

I went to Five Horses Tavern for brunch, and was unpleased with the meal selections. They were all very heavy for brunch, and the menu lacked lighter options. They didn't have any omelets, which is a brunch staple for many. A lot of the meals included fried food, also a tough go for brunch.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

A great pub. Excellent beer on tap and g ...

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

A great pub. Excellent beer on tap and good casual fare. Service is relaxed when the place is busy.

food4
ambience4
service4

The loaded tots were awesome - only slig ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

The loaded tots were awesome - only slightly over baked but delicious all the same!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great spot

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Five Horses has been delicious every time I go. The waitstaff is friendly & attentive, the food is delicious and of a good variety, and there is an excellent cocktail/beer selection.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Open mind. Happy palate.

Dined on January 23, 2016

With menu items such as "heart surgeon", this place is not for the health conscious. I recently had brunch at this restaurant and was excited by the menu options and flavor combinations. I ordered "the censored" and my dining companion had the "southern comfort"; we shared and order of the "donut holes". I have to say that it was a bit sodium heavy. The salty pork belly (which wasn't exactly a 'hash') competed with the cheesy saltiness of the grits. I eyed my friend's plate in search of the fried chicken that was cleverly hidden beneath a generous pool of sausage gravy - visually, it was less appealing than my own dish. We both enjoyed the well-done donut holes and generous refills of coffee and tea. We were also allowed ample time to chit-chat after we had finished our meal, so I have to commend the staff on their accommodating service. While I appreciated my meal, I would not order the same dish if I returned to the restaurant

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great for Brunch

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

Really creative and very delicious brunch. Good service and fun atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Nice Dinner, excellent restaurant

Dined on January 17, 2016

Took my son on his first night in Boston, he is starting college, it was a great choice, wonderful food, nice funky atmosphere, good service. Of special note, the cucumber salad was GREAT, and the ribs were perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great brunch

vip
Dined on January 9, 2016

Had a swell brunch here on Saturday . Loved the cheese grits with eggs and porkbelly , you gotta try it ! The service was attentive and friendly and professional too.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience4
service4

Great southern style food!

vip
Dined on January 8, 2016

Great southern style food!

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great dinner and time at the Ta ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

We had a great dinner and time at the Tavern. We're so excited that there's a location in the South End now.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great service!

Dined on December 19, 2015

Had a fantastic experience last week. The food was excellent and the servers were all wonderful and accommodating a larger group with additional people coming and going.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food, coffee, and Bloody Marys. By ...

Dined on December 19, 2015

Great food, coffee, and Bloody Marys. By far my favorite brunch place in Boston!

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Quick bite on a rainy night.

vip
Dined on December 17, 2015

Service was very good. Three of us, we had Fish Taco, 90 Mile and Chicken Sandwich. Food was good, great beer selection. Not fantastic but good enough to go back.-

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Lively, Loud, and Long List of Beers

Dined on December 16, 2015

If you're looking for a strong list of beers, wines, and mixed drinks - you've found it. The food options are plentiful. We had an awesome round table in a corner booth which was perfect for our party of 9. Loved both this location and the location in Somerville.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.