About Five Horses Tavern - Davis Square

400 Highland Ave
Somerville, MA 02144
View Larger Map

Five Horses Tavern is conveniently located in Davis Square, walking distance of the Red Line, Somerville Theater, Tufts University, Davis Square Theater and Porter Square.

Our mission is to serve modern American comfort food, incorporating locally sourced ingredients, with many vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options. Our friendly staff will make a memorable experience whether you join us for lunch, dinner or our highly acclaimed weekend brunch.

We are a fantastic venue for hosting large groups and intimate dinners. Our Bar offers a wide variety of craft beers from around the world, boasting 37 draft beers, 120 bottles, signature cocktails and a thoughtfully selected wine list.

Join us on the patio or saddle up to the bar and admire our selection of over 150 bourbons and whiskies from around the globe.

Reservations are recommended, however walk-ins are always welcome!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
OPEN
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:00am
Saturday: 10:00am - 1:00am
Sunday: 10:00am - 12:00am

KITCHEN
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 12:00am
Saturday: 10:00am - 12:00am
Sunday: 10:00am - 11:00pm

BRUNCH
Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:30pm

Cross Street:
Grove St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 764-1655

Website:
http://fivehorsestavern.com/davis-square

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Five Horses Tavern - Davis Square, Somerville, MA
Five Horses Tavern - Davis Square, Somerville, MA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Join us for brunch this Christmas Eve! We're open at 10am with our full menu, and we're closing at 4pm to spend the night with friends and family. Join us on Christmas at 6pm as we reopen the doors for a night of fun!

Christmas Day Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 25, 2016

Details

Join us on Christmas at 6pm as we reopen the doors! Bring the family in (or ditch them) and enjoy one of our selection from kitchen and full bar. Your new toys can wait, the real party is right here in Davis Square!

Five Horses Tavern - Davis Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (19)
Great for Brunch (18)
Fun (18)
See All
Good for Groups (18)
Casual (18)
Great Beer (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Fireplace (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Cozy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Live Sports (4)
Vegan (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Authentic (3)
People Watching (3)
Seasonal (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Romantic (2)
Healthy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Business Meals (1)
Tapas (1)
Historic (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
215 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My friend and I went there for brunch. T ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

My friend and I went there for brunch. The food was okay but nothing too great. The brunch options were quite limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

We waited 20 minutes before our waitress ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

We waited 20 minutes before our waitress took our drink and food order, and another 15 minutes before we got our drinks. The food was expensive for the quality of food. This was my first time there after being told it was a great place, not impressed by service or food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Great as always. Great menu. Great food. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great as always. Great menu. Great food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Review posted on Yelp.

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Review posted on Yelp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Did a great job of handling a party of 6 ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Did a great job of handling a party of 6 with 2 children. While not the most kid-friendly place, the restaurant staff was more than accommodating when altering dishes for tiny palates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing and the only compla ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was amazing and the only complaint that I have was they were out of The Breakfast Club. My boyfriend was disappointed and chose Shakshuka by default. He was very happy with this decision and cannot complain that he tried something different on the menu.

Tags: Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have come to Five Horses a number of t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I have come to Five Horses a number of times, but on this occasion we were there for my fiancee's birthday with a party of 12 and they could not have been more accommodating. The food/drinks are always excellent, but the service was particularly fantastic this time around with our large group, and when I asked our waiter about bringing a dessert w/ candle for a birthday song they were more than happy to oblige.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Fun, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We knew nothing about this place other t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We knew nothing about this place other than it was near the Somerville Theater and had received decent Yelp reviews. The menu is great - versatile filled with interesting dishes, from comfort food, casual dishes, to what we ordered, Salmon and Hanger Steak. The food was cooked perfect to order, and our requests to have the food prepared more clean (sauces on the side, not glazes, etc...) were handled as expected. The bar did great on our drinks as well.

Our server was right on it, helpful with the menu, attentive and careful to get our order with its minor modifications correct.

It's worth the visit.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Despite Davis Square being a nightmare t ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Despite Davis Square being a nightmare to park - and Saturday evening with a local show in the area as an additional challenge, I would definitely return to Five Horses Tavern. Due to the parking challenge, we were 30 minutes late for our reservation - our table was held with 'no problem', our fantastically-friendly waiter Tyler was fun, knowledgeable and attentive - the menu variety and service was great despite the overflowing tables - and the portions were plentiful. The experience left a great impression and, next time I am willing to brave the parking challenge, we will definitely come here.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Casual, Cozy, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed this restaurant - I've ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I really enjoyed this restaurant - I've been here a couple times and the service is very friendly and attentive. The food is delicious - I had the kale salad and the baja taco. And a really great selection of beer. Our server recommended the Single Cut IPA and it was the perfect choice!

I'll be here again!

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time I've tried this ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This is the second time I've tried this place for brunch, and it will be the last. The service is really lacking in attention (no milk for coffee, which finally arrived after asking three separate people, and other small things like that) and the food borders on terrible. The quinoa porridge is so sweet it is inedible, waffles came out burned. It's a real shame. The same place in the south end is a fantastic place for brunch; this one seems chaotic and focused on catering to students, so quality of food and service suffers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

Went here for my boyfriend's birthday. T ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Went here for my boyfriend's birthday. The food was incredible and there was a good selection of beers. Also loved the unique decorations.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Very loud pub scene, menu is not extensi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Very loud pub scene, menu is not extensive but covers a lot of interesting options from a deliciously dessert-like cornbread appetizer to salmon dinners and a surprisingly fresh vegetable curry dish. Craft beer selection is fantastic including some hard to find choices and even a cask ale. Casual but nice atmosphere, equestrian theme/English pub. Great service and friendly. Nice whiskey list too. Clean and comfortable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Fun, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Casual, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good food, beer and atmosphere. Staff wa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Good food, beer and atmosphere. Staff was polite and patient.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice restaurant with a HUGE selection of ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Nice restaurant with a HUGE selection of craft beers (draft and bottle) as well as an extensive liquor list. Food was good and had a nice selection to accommodate both the carnivores and vegetarian in our family of 4. Unfortunately one item really sticks with us in the aftermath... My wife ordered a (labeled) spicy taco dish... It lived up to it's billing so she asked for some sour cream. The waitress returned to inform us that they don't have sour cream after brunch. ??? Really odd considering there were several spicy taco dishes listed and I had a burrito. We are easygoing diners so when she asked if she would like some creamy salad dressing instead we said yes. She returned with a little glass container with the dressing and all were happy.

The part that was irritating was upon returning home I notice an extra line item for $.50 for "Extra Dressing"... Seriously??? I have a $142.00 tab and you tack on an extra $.50 for some salad dressing (which was a fill in for the actual desired item)! Obviously it's not the amount... but I have NEVER seen something like that in all my years... If I had asked for water with lemon, would there have been an additional charge for "Extra Fruit"?

Not sure if that is their policy with everything... but it was in seriously bad taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We loved this restaurant. It had an awes ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We loved this restaurant. It had an awesome selection of craft beers and the food was spectacular. Even when they made an error in my daughter's meal, they quickly corrected the mistake causing no real delay.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The power went out halfway through our m ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The power went out halfway through our meal and no one came to talk to us. We had to find the server and ask for our checks. The manager came over and asked us to pay on one card because 'it's harder to run multiple cards on the manual machine' no one ever apologized for the atmosphere or even talked to us about it. It was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

I've been to the one in South End a few ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 1, 2016

I've been to the one in South End a few times. This was my first time at Davis square. The food was good, ambiance is great for casual friendly get-togehter or even a date. I always make it a point to get their cornbread which is Amazing !

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Groups, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very tasty food, great atmosphere. Food ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Very tasty food, great atmosphere. Food prices were a little high, but not too far out of line with Davis prices.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Modern Decor, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Five horses never disappoints, at either ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Five horses never disappoints, at either location. Went to the Davis square spot recently for a birthday brunch with 14 people. They easily accommodated us, service was good considering the size of our group, food was amazing as always. It can get pricey, but the portions are big so splitting is definitely an option. Beer list is perfect for craft enthusiests! Our vegetarian friends also appreciated the menu.

Tags: Great Beer, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Chose this restaurant because it seemed ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Chose this restaurant because it seemed accommodating to food allergies, which it was. The disappointment was in both dishes I ordered - the quinoa porridge with the nut crumble was a LOT of whole nuts - nothing crumbled, and barely any quinoa. My guest ordered the same dish, but is allergic to certain nuts and was unaware of how many nuts came with the dish - so much so that even if she picked them out, she would have had barely any quinoa porridge to eat.

The staff was definitely accommodating when she asked for a different dish.

I also ordered a side of hash browns, which weren't anything special and lacked a good crispy texture and flavor, so the brunch was not satisfying in any way. The service was great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Great Bloody Mary's for behnch

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great Bloody Mary's for behnch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Food and value were excellent. Great ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Food and value were excellent. Great beer selection and solid service. Very loud on a Friday night visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Good vegetarian options

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Good vegetarian options

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Menu has something for everyone. Perfect ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Menu has something for everyone. Perfect for a group of people with different tastes.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Nothing special. Slow to sit us at table ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Nothing special. Slow to sit us at table even though we had a reservation. Sever was not attentive. Not many brunch options, food is ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

This restaurant has so much potential. I ...

 
 (Ireland)·Dined on October 6, 2016

This restaurant has so much potential. I like the space and the fact it opens up in the street but the food is quite uninteresting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Frequent stop for quality food. Always l ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Frequent stop for quality food. Always leave satisfied!

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I liked all the choices on the menu. I ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I liked all the choices on the menu. I had the chicken on a waffle. It was a bit dry. I would have liked more mustard. The waiter was attentive but not very friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Excellent experience. Good selections. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Excellent experience. Good selections. Great Service. We had a very nice time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The ambience of the place was vibrant a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The ambience of the place was vibrant and fun. Great place for a date night or get together. The food was excellent and the waiter was helpful in recommending food options. I am definitely going back soon.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I wanted to meet up with some friends in ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I wanted to meet up with some friends in Davis square and picked this place- we loved it! Definitely a little noisy, but we went during a Red Sox game so that's to be expected. It wasn't so loud that we couldn't hear each other. Great selection of drinks, and great mix of classic and more interesting food. Think upscale pub grub. Definitely recommend, but be aware of sporting events!

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was my first visit to the restauran ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 25, 2016

This was my first visit to the restaurant. We had a reservation for 9:15 and were seated right on time. This place was packed, so I was happy that we were seated on time. That almost never happens. There was a football game down the street, so I'm not sure if that had something to do with how busy it was. The food was excellent. There were 5 of us in the group. We had the hanger steak salad, salmon, fried chicken, and steak tacos. The steak tacos were ok. The spice was a bit too much, but everything else was delish! It was pretty loud in the restaurant because of how many people were in there, but I would definitely go back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food and beer list, but often dark ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great food and beer list, but often dark and much too noisy.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

This was a Thursday night date night wit ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 15, 2016

This was a Thursday night date night with the wife, the restaurant was packed, and noisy. There were several TVs showing both Football, and baseball so that was another distraction. The server was prompt and attentive, and the food came quickly once ordered. The cheese and heirloom tomato plate was delicious and the burgers were meaty and messy. Outside of the noise I would go back here for the great beer selections and great comfort food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

I always love Five Horses for beer or di ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I always love Five Horses for beer or dinner. I took a leap in ordering the quinoa porridge which I do not recommend, but I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

We went there for Sunday brunch and we e ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We went there for Sunday brunch and we each had a fantastic omelet. Great place for a relaxing meal. There was outdoor seating but we opted for the open air table inside. Our server was pleasant and attentive.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

This is a regular haunt of mine and my h ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 30, 2016

This is a regular haunt of mine and my housemates'. The food is pretty good, but the tater tots are exceptional; and the beer menu is nice and broad.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I usually really enjoy 5 Horses Tavern i ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 30, 2016

I usually really enjoy 5 Horses Tavern in Davis Square, but lately the food has gone down hill. This most recent occasion, myself and three friends met there for dinner. Service was great, and of course the beer selection is fantastic. But ALL four of us, our meals were overcooked. One of my regular choices there is the fried chicken salad...this is the second time its been way overcooked. My friend's burger was well done (asked for medium rare), the special hawaiin rice dish - the pork was rubber... This was the third time that has happened to me.

disappointing to see it go down hill in the kitchen. Used to be one of the best values in Davis Square..will probably just go there for drinks in the future.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The menu is quite interesting, not your ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The menu is quite interesting, not your usual fare. But the food was amazing. The server was really helpful and found for us a new cider that we loved. We're going back as soon as we can.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.