Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

About Five Horses Tavern - Davis Square

Five Horses Tavern is conveniently located in Davis Square, walking distance of the Red Line, Somerville Theater, Tufts University, Davis Square Theater and Porter Square.

Our mission is to serve modern American comfort food, incorporating locally sourced ingredients, with many vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options. Our friendly staff will make a memorable experience whether you join us for lunch, dinner or our highly acclaimed weekend brunch.

We are a fantastic venue for hosting large groups and intimate dinners. Our Bar offers a wide variety of craft beers from around the world, boasting 37 draft beers, 120 bottles, signature cocktails and a thoughtfully selected wine list.

Join us on the patio or saddle up to the bar and admire our selection of over 150 bourbons and whiskies from around the globe.

Reservations are recommended, however walk-ins are always welcome!

400 Highland Ave
Somerville, MA 02144
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
OPEN
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:00am
Saturday: 10:00am - 1:00am
Sunday: 10:00am - 12:00am

KITCHEN
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 12:00am
Saturday: 10:00am - 12:00am
Sunday: 10:00am - 11:00pm

BRUNCH
Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:30pm

Cross Street:
Grove St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 764-1655

Website:
http://fivehorsestavern.com/davis-square

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Five Horses Tavern - Davis Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (30)
Comfort Food (26)
Good for a Date (25)
See All
Great for Brunch (23)
Fun (23)
Casual (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for Groups (18)
Bar Seating (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Happy Hour (10)
Cozy (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
People Watching (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Fireplace (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Live Sports (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Authentic (5)
Healthy (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Vegan (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Spicy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Family Style (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (2)
Romantic (1)
Tapas (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Business Meals (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
276 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined 2 days ago

Great spot (quiet back table), fabulous service, and yummy food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Loved the food - my date and I shared a salad and pizza. Very good pinot noir! Very popular and, unfortunately, the server was swamped, but well-intentioned. One Big Complaint- the noise level was deafening! So loud, I would not go there on a romantic date.

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service and great food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

I've been to Five Horses many times. The beer list is fantastic but the food is just okay. I have ordered many different menu items that were all mediocre. The burger is the best thing on the menu, IMO.

Yesterday I ordered the mushroom taco for the first time and it was horrible (bitter, otherwise no flavor). The fish taco tasted okay but a liquid rush of juice from whatever they put into it ran out of the taco and down my arm -- more than once. Yesterday's food experience may have put the nail in the coffin. I doubt I'll return anytime soon.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for brunch on easter. My daughter left her sunglasses by accident. Went back the next day and the hostess said yes, someone turned in a pair but now they are missing. Apparently an employee is now enjoying them. I'll pass on returning there. Not about to tip a server who stole from my daughter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had the tavern chili, good flavor a little watery. Also shared the falafel wrap a bit dry could use more sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food and service. Cornbread appetizer is outstanding and fun and varied menu with something for everyone is sure to please wife ranging tastes and diets. Lively bar scene, too!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We were starving when we arrived. The pretzels are great- they are served with cheese and mustard spreads. The mustard is hot although tasty- at least to me. We had an array of sandwiches and the curry. The curry like the mustard was very hot- too much so for some at our table. Unfortunately the kitchen was liberal with the mustard on the sandwiches which turned off some of our diners, as it seemed to be used too frequently across dishes and was too spicy for some diners. Prior to ordering we specifically asked the staff about the level of spice used in various dishes and were told that the kitchen does not favor use of heavy spices. This is incorrect. I have eaten the spiciest curries in indian restaurants domestically and internationally and can attest the kitchen has a heavy hand. I like spicy foods but my colleagues did not enjoy their dinners. Although the tater tots were prepared properly, we would have preferred chips or fries. The dessert list was too limited and boring. A decent array of beer is available

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food was amazing. Taste and presentation were top notch. Portion sizes were great. Steak was cooked perfectly which surprised us given the vegan friendliness of the menu. Server seemed grumpy and was quiet with us and the table next to us. Entrees came before we had finished our appetizers, which made the table feel cluttered. Otherwise, ambiance is fun, young, vibrant. Overall a great dining experience.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Fun atmosphere. Good cocktails. The food was average.

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Awesome place for brunch! Definitely make a reservation if you can. Good cocktails and beer selection. Try the mimosa flight!

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Food wasn't exceptional but a decent value. The naked mac and cheese allows choice of mix ins, a nice touch. We were satisfied but not wowed. The fruit cobbler is bland, gritty and almost tasteless.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 21, 2017

This place serves consistently solid food and drink, and is uniquely good for private conversations: unlike most pubs, it is not too loud to hear each other, but there is enough background noise (and space between tables) that the next party over probably will not overhear personal details about your lives.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Had some difficulty obtaining an adequate table for my friend who has CP and a service dog. They did make accommodations. It was St. Patricks day weekend. Service was fair. Waiter was an air head and very slow. When we went to pay the bill instead of spliting it between the two cards he dropped one and did not realize it. Because I had an excellent previous experience I would recommend the restaurant. The food is excellent with a great beer and liquor menu.

Tags: Casual, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I went to Five Horse Tavern with my boyfriend for his birthday. We ordered wings to start, which were really great - my boyfriend thought they were some of the best he had ever had! For our meal, I ordered the veggie/vegan burger with jalapeno mashed potatoes. I thought the veggie burger was so good - definitely homemade. The jalapeno mashed potatoes also were really good. My boyfriend ordered the burger with a salad, and he really enjoyed it. Our waitress was a little awkward, but we both thought the restaurant had a nice feel. We would definitely make another reservation here.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

we were there for sunday brunch. the food arrived heat and quick. the service was helpful and prompt. however we felt rushed to finish our meal and clear the table. will try it again

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Stopped in for a quick bite to eat on a Friday night. Drinks were good and service was fast. Our appetizers were good but the mac and cheese wasn't quite​ on par with some of the other places in the area. Definitely a good place for drinks and great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Always good food and a good time, only thing I would recommend would be to make a reservation because it's impossible to get a seat without one!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was either unbelievably dry and tasteless, or, in the case of the quinoa porridge, inedibly sweet. Like, soaked-in-liquer-or-something-overnight sweet. When we handed the porridge back to the waitress, almost entirely uneaten, she didn't bat an eye. Clearly, they are used to people not eating their food. Love how the menu calls out veggie and gluten-free items, and a lot of the stuff on the menu sounds creative and delicious, but don't be fooled. I won't be going back for food ever again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was satisfying and service was great, BUT it was so cold that we had to put our jackets since we sat close to the entrance and they open the door like every the other minute.. It was simply not pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I wish Five Horses was a consistent experience, but that's just not the case. The level of service varies so greatly from server to server, from woefully poor to exceptional. On this occasion, we waited a significant period of time to have our order taken, had over half the meal eaten before our server asked how anything was/if we needed anything, and our server passed by us 7 times when we needed a beverage refill. Fortunately, her colleagues helped pick up the slack so it wasn't a total dumpster fire.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Everyone loved their dishes. Great menu variety and quality across the board. Definitely will be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I got their chicken and waffles, which I think was called "The Breakfast Club" and it was literally the best breakfast i've ever eaten. We also got a flight of mimosas, which I didn't even know existed, and that was also awesome. Great beer list, and excellent service as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Casual, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Love this place! Everything I've tried has been delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We ate at 5 horses before an event at the Somerville theater. We were able to make a reservation. Our table was ready. Service was prompt. Great beer selection. Menu is fresh and current but not overwhelming in the "too many choices" way. Everything we ordered was great and exceeded expectations. We will go again!

Tags: Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Five Horses is my favorite brunch spot in Davis. Whether a party of 2 or 8, they always make me and my friends feel welcome. The brunch menu is amazing and each time I go back, I feel the need to try something new. The brunch cocktails, including the mimosa flight, are a wonderful compliment to the food. Five Horses is now my go-to brunch spot. Love love love this place!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We had a blast!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Amazing brunch! Must try the mimosa flight. I had crab cakes and the donuts holes. Both were amazing.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We've probably eaten here 20 times and it's been great every time. Cool, casual place with a diverse menu that has a lot of fun choices and a helpful staff. We went this time for brunch, but have also gone for lunch and dinner. Noise level is high, but in a more fun way than an obnoxious way. Davis Square is also good area to walk around before or after.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Pretty much everything about Five Horses was great during our visit. The wait staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. The food came quickly and there was no wait time for drinks. Our seating was comfortable and spacious, and we were able to hold conversations, even with what appeared to be a full house. We were celebrating a birthday and everyone had a terrific time. There were many patrons enjoying themselves by the bar, but we didn't feel rushed to give up our table and had adequate time for dinner and drinks. All in all, a really great time. Tip - the scallop risotto was fabulous and should be a regular menu item.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had a booth for 8 tucked in the back, perfect for our group. A collection of vegans, vegetarians and carnivores....every one of us found exactly what we wanted. Plus, one diner, our thespian son, was served before everyone so he could be stage-ready when we arrived to Tufts for the play. Warm, cozy, very VERY accommodating and the food was perfectly prepared and so delicious. This will be our new go-to in Davis Square, not just for special occasions but for a lovely setting to enjoy a wonderful meal. So happy we found you.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Five Horses Tavern offers a classy but fun experience. I took my friends here for a special reunion, and it was a great place! Great beer selection; love the flannel theme among the wait staff. Great service. Great area. GREAT all around, though portions could have been a little bigger!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Healthy, Spicy, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Interesting menu great beer selection but LOUD.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had dinner with my girlfriend. The service was okay, it seemed that everyone but our waitress was bringing out our food. One of the servers spilled some of my beer on the table as she handed it to me then didn't bother to clean it up. My girlfriend received an old-fashioned with no cherry. We asked for one but never received it.

The pork belly tacos were dripping with juice to the point of nearly being soggy. They were delicious, but I had to hurry and eat them.

The drunken wings, as always, were awesome.

Overall a decent night with a couple hiccups.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Cozy, Healthy, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Casual, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This place isn't fancy, but it's nice to go to if you live near by. Lots of comfort food!

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food was very good and we enjoyed the ambiance!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Waitress didn't know the menu well enough to waitress. Asked about ribs special was unsure of what that was and had to look at the menu. But pushed drinks, 1 was enough. Beer on draft wasn't great, tasted old. Didn't feel great after. Not the best place for a special date. Crowd looked like a college scene and age. Disappointed in overall experience.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great place for brunch. This place has a decent beer list and numerous dining options.

Tags: Great Beer, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Awesome food and attentive staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.