About Five Horses Tavern - Davis Square

400 Highland Ave
Somerville, MA 02144
View Larger Map

Five Horses Tavern is conveniently located in Davis Square, walking distance of the Red Line, Somerville Theater, Tufts University, Davis Square Theater and Porter Square.

Our mission is to serve modern American comfort food, incorporating locally sourced ingredients, with many vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options. Our friendly staff will make a memorable experience whether you join us for lunch, dinner or our highly acclaimed weekend brunch.

We are a fantastic venue for hosting large groups and intimate dinners. Our Bar offers a wide variety of craft beers from around the world, boasting 37 draft beers, 120 bottles, signature cocktails and a thoughtfully selected wine list.

Join us on the patio or saddle up to the bar and admire our selection of over 150 bourbons and whiskies from around the globe.

Reservations are recommended, however walk-ins are always welcome!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30AM - 1:00AM
Kitchen Open Nightly Until Midnight
Saturday & Sunday:
Brunch 10:00AM-3:30PM

Cross Street:
Grove St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 764-1655

Website:
http://fivehorsestavern.com/davis-square

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Five Horses Tavern - Davis Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (39)
Good for Groups (38)
Fit for Foodies (34)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (33)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Great for Lunch (29)
Hot Spot (23)
Special Occasion (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Kid-friendly (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Notable Wine List (3)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
174 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was the worst experience we have ev ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

This was the worst experience we have ever had here. We were seated right away, waited for 10 minutes for someone to come to the table, and more than 30 minutes for 2 drinks. Our waiter seemed rushed and overwhelmed, which wouldn't really have bothered us at all if the food was good. The food was AWFUL. EVERYTHING was over spiced and over sauced, and it was not hot. The meat was not fresh, not at all. The burger was smothered in some white sauce that was the texture of glue. The tacos were absolutely disgusting, sauce running down my arm disgusting. I would have sent it back but our server never returned to check on us or even refill our water. We have been coming here since it's been open and we have never had a bad experience. Hopefully when school is back in session the quality will improve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Great neighborhood restaurant. Fish tac ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great neighborhood restaurant. Fish taco was delicious; lots of good choices on the menu. We went on a Tuesday night and it was crowded but we were seated promptly, according to our reservation. It's a little loud, but really fun.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and drinks. We went for brunc ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food and drinks. We went for brunch and our group of four was satisfied with both the quality and quantity of the food. Lots of items offered, too, so there's something for everyone. Recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

The huge array of beer and liquor that y ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The huge array of beer and liquor that you can choose from is amazing, the food was quite good as well, as they chef's really knew how to spice up items that would ordinarily been seen as generic bar food. I will make a specific comment to the condiments, I have utter disdain for restaurants who skimp on simple things like ketchup or mayo, I know it saves money but it ruins the experience a little if I have to ask for extra condiments, as it feels embarrassing to me.

In this case, the server did not bring any more and we were left sitting there frustrated because of it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

The food and service were great. Will d ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The food and service were great. Will definitely go again.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love the brunch menu at Five Horses! ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We love the brunch menu at Five Horses! Not to mention the selection of unique cocktails makes it extra special! Our family consists of 5 adults, 2 toddlers and 1 infant so it isn't the easiest to deal with us. Our server was fantastic! She checked in on us often and accommodated a special request for one of the toddlers. I want to also mention, there was another server who loved kids and checked on us as well - they loved him! Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Brunch was fantastic and delicious. My o ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Brunch was fantastic and delicious. My only warning is that the portion size on some of the menu items is tremendous. The omelette could easily feed 3 people and the breakfast pizza could feed 4. It's great food but we felt guilty walking out with three huge boxes of leftovers.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great brunch spot! Sat at the bar, very ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great brunch spot! Sat at the bar, very good service and food was great!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

After mentioning that this was for my da ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

After mentioning that this was for my daughter's birthday, we were seated in the best spot there! Our waitress was excellent (can't remember exactly her name - Ashton ?) The food was delicious too! Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfecto!! ***** stars

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Perfecto!! ***** stars

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service! I was very pleas ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food and service! I was very pleased with everything.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

loved that we were able to bring our dog ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

loved that we were able to bring our dog and sit on the patio!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the atmosphere. Everyone seemed t ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Loved the atmosphere. Everyone seemed to be having a good time on this Friday night, and with all of the comfort food on the menu, can see why! Really enjoyed how they prepared the brussel sprouts side dish. St. Louis style ribs were very good, but BBQ sauce tasted a little sweet. Service was very attentive and timely. All around good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I attended a graduation dinner here. The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

I attended a graduation dinner here. The restaurant was very accommodating of our large party, and our server was patient, helpful, and very nice. She gave us suggestions as we needed them. The food was great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Not exactly what I thought but good anyway

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We were in town for graduation and I had looked at several restaurants in the area that could accommodate our group and the time we needed. From the website pictures, I thought the restaurant would be a bit fancier, not that the ambiance was bad by any means. The restaurant was able to accommodate our group at an earlier time than our reservation which was great. Everyone enjoyed their meal but it appears the chicken salad that a couple of people ordered did not get tossed with salad dressing. Our server brought the dressing but they had to ask several times before they received the amount they needed. We were also not aware that the restaurant did not serve any non-alcoholic beverages except water until we arrived and sat down to order.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We went to Five Horses for an early dinn ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We went to Five Horses for an early dinner over Tufts Graduation weekend. The Preakness was running and the place was packed and had a fun, energetic vibe. They were able to seat all 8 of us together on big bar stools and delivered food to all of us promptly - we had time constraints. Food a lot better than your typical brew pub offerings. A great find for our group and we'd definitely return for casual meal and beer tasting.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was overpriced and service was unex ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was overpriced and service was unexceptional. It took us a really long time to get drinks, and although the food was pretty good, the portions were really small for the price.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Nice brunch

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

More of a bar than a restaurant, Five Horse Tavern serves a decent brunch, especially if you need a Bloody Mary with that meal. We enjoyed the quinoa porridge, the chicken sandwich and the crab cakes. Even though the front windows were open, we were seated in the back where everything seems a little dark and dreary for brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Vegan options were great! Grazing Saddles pizza<3

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Our table was 1/2 vegan, 1/2 lactose intolerant, so we got the potato tacos w/ avocado. Very good, flour tortillas were big enough to make it easy to eat without contents falling out. LOVED the Grazing Saddles pizza (whipped tofu was like a dreamy flavorful ricotta!). Cocktails weren't as generous as most places, but maybe they do strict measuring to keep costs in line. Tasted good, but didn't last very long.

Great beer and wine selection too.

Making a reservation was key since this place packs up pretty quickly. The open windows on a nice day added to the ambience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not a place to go to watch sports. Littl ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Not a place to go to watch sports. Little fancier than originally thought. Good food, nice staff. Music choice was early 2000's rock. Tavern Burger was bomb 👌🏻

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Tasty

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We were told the cornbread was good. We ordered it and it was the best we ever had. The beer selection is outstanding as well. A great meal was had by all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great vibe

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

This is a high energy, fun spot! Wait staff is friendly, knowledgeable and timely.

food is great, really enjoyed myself. Can't wait to go back!

Davis square is fast moving and offers tons to do.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

5 Horses is a beer bar - always somethin ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

5 Horses is a beer bar - always something interesting on draft and lots of choices otherwise. Their entrees are rock solid, and their brunch options are awesome and filling. Sitting outside in the afternoon/evening is lovely because the sun is behind the building and you've got shade, a breeze, and lots of foot traffic to watch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Nice brunch location in Davis Square

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Great brunch food and ambience at the Davis Square restaurant. Really enjoyed the Shakshuka dish (if you like lamb, spicy food and eggs for brunch this is your dish especially with a side of hashbrowns). The crusted crab cakes with sunnyside eggs were also excellent. Really recommend this place.

Opentable policy at the Five Horses Tavern is a little odd. Was unfashionably early and arrived 25 minutes before our reservation. Weirdly the Hostess seated walk-ins that arrived while we waited and only offered to seat us at the reserved time. I did ask and was told this is the policy. Might work for the restaurant but not a very friendly approach. So if you're earlier than your reservation, I suggest trying the walk-in approach and see what gets you a table first.

The good food, ambience and good waiter service made up for a lackluster first impression.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great Date Night with the Wife!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

My wife and I went here on a date based on a recommendation. It was awesome. We asked to be seated near the fireplace, and the manager, Doug, hooked us up - what a sweetheart! My wife and I loved the spot we got, and the food was amazing. We both had curry, but I had the chili for an appetizer, and it was amazing. I am going to go back there just to have it again. The beer list is extensive and impressive. I personally like vodka, and they seemed to have many available to choose from - I prefer Grey Goose.

The servers were also polite and prompt and did a great job of being available but not in our face.

This place is a great spot in Davis square for a date or a drink with a friend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hip crowd hang out

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

We usually go to FIve Horses with our Millenial family members and their friends. They enjoy the selection of beers, the young, energetic vibe, and the comfort food served with a twist. The older family members also enjoy the food and drinks, while often feeling distinctly less hip than most of the other diners, but enjoying the cross-generational experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Delicious Brunch

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Went to brunch here on a whim and was heartily impressed. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. They had an impressive beer and wine list, and the brunch cocktail specials were varied and creative. I would love to come back here for lunch or dinner when I'm back in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We usually love the buttermilk tenders b ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We usually love the buttermilk tenders but this visit they were dry and not hot. Then we got charged extra for another 3 oz ramiken of sauce. We also waited 10 minutes for beers. Usually very happy. Hoping this isn't indicative of a downfall for a usually fine restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Good food with a great beer list.

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Good food with a great beer list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent brunch spot. The menu changes ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Excellent brunch spot. The menu changes frequently if you like to try new things. The french toast sticks are fantastic.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really had an outstanding time. I took m ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Really had an outstanding time. I took my now girlfriend here for a date and it was fantastic. Our waitstaff was friendly and patient. The food was excellent, try the mussels and pizza. Everything was just fantastic. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Kentucky Fried Cornish Game Hen: Enough Said

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

The title of this review would probably suffice, but here's some more: 5 Horses is one of the better hipster bars in a college town full of hipster charm (I say that lovingly as a hipster wannabe). Extensive beer menu, clever spins on reliable favorites (the KFCGH is a fantastic deal), and everybody wears plaid. It's a little dark and the place can get kinda loud, but the food is fantastic and the atmosphere is laid back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Great ambience. Love this place!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Great ambience. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Took my mom for brunch. Most of the food ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Took my mom for brunch. Most of the food was cold but tasty. The server was excellent. My mother liked it a lot and would like to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The menu has great variety and is very c ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

The menu has great variety and is very creative. The servers are always helpful and attentive. This place is great !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and ambiance was great, but the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

The food and ambiance was great, but the server was rushing us so that more people could be seated at our table. We weren't finished eating and were asked if we wanted a box to go.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Brunch party of 6

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

We had reservations for 10:45AM and did not end up leaving until 12:30PM. It took us about 10 minutes to order but then almost an hour to get our food. We kept commenting to each other on how long we had been waiting. The place was busy and food was constantly coming out onto the floor. The orange slices had no flavor. The toast was burnt. The music was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

brunch

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

delicious food. The club brunch sandwich was amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

What can you say about a place that has ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

What can you say about a place that has a glass door allowing you to view into a beer closet that is every man's man-cave dream? Their selection of beers is stunning. And the waiters know what they're talking about. The wine and beer menu looks the size of the food menu at most restaurants. And the food menu has been reduced to a single page presentation that resembles the wine list at most places. Tells you where the emphasis is right? Wrong! The food was delicious! Our party ordered four different dishes and each was superb. I ordered the duck burrito that was optionally plated as a rice bowl. Yum.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Top shelf Service

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

My friends and I were impressed with the level of service (Sara from Florida), as well as the selection on offer of beer and spirits. We had a few starters to eat, all were good! I'd recommend Five Horses Tavern in future.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.