About Five Horses Tavern - Davis Square

400 Highland Ave
Somerville, MA 02144
View Larger Map

Five Horses Tavern is conveniently located in Davis Square, walking distance of the Red Line, Somerville Theater, Tufts University, Davis Square Theater and Porter Square.

Our mission is to serve modern American comfort food, incorporating locally sourced ingredients, with many vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options. Our friendly staff will make a memorable experience whether you join us for lunch, dinner or our highly acclaimed weekend brunch.

We are a fantastic venue for hosting large groups and intimate dinners. Our Bar offers a wide variety of craft beers from around the world, boasting 37 draft beers, 120 bottles, signature cocktails and a thoughtfully selected wine list.

Join us on the patio or saddle up to the bar and admire our selection of over 150 bourbons and whiskies from around the globe.

Reservations are recommended, however walk-ins are always welcome!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30AM - 1:00AM
Kitchen Open Nightly Until Midnight
Saturday & Sunday:
Brunch 10:00AM-3:30PM

Cross Street:
Grove St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 764-1655

Website:
http://fivehorsestavern.com/davis-square

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Five Horses Tavern - Davis Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Boston
Best Restaurants in Somerville ›

good for groups (58)
fit for foodies (50)
vibrant bar scene (49)
See All
great for brunch (47)
neighborhood gem (46)
hot spot (32)
great for lunch (32)
late-night find (14)
special occasion (14)
great for outdoor dining (11)
kid-friendly (8)
romantic (5)
notable wine list (2)
Sort By:
Newest
164 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfecto!! ***** stars

Dined 3 days ago

Perfecto!! ***** stars

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service! I was very pleas ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food and service! I was very pleased with everything.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

loved that we were able to bring our dog ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

loved that we were able to bring our dog and sit on the patio!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the atmosphere. Everyone seemed t ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Loved the atmosphere. Everyone seemed to be having a good time on this Friday night, and with all of the comfort food on the menu, can see why! Really enjoyed how they prepared the brussel sprouts side dish. St. Louis style ribs were very good, but BBQ sauce tasted a little sweet. Service was very attentive and timely. All around good experience.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I attended a graduation dinner here. The ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

I attended a graduation dinner here. The restaurant was very accommodating of our large party, and our server was patient, helpful, and very nice. She gave us suggestions as we needed them. The food was great.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Not exactly what I thought but good anyway

Dined on May 22, 2016

We were in town for graduation and I had looked at several restaurants in the area that could accommodate our group and the time we needed. From the website pictures, I thought the restaurant would be a bit fancier, not that the ambiance was bad by any means. The restaurant was able to accommodate our group at an earlier time than our reservation which was great. Everyone enjoyed their meal but it appears the chicken salad that a couple of people ordered did not get tossed with salad dressing. Our server brought the dressing but they had to ask several times before they received the amount they needed. We were also not aware that the restaurant did not serve any non-alcoholic beverages except water until we arrived and sat down to order.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to Five Horses for an early dinn ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

We went to Five Horses for an early dinner over Tufts Graduation weekend. The Preakness was running and the place was packed and had a fun, energetic vibe. They were able to seat all 8 of us together on big bar stools and delivered food to all of us promptly - we had time constraints. Food a lot better than your typical brew pub offerings. A great find for our group and we'd definitely return for casual meal and beer tasting.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

Food was overpriced and service was unex ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was overpriced and service was unexceptional. It took us a really long time to get drinks, and although the food was pretty good, the portions were really small for the price.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Nice brunch

Dined on May 21, 2016

More of a bar than a restaurant, Five Horse Tavern serves a decent brunch, especially if you need a Bloody Mary with that meal. We enjoyed the quinoa porridge, the chicken sandwich and the crab cakes. Even though the front windows were open, we were seated in the back where everything seems a little dark and dreary for brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Vegan options were great! Grazing Saddles pizza<3

Dined on May 20, 2016

Our table was 1/2 vegan, 1/2 lactose intolerant, so we got the potato tacos w/ avocado. Very good, flour tortillas were big enough to make it easy to eat without contents falling out. LOVED the Grazing Saddles pizza (whipped tofu was like a dreamy flavorful ricotta!). Cocktails weren't as generous as most places, but maybe they do strict measuring to keep costs in line. Tasted good, but didn't last very long. Great beer and wine selection too. Making a reservation was key since this place packs up pretty quickly. The open windows on a nice day added to the ambience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Not a place to go to watch sports. Littl ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Not a place to go to watch sports. Little fancier than originally thought. Good food, nice staff. Music choice was early 2000's rock. Tavern Burger was bomb 👌🏻

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tasty

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were told the cornbread was good. We ordered it and it was the best we ever had. The beer selection is outstanding as well. A great meal was had by all.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great vibe

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is a high energy, fun spot! Wait staff is friendly, knowledgeable and timely. food is great, really enjoyed myself. Can't wait to go back! Davis square is fast moving and offers tons to do.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Nice brunch location in Davis Square

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Great brunch food and ambience at the Davis Square restaurant. Really enjoyed the Shakshuka dish (if you like lamb, spicy food and eggs for brunch this is your dish especially with a side of hashbrowns). The crusted crab cakes with sunnyside eggs were also excellent. Really recommend this place. Opentable policy at the Five Horses Tavern is a little odd. Was unfashionably early and arrived 25 minutes before our reservation. Weirdly the Hostess seated walk-ins that arrived while we waited and only offered to seat us at the reserved time. I did ask and was told this is the policy. Might work for the restaurant but not a very friendly approach. So if you're earlier than your reservation, I suggest trying the walk-in approach and see what gets you a table first. The good food, ambience and good waiter service made up for a lackluster first impression.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Date Night with the Wife!

Dined on April 25, 2016

My wife and I went here on a date based on a recommendation. It was awesome. We asked to be seated near the fireplace, and the manager, Doug, hooked us up - what a sweetheart! My wife and I loved the spot we got, and the food was amazing. We both had curry, but I had the chili for an appetizer, and it was amazing. I am going to go back there just to have it again. The beer list is extensive and impressive. I personally like vodka, and they seemed to have many available to choose from - I prefer Grey Goose. The servers were also polite and prompt and did a great job of being available but not in our face. This place is a great spot in Davis square for a date or a drink with a friend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Hip crowd hang out

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

We usually go to FIve Horses with our Millenial family members and their friends. They enjoy the selection of beers, the young, energetic vibe, and the comfort food served with a twist. The older family members also enjoy the food and drinks, while often feeling distinctly less hip than most of the other diners, but enjoying the cross-generational experience.

Tags: great for brunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious Brunch

Dined on April 24, 2016

Went to brunch here on a whim and was heartily impressed. The service was excellent and the food was delicious. They had an impressive beer and wine list, and the brunch cocktail specials were varied and creative. I would love to come back here for lunch or dinner when I'm back in the area.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service2

We usually love the buttermilk tenders b ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We usually love the buttermilk tenders but this visit they were dry and not hot. Then we got charged extra for another 3 oz ramiken of sauce. We also waited 10 minutes for beers. Usually very happy. Hoping this isn't indicative of a downfall for a usually fine restaurant.

food4
ambience4
service4

Good food with a great beer list.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Good food with a great beer list.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent brunch spot. The menu changes ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Excellent brunch spot. The menu changes frequently if you like to try new things. The french toast sticks are fantastic.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Really had an outstanding time. I took m ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Really had an outstanding time. I took my now girlfriend here for a date and it was fantastic. Our waitstaff was friendly and patient. The food was excellent, try the mussels and pizza. Everything was just fantastic. Highly recommend!

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Kentucky Fried Cornish Game Hen: Enough Said

Dined on April 18, 2016

The title of this review would probably suffice, but here's some more: 5 Horses is one of the better hipster bars in a college town full of hipster charm (I say that lovingly as a hipster wannabe). Extensive beer menu, clever spins on reliable favorites (the KFCGH is a fantastic deal), and everybody wears plaid. It's a little dark and the place can get kinda loud, but the food is fantastic and the atmosphere is laid back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service3

Great ambience. Love this place!

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great ambience. Love this place!

food4
ambience4
service5

Took my mom for brunch. Most of the food ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Took my mom for brunch. Most of the food was cold but tasty. The server was excellent. My mother liked it a lot and would like to go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

The menu has great variety and is very c ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

The menu has great variety and is very creative. The servers are always helpful and attentive. This place is great !

food5
ambience4
service2
value4

The food and ambiance was great, but the ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

The food and ambiance was great, but the server was rushing us so that more people could be seated at our table. We weren't finished eating and were asked if we wanted a box to go.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Brunch party of 6

Dined on April 3, 2016

We had reservations for 10:45AM and did not end up leaving until 12:30PM. It took us about 10 minutes to order but then almost an hour to get our food. We kept commenting to each other on how long we had been waiting. The place was busy and food was constantly coming out onto the floor. The orange slices had no flavor. The toast was burnt. The music was great.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

brunch

Dined on April 3, 2016

delicious food. The club brunch sandwich was amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service4

What can you say about a place that has ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

What can you say about a place that has a glass door allowing you to view into a beer closet that is every man's man-cave dream? Their selection of beers is stunning. And the waiters know what they're talking about. The wine and beer menu looks the size of the food menu at most restaurants. And the food menu has been reduced to a single page presentation that resembles the wine list at most places. Tells you where the emphasis is right? Wrong! The food was delicious! Our party ordered four different dishes and each was superb. I ordered the duck burrito that was optionally plated as a rice bowl. Yum.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Top shelf Service

Dined on March 29, 2016

My friends and I were impressed with the level of service (Sara from Florida), as well as the selection on offer of beer and spirits. We had a few starters to eat, all were good! I'd recommend Five Horses Tavern in future.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Pleasant Easter surprise.

Dined on March 27, 2016

This is a place that has a big draw from the local pub crowd, but advertises itself as a hip restaurant with lots of vegan offerings and a huge craft beer list. I was only looking for a nice Easter brunch spot, so I was a bit hesitant. I was treated to a real up beat staff who provided great service and the very different brunch offerings that we tried were a big hit. Tasty, filling fare at a good price. I've had some real unpleasant experiences at some restaurants on holidays, but the staff at 5 Horses really went all out to keep everyone happy and served. They were ready for the crowd.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great food on Davis Square

Dined on March 26, 2016

Five Horses Tavern - David Square has great food and a wonderful ambiance. Everything we tried was amazing! Complex flavors, woven together to create taste sensations - and gluten-free friendly! The only reason they didn't get an outstanding rating overall was the service, which while friendly, is very slow. It took almost 20 minutes just to get a drink - and there wasn't a rush, so it's difficult to understand what took so long. As the location is pleasant and the company was good, it wasn't a hardship. But it was noticed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

a mediocre day

Dined on March 24, 2016

very poor service. Waiter could not get stuff straight, forgot water, then poured water into someone's ginger ale. just a mess.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kelly was great, really took care of us, ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

Kelly was great, really took care of us, really funny.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great Brunch!

Dined on March 20, 2016

We visited Five Horse Tavern for the first time and really enjoyed their brunch menu. A wide variety of selections that would make most palates happy and the cocktails were interesting and delicious as well. I had the chimichanga and my husband had the fried chicken sandwich. We loved them both. Our friends had the breakfast club and the shrimp and grits and ended the meal with empty plates as well. The ambiance of the restaurant is fun. We sat right by the fireplace which was very cozy. We will definitely be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

The food was average and the portions were...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

....miniscule. For a $17 entrée I would expect to be reasonably full, especially with pasta, but no, the portion was more like an appetizer. The $10 taco was just that 'A' taco. The server was friendly and attentive, for the most part. I wouldn't be in a hurry back, there are plenty of good restaurants in Camberville.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Beef Stew!

Dined on March 11, 2016

The Beef Stew is very unique and unlike anything to be found in the area. Each bite is an explosion of flavor. The place is great for meet and greet, or as a first stop for the night out

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

SERVER SAVES THE DAY

vip
Dined on March 7, 2016

I love Five Horses and return as often as possible. The atmosphere is cozy and creative and the menu changes often enough that I never know what's in store. On this particular occasion, we were served by a new face to us: Amanda. She was gracious and friendly and knowledgeable of the bar and food menus. And she was extremely patient. It took us a while to decided what to order but, when we finally did, we were told the restaurant was out of a key ingredient in the kale salad: kale. I was fine to order the salad with mixed greens and that was confirmed to be okay with the kitchen. But, moments after we finalized our order, we were told the restaurant was out of "about 6 other ingredients" for that salad. So I opted for the fried chicken salad *without the chicken* as we had already ordered wings. That was approved by the kitchen BUT there would be no change of the price. Amanda was very apologetic and seemed genuinely empathetic. She was able to substitute tofu for the chicken but, ideally, I would rather have had a salad without protein since the wings were coming. All in all, Five Horses was a great experience and credit goes to Amanda. As far as the communication from the kitchen and menu pricing goes, I think there is much room for improvement. Don't let this deter you from going to the restaurant; just be conscious of it when ordering. And hope Amanda is your server. ;)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service5

The waitress was outstanding.! She was k ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

The waitress was outstanding.! She was kind, courteous and there as needed. A true professional. The food was good except that the homefries were undercooked and one of the omelets had raw beets in it, making it inedible- That being said, the chicken and waffles were outstanding, as was the breakfast pizza. Overall, everything was good and we would definitely return.

food2
ambience2
service4
value2

overrated

Dined on March 2, 2016

this place is very overrated. Ribs were bland, nothing special about the burger. Little ambience-don't bother. service was ok but person delivering food couldn't speak a word.

Tags: hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.