Five Horses Tavern - Davis Square

4.6
437 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Comfort Food
  • Great Beer
  • Fun
Five Horses Tavern is conveniently located in Davis Square, walking distance of the Red Line, Somerville Theater, Tufts University, Davis Square Theater and Porter Square.

Our mission is to serve modern American comfort food, incorporating locally sourced ingredients, with many vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options. Our friendly staff will make a memorable experience whether you join us for lunch, dinner or our highly acclaimed weekend brunch.

We are a fantastic venue for hosting large groups and intimate dinners. Our Bar offers a wide variety of craft beers from around the world, boasting 37 draft beers, 120 bottles, signature cocktails and a thoughtfully selected wine list.

Join us on the patio or saddle up to the bar and admire our selection of over 150 bourbons and whiskies from around the globe.

Reservations are recommended, however walk-ins are always welcome!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, American, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
OPEN
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:00am
Saturday: 10:00am - 1:00am
Sunday: 10:00am - 12:00am

KITCHEN
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 12:00am
Saturday: 10:00am - 12:00am
Sunday: 10:00am - 11:00pm

BRUNCH
Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(617) 764-1655
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Grove St
Additional
Beer, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 437 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 5 days ago

It was a birthday lunch. They weren’t serving brunch on weekdays, and they didn’t have the tuna poke bowl which was disappointing. The service was very slow. The food was delicious and the drinks were also yummy. Overall, average experience for my birthday.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 7 days ago

First time diner; will definitely return. Ambience, quality of food, pricing: all superlatives.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 16, 2018

I love coming here. My only problem on this particular night was the guy out front asking for IDs, for my KIDS. I stopped and said excuses me?? He said “ I need IDs if they’re gonna be drinking”. I said “ they’re my children, we’re here to have dinner. They’re 15 17 and 19.” Have some common sense. What a difference the day of the week makes.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Great brunch spot and good dinner spot too.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 15, 2018

We ate here before going to the Moth at Somerville Theatre. It was very loud and hard to hear but we enjoyed our dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 15, 2018

Very good food and beer selection

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 8, 2018

I had turned 26 & expected our servers’ (we had a bunch) to be more knowledgeable about my big day. I had 4 people out of the 5 show up so our booth was perfect.

Our servers seemed very very disengaged & more concerned with the business of the place than checking in to ask if we were alright, & really listening to us & what we needed. I ordered the Fried Chicken plate & ended up not being able to finish it. I knew I should have boxed up my food myself because our server threw out my mash potatoes. So I was left with half of what I ate. Truly irritated at that point.

I didn’t get surprise birthday song, a cute mention on our bill or anything so everything just felt bleh outside of the food. I’m sure I’ll be back but I definitely won’t choose this place for special celebrations & I definitely won’t let me server box up my food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

I love this place! Great food great service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Loved the food! Long time somerville resident, first time here! Everyone in my family can’t wait to go back. We had a group of 7 for my sons graduation and all of us could talk and hear each other. We will be back.... soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Great spot for brunch on a Saturday!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

It was good! Very satisfied

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 26, 2018

I love getting friends together for brunch at Five Horses, it is so good and they have nice round tables for a group. My friends also very much appreciate the mimosa flight.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

I love this place great food great service!!! I have been a few times, and every time everything is perfect.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Food is great. Burgers are amazing, tacos so good! Servers are always super nice!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Fun atmosphere, varied menu, and great service! A reliable place to take your company!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Great beer selections. Good enough food though limited. Friendly service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

I met up with a few friends for a Saturday lunch. We picked Five Horses Tavern because of the extensive draft beer selection, and ended up loving all of the meals we had as well. I would definitely recommend this to anyone that loves craft beer and great food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Came here for brunch after dining here last month and seeing the mimosa flight on the menu. Our food did not disappoint - very generous portions and made to order. Loved the home fries as well as the sour dough bread.. side of honey butter is a must! We thoroughly enjoyed our mimosa flights and can’t wait to come back to try other flavors. Service was good as well. Our only complaint was that they sat us at a 2 person table and added a third chair despite the fact that we had a reservation for 3 people. We were legitimately unable to fit our mimosa flights and plates on our table together. Our waitress tried to help us out by seeing if there was another table for us to move to - but unfortunately there wasn’t. Lesson learned: next time I won’t accept a table like that when we are first seated.. poor planning on the restaurant’s behalf especially seeing as we had a reservation as it made our dining experience less than ideal by having to juggle things in our laps/hands etc to accommodate the lack of table space. But otherwise we did enjoy it and will come back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Five Horses is a good place for beer and the bar, but not a first choice for food. We chose Five Horses because of last minute availability for Mother's Day. Also, my wife is vegan and Five Horses offers vegan or vegetarian options. The beer selection is good but the food was disappointing. That feedback was shared by all 5 diners in our party. Nothing bad but nothing outstanding.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

What a disappointment! All sizzle and no steak. The pictures online transport you to a very different place than the one you’ll dine in. The restaurant is dark with little/no ambience. It’s really a marketing concept that presents cafeteria food on a fancy menu at higher price points with lots of beer to choose from. Avoid this place - don’t waste your time or money.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Fabulous 1st time experience at Five Horses’ Tavern! Bartenders and servers are all great and very helpful. Loved the menu, which is chock full of awesome choices! Food is delicious and creative, and the Davis Sq vibe is a nice change from the burbs. Can’t wait to return and bring more friends!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Excellent spot. Delicious brunch with a fun and lively atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Amazing food, drinks, and service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Service was excellent. Shared a few smaller dishes and really enjoyed them. Nice pub atmosphere. Week night. Not too crowded.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We were a large party (nine) and I called the restaurant to say we would be 45 minutes late. They were able to handle that and we had a great time. Amazing beer selection, fabulous burgers, great side dishes and terrific service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

I have been to Five Horses several times before, and this trip unfortunately did not live up to the standard I had come to expect. My date and I started with the donut hole appetizer, and the donuts arrived cold, as if they had been sitting out for quite a while. When we mentioned this to our server, she started being sort of passive aggressive about it - like, she had them replaced, but then she checked to make sure they were okay 10 times, and it felt like she was just being snotty about it. The food was quite good otherwise, though, and I know that this is out of the ordinary for them.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Mimosa flights during a birthday brunch were exactly what we needed after a night out!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

I have been to 5 horses many times, the food and service has always been great, this time was no exception! I will continue to dine at 5 horses and also recommend it to others.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Food excellent. Staff attentive and responsive. Rather loud and not much atmosphere - but it is a pub, so perhaps not surprising. Would definitely go back for the food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The place is very loud so it can be difficult to hear the people sitting across the table from you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Neighborhood gem that never disappoints! Tavern burger is by far the best burger I’ve had and the chicken tenders are delish!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Excellent food and service. Five Horses is a great place for a variety of tastes and diets as well, there is something for everyone. The only negative is that the seasoning on the Poke Bowl was a little light, it could have used more oomph. I love coming here though, and will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The restaurant was loud and when arriving at 6:30PM there was a bouncer at the door checking IDs. It didn't leave the best impression. I expect bouncers at late-night places. Food was typical tavern / bar food. There was a good selection of beers on tap.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Saturday night, reservation for 3. We were a little bit late for our reservation because of traffic, but they were very accommodating. We were seated within a few minutes of arriving and our server brought over waters and got our drinks immediately. He was awesome. Our table was a little cramped for three, so when they asked us if we wanted to move to a different table, we agreed. Had we known that we would get a different server when we moved, we would have thought twice. Our original server came to our new table and took our appetizer order. Moments later, our new server came over and introduced herself as Noelle. We explained to her that our original server took the order for our appetizer. She mumbled something about everyone helping each other out and walked away. She came back about 10 minutes later and asked only me if I wanted another drink, and completely ignored my friend. She came back with the drink and again ignored my friend. We didn't see her for another 20 minutes until the third member of our group showed up. She came over to take both friends' drink orders. She took our food orders when she came back with the drinks and we never saw her again until it was time for the bill. She never came over after the food came out to make sure everything was ok, never offered us additional drinks, never cleared the appetizer serving dish or our plates. But once we got the check, she came over multiple times in five minutes to see if we had paid. While she waited for us to pay, she started bussing the table next to us and over filled her tray with glasses, which she ended up dropping and breaking. This caused what I can only hope was water to spill all over my jacket.

Thankfully, the food and drinks were excellent. We will definitely give this place another try, but hopefully we will have a different waitress next time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Love the brunch here. They have some unique spins on classics. Recommend the biscuits and gravy, or the chicken and waffles.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Good place, great ambiance, good for dates and get together as well. They have a good collection of alcohol. A bit overpriced though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great food, love the cornbread, wonderful service :) Thanks!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Food is good but drinks are not. Very watered down.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great beer selection and amazing burger. I frequent this restaurant because of their amazing burgers and beer. They have beer for every kind of beer drinker!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The food was delicious, our waiter was wonderful. It was just way too loud for conversation. I have been for brunch and that was equally as yummy and far less noisy.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
11

Tweets by Five Horses Tavern - Davis Square