Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

About Five Horses Tavern - Davis Square

Five Horses Tavern is conveniently located in Davis Square, walking distance of the Red Line, Somerville Theater, Tufts University, Davis Square Theater and Porter Square.

Our mission is to serve modern American comfort food, incorporating locally sourced ingredients, with many vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options. Our friendly staff will make a memorable experience whether you join us for lunch, dinner or our highly acclaimed weekend brunch.

We are a fantastic venue for hosting large groups and intimate dinners. Our Bar offers a wide variety of craft beers from around the world, boasting 37 draft beers, 120 bottles, signature cocktails and a thoughtfully selected wine list.

Join us on the patio or saddle up to the bar and admire our selection of over 150 bourbons and whiskies from around the globe.

Reservations are recommended, however walk-ins are always welcome!

400 Highland Ave
Somerville, MA 02144
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
OPEN
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:00am
Saturday: 10:00am - 1:00am
Sunday: 10:00am - 12:00am

KITCHEN
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 12:00am
Saturday: 10:00am - 12:00am
Sunday: 10:00am - 11:00pm

BRUNCH
Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:30pm

Cross Street:
Grove St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 764-1655

Website:
http://fivehorsestavern.com/davis-square

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Five Horses Tavern - Davis Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (30)
Comfort Food (28)
Fun (23)
See All
Great for Brunch (23)
Casual (22)
Good for a Date (21)
Bar Seating (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Fireplace (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Cozy (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Modern Decor (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Special Occasion (6)
Live Sports (6)
People Watching (5)
Authentic (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Vegan (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Spicy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Family Style (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Healthy (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Romantic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
263 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

This place serves consistently solid food and drink, and is uniquely good for private conversations: unlike most pubs, it is not too loud to hear each other, but there is enough background noise (and space between tables) that the next party over probably will not overhear personal details about your lives.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Had some difficulty obtaining an adequate table for my friend who has CP and a service dog. They did make accommodations. It was St. Patricks day weekend. Service was fair. Waiter was an air head and very slow. When we went to pay the bill instead of spliting it between the two cards he dropped one and did not realize it. Because I had an excellent previous experience I would recommend the restaurant. The food is excellent with a great beer and liquor menu.

Tags: Casual, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I went to Five Horse Tavern with my boyfriend for his birthday. We ordered wings to start, which were really great - my boyfriend thought they were some of the best he had ever had! For our meal, I ordered the veggie/vegan burger with jalapeno mashed potatoes. I thought the veggie burger was so good - definitely homemade. The jalapeno mashed potatoes also were really good. My boyfriend ordered the burger with a salad, and he really enjoyed it. Our waitress was a little awkward, but we both thought the restaurant had a nice feel. We would definitely make another reservation here.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

we were there for sunday brunch. the food arrived heat and quick. the service was helpful and prompt. however we felt rushed to finish our meal and clear the table. will try it again

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Stopped in for a quick bite to eat on a Friday night. Drinks were good and service was fast. Our appetizers were good but the mac and cheese wasn't quite​ on par with some of the other places in the area. Definitely a good place for drinks and great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Always good food and a good time, only thing I would recommend would be to make a reservation because it's impossible to get a seat without one!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was either unbelievably dry and tasteless, or, in the case of the quinoa porridge, inedibly sweet. Like, soaked-in-liquer-or-something-overnight sweet. When we handed the porridge back to the waitress, almost entirely uneaten, she didn't bat an eye. Clearly, they are used to people not eating their food. Love how the menu calls out veggie and gluten-free items, and a lot of the stuff on the menu sounds creative and delicious, but don't be fooled. I won't be going back for food ever again.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was satisfying and service was great, BUT it was so cold that we had to put our jackets since we sat close to the entrance and they open the door like every the other minute.. It was simply not pleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 4, 2017

I wish Five Horses was a consistent experience, but that's just not the case. The level of service varies so greatly from server to server, from woefully poor to exceptional. On this occasion, we waited a significant period of time to have our order taken, had over half the meal eaten before our server asked how anything was/if we needed anything, and our server passed by us 7 times when we needed a beverage refill. Fortunately, her colleagues helped pick up the slack so it wasn't a total dumpster fire.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Everyone loved their dishes. Great menu variety and quality across the board. Definitely will be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I got their chicken and waffles, which I think was called "The Breakfast Club" and it was literally the best breakfast i've ever eaten. We also got a flight of mimosas, which I didn't even know existed, and that was also awesome. Great beer list, and excellent service as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Casual, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Love this place! Everything I've tried has been delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We ate at 5 horses before an event at the Somerville theater. We were able to make a reservation. Our table was ready. Service was prompt. Great beer selection. Menu is fresh and current but not overwhelming in the "too many choices" way. Everything we ordered was great and exceeded expectations. We will go again!

Tags: Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Five Horses is my favorite brunch spot in Davis. Whether a party of 2 or 8, they always make me and my friends feel welcome. The brunch menu is amazing and each time I go back, I feel the need to try something new. The brunch cocktails, including the mimosa flight, are a wonderful compliment to the food. Five Horses is now my go-to brunch spot. Love love love this place!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We had a blast!

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Amazing brunch! Must try the mimosa flight. I had crab cakes and the donuts holes. Both were amazing.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We've probably eaten here 20 times and it's been great every time. Cool, casual place with a diverse menu that has a lot of fun choices and a helpful staff. We went this time for brunch, but have also gone for lunch and dinner. Noise level is high, but in a more fun way than an obnoxious way. Davis Square is also good area to walk around before or after.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Pretty much everything about Five Horses was great during our visit. The wait staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. The food came quickly and there was no wait time for drinks. Our seating was comfortable and spacious, and we were able to hold conversations, even with what appeared to be a full house. We were celebrating a birthday and everyone had a terrific time. There were many patrons enjoying themselves by the bar, but we didn't feel rushed to give up our table and had adequate time for dinner and drinks. All in all, a really great time. Tip - the scallop risotto was fabulous and should be a regular menu item.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had a booth for 8 tucked in the back, perfect for our group. A collection of vegans, vegetarians and carnivores....every one of us found exactly what we wanted. Plus, one diner, our thespian son, was served before everyone so he could be stage-ready when we arrived to Tufts for the play. Warm, cozy, very VERY accommodating and the food was perfectly prepared and so delicious. This will be our new go-to in Davis Square, not just for special occasions but for a lovely setting to enjoy a wonderful meal. So happy we found you.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Five Horses Tavern offers a classy but fun experience. I took my friends here for a special reunion, and it was a great place! Great beer selection; love the flannel theme among the wait staff. Great service. Great area. GREAT all around, though portions could have been a little bigger!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Healthy, Spicy, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Interesting menu great beer selection but LOUD.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had dinner with my girlfriend. The service was okay, it seemed that everyone but our waitress was bringing out our food. One of the servers spilled some of my beer on the table as she handed it to me then didn't bother to clean it up. My girlfriend received an old-fashioned with no cherry. We asked for one but never received it.

The pork belly tacos were dripping with juice to the point of nearly being soggy. They were delicious, but I had to hurry and eat them.

The drunken wings, as always, were awesome.

Overall a decent night with a couple hiccups.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Cozy, Healthy, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Casual, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This place isn't fancy, but it's nice to go to if you live near by. Lots of comfort food!

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food was very good and we enjoyed the ambiance!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Waitress didn't know the menu well enough to waitress. Asked about ribs special was unsure of what that was and had to look at the menu. But pushed drinks, 1 was enough. Beer on draft wasn't great, tasted old. Didn't feel great after. Not the best place for a special date. Crowd looked like a college scene and age. Disappointed in overall experience.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great place for brunch. This place has a decent beer list and numerous dining options.

Tags: Great Beer, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Awesome food and attentive staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food came out under cooked. Menu options to random and it was loud and to hipster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent food and beers combined with excellent service. Always a bit crowded, but the wait is usually tolerable and definitely worth it.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Sunday Brunch menu is great. Large portions so come hungry. Make a reservation if you have more than 4 and don't want to wait too long. Pitcher of Bloody Mary's was worth it (ask for a little less ice). Drink menu is extensive. Something for everyone.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My third visit to this new favorite dining destination. Casual but nice, vibrant, sometimes loud atmosphere but generally fun. Food is somewhat eclectic, elaborate pub grub with a terrific draft and bottled beer assortment to choose from. Menu offers some very interesting gormet ideas. Beers are always changing and include numerous locals like Trillium! Service is generally prompt but it can get hectic. Some areas of the restaurant are tight seating but the booths are spacious. If you are a beer fan and want to eat a decent meal with your craft beer, this is a great choice.

Tags: Fireplace, Live Sports, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I'm sure the restaurant is fine. Just disappointed that on arriving at 11:30 for an 11:30 appointment we found the doors locked and no sign of activity inside. We had to move on to another restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great service and food. Pizza was not what I was expecting, but it was still very good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Tater tots were delicious. Expert menu recommendations including one for a follow up meal with the Duck Burrito. Wonderful seat by the fireplace on a snowy afternoon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was good and came out quick. Service is really
Lacking though. Our waitress was definitely trying to rush us out of the restaurant which became apparent when she almost took my plate away while I was eating. Our waitress definitely put a damper on our experience here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great place for our family to get together with other family in a fun environment with really great brunch food items!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Five Horse Tavern is a vibrant dining and bar restaurant. People of all ages can patronize the restaurant and feel comfortable. The menu is very diversified and includes any vegetarian and vegan entrees. The servers have always been welcoming and on top of our table every time we have been to this restaurant. The beer list is quite extensive, so any been enthusiast will enjoy the options available. The restaurant is also very accommodating for families with small children. Plan for a vibrant experience if you are there during dinner hours. Also, one should always order the tater tots! Give Five Horse Tavern a try. You'll want to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Delicious food and excellent beer selection. Nice ambience and friendly servers.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food is very decent here and somewhat eclectic for a pub-like eatery but the main attraction for me is the great beer list including a lot of local brewers like Trillium. It might be considered fun for those looking for a crowd and high noise level but it's a bit much if you want to enjoy conversation. It's a busy place. Too crowded and hectic to bring kids here, this place caters to the 20 and 30-somethings.

Tags: Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Fried chicken, jalapeño mashed potatoes, and pork mac n cheese were incredible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.