Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

About Five Horses Tavern - Davis Square

Five Horses Tavern is conveniently located in Davis Square, walking distance of the Red Line, Somerville Theater, Tufts University, Davis Square Theater and Porter Square.

Our mission is to serve modern American comfort food, incorporating locally sourced ingredients, with many vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options. Our friendly staff will make a memorable experience whether you join us for lunch, dinner or our highly acclaimed weekend brunch.

We are a fantastic venue for hosting large groups and intimate dinners. Our Bar offers a wide variety of craft beers from around the world, boasting 37 draft beers, 120 bottles, signature cocktails and a thoughtfully selected wine list.

Join us on the patio or saddle up to the bar and admire our selection of over 150 bourbons and whiskies from around the globe.

Reservations are recommended, however walk-ins are always welcome!

400 Highland Ave
Somerville, MA 02144
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
OPEN
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:00am
Saturday: 10:00am - 1:00am
Sunday: 10:00am - 12:00am

KITCHEN
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 12:00am
Saturday: 10:00am - 12:00am
Sunday: 10:00am - 11:00pm

BRUNCH
Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:30pm

Cross Street:
Grove St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 764-1655

Website:
http://fivehorsestavern.com/davis-square

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Five Horses Tavern - Davis Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (21)
Great Beer (19)
Good for a Date (19)
See All
Fun (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Comfort Food (18)
Great for Brunch (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Happy Hour (6)
People Watching (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Vegan (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Cozy (4)
Organic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Authentic (2)
Fireplace (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Live Sports (2)
Spicy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Business Meals (2)
Family Style (1)
Seasonal (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
313 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Handmade pretzel is great, mustard a bit spicy but delicious, and the boursin-like dip is very good. I had a kinda Cuban sandwich which was a nice interpretation of the sandwich, and my companion had the Tavern burger, cooked to perfection and delicious with cheesy grits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Service was very slow, left us irritated with empty glasses. The ribs are overpriced and smelled awful. Wouldn't recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The food is great and they have a nice big variety of beers. If you are a beer lover go to this place.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Five Horses is a decent Davis Square spot. I was a little bummed out the most recent time I went (this past Saturday) because my boyfriend and I asked for a high top next to the window and were told they were reserved for parties of 3 or more, and shortly afterwards a couple was seated at the same table, alone. Our server was a little inattentive but he had a LOT of tables so that's forgivable. Overall nothing to keep me from going back, but worth noting.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fun, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Good quality of food, pleasant atmosphere, waiters vary in friendliness but it's a nice place to brunch.

Tags: Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Wonderful ambiance! Make sure to notice the cool chandelier in the entrance. We went for a pre-theater dinner and chose the perfect place! The grilled fish tacos were yummy and the perfect amount to eat after sharing the pan roasted brussels sprouts and beyond fantastic cornbread The cornbread could basically be your dessert :-) and everyone who works there seemed happy and they all worked as a team! Will definitely go back :-)

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great brunch. Interesting choices, all well made. Good bloody Mary's as well. Would Definately go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Solid fare at a decent price; service was exceptional; fruit salad was a bit ehn - no more melon ever, guys; home fries looked like a dog's breakfast but were tasty; shaksuka was just spicy enough with lots of lamb.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 21, 2017

I had a great dinner with my friend here, but it was kind of an odd group the night we went and the service was really slow for drinks. Also my ex boyfriend walked in which was awkward*. There was a random woman downstairs who was barking....


*I know the restaurant cant control that but I hope it made someone laugh.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The crab cake was delicious! Also really loved the mimosa flight my favorite was the pineapple mimosa.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We have two young children , so we are always looking for fast service. Not only does this place accommodate this need when necessary, but their food is amazing and their servers are wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The Tavern Burger and Chicken tenders are superb. Great ambiance to unwind with friends. The staff was very attentive. Becoming one of our favorite places for delicious food for good pricing.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Good beer selection. We ordered the pulled pork and grits, duck burrito, and Foghorn Leghorn pizza and all were very good and were good portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Ambiance and food was great! It was very busy but they got us right in with our reservation. Unfortunately the place is so popular that it was quite loud plus they kept running out of the good beers. Never experienced that before!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Excellent spot! Really good beer menu and comfort food. The service is good, with more of a hands off approach rather than hovering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food was good and the service was excellent. I would recommend this restaurant for a special occasion. The bar looked fun too!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Five Horses never disappoints! This is a go-to for my sisters and I to grab some american comfort food that is always delicious. We can't go without ordering the corn bread and of course the tater tots! We have celebrated birthdays and other events with family when looking for a delicious meal with a good atmosphere. Nothing too fancy but quality food and drinks. highly recommend.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Cozy, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great evening, service was fast and friendly, very tasty pub fare and a great draft list.

Tags: Great Beer, Fun, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The pulled-pork in he original Soft Taco was absolutely superb!! The flavors were scrumptious. The Brussels Sprouts were great as an appetizer, too.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Delicious food and great company! Service was kinda slow and hard to get ahold of the waiter.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service was outstanding, the food is very good, and the atmosphere was neighborhood-y. We really liked this place.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were a large party with some picky people and everyone was happy! Service was great and food was very good. Apps were a little on the small side for the price.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

First visit was for a Mother's Day brunch but will definitely go back. Nice and roomy with a good menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Forgot some basics like butter for our toast, or ketchup for our eggs, and we had to wait long enough that our waiter apologized. Other than that, awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went here for Mother's Day Brunch, great food and drinks! We will definitely return again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This is a popular spot but our waitress rushed us through our noisy dinner in less than 45 minutes without a smile or suggestion. Great craft beer selection is why I go in the end.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Wanted to do something nice before a musical show at the Somerville Theater. Simply not good...disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We ate at Five Horses on Derby night and enjoyed great seats to be able to watch the running on several TV's they had around the bar. They had a hat contest for the ladies and offered mint juleps. Menu is fantastic and food was great!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Delicious brunch with friends! I love the food at Five Horses. It is a little healthy, a little decadent, and not too expensive. Just like my kale/bacon/egg breakfast sandwich! I do wish they had espresso drinks, but their bloody marys are delicious. It is loud, but also easy to get a large table for a group.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I ordered a beer off the menu and was brought something else; when I mentioned this the server dismissively said that they did not have what I had ordered. Our waiter kindly explained that the menu was out-of-date and offered to get me something else, but the first experience was not very pleasant. Otherwise, the service and meal were very good; I come to Five Horses a lot and I typically enjoy it very much. The service is sometimes slow but the wait staff are usually polite and friendly, and the food and beer are always great.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great time and service will be coming back again for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Had a great brunch here with a large party (11). Restaurant was very accommodating, and food was delicious!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Creative, delicious food, fabulous beer list, including a few a hard to get regional brews. Fun bar, quick service and the bar and at the table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The service was the best I've ever experienced on a Friday night! The bar was surrounded by people, we didn't know where to stand to order drinks, but one of the bar tenders came right over and handed us a menu! I was amazed at how he noticed us through the sea of people. Then right as we paid for the drinks the hostess came up and said our table was ready! 15 min early ! The food was great as well. This is definitely a repeat place for our night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our second visit in recent months. Delicious again, lively atmosphere, great service, not hurried, would recommend to anyone looking for great food in a handsome and comfortable setting. Great vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Vegan Veggie burger was so boring, bland, thin and crumbly - Bread ratio was way off too. Burger was pretty decent so said my dinner companion. Beer selection is the reason to return and server was very nice, even as it was extremely busy. Tables are very cramped so do not expect privacy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Fantastic beer selection. Large menu with a number of vegetarian options. It was a little noisy. Good service.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Late-night Find, Vegan, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great spot (quiet back table), fabulous service, and yummy food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Loved the food - my date and I shared a salad and pizza. Very good pinot noir! Very popular and, unfortunately, the server was swamped, but well-intentioned. One Big Complaint- the noise level was deafening! So loud, I would not go there on a romantic date.

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great service and great food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.