About Five Horses Tavern - Davis Square

Five Horses Tavern is conveniently located in Davis Square, walking distance of the Red Line, Somerville Theater, Tufts University, Davis Square Theater and Porter Square.

Our mission is to serve modern American comfort food, incorporating locally sourced ingredients, with many vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options. Our friendly staff will make a memorable experience whether you join us for lunch, dinner or our highly acclaimed weekend brunch.

We are a fantastic venue for hosting large groups and intimate dinners. Our Bar offers a wide variety of craft beers from around the world, boasting 37 draft beers, 120 bottles, signature cocktails and a thoughtfully selected wine list.

Join us on the patio or saddle up to the bar and admire our selection of over 150 bourbons and whiskies from around the globe.

Reservations are recommended, however walk-ins are always welcome!

400 Highland Ave
Somerville, MA 02144
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
OPEN
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:00am
Saturday: 10:00am - 1:00am
Sunday: 10:00am - 12:00am

KITCHEN
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 12:00am
Saturday: 10:00am - 12:00am
Sunday: 10:00am - 11:00pm

BRUNCH
Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:30pm

Cross Street:
Grove St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 764-1655

Website:
http://fivehorsestavern.com/davis-square

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Five Horses Tavern - Davis Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (24)
Casual (19)
Fun (18)
See All
Good for Groups (18)
Comfort Food (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Good for a Date (14)
Fireplace (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Cozy (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Live Sports (6)
Authentic (4)
Special Occasion (4)
People Watching (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Vegan (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Healthy (2)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Business Meals (1)
Historic (1)
Private Room (1)
Seasonal (1)
Romantic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
235 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food came out under cooked. Menu options ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Food came out under cooked. Menu options to random and it was loud and to hipster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent food and beers combined with e ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and beers combined with excellent service. Always a bit crowded, but the wait is usually tolerable and definitely worth it.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday Brunch menu is great. Large port ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Sunday Brunch menu is great. Large portions so come hungry. Make a reservation if you have more than 4 and don't want to wait too long. Pitcher of Bloody Mary's was worth it (ask for a little less ice). Drink menu is extensive. Something for everyone.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My third visit to this new favorite dini ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My third visit to this new favorite dining destination. Casual but nice, vibrant, sometimes loud atmosphere but generally fun. Food is somewhat eclectic, elaborate pub grub with a terrific draft and bottled beer assortment to choose from. Menu offers some very interesting gormet ideas. Beers are always changing and include numerous locals like Trillium! Service is generally prompt but it can get hectic. Some areas of the restaurant are tight seating but the booths are spacious. If you are a beer fan and want to eat a decent meal with your craft beer, this is a great choice.

Tags: Fireplace, Live Sports, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I'm sure the restaurant is fine. Just di ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I'm sure the restaurant is fine. Just disappointed that on arriving at 11:30 for an 11:30 appointment we found the doors locked and no sign of activity inside. We had to move on to another restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great service and food. Pizza was not wh ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great service and food. Pizza was not what I was expecting, but it was still very good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Tater tots were delicious. Expert menu r ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Tater tots were delicious. Expert menu recommendations including one for a follow up meal with the Duck Burrito. Wonderful seat by the fireplace on a snowy afternoon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good and came out quick. Servic ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was good and came out quick. Service is really

Lacking though. Our waitress was definitely trying to rush us out of the restaurant which became apparent when she almost took my plate away while I was eating. Our waitress definitely put a damper on our experience here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Great place for our family to get togeth ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great place for our family to get together with other family in a fun environment with really great brunch food items!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five Horse Tavern is a vibrant dining an ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Five Horse Tavern is a vibrant dining and bar restaurant. People of all ages can patronize the restaurant and feel comfortable. The menu is very diversified and includes any vegetarian and vegan entrees. The servers have always been welcoming and on top of our table every time we have been to this restaurant. The beer list is quite extensive, so any been enthusiast will enjoy the options available. The restaurant is also very accommodating for families with small children. Plan for a vibrant experience if you are there during dinner hours. Also, one should always order the tater tots! Give Five Horse Tavern a try. You'll want to go back.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Delicious food and excellent beer select ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Delicious food and excellent beer selection. Nice ambience and friendly servers.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is very decent here and somewhat ec ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food is very decent here and somewhat eclectic for a pub-like eatery but the main attraction for me is the great beer list including a lot of local brewers like Trillium. It might be considered fun for those looking for a crowd and high noise level but it's a bit much if you want to enjoy conversation. It's a busy place. Too crowded and hectic to bring kids here, this place caters to the 20 and 30-somethings.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fried chicken, jalapeño mashed potatoes, ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Fried chicken, jalapeño mashed potatoes, and pork mac n cheese were incredible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Unexpectedly good find in Davis Square. ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Unexpectedly good find in Davis Square. Menu has creative takes on standard bar/comfort food and great beer selection. Wait staff were knowledegable about beers, professional, and quick. Sunday evening not too loud or crowded. Definitely will go back.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, lots of good savory flavors ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great food, lots of good savory flavors and creative menu options. I wish they'd turn the music down just slightly for brunch - the place was very crowded and it was difficult to have a conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food and service, but very HARD to ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Good food and service, but very HARD to have a conversation!!

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

We went for my birthday brunch. All of m ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We went for my birthday brunch. All of my friends were easily able to find something to enjoy (mix of vegetarians and non), and everything came out quickly and was delicious. Looking forward to another visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really tasty food, awesome cocktails. Fu ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Really tasty food, awesome cocktails. Fun seeing full of hipsters and foodies. Got the tacos. Was a little disappointed at how meager they were for the cost. They tasted great, though. I was really glad that I ordered an additional side, however.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This was a great place for drinks and di ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2016

This was a great place for drinks and dinner before seeing a show at the Somerville Theatre with a group of friends. The waitstaff were friendly, there was a great selection of food on the menu as well as gluten free options. The local beer selection was great as well, we noticed they offered a pitcher of sangria but after we ordered our drinks, I think we'll get that next time! It is always packed but it is worth the wait for a table.

Tags: , Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Incredible craft beer menu is worth the ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Incredible craft beer menu is worth the trip. Brussels sprouts are a must. Entrees are hit or miss, but I have definitely had some good meals here. Waitstaff is on the ball and professional. The restaurant is comfortable and well appointed.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My friend and I went there for brunch. T ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 4, 2016

My friend and I went there for brunch. The food was okay but nothing too great. The brunch options were quite limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

We waited 20 minutes before our waitress ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We waited 20 minutes before our waitress took our drink and food order, and another 15 minutes before we got our drinks. The food was expensive for the quality of food. This was my first time there after being told it was a great place, not impressed by service or food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Great as always. Great menu. Great food. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great as always. Great menu. Great food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Review posted on Yelp.

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Review posted on Yelp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Did a great job of handling a party of 6 ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Did a great job of handling a party of 6 with 2 children. While not the most kid-friendly place, the restaurant staff was more than accommodating when altering dishes for tiny palates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing and the only compla ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was amazing and the only complaint that I have was they were out of The Breakfast Club. My boyfriend was disappointed and chose Shakshuka by default. He was very happy with this decision and cannot complain that he tried something different on the menu.

Tags: Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have come to Five Horses a number of t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I have come to Five Horses a number of times, but on this occasion we were there for my fiancee's birthday with a party of 12 and they could not have been more accommodating. The food/drinks are always excellent, but the service was particularly fantastic this time around with our large group, and when I asked our waiter about bringing a dessert w/ candle for a birthday song they were more than happy to oblige.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Fun, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We knew nothing about this place other t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We knew nothing about this place other than it was near the Somerville Theater and had received decent Yelp reviews. The menu is great - versatile filled with interesting dishes, from comfort food, casual dishes, to what we ordered, Salmon and Hanger Steak. The food was cooked perfect to order, and our requests to have the food prepared more clean (sauces on the side, not glazes, etc...) were handled as expected. The bar did great on our drinks as well.

Our server was right on it, helpful with the menu, attentive and careful to get our order with its minor modifications correct.

It's worth the visit.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Despite Davis Square being a nightmare t ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Despite Davis Square being a nightmare to park - and Saturday evening with a local show in the area as an additional challenge, I would definitely return to Five Horses Tavern. Due to the parking challenge, we were 30 minutes late for our reservation - our table was held with 'no problem', our fantastically-friendly waiter Tyler was fun, knowledgeable and attentive - the menu variety and service was great despite the overflowing tables - and the portions were plentiful. The experience left a great impression and, next time I am willing to brave the parking challenge, we will definitely come here.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Casual, Cozy, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I really enjoyed this restaurant - I've ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 18, 2016

I really enjoyed this restaurant - I've been here a couple times and the service is very friendly and attentive. The food is delicious - I had the kale salad and the baja taco. And a really great selection of beer. Our server recommended the Single Cut IPA and it was the perfect choice!

I'll be here again!

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the second time I've tried this ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This is the second time I've tried this place for brunch, and it will be the last. The service is really lacking in attention (no milk for coffee, which finally arrived after asking three separate people, and other small things like that) and the food borders on terrible. The quinoa porridge is so sweet it is inedible, waffles came out burned. It's a real shame. The same place in the south end is a fantastic place for brunch; this one seems chaotic and focused on catering to students, so quality of food and service suffers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

Went here for my boyfriend's birthday. T ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Went here for my boyfriend's birthday. The food was incredible and there was a good selection of beers. Also loved the unique decorations.

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Good food, beer and atmosphere. Staff wa ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Good food, beer and atmosphere. Staff was polite and patient.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very loud pub scene, menu is not extensi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Very loud pub scene, menu is not extensive but covers a lot of interesting options from a deliciously dessert-like cornbread appetizer to salmon dinners and a surprisingly fresh vegetable curry dish. Craft beer selection is fantastic including some hard to find choices and even a cask ale. Casual but nice atmosphere, equestrian theme/English pub. Great service and friendly. Nice whiskey list too. Clean and comfortable.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Fun, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Casual, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice restaurant with a HUGE selection of ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Nice restaurant with a HUGE selection of craft beers (draft and bottle) as well as an extensive liquor list. Food was good and had a nice selection to accommodate both the carnivores and vegetarian in our family of 4. Unfortunately one item really sticks with us in the aftermath... My wife ordered a (labeled) spicy taco dish... It lived up to it's billing so she asked for some sour cream. The waitress returned to inform us that they don't have sour cream after brunch. ??? Really odd considering there were several spicy taco dishes listed and I had a burrito. We are easygoing diners so when she asked if she would like some creamy salad dressing instead we said yes. She returned with a little glass container with the dressing and all were happy.

The part that was irritating was upon returning home I notice an extra line item for $.50 for "Extra Dressing"... Seriously??? I have a $142.00 tab and you tack on an extra $.50 for some salad dressing (which was a fill in for the actual desired item)! Obviously it's not the amount... but I have NEVER seen something like that in all my years... If I had asked for water with lemon, would there have been an additional charge for "Extra Fruit"?

Not sure if that is their policy with everything... but it was in seriously bad taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We loved this restaurant. It had an awes ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 3, 2016

We loved this restaurant. It had an awesome selection of craft beers and the food was spectacular. Even when they made an error in my daughter's meal, they quickly corrected the mistake causing no real delay.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The power went out halfway through our m ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 2, 2016

The power went out halfway through our meal and no one came to talk to us. We had to find the server and ask for our checks. The manager came over and asked us to pay on one card because 'it's harder to run multiple cards on the manual machine' no one ever apologized for the atmosphere or even talked to us about it. It was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

I've been to the one in South End a few ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 1, 2016

I've been to the one in South End a few times. This was my first time at Davis square. The food was good, ambiance is great for casual friendly get-togehter or even a date. I always make it a point to get their cornbread which is Amazing !

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Groups, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very tasty food, great atmosphere. Food ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Very tasty food, great atmosphere. Food prices were a little high, but not too far out of line with Davis prices.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Modern Decor, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Five horses never disappoints, at either ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Five horses never disappoints, at either location. Went to the Davis square spot recently for a birthday brunch with 14 people. They easily accommodated us, service was good considering the size of our group, food was amazing as always. It can get pricey, but the portions are big so splitting is definitely an option. Beer list is perfect for craft enthusiests! Our vegetarian friends also appreciated the menu.

Tags: Great Beer, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.