About Five Horses Tavern - Davis Square

400 Highland Ave
Somerville, MA 02144
View Larger Map

Five Horses Tavern is conveniently located in Davis Square, walking distance of the Red Line, Somerville Theater, Tufts University, Davis Square Theater and Porter Square.

Our mission is to serve modern American comfort food, incorporating locally sourced ingredients, with many vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options. Our friendly staff will make a memorable experience whether you join us for lunch, dinner or our highly acclaimed weekend brunch.

We are a fantastic venue for hosting large groups and intimate dinners. Our Bar offers a wide variety of craft beers from around the world, boasting 37 draft beers, 120 bottles, signature cocktails and a thoughtfully selected wine list.

Join us on the patio or saddle up to the bar and admire our selection of over 150 bourbons and whiskies from around the globe.

Reservations are recommended, however walk-ins are always welcome!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
OPEN
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:00am
Saturday: 10:00am - 1:00am
Sunday: 10:00am - 12:00am

KITCHEN
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 12:00am
Saturday: 10:00am - 12:00am
Sunday: 10:00am - 11:00pm

BRUNCH
Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:30pm

Cross Street:
Grove St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 764-1655

Website:
http://fivehorsestavern.com/davis-square

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Five Horses Tavern - Davis Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Great Beer (28)
Comfort Food (23)
Great for Brunch (23)
See All
Casual (21)
Fun (20)
Good for a Date (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Good for Groups (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Fireplace (16)
Great for Lunch (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Happy Hour (13)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Cozy (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Live Sports (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
People Watching (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Authentic (4)
Spicy (3)
Healthy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Vegan (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Family Style (3)
Romantic (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Scenic View (1)
Private Room (1)
Business Meals (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
249 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Five Horses is my favorite brunch spot i ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Five Horses is my favorite brunch spot in Davis. Whether a party of 2 or 8, they always make me and my friends feel welcome. The brunch menu is amazing and each time I go back, I feel the need to try something new. The brunch cocktails, including the mimosa flight, are a wonderful compliment to the food. Five Horses is now my go-to brunch spot. Love love love this place!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing brunch! Must try the mimosa flig ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing brunch! Must try the mimosa flight. I had crab cakes and the donuts holes. Both were amazing.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We've probably eaten here 20 times and i ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

We've probably eaten here 20 times and it's been great every time. Cool, casual place with a diverse menu that has a lot of fun choices and a helpful staff. We went this time for brunch, but have also gone for lunch and dinner. Noise level is high, but in a more fun way than an obnoxious way. Davis Square is also good area to walk around before or after.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Pretty much everything about Five Horse ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Pretty much everything about Five Horses was great during our visit. The wait staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. The food came quickly and there was no wait time for drinks. Our seating was comfortable and spacious, and we were able to hold conversations, even with what appeared to be a full house. We were celebrating a birthday and everyone had a terrific time. There were many patrons enjoying themselves by the bar, but we didn't feel rushed to give up our table and had adequate time for dinner and drinks. All in all, a really great time. Tip - the scallop risotto was fabulous and should be a regular menu item.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a booth for 8 tucked in the back, ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a booth for 8 tucked in the back, perfect for our group. A collection of vegans, vegetarians and carnivores....every one of us found exactly what we wanted. Plus, one diner, our thespian son, was served before everyone so he could be stage-ready when we arrived to Tufts for the play. Warm, cozy, very VERY accommodating and the food was perfectly prepared and so delicious. This will be our new go-to in Davis Square, not just for special occasions but for a lovely setting to enjoy a wonderful meal. So happy we found you.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five Horses Tavern offers a classy but f ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Five Horses Tavern offers a classy but fun experience. I took my friends here for a special reunion, and it was a great place! Great beer selection; love the flannel theme among the wait staff. Great service. Great area. GREAT all around, though portions could have been a little bigger!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Healthy, Spicy, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Interesting menu great beer selection bu ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Interesting menu great beer selection but LOUD.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

Had dinner with my girlfriend. The servi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had dinner with my girlfriend. The service was okay, it seemed that everyone but our waitress was bringing out our food. One of the servers spilled some of my beer on the table as she handed it to me then didn't bother to clean it up. My girlfriend received an old-fashioned with no cherry. We asked for one but never received it.

The pork belly tacos were dripping with juice to the point of nearly being soggy. They were delicious, but I had to hurry and eat them.

The drunken wings, as always, were awesome.

Overall a decent night with a couple hiccups.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Cozy, Healthy, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Spicy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Casual, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

This place isn't fancy, but it's nice to ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This place isn't fancy, but it's nice to go to if you live near by. Lots of comfort food!

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Food was very good and we enjoyed the am ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Food was very good and we enjoyed the ambiance!

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Waitress didn't know the menu well enoug ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Waitress didn't know the menu well enough to waitress. Asked about ribs special was unsure of what that was and had to look at the menu. But pushed drinks, 1 was enough. Beer on draft wasn't great, tasted old. Didn't feel great after. Not the best place for a special date. Crowd looked like a college scene and age. Disappointed in overall experience.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Great place for brunch. This place has a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great place for brunch. This place has a decent beer list and numerous dining options.

Tags: Great Beer, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome food and attentive staff!

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Awesome food and attentive staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food came out under cooked. Menu options ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food came out under cooked. Menu options to random and it was loud and to hipster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent food and beers combined with e ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Excellent food and beers combined with excellent service. Always a bit crowded, but the wait is usually tolerable and definitely worth it.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday Brunch menu is great. Large port ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Sunday Brunch menu is great. Large portions so come hungry. Make a reservation if you have more than 4 and don't want to wait too long. Pitcher of Bloody Mary's was worth it (ask for a little less ice). Drink menu is extensive. Something for everyone.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Afternoon Coffee, Happy Hour, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My third visit to this new favorite dini ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My third visit to this new favorite dining destination. Casual but nice, vibrant, sometimes loud atmosphere but generally fun. Food is somewhat eclectic, elaborate pub grub with a terrific draft and bottled beer assortment to choose from. Menu offers some very interesting gormet ideas. Beers are always changing and include numerous locals like Trillium! Service is generally prompt but it can get hectic. Some areas of the restaurant are tight seating but the booths are spacious. If you are a beer fan and want to eat a decent meal with your craft beer, this is a great choice.

Tags: Fireplace, Live Sports, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I'm sure the restaurant is fine. Just di ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I'm sure the restaurant is fine. Just disappointed that on arriving at 11:30 for an 11:30 appointment we found the doors locked and no sign of activity inside. We had to move on to another restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great service and food. Pizza was not wh ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great service and food. Pizza was not what I was expecting, but it was still very good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Tater tots were delicious. Expert menu r ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Tater tots were delicious. Expert menu recommendations including one for a follow up meal with the Duck Burrito. Wonderful seat by the fireplace on a snowy afternoon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good and came out quick. Servic ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was good and came out quick. Service is really

Lacking though. Our waitress was definitely trying to rush us out of the restaurant which became apparent when she almost took my plate away while I was eating. Our waitress definitely put a damper on our experience here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Great place for our family to get togeth ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great place for our family to get together with other family in a fun environment with really great brunch food items!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five Horse Tavern is a vibrant dining an ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Five Horse Tavern is a vibrant dining and bar restaurant. People of all ages can patronize the restaurant and feel comfortable. The menu is very diversified and includes any vegetarian and vegan entrees. The servers have always been welcoming and on top of our table every time we have been to this restaurant. The beer list is quite extensive, so any been enthusiast will enjoy the options available. The restaurant is also very accommodating for families with small children. Plan for a vibrant experience if you are there during dinner hours. Also, one should always order the tater tots! Give Five Horse Tavern a try. You'll want to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Delicious food and excellent beer select ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Delicious food and excellent beer selection. Nice ambience and friendly servers.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is very decent here and somewhat ec ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food is very decent here and somewhat eclectic for a pub-like eatery but the main attraction for me is the great beer list including a lot of local brewers like Trillium. It might be considered fun for those looking for a crowd and high noise level but it's a bit much if you want to enjoy conversation. It's a busy place. Too crowded and hectic to bring kids here, this place caters to the 20 and 30-somethings.

Tags: Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Fried chicken, jalapeño mashed potatoes, ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Fried chicken, jalapeño mashed potatoes, and pork mac n cheese were incredible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Unexpectedly good find in Davis Square. ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Unexpectedly good find in Davis Square. Menu has creative takes on standard bar/comfort food and great beer selection. Wait staff were knowledegable about beers, professional, and quick. Sunday evening not too loud or crowded. Definitely will go back.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, lots of good savory flavors ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great food, lots of good savory flavors and creative menu options. I wish they'd turn the music down just slightly for brunch - the place was very crowded and it was difficult to have a conversation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food and service, but very HARD to ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Good food and service, but very HARD to have a conversation!!

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

We went for my birthday brunch. All of m ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We went for my birthday brunch. All of my friends were easily able to find something to enjoy (mix of vegetarians and non), and everything came out quickly and was delicious. Looking forward to another visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really tasty food, awesome cocktails. Fu ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Really tasty food, awesome cocktails. Fun seeing full of hipsters and foodies. Got the tacos. Was a little disappointed at how meager they were for the cost. They tasted great, though. I was really glad that I ordered an additional side, however.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

This was a great place for drinks and di ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2016

This was a great place for drinks and dinner before seeing a show at the Somerville Theatre with a group of friends. The waitstaff were friendly, there was a great selection of food on the menu as well as gluten free options. The local beer selection was great as well, we noticed they offered a pitcher of sangria but after we ordered our drinks, I think we'll get that next time! It is always packed but it is worth the wait for a table.

Tags: , Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Incredible craft beer menu is worth the ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Incredible craft beer menu is worth the trip. Brussels sprouts are a must. Entrees are hit or miss, but I have definitely had some good meals here. Waitstaff is on the ball and professional. The restaurant is comfortable and well appointed.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

My friend and I went there for brunch. T ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 4, 2016

My friend and I went there for brunch. The food was okay but nothing too great. The brunch options were quite limited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

We waited 20 minutes before our waitress ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We waited 20 minutes before our waitress took our drink and food order, and another 15 minutes before we got our drinks. The food was expensive for the quality of food. This was my first time there after being told it was a great place, not impressed by service or food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Great as always. Great menu. Great food. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great as always. Great menu. Great food. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Review posted on Yelp.

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Review posted on Yelp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Did a great job of handling a party of 6 ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Did a great job of handling a party of 6 with 2 children. While not the most kid-friendly place, the restaurant staff was more than accommodating when altering dishes for tiny palates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The food was amazing and the only compla ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The food was amazing and the only complaint that I have was they were out of The Breakfast Club. My boyfriend was disappointed and chose Shakshuka by default. He was very happy with this decision and cannot complain that he tried something different on the menu.

Tags: Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have come to Five Horses a number of t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I have come to Five Horses a number of times, but on this occasion we were there for my fiancee's birthday with a party of 12 and they could not have been more accommodating. The food/drinks are always excellent, but the service was particularly fantastic this time around with our large group, and when I asked our waiter about bringing a dessert w/ candle for a birthday song they were more than happy to oblige.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Fun, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.