Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 4/26
Time
9:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 32 times today

Five Horses Tavern - Davis Square

4.7
410 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Perfect For:
  • Comfort Food
  • Great for Brunch
  • Great Beer
Five Horses Tavern is conveniently located in Davis Square, walking distance of the Red Line, Somerville Theater, Tufts University, Davis Square Theater and Porter Square.

Our mission is to serve modern American comfort food, incorporating locally sourced ingredients, with many vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options. Our friendly staff will make a memorable experience whether you join us for lunch, dinner or our highly acclaimed weekend brunch.

We are a fantastic venue for hosting large groups and intimate dinners. Our Bar offers a wide variety of craft beers from around the world, boasting 37 draft beers, 120 bottles, signature cocktails and a thoughtfully selected wine list.

Join us on the patio or saddle up to the bar and admire our selection of over 150 bourbons and whiskies from around the globe.

Reservations are recommended, however walk-ins are always welcome!
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, American, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
OPEN
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:00am
Saturday: 10:00am - 1:00am
Sunday: 10:00am - 12:00am

KITCHEN
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 12:00am
Saturday: 10:00am - 12:00am
Sunday: 10:00am - 11:00pm

BRUNCH
Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(617) 764-1655
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Grove St
Additional
Beer, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 410 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.5
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Mimosa flights during a birthday brunch were exactly what we needed after a night out!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

I have been to 5 horses many times, the food and service has always been great, this time was no exception! I will continue to dine at 5 horses and also recommend it to others.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Food excellent. Staff attentive and responsive. Rather loud and not much atmosphere - but it is a pub, so perhaps not surprising. Would definitely go back for the food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

The place is very loud so it can be difficult to hear the people sitting across the table from you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Neighborhood gem that never disappoints! Tavern burger is by far the best burger I’ve had and the chicken tenders are delish!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and service. Five Horses is a great place for a variety of tastes and diets as well, there is something for everyone. The only negative is that the seasoning on the Poke Bowl was a little light, it could have used more oomph. I love coming here though, and will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The restaurant was loud and when arriving at 6:30PM there was a bouncer at the door checking IDs. It didn't leave the best impression. I expect bouncers at late-night places. Food was typical tavern / bar food. There was a good selection of beers on tap.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Saturday night, reservation for 3. We were a little bit late for our reservation because of traffic, but they were very accommodating. We were seated within a few minutes of arriving and our server brought over waters and got our drinks immediately. He was awesome. Our table was a little cramped for three, so when they asked us if we wanted to move to a different table, we agreed. Had we known that we would get a different server when we moved, we would have thought twice. Our original server came to our new table and took our appetizer order. Moments later, our new server came over and introduced herself as Noelle. We explained to her that our original server took the order for our appetizer. She mumbled something about everyone helping each other out and walked away. She came back about 10 minutes later and asked only me if I wanted another drink, and completely ignored my friend. She came back with the drink and again ignored my friend. We didn't see her for another 20 minutes until the third member of our group showed up. She came over to take both friends' drink orders. She took our food orders when she came back with the drinks and we never saw her again until it was time for the bill. She never came over after the food came out to make sure everything was ok, never offered us additional drinks, never cleared the appetizer serving dish or our plates. But once we got the check, she came over multiple times in five minutes to see if we had paid. While she waited for us to pay, she started bussing the table next to us and over filled her tray with glasses, which she ended up dropping and breaking. This caused what I can only hope was water to spill all over my jacket.

Thankfully, the food and drinks were excellent. We will definitely give this place another try, but hopefully we will have a different waitress next time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Love the brunch here. They have some unique spins on classics. Recommend the biscuits and gravy, or the chicken and waffles.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Good place, great ambiance, good for dates and get together as well. They have a good collection of alcohol. A bit overpriced though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great food, love the cornbread, wonderful service :) Thanks!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Great beer selection and amazing burger. I frequent this restaurant because of their amazing burgers and beer. They have beer for every kind of beer drinker!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The food was delicious, our waiter was wonderful. It was just way too loud for conversation. I have been for brunch and that was equally as yummy and far less noisy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Great food. Great beer selection. Great service. I ordered the Grilled Chicken sandwich from the Specials menu. It was the best Grilled Chicken sandwich I ever had. It was served on rye bread with garlic spinach and sliced avocado. I got a side of collard greens which were very tasty. I would highly recommend this restaurant. I have also had the fried chicken and short rib macaroni and chees. Also excellent.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 27, 2018

Nice waitress, but the food was only average. Has he classic taco, the pulled pork was pretty dried out and wasnt served with any condiments. The hit of our meal was the hummus appetizer. Great fresh made pita came with it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Love how the staff works together throughout your entire meal. We were helped by at least 4 different folks and it made for such an easy time. No waiting to place our order, getting refills on drinks, even processing the check. Two thumbs up!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 20, 2018

Fantastic beer list and the tacos were great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Given the holiday and being a busy brunch spot the restaurant was really loud, but that was the only deterrent. Definitely worth overlooking given the great food, fantastic and friendly service, and overall experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Five Horses is one of my go-to's! The menu is unique & diverse. Plus they have a FANTASTIC drink selection. I also really love the vibe & ambiance. It's one of my favorite restaurants in Davis Square.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Great food. Hard to park in the area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

It was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

I have been there for brunch and dinner and had fabuous meals both times. I highly recommend it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2018

I ate here last week for a family brunch and as promised came back to order the waffles for just me. Was not disappointed. The cheesy grits are also always a must.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Decent food, good service. A little pricey but worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

I visited Five Horse Tavern recently with a friend. I was very happy to find several vegan options within the varied menu. We started with vegetable and hummus which proved to be very salty. The vegetables had been salted? My friend enjoyed the chili and I enjoyed the curried cauliflower-it was spicy and delicious! I will be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 22, 2018

I love it here - their cornbread is amazing! They have a little bit of Asian fusion, but everything I've eaten here so far has been home runs. Have not ordered drinks but they seem to have a lot of local beers on tap.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 21, 2018

The entrees were good as usual (Mac and cheese & fried chicken salad), however the tater tot appetizer with kimchi on top was disappointing. The kimchi did not taste great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Went to Five Horses for brunch and everything was amazing! Everyone in my party all got different items, each tasting and looking fantastic! Started with the doughnut holes, yummy!Service was great, never had an empty glass, and the bar was very quick with our drinks every time. Tried the mimosa flight, all tasting great, and what a cute idea! Will definitely be back again :)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

As always great food waitress was very pleasant reassuring as my guest was 1/2 hour late due to transport problem and there was a line to get seated. Waitress brought my guest a tasting glass for her beer and did not rush us at all much appreciated ...

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Great food! Went for brunch with a group of people. Breakfast cocktails were great. Had the Chicken and Waffles, they were amazing, juicy chicken and crispy waffles can't go wrong.
Definitely a place to check out for brunch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Great service in a great atmosphere. Very good beer selection as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Delicious brunch as usual. The new waffles on the menu were a hit at our table and I can’t wait to go back and order them for myself. Not going to share them next time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We had an excellent night. Love the fried chicken salad!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Great food, large drinks menu, and great service.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 11, 2018

Good food at good prices. Place was busy but staff stayed on top of it, no delay in food prep and service. Sat street window, nice view of people walking on by. TV's can be seen from everwhere.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

Waiter was attentive and polite. Would definitely go back

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 2, 2018

great neighborhood place. attentive service, good classic pub food.
will go back!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 28, 2018

Great food and drinks - I am partial to the corn bread and the Whistleblower - but STOP putting parties of two in that back corner with no space or sound dimmer. I don't want to be sitting on someone's jacket listening about their hangover while I'm having my own conversation. Spread out the tables and this place would be perfect!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 28, 2018

Delicious brunch with friendly attentive service! I got the spinach omelette and tater tots didn’t disappoint.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

Overall excellent experience at five horses tavern. This was my first experience at this venue. Food is excellent and portions are just right, ambiance was comfortable and great for having dinner witha a group. Beer menu is extensive. I would highly recommend to try this place out!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
11

Tweets by Five Horses Tavern - Davis Square