Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.15mi
  3. Distance: 0.16mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

About Five Horses Tavern - Davis Square

Five Horses Tavern is conveniently located in Davis Square, walking distance of the Red Line, Somerville Theater, Tufts University, Davis Square Theater and Porter Square.

Our mission is to serve modern American comfort food, incorporating locally sourced ingredients, with many vegetarian, vegan and gluten free options. Our friendly staff will make a memorable experience whether you join us for lunch, dinner or our highly acclaimed weekend brunch.

We are a fantastic venue for hosting large groups and intimate dinners. Our Bar offers a wide variety of craft beers from around the world, boasting 37 draft beers, 120 bottles, signature cocktails and a thoughtfully selected wine list.

Join us on the patio or saddle up to the bar and admire our selection of over 150 bourbons and whiskies from around the globe.

Reservations are recommended, however walk-ins are always welcome!

400 Highland Ave
Somerville, MA 02144
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
OPEN
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:00am
Saturday: 10:00am - 1:00am
Sunday: 10:00am - 12:00am

KITCHEN
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 12:00am
Saturday: 10:00am - 12:00am
Sunday: 10:00am - 11:00pm

BRUNCH
Saturday & Sunday: 10:00am - 3:30pm

Cross Street:
Grove St

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 764-1655

Website:
http://fivehorsestavern.com/davis-square

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Five Horses Tavern - Davis Square Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (33)
Fun (28)
Great Beer (28)
See All
Comfort Food (27)
Great for Brunch (24)
Good for Groups (23)
Casual (22)
Bar Seating (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Great for Lunch (16)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Cozy (10)
Happy Hour (9)
People Watching (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Fireplace (7)
Healthy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Vegan (5)
Live Sports (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Organic (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Spicy (4)
Authentic (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Seasonal (1)
Romantic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
299 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Good beer selection. We ordered the pulled pork and grits, duck burrito, and Foghorn Leghorn pizza and all were very good and were good portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Ambiance and food was great! It was very busy but they got us right in with our reservation. Unfortunately the place is so popular that it was quite loud plus they kept running out of the good beers. Never experienced that before!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food was good and the service was excellent. I would recommend this restaurant for a special occasion. The bar looked fun too!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Five Horses never disappoints! This is a go-to for my sisters and I to grab some american comfort food that is always delicious. We can't go without ordering the corn bread and of course the tater tots! We have celebrated birthdays and other events with family when looking for a delicious meal with a good atmosphere. Nothing too fancy but quality food and drinks. highly recommend.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Cozy, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great evening, service was fast and friendly, very tasty pub fare and a great draft list.

Tags: Great Beer, Fun, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Delicious food and great company! Service was kinda slow and hard to get ahold of the waiter.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The service was outstanding, the food is very good, and the atmosphere was neighborhood-y. We really liked this place.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were a large party with some picky people and everyone was happy! Service was great and food was very good. Apps were a little on the small side for the price.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

First visit was for a Mother's Day brunch but will definitely go back. Nice and roomy with a good menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Forgot some basics like butter for our toast, or ketchup for our eggs, and we had to wait long enough that our waiter apologized. Other than that, awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went here for Mother's Day Brunch, great food and drinks! We will definitely return again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is a popular spot but our waitress rushed us through our noisy dinner in less than 45 minutes without a smile or suggestion. Great craft beer selection is why I go in the end.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Wanted to do something nice before a musical show at the Somerville Theater. Simply not good...disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We ate at Five Horses on Derby night and enjoyed great seats to be able to watch the running on several TV's they had around the bar. They had a hat contest for the ladies and offered mint juleps. Menu is fantastic and food was great!

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Delicious brunch with friends! I love the food at Five Horses. It is a little healthy, a little decadent, and not too expensive. Just like my kale/bacon/egg breakfast sandwich! I do wish they had espresso drinks, but their bloody marys are delicious. It is loud, but also easy to get a large table for a group.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I ordered a beer off the menu and was brought something else; when I mentioned this the server dismissively said that they did not have what I had ordered. Our waiter kindly explained that the menu was out-of-date and offered to get me something else, but the first experience was not very pleasant. Otherwise, the service and meal were very good; I come to Five Horses a lot and I typically enjoy it very much. The service is sometimes slow but the wait staff are usually polite and friendly, and the food and beer are always great.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great time and service will be coming back again for brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Had a great brunch here with a large party (11). Restaurant was very accommodating, and food was delicious!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Fireplace, Vegan, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Creative, delicious food, fabulous beer list, including a few a hard to get regional brews. Fun bar, quick service and the bar and at the table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The service was the best I've ever experienced on a Friday night! The bar was surrounded by people, we didn't know where to stand to order drinks, but one of the bar tenders came right over and handed us a menu! I was amazed at how he noticed us through the sea of people. Then right as we paid for the drinks the hostess came up and said our table was ready! 15 min early ! The food was great as well. This is definitely a repeat place for our night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Our second visit in recent months. Delicious again, lively atmosphere, great service, not hurried, would recommend to anyone looking for great food in a handsome and comfortable setting. Great vibe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Vegan Veggie burger was so boring, bland, thin and crumbly - Bread ratio was way off too. Burger was pretty decent so said my dinner companion. Beer selection is the reason to return and server was very nice, even as it was extremely busy. Tables are very cramped so do not expect privacy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Fantastic beer selection. Large menu with a number of vegetarian options. It was a little noisy. Good service.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Late-night Find, Vegan, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great spot (quiet back table), fabulous service, and yummy food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Loved the food - my date and I shared a salad and pizza. Very good pinot noir! Very popular and, unfortunately, the server was swamped, but well-intentioned. One Big Complaint- the noise level was deafening! So loud, I would not go there on a romantic date.

Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great service and great food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 18, 2017

I've been to Five Horses many times. The beer list is fantastic but the food is just okay. I have ordered many different menu items that were all mediocre. The burger is the best thing on the menu, IMO.

Yesterday I ordered the mushroom taco for the first time and it was horrible (bitter, otherwise no flavor). The fish taco tasted okay but a liquid rush of juice from whatever they put into it ran out of the taco and down my arm -- more than once. Yesterday's food experience may have put the nail in the coffin. I doubt I'll return anytime soon.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for brunch on easter. My daughter left her sunglasses by accident. Went back the next day and the hostess said yes, someone turned in a pair but now they are missing. Apparently an employee is now enjoying them. I'll pass on returning there. Not about to tip a server who stole from my daughter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Had the tavern chili, good flavor a little watery. Also shared the falafel wrap a bit dry could use more sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great food and service. Cornbread appetizer is outstanding and fun and varied menu with something for everyone is sure to please wife ranging tastes and diets. Lively bar scene, too!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We were starving when we arrived. The pretzels are great- they are served with cheese and mustard spreads. The mustard is hot although tasty- at least to me. We had an array of sandwiches and the curry. The curry like the mustard was very hot- too much so for some at our table. Unfortunately the kitchen was liberal with the mustard on the sandwiches which turned off some of our diners, as it seemed to be used too frequently across dishes and was too spicy for some diners. Prior to ordering we specifically asked the staff about the level of spice used in various dishes and were told that the kitchen does not favor use of heavy spices. This is incorrect. I have eaten the spiciest curries in indian restaurants domestically and internationally and can attest the kitchen has a heavy hand. I like spicy foods but my colleagues did not enjoy their dinners. Although the tater tots were prepared properly, we would have preferred chips or fries. The dessert list was too limited and boring. A decent array of beer is available

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Food was amazing. Taste and presentation were top notch. Portion sizes were great. Steak was cooked perfectly which surprised us given the vegan friendliness of the menu. Server seemed grumpy and was quiet with us and the table next to us. Entrees came before we had finished our appetizers, which made the table feel cluttered. Otherwise, ambiance is fun, young, vibrant. Overall a great dining experience.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Fun atmosphere. Good cocktails. The food was average.

Tags: Fun, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Awesome place for brunch! Definitely make a reservation if you can. Good cocktails and beer selection. Try the mimosa flight!

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Food wasn't exceptional but a decent value. The naked mac and cheese allows choice of mix ins, a nice touch. We were satisfied but not wowed. The fruit cobbler is bland, gritty and almost tasteless.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 21, 2017

This place serves consistently solid food and drink, and is uniquely good for private conversations: unlike most pubs, it is not too loud to hear each other, but there is enough background noise (and space between tables) that the next party over probably will not overhear personal details about your lives.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Had some difficulty obtaining an adequate table for my friend who has CP and a service dog. They did make accommodations. It was St. Patricks day weekend. Service was fair. Waiter was an air head and very slow. When we went to pay the bill instead of spliting it between the two cards he dropped one and did not realize it. Because I had an excellent previous experience I would recommend the restaurant. The food is excellent with a great beer and liquor menu.

Tags: Casual, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I went to Five Horse Tavern with my boyfriend for his birthday. We ordered wings to start, which were really great - my boyfriend thought they were some of the best he had ever had! For our meal, I ordered the veggie/vegan burger with jalapeno mashed potatoes. I thought the veggie burger was so good - definitely homemade. The jalapeno mashed potatoes also were really good. My boyfriend ordered the burger with a salad, and he really enjoyed it. Our waitress was a little awkward, but we both thought the restaurant had a nice feel. We would definitely make another reservation here.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

we were there for sunday brunch. the food arrived heat and quick. the service was helpful and prompt. however we felt rushed to finish our meal and clear the table. will try it again

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.