Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.72mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.11mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.72mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.11mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.72mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.11mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.72mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.11mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi

About Five Bistro

Our menu features familiar, crowd-pleasing items, as well as a wide range of dishes with ethnic flair. We prepare from scratch and use the freshest, organic, and natural ingredients possible. Our menu changes daily, to reflect not just seasonal availability, but also to provide a constant variety sourced from our local farmers. Quality products and service keep regular customers coming back and pique the interest of the new customer.

5100 Daggett Ave
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Italian

Hours of Operation:
DINNER: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm to 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm to 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hereford

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 773-5553

Website:
http://www.fivebistro.com/

Catering:
Our partnership with local farmers allows us to offer a large selection of appetizers and desserts created with fresh, seasonal ingredients. Dinner selections can also be designed with your personal input through our catering manager.

Parking Details:
Ample street parking is available in this quaint Hill neighborhood.

Public Transit:
Metro Transit stops are available within 2 blocks of our location.

Executive Chef:
Anthony Devoti

Private Party Facilities:
Our Tamara Room provides a warm and comfortable space, seating approximately 50 guests and providing the perfect background for an extraordinary dining experience. Wooden room dividers ensure your guests privacy and quiet from an adjacent room.

Private Party Contact:
Bonnie Devoti: (314) 773-5553

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host 5-course wine dinners once a month. Please sign up on our website to join our email list for more information.

Five Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (22)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for a Date (17)
See All
Creative Cuisine (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Romantic (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Authentic (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Cozy (9)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Seasonal (6)
Business Meals (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Healthy (4)
Organic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Casual (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Private Room (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
638 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

This was a nice place. I wish the menu had a few more offerings but it is unique and the food was good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 4 days ago

We joined friends in St. Louis for a great dinner on the hill. Once again I was not disappointed. The food was excellent fie the most part paint two of us got a pork roll which was very dry. The salad was fresh and crisp. The soup was divine and the Hamic was absolutely prepared perfectly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Food was outstanding, locally sourced or made in-house, and thus fresh! Presentation was beautiful! Staff was knowledgeable about every item and ingredient, and educational without being offputting. The Chef even visited our table to provide further detail about the food! Best meal I've had in St. Louis since moving from Chicago! Can't wait to go back and take others!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Healthy, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Five has great food and is still family run. The menu keeps changing and is always very creative. Clean will decorated building in a historic neighborhood.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Amazing food, great wine and friendly service! We did the four course dinner and none of them disappointed. If gnocchi is on the menu...get it!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent meal, courses timed well, lovely wine pairings. Bethany was an attentive, personable, and knowledgeable server. A great meal and evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

we had the chef's menu, it was excellent. service and atmosphere were excellent as well.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

From the parents of the chef who greet you when you arrive, to a stellar bartender/sommelier, to a chef who knocks it out of the park with seasonal/local ingredients, Five Bistro delivers a consistent, stellar experience. Even the simple things are done to perfection: bread baked on site, hand formed noodles, lamb shanks braised sous vide until they fall of the bone, locally foraged mushrooms, house made ice creams. You're not going to find a Caesar with a PERFECTLY poached locally raised egg like this many places. And ALL of this is delivered by knowledgeable servers, without a touch of pretension and a genuine interest in you and your dining experience. We are a little bit ambivalent about telling our friends because it is cozy in size. But how could we NOT!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Tony has a phenomenal way of mixing home grown and farm to table sourced ingretiants to beautifully blend flavors that I truly look forward to every time. Their ingredients are beyond fresh and Tony holds everyone there to a very high standard! The staff is just as wonderful. Please arrive early and have drink with Jake at the bar and take in all of the furnishings that Tony's dad Joe handmade.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We hadn't been in a couple of years (we don't live in St. Louis). It is as good or better than ever. We always eat a meal at 5 when we are in town. Delicious.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Organic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The waitress was amazing and knowledgeable and the food was above what I expected

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Four course pre-fix w. wine pairings followed a delicious off-the-menu taste bud awakener. Cheese plate, pumpkin soup, game hen w. local veggies, and chocolate w. coffee ice cream all had melt-in-your mouth flavor. Looking forward to the next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

If you want a great meal or, if you're looking for an excellent dining experience for that special (you name the occasion) dinner, look no further. I heard about Five when they first opened on Manchester. This was a good while before the foodie explosion that's been going on here. At the time, the concept was new for St.Louis though common on either coast. Locally sourced, seasonally fresh food for a dining experience that recognized the five senses. We loved 'em from the start and every time we go back, Five never disappoints. The service is personal and caring. The food is a mix of classic ingredients and preparations, mixed with a fresh twist. Be it the presentation or the combinations of foods on the plate. I wish I could dine here ever week. We'll be back. Oh, and get on their mailing list to hear about the different focus and pairing events. There's something for everyone and you'll never be disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 19, 2017

There's something to be said about changing the menu every day. You can't fine tune a dish that way. My appetizer lacked seasoning and my guest had way too many truffles on hers. While my entree was very good (pot roast,) hers (braised pork) had ingredients in it that fought with the taste of the pork so she did not finish her appetizer or her entree. We went early on Wednesday night so we were virtually the only guests in the place so our waitress was checking on us basically every 5 minutes, which made it difficult to have a conversation. I had eaten there twice before and it was excellent so I was very disappointed. Especially for the cost of the meal. I would try it again hoping that this was just an off night.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Always dependable, friendly spot for great food and drinks.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful as always. Lovely presentation,nicely paired with wine...one of our favourite St Louis restaurant. Congrats to Chef Devoti and his team.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

What a lovely experience! I called before I made reservations to see if they could accommodate our 10 year old daughter & Chef Tony kindly offered to make her either pizza or pasta. The rest of us had the 4 course prix fixe which was absolutely fantastic! The pizza he prepared for her was amazing! Her meal was made with as much care and consideration as any of the other courses and the chef even came out to ensure she enjoyed her pizza. Our server, Bethany, was wonderful and we enjoyed the friendly, professional service as well as a delicious and interesting meal. Without a doubt, we'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Have eaten here several times. Food is always interesting and outstanding. One of our favorite places to dine.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I am hesitant to recommend now. Had a delicious meal there 2 weeks ago. Beef pot roast...tender, delicious. Ask for a scoop of ice-cream for dessert and got a nice scoop. This night started off with a drink with a vodka request that she said they never carried. I had asked for it last week, so I guess they just served whatever they wanted to! Tasted good, but still deceptive. Complimentary starter was not special at all. Pot roast was sliced very thin, looked attractive, tasted good, but was incredibly tough. Waitress explained that he butchers his meat there and uses every part...maybe this one not so tender. Well, I don't want that "part" again! Asked for scoop of ice-cream like before, received a scant tablespoon on profiterole (3) which I had said I did not want. Waitress came over at almost every bite/sip to affirm that it was delicious and we loved it. Too much! And when I commented on the toughness, she brushed me aside. So, she did not really care what I thought... just thought if she mentioned delicious often enough, I would believe it. First visit, I thought I had found a new favorite. I will give it another try, but this made me hesitant to bring more friends here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 21, 2016

My husband & I went with my son & daughter in law to Five Bistro on a Tuesday evening. A bit slower of a night so noise level was subdued. Our waitress was just right attentive. We each had a different entree & sampled each other's. All delicious! We'll be back!

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 14, 2016

we have been there many times and found this past time the food was just ok. i had the pot roast which wasn't as tender as described by the server, not very warm, and not much flavor. my dining partner had the pork loin chop which was very chewy and again not as tender as described by the server. we have always loved this restaurant but this past time was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 13, 2016

This may be the best restaurant I've eaten at in the St. Louis area. The food is superb, nutritious and delicious. For locovores especially, this is the place to go. The chef is remarkable, including the bread he bakes too. I'm eager to go back. The other two in my party were equally enthusiastic.

Tags: Vegan, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Ambiance was great. Food was very good with an emphasis on "farm to table". Menu options seemed a little limited but what i had was good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Had another outstanding meal at Five Bistro. My guest were amazed as it was there first visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We only eat pasture raised & organic. This choice was not only friendly to our stomachs & sensibilities, but also to our wallet

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Tasty good local food, prepared and served very nicely. Service is outstanding, letting you as a guest fell very welcome. Always a feast to enjoy dinner here!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Went for dinner with our son and daughter-in-law and the food and service were great. Would definitely recommend Five Bistro.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We each had the four-course dinner. Everything was outstanding--there wasn't a single miss. Pasta appetizer with outstanding mushrooms and a light sauce, Brussels sprouts, salad, pumpkin soup. scallops, vegetable plate (the vegetarian among us received extraordinary care), amazing chocolate cake and apple crisp, great wine . . . everything was outstanding. On top of that, the service was at least as memorable as what we were served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

You can depend upon Five Bistro to provide original preparations of everything. Their dedication and passion for food is evident. I hope they continue to stay in business for many years to come.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had a wonderful time during our dinner at Five Bistro. Our server was exceptional and added to our enjoyment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Amazing food and amazing service! We picked it for prefix menu with terrific wine pairings!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

My husband and I hadn't been to 5 Bistro for a while and wanted a good spot for a date night. We were not disappointed. It was a surprisingly warm October evening and we requested to sit outside. The quickly accommodated and set a table for us. Dinner was delicious, and the staff fully attentive. We'll doubtless return in the coming months.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Tagliatelle w wild mushrooms and deviled egg w smoked pork shoulder were delicious first courses. A great Caesar salad and a monster house charcuterie plate were our second. The charcuterie would have been more suitable for 4 than 2 and carried a large up charge, $15. It did have some very interesting items including pork tongue and beef heart, as well as some more traditional items like head cheese and pate, all was very good but huge portion for 2. Entrees of braised chicken leg quarter and pork loin were also great. Only criticism was the pork was a little overcooked and beans w the pork were a little underdone thus 4 stars instead of 5. Cheese plate and a flourless chocolate cake were nice finishers. Cake was just a little grainy, ice cream w it was fabulous. Our server was very friendly, knowledgeable about the menu, and attentive wo being overbearing. Overall a great fine dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 28, 2016

As usual we felt like family with the superb service and excellent food. It was especially nice since we had a visitor from out of town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Five Bistro never disappoints. Farm-to-table, creative cuisine. Totally authentic -- every single ingredient is detailed on the menu. Chef Anthony Devoti is the real deal -- a great chef who treat you like he's invited you into his home. PLUS, the restaurant is very quiet -- you can actually have a conversation and hear each other across the table. When my foodie friends from New York come to town, I always take them to Five Bistro -- they are blown away by the quality of the meal and the reasonable price.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We opted for the four course option with wine pairings. The food was perfectly prepared and the pairings were outstanding. Thoughtfully selected and passionately presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

the experience was overall quite good. very good service and for the most part the food was excellent. had the four courses fixed price dinner. we liked three of the four courses, problem was though that the course we weren't crazy about was the main course. they have very limited options for the main course and the ones we ordered were just okay. however, the other courses were excellent. would go again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 7, 2016

4 course was great and good portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Good food, unfortunately just poor service. Entree came out before appetizer, which all came out before bread. Never got asked how it was as she was scrambling. Maybe she was a new server but for food and wine at a fairly premium price we were kind of insulted by the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I've had great meals here in the past...but this latest meal was not so great. I had the lamb which was tough and chewy, and frankly lacked flavor. My Dad had the pot roast which was perfect. Our waitress was a little odd and acted awkward and was a 'low talker' I could barely understand her and my Dad couldn't hear 3/4 of what she said. Service was slow, which is okay if you aren't waiting for your cocktail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.