Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.72mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.11mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.72mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.11mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.72mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.11mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.72mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.11mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi

About Five Bistro

Our menu features familiar, crowd-pleasing items, as well as a wide range of dishes with ethnic flair. We prepare from scratch and use the freshest, organic, and natural ingredients possible. Our menu changes daily, to reflect not just seasonal availability, but also to provide a constant variety sourced from our local farmers. Quality products and service keep regular customers coming back and pique the interest of the new customer.

5100 Daggett Ave
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Italian

Hours of Operation:
DINNER: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm to 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm to 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hereford

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 773-5553

Website:
http://www.fivebistro.com/

Catering:
Our partnership with local farmers allows us to offer a large selection of appetizers and desserts created with fresh, seasonal ingredients. Dinner selections can also be designed with your personal input through our catering manager.

Parking Details:
Ample street parking is available in this quaint Hill neighborhood.

Public Transit:
Metro Transit stops are available within 2 blocks of our location.

Executive Chef:
Anthony Devoti

Private Party Facilities:
Our Tamara Room provides a warm and comfortable space, seating approximately 50 guests and providing the perfect background for an extraordinary dining experience. Wooden room dividers ensure your guests privacy and quiet from an adjacent room.

Private Party Contact:
Bonnie Devoti: (314) 773-5553

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host 5-course wine dinners once a month. Please sign up on our website to join our email list for more information.

Five Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (27)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Good for a Date (24)
See All
Special Occasion (23)
Local Ingredients (23)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Romantic (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Organic (14)
Tasting Menu (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Cozy (9)
Authentic (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Healthy (8)
Seasonal (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Business Meals (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Casual (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Live Music (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Historic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
656 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

We were impressed by the overall professionalism of the staff and the tasteful decor of the dining room. Wish we could have experienced the patio but, alas, it was very stormy that evening.

I have seen reviews that interpreted the menu as being somewhat limited. We ordered the charcuterie plate, and if you have a sound culinary back round you would appreciate the work that an item like this entails. Headcheese, country pate, chicken liver pate, pickled veggies, apple sauce, french mustard, and more indicated that the kitchen was indeed very ambitious in its menu. It all tasted great. The wheat bread was aromatic, the brioche buttery, and the flat bread tasty if a little bit on the thin & fragile side for this dish.

The pappardelle was particularly well executed and just the right portion also.

We had an ample wine list from which to choose. The Sancerre was absolutely spot on. Dry, flinty, and aromatic.

My pork entree was perfectly cooked with just enough pink to keep the moisture level adequate.
The vegetables were carefully done and very flavorful, a perfect accompaniment for the pork.

We also enjoyed the rhubarb/strawberry tart with our after dinner coffee.

This is one of the very few restaurants that presents the bill folio with a petite sweet from the kitchen. I have not experienced that delightful tradition since my days at the Culinary Institute of America. Thank you.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 3 days ago

My husband and I dined here to celebrate my birthday. We had the four course menu and both enjoyed our selections for each course. Service was wonderful and each course was excellent.

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful as always! Great service, and incredible, locally sourced and seasonal food.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Organic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

One of our most dependable "go to" places, Five Bistro consistently delivers a sumptuous dining experience. They also seem to attract the most pleasant, knowledgeable and efficient service staff. This is a family run enterprise and you can see that the staff and the customers are made to feel like one of the family.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I love this place. The ambiance is great and everything I tasted was excellent. The only downside is the menu is very limited - if you dine with people who like basic straight forward food (steak and potatoes) this is not a great spot for you. We had a delicious squid appetizer and a crab salad on toast. My entre was a pork loin over polenta and wild mushrooms. So tasty and cooked to perfection (pork can so easily become dry and tasteless). We were too full for dessert but the chef sent out 3 small, warm chocolate chip cookies. I was in heaven!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

A neighborhood gem on the Hill with A great Prie Fix menu which Leverages local ingredients. Staff was very friendly and attentive - always making sure we had a full glass and making sure we were satisfied with our meal.

Tags: Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent experience, delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

After many years of dining in St. Louis, Five is still my favorite restaurant! My friend and I went for Restaurant Week in the Hill. Every single bit was delicious! I cannot recommend this restaurant enough!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 4, 2017

The food was outstanding. Some of the best Scallops I have had and the house made bread was amazing!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Great food in a friendly neighborhood atmosphere! Love the farm to table menu. Servers were very friendly.

Tags: Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 4, 2017

We have never been disappointed when we have gone to Five Bistro. The service is impeccable without being stiff and the food is outstanding.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 3, 2017

My friend and I came here for The Hill Restaurant Week. This was the first time here for both of us. We were promptly greeted and brought to our table. We both had the Tagliatelle Bolognese for Course 1, which had wonderful flavor and the ricotta melted in your mouth. Course 2 was the beef roast (medium rare) or scallops. We each got different choices, and they were delicious. The scallops were cooked perfectly and the beef was beyond tender. Both came with amazing tasting sides to complement the protein. The last course, we both got the chocolate cake. It had a crisp outside with a warm, moist center that balanced well with the creme anglaise and cookie crumbles. Between 2 courses, the chef also came out to see how the food was and he started our meal by introducing the first course!

Recommend to others: YES

Pros:
~Food, all of it--taste, presentation, freshness
~Friendliness and professionalism of wait staff
~Decor/ambiance

Cons:
~Prices on every day menu can get a little high for the average person, so maybe not your typical common dinner stop. However, definitely worth it to go every now and then, especially for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent food but not worth the price for the small portions served. Great service by waiter and staff; just feel both food and wine overpriced for portions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Mandy was a waitress I remember. Not sure why. She was just a genuine person who connects well with people. The chef knows what he is doing and the farm to table, which is a slogan in some places, is a mantra at Bistro. I will be back. Just a great meal, and great night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food is good and some dishes tasted better than others. Most of the dishes we shared were kind of bland and lacked flavor. However, the ingredients were fresh.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Good wine list. Very friendly staff. Intimate setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This was our second trip to Five Bistro and it didn't disappoint. The food is spectacular and the service is even better. Jacob is one of the best bartenders ever! We would strongly recommend this to anyone who enjoys an extraordinary dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 25, 2017

This was a nice place. I wish the menu had a few more offerings but it is unique and the food was good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We joined friends in St. Louis for a great dinner on the hill. Once again I was not disappointed. The food was excellent fie the most part paint two of us got a pork roll which was very dry. The salad was fresh and crisp. The soup was divine and the Hamic was absolutely prepared perfectly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Food was outstanding, locally sourced or made in-house, and thus fresh! Presentation was beautiful! Staff was knowledgeable about every item and ingredient, and educational without being offputting. The Chef even visited our table to provide further detail about the food! Best meal I've had in St. Louis since moving from Chicago! Can't wait to go back and take others!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Healthy, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Five has great food and is still family run. The menu keeps changing and is always very creative. Clean will decorated building in a historic neighborhood.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Amazing food, great wine and friendly service! We did the four course dinner and none of them disappointed. If gnocchi is on the menu...get it!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent meal, courses timed well, lovely wine pairings. Bethany was an attentive, personable, and knowledgeable server. A great meal and evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

we had the chef's menu, it was excellent. service and atmosphere were excellent as well.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 18, 2017

From the parents of the chef who greet you when you arrive, to a stellar bartender/sommelier, to a chef who knocks it out of the park with seasonal/local ingredients, Five Bistro delivers a consistent, stellar experience. Even the simple things are done to perfection: bread baked on site, hand formed noodles, lamb shanks braised sous vide until they fall of the bone, locally foraged mushrooms, house made ice creams. You're not going to find a Caesar with a PERFECTLY poached locally raised egg like this many places. And ALL of this is delivered by knowledgeable servers, without a touch of pretension and a genuine interest in you and your dining experience. We are a little bit ambivalent about telling our friends because it is cozy in size. But how could we NOT!!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Tony has a phenomenal way of mixing home grown and farm to table sourced ingretiants to beautifully blend flavors that I truly look forward to every time. Their ingredients are beyond fresh and Tony holds everyone there to a very high standard! The staff is just as wonderful. Please arrive early and have drink with Jake at the bar and take in all of the furnishings that Tony's dad Joe handmade.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 3, 2017

We hadn't been in a couple of years (we don't live in St. Louis). It is as good or better than ever. We always eat a meal at 5 when we are in town. Delicious.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Organic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The waitress was amazing and knowledgeable and the food was above what I expected

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Four course pre-fix w. wine pairings followed a delicious off-the-menu taste bud awakener. Cheese plate, pumpkin soup, game hen w. local veggies, and chocolate w. coffee ice cream all had melt-in-your mouth flavor. Looking forward to the next visit.

Tags: Special Occasion, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 27, 2017

If you want a great meal or, if you're looking for an excellent dining experience for that special (you name the occasion) dinner, look no further. I heard about Five when they first opened on Manchester. This was a good while before the foodie explosion that's been going on here. At the time, the concept was new for St.Louis though common on either coast. Locally sourced, seasonally fresh food for a dining experience that recognized the five senses. We loved 'em from the start and every time we go back, Five never disappoints. The service is personal and caring. The food is a mix of classic ingredients and preparations, mixed with a fresh twist. Be it the presentation or the combinations of foods on the plate. I wish I could dine here ever week. We'll be back. Oh, and get on their mailing list to hear about the different focus and pairing events. There's something for everyone and you'll never be disappointed.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 19, 2017

There's something to be said about changing the menu every day. You can't fine tune a dish that way. My appetizer lacked seasoning and my guest had way too many truffles on hers. While my entree was very good (pot roast,) hers (braised pork) had ingredients in it that fought with the taste of the pork so she did not finish her appetizer or her entree. We went early on Wednesday night so we were virtually the only guests in the place so our waitress was checking on us basically every 5 minutes, which made it difficult to have a conversation. I had eaten there twice before and it was excellent so I was very disappointed. Especially for the cost of the meal. I would try it again hoping that this was just an off night.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Always dependable, friendly spot for great food and drinks.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful as always. Lovely presentation,nicely paired with wine...one of our favourite St Louis restaurant. Congrats to Chef Devoti and his team.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

What a lovely experience! I called before I made reservations to see if they could accommodate our 10 year old daughter & Chef Tony kindly offered to make her either pizza or pasta. The rest of us had the 4 course prix fixe which was absolutely fantastic! The pizza he prepared for her was amazing! Her meal was made with as much care and consideration as any of the other courses and the chef even came out to ensure she enjoyed her pizza. Our server, Bethany, was wonderful and we enjoyed the friendly, professional service as well as a delicious and interesting meal. Without a doubt, we'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Have eaten here several times. Food is always interesting and outstanding. One of our favorite places to dine.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I am hesitant to recommend now. Had a delicious meal there 2 weeks ago. Beef pot roast...tender, delicious. Ask for a scoop of ice-cream for dessert and got a nice scoop. This night started off with a drink with a vodka request that she said they never carried. I had asked for it last week, so I guess they just served whatever they wanted to! Tasted good, but still deceptive. Complimentary starter was not special at all. Pot roast was sliced very thin, looked attractive, tasted good, but was incredibly tough. Waitress explained that he butchers his meat there and uses every part...maybe this one not so tender. Well, I don't want that "part" again! Asked for scoop of ice-cream like before, received a scant tablespoon on profiterole (3) which I had said I did not want. Waitress came over at almost every bite/sip to affirm that it was delicious and we loved it. Too much! And when I commented on the toughness, she brushed me aside. So, she did not really care what I thought... just thought if she mentioned delicious often enough, I would believe it. First visit, I thought I had found a new favorite. I will give it another try, but this made me hesitant to bring more friends here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 21, 2016

My husband & I went with my son & daughter in law to Five Bistro on a Tuesday evening. A bit slower of a night so noise level was subdued. Our waitress was just right attentive. We each had a different entree & sampled each other's. All delicious! We'll be back!

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 14, 2016

we have been there many times and found this past time the food was just ok. i had the pot roast which wasn't as tender as described by the server, not very warm, and not much flavor. my dining partner had the pork loin chop which was very chewy and again not as tender as described by the server. we have always loved this restaurant but this past time was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 13, 2016

This may be the best restaurant I've eaten at in the St. Louis area. The food is superb, nutritious and delicious. For locovores especially, this is the place to go. The chef is remarkable, including the bread he bakes too. I'm eager to go back. The other two in my party were equally enthusiastic.

Tags: Vegan, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Ambiance was great. Food was very good with an emphasis on "farm to table". Menu options seemed a little limited but what i had was good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.