About Five Bistro

5100 Daggett Ave
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Our menu features familiar, crowd-pleasing items, as well as a wide range of dishes with ethnic flair. We prepare from scratch and use the freshest, organic, and natural ingredients possible. Our menu changes daily, to reflect not just seasonal availability, but also to provide a constant variety sourced from our local farmers. Quality products and service keep regular customers coming back and pique the interest of the new customer.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Italian

Hours of Operation:
DINNER: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm to 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm to 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hereford

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 773-5553

Website:
http://www.fivebistro.com/

Catering:
Our partnership with local farmers allows us to offer a large selection of appetizers and desserts created with fresh, seasonal ingredients. Dinner selections can also be designed with your personal input through our catering manager.

Parking Details:
Ample street parking is available in this quaint Hill neighborhood.

Public Transit:
Metro Transit stops are available within 2 blocks of our location.

Executive Chef:
Anthony Devoti

Private Party Facilities:
Our Tamara Room provides a warm and comfortable space, seating approximately 50 guests and providing the perfect background for an extraordinary dining experience. Wooden room dividers ensure your guests privacy and quiet from an adjacent room.

Private Party Contact:
Bonnie Devoti: 3147735553x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host 5-course wine dinners once a month. Please sign up on our website to join our email list for more information.

Restaurant Photos

  • Chocolate Hazelnut Tart With Caramel Sauce - Five Bistro, St. Louis, MO
  • Brown Butter Pear Tart With Vanilla Bean Ice Cream - Five Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Chocolate Hazelnut Tart With Caramel Sauce - Five Bistro, St. Louis, MO
Brown Butter Pear Tart With Vanilla Bean Ice Cream - Five Bistro, St. Louis, MO

Five Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
St. Louis
Best Ambiance
St. Louis
Contemporary American
St. Louis
6 More
Best Overall
Downtown
Best Food
Downtown
Best Service
Downtown
Best Ambiance
Downtown
Best Value
Downtown
Contemporary American
Downtown
Best Restaurants in The Hill ›

Fit for Foodies (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Special Occasion (9)
See All
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Romantic (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Organic (5)
Cozy (4)
Casual (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Authentic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Private Room (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Business Meals (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Healthy (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fun (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
591 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We only eat pasture raised & organic. Th ...

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined 5 days ago

We only eat pasture raised & organic. This choice was not only friendly to our stomachs & sensibilities, but also to our wallet

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty good local food, prepared and serv ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Tasty good local food, prepared and served very nicely. Service is outstanding, letting you as a guest fell very welcome. Always a feast to enjoy dinner here!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for dinner with our son and daughte ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Went for dinner with our son and daughter-in-law and the food and service were great. Would definitely recommend Five Bistro.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We each had the four-course dinner. Eve ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We each had the four-course dinner. Everything was outstanding--there wasn't a single miss. Pasta appetizer with outstanding mushrooms and a light sauce, Brussels sprouts, salad, pumpkin soup. scallops, vegetable plate (the vegetarian among us received extraordinary care), amazing chocolate cake and apple crisp, great wine . . . everything was outstanding. On top of that, the service was at least as memorable as what we were served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can depend upon Five Bistro to provi ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

You can depend upon Five Bistro to provide original preparations of everything. Their dedication and passion for food is evident. I hope they continue to stay in business for many years to come.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful time during our dinne ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We had a wonderful time during our dinner at Five Bistro. Our server was exceptional and added to our enjoyment.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food and amazing service! We pic ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Amazing food and amazing service! We picked it for prefix menu with terrific wine pairings!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I hadn't been to 5 Bistro ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

My husband and I hadn't been to 5 Bistro for a while and wanted a good spot for a date night. We were not disappointed. It was a surprisingly warm October evening and we requested to sit outside. The quickly accommodated and set a table for us. Dinner was delicious, and the staff fully attentive. We'll doubtless return in the coming months.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tagliatelle w wild mushrooms and deviled ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Tagliatelle w wild mushrooms and deviled egg w smoked pork shoulder were delicious first courses. A great Caesar salad and a monster house charcuterie plate were our second. The charcuterie would have been more suitable for 4 than 2 and carried a large up charge, $15. It did have some very interesting items including pork tongue and beef heart, as well as some more traditional items like head cheese and pate, all was very good but huge portion for 2. Entrees of braised chicken leg quarter and pork loin were also great. Only criticism was the pork was a little overcooked and beans w the pork were a little underdone thus 4 stars instead of 5. Cheese plate and a flourless chocolate cake were nice finishers. Cake was just a little grainy, ice cream w it was fabulous. Our server was very friendly, knowledgeable about the menu, and attentive wo being overbearing. Overall a great fine dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

As usual we felt like family with the su ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 28, 2016

As usual we felt like family with the superb service and excellent food. It was especially nice since we had a visitor from out of town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Five Bistro never disappoints. Farm-to-t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Five Bistro never disappoints. Farm-to-table, creative cuisine. Totally authentic -- every single ingredient is detailed on the menu. Chef Anthony Devoti is the real deal -- a great chef who treat you like he's invited you into his home. PLUS, the restaurant is very quiet -- you can actually have a conversation and hear each other across the table. When my foodie friends from New York come to town, I always take them to Five Bistro -- they are blown away by the quality of the meal and the reasonable price.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We opted for the four course option with ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 19, 2016

We opted for the four course option with wine pairings. The food was perfectly prepared and the pairings were outstanding. Thoughtfully selected and passionately presented.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

the experience was overall quite good. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

the experience was overall quite good. very good service and for the most part the food was excellent. had the four courses fixed price dinner. we liked three of the four courses, problem was though that the course we weren't crazy about was the main course. they have very limited options for the main course and the ones we ordered were just okay. however, the other courses were excellent. would go again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

4 course was great and good portions.

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 7, 2016

4 course was great and good portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, unfortunately just poor servi ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Good food, unfortunately just poor service. Entree came out before appetizer, which all came out before bread. Never got asked how it was as she was scrambling. Maybe she was a new server but for food and wine at a fairly premium price we were kind of insulted by the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

I've had great meals here in the past... ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I've had great meals here in the past...but this latest meal was not so great. I had the lamb which was tough and chewy, and frankly lacked flavor. My Dad had the pot roast which was perfect. Our waitress was a little odd and acted awkward and was a 'low talker' I could barely understand her and my Dad couldn't hear 3/4 of what she said. Service was slow, which is okay if you aren't waiting for your cocktail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

This was our first time at Five Bistro, ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 30, 2016

This was our first time at Five Bistro, and it definitely lived up to its ratings. Excellent food, attentive service, and fine atmosphere for conversation. We'll definitely come back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Third time I have been here but 1st time ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Third time I have been here but 1st time in 2 years. Charcuterie was as good as I remember. Good enough for 2 or 3 to start. Excellent wine list from smaller winery from around the world.

Salmon was very good. Portions not large but adequate.

Service was perfect

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Casual, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great meal --everything was fabulous, a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great meal --everything was fabulous, as always. Great service too. And it's so nice to be enjoy a fine meal AND have an audible conversation with friends.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very kind and eager to please waitress ( ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Very kind and eager to please waitress (Anita). Bartender/wine advisor Jacob (pretty sure I remembered his name!) on the mark: he brought out two complimentary glasses of a lovely sparkling French rose to honor my friend, who was celebrating his 65th birthday. Also confirmed our Rhine wine choice, which was nice.

We both had the 4-course menu. Delicious as always! The braised beef was sublime! The pork loin came out medium (though I was told it was going to be well cooked). It's not the chef of course... It's me! I just don't like meat that's not cooked through. Perhaps it was miscommunication with the waitress. If I'd known, I'd have ordered the beef or the salmon. It was still delicious-- I just hD to not think about it!

The only "disappointment" was the dessert. The description of the pizzelle had us thinking we were getting something else... More chocolately goodness with expresso ice cream. It was more like chocolate pudding plopped on the pizzelle with whipped cream and ice cream . the ice cream was exquisite-- I would have been ecstatic to have a bowl of that with bittersweet chocolate sauce drizzled over it! Even if the elements of the dessert were the same, and maybe presented differently (like layered, in a jam jar, where it would have melded better together I. A pretty way) it might have worked better.

Alas, our neighboring table was peopled by a very loud, self-absorbed man and his poor companion (obviously a work colleague who's agreed to have dinner with him, an out of towner). Once they finally left, we were able to better enjoy the wonderful ambiance (and each other!) and focus on our food.

It was also nice to see the owner come in to the bar area with what looked like his young son in soccer cleats. They stayed, ate, and socialized with friends and it was delightful to see.

We look forward to a return visit our next trip to STL! It's always a "must-visit" when we travel to STL!

Nonetheless, we will be back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were visiting from Cali ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 27, 2016

My husband and I were visiting from California and loved our evening at Five. We both had the four course meal and were happy with everything. The food was all very fresh and well- prepared. I had the Raviolis and they were yummy. For dessert my husband had the cheese platter with nice cheese selections and I had a peach tart that was so yummy and homemade tasting (naturally sweet with the peaches and a thin, light crust. )

My compliments to a very talented chef. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great pairing of the wine and entrees.

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great pairing of the wine and entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was very good in respects to ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Everything was very good in respects to the food and the drinks. My only reason for not giving the ambiance 5 stars was the tables were set close together. So close that it was hard to not hear the conversations happening on either side of you. Other than that, great dinner, great drinks, great night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Five Bistro is consistently excellent! C ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Five Bistro is consistently excellent! Chef Devoti doesn't disappoint.

Tags: La perle du quartier, Idéal pour les plus fins palais, Une occasion spéciale, Une carte des vins remarquable, Romantique
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Four of us had dinner. Three of us were ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Four of us had dinner. Three of us were very happy with our entrees. One had the lamb and found it to be too peppery-enough that he didn't enjoy it. Other than that, we had a lovely dinner with good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good fresh innovative food

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Good fresh innovative food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was amazing. I did the wine pa ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was amazing. I did the wine pairing with my four course meal and everything was spot on. We were very satisfied. It is a great date night restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impressive! The four-course meal was fr ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Impressive! The four-course meal was fresh, tasty, and wonderful, the ambiance and service was great--we'll be back to try the wine pairing next time. And maybe to eat on the patio... Similar to Farmhaus, but the interior decor is more upscale-not formal, but more sophisticated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I went for dinner. We re ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 22, 2016

My husband and I went for dinner. We really enjoyed our meal. Our waitress was very attentive, the space had a nice atmosphere and we thought it nice that the chef greeted everyone. We would definitely recommend Five and will be going back to this neighborhood gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful farm to table. Servers were kn ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Wonderful farm to table. Servers were knowledgeable and very helpful. Food was expertly done. Great, quiet neighborhood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The house made pastas are always great. ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 25, 2016

The house made pastas are always great. One of our favorite St Louis restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived at 5:30 when the restaurant o ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 23, 2016

We arrived at 5:30 when the restaurant opened. We had excellent personal attention and all menu items were available including a few specials. Service was right on, neither too fast or slow. Our waitress was soft spoken, pleasant and eager to please. We chose the 4 course tasting menu which had flexible choices from the evening's menu ( at least 3 items per course). We also ordered the cured meats platter and was told we could have half cheeses which we did. Excellent choice for just 19.00 more. Portions were just right. I left full and happy, but not stuffed. The food was creative, fresh and seasoned perfectly. The decor was elegant, dark wood, green walls with Art Deco type art work and mirrors, impeccable white table cloths and table settings. Our server removed plates and utensils after each course and brought fresh for the next one. She even refolded my napkin when I left the table briefly. I haven't seen this level in of service inSt Louis in a while. Excellent choice if you don't mind spending a little more to get a lot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is just another restaurant on the " ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 19, 2016

This is just another restaurant on the "Hill." Everything was fresh and tasty. The lamb was outstanding, perfectly seasoned and incredibly tender. The halibut with kalamata olive garnish/tapenade was excellent yet may be too much for someone on a low salt diet. Service was spot on. They adjusted the menu and preparation to create a gluten free option. It was a very pleasant experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been enjoying for 10 years. This ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 15, 2016

I have been enjoying for 10 years. This meal was no exception. Mussels and liver were outstanding. We definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great find on the Hill

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 7, 2016

We enjoyed our evening at 5 Bistro after a friend recommended it to us. She is a regular. However, it is a bit pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The menu is very limited and even though ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 28, 2016

The menu is very limited and even though we dined at 7pm, they were out of multiple entrees, further limiting the menu. Everything I ordered or sampled, though, was excellent, with the exception of the bread pudding dessert, which was disappointing. It also took longer than one would expect to get each course after we finished the prior one. Server was very nice and helpful but disappeared a couple of times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The charcuterie tray was the largest var ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on May 25, 2016

The charcuterie tray was the largest variety I have had and all meats cured in house! Pair with the cheese plate! Staff was very attentive and helpful. We will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic!

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 25, 2016

My husband and I dined at Five Bistro for the first time and were celebrating our anniversary. We can't say enough good things about the entire experience! The bartender was outstanding, the waitress knowledgeable and friendly. And the food was extraordinary! Great job...we will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High quality gourmet - farm to restaurant.

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 21, 2016

This was our first time at Five Bistro. I had the salmon and my husband had the ribeye. We were both very impressed by the service, the presentation, and most importantly, the food. The salmon was super fresh and perfectly cooked. The steak was as well. I love their approach to serving fresh, local, and simply prepared food. Not a bunch of sauces to mask anything.

The server pointed out that everything in the dish is listed in the description on the menu. I liked this a lot since I was avoiding gluten and dairy and they were able to accommodate very easily. The menu is short, but they offered a number of off-menu specials for the weekend. Overall we were extremely satisfied and will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent !!!

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.