About Five Bistro

5100 Daggett Ave
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Our menu features familiar, crowd-pleasing items, as well as a wide range of dishes with ethnic flair. We prepare from scratch and use the freshest, organic, and natural ingredients possible. Our menu changes daily, to reflect not just seasonal availability, but also to provide a constant variety sourced from our local farmers. Quality products and service keep regular customers coming back and pique the interest of the new customer.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Italian

Hours of Operation:
DINNER: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm to 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm to 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hereford

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 773-5553

Website:
http://www.fivebistro.com/

Catering:
Our partnership with local farmers allows us to offer a large selection of appetizers and desserts created with fresh, seasonal ingredients. Dinner selections can also be designed with your personal input through our catering manager.

Parking Details:
Ample street parking is available in this quaint Hill neighborhood.

Public Transit:
Metro Transit stops are available within 2 blocks of our location.

Executive Chef:
Anthony Devoti

Private Party Facilities:
Our Tamara Room provides a warm and comfortable space, seating approximately 50 guests and providing the perfect background for an extraordinary dining experience. Wooden room dividers ensure your guests privacy and quiet from an adjacent room.

Private Party Contact:
Bonnie Devoti: 3147735553x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host 5-course wine dinners once a month. Please sign up on our website to join our email list for more information.

Restaurant Photos

  • Chocolate Hazelnut Tart With Caramel Sauce
  • Brown Butter Pear Tart With Vanilla Bean Ice Cream
Chocolate Hazelnut Tart With Caramel Sauce
Brown Butter Pear Tart With Vanilla Bean Ice Cream

Five Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
St. Louis
Fit for Foodies
St. Louis
Notable Wine List
St. Louis
8 More
Contemporary American
St. Louis
Best Overall
Downtown
Best Food
Downtown
Best Service
Downtown
Best Ambiance
Downtown
Fit for Foodies
Downtown
Notable Wine List
Downtown
Contemporary American
Downtown
Best Restaurants in The Hill ›

Fit for Foodies (22)
Special Occasion (21)
Romantic (17)
See All
Notable Wine List (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Good for a Date (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Casual (2)
Private Room (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Cozy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
572 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Third time I have been here but 1st time ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Third time I have been here but 1st time in 2 years. Charcuterie was as good as I remember. Good enough for 2 or 3 to start. Excellent wine list from smaller winery from around the world.

Salmon was very good. Portions not large but adequate.

Service was perfect

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quick Bite, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Casual, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great meal --everything was fabulous, a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great meal --everything was fabulous, as always. Great service too. And it's so nice to be enjoy a fine meal AND have an audible conversation with friends.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very kind and eager to please waitress ( ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Very kind and eager to please waitress (Anita). Bartender/wine advisor Jacob (pretty sure I remembered his name!) on the mark: he brought out two complimentary glasses of a lovely sparkling French rose to honor my friend, who was celebrating his 65th birthday. Also confirmed our Rhine wine choice, which was nice.

We both had the 4-course menu. Delicious as always! The braised beef was sublime! The pork loin came out medium (though I was told it was going to be well cooked). It's not the chef of course... It's me! I just don't like meat that's not cooked through. Perhaps it was miscommunication with the waitress. If I'd known, I'd have ordered the beef or the salmon. It was still delicious-- I just hD to not think about it!

The only "disappointment" was the dessert. The description of the pizzelle had us thinking we were getting something else... More chocolately goodness with expresso ice cream. It was more like chocolate pudding plopped on the pizzelle with whipped cream and ice cream . the ice cream was exquisite-- I would have been ecstatic to have a bowl of that with bittersweet chocolate sauce drizzled over it! Even if the elements of the dessert were the same, and maybe presented differently (like layered, in a jam jar, where it would have melded better together I. A pretty way) it might have worked better.

Alas, our neighboring table was peopled by a very loud, self-absorbed man and his poor companion (obviously a work colleague who's agreed to have dinner with him, an out of towner). Once they finally left, we were able to better enjoy the wonderful ambiance (and each other!) and focus on our food.

It was also nice to see the owner come in to the bar area with what looked like his young son in soccer cleats. They stayed, ate, and socialized with friends and it was delightful to see.

We look forward to a return visit our next trip to STL! It's always a "must-visit" when we travel to STL!

Nonetheless, we will be back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were visiting from Cali ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

My husband and I were visiting from California and loved our evening at Five. We both had the four course meal and were happy with everything. The food was all very fresh and well- prepared. I had the Raviolis and they were yummy. For dessert my husband had the cheese platter with nice cheese selections and I had a peach tart that was so yummy and homemade tasting (naturally sweet with the peaches and a thin, light crust. )

My compliments to a very talented chef. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great pairing of the wine and entrees.

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great pairing of the wine and entrees.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was very good in respects to ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Everything was very good in respects to the food and the drinks. My only reason for not giving the ambiance 5 stars was the tables were set close together. So close that it was hard to not hear the conversations happening on either side of you. Other than that, great dinner, great drinks, great night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Four of us had dinner. Three of us were ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Four of us had dinner. Three of us were very happy with our entrees. One had the lamb and found it to be too peppery-enough that he didn't enjoy it. Other than that, we had a lovely dinner with good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good fresh innovative food

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Good fresh innovative food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The food was amazing. I did the wine pa ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was amazing. I did the wine pairing with my four course meal and everything was spot on. We were very satisfied. It is a great date night restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impressive! The four-course meal was fr ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Impressive! The four-course meal was fresh, tasty, and wonderful, the ambiance and service was great--we'll be back to try the wine pairing next time. And maybe to eat on the patio... Similar to Farmhaus, but the interior decor is more upscale-not formal, but more sophisticated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I went for dinner. We re ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

My husband and I went for dinner. We really enjoyed our meal. Our waitress was very attentive, the space had a nice atmosphere and we thought it nice that the chef greeted everyone. We would definitely recommend Five and will be going back to this neighborhood gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful farm to table. Servers were kn ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Wonderful farm to table. Servers were knowledgeable and very helpful. Food was expertly done. Great, quiet neighborhood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The house made pastas are always great. ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The house made pastas are always great. One of our favorite St Louis restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We arrived at 5:30 when the restaurant o ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We arrived at 5:30 when the restaurant opened. We had excellent personal attention and all menu items were available including a few specials. Service was right on, neither too fast or slow. Our waitress was soft spoken, pleasant and eager to please. We chose the 4 course tasting menu which had flexible choices from the evening's menu ( at least 3 items per course). We also ordered the cured meats platter and was told we could have half cheeses which we did. Excellent choice for just 19.00 more. Portions were just right. I left full and happy, but not stuffed. The food was creative, fresh and seasoned perfectly. The decor was elegant, dark wood, green walls with Art Deco type art work and mirrors, impeccable white table cloths and table settings. Our server removed plates and utensils after each course and brought fresh for the next one. She even refolded my napkin when I left the table briefly. I haven't seen this level in of service inSt Louis in a while. Excellent choice if you don't mind spending a little more to get a lot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is just another restaurant on the " ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This is just another restaurant on the "Hill." Everything was fresh and tasty. The lamb was outstanding, perfectly seasoned and incredibly tender. The halibut with kalamata olive garnish/tapenade was excellent yet may be too much for someone on a low salt diet. Service was spot on. They adjusted the menu and preparation to create a gluten free option. It was a very pleasant experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been enjoying for 10 years. This ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

I have been enjoying for 10 years. This meal was no exception. Mussels and liver were outstanding. We definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great find on the Hill

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

We enjoyed our evening at 5 Bistro after a friend recommended it to us. She is a regular. However, it is a bit pricey.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The menu is very limited and even though ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The menu is very limited and even though we dined at 7pm, they were out of multiple entrees, further limiting the menu. Everything I ordered or sampled, though, was excellent, with the exception of the bread pudding dessert, which was disappointing. It also took longer than one would expect to get each course after we finished the prior one. Server was very nice and helpful but disappeared a couple of times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The charcuterie tray was the largest var ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

The charcuterie tray was the largest variety I have had and all meats cured in house! Pair with the cheese plate! Staff was very attentive and helpful. We will definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

My husband and I dined at Five Bistro for the first time and were celebrating our anniversary. We can't say enough good things about the entire experience! The bartender was outstanding, the waitress knowledgeable and friendly. And the food was extraordinary! Great job...we will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High quality gourmet - farm to restaurant.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This was our first time at Five Bistro. I had the salmon and my husband had the ribeye. We were both very impressed by the service, the presentation, and most importantly, the food. The salmon was super fresh and perfectly cooked. The steak was as well. I love their approach to serving fresh, local, and simply prepared food. Not a bunch of sauces to mask anything.

The server pointed out that everything in the dish is listed in the description on the menu. I liked this a lot since I was avoiding gluten and dairy and they were able to accommodate very easily. The menu is short, but they offered a number of off-menu specials for the weekend. Overall we were extremely satisfied and will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything that we ate at Five Bistro wa ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Everything that we ate at Five Bistro was incredible! Probably the best special occasion/fine dining restaurant we've been to in St. Louis.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful Dining Expertience

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

First time here. I was particularly impressed by the quality of the service. No nonsense, direct, knowledgeable and efficient. The dining area is very comfortable and tastefully appointed. Everyone in our party of three loved the food. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Five Bistro

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

I tried this spot for the 1st time for The Hill Restaurant Week, which was more than enough. The portions are small and the food was disappointing to say the least. The ambiance is great and the wait staff is too. I would tell people to try it and judge for themselves. I would suggest they need to revise a few of their menu items: The scallps with sweet potato gnocchi was very bland, the only high point to the spring salad was the deviled egg, otherwise the dressing was blahh and the chocolate dessert was not sweet enough.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Impeccable service, carefully prepared food,

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The staff attended to every detail and the meal itself was delicious. That said, it was not pretentious or stuffy. Dining room was lovely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Hidden gem

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

I love Five for special occasions and returned for Restaurant Week on the Hill. It did not disappoint. The food is perfectly prepare and service is top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Not Recommended for restaurant week

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

We went for the first time during the Hill Restaurant week, 2016. While the food was flavorful, creative and fresh, the portions were ridiculously small. $25 for ONE scallop?! We'll think hard before we go back to this place

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Great food, service & atmosphere!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Great food, service & atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chicken was wonderful

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

The service was very nice too. I had been before but it keeps getting such buzz i thought i would take my foodie friend that I eat all over the country with.

The onion soup was so flavorless that I couldn't believe it. Even if the onions come from within an hours drive or whatever....does it zap all the flavor away? Couldn't something be added? It was the most bland onion soup i have ever had by far. I'm sorry but it damped our enthusiasm for this restaurant to mess up such a basic dish. Good luck to them though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Dining Gem

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

A gem for dining in St Louis - outstanding cuisine, atmosphere and price. You will enjoy the evening and return many times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing fresh meal

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

This place is always amazing! From local products to the garden out back, you know you are getting high quality food, that is amazing! You go home full and happy. High five to Five!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When every day is a special occasion

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

I have taken three different friends to Five on their respective birthdays and was so pleased that I decided to take three other friends there on my own birthday. I turned the entire evening, menu, and wine selection with each course over to Anthony and Jacob. It can only be described as superb! We spent three and a half hours dining, drinking, and discussing the fabulous pairings of food and wine. We finally left, completely sated and happy. Thank you FIVE times over!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A disappointment.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Previous visits, the food and service were excellent--a place to take out-of-town guests to show the best of St. Louis, This time, an embarrassment: mediocre service and equally mediocre food. Highly disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

We had braised goose leg and breast and ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 24, 2016

We had braised goose leg and breast and it was exceptionally delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This is my new favorite St Louis spot!

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The ambiance is great! The staff is very knowledgable and the chef does a terrific job of using local ingredients. I can't wait to return when the patio opens!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was not that great.

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

My meat was dry and over cooked. Meat was difficult to cut and was not tender. Heard great things about this place...but overall we were disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Absolutely loved my experience here. It ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Absolutely loved my experience here. It was a delicious meal and as a major foodie I was super impressed. Can't wait to come back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique Menu, Great Food and Intimate Atmosphere!

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

My wife and I were looking for an intimate dining experience with unique menu options. Five Bistro's sample menu on their website captured our interest, especially considering they purchase their food from local farms.

Five Bistro is family owned and has an intimate atmosphere that did not become loud as the restaurant filled up.

They have an extensive wine list - if you like Pinot Noir, my wife and I would recommend "Tyler", which was one of the best Pinot's we have had in a long time.

We had Truffle as an appetizer - the sauce was unbelievable (my wife playfully asked if she could lick the bowl - I said no :)

We each had a Caesar salad with devilled egg - it was one of the best Caesar's we have ever had. My wife contemplated asking for the dressing's recipe...WOW! And the devilled egg was the perfect touch!

For our entrees, I had braised goose breast and she had the Brenkenfarm (sp?) beef - the meat was tender, exquisitely seasoned and the sauce was yet again fantastic!!

We completed the meal with Dessert - I had crème bulee and my wife had a chocolate cake with a special sauce that was out of this world. Both desserts made from scratch...in particular, the chocolate cake was not heavy yet the chocolate had a rich and deep flavor that put Godiva to shame!

The restaurant is family owned and the chef is the owner. In speaking with the host and the waitress, he just loves to cook and savors delighting his customers with his culinary gift. As first time customers, the owner/chef took the time to come to the table and welcome us. We gave him our heartfelt gratitude and admiration...and told him we would be back :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The freshest ingredients prepared with a ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

The freshest ingredients prepared with a light twist. Always a delightful dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were a little late - management was i ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We were a little late - management was incredibly accommodating and created a wonderful atmosphere for my wife and me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.