Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.72mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.11mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.72mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.11mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.72mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.11mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi
  1. Distance: 0.72mi
  2. Distance: 1.08mi
  3. Distance: 1.11mi
  4. Distance: 1.19mi

About Five Bistro

Our menu features familiar, crowd-pleasing items, as well as a wide range of dishes with ethnic flair. We prepare from scratch and use the freshest, organic, and natural ingredients possible. Our menu changes daily, to reflect not just seasonal availability, but also to provide a constant variety sourced from our local farmers. Quality products and service keep regular customers coming back and pique the interest of the new customer.

5100 Daggett Ave
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Italian

Hours of Operation:
DINNER: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm to 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm to 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hereford

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 773-5553

Website:
http://www.fivebistro.com/

Catering:
Our partnership with local farmers allows us to offer a large selection of appetizers and desserts created with fresh, seasonal ingredients. Dinner selections can also be designed with your personal input through our catering manager.

Parking Details:
Ample street parking is available in this quaint Hill neighborhood.

Public Transit:
Metro Transit stops are available within 2 blocks of our location.

Executive Chef:
Anthony Devoti

Private Party Facilities:
Our Tamara Room provides a warm and comfortable space, seating approximately 50 guests and providing the perfect background for an extraordinary dining experience. Wooden room dividers ensure your guests privacy and quiet from an adjacent room.

Private Party Contact:
Bonnie Devoti: (314) 773-5553

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We host 5-course wine dinners once a month. Please sign up on our website to join our email list for more information.

Five Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (20)
Local Ingredients (18)
Creative Cuisine (15)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for a Date (14)
Special Occasion (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Seasonal (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Romantic (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Organic (9)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Cozy (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Authentic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fun (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
679 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Excellent meal tonight thanks to Anthony and the staff. My wife and I had fried green tomatoes, squash bisque, ceasar salad, salmon and pork tenderloin - and it was all very, very good. Top notch service and friendly staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 9, 2017

5 Bistro is always a delight. On this visit, the smoked fish-filled pate a choux, the fried geen tomatoes, and the watermelon dessert were outstanding.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Five Bistro is very enjoyable in all aspects of the dining experience. Knowledgeable friendly waiters, fresh local food well prepared, and beautiful outside patio all made for a wonderful time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was very good, great tastes that are hard to find anywhere else but still hard to rationalize cost.

Left after the $100 six course chef special, basically everything on the menu but in super small portions, still feeling hungry.

It was paired nicely with the wines, wines were very small portions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 26, 2017

This is a fantastic restaurant! One of the best in the area. We come here whenever we are in town. The menu changes daily. Everything is very fresh and full of flavor. We always look forward to dining at Five Bistro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Special spot. Highly recommend. Friendly knowledgeable staff. Terrific food and drinks. Really enjoyed it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our first dining experience at Five Bistro! Outstanding service and food wonderful! Excellent wine selection and local foods prepared with
flair and succulent taste. Highly recommend.
Closest thing St Louis has to farm to table in
Napa!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Just be aware of the Prix Fixe menu; it isn't prix fixe in the usual sense where you pay a "fixed price" and you get to order different courses. At this restaurant you pay the fixed $50 price but certain choices incur a hidden charge. So my $50 prix fixe dinner ended up costing $57.

The menu explanations were over the top. I can see explaining choices prior to ordering but to give an explanation of all ingredients when each plate is delivered seemed pretentious. Let the food speak for itself.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 15, 2017

The quality of ingredients, the service, the wine, and the ambiance were all exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This is really one of the best restaurants in st Louis

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Great Italian food and perfect for a quiet or late night date! The food, service, and chef that personally came to every table were absolutely amazing!!! I would recommend this restaurant to anyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 21, 2017

I always forget about Five, and that's a crime. Lovely food, beautifully presented, and rich in local seasonal ingredients. My only complaints: lots of hard surfaces make for a weirdly tense environment; and there was a mix-up over a simple wine order, which we were billed for anyway. Go for the food, but pay attention to the service.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Always excellent service to go along with the excellent food. Complimentary champagne from Jacob at the bar to greet us returning out of town customers-- much appreciated!. Delicious cocktails, tasty amuse-Bouches, and superb quality farm to table ingredients presented just so! Had the 4-course tasting menu with some wine we brought ourselves... but don't hesitate to ask Jacob for suggestions. They have very reasonable, interesting and eclectic bottles at great prices. I love Five Biarritz! It's a culinary gem! Just wish I lived closer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Chef Tony Devotti is a master. I have never, ever been disappointed by anything he has served! He uses the freshest local ingredients, prepares his own charcuterie, and creates exciting and interesting dishes that never fail to please. It's always a celebration when we got to Five Bistro.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

we have eaten at Five many times and it is different, in a good way, every time based on what comes out of the garden located next to the restaurant. When they say local they mean local.

It is interesting that when five of the top chefs in St. Louis were asked who the most underappreciated chef in St. Louis was 2 of them said Anthony Devoti of Five Bistro.

The only complaint I have heard from people is that the servings are small. My rejoinder is that they should slow down and enjoy the big flavors that each dish provides. I invited a food professional friend and his wife to join us and he was enthusiastic about everything that came before us, particularly the beets which had been harvested that afternoon.

Please go on an evening when you can spend some time dining and drinking so you can experience a true locavore meal.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Organic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 1, 2017

My boyfriend and I went here for a special meal and it did not disappoint!! Everything we had was perfect. The evening was perfect!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Organic, Bar Seating, Romantic, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Five is one of my favorite restaurants. The menu selections are fresh, local, and always delicious! Of note is that I have a food allergy and they always accommodate my diet and give me a tasty meal every time. The service is attentive, but we always enjoy a leisurely meal there. It's a great place to go and talk and savor the evening -- whether with your spouse or date or with a group.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Organic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Vegan, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 1, 2017

While delighted with our many previous meals at Five Bistro, our most recent visit was a disappointment. The charcuterie plate was wonderful, a nice variety of interesting cured meats and pates, with delicious garnishes. However the zucchini soup was bland and watery, and entries were not up to expectations. The chicken entree was nicely presented, but dry, and the portion was extremely small, no more than 2-3 ounces of chicken. The monkfish and sea bass plate ( at $35) was very disappointing, with two small ( 2 inch) fritters, and a very tiny fish fillet (no more than 2 ounces), which was overcooked. We did not order the tasting menu, but rather ordered ala carte, so entrees were presumably "full size". I am sad that one of my favorite restaurants did not perform up to previous standards.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Five Bistro was excellent cuisine. Menu is very limited and more appropriate portion sizes, so if you are one that likes large portions, you'll leave hungry. This is a place to slow down, relax and enjoy!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Tasty meal, per usual. We started with the charcuterie plate - serves four, easily. Yes, there was head cheese that I've assumed was disgusting - without ever having any. Theirs was delicious - rich, complex flavors. Next, one of us ordered the fish - very good; another ordered the beef dish - not as excited about this one; and I ordered an appetizer of the pasta - marvelous. So rich, the appetizer was enough - also, that on top of the charcuterie plate. Recommend for a special meal. Also, we ate outside, which was just delightful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Fabulous meal yet again.
Five never disappoints.
Service was great...thanks,Alex!
Had the four course menu with wine pairings.
Everything was presented artistically and was delicious.
Can't wait to go back!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Wonderful, quiet setting with great service. Limited menu but each item we had was delicious. Lovely patio however it was not open when we were there.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Healthy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Limited menu though the food was very good. Simple quiet place which is what we like sometimes

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We were impressed by the overall professionalism of the staff and the tasteful decor of the dining room. Wish we could have experienced the patio but, alas, it was very stormy that evening.

I have seen reviews that interpreted the menu as being somewhat limited. We ordered the charcuterie plate, and if you have a sound culinary back round you would appreciate the work that an item like this entails. Headcheese, country pate, chicken liver pate, pickled veggies, apple sauce, french mustard, and more indicated that the kitchen was indeed very ambitious in its menu. It all tasted great. The wheat bread was aromatic, the brioche buttery, and the flat bread tasty if a little bit on the thin & fragile side for this dish.

The pappardelle was particularly well executed and just the right portion also.

We had an ample wine list from which to choose. The Sancerre was absolutely spot on. Dry, flinty, and aromatic.

My pork entree was perfectly cooked with just enough pink to keep the moisture level adequate.
The vegetables were carefully done and very flavorful, a perfect accompaniment for the pork.

We also enjoyed the rhubarb/strawberry tart with our after dinner coffee.

This is one of the very few restaurants that presents the bill folio with a petite sweet from the kitchen. I have not experienced that delightful tradition since my days at the Culinary Institute of America. Thank you.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 26, 2017

My husband and I dined here to celebrate my birthday. We had the four course menu and both enjoyed our selections for each course. Service was wonderful and each course was excellent.

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Wonderful as always! Great service, and incredible, locally sourced and seasonal food.

Tags: Healthy, Romantic, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Organic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

One of our most dependable "go to" places, Five Bistro consistently delivers a sumptuous dining experience. They also seem to attract the most pleasant, knowledgeable and efficient service staff. This is a family run enterprise and you can see that the staff and the customers are made to feel like one of the family.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I love this place. The ambiance is great and everything I tasted was excellent. The only downside is the menu is very limited - if you dine with people who like basic straight forward food (steak and potatoes) this is not a great spot for you. We had a delicious squid appetizer and a crab salad on toast. My entre was a pork loin over polenta and wild mushrooms. So tasty and cooked to perfection (pork can so easily become dry and tasteless). We were too full for dessert but the chef sent out 3 small, warm chocolate chip cookies. I was in heaven!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 12, 2017

A neighborhood gem on the Hill with A great Prie Fix menu which Leverages local ingredients. Staff was very friendly and attentive - always making sure we had a full glass and making sure we were satisfied with our meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Excellent experience, delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

After many years of dining in St. Louis, Five is still my favorite restaurant! My friend and I went for Restaurant Week in the Hill. Every single bit was delicious! I cannot recommend this restaurant enough!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great food in a friendly neighborhood atmosphere! Love the farm to table menu. Servers were very friendly.

Tags: Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The food was outstanding. Some of the best Scallops I have had and the house made bread was amazing!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We have never been disappointed when we have gone to Five Bistro. The service is impeccable without being stiff and the food is outstanding.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 2, 2017

My friend and I came here for The Hill Restaurant Week. This was the first time here for both of us. We were promptly greeted and brought to our table. We both had the Tagliatelle Bolognese for Course 1, which had wonderful flavor and the ricotta melted in your mouth. Course 2 was the beef roast (medium rare) or scallops. We each got different choices, and they were delicious. The scallops were cooked perfectly and the beef was beyond tender. Both came with amazing tasting sides to complement the protein. The last course, we both got the chocolate cake. It had a crisp outside with a warm, moist center that balanced well with the creme anglaise and cookie crumbles. Between 2 courses, the chef also came out to see how the food was and he started our meal by introducing the first course!

Recommend to others: YES

Pros:
~Food, all of it--taste, presentation, freshness
~Friendliness and professionalism of wait staff
~Decor/ambiance

Cons:
~Prices on every day menu can get a little high for the average person, so maybe not your typical common dinner stop. However, definitely worth it to go every now and then, especially for a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent food but not worth the price for the small portions served. Great service by waiter and staff; just feel both food and wine overpriced for portions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Mandy was a waitress I remember. Not sure why. She was just a genuine person who connects well with people. The chef knows what he is doing and the farm to table, which is a slogan in some places, is a mantra at Bistro. I will be back. Just a great meal, and great night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food is good and some dishes tasted better than others. Most of the dishes we shared were kind of bland and lacked flavor. However, the ingredients were fresh.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Good wine list. Very friendly staff. Intimate setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This was our second trip to Five Bistro and it didn't disappoint. The food is spectacular and the service is even better. Jacob is one of the best bartenders ever! We would strongly recommend this to anyone who enjoys an extraordinary dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.