About Five Bistro

5100 Daggett Ave
St. Louis, MO 63110
View Larger Map

Our menu features familiar, crowd-pleasing items, as well as a wide range of dishes with ethnic flair. We prepare from scratch and use the freshest, organic, and natural ingredients possible. Our menu changes daily, to reflect not just seasonal availability, but also to provide a constant variety sourced from our local farmers. Quality products and service keep regular customers coming back and pique the interest of the new customer.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Italian

Hours of Operation:
DINNER: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:30pm to 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm to 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Hereford

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(314) 773-5553

Website:
http://www.fivebistro.com/

Catering:
Our partnership with local farmers allows us to offer a large selection of appetizers and desserts created with fresh, seasonal ingredients. Dinner selections can also be designed with your personal input through our catering manager.

Parking Details:
Ample street parking is available in this quaint Hill neighborhood.

Public Transit:
Metro Transit stops are available within 2 blocks of our location.

Executive Chef:
Anthony Devoti

Private Party Facilities:
Our Tamara Room provides a warm and comfortable space, seating approximately 50 guests and providing the perfect background for an extraordinary dining experience. Wooden room dividers ensure your guests privacy and quiet from an adjacent room.

Private Party Contact:
Bonnie Devoti: 3147735553x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
We host 5-course wine dinners once a month. Please sign up on our website to join our email list for more information.

Restaurant Photos

  • Chocolate Hazelnut Tart With Caramel Sauce
  • Brown Butter Pear Tart With Vanilla Bean Ice Cream
Chocolate Hazelnut Tart With Caramel Sauce
Brown Butter Pear Tart With Vanilla Bean Ice Cream

Five Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
St. Louis
Contemporary American
St. Louis
Fit for Foodies
Downtown
3 More
Romantic
Downtown
Special Occasion
Downtown
Contemporary American
Downtown
Best Restaurants in The Hill ›

fit for foodies (50)
special occasion (42)
romantic (38)
See All
neighborhood gem (36)
notable wine list (28)
great for outdoor dining (6)
late-night find (6)
good for groups (5)
hot spot (5)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
558 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is just another restaurant on the " ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

This is just another restaurant on the "Hill." Everything was fresh and tasty. The lamb was outstanding, perfectly seasoned and incredibly tender. The halibut with kalamata olive garnish/tapenade was excellent yet may be too much for someone on a low salt diet. Service was spot on. They adjusted the menu and preparation to create a gluten free option. It was a very pleasant experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been enjoying for 10 years. This ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

I have been enjoying for 10 years. This meal was no exception. Mussels and liver were outstanding. We definitely be back.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great find on the Hill

Dined on June 7, 2016

We enjoyed our evening at 5 Bistro after a friend recommended it to us. She is a regular. However, it is a bit pricey.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The menu is very limited and even though ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The menu is very limited and even though we dined at 7pm, they were out of multiple entrees, further limiting the menu. Everything I ordered or sampled, though, was excellent, with the exception of the bread pudding dessert, which was disappointing. It also took longer than one would expect to get each course after we finished the prior one. Server was very nice and helpful but disappeared a couple of times.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The charcuterie tray was the largest var ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

The charcuterie tray was the largest variety I have had and all meats cured in house! Pair with the cheese plate! Staff was very attentive and helpful. We will definitely return!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic!

Dined on May 25, 2016

My husband and I dined at Five Bistro for the first time and were celebrating our anniversary. We can't say enough good things about the entire experience! The bartender was outstanding, the waitress knowledgeable and friendly. And the food was extraordinary! Great job...we will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

High quality gourmet - farm to restaurant.

Dined on May 21, 2016

This was our first time at Five Bistro. I had the salmon and my husband had the ribeye. We were both very impressed by the service, the presentation, and most importantly, the food. The salmon was super fresh and perfectly cooked. The steak was as well. I love their approach to serving fresh, local, and simply prepared food. Not a bunch of sauces to mask anything. The server pointed out that everything in the dish is listed in the description on the menu. I liked this a lot since I was avoiding gluten and dairy and they were able to accommodate very easily. The menu is short, but they offered a number of off-menu specials for the weekend. Overall we were extremely satisfied and will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything that we ate at Five Bistro wa ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Everything that we ate at Five Bistro was incredible! Probably the best special occasion/fine dining restaurant we've been to in St. Louis.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Dining Expertience

Dined on May 7, 2016

First time here. I was particularly impressed by the quality of the service. No nonsense, direct, knowledgeable and efficient. The dining area is very comfortable and tastefully appointed. Everyone in our party of three loved the food. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Five Bistro

Dined on April 30, 2016

I tried this spot for the 1st time for The Hill Restaurant Week, which was more than enough. The portions are small and the food was disappointing to say the least. The ambiance is great and the wait staff is too. I would tell people to try it and judge for themselves. I would suggest they need to revise a few of their menu items: The scallps with sweet potato gnocchi was very bland, the only high point to the spring salad was the deviled egg, otherwise the dressing was blahh and the chocolate dessert was not sweet enough.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Impeccable service, carefully prepared food,

Dined on April 30, 2016

The staff attended to every detail and the meal itself was delicious. That said, it was not pretentious or stuffy. Dining room was lovely.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hidden gem

Dined on April 28, 2016

I love Five for special occasions and returned for Restaurant Week on the Hill. It did not disappoint. The food is perfectly prepare and service is top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food4
ambience4
service4
value1

Not Recommended for restaurant week

Dined on April 28, 2016

We went for the first time during the Hill Restaurant week, 2016. While the food was flavorful, creative and fresh, the portions were ridiculously small. $25 for ONE scallop?! We'll think hard before we go back to this place

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, service & atmosphere!

Dined on April 27, 2016

Great food, service & atmosphere!

food3
ambience4
service5
value2

The chicken was wonderful

Dined on April 17, 2016

The service was very nice too. I had been before but it keeps getting such buzz i thought i would take my foodie friend that I eat all over the country with. The onion soup was so flavorless that I couldn't believe it. Even if the onions come from within an hours drive or whatever....does it zap all the flavor away? Couldn't something be added? It was the most bland onion soup i have ever had by far. I'm sorry but it damped our enthusiasm for this restaurant to mess up such a basic dish. Good luck to them though.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Dining Gem

Dined on April 17, 2016

A gem for dining in St Louis - outstanding cuisine, atmosphere and price. You will enjoy the evening and return many times.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing fresh meal

Dined on April 16, 2016

This place is always amazing! From local products to the garden out back, you know you are getting high quality food, that is amazing! You go home full and happy. High five to Five!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When every day is a special occasion

Dined on April 15, 2016

I have taken three different friends to Five on their respective birthdays and was so pleased that I decided to take three other friends there on my own birthday. I turned the entire evening, menu, and wine selection with each course over to Anthony and Jacob. It can only be described as superb! We spent three and a half hours dining, drinking, and discussing the fabulous pairings of food and wine. We finally left, completely sated and happy. Thank you FIVE times over!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

A disappointment.

Dined on March 29, 2016

Previous visits, the food and service were excellent--a place to take out-of-town guests to show the best of St. Louis, This time, an embarrassment: mediocre service and equally mediocre food. Highly disappointing.

food5
ambience4
service5

We had braised goose leg and breast and ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

We had braised goose leg and breast and it was exceptionally delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is my new favorite St Louis spot!

Dined on March 20, 2016

The ambiance is great! The staff is very knowledgable and the chef does a terrific job of using local ingredients. I can't wait to return when the patio opens!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was not that great.

Dined on March 19, 2016

My meat was dry and over cooked. Meat was difficult to cut and was not tender. Heard great things about this place...but overall we were disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely loved my experience here. It ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Absolutely loved my experience here. It was a delicious meal and as a major foodie I was super impressed. Can't wait to come back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unique Menu, Great Food and Intimate Atmosphere!

Dined on March 5, 2016

My wife and I were looking for an intimate dining experience with unique menu options. Five Bistro's sample menu on their website captured our interest, especially considering they purchase their food from local farms. Five Bistro is family owned and has an intimate atmosphere that did not become loud as the restaurant filled up. They have an extensive wine list - if you like Pinot Noir, my wife and I would recommend "Tyler", which was one of the best Pinot's we have had in a long time. We had Truffle as an appetizer - the sauce was unbelievable (my wife playfully asked if she could lick the bowl - I said no :) We each had a Caesar salad with devilled egg - it was one of the best Caesar's we have ever had. My wife contemplated asking for the dressing's recipe...WOW! And the devilled egg was the perfect touch! For our entrees, I had braised goose breast and she had the Brenkenfarm (sp?) beef - the meat was tender, exquisitely seasoned and the sauce was yet again fantastic!! We completed the meal with Dessert - I had crème bulee and my wife had a chocolate cake with a special sauce that was out of this world. Both desserts made from scratch...in particular, the chocolate cake was not heavy yet the chocolate had a rich and deep flavor that put Godiva to shame! The restaurant is family owned and the chef is the owner. In speaking with the host and the waitress, he just loves to cook and savors delighting his customers with his culinary gift. As first time customers, the owner/chef took the time to come to the table and welcome us. We gave him our heartfelt gratitude and admiration...and told him we would be back :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The freshest ingredients prepared with a ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

The freshest ingredients prepared with a light twist. Always a delightful dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

We were a little late - management was i ...

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

We were a little late - management was incredibly accommodating and created a wonderful atmosphere for my wife and me.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent Service, Even Better Food

Dined on February 9, 2016

I searched Google for "farm to table restaurants in St. Louis" and Five Bistro came up as one of the first search results. Neither my wife or myself had been, so we decided to go. We were very happy with the service, all the way from the server, to the bar tender, to the chef - all made a point to come ask how we were doing. It was my wife's birthday, and Five Bistro went over the top (in a good way) to make her night special. Would highly recommend for a special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

5 is good

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

Had not been to the restaurant for a while. Seated promptly at our reservation with a warm welcome. The 4 of us ordered an appetizer and an entree. Apps were good. The mains were good, beautiful but VERY small portioned. I had the sole others had the pork shoulder. Even if you can't give me a bigger piece of fish maybe some adequate sides. Not sure we will be in a hurry to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was quite good, & service was speci ...

Dined on February 3, 2016

Food was quite good, & service was special. We were celebrating a birthday, & received 2 glasses of Champaign. Even got to meet the chef. Very good experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always perfect never had a sub par exper ...

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Always perfect never had a sub par experience

food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite restaurants using lo ...

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants using locally sourced ingredients in delightful dishes. The four course dinner is a great value.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

quaint restaurant

Dined on January 24, 2016

Went for my special birthday dinner and the food was excellent. Homemade three cheese ravioli and salad were excellent!! I had fluke (fish) which was flaky and nicely cooked, the potatoes that it came with were a little undercooked and crunchy, but everything else was amazing. Fiance had Lamb stew that he liked but didn't win his heart. There's a nice selection of wines by glass and bottles, and the service and hostess was pleasant and timely.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another memorable evening at FIVE

Dined on January 24, 2016

Always a wonderful evening of good food and thoughtful service. The menu this time was even more diverse and interesting.......delicious for all six of us. Fabulous desserts that were shared by the table. But TWO scallops, really?!? Prefectly prepared, but barely plural and that disappointed me. Tasty wine that was selectly almost at random. Service was timely and just right; not over bearing but right there when needed. FIVE remains in my top group of StL favorites (but another scallop or two would have made the evening near-perfect!!).

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great and getting better

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

This place was very good when it first opened, but it continues to get even better. Chef has a gift, the space is perfect, service superb, and Joe and Bonnie greet you at the door

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Locally grown food--fabulous!

Dined on January 8, 2016

This restaurant is one of our favorites. We Love it for a quiet date night, to a fun night out with a few couples, to a larger celebration with 10 to 12 people in the semi private bar room. The menu is small, but most items are locally grown and prepared in a delicious manner. You can't go wrong eating at Five!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice for celebrating

Dined on December 18, 2015

It was an usually quiet evening for this popular place. The proprietors are gracefully accommodating in their explanations. The service is discrete and allows the conversation to flow.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

OUTSTANDING!

Dined on November 25, 2015

Wow, what a find. Bethany was an absolute service pro, friendly, & her advice was spot-on. Everything anyone could want in a restaurant, we'll be back every chance we get.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

What a surprise

Dined on November 18, 2015

I read a review on Yelp that lavished praise on this place but complained that the size of each portion was too small. I do not agree with that and I'm a big eater for a woman (though not a "big woman" :-)) The atmosphere is lovely, the staff was outstanding especially Bethany our server. All 3 of us enjoyed our soup and vegetable salad (best salad ever--a must try) and our entrees of grilled trout, lamb stew and redfish.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1

Very disappointed.

Dined on November 8, 2015

We were very disappointed in everything about this restaurant...... atmosphere, service and food. St. Louis has many great restaurants, we will not be gong back to this one.

food2
ambience3
service2

I feel bad writing a poor review bc the ...

Dined on November 8, 2015

I feel bad writing a poor review bc the owners were so sweet, but we were so disappointed. I'm not sure if our server was new, but she had no clue what the specials were nor could she answer questions about menu items. After we received our dinner, we overheard the server next to us explain several options we were never told about and with such a small menu it was unfortunate. The food was nothing to rave about. We order an appetizer, salad, 2 entrees and dessert and sadly nothing wowed us.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.