Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.96mi
  2. Distance: 3.05mi
  3. Distance: 3.20mi
  4. Distance: 3.50mi
  1. Distance: 2.96mi
  2. Distance: 3.05mi
  3. Distance: 3.20mi
  4. Distance: 3.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.96mi
  2. Distance: 3.05mi
  3. Distance: 3.20mi
  4. Distance: 3.50mi
  1. Distance: 2.96mi
  2. Distance: 3.05mi
  3. Distance: 3.20mi
  4. Distance: 3.50mi

About Fish out of Water

Fish Out of Water, WaterColor Inn’s signature restaurant, sets a glamorous scene overlooking the emerald waters of the Gulf of Mexico, with virtuoso cuisine and a distinctive wine list to match. The freshest local fish and meats, combined with an eclectic approach to traditional ways of preparing and serving food, translating into dishes unlike anything else offered in the area. A semi-private dining room is available, lined with bottles from the restaurant’s collection of over 3,000, representing some 600+ labels. Fish Out of Water has earned a number of distinctions for excellence. In addition, to garnering a Forbes Travel Guide four stars, AAA four diamond award, received a Golden Spoon Award from Florida Trend magazine, and also earned a Best of Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator magazine.

34 Goldenrod Circle
Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 8:00 A.M. - 11:00 A.M. Daily

Dinner
5:30 P.M. - 9:00 P.M. Tuesday - Sunday


Cross Street:
Highway 30-A

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 534-5050

Website:
http://www.watercolorresort.com/

Catering:
Weddings, Meetings, Rehearsal Dinners

Parking Details:
Open parking lot in front of Inn, covered parking next door.

Executive Chef:
Preetam Pardeshi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
30-A Songwriters Festival

Fish out of Water Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

88% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (24)
Good for a Date (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Scenic View (20)
Special Occasion (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Romantic (17)
Local Ingredients (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Seasonal (7)
Authentic (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Business Meals (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Cozy (2)
Fun (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
People Watching (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
692 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Enjoyable evening. Great food and service. Loved the sunset!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

This was a great meal, great service and seated outside to watch the sunset made it all the better. We arrived early for our reservation, and got seated due to openings, which was nice because we sat outside. The flavors of the local fish with sides it was served on were perfect, the ceviche was outstanding, and make sure you order a soufflé...one of the best I've had in a long time...great place for a nice meal, a special occasion, or simply treating yourself!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Our very favorite restaurant at the beach. Exquisite food and impeccable service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Best dinner on 30A. Impeccable service. Grouper and swordfish dishes full of flavor. Well worth the few extra bucks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 22, 2017

This was our first time to dine at this restaurant, which was recommended by a friend, and we were caught off guard by the Hostesses' reply when we asked to be seated at a window table. The restaurant wasn't busy when we arrived for our reservation at 6:45 p.m. so we asked if we could please be seated at a window table if possible. The Hostess refused to seat us at a window table because we weren't "Celebrating a special occasion". She said that the window tables were reserved for guests celebrating special occasions and seated us near the center of the dining room. Upon paying our check there were, at least, four empty tables near the window which were vacant the entire time we were at the restaurant. We will not dine at this restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Our waiter was wonderful.. made the entire meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The food and the service we great. We are so glad the fried okra is back on the menu this summer. This is the 3rd year in a row we have celebrated our anniversary here.....grouper and ahi tuna were delicious

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Service was excellent and the view exceptional. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Always a special treat to enjoy the fine dining offered at FOOW while watching the sun set on the Gulf.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Everything was amazing. We will be back! We loved the atmosphere, menu, and waitstaff!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Came here for our 1 year anniversary. Service was fantastic. Did not "want" for anything: water, wine, food, etc they were on top of it. We were also surprised with a peach soufflé that was compliments of the chef; which was fantastic!! Definitely will come back on a future vacation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We are here for our babymoon - great food EXCELLENT service. Wasn't expecting tons of kids at an 8 pm reservation but since the restaurant is in a resort I guess that's what you get. Only reason this didn't get five stars all around was the noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The view made the evening spectacular. Service was OK and food decent.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Great restaurant! Went here on a date night for our anniversary and was thoroughly pleased. Very accommodating staff, great atmosphere, no complaints whatsoever. My wife can't have tomatoes and not only did they ask, they offered alternatives and suggested which would go best with the meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Romantic, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Awesome. Every time I go there it is wouderful. It has the to things a resturant needs

Fantastic service
Excellent food

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Very lovely setting, right on the water with great outdoor seating. Nice ambiance, would prefer to not have to walk upstairs thru a hotel. Parking is a bit difficult. Food and drinks were great, although the grouper was a little dry. That could have been because the kitchen was closing soon (9pm???). We felt a little rushed by our server, but I understand the kitchen was closing (9pm???). Drinks were awesome and the cheese plate was great. Again, felt a bit rushed but other than that it was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Fish out of Water is one of our favorites when we visit 30A. It is pricey but the food, service and surprises are outstanding. They truly do things that signal a fine dining experience from the ambience, music, treats from the chef, etc. Highly recommend for a fine dining experience on the waterfront.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great night, great setting and fine food. The view of the ocean is very nice and we had a beautiful sunset

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great food. Great service. Combined with seaside atmosphere, always a treat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We save Fish Out of Watet for our last night in the panhandle to celebrate our week of relaxing. It NEVER disappoints! The food is delicious and plentiful. The corn muffins are the very best. (I could eat only muffins for supper and he happy as a clam!). Our server ,Julie, was knowledgeable and attentive. She helped make the evening relaxing! Well done!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Dated decor and not so fresh fish. Best to stick with the Bay or Goatfeathers for good seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 12, 2017

My husband & I went to Fish Out of Water while visiting the Destin area and the ambiance was sensational and so was the service. We sat outside & enjoyed a beautiful view the ocean. The food however could have been cooked better, we both had fish and it could have been cooked better.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Sat outside, lovely evening! David did an outstanding job taking care of us. He is a true professional! The food was excellent and the service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Excellent all around. Special attention to detail
For our food allergies and celiac disease. Exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Our dinner was spectacular! The service was incredible. I started with the arugula salad and it was one of the most incredible dishes I've ever had. My husband said his filet was one of the best ever and my red snapper was simply perfect. We ended with the peach soufflé. Wow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Highly recommend. It's pricey but definitely worth it! Ceviche superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Fantastic as usual!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Watching the sunset on their outdoor dining area is always a just when on 30-A! The food and service are top notch. Another great experience with Fish Out of Water!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Really great food service and customer service - I would recommend to anyone - memorable night!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Seasonal, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Everything was great. Will definitely go again when I am at the beach my heirloom tomato mozzarella salad was not up par - especially when compared to the rest of the meal. Only one or two small pieces of mozzarella - tomatos - just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great location and great views. The staff was super professional and very helpful. The food was amazing. A little pricey but overall a great place to eat.

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 29, 2017

My family was very happy with our meal at Fish Out of Water. We have not had the opportunity to eat there in many years. The interior needs some updating but our meal and service was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Well-crafted drinks and dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

As always, our dinner at Fish Out of Water was exceptional. From end to end the dinner was marvelous. They had just rolled out a new menu one week prior and yet the execution was perfect. I can highly recommend the ceviche, the pork chop and of course the grouper. The snapper dish was excellent but for fish the grouper was superior. The best part for us was the fact that they have moved "98%" of their menu to Gluten Free - creating some exceptional options for the GF diners. The waiter was highly informed - even to the point of finding out that the fried okra on the grouper dish was prepared using rice flour AND in a separate fryer. I can't speak directly to the wine list as we (based on prior dinners) knew their list to be resort-priced and instead brought our own cellar bottle and paid the (reasonable) corkage fee. One small note... the restaurant was nearly EMPTY on a Saturday night in the summer at 8pm. We overheard the hostesses telling people it would be more than an hour wait - even though at least 1/2 of their tables were empty from before we arrived until we left nearly 2.5 hours later. If you can't get a table I would encourage going in and talking your way in... It's definitely worth it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The service was outstanding, Vicki was outstanding. The food was okay but the overall value did not live up to the hype. Many better options in the area for the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Second time here, love the ambience and perfect beach views.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 21, 2017

I think the server really sets the tone of your dining experience and ours did not miss a beat. She was wonderful. Then comes the food. Kudos to the chef. We started with a red snapper cerviche, just a sample from the chef, it was so good that we asked to have it as our appetizer. A must have. I highly recommend enjoying the experience at Fish Out of Water.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

It was great! We had a gorgeous view, and the appetizers were amazing with special touches like homemade buttery crackers, homemade mustard, local organic veggies, homemade pasta- it was all so delicious!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Small pour. Food not seasoned properly. Table servers not trained in proper table pickup procedures. Not enough staff on floor. Taken as a whole--does not warrant 4 star rating.
Extremely expensive for what you receive.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.