About Fish out of Water

34 Goldenrod Circle
Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459
View Larger Map

Fish Out of Water, the WaterColor Inn & Resort’s signature restaurant, sets a glamorous scene overlooking the emerald waters of the Gulf of Mexico, with virtuoso cuisine and a distinctive wine list to match. The freshest local fish and meats, combined with an eclectic approach to traditional ways of preparing and serving food, translating into dishes unlike anything else offered in the area. A semi-private dining room is available, lined with bottles from the restaurant’s collection of over 3,000, representing some 600+ labels. Fish Out of Water has earned a number of distinctions for excellence. In addition, to garnering an AAA four diamond award, received a Golden Spoon Award from Florida Trend magazine, and also earned a Best of Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator magazine.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 8:00 A.M. - 11:00 A.M. Daily (À la Carte)
Kids Eat Free: 5:00pm - 5:30pm Nightly (2 kids per 1 paying adult entrée)

Dinner
5:00 P.M. - 9:00 P.M. Tuesday - Sunday


Cross Street:
Highway 30-A

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 534-5050

Website:
http://www.watercolorresort.com/

Catering:
Weddings, Meetings, Rehearsal Dinners

Parking Details:
Open parking lot in front of Inn, covered parking next door.

Executive Chef:
Preetam Pardeshi

Private Party Facilities:
Reserve the private wine room at Fish Out of Water for intimate affairs of up to 20 people. Award dinners,client events,holiday parties and rehearsal dinners in Fish Out of Water as a private dining room offer an elegant affair with chef prepared menus.

Each event is crafted to suite your needs and requirements. Farm to table creations, fresh seafood and incredible viewsall make Fish Out of Water the perfect choice for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Pam Shue: 8505345050x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
30-A Songwriters Festival

Restaurant Photos

Red Snapper Wirh Corn Pudding
Vanilla Bean Souffle With Grand Marnier
Vanilla Souffle With Grand Marnier
Gruyere Popovers
Whole Fish; Thai Style
crab cake
Florida Gulf Shrimp: Spanish Style With Croutons, Fava Beans, And Broth
Pomegranite, Vodka, And Lemon
Fried Okra
Bella Pesca: Vodka, Peach Puree, Lemon, Mint, Ginger
Cobia With Olives, Grapefruit, Oranges, Lemon, And Red Onion
Sweet Tea Sorbet With Georgia Olive Oil
Pomegranite Martini
Pan Seared Oyster Stew Wirh Crostini
Chocolate Souffle
Triggergish With Spagghetti Squash, Pumpkin Seeds, Apple, And Sherrry Vinegarette
Mojito
Ahi tuna
Fried Brussel Sprouts

Fish out of Water Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Northwest Florida
Notable Wine List
Northwest Florida
Outdoor Dining
Northwest Florida
8 More
Romantic
Northwest Florida
Best Overall
Destin
Best Food
Destin
Best Service
Destin
Best Ambiance
Destin
Best Value
Destin
Special Occasion
Destin
Most Booked
Destin
Best Restaurants in Seagrove Beach ›

scenic view (47)
special occasion (41)
romantic (41)
See All
great for outdoor dining (33)
fit for foodies (32)
notable wine list (25)
good for groups (12)
neighborhood gem (9)
great for brunch (4)
kid-friendly (4)
hot spot (3)
late-night find (2)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
510 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was delicious, but... while our ser ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was delicious, but... while our server was very nice, he seemed spread a little thin. Empty cocktail and wine glasses sat on our table all night without anyone picking them up. Our fantastic, beautiful peach soufflé was delivered to the table, but no spoons with which to eat it. When we finally flagged someone down for spoons our waiter stopped by. We asked for plates since we were sharing the soufflé amongst our table of three, but alas they never came. So we just ate it out of the soufflé dish. There was nothing egregious, we just felt for a restaurant other reviews listed as the "only fine dining" on 30A that it left a little to be desired. The sunset view was gorgeous but there are only a few tables with water views, so we went outside on the balcony to take pictures and see the beautiful sky. Otherwise we felt the ambience felt like a generic hotel restaurant and the neon blue faux candle lights on the tables were a bit tacky (and bright) for me. There is a neat collection of art for sale around the foyer and the metal and blown glass "cat tails" around the restaurant are pretty, too. I just don't think I'd eat here again for the price and overall experience we had. I'd much rather eat at Cafe 30A for a fabulous all around meal any night of the week...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

It was good but nothing really wowed us. ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined 5 days ago

It was good but nothing really wowed us. We went to several other restaurants that were better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

My wife and I have celebrated our annive ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My wife and I have celebrated our anniversary each yr at FOW for the last four yrs. We wouldn't go anywhere else. They prepared an anniversary cake for us this yr that was marvelous. The food and service are outstanding.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service! My red snapper was delici ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great service! My red snapper was delicious! Healthy kids meal choices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything we had at Fish out of Water w ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Everything we had at Fish out of Water was amazing all the way from the cocktails that are made from all fresh ingredients to the bread which was mouth watering to the appetizers, salads and entrees. Additionally, the wine list had a lot of really well priced wines and our waiter suggested some wines we haven't tried before that were both amazing. We are foodies and love big red wines and he had some suggestions on Italian and Spanish wines that complemented the food, didn't break the bank and exposed us to something new! DELISH! I will definitely come back her on our annual 30A trip that we will take next year!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice atmosphere and excellent serv ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Very nice atmosphere and excellent service. My wife and I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall excellent and highly recommended ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Overall excellent and highly recommended. Quality of food wine service and ambiance excellent. Have a fat wallet.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff was very friendly and our wait ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The staff was very friendly and our waiter, Steve, very personable and helpful. Our dining experience began with a surprise gift from the chef, a beautifully presented cheese pouf. Three varieties of breads were delivered to the table. My daughter and I enjoyed our sampling of ceviche, tuna tartar, and crab/scallop cake. All were artfully presented, delicious and fresh. For dessert we ordered the soufflé and that was a great choice. The gift truffles as we left were greatly appreciated. Then Steve shared that the entire menu was gluten free. Wow.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I chose Fish Out of Water fo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My wife and I chose Fish Out of Water for our 33rd wedding anniversary. We had a very special evening. Our waiter, Steve, was particularly attentive and helped make our diner very memorable.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice views! Ordered salads that never c ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Nice views! Ordered salads that never came. Otherwise food was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Excellent food and great service. We def ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Excellent food and great service. We definitely plan to go again when we are in Watercolor!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really enjoyed the fresh ingredients and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Really enjoyed the fresh ingredients and creative food combinations. Also, creative, fresh drink menu. Extensive wine list. Super helpful, enjoyable wait staff. It's a good spot. Enjoy!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We never visit Watercolor (or the 30A ar ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We never visit Watercolor (or the 30A area) without eating at Fish out Of Water! Wonderful food and service!! All of the servers have been working there for years. Upscale dining in a very kid friendly atmosphere or wonderful for a vacation "date night".

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sit on the patio with view of Gulf; Bree ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Sit on the patio with view of Gulf; Breeze enough to mitigate heat. Great food and wonderful environment. Dining here is an event not just a meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We loved our waiter, Luke! The menu was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We loved our waiter, Luke! The menu was easily adapted to be gluten free which is great because my sister has celiac disease. The view was beautiful! Everything was absolutely wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A bit expensive, but we felt the food wa ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

A bit expensive, but we felt the food was great. Had the chicken fried quail for my main meal. Fabulous Breads are great. The soufflé so good but we did order a side of grand mariner to add to it with our espresso. If you like anchovies have the ceased salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. Our server made our anni ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Food was great. Our server made our anniversary very special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Family vacation

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Family vacation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful anniversary meal! Grouper was ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Wonderful anniversary meal! Grouper was fresh and delicious. Lovely souffle prepared for our dessert with message from the chef!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly a first class dining experience. E ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Truly a first class dining experience. Everything was superb. Food was awesome with beautiful presentation. Our server Jean was outstanding as well as all the employees. View was beautiful. Totally worth the price. I promise you will be treated like royalty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at fish ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at fish out of water. Our server,Alvin, was knowledgable ,professional and congenial. The next time we will be in Watercolor we will be sure to join the people enjoying their dinner there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was an overall good meal. Wasn't thri ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

It was an overall good meal. Wasn't thrilled about the price of the food vs the portion you are served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Third timethere; gets better every time! ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Third timethere; gets better every time! Each item prepared perfectly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SHANE was an outstanding waiter and also ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

SHANE was an outstanding waiter and also the support staff

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Oh. My. Goodness. FOOW is a brilliant di ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Oh. My. Goodness. FOOW is a brilliant dining experience. My wife and I were celebrating our 7th anniversary, and picked this restaurant based on a Google search for fine-dining in the Sandestin area.

We drove 20 minutes to 30A, and upstairs to a beautiful, elegant setting.

Our server had been working there nearly from the opening of the establishment... over 15 years ago. He knew the menu and food preparation details as if he were the chef. Friendly, knowledgeable, and accessable.

The meal made us feel like we were in the movie The 100 Foot Journey. We would rate this in our Top 5 dining experiences worldwide.

Reserve with confidence!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We usually go here when we are in Waterc ...

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We usually go here when we are in Watercolor. The food is very good and the service can't be beat! Great cocktails. Give the Cat on a Hot Tin Roof a try.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful place but disappointed by Food

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

The building , the décor, the view is wonderful! The Menu looks incredible, the appetizer's were to die for and then we get our entree's. They looked wonderful and smelled out of this world. Then you take the first bite and think its a fluke so you try two more from different areas of your plate and you realize that the whole is dish is, this beautiful piece of fish has been killed by lemon pepper and smoke flavoring to the point its almost inedible. Then the scallops, those big beautiful scallops. I know your going to have some grit when eat them but this was like eating them out of a sand box. Very disappointed in the entrees and the price for what were served.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We thought it was over priced with terri ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We thought it was over priced with terrible service and the food was over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

Fantastic food and service. Always come ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Fantastic food and service. Always come back when we are in the area. It's a can't miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday bash

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Not impressed with the initial experience - snooty hostess who clearly made an "x" on our reservation card when she handed us off to her assistant. (Not sure why???) After that, all uphill. Great server with a tremendous support staff. Attentive, but not intrusive. We ordered dessert and it was delivered with a quiet candle, no singing. We felt special without the whole restaurant joining in. An overall delightful experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful place to celebrate an annivers ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Wonderful place to celebrate an anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was incredible. Our server was ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was incredible. Our server was polite and eloquent. Halibut and lobster with sunshine, oh my.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Last Time

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Been going here for four years, once each year while on vacation. Prices where always high, but now higher than ever. 18 bucks for a martini is too much even for me. Food is good, servers are pretentious. They are really the only game in town in Watercolor so I guess they can charge what they want. was not as busy as in the past though. Dinner for two $225. Won't be back. Better experiences await you in Watercolor at half the price.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

Beach Weekend

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We stayed at a nearby state park but were ready to "splurge" on dinner out, and Fish Out of Water fit the bill. It was too cool for us to be seated on the patio on the (early May) night we were there, but the dining room table reserved for us provided a sunset view. The menu featured the fresh fish we craved and also provided for the one meat eater among us. The wait staff was knowledgeable, plentiful and attentive without being intrusive. We especially enjoyed the chef's amuse-bouche, a lovely touch. Our entrees of flounder stuffed with crab meat, scallops, and pork tenderloin were all very satisfying and left us room for dessert! We will be back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Truly amazing! We have been to several g ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Truly amazing! We have been to several great places around Destin with wonderful views, but this tops them all. Everything was absolutely perfect! The food, drinks, service, ambiance, and especially the view! We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our service and food was impeccable. Our ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Our service and food was impeccable. Our waiter, Chuck, was fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently excellent year after year. ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Consistently excellent year after year. Food, service, and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal I've ever had at FOOW!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Best meal I've ever had at FOOW!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We celebrated our first anniversary at F ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

We celebrated our first anniversary at Fish Out Of Water and had a truly excellent experience. The staff greeted us by name with congratulations, escorted us to the best table in the house to view the sunset and offered us a champagne toast to start the evening. The dinner service and food were both stellar. Our evening concluded with a complimentary dessert decorated with anniversary wishes scripted in icing. The entire team went above and beyond to make our celebration truly special. We loved every minute!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent as always ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Food and service was excellent as always. Ordered special of grilled redfish and lobster - food was terrific! Wife ordered stuffed grouper with saffron risotto which also was great. Their service is top notch. Always look forward to dining there when we come to Seaside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.