Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.96mi
  2. Distance: 3.05mi
  3. Distance: 3.20mi
  4. Distance: 3.50mi
  1. Distance: 2.96mi
  2. Distance: 3.05mi
  3. Distance: 3.20mi
  4. Distance: 3.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.96mi
  2. Distance: 3.05mi
  3. Distance: 3.20mi
  4. Distance: 3.50mi
  1. Distance: 2.96mi
  2. Distance: 3.05mi
  3. Distance: 3.20mi
  4. Distance: 3.50mi

About Fish out of Water

Fish Out of Water, the WaterColor Inn & Resort’s signature restaurant, sets a glamorous scene overlooking the emerald waters of the Gulf of Mexico, with virtuoso cuisine and a distinctive wine list to match. The freshest local fish and meats, combined with an eclectic approach to traditional ways of preparing and serving food, translating into dishes unlike anything else offered in the area. A semi-private dining room is available, lined with bottles from the restaurant’s collection of over 3,000, representing some 600+ labels. Fish Out of Water has earned a number of distinctions for excellence. In addition, to garnering an AAA four diamond award, received a Golden Spoon Award from Florida Trend magazine, and also earned a Best of Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator magazine.

34 Goldenrod Circle
Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 8:00 A.M. - 11:00 A.M. Daily (À la Carte)
Kids Eat Free: 5:00pm - 5:30pm Nightly (2 kids per 1 paying adult entrée)

Dinner
5:00 P.M. - 9:00 P.M. Tuesday - Sunday


Cross Street:
Highway 30-A

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 534-5050

Website:
http://www.watercolorresort.com/

Catering:
Weddings, Meetings, Rehearsal Dinners

Parking Details:
Open parking lot in front of Inn, covered parking next door.

Executive Chef:
Preetam Pardeshi

Private Party Facilities:
Reserve the private wine room at Fish Out of Water for intimate affairs of up to 20 people. Award dinners,client events,holiday parties and rehearsal dinners in Fish Out of Water as a private dining room offer an elegant affair with chef prepared menus.

Each event is crafted to suite your needs and requirements. Farm to table creations, fresh seafood and incredible viewsall make Fish Out of Water the perfect choice for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Pam Shue: (850) 534-5050

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
30-A Songwriters Festival

Fish out of Water Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (20)
Good for a Date (16)
Waterfront (14)
See All
Scenic View (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Romantic (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Healthy (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Cozy (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Fun (5)
Authentic (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Seasonal (3)
Family Style (3)
Business Meals (3)
Modern Decor (3)
People Watching (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Casual (1)
Private Room (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
S
635 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 7 days ago

Vacationing in Florida. Fish Out of Water exceeded our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

Double date night with friends. Food was exceptional and service was well appointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great food! Great atmosphere! Great service! Ask for Steve!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This is an Excellent Restaurant for Breakfast and Dinner. It is expensive but worth the value. The only issue I had is that the late afternoon soon shines throughout the west window and can be a distraction, especially if your are seated and looking directly in that direction. Recommend window coating or blinds to avoid the blinding light, or simply do not make reservation during that period. Outside seating for breakfast is fabulous.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Amazing food and ambiance. Gorgeous view of the ocean.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Warning!

This use to be a fantastic restaurant we would visit almost ever year when visiting Seaside. Oh how it has fallen. Menu is boring. Plating is 15 years ago. Flavors are mute. Everything envolving a fruit Element like the 90's. Negroni cocktail served up? Oh no! No raw seafood and it sits on the beach. I love Indian food but why would you have an appetizer of Tikka Masala on the menu at the beach? I am glad we left before entrees.

No wonder we were one of 4 tables in the restaurant. Management needs to bring back the Chef from 2 or 3 years ago where the restaurant was packed at 5pm. They now give you an Amuse Bouche and chocolates at the end in hopes you forget the bad food. Service was good yet robotic.

Save yourself time and money and go to one of the airstream trailers down in Seaside. They serve better food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Luke gave us great service, but the food here is great no matter the service level.
I just all adds up to be a wonderful experience

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 12, 2017

First time eating at this restaurant at Water Color. The setting was fine and the food was fantastic. The only problem was that we felt rushed by the folks serving us and I had to tell them to slow down. The message was received and the rest of the experience was fine.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Staff was welcoming and professional. The food was delicious and the waterfeont view priceless.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We had a great anniversary meal at FOOW. Beautiful setting (we sat outside), great food, excellent service, delicious cocktails. Highly recommend! Let them know if it's a special occasion and they will really make you feel special. I have a feeling they make you feel special anyway, though!

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Best food, atmosphere and service on 30A. Great place to dine while watching the sunset.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Great restaurant on the beach. We ate outside and it was wonderful. The service was excellent. The food was topnotch. The prices were high, but comparable to other beachside restaurants in the area. We will go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This restaurant found in Watercolor on 30A has one of the best views we've found in the area! The food was good. The drinks were great! I'm gluten free and they surprised us with a gf soufflé for dessert! AMAZING!! The service was impeccable...ask for Jean! This is a can't miss on your tour!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
·Dined on April 19, 2017

Fish Out of Water is always a pleasant experience, that's why we return. We have been celebrating special occasions here for over 11 years. The service is definitely the best on 30A . Our server was wonderful and we never felt rushed. The hostess was sweet as well. I had flowers delivered prior to our arrival and they were placed on the perfect table for us. The restaurant needs a bit of updating as the decor hasn't changed in years and we noticed the cushions on the swings are getting torn and tattered. But if you're looking for a special night out, Fish Out of Water never fails to deliver.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 18, 2017

The service here is so classy, and the food equally good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Very nice restaurant with attentive staff.
Good menu with very concise presentation, not overblown with unnecessary ingredients. Dinner was served at a very pleasant pace. We highly recommend Fish Out of Water and will return!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food and service was excellent. Our servers Luke was outstanding.
Will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Family Style, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Shreveport)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Our favorite place for the dinner the last evening of our beach vacations. Love the food -- be sure to try the dessert souffle. No complaints any time we have dined here.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Excellent service. Fabulous meal. Memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We have has several exceptional meals at fish out of water but last weeks meal was good but nothing special. Both of the fish specials were bland and slightly over cooked. I guess all restaurants have an off night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

This place had ONE fish/seafood dish on the menu. Just ONE. Maybe the restaurant name is appropriate... very disappointing menu.
My husband and I ordered TWO entrees and asked if the chef could split them on our plates. All fine restaurants will do this. They said they could do it for $9. Like a plate sharing charge. But we BOTH ordered entrees and only wanted to share both of them.
Our server was good but she couldn't compensate for the limited menu and overall food experience.
This is a low end place trying to act high end. It's nothing more than a middle tier hotel restaurant.
What's funny is that the wine list is very good. But the menu and food isn't even a close match.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Service was great. Food was very good. View was amazing. The only problem was they were out of a lot of the dishes. Our visit was during spring break and they have an amazing view. I assume most of the people dined during sunset. But it was still good.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Beautiful sunset absolutely spectacular. The brussel sprouts and snapper special were very good. I was surprised that it really wasn't very busy. Interior restaurant is a little dated and it's expensive. Patio seating the real reason to come here.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We have enjoyed this restaurant since it opened 16 years ago but SOMETHING MUST BE GOING ON! OUR FOOD WAS HORRIBLE! The service was very good and they were apologetic but we thought it all very strange....there was hardly anyone in the restaurant....strange after OPEN TABLE showed all the evening booked except for the one time slot We took! This was one of the busiest weeks too with spring break families from Georgia crowded all over the beach!!!! I would love to know whats going on,,,,,,Has the chef left? Our food tasted like it had been prepared, then sat in a freezer for months , then microwaved. I could smell the unfreshness of the fish when it was brought to the table! We bravely took a bite, but to our horror, what looked bad and smelled bad, WAS VERY BAD!!!! They brought us another kind of fish after that one was returned ,,,,it tasted fresher but the food under it and around it was a disgusting mush of re- frozen leftovers !
I hope whatever is going on there will get resolved and we can return to this restaurant near our home......but until I hear that it's fabulous and fresh once again....We will not back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 1, 2017

A vacation favorite..never disappoints,great service,food,dessert..thanks again😉👍🏻🍀😉👍🏻

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Service so friendly and attentive. Gorgeous view of the beautiful 30a sunset. The gulf red snapper with cauliflower cake was outstanding. Also enjoyed the seared shrimp with black eye peas.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We loved our waiter and wait staff! We have been twice and each time has been an unforgettable experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Scenic View, Family Style, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Had a nice evening at FOOW. Wife had the Grouper customized for her shellfish allergy. I had the Scallops which were nice size and cooked just right. Mary and the rest of the waitstaff were right on top of everything,but not hovering. Great spot for a special evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Absolutely wonderful experience , delicious food and great service . We were staying at Water Color Inn for vacation and would highly recommend !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Beautiful restaurant, excellent service but food was marginal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 22, 2017

It's hard to find restaurants with an ocean view but this place delivers in that regard - it is high up with soaring ceilings. Don't know why they seated us way on the end of the porch so that 2 of the four of us were seated facing the hotel rooms balconies. I watched the remaining tables closer to the sunset view stay empty throughout our almost 3 hr dining experience.
We loved most of the food but the menu is VERY limited. About 6 entrees - none of them vegetarian and they included duck and pork, neither of which any of the 4 of us eat. The amuse bouche was okay - kind of bland raw tuna wrapped in cucumber. I only tasted cuke. We loved the pea falafel, all the veggie sides (which our vegetarian was stuck ordering since there was no entree for her) - mushroom ragout, excellent brussels sprouts, mashed potatoes and spinach. (Our waiter said the chef would "put together something" for our vegetarian friend, but what came out was just a plate with 3 vegetable sides on it - not even a garnish on the plate!)
The bread (I think he said it was olive oil bread?) was dry and inedible, corn muffins a bit better, altho they contained bacon.... My husbands entree came with purple potato (does anyone like them?) which were hard and undercooked. I felt bad since his entree was $34. The cocktails (a jalapeño margarita-type concoction and their version of an Old Fashioned made with caraway bourbon) were outstanding. My tiny crab cake appetizer was good, but I have had better, and at $12 or $14, it wasn't really worth it.
The attractive water glasses dripped heavily every single time you took a sip. The carpet on the stairs leading up to the restaurant are soiled and unattractive, as were the cushions on the chairs in the entry. The ladies room is very basic. The restaurant was freezing to walk through. So although our service was excellent, the view for 2 of the 4 of us was lovely (sunset is a great time to go), it was an uneven experience at best.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We dined here the other evening for the second time. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. This is a fine dining experience but without being stuffy. Our foursome had appetizers, salads and soups, entree specials and dessert. Everyone loved their choices. The service here is attentive without overdoing it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Overall excellant except for one misstep. My wife ordered the pork porterhouse entree which can over cooked and incredibly tough. We are hestitant to return food but mentioned it to the waiter who quickly offered another entree which came quickly and was excellant. Everything else from appetizers to desert was very good.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

An amazing culinary experience! We have eaten here on several previous occasions and were underwhelmed. This time they were spot on!!! Compliments to the chef and management on a stunning improvement!!! Waitstaff was excellent! Food was very fresh, flavorful, and imaginative. Well balanced textures and flavors that complimented very well prepared food!!! Truly a five star experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent food! Really top quality excellent food. The top floor view was beautiful, service was very attentive, menu was just the right variety, little extras were what put it over the top.

Only downside was the chairs weren't great. Maybe we just had a bad table but my wife and I both felt like we were sliding out of the chairs the whole night. Other than that, all around excellent. We're going back again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 4, 2017

It was our best dinner during our recent visit to this area... and we ate at some of the top rated restaurants in Santa Rosa beach. The food was wonderful and so was the fine service. The restaurant is beautiful as well!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Fish out of Water is normally my favorite restaurant in the area. However, this visit was disappointing. The service and ambiance were good as usual but the food was not as good as usual in my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We dine at Fish Out Of Water often with family and friends. The food and service are always consistently excellent. It would be a mistake to skip dessert, always order the soufflés.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We had a very good meal. The proximity to the water is wonderful. Our waitress was very attentive. We brought our own wine and the corkage was very high.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Chicken tikka appetizer is great! Also, the Lemon Drop and Cat on a Hot Tin Room cocktails are fantastic!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.