About Fish out of Water

34 Goldenrod Circle
Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459
View Larger Map

Fish Out of Water, the WaterColor Inn & Resort’s signature restaurant, sets a glamorous scene overlooking the emerald waters of the Gulf of Mexico, with virtuoso cuisine and a distinctive wine list to match. The freshest local fish and meats, combined with an eclectic approach to traditional ways of preparing and serving food, translating into dishes unlike anything else offered in the area. A semi-private dining room is available, lined with bottles from the restaurant’s collection of over 3,000, representing some 600+ labels. Fish Out of Water has earned a number of distinctions for excellence. In addition, to garnering an AAA four diamond award, received a Golden Spoon Award from Florida Trend magazine, and also earned a Best of Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator magazine.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 8:00 A.M. - 11:00 A.M. Daily (À la Carte)
Kids Eat Free: 5:00pm - 5:30pm Nightly (2 kids per 1 paying adult entrée)

Dinner
5:00 P.M. - 9:00 P.M. Tuesday - Sunday


Cross Street:
Highway 30-A

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 534-5050

Website:
http://www.watercolorresort.com/

Catering:
Weddings, Meetings, Rehearsal Dinners

Parking Details:
Open parking lot in front of Inn, covered parking next door.

Executive Chef:
Preetam Pardeshi

Private Party Facilities:
Reserve the private wine room at Fish Out of Water for intimate affairs of up to 20 people. Award dinners,client events,holiday parties and rehearsal dinners in Fish Out of Water as a private dining room offer an elegant affair with chef prepared menus.

Each event is crafted to suite your needs and requirements. Farm to table creations, fresh seafood and incredible viewsall make Fish Out of Water the perfect choice for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Pam Shue: 8505345050x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
30-A Songwriters Festival

Restaurant Photos

Red Snapper Wirh Corn Pudding
Vanilla Souffle With Grand Marnier
Vanilla Bean Souffle With Grand Marnier
Gruyere Popovers
crab cake
Whole Fish; Thai Style
Florida Gulf Shrimp: Spanish Style With Croutons, Fava Beans, And Broth
Fried Okra
Pomegranite, Vodka, And Lemon
Bella Pesca: Vodka, Peach Puree, Lemon, Mint, Ginger
Cobia With Olives, Grapefruit, Oranges, Lemon, And Red Onion
Sweet Tea Sorbet With Georgia Olive Oil
Pomegranite Martini
Chocolate Souffle
Mojito
Triggergish With Spagghetti Squash, Pumpkin Seeds, Apple, And Sherrry Vinegarette
Pan Seared Oyster Stew Wirh Crostini
Ahi tuna
Fried Brussel Sprouts

Fish out of Water Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Northwest Florida
Best Ambiance
Northwest Florida
Outdoor Dining
Northwest Florida
7 More
Best Overall
Destin
Best Food
Destin
Best Service
Destin
Best Ambiance
Destin
Best Value
Destin
Special Occasion
Destin
Most Booked
Destin
Best Restaurants in Seagrove Beach ›

Special Occasion (51)
Scenic View (49)
Romantic (36)
See All
Fit for Foodies (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Notable Wine List (27)
Good for Groups (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Kid-friendly (10)
Great for Brunch (8)
Waterfront (8)
Good for a Date (4)
Healthy (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Family Style (1)
Business Meals (1)
Authentic (1)
Fun (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
539 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wasn't bad just wasn't great. Many bette ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 8 hours ago

Wasn't bad just wasn't great. Many better options at this price point. View was lovely though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Delicious food, great service and beauti ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Delicious food, great service and beautiful gulf views. A very special dining experience that keeps us returning again and again.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service and food was excellent! Simply ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined 4 days ago

Service and food was excellent! Simply the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chuck was outstanding! Great food, wonde ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Chuck was outstanding! Great food, wonderful atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, beautiful setting, profe ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Fantastic food, beautiful setting, professional friendly service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sat on the porch. Every food item was p ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Sat on the porch. Every food item was prepared well. Service was outstanding. Beautiful sounds of the ocean as background to our dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been going to FOOW for years and ha ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I've been going to FOOW for years and have always loved it. Unfortunately I was completely underwhelmed on my visit recently. As another reviewer mentioned you can no longer reserve outdoors which I wasn't aware of. It's first come first serve. The hostess tried

to tell me that had never been the case which was a tad annoying as I'd dined outdoors with a reservation many times over the years. Hostesses wanted to put us In a table that was very subpar and where doors leading to outdoors would be opening and closing, leaving the feeling you'd be in a service alley. (There were a lot of great tables available). I felt terrible that there wasn't a great steak option for my husband other than a 7 oz filet (on his birthday this was a major fail and I felt terrible.). He wasn't interested in anything else (as menu was far from inspiring and he left hungry). There are many great restaurants on 30a. Doubt I'll be back until there are uniform rave reviews that show a correction in their course. I do want to say our service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Nice fare, nice surroundings and nice vi ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Nice fare, nice surroundings and nice views. We generally are always pleased with the dining @ FOOW. It is a little pricey but we have always found the food quality to match the cost. We were a little put out this time over our waiter. He just did not seem to give us the attention we deserved. A two hour meal, off season, was just too much waiting around. Slow ordering, slow service, slow desserts and then a 20 minute wait for our check. Such a pity too, since we are regulars here and have always liked this place and will return. We will avoid having this waiter the next time, at all cost.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Overall good but was a little disappoint ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Overall good but was a little disappointed in the limited offerings of fish dishes...especially when considering the name and location! Service was great though!!

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We were denigned a requested better tabl ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We were denigned a requested better table and when we left 1 1/2 hours later the better tables (3) were still empty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent restaurant! Food was superb a ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Excellent restaurant! Food was superb and Chuck (our waiter). was very friendly and informative. The view was incredible. Would recommend this place highly to anyone!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Especially enjoyed the house specialty m ...

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Especially enjoyed the house specialty martini. The ahi tuna was very fresh and was served with Asian style vegetables and a light sauce---great after a hot day at the beach!

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was good. Service was great. Liked ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Food was good. Service was great. Liked the atmosphere and the outdoor dining

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Healthy, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was excellent as well as the servic ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Food was excellent as well as the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely loved our meal of fresh cobia ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Absolutely loved our meal of fresh cobia. The server made excellent cocktail recommendations and we were very happy with the attention to every aspect of our meal. Having the lovely souvenir box with the chocolate dessert was a fabulous way to part company.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food with interesting combinations ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great food with interesting combinations. The chef is innovative. Plus we love all the special touches. We are from Atlanta so we have lots of fine restaurants; however, Fish Out of Water is one of our all time favorites.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food, outstanding service. Bea ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent food, outstanding service. Beautiful decor and an impressive views especially during the thunderstorms.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had our anniversary dinner ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My wife and I had our anniversary dinner her when we were on vacation. We're gluten free and dairy free, which normally leads to mediocre food. However, here it was fantastic. Most of there menu is gluten free already, and they were able to make adjustments to our food to accommodate the dairy aspect. We both agreed it was the best meal we'd had in probably 2 years. If you're in the area, don't look any further, it's fantastic. Great service as well

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fish Out of Water was very good. Great f ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Fish Out of Water was very good. Great for a special occasion. I say that because it's pretty pricey. I recommend going when it's light outside if a view of the ocean is important to you. It was dark when we got there so we couldn't really enjoy the view. We had good service but don't expect to get in and get out at a quick pace and leave the kids behind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

FOOW was a great way to end our Family V ...

vip
 (El Paso)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

FOOW was a great way to end our Family Vacation. After a week of surf, sand, water activities and quality family time we wanted to celebrate and splurge. And that's exactly what we did. The specialty cocktails were a big hit as were the local specials. The Grouper , Scallops, Red Snapper and the Cobhia were the winners with in our party. The starters were exceptional as well. The standout was the Foie Gras and Chicken Fried Quail! Our service was spot on and our server maintained quality service even as the dining room filled. We really liked our experience and highly recommend dining at FOOW.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great restaurant. Service was awesome!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great restaurant. Service was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress was rude and had a bad atti ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our waitress was rude and had a bad attitude. We tried to joke with her and even our 3 year old said a couple of cute things to her that she blew off. Not a good experience at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Extremely Disappointed- made reservation ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Extremely Disappointed- made reservation well in advance for an early dinner and were very specific that we wanted a table outside with an ocean view. We have dined here in for the past several years and this year we arrive to find out that out door dining was first come first serve! I will never eat here again, if you want great seafood, drive down to Goat Feathers and prepare it at home with your favorite bottle of wine for the price you pay for dining in uncomfortable chairs and no ocean view. No Thanks!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Sadly, what might have been a lovely eve ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Sadly, what might have been a lovely evening was ruined by the screams of multiple children, some of whom were running around and throwing food. We just do not expect that type atmosphere at this nice of a restaurant and for the prices we paid. Otherwise, our service was excellent and the food was good, although a bit pretentious. If you go, be sure to visit some time other than during the summer when the children apparently overrun the place.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

A bit overpriced, but for the location a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

A bit overpriced, but for the location and ambiance it was as expected. The food was good, but not spectacular as would be expected for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Luscious food. We had the crabcake and g ...

 
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Luscious food. We had the crabcake and grouper. Don't miss ordering the awesome deviled eggs! We enjoyed the view of the Gulf as we dined in the Gulf Breeze. A meal and a night to remember!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The ocean view.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The ocean view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious, but... while our ser ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food was delicious, but... while our server was very nice, he seemed spread a little thin. Empty cocktail and wine glasses sat on our table all night without anyone picking them up. Our fantastic, beautiful peach soufflé was delivered to the table, but no spoons with which to eat it. When we finally flagged someone down for spoons our waiter stopped by. We asked for plates since we were sharing the soufflé amongst our table of three, but alas they never came. So we just ate it out of the soufflé dish. There was nothing egregious, we just felt for a restaurant other reviews listed as the "only fine dining" on 30A that it left a little to be desired. The sunset view was gorgeous but there are only a few tables with water views, so we went outside on the balcony to take pictures and see the beautiful sky. Otherwise we felt the ambience felt like a generic hotel restaurant and the neon blue faux candle lights on the tables were a bit tacky (and bright) for me. There is a neat collection of art for sale around the foyer and the metal and blown glass "cat tails" around the restaurant are pretty, too. I just don't think I'd eat here again for the price and overall experience we had. I'd much rather eat at Cafe 30A for a fabulous all around meal any night of the week...

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

It was good but nothing really wowed us. ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

It was good but nothing really wowed us. We went to several other restaurants that were better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

My wife and I have celebrated our annive ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My wife and I have celebrated our anniversary each yr at FOW for the last four yrs. We wouldn't go anywhere else. They prepared an anniversary cake for us this yr that was marvelous. The food and service are outstanding.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service! My red snapper was delici ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great service! My red snapper was delicious! Healthy kids meal choices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved this place and the view was perfec ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Loved this place and the view was perfect. Our kids loved it as well and the wait staff was great and extremely helpful. Food was delicious and loved the surprises. You'll have to go to see what I mean. Pricey but you get what you pay for. Highly recommend and we will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything we had at Fish out of Water w ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Everything we had at Fish out of Water was amazing all the way from the cocktails that are made from all fresh ingredients to the bread which was mouth watering to the appetizers, salads and entrees. Additionally, the wine list had a lot of really well priced wines and our waiter suggested some wines we haven't tried before that were both amazing. We are foodies and love big red wines and he had some suggestions on Italian and Spanish wines that complemented the food, didn't break the bank and exposed us to something new! DELISH! I will definitely come back her on our annual 30A trip that we will take next year!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice atmosphere and excellent serv ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Very nice atmosphere and excellent service. My wife and I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall excellent and highly recommended ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Overall excellent and highly recommended. Quality of food wine service and ambiance excellent. Have a fat wallet.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff was very friendly and our wait ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The staff was very friendly and our waiter, Steve, very personable and helpful. Our dining experience began with a surprise gift from the chef, a beautifully presented cheese pouf. Three varieties of breads were delivered to the table. My daughter and I enjoyed our sampling of ceviche, tuna tartar, and crab/scallop cake. All were artfully presented, delicious and fresh. For dessert we ordered the soufflé and that was a great choice. The gift truffles as we left were greatly appreciated. Then Steve shared that the entire menu was gluten free. Wow.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I chose Fish Out of Water fo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My wife and I chose Fish Out of Water for our 33rd wedding anniversary. We had a very special evening. Our waiter, Steve, was particularly attentive and helped make our diner very memorable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice views! Ordered salads that never c ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Nice views! Ordered salads that never came. Otherwise food was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Excellent food and great service. We def ...

 
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Excellent food and great service. We definitely plan to go again when we are in Watercolor!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really enjoyed the fresh ingredients and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Really enjoyed the fresh ingredients and creative food combinations. Also, creative, fresh drink menu. Extensive wine list. Super helpful, enjoyable wait staff. It's a good spot. Enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.