About Fish out of Water

34 Goldenrod Circle
Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459
View Larger Map

Fish Out of Water, the WaterColor Inn & Resort’s signature restaurant, sets a glamorous scene overlooking the emerald waters of the Gulf of Mexico, with virtuoso cuisine and a distinctive wine list to match. The freshest local fish and meats, combined with an eclectic approach to traditional ways of preparing and serving food, translating into dishes unlike anything else offered in the area. A semi-private dining room is available, lined with bottles from the restaurant’s collection of over 3,000, representing some 600+ labels. Fish Out of Water has earned a number of distinctions for excellence. In addition, to garnering an AAA four diamond award, received a Golden Spoon Award from Florida Trend magazine, and also earned a Best of Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator magazine.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 8:00 A.M. - 11:00 A.M. Daily (À la Carte)
Kids Eat Free: 5:00pm - 5:30pm Nightly (2 kids per 1 paying adult entrée)

Dinner
5:00 P.M. - 9:00 P.M. Tuesday - Sunday


Cross Street:
Highway 30-A

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 534-5050

Website:
http://www.watercolorresort.com/

Catering:
Weddings, Meetings, Rehearsal Dinners

Parking Details:
Open parking lot in front of Inn, covered parking next door.

Executive Chef:
Preetam Pardeshi

Private Party Facilities:
Reserve the private wine room at Fish Out of Water for intimate affairs of up to 20 people. Award dinners,client events,holiday parties and rehearsal dinners in Fish Out of Water as a private dining room offer an elegant affair with chef prepared menus.

Each event is crafted to suite your needs and requirements. Farm to table creations, fresh seafood and incredible viewsall make Fish Out of Water the perfect choice for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Pam Shue: 8505345050x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
30-A Songwriters Festival

Restaurant Photos

Red Snapper Wirh Corn Pudding
Vanilla Bean Souffle With Grand Marnier
Vanilla Souffle With Grand Marnier
Gruyere Popovers
Whole Fish; Thai Style
crab cake
Florida Gulf Shrimp: Spanish Style With Croutons, Fava Beans, And Broth
Pomegranite, Vodka, And Lemon
Fried Okra
Bella Pesca: Vodka, Peach Puree, Lemon, Mint, Ginger
Cobia With Olives, Grapefruit, Oranges, Lemon, And Red Onion
Sweet Tea Sorbet With Georgia Olive Oil
Pomegranite Martini
Pan Seared Oyster Stew Wirh Crostini
Chocolate Souffle
Triggergish With Spagghetti Squash, Pumpkin Seeds, Apple, And Sherrry Vinegarette
Mojito
Ahi tuna
Fried Brussel Sprouts

Fish out of Water Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Northwest Florida
Outdoor Dining
Northwest Florida
Romantic
Northwest Florida
9 More
Most Booked
Northwest Florida
Best Overall
Destin
Best Food
Destin
Best Service
Destin
Best Ambiance
Destin
Best Value
Destin
Romantic
Destin
Special Occasion
Destin
Most Booked
Destin
Best Restaurants in Seagrove Beach ›

scenic view (43)
romantic (41)
special occasion (37)
See All
notable wine list (29)
great for outdoor dining (29)
fit for foodies (29)
good for groups (9)
neighborhood gem (7)
great for brunch (6)
hot spot (5)
kid-friendly (4)
great for lunch (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
487 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5

It was an overall good meal. Wasn't thri ...

Dined 5 days ago

It was an overall good meal. Wasn't thrilled about the price of the food vs the portion you are served.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Third timethere; gets better every time! ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Third timethere; gets better every time! Each item prepared perfectly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

SHANE was an outstanding waiter and also ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

SHANE was an outstanding waiter and also the support staff

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oh. My. Goodness. FOOW is a brilliant di ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Oh. My. Goodness. FOOW is a brilliant dining experience. My wife and I were celebrating our 7th anniversary, and picked this restaurant based on a Google search for fine-dining in the Sandestin area. We drove 20 minutes to 30A, and upstairs to a beautiful, elegant setting. Our server had been working there nearly from the opening of the establishment... over 15 years ago. He knew the menu and food preparation details as if he were the chef. Friendly, knowledgeable, and accessable. The meal made us feel like we were in the movie The 100 Foot Journey. We would rate this in our Top 5 dining experiences worldwide. Reserve with confidence!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We usually go here when we are in Waterc ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

We usually go here when we are in Watercolor. The food is very good and the service can't be beat! Great cocktails. Give the Cat on a Hot Tin Roof a try.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Beautiful place but disappointed by Food

Dined on June 6, 2016

The building , the décor, the view is wonderful! The Menu looks incredible, the appetizer's were to die for and then we get our entree's. They looked wonderful and smelled out of this world. Then you take the first bite and think its a fluke so you try two more from different areas of your plate and you realize that the whole is dish is, this beautiful piece of fish has been killed by lemon pepper and smoke flavoring to the point its almost inedible. Then the scallops, those big beautiful scallops. I know your going to have some grit when eat them but this was like eating them out of a sand box. Very disappointed in the entrees and the price for what were served.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service1

We thought it was over priced with terri ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

We thought it was over priced with terrible service and the food was over cooked.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Birthday bash

Dined on June 2, 2016

Not impressed with the initial experience - snooty hostess who clearly made an "x" on our reservation card when she handed us off to her assistant. (Not sure why???) After that, all uphill. Great server with a tremendous support staff. Attentive, but not intrusive. We ordered dessert and it was delivered with a quiet candle, no singing. We felt special without the whole restaurant joining in. An overall delightful experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful place to celebrate an annivers ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

Wonderful place to celebrate an anniversary!

food5
ambience4
service5

The food was incredible. Our server was ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

The food was incredible. Our server was polite and eloquent. Halibut and lobster with sunshine, oh my.

food4
ambience4
service3
value1

Last Time

Dined on May 25, 2016

Been going here for four years, once each year while on vacation. Prices where always high, but now higher than ever. 18 bucks for a martini is too much even for me. Food is good, servers are pretentious. They are really the only game in town in Watercolor so I guess they can charge what they want. was not as busy as in the past though. Dinner for two $225. Won't be back. Better experiences await you in Watercolor at half the price.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beach Weekend

Dined on May 7, 2016

We stayed at a nearby state park but were ready to "splurge" on dinner out, and Fish Out of Water fit the bill. It was too cool for us to be seated on the patio on the (early May) night we were there, but the dining room table reserved for us provided a sunset view. The menu featured the fresh fish we craved and also provided for the one meat eater among us. The wait staff was knowledgeable, plentiful and attentive without being intrusive. We especially enjoyed the chef's amuse-bouche, a lovely touch. Our entrees of flounder stuffed with crab meat, scallops, and pork tenderloin were all very satisfying and left us room for dessert! We will be back!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Truly amazing! We have been to several g ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Truly amazing! We have been to several great places around Destin with wonderful views, but this tops them all. Everything was absolutely perfect! The food, drinks, service, ambiance, and especially the view! We will definitely be back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our service and food was impeccable. Our ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

Our service and food was impeccable. Our waiter, Chuck, was fabulous.

food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently excellent year after year. ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Consistently excellent year after year. Food, service, and ambiance.

food5
ambience4
service4

Best meal I've ever had at FOOW!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Best meal I've ever had at FOOW!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our first anniversary at F ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

We celebrated our first anniversary at Fish Out Of Water and had a truly excellent experience. The staff greeted us by name with congratulations, escorted us to the best table in the house to view the sunset and offered us a champagne toast to start the evening. The dinner service and food were both stellar. Our evening concluded with a complimentary dessert decorated with anniversary wishes scripted in icing. The entire team went above and beyond to make our celebration truly special. We loved every minute!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was excellent as always ...

vip
Dined on April 14, 2016

Food and service was excellent as always. Ordered special of grilled redfish and lobster - food was terrific! Wife ordered stuffed grouper with saffron risotto which also was great. Their service is top notch. Always look forward to dining there when we come to Seaside.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening!

Dined on April 13, 2016

The view is spectacular. We dined on April 13. The food was creative and classic at the same time. Everything tasted wonderful. We dined on scallops, risotto, a steak that melted in your mouth, grouper and shrimp, creme brûlée, and several appetizers , breads, and desserts too numerous to name. We kept asking for spoons so we could taste each others food. This is a lovely spot that I had gotten out of the habit of visiting. Im glad I returned. The service and the experience were top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Must Go

Dined on April 6, 2016

Everything was great - food, service and view! We went twice in 4 days.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

The Seafood Grill dish was not good

Dined on March 26, 2016

The Scallops and shrimp had a burnt taste to them. It was grilled and did not have a good taste to the entire dish. Not sure how they screwed this up, but they did. A simple and much cheaper would have been preferable.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and view. Always a treat ...

vip
Dined on March 16, 2016

Excellent food and view. Always a treat to eat here.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

creative local menu with metropolitan flare

Dined on March 13, 2016

an excellent wine list and creative dishes make this a great special occasion dining experience. arrive early and enjoy a cocktail overlooking the Gulf of Mexico.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The perfect spot

Dined on March 3, 2016

Fish out of Water was an amazing dining experience all the way around. My wife and I spent our anniversary there and they did everything they could to make it a wonderful evening. From the food, wait staff, wine list, and the view, I would recommend anyone to enjoy the experience of Fish out of Water. 5 stars and we will defiantly be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Find!

Dined on March 2, 2016

This was our first visit and we will definitely return on our next trip to the beach. The food was delicious as well as beautifully presented . We had the "catch of the day " and the " seafood grille" ... Both were amazing and then there was the soufflé for dessert !!! Oh my how perfect !!! So light and absolutely fabulous !!!! Mmmmmmmm ! You won't be disappointed !!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Saturday Evening Dinner - My Wife's Birthday

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Long weekend at Watercolor Inn for my Wife's birthday and we always have dinner one evening at Fish out of Water while there. Restaurant had just re-opened after being closed for new carpet to be installed - it looked very nice. The restaurant was very quiet...but it is the off-season. Moderately high priced wine selections. We were warmly greeted by all the personnel upon entering; waiter and staff were very attentive and allowed us plenty of time between ordering appetizers and entrees which is a pet peeve of ours. Enjoyed the deviled eggs appetizer and both our entrees of scallops and grouper were prepared very well. Such a nice group of people combined with a great meal made it an excellent evening for us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Best on 30A

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Did Valentine Day dinner. Limited menu but nonetheless outstanding. The lobster-tagliatelli and the grouper dish were excellent. Great wine list continues to offer great selections. Additionally, serve by our server Alvin was perfect. Have never missed here.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Very poor amount of food, sorry. Small portions.

Dined on February 14, 2016

The overall experience was very sad in that the Valentine's menu was prix fix. Had I know this in advance, I would have canceled. But, the server was not at fault and tried to "help" guide us along. I am not an overall foodie, but I always appreciate overall value. This was very far from anything to compare to excellent. In fact, it was overall boring. The good news was the dessert- Cold Lemon Crème Brule for my husband and Cold Chocolate Tart for me. Made up for the overall lack of anything of value in the rest of the meal. I hope that this brings comfort to those that put up with the meal, and hopefully will inspire others to explore other opportunities.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Valentine's Day Dinner!

Dined on February 14, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Fish Out of Water. We made reservations many weeks in advance, then were notified a week prior there was only going to be a limited menu. I was surprised as I did not have time for other options, but decided to "roll with it" and wee what happens. Everything was GREAT! It was a surprise dinner for my date and she said the limited menu wasn't a big deal. The food was outstanding as was the service. We will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Recommended by Pearl but highly over-rated!

Dined on February 11, 2016

We stayed at The Pearl Resort in Rosemary Beach. They suggested several restaurants we might enjoy, stating that the best of the lot was Fish Out of Water. It's a resort restaurant rated at 4 stars but should have a two or three star rating. It was the worst of the 4 we visited. #1 was Café 31A, #2 was Havana Beach Club at The Pearl, #3 was Paradis. It had a resort feel to it, with a fairly non-descript, drab interior. There were no linen table cloths in the restaurant. Tables were covered with a vinyl material, much like one would see at a beach type out-door café. Very tacky! We were served a pre-dinner appetizer which, when inquiring of the waitress as to what it was, she did not have the slightest clue. It was a all-too-doughy risotto ball with a dab of basil pesto on top. As I said, quite drab. The salads were just OK, albeit very small portions. For the main course, my wife and I both had seafood. Her Grouper was good, but basic and something one could get at any good seafood restaurant; nothing one would write home about. The price was outrageous at $40.00. My entry was the mixed grill at $48.00. Again, outrageously expensive for the modest amount of food I received: two Shrimp, one Scallop, one every so small Lobster tail (perhaps 3 oz.) and the tail end of a Grouper fillet. All of this arrived on top of a small portion of mashed potatoes and 4 or 5 small stalks of asparagus! The worst part of it all was that it was just warm, not hot and not very warm at that! The entire dish was bland, little or no seasoning to speak of. The Grouper fillet was very fishy tasting. Lastly, our $14.00 Soufle, which was supposed to be an espresso flavored dessert, was vanilla at best; neither of us could taste one hint of espresso. With a fairly good glass of wine each, the meal, with tip (because the waiter tried to do his best to make up for the bad food and ambiance), was $156.00! Outrageous for what we received. Not a great dining experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Finest Restaurant in Destin

Dined on January 2, 2016

Having visited Fish Out of Water again this past week, my wife and I once again equate it to the best 5 star experiences we have had in Europe and the Far East. We have gone to Fish Out of Water for several of our wedding anniversaries and have always enjoyed the experience. Their dessert souffle's are not to be missed. Being family friendly now, the restaurant gets a bit noisy at the height of the evening. Couples and families could be separated more by distance in most cases.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1

Some food was great while some very poor ...

Dined on December 31, 2015

Some food was great while some very poor. Has the ambience of a stuffy hotel in the 80s. Service seemed forced and inattentive. Definitely not worth the high prices.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Horsetail Sunset!

Dined on December 26, 2015

We were seated as the sun set and outside the window overlooking the Gulf was a beautiful cloud formation that resembled a horses' tail in striking colors! Our evening went along beautifully as Alvin, our server, was professional, knowledgeable, and great to assist us with the menu choices. Our food, including my wife's Seafood Mixed Grill was sensational with Maine Lobster, Florida Shrimp, and Diver Scallops was an artistic presentation that tasted outstanding! We highly recommend Fish Out of Water for outstanding food and service and a extraordinary view!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

wife's birthday dinner #1

vip
Dined on December 19, 2015

Staff did a great job making the night memorable for my wife's birthday dinner. Reception, service and food were all exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Special

vip
Dined on November 26, 2015

You can enjoy this place in many ways. They are extremely family friendly in an elegant way. Inside and outside (weather permitting ). The collard greens are the best. Great service.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, attentive service, amazing view

vip
Dined on October 20, 2015

Our dinner hit all the high points. Our server was knowledgable and friendly without being intrusive. The menu has great variety and the food delivered on taste and quality. The view is amazing. Go at sunset. It was my birthday dinner and the soufflé topped off a most memorable meal. Excellent in every way.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food3
ambience2
service2

Underwhelmed this year

Dined on October 10, 2015

My boyfriend and I have been to Fish Out of Water for our anniversary for the past 3 years. Usually, we're pleased with the service and food, but this year we were very underwhelmed. The service was fair to poor (didn't get drink orders until 15 minutes after seating) and the food was average. The scallops were incredibly salty (and I love salt) and the pork tenderloin was tough. There was also a bachelorette party and several loud tables nearby that distracted from a romantic evening. We're definitely re-thinking our anniversary dinner for next year - especially for the cost of our meal....it wasn't up to standard.

food3
ambience4
service3

Over priced. Food only ok. Kids menu way ...

vip
Dined on October 8, 2015

Over priced. Food only ok. Kids menu way overpriced, bland taste. This place is more about where it is than good food. Many of the locally owned smaller restaurants have much tastier food. We were looking for an upscale restaurant to enjoy a special night. We were willing to spend the money, that was not the issue. Unfortunately, the food was just bad.

food2
ambience3
service3

Disappointed

vip
Dined on October 2, 2015

Having been to this restaurant several years ago, my wife and I were very disappointed in our visit last week. My wife's grouper was excellent, however, the stated "fresh local vegetables with rice" turned out to be a rice cake with overcooked, apparently frozen peas and carrots. Unacceptable. My snapper came with encrusted skin that was difficult to remove, taking a large portion of fish with it. Also, my "sausage succotash" turned out to be black eyed peas. The cushion on my wife's chair was broken and sagging. All this came with an extraordinary high price. To summarize in one word: disappointed.

food4
ambience5
service5

The dining experience was very nice and ...

Dined on September 22, 2015

The dining experience was very nice and our waitress was excellent. I do think the menu items were a little high priced.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.