Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.96mi
  2. Distance: 3.05mi
  3. Distance: 3.20mi
  4. Distance: 3.50mi
  1. Distance: 2.96mi
  2. Distance: 3.05mi
  3. Distance: 3.20mi
  4. Distance: 3.50mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.96mi
  2. Distance: 3.05mi
  3. Distance: 3.20mi
  4. Distance: 3.50mi
  1. Distance: 2.96mi
  2. Distance: 3.05mi
  3. Distance: 3.20mi
  4. Distance: 3.50mi

About Fish out of Water

Fish Out of Water, the WaterColor Inn & Resort’s signature restaurant, sets a glamorous scene overlooking the emerald waters of the Gulf of Mexico, with virtuoso cuisine and a distinctive wine list to match. The freshest local fish and meats, combined with an eclectic approach to traditional ways of preparing and serving food, translating into dishes unlike anything else offered in the area. A semi-private dining room is available, lined with bottles from the restaurant’s collection of over 3,000, representing some 600+ labels. Fish Out of Water has earned a number of distinctions for excellence. In addition, to garnering an AAA four diamond award, received a Golden Spoon Award from Florida Trend magazine, and also earned a Best of Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator magazine.

34 Goldenrod Circle
Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 8:00 A.M. - 11:00 A.M. Daily (À la Carte)
Kids Eat Free: 5:00pm - 5:30pm Nightly (2 kids per 1 paying adult entrée)

Dinner
5:00 P.M. - 9:00 P.M. Tuesday - Sunday


Cross Street:
Highway 30-A

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 534-5050

Website:
http://www.watercolorresort.com/

Catering:
Weddings, Meetings, Rehearsal Dinners

Parking Details:
Open parking lot in front of Inn, covered parking next door.

Executive Chef:
Preetam Pardeshi

Private Party Facilities:
Reserve the private wine room at Fish Out of Water for intimate affairs of up to 20 people. Award dinners,client events,holiday parties and rehearsal dinners in Fish Out of Water as a private dining room offer an elegant affair with chef prepared menus.

Each event is crafted to suite your needs and requirements. Farm to table creations, fresh seafood and incredible viewsall make Fish Out of Water the perfect choice for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Pam Shue: (850) 534-5050

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
30-A Songwriters Festival

Fish out of Water Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Waterfront (26)
Scenic View (26)
See All
Special Occasion (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Romantic (20)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Seasonal (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Cozy (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Healthy (6)
Business Meals (5)
Fun (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Authentic (5)
People Watching (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Family Style (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Casual (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Music (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
672 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We save Fish Out of Watet for our last night in the panhandle to celebrate our week of relaxing. It NEVER disappoints! The food is delicious and plentiful. The corn muffins are the very best. (I could eat only muffins for supper and he happy as a clam!). Our server ,Julie, was knowledgeable and attentive. She helped make the evening relaxing! Well done!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Dated decor and not so fresh fish. Best to stick with the Bay or Goatfeathers for good seafood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 12, 2017

My husband & I went to Fish Out of Water while visiting the Destin area and the ambiance was sensational and so was the service. We sat outside & enjoyed a beautiful view the ocean. The food however could have been cooked better, we both had fish and it could have been cooked better.

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Sat outside, lovely evening! David did an outstanding job taking care of us. He is a true professional! The food was excellent and the service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Excellent all around. Special attention to detail
For our food allergies and celiac disease. Exceptional service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Our dinner was spectacular! The service was incredible. I started with the arugula salad and it was one of the most incredible dishes I've ever had. My husband said his filet was one of the best ever and my red snapper was simply perfect. We ended with the peach soufflé. Wow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Highly recommend. It's pricey but definitely worth it! Ceviche superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Fantastic as usual!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Watching the sunset on their outdoor dining area is always a just when on 30-A! The food and service are top notch. Another great experience with Fish Out of Water!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Really great food service and customer service - I would recommend to anyone - memorable night!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Seasonal, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Everything was great. Will definitely go again when I am at the beach my heirloom tomato mozzarella salad was not up par - especially when compared to the rest of the meal. Only one or two small pieces of mozzarella - tomatos - just ok

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great location and great views. The staff was super professional and very helpful. The food was amazing. A little pricey but overall a great place to eat.

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 29, 2017

My family was very happy with our meal at Fish Out of Water. We have not had the opportunity to eat there in many years. The interior needs some updating but our meal and service was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Well-crafted drinks and dishes

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 24, 2017

As always, our dinner at Fish Out of Water was exceptional. From end to end the dinner was marvelous. They had just rolled out a new menu one week prior and yet the execution was perfect. I can highly recommend the ceviche, the pork chop and of course the grouper. The snapper dish was excellent but for fish the grouper was superior. The best part for us was the fact that they have moved "98%" of their menu to Gluten Free - creating some exceptional options for the GF diners. The waiter was highly informed - even to the point of finding out that the fried okra on the grouper dish was prepared using rice flour AND in a separate fryer. I can't speak directly to the wine list as we (based on prior dinners) knew their list to be resort-priced and instead brought our own cellar bottle and paid the (reasonable) corkage fee. One small note... the restaurant was nearly EMPTY on a Saturday night in the summer at 8pm. We overheard the hostesses telling people it would be more than an hour wait - even though at least 1/2 of their tables were empty from before we arrived until we left nearly 2.5 hours later. If you can't get a table I would encourage going in and talking your way in... It's definitely worth it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 22, 2017

The service was outstanding, Vicki was outstanding. The food was okay but the overall value did not live up to the hype. Many better options in the area for the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Second time here, love the ambience and perfect beach views.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 21, 2017

I think the server really sets the tone of your dining experience and ours did not miss a beat. She was wonderful. Then comes the food. Kudos to the chef. We started with a red snapper cerviche, just a sample from the chef, it was so good that we asked to have it as our appetizer. A must have. I highly recommend enjoying the experience at Fish Out of Water.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

It was great! We had a gorgeous view, and the appetizers were amazing with special touches like homemade buttery crackers, homemade mustard, local organic veggies, homemade pasta- it was all so delicious!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Small pour. Food not seasoned properly. Table servers not trained in proper table pickup procedures. Not enough staff on floor. Taken as a whole--does not warrant 4 star rating.
Extremely expensive for what you receive.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. We are dinner and had breakfast and each time the food was fresh and the service friendly.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We were on vacation at Watercolor Resort and dined here three times. The breakfast brunch was average but dinner was very nice. The selection is limited but we were happy with all we ordered. We do not need a ten page complicated menu. The staff were friendly and hard working. The view of the gulf is hard to beat. We truly enjoyed our get-a-way.

Tags: Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The most perfect of perfect evenings .....food was extraordinary portions were generous service exemplary view from outside patio was to die for. Next trip here I think we will dine here every night. Thank you thank you! Check!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Staff attentive and helpful. Food fantastic. Lovely setting. Will definitely return when we come come back to the beach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The food was very good but even though the restaurant was less than half full the service was slow and disjointed. Very disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Was our 45th anniversary. Food was outstanding. Service staff was attentive and excellent. Great view.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

This is our favorite Resturant!!! Great drinks and food!! Wonderful gluten free options!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 1, 2017

We have always loved Fish out of Water. This time the food was very mediocre. My fish was over cooked. Just nothing exceptional at all. The service was good, wine and drinks were good.
One of our friends mentioned that he thought the venue was getting tired.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Excellent service!!!!!!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Delightful tastey meal. The crab cakes were amazing as well as the chocolate creame brûlée. The Brussels sprouts were delicious. Each of our entrees, duck, chicken, red snapper, and scallops, were perfect.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We thought the food was great along with the service!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Always a great way to end our time at Watercolor

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great food. Great service. Refined yet low key. A near ideal beach experience. If weather and conditions permit, choose to eat outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We were there for dinner the night of our 49th wedding anniversary. What a wonderful meal we had! The food was delicious. The service was extremely attentive and well trained. The beauty of the surroundings was perfect.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 24, 2017

I love Fish Out of Water! My husband and I dined here the other night and it was delicious- by far the best food on 30A! We also had our rehearsal dinner here almost 3 years ago and it was perfect! Thank you for helping us celebrate many wonderful things with great food, wine, and service!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Vacationing in Florida. Fish Out of Water exceeded our expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Double date night with friends. Food was exceptional and service was well appointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great food! Great atmosphere! Great service! Ask for Steve!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 19, 2017

This is an Excellent Restaurant for Breakfast and Dinner. It is expensive but worth the value. The only issue I had is that the late afternoon soon shines throughout the west window and can be a distraction, especially if your are seated and looking directly in that direction. Recommend window coating or blinds to avoid the blinding light, or simply do not make reservation during that period. Outside seating for breakfast is fabulous.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Best meal we had all week. Filet's were impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.