About Fish out of Water

Fish Out of Water, the WaterColor Inn & Resort’s signature restaurant, sets a glamorous scene overlooking the emerald waters of the Gulf of Mexico, with virtuoso cuisine and a distinctive wine list to match. The freshest local fish and meats, combined with an eclectic approach to traditional ways of preparing and serving food, translating into dishes unlike anything else offered in the area. A semi-private dining room is available, lined with bottles from the restaurant’s collection of over 3,000, representing some 600+ labels. Fish Out of Water has earned a number of distinctions for excellence. In addition, to garnering an AAA four diamond award, received a Golden Spoon Award from Florida Trend magazine, and also earned a Best of Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator magazine.

34 Goldenrod Circle
Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 8:00 A.M. - 11:00 A.M. Daily (À la Carte)
Kids Eat Free: 5:00pm - 5:30pm Nightly (2 kids per 1 paying adult entrée)

Dinner
5:00 P.M. - 9:00 P.M. Tuesday - Sunday


Cross Street:
Highway 30-A

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 534-5050

Website:
http://www.watercolorresort.com/

Catering:
Weddings, Meetings, Rehearsal Dinners

Parking Details:
Open parking lot in front of Inn, covered parking next door.

Executive Chef:
Preetam Pardeshi

Private Party Facilities:
Reserve the private wine room at Fish Out of Water for intimate affairs of up to 20 people. Award dinners,client events,holiday parties and rehearsal dinners in Fish Out of Water as a private dining room offer an elegant affair with chef prepared menus.

Each event is crafted to suite your needs and requirements. Farm to table creations, fresh seafood and incredible viewsall make Fish Out of Water the perfect choice for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Pam Shue: (850) 534-5050

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
30-A Songwriters Festival

Fish out of Water Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (8)
Special Occasion (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
See All
Romantic (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Waterfront (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Authentic (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Business Meals (1)
Private Room (1)
Fun (1)
Great Beer (1)
Cozy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
596 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Chicken tikka appetizer is great! Also, ...

vip
 (Mississippi)·Dined 3 days ago

Chicken tikka appetizer is great! Also, the Lemon Drop and Cat on a Hot Tin Room cocktails are fantastic!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

What an amazing dinner this was! I had T ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 31, 2016

What an amazing dinner this was! I had Thier center cut filet and my wife had thier grouper plate. Superb. The service was some of the best we have ever had. Everything was perfect, and the view setting was awesome. We will definitely be make another trip to Fish Out of Water.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Limited menu but what they offer is serv ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Limited menu but what they offer is served very well. Great service and quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

It was our anniversary and the food and ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It was our anniversary and the food and service

were outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I came for dinner by myself with my two ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I came for dinner by myself with my two year old, and everyone was exceptionally attentive to her. She got a great "kids meal" with grilled fish and french fries, and they even brought out a brownie with ice cream after we ate. The wait staff was super kind, and the food was outstanding. I got the dinner special and it was one of a kind. I would absolutely go back.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

One of the most outstanding restaurant w ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 9, 2016

One of the most outstanding restaurant we've ever eaten at service is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

All the staff were so welcoming and enga ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 17, 2016

All the staff were so welcoming and engaged. Chuck, our waiter, was superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious as always. Try the souffle! Vi ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Delicious as always. Try the souffle! Visit just before sundown for an amazing sunset view.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. Service was slow and ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Food was very good.

Service was slow and it wasn't very busy-- perhaps seasonal issue?

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

FOOW is a regular stop when we visit Sea ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 5, 2016

FOOW is a regular stop when we visit Seaside/30A. The vibe/energy varies with the seasons but the food and service are consistently good. The seafood pasta was good, the steak spot on, and the fish special delicious. We always get the desert soufflé and highly recommend it. Our pre dinner cocktails needed tweaked but it was done quickly and our server was efficient and attentive. The dining room atmosphere and ambiance is refined and relaxing but if the conditions permit the outdoor tables can be perfect for al fresco dining while listening to the surf. If you can catch a gulf sunset - bonus!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We sat outside and enjoyed an anniversar ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We sat outside and enjoyed an anniversary dinner. It was a lovely evening and the food was good.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We decided to dine at Fish Out of Water ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We decided to dine at Fish Out of Water on our last night at Watercolor! Great decision. Everything was perfect!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go Fish! The food is very, very good. T ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Go Fish! The food is very, very good. The service is like the sea-it ebbed and flowed between very attentive and very inattentive. View is gorgeous- especially at sunset.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Beautiful restaurant on the gulf shore, ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Beautiful restaurant on the gulf shore, Haven't been in a while and the menu has changed a bit. The service was wonderful and the food was amazing. The chef had no problem handling a couple of special requests. I will certainly try to go back more often.

Tags: Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place and the only negative co ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Love this place and the only negative comment I have is that I split a dish with my daughter. When the bill came the dish we ordered was more than on the menu. I asked the waiter and he said that when you split it – there is an additional charge. He said because the dish is now larger than the original one on the menu. Both my daughter and I were not that hungry so that is why we split a dish. We end up not eating all of it. The waiter should have informed us that when we split it there would be more and the price would change. I asked him and all he said was it was on the menu. I do believe it is the waitstaff responsibility to let you know before an item is ordered so The customer can decide if that's what they wanted to do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Exceptional and made to feel appreciated ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Exceptional and made to feel appreciated even after paid and received complimentary cookies to take home!!! Surprise and delight!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This meal was one of the finest I've eve ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 9, 2016

This meal was one of the finest I've ever had. This restaurant really caters to its guests, surprising your palette again and again. There is just so much to say about the food and menu, it's all so good. Have the tikka kebob, as an app. Delicious. The fish is of the best quality, prepared well, and with skill. The filet of beef was as tender as any I'd ever had, a marvelous sauce, and restrained elegance in plating. The quality of product used is evident. The attention to detail is in every aspect of not only the meal, but the service as well. The wine list offers a variety of regions, and countries. The price points are reasonable. Have a bottle, why not?! The kitchen will delight you with an amuse bouche, a granite to cleanse your palette, some macaroons even after you've had one of the incredible desserts.

Ask to sit by the windows, overlooking the beautiful gulf. Go at sunset, you'll have the most gorgeous of backdrops, perfectly suited for the marvelous meal your going to have. Enjoy! Fish out of Water is truly a jewel of a place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Started with wonderful cocktails, then o ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Started with wonderful cocktails, then on to a delicious crab cake, beet salad, and Fabulous grouper with a little kick. Friendly and professional staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food bad, service good, total experience ...

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Food bad, service good, total experience not good.mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

My wife and I Came in with 6 17yo and co ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 5, 2016

My wife and I Came in with 6 17yo and could not have been treated any better by the Captain. Great experience for all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent service & incredible dining ex ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 5, 2016

excellent service & incredible dining experience!!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a fabulous meal with a view of th ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We had a fabulous meal with a view of the sunset on the beach. The food and service was a great and it was worth every penny. Staff are friendly and dedicated to service. Definitely a date night destination or just a great place for dining.

Tags: Family Style, Tapas, Casual, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb restaurant; everything -- service ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Superb restaurant; everything -- service, atmosphere, & especially the food -- was top-notch. Will definitely return!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wasn't bad just wasn't great. Many bette ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Wasn't bad just wasn't great. Many better options at this price point. View was lovely though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Our waiter Luke F., Autumn and the serve ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Our waiter Luke F., Autumn and the serve staff were top notch. The red snapper was delicious. Fantastic outside dining with great Gulf views.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious food, great service and beauti ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Delicious food, great service and beautiful gulf views. A very special dining experience that keeps us returning again and again.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service and food was excellent! Simply ...

vip
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Service and food was excellent! Simply the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chuck was outstanding! Great food, wonde ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Chuck was outstanding! Great food, wonderful atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food, beautiful setting, profe ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Fantastic food, beautiful setting, professional friendly service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sat on the porch. Every food item was p ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Sat on the porch. Every food item was prepared well. Service was outstanding. Beautiful sounds of the ocean as background to our dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been going to FOOW for years and ha ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I've been going to FOOW for years and have always loved it. Unfortunately I was completely underwhelmed on my visit recently. As another reviewer mentioned you can no longer reserve outdoors which I wasn't aware of. It's first come first serve. The hostess tried

to tell me that had never been the case which was a tad annoying as I'd dined outdoors with a reservation many times over the years. Hostesses wanted to put us In a table that was very subpar and where doors leading to outdoors would be opening and closing, leaving the feeling you'd be in a service alley. (There were a lot of great tables available). I felt terrible that there wasn't a great steak option for my husband other than a 7 oz filet (on his birthday this was a major fail and I felt terrible.). He wasn't interested in anything else (as menu was far from inspiring and he left hungry). There are many great restaurants on 30a. Doubt I'll be back until there are uniform rave reviews that show a correction in their course. I do want to say our service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Nice fare, nice surroundings and nice vi ...

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Nice fare, nice surroundings and nice views. We generally are always pleased with the dining @ FOOW. It is a little pricey but we have always found the food quality to match the cost. We were a little put out this time over our waiter. He just did not seem to give us the attention we deserved. A two hour meal, off season, was just too much waiting around. Slow ordering, slow service, slow desserts and then a 20 minute wait for our check. Such a pity too, since we are regulars here and have always liked this place and will return. We will avoid having this waiter the next time, at all cost.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Overall good but was a little disappoint ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Overall good but was a little disappointed in the limited offerings of fish dishes...especially when considering the name and location! Service was great though!!

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We were denigned a requested better tabl ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We were denigned a requested better table and when we left 1 1/2 hours later the better tables (3) were still empty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent restaurant! Food was superb a ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Excellent restaurant! Food was superb and Chuck (our waiter). was very friendly and informative. The view was incredible. Would recommend this place highly to anyone!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Especially enjoyed the house specialty m ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Especially enjoyed the house specialty martini. The ahi tuna was very fresh and was served with Asian style vegetables and a light sauce---great after a hot day at the beach!

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was good. Service was great. Liked ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Food was good. Service was great. Liked the atmosphere and the outdoor dining

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Healthy, Fun, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was excellent as well as the servic ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Food was excellent as well as the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely loved our meal of fresh cobia ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Absolutely loved our meal of fresh cobia. The server made excellent cocktail recommendations and we were very happy with the attention to every aspect of our meal. Having the lovely souvenir box with the chocolate dessert was a fabulous way to part company.

Tags: , Scenic View, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food with interesting combinations ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great food with interesting combinations. The chef is innovative. Plus we love all the special touches. We are from Atlanta so we have lots of fine restaurants; however, Fish Out of Water is one of our all time favorites.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.