About Fish out of Water

34 Goldenrod Circle
Santa Rosa Beach, FL 32459
View Larger Map

Fish Out of Water, the WaterColor Inn & Resort’s signature restaurant, sets a glamorous scene overlooking the emerald waters of the Gulf of Mexico, with virtuoso cuisine and a distinctive wine list to match. The freshest local fish and meats, combined with an eclectic approach to traditional ways of preparing and serving food, translating into dishes unlike anything else offered in the area. A semi-private dining room is available, lined with bottles from the restaurant’s collection of over 3,000, representing some 600+ labels. Fish Out of Water has earned a number of distinctions for excellence. In addition, to garnering an AAA four diamond award, received a Golden Spoon Award from Florida Trend magazine, and also earned a Best of Award of Excellence from Wine Spectator magazine.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 8:00 A.M. - 11:00 A.M. Daily (À la Carte)
Kids Eat Free: 5:00pm - 5:30pm Nightly (2 kids per 1 paying adult entrée)

Dinner
5:00 P.M. - 9:00 P.M. Tuesday - Sunday


Cross Street:
Highway 30-A

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(850) 534-5050

Website:
http://www.watercolorresort.com/

Catering:
Weddings, Meetings, Rehearsal Dinners

Parking Details:
Open parking lot in front of Inn, covered parking next door.

Executive Chef:
Preetam Pardeshi

Private Party Facilities:
Reserve the private wine room at Fish Out of Water for intimate affairs of up to 20 people. Award dinners,client events,holiday parties and rehearsal dinners in Fish Out of Water as a private dining room offer an elegant affair with chef prepared menus.

Each event is crafted to suite your needs and requirements. Farm to table creations, fresh seafood and incredible viewsall make Fish Out of Water the perfect choice for your event.

Private Party Contact:
Pam Shue: 8505345050x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
30-A Songwriters Festival

Restaurant Photos

Red Snapper Wirh Corn Pudding
Vanilla Souffle With Grand Marnier
Vanilla Bean Souffle With Grand Marnier
Gruyere Popovers
crab cake
Whole Fish; Thai Style
Florida Gulf Shrimp: Spanish Style With Croutons, Fava Beans, And Broth
Fried Okra
Pomegranite, Vodka, And Lemon
Bella Pesca: Vodka, Peach Puree, Lemon, Mint, Ginger
Cobia With Olives, Grapefruit, Oranges, Lemon, And Red Onion
Sweet Tea Sorbet With Georgia Olive Oil
Pomegranite Martini
Chocolate Souffle
Mojito
Triggergish With Spagghetti Squash, Pumpkin Seeds, Apple, And Sherrry Vinegarette
Pan Seared Oyster Stew Wirh Crostini
Ahi tuna
Fried Brussel Sprouts

Fish out of Water Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Northwest Florida
Best Ambiance
Northwest Florida
Best Overall
Destin
4 More
Best Food
Destin
Best Service
Destin
Best Ambiance
Destin
Best Value
Destin
Best Restaurants in Seagrove Beach ›

Scenic View (55)
Special Occasion (52)
Romantic (45)
See All
Fit for Foodies (38)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Notable Wine List (29)
Good for Groups (17)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Great for Brunch (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Great for Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
525 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was excellent as well as the servic ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was excellent as well as the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely loved our meal of fresh cobia ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely loved our meal of fresh cobia. The server made excellent cocktail recommendations and we were very happy with the attention to every aspect of our meal. Having the lovely souvenir box with the chocolate dessert was a fabulous way to part company.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food with interesting combinations ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great food with interesting combinations. The chef is innovative. Plus we love all the special touches. We are from Atlanta so we have lots of fine restaurants; however, Fish Out of Water is one of our all time favorites.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food, outstanding service. Bea ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent food, outstanding service. Beautiful decor and an impressive views especially during the thunderstorms.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fish Out of Water was very good. Great f ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Fish Out of Water was very good. Great for a special occasion. I say that because it's pretty pricey. I recommend going when it's light outside if a view of the ocean is important to you. It was dark when we got there so we couldn't really enjoy the view. We had good service but don't expect to get in and get out at a quick pace and leave the kids behind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

FOOW was a great way to end our Family V ...

vip
 (El Paso)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

FOOW was a great way to end our Family Vacation. After a week of surf, sand, water activities and quality family time we wanted to celebrate and splurge. And that's exactly what we did. The specialty cocktails were a big hit as were the local specials. The Grouper , Scallops, Red Snapper and the Cobhia were the winners with in our party. The starters were exceptional as well. The standout was the Foie Gras and Chicken Fried Quail! Our service was spot on and our server maintained quality service even as the dining room filled. We really liked our experience and highly recommend dining at FOOW.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great restaurant. Service was awesome!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great restaurant. Service was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress was rude and had a bad atti ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Our waitress was rude and had a bad attitude. We tried to joke with her and even our 3 year old said a couple of cute things to her that she blew off. Not a good experience at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Extremely Disappointed- made reservation ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Extremely Disappointed- made reservation well in advance for an early dinner and were very specific that we wanted a table outside with an ocean view. We have dined here in for the past several years and this year we arrive to find out that out door dining was first come first serve! I will never eat here again, if you want great seafood, drive down to Goat Feathers and prepare it at home with your favorite bottle of wine for the price you pay for dining in uncomfortable chairs and no ocean view. No Thanks!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Sadly, what might have been a lovely eve ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Sadly, what might have been a lovely evening was ruined by the screams of multiple children, some of whom were running around and throwing food. We just do not expect that type atmosphere at this nice of a restaurant and for the prices we paid. Otherwise, our service was excellent and the food was good, although a bit pretentious. If you go, be sure to visit some time other than during the summer when the children apparently overrun the place.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

A bit overpriced, but for the location a ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

A bit overpriced, but for the location and ambiance it was as expected. The food was good, but not spectacular as would be expected for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Luscious food. We had the crabcake and g ...

 
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Luscious food. We had the crabcake and grouper. Don't miss ordering the awesome deviled eggs! We enjoyed the view of the Gulf as we dined in the Gulf Breeze. A meal and a night to remember!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The ocean view.

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The ocean view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious, but... while our ser ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Food was delicious, but... while our server was very nice, he seemed spread a little thin. Empty cocktail and wine glasses sat on our table all night without anyone picking them up. Our fantastic, beautiful peach soufflé was delivered to the table, but no spoons with which to eat it. When we finally flagged someone down for spoons our waiter stopped by. We asked for plates since we were sharing the soufflé amongst our table of three, but alas they never came. So we just ate it out of the soufflé dish. There was nothing egregious, we just felt for a restaurant other reviews listed as the "only fine dining" on 30A that it left a little to be desired. The sunset view was gorgeous but there are only a few tables with water views, so we went outside on the balcony to take pictures and see the beautiful sky. Otherwise we felt the ambience felt like a generic hotel restaurant and the neon blue faux candle lights on the tables were a bit tacky (and bright) for me. There is a neat collection of art for sale around the foyer and the metal and blown glass "cat tails" around the restaurant are pretty, too. I just don't think I'd eat here again for the price and overall experience we had. I'd much rather eat at Cafe 30A for a fabulous all around meal any night of the week...

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

It was good but nothing really wowed us. ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

It was good but nothing really wowed us. We went to several other restaurants that were better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

My wife and I have celebrated our annive ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My wife and I have celebrated our anniversary each yr at FOW for the last four yrs. We wouldn't go anywhere else. They prepared an anniversary cake for us this yr that was marvelous. The food and service are outstanding.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service! My red snapper was delici ...

 
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great service! My red snapper was delicious! Healthy kids meal choices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved this place and the view was perfec ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Loved this place and the view was perfect. Our kids loved it as well and the wait staff was great and extremely helpful. Food was delicious and loved the surprises. You'll have to go to see what I mean. Pricey but you get what you pay for. Highly recommend and we will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything we had at Fish out of Water w ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Everything we had at Fish out of Water was amazing all the way from the cocktails that are made from all fresh ingredients to the bread which was mouth watering to the appetizers, salads and entrees. Additionally, the wine list had a lot of really well priced wines and our waiter suggested some wines we haven't tried before that were both amazing. We are foodies and love big red wines and he had some suggestions on Italian and Spanish wines that complemented the food, didn't break the bank and exposed us to something new! DELISH! I will definitely come back her on our annual 30A trip that we will take next year!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice atmosphere and excellent serv ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Very nice atmosphere and excellent service. My wife and I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall excellent and highly recommended ...

 
 (Mobile)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Overall excellent and highly recommended. Quality of food wine service and ambiance excellent. Have a fat wallet.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff was very friendly and our wait ...

 
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The staff was very friendly and our waiter, Steve, very personable and helpful. Our dining experience began with a surprise gift from the chef, a beautifully presented cheese pouf. Three varieties of breads were delivered to the table. My daughter and I enjoyed our sampling of ceviche, tuna tartar, and crab/scallop cake. All were artfully presented, delicious and fresh. For dessert we ordered the soufflé and that was a great choice. The gift truffles as we left were greatly appreciated. Then Steve shared that the entire menu was gluten free. Wow.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I chose Fish Out of Water fo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My wife and I chose Fish Out of Water for our 33rd wedding anniversary. We had a very special evening. Our waiter, Steve, was particularly attentive and helped make our diner very memorable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice views! Ordered salads that never c ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Nice views! Ordered salads that never came. Otherwise food was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Excellent food and great service. We def ...

 
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Excellent food and great service. We definitely plan to go again when we are in Watercolor!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really enjoyed the fresh ingredients and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Really enjoyed the fresh ingredients and creative food combinations. Also, creative, fresh drink menu. Extensive wine list. Super helpful, enjoyable wait staff. It's a good spot. Enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We never visit Watercolor (or the 30A ar ...

 
·Dined on July 4, 2016

We never visit Watercolor (or the 30A area) without eating at Fish out Of Water! Wonderful food and service!! All of the servers have been working there for years. Upscale dining in a very kid friendly atmosphere or wonderful for a vacation "date night".

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sit on the patio with view of Gulf; Bree ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Sit on the patio with view of Gulf; Breeze enough to mitigate heat. Great food and wonderful environment. Dining here is an event not just a meal.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We loved our waiter, Luke! The menu was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We loved our waiter, Luke! The menu was easily adapted to be gluten free which is great because my sister has celiac disease. The view was beautiful! Everything was absolutely wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A bit expensive, but we felt the food wa ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

A bit expensive, but we felt the food was great. Had the chicken fried quail for my main meal. Fabulous Breads are great. The soufflé so good but we did order a side of grand mariner to add to it with our espresso. If you like anchovies have the ceased salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. Our server made our anni ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Food was great. Our server made our anniversary very special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Family vacation

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Family vacation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful anniversary meal! Grouper was ...

 
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Wonderful anniversary meal! Grouper was fresh and delicious. Lovely souffle prepared for our dessert with message from the chef!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly a first class dining experience. E ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Truly a first class dining experience. Everything was superb. Food was awesome with beautiful presentation. Our server Jean was outstanding as well as all the employees. View was beautiful. Totally worth the price. I promise you will be treated like royalty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at fish ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at fish out of water. Our server,Alvin, was knowledgable ,professional and congenial. The next time we will be in Watercolor we will be sure to join the people enjoying their dinner there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was an overall good meal. Wasn't thri ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

It was an overall good meal. Wasn't thrilled about the price of the food vs the portion you are served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Third timethere; gets better every time! ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Third timethere; gets better every time! Each item prepared perfectly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SHANE was an outstanding waiter and also ...

 
·Dined on June 14, 2016

SHANE was an outstanding waiter and also the support staff

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Oh. My. Goodness. FOOW is a brilliant di ...

 
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Oh. My. Goodness. FOOW is a brilliant dining experience. My wife and I were celebrating our 7th anniversary, and picked this restaurant based on a Google search for fine-dining in the Sandestin area.

We drove 20 minutes to 30A, and upstairs to a beautiful, elegant setting.

Our server had been working there nearly from the opening of the establishment... over 15 years ago. He knew the menu and food preparation details as if he were the chef. Friendly, knowledgeable, and accessable.

The meal made us feel like we were in the movie The 100 Foot Journey. We would rate this in our Top 5 dining experiences worldwide.

Reserve with confidence!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We usually go here when we are in Waterc ...

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We usually go here when we are in Watercolor. The food is very good and the service can't be beat! Great cocktails. Give the Cat on a Hot Tin Roof a try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.