Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Fish Hopper

Experience the beauty of the Pacific Ocean, combined with world class dining on historic Cannery Row within walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Newly renovated, The Fish Hopper, once an original sardine cannery building, offers spectacular views of the beautiful Monterey Bay from every table including our heated outdoor patio. The Fish Hopper specializes in fresh sustainable seafood, certified Angus beef, pastas and live shellfish. Our seafood is either locally caught or shipped in fresh daily; our produce is locally grown in the Salinas Valley. Some favorites are fresh Monterey Bay abalone, Macadamia-crusted halibut, our famous “Tomahawk Chop” long bone-in Rib Eye, or fresh Dungeness Crab. Start your meal with our famous award-winning clam chowder. Indulge in one of our many exotic cocktail creations or enjoy a glass or bottle from our extensive wine collection. While enjoying your delicious meal, you can watch sea otters at play and even see the occasional whale.

700 Cannery Row
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily:11:00am - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Prescott Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-8543

Website:
http://fishhopper.com/monterey/

Parking Details:
Cannery Row has numerous private parking lots as well as on-street parking.

Public Transit:
Cannery Row has free trolley service from various locations on the Monterey Peninsula with stops directly in front of the restaurant. There is also the normal public bus system which a stop within a short distance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Mohammed Tabib

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The FishHopper can accommodate any size party for your next special event. Please call 831-372-2406 for special event information

Fish Hopper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (67)
Waterfront (65)
Good for a Date (45)
See All
Special Occasion (35)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Romantic (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Local Ingredients (26)
Great for Lunch (24)
Worth the Drive (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Casual (20)
Good for Groups (20)
Notable Wine List (18)
Business Meals (16)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Fun (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Kid-friendly (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Healthy (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Seasonal (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Authentic (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
People Watching (8)
Cozy (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great Beer (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
1569 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Stopped by for a drink on a quiet afternoon. Slow season. Atmosphere was very nice bar n table service great. Decided to stay for dinner. Very enjoyable Evening

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Touristy. Avoid if you have a high thought of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

The entire experience was wonderful! The only negative was that we both had a ceasar salad before our meal and as I normally enjoy a non chopped salad, neither of ours were good. We were served the hearts of the romaine that were too far in the center and were very bitter and yellow. Also, there was little or no dressing on the salad. Everything else was wonderful and very flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

One can never go wrong at this restaurant. My friend recommended this place to me last year and every time that I am in Monterey I choose The Fish Hopper. They have the best fish and chips and everything is so well presented and very tasty.

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Asian short ribs with mashed potatoes and Asian slaw. Friend had spicing shrimp alfredo pasta. With some cocktails expresso martini and Don Julio margaritas. Jumbo prawns and calamari appetizers. Miss this place and the people stop is always great. Jose is the best. @ THE FISH HOPPER

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

We came here to celebrate two birthdays and brought our own wine. The food was incredible. One of the best meals we have ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Overall it was a good experience. Most of the food was great, but I had the chicken that was a bit overcooked, so I thought it was a little over priced, but the rest of everyone else's meal was great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Excellent fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined on November 6, 2017

Chance our waiter was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Went out here to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Beautiful scenic restaurant right above the beach.

Great food, I had the swordfish wife had the surf n turf (filet mignon and Lobster) both were presented beautifully and tasted great. For drinks we shared the very tasteful "Volcano" which was plenty as it was a large drink.

The dessert was an amazing finisher Brownie and ice cream....the most moist and delicious brownie I've had in a long while. Will definitely return in the future

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Lovely place for a perfect sunset view, just right for celebrating a birthday. The food was delicious! The service was good. As this was a special occasion, dessert was part of the plan. We were surprised when it was not offered to us, beyond the complimentary ice cream and brownie that came to the birthday guest. That ended up being happily consumed by the 6 year old at the table, but some of the adults were looking forward to options from their terrific dessert tray. We did ask for dessert, but were embarrassed by a comment from our server about “one dessert wasn’t enough?” Given the beautiful location, and the delicious food, we are likely to return. I suspect there was some explanation for what felt awkward to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Everything was terrific! Thanks for helping us to celebrate my Mom’s birthday!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 4, 2017

We were celebrating a wedding anniversary for relatives visiting from out of town with a simple lunch. Talk about amazing service! All the staff pitched in to make it wonderful from the waiter to the person clearing the table. We requested a view when booking and they did not disappoint. I would recommend to anyone who wants to make a simple lunch into a celebration! The food was awesome too!

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 3, 2017

Went for dinner with friends on a Thursday night. Server was attentive and very good. We had a coupon for a complimentary "chef's choice" appetizer which was a shrimp ceviche, very nice. I had the Dungeness crab-stuffed shrimp angel hair pasta and it was excellent. My husband had the seafood pasta and he liked it a lot. One of us had the sand dabs and she said they were good. Her husband had the halibut fish and chips which he said were okay, but he's a picky eater and not much of a foodie, so I take that comment with a grain of salt, so to speak. Great place for a nice dinner with a date or for a special occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 28, 2017

My wife and I love the fish hopper and alway have amazing service but this time our waitress seemed preoccupied, didn't take the extra time with us or the patrons around us, the buss boys were on top of there game as usual!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 26, 2017

If location is everything, then Fish Hopper has it all. We enjoyed our expectedly pricey dinner with nice Napa wine, no complaints. But the location was the best part. Waves crashed below us while seals(?) cavorted in the bay. It was a particularly lovely night for late October (according to my local hosts.)
(I'm from Boston, so anyone claiming to have the "best clam chowder" had better be able to back up the claim. It was good. Different than Boston, but good. Not sure what kind of clam they use but the chunks were chewier than what I expected. But again, no complaints.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2017

Service was exceptional as was our waiter Chance. Delicious meal recommended by Chance.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

I'm afraid the food was over-priced, and the quality was poor. I had the crab leg - dry as dust. The servers were delightful, and catered to the greedy young with an handful of maraschino cherries, but, over all, small portions, poor kitchen, over-priced. Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 22, 2017

I had reserved a table months ago for our 35th Anniversary. When w arrived we were escorted to a great table with wonderful views of the ocean! Just as I had requested. Our server, Jose, was attentive and friendly. Our meals were very good. I had the Sand Dabs, which were delicious! My husband had the Black Cod dish, which he absolutely loved! They also have a very extensive wine list. We enjoyed a complimentary dessert from the Chef to help celebrate our Anniversary. The Happy Anniversary card on the table was a nice touch too. Thanks for a great evening!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

We had a bit of a hard time finding the restaurant, but once we located it, at the back of a bunch of a mini-mall area, we asked for a table by the water and they were able to accommodate us. Service was quick, efficient and friendly. We ordered two cups of chowder (excellent-some of the best we’ve had) and two specials (Asian style baby back ribs with prawns). These were good choices for us and we enjoyed the meal. It was a bit pricey but I guess moderately priced for Monterey (iced tea instead of wine and no dessert still ran us almost $90 with tax & tip). You pay for the view anywhere along Cannery Row or the wharf. We would absolutely return, and recommend the Fish Hopper to anyone who enjoys Monterey ambience.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 20, 2017

Our party of four included our six year old granddaughter who loved being seated way off shore! The anniversary table had the best view and very personal service. Our chosen wine was unavailable, but we negotiated a very nice price on a larger bottle of a equally fine wine.
From spaghetti with marinara sauce to wild salmon from the hopper, the cuisine was excellent.
We'll be back, even if it isn't our anniversary!

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Service was pleasant. Food was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2017

The Fish Hopper is the classic example of a tourist trap. The food is B- with A+ prices. We had the crab-stuffed mushrooms and they were fair at best. But, they were much better than the shrimp cocktail which was just sad. I wanted to leave at this point -- my wife suggested we stay and order soup instead of an entry. We followed with their clam chowder which is touted as a specialty item. It was very think and seemed to be made with cream cheese or some other thickener -- very rich but not at all pleasant. The bright spot was the chocolate mousse which was good. The service from Cesar was very good -- he was attentive and did a really solid job. The bill was $108.00 with one glass of wine -- high price, low quality. There are MUCH better options such as the Alvarado Brewery in the central shopping district.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Our server a young lady by the name of Sam was incredibly warm and friendly.

Tags: Disabled Access, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Service was wonderful. Despite a busy night our server and her assistant were friendly and helpful. The kitchen had trouble getting our order correct: eg. Sub potatoes for rice and grilled prawns for coconut. The food was good. Some of the food: like the fresh oysters, seared scallops, prawns, was excellent. The lobster was over cooked and the potatoes au gratin very heavy on the garlic. We will be back because the location is beautiful, the menu is varied and great value for what you get, and service is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 14, 2017

I took my mom here for the first time. The food was great. The waitress was too busy and kept forgetting to bring my salad. The forgot to deduct a dish de the bill as it should have been deducted because it never came.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 13, 2017

The view looking out on the water seeing the wild life was great. The service provided by the waiter was also great. Unfortunately, the food was mediocre and it came at a high price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 13, 2017

It was my husbands birthday and we had a wonderful table with a view of the bay. Great food and special dessert for him. Service was also good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 13, 2017

We had a nice table with a water view. Everyone was friendly. Service and food excellent. We'd go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 12, 2017

We celebrated two birthdays here. Awesome table in a corner with the Bay all around us. Excellent dinner and outstanding service made for a memorable, happy evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Honestly, I was expecting more. There were hardly any tables seated and our waitress was super slow. We waited 20 minutes for a drink. I was disappointed in our first trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Food and service are phenomenal. We were there to celebrate my Birthday and we had a great time. Everything we tried off the menu was wonderful and the staff was friendly and attentive. Definitely recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We ate at the Fish Hopper to celebrate our daughter’s 12th birthday. Our server, Nikki provided the best service again. She is so accommodating and personable. She served us the last time we visited in June. We had the ultimate seafood pasta, bacon wrapped scallops, calamari, parmesan crusted chicken, wedge salad and clam chowder. Everything was incredible which is why we keep on coming back!

Tags: Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on September 27, 2017

Sadly the food was luke warm and underwhelming. The view of the bay was perfect but perfect stopped at the view.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 25, 2017

A renovation needs to be done. Wine pricing seemed suspect. Some bottles "discounted." Have never seen this in a restaurant - seemed like a gimmick (tourist hot spot). We ordered a half bottle of wine. Our waiter said we could get the full bottle (of same wine) and we asked how much - he said probably $75. He went and checked and came back with $90 so we said no, we'd like the half bottle. Waiter came back a few minutes later and "ironically" they did not have the half bottle, only the full bottle but he could "discount" it to $75.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

The service was great and our waiter was so attentive! We had a beautiful view! The food is slightly overpriced for the value, but I would definitely come back for the amazing customer service all the employees have provided! Very happy customer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 19, 2017

As always, the food was great and Manny was once again our waiter. He remembered us and took great care of us. The presentation was top notch and the food was the absolute best. I had the clams and linguine and my partner had the salmon. Both were great! Oh yes, did I say Manny was great! Well he was and of course we'll be back again and again.

Tags: Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Management was very accommodating, as I requested special treatment for my cousin and his wife on their wedding anniversary. Sent the two of them for dinner as a gift.
THANK YOU!
They had a great time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Outstanding food and service. We had the stuffed sole and crusted halibut. Both were excellent. Didn't have it but they had a combination fish platter (included lobster) that looked excellent. Desserts were great as well

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Amazing food and drinks! The ultimate bloody Mary is outstanding! The bacon wrapped scallops was well worth the price. The pasta with clams, scallops, and shrimp was prepared perfectly! The pasta was el dente, and the sea food was plump and flavorful. The white sauce is light and creamy and compliments the dish! Great wine list too, and of course loved the view! We will certainly visit again!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.