About Fish Hopper

700 Cannery Row
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Experience the beauty of the Pacific Ocean, combined with world class dining on historic Cannery Row within walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Newly renovated, The Fish Hopper, once an original sardine cannery building, offers spectacular views of the beautiful Monterey Bay from every table including our heated outdoor patio. The Fish Hopper specializes in fresh sustainable seafood, certified Angus beef, pastas and live shellfish. Our seafood is either locally caught or shipped in fresh daily; our produce is locally grown in the Salinas Valley. Some favorites are fresh Monterey Bay abalone, Macadamia-crusted halibut, our famous “Tomahawk Chop” long bone-in Rib Eye, or fresh Dungeness Crab. Start your meal with our famous award-winning clam chowder. Indulge in one of our many exotic cocktail creations or enjoy a glass or bottle from our extensive wine collection. While enjoying your delicious meal, you can watch sea otters at play and even see the occasional whale.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily:11:00am - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Prescott Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-8543

Website:
http://fishhopper.com/monterey/

Parking Details:
Cannery Row has numerous private parking lots as well as on-street parking.

Public Transit:
Cannery Row has free trolley service from various locations on the Monterey Peninsula with stops directly in front of the restaurant. There is also the normal public bus system which a stop within a short distance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Mohammed Tabib

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The FishHopper can accommodate any size party for your next special event. Please call 831-372-2406 for special event information

Restaurant Photos

Crispy Calamari and Artichokes
Oysters
Loaded Bloody Mary
Pepper Crusted Albacore Tuna With Seared Scallops
Lobster Pasta
64Oz Margarita
Sesame Ahi Tuna And Coconut Shrimp Salad
Appetiser Sampler
Volcano
Cheesecake
Cajun Mahi Mahi & Shrimp Salaf
Crab Crusted Sea Bass
Chicken Platter
Clam Chowder
Scallops And Prawn Scampi
Clam Chowder Bread Bowl
Planter's Punch
Grilled Artichoke And Fried Calamari

Private Dining

We have a large seating capacity, that provides comfortable accommodations for groups up to 300 people, our new outdoor dining patio seating up to 90 people, a spacious full bar and lounge area and an excellent wine list. We can customize our menus to meet your group's needs, and exceed their expectations.

Fish Hopper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
California Central Coast
Seafood
California Central Coast
Scenic View
Monterey / Carmel
1 More
Seafood
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Monterey ›

Scenic View (111)
Special Occasion (63)
Romantic (51)
See All
Fit for Foodies (39)
Good for Groups (33)
Great for Lunch (32)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Hot Spot (23)
Kid-friendly (22)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Waterfront (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Late-night Find (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Casual (5)
Family Style (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Historic (2)
Cozy (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Authentic (2)
People Watching (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Business Meals (1)
Healthy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1199 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Group dinner for six on a business trip. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Group dinner for six on a business trip. View and local were great. Food was great. Service was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great view. Attentive staff. Food too sw ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great view. Attentive staff. Food too sweet and overpriced. You pay for the view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was excellent and service was p ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was excellent and service was prompt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The food presentation was good as well a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food presentation was good as well as the taste - above average for a usual american restaurant. Each dish (one was fish and other was lamb) had two different sauces - both very well matched the food - excellent! The location is right at water front, quite a tourist place I'd say. But compare to San Francisco (similar tourists locations), the food quality was better. The desert was another pleasant surprise. They offer quite a few options (bringing demo tray right to you), so we picked limoncello moose, which was not overly sweet at all (a usual problem with american deserts...) and had a subtle lemon note. Fish Hopper is not exactly a cheap dining (we spent $160 for two including tips, no alcohol), but I much rather pay up for good food and service than having less attractive dish... Overall I liked the place, we might be back when we are in Monterrey again!

Tags: Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service, beautiful view of the ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent service, beautiful view of the Monterey Bay

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Hubby ordered prawn cocktail, he got cra ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Hubby ordered prawn cocktail, he got crab cocktail. Daughter ordered plain pasta with just butter, she got pasta with butter AND meatballs. I ordered fish & chips no coleslaw, I got a ton of coleslaw. Manager comp'd the fish & chips but we're never going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Our server, Emily, was sensational! Her ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our server, Emily, was sensational! Her service was prompt, efficient, and cheerful. We had just endured a 4.5 hour plane trip across the country followed by a 4 hour bus trip to arrive home and were starving and tired. Her service, attitude and ability to get our order out quickly left us totally hay satisfied customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were on vacation and chose this place ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

We were on vacation and chose this place based on it's positive reviews. We found the service to be very good, the food to be very good. The sea bass was melt in your mouth wonderful. I had a the coconut shrimp salad and those were very good. The wine list was more than adequate and the ambiance had the feel of an old dock near Cannery Row. There are more elegant places on the Monterey Peninsula, but I doubt that there food would be any better.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and beautiful view. Server co ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great food and beautiful view. Server could use a little more personality when interacting with customers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived a few minutes before our rese ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We arrived a few minutes before our reservation. We were seated very quickly.Our waiter was awesome!He gave great service the entire time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view and location, food was well p ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great view and location, food was well prepared and served.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Our favorite spot! We always dine here w ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our favorite spot! We always dine here when in Monterey! Great food, service and view.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server was very helpful and informative

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Server was very helpful and informative

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are a family of 5 who stopped for din ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We are a family of 5 who stopped for dinner after a day at the neighboring aquarium. The service was stellar starting with the host who seated us and ending with Cesar, the waiter, who took very good care of us during our visit. I would have given this a 5 star review had the halibut not been overcooked (very dry). I did not make a big deal about it but the manager did provide a free desert which my crab stuffed kids were happy to enjoy.

Points to make are this:

1. Ambience for a family - great. Window seating on the bay is tough to beat, especially when your kids are enjoying the wildlife show in the water below them.

2. Value - good. A little on the pricey side for a family stop but overall the food was well above what one would find at a Red Lobster type restaurant.

3. Service - great. This is dependent on who you draw, however, the waitstaff, runner, host and manager, all of whom we interacted with, were very customer focused and did what they could to ensure we had a nice visit. In my mind, this is a positive reflection of the overall culture and management of the restaurant.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was excellent quality and quantity ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food was excellent quality and quantity was good. Service was prompt and the view of the ocean was great! We went a little early in evening so it would not be crowded.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went here 2 nights in a row. I enjoy ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We went here 2 nights in a row. I enjoyed both meals. Crabs over spaghetti and spinach. The 2nd was a special, sesame crusted wild salmon and coconut shrimp with mango salsa, Thai sauce and rice. Both delicious. We had a Toll House cookie with ice cream also very good, but it needed an extra scoop of ice cream. Would definitely go back again. Nice waterfront dining.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our second visit - last time wa ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

This was our second visit - last time was 3+ years ago, when we sat outside. We found that experience much more pleasant than this visit to the dining room, which was almost painfully loud. The menu also seems to have gone more upscale (more $) but no more expensive than many other Monterey spots. The food was good, but not outstanding, while the presentation and service were both very good. For our last splurge meal in the area, we were just a little disappointed, but we wanted the view.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

We enjoyed an amazing Tuesday evening di ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We enjoyed an amazing Tuesday evening dinner ordering from the locals menu...just great! Great view great table. I bring visiting friends and family here alot and order off the amazing regular menu toi. The seafood is amazing and fresh. Servers are very experienced and professional.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

fresh fish was excellent(ahi and salmon) ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

fresh fish was excellent(ahi and salmon)

ask for back room, much quieter and perched out over the water for a very nice scenic view.

waitress professional, though service was overall a little slow.she did not have any back-up staff to help her. would definitely return

dinner for 2 with only 1 glass of wine, 2 appetizers, 2 entrees, no dessert approx. $100.00 again, the fish was very well prepared and I would return for that reason alone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It's fun and great setting on The Monte ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

It's fun and great setting on The Monterey Bay, great service, good food.. It's a tourist place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The fish was fresh, simply prepared and ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The fish was fresh, simply prepared and nicely presented. The wine list is reasonably priced with a diverse range in different styles. The waiter was both attentive and well informed about the menu. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We love this place and always try to get ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We love this place and always try to get there at a good time for a railing table on the patio. The ocean is crashing right under you, and a you have a beautiful view of the local wildlife that might be in the area. Service is very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have always returned to the Fish Hoppe ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I have always returned to the Fish Hopper, it's like no other in the area for comparison. This visit, I had brought friends from out of town, they were sold for next time. The staff was excellent with a waiter that offered great selection explanations, which turned out to be exactly as he had described! I always value quality over pricing which never is an issue there. Service is always the same..."the best"! We hated to leave...great atmosphere! It left a great impression on my friends!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Avoid this tourist trap if you know what ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Avoid this tourist trap if you know what's good for you. Just awful. Total fail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Had Donnie as our waiter and he was just ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Had Donnie as our waiter and he was just excellent, catering to all of our needs including my 3 young girls. Everyone felt important and got exactly what they wanted. The view, the wine, and the food was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I ordered the crab cakes and a wedge sal ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I ordered the crab cakes and a wedge salad. The dressing for the salad was a very thick consistency and did not taste like blue cheese at all. The aioli sauce for the crab cakes was the same consistency as the blue cheese dressing with different spices used. I sent the salad back and just ate the crab cakes.

This restaurant was suggested to us and I was disappointed with the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

The patio dining is incredible as it ove ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The patio dining is incredible as it overlooks Monterey Bay. We an extremely early reservation thinking that they offered brunch but found out they did not. (I thought Yelp said they offered brunch.)

The experience was great, we were there so early we had the entire patio to ourselves for most of the visit. The food is expensive but worth it for a first time visit to Cannery Row. Their Bloody Mary's and Clam Chowder (in bowl) is AWESOME!!!

Give this place a try if you are on Cannery Row.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Xxx-cel lent Loved this place would go b ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Xxx-cel lent

Loved this place would go back in a heartbeat

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place has an excellent location wit ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This place has an excellent location with a great view, but the food was significantly overpriced for the average quality. Not sure if it's better or worse than other similar places around.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

I have been dining at this restaurant fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I have been dining at this restaurant for years, the amount you get for prices they are charging now, is not great. I have been here twice in a couple months, and the sea bass was thinly cut and blackened. It could have been catfish or trout, and you wouldn't have been able to tell the difference. For 40 bucks, i expect better. The abalone dish is 45 bucks, and the abalone were tiny. After years of great dishes, the last couple of times has taught me to avoid the special dishes. Stick to their regular menu items, so as not to be disappointed. Everything else is great, drinks are awesome, and the service is spectacular.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The food was good but pricey. The views ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was good but pricey. The views are stunning and the patio dining especially!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Our food was good, except my husband ord ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Our food was good, except my husband ordered prime rib and was too done. The waitress argued with him trying to tell him it was supposed to be overdone. He was not happy. Everyone else had wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

We were seated at the window overlooking ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We were seated at the window overlooking Monterey Bay and were captured by the birds and sea otters frolicking right below us. The food was good. My cioppino was quite good and my partner had halibut. Service was attentive. All-in-all it was an enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Always excellent food, service, and beau ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Always excellent food, service, and beautiful view.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NIce location on Cannery Row with nearly ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

NIce location on Cannery Row with nearly all tables with a view on the Monterey Bay. The waitress could have been more friendly, may be she was at the end of her shift. Food is good, but not exceptional. Ordered a sesame crusted Salmon with coconut prawns, was supposed to come with mushroom risotto, but that risotto became just plain rice. The ice tea drink ordered came visibly from powder and not freshly brewed. Fried calamari were a bit chewy. Reservation highly recommended if you don't want to wait, and easy to do via Opentable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Started off great with the hostess givin ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Started off great with the hostess giving us choice of two really nice tables with wonderful water views. Went downhill from there with poor service for the rest of the evening. I think maybe our server was a rookie but that's no excuse. The meals are over-priced for the quality of the food.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Really nice food, atmosphere and service ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Really nice food, atmosphere and service. Several great specials for the day

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

some view places in many high tourist ar ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

some view places in many high tourist areas (eg, monterey) have a nice view but often are lacking in service, ambiance, cleanliness, quality of ingredients or all of the above. We were all very pleasantly surprised and thankful. The food had flavor, was nicely presented, and had a freshness to it. So happy to discover this place is not riding the tails of their location and view, but also turning out great meals.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The restaurant was nice, the waitress wa ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The restaurant was nice, the waitress was friendly, although she didn't hear me say that I wanted dessert and rang up our check before the dessert was added. The food was very "blah." My boyfriend's filet mignon had virtually no flavor at all and neither did my lobster tail. It was a lot of money for food that was mediocre. We went to another restaurant in Monterey the next night and it was less than half the price and the food was 100 times better.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

Great food, great view, great service. W ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great food, great view, great service. We felt very well taken care of. The clam chowder was delicious. The calamari was tasty. Can't wait to go again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.