About Fish Hopper

700 Cannery Row
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Experience the beauty of the Pacific Ocean, combined with world class dining on historic Cannery Row within walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Newly renovated, The Fish Hopper, once an original sardine cannery building, offers spectacular views of the beautiful Monterey Bay from every table including our heated outdoor patio. The Fish Hopper specializes in fresh sustainable seafood, certified Angus beef, pastas and live shellfish. Our seafood is either locally caught or shipped in fresh daily; our produce is locally grown in the Salinas Valley. Some favorites are fresh Monterey Bay abalone, Macadamia-crusted halibut, our famous “Tomahawk Chop” long bone-in Rib Eye, or fresh Dungeness Crab. Start your meal with our famous award-winning clam chowder. Indulge in one of our many exotic cocktail creations or enjoy a glass or bottle from our extensive wine collection. While enjoying your delicious meal, you can watch sea otters at play and even see the occasional whale.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily:11:00am - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Prescott Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-8543

Website:
http://fishhopper.com/monterey/

Parking Details:
Cannery Row has numerous private parking lots as well as on-street parking.

Public Transit:
Cannery Row has free trolley service from various locations on the Monterey Peninsula with stops directly in front of the restaurant. There is also the normal public bus system which a stop within a short distance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Mohammed Tabib

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The FishHopper can accommodate any size party for your next special event. Please call 831-372-2406 for special event information

Restaurant Photos

Crispy Calamari and Artichokes - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Oysters - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Loaded Bloody Mary - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Pepper Crusted Albacore Tuna With Seared Scallops - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Lobster Pasta - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
64Oz Margarita - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Sesame Ahi Tuna And Coconut Shrimp Salad - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Appetiser Sampler - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Volcano - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Cheesecake - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Cajun Mahi Mahi & Shrimp Salaf - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Crab Crusted Sea Bass - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Chicken Platter - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Clam Chowder - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Scallops And Prawn Scampi - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Clam Chowder Bread Bowl - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Planter's Punch - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Grilled Artichoke And Fried Calamari - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

We invite you to join us for a fantastic Christmas Eve dinner accompanied by beautiful views right on the water! We'll be offering Christmas specials in addition to our regular menu. Reserve today!

Private Dining

We have a large seating capacity, that provides comfortable accommodations for groups up to 300 people, our new outdoor dining patio seating up to 90 people, a spacious full bar and lounge area and an excellent wine list. We can customize our menus to meet your group's needs, and exceed their expectations.

Fish Hopper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Scenic View
California Central Coast
Seafood
California Central Coast
Scenic View
Monterey / Carmel
1 More
Seafood
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Monterey ›

Scenic View (60)
Waterfront (44)
Special Occasion (34)
See All
Good for a Date (34)
Romantic (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Casual (18)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Family Style (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Cozy (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
People Watching (7)
Authentic (6)
Healthy (6)
Business Meals (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Fun (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Historic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
1238 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Dino was awesome!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

Dino was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They tried twice to get our meals hot, d ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 25, 2016

They tried twice to get our meals hot, did not make it even the second time! Left over half the meals on our plates, then they asked was everything good? Just bad food, good service. Drop the fish and chips for sure and get everything hot. Yes, I still left a tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Came here for a thanksgiving meal and wa ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Came here for a thanksgiving meal and was pleasantly surprised. Service was outstanding and everyone in our group of five really enjoyed their meals.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a great restaurant in Monterey. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This was a great restaurant in Monterey. We decided not to cook this year for Thanksgiving and decided to go out instead. While the turkey dinner was a little disappointing.. not as good as home cooked.. the view was phenomenal! I do kinda wish it was an enclosed indoor restaurant though BC of how cold it was but the heat lamps definitely made up for it! Overall, it was well worth it for the view. If we are back in town and decide to come back, it would have to be when it's warm out and I would order the steak instead BC I heard that was really really good. :-)

Tags: Kid-friendly, People Watching, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

This is the 4th year we have chosen Fish ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This is the 4th year we have chosen Fish Hopper for our family Thanksgiving dinner and it never disappoints! Actually any time we are in Monterey, we try to make time for a great meal at Fish Hopper!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Fun, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Super touristy. Food was just okay.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Super touristy. Food was just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

The location couldn't be better. The fo ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The location couldn't be better. The food was good - but it took a long time to get. I have to guess that they were very busy that night. Everyone on the staff was very friendly and accommodating.

I will say that my entrée of bacon wrapped scallops was a little on the light side - containing only 2 scallops. It was very tasty though.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We have dined at the Fish Hopper many ti ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We have dined at the Fish Hopper many times over the years. The ocean views are some of the best you will find in the Monterey area. The service was up to par, but did have to ask for a water refill.

We started with the bacon wrapped scallop appetizer. It was succulent and tasty...very nice. My wife had the 10 Oz lobster tail with rice. She said it was perfect and tasted very fresh. I had the bone in ribeye steak with a baked potato and steamed veggies. It was grilled perfect and was delicious.

We continue to return because they are always consistent and have never been disappointed. You receive a good value for the cost. The food is always fresh and of high quality. I would recommend the Fish Hopper to those looking for a positive dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I don't write reviews often but am compe ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I don't write reviews often but am compelled to write this. I took my 75 year old father to dinner on our vacation. The atmosphere is ok but lots of noise and no dampening of sound. It was difficult for him to hear me. The veggies served with the crusted halibut were cold. The clams in the chowder were chewy. I might go here for a cocktail and appetizer for the view but don't expect a quiet evening with spectacular food. I expected a bit more for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We we were there for my husbands birthda ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We we were there for my husbands birthday, great food, great service and a special desert for his birthday. We had the seafood platter, fresh crab, scallops and prawns with saffron rice and roasted vegetables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The main course was decent. Appetizers w ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The main course was decent. Appetizers were good. Dessert unacceptable. Undercooked, runny Creme Brûlée and soggy Bread Pudding. Overall, good quality is much lower than average for the area and not at all worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

This is my lowest ever review. I was sho ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This is my lowest ever review. I was shocked to eat the food that was rated 4.2. My food was lukewarm at best. The vegetables were not cooked completely. I could not even cut the brussel sprouts with my knife, that's how raw they were. The calamari was rubbery and tasteless. I will not return or recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Always a favorite!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Always a favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This was a great choice with all of the ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 8, 2016

This was a great choice with all of the restaurants Monterey has to offer. Portion sizes were more than enough and you can't beat the view! I recommend reservations for outdoor seating!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made a reservation on Open Table and n ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I made a reservation on Open Table and noted that it was my husband's birthday and preferred a quiet table with an ocean view. When we arrived (10 minutes early) they greeted us and were ready to seat us. We got a quiet table right at the window overlooking the sea. It was amazing!! Perfect to watch the sunset (although the sun had already set by the time we arrived -- I will need to plan the timing better next time!) Our server Jose was friendly and attentive. We received a free appetizer - Shrimp Ceviche with tortilla chips. I ordered the Seafood pasta that was on special, and hubby ordered the Asian ribs and Shrimp. Both dishes were delicious and the serving size was generous and filling. For drinks, I had the pomegranite mojito and hubby had their version of Moscow Mule. Excellent! They offered a free birthday dessert - brownie ala mode! They lit a birthday candle, but no singing. Oh well! But I would definitely recommend The Fish Hopper to friends and family. Open Table made reserving a table so easy, loved it!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Waterfront, Family Style, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I 've never been in here before and it w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

I 've never been in here before and it was a delightful surprise. It was expecially nice to arrive before the sun set just to marvel at surf. Unrushed service was especially pleasing and definitely an added value.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Healthy, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great dinner. Got a window seat and enjo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great dinner. Got a window seat and enjoyed the whole evening. Our waitress was knowledgeable, friendly, efficient, and delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Fish Hopper is our go to for chowder ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The Fish Hopper is our go to for chowder, seafood and wine whenever we make it to Monterey. The food was excellent but the waiter kind of forgot about us for a while and wasn't very savy with he menu/ wine list nor attentive; not our usual experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Scenic View, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Had an exceptional dinner with my husban ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Had an exceptional dinner with my husband and two children. We were in town for a Halloween Party and decided to have dinner at the Fish Hopper first and we were so glad we did! The drinks were great (not watered down) and the dinner was amazing! We had the seared tuna prepared differently and we were in love with both of our dishes! The children also enjoyed there dinner! We will definitely be returning! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The place is nice especially overlooking ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The place is nice especially overlooking the ocean. The service was great. I like I did not have to wait for anything if I needed a drink or water I got served before my drink was empty, and if we needed anything else we got quick service. We placed our order and we got our order very quick. The food was very good and not bad for the price. I had the New York steak and it was let me tell you so good. Over all I would recommend this place for any occasion.

Tags: Family Style, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been going there for years and y ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We have been going there for years and years on our anniversary . Last year was not spectacular , Nor was this time . We have decided that we may skip Monterey on our next special occasion .

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

View here is always nice, and staff is a ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 18, 2016

View here is always nice, and staff is always friendly. This time, however, steak prep was poor. Ordered a filet and a rib-eye, both medium. The filet was rare as sushi tuna, and the rib-eye was well-done, and tasted/chewed like sirloin! I don't mind the price per portion ratio so much when the food is great, but this visit was not the best. We'll be back again, as the past experiences outweigh this trip. Usually a good choice.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Cozy, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Historic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We visited the Fish Hopper during a week ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We visited the Fish Hopper during a weekend getaway in Monterey and we were not disappointed. We were taken to "the best table in the house" according to the hostess and, let me say, it was pretty great. Windows on 3 sides overlooking the dramatic pacific landscape. Seals lounging, and then feeding as it transitioned to dark, waves crashing, and the like made for great scenery as we enjoyed our dinner and wine. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. The service was equally excellent - I believe it was Jose that took great care of us this night.

Overall we had a great experience and will happily return during our next visit to Monterey!

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My surf and turf was cooked perfectly an ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 10, 2016

My surf and turf was cooked perfectly and the clam chowder was good also.

Tags: Casual, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food and view were great. The steak wa ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Food and view were great. The steak was one of the best ever had.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Casual, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I appreciate the service there, it was v ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I appreciate the service there, it was very friendly and the food was excellent it was good besides the table wish I could have gotten a better view of the ocean.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We made a reservation and were seated qu ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We made a reservation and were seated quickly. Our server was very attentive and timed food accordingly. Fresh seafood. A bit on the more expensive side, but food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Casual, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Family Style, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food display outside looks pretty mu ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The food display outside looks pretty much the same as the real food, which means it looks awesome and tastes so good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Very well done seafood in a nice locatio ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Very well done seafood in a nice location. Our service was excellent one night, satisfactory one night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lunch was good we all enjoyed our waterf ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Lunch was good we all enjoyed our waterfront experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Loved it! Made my reservation, got righ ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Loved it! Made my reservation, got right in for our lunch date. It was beautiful. Recommended to everyone.

Tags: Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were on vacation in Monterey and went ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We were on vacation in Monterey and went to Fish Hopper for dinner. Had a very nice table surrounded on 3 sides by hr water. Lovely

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The initial service was spotty. We sat ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 3, 2016

The initial service was spotty. We sat at our table for a good 5-10 minutes before anyone came over to bring water or ask if we wanted a drink. The wine list was missing an entire page for bottles of white wine. One of our wine glasses was dirty with leftover lipstick from a prior diner.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

Steak and abalone were fantastic. Shrim ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Steak and abalone were fantastic. Shrimp ceviche was pretty sweet, not my preference of flavoring. Fantastic view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been here before and like always, ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We've been here before and like always, we were very happy with the experience. They have some of the best clam chowder you'll ever have. Rather than order full meals we start with a cup of clam chowder and then share 2 or 3 appetizers. The service is great and the food is even better.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, great ocean view, food wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Great service, great ocean view, food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tourist trap

 
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Tourist trap

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Group dinner for six on a business trip. ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Group dinner for six on a business trip. View and local were great. Food was great. Service was good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great view. Attentive staff. Food too sw ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Great view. Attentive staff. Food too sweet and overpriced. You pay for the view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

The food was excellent and service was p ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The food was excellent and service was prompt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.