Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Fish Hopper

Experience the beauty of the Pacific Ocean, combined with world class dining on historic Cannery Row within walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Newly renovated, The Fish Hopper, once an original sardine cannery building, offers spectacular views of the beautiful Monterey Bay from every table including our heated outdoor patio. The Fish Hopper specializes in fresh sustainable seafood, certified Angus beef, pastas and live shellfish. Our seafood is either locally caught or shipped in fresh daily; our produce is locally grown in the Salinas Valley. Some favorites are fresh Monterey Bay abalone, Macadamia-crusted halibut, our famous “Tomahawk Chop” long bone-in Rib Eye, or fresh Dungeness Crab. Start your meal with our famous award-winning clam chowder. Indulge in one of our many exotic cocktail creations or enjoy a glass or bottle from our extensive wine collection. While enjoying your delicious meal, you can watch sea otters at play and even see the occasional whale.

700 Cannery Row
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily:11:00am - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Prescott Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-8543

Website:
http://fishhopper.com/monterey/

Parking Details:
Cannery Row has numerous private parking lots as well as on-street parking.

Public Transit:
Cannery Row has free trolley service from various locations on the Monterey Peninsula with stops directly in front of the restaurant. There is also the normal public bus system which a stop within a short distance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Mohammed Tabib

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The FishHopper can accommodate any size party for your next special event. Please call 831-372-2406 for special event information

Private Dining

We have a large seating capacity, that provides comfortable accommodations for groups up to 300 people, our new outdoor dining patio seating up to 90 people, a spacious full bar and lounge area and an excellent wine list. We can customize our menus to meet your group's needs, and exceed their expect

Fish Hopper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (56)
Waterfront (55)
Good for a Date (38)
See All
Great for Lunch (35)
Special Occasion (33)
Romantic (33)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Casual (25)
Good for Groups (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Local Ingredients (18)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Fun (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Kid-friendly (14)
Authentic (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Healthy (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Cozy (9)
Bar Seating (9)
People Watching (8)
Seasonal (8)
Business Meals (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Historic (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Tapas (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Family Style (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fireplace (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1403 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The location was excellent, I was seated in a section that jutted out over the water giving nice views of the ocean. Food was well presented and tasted good. I thought it was a little pricey but overall I was happy with the experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (München)·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed the pasta with shrimps and mahi mahi. Was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 5 days ago

There was not enough space for the number of tables in the restauarant, and the waiters were too few for the number of people. The food came relatively quickly

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Good atmosphere. We went with our two young kids for dinner; it's nice that they have a slightly separated area for louder parties. I've been here for a quiet romantic evening top and it's been nice for that as well. Food is pricey, but combine the taste and views and it's worth it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Awesome ambience, decent food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

in town for a retreat /conference, stopped here to grab some food and so thankful for the amazing food, beautiful view of ocean and speciality drinks

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Hard to beat a window table with a spectacular ocean view on a beautiful day. The food was very well prepared: we shared a sardine appetizer followed by a crab and shrimp stuffed Petrale sole, and local snapper and scallops with artichoke ravioli (the ravioli are delightful).
Except for bringing the main course before we were quite done with the appetizer, the service was quite efficient.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

I enjoyed taking a friend who had never eaten at Fish Hopper for lunch. The greeter was willing to check and see if we could have the best seat in the house, by the windows with views in the front and side. We chose sandwiches, mine the local snapper and hers a shrimp/crab BLT. I was able to get fruit instead of french fries. Loved the sesame roll perfectly toasted and the taste of the fish! It was a homerun. My friend also enjoyed her meal. It was a wonderful, yummy time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Thank you! The atmosphere was excellent! We got a seat by the window and we were able to enjoy the ocean view.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This place used to be good. Now it's overpriced terrible food. They even have rules about how loud your kids can be before you are asked to leave.
They try to be upscale, but the quality of the food is terrible.

Go to bubba gumps instead. Better food. Nicer servers. 1/2 the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was delish, service great and an outstanding atmosphere!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary here. Food was very good and service was fantastic.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We had 3 small kids here, and they loved it! The seared ahi on mashed potatoes was to die for... fish was caught only a few hours prior and just melted in your mouth. You just can't beat the view-we got the window table. The servers were personable - my kids loved him. We will definitely be back. Thanks for making our trip to Monterey memorable!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The view is wonderful, so for that I would still go back. Everyone was very nice and friendly. The food was ok. We enjoyed the artichoke appetizer. My husbands Cesar salad was swimming in dressing so we that wasn't consumed. We ordered a bottle of wine for dinner and had to track someone down to get it after our main course was delivered. We were 1/2 way through before it was delivered. They were very apologetic. I had the ravioli's and enjoyed them. The ocean view is amazing so would return for that.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The location is stunning but the food was well below average. The fried calamari was limp and the breading was falling off. The tuna in my ahi and shrimp salad was dry and rather than lightly seared, half of the ahi was actually cooked through. The dressing was way too salty. My partner had the pasta with shrimp-stuffed crab and found it bland.
Don't waste your money here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 7, 2017

food was good not great. my seared ahi was luke warm. the other dishes were prepared well. great setting. the negative was the service which is disappointing as we were there a few months ago and Jose was fantastic. it took a long time to get noticed. we didn't get water and bread until after we spoke to the waitress. She was very "stiff" and unemotional. ever smiled, no variation in her voice. it was like she was reading a boring script. I will not have her wait on my table the next time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Good ambience

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Meal was ok - little on the expensive side. Drinks were expensive - twice what one would expect to pay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Love the atmosphere and great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Soggy calamari paired with less than attentive service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Delicious..... our waiter was great. The food is wonderful. Clam chowder in a bread bowl with crab meat. Soooo yummy.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

excellent food, superb service, and one of the most spectacular views for dining

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I got the crusted macadamia fish and it was delicious. I was able to substitute my potatos for more veggies with no problem. The food was presented in a fancy way on the plate. I love being able to sit out along the water and see ocean life. The waiter was friendly. Everything was perfect!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fun, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Horrible experience!!! Waited 10 minutes after being seated for a server to stop by. Another 10 minutes for drinks to be delivered. We ordered appetizers, but our main courses were delivered first. When appetizers were delivered they were wrong. Clam chowder was cold and way over priced. Main courses were lukewarm.

The prices were high and value LOW! I will never go back and will tell others to avoid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Terrific food, service and view of Monterey Bay. Easy going lunch featuring local seafood of high quality. Lunch specials are wirth it, though some like local abalone are pricey.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Nice seafood selection. Using OpenTable was great as we got a superb table compared to guests who had no reservations. Nice staff, attentive service to make sure were in and out relatively quickly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Wonderful view and great staff

Tags: Disabled Access, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Beautiful 180 degree views of the ocean. Wonderfully presented gourmet dishes. Astounding flavors. My favorite restaraunt in Monterey by far.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 22, 2017

My husband and I celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary at the Fish Hopper and we loved it. We were able to sit where we wanted. We loved the ambiance and the scenery was amazing as well as the service. We will definitely come back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We eat at this restaurant every time we come to Monterey (once or twice per year) because the food quality and scenery never disappoint. This time was no exception. But there are some finer points that detracted from the dinner. First, it was almost 30 min after we sat down before we got our wine. Our waitress came too soon before we could look at the menu, then waited 15 min before returning, then took another 15 min to bring the bottle. She apparently decided we shouldn't order drinks until we were also ready to order food. Second, the brassy and saxophone-type jazz music throughout the meal was annoying. Third, the guy who served our food was loud and overly familiar and would announce each delivery with "HI GUYS, OH YOU'VE ORDERED ONE IF MY FAVORITES"! I really don't care what he likes to eat. Finally, our waitress brought our bill at the same time she delivered dessert and coffee, as if to say "hurry up and leave, we need the table". Please let us enjoy our dessert in peace and we'll signal when we are ready for the bill. All of the above are meant to be helpful comments to improve the service. We shall return!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Very beautiful view but also a tourist attraction. Great food, also very expensive and pretentious. Loved going there but the patio view is a must.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Historic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We love the Fish Hoppers clam chowder and have been going there for years. The food is always good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

My wife and I are from San Francisco, and we were recently spending an anniversary weekend in Santa Cruz and Monterey during a busy Easter weekend. We did not expect to find a table anywhere for dinner and did not expect to luck out when we tried The Fish Hopper. Not only did the staff fit us in at the last minute and give us a table with a spectacular ocean view, they were incredibly friendly and warm. The drinks, appetizers, and entrees were breathtaking...and also very reasonably priced. The restaurant manager, Carlo Rivetti, also really went out of his way to stop by and make sure we were enjoying every aspect of our meal. We were very pleased overall and would rate this place 10/10. We will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

You're paying for location (just barely---this place charges around 10% over what I'd expect in a less desirable locale) in a very touristy area but they hit every mark (service, atmostphere, flavors, great drinks, efficient busing) and exceeded my expectations. Every person on staff performed well the night we were there.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Had to ask for a server to come to our table. Food arrived cold. Didn't acknowledge our Open Table reservation. View of Monterey Bay was very nice though. Overall, a disappointment.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 13, 2017

As always it was outstanding, food was amazing, service was on point, we reserved early that morning to get the best seat in the restaurant. We got a nice visit for a sea otter

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Late-night Find, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I think the food was great and also the view was great but my waitress was not so kind

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Food was super good & loved the views , but super pricey menu items!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The service has been impeccable. Our waiter was so friendly, fast and courteous. The food was amazing!!! We were seated in the glass room area which we were able to see the ocean, natural wildlife and beach goers going on their adventures on the reefs. Great cocktails as well. We had a complimentary dessert for my partner since it was her birthday. Definitely will come back for dinner on my next trip to monterey.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Friendly warm customer service! I love it eating here because it's fast seating and service. Meal prices are fair.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.