Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Fish Hopper

Experience the beauty of the Pacific Ocean, combined with world class dining on historic Cannery Row within walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Newly renovated, The Fish Hopper, once an original sardine cannery building, offers spectacular views of the beautiful Monterey Bay from every table including our heated outdoor patio. The Fish Hopper specializes in fresh sustainable seafood, certified Angus beef, pastas and live shellfish. Our seafood is either locally caught or shipped in fresh daily; our produce is locally grown in the Salinas Valley. Some favorites are fresh Monterey Bay abalone, Macadamia-crusted halibut, our famous “Tomahawk Chop” long bone-in Rib Eye, or fresh Dungeness Crab. Start your meal with our famous award-winning clam chowder. Indulge in one of our many exotic cocktail creations or enjoy a glass or bottle from our extensive wine collection. While enjoying your delicious meal, you can watch sea otters at play and even see the occasional whale.

700 Cannery Row
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily:11:00am - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Prescott Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-8543

Website:
http://fishhopper.com/monterey/

Parking Details:
Cannery Row has numerous private parking lots as well as on-street parking.

Public Transit:
Cannery Row has free trolley service from various locations on the Monterey Peninsula with stops directly in front of the restaurant. There is also the normal public bus system which a stop within a short distance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Mohammed Tabib

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The FishHopper can accommodate any size party for your next special event. Please call 831-372-2406 for special event information

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Celebrate Easter with friends and family enjoying a fantastic lunch or dinner right by the water. We will be open on Easter Sunday, April 16th. Make your reservation today!

Private Dining

We have a large seating capacity, that provides comfortable accommodations for groups up to 300 people, our new outdoor dining patio seating up to 90 people, a spacious full bar and lounge area and an excellent wine list. We can customize our menus to meet your group's needs, and exceed their expectations.

Fish Hopper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (42)
Waterfront (39)
Good for a Date (30)
See All
Special Occasion (26)
Romantic (25)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Casual (20)
Great for Lunch (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Fun (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Worth the Drive (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Kid-friendly (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Authentic (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Cozy (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
People Watching (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Seasonal (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Family Style (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Business Meals (4)
Healthy (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1348 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 9 hours ago

Food was excellent as always. The service was better than ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

The service was the worst I have ever experienced. Once seated, the server took my order and another person delivered it. I needed tarter sauce for the very dry sand dabs, but the server never returned until the check was presented. He never once checked to see if I needed anything, and the restaurant was not busy. I would never recommend or return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Crazy loud! If you have kids, this place is perfect. If not, don't go.

Tags: People Watching, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was sooo good and the service was attentive. My cocktail was very beautiful and great tasting. I liked the fact that we could make reservations.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food at the Fish Hopper is always excellent and worth it. The service this time was ok. Server took way too long to come back after asking for "a minute" with the reading of the menu. Server only came once during our almost 2 hour dinner to ask if we wanted any drink refills. Didn't quite understand value of server to tip since others bring you the food and drinks.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

One of the best seafood restaurants I've ever been to. Everything, including the encrusted halibut and breaded scrimp were absolutely spectacular. Rich in freshness, rich in flavor and the creativeness of the chef was truly noteworthy. You would think a restaurant in a highly tourist area with a spectacular ocean view would be sub par, but the minute you walk into this treasure trove, you are greeting warmly by the host staff and if you're fortunate enough to have the fine service exhibited by Wendy, then you've hit a home run. Ask for her when you dine here for world class service and her knowledge and recommendations were truly noteworthy.
Everything about this fine restaurant resonated on a superior level. Job well done.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The waitress was horrible, and intoxocated! Minus that of the problem, the food was amazing; she would have got a amazing tip, if the waitress had the credentials to serve at that fine establishment. Minus the waitress I would recommend it too many. As a chef myself, I would not allow that unprofessionalism in my company. The sad thing is my 13 year old daughter was asking why she was so rude, and slurring her words when asking what we wanted.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Always wonderful food, service, etc. Gluten-free menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Fish Hopper is always our goto place for our daughter when she comes home on a break from college.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Another great dinner! Better entrees than most of the other waterfront restaurants, and by going early we easily got the great water view we wanted. Even though this place isn't cheap, we left feeling like it was worth it, because just the view and high quality fresh food is like a bonus of healing therapy and boost of good mood. Will be back in a few months!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Fresh seafood Lobster dishes are great. The Grand Seafood BloodyMary is a sight to see and eat. Locations is great , the waves crash against the pier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Service and ambience were outstanding, but the food was mediocre at best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 1, 2017

This was my 2nd visit to the restaurant. Me and my boyfriend were celebrating my birthday. I love the ocean front view of the restaurant and the great seafood it has to offer

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 1, 2017

View is outstanding both inside as well as outside on a heated deck where you can hear the ocean and gulls. Restaurant is on pilings right over the water. Good seafood.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Amazing experience. Made the large group feel welcomed and ensured that each member was treated very well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Has been a favorite for years!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was excellent but it was cold in the restaurant. The whole side was cold

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Food was very good, service was so-so.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was incredible and so was the service. The only complaint everyone in our party had was the restaurant was very cold. We all wore out jackets throughout dinner. Everything else was excellent just bring a sweater or a jacket. I would highly recommend reservations at sunset.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

A favorite place for 2+ decades. Great clam chowder, good seafood dishes, and a view of the ocean from most seats.
Unfortunately, this last visit was soured by unattentive waitress that was obviously overworked or just lousy at her job taking care of paying customers. We never got seconds on bread even though we said we wanted some, waited over 15 minutes for refreshed drinks (came after we had finished main course), and never offered to see an after dinner drink menu, or offer me a dessert (my son had a nice, free browny for his birthday).
It was only a Thursday night at 6:30!
I likely won't be going back. There are really good restaurants all around Monterey & PG.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We were visiting Monterey with family from out of state. When the reservation was made I specifically requested a table by a window with a view of the bay. What I did not expect was to be seated at a table against the thin wall of the very noisy bussing/prep station. An initial complaint to the waitress got some relief but it was short lived. When the manager stopped by to ask how things were, we again commented on the very loud location and asked him to either get it quieted down or move us to another table. His response was "I've already talked to them" then walked away. Needless to say it did not get quieter.

Won't be back. There are far too many equally good or better options in the area - such as Passionfish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 20, 2017

I came here once in December and it was not very busy. I had a coconut prawns for appetizer and then ordered the 14oz NY steak and crab stuffed prawns. It came with potato au gratin and asparagus. It was incredible. The best meal I've had in a long while. Everything was so tasty and freshly made and just incredible. The last time I went in mid February I ordered the same thing and it was a pretty busy night and the quality was not even close to how it was the first time. The potatoes were from a large tray and you could see it was cut off out not fresh and somewhat cold. The taste was not there either. The steak was pretty good but it came with mixed veggies that were just plain and the prawns were a little tough and luke warm. I was very disappointed but it was just not what I expected. I will likely come back and hopefully not when it is busy. Service was great though. View is incredible.

Tags: Modern Decor, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Absolutely love the Fish Hopper! Outstanding food! Amazing customer service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Fun, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Good food and good service. Family friendly with a good view.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This was a great expierience! I loved the food and the view! There was a cute bird and a fake owl. I loved it and could have stayed all day!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

A great restaurant with awesome views of the bay from almost every window. The food is always good although it is on the pricey side - you're definitely paying for that view! Their clam chowder is truly excellent.

Lots of windows open when we were there so it was pretty uncomfortable on a cold day.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Champagne 13.00 drink was warm and the fish fillet and fries were cold. The waiter was accomodating. The cook and the bartender could have done better for what you pay. I'd be leery about going back.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 19, 2017

My husband and I flew in to take our daughter out to dinner for her birthday. We started with the crab stuffed mushrooms. I wasn't a fan but my husband and daughter thought they were delicious. We all had the clam chowder which is to die for. For dinner, my husband had the halibut and I had the blackened sea bass. Both of our entrees were a bit dry. My daughter had the seafood pasta and she loved it. The wine was great and so was the service. The view is outstanding as well. Overall, a wonderful occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Fish Hopper never disappoints. My wife and I do dinner here whenever we are in Monterey. The food is always on point. Great views especially on the deck at night.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Fun, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Outstanding service, great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was good. location and views were spectacular.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I made a reservation the weekend before Valentines day. As soon as we got there, the hostess politely greeted us and escorted us to our table. Food was great; service was also great. For a time being, it got a little cold inside the restaurant, either than that my girlfriend & I enjoyed our date.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Scenic View, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We adore this restaurant! The loaded bloody mary is a Sunday staple. Ask to be seated with Jerry and you will be sure to have excellent service and attention. If you are in town visiting and looking for a place to make your friends back home jealous....this IS the spot!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We were very happy with our dinner and the view of Monterey Bay while we ate. I will continue to come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Service was very good ,food was very good, flank steak was to die for ,yum yum... thank you

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Good location on the water. Noise level to high to have normal conversation in the dining area.

Bass was good and my husband enjoyed his filet. The calamari app was overcooked and had to be cut to be eaten. Dips tasted like ketchup and mayo right out of a bottle. Creme Brule and mousse were among the choices for dessert. The brulee, while tasty, had a watery pool of vanilla bean at the bottom. The mousse was very good.

One couple seemed to have the waiter running pretty good and we didn't see much of him.

Overall, you're paying for the location not fantastic food or service. I'll pay a bit more and go to the Sardine Factory next time.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 30, 2017

My family and I were visiting and picked Fish Hopper since we loved our experience at the Kona location and they have a gluten free menu (I have an allergy to gluten). I had a bad feeling when I checked in for our reservation and the hostess said they had nothing available (come to find a good 1/3 of the restaurant was empty with plenty of seating) and she rather rudely advised to read their "policy" regarding our children (basically we had to keep our children quiet). We have very behaved children who were practically unnoticeable amid the noise already inside the restaurant.

Service was very slow, a good 20 minutes between the appetizers (from the gluten free menu) and the main courses. My meal was mediocre at best, risotto was overdone and mushy, salmon was dry. But the biggest issue was that within minutes of leaving the restaurant I became violently ill. I knew this feeling well and it was definitely due to gluten. I'm not sure how the kitchen is run but there is obviously little regard for safely preparing meals they advertise to be gluten free.

I am extremely disappointed as this is not a super causal establishment and expected better service and attention than we received.

Ironically, the time from dropping off the check to coming to see if I had left payment was no more than a couple minutes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The fish and shrimp was utterly amazing. The only thing that held us back from giving a five star on food was the Asian BBQ ribs were over sauced. Once scraping the over abundance of the sauce off the ribs were fabulous. Clearly they had been cooked low and slow all day as they fell off the bone.
The Cajun shrimp and blackened Mahi were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Friendly host, fast seating (thanks to OpenTable!), Nice location and ambiance. Unfortunately staff was slow, mixed up the appetizer order. Wasn't sure how he heard Rockefeller when I said bacon wrapped scallops. The food overall was average and overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Used open table to make dinner res. Had a free appetizer coupon, still waiting for the appetizer. Food was ok. Macadamia crusted halibut was a generous portion that was over cooked.
Went the day before mid afternoon, service was fantastic, sat outside, had abalone which was fantastic. Specials available were far better (luck of the draw). Seems the first string wait staff and kitchen staff work in the day when business is hopping, dinner was easy to get prime seating over the breaking waves, because a portion of the restaurant is not opened.
Regardless of the inconsistent service, I would eat here again.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.