Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Fish Hopper

Experience the beauty of the Pacific Ocean, combined with world class dining on historic Cannery Row within walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Newly renovated, The Fish Hopper, once an original sardine cannery building, offers spectacular views of the beautiful Monterey Bay from every table including our heated outdoor patio. The Fish Hopper specializes in fresh sustainable seafood, certified Angus beef, pastas and live shellfish. Our seafood is either locally caught or shipped in fresh daily; our produce is locally grown in the Salinas Valley. Some favorites are fresh Monterey Bay abalone, Macadamia-crusted halibut, our famous “Tomahawk Chop” long bone-in Rib Eye, or fresh Dungeness Crab. Start your meal with our famous award-winning clam chowder. Indulge in one of our many exotic cocktail creations or enjoy a glass or bottle from our extensive wine collection. While enjoying your delicious meal, you can watch sea otters at play and even see the occasional whale.

700 Cannery Row
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily:11:00am - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Prescott Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-8543

Website:
http://fishhopper.com/monterey/

Parking Details:
Cannery Row has numerous private parking lots as well as on-street parking.

Public Transit:
Cannery Row has free trolley service from various locations on the Monterey Peninsula with stops directly in front of the restaurant. There is also the normal public bus system which a stop within a short distance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Mohammed Tabib

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The FishHopper can accommodate any size party for your next special event. Please call 831-372-2406 for special event information

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

This Mother’s Day show Mom how much you appreciate all she does with an unforgettable meal with beautiful views right by the water. We'll handle all the details while your family enjoys the memories.

Private Dining

We have a large seating capacity, that provides comfortable accommodations for groups up to 300 people, our new outdoor dining patio seating up to 90 people, a spacious full bar and lounge area and an excellent wine list. We can customize our menus to meet your group's needs, and exceed their expectations.

Fish Hopper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (54)
Waterfront (50)
Good for a Date (35)
See All
Romantic (31)
Special Occasion (31)
Great for Lunch (29)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Casual (24)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Fun (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Good for Groups (15)
Kid-friendly (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Authentic (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Cozy (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Healthy (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Seasonal (7)
People Watching (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Business Meals (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Family Style (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Historic (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tapas (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Organic (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1374 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

We eat at this restaurant every time we come to Monterey (once or twice per year) because the food quality and scenery never disappoint. This time was no exception. But there are some finer points that detracted from the dinner. First, it was almost 30 min after we sat down before we got our wine. Our waitress came too soon before we could look at the menu, then waited 15 min before returning, then took another 15 min to bring the bottle. She apparently decided we shouldn't order drinks until we were also ready to order food. Second, the brassy and saxophone-type jazz music throughout the meal was annoying. Third, the guy who served our food was loud and overly familiar and would announce each delivery with "HI GUYS, OH YOU'VE ORDERED ONE IF MY FAVORITES"! I really don't care what he likes to eat. Finally, our waitress brought our bill at the same time she delivered dessert and coffee, as if to say "hurry up and leave, we need the table". Please let us enjoy our dessert in peace and we'll signal when we are ready for the bill. All of the above are meant to be helpful comments to improve the service. We shall return!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 6 days ago

Very beautiful view but also a tourist attraction. Great food, also very expensive and pretentious. Loved going there but the patio view is a must.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Historic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We love the Fish Hoppers clam chowder and have been going there for years. The food is always good.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 17, 2017

My wife and I are from San Francisco, and we were recently spending an anniversary weekend in Santa Cruz and Monterey during a busy Easter weekend. We did not expect to find a table anywhere for dinner and did not expect to luck out when we tried The Fish Hopper. Not only did the staff fit us in at the last minute and give us a table with a spectacular ocean view, they were incredibly friendly and warm. The drinks, appetizers, and entrees were breathtaking...and also very reasonably priced. The restaurant manager, Carlo Rivetti, also really went out of his way to stop by and make sure we were enjoying every aspect of our meal. We were very pleased overall and would rate this place 10/10. We will definitely be coming back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

You're paying for location (just barely---this place charges around 10% over what I'd expect in a less desirable locale) in a very touristy area but they hit every mark (service, atmostphere, flavors, great drinks, efficient busing) and exceeded my expectations. Every person on staff performed well the night we were there.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Fun, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Had to ask for a server to come to our table. Food arrived cold. Didn't acknowledge our Open Table reservation. View of Monterey Bay was very nice though. Overall, a disappointment.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 13, 2017

As always it was outstanding, food was amazing, service was on point, we reserved early that morning to get the best seat in the restaurant. We got a nice visit for a sea otter

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Late-night Find, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I think the food was great and also the view was great but my waitress was not so kind

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Food was super good & loved the views , but super pricey menu items!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The service has been impeccable. Our waiter was so friendly, fast and courteous. The food was amazing!!! We were seated in the glass room area which we were able to see the ocean, natural wildlife and beach goers going on their adventures on the reefs. Great cocktails as well. We had a complimentary dessert for my partner since it was her birthday. Definitely will come back for dinner on my next trip to monterey.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Friendly warm customer service! I love it eating here because it's fast seating and service. Meal prices are fair.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great crab and vegetables. Large restaurant and that's probably why service was slow. Lots of food for the price.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Food was very good although quite expensive. Everyone in our party enjoyed their food.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We went to Fish Hopper while we were visiting San Francisco. It happened to be my wife's birthday, and I mentioned that when I booked the reservation on Open Table. When we arrived at the restaurant they had us seated at the table closest to the ocean; what a view. Our waiter Kris was very friendly and knowledgeable about the food selections, and the food was fantastic. The manager, Carlo, came over to talk to us a couple of times before and during the meal; he was enjoyable to speak with and knew a lot about the area as well as the food we chose.

Overall I would highly recommend Fish Hopper and will try them if I get back to San Francisco.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 4, 2017

The food is very over-priced and poorly cooked. One of our dishes seafood pasta was over cooked, the scallops and shrimps were very hard and the entire pasta was drenched in cream sauce, and this dish was $40.
A bowl of clam chowder was $16.50 in a regular bowl, if you want bread bowl that would be $18.50, the problem was there was hardly any clam in the soup.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Great views, great atmosphere, great food, need I say more?

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Tapas, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on April 3, 2017

Great Location. Food is always excellent. Service is always friendly, helpful and excellent. Join their VIP and get a free apetizer - they are great.

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Clam Chowder was mediocre. Too much gravy. Sourdough bread served during dinner & with Clam Chowder Bowl was stale.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The service was great and everyone was very friendly!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Jerry always provides excellent service . We request a table in his section every time we go for lunch. The views of the bay activities (kayaking, paddle boarding, etc.) and sea life interaction are great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Disappointed that the prime rib is no longer on the menu we drove all the way from Hayward for that :(

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 30, 2017

We were very disappointed with our experience here. We should have known something was not right when the table beside us decided to leave before ordering.

Service was slow. Our server tried her best but it was clear that they were short staffed and couldn't keep up as they let more and more people in to an already busy restaurant.

Next, the food. Parts of the order were missing on my wife's order and mine (fish) was dry. We also had a drink order not taken to the table.

The last part, the price. Let's just say that we paid the same here for 3 ppl that we did at the far superior Schooners which is just a short walk away. This place needs to re-evaluate itself and adjust pricing. I'd rather eat at an Applebee's type chain than come back here.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Great food, excellent view and good all around experience. Except that the sliding doors (garage doors) were open and it did get chilly. They were willing to make an ingredient and sauce change for me and it was very good. Recommend!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The food was mediocre and overpriced. We got the seafood pasta in lobster cream sauce and every piece of seafood in our dish was overcooked. Our server had her head in the clouds and was kind of awkward. We will not be dinning here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Loved our meals! The salmon melted in my mouth with every bite! Great dining out treat.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Food was excellent as always. The service was better than ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Visited Fish Hopper on a beautiful afternoon and sunset. View was breathtaking from our Banquet table. Each of us enjoyed a specialty cocktail which were very good. Had a lite meal of the Calamari and Chowder and walked away well satisfied with food, experience and price.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 22, 2017

The service was the worst I have ever experienced. Once seated, the server took my order and another person delivered it. I needed tarter sauce for the very dry sand dabs, but the server never returned until the check was presented. He never once checked to see if I needed anything, and the restaurant was not busy. I would never recommend or return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Crazy loud! If you have kids, this place is perfect. If not, don't go.

Tags: People Watching, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was sooo good and the service was attentive. My cocktail was very beautiful and great tasting. I liked the fact that we could make reservations.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food at the Fish Hopper is always excellent and worth it. The service this time was ok. Server took way too long to come back after asking for "a minute" with the reading of the menu. Server only came once during our almost 2 hour dinner to ask if we wanted any drink refills. Didn't quite understand value of server to tip since others bring you the food and drinks.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

One of the best seafood restaurants I've ever been to. Everything, including the encrusted halibut and breaded scrimp were absolutely spectacular. Rich in freshness, rich in flavor and the creativeness of the chef was truly noteworthy. You would think a restaurant in a highly tourist area with a spectacular ocean view would be sub par, but the minute you walk into this treasure trove, you are greeting warmly by the host staff and if you're fortunate enough to have the fine service exhibited by Wendy, then you've hit a home run. Ask for her when you dine here for world class service and her knowledge and recommendations were truly noteworthy.
Everything about this fine restaurant resonated on a superior level. Job well done.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The waitress was horrible, and intoxocated! Minus that of the problem, the food was amazing; she would have got a amazing tip, if the waitress had the credentials to serve at that fine establishment. Minus the waitress I would recommend it too many. As a chef myself, I would not allow that unprofessionalism in my company. The sad thing is my 13 year old daughter was asking why she was so rude, and slurring her words when asking what we wanted.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Always wonderful food, service, etc. Gluten-free menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Fish Hopper is always our goto place for our daughter when she comes home on a break from college.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Another great dinner! Better entrees than most of the other waterfront restaurants, and by going early we easily got the great water view we wanted. Even though this place isn't cheap, we left feeling like it was worth it, because just the view and high quality fresh food is like a bonus of healing therapy and boost of good mood. Will be back in a few months!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Fresh seafood Lobster dishes are great. The Grand Seafood BloodyMary is a sight to see and eat. Locations is great , the waves crash against the pier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Service and ambience were outstanding, but the food was mediocre at best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 1, 2017

This was my 2nd visit to the restaurant. Me and my boyfriend were celebrating my birthday. I love the ocean front view of the restaurant and the great seafood it has to offer

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 1, 2017

View is outstanding both inside as well as outside on a heated deck where you can hear the ocean and gulls. Restaurant is on pilings right over the water. Good seafood.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.