Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Fish Hopper

Experience the beauty of the Pacific Ocean, combined with world class dining on historic Cannery Row within walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Newly renovated, The Fish Hopper, once an original sardine cannery building, offers spectacular views of the beautiful Monterey Bay from every table including our heated outdoor patio. The Fish Hopper specializes in fresh sustainable seafood, certified Angus beef, pastas and live shellfish. Our seafood is either locally caught or shipped in fresh daily; our produce is locally grown in the Salinas Valley. Some favorites are fresh Monterey Bay abalone, Macadamia-crusted halibut, our famous “Tomahawk Chop” long bone-in Rib Eye, or fresh Dungeness Crab. Start your meal with our famous award-winning clam chowder. Indulge in one of our many exotic cocktail creations or enjoy a glass or bottle from our extensive wine collection. While enjoying your delicious meal, you can watch sea otters at play and even see the occasional whale.

700 Cannery Row
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily:11:00am - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Prescott Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-8543

Website:
http://fishhopper.com/monterey/

Parking Details:
Cannery Row has numerous private parking lots as well as on-street parking.

Public Transit:
Cannery Row has free trolley service from various locations on the Monterey Peninsula with stops directly in front of the restaurant. There is also the normal public bus system which a stop within a short distance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Mohammed Tabib

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The FishHopper can accommodate any size party for your next special event. Please call 831-372-2406 for special event information

Fish Hopper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (85)
Waterfront (80)
Good for a Date (50)
See All
Special Occasion (47)
Romantic (38)
Casual (36)
Local Ingredients (36)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Good for Birthdays (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
Great for Lunch (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Worth the Drive (27)
Good for Groups (25)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Fun (22)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Healthy (17)
Kid-friendly (16)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
People Watching (15)
Business Meals (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Authentic (12)
Gluten Free Options (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Seasonal (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Disabled Access (8)
Cozy (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Vegan (2)
Great Beer (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1534 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

The service was great and our waiter was so attentive! We had a beautiful view! The food is slightly overpriced for the value, but I would definitely come back for the amazing customer service all the employees have provided! Very happy customer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

As always, the food was great and Manny was once again our waiter. He remembered us and took great care of us. The presentation was top notch and the food was the absolute best. I had the clams and linguine and my partner had the salmon. Both were great! Oh yes, did I say Manny was great! Well he was and of course we'll be back again and again.

Tags: Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Management was very accommodating, as I requested special treatment for my cousin and his wife on their wedding anniversary. Sent the two of them for dinner as a gift.
THANK YOU!
They had a great time.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Outstanding food and service. We had the stuffed sole and crusted halibut. Both were excellent. Didn't have it but they had a combination fish platter (included lobster) that looked excellent. Desserts were great as well

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Amazing food and drinks! The ultimate bloody Mary is outstanding! The bacon wrapped scallops was well worth the price. The pasta with clams, scallops, and shrimp was prepared perfectly! The pasta was el dente, and the sea food was plump and flavorful. The white sauce is light and creamy and compliments the dish! Great wine list too, and of course loved the view! We will certainly visit again!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
·Dined on September 11, 2017

We made a last minute reservation for my husband's birthday weekend. We were seated at a fabulous table with a wonderful view. We had had a glass of wine at the bar and wanted to order a bottle for dinner, but could not find it on the menu. The staff was so helpful (our waiter tracked down our bartender and brought her to our table to make sure it was the right one!) and help find the right one for us. Also they provided a very tasty birthday dessert for my husband. I would definitely go back again!!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

We had a very good waiter, it was raining, so we ate inside and sat near a window and watched the sunset (except it was partially cloudy. Good food, we recommend this place

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The setting of the fish hopper is unbeatable. You can look out over the Bay and we watched a sea otter swim inside the small part of the bay while we ate dinner. It was really beautiful there.
I had the salmon with sesame seed crust. It was OK but not great.
But all in all it is a nice dining experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Loved the food!!!! Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Excellent as usual! We always have dinner here when we are in Monterey.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Casual, Business Meals, Scenic View, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Good for special seafood. They we on display at the entrance. You can sit outside under roof or behind glass with beautiful view.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Very friendly service, and great staff. Really enjoyed our visit on Labor Day!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

I had made reservations for a window table for my birthday and my boyfriend's birthday dinner but instead was seated in the aisle table and really close proximity to a family seated next to our table ( only separated by about 5 inches). We had been here before for Valentine's Day and had a wonderful romantic dinner. However, this time it was not was I expected from this place. I talked to the manager to please acknowledge our reservation request since there were 2 empty window tables. However, she said we would have to wait an hour and a half. So what's the point of making reservations for a special occassion if you there's no guarantee that you will get what you want? That's the whole point about dinning there for the window table for a special occasion. Therefore, we left disappointed and went to Red Lobsters instead. No window view, but better table that's for sure and not so noisy.

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Very very noisey. Wish we would have known this was a glorified bubba gumps

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Paying for location and view. Food was unremarkable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Great service & recommendations by server & bartender were spot on. Table with a nice view of our hotel and Monterey Bay.
Food was excellent and the key lime pie - wow!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Wonderful atmosphere right on the water

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Food was good but not great. It was obvious that turn-over of the tables is of most concern

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Amazing, outstanding! Great food , fresh seafood! Great service!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Got a great table with a great view. Food was very good.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Server was fabulous. Food was amazing. What more can we ask for?

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Very nice view, but restaurant is expensive, overly touristy, food is mediocre, and staff (at front desk) not very welcoming.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Lovely view and friendly service. Food was good, probably not great, but perfectly enjoyable and we had a lovely evening.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

The views were great and the food was better! Great waiter as well

Tags: Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

I was smart to book a table for 2 a month in advance for my 1st anniversary with my lady. They seated us at their best table with a fanatastic view of the water. Waiter and manager knew ahead of time of special nite with special anniverary greetings. Chef was nice enough give us a delicious desert on the house. Definitely will come back. Btw, clam chowder was the best we've ever tasted.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Service and food were excellent! In the heart of Cannery Row, it's expected to be expensive and touristy. Fish Hopper well exceeded our expectations and earned the cost of the meal. In addition to the great service and excellent food presentation, we saw a humpback whale mosey along the bay. Cool place!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on August 23, 2017

The service was excellent and the food good. The view of the ocean is nice. Great location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
·Dined on August 20, 2017

Jim our server was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

The Fishhopper was fantastic!!! Service was terrific and the food was delicious. Seating provided a great view of Monterey Bay.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

The food is always cooked to perfection. Fun atmosphere with great views of the Monterey Bay. Great service with a friendly staff. When I am in Monterey, I try to have one dinner at the Fish Hopper.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great service, great food...very delicious and memorable...took extra care for my wife's birthday...only neg was a wobbly table....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

We love the Fish Hopper and usually go there at least once every time we visit the Monterey Peninsula. In recent years we've been coming down for Monterey Car Week with our classic Mini, renting a home in the area and just enjoying all Monterey, Pacific Grove, Carmel and other cities have to offer, but we usually get to Cannery Row and the Fish Hopper for a wonderful dinner out on the pier overlooking the bay.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
·Dined on August 16, 2017

The food was delicious and the service attentive. I visiting over vacation and I would definitely return to this restaurant with the family or with the boyfriend. This is NOT a place for unruly children and they tell you that before you sit down--which I highly appreciate. GREAT views of Monterey Bay. I recommend it.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Great place to eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Food was amazing. We have eaten at the Fish Hopper a number of times over the years and never been disappointed with the food. So many delicious fish dishes. The big complaint we have is they tend to pack the tables pretty close together. So as people are getting in and out of there chairs they are banging into your chair. Very annoying. Thats why we went with 4 stars and not 5.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Healthy, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Donny, our waiter was very attentive. Freddie the bartender made a great Tito's and lemonade. I feel lousy for not remembering the name of the main hostess who made sure I had a great view. I really appreciated her efforts and she should be commended. (Our original time was 8pm she moved things around to 8:15 and sat us shortly after 8pm at a great table with a awesome view) Our family had a great dining experience and will be returning.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Best clam chowder ever!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Have eaten here before and food and experience were top notch. Went there for a wedding celebration meal. Experience was, this time, only fair Lalala next door is much better. Wife and I were a bit disappointed had our first date there 3 years ago and wanted to celebrate that event as well.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

fish cooked incorrectly 3 times

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Really enjoyed the view of the ocean. Saw a harbour seal swimming not too far away. Good place to eat right on the sea.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.