About Fish Hopper

700 Cannery Row
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Experience the beauty of the Pacific Ocean, combined with world class dining on historic Cannery Row within walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Newly renovated, The Fish Hopper, once an original sardine cannery building, offers spectacular views of the beautiful Monterey Bay from every table including our heated outdoor patio. The Fish Hopper specializes in fresh sustainable seafood, certified Angus beef, pastas and live shellfish. Our seafood is either locally caught or shipped in fresh daily; our produce is locally grown in the Salinas Valley. Some favorites are fresh Monterey Bay abalone, Macadamia-crusted halibut, our famous “Tomahawk Chop” long bone-in Rib Eye, or fresh Dungeness Crab. Start your meal with our famous award-winning clam chowder. Indulge in one of our many exotic cocktail creations or enjoy a glass or bottle from our extensive wine collection. While enjoying your delicious meal, you can watch sea otters at play and even see the occasional whale.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily:11:00am - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Prescott Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-8543

Website:
http://fishhopper.com/monterey/

Parking Details:
Cannery Row has numerous private parking lots as well as on-street parking.

Public Transit:
Cannery Row has free trolley service from various locations on the Monterey Peninsula with stops directly in front of the restaurant. There is also the normal public bus system which a stop within a short distance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Mohammed Tabib

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The FishHopper can accommodate any size party for your next special event. Please call 831-372-2406 for special event information

Restaurant Photos

Crispy Calamari and Artichokes
Oysters
Loaded Bloody Mary
Pepper Crusted Albacore Tuna With Seared Scallops
Lobster Pasta
64Oz Margarita
Sesame Ahi Tuna And Coconut Shrimp Salad
Appetiser Sampler
Volcano
Cheesecake
Cajun Mahi Mahi & Shrimp Salaf
Crab Crusted Sea Bass
Chicken Platter
Clam Chowder
Scallops And Prawn Scampi
Clam Chowder Bread Bowl
Planter's Punch
Grilled Artichoke And Fried Calamari

Private Dining

We have a large seating capacity, that provides comfortable accommodations for groups up to 300 people, our new outdoor dining patio seating up to 90 people, a spacious full bar and lounge area and an excellent wine list. We can customize our menus to meet your group's needs, and exceed their expectations.

Fish Hopper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
California Central Coast
Scenic View
Monterey / Carmel
Seafood
Monterey / Carmel
1 More
Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Monterey ›

Scenic View (125)
Special Occasion (74)
Romantic (57)
See All
Fit for Foodies (45)
Great for Lunch (42)
Good for Groups (41)
Great for Outdoor Dining (36)
Kid-friendly (28)
Hot Spot (24)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Notable Wine List (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Late-night Find (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Sort By:
Newest
1181 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

fresh fish was excellent(ahi and salmon) ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

fresh fish was excellent(ahi and salmon)

ask for back room, much quieter and perched out over the water for a very nice scenic view.

waitress professional, though service was overall a little slow.she did not have any back-up staff to help her. would definitely return

dinner for 2 with only 1 glass of wine, 2 appetizers, 2 entrees, no dessert approx. $100.00 again, the fish was very well prepared and I would return for that reason alone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It's fun and great setting on The Monte ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

It's fun and great setting on The Monterey Bay, great service, good food.. It's a tourist place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The fish was fresh, simply prepared and ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The fish was fresh, simply prepared and nicely presented. The wine list is reasonably priced with a diverse range in different styles. The waiter was both attentive and well informed about the menu. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We love this place and always try to get ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We love this place and always try to get there at a good time for a railing table on the patio. The ocean is crashing right under you, and a you have a beautiful view of the local wildlife that might be in the area. Service is very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have always returned to the Fish Hoppe ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I have always returned to the Fish Hopper, it's like no other in the area for comparison. This visit, I had brought friends from out of town, they were sold for next time. The staff was excellent with a waiter that offered great selection explanations, which turned out to be exactly as he had described! I always value quality over pricing which never is an issue there. Service is always the same..."the best"! We hated to leave...great atmosphere! It left a great impression on my friends!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Avoid this tourist trap if you know what ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Avoid this tourist trap if you know what's good for you. Just awful. Total fail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Had Donnie as our waiter and he was just ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Had Donnie as our waiter and he was just excellent, catering to all of our needs including my 3 young girls. Everyone felt important and got exactly what they wanted. The view, the wine, and the food was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I ordered the crab cakes and a wedge sal ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

I ordered the crab cakes and a wedge salad. The dressing for the salad was a very thick consistency and did not taste like blue cheese at all. The aioli sauce for the crab cakes was the same consistency as the blue cheese dressing with different spices used. I sent the salad back and just ate the crab cakes.

This restaurant was suggested to us and I was disappointed with the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

The patio dining is incredible as it ove ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The patio dining is incredible as it overlooks Monterey Bay. We an extremely early reservation thinking that they offered brunch but found out they did not. (I thought Yelp said they offered brunch.)

The experience was great, we were there so early we had the entire patio to ourselves for most of the visit. The food is expensive but worth it for a first time visit to Cannery Row. Their Bloody Mary's and Clam Chowder (in bowl) is AWESOME!!!

Give this place a try if you are on Cannery Row.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Xxx-cel lent Loved this place would go b ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Xxx-cel lent

Loved this place would go back in a heartbeat

Tags: Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place has an excellent location wit ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This place has an excellent location with a great view, but the food was significantly overpriced for the average quality. Not sure if it's better or worse than other similar places around.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

I have been dining at this restaurant fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I have been dining at this restaurant for years, the amount you get for prices they are charging now, is not great. I have been here twice in a couple months, and the sea bass was thinly cut and blackened. It could have been catfish or trout, and you wouldn't have been able to tell the difference. For 40 bucks, i expect better. The abalone dish is 45 bucks, and the abalone were tiny. After years of great dishes, the last couple of times has taught me to avoid the special dishes. Stick to their regular menu items, so as not to be disappointed. Everything else is great, drinks are awesome, and the service is spectacular.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The food was good but pricey. The views ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was good but pricey. The views are stunning and the patio dining especially!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Our food was good, except my husband ord ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Our food was good, except my husband ordered prime rib and was too done. The waitress argued with him trying to tell him it was supposed to be overdone. He was not happy. Everyone else had wonderful food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

We were seated at the window overlooking ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

We were seated at the window overlooking Monterey Bay and were captured by the birds and sea otters frolicking right below us. The food was good. My cioppino was quite good and my partner had halibut. Service was attentive. All-in-all it was an enjoyable dining experience.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Always excellent food, service, and beau ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Always excellent food, service, and beautiful view.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NIce location on Cannery Row with nearly ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

NIce location on Cannery Row with nearly all tables with a view on the Monterey Bay. The waitress could have been more friendly, may be she was at the end of her shift. Food is good, but not exceptional. Ordered a sesame crusted Salmon with coconut prawns, was supposed to come with mushroom risotto, but that risotto became just plain rice. The ice tea drink ordered came visibly from powder and not freshly brewed. Fried calamari were a bit chewy. Reservation highly recommended if you don't want to wait, and easy to do via Opentable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Started off great with the hostess givin ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Started off great with the hostess giving us choice of two really nice tables with wonderful water views. Went downhill from there with poor service for the rest of the evening. I think maybe our server was a rookie but that's no excuse. The meals are over-priced for the quality of the food.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Really nice food, atmosphere and service ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Really nice food, atmosphere and service. Several great specials for the day

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

some view places in many high tourist ar ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

some view places in many high tourist areas (eg, monterey) have a nice view but often are lacking in service, ambiance, cleanliness, quality of ingredients or all of the above. We were all very pleasantly surprised and thankful. The food had flavor, was nicely presented, and had a freshness to it. So happy to discover this place is not riding the tails of their location and view, but also turning out great meals.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The restaurant was nice, the waitress wa ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The restaurant was nice, the waitress was friendly, although she didn't hear me say that I wanted dessert and rang up our check before the dessert was added. The food was very "blah." My boyfriend's filet mignon had virtually no flavor at all and neither did my lobster tail. It was a lot of money for food that was mediocre. We went to another restaurant in Monterey the next night and it was less than half the price and the food was 100 times better.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

Great food, great view, great service. W ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great food, great view, great service. We felt very well taken care of. The clam chowder was delicious. The calamari was tasty. Can't wait to go again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Friendly service with a great view. Over ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Friendly service with a great view. Overpriced but tasty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Beautiful day for a wonderful meal with ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Beautiful day for a wonderful meal with awesome views! We will be back. Great service. The macadamia crusted fish and ahi tuna salad was perfect for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

beautiful views of the Monterey harbor. ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

beautiful views of the Monterey harbor. Make reservations to get a table by the window for fabulous sunset views. Wait staff is attentive and helpful. Great cocktails and good seafood.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Out Fish Hopper table had beautiful view ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Out Fish Hopper table had beautiful views in every direction. A nice place for a break from visiting the Monterey Aquarium. I had the sand dabs, which were very nicely done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So romantic for our anniversary! We sat ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

So romantic for our anniversary! We sat over the ocean and listened to the waves on the beach during sunset-- like a date out of The Bachelor! We split two appetizers, an entree, and two of their 60 oz margaritas and everything was delicious. Omar was our server and he was so polite and made our experience so fun! We will for sure be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thank you for updating my request for di ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Thank you for updating my request for dinner at 5pm. We enjoyed our scenic meal which was delicious as usual , especially enjoyed Ho'rdurves

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had reservations for 12:30 and 3 of 5 ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We had reservations for 12:30 and 3 of 5 of us were there ...my brother was finding parking for his very large pickup w my husband. The host/hostess were very amicable and assured me that there no problem. We were seated w my requested window/ocean view table. Our waiter, George, was very friendly, attentive, accurate and surprised us w 4 birthday desserts - our special occasion (Summer Sib Birthday Lunch). "Friendly" reservations, excellent food, awesome service, beautiful views of the Monterey Bay = A Perfect lunch for my sibs.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Emily was amazing!! She was so efficient ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Emily was amazing!! She was so efficient, fun, and the sweetest!❤️️❤️️

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Fish Hopper is also owned by the sam ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The Fish Hopper is also owned by the same people who own The Old Fisherman's Grotto. Both were different and excellent. One on one wharf and one on the other. Made for excellent dining two nights in a row!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit to Fish Hopper ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was our first visit to Fish Hopper and we will not be going back. We met friends we haven't seen in years but it was difficult to catch up as our waiter tried to rush us throughout the meal. The calamari appetizer was good but my ahi tuna entree was the worst I have ever had because it was sinewy and flavorless. Even though the view from our table was spectacular, it is not enough to overcome the tasteless food and rushed service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Our waiter, Dino, was excellent. He help ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our waiter, Dino, was excellent. He helped make the evening memorable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our families go-to place for a quick tri ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our families go-to place for a quick trip to Monterey (from San Jose). This time was a celebration of my wife's birthday...Number @@

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food on our visit We had Ribs - t ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food on our visit

We had

Ribs - they were excellent

Fish and chips - excellent

Seafood platter - excellent

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service and truly delicious food, ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great service and truly delicious food, beautiful presentation

One of the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great experience at the fish ho ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We had a great experience at the fish hopper and really enjoyed the views of Monterrey Bay. The food was fantastic and my family thoroughly enjoyed it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We got seated right away and there was q ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We got seated right away and there was quite a wait. Our server was awesome!! We were quite the high-maintenance group, too, and she met our high expectations big time! We asked for special dishes, etc. Our glasses were kept filled and we had a wonderful time. I would highly recommend this restaurant. I wish I could remember our servers name. It was a woman and she was great! We sat back in the back and had a great view.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can't go wrong with The Fish Hopper! ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

You can't go wrong with The Fish Hopper! The food is always quite good and the service is impeccable. We brought our own wine so we didn't even look at the wine list. The menu is substantial and they usually have a few fresh fish specials. The prices are a bit higher than some other restaurants in Monterey however, the view and ambiance are worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food wasn't good. Hair in my salad. Ba ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food wasn't good. Hair in my salad. Bass and halibut mysteriously looked and tasted the same although they were different at Charthouse and at home.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.