About Fish Hopper

700 Cannery Row
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Experience the beauty of the Pacific Ocean, combined with world class dining on historic Cannery Row within walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Newly renovated, The Fish Hopper, once an original sardine cannery building, offers spectacular views of the beautiful Monterey Bay from every table including our heated outdoor patio. The Fish Hopper specializes in fresh sustainable seafood, certified Angus beef, pastas and live shellfish. Our seafood is either locally caught or shipped in fresh daily; our produce is locally grown in the Salinas Valley. Some favorites are fresh Monterey Bay abalone, Macadamia-crusted halibut, our famous “Tomahawk Chop” long bone-in Rib Eye, or fresh Dungeness Crab. Start your meal with our famous award-winning clam chowder. Indulge in one of our many exotic cocktail creations or enjoy a glass or bottle from our extensive wine collection. While enjoying your delicious meal, you can watch sea otters at play and even see the occasional whale.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily:11:00am - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Prescott Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-8543

Website:
http://fishhopper.com/monterey/

Parking Details:
Cannery Row has numerous private parking lots as well as on-street parking.

Public Transit:
Cannery Row has free trolley service from various locations on the Monterey Peninsula with stops directly in front of the restaurant. There is also the normal public bus system which a stop within a short distance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Mohammed Tabib

Private Party Facilities:
The restaurant offers numerous private party configurations all of which offer spectacular ocean views. We can accommodate almost any size party. The Fish Hopper offers off site catering of any size along with special events at many of our off site facilities.

Private Party Contact:
Candice McMeans: 831-372-2406x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The FishHopper can accommodate any size party for your next special event. Please call 831-372-2406 for special event information

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Spend Father's Day on the Bay! Treat Dad to delicious food, great drinks and beautiful views this year to show how much you care. Reserve today!

Fish Hopper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
California Central Coast
Scenic View
Monterey / Carmel
Seafood
Monterey / Carmel
1 More
Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Monterey ›

scenic view (111)
special occasion (66)
romantic (53)
See All
great for lunch (39)
fit for foodies (37)
good for groups (34)
great for outdoor dining (31)
kid-friendly (21)
great for brunch (16)
notable wine list (15)
neighborhood gem (14)
hot spot (13)
late-night find (8)
vibrant bar scene (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1099 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

It's not bad food but outrageously overpriced.

Dined 4 days ago

At about half the price I would have been happy. Definitely not gourmet but it was edible and the drinks were nice.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fish Hopper was very accommodating for m ...

Dined 6 days ago

Fish Hopper was very accommodating for my father, who is in a wheelchair.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Tiffany was a perfect waitress for our family

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Our party of 6 came in on a very busy Saturday afternoon to celebrate a graduation. Tiffany did an incredible job of cheerfully meeting all the special meal requests in our group. She did it all with a big smile and lots of patience.

food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Pleasant enough experience. Good drinks ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Pleasant enough experience. Good drinks. Ahi Tuna and shrimp salad was good, but not the dressing. A vinergarette would better. Good dessert. Not cheap, but they can get away with it due to view and location.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This place is large, it is busy. They s ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

This place is large, it is busy. They serve a lot of people. The food reflects that. The need to pump out food takes precedent over flavor. The clam chowder was very good but my swordfish was bland and dry.

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Fish Hopper experience

Dined on May 15, 2016

I'm sure the food is much better than my choice of fish and chips. My only criticism is slow service. We waited to take our order, waited too long to receive our meal then waited too long for the check, more than 1.5 hours while seeing other parties around arrive and complete their meal while we sat waiting. Little attention from the server. A coworker highly recommended the Fish Hopper, so I believe this is an isolated experience. I would try again in the future.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Early lunch/brunch

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Stopped in at 10:30 am for a quick bite before an event. It was obvious that even though they say they open at 10:30 am and take reservations at that time that they were still getting ready and not really prepared for guests yet. Our waiter was helpful in speeding things up and getting us on our way. The loaded bloody mary's were amazing. The salad was incredible. The chowder just isn't as good as it used to be and very expensive.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fresh seafood on the water

Dined on May 14, 2016

I always like to ask my server for recommendations. She suggested the sea bass special, and it was absolutely fabulous! The fresh veggies and shrimp that accompanied it were equally delicious. An A+ experience!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Dissappointed

Dined on May 9, 2016

Went to Fish Hopper for Mother's Day. The food was overpriced and underwhelming. Fish was bland. The sauce was off to the side, not on the fish (sand dabs) and fish was not very tasty. Also, found bones in one pice. You have to ask for bread--and you get one roll each. Overall, very disappointing.

food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We've been going here for several years ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

We've been going here for several years now and for some reason this time things seemed to have slipped.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

I was very disappointed

Dined on May 8, 2016

The service was ok but the food was like it was sitting for a while. We were in and out within 30 minutes. Felt very rushed. Entre arrived prior to appetizer. Very disappointing!!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Good, so definitely 'make reservations' !

Dined on May 8, 2016

A variety of foods consisting of many sea food items. And, almost all very appetizing. My wife traditionally orders the Salmon and as always fresh and moist... Why almost ? My two (sons) young men ordered entrees selected by our server, both sons were somewhat disappointed - so much for recommendations... But let me add the service was very attentive... So, like I said, 'definitely 'make reservations' ! This place is always on the go-to list. But I have to tell you even with our reservations - at check -in, we were told our table was being cleaned.. Nonetheless, we still had to wait about '20' minutes to be seated. not a good way to start a brunch for a party of '5' eating out on Mother's Day... (also, kind of disappointed not a little something for Mom or for my daughter's birthday ) as is common in many restaurants. One thing, however trite, was ordering the raspberry lemon-aid -(a favorite of mine) your 'first glass' is the raspberry, at a cost of $5.00, but subsequent refills are with 'straight' lemon-aid. - or pay another $5.00 (this was not mentioned) This is just like Wendy's - who would think here in the top rated restaurant ? If I knew about this I would have ordered a glass of fine wine!!!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Clam chowder to die for

Dined on May 8, 2016

Travelled from England to celebrate my husbands birthday. A wonderful meal and evening. Thank you so much.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

First time here. The food was amazing, t ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

First time here. The food was amazing, the views were fantastic and our server was very attentive. The clam chowder was delicious. We sat outside and got a great view of the water. We also got to see a sea lion come up on the shore, a pack of dolphins swim by and a full rainbow. It was quite an experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As Good as the First Time

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We were vacationing in Monterey. We ate at the Fish Hopper one night, cancelled our reservations at another Monterey restaurant for the next night and reserved again for Fish Hopper. We loved it in all respects, e.g. menu, food preparation, service, overall friendly atmosphere, etc. Enough said...

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sharing The Goods

Dined on May 6, 2016

We brought our coastal California friends to Fish Hopper - their first time. And all they could do was rave about the food and wine selection. One friend commented that the shrimp tasted like it was just caught and prepared, so fresh. My husband and I veered away from seafood (sort of) and had the rack of lamb with a tasty shrimp kabob as well as mashed potatoes and tasty vegetables. The meat was tender and well-seasoned. We also tried the salad wedge with blue cheese dressing and bacon that was delightful. One of our friends ate and loved the fish and chips. As always, we were given a table with a magnificent view of the Bay.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Favorite restaurant in Monterey

Dined on May 1, 2016

Fish Hopper is a great dining experience. The fresh seafood is delicious and artfully displayed with creative side dishes. The wait staff is very attentive. The view of Monterey Bay is fantastic, especially at sunset. You feel like you are on a cruise ship!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice service. Good food. Very romantic.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Nice service. Good food. Very romantic.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fish Hopper did it up well for my birthd ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Fish Hopper did it up well for my birthday! Best table closest to the large windows with two way ocean view; excellent GF meal of grilled salmon, mushroom risotto & a great mix of crispy veggies. The half bottle of Sauvignon Blanc was perfect. Due to being on Fish Hopper's mailing list, I received a free choice of dessert and picked the passion cake/cream with diced mangoes and papaya. Delightful! Fish Hopper never disappoints!

food3
ambience4
service3

Not the best but the view made up for it ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Not the best but the view made up for it ....I guess

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

post-marathon dinner

Dined on April 25, 2016

Our dinner at Fish Hopper was the evening of the Big Sur Marathon. It did not disappoint. Great fish and desserts. Would recommend for a celebration!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

awesome, picturesque table, great service...

Dined on April 23, 2016

great panoramic ocean view and the waiters were very accommodating... enjoyed our meals...would do it again... thanks to our waiters--Jerry and Jose!

food3
ambience4
service2

Fantastic view of the bay and ambience i ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

Fantastic view of the bay and ambience is great. Food and service passable.

food5
ambience4
service4

Outstanding clam chowder! Plus our swor ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Outstanding clam chowder! Plus our swordfish & salmon entrees were EXCELLENT, along with warm sour dough rolls!We even returned the following day to take a quart of chowder home to the Bay Area with us! We also bought additional sour dough rolls too!! We will return on our next visit to Monterey!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Hooked

Dined on April 16, 2016

I had family visiting from Boston and Monterey is such a beautiful spot we had to go. The weather was beautiful and thought why not have lunch at Canary Row over looking the ocean and what better place then the Fish Hopper. There were a couple minor mishaps with service but in the end there were seven of us so a nice group to have great conversation, enjoy some cocktails and great food. We had a great time.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!

Dined on April 16, 2016

We came here for our anniversary dinner. The food was delicious and we had a great view of the ocean. We were able to see a lot of sea life. We appreciate the manager coming to our table to make sure everything tasted great!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Favorite restaurant on Cannery Row.

Dined on April 10, 2016

The view is excellent. The food is real good. It's my favorite place on Cannery Row.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

Oversold and overpriced

Dined on April 3, 2016

Food was incredibly late and not hot when it arrived. Server and restaurant manager offered an unprompted apology when our food was served and offered up complimentary desserts. This was a good try but didn't account for the tepid temperature of our seafood order. This was the highest priced meal on our trip and far from the best meal we had. The food was average at best!

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service4

This is one restaurant where I urge you, ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

This is one restaurant where I urge you, don't judge a book by its cover. From the outside, Fish Hopper looks like a tourist trap, and the array of giant cocktails on display in the lobby doesn't help. But the food here is truly a mark of fine dining, and the chef should be applauded. Everything on the menu that we tried, and we tried a lot, was superb. The sommelier was also very helpful in helping us pair our food choices with some excellent wine. The service is great and the ocean view is magnificent. I would definitely come back with my family.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

disappointed after all the hype

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

very disappointing Chowder, almost no clams and few potatoes. more like a roux with strong flour flavor. Turkey avocado sandwich was good ,and the salads were great. the view is stunning.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Weekend dinner

Dined on March 20, 2016

Beautiful view, we had seafood pasta with a glass of wine, which was delicious. Good way to spend an evening.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3

The food was good and the view was Aweso ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

The food was good and the view was Awesome.

food5
ambience5
service5

Food was delicious

Dined on March 13, 2016

Food was delicious

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My teenage grandgirls cleaned their plates....

Dined on March 13, 2016

We had been to Fish Hopper several years ago. I chose the restaurant because we had such a great time the first time we were there. It was a special occasion, we were celebrating my oldest g'girl's 20th birthday. One ordered swordfish and the other a steak filet mignon . My daughter, their mother, had a fish combo plate (not the usual fried combo) and loved it. They loved their food. I had fish and chips and they were good but the portion was too big...that's not a complaint. I am not a big eater. They finished the meal with a special birthday surprise dessert, a brownie with ice cream. We shared a creme brulle'. My martini was pretty good as well. Will we be back. I can't wait for the next trip to Monterey.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waitress was great the manager check ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Our waitress was great the manager checked in to make sure everything was to our liking! Great experience. One thing to be sure of the correct Market price as we were quoted a lower amount and the item was $10 higher

food5
ambience5
service5

I love this restaurant! Food and service ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

I love this restaurant! Food and service were great! We got seated in less than 2 minutes after check in and our waitress was awesome! I recommend the Bucket of Fire drink!

food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Rainy evening in Monterey

Dined on March 12, 2016

Had reservations for 7pm on a Friday night. Got in quickly. Had window seat, not much to see at night. Seating was chilly on a rainy night. Service was too good, salad came and immediately so did entree. Felt rushed. Fish stew was EXCELLENT, fish and chips not so much. Our server was very outgoing and knew the wine and food choices.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Special place with an awesome view

Dined on March 7, 2016

Fish Hopper is our go to spot for ocean front dining. Went away from fish dishes this night and got the chicken over vegetables off the gluten free menu and the parmesan crusted chicken off the regular menu. Both were excellent, tender chicken, well seasoned, veggies just right. Rolls are nothing special, not served hot. Desserts looked great, but we were pleasantly full. Service was awesome, very professional. Little power failure just made the view even better after dark. We'll be back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food, great views. it is a little pricey.

Dined on March 6, 2016

Four of us came, we sat next to the window over looking the ocean. Great views. The food we ordered was really good. The price was high, we spent $57 each for lunch including tips only with 2 drinks.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fish Hopper Best Clam Chowder in Monterey

Dined on March 3, 2016

Our daughter was home from college and the go-to place was the Fish Hopper - especially for their Clam Chowder

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.