About Fish Hopper

Experience the beauty of the Pacific Ocean, combined with world class dining on historic Cannery Row within walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Newly renovated, The Fish Hopper, once an original sardine cannery building, offers spectacular views of the beautiful Monterey Bay from every table including our heated outdoor patio. The Fish Hopper specializes in fresh sustainable seafood, certified Angus beef, pastas and live shellfish. Our seafood is either locally caught or shipped in fresh daily; our produce is locally grown in the Salinas Valley. Some favorites are fresh Monterey Bay abalone, Macadamia-crusted halibut, our famous “Tomahawk Chop” long bone-in Rib Eye, or fresh Dungeness Crab. Start your meal with our famous award-winning clam chowder. Indulge in one of our many exotic cocktail creations or enjoy a glass or bottle from our extensive wine collection. While enjoying your delicious meal, you can watch sea otters at play and even see the occasional whale.

700 Cannery Row
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily:11:00am - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Prescott Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-8543

Website:
http://fishhopper.com/monterey/

Parking Details:
Cannery Row has numerous private parking lots as well as on-street parking.

Public Transit:
Cannery Row has free trolley service from various locations on the Monterey Peninsula with stops directly in front of the restaurant. There is also the normal public bus system which a stop within a short distance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Mohammed Tabib

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The FishHopper can accommodate any size party for your next special event. Please call 831-372-2406 for special event information

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Crispy Calamari and Artichokes - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Oysters - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Loaded Bloody Mary - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Pepper Crusted Albacore Tuna With Seared Scallops - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Lobster Pasta - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
64Oz Margarita - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Sesame Ahi Tuna And Coconut Shrimp Salad - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Appetiser Sampler - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Volcano - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Cheesecake - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Cajun Mahi Mahi & Shrimp Salaf - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Crab Crusted Sea Bass - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Chicken Platter - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Clam Chowder - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Scallops And Prawn Scampi - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Clam Chowder Bread Bowl - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Planter's Punch - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA
Grilled Artichoke And Fried Calamari - Fish Hopper, Monterey, CA

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Enjoy the most romantic evening of the year with a delicious meal for two with beautiful views. There is no better place to surprise your loved one!

Private Dining

We have a large seating capacity, that provides comfortable accommodations for groups up to 300 people, our new outdoor dining patio seating up to 90 people, a spacious full bar and lounge area and an excellent wine list. We can customize our menus to meet your group's needs, and exceed their expectations.

Fish Hopper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (53)
Scenic View (47)
Good for a Date (36)
See All
Special Occasion (28)
Romantic (27)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Casual (21)
Fun (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Cozy (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Family Style (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Authentic (7)
People Watching (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Healthy (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Business Meals (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Seasonal (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Historic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1303 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Consistently good--we've eaten here seve ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Consistently good--we've eaten here several times over the years. Love the views and the food.

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I live in Monterey and the Fish Hopper i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I live in Monterey and the Fish Hopper is the only place on Cannery Row I recommend to friends and guests. I have been there many times with family and friends and we have been disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food as usual was delicious. We had ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food as usual was delicious. We had the rockefeller oysters, shrimp and crab stuffed lobster and lobster ravioli with seared sea bass. We were slightly disappointed with the service and dessert. We had our rehearsal here 2 years ago so now we make it an annual tradition so we expected more from the service. Little details like coming back to ask for drinks, filling waters. Also, we had a complimentary dessert for our anniversary, when we told the waitress she immediately took the dessert options away and came back with a chocolate brownie/cakey type dessert. It was mediocore and very odd that we didn't get to choose our dessert and she didn't even ask. Overall though, we always enjoy our meal and would recommend to a friend.

Tags: Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

The food was good, ambiance was disappoi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was good, ambiance was disappointing and service was marginal. With so many excellent choices in the area, we wouldn't likely return.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Great great GREAT food and even better s ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Great great GREAT food and even better service! Going back again and again and again!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Waterfront, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always professional and welcoming. The s ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Always professional and welcoming. The service is great and the mushroom risotto is sensational!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We come here every time we go to Montere ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We come here every time we go to Monterey! Love the ciopinno!

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were really excited to try Fish Hoppe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We were really excited to try Fish Hopper. When I set up the reservation I ask for the best seats possible because we were celebrating a special occasion. When we arrived I asked again to make sure we got the best seats available. The hostess sat us right by the server area that had a door leading outside that was constantly being left open with a huge cold breeze. we had two children with us 7/9, there was no indicator of them being inappropriate or loud. When I asked for a better seat she said they are booked already. I liked the options on the gluten-free menu. I had Sandabs. They were average. They were supposed to come with A basil sauce; however it came with a lemon cream sauce with heavy chunks of garlic. The server knew less about the gluten-free options then I did by just doing my research on the Internet. Overall it was an average experience. I did not get sick which was a good. The kids menu was limited and very basic with only one fish option, fish and chips :(

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Had a great experience celebrating two b ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Had a great experience celebrating two birthdays! My favorite restaurant in Monterey! Thank you and will always return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great - service even better. Th ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Food was great - service even better. The restaurant is in a great location that would do well with bad food and service but they did a great job and made a great experience for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The portion of the seafood pasta and the ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The portion of the seafood pasta and the fish and chips wasn't very big for how expensive it was. The food was very good though! The service was good, but it took about 10 minutes for someone to take our drink order. The restaurant isn't baby friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

My honey treated me to a special Birthda ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My honey treated me to a special Birthday/New Year's Eve dinner. We were both surprised by the complimentary appetizer and dessert. Nicki was a great server; very attentive and made wonderful recommendations!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Cozy, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hostess got us seated right away enjoyed ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Hostess got us seated right away enjoyed our evening with family thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I thought using Open Table reservations ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I thought using Open Table reservations were able to get a better table, but it was not the case here at Fish Hopper. We've eaten here in the past with similar results. Even though the restaurant was not even half full by time we sat at about 8 o'clock, we were relocated to the table right next to the passageway to and from the kitchen back of house. There was a lots of noise from the bussers and the bins in the carts going back-and-forth. That's why I gave it a very noisy rating. The attention from all the staff was better than usual ,the food was fair. I expected better in such a slow night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

We were apprehensive about dining there ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We were apprehensive about dining there as it is smack dab in the middle of all of the touristy spots in Monterey and we were looking for good seafood, not a tourist vibe but we were very pleasantly surprised. The menu selection is not huge but lots of local ingredients including broiled local sardines which was my husband's all time favorites. I think Vivolo's chowder is way tastier but the sand dabs were good. The wine selection is good and again full of local wines. We are to be soon residents in Pacific Grove and plan on returning often.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Tourist Trap

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Tourist Trap

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

Would recommend as a good sit down place ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Would recommend as a good sit down place for good food. Kids menu options had large portions as well. That's hard to find at resturants. Preferred over the other close resturants and will probably make this one of our treat stops when we visit the aquarium.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 43rd wedding ann ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We were celebrating our 43rd wedding anniversary. We were seated at a lovely table w great view. Our server, though, was not at all knowledgeable about wine. We ordered a wine that she returned to say was unavailable. Her recommendation was accepted, brought, opened, and not acceptable. We had to return the wine and order another. In CA, we have come to expect service to include friendly wine service. Additionally, the adjacent table was another anniversary couple. They were offered a dessert. We were not. However, we did then order dessert anyway. The DiSarrano/pomegranate cocktail was DELICIOUS.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

We visit this restaurant every time we f ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We visit this restaurant every time we find ourselves in Monterey. The food and ambiance are outstanding. The customer service goes above and beyond. Excellent wine list.

Tags: Cozy, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, , Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and beautiful place to eat

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food and beautiful place to eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Dinner was wonderful, the scallops with ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Dinner was wonderful, the scallops with shrimp in a white bean stew was very tasty and served hot as expected. Jose was wonderful with water, attentive service, and great attitude.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We made a special trip to Monterey to ha ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We made a special trip to Monterey to have lunch at the Fish Hopper. We have been to this restaurant several times and have always had excellent service and outstanding food. Unfortunately, this was not our experience on this visit. Service was mediocre and food was average. The clam chowder, one of the well known items on the menu, was bland. If the prices reflected this level of service and cuisine it would be understandable; they do not. It was over $250 for a party of 6 for lunch. Sadly, this will probably be our last visit to the Fish Hopper.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

It was my first time dining here, I rese ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 26, 2016

It was my first time dining here, I reserved a table at this restaurant because my fiancee was born on Christmas day and it's really difficult to find open restaurants on such a day as the 25th, after a quick Google search and a little digging, I found this gem with great reviews and recommendations I was sold! I booked a table for 2 for dinner and upon arrival we were seated quickly, the experience was great, food was delicious! And I would definitely come back again :)

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Waterfront, Cozy, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The staff is just wonderful!

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The staff is just wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful alternative to dining at home ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Wonderful alternative to dining at home for Christmas dinner. Staff was attentive, our server was over the top great, food was absolutely delicious and perfectly prepared, drinks were good, and really enjoyed the friendly atmosphere. Gorgeous views of Monterey Bay, even at night.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Second time we have been here. Impressed ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Second time we have been here. Impressed with the service, quality of food, and of course the location.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place, great for meals or bar ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Love this place, great for meals or bar scene. Kid menu is very expensive, $12 a plate, ouch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall the experience was not good. The ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Overall the experience was not good. The salad was mostly lettuce and the seafood platter had half a small crab that had very little meat. The ambience at night is dark and dingy as there is no view available. Restaurant was less than a quarter full so no need for reservation and still was fairly noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

All the food was delicious. Our chowder ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 11, 2016

All the food was delicious. Our chowder was excellent. The seafood was fresh and full of flavor. The only suggestion I have was adding some more balance to the halibut dish--a bitter vegetable to take the edge of that caramelized potato (which was pretty much a dessert) was the most logical choice.

Staff was prompt, courteous and very helpful with our choices! Would definitely come back; that cioppino is still on my radar. 😛

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was great, the waiter was well ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 5, 2016

The food was great, the waiter was well knowledge with the menu and checked on often but not to much. Had a great time!

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Dino was awesome!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Dino was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They tried twice to get our meals hot, d ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 25, 2016

They tried twice to get our meals hot, did not make it even the second time! Left over half the meals on our plates, then they asked was everything good? Just bad food, good service. Drop the fish and chips for sure and get everything hot. Yes, I still left a tip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Came here for a thanksgiving meal and wa ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Came here for a thanksgiving meal and was pleasantly surprised. Service was outstanding and everyone in our group of five really enjoyed their meals.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was a great restaurant in Monterey. ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This was a great restaurant in Monterey. We decided not to cook this year for Thanksgiving and decided to go out instead. While the turkey dinner was a little disappointing.. not as good as home cooked.. the view was phenomenal! I do kinda wish it was an enclosed indoor restaurant though BC of how cold it was but the heat lamps definitely made up for it! Overall, it was well worth it for the view. If we are back in town and decide to come back, it would have to be when it's warm out and I would order the steak instead BC I heard that was really really good. :-)

Tags: Kid-friendly, People Watching, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

This is the 4th year we have chosen Fish ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 24, 2016

This is the 4th year we have chosen Fish Hopper for our family Thanksgiving dinner and it never disappoints! Actually any time we are in Monterey, we try to make time for a great meal at Fish Hopper!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Fun, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Super touristy. Food was just okay.

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Super touristy. Food was just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

The location couldn't be better. The fo ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on November 22, 2016

The location couldn't be better. The food was good - but it took a long time to get. I have to guess that they were very busy that night. Everyone on the staff was very friendly and accommodating.

I will say that my entrée of bacon wrapped scallops was a little on the light side - containing only 2 scallops. It was very tasty though.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We have dined at the Fish Hopper many ti ...

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We have dined at the Fish Hopper many times over the years. The ocean views are some of the best you will find in the Monterey area. The service was up to par, but did have to ask for a water refill.

We started with the bacon wrapped scallop appetizer. It was succulent and tasty...very nice. My wife had the 10 Oz lobster tail with rice. She said it was perfect and tasted very fresh. I had the bone in ribeye steak with a baked potato and steamed veggies. It was grilled perfect and was delicious.

We continue to return because they are always consistent and have never been disappointed. You receive a good value for the cost. The food is always fresh and of high quality. I would recommend the Fish Hopper to those looking for a positive dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I don't write reviews often but am compe ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

I don't write reviews often but am compelled to write this. I took my 75 year old father to dinner on our vacation. The atmosphere is ok but lots of noise and no dampening of sound. It was difficult for him to hear me. The veggies served with the crusted halibut were cold. The clams in the chowder were chewy. I might go here for a cocktail and appetizer for the view but don't expect a quiet evening with spectacular food. I expected a bit more for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We we were there for my husbands birthda ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We we were there for my husbands birthday, great food, great service and a special desert for his birthday. We had the seafood platter, fresh crab, scallops and prawns with saffron rice and roasted vegetables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.