Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 62 times today

Fish Hopper

4.3
1754 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Scenic View
  • Waterfront
  • Good for a Date
Experience the beauty of the Pacific Ocean, combined with world class dining on historic Cannery Row within walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Newly renovated, The Fish Hopper, once an original sardine cannery building, offers spectacular views of the beautiful Monterey Bay from every table including our heated outdoor patio. The Fish Hopper specializes in fresh sustainable seafood, certified Angus beef, pastas and live shellfish. Our seafood is either locally caught or shipped in fresh daily; our produce is locally grown in the Salinas Valley. Some favorites are fresh Monterey Bay abalone, Macadamia-crusted halibut, our famous “Tomahawk Chop” long bone-in Rib Eye, or fresh Dungeness Crab. Start your meal with our famous award-winning clam chowder. Indulge in one of our many exotic cocktail creations or enjoy a glass or bottle from our extensive wine collection. While enjoying your delicious meal, you can watch sea otters at play and even see the occasional whale.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, Steak
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Open Daily:11:00am - 10:30pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(831) 372-8543
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Mohammed Tabib
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Prescott Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Cannery Row has numerous private parking lots as well as on-street parking.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Cannery Row has free trolley service from various locations on the Monterey Peninsula with stops directly in front of the restaurant. There is also the normal public bus system which a stop within a short distance of the restaurant.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
The FishHopper can accommodate any size party for your next special event. Please call 831-372-2406 for special event information
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1754 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
4.4
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined 5 days ago

Ordered crusted Ahi, wasn't very crusted and the fish had some dark meat in it, which always is the strong fishy taste. Pleasant setting with ocean view. quiet enough to have a normal conversation. Convenient location to walk to and from our hotel on Cannery Row.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

They gave us a very special table and pampered us

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

This time dining here wasn't as great as prior experiences but the ambience was still vert nice, with a great view of the bay. The food was ok, the "Chef's Special" was nothing too special. I wasn't too pleased with our server either: she didn't seem genuine. I still recommend this place if you're looking for a nice evening out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Food was very great. Ordered the Special seafood platter - plenty of food for 2-3 people, great price. Bit loud in the restaurant - but, they can't really control that because of the size of the place. Staff was very friendly and Mango margaritas were yum!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Hervorragend zum Essen. Direkt an der Cannery Row. Aufgrund vieler Familien sehr laut.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Everything was perfect. I can’t wait to come back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Gave us the best seat in the house for our mini honeymoon. Food was phenomenal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Food was delicious and serving was amazing

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

The staff gave us the best table in the house with a sweeping 180 degree view of Monterey Bay from the Monterey Bay Aquarium to the Wharf! The staff were all friendly, helpful and capable. A very memorable occasion!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Always good and fresh seafood. I like to try new items and the Cajon snapper was very filling, but could have used a little more of the aioli

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mid-afternoon Mother's Day: We all had seafood entrees, which was all excellent. Started with an appetizer, and didn't bother with soup or salad. (They do have a great clam chowder, which can be a meal) Vegetables very fresh and cooked just right, thoughtful mix of flavors, serving strong vegetables like broccoli with the Cajun seared tuna, and spinach and milder vegetables with the stuffed sole. Fried prawns were very large, and serving was generous. Pasta in the Ultimate seafood plate was fabulous - creamy, very fresh - was so good it almost outshone the wonderful lobster tail. The bread is very good, but just a nice soft french roll - nothing unique. No one ordered alcohol at our table.

Final price was close to double our normal dinner-out budget, but worth it for a very special meal in a unique location. People with reservations are apparently given the window seats, an appropriate perquisite on a day with good weather.

Noise level was not quiet, but never intrusive, even in the dining area that juts out from the restaurant toward the water with glass on all sides.

This is not a "jackets and ties" place at lunch - some people showed up in very casual wear, apparently whatever they had in their suitcase. Our family was dressed casual-nice, and did not feel out of place. Staff were always accommodating, if not a little casual. For a busy Mother's Day, the waiter came by often enough, didn't have to wait for too long for him. I was a little surprised that they did not take our plates away and pack the leftovers for us, instead handing us the boxes to do it ourselves. No biggie, we greatly enjoyed our meal anyway. The desserts were delicious too.

We would not hesitate to go back, except for the price, but there are entrees under $20. With and appetizer and two desserts for four people, our meal was about $43 per person, no alcohol, plus tip.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Octavio our Waiter was on point! Charming, attentive, got some good observation based quips in! Very happy I made the reservation on Open Table... without one the wait was 2 hours!
We were most fortunate to be seated at a table that is amongst the seating that is closest to the Ocean outside. My folks are a little older and are sensitive to cold. The heat lamps took care of that.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We always celebrate mother’s day at Fish Hopper. The service and ambience are ver good. Excellent service and nice view.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I have gone to the Fish Hopper many times over the last twelve years and have always enjoyed my meals and the serving staff. I appreciate the wine selection too.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I had dinner here with my partner and a couple friends. It was a mediocre experience.

The food was overall just OK. Nothing was bad but nothing was truly outstanding either. I didn't care for the crab cakes, thought they were too bland. One of our friends, however, thought they were very good. To each their own, I guess... There was nothing special about the clam chowder. Again, it wasn't bad, but just didn't standout in comparison to the several other places from which we tried the same dish. Between the four of us, we got several kinds of seafood and a steak. The steak was good, though slightly over cooked (closer to medium well than medium). We noticed that as soon as we got it, but didn't wanna make a fuss as they were quite busy and we weren't feeling super picky at the moment... The crab-stuffed shrimp were tasty but the coconut shrimp we're bland. Similarly, the sea bass was flavorful but the salmon wasn't. I didn't care for the scalloped potatoes, but they did a good job with the green beans. I really like creme brulee, so insisted on ordering one for dessert. I saw a review saying it was too thin and thought perhaps the reviewer was a bit picky, but after getting the desert I understood what they meant. It wasn't satisfying because it was too thin, almost runny. It seemed like a cheap version of itself. Again, the food wasn't bad but was overall just OK. For a final bill of about $50 per person after tax and tip, I don't think it's worth it.

I do think they have good service. The front-of-house staff seemed to function efficiently and our food came out at reasonable times, suggesting the back-of-house staff were also working diligently. Also, they have great views. We got an awesome table right at the window over the water and were able to watch some sea otters and harbor seals swimming around while the evening turned to night. That was probably the best part of the experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Very nice place and awesome view! I was in a business trip and my husband and I went to Fish Hopper for dinner. We had views of the water in Cannary Row. Huge alcohol selection including hand crafted cocktails, beer, and wine. Both ate seafood, really taste great. Definitely recommend if you visit the Monterey area. It is expensive....since its seafood but well worth it!

We had a glass of red, and white wine, calamari, seafood Isabella- that looked amazing, and fish and chips- got it with the haddock fish that was fresh. Ended with a banana cheesecake that we split.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

I had been to Fish Hoper once before and enjoyed it immensely, but my husband wasn’t with me. I decided to surprise him as he had taken me to a surprise restaurant on my birthday in March. I hinted we were going to San Jose from Santa Cruz, so he was totally miffed when I headed south! Since he eats no seafood, I told him he’d hate the name! 😀 We had a fantastic evening, a wonderful waiter, fancy drinks, swordfish & filet, and an incredible free desert next to the window! My husband was totally thrilled with his surprise! We’ll be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Thank you for a lovely evening and wonderful food. The desert was amazing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Found on Cannery Row during an impromptu trip to Monterrey - took our 2 year old and 4 year old with us. Sat on the deck with a great view of the coast - kids menu was perfect for us. My wife and I were looking for some local seafood - tried the local halibut fish and chips, local grilled sardines and an old favorite sand dabs. We found the fish fresh and cooked very well - our only let down was the fried calamari appetizer that was cold and tasted as if it was cooked hours ago - not to mention a small portion for the price.
Our server was a definite plus for the experience - Daniel was charming and engaging not just with the adults but with the kids too - a big plus and made up for the calamari.
I would go back with a group next time in the area.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

EXCELLANT service, food was great. Expensive, but you expect that in Monterey

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Every time we are in Monterey we always make a point to have dinner there. The food is always amazing. I have recommended this place to many

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

The food was excellent and the service was great. Me and my wife enjoyed it very much.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Birthday meal with my daughters...

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 5, 2018

My husband and I dined with our 11-year old granddaughter. We made a reservation for "3" and requested a window view if available. We were shown a table on the deck between families with small children. When I asked for indoors, we were shown a table by the bar - very noisy and heavily trafficked location. When I pointed to the main dining area where there were several available tables, I was told that section was "adults only". We were ready to walk away but I asked for a booth in the other dining room where there were other pre-teen and teenage children. Our server had to "get special permission" to seat us in that area.

The evening would have been a disaster if it weren't for our waiter, Donnie, who was gracious, personable, and professional. He treated us very well and saved our evening. Kudos to Donnie!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Great greeting staff. We were welcomed with smiles. Seated to our table with the best view. Donnie, our server didn’t get to us till 7 minutes later. We received our bread before Donnie greeted us and got our drink orders. He never asked us how we liked the food or if we needed anything. If he did, we would have told them the food was still raw and needed to be cooked a little longer. Even when he grabbed our plates he never asked why we didn’t eat our food. Just asked if we needed a box or not. It was not even busy. Only 6 tables were filled in his station. Crab cakes were delicious. Steak was still raw in the middle. Didn’t appreciate feeling rushed. Best view of the bay.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Delicious food, impeccable service, & a spectacular view! I’ve eaten here many times & they never disappoint!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

We decided to have dinner at the Fish Hopper on our second night in Monterey. It was a great choice. We were seated at a window table where we could watch the sunset and be entertained by the seals. We ordered the Monterey sardines as our appetizer and they were absolutely delicious! Our wild salmon entree was cooked and seasoned perfectly. The Bernardus pinot noir which we had with our meal was a good choice and tasted just as good as it did in their tasting room this afternoon. We saved room for the creme brulee and it was a perfect ending to our favorite dinner on our five day trip to Monterey and Paso Robles to visit some wineries and California missions.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 30, 2018

The service here was atrocious. I've never had such horrible service, particularly at such a high priced restaurant. When you are paying these kinds of prices, for small portions, you should at least get outstanding service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

A favorite along Cannery Row. Pretty much anytime I am in the area for a weekend, Fish Hopper is one of our must dine places, lunch or dinner. Views are incredible, food delicious, and our service has always been friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Our weekend getaway to Pacific Grove was so fun! The Fish Hopper had great staff! Great food! BEAUTIFUL views!!!! We will return!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Awesome service great food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

One of the best restaurants for service and seafood in Monterey! We went for an Anniversary lunch after going to the aquarium and it was AMAZING!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Yummy, Great seafood!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

The service and food was excellent! Our server and the chef went out of their way to call a sister restaurant in order to make us the clambake clam chowder bowl. Outstanding!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Food was delicious...service started out great however fell off & became poor. Will definitely try somewhere different next time I visit the Monterey area.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

we were in town from the east coast and were lucky enough to find this gem. we let them know it was our anniversary. They picked a table with a great view watching the seal ions, service was great as well as the food. Thanks!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Always great food, and the view is amazing. We have been here with and without our kids and they are always accommodating.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

The variety of fish is local and excellent. My favorite dish is sand dabs. Views are spectacular - ocean and beach.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Excellent food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Amazing view, ambiance, service, and food! Definitely recommend it for people visiting Monterey.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
44