Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.04mi
  4. Distance: 0.08mi

About Fish Hopper

Experience the beauty of the Pacific Ocean, combined with world class dining on historic Cannery Row within walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Newly renovated, The Fish Hopper, once an original sardine cannery building, offers spectacular views of the beautiful Monterey Bay from every table including our heated outdoor patio. The Fish Hopper specializes in fresh sustainable seafood, certified Angus beef, pastas and live shellfish. Our seafood is either locally caught or shipped in fresh daily; our produce is locally grown in the Salinas Valley. Some favorites are fresh Monterey Bay abalone, Macadamia-crusted halibut, our famous “Tomahawk Chop” long bone-in Rib Eye, or fresh Dungeness Crab. Start your meal with our famous award-winning clam chowder. Indulge in one of our many exotic cocktail creations or enjoy a glass or bottle from our extensive wine collection. While enjoying your delicious meal, you can watch sea otters at play and even see the occasional whale.

700 Cannery Row
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily:11:00am - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Prescott Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-8543

Website:
http://fishhopper.com/monterey/

Parking Details:
Cannery Row has numerous private parking lots as well as on-street parking.

Public Transit:
Cannery Row has free trolley service from various locations on the Monterey Peninsula with stops directly in front of the restaurant. There is also the normal public bus system which a stop within a short distance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Mohammed Tabib

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The FishHopper can accommodate any size party for your next special event. Please call 831-372-2406 for special event information

Private Dining

We have a large seating capacity, that provides comfortable accommodations for groups up to 300 people, our new outdoor dining patio seating up to 90 people, a spacious full bar and lounge area and an excellent wine list. We can customize our menus to meet your group's needs, and exceed their expect

Fish Hopper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (85)
Waterfront (82)
Special Occasion (50)
See All
Good for a Date (46)
Romantic (39)
Great for Lunch (38)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Local Ingredients (34)
Casual (33)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Good for Groups (26)
Worth the Drive (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Fun (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Kid-friendly (20)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Authentic (17)
Healthy (17)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
People Watching (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Bar Seating (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Cozy (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Business Meals (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Seasonal (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tapas (4)
Historic (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Organic (2)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
1474 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Great place to eat! Loved the birthday desert surprise from the chef! Outdoor seating was perfect since it has heat lamps .

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Bryan the manager was very accommodating and there isn't a better server on the planet than Donnie. He's been there since 1993. Ask for him. He's the greatest

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

I became ill from the food. Our table smelled like old dishwater. Take out counter employees talked about their boyfriends during our entire meal. The only thing good about the food was it made the service look good.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

The view and the clam chowder was worth dining here! The food was nothing special, but I'd give it a second chance and try something else in the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 7 days ago

Our waiter Jim was excellent. He served us 2x this weekend. He made our visit. The view is always excellent and the food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My sister and I spending the day with our mother. She had a wonderful time.
Thank you for the fantastic service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Our waiter Jim was excellent. The seafood was fresh and good. The views are spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The bay view and outdoor patio (covered and over the bay) is Fish Hopper's best asset. The food was decent and reasonably priced, but wasn't anything amazing. The service was pretty decent although there were a couple of slow moments, but our server was charming and a delight.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Very good restaurant with fine food and views. Had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Beautiful location. Food was wonderful - try the clam chowder. Service was good. It was busy but that's the sign of a good restaurant. Had a wonderful time.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

This restaurant was very noisy and there were only 3 bathroom stalls for a large capacity dining room --- which means lines in the ladies room. The server gave me attitude over my needing to request gluten and dairy free choices on the menu. This place is NOT good for someone who has to avoid wheat and dairy. Most restaurants above a certain pay grade either have options ready or are willing to suggest fixes to existing dishes. The Fish Hopper server informed me that the carb choices were rice, bread and potatoes. Both the rice and the potatoes were PRE-MADE and both contained dairy. I repeated what he'd said, partly in disbelief and to be sure I'd understood him correctly (it was noisy) and he confirmed it, then added, "You must have had this experience in other restaurants, haven't you?"
In the end I got a salad of barely steamed vegetables with no dressing, and a salmon filet on top. After tasting the food I realized there was no dressing and requested oil and vinegar. With them I salted and peppered the vegetables and tossed them together to make a decent salad. The vegetables themselves were quite nice.
Others at my table with no dietary restrictions were also generally unsatisfied with their meals... nothing was terrible, just rather pedestrian.
The view was lovely, we saw many kayakers and larger boats, and even a sea otter. My kids liked that.
My kids didn't eat much at The Fish Hopper -- they disliked both the kid spaghetti and the kid hamburger. By 5:30 we'd made it up to Pacifica and had dinner at La Costanera, which is Peruvian and seafood. They ate that very well -- they're not "picky eaters."
In conclusion, I noticed that The Fish Hopper has a food window where they sell fried fish, fries and etc to take away. If you have no food restrictions, that would probably be a great option and good value for money. It certainly smelled good!
Sorry I couldn't give more stars. We were disappointed with this place.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Clam chowder tasted fishy. Fish and Chips were blah. View was amazing and service was good. Overall would return just for the view and setting and try something else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Fish Hopper had a bad night when we were in. It happens. Waitress took off and it took 3 or 4 attempts to get our order submitted and started again. Good job that there was no rush on our part. The mild panic meant that we were asked a few too many times if we were OK when nothing had happened order/drink-wise.

The team pulled together and thanks to some friendly service and the help of a few local seals putting on a show, we made it through.

Bloody Marys were fun - one 'ultimate' is probably enough!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Atmosphere and view were great. Server was very pleasant. Food overall was a disappointment. If your specialty is fish and seafood, then that portion of the meal should be really good. Everything was very bland, not even much evidence of salt and pepper.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 8, 2017

First impression:
The server's blouse was wrinkled, dirty, and fit horribly ( too small).

Sand dabs were greasy. Potatoes were dry and bland.

Manager was approaching sever tables apologizing for on thing or another.

We were offered free deserts,etc but really lost my appetite at that point.

Second time there and more unimpressed.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 8, 2017

your service starts with your hisye

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I really liked that they made our special visit very special with a nice view, great food and service. Thank you for taking the time and effort on making the Birthday and anniversary special.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Love the vistas! The halibut was outstanding. And the volcano drink was awesome.

Tags: Waterfront, Casual, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 6, 2017

We had a fantastic waitress and experience overall! The food was great we had the BEST table for a special occasion and cant say more about how happy we were with our dinner. The WAITRESS was THE best!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We had a window table. Excellent service and food. Must go!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 4, 2017

We had a wonderful experience. This is one of our favorite restaurants at Cannery Row. The ambiance is always nice and the service is superb. It is right in the middle of Cannery Row and a great place to go to for dinner. After dinner you can enjoy a nice walk and enjoy the scenery and stores.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Loved the food and service. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 3, 2017

I love the place! It was a special occasion for both my parents and me the day before I made reservation nearby the window so that we can the beautiful ocean/sea of Monterey Bay. When we got there on the time of reservation, we were seated at the table as requested. At that day they had a special menu that included a seafood platter (good for 2-3 people). Sure enough, it was a delicious meal! Although their foods are a little pricy, I think they're worth the price. :) I would definitely come back here for family gathering. Totally recommend making a reservation first so that people don't have to wait.

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Healthy, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The Fish Hopper provided a great break from an intense day enjoying the Monterey Aquaraium. It is very convenient, the view of the bay is excellent, service was great, and the food exceeded our expectations.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Always great food and awesome view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Excellent food and price is reasonable. Great service and we didn't have to wait too long for our food. Will definitely go back again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Amazing ocean front view of otters playing while dining - excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Totally overrated. I've had better chowder from a can and better salad at a panera. Prices were very high and the service was poor. The only good thing was the waterfront view. At least I got to see a dolphin and a sea otter while I was eating my overpriced and subpar meal. My advice is eat somewhere cheap and go to the aquarium instead.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 29, 2017

First of all I was not happy to have to make my reservation on line with this app. I read that you have to check in ten minutes before your reservation time, which is inconvenient, if I wanted to get there before my appointed time I would have a different reservation. When we do arrive at the restaurant there were three hostesses to wait on us, why couldn't one of them be answering the phones? Customer service? Anyway we got seated right away, then had to wait at least twenty minutes to get our drink order in. I was told the proseco was a split, two glasses, it wasn't it was a glass, one of those little bottles that come in the four packs at the grocery store$10.00 what a rip off. we had terrible service with many delays in the ordering , the waitress disappeared after the drink orders, then didn't return again to take our order for our meal. When we received our food, we had to ask a busboy for bread and water because our waitress was nowhere to be found. Overall the food was good, nothing special, but very expensive. We have eaten at other places in this neighborhood and feel we got better service and food I don't think we'll be going back, which is a shame as this is where my husband took me on our first date, 40+ years ago!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Thank you, Carlo and Deni for making our wedding anniversary dinner special. It met my expectations and more.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Our waitress was high on something. Our appetizer came out minutes after we placed our order as if it was prepared ahead of time. It was cold but our high waitress was nowhere to be found. Our food came before we finished the appetizer and mine wasn't what I ordered. They rectified pretty quickly. The menus were dirty. The food was just ok. Not bad not great. Scenery was nice. The linen napkins shed all over our pants and shirts. I was so embarrassed.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 28, 2017

The ahi was great! We got to watch the otters and seals playing and a small group of dolphins.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Overall a good experience. My husband and I had dinner at sunset and the views were gorgeous. We made a reservation just in case but a better table opened prior to our reservation that we were given. We sat on the patio; appreciated the outdoor heaters as it did get chilly! Overall our meals were good, my husband enjoyed the blackened mahi mahi a little more than I enjoyed my crab stuffed prawn pasta. Drinks were good, pricing was just above average. Would go again but would personally order something different.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 26, 2017

The food lacked flavor. We were very disappointed!

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Everything we tried from the Ahi apetizer, clam chowder (must add crab) entrees, and dessert was delicious.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Waterfront, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The food was overpriced and not amazing. $19.00 for average ravioli. Monterey in general is overpriced...go further south to SLO and Pismo for better food and better prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Was seated promptly at our reservation time. They acknowledged our Anniversary and Birthday! It was a special trip so it was greatly appreciated! Thank you! See you again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We were introduced to the fish hopper a short while after our son and his wife wed. That was eighteen years ago. We visit the area at least once, as many as four times a year. And with each visit the fish hopper is a must. Our most recent evening was our son and daughter-in-law's wedding anniversary and our dining experience was delightful as always.

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The Fish Hopper is a favorite of ours. We have always had great service. Now hat we have a 18 month old child, we are glad that Fish Hopper is child Friendly. As you probably know, many places in the Monterey area are not. Big plus. It is our first time making advance reservations. We definitely like the convince of the service. Will use it again and recommend it to our friends. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Overall great experience- but a bit touristy. The food was very good although the clam chowder was disappointing.; hardly no clams or any fish flavor and heavy on the cream. Our waitress did not ask us for our drink order which was also disappointing. The rest of our plates were beautifully crafted and very flavorful.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.