About Fish Hopper

700 Cannery Row
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Experience the beauty of the Pacific Ocean, combined with world class dining on historic Cannery Row within walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Newly renovated, The Fish Hopper, once an original sardine cannery building, offers spectacular views of the beautiful Monterey Bay from every table including our heated outdoor patio. The Fish Hopper specializes in fresh sustainable seafood, certified Angus beef, pastas and live shellfish. Our seafood is either locally caught or shipped in fresh daily; our produce is locally grown in the Salinas Valley. Some favorites are fresh Monterey Bay abalone, Macadamia-crusted halibut, our famous “Tomahawk Chop” long bone-in Rib Eye, or fresh Dungeness Crab. Start your meal with our famous award-winning clam chowder. Indulge in one of our many exotic cocktail creations or enjoy a glass or bottle from our extensive wine collection. While enjoying your delicious meal, you can watch sea otters at play and even see the occasional whale.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily:11:00am - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Prescott Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-8543

Website:
http://fishhopper.com/monterey/

Parking Details:
Cannery Row has numerous private parking lots as well as on-street parking.

Public Transit:
Cannery Row has free trolley service from various locations on the Monterey Peninsula with stops directly in front of the restaurant. There is also the normal public bus system which a stop within a short distance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Mohammed Tabib

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The FishHopper can accommodate any size party for your next special event. Please call 831-372-2406 for special event information

Restaurant Photos

Oysters
Loaded Bloody Mary
Cajun Mahi Mahi & Shrimp Salaf
Cheesecake
Crispy Calamari and Artichokes
Lobster Pasta
Pepper Crusted Albacore Tuna With Seared Scallops
64Oz Margarita
Sesame Ahi Tuna And Coconut Shrimp Salad
Appetiser Sampler
Volcano
Crab Crusted Sea Bass
Chicken Platter
Clam Chowder
Grilled Artichoke And Fried Calamari
Planter's Punch
Scallops And Prawn Scampi
Clam Chowder Bread Bowl

Private Dining

We have a large seating capacity, that provides comfortable accommodations for groups up to 300 people, our new outdoor dining patio seating up to 90 people, a spacious full bar and lounge area and an excellent wine list. We can customize our menus to meet your group's needs, and exceed their expectations.

Fish Hopper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
California Central Coast
Scenic View
Monterey / Carmel
Seafood
Monterey / Carmel
1 More
Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Monterey ›

scenic view (131)
special occasion (78)
romantic (61)
See All
fit for foodies (48)
great for lunch (44)
good for groups (42)
great for outdoor dining (34)
kid-friendly (25)
hot spot (23)
neighborhood gem (20)
notable wine list (17)
great for brunch (17)
late-night find (12)
vibrant bar scene (8)
Sort By:
Newest
1162 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

some view places in many high tourist ar ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

some view places in many high tourist areas (eg, monterey) have a nice view but often are lacking in service, ambiance, cleanliness, quality of ingredients or all of the above. We were all very pleasantly surprised and thankful. The food had flavor, was nicely presented, and had a freshness to it. So happy to discover this place is not riding the tails of their location and view, but also turning out great meals.

Tags: good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The restaurant was nice, the waitress wa ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined 5 days ago

The restaurant was nice, the waitress was friendly, although she didn't hear me say that I wanted dessert and rang up our check before the dessert was added. The food was very "blah." My boyfriend's filet mignon had virtually no flavor at all and neither did my lobster tail. It was a lot of money for food that was mediocre. We went to another restaurant in Monterey the next night and it was less than half the price and the food was 100 times better.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

Great food, great view, great service. W ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great food, great view, great service. We felt very well taken care of. The clam chowder was delicious. The calamari was tasty. Can't wait to go again!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Friendly service with a great view. Over ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Friendly service with a great view. Overpriced but tasty.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

Beautiful day for a wonderful meal with ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful day for a wonderful meal with awesome views! We will be back. Great service. The macadamia crusted fish and ahi tuna salad was perfect for lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

beautiful views of the Monterey harbor. ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined 7 days ago

beautiful views of the Monterey harbor. Make reservations to get a table by the window for fabulous sunset views. Wait staff is attentive and helpful. Great cocktails and good seafood.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Out Fish Hopper table had beautiful view ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 7 days ago

Out Fish Hopper table had beautiful views in every direction. A nice place for a break from visiting the Monterey Aquarium. I had the sand dabs, which were very nicely done.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So romantic for our anniversary! We sat ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

So romantic for our anniversary! We sat over the ocean and listened to the waves on the beach during sunset-- like a date out of The Bachelor! We split two appetizers, an entree, and two of their 60 oz margaritas and everything was delicious. Omar was our server and he was so polite and made our experience so fun! We will for sure be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thank you for updating my request for di ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Thank you for updating my request for dinner at 5pm. We enjoyed our scenic meal which was delicious as usual , especially enjoyed Ho'rdurves

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had reservations for 12:30 and 3 of 5 ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We had reservations for 12:30 and 3 of 5 of us were there ...my brother was finding parking for his very large pickup w my husband. The host/hostess were very amicable and assured me that there no problem. We were seated w my requested window/ocean view table. Our waiter, George, was very friendly, attentive, accurate and surprised us w 4 birthday desserts - our special occasion (Summer Sib Birthday Lunch). "Friendly" reservations, excellent food, awesome service, beautiful views of the Monterey Bay = A Perfect lunch for my sibs.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Emily was amazing!! She was so efficient ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Emily was amazing!! She was so efficient, fun, and the sweetest!❤️️❤️️

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Fish Hopper is also owned by the sam ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The Fish Hopper is also owned by the same people who own The Old Fisherman's Grotto. Both were different and excellent. One on one wharf and one on the other. Made for excellent dining two nights in a row!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first visit to Fish Hopper ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was our first visit to Fish Hopper and we will not be going back. We met friends we haven't seen in years but it was difficult to catch up as our waiter tried to rush us throughout the meal. The calamari appetizer was good but my ahi tuna entree was the worst I have ever had because it was sinewy and flavorless. Even though the view from our table was spectacular, it is not enough to overcome the tasteless food and rushed service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Our waiter, Dino, was excellent. He help ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our waiter, Dino, was excellent. He helped make the evening memorable.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our families go-to place for a quick tri ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Our families go-to place for a quick trip to Monterey (from San Jose). This time was a celebration of my wife's birthday...Number @@

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food on our visit We had Ribs - t ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great food on our visit

We had

Ribs - they were excellent

Fish and chips - excellent

Seafood platter - excellent

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service and truly delicious food, ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great service and truly delicious food, beautiful presentation

One of the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great experience at the fish ho ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We had a great experience at the fish hopper and really enjoyed the views of Monterrey Bay. The food was fantastic and my family thoroughly enjoyed it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We got seated right away and there was q ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We got seated right away and there was quite a wait. Our server was awesome!! We were quite the high-maintenance group, too, and she met our high expectations big time! We asked for special dishes, etc. Our glasses were kept filled and we had a wonderful time. I would highly recommend this restaurant. I wish I could remember our servers name. It was a woman and she was great! We sat back in the back and had a great view.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can't go wrong with The Fish Hopper! ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

You can't go wrong with The Fish Hopper! The food is always quite good and the service is impeccable. We brought our own wine so we didn't even look at the wine list. The menu is substantial and they usually have a few fresh fish specials. The prices are a bit higher than some other restaurants in Monterey however, the view and ambiance are worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food wasn't good. Hair in my salad. Ba ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food wasn't good. Hair in my salad. Bass and halibut mysteriously looked and tasted the same although they were different at Charthouse and at home.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

We enjoyed Fish Hopper very much. Usual ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We enjoyed Fish Hopper very much. Usually we don't expect much from a place in a tourist area like Cannery Row, but Fish Hopper was a nice surprise. The food was good. Our server was excellent. They also have a nice touch of doing something special for military veterans which we all greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great ocean view. Good selection, fun d ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great ocean view. Good selection, fun drinks, meal was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Solid for what it is. Ceviche all Camer ...

vip
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Solid for what it is. Ceviche all Camerones was quite nice. Chowder very creamy and rich. Nice views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

The food was soooooo good! The wait staf ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

The food was soooooo good! The wait staff was very prompt and anticipated our needs. We sat at a table next to a giant window overlooking all of Monterey Bay . Overall awesome experience !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was poor and the food was good ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Service was poor and the food was good (except the oysters Rockefeller- horrible), but not worth the price, even if there was a view.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

the view was great since we got a table ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

the view was great since we got a table for 2 at the window. the food was very good. the waiter was nice but rushed us a bit. very busy 4th of july weekend so probably trying to hurry but there were other tables open so no one would have to wait for us to leave. bought a coffee mug.

Tags: romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Celebrated anniversary at Fish Hopper. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Celebrated anniversary at Fish Hopper. Food, including a Caesar's Salad and Swordfish, was excellent. The Swordfish was some of the best I have ever tasted. Service was excellent! Awesome view! Great restaurant, highly recommended!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I loved their garlic bread clam chowder ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I loved their garlic bread clam chowder bowl--but this latest visit left me a little disappointed. The waiter seemed to take my concerns seriously, so I hope the next time I visit, I'll be able to have my favorite garlic bread bowl clam chowder again! Love this place!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I came here on our honeymoon ...

 
 (Fargo)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My wife and I came here on our honeymoon as recommended by an uncle. He said the food was great but it is for sure pricy at nearly $40 a plate on some lunch items. We were not disappointed at all with anything and found it easy to pay that given the excellent food and service. We never had empty glasses and the servers never interrupted to see how we were doing. Their suggestions of what to get were also helpful as we usually don't get much seafood where we live.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our expectations were low based on the " ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our expectations were low based on the "look" of the place, but WOW! We were blown away by the excellent service we received from Andrea and the food was excellent. This is a great place for casual dining and very good seafood. Looks can be deceiving... we loved this place.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time and the food was ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We had a wonderful time and the food was delicious. Our server Kris was very attentive and very helpful with recommendations. The view was spectacular. My margarita wasn't that great but my halibut was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible view fine service, would have ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Incredible view fine service, would have enjoyed a larger entree menu for choices . Overall romantic with scenery and great ambience.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful ocean view... quintessential M ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Beautiful ocean view... quintessential Monterey dining and view

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was good and the food was tasty. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Service was good and the food was tasty. Didn't think the presentation was much and prices were a hair higher than anticipated compared to there sister location on Hawaii Island.

Not sure if there was other options for our side as our waiter did push us to have the mashed. Would have liked a vegetable but he basically ordered the sides for all of our party as the mashed.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This is a special place with outstanding ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This is a special place with outstanding views and superb service...this place is worth your time.

Make reservations ahead of time and expect to be treated as though you are important.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was okay. Very small portions for a ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food was okay. Very small portions for a very high price. Our waiter was very difficult to understand, but the good thing is the awesome ocean view.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Very good fish & seafood restaurant with ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Very good fish & seafood restaurant with nice oceanviews and an impressive wine list. Our crab cakes as a starter were great followed by two excellent tasty fresh fish dishes. The oceanview was wonderful as well as the friendly, attentive service. Not cheap but well worth the money.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

1st rate food. You guy`s are amazing! th ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

1st rate food. You guy`s are amazing! thank you. I enjoyed my Birthday dinner:)

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the Fish Hopper, right over the w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

I love the Fish Hopper, right over the water, magnificent views; great selection of fish and food,

great service, great drinks; bar looks like a neat place to hang out, need to try it in the future.

I do not live in the area or even close by, but when i am in the area, the Fish Hopper is my choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.