About Fish Hopper

700 Cannery Row
Monterey, CA 93940
View Larger Map

Experience the beauty of the Pacific Ocean, combined with world class dining on historic Cannery Row within walking distance to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Newly renovated, The Fish Hopper, once an original sardine cannery building, offers spectacular views of the beautiful Monterey Bay from every table including our heated outdoor patio. The Fish Hopper specializes in fresh sustainable seafood, certified Angus beef, pastas and live shellfish. Our seafood is either locally caught or shipped in fresh daily; our produce is locally grown in the Salinas Valley. Some favorites are fresh Monterey Bay abalone, Macadamia-crusted halibut, our famous “Tomahawk Chop” long bone-in Rib Eye, or fresh Dungeness Crab. Start your meal with our famous award-winning clam chowder. Indulge in one of our many exotic cocktail creations or enjoy a glass or bottle from our extensive wine collection. While enjoying your delicious meal, you can watch sea otters at play and even see the occasional whale.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Open Daily:11:00am - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Prescott Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(831) 372-8543

Website:
http://fishhopper.com/monterey/

Parking Details:
Cannery Row has numerous private parking lots as well as on-street parking.

Public Transit:
Cannery Row has free trolley service from various locations on the Monterey Peninsula with stops directly in front of the restaurant. There is also the normal public bus system which a stop within a short distance of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Mohammed Tabib

Private Party Facilities:
The restaurant offers numerous private party configurations all of which offer spectacular ocean views. We can accommodate almost any size party. The Fish Hopper offers off site catering of any size along with special events at many of our off site facilities.

Private Party Contact:
Candice McMeans: 831-372-2406x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The FishHopper can accommodate any size party for your next special event. Please call 831-372-2406 for special event information

Restaurant Photos

Oysters
Loaded Bloody Mary
Cajun Mahi Mahi & Shrimp Salaf
Cheesecake
Lobster Pasta
Pepper Crusted Albacore Tuna With Seared Scallops
Crispy Calamari and Artichokes
64Oz Margarita
Sesame Ahi Tuna And Coconut Shrimp Salad
Appetiser Sampler
Volcano
Crab Crusted Sea Bass
Chicken Platter
Clam Chowder
Grilled Artichoke And Fried Calamari
Planter's Punch
Scallops And Prawn Scampi
Clam Chowder Bread Bowl

Fish Hopper Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
California Central Coast
Scenic View
Monterey / Carmel
Seafood
Monterey / Carmel
1 More
Most Booked
Monterey / Carmel
Best Restaurants in Monterey ›

scenic view (108)
special occasion (61)
romantic (51)
See All
great for lunch (38)
fit for foodies (35)
good for groups (29)
great for outdoor dining (28)
kid-friendly (18)
notable wine list (16)
great for brunch (14)
hot spot (12)
neighborhood gem (12)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1120 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place! Great food, service, v ...

Dined 5 days ago

Love this place! Great food, service, view and atmosphere! Best restaurant on Cannery row by far!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family and I had a great experience a ...

Dined 5 days ago

My family and I had a great experience at the restaurant, however this was almost all spoiled before our dining experience even began. I called 5 minutes before our reservation on Father's Day because we were running a bit late. However, they informed me that they no longer use open table and haven't for sometime! Luckily they were able to accommodate our party right away. I'm not sure who is responsible for advertising fish hopper on opentable if they are not using this system but our Father's Day celebration could have been ruined. Thank you again to George who was our server and fish hopper for accommodating us. Please correct this miscommunicTion with opentable

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We love this restaurant, every time we'r ...

Dined 6 days ago

We love this restaurant, every time we're in town we have to go there! And if you just wanna do a drive by, they're clam chowder and garlic prawns in the front are magnificent!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

How fabulous is it to sit just above the ...

Dined 6 days ago

How fabulous is it to sit just above the water with a full moon overhead, dining on great food and wine? Can't be beat!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We were there to celebrate our anniversa ...

Dined 6 days ago

We were there to celebrate our anniversary. I had the Wild Salmon with roasted vegetables and mushroom risotto. Everything was prepared to perfection. The vegetables were cooked but not to the point of being soggy. The green beans still had the fresh from the vine taste. The risotto was flavorful and not overpowered by the mushrooms. Definitely will eat there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Really enjoyed the ribs and ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food. Really enjoyed the ribs and shrimp. Fantastic view of the bay. Saw a seal swimming by. Very nice and attentive staff. All in all a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Open Table is a great source for excelle ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Open Table is a great source for excellent dining in unfamiliar areas. We were on vacation in Monterey and looking for seafood, good views, and location on historic Cannery Row. Online reviews led us to Fish Hopper - and we were thrilled with the experience. The food, beverages, service and view were all outstanding. This is a place we will definitely enjoy on our next visit.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service3

Monday dinner specials of macadamia nut ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Monday dinner specials of macadamia nut halibut and blackened sea bass lacked flavor/seasoning. Bed of vegetables under the halibut was overcooked and bland.

food4
ambience4
service5

Dining at Fish Hopper is a must when vis ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Dining at Fish Hopper is a must when visiting Monterey. The view is unbearable and the service is always top notch! Great food and generous portions which easily can be shared.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and ambience. Staff court ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent food and ambience. Staff courtesy was superb.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service!

Dined on June 11, 2016

They actually hire adults here to be servers. Not 20 somethings. It was so noticeable in their service. It was fantastic!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Very disappointed. The food tasted the s ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Very disappointed. The food tasted the same than in many restaurants, and fish and sea food were not well prepared. I could not feel the taste of the lobster I ordered. The dressing is too strong, so that the excellent taste of Monterey fish and sea food is spoiled. Wine was just OK, far from our expectations. However, staff made their best. They are not responsible for the food they bring.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

View and dinner too

Dined on June 11, 2016

Sitting on picturesque Monterey Bay, the Fish Hopper has great food, lots of selection, and a fabulous ambiance. It is a pleasurable location to share some food and wine with friends and family.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Fish Hopper Review

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

I knew coming in that Fish Hopper is more of the chain type of seafood restaurant, but I was unprepared of how poorly prepared their seafood was. We ordered a lot of things with crab and each dish containing it was disappointing. The crabcakes were made from over cooked crab meat and it was unpalatable. We tasted it and left it alone. It was dry and void of any flavor. The crab stuffed mushrooms suffered from the same problems. I ordered the seafood platter and was incredibly underwhelmed. The prawns and scallops were decently cooked, but still lacking. The crab was again overcooked and dry. The clarified buttered tasted old and lacked any seasoning. The service it self wasn't bad. Everyone was nice, attentive, and prompt. It is unfortunate the service couldn't save the paltry quality of the food. I would have honestly fared better, and paid less at a Red Lobster.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food and great view.

Dined on June 4, 2016

The service was outstanding. They took our drink order and delivered our drinks quickly. When we ordered, we also ordered an appetizer. We were asked if we want the appetizer before our clam chowder or with our clam chowder. The staff was gracious and our waitress was wonderful, Emily. We had a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Always Love the View!

Dined on June 3, 2016

I requested a window table with a view for a 4:30pm reservation, and when we checked in they offered us a choice of inside or outside along the water view. We chose inside at the end of the extension over the water with floor to ceiling windows, exactly what we hoped for. The service was great, and the food is fresh and good for Monterey, although gourmet foodies from bigger cities will probably find something to complain about anyway. You're paying for the waterfront location and view here, so book a window table to make the bill worth it. For Surf & Turf, Crab Cakes, 1 Glass Wine, and 2 Virgin Mojitos (no dessert) the bill was $110.00 plus Tip ($55 pp).

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service3

Good experience. Glad they accommodate c ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

Good experience. Glad they accommodate children. Nice view of the water.

food4
ambience5
service3

Good food, beautiful view and flexible w ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Good food, beautiful view and flexible with party size accommodation.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food

Dined on May 28, 2016

Food wasnt as good as it was last 3 times i was there cooked food different was not as tasty

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome suggestions.

Dined on May 28, 2016

Too bad I can't our server name. He was very attentive.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

It's not bad food but outrageously overpriced.

Dined on May 24, 2016

At about half the price I would have been happy. Definitely not gourmet but it was edible and the drinks were nice.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fish Hopper was very accommodating for m ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Fish Hopper was very accommodating for my father, who is in a wheelchair.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Tiffany was a perfect waitress for our family

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Our party of 6 came in on a very busy Saturday afternoon to celebrate a graduation. Tiffany did an incredible job of cheerfully meeting all the special meal requests in our group. She did it all with a big smile and lots of patience.

food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Pleasant enough experience. Good drinks ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Pleasant enough experience. Good drinks. Ahi Tuna and shrimp salad was good, but not the dressing. A vinergarette would better. Good dessert. Not cheap, but they can get away with it due to view and location.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This place is large, it is busy. They s ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

This place is large, it is busy. They serve a lot of people. The food reflects that. The need to pump out food takes precedent over flavor. The clam chowder was very good but my swordfish was bland and dry.

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Fish Hopper experience

Dined on May 15, 2016

I'm sure the food is much better than my choice of fish and chips. My only criticism is slow service. We waited to take our order, waited too long to receive our meal then waited too long for the check, more than 1.5 hours while seeing other parties around arrive and complete their meal while we sat waiting. Little attention from the server. A coworker highly recommended the Fish Hopper, so I believe this is an isolated experience. I would try again in the future.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Early lunch/brunch

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Stopped in at 10:30 am for a quick bite before an event. It was obvious that even though they say they open at 10:30 am and take reservations at that time that they were still getting ready and not really prepared for guests yet. Our waiter was helpful in speeding things up and getting us on our way. The loaded bloody mary's were amazing. The salad was incredible. The chowder just isn't as good as it used to be and very expensive.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fresh seafood on the water

Dined on May 14, 2016

I always like to ask my server for recommendations. She suggested the sea bass special, and it was absolutely fabulous! The fresh veggies and shrimp that accompanied it were equally delicious. An A+ experience!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, late-night find, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Dissappointed

Dined on May 9, 2016

Went to Fish Hopper for Mother's Day. The food was overpriced and underwhelming. Fish was bland. The sauce was off to the side, not on the fish (sand dabs) and fish was not very tasty. Also, found bones in one pice. You have to ask for bread--and you get one roll each. Overall, very disappointing.

food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We've been going here for several years ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

We've been going here for several years now and for some reason this time things seemed to have slipped.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

I was very disappointed

Dined on May 8, 2016

The service was ok but the food was like it was sitting for a while. We were in and out within 30 minutes. Felt very rushed. Entre arrived prior to appetizer. Very disappointing!!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Very Good, so definitely 'make reservations' !

Dined on May 8, 2016

A variety of foods consisting of many sea food items. And, almost all very appetizing. My wife traditionally orders the Salmon and as always fresh and moist... Why almost ? My two (sons) young men ordered entrees selected by our server, both sons were somewhat disappointed - so much for recommendations... But let me add the service was very attentive... So, like I said, 'definitely 'make reservations' ! This place is always on the go-to list. But I have to tell you even with our reservations - at check -in, we were told our table was being cleaned.. Nonetheless, we still had to wait about '20' minutes to be seated. not a good way to start a brunch for a party of '5' eating out on Mother's Day... (also, kind of disappointed not a little something for Mom or for my daughter's birthday ) as is common in many restaurants. One thing, however trite, was ordering the raspberry lemon-aid -(a favorite of mine) your 'first glass' is the raspberry, at a cost of $5.00, but subsequent refills are with 'straight' lemon-aid. - or pay another $5.00 (this was not mentioned) This is just like Wendy's - who would think here in the top rated restaurant ? If I knew about this I would have ordered a glass of fine wine!!!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Clam chowder to die for

Dined on May 8, 2016

Travelled from England to celebrate my husbands birthday. A wonderful meal and evening. Thank you so much.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

First time here. The food was amazing, t ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

First time here. The food was amazing, the views were fantastic and our server was very attentive. The clam chowder was delicious. We sat outside and got a great view of the water. We also got to see a sea lion come up on the shore, a pack of dolphins swim by and a full rainbow. It was quite an experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As Good as the First Time

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We were vacationing in Monterey. We ate at the Fish Hopper one night, cancelled our reservations at another Monterey restaurant for the next night and reserved again for Fish Hopper. We loved it in all respects, e.g. menu, food preparation, service, overall friendly atmosphere, etc. Enough said...

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sharing The Goods

Dined on May 6, 2016

We brought our coastal California friends to Fish Hopper - their first time. And all they could do was rave about the food and wine selection. One friend commented that the shrimp tasted like it was just caught and prepared, so fresh. My husband and I veered away from seafood (sort of) and had the rack of lamb with a tasty shrimp kabob as well as mashed potatoes and tasty vegetables. The meat was tender and well-seasoned. We also tried the salad wedge with blue cheese dressing and bacon that was delightful. One of our friends ate and loved the fish and chips. As always, we were given a table with a magnificent view of the Bay.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Favorite restaurant in Monterey

Dined on May 1, 2016

Fish Hopper is a great dining experience. The fresh seafood is delicious and artfully displayed with creative side dishes. The wait staff is very attentive. The view of Monterey Bay is fantastic, especially at sunset. You feel like you are on a cruise ship!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice service. Good food. Very romantic.

Dined on April 30, 2016

Nice service. Good food. Very romantic.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fish Hopper did it up well for my birthd ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Fish Hopper did it up well for my birthday! Best table closest to the large windows with two way ocean view; excellent GF meal of grilled salmon, mushroom risotto & a great mix of crispy veggies. The half bottle of Sauvignon Blanc was perfect. Due to being on Fish Hopper's mailing list, I received a free choice of dessert and picked the passion cake/cream with diced mangoes and papaya. Delightful! Fish Hopper never disappoints!

food3
ambience4
service3

Not the best but the view made up for it ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Not the best but the view made up for it ....I guess

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.