About Fish & Farm

424 Clay St.
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

With chocolate brown tufted booths, rich bamboo flooring, and seating for only 48 Fish & Farm emphasizes a civilized place in which to enjoy a menu of organic produce and all sustainably farmed fish and organic meats. Fish & Farm offers an Award Winning wine list of organic and bio dynamic wines and a monthly featured winery, winemaker or region with taste, glass and bottle portions."Meet the Winemaker" events are held throughout the year and are discounted for wine club members. Fish & Farm offers a clever menu of French and California influenced American Cuisine.The lounge and bar seats a cozy 20 persons and offers a menu of hand-crafted items.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 nights a week.
Dinner: 5:30pm - close

Cross Street:
Battery

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 474-3474

Website:
http://www.fishandfarmsf.com/

Entertainment:
Wine Club and "Meet the Winemaker Events"

Industry Discounts

Happy Hour nightly from 4-6

Parking Details:
There nearby parking lots as well as street parking.

Public Transit:
Near all major bus lines on Geary Street. Up 6th Street across Market onto Taylor Street, we are only 1 mile from the major freeways 101 and 80. We are 4 blocks from Powell Street Bart Station.

Executive Chef:
Elicio Soto

Private Party Facilities:
Fish & Farm is well known for our delicious food, but our new, larger space will also feature happy hours, live music, an expanded cocktail menu, and more room for private events. Please call us if you would like to host a party or event in our restaurant. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: 4154743474

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have three beautiful dining rooms where you can host your next holiday party, business dinner, birthday or anniversary celebration, rehersal dinner or wedding reception. For more details see the private dining section on our web page.

Restaurant Photos

Stairwell And Chandelier - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Tables - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Entry - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Downstairs Private Dining - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Downstairs Private Dining - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Front Booth - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Downstairs Booth - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Booth - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Bar - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Bar - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Booths - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Restaurant - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Happy Hour Sign - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Restaurant - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Cioppino - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Roasted Loch Duart Salmon - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Roasted Loch Duart Salmon - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Roasted Loch Duart Salmon - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Roasted Loch Duart Salmon - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Pei Mussels Basquaise - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Pei Mussels Basquaise - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Overhead - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Pei Mussels Basquaise - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Pei Mussels Basquaise - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Niman Ranch Country Pork Chop - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Mussels In Kitchen - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Niman Ranch Country Pork Chop - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Niman Ranch Country Pork Chop - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Niman Ranch Country Pork Chop - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Cioppino Place Settings - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Cioppino - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Cioppino - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Cioppino - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Artichoke Salad - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Artichoke Salad - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Artichoke Salad - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Artichoke Salad - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Apple Tart - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Apple Tart - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Apple Tart - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Apple Tart - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Back Bar - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Cocktail On Bar - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Cocktail - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Cioppino Plating - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Plating - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Salmon Plating - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Mussels Plating - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Burger - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
crabcake - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Crusted Ahi Tuna - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Chocolate Peanut Butter Mousse - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Bavette Steak Sandwich - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Goat Cheese Salad - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Wedge Salad - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Lamb T Bone - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Cucumber Cosmo - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Niman Ranch Country Pork Chop - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Niman Ranch Burger with Fried Egg - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Lyonnaise Salad - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Pan Roasted Rock Cod - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Iced  Tea - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Cioppino - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Tomato Salad - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Salmon - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Corn Soup - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Southern Fried Petaluma Chicken - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Bacon scallops - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Steak - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Cheesecake in a Jar - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Fish and Chips - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Vegetarian Gnocchi - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Butternut Squash Soup - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Bacon Tater Tots - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Warm Rustic Apple Tart - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Juicy Lucy Burger - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Lettuce Salad - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Cheeseburger - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Local Farm Lettuces - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Chocolate Souffle Cake - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Pear & Ginger Soup - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Bread - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Carrot-Ginger Soup - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Scallop - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Gnocchi - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Roasted Loch Duart Salmon - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Oysters - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Warm Rustic Berry Tart - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Rib Eye Steak  - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Halibut - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Caesar Salad - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Rib Eye Steak Special - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Pork Chop - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
fried chicken - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
burger and fries - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Tater Tots - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Vegetable Risotto - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Baked Seasonal Fruit Pie With Ice-Cream - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Niman Ranch Burger With Cheese - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA
Prime Niman Ranch Ribeye - Fish & Farm, San Francisco, CA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 11:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Fish & Farm Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.5

service

2.8

ambience

3.1

value

3.1

noise

Moderate

49% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
See All
Bar Seating (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Cozy (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Live Sports (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Seasonal (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Fun (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Dancing (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
1152 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We walked into the restaurant and we're ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We walked into the restaurant and we're immediately seated. Our waiter took 15 minutes to come to to table to ask us if we wanted some thing to drink. We ordered drinks. Ten minutes later the drinks arrived. At that time we ordered an appetizer and our mains, fish and chips and the fried chicken. In the meantime the table behind us was seated, ordered and got their mains. We still waited. Appetizer finally came and was not as described and freezing cold. Table behind us got their check and left. Waiter came in 30 more minutes to ask if we were done with our appetizer. After we said yes he took some of the plates and left and went to other tables. Never did see him again.

We walked out close to an hour after we got there .... still waiting for our appetizer plates to be cleared and no mains delivered. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone at anytime for any reason. Save your time and money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Three of us dined at the restaurant befo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Three of us dined at the restaurant before going to Eureka Theater. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food as well as the good service. We had the PEI mussels, a pizza and what turned out to be the best: a grilled artichoke salad. We could have just kept eating those artichokes - so very good.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was pretty good but service and atm ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Food was pretty good but service and atmosphere were average. They have a chocolate souffle that was dreadful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Service was very slow on a Sunday night. ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Service was very slow on a Sunday night. We booked a table for 6 and got put at a table near the bar, and the bartender was our waiter. After 10 minutes at our table we had to flag down a waiter to take our drink order. Then it took a long time to get our drinks, as the bartender seemed more interested in flirting with 3 women at the bar than expediting our drink order. The food was good, but overpriced considering the ambiance (more of a bar than a restaurant) and rather ordinary food. Finally, we had to flag down our waiter after 10 minutes waiting for our bill. I wouldn't return to this restaurant - nothing special about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Tuesday, October 25 7:15pm Other reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Tuesday, October 25 7:15pm

Other reviews had given this restaurant a 3.9 star rating, it was close to our hotel and the menu looked like it had plenty of interesting choices. The salmon and fried chicken had been recommended. When we arrived several staff members said hello but left us standing waiting to be seated despite a pretty slow night and plenty of open tables. Once we were seated we waited more than 10 minutes before a server approached us. He disappeared several more times during the evening. My husband loved the salmon dinner. I had the fried chicken dinner. The outside batter was crispy and looked like it would be great. The texture was terrific but unfortunately tasteless. It looked so good, the lack of seasoning was a disappointment. The organic chicken was cooked really well, and the potatoes and veggies were great. Overall a disappointment but the ambiance was nice, it was quiet enough to talk and glance at the baseball game at the bar. On to the next open table...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

We found this place online for a fun nic ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We found this place online for a fun nice dinner out while traveling with our teenage girls. Terrible waiter who could barely answer questions about the menu. Come to think, didn't answer our questions. Food was cold on arrival. Poor and limited wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

I thought this would be a fine dining ex ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I thought this would be a fine dining experience where I could focus on the food. Instead it was very good, expensive food in a very loud sports bar.

Tags: Bar Seating, Dancing, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Risotto and Fish and Chips were ordered, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Risotto and Fish and Chips were ordered, both were very good. The bar was gull as the Giants were playing, it was a Wednesday do we were invited to Trivia Night downstairs. Would have joined but we were attending a film screening at Embarcadero Cinema. Good for pre movie.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Bar Seating, Fun, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good spot for happy hour, dinner menu wa ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Good spot for happy hour, dinner menu was a little pricey for what we got. Note - happy hour is only available at the bar, wish we had known this prior to sitting down.

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

do not go, amazingly bad service. had to ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 29, 2016

do not go, amazingly bad service. had to get up twice after waiting 15 minutes to check on a glass of wine and salad that never came. i had to speak to three different people, but of couse none of them spoke to each other to try to produce some wine/salad. many better places to go in the area. there was also a very loud triva contest going at the same time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Ryan was the worst waiter I have ever ha ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Ryan was the worst waiter I have ever had in 75 years of dining out. Did not know the menu, brought food we never ordered and kept it on the bill, after we sent it back. Asked 4 times whether we wanted coffee, after we answered negative each time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Guest who had the fish said it was good. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Guest who had the fish said it was good. guest with risotto did not like. Said chef would not alter her dish, she was upset no substitutes. All the guests thought the waiter was quirky, did not like him. Very disappointing for a girls night out. Would not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Having looked forward to dining at Fish ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Having looked forward to dining at Fish & Farm for some time, perhaps my expectations were set a bit too high. That said, I found the food, the decor, and the service to be underwhelming. I had a crab bisque (one of the "specials") to start, in which I tasted absolutely no crab. Frankly, it tasted like canned soup. The server completely forgot to bring my business colleague's starter.

For the main course, I had the sandwich-of-the-day, a lightly fried fish (I can't remember if it was sole, tilapia, or some other sort of fish), which lacked flavor and crunch, but had more than ample bread and messy condiments. My colleague had a pork chop, but he didn't comment on it, either positively or negatively.

I won't be going back to Fish & Farm.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Good was pretty good...but they didn't d ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Good was pretty good...but they didn't do much in terms of renovation...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

An ok place to have a casual dinner. The ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2016

An ok place to have a casual dinner. The menu is simple and good value for money, they guarantee the quality of their fish and meat. The service at the bar was disappointing: the bartender could not help suggesting a cocktail and brought the bill without asking.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food, perfect noise volume. Needs ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great food, perfect noise volume. Needs improvement on the service, but I'll still go back for the pork chop, fried chicken and calamari.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Went to Fish and Farm for a late night d ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Went to Fish and Farm for a late night dinner. We were seated at 10:30, which is after most places are closed. We were seated quickly, and the waiter came right to our table as the kitchen was closing at 11. Had the fried artichoke salad, which as ok. Basically mixed greens and the fried artichokes. My partner had the cioppino, which he enjoyed. I had the fried chicken. The fried chicken was moist and piping hot. The mashed potatoes were a bit plain and cole slaw was ok.... Not the best food in SF, but ok for late night. It's more like pub food.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great spot. Was visiting in the Bay Are ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great spot. Was visiting in the Bay Area and looking for a good seafood spot. Read the reviews on Open Table and reserved a spot. Had a great meal. Service was good. Will come back

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Fish and chips was really good. Definit ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Fish and chips was really good. Definitely go back for that. First I me at this restaurant, is more like an English pub. Service is friendly.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love your bartender! He made he best cos ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Love your bartender! He made he best cosmopolitans! O don't recall his name. Good looking dark features.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Our waiter, Samson, was fantastic. Ther ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Our waiter, Samson, was fantastic. There were some problems in the kitchen. Our crab cake appetizer was one of the best I've had in SF but it came out after our main course. The turkey club had 1 slice of bacon on it. Samson brought out extra bacon. The menu specified cheddar cheese but it came with Swiss. The shrimp pesto special was delicious but too rich for such a large portion of pasta. The chicken on the Buffalo Chicken Salad was amazing but the ratio of romaine lettuce to the mixed in toppings was not good. I had to dig for the tomatoes and bacon and didn't recall seeing any blue cheese. The chef treated the birthday girl to a wonderful homemade apple tart with Mitchell's ice cream. That was the highlight of the meal. I would go again and get the Crab Cakes and Buffalo Chicken without the salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

This is really more of a bar and doesn't ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2016

This is really more of a bar and doesn't really have a formal restaurant area but it was a great find near the embarcadero center theaters. Great happy hour (5 hours daily).

Tags: Late-night Find, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Picked this place because I knew everyon ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Picked this place because I knew everyone wouldn't have to be yelling at each other to hear everybody's conversation. Nice quiet location. Good burgers !!! and everything is priced right !

Our wait person was most accommodating. Going back tomorrow for a going away lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was pretty average. The noisy (drunk) ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 24, 2016

It was pretty average. The noisy (drunk) patrons seated at the bar were a major distraction..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

We really enjoyed this restaurant, the a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2016

We really enjoyed this restaurant, the ambiance and service were great but when upper management left, the bartender changed the really nice background music to very disruptive, loud pop country music and it was difficult to enjoy. When we asked about the sudden music change, we were just told that that specific bartender does this all the time. Ambiance would have gotten a five without that disruptive move.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Fish & Farm has been on my To Visit list ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Fish & Farm has been on my To Visit list for a long time. I finally got the chance to dine there for dinner and was not disappointed in the food in the slightest. We thoroughly enjoy the NY steak, crusted ahi, salmon, and seafood risotto special. The only low point was the service, our waiter didn't seem to be fully engaged with working that night. On a whole we greatly enjoyed our time at Fish & Farm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

There was something amiss here. The food ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2016

There was something amiss here. The food was exceptional, but the ambiance was like an old Vegas casino. The menus were laminated and the service was like you'd get at a truck-stop diner. If the food wasn't as good as it was, it would have been a disaster of an evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

It was our first time dining here and af ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 3, 2016

It was our first time dining here and after a day of "touristing" which finished early, we called to see if we could move up our reservation. The restaurant was most accommodating. Ryan, our server, advised us on numerous dishes (given our first time) and his recommendations were excellent. Service was impeccable and efficient, responding to special requests (two of our group had food allergies). Highly recommend Fish & Farm!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not the best service, but the food was m ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Not the best service, but the food was more than enough to make up for it.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Our waiter was not informed about the me ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our waiter was not informed about the menu items. He did not order an entire dish for us and at the end of the evening did not apologize or offer any compensation. He gave us his name and said "come in again and I'll get those crab cakes ordered for you. " ah, yeah, that won't be happening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

I hope our server was new--he was very u ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 28, 2016

I hope our server was new--he was very unpolished! When we told him we were not ready to order he came back every few seconds! Once the food arrived he seemed anxious to get rid of us, even though the place was relatively empty. We left a bowl of french fries virtually untouched (far too salty) but he never asked about it. He brought us the check without offering the dessert menu or asking if we wanted coffee; when we asked for coffee, he took the check and crumbled it up in front of us! It seemed more like he wasn't trained, rather than a deliberate effort to be rude. That marred an otherwise good experience as this is a comfortable restaurant with good food.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

The entire meal was fantastic! The fried ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 24, 2016

The entire meal was fantastic! The fried artichoke salad is to die for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Stumbled across Fish & Farm when I was l ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 23, 2016

Stumbled across Fish & Farm when I was looking for a last minute reservation in the crowded downtown of San Francisco, hopefully trying to find something that could seat a part of four. The menu and photos on Open Table looked solid, so we went for it. Overall, it worked out to be a great spot. The images we saw on OT and Yelp showed a nice place, and while the interior looks nice, the exterior is a little dated and almost pub-like, so I was nervous for a second. Drinks were fantastic (awesome Moscow Mule!), and the menu was standard for the area, and tasted great. You'll find comparable menus in the area, so there was nothing that stood out, but it was still delicious. Price wise was a little much for the type of food (fish & chips, fried chicken), but not outrageous. Noise seemed moderate - the place was empty when we came in (glad we made the reservation - ha!), but it soon filled up, and was never obnoxious. Our booth was a little cramped for 4 people, but cozy enough.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

While the food was good, you can't overc ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 12, 2016

While the food was good, you can't overcome your experience with abysmal service. We appreciate the manager and owner incessantly apologizing to us; however, it wasn't just the waiter's inattentiveness. It wasn't busy and we waited 20 mins before having to ask the busboy to take our drink order and to get our server. When he finally arrived at our table, we had to ask the waiter whether there were specials. Later on after ordering, we had to ask hostess to get our server to take a 2nd drink order. He passed us twice after she communicated to him. My dinner order arrived but my husband's did not. One staffer said it was coming and then another came later and said it was never placed.

At this point, it doesn't matter that the food was good and we received several apologies. Even without 1 dinner order, it was still $100 bucks for a poorly run establishment with the worst service I've ever experienced. Both of us have worked in the restaurant service industry. We understand and don't expect much. We never got mad or irate. We also heard another couple complain about the service and walk out. There are too many other restaurants in the City to go to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

The food was good, but the service here ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was good, but the service here was awful. Three different servers helped our table, and they all seemed totally stoned and out of it. We had to ask three different times for our check, and couldn't have been more ready to get out of there by the time we were done. I will not go back and wouldn't recommend this to others based on the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

This restaurant needs an overhaul - espe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 12, 2016

This restaurant needs an overhaul - especially the food. Four of us went to dinner on a Saturday night. The food was very uneven - an expensive steak was tough and had an odd flavor; ahi was so-so; fried chicken was pretty good. When we complained about the steak, the waiter took it off the bill (thanks) but told us three times that he personally was taking care of the cost of it (doubtful) to get a bigger tip?? Two cocktails (Manhattan) came on the rocks, which is unheard of. Atmosphere is of an old-line restaurant which could be quaint but just succeeds in being dark and unpleasant. Sorry - would not recommend !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Loved the swing dancing downstairs!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 11, 2016

Please keep the swing music DJ and dance event downstairs!

The food was definitely better than average, which made me happy. Also, the happy hour petit syrah was delicious!

I love going to dance events at happy hour, and being able to rely on great food and drinks!

My boyfriend complained bitterly about the service though. When transitioning from the bar to our table, for which we had a reservation, my boyfriend had to wait a long time to close out his tab at the bar. It seemed overly long for the number of people at the bar.

Overall I thought everything was great, especially the swing event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Bad Food, Expensive Prices and Dark Environment

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 6, 2016

Greeter was desultory, service was so-so. Food was relatively inedible. And very expensive. Not recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Sunday dinner option near Embarcadero Theaters

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 6, 2016

Most restaurants in the Financial district are closed Sundays. This is a close by and good choice for dinner after seeing a movie at the Embarcadero Theater.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Okay

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 4, 2016

We chose this resaurant thinking it would be a chic new seafood place but it had really sort of a Sport's Bar feel and was quite noisy. Having said that , the food was okay and our guest who wanted seafood really liked his ciopinno

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.