About Fish & Farm

424 Clay St.
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

With chocolate brown tufted booths, rich bamboo flooring, and seating for only 48 Fish & Farm emphasizes a civilized place in which to enjoy a menu of organic produce and all sustainably farmed fish and organic meats. Fish & Farm offers an Award Winning wine list of organic and bio dynamic wines and a monthly featured winery, winemaker or region with taste, glass and bottle portions."Meet the Winemaker" events are held throughout the year and are discounted for wine club members. Fish & Farm offers a clever menu of French and California influenced American Cuisine.The lounge and bar seats a cozy 20 persons and offers a menu of hand-crafted items.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 nights a week.
Dinner: 5:30pm - close

Cross Street:
Battery

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 474-3474

Website:
http://www.fishandfarmsf.com/

Entertainment:
Wine Club and "Meet the Winemaker Events"

Industry Discounts

Happy Hour nightly from 4-6

Parking Details:
There nearby parking lots as well as street parking.

Public Transit:
Near all major bus lines on Geary Street. Up 6th Street across Market onto Taylor Street, we are only 1 mile from the major freeways 101 and 80. We are 4 blocks from Powell Street Bart Station.

Executive Chef:
Elicio Soto

Private Party Facilities:
Fish & Farm is well known for our delicious food, but our new, larger space will also feature happy hours, live music, an expanded cocktail menu, and more room for private events. Please call us if you would like to host a party or event in our restaurant. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: (415) 474-3474

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have three beautiful dining rooms where you can host your next holiday party, business dinner, birthday or anniversary celebration, rehersal dinner or wedding reception. For more details see the private dining section on our web page.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 11:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Fish & Farm Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.4

service

3.0

ambience

3.1

value

3.1

noise

Moderate

50% would recommend it to a friend

Bar Seating (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Casual (5)
See All
Good for a Date (5)
Cozy (4)
Live Sports (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fun (2)
Business Meals (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Dancing (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Historic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1231 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall, a very enjoyable experience. W ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Overall, a very enjoyable experience. We were seated promptly, attended to courteously, and everything was prepared and presented well. The goat cheese galette was perfectly cooked and came with a perfectly seasoned salad. I had the cioppino, which was delicious and quite heavy on the seafood - you definitely get your money's worth - and my husband had the pork chop, which was excellent. We also shared the change, which was good but quite dry and heavy on the crumb topping. Overall an excellent experience, although next time I think we'd try a different dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Pretty ordinary food for SF standards. T ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Pretty ordinary food for SF standards. The server also forgot to bring my oyster appetizer. Although the portion of mussels was descent, they were quite small in size.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great place to meet friends for dinner a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great place to meet friends for dinner and drinks. Menu had something for everyone. Cocktails and beer menu was good. Our waiter was very attentive and service was good. Food was delicious. Would come here again with a group or alone.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Horrible on New Year's Eve, multiple peo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Horrible on New Year's Eve, multiple people were having problems with their reservations not just us, we weren't sat for 30 min when we were finally sat no one took our order for another 30min so we got up and left. They had some type of party downstairs with super loud music which would have been fine if the rest of the service had been enough to keep up with everything else this place was trying to accomplish. Wish we could have had a good experience. But we didn't . I wish I could put negative stars but it makes me pick at least one. Oh well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We had an great experience at dinner ton ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had an great experience at dinner tonight, our first time at this restaurant. Pleasant surroundings, delicious food ( risotto, fried chicken, ahi tuna) and excellent service . Other recent reviews complained about service so we were a little concerned about our choice. But far from having complaints, we come away with high praise. The staff were warm, attentive and helpful. We'll be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent bartender and waiter. Cheerful ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Excellent bartender and waiter. Cheerful service with a smile despite being short-handed and practically "one leg kicks all". Really goes above and beyond the call of duty to seat us in a quiet section and make us feel very welcome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious, but the restaura ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The food was delicious, but the restaurant was way understaffed and the kitchen was backed up leading to poor service all around. I will try Fish and Farm again hoping that the service was just a fluke as the food really was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

We left before we were served because th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We left before we were served because the service was so poor. We had a reservation but still were required to wait ten minutes for a table. It was another ten minutes before a server greeted us. We placed an order. After our order was placed, another couple sat down. They were greeted five minutes later and placed an order. By the time they had almost completed their food, our order had not arrived. When I inquired of the server, he raised his voice and told me that it wasn't his fault and tried to get in an argument with me (which I wasn't seeking; I had simply inquired about the status of our order). His conduct was so upsetting that we left. Oh, and it was Christmas.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The good news: once the food arrived, it ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 26, 2016

The good news: once the food arrived, it tasted good. Delicious artichoke salad. Good seafood, good burger.

The bad news: it was very slow to get any attention (at first), then a long wait for the food to arrive.

It was Christmas, so I suspect they were not staffed well.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

It was busy dining here on Christmas day ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 26, 2016

It was busy dining here on Christmas day, but the waiter kept up with good service and recommendations. Tasty food in large portions, but would recommend a side dish of vegetables to go with the mains as they can be a little meat heavy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

This was right across the street from ou ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

This was right across the street from our hotel, The Meridian. Good food.

Tags: Historic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I am mixed about Fish & Farm. We were gr ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

I am mixed about Fish & Farm. We were greeted with apologies and kept hearing them around the room from various staff. We were ignored for the first 20 minutes. When finally a server stopped to talk with us, he was incredibly nice and apologetic. Everyone must have assumed we had been helped.

Our server allowed us to order off the happy hour menu, which was a little solace. The mushroom pizza was delicious, the mussels quite good, and the mac and cheese inedible. We weren't charged for that. We got out of the restaurant at barely over $20, which is less than one of their high-end entrees.

The space feels unfinished, esp if you head to the back and downstairs. I thought it was fun, but I know its not what serious diners (they type this restaurant is catering to) want to see. I also felt like the huge televisions playing sports were very distracting.

I know being a portlander has spoiled me for the New American -slash- farm to table style restaurants.... but Fish & Farm needs a restaurant coach of some sort. They are confused about who their audience is with the mix of high end food, inconsistent service, and funky ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Came 10 minutes early, and they were not ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Came 10 minutes early, and they were not prepared. Mussels were a bit fishy and they took them off the bill quickly, but we noticed they did the same for a few other tables. We thought that they knew mussels were old, but were selling them anyways. Wait staff was seriously under staffed, service was slow but waiter was very nice. Food was bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Seafood is not fresh. Service is good, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Seafood is not fresh. Service is good, just the food is not good'

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3

This is a good casual place to meet frie ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 14, 2016

This is a good casual place to meet friends. I wish the decor was a bit more interesting but the food was very good--the most important part. The wait staff were very attentive & helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food and service - don't let the p ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Great food and service - don't let the pub style decor fool you. A place where you can go casually dressed but eat well. I don't remember wings or nachos on the menu. Decent wine list too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Popped in for a quick dinner before our ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Popped in for a quick dinner before our show. Scott our waiter was very attentive and offered great recommendations. Food was great and Scott made sure we got out in time for our show. Overall a really good experience.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We came here before my husband's work Ch ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We came here before my husband's work Christmas and really enjoyed our meal. We got the crab cakes for an appetizer, and they were good, nothing special (the red pepper kind of overpowered the crab), but I would order them again. For dinner I ordered the NY Steak and my husband ordered the Salmon from the menu (not the special). We both really and enjoyed our meals and didn't have anything negative to say. We finished our dinner with Creme Brûlée, my husbands favorite, but he wasn't impressed due to it being a bit burnt on the top. All in all, it was an excellent meal and we would come back again. Looks like a new restaurant, as it wasn't crowded, there was no wait, but it wasn't empty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hated the restaurant. The service wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I hated the restaurant. The service was sloppy at best. Our waiter was more than just a twit. He couldn't remember things, he never told us the specials (thinking he did after we ordered), brought us the wrong drinks and was just very bad over all.

The food was excellent product (Mary's Chicken) but the cole slaw was inedible, way too bitter in taste and the cooking of the chicken (seasoning) would have been better at KFC.

The atmosphere is a cross between sports bar and trendy elegance. You sit in a both and can see football over the wall. This is elegant.

Ugh.................very bad and never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

We walked into the restaurant and we're ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We walked into the restaurant and we're immediately seated. Our waiter took 15 minutes to come to to table to ask us if we wanted some thing to drink. We ordered drinks. Ten minutes later the drinks arrived. At that time we ordered an appetizer and our mains, fish and chips and the fried chicken. In the meantime the table behind us was seated, ordered and got their mains. We still waited. Appetizer finally came and was not as described and freezing cold. Table behind us got their check and left. Waiter came in 30 more minutes to ask if we were done with our appetizer. After we said yes he took some of the plates and left and went to other tables. Never did see him again.

We walked out close to an hour after we got there .... still waiting for our appetizer plates to be cleared and no mains delivered. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone at anytime for any reason. Save your time and money.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Three of us dined at the restaurant befo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Three of us dined at the restaurant before going to Eureka Theater. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food as well as the good service. We had the PEI mussels, a pizza and what turned out to be the best: a grilled artichoke salad. We could have just kept eating those artichokes - so very good.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was pretty good but service and atm ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Food was pretty good but service and atmosphere were average. They have a chocolate souffle that was dreadful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Service was very slow on a Sunday night. ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Service was very slow on a Sunday night. We booked a table for 6 and got put at a table near the bar, and the bartender was our waiter. After 10 minutes at our table we had to flag down a waiter to take our drink order. Then it took a long time to get our drinks, as the bartender seemed more interested in flirting with 3 women at the bar than expediting our drink order. The food was good, but overpriced considering the ambiance (more of a bar than a restaurant) and rather ordinary food. Finally, we had to flag down our waiter after 10 minutes waiting for our bill. I wouldn't return to this restaurant - nothing special about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Tuesday, October 25 7:15pm Other reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Tuesday, October 25 7:15pm

Other reviews had given this restaurant a 3.9 star rating, it was close to our hotel and the menu looked like it had plenty of interesting choices. The salmon and fried chicken had been recommended. When we arrived several staff members said hello but left us standing waiting to be seated despite a pretty slow night and plenty of open tables. Once we were seated we waited more than 10 minutes before a server approached us. He disappeared several more times during the evening. My husband loved the salmon dinner. I had the fried chicken dinner. The outside batter was crispy and looked like it would be great. The texture was terrific but unfortunately tasteless. It looked so good, the lack of seasoning was a disappointment. The organic chicken was cooked really well, and the potatoes and veggies were great. Overall a disappointment but the ambiance was nice, it was quiet enough to talk and glance at the baseball game at the bar. On to the next open table...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

We found this place online for a fun nic ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We found this place online for a fun nice dinner out while traveling with our teenage girls. Terrible waiter who could barely answer questions about the menu. Come to think, didn't answer our questions. Food was cold on arrival. Poor and limited wine selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

I thought this would be a fine dining ex ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I thought this would be a fine dining experience where I could focus on the food. Instead it was very good, expensive food in a very loud sports bar.

Tags: Bar Seating, Dancing, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Risotto and Fish and Chips were ordered, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Risotto and Fish and Chips were ordered, both were very good. The bar was gull as the Giants were playing, it was a Wednesday do we were invited to Trivia Night downstairs. Would have joined but we were attending a film screening at Embarcadero Cinema. Good for pre movie.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Bar Seating, Fun, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good spot for happy hour, dinner menu wa ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Good spot for happy hour, dinner menu was a little pricey for what we got. Note - happy hour is only available at the bar, wish we had known this prior to sitting down.

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

do not go, amazingly bad service. had to ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 29, 2016

do not go, amazingly bad service. had to get up twice after waiting 15 minutes to check on a glass of wine and salad that never came. i had to speak to three different people, but of couse none of them spoke to each other to try to produce some wine/salad. many better places to go in the area. there was also a very loud triva contest going at the same time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Ryan was the worst waiter I have ever ha ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Ryan was the worst waiter I have ever had in 75 years of dining out. Did not know the menu, brought food we never ordered and kept it on the bill, after we sent it back. Asked 4 times whether we wanted coffee, after we answered negative each time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Guest who had the fish said it was good. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Guest who had the fish said it was good. guest with risotto did not like. Said chef would not alter her dish, she was upset no substitutes. All the guests thought the waiter was quirky, did not like him. Very disappointing for a girls night out. Would not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Having looked forward to dining at Fish ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Having looked forward to dining at Fish & Farm for some time, perhaps my expectations were set a bit too high. That said, I found the food, the decor, and the service to be underwhelming. I had a crab bisque (one of the "specials") to start, in which I tasted absolutely no crab. Frankly, it tasted like canned soup. The server completely forgot to bring my business colleague's starter.

For the main course, I had the sandwich-of-the-day, a lightly fried fish (I can't remember if it was sole, tilapia, or some other sort of fish), which lacked flavor and crunch, but had more than ample bread and messy condiments. My colleague had a pork chop, but he didn't comment on it, either positively or negatively.

I won't be going back to Fish & Farm.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Good was pretty good...but they didn't d ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Good was pretty good...but they didn't do much in terms of renovation...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

Have to be honest--there was nothing par ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2016

Have to be honest--there was nothing particularly special about this restaurant. And I really resented that they paid excellent attention to the large parties, while we had to practically stand on the table to catch the waiter's eye. Food was OK, not great, not bad. Maybe it was an off night--willing to give them another try.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

An ok place to have a casual dinner. The ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 2, 2016

An ok place to have a casual dinner. The menu is simple and good value for money, they guarantee the quality of their fish and meat. The service at the bar was disappointing: the bartender could not help suggesting a cocktail and brought the bill without asking.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food, perfect noise volume. Needs ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great food, perfect noise volume. Needs improvement on the service, but I'll still go back for the pork chop, fried chicken and calamari.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Went to Fish and Farm for a late night d ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Went to Fish and Farm for a late night dinner. We were seated at 10:30, which is after most places are closed. We were seated quickly, and the waiter came right to our table as the kitchen was closing at 11. Had the fried artichoke salad, which as ok. Basically mixed greens and the fried artichokes. My partner had the cioppino, which he enjoyed. I had the fried chicken. The fried chicken was moist and piping hot. The mashed potatoes were a bit plain and cole slaw was ok.... Not the best food in SF, but ok for late night. It's more like pub food.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great spot. Was visiting in the Bay Are ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Great spot. Was visiting in the Bay Area and looking for a good seafood spot. Read the reviews on Open Table and reserved a spot. Had a great meal. Service was good. Will come back

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Fish and chips was really good. Definit ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Fish and chips was really good. Definitely go back for that. First I me at this restaurant, is more like an English pub. Service is friendly.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love your bartender! He made he best cos ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Love your bartender! He made he best cosmopolitans! O don't recall his name. Good looking dark features.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.