About Fish & Farm

424 Clay St.
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

With chocolate brown tufted booths, rich bamboo flooring, and seating for only 48 Fish & Farm emphasizes a civilized place in which to enjoy a menu of organic produce and all sustainably farmed fish and organic meats. Fish & Farm offers an Award Winning wine list of organic and bio dynamic wines and a monthly featured winery, winemaker or region with taste, glass and bottle portions."Meet the Winemaker" events are held throughout the year and are discounted for wine club members. Fish & Farm offers a clever menu of French and California influenced American Cuisine.The lounge and bar seats a cozy 20 persons and offers a menu of hand-crafted items.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Open 7 nights a week.
Dinner: 5:30pm - close

Cross Street:
Battery

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 474-3474

Website:
http://www.fishandfarmsf.com/

Entertainment:
Wine Club and "Meet the Winemaker Events"

Industry Discounts

Happy Hour nightly from 4-6

Parking Details:
There nearby parking lots as well as street parking.

Public Transit:
Near all major bus lines on Geary Street. Up 6th Street across Market onto Taylor Street, we are only 1 mile from the major freeways 101 and 80. We are 4 blocks from Powell Street Bart Station.

Executive Chef:
Elicio Soto

Private Party Facilities:
Fish & Farm is well known for our delicious food, but our new, larger space will also feature happy hours, live music, an expanded cocktail menu, and more room for private events. Please call us if you would like to host a party or event in our restaurant. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Private Party Contact:
Private Dining Coordinator: 4154743474

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have three beautiful dining rooms where you can host your next holiday party, business dinner, birthday or anniversary celebration, rehersal dinner or wedding reception. For more details see the private dining section on our web page.

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Daily 5:00PM - 11:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Fish & Farm Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.5

service

3.2

ambience

3.4

noise

Moderate

61% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (5)
great for lunch (4)
fit for foodies (4)
See All
neighborhood gem (4)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (1)
notable wine list (1)
romantic (1)
special occasion (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1109 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience2
service4

Food is decent, but not outstanding. Ser ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Food is decent, but not outstanding. Service was attentive. Wasn't too noisy during our visit, but might be when bar is busier.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Good Food

Dined on April 28, 2016

Food was good, not very busy the night we were there. Our waiter would have been better if he was less intrusive. He came by just way too many times and made it difficult to have a decent conversation and enjoy the meal.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Awesome meal and great service. Try the ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Awesome meal and great service. Try the calamari. Grilled, delicious. I had the seafood cioppino and it was amazing.

food4
ambience3
service2

Great lunch option; food was really good ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

Great lunch option; food was really good. Service was decent. Definitely would return.

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Disappointing

Dined on March 19, 2016

Order messed up. Took forever to fix it. Took forever to get plates cleared, took forever for them to take my card and run it. Screaming kid behind us, nobody said a word. Food, not very good.

food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Very Disappointing Experience

Dined on March 13, 2016

We were going to the Punchline comedy club and we're looking for something close by to eat before the show. I saw the menu on line and it looked great. Small menu but had fish, burger, steak and salad options. And with the name Fish and Farm I expected fresh local and delicious. It was quit disappointing. We ordered the grilled calamari salad app and the crispy artichoke salad. The calamari app was tasteless and very lightly grilled. My wife sent it back and asked to take it of our bill. A better description for the artichoke salad would have been crunchy. The artichokes had skin and stem on them, the dressing was bland and the salad was mediocre at best. I had the cod. It was tasteless and the mango salsa was very basic with little flavor. The only saving grace was my wife got the filet mignon special and it was cooked perfect, the mashed potatoes were very taste and the demi Glace was delicious. Drinks came out slow and we had to remind the server to bring drinks twice. Overall this was a very disappointing experience. By the way, I owned a restaurant and was in the business for years. We are very big tippers and sensitive to how difficult the business can be and how hard restaurateurs, servers and the kitchen staff work. This is the very first negative review I have ever written about a restaurant. Hoping they just had a bad night.

food2
ambience1
service1

Slow service. Food was mediocre. For a s ...

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Slow service. Food was mediocre. For a slow night was hoping for more.

food2
ambience1
service4
value2

Luma69

Dined on February 15, 2016

I was looking for a good fish restaurant and found Fish&Farm via the web. In general I was disappointed, I expected farm fresh food and fresh fish however the fish selection was limited and everything seemed to be pre prepared and frozen. It did not live up to the name. Also the ambiance was more like a pub/sportbar and seemed more like a good place to watch sports with your buddies. The service was very good and was the bright spot of the evening.

food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Waste of Money

Dined on January 23, 2016

Don't bother trying Fish and Farm, the atmosphere was lacking, the server didn't even bother telling us about their specials and the wine menu is very limited. I ordered the cod and it was literally a piece of fish in a bowl of butter.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Delicious seafood and reasonably-priced drinks

vip
Dined on January 13, 2016

I arrived early and was starving so I ordered a glass of prosecco and the grilled squid salad while i waited for my two friends to arrive. It was the perfect starter for me ... squid perfectly seasoned and not overcooked and salad were delicious. Main courses were shared and all seafood (mussels, cioppino and fish & chips) were delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

pre-theatre dining

Dined on January 10, 2016

The appetizers and dishes (we all ordered fish) were well prepared and fresh, but the portions were small and the side dishes were bland and almost not there. It is not an expensive place, but not inexpensive in comparison to similar places in the City if you compare menus around town. Our group ended up eating the small portion of bread after dinner as everyone was still hungry. It came to a substantial bill for a very small amount of food.

food4
ambience3
service1

Good was great and beer selection was pr ...

Dined on January 2, 2016

Good was great and beer selection was pretty good. Server was AWFUL! She was never there, kept trying to take our menus before we ordered either food or drink, when I asked for malt vinegar for my fish and chips she never brought it and I had to ask the manager for it 20 min later. She checked in with us as an afterthought like "oh wait I have that table too".

food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Comedy of errors from beginning to end and

Dined on January 2, 2016

We were the only reservation. They said the kitchen was backed up and we had to sit at the bar. Handed us a cocktail menu and when we ordered they said there were no cocktails available.i ordered a water which I was then charged for. A table came off the street they sat them at a table and took their order. When our food arrived it was cold. We told them and they said when there is something wrong, we'll correct it. They put the bill down and said "have a beautiful night' no correction.

food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Not that great.

Dined on January 2, 2016

For the price we had to pay for this dinner, it just wasn't worth it. The sticking point: service was poor. Actually, I don't even know who our server was because somehow we were underserved. There was an older fella who received us at the front, he seemed frazzled but as I looked around the restaurant, there didn't seem to be that many customers. I told him we made a reservation and he said something about not knowing how to use their computer. Why tell that to a customer? He sat us down and took our order and that was the last time he talked to us. There were two other men who got us our food but didn't even try to talk to us, one of them would keep walking by without saying a word and he seemed a bit confused. There was one server who *tried* to do her job, but she seemed to be helping everyone. The service was bad enough that it made us fearful that the food would be bad as well. Lo and behold, the food was not very good, considering the prices on the menu. The steak was tough to chew and the cioppino was only okay, but maybe we should've ordered burgers and sandwiches instead...

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Good menu, service could use improvement

vip
Dined on December 27, 2015

This is one the few places opened in FiDi on weekends and their menu seems to be good. Unfortunately, they think it's okay to charge $16 for a glass of German Riesling, so terrible value for money. I went with a rosé which was half the price. We ordered the Loch Duart salmon with fingerling potatoes (not many potatoes, in fact it tasted more like cabbage) and the southern fried chicken with mashed potato and coleslaw. The chicken plate was huge compared to the salmon. Anyway, it tasted good. Service on the other hand left a lot to be desired. We only saw our waitress twice - when we ordered the drinks and food and second time when she came to check on the food. By then our drinks needed refilling because the food took a long time to arrive. The second beer also took a while and the food was halfway gone by the time it came. To top it all off, there was a very loud table nearby that no one did anything about. I will not return.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

not for us

Dined on December 26, 2015

disappointing, a lot of fuss finding us a table (we had been booked for weeks) and then they remained half empty all evening. the food was mediocre not to the standard we'd expected. we weren't the only clients to send food back (first time in my life) ambiance cold due to excessive air conditioning, christmas day i might add. service poor.

food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Bad service plus ok food equals not happy

Dined on December 26, 2015

Our dinner started out ok with tasty salads. I ordered a galette but it turned out to be a patty with a salad. Thankfully the children's dinner came out early but we did not receive the rest of our entrees until an hour a half later. The waiter simply said "Don't blame me. Blame the kitchen" My boyfriend ordered his burger well done but it came out rare. The rest of the entrees were ok but not worth the wait.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

IT'S ABOUT FOOD - AND IT WAS EXCELLENT

vip
Dined on December 26, 2015

After all, it was Christmas Day - and we got an outstanding meal. Appetizer a nice plate of 6 oysters - $15 followed by beautiful marinated and grilled calamari with delicately cut kalamata olives (really good). The special of the night was prime rib - and the portions were mammoth with a bit of mashed potato and some fabulous swiss chard. Followed up with a creme brule topped with fresh berries. There's a full bar and the pour was definitely generous. Yes, the service could have been better - but I'm not sure any restaurant has their whole A team on for Christmas Day --- but they sure did in the kitchen. Overall, we were really impressed and appreciated the holiday greeting from the manager and the hostess.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience2
service3

I took my wife and daughter to this plac ...

Dined on December 26, 2015

I took my wife and daughter to this place and overall we were not impressed. The evening started when all the patrons at the bar had to witness the bar manager chastise the bar tender over providing a drink that was not on the limited menu due it being XMas day. She would not listen to the employee and continued to blast him over some so silly. Once we sat for dinner we placed our order and the service was lacking since I had to ask for a refills of water and drinks. The food finally arrived and the fish was under cooked, the risotto was lukewarm and the dining experience was bad.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Christmas Time

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

Very good Christmas lunch. Service from Aaron and Stephan was outstanding.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service2

Pretty good food but terrible service.

Dined on December 12, 2015

Pretty good food but terrible service.

food1
ambience1
service1

Don't Ignore The Bad Reviews!

vip
Dined on December 11, 2015

I should have know, based on the bad reviews, that this was going to be a BAD experience. The people were friendly, however there were LONG lag times between service, very inconsistent service, the food was AWFUL, and also overpriced for what you get ... The booths are also very uncomfortable. There are MUCH better places to dine in San Francisco. This is not a restaurant I would recommend - not to anyone.

food5
ambience4
service5

Comfortable Dining

Dined on December 4, 2015

We sat in a cushy booth and had a wonderful dinner. We ordered the salmon and the special fish of the day and they both were delicious. The prices were reasonable and the service was excellent (very friendly). Located in the center of the financial district. It's easy to walk from the Samsome or Embarcedero BART station. Great places to escape work for a nice lunch as well.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service2

Food was excellent. Service not so much ...

vip
Dined on December 3, 2015

Food was excellent. Service not so much. Waitress was inattentive and slow, but the hostesses were very observant and made up for the lapses by the waitress. Kudos to the two of them. They made what could have been a very unpleasant evening quite pleasant.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great Food

Dined on November 28, 2015

We enjoyed our dinner very much - shared everything. The Fried Chicken with Butter Hot Sauce was excellent as were the mussels. Our steak was prepared to order and very tasty. It is amazing how many restaurants mess up a steak - Fish and Farm knows what they are doing!

food5
ambience4
service5

Nice night out

Dined on November 15, 2015

The restaurant was easy to get to and in a nice area, the only draw back was the parking situation. I had to park three blocks away once I found street parking. The food was excellent and the service was great. I would recommend the restaurant to anyone that is looking for fresh local fare.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find
food4
ambience3
service4

Great lunch!

Dined on November 13, 2015

Three foodies at lunch together...overall had a great experience. Food and service good, ambiance OK.

Tags: great for lunch
food1
ambience1
service1

Bad service and bad food

Dined on November 5, 2015

My order was wrong, I asked for a medium rare burger and got way over done - hockey puck. My coworker had fish and chips - also terrible. Cold chips. Waitress didn't check things were okay, couldn't hear our orders - not sure why?! And over all was a really bad experience! We had a client there as well and it was very unimpressive. Almost embarrassing.

food4
ambience3
service3

Great chicken tortilla soup. Fish and ch ...

vip
Dined on November 3, 2015

Great chicken tortilla soup. Fish and chips were crisp and not overly battered. Generous portion. We arrived before the lunch crush but still waited for food to get to table and for check. Apparently, they were short-staffed. We will go back.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Experience!

Dined on October 29, 2015

Dining at Fish and Farm was wonderful. We chose Fish and Farm as the restaurant to take out a special international guest we had visiting our offices. He was very impressed with the food, the wine, and the service. We had a quiet table in the back and accommodated a party of 8 easily. Would recommend Fish and Farm to just about anyone, it was delicious! thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Grilled Calamari was light and delicious ...

vip
Dined on October 26, 2015

Grilled Calamari was light and delicious. Everything was so fresh. Great spot for business lunch.

food1
ambience1
service1

catchy name but that's it

Dined on October 24, 2015

The appetizers were small and mostly a little food a lot of greens Nobody was impressed with the food quality or quantity. The space is super loud and not conducive for conversation. Waitress didn't seem like she cared and we wondered at times if she was even listening to us

food5
ambience4
service4

Great Place for Groups

Dined on October 4, 2015

I selected this restaurant because the reviews on OpenTable were good, and boy were they right. I was part of a group of six, and everyone enjoyed their dishes (appetizers, main, and dessert). I highly recommend this restaurant for anyone who likes seafood.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service4

Creative and fresh food

Dined on October 4, 2015

We had been to their previous location downtown. Since this was right across the street from where we were staying, we tried it again. We had a 6:30 Saturday night reservation and the place was dead. We were waited on right away. We were surprised to have our wine at Happy Hour prices until 8:00 pm. We split an appetizer and entree. We were very pleasantly surprised on the creativity and freshness of the food. We had the entree of ahi split in the kitchen and were shocked at how large our portions were, quite filling! We splurged on dessert of cheesecake. Again, creativity. It was served in a small canning jar. It was fantastic and more than we expected. Soon the booths started to fill up and the noise level increased a bit. Our only issue was that whomever sat us, ignored our mention that we had an Open Table reservation and marked us as walk-ins. I later received an email that our reservation had been canceled by Fish and Farm. I stopped by the next day to correct without success. I called the following day and did get management to correct the reservation and also received a call from Open Table that the reservation was re-instated along with my points. All ended up being good. I would recommend and return the next time we are in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Love, love, love this place!

vip
Dined on October 3, 2015

I hadn't been to Fish & Farm's new location until this week....now I've been twice because I left the first evening wanting more! This place is awesome. The food is so good. As a former midwesterner, I love finding places that have a good pork chop. The salmon dish is also incredible. And although I rarely indulge in red meat - the steak is to die for! They have excellent soups and appetizers - if you're looking for something a little lighter. And their wine has always been great. Michael - the owner - is a darling man who really goes out of his way to make people feel comfortable and welcome. And hopefully your visit will include being served by Heather, who is the sweetest person in the world. I had my birthday dinner there, and because I'm a regular she baked me a cake! I can't recommend this place enough.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service2

Overall experience, ok

Dined on September 27, 2015

We had a $100 gift certificate; wouldn't have gone here if we didn't have it. Food was ok; nothing special; no specials. Service was ok; not great, not terrible. Ambiance, also ok. It's off the beaten track for a Saturday night. Would assume they would get the hotel trade.

food2
ambience2
service3

They did not have their act together.

Dined on September 21, 2015

Salade had to be sent back. The desert was unacceptable. It was more of a sports bar venue than a dining establishment.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

Food good, but slow

Dined on September 19, 2015

Food great, but slow to arrive. Long gap between courses. Waitress seemed put off by our slightly boisterous conversation, but was not bad. She was not engaging at all even though we were very polite. Ambiance was nice. It could have been quiet, but the table next to us was even more boisterous than we were. We had a good time.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service1

Tired and uninspired.

vip
Dined on September 15, 2015

Wait staff were only interested in selling us more wine, aggressively filling glasses. Very dull food, as if this was 1990s, and quite overpriced. The only upside was that we had plenty of room, but then the place was almost empty and yet this was a night when downtown was bursting with conference types. No doubt it will close soon and that will be a mercy.

food3
ambience2
service4

Mixed Review

vip
Dined on September 12, 2015

We got there around 6pm on Friday. Not very busy and the bar had a pretty good happy hour. The music was awful pop songs but got better after 7pm. The service was good. Mussels, pizza and crab cakes were very good. However, the soup was room temperature. So many restaurants don't serve soup hot anymore it's a pity. The risotto was also room temperature. So unfortunately can't give high marks.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.